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PREFACE

Section 48.65, Stats ; requires that persons who provide, for compensa-
tion, care and supervision for 4 or more children under 7 years of age for
less than 24 hours a day must be licensed by the department .

The same statute directs the department to establish xules which must
be met for a person to qualify for a license and which protect and promote
the health, safety and welfare of the children in a day care center Chapter
HSS 55 represents the minimum level of acceptable care that a license is to
provide to children in a group day care center or day camp in Wisconsin,
Chapter HSS 45 represents the minimum level of acceptable care that a
licensee is to, provide to children in a family day caxe center serving 4 to 8
children The iules should not be confused with accreditation by profes-
sional organizations which is based upon conformity with ideal rather than
minim al standards

Chapter HSS 55 includes procedures for determining compliance of day
care programs established by school boards with licensing standards

Section 46 .98, Stats., directs the department to promulgate xules fox'
certification for public funding of day care providers not required to be
licensed and rules for administration of statewide child care programs
These rules are also included in this chapter .

Clearly, the fact that a day care program is licensed or certified in no way
diminishes the responsibility of parents for vigilance in seeing that their
children are receiving care which px'otectstheir physical well-being and
encourages healthy intellectual and emotional development

Subchapter I -
General Provision s

HSS 55 .01 Scope . Sections HSS 85,01 to 55 .10 apply to
group day care centers for children and day camps for
children.

History: Cr Register, October, 1984, No . 346, eff, 11-1-84 ; am Register,
August, 1989, No . 404, eff, 9-1-89.

HSS 55.02 Authority and purpose . (1) AuTxORITY Sub-
chapters I, III and IV are promulgated under the author-
ity of s . 48 .67, Stats .

(2) PuR.roSE . The purpose of this chapter is to protect
and promote the health, safety and welfare of children in
day care centers in Wisconsin .

(3) CONSTRUCTION . This chapter shall be liberally con-

strued to effect the objectives in sub . (2) .

(4) EXCEPTION TO RULES,. The department may grant a

variance to a requirement of this chapter when it is as-

sured that the health, safety and welfare of the children

served will not be jeopardized. A request for a variance

shall be in writing, shall be sent to the department, and

shall include justification for the requested action and an

explanation of the alternative provisions planned to meet

the intent of the rule .

History: Cr',, , Register, October, 1984, No . 346, eff. 11-1-84; correction in
(1) made under s. 13 .93 (2m) (b) 7, Stats.:, Register, August, 1989, No ., 404,
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HSS 55 .03 Applicability . This chapter applies to all day
care centers, whether the facility in which the child care
and supervision is provided is known as a day care center,
day camp, camp, day nursery, nursery school, preschool,
head start or other designation, except that it does not
apply to family day care centers which are regulated
under ch . HSS 45 or to :

oriented to the out-of-doors for periods less than 24 hours
a day.

(10) "Day care center" or "center" means a licensed facil-
ity where a person, other than relative or guardian, pro-
vides care and supervision for 4 or more children under 7
years of age, for less than 24 hours a day and for compen-
sation ,

(1) Group lessons to develop a talent or skill, such as
dance or music, social group meetings and activities,
group athletic activities and religious education classes
where a child attends for 2 hours or less a day or 5 hours
or less a week;

(11) "Department" means the department of health and
social services unless otherwise noted ,

(12) "Family day care center" means a center that pro-
vides care and supervision for 4 to 8 children.

(2) Care and supervision while the parents are on the (13) "Field trip" means any experience a child has away
premises and are engaged in shopping, recreation or other from the premises of the center while under the care of
non-work activities; center staff,

(3) Seasonal programs of 10 days or less duration in any
3-month period, including day camps, vacation bible
school and holiday child care programs ;

(4) Care and supervision in emergency situations; and

(5) Care and supervision while the parent is employed
on the premises if the parent's child receives care and
supervision for no more than 3 hours a day.

History : Cr . Register, October-, 1984, No 346, e$ : 1171-84 ; emergam .
eff: 4-22-85 ; amRegister, August, 1985, No. 356, eff 9-1-85 ; am. (intro.),
Register, August, 1989, No. 404, eff 9-1-89 .

HSS 55 .04 Definitions. In subchs. I, III and IV :

(1) "Assistant child care teacher" means a child care
worker who works under the supervision of a child care
teacher.

(2). "Base camp" means the permanent premises, public
or private, on which the day camp is operated .

(3) "Camp director" means the individual on the camp-
site who is responsible for the administration of the camp,
including program operations, business operations, food
service; health service, and other supportive services .

(4) "Care" means providing for the safety and the devel-
opmental needs of a child in a group day care center,
family day care center or day camp„

(5) "Child care teacher" means a child care worker who
plans and implements daily activities for a designated
group of children .;

(6) "Child care worker" means an adult in a group day
care center who meets the qualifications for child care
teacher under s;, HSS 55 .32 (1) (c) or assistant child care
teacher under s . HSS 55„32 (1) (d) .

(7) "Compensation" means salary or wage or other ma-
terial consideration such as gifts .or compensatory labor
received for the care and supervision of children. "Com-
pensation" does not include cooperative arrangements
made between 2 or more parents for the exchange of child
care and supervision, and the payments made by them for
the actual cost of equipment, supplies or facilities inciden-
tal to the operation of the cooperative arrangements .

(8) "Counselor" means a staff member who works di-
rectly with children ,

(9) "Day camp" or "camp" means a licensed day care
center that provides an experience in a seasonal program

(14) "Group" means a specific number of children who
have the same child care worker responsible for the chil-
dren's well-being and meeting the children's basic needs
and who are cared for in the same self-contained room or
area at the center.

(15) "Group day care center" means a center that pro-
vides care and supervision for 9 or more children, ,

(16) "Infant" means a child under one year of age .

(17) "Licensee" means the corporation, individual, part-
nership or nonincorporated association or cooperative
which has legal and financial responsibility for the opera-
tion of a day care center and for meeting the licensing
rules.

(18) "Night care center" means a group day care center
which operates during any time between 9 :00 pm, and
5:00 a.m .

(19) "Parent" means either "parent" as defined in s .
48 .02 (13), Stats ., or "guardian" as defined in s . 48 .02 (9),
Stats „

(20) "Parent cooperative" means a center organized by
parents for their preschool children in which the parents
have decision-making authority to establish and change
policy, program and personnel practices .

(21) "Parochial or private school" means an educational
program which meets all the criteria specified under s,
118.165 (1), Stats ., or as determined by the superinten-
dent of public instruction under s . 118.167, Stats..

(22) "Physician" has the meaning prescribed in s . 448.01
(5), Stats .

(23) "Premises" means a tract of land with buildings,
structures or shelters on it .

(24) "Self-contained room or area" means a room sepa-
rated by permanent walls or an area separated by perma-
nent or portable partitions or dividers acting as a visual
barrier which:

(a) Is reserved for a specific group of children ; and

(b) Contains the indoor equipment and furnishings re-
quired for that group.

(25) "Supervision of children" means guidance of the
behavior and activities of children for their health, safety
and well-being
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(26) "Supervision of staff' means guidance of the behav-
ior and activities of center employes which may include
provision of instructions to carry out activities for limited
periods of time out of sight or hearing of the supervisor• .

(27) "Toddler" means a child at least one year of age but
less than 2 years of age• •

(28) "Volunteer" means a person who agrees to give
time, without compensation, to provide transportation or
to work with children in a day care center .

History : Cr Register, October, 1984, No„ 346, eff, 11-1-84 ; am. (18), r
(24), renum (25) to (29) to be (24) to (28), Register, August, 1989, No, 404,
eff. 9-1-89; coxrection in (intro) made under s 13 93 (2m) (b) 7, Stats .,
Register, August, 1989, No . 404 .

HSS 55.05 Licensing administration. (1) LICENSING pRO-
CEDURES, (a) A person making an inquiry to the depart-
ment about obtaining a license to operate a group day care
center or a day camp shall be:

1•• Provided with the relevant parts of this chapter;

2, Given other written materials or listings of publica-
tions about establishing a day care center ;

3 . Offered an opportunity to meet with a departmental
representative to discuss the materials;

4., Supplied with the necessary forms if licensing is de-
sired; and

5 .• Assisted through the licensing process by a depart-
mental representative .

Note: The licensure application form, DCS-102, may be obtained from
any depaxtment xegional office

(b) An applicant shall file an application and other
materials required for group day care center or day camp
licensure and licensure renewal on forms provided by the
department at least:

1 . Sixty days prior to the date proposed for the center to
begin operating ;

2 . Except for day camps, 30 days prior to the end of the
current licensing period ;

3 . Forty-five days prior to opening an additional center ;

4; Thirty days prior to changing the address of the
center ; and

5. Thirty days prior to new ownership of the center .

(c) Group day care centers and day camps shall include
the following materials when submitting an application
for licensure :

1 . A clearly defined statement of purpose as it relates to
the provision of child care services ;

2 .. A signed statement by the applicant or licensee ac-
cepting legal responsibility for complying with applicable
partsof this chapter;

3 . The articles of incorporation and by-laws if the center
is organized as a corporation, association or cooperative ;

4• A signed authorization which permits the depart-
ment to make whatever investigation it considers neces-
sary for the verification of pertinent application informa-
tion ;

5.• Specifications regarding the center's premises as fol-
lows :

a. Group day care applicants shall submit a diagram-
matic floor plan of the center, including room dimensions
and room usage, and a diagram of the outdoor areas, in-
cluding area dimensions, location and enclosures ;

b . Day camp applicants shall submit a general descrip-
tion of the camp area, geographic location and size of the
base camp; and

c . Day camps operating without a base camp and having
a program consisting primarily of day trips shall submit
the proposed itinerary of day trips to the department.

6. Group day care and day camp applicants shall in-
clude a written delegation of administrative authority
signed by the licensee which outlines the organizational
structure and designates, in a chain of command form,
those persons on the premises in charge of the center for
all hours of operation;

8 . Day camp applicants shall include :

a. A statement from the state laboratory of hygiene or a
state approved laboratory indicating that the water source
has been tested and found to be safe ; and

b. The name, address and telephone number of the per-
son to be contacted by the licensing representative for the
pre-camp licensing review.

(d) Within 20 working days after receiving an applica-
tion for initial licensure, a departmental representative
shall contact the applicant in person or by phone and
develop a check list for the applicant to utilize in meeting
pre-licensing requirements, including :

1 . Necessary building inspections ;

2. Required equipment, furnishings and supplies ;

3. Requirements for staffing and staff qualifications ;

4, Required safety and sanitation equipment and sup-
plies ; and

5. Required written policies and procedures .

(e) When the applicant determines that all require-
ments on the check list have been met, the applicant shall
notify the departmental representative .

(f) Within 20working days after the notification under
par. (e) the departmental representative shall survey the
day care center site to determine whether the applicant
has complied with all of the requirements .

(g) When the applicant is found to be in compliance with
all requirements, the department shall issue a day care
center license within 5 working days from the date of
completing the survey study.

(h) If the applicant is not in comp li ance, the department
shall specify in writing the areas of non-compliance and
the applicant shall have an opportunity to make the nec-
essary changes and shall be re-surveyed within 20 work-
ing days after notifying the departmental representative •

(2) AMENDMENT TO LICENSE A written request for an

amendment to the license shall be submitted to the de-

partment by the licensee before changes are made in th e
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conditions of the current license such as maximum num-
ber of children, age range of children, hours, days of the
week, months of the year in operation or change in the
name of the center ,

(3) TERMS OF LICENSE . (a) The number of children under

7 years of age in care of the center at any one time may

not exceed the number for which the center is licensed .

(b) The age of children served may not be younger or
older than the age range specified in the terms of the
license.

(c) The hours, days and months of a center's operation
may not exceed those specified in the license .

(4) ADDITIONAL LICENSE . A licensee seeking licensure for

an additional center location shall demonstrate compli-

ance with applicable parts of this chapter in the operation

of the existing center .

(5) CONDITION OF LICENSURE, The department may re-
fuse to grant a license or may revoke a license if the
licensee, applicant or proposed or current employe or vol-
unteer :

(a) Is the subject of a pending criminal charge if the
charge substantially relates to the circumstances of caring
for children or activities of the center ;

(b) Has been convicted of a felony, misdemeanor or
other offense the circumstances of which substantially re-
lated to the care of children or activities of the center ;

(c) Has been determined to have abused or neglected a
child pursuant to s. 48.981, Stats, ; or

(d) Is the subject of a court finding that the person has
abandoned his or her child, has inflicted sexual or physi-
cal abuse on a child or has neglected or refused, for rea-
sons other than poverty, to provide necessary care, food,
clothing, medical or dental care or shelter so as to seri-
ously endanger the physical health of a child .,

(6) SUMMARY SUSPENSION OF A LICENSE (a) Under the

authority of s . 227 .51 (3), Stats., the department may or-

der the summary suspension of a license and, therefore,

the closing of a day care center following a finding of

imminent danger to the health, safety or welfare of the

children in care, A finding of imminent danger may be

based on, but not limited to, the following :

1 . Failure to provide environmental protections such as
heat, water, electricity or telephone service ;

2 . The licensee, employe or volunteer has been convicted
of or has a pending charge for a crime against life or bodily
injury ;

3 . The licensee, employe or volunteer has been convicted
of a felony, misdemeanor or other offense or has a pending
criminal charge which substantially relates to the circum-
stances of caring for children or activities of the center ; o r

4. The licensee, employe or volunteer is the subject of a
current . investigation for alleged child abuse or neglect
pursuant to s . 48 .,981, Stats.

Note: Examples of actions the depaxtment will consider in making deter-
minations under s . HSS 55.05 (6) and (7), are: abuse and neglect of children;
sexual assault; abuse of'residents of facilities; cximes against life and bodily
security ; kidnapping, abduction ; axson of buildings or property other than
buildings; robbery; receiving property from children; crimes against sexual

morality, such as enticing a minor for immoral purposes or exposing minors

to harmful materials and interfering with the custody of a child . The list is
iAustrative„ It is not all-inclusive of the types of offenses that may be
considered .

(b) An initial order to close may be a verbal order by a
departmental representative but shall be approved at a
regional administrative level before it becomes effective,
The department shall within 72 hours of the approval
either permit the reopening of the center or initiate pro-
ceedings in accordance with a, 227,51 (3), Stata,, for the
revocation of the license to operate . A preliminary hearing
on the revocation shall be provided within 10 working
days of the initial order to close .

(7) EFFECT OF NOTICE TO REVOKE OR DENY A LICENSE

The department shall provide a center with a written 30-

day notice of intent to revoke or deny a license. Upon

receipt of that notice and during any revocation or denial

procedures which may result, a day care center may not

accept for care any child not enrolled as of the date of

receipt of the 30-day notice without the written approval

of the department.

History: Cr, Register, October, 1984, No, 346, efl :, 11-1-84; r. (1) and (2)
(c) 7, renum. (2) (a) to (c) 6 . and 8, and (d) to (h) and (3) to (8) to be (1) (a) to
(c) 6 . and 8: and (d) to (h) and (2) to (7) and am, (1) (a) (intro .), (b) (intro.), (c)
(intro .) and 5 . a., Register, August, 1989, No . 404, efl;. 9-1-89, .

HSS 55 .06 Complaints . All complaints concerning a li-
censed or illegally operating day care center shall be sub-
mitted to the department by telephone, letter or personal
interview. Complaints will be investigated by a licensing
representative of the department. A written report of the
findings of the investigation will be sent to the complain-
ant upon request .

History: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No, 346, efl: 11-1-84 .

HSS 55 .07 Non-discrimination, confidentiality and report-
ing child abuse. (1) DISCRIMINATION PROHIBITED, The licen-

see shall ensure that the day care center does not discrim-

inate on the basis of age, race, color, sex, sexual orienta-

tion, creed, handicap, national origin or ancestry against:

(a) Any employe or applicant for employment, in regard
to hire, tenure or term, condition or privilege of employ-
ment as specified in the Fair Employment Act„ ss . 111 .,31
to 111„395, Stats, ; or

(b) Any enrolled child and family or any applicant for
enrollment in regard to admission, privilege of enrollment
or discharge condition except where it is a reasonable and
necessary age requirement specified under this chapter „

(2) CONFIDENTIALITY OF RECORDS The licensee is re-

sponsible for compliance by the day care center with s.
48.78, Stats., and this subsection .

(a) Persons having access to children's records may not
discuss or disclose personal information regarding the
children and facts learned about children and their rela-
tives . This does not apply to :

1 . The parent or a person authorized in writing by the
parent to receive such information; or

2 . Any agency assisting in planning for the child when
informed written parental consent has been given .

(b) Day care centers shall make accessible to the parent,
upon request, all records and reports maintained on their
child .
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(c) All records required by the department for licensing
purposes are to be available to licensing representatives .•

(3) REPORTING cH1LD ABUSE (a) A licensee who knows or
has reasonable cause to suspect that a child has been
abused or neglected as defined in s . 48.981 (1), Stats,,
shall immediately contact the county welfare agency, or
local law enforcement agency in compliance with s,
48 .981, Stats .

(b) The licensee shall ensure that every child care
worker who comes in contact with the children at the day
care center has received training in :

1 . Child abuse and neglect laws;

2. Identification of children who have been abused or
neglected; and

3 . The process for reporting known or suspected cases of
child abuse or neglect .

Note: Failuxe ofthe licensee to report known or suspected incidents of'
child abuse or neglect does not lessen the legal duty of the child care worker
to report known or suspected cases of child abuse orneglect ,

History: Cr Register, October, 1984, No . 346, efI'. 11-1-84

HSS 55 .08 Pets and livestock. (1) Dogs and cats that are
kept on the premises of a day care center shall be vacci-
nated against diseases for which vaccines are available
and which present a hazard to the health of children .

1. Center-owned or leased vehicles;

2. Volunteer or staff-owned vehicles for which the vol-
unteer or staff is reimbursed for the use of the vehicle; and

3, Volunteer or staff-owned vehicles without reimburse-
ment to the owner for the use of the vehicle .

(c) Whenever the center contracts with a firm for the
provision of transportation, the center shall ensure that
the firm complies with all applicable requirements of this
subsection,

(d) When children are transported in school buses as
defined in s, 340,01 (56), Stats ., the school buses shall
comply with ch.Trans 300 .

(e) When regularly scheduled transportation is provided
by the center, the name of each driver, type of license held
and the date of expiration of the license shall be on file at
the center. When services are contracted, the name, ad-
dress and telephone number of the contracting firm and
the name of a representative of the firm who may be
contacted after hours shall be on file at the center .

(f) The center shall maintain a written plan for regu-
larly scheduled transportation of children between the
children's homes and the center, which shall include :

1. A list of children transported and the method of tak-
ing daily attendance;

(2) Pets suspected of being ill or infested with external
lice, fleas and ticks or internal worms shall be removed
from the center .

(3) In the event that an animal bites a child, the parent
shall be notified and a veterinarian shall be contacted by
center personnel to determine a course of action in the
diagnosis of possible rabies in the animal . Procedures for
emergency care of children shall be followed .• Parents shall
be notified of any action taken by the veterinarian .

(4) Turtles, skunks and poisonous reptiles are prohib-
ited from being kept on the premises of a day care center
as pets inorder to prevent salmonella, rabies and poison-
ing•,

(5) Animal pens shall be kept clean .

(6) Pets shall be kept and handled in a manner which
protects the well-being of both children and pets •

(7) No pets may be in the food preparation areaa,

(8) No horses or other farm animals may be quartered
closer than 500 feet from the building in which the day
care center is located.

History: Cr . Register, October, 1984, No . 346, eff. 11-1-84

HSS 55.09 Transportation. This subsection applies to all
center-provided or center-contracted transportation of
children, including both regularly scheduled transporta-
tiori to and from the center and field trip transportation .

(1) GENERAL (a) The center shall assume responsibility
for a child between the time the child is picked up until
the child is delivered to the parent or to a responsible
person designated by the parent• •

(b) Center-provided transportation includes transporta-
tion in:

2• The schedule of the transportation route;

3 . The name and address of the person authorized to
receive the child if the child is dropped off at a place other
than the child's residence ; and

4,• Procedures to be followed when the parent or desig-
nated authorized adult is not at home to receive the child .

(g), The center shall have written safety precautions to
be followed when transporting handicapped children who
have a limited ability to respond to an emergency •

(h) Emergency information as required under s . HSS
55•31 (8) (a) l .e, and d. and 2 . shall be carried in the
vehicle .

(i) Smoking is prohibited in the vehicle while children
are being transported••

(2) DRIVER (a) The driver of a center-operated or center-

contracted vehicle shall hold a valid Wisconsin operator's

license for the type of vehicle being driven.

(b) The center shall have a copy of the staff member's
driving record on file before that person may act as a
driver. The driver shall :

1 . Sign a waiver authorizing the administrator of the
center to obtain a copy of his or her driving record; or

2. Provide the administrator with a copy of his or her
driving record .

Note: Copies of dxiving records may be obtained from the Department of
Transportation, Division of 1VIotorVehicles, Bureau of Driver• Licensing,
P.O .. Box 7918, Madison, WI 53707 .,

(c) The driver of a vehicle shall be at least 18 years of
age but under 70 years of age and have at least one •year of
experience as a licensed driver .
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(3) VEHICI,E . (a) All center-provided or center-contracted
transportation vehicles shall be registered by the state of
Wisconsin.

(b) Center-owned vehicles shall be in safe operating con-
dition, and at 6-month intervals the licensee shall provide
the department with evidence of the vehicle's safe operat-
ing condition on forms provided by the department.

Note: Form DCS-52, Safety Inspection for Day Care Vehicles, may be
obtained from any department regional office .

vals. The evacuations shall be supervised and verified in
writing by a staff person .

History: Cr,, Register, October, 1984, No . 346, eff. 11-1-84.

HSS 55 .10 Pools. A center which has a pool, beach, or
other swimming place on its premises shall comply with :

(1) The requirements of ch. ILHR 90 ; and

(2) American Red Cross standards as specified in s,. HSS
55.44 (7) and (8) .

(c) Center-owned vehicles shall be equipped with a first History: Cr Register, October, 1984, No. 346, eff 11-1-84; correction
aid kit, made under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7. Stats., Register, June, 1995, No. 474.

(d) All vehicles shall be clean, uncluttered, and free of
obstructions on the floors, aisles and seats

.(e) All vehicles shall be enclosed. Children may not be
transported in a truck except in the cab.

(fj When seat belts are available, children 4 years of age
and older shall wear them .

Note: Section 34748 (1), Stats., in effect requires that most automobiles
belonging to Wisconsin residents be equipped with seat belts

(g) When children under the age of 4 are being trans-
ported in a motor vehicle each child shall be properly
restrained in a child safety restraint system or in a seat
belt in accordance with s,~ 347„48, Stats .,

(h) Doors shall be locked at all times when the vehicle is
moving .

(i) A copy of any accident report shall be submitted to
the department within 5 days after the occurrence of an
accident involving a vehicle transporting children..

(4) VEHICLE CAPACITY AND SUPERVISION„ (a) Children

may not be left unattended in the vehicle ,

(b) When children are transported in a vehicle there
shall be at least one adult supervisor in addition to the
driver whenever there are more than 3 children who are
either under 2 years of age or who have a handicap which
limits their ability to respond to an emergency .

(c) There shall be at least one adult supervisor in addi-
tion to the driver when there are more than 10 children
under 5 years of age in the vehicle .

(d) There shall be at least one adult supervisor in addi-
tion to the driver when there are more than 17 children 5
years and older in the vehicle ,

(e) After transporting a child to his or her destination,
the driver shall wait until the child enters the building or
is inthe hands of a designated authorized adult „

(f) A seat shall be provided for each child, Allowable
width in determining seating capacity is 13 inches for a
child and 20 inches for an adult .

(g) The driver or adult supervisor shall be responsible
for seeing that children remain seated while the vehicle is
in motion .

(h) No more than 3 persons, including the driver, may
occupy the front seat of a vehicle „

(i) The driver of a center-owned vehicle shall conduct
vehicle evacuation drills initially and at 3-month inter-

Subchapter III -
Additional Requirement s

for Group Day Care Centers

HSS 55.30 Scope . Sections HSS 55 .30 to 55 .37 apply to
all group day care centers.

History: Cr,. Register, October, 1984, No . 346, eff 11-1-84 .

HSS 55.31 Operational requirements . (1) AD1vIINISTRA-
TION. The licensee shall:

(a) Comply with all applicable statutes under which the
requirements in this chapter are promulgated ;

(b) Comply with all applicable requirements in this
chapter;

(c) Designate, in writing, a Wisconsin resident who is
responsible for ensuring compliance with all applicable
requirements in this chapter, if the licensee resides in
another state ;

(d) Meet, upon request, with the department represen-
tative on matters pertaining to licensing ;

(e) Provide documentation of insurance coverage by the
submission of a certificate of insurance reflecting current
dates of coverage for :

1 . General liability insurance which provides coverage
with limits of not less than $25,000 for each person and
total limits of $75,000 for each occurrence ;

2. Vehicle liability insurance, when transportation is
provided, with minimums no less than those provided in s,
121 .53, Stats ; and

3. Non-owned vehicle liability insurance when transpor-
tation is provided in other than center-owned vehicles ;

(f) Develop written policies on .the following subjects,
submit them to the department for review and implement
them:

1. Termination of enrollment of children ;

2. Fee payment and refund; and

3 . Personnel policies, including job description, hours of
work, lunch and break times, holidays, vacations, sick
leave, leave of absence, salary range, probationary period,
performance evaluation, grievance procedure and discipli-
nary process;

(g) Develop written policies on the following subjects,
submit them to the department for approval and imple-
ment them as approved :
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1 . Admission, health, education, nutrition and disci-
pline;

2 . Transportation when provided ;

3 . Plans for evacuation and other emergencies;

4. In-service training; and

5. Orientation of new staff and volunteers ;

(h) Display the day care license near the entrance or in
some other conspicuous area of the center that is accessi-
ble to the public; and

(i) Ensure that all published statements such as
brochures and publicity are accurate .

(2) REPORTS The licensee shall report to the depart-
ment:

'(a) An accident resulting in the death or serious injury
of a child while at the center within 48 hours after the
occurrence . In this paragraph, "serious injury" means an
injury requiring inpatient hospitalization of the child ;

(b) A catastrophe resulting in damage to the building,
within 24 hours after the occurrence ;

(c) A change in the board chairperson or administrator
of a day care center within 30 days after the change;

(d) A change of any program service at least 5 days prior
to the change ; and

(e) Statistical data required by the department on forms
provided by the department.,

(3) STAFF RECORDS The licensee shall :

(a) Maintain a file on each employe which is available
for examination by the licensing representative and which
includes:

1 ., The name, address, date of birth, education, position,
previous work experience in child care including reason
for termination, and the name, address, telephone number
of persons to be notified in an emergency and a signed
statement affirming that he or she has not been convicted
or is not the subject of a pending criminal charge as speci-
fied under s. HSS 55 .05 (6) or (7) ;

b, Full names of the parents;

c„ The child's home address and telephone number ;

d . Address and telephone number where a parent can
be reached while the child is in care;

e . Name, address, telephone number and relationship to
the child of a person to be notified in an emergency, when
a parent cannot be reached immediately ;

f, Name, address and telephone number of a physician
or medical facility caring for the child ;

g. Names, addresses and telephone numbers of persons
other than a parent authorized to call for the child or
authorized to accept the child who is dropped off;

h.First day of attendance and termination date; and

i . For infants and toddlers, an up-to-date statement
from the parent about the specific habits of eating, sleep-
ing, toileting, communication and comforting ;

2. Written consent from the parent for emergency medi-
cal care or treatment;

3 . Authorization from the parent to transport the child
to and from the center, when transportation is provided ;

4 . Authorization from the parent for the child to partici-
pate in and be transported for field trips and other activi-
ties if these are part of the center's program;

5 . Specific informed written consent from the parent for
each incident of participation by a child in any research or
testing project. The day care center shall obtain and make
available to the department and to the parent a statement
indicating the sponsor, the subject matter, the specific
purpose and the proposed use of results with respect to
each such project; and

6. Documentation of the most recent physical examina-
tion, immunization history, and other matters relating to
the child's health.

(b) The licensee shall maintain a written record of the
daily attendance of each child for the length of time the
child is enrolled in the program . For children in irregular
or drop-in care, the hours of arrival and departure shall be
recorded ,

2. Evidence of the most recent physical examination as
required under s. HSS 55 .32 (1) (g); and

3 . Documentation of educational qualifications for the
position, orientation and inservice training as specified in
HSS 55„32 (1) and (2);

(b) Have a listing at the location where the employe
works of the name, address and telephone number of the
person to be notified in the event of an emergency to the
employe

(4) CHILDREN'S RECORDS ., (a) The licensee shall maintain

an up-to-date written record at the center on each child

enrolled and make it available to the licensing representa-

tive . Each record shall include :

1 . Pre-admission and enrollment information consisting
of

a. The name and birth date of child ;

(c) The licensee shall maintain a daily medical log to
record any injuries received by a child or medication dis-
pensed to a child,,

1„ The log shall be in a bound book with pages that are
lined and numbered„ The pages may not be removed ,

2„ Entries shall be in ink and dated and signed or ini-
tialed by the person making the entry .

History: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No . 346, eff, 11-1-84

H$$ 55.32 Personnel . (1) RESPONSIBILITIES AND QUALIFI-

CATIONS OF STAFF. (a) Person with administrative respon-

sibility. 1 . The licensee shall designate a person or persons

to be the administrator or administrators responsible for
the center's management, including personnel, finances,

and physical plant maintenance„

2 . A designated administrator shall :

a, Be at least 21 years of age ; and
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b. Have completed high school or its equivalent as de-
termined by the department of public instruction, or hold
a certificate, credentials or a diploma from a post secon-
dary early childhood training program .

3 . Prior to assuming the position, a person designated
as administrator shall :

a . Have had one year experience as a manager or have
satisfactorily completed 40 hours of training in business
or program administration; and

b. Have had one year of experience as a program direc-
tor as described in par . (b), or as a primary child care
worker, or have satisfactorily completed 40 hours of de-
partment-approved training in early childhood education „

4 .• A person may meet the requirements of subd .• 3 if,
prior to assuming the position, he or she has completed
the administrative training or experience requirement
and is currently enrolled in the early childhood education
training, or has completed the early childhood education
training or experience and is currently enrolled in the
administrative training,

5 . Within each subsequent year after assuming the po-
sition, an administrator shall complete 15 additional
hours of early childhood education, business or program
administration as approved by the department . This
training shall be in addition to the in-service training
required under sub., (2) „

6 . When administrative responsibility for the manage-
ment of the center is the designated responsibility of the
board of aparent cooperative, the qualification require-
ments as specified in subds, 2, 3, 4 and 5 do not apply.

7 . Accumulated hours of training beyond what is re-
quired at the entry level, as specified in subd . 3, shall be
counted toward meeting each subsequent year's require-
ment specified in subd. 5 .

(b) Program director responsibilities. 1„ The licensee
shall designate a person or persons to be the program
director or program directors responsible for supervision
of the planning and implementation of the program and
for directing the orientation and in-service training of

;staff.

2. A designated program director shall :

a . Be at least 21 years of age ; and

b. Have completed high school or its equivalency as
determined by the department .of public instruction, or
hold a certificate, credentials or diploma from a post-sec-
ondary early childhood training program which is ap-
proved by the department .,

3 . Prior to assuming the position of program director in
a center or multi-center agency licensed to serve 40 or
fewer children at any one time andoperated by the same
licensee, the person shall:

a• Have completed 120 working days experience as a
half-time worker or 80 working days experience as a full-
time worker providing direct child care as a child care
worker or volunteer in a licensed day care center, kinder-
garten or early childhood program approved by the de-
partment, or have been certified by the Wisconsin depart-
ment of public instruction as a nursery school teacher or

an exceptional educational needs teacher or show evi-
dence of meeting the qualifications for certification; and

b. Have earned 2 years of documented credit at an insti-
tution of higher education with at least 3 credits
equivalent to early childhood education, or have satisfac-
torily completed 80 hours of department-approved train-
ing in early childhood education .,

Note: Full-time work experience is considerred provision of'child care for
4 or more hours a day and half=time work experience is considered provision
of child care for under 4 hours but at least 2 hours a da y

4„ Prior to assuming the position of program director in
a center or multi-center agency licensed to serve 41 or
more children at any one time and operated by the same
licensee, the person shall :

a, Have completed 2 years of experience as a child care
teacher meeting the qualifications of par . (c) in a licensed
day care center, kindergarten or early childhood program
approved by the department ; and

b. Have earned 2 years of documented credit at an insti-
tution of higher education with at least 12 credits
equivalent to early childhood education, or have satisfac-
torily completed 160 hours of training in early childhood
education approved by the department •

5 . The person designated as program director under
subd;, 3 or 4 shall each year after assuming the position
complete 15 additional hours of training in early child-
hood education as approved by the department . This
training is in addition to the in-service training required
under sub . (2).

6 Accumulated hours of training beyond the entry level
requirement specified in subds, 3 .,b., and 4 .b. shall be
counted toward meeting the annual training requirement
specified in subd. 5 .

(c) Child care teacher, 1„ A child care teacher shall plan
and implement the daily activities for a designated group
of children .

2 . A person who is a child care teacher shall :

a. Be at least 18 years old; and

b. Have completed high school or its equivalency as
determined by the department of public instruction, or
hold a certificate, credentials or diploma from a post-sec-
ondary early childhood training program approved by the
department.

3. Prior to assuming the position, the person who is a
child care teacher shall:

a. Have worked for 120 days half-time or 80 days full-
time providing direct child care as a child care worker or
volunteer in a licensedday care center, kindergarten or
early childhood program approved by the department ; or
be certified by the Wisconsin department of public instruc-
tion as a nursery school teacher or as an exceptional edu-
cational needs teacher or show evidence of meeting the
qualifications for certification; and

b„ Have earned 2 years of documented credit in an insti-
tution of higher education with at least 3 credits
equivalent to early childhood education, or have satisfac-
torily completed 80 hours of department-approved train-
ing in early childhood education, have Child Developmen t
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Association (CDA) credentials, or have satisfactorily com-
pleted another department-approved competency pro-
gram.

4. Each year after assuming the position, a child care
teacher shall complete 15 hours of additional training in
early childhood education as approved by the department .
This training is in addition to the in-service training re-
quired under sub, (2) .

health examination within 6 months prior to beginning
work or within 30 days after beginning work . The report,
dated and signed by a physician, shall be on file in the
center and shall certify that:

a„ The person is free from illness detrimental to chil-
dren, including tuberculosis ; and

b, The person is physically able to work with young
children.

5 . Accumulated hours of training beyond the entry level
requirement specified in subd . 3 .,b„ shall be counted to-
ward meeting the annual training requirement specified
in subd . 4 „

(d) Assistant child care teacher. 1, An assistant child
care teacher shall :

a . Work under the supervision of a child care teacher
with a group of children;

b, Be at least 18 years old;

c. Have satisfactorily completed or be enrolled in 40
hours of training as approved by the department ; and

d. Within one year after assuming the position, and
within each subsequent year, complete 15 additional
hours of training in early childhood education as approved
by the department . This training shall be in addition to
the in-service training required under sub ., (2) .

2. A parent serving as an assistant child care teacher in
a parent cooperative may be exempted from the training
requirements specified in subd . 1„ Volunteers in a parent
cooperative shall have at least 4 hours of training in day
care programming and procedures before working in the
classroom.

(e) Substitutes . 1 . When a regular staff member is ab-
sent, there shall be a similarly qualified substitute ; or

2, In the event the regular staff member's absence is not
anticipated to exceed 5 days, a person not meeting the
educational qualifications may serve as a substitute child
care worker if a qualified person is not available. The
substitution may not exceed 5 consecutive da,ys .,

(f) Volunteers, 1, Volunteers shall participate in orienta-
tion as required in sub . (2) (a) .

2 . Volunteers who are included in determining staff-to-
child ratios shall meet the requirements of the position
they are filling.

3 . Volunteers not included in determining staff-to-child

ratios shall have at least 4 hours of training in day care

programming and procedures before working in the class-

room.

4„ The program director shall :

a, Designate a staff member to coordinate the volunteer
program; and

b„ Keep on file a schedule of the hours of the volunteers
who are included in determining staff-to-child ratios .

(g) Health qualifications. 1, All persons who work di-
rectly with children, except volunteers, shall have a

2„ No staff member, volunteer, visitor or parent with
s,ymptoms of illness, communicable disease or whose be-
havior gives reasonable concern for the safet,y of children
may be on the premises of the center .

3. No person with a health history of typhoid, paraty-
phoid, dysentery or other diarrheal disease may work in a
center until it is definitely determined by appropriate
tests that such person is not a carrier of this disease .

(2) ORIENTATION AND IN-SERVICE TRAINING. (a) Each

center shall develop and implement a written orientation

program which all new staff and regularly scheduled vol-

unteers shall complete within their first week at the

center. This orientation shall include :

1. Review of the applicable parts of this chapter;

2.. Review of the center policies;

3 . Training in emergency procedures, including first
aid ;

4 . Job responsibilities in relation to the job description ;

5„ Training in the recognition of childhood illnesses ;

6 . Schedule of activities ; and

Review of child abuse and neglect laws .

(b) Centers shall develop and implement an annual in-
service training plan which may include use of staff meet-
ing time which is set aside for training. The center shall
provide training, at a ratio of 2 hours per month for each
month of program operation. Training methods shall in-
clude, but are not limited to, one or more of the following :

1 . Discussion or materials concerning child growth and
development and early childhood education which are
available for and may be used by staff;

2„ Presentations by community resource people ; and

3 . Attendance at conferences or workshops .

(c) The center shall provide food service personnel with
orientation and in-service training in kitchen sanitation,
food handling and nutrition .

(3) STAFFING AND GROurnING . (a) At least one child care
teacher shall supervise each group of children .

(b) Each child shall be closely supervised by a child care
worker .

(c) The maximum number of children in a group and the
ratio of child care workers to children may not exceed
those specified in table 55 .32 .
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TABLE 55 .32

WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

MAXIMUM GROUP SIZE AND MINIMUM
NUMBER OF CHILD CARE WORKERS IN GROUP

DAY CARE CENTERS

Minimum
Number of Maximum
Child Care Number of
Workers to Children In a

Age of Children Children Group

Birth to 2 years 1:4 8
2 years to 22 years 1:6 12
2'12 years to 3 years 1:8 16
3,years to 4 years 1:10 20
4 years to 5 years 1:13 24
5 years to 6 years 1:17 32
6 years and over 1:18 32

(d) Maximum group size does not apply to field trips,
outdoor play areas, and those areas reserved exclusively
for napping and eating, but staff-to-child ratios shall be
maintained in these settings.

(e) When there is a mixed-age group, the staff-to-child
ratio shall be adjusted on a prorata basis, according to
age .

(f) When infants and toddlers are part of a mixed-age
group, the size of the group may not exceed the maximum
number of children that would be allowable for the young-
est member of the group.

(g) When children 2 years and older are part of a mixed-
age group, the size of the group shall be determined by the
number of children that can be cared for by 2 child care
workers as determined by the staff-to-child prorata re-
quirement under par . (e).

Note: Worksheets for proratingstaff to-child ratios for mixed-age groups
are available from the department upon request.

(h) When 8 or fewer children are present in the center,
there shall be a second adult available within 5 minutes
for emergencies . The center shall keep a signed and dated
statement, including address and telephone number, cer-
tifying the person's availability and agreement to serve .

(i) In a center with 9 or more children present, there
shall be at least 2 adults available at all times in the
building. At least one of these adults shall be a child care
worker directly involved in the supervision and care of
children .

(j) When 9 or more children are on a field trip there
shall be at least 2 adults accompanying the children and
at least one of the adults shall be a child care worker .,

(k) Support staff, such as clerical, housekeeping and
food service staff, may only be considered in determining
the staff-to-child ratio :

1. During those hours when they give full attention to
the care and supervision of children; and

2. If they meet the qualifications of child care worker .

(1) Child care workers shall be free of all other non-
classroom duties during the hours they are working di-
rectly with children.

(m) Children of staff members who attend the center or
who are on the premises for. supervision and care shall be
included in determining group size and staff-to-child ratio .

History : Cr,, Register, October, 1984, No, 346, eff 11-1-84 .

HSS 55.33 Physical plant and furnishings . (1) Bu1Ln1NG.,
(a) The licensee shall maintain a report of inspection of
the building, which specifies that the building has been
approved for use as a group day center by an inspector
employed or certified by the department of industry, labor
and human relations . The building shall comply with ap-
plicable state and local building codes,.

Note: Local authorities should be consulted to obtain any required zon-
ing clearances or building pesmits.

(b) The department shall be given written notice of pro-
posed construction, remodeling of existing space or change
in rooms to be used by children prior to the initiation of
suchchanges .

(c) Space designated for use by the children may only be
used by children and staff and may not be used for other
purposes while the center is open.

(d) The inside temperature may not be less than 67° F .
(20° C) .

(2) PRoTECZ7vE Iv1EASuRES, (a) Steam radiators, electric

fans, electric outlets, electrical heating units and hot sur-

faces, such as pipes, shall be protected by screens or

guards ,

(b) Unvented space heaters are prohibited „

(c) No potentially dangerous hazards, firearms, ammu-
nition, explosives, abandoned automobiles and household
appliances, uncovered wells or cisterns and stacked lum-
ber, may be kept on the premises .

(d) Materials harmful to children, including power tools,
flammable or combustible materials, insecticides, matches
and all other articles labeled hazardous or poisonous shall
be in properly marked containers and stored in areas inac-
cessible to children .

(e) A motor vehicle at the center at all times or a public
or private emergency vehicle shall be immediately availa-
ble in case of an emergency.

(f) The center shall have a telephone or access to a
telephone on the premises during hours of operation, and
a list of emergency telephone numbers, including numbers
for the local rescue squad, fire department, law enforce-
ment agency, child protective services and emergency
medical service, shall be posted at each telephone. In this
paragraph, "telephone" does not include pay telephones
requiring payment to reach the operator or telephones in
locked rooms„

(g) Stairs, walks, ramps and porches shall be main-
tained in asafe condition and free from the accumulation
of water, ice and snow .

(h) Smoking shall be permitted during hours of opera-
tion only in rooms or areas not used by children,
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(i) Alcoholic beverages and non-prescribed controlled
substances, as specified in s . 161.01, Stats., may not be
consumed on the premises of the day care center during
hours of operation or while children are present .

(j) Children may not be allowed in an area where power
tools are in use .

(3) EMERGENOiES . (a) Each center shall have a written
plan for responding to fires, tornadoes and other emergen-
cies . The center shall :

1. Post the plan and practice implementation of the plan
monthly;

2. Inform all staff members of their duties in the event
of such an emergency; and

3 . Keep a written record of dates and times of the
monthly practice.

(4) FrxE PROTECTlorr. (a) Each fire extinguisher on the
premises shall be operable at all times, inspected once a
year by a qualified person, and shall bear a label indicat-
ing its present condition and date of the last inspection.

(b) All staff members shall be instructed in and knowl-
edgeable about the use of the fire extinguishers.

(c) Exits and exit passageways shall have a minimum
clearwidth of 3 feetand be unobstructed by furniture or
other objects .

(d) Extension cords may not be used in place of perma-
nent wiring.

(e) No more than 2 electrical appliances may be plugged
into any one wall outlet .

(f) The door to the basement and furnace room shall be
closed.

(g) Areas under stairs may not be used for storage ,

(h) All exit lights shall be lit at all times .

(i) Fire alarms and smoke detectors shall be tested
weekly

. (5)SANITATION (a) The premises shall be free from lit-
ter, clean and in good repair .

(b) 1 . There shall be no flaking or deteriorating paint on
exterior and interior surfaces in areas accessible to chil-
dren.

2. No lead-based paint or other toxic finishing material
may be used .

(c) Garbage containers in the building shall be covered,
watertight and emptied daily or more often as needed.
Compactors need not be emptied daily . Garbage and re-
fuse stored out of doors shall be kept in leak-proof contain-
ers equipped with tight-fitting covers and shall be dis-
posed of as necessary to prevent decomposition or over-
flow, ;

(d) Furnishings, toys, cots and other equipment shall be
washed or cleaned when they become soiled.

(e) 1. Toilet rooms and fixtures shall be in a sanitary,
odor free condition at all times .

2., Potty chair receptacles shall be emptied, rinsed and
disinfected immediately after each use .

(f) Windows that are used for ventilation shall be
screened .

(g) The premises shall be maintained in a manner
which prevents the entrance or harborage of vermin .

(6) WATER (a) A safe supply of drinking water shall be
readily available to children at all times from a drinking
fountain of the angle jet type or by use of disposable cups .
Common use of drinking cups is prohibited.

(b) When a pub lic water system is not available, a pri-
vate well may be used if it is approved by the department
of natural resources. Water samples from an approved
well shall be tested at the state laboratory of hygiene or a
state approved laboratory at least annually. The water
supply shall be found bacteriologically safe prior to use .
The report shall be available to the department upon re-
quest.

(7) INDOOR SPACE (a) The space used by children shall
be no less than 35 sq. ft . (3 .3 sq . meters) of usable floor
space for each child exclusive of passagewa,ys, bathrooms,
lockers, office, storage areas, isolation quarters, staff
room, furnace room, parts of rooms occupied by stationary
equipment and areas not at all times available to children
including areas used exclusively for large muscle activity,
napping or eating:

(b) There shall be additional storage space for cots, bed-
ding, supplies and surplus equipment .

(8) FuRrrlSxirrGS, (a) Furnishings shall be durable and
safely constructed, with no sharp, rough, loose or pointed
edges .

(b) Tables and seating shall be scaled to the proper
height and size for the children's comfort and reach .

(c) In centers where meals are served, there shall be
table space for each child and seating sufficient to serve
the children cared for in a group ,

(d) Shelves shall be provided for the equipment and
supplies in rooms used by children„ Equipment and sup-
plies shall be arranged in an orderly fashion so that chil-
dren may select, use and replace items.

(e) Each child shall have storage space for clothing and
personal belongings . For children 2 years of age and older,
the space for outergarment storage shall be at child level .

(f) A safe, washable cot, bed or sleeping bag shall be
provided for eachchild one year and older who naps or
sleeps. There shall be a safe, washable crib provided for
each child under one year who naps or sleeps.

(9) KiTCaErrS, (a) Equipment. L Equipment and utensils
used for preparing, serving and storing food shall be clean
and equipped for safe handling of food .

2 . All equipment and utensils shall have smooth, hard
surfaces, be easily cleanable, in good repair, durable, non-
toxic, free of cracks, seams, chips and roughened areas,
and shall be capable of being maintained in a clean and
sanitary condition„

3 . Food preparation tables shall be durable, and sur-
faces shall be smooth, non-absorbent and easily cleanable .,
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4. After cleaning, utensils shall be stored in a clean, dry
place and protected from contamination .

5, Single-service utensils shall be non-toxic, stored in a
clean, dry place, kept covered, and may not be reused .

(b) Dishwashing procedures. 1 . All kitchen utensils and
food contact surfaces used in preparation, storage and
food service shall be thoroughly cleaned and sanitized af

-ter each use.

2. All utensils and dishes shall be scraped, sorted and
prewashed under running water „

3 ., For manual washing of dishes and utensils, a 3-step
procedure shall be used:

a . Wash in water between 110° and 125° F ., (43° to 52°
C.), using an effective soap or detergent ,

b. Rinse by immersing dishes and utensils in clean, hot
water to remove soap or detergent; and

5. No hermetically sealed, non-acid and low-acid food
which has been processed in a place other than a commer-
cial food processing establishment may be used .

(d) Food storage. 1 . Food shall be stored at temperatures
which protect against spoilage .,

a. Perishable and potentially hazardous food which in-
cludes all custard-filled and cream-filled, pastries, milk
and milk products, meat, fish, shellfish, gravy, poultry
stuffing and sauces, dressings, salads containing meat,
fish, eggs, milk or milk products, and any other food or
food products likely to spoil quickly if not kept at the
proper temperature shall be continuously maintained at
40° F. (4° C„) or below or 150° F. (66° C.) or above, as
appropriate, except during necessary periods of prepara-
tion and service .

b . Each refrigeration unit shall be maintained at 40° F .
(4° C .) or lower and each freezing unit shall be maintained
at 0° F . (-17° C) or lower.

c . Sanitize by submerging dishes and utensils for at
least 2 minutes in a solution of a sanitizer approved by the
department.

4 . For mechanical washing of dishes and utensils, the
following shall apply:

a,, Wash at 130° to 150° F . (54° to 66° C) for at least 20
seconds, using an effective cleaning agent;

b. Rinse and sanitize at 180° F, (82° C) for 10 seconds
or more, using automatic rinse injector; and

c . Readily-visible temperature gauges shall be located
in the wash compartment of all mechanical dishwashers
and in the rinse water line of spray-type mechanical dish-
washers or in the rinse tank of an immersion-type dish-
washer; or

d. For mechanical washing of dishes and utensils in
hometype dishwashers with a temperature setting of be-
tween 130° and 150° F. (54° to 66° C .), dishes and utensils
shall be washed and rinsed in the dishwasher and sani-
tized by,submerging dishes and utensils for at least 2
minutes in a solution of a sanitizer approved by the de-
partment.

5„ All dishes and utensils shall be air-dried in racks or
baskets or on drain boards.

Note: A list of approved sanitizeis is available from the Hotels and
Restaurants Section, Division of Health, PO Box 309, Madison, Wisconsin,
5370 1

(c) Food sources . 1 . Food shall be from sources approved
by the department and shall be cle an, wholesome, free
from spoilage, free from adulteration or misbranding and
safe for human consumption.

2. Onlymilk and milk products which are pasteurized
and meet the Grade A milk standards of the Wisconsin
department of agriculture, trade, and consumer protection
may be served or used.

3 , No food prepared for meals shall be served on the
premises unless it is prepared on the premises or in an-
other location licensed by the appropriate agency.

4. Food in dented, bulging or leaking cans, or cans with-
out labels may not be used.

c . Each cold storage facility shall be equipped with a
clearly visible accurate thermometer .

d. Food shall be covered while refrigerated .

2 . Foods not requiring refrigeration shall be stored in
clean, dry, ventilated and lighted storerooms or areas .

a . Dry bulk foods, such as flour, sugar, cereals and
beans shall be stored in metal, glass or food-grade plastic
containers with tight fitting covers and shall be labeled . In
this paragraph, "food-grade plastic" means any material
used in the construction of dishes or utensils which has
been found not harmful to human health by the national
sanitation foundation.

b„ Food stored in the basement shall be stored at least 8
inches (20 .32 cm) above the floor, and food stored in other
areas shall be stored high enough above the floor to pro-
vide air circulation and facili tate cleaning„

c . Foods shall be stored in a clean, ventilated place
protected from contamination by sewage, waste water
backflow, condensation, leakage or vermin „

(e) Cleaning aids . 1 ., Poisonous and toxic materials, in-
cluding cleaning supplies, bleaches and insecticides, shall
be labeled and stored in cabinets used for no other pur-
pose .

2, Cleaning aids such as mops, brooms and buckets
shall be clean and shall be stored outside of food prepara-
tion or food storage areas .

(f) Food handling. 1. Raw fruits and vegetables shall be
washed before being served or cooked.

2. Food returned from individual plates or from dining
tables shall be discarded.

3 . Leftover prepared food which has not been served
shall be refrigerated promptly and used within 36 hours,
or frozen immediately for later use .

4 . Food delivery vehicles shall be equipped with clean
containers or cabinets to store food while in transit. Con-
tainers for cold foods shall be capable of maintaining the
temperature at or below 40° F . (4° C.), and containers for
hot foods shall be capable of maintaining the temperature
at or above 150° Y. (66° C .) .

Register, June, 1995, No, 474



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES 91
HSS 55.34

(g) Food service personnel. 1, Food service personnel
include any person who participates in preparation of
breakfast, lunch or dinner ,

2 . Food service personnel shall :

a . Be at least 18 years of age;

child using the space at a given time . The total outdoor
space shall accommodate not less than one third of the
licensed capacity or a minimum of 750 square feet (70
square meters), whichever is greater .,

(c) The outdoor space shall be well-drained and free of
hazards, .

b . Wear clean clothing and effective hair restraints such
as hair nets or caps; and

c. Wash their hands before starting work, before and
after handling food, and after using the toilet .

(10) WASHROOM AND TOILET FACILITIES., (a) The center

shall provide the number of washbasins and toilets speci-
fied in table 55.33 .

TABLE 55 .33

NUMBER OF WASHBASINS AND TOILET S
REQUIRED IN GROUP DAY CARE CENTER S

Maximum Number of
Children for Which
the Center is Number of Number of
Licensed Toilets Washbasins

9or10 1 1
11to25 2 1
26to40 3 2
41to55 4 2
56 to 70 5 3

(b) When a center is licensed for more than 70 children,
one additional toilet shall be provided for each additional
15 children or fraction thereof and washbasins shall be
provided in the ratio of one for every 2 toilets and urinals
or fraction thereof, Urinals may be substituted for up to '/3
of the total required toilets.

(c) Children under the age of 30 months need not be
included when determining the required fixtures ; how-
ever, in all cases, at least one toilet and one washbasin
shall be provided .

(d) When potty chairs are used for children under 30
months of age the pott,ychairs shall be provided in a ratio
of one for every 4 children or fraction thereof.

(e) Steps or blocks shall be provided if the washbasins
and toilets are not proportioned to the size of the children,

(f) Soap, toilet paper, disposable paper towels or individ-
ually labeled clean cloth towels and a wastepaper
container shall be provided and accessible to children.

(g) Toilet room door locks shall be openable from the
outside and the opening device shall be readily accessible
to the staff.

Note: Infoxmation pextaining to plumbing requirements can be found in
ch ILHR 82

(11) OUTDOOR SPACE . (a) This subsection applies to any
center where children are present for more than 3 hours a
day.

(b) There shall be at least 75 square feet (7,A square
meters) of outdoor play space on the premises for each

(d) The boundaries of outdoor play space shall be de-
fined in such a way as to protect the children, A perma-
nent enclosure not less than 4 feet (1 .2 meters) high shall
be provided where there are hazards nearby, including
but not limitedto traffic or bodies of water .,

History: Cr. Register, October, 1984, No . 346, eff 11-1-84,

HSS 55 .34 Program . (1) PROGRAM PLANNING AND SCHED-

ULING (a) Each group day care center shall have a written

program of activities planned according to the develop-

mental level of each group of children and intended to

expose children to a variety of cultures . The program shall

provide each child with experiences which will encourage :

1 . Self-esteem and positive self-image;

2 . Social interaction ;

3 . Self-expression and communication skills;

4 . Creative expression;

5 . Large and small muscle development ; and

6, Intellectual growth .

(b) The program schedule shall be planned to provide a
flexible balance of:

1, Active and quiet activities ;

2 , Individual and group activities; and

3 . Indoor and outdoor activities ,

(c) Television may be used only to supplement the daily
plan for children . No child may be required to watch tele-
vision.

(d) Routines such as toileting and eating, and intervals
between activities, shall be planned to avoid keeping chil-
dren waiting in lines or assembled in large groups .

(e) The program shall provide :

1 ., Reasonable regularity in eating, napping and other
routines;

2. Daily periods when a variety of experiences are con-
currently available for the children to select their own
activities; and

3„ Protection from excess fatigue and overstimulation .

(f) Children shall be given individual attention on a one-
to-one basis by staff members ,

(g) A variety of cultures shall be reflected in the pro-
gram through incorporation of different languages, foods,
celebrations and lifestyles .

(h) When a center is open in the early morning and late
afternoon, the center shall plan activities which meet the
individual needs of the children during those time periods
by :
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1„ Providing opportunities to rest and eat; and

2. Using materials or providing activities which for the
most part do not duplicate materials or activities planned
for the major part of the program.

(i) The program, as implemented, shall reflect the
center's written program plan of activities and educa-
tional policy.

(2) DisciPraNE (a) Each day care center shall have a
written policy on the discipline of children which provides
for positive guidance, redirection and the setting of clear-
cut limits . Disciplinary policy shall be designed to help the
child develop self-control, self-esteem and respect for the
rights of others „

(b) Only a child care worker meeting the qualifications
of a child care teacher or assistant child care teacher may
discipline children: Discipline shall not be delegated to
older children or peers .

(c) Punishment which is humiliating or frightening to a
child is prohibited . Examples of prohibited punishment
include :

1 . Spanking, hitting, pinching, shaking or inflicting any
other form of corporal punishment ;

equipment when all children are involved in using equip-
ment; and

3 . Sufficient outdoor play equipment shall be provided
to allow each child at least one activity involving equip-
ment when all children are involved in using equipment ;
and

4. Equipment and materials which reflect an awareness
of cultural and ethnic diversity shall be provided '

Note: Lists suggesting kinds and numbers of' play equipment for centers
are available from a department regional office on request .

(4) REST PERIODS (a) During sessions lasting more than

4 hours, there shall be a supervised nap or rest period of

approximately one hour or longer for all children under 5

years of age .

(b) Children who do not sleep shall be permitted to get
up and be helped to have a quiet time through the use of
equipment or activities which will not disturb other chil-
dren .

(c) Each child shall be provided with an individual bed,
cot, sleeping bag or crib which is placed at least 2 feet
(63„8 cm„) from the next bed, cot, crib or sleeping bag .
When sleeping bags are used, the child's head shall not
rest directly on the floor .

2. Verbal abuse, threats or derogatory remarks about
the child or the child's family ;

3. Binding or tying to restrict movement or enclosing in
a confined space such as a closet, locked room, box or
similar cubicle ; and

4, Withholding or forcing meals, snacks or naps ,

(d) Children shall not be punished for lapses in toilet
training.

(3) EQuIPMENT. (a) Indoor and outdoor play equipment
shall be provided and shall be:

1„ Scaled to the size and developmental level of the
children;

2. Of sound construction with no sharp, rough, loose, or
pointed edges and in good operative condition, anchored
when necessary; and

3. Placed so as to avoid danger of accident or collision
and to permit freedom of action.

(b) Equipment and supplies shall be provided according
to the following criteria :

1 . Child development shall be fostered through selection
of a variety of equipment to :

a . Provide for large muscle development ;

b . Provide for construction activities and for the devel-
opment of manipulative skills;

c„ Encourage social interaction; , . .

d. Provide for intellectual stimulation; and

e . Encourage creative expression;

2 . Sufficient indoor play equipment shall be provided to
allow each child a choice of at least 3 activities involving

(d) Beds, cots, cribs, sleeping bags and bedding shall be
individually identified to ensure that each child uses the
same items between washings of items .

(e) Each child using a bed, cot or crib shall be provided
with an individual sheet and blanket ,

(f) A complete change of bedding shall be made after
each 5 uses or immediately when wet or soiled and always
upon a change in occupancy. Sleeping bags shall be
washed or cleaned as often as needed and at least weekly „

(g) Beds, cots, cribs, sleeping bags and bedding shall be
stored in a clean and sanitary manner .

(5) MEA[s AND sNACKS (a) Food . 1 . Food shall be pro-
vided as specified in Table 55 .34, based on the amount of
time children are present .

TABLE 55.3 4

MEAL AND SNACK REQUIREMENTS FOR EACH
CHILD IN GROUP DAY CARE CENTERS

Time Present Number of Meals Snacks

2'/2 to 4 hours 1 snack
4 to 8 hours 1snack and 1 meal
8 to 10 hours 2 snacks and 1 meal
10 hours or more 2 meals and 2 or 3 snacks

2, Center-provided transportation time shall be in-
cluded in determining the amount of time children are
present for the purposes of subd . 1 .

3 . Food shall be served at flexible intervals, but no child
shall go without nourishment for longer than 3 hours .

4., Meal and snack patterns listed in subds . 5, 6 and 7
shall be used in meal planning„ Each meal shall provide '/3
of the daily nutritional requirement of the child „
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5. Breakfast shall consist of at least one item from each
of the following categories :

a, Fruit or juice ;

b. Cereal, whole grain or enriched bread product ; and

d. Grade A vitamin D milk.

6,Noon and evening meals shall consist of at least one
item from each of the following categories :

a . Protein sources, such as meat, poultry, fish, eggs,
cooked dried peas or beans, cheese or peanut butter ;

b. 2 vegetables or 1 vegetable and 1 fruit, or 2 fruits ;

c . Cereal, or whole grain or enriched bread products;
ana

(6) HEtu.TH . (a) Observation„ 1 . Each child upon arrival
at the center shall be observed by a staff person for symp-
toms of illness .

2 ., Any evidence of unusual bruises, contusions, lacera-
tions or burns shall be noted on the child's record and
reported immediately to the person in charge of the
center.

(b) Isolation„ An isolation area shall be provided for the
care of children who become ill. If the area is not a sepa-
rate room, it shall be separated from space used by other
children by a partition, screen or other means.

(c) Ill child procedure. The following procedures shall
apply when an apparently ill child is observed in the day
care center:

d . Grade A vitamin D milk.

7 . Mid-morning and mid-afternoon snacks shall consist
of at least one of the following: milk or a milk product,
fruit, filiit juice, vegetable, peanut butter or other protein,
whole grain or enriched bread or cereal . When only fruit
juice is served, it shall be pure fruit juice .

8 . Menus shall :

a . Be posted in the kitchen and in a conspicuous place
accessible to parents ;

b, . Be planned at least one week in advance, dated and
kept on file for 3 months ;

c. Be available for review by the department ;

d. Include diverse types of foods ; and

1. Children with a sore throat, inflammation of the eyes,
fever, lice, ringworm of the scalp, rash, vomiting, diar-
rhea, or other illness or condition having the potential to
affect the health of other persons shall be isolated ;

2, The child shall be provided with a bed, crib, or cot,
sheet and blanket in the isolation room or area with a
staff within sight and hearing of the child, except that for
sessions of 4 hours or less a kindergarten mat may be
provided for the isolation room instead of a bed, crib or cot .,
Isolation shall be used until the child can be removed from
the center;

3 . The child's parent, or a designated responsible person
when a parent cannot be reached, shall be contacted as
soon as possible after the illness is discovered. Arrange-
ments shall be made for the removal of the child from the
center; and

e„ Reflect a variety of cultures and ethnic diversity,4, Children who are ill may be transferred to a center or

9. Any changes in the menu as planned shall be re- program component licensed for the care of ill children

corded on the copies of the menu kept on file and posted when all of the following conditions are met :

for parents
. a . The narent consents :

10. Enough food shall be prepared for each meal to
enable children to have second portions of vegetables or
fruit, bread and milk .

11,When bag lunches or other foods are provided by a
parent, the center shall ensure that each child has a meal
that provides '/3 of the child's daily nutritional require-
ments as specified in subds . 5. and 6„

12: Special diets, including nutrient concentrates and
supplements, may be served only upon written instruction
of the child's physician and upon request of the parent .

13. Cooks, staff members, child care workers, and sub-
stitutes having direct contact with the children shall be
informed about food allergies and other allergies of spe-
cific children„

(b) Food and food service . 1„ Staff shall sit at the table
with the children during mealtime.

2 ;. Meals shall be served with time allowed for socializa-
tion .

3 . Children shall be encouraged to serve themselves, .

4 . Food shall not be used as a punishment or reward „

5 . Children shall not be forced to eat,

b . The written health policy of the center allows ill chil-
dren to remain at the center; and

c. Medical consultation from a physician or local health
department is available to the center in establishing pol-
icy for the management of ill children „

(d) Communicable disease,, 1, When a child is suspected
of having chickenpox, German measles, infectious hepati-
tis, measles, mumps, poliomyelitis, scarlet fever, whoop-
ing cough, diphtheria, meningitis or other reportable com-
municable disease under ch. HSS 145, the local public
health officer shall be notified„

2. Whenever it is determined that a child has a commu-
nicable disease, the exposed children shall be watched for
symptoms of the disease and their parents shall be noti-
fied as specified in sub . (7).,

3 . A child may be readmitted without a statement from
a physician after having had a communicable disease only
if the child has been absent for a period of time equal to
the longest usual incubation period of the disease as speci-
fied by the department .

(e) Medication. 1. No prescriptive medication or non-
prescriptive medication including but not limited to aspi-
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rin, cough medicine or nose drops, may be given to a child
except under the following conditions :

a . A signed, dated, written authorization of the parent
is on file ;

b. Prescription medication is in the original container
and labeled with the child's name, name of drug, dosage,
directions for administering, date and physician's name;

c . Non-prescriptive medication is labeled with the
child's name includes the dosage and directions for ad-
ministering; and

d,A written report including type of medication given,
dosage, time, date and the name of the person administer-
ing the medication shall be kept in the child's record and
the center medical log required under s . HSS 55 .31 (4) (c).,

2 . Medications shall be stored so that they are not acces-
sible to the children.,

3,Medications requiring refrigeration shall be kept in
the refrigerator in a separate, covered container clearly
labeled "medication" .

(f) Personal cleanliness. L, Children's hands shall be
washed with soap and running water before eating and
after toileting . Children's hands and faces shall be washed
after meals.

2„ Persons working with the children shall wash their
hands with soap and running water before handling food
and after assisting with toileting.,

3 . Individual washcloths, combs, and toothbrushes shall
be kept in a sanitary condition when used at the center .

2„ A record of injuries shall be kept in the child's perma-
nent file and in the center medical log required under s .
HSS 55 .31 (4) (c) .

3„ Records of injuries shall be reviewed by the director
with staff at least twice each year in order to determine
that all possible preventive measures are being taken ,

(h) Physical examination . L, Each child shall have an
initial physical examination not more than 6 months
before or later than 3 months after admission to a center ,

2, Evidence of the child's most recent physical examina-
tion shall be provided by a report signed and dated by a
physician .

3 . Each child 2 years of age and older shall have a
subsequent physical examination by a physician at least
once every 2 years ,

4 . Each child under 2 years of age shall be examined by
a physician every 6 months after admission.

Note: Children participating in the early and periodic screening diagno-
sis and treatment (EPSDT) program or other screening program approved
by the department meet the iequirements of this paragraph, .

(i) Immunization. 1 . A record of immunizations for each
child shall be maintained to document compliance with s .
140.05 (16), Stats., and ch. HSS 144 .

(7) PARENTS, (a) Parents of enrolled children shall be
notified :

1. When their child has been exposed to a communica-
ble disease which has been diagnosed or suspected ;

2 . Immediately, if the child becomes ill or is seriously
injured;

4 . Wet or soiled clothing shall be changed promptly 3, When they pick up the child or when the child is

from an available supply of clean clothing„ delivered to the parents if there is a minor injury; and

5„ Applicable rules under s . HSS 55 .35 (4) shall apply to
children 2 years and older who require attention for
diapering and toileting.

(g) Injuries„ 1., Treatment of children who are injured
shall be planned for and carried out as follows :

a. Written permission from the parents to call the fam-
ily physician or refer the child for medical care in case of
injury shall be on file at the center„ Parents shall be con-
tacted as soon as possible after an injury has occurred;

b . A planned source of emergency medical care, such as
a hospital emergency room, clinic or other constantly
staffed facility, shall be designated and made known to
staff and parents ;

c . There shall be written procedures to be followed for
bringing the child to emergency medical care ;

d . Each center shall have a supply of bandages, tape,
and bandaids ;

e . Standard first aid practices shall be followed for seri-
ous injuries ;

f. There shall be routine procedures for treatment of
minor injuries ; and

g. Superficial wounds may be cleaned with soap and
water only and protected.

4 . Of the date, time and destination of field trips which
require the use of a vehicle .

(b) The center shall permit parents to visit and observe
during the hours of operation .,

(c) The center shall make opportunities available at
least twice each year for parent and staff communication
regarding the child's adjustment to the program, and his
or her growth and development .

(d) If religious training is part of the center program,
reference to the religious component shall be included in
any publicity and in the education policyo This informa-
tion shall be shared with parents .

(e) A copy of the applicable parts of this chapter and a
copy of the child care policies of the center shall be made
available to the parents . Personnel, training or orienta-
tion policies need not be included .

(f) Parents shall be informed that the center maintains
a medical log. Entries regarding a particular child shall be
made accessible to the child's parents upon request, ~

(8) MisCEL1.aNEOUS ACT1v1T1ES, A center which includes
in its program watercraft, riflery, archery or horseback
riding shall comply with the applicable requirements
under s . HSS 55 .44 (8), (9), and (11) .

History : Cr Register, October, 1984, No„ 345, eff : 11-1-84
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HSS 55.35 Additional requirements for infant and toddler
care . Group day care centers providing care and supervi-
sion to infants and toddlers shall comply with the addi-
tional requirements of this section .

(1) GENERAL REQUIREMENTS. (a) Prior to admission, an

interview shall be conducted with the child's parent or

guardian to obtain written information which will aid

child-caring staff in individualizing the program of care

for each child as specified in s. HSS 55~31 (4) (a) 11„
Information shall include :

1 . Schedule of meals and feeding;

2 . Types of food introduced and time-table for new
foods;

3„ Toilet and diapering procedures ;

4., Sleep and nap schedule ;

5,Child's way of communicating and being comforted ;
and

6„ Developmental and health history.

(b) Admission information for infants and toddlers shall
be on file in the room or area to which the child is assigned
and shall be known to the child care worker „

(c) At least every 2 months after admission, child care
staff and parents shall discuss the child's development
and routines with revisions noted in writing and dated ..

(d) Each group of infants and toddlers shall have at
least one regularly assigned child care worker to care for
them in order to assure consistency and stability of rela-
tionship.

4 . The non-walking child shall be given opportunities
during each day to move freely by creeping and crawling
in a safe, clean, open, warm and uncluttered area.

5 . Infants and toddlers shall be encouraged to play with
a variety of safe toys and objects.

6„ Infants and toddlers shall be taken outdoors for part
of each day except during inclement weather or when
health reasons indicate otherwise ,

(c) An adult-size rocking chair or other adult-size chair
shall be provided for each child care worker .

(d) The space occupied by permanently erected cribs
shall be excluded in determining the 35 square feet (3 .3
meters) space requirement for each child,

(e) Transportation of infants and toddlers shall be in
accordance with requirements under s . HSS 55 .09 .

(3) FEEDING (a) Each infant and toddler shall be fed on
his or her own feeding schedule .,

(b) Food and formula brought from home shall be la-
beled with the child's name and refrigerated if required .

(c) If formula is provided by the center, it shall be of the
commercially prepared, iron-enriched, ready-to-feed t,ype

.(d) When formula is discontinued, the center shall pro-
vide and use Grade A vitamin D milk for children over one
year of age and Grade A vitamin D whole milk for children
one year and under . Use of other types of milk shall be
based on the written recommendations of the child's phy-
sician

.(e) Leftover milk or formula shall be discarded after
each feeding . Bottles shall be rinsed after use .

(e) The regularly assigned child care teacher and assis-
tant child care teacher for each group of infants and tod-
dlers shall have a minimum of 10 hours of training in
infant and toddler care approved by the department
within 6 months after assuming the position .. This train-
ing may be part of the required entry-level training, or
may be obtained through inservice or continuing educa-
tion „

(f) Infants and toddlers are restricted to first floors and
ground floors having direct grade-level exits ,

(2) DAILY rxoGa" (a) Each child shall be allowed to
form and follow his or her own pattern of sleeping and
waking periods .

(b) Emphasis in activities shall be given to play as a
learning and growth experience.

1. Throughout the day, each infant and toddler shall
receive physical contact and attention such as being held,
rocked, talked to, sung to and taken on walks inside and
outside the center ,

2 . Routines relating to activities such as bedtime, feed-
ing, diapering and toileting shall be used as opportunities
for language development and other learning experiences .

3. While a non-walking child is awake, the child care
worker shall change the child's position and location peri-
odically .

(f) Drinking water shall be offered to_the infant and
toddler several times daily.

(g) A child unable to hold a bottle shall be held when-
ever a bottle is given„ Bottles may not be propped .

(h) Commercial baby food containers which are opened
and foods prepared in the center which are stored, shall be
covered, dated and refrigerated. If not used the next day,
leftover food shall be discarded„

(i) A child too young to sit in a high chair or feeding
table shall be held or placed in an infant seat while being
fed. Wide-based highchairs with safety straps or feeding
tables with safety straps shall be provided for those chil-
dren not developmentally able to sit at tables and chairs.

(j) Children shall be encouraged to experiment with
self-feeding with their hands and spoons . Eating utensils
and cups shall be scaled to the size and developmental
level of children „

(k) A variety of nourishing foods shall be offered to each
child, including cereal, vegetables, fruit, eggs and meat
according to the child's developmental level and the par-
ent's feeding schedule, except that no child may be forced
to eat .

(4) DIAPERING AND TOILETING ACTIVITIES. (a) Toilet

training shall be planned cooperatively between the

child's assigned child care worker and the parent so that

the toilet routine established is consistent between the
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center and the child's home, except that no routine at-
tempts may be made to toilet-train a child under 18
months of age .

(b) Wet and soiled diapers and clothing shall be changed
promptly .

(c) There shall be a supply of dry clean clothing and
diapers sufficient to meet the needs of each child .

(d) A child shall be changed on a surface which is indi-
vidual to the child or is cleaned with a germicidal solution
after each use ,

(e) If center-supplied cloth diapers are used, soiled
diapers shall be rinsed in toilets of the water flush type
and placed immediately in a plastic-lined covered
container . Diapers shall be washed by a commercial dia-
per laundry service .

(f) If parent-supplied cloth diapers are used, soiled
diapers shall be rinsed and placed in labeled plastic bags
which are kept separate from other clothing and sent
home daily.

(g) If disposable diapers are used, soiled diapers shall be
placed in a plastic-lined covered container.

(h) Soiled diapers shall be removed from containers as
needed or at least daily for washing or disposal. Contain-
ers shall be washed and disinfected daily ,

(i) Soiled infant clothing shall be placed in a container
separate from diapers .

(j) The child care worker shall wash his or her hands
with soap and running water before and after each diaper-
ing or assistance with toileting routines .

(c) When the same premises are used for the operation
of both day care and night care, the number of children
during overlapping shift periods may not exceed the maxi-
mum licensed capacity of the center .

(d) The time that a child attends the center may not
exceed 12 hours during any 24-hour period ,

(e) Minimum staff-child ratios and group sizes as speci-
fied in s . HSS 55 32 (3) shall be maintained ,

(f) At no time may there be fewer than 2 adults on the
premises while children are sleeping.

(g) Every child shall be within the sight or sound of a
child care worker.

(h) All child care workers on duty shall remain awake
during night care„

(i) The parent or center shall provide each child in night
care with an individually labeled sleeping garment, a
washcloth and towel, a toothbrush and, if the child
wishes, a special toy or blanket which has meaning to him
or her.

(2) PROGRAM (a) The child care staff shall work with the
child's parent to coordinate a plan for the time the child
spends at the center with the family schedule „

(b) A center offering night care shall provide a self-
contained classroom away from sleeping children where
the awake child can engage in activities ,

(c) An evening and morning schedule of program activi-
ties shall be planned for the hours that children are
awake .

(d) School-age children shall have an opportunity to

(k) The application of lotions, powder or salves to the read or do school work ,

child during diapering may be done only at the specific (3) PREVENTIVE
MEASURES (a) Child care staff shall be

written direction of the parent or physician . The direc- given training in special techniques of evacuating sleeping
tions shall be recorded and posted in the diapering area. children in an emer enc

(1) Each self-contained classroom or area serving infants
or toddlers who are diapered shall have a sink with hot
and cold running water in or immediately adjacent to the
room or area.

(b) Centers operating during hours of darkness shall
provide emergency lighting, such as an operable flash-
light, for each self-contained room used by children.

(4) FEEDING. (a) Breakfast shall be served to all children
(m) A child shall be washed before diapering with a in care for the night, unless the parent specifies otherwise .

disposable or fabric washcloth which is used once . Wash-
cloths shall be individual to each child, (b) A nighttime snack shall be available to all children

in care..
(n) Washcloths and towels shall be provided for face and

handwashing. Washcloths and towels shall be individual
to each child and separate from washcloths used for
diapering,, .

History : Cr Register, October, 1984, No 346, eff, 11-1-84 .

HSS 55.36 Additional requirements for night care. Group
day care centers which operate during any period of time
between 7 :00 p .m. and 6:00 a.m. shall comply with the
additional requirements of this section.,

(1) GENERAL REQUIREMENTS, (a) Night care may be pro-

vided only in centers which offer self-contained class-

rooms .

(c) Each child present at the time the evening meal is
scheduled shall be served dinner .

(5) PERSONAL CLEANLINESS (a) Children shall have a
shower, tub or sponge bath as needed for body cleanliness .
When a bathtub is used, fresh water shall be provided for
each child and the tub shall be cleaned after each use .

(b) A child care worker shall be in the room while chil-
dren are bathing.

(6) SLEEP (a) Children who attend the center for the
evening hours but not the whole night shall have an op-
portunity to sleep, as needed,

(b) The maximum of 30 children may be admitted at (b) Sleep routines for individual children shall be based
any one time to a center offering night care, on information provided by the parents .

t
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(c) A bed, crib or cot and sheets and blankets, individual Subchapter IV -
to each child, shall be provided in night care, Additional Requirements

1, Pillows with pillow cases shall be available to chil- For Day Camps For Children
dren who choose to use them

., HSS 55.40 Scope. Sections HSS 55 .40 to 55 .44 apply to
2. The center shall maintain a supply of extra sleeping all licensed day camps for children .

garments and bedding for emergencies and accidents . History: Cr Register, October, 1984, No 346, eff 11-1-8 4

3. Rubber sheets shall be provided for children whose HSS 55.41 Operational requirements . (1) AD1vtn•r1sTRA-
enrollment information indicates a tendency to bedwet- TION The licensee shall :
ting.

(d) Children under 2 years of age in night care shall
sleep in cribs .

(e) Child care staff shall work with parents to ensure
consistency between the family and night care center bed-
time routines.

History: Cr . Register, October, 1984, No. 346, e8E'. 11-1-84 .

HSS 55 .37 Additional requirements for care of school-age
children . Group day care centers serving children who reg-
ularly attend programs for part of the day in a facility
other than the center shall comply with the additional
requirements of this section.

(1) Px.oGRAvl . (a) The center shall have a written agree-
ment signed by the parent or guardian which outlines the
plan for transporting the child to and from the center .

(b) The center shall have a planned program which pro-
vides a change of pace from the school through provision
Of.

1 . Rest and quiet areas ;

(a) Comply with all applicable statutes under which the
requirements in this chapter are promulgated ;

(b) Comply with all applicable requirements in this
chapter;

(c) Designate, in writing, a Wisconsin resident who is
responsible for ensuring compliance with the applicable
requirements in this chapter, if the licensee resides in
another state;

(d) Meet, upon request, with the licensing representa-
tive on matters pertaining to licensing;

(e) Provide documentation of insurance coverage by the
submission of a certificate of insurance reflecting current
dates of coverage for:

L, General liability insurance which provides coverage
with limits of not less than $25,000 for each person and
total limits of $75,000 for each occurrence ;

2 . Vehicle liability insurance, when transportation is
provided, with minimums no less than those specified in s,
121.53, Stats . ; and

2„ Recreational activities, including outdoor and active 3
. Non-owned vehicle liability insurance when transpor-

play
; and tation is provided by other than camp-owned vehicles;

3. Freedom for children to select and plan their own
activities

. (f) Develop written policies on the following subjects,
submit them to the department for review and implement

(c) When children 7 years of age and older are served in them:

the same center with children under 7,years of age, the
program for children 7 years of age and over shall not
infringe on the required space, equipment, staff or bath-
room facilities for the younger children.

(2) STAFF QUALIFICATIONS When a center provides care

exclusively for children enrolled in a kindergarten or ele-

mentary school, the qualifications of the program director

or teacher may include experience and credits earned in

elementary education, physical education or recreation in

place of the educational requirements specified in s . HSS

55.32 (1) .

(3) MEALS AND SNACKS School-age childremwho are pre-
sent in the day care center shall be served meals and
snacks at the time meals or snacks are served.

(a) When breakfast is served, it shall be made available
to those children who have not had breakfast.

(b) School age children present at mid-day shall be
served lunch, and those present in the evening shall be
served dinner .

(c) School age children present after school shall be
served a snack.

History: Cr,, Register, October, 1984, No. 346, eff. 11-1-84.

1, Termination of enrollment of children ;

2. Fee payment and refund; and

3, Personnel policies, job descriptions, and terms of em-
ployment; and

(g) Develop written policies on the following subjects,
submit them to the department for approval and imple-
ment them as approved :

1 . Admission, health, nutrition and discipline;

2 . Program objectives and a description of activities de-
signed to carry out the program objectives ;

3 . Transportation, when provided ;

4. Plans for evacuation and other emergencies ;

5 . In-service training and orientation of staff and volun-
teers ; and

6 . Supervised swim plan, if applicable .

(h) Make available to the parents, on request, a copy of
the applicable parts of this chapter and a copy of the child
care policies of the camp . Personnel, in-service training
and orientation policies need not be included;
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(i) Ensure that all published statements such as
brochures and publicity are accurate; and

(j) Include a reference to the religious component in any
publicity and program objectives if religious training is
part of the camp program. This information shall be
shared with parenta,

h . Dates of camp session in which the child is enrolled ;
and

2 . Consent from the parent for emergency medical care
or treatment ;

3. Authorization from the parent to transport the child
to and from the camp, when transportation is provided ;

(2) REPORTS The licensee shall report to the depart-
ment :

(a) An accident resulting in the death or serious injury
of a child while at a camp, within 48 hours after the
occurrence . In this paragraph, "serious injury" means an
injury requiring inpatient hospitalization of the child ;

(b) A catastrophe which damages the base camp, within
24 hours after the occurrence;

(c) A change in the board chairperson of the day camp,
within 30 days of the change;

(d) A change of the day camp director, within 7 days of
the change; and

(e) Statistical data required by the department on forms
provided by the department.

(3) STAFF REOORDS The licensee shall:

(a) Maintain a file on each employe which is available
for examination by the licensing representative and which
includes :

1 . The employe's name, address, date of birth, educa-
tion, position, previous experience in child care and a
signed statement affirming that he or she has not been
convicted or is not the subject of a pending criminal
charge as specified under s. HSS 55,05 (6) or (7);

2„ Documentation of any pertinent certification or train-
ing required for the position; and

(b) Maintain a listing at the base camp of the name,
address, and telephone number of the person to be notified
in the event of an emergency involving an employee .

(4) CxILDREN's RECORDS (a) The licensee shall maintain
an up-to-date written record on each child enrolled at the
camp and make the record available to the licensing rep-
resentative . Each record shall include :

1 . Pre-admission and enrollment information consisting
Of.

a. The name and birthdate of the child;

b. Full names of parents ;

o. The child's home address and telephone number ;

d . Address and telephone number where a parent can
be reached while the child is in care ;

e . Name, address, telephone number and relationship to
the child of the person to be notified in an emergency,
when a parent cannot be reached immediately;

f. Name, address and telephone number of the physi-
cian or medical facility caring for the child;

g . Names, addresses and telephone numbers of persons
authorized to call for the child; and

4. Authorization from the parent for the child to partici-
pate in and be transported for field trips and other activi-
ties, if these are part of the camp program ;

5„ Specific written informed consent from the parent for
each incident of participation by a child in any research or
testing project . The day camp shall obtain and make
available to the department and to the parent a statement
indicating the sponsor, the subject matter, the specific
purpose and the proposed use of results with respect to
each project;

6. The child's health history and any other matters re-
lating to the child's health ; and

7„ The daily. attendance of the child for the length of
time the child is enrolled in the program.

(b) The licensee shall maintain a daily medical log re-
cording any injuries received by a child or medication dis-
pensed to a child „

1., The log shall be in a bound book with pages that are
lined and numbered„ The pages may not be removed „

2 . Entries shall be in ink and dated and signed or ini-
tialed by the person making the entry,

History: Cr Register, October, 1984, No, 346, eg'. 11-1-84,

HSS 55.42 Personnel . (1) STAFF: PAID AND VOLUNTEER.,

(a) Each day camp shall have a person designated as camp
director on the premises at all times ,

(b) The camp director shall be at least 21 years of age
and shall meet one of the following criteria :

1 . Have at least 2 years of supervisory or administrative
experience in an organized camp or children's program; or

2 . Have a bachelor's degree in outdoor education, recre-
ation, social work, psychology, child development or edu-
cation orin another camp-related field .

(c) Paid counselors who are counted in determining the
counselor-to-child ratio shall have completed high school
or the equivalent as determined by the department of
public instruction „

(d) Paid or volunteer counselors who are considered in
determining counselor-to-child ratio shall be at least 18
years of age .

(e) In the absence of a regular staff member, there shall
be a similarly qualified substitute .

(2) STAFF TRAINING. (a) Each day camp shall develop a

written pre-camp training program plan, a copy of which
shall be submitted to the department. The plan shall in-

clude, but is not limited to, the following:

1. A review of the applicable parts of this chapter;

2„ A review of camp policies and procedures ;
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- 3. Job responsibilities in relation to job descriptions ;

4. Training in the recognition of illness of children ;

5 . Daily activity plans and schedules ;

6•• Emergency first aid;

7 . The. emergency plan required under s. HSS 55 .43 (2);

8. Training in the use of fire extinguishers and other
fire-fighting equipment;

9 . Training in the recognition of local poisonous plants
and snakes; and

10 . Child abuse and neglect laws ,

(b) All paid and volunteer counselors who are counted in
determining the counselor-to-child ratio shall have pre-
camp training. The pre-camp training program shall be
for a minimum of 3 camp days or 18 hours and shall
include orientation at the base camp •

(c) Campers' parents serving as staff may be exempted
from the 3 camp days or 18 hour pre-camp training when
the following conditions are met:

1. The parent receives 4 hours of training in day camp
programming required under par.• (a), including orienta-
tion at the base camp ; and

2. The parent works under the supervision of a staff
person who has met the requirements specified in par. (b) .

(d) The camp director shall plan and implement staff
meetings which will provide ongoing supervision and in-
service training for the staff.

(3) STAFFING . (a) Each child shall be closely supervised
at all times.

(b) There shall be a ratio of at least one counselor to
every 4 children under 4 years of age. There shall be a
ratio of at least one counselor to every 6 children 4 years
of age . There shall be a ratio of one counselor to every 12
children 5 and 6 years of age . When there is a mixed-age
group, the staff-to-child ratio shall be adjusted on a
prorata basis, according to age .

Note: Worksheets for prorating staff-to-child ratios for mixed age groups
are available from the department upon reques t

(c) The counselor-to-child ratio shall be exclusive of
maintenance staff, program specialists and counselors in
training.

(d) The camp director may not leave the base camp
during the hours of operation unless another qualified
person is at the base camp. This person shall be identified
in a written delegation of administrative authority and
shall be authorized to make decision&

(e) When 9 or more children are present at the base
camp, there shall be at least 2 adults available at all times
and at least one of the adults shall be a counselor.

(f) When children 7 years of age and older are served in
the same unit with children under 7 years of age, the ratio
of counselors to all children in the unit shall be consistent
with the requirements for the under 7 year-old ratio .

(4) HEALTH QUALIFICATIONS No staff member, volun-

teer, visitor or parent with symptoms of communicable

disease or physical illness, or whose behavior gives the
camp director reason to be concerned for the safety of the
children, may be allowed on the premises of the day camp ,

History: Cr. Register, Octobex, 1984, No, 346, efI' 11-1-84

HSS 55 .43 Base camp and facilities . (1) SITE AND BuiLn-
ING, (a) The base camp shall provide natural resources
that allow for an outdoor living experience .

(b)On-site or off-site shelters shall be provided for use
during inclement weather for ongoing camp activities .

(c) The base camp shall be located in an area that has
good drainage.•

Note: Local authorities should be consulted to obtain any required zon-
ing clearances or building permits .

(d) Buildings and shelters on sites used or constructed
primarily for day camp purposes shall comply with chs .
ILHR 50 to 64 and an inspection report shall be filed with
the department .

(e) All buildings and structures used by children for day
camp purposes shall have not less than 2 plainly marked
exits.

(2) SAFETY . (a) Protective measures. 1 . Each camp shall
have a written plan for dealing with emergency situa-
tions, including but not limited to fire, natural disaster,
lost campers, lost swimmers, accident and illness ,

2 . Staff shall be informed of and knowledgeable about
the following:

a. His or her duties in the event of an emergency ;

b . Evacuation routes; and

c . The location of the nearest telephone .• A list of emer-
gency telephone numbers shall be immediately available
to staff.

. 3 .• All equipment and facilities used by the children and
staff, whether owned by the camp or not, shall be in safe
operating condition and not present undue risk to chil-
dren .

4 .• No alcohol or non-prescribed controlled substances as
defined in s . 161 .01, Stats•• may be consumed on the prem-
ises of the day camp during hours of operation .

5 . All hazards, including abandoned refrigerators with
doors, open grease traps, unsafe fences, and abandoned
excavations, shall beeliminated or provided with protec-
tive devices .

6•• Substances which may be toxic if ingested, inhaled, or
handled, including drugs, chemicals and pesticides, shall
be clearly labeled and stored in areas not accessible to
children••

7 . A motor vehicle shall be available at all times for
emergency transportation.

(b) Fire protection. 1 . All fire protection facilities and
equipment shall be inspected and maintained in working
order by a qualified person .

2. Flammable and combustible liquids shall be in
plainly markedcontainers and stored in areas accessible
only to designated adults .
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3 . Before camp opens, written notification of the camp well shall be tested at the state laboratory of hygiene or a
operation shall be given to the nearest fire department or state-approved laboratory at least annually and at least 2
forest ranger service for protection in case of fire,. weeks prior to the camp opening . The water supply shall

be bacteriologically safe ,
4 . Any permits required for operation of incinerators of

for open fires shall be secured. 3. Where running water is not available, a covered

5
. The clearing around open fires shall be free of burn- drinking water container suitable for pouring or equipped

able materials for a radius of 6 feet
. with a faucet shall be provided . Dipping into water fro m

the container is prohibited, The container shall be cleaned

(3) SaNITATION. (a) General. 1 . The premises shall be daily . The water source shall be a public water supply or

free of litter, safe and clean. as specified in subd. 2 .

2,Furnishings and other equipment shall be clean .

3 . Toilet facilities shall be in sanitary condition.

4 . Painted exterior and interior surfaces accessible to
children shall be finished with lead-free paint or other
non-toxic material .

5 . Garbage containers in the building shall be covered,
watertight and emptied daily . Garbage and refuse stored
out-of-doors shall be kept in rigid leak-proof containers
equipped with tight-fitting covers and hauled away as
necessary to prevent decomposition and overflow at the
site.

6. The areas around garbage and rubbish containers
shall be clean and dry„

7. Solid waste disposal sites on the premises must be
licensed by the department of natural resources .

(b) Insect, rodent, and weed control ., 1, The growth of
brush, weeds, grass and plants shall be controlled in the
central camp area to prevent the harborage of noxious
insects and rodents and other animals .

2 . The central camp area shall be maintained to prevent
growth of ragweed, poison ivy and other noxious plants
considered detrimental to health .

3, Buildings and structures shall be maintained to con-
trol insect and rodent harborage and infestations .,

(c) Food preparation, service and storage. 1 . When food
is provided and served by the day camp, s . HSS 55 .33 (9)
shall apply .

2 . Equipment and utensils used for preparing, serving
and storing food shall be clean and facilities equipped for
the safe handling of food .

3 . Washable dishes provided by the camp shall have
smooth hard surfaces which are free of open seams,
cracks, chips and roughened areas, The dishes shall be
stored in such a manner as not to expose them to contami-
nation.

4„ Single-service utensils and food containers shall be
made from non-toxic materials and shall not be reused .

5 . Milk shall be maintained at or below 40°F (8°C) .

(d) Water. 1 ., A supply of safe drinking water shall be
available to children at all times from disposable cups,
individually labeled cups or angle jet type drinking foun-
tains . Common use of drinking cups is prohibited .

2. When a public water system is not available, a pri-
vate well may be used if it is approved by the department
of natural resources. Water samples from an approved

(e) Washrooms and toilet facilities. L Handwashing and
toileting facilities shall be provided and accessible to chil-
dren.

2„ Single-use disposable towels or individually labeled
clean cloth towels shall be provided and accessible to chil-
dren .

3 . Soap, toilet paper and wastepaper container shall be
provided and accessible to children .

4, Outdoor toilets, when used, shall be constructed ac-
cording to the requirements of s. ILHR 52 .63 .

5 . If devices other than plumbed toilets or outdoor toi-
lets are used, they shall be subject to local ordinances and
required permits shall be obtained .

6„ Plumbing shall comply with all applicable sections of
ch . ILHR 82.

7. Liquid waste disposal shall be connected to a public
sewer, if available . If not available, liquid waste disposal
shall be in accordance with ch, ILHR 82 .

History : Cr .. Register, October, 1984, No . 346, efI'. 11-1-84.

HSS 55.44 Program . (1) PROGRAM PLANNING AND IMPLE-

MENTATION., (a) Each day camp shall have a program of

activities planned according to the developmental level of

each group of children and intended to expose children to

a variety of cultures . Theprogram shall provide each child

with experiences which encourage :

1. An appreciation and understanding of the natural
environment;

2 . Large and small muscle development ;

3 . Learning of skills ;

4„ Self-esteem and positive self-image;

5 . Opportunities for recreation; and

6 . Social interaction in a group setting .

(b) The program shall :

1, Protect the children from excessive fatigue and from
overstimulation; and

2. Encourage spontaneous activities .

(2)DISOIPLINE . (a) Each day camp shall have a written
policy on discipline of children which provides for positive
guidance, redirection and the setting of clear-cut limits .
The policy shall be designed to help each child develop
self-control, self-esteem, and respect for the rights of
others .,

{
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(b) Only staff specified under s. HSS 55 .42 (2) (b) and (c) (d) The meal and snack patterns listed below shall be
may discipline a child . Discipline may not be delegated to used in meal planning. Each meal shall provide '/g of the
older children or peers. daily nutritional requirements of the child.

(c) Punishment which is humiliating or frightening to a
child is prohibited . Examples of prohibited punishment
include :

1 . Spanking, hitting, pinching, shaking or inflicting any
other form of corporal punishment ;

2„ Verbal abuse, threats or derogatory remarks about
the child or the child's family;

3 . Binding or tying to restrict movement or enclosing in
a confined space such as a closet, locked room, box or
similar cubicle ; and

4„ Withholding or forcing meals, snacks or naps „

(d) Children shall not be punished for lapses in toilet
training.

(3) EQUIPMENT (a) The camp shall provide program
equipment in a variety and quantit,y which will allow staff
to implement activities outlined in the written policy on
program objectives and activities required under s . HSS
55:41(1)(g)2.

(b) All equipment shall be:

1 ;, Scaled to the developmental level, size and ability of
the children;

2,. Of sound construction with no sharp, rough, loose or
pointed edges, in good operating condition, anchored when
necessary; and

3 . Placed to avoid danger of accident and collision and to
permit freedom of action.

(4) REST. When a session is more than 4 hours in length,
there shall be a rest period or period of quiet activities of
approximately one hour for all children under 5,years of
age„

(5) FooD (a) Food shall be'provided accordance with
Table 55 .44 which is based on the amount of time children
are present.

TABLE 55 .4 4

.MEAL AND SNACK REQUIREMENTS FOR EACH
CHILD AT A DAY CAMP

Time Children Are Number of Meals and Snack s
Present

2'/2 to 4 hours 1 snack
4 to 8 hours 1 snacks and 1 meal
8 to 10 hours 2 snacks and 1 meal
10 hours or more 2 meals and 2 or 3 snacks

(b) Camp-provided transportation time shall be in-
cluded in determining the total number of hours a child is
present for the purpose of par., (a) .

(c) Food allergies of specific children shall be reported to
cooks, counselors and substitutes having direct contact
with children .

(e) Noon or evening meals shall consist of at least one
item from each of the following categories :

1,Protein sources, such as meat, poultry, fish, eggs,
cooked dried peas or beans, cheese or peanut butter;

2, Two vegetables, or 1 vegetable and 1 fruit, or 2 fruits ;

3 . Cereal, or whole grain or enriched bread ; and

4. Grade A vitamin D milk „

(f) Mid-morning and mid-afternoon snacks shall consist
of at least one of the following : milk or milk product, fruit,
fruit juice, vegetable, peanut butter or other protein,
whole grain or enriched bread or cereaL When only fruit
,juice is used, it shall be pure fruit juice .

(g) When a bag lunch or other food is provided by the
parent, the camp shall ensure that each child has a meal
that provides '/a of the daily nutritional requirements for a
child of that age„

(h) Children's hands shall be washed with soap and
water before eating .

(6) HEALTH . (a) Observation. 1 . Each child upon arrival
at the camp shall be observed by a staff person for symp-
toms of illness.

2 . Any evidence of unusual bruises, contusions, lacera-
tions or burns shall be noted on the child's record and
reported immediately to the camp director.

(b) Supervision . There shall be an adult at the camp at
all times who is responsible for health supervision . The
adult shall be a registered nurse, physician or a person
holding a current certificate from the American Red Cross
standard first aid and personal safety course .

(c) Isolation„ L, There shall be an isolation or first aid
area for the care of children who become ill .

2„ When an apparently ill child is observed in the day
camp, the following procedures shall apply :

a . A child with a sore throat ; inflammation of the eyes,
fever, lice, ringworm of the scalp, rash, vomiting, diar-
rhea, or other illness or health condition shall be isolated
until the child can be removed from the camp ; and

b. The child's parent, or a designated responsible person
when parents cannot be reached, shall be contacted as
soon as possible after the illness is discovered to take the
child from the camp „

(d) Communicable disease. 1 . When a child is suspected
of having chicken pox, German measles, infectious hepati-
tis, measles, mumps, poliomyelitis, scarlet fever, whoop-
ing cough, diphtheria, meningitis, or any other communi-
cable disease under ch, HSS 145, the local health officer
shall be notif'ied „

2 . Whenever it is determined that a child has a commu-
nicable disease, the exposed children shall be watched for
symptoms of the disease and their parents shall be noti-
fied of the children's exposure .
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3 . A child may be readmitted without a statement from
a physician after having had a communicable disease only
if the child has been absent for a period of time equal to
the longest usual incubation period of the disease as speci-
fied by the department.

(e) Medication. 1 . No prescription or non-prescription
medication, including but not limited to aspirin, cough
medicine, or nose drops, may be given to a child except
under the following conditions :

3 . Records of injuries shall be reviewed by the camp
director and staff as part of the in-service training to de-
termine that all preventive measures are being taken„

(g) Health history. A written health history which in-
cludes dates of immunization, allergies, limitations that
would affect activities and other health conditions shall be
obtained from the parent before the first day of camp . This
shall be kept on file at the base camp and be available to
staff:

a . A signed, dated, written authorization of the parent (7) WATERFRONT (a) Swimming area,. 1 . Beaches, pools
is on file; and other swimming areas used by campers shall be lo-

td t td d d td di t
b. Prescription medication is in the original container

and labeled with the child's name, name of drug, dosage,
directions for administering, date and physician's name ;

ca e, cons ruc e, equippe an opera e accor ng o
the requirements of ch. ILHR 90 .

c ., Non-prescriptive medication is labeled with the
child's name andthe request, signed by the parent, in-
cludes the dosage and directions for administering ; and

d. A written report which includes the type of medica-
tion given, dosage, time, date and name of the person
administering the medication shall be kept in the child's
record and in the medical log which shall meet specifica-
tions of s. HSS 55„41 (4) (b).

2 . All medications shall be stored so that they are not
accessible to the children „

3 . Medications requiring refrigeration shall be kept in
the refrigerator in a separate, covered container clearly
labeled "medication„ "

(f) Injury . 1 . Written procedures for the treatment of
children who are in accidents or otherwise injured shall be
available and made known to staff and shall be carried out
as follows :

a . Written permission from the parent to call the family
physician or refer the child for medical care in case of
injury shall be on file at the camp„ This permission shall
be used only when the parent or the designated responsi-
bleperson cannot be reached ;

b. Prior to the opening of camp, a planned source of
emergency medical care, such as a hospital emergency
room, clinic or other constantly staffed medical facility,
shall be designated and made known to staff and parents ;

c . There shall be written procedures to be followed for
bringing a child to emergency medical care ;

d . First aid equipment shall be available at a designated
location in each cottage or other living unit and at the first
aid area ;

e . First aid equipment shall be taken on all out-of-camp
trips ;

f. Standard first aid practices shall be followed for seri-
ous injuries ;

g. There shall be routine procedures for treatment of
minor injuries; and

2„ The source and bacteriological, chemical, physical
and biological quality of water at pools and beaches used
by day camp children shall meet the requirements of ch,
ILHR 90 .

3„ Swimming pools shall be enclosed with a fence . All
gates shall be locked when waterfront staff are not on
duty .

4. The swimming area used by a day camp shall have
designated areas for non-swimmers, intermediate swim-
mers, advanced swimmers and divers .

(b) Waterfront staff 1 . Each day camp offering swim-
ming, boating, canoeing, or other aquatic activities shall
designate a staff person as waterfront director ; The water-
front director shall :

a . Be 18 years of age or older; and

b . Hold a Red Cross water safety instructor's certificate
or a comparable Boy Scout or national YMCA certificate .

2 . The camp shall maintain a ratio of one person with a
current Red Cross lifesaving certificate per 25 children in
the water, except where a public swimming place has life-
saving personnel on duty. While children are in the water,
staff-to-child ratios under s . HSS 55„42 (3) (b) shall be
maintained by staff who can swim .

3 . The waterfront director or an equally qualified per-
son shall be on duty at all times whenever children are in
the water.

(c) Swimming procedures. 1 . The swimming ability of
each child shall be determined and recorded through the
use of an American Red Cross test .

2, Children shall be restricted to swimming areas
within their swimming classification„

3 . A written plan approved by the department for the
supervision of swimmers shall be developed, implemented
and made known to staff. The plan shall include :

a. A system of checking persons in and out of the water ;
and

b. Emergenc,y procedures to be carried out when a
swimmer cannot be found .

h . Superficial wounds may be cleaned with soap and
water only and protected .

2 . A daily record of injuries shall be kept in the medical
log .

(d) Boating prohibited in swimming areas„ Except in an
emergency, no rowboat, canoe, motor boat or other craft,
except a lifeboat used by lifeguards, is permitted in a
swimming area, pursuant to s . 30.68 (7), Stats .

Register, June, 1995, No, 474
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(e) Supervision of waterfront activities. Children shall
be closely supervised when they are participating in fish-
ing and shoreline activities.

(8) WATERCRAtvr (a) All water craft shall comply with
ch., NR 5 ,

(d) A list of children participating in the day trip shall
be maintained by a counselor accompanying the children.

History: Cr, Register, October, 1984, No 346, eff : 11-1-84; corrections
in (7) (a) made under s. 13.93 ( 2m) (b) 7 ., Stats., Register, June, 1995,
No. 474.

(b) Each occupant of a watercraft shall wear a type I or
II coast guard-approved personal flotation device which is
appropriate to the weight of the person wearing it .

(c) There shall be at least one adult in each watercraft
who is a competent swimmer as determined by the water-
front director.

(d) Children who have not completed beginning swim-
ming shall be limited to the use of the rowboats only .

(9) RIFLERY AND ARCHERY Riflery and archery may not

be part of the program for children under 7,years of age .

When riflery and archery are included in the program for

older children, the following precautions for the protection

of children under 7 years of age shall be observed :

(a) The archery or rifle range may be used only under
the supervision of an adult instructor; ,

(b) Other program activities shall be in an area away
from the designated archery or rifle range. The range
shall be fenced in with rope or wire and marked with
danger signs or flags ;

(c) Rifles, ammunition, and archery equipment shall be
stored under lock and key when not in use ; and

(d) Unfired cartridges and arrows collected in cleaning
the range shall be returned to the instructor and not
thrown into the trash or kept by the finder

(10) ;TooLS., (a) Power tools shall not be used by children
under 7 years of age.

(b) Children under 7 years of age shall not be allowed in
areas where power tools are in use .

(c) When power tools and other tools are not in use, they
shall be stored in an area not accessible to children .

(11) HORSEBACK RIDING. (a) This subsection shall apply

whether the camp owns, rents, or leases horses,

(b) Children may ride horseback only under close super-
vision in a ring or other enclosed area ,

(c) The riding tack shall be maintained in good repair to
provide maximum safety for children. It shall be appropri-
ate to the age, size, and ability of the rider.

(d) Horseback riding shall be specifically covered by the
camp's liability insurance .

(12) DAY TRIPS. For day trips away from the base camp :

(a) Staff shall carry signed parental permission for the
emergency medical care of all children on the day trip ;

(b) The counselor-child ratio under s . HSS 55 .42 (3) (b)
shall be maintained, except that the number of adults
accompanying children away from the base camp may be
no fewer than 2 ;

(c) A planned source of emergency medical care in the
area to be visited shall be known to staff; and

Subchapter V -
Day Care Programs Established

by School Boards

HSS 55 .50 Definitions . In this subchapter, "establish and
provide" means to fund the day care program and to con-
trol the daily operation of the program .

History: Cr,, Register, August, 1985, No 356, eff, 9-1-8 5

HSS 55.51 Compliance with licensing standards . (1) A day
care program established and provided by a school board
shall comply with applicable standards under subchs . I,
and II, III or IV governing the operation of day care cen-
ters .,

(2) The department shall inspect the day care program
established and provided by a school board and document
in writing for the school board whether or not the day care
program complies with the applicable standards for day
care centers under this chapter

History: Cr, Register, August, 1985, No. 356, eff 9-1-85

Subchapter VI - ~
Day Care Certification

,:s t5 - ~ ~` 1, ~",~ «~• ~2_

HSS 55 .55 Authority, purpose and applicability . (1) Au- x ,L

1`HORITSC AND PuRPOSE This subchapter is promulgated -7

pursuant to s . 46.03 (21), Stats ., and implements s ,

48.651, Stats. It establishes standards for the certification
of persons who provide day care for 1 to 3 children or who
are not otherwise required to be licensed as a day care
center under s . HSS 55 .05, and whose services are pur-
chased by county social service departments with state
community aid funds. The standards are intended to pro-
tect the health, safety and welfare of children in the care
of these providers .

(2) APPLICABILITY . This subchapter applies to county
agencies and to all providers of day care who receive reim-
bursement from county agencies and who are not required
to be licensed under s, HSS 55, 05, including providers of
day care for 1 to 3 children, providers of day care for a
child in the child's home and providers of day care for
school-age children.

History: Cr Register, August, 1985, No 356, eff : 9-1-85 .

HSS 55.56 Definitions. In this subchapter:

(1) "Certified day care" means day care not required to
be licensed under s . 48 .65, Stats., as a day care center and
which meets the standards under s. HSS 55.61 for
purchase of care by county agencies .

(2) "Certified day care operator" means an individual,
corporation, partnership or non-incorporated association
or cooperative which has legal and financial responsibility
for the operation of a day care program and for meeting
the certification requirements under this subchapter .

(3) "County agency" means a county department of so-
cial services established under s . 46 .215 or 46 .22, Stats,, ,

Register, June, 1995, No., 474
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or a county department of human services established
under s . 46 .23, Stats.

(4) "Department" means the Wisconsin department of
health and social services .

(5) "Family day care center" means a day care center
licensed under ch . HSS 45 .

(6) "Family day care provider" means a person providing
care for preschool or school-age children, or both, outside
their homes for less than 24 hours a day and who is not
required to be licensed under s. 48.65, Stats ., because the
provider is caring for fewer than 4 children under 7 years
old who are not related to the provider .

(7) "Group day care center" means a day care center
licensed under s . 48 .65, Stats,, and subchs. I and III

(8) "HealthCheck provider" means a provider of health
assessment and evaluation services eligible to be certified
under s. HSS 105 .37 (1) (a), including an outpatient hospi-
tal facility, health maintenance organization, visiting
nurse association, clinic operated under a physician's su-
pervision, local public health agency, home health agency,
rural health clinic, Indian health agency and neighbor-
hood health center .

(9) "Infant" means a child under one year of age „

(10) "In-home provider" means a person caring for a
child in the child's own home.

(11) "Licensed physician" means a physician licensed
under ch„ 448, Stats.

(12) "Parent" means a parent as defined in s . 48 .02 (13),
Stats., or a guardian as defined in s . 48.02 (8), Stats .

HSS 55.57 Conditions for purchase of services . A county

agency may purchase day care only from a family day care

center licensed by the department under subchs. I and II,

a group day care center licensed by the department under

subchs . I and III, a day camp licensed by the department

under subchs . I and IV, a day care provider certified by a

county agency under this subchapter or a day care pro-

gram established and provided by a public school board .

History : Cr . Register, August, 1985, No. 356, eff 9-1-85,

HSS 55 .58 Certification . (1) BASIS FOR CERTIFICATION. In

order to be certified, a day care provider shall be exempt

from having to be licensed under subchs . I, and II, III or

IV and shall comply with the appropriate standards for

the type of certified provider that are specified in this

subchapter ,

(2) TYPES OF CERTIFIED PROVIDERS ., The following types

of day care providers shall be certified as a condition for

receiving county day care funds:

(a) Family day care providers and in-home providers ,
Family day care and in-home providers are required to
meet the standards under s . HSS 55 .61 and may care for
preschool children or up to 6 school-age children or a com-
bination of preschool and school-age children consistent
with Table 55.61(5).

(b) School-age day care programs, School-age day care
programs are required to meet the standards under s .
HSS 55 .62 ;

(c) Private and parochial school-operated day care pro-
grams, Private and parochial school-operated day care
programs are required to meet the standards referred to
under s . HSS 55 .63; and

(13) "Parochial or other, private school-operated day care (d) Other, day care programs. Other day care programs

program"means a program providing care and supervision identified under s . HSS 55 .03 (1), (2) and (3) for which a
for less than 24 hours a day for 4 or more children under license is not required are required to meet the standards
the age of 7 and which is exempt under s . 48 .65 (2) (b), referred to under s . HSS 55 .63 „

Stats, from being licensed as a day care center.

(14) "Physician's assistant" means a health care profes-
sional certified under s. 448 .04 (1) (f), Stats .,, and ch, Med
8 .

(15) "Provider" means a person who provides day care
for children.

(16) "Publicly funded parent" means a parent whose day
care expenses are subsidized directly with state or federal
funds„

(17) "Registered nurse" means a nurse licensed as a
registered nurse under ch. 441, Stats

,(18) "Related to the provider" means the provider's nat-
ural or adopted children, foster children, stepchildren,
grandchildren, brothers,sisters, nephews, nieces, uncles
and aunts„

(19) "School-age day care program" means a program
providing care and supervision for less than 24 hours a
day for 7 or more school-age children who are at least 7
years of age but less than 12 years of age and which is
exempt from being licensed as a day care center under s.
48 .65 (1), Stats.,

History: Cr Register, August, 1985, No 356, eff 9-1-85; r,and recr
Register, December, 1991, No„ 432, eff, 1-1-92„

Register, June, 1995, No 474

(3) APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION (a) Form. Applica-

tion for certification shall be made on a form available

from the county agency in the provider's county . The ap-

plicant shall submit the completed form to that county

agency,

(b) References . The applicant shall submit with the ap-
plication the names and addresses of persons who can
attest to the applicant's good character and ability to care
for children„ The county agency shall require references of
all applicants and shall contact references by phone or
letter before certifying an applicant .

(c) Compliance with standards and certification, The
county agency shall process all certification applications
as follows :

1 . If the application is for certification under sub,(2) (a),
the county agency shall ensure that the applicant is in
compliance with all standards under s . HSS 55 .61 prior to
issuing a certificate .

2. If the application is for certification under sub ., (2) (b)
or (c), the county agency shall refer the application to a
licensing representative in the department's regional of-
fice . The licensing representative shall determine whether
the applicant is in compliance with all standards under s„
HSS 55 .62 or meets current day care center standards set
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out in subchs. I and II or III, as applicable, and report
back to the county agency, The county agency may issue a
certificate based on the licensing representative's report .

3 . Optional procedures . A county agency may:

a, Conduct on-site inspections prior to or after certifica-
tion to monitor compliance with certification standards ;

(d) Approval, Within 60 days after receiving a com-
pleted application for certification or recertification, the
county agency shall either approve the application and
issue a certificate or deny the application . If an applica-
tion is denied, the county agency shall give the applicant
the reasons, in writing, for denial „

(4) riATEGORIES OF CERTIFICATION. Certification of a pro-
vider by a county agency shall be provisional, regular or
limited as follows :

(a) Provisional certification, Provisional certification
shall be issued for the purpose of determining whether a
provider is able to come into compliance with designated
standards prior to granting regular certification. Provi-
sional certification shall be the initial stage of regular
certification, shall be restricted to 6 months, and may not
be renewed;

(b) Regular certification. Regular certification may be
issued only after the provider has demonstrated compli-
ance with all certification standards during the 6-month
provisional certification. Regular certification shall be for
a period of 2 years and shall be renewed upon application
if the provider continues to comply with the certification
standards; or

(c) Limited certification. In order to meet emergency or
short-term needs, limited certification may be issued to a
provider for no more than 30 consecutive days and not
more than 3 times in any 12-month period, The depart-
ment may designate particular standards in this sub-
chapter that may be waived by a county agency for this
category of certification provided that the health, safety
and welfare of children in the care of the provider will not
be adversely affected „

(5) CoMPI,IANCE (a) Qualifications of providers . County
agencies shall maintain records demonstrating provider
compliance with s. HSS 55 .61 (1) „

(b) The home in family day care and in-home day care„
L, General . County agencies shall help assure provider
compliance with s, HSS 55 .61 (2) to (11) in accordance
with this paragraph .

2. Required procedures . A county agency shall:

a. Require receipt of a signed application from the pro-
vider agreeing to follow day care certification standards;

b . Provide a checklist of basic day care certification
standards and procedures for filing a complaint to all par-
ents who are using certified family day care or in-home
care and who are publicly funded parents ;

c . Require publicly funded parents to complete and re-
turn the checklist to county personnel upon initial enroll-
ment of their child with a certified day care provider;

d . Provide orientation for applicants for certification to
explain how the certification system works; and

e . Conduct a pre-certification inspection or conduct an
inspection within 30 days following provisional certifica-
tion of any provider funded by the county agency to pro-
vide day care .

b ., Conduct on-site inspections of a random sample of
certified providers ;

c,'Make certification available to all family day care
providers, whether or not public funding is involved; and

d. Request that all parents who are using a certified
home complete and return the checklist provided under
subd. 2,b„

4 . Exception. The department may grant an exception
to the required procedure under subd. 2 .e . if the depart-
ment determines that alternative procedures meet the in-
tent of the requirement.

(6) EXCEPTIONS TO PARTICULAR CERTIFICATION REQUIRE-

MENTS A county agency may grant an exception to any

standard in s . HSS 55 .61, 55,.62 or 55.63 if the county

agency is convinced that an alternative means meets the

intent of the requirement .,

History : Cr, Register, August, 1985, No. 356, eff : 9-1-85 ; am . (4) (b),
Register, November, 1987, No. 383, eff. 12-1-87 ; renum, . (5) to be (6), cr (5),
Register, Decembex, 1991, No . 432, eff. 1-1-92 . '

HSS 55.59 Sanctions. (1) The county agency shall deny,
suspend, revoke or refuse to renew certification and dis-
continue payment for care if the certified day care opera-
tor, day care program employe, provider, assistant to the
provider, substitute provider or person living in the family
day care provider's home :

(a) Is the subject of a pending criminal charge if the
charge substantially relates to the circumstances of caring
for children or the activities of the home; or

(b) Has been convicted of a felony, misdemeanor or
other offense the circumstances of which substantially re-
late to the care of children or activities of the home .

(2) The county agency may deny, suspend, revoke or
refuse to renew certification and discontinue payment for
care if the certified day care operator, day care program
employe, provider, assistant to the provider, substitute
provider or person living in the family day care provider's
home :

(a) Has been determined to have abused or neglected a
child pursuant to a, 48 .981, Stats . ; or

(b) Is the subject of a court finding that the person has
abandoned his or her child, has inflicted emotional dam-
age or sexual or physical abuse on a child or has neglected
or refused, for reasons other than poverty, to provide nec-
essary care, food, clothing, medical or dental care or shel-
ter so as to seriously endanger the physical health of a
child .

(3) The county agency may deny, suspend, revoke or
refuse to renew certification and discontinue payment for
care if:

(a) The provider is not in compliance with certification
standards under s. HSS 55 .61, 55 .62 or 55 .63, as appropri-
ate; or

Register, June, 1995, No 474
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(b) The provider's references or other community infor-

mation does not support the provider's declaration that he

or she is able to provide an acceptable level of child care .

History: Cr. Registex, August, 1985, No. 356, efT'. 9-1-85

HSS 55.60 Appeal . If a county agency denies, suspends,
revokes or refuses to renew a certification, the county
agency shall notify the provider in writing and give rea-
sons for the action, The action is reviewable pursuant to
ch . 68, Stats ., which provides for administrative review of
the decisions of local agencies.

History: Cr Register, August, 1985, No, 356 ; eff : 9-1-85

HSS 55.605 Complaints . Within 10 working days after a
county agency receives a complaint by telephone, letter or
personal contact about a certified day care provider, the
county agency shall investigate that complaint ,

History: Cr,, Register, December, 1991, No 432, efl', 1-1-92 .

HSS 55.61 Standards for family day care and in-home day
care. (1) QUALIFICATIONS OF PROVIDERS, (a) Ability, age

and health. 1 . A provider shall be physically and emotion-

ally able to provide responsible child care and shall be at

least 18 years of age ,

2. A provider, household member, volunteer, visitor or
parent who has symptoms of illness or of a communicable
disease reportable under ch. HSS 145 that may be trans-
mitted through normal contact, or whose behavior or
mental or physical condition gives reasonable concern for
the safety of the children, may not be in contact with the
children in care,:

(b) Training., 1., A certified provider shall have com-
pleted at least 15 hours of county agency-approved child
care training within 6 months after provisional certifica-
tion, prior to regular certification.

2. A county agency may require up to 5 additional hours
of county agency-approved child care training within 6
months after provisional certification, prior to regular cer-
tification.

3 . A county agency may require up to 5 hours of annual
continuing education by a certified provider each year fol-
lowing regular certification .

(2) THE HOME IN FAMILY DAY CAR.E . The provider's home
and outside play areas shall meet the following require-

ments :

(a) Each floor level used for child care shall have at
least one unblocked exit and at least one smoke detector .

(b) All areas used for child care shall have adequate and
safe heat, light and ventilation;

(c) The home shall be free of hazards and the following
items shall be kept inaccessible to the children :

1„ Medications and drugs ;

2 . Cleaning supplies, poisons and insecticides;

3 . Guns, knives, scissors and sharp objects ;

4 . Matches, cigarette lighters and flammable liquids;

5 . Plastic bags; and

6. Litter and rubbish;

Register, June, 1995, No 474

(d) Indoor and outdoor areas used for child care shall
include sufficient space for play and for activities which
meet the developmental needs of the children in care ;

(e) Outdoor play areas shall be free of hazards and shall
be fenced or the provider shall take special measures to
ensure the safety of the children ;

(f) Pets that are kept in the home shall be tolerant of
children and vaccinated against rabies ;

(g) The home shall have at least one telephone in work-
ing order with a list of emergency numbers posted by each
telephone, including numbers for the rescue squad, police,
fire station, emergency medical care and poison control
center;

(h) The provider shall use an enrollment form which
includes:

1 . The parents' home and work phone numbers;

2 . The parents' signed consent for emergency medical
care; and

3. A name and number to call if the child requires emer-
gency medical care ;

(i) The provider shall maintain first-aid supplies and
shall wash superficial wounds with soap and water before
bandaging;

(j) The home shall be kept clean, uncluttered and free of
insects and rodents ;

(k) Bathrooms, including toilets, sinks and potty chairs,
shall be kept clean and in good working condition;

(1) When a public water supply is not available, the well
water shall be tested and found to be bacteriologically safe
by a laboratory certified under ch . HSS 165 at least every
2 ,years .

(m) Areas, equipment and utensils for food preparation,
serving and clean-up shall be kept clean and sanitary ; and

(n) Children may not share cups, eating utensils, wash-
cloths or towels.

(3) THE HOME FOR IN-HOME CARE ., When a provider cares

for children in the children's own home, the provider shall

comply with requirements in sub„ (2) (c), (e), (h), (i) and

(m) .

(4) CHILD HEALTH CAR.E . (a) Except as provided under

pars, . (c) and (d), the provider shall have a current report

of a physical examination on file for each child, including
each provider's child in care, as follows :

1 . For a child under 2 years of age, a report of a physical
examination conducted not more than 6 months prior to
nor later than 3 months after the child is admitted, and a
follow-up health examination at least once every 6 months
after admission ; and

2. For a child 2 years of age or older, a report of a
physical examination conducted not more than 2 years
prior to nor later than 3 months after the child is admit-
ted .

(b) The physical examination report shall be signed and
dated by a licensed physician, a physician's assistant or a
healthcheck provider.
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(c) The requirement under par . (a) does not apply to a
provider who requests from the county agency in writing
an exemption for a child based upon adherence by the
child's parent to religious belief in exclusive use of prayer
or spiritual means for healing .

(d) The requirement under par„ (a) does not apply to
school-age children . In this paragraph, "school-age chil-
dren" means children 5,years of age or older who are
enrolled in kindergarten or a higher grade in a public or
private school.

(e) The provider shall have on file a written record veri-
fying that each child in care has been immunized in accor-
dance with s . 140 .05 (16), Stats ., and ch. HSS 144.

(f) The provider may administer medication to a child
only in accordance with written and signed permission
from the child's parent .

(5) MAXIMUM NUMBER OF CHILDREN, . (a) A certified pro-

vider may take care of no more than 3 children under the
age of 7who are not related to the provider .

(b) A certified provider may take care of no more than 6
children, including children related to the provider, except
that :

1. If 3 of the children are under the age of 2, the total
number of children may not exceed 5 ; or

2„ If 4 of the children present are under the age of 2, the
total number of children may not exceed 4 .

Note : Under s . 48 .65 (1), Stats, if a provider takes care of 4 or more
children under the age of 7 who are not related to the provider, for
compensation, the provider must obtain from the department a license to
operate a day care center „

(6) PROVIDER INTERACTIONS WITH CHILDREN„ The

provider shall interact with the children in a caring and

positive manner and :

(a) Shall protect children in care from danger and be
aware of where each child is at all times ;

(b) Shall make known to interested parents and the
county agency whether he or she is prepared and
equipped to care for handicapped, abused, neglected or
other children with special care needs ;

(c) May not hit, spank, pinch, shake or inflict any other
form of corporal punishment on the child, or use any
discipline which is frightening to the child; and

(d) May not verbally abuse or threaten a child or make

derogatory remarks about the child or the child's family .

(7) ACTIVITIES AND EQUIPMENT„ (a) The provider shal l

implement a program of learning and play activities .
Activities shall include:

1 . A balance of active and quiet play for each child daily;

2 . Both indoor and, weather permitting, outdoor
activities for each child daily;

3,~ Opportunities for each child to play with a variety of
toys and equipment;

~ (c) A provider's natural, adopted or foster children 7 4
. Opportunities for each child to be involved in a

years of age or older are not counted in determining the variety of activities during a week ;
maximum number of children allowed under par . (b).

(d) The maximum number of children that one provider
may care for is shown in Tables 55 .61 (5) A and B .

Table 55.61 (5 )
MAXINIUM NUMBER OF CHILDREN IN CERTIFIED DAY CARE

A. WHEN ALL CHILDREN ARE 2 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDE R

Related Additional
Children Children Maximum
Under 7 Under 7 Number of

years of Age years of age Additional Children Ages 7 to 11 Children *

0 3 Additional children 6
1 3 ages 7 to 11 may be 6
2 3 cared for as long as 6
3 3 the maximum total number 6
4 2 of children is not exceeded 6
5 1 6
6 0 6

* The maximum number does not include the provider's nat ural, adopte d
or foster children 7 years of age and older .

5 . Activities specifically for children under 1 year of age,
if these children are present; and

6. Activities specifically for children from 1 to 2,years of
age and for children 2 years and older, if these children
are present .

(b) Television may be used only to supplement the daily
plan for children„ No child may be required to watch
television.

(8) TRANSPORTATION. When transporting children the

provider shall ensure that :

(a) The driver of the vehicle holds a valid operator's
license;

(b) The vehicle is registered in Wisconsin; and

(c) Each child is seated and properly restrained in a seat
belt or, for a child under 2 years of age, a child safety
restraint system, in compliance with s . 347,48 (2m) and
(4), Stats .

B WHEN CHILDREN UNDER THE AGE OF 2 YEARS ARE PRESEN T

Number of Children Under 2
Years of Age Maximum Number of Children *

0 6
1 6
2 6

3 5
4 4

* The maximum number does not include the provider's natural, adopted
or foster children 7 years of age and older .

(9) MEALS AND SNACKS The provider shall ensure that

each child receives proper nourishment while in day care

as follows :

(a) Each child shall be served one meal or snack at least
once every 3 hours ;

(b) Each child in attendance for 4 or more hours shall be
served a noon or evening meal which consists of a protein
food, fruit and vegetable, a cereal or bread product and
pasteurized grade A vitamin D milk; and
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(c) Each infant who is unable to hold his or her own
bottle shall be held for bottle feeding„ Bottles may not be
propped .

(10) REST. The provider shall ensure that each child has
a clean, comfortable and safe place to rest as follows :

(a) Each child shall be allowed to have undisturbed rest

or a nap, when needed, in a place that is clean, safe and
enmfnrtahla• anrl

(b) Each child shall have a personal clean sheet or
blanket or both and pillowcase if a pillow is used ,

(11) PROVIDER AND PARENT COMMUNICATION. The

provider shall ensure ongoing communication with a

child's parent by :

(a) Allowing parents to visit and observe the program of
child care during any hours that care is being provided ;

(b) Talking to each child's parent at least once a week
about his or her child's development, activities, likes and
dislikes ;

(c) Developing written information which specifies the
charge for day care and the expected frequency of
payment for the service ; and

(d) Making a copy of the applicable certification
standards available to each parent .

History: Cr . Register, August, 1985, No. 356, eff: 9-1-85 ; emergr(1)
(d), eff 11-5-85 ; r . (1) (d), Register, April, 1986, No 364, eff, 5-1-86; r. and
recr, (1) (a), (b), (2) (1), (4), (5) and (8), r . (1) (c), Register, December, 1991,
No. 432, eff, 1-1-92.

HSS 55 .62 Standards for school-age programs . School-
age day care programs shall meet the following standards
in order to be certified:

(1) PERSONNEL (a) Director. Each school-age day care
program shall have a person designated as director. The
director shall :

1„ Be at least 21 years of age ; and

2. Have had at least one year of child care or adminis-
trative experience with preschool or school-age children or
have completed 40 classroom hours of training in at least
one of the following areas: child development, early child-
hood education, elementary education, child guidance,
physical education, recreation or other department ap-
proved training ;

(b) Program leader. A program leader shall be desig-
nated by the program director to plan and implement the
daily activities for a designated group of children. The
program leader shall:

1 ., Be at least 18 years old ;

2„ Have completed high school or its equivalency ;

3 , Have had 80 working days experience working with
school-age children; and

4. Have completed 20 classroom hours of training in at
least one of the following areas : child development, early
childhood education, elementary education, child gui-
dance, physical education, recreation or other depart-
ment-approved training;

(c) Program assistant. A program assistant shall:

1 . Work under the supervision of a program leader ;

2 . Be at least 18 years old; and

3 .Have completed or be enrolled in 10 classroom hours
of training in at least one of the following areas : child
development, early childhood education, elementary edu-
cation, child guidance, physical education, recreation or
other department approved training ;

(d) Substitutes, In the absence of a regular staff mem-
ber, there shall be a similarly qualified substitute who is
at least 18 years old, but when the regular staff member is
not expected to be absent for more than 3 days a person
not meeting the educational qualifications under par„ (a),
(b) or (c) may substitute for the regular staff member if a
qualified person is not available„

(e) Staffrecords . The school-age day care program shall
maintain a record for each employe which is available to
the county agency and includes :

1. The name, address, date of birth, education, position,
names and addresses of employers in previous work expe-
rience in child care, the name, address and telephone
number of a person to be notified in an emergency, and a
statement signed by the employe affirming that he or she
has not been convicted or is not the subject of a pending
criminal charge as specified under s. HSS 55 .59 (1);

2 . Evidence of a physical examination within 6 months
before beginning work or within 30 days after beginning
work, except as provided under s. 118.25 (2) (b), Stats. The
report shall be dated and signed by a physician and shall
certify that the person is free from illness detrimental to
children and is physically able to work with young chil-
dren ; and

3,Documentation of educational qua lifications for the
position.

(2) ORIENTATION . Each program shall develop and im-
plement an orientation program which shall be given to
all new staff and volunteers in the first week that they are
at the center. This orientation shall include :

(a) Review of health, nutrition and discipline policies ;

(b) Review of plans for evacuation and other emergen-
cies;

(c) Training in emergency procedures and use of first-
aid ;

(d) Review of all applicable parts of this chapter;

(e) Review of the program's activity schedules ;

(f) Training in the recognition of signs of child abuse
and neglect and explanation of responsibilities for report-
ing suspected cases of child abuse or neglect ;

(g) Explanation of job responsibilities and job descrip-
tions ; and

(h) Training in the recognition of childhood illnesses .

(3) FACIISTY. (a) General rules. 1. Local authorities shall
be consulted to obtain any required zoning clearances or
building permits .

2 . There shall be a report of inspection which indicates
approval of the building by the department of industry,

~
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labor and human relations or by a certified agent of that
department. The building shall comply with applicable
state and local building codes .

(b) Indoor space,. 1., The space used by children shall be
no less than 35 square fee (3„3 sq,meters) of usable floor
space per child.

4 . Information about any allergies, physical problems
and special needs the child may have and other special
care information concerning the child .

(c) The program shall maintain first-aid supplies and
staff shall wash superficial wounds with soap and water
before bandaging.

2 . The indoor area shall be free of hazards, and items
that may be harmful to children such as medications,
drugs, poisons, insecticides, weapons, matches, cigarette
lighters and flammable liquids shall be kept out of reach
of the children .

(c) Outdoor space. Where children are present for more
than 3 hours a day, there shall be at least 75 sq . feet (7 .0
square meters) of outdoor play space on the premises for
each child using the space at a given time. The outdoor
space shall be well-drained and free of hazards.

(4) CHILD HEALTH CARE (a) Within 90 days after a child
is enrolled, the program shall have on file reports of
health examinations by a licensed physician or Christian
Science practitioner completed on the child within the pre-
vious 3 years .

(b) The program shall isolate any ill child and contact
the parent or designated responsible person as soon as
possible to arrange for removal of the child from the pro-
gram.

(c) The provider may administer medication to a child
only in accordance with written and signed permission
from the child's parent.

(d) Pets that are kept on the premises shall be tolerant
of children and vaccinated against rabies .

(7) SANITATION . (a) The premises shall be kept clean,
uncluttered and free of insects and rodent s

(b) Bathrooms, including toilets and sinks, shall be kept
clean and in good working condition „

(c) When a public water supply is not available, the well
water shall be tested and found to be bacteriologically safe
by the state laboratory of hygiene or a state-approved
laboratory at least annually .

(d) Areas, equipment and utensils for food preparation,
serving and clean-up shall be kept clean and sanitary,

(e) Children may not share cups, eating utensils, wash-
cloths or towels.

(8) STAFF INTERACTIONS WITH CHILDREN. Staff shall in-

teract with the children in a caring and positive manner

and :

(a) Shall protect children in their care from danger and
be aware of where each child is at all times;

(b) May not hit, spank, pinch, shake or inflict any other
form of corporal punishment on the child, or use anydisci-
pline which is frightening to the child; and

(c) May not verbally abuse or threaten a child or make
derogatory remarks about the child or the child's family .

(5) STAFFING AND GROUPING (a) At least one person (9) ACTIVITIES AND EQUIPMENT . (a) The program shall

meeting the qualifications of a program leader shall su- implement a schedule of activities which include :

pervise each group of cluldren.

(b) The maximum number of children in a group and
the ratio of program staff to children may not exceed the
following:

1. There shall be no more than 32 children in a group;
and

2. There shall be at least one staff member for every 16
children,

(c) Children who are relatives of staff are counted in the
group size and ratio calculations .

(d) In a program with 10 or more children present, there
shall be at least 2 adults available at all times on the
premises.

(6) EMERGENCIES (a) There shall be a phone in working
order to which the staff has access and a list of emergency
phone numbers posted on or near the phone„ The list shall
include numbers for the rescue squad, police, fire station,
emergency medical care and poison control center .

(b) The programs shall have on -file :

1 . The parents' home and work phone numbers;

2„ The parents' signed consent for emergency care ;

1 . A variety of activities which ensure that each child is
involved daily in a balance of active and quiet play ;

2. Both indoor and, weather permitting, outdoor activi-
ties for each child daily;

3 . Opportunities for each child to use a variety of mater-
ials and equipment ; and

4. Opportunities for each child to be involved in a vari-
etyof activities during a week and to select and plan his
or her own activities .,

(b) Television viewing, if part of the activities, may not
exceed one hour a day per child and shall be appropriate
for the children in care „

(10) MEALS AND SNACKS (a) A program operating for
less than 4 hours shall ensure that each child is served a
snack„

(b) A program operating 4 or more hours shall ensure
that each child is served one meal and one snack at least
once every 3 hours .

(c) For each child served a noon or evening meal, that
meal shall consist of a protein food, fruit and vegetable, a
cereal or bread product and pasteurized grade A vitamin
D milk.

3 . A name and number to call if the child requires emer- (d) Snacks shall consist of at least one of the following :
gency medical care; and milk or a milk product, fruit, fruit juice, vegetable, peanut
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butter or other protein, whole grain or enriched bread or
cereal. When only fruit juice is served, it shall be pure
fruit juice „

(11) TRANSPOxTATION. (a) The program shall have a
written agreement signed by a parent or guardian which
specifies how the child will be transported to and from the
program„

(b) A driver for this program shall hold a valid Wiscon-
sin operator's license of whatever type is required .

(c) Any vehicle used by the program to transport chil-
dren shall be registered in Wisconsin .

(d) When safety belts are available in a vehicle, they
shall be worn by children .

7~ _2~i7 557. 7Co

Subchapter VII - --~~ 6 -7

Day Care Program Administration and

Funding

HSS 55.70 Authority , purpose and applicability. This sub-
chapter is promulgated under the authority of s. 46 .98 (5)
(e), Stats . It provides definitions, procedures and stan-
dards for the administration of s„ 46 98, Stats., which con-
cerns the distribution to county agencies of state commu-
nity aid funds for day care for children, the use of those
funds by county agencies and the eligibility of parents for
publicly funded day care for their children, This sub-
chapter applies to the department, county agencies, prov-
iders of day care; whether licensed or certified, and eligi-
ble parents „

History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No 356, eff,l 9-1-85, .

(12) REST The provider shall ensure that each child has HSS 55 .71 Definitions. The definitions in subchapter VI
a clean, comfortable private place to rest or relax when apply to this subchapter, except the definition of "parent"
needed„ under s. HSS 55,56 (11), In addition, in this subchapter:

(13) PROVIDER AND PARENT COMMUNICATION,. The pro-

gram shall ensure ongoing communication with a child's

parent by:

(a) Allowing parents to visit and observe the program of
child care at any time during the hours of operation;

(b) Staff communicating with each child's parent at
least once a week about his or her child's development,
activities, likes and dislikes ;

(c) Staff developing written information about the ser-
vice which specifies the charge for day care and the ex-
pected frequency of payment for the program; and

(d) Making a copy of the applicable certification stan-
dards available to each parent.

(14) INSURANCE. The program shall provide documenta-
tion of insurance coverage by the submission of a certifi-
cate of insurance reflecting current dates of coverage for :

<(a) General liability insurance which provides coverage
with limits of not less than $25,000 for each person and
total limits of $75,000 for each occurrence ;

(b) Vehicle liability insurance when transportation is
provided, with minimums no less than those specified in s .
121 .53, Stats. ; and

(1) "AFDC" means aid to families with dependent chil-
dren, a public assistance program under Title IV-A of the
Social Security Act of 1935, as amended, and ss . 49.19 to
49 .41, Stats ,

(2) "Center slots" or "slots" means the number of places
for children within the licensed capacity of a day care
center.

(3) "Day care price" means the amount regularly
charged by a provider to a parent who pays for the day
care services out of his or her personal funds .

(4) "Day care system" means a network of licensed fam-
ily day care centers, family day care providers, and in-
home day care providers centrally organized, coordinated
and administered as a unit, an extension of another day
care center, or part of a training or educational program of
a university, a vocational technical school, a county
agency or a community agency concerned primarily with
child care.

(5) "Family" means one or more adults and children, if
any,related by blood or law and residing in the same
household„ Where adults other than spouses reside to-
gether, each is considered a separate family. An emanci-
pated minor and child living under the care of an individ-
ual is considered a one-person family.

(6) "Formula" means a prescribed method for determin-
ing funding allocations„

(c) Non-owned vehicle liability insurance when trans-
portation is provided by other than center-owned vehicles.

History: Cr . Register, August, 1985, No 356, eff: 9-1-85 .

HSS 55 .63 Standards for programs operated by parochial
and other private schools . A day care program operated by
a parochial or other private school is exempt under s .
48 .65 (2) (b), Stats ., from having to be licensed as a family
or group day care center., However, in order to be certified
by a county agency to provide day care as a condition for
receiving county day care funding, a day care program
operated by a parochial or other private school shall com-
ply with the standards established under this chapter for
either family or group day care centers, as appropriate .

History : Cx,„ Register, August, 1985, No, 356, eff, 9-1-85„

(7) "Income" means money, wages or salary, net income
from non-farm self-employment, net income from farm
self-employment, social security, dividends, interest on
savings or bonds, income from estates or trusts, net rental
income or royalties, public assistance or welfare pay-
ments, pensions and annuities, unemployment compensa-
tion, worker's compensation, alimony and other mainte-
nance payments, child support and veteran pensions „

(8) "Income-eligible" means meeting the income stan-
dard as determined annually by the department under s.
HSS 55 .76 (6) .

(9) "Parent" has the meaning prescribed in s. 46.98 (1)
(c), Stats., namely, a parent, guardian, foster parent, legal
custodian or person acting in place of a parent . In this
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, subsection, "person acting in place of a parent" means a
person to whom the child is related in one of the ways
listed in s. HSS 201.17 (1) .

(10) "Provider" or "day care provider" means a person
who provides child day care services for compensation ,

(11) "Rate" means the maximum amount a county
agency will pay for day care .

(12) "Special need" means special emotional, behavioral,
or physical and personal needs of a child requiring more
than the usual amount of care and supervision for the
child's age .

(13) "Voucher" means an authorization for reimburse-
ment.

History: Cr Register, August, 1985, No. 356, eff: 9-1-8 5

HSS 55.72 Depa rtment responsibilities . (1) GENERALThe
department shall maintain oversight responsibility for ad-
ministration of the day care licensing and certification
programs .

(2) RATE ArrROVAL . The department shall review and
approve the method employed by counties for determining
reasonable and customary day care rates as required
under ss. HSS 55,73 (6) and 55 .74 .

(3) ASSISTANCE To CoUNTIES . The department shall pro-

vide information and technical assistance to county agen-

cies regarding state and county administration of day care

programs .

(4) INFORMATIONAL MATERIALS The department shall

develop pamphlets, brochures and other informational

materials for distribution to counties, day care providers

and the general public relating to day care and the certifi-

cation and licensing programs .

(5) UNMET NEEDS The department shall periodically
study and determine the unmet day care service needs in
the state and develop plans to foster day care services to
meet those needs• •

(6) DISTRIBUTION FOR.1vIUI.A . Except for funds distributed

under sub. (6m), the department shall distribute day care

funds to county agencies through a formula which shall be

developed each year in accordance with the following pro-

cedures :

(a) A statewide day care allocation committee shall de-
velop a recommended formula initially and shall review
the formula annually and . make recommendations to the
department, The allocation committee shall include repre-
sentatives from both major political parties of the sate
legislature, county agencies, county associations, day care
providers, day care associations, community representa-
tives and department staff; and

(b) The recommended formula shall be reviewed by the
department's day care and child development advisory
committee which shall comment to the department on the
adequacy of the formula••

(6m) DISTRIBUTION OF FUNDS FOR DAY CARE FOR AT-RISK
FA1vIILIES ., ( a) Defbnition•• In this subsection, "at-risk fam-
ily" means a family at risk of becoming e li gible for AFDC
by having a family income that is equal to or less than

HSS 55.73
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75% of the state median income as determined by the
department annually.

(b) Formula, 1The department shall distribute to coun-
ties the federal child day care funds made available under
42 USC 603 (n) and ss . 20 .435 (7) (o) and 46 .40 (4) (b),
Stats., for at-risk families on the basis of the following
equally weighed criteria :

a .• The number of recipients of AFDC in each county ;
an d

b. The number of women'in each county who work and
have children under the age of 6 ,

2 . In determining each county's allocation, the depart-
ment shall ascertain the county's percentage of the total
number of AFDC recipients in the state and the county's
percentage of the total number of women in the state who
work and have children under the age of 6, add the 2
percentages and divide by 2 . The resulting percentage is
the percentage of the available funds that will be made
available for the county to purchase child day care for at-
risk families .

3•After the first year's distribution, the department,
following consultation with representatives of county
agencies and day care providers, may substitute for one or
both of the criteria in subd . 1, a criterion of U .S . bureau of
the census data on the number of children in each county
who live in families with incomes at or beneath the pov-
erty income thresholds.

4•• After accumulating 3 years of county spending his-
tory for funds received under this section, the department
may, following consultation with representatives of
county agencies and day care providers, add a county
spending history criterion to the criteria found in subds . 1 .
and 3 .

(c) Maximum rates. Maximum rates for the purchase of
day care for at-risk families shall be determined in accor-
dance with the criteria and procedures under sub . (7) and
ss . HSS 55 .73 and 55• 74 .

(7) RATE REVIEw . (a) The department shall annually
review each county's day care rates and rate-setting
method, and shall approve or disapprove the county
agency's rates based on the following criteria:

1 ., The rate-setting method is in accordance with rate-
setting requirements specified under ss . HSS 55 .73 (6)
and 55 .74; and

2. The rate-setting method documents that the maxi-
mum allowable rate permits all eligible parents a reasona-
ble choice of day care providers .

(b) The department may grant a variance to a require-
ment under a• HSS 55 .74 if the department is convinced
that an alternative means meets the intent of the require-
ment.

History: Cr . Register, August, 1985, No . 356, eff.. 9-1-85; emeig. am . (6)
(intro) and Cr,. (6m), eff 5-1-91; am. (6) (intro.) and cr . (6m), Register,
November, 1991, No, 431, eff, 12-1-91 .

HSS 55 .73 County agency responsibilities . (1) GENERAL,.
Each county agency shall be responsible for the adminis-
tration of the county's day care program in accordance
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with the requirements set forth in subchapter V and this crisis or respite needs, or the child in care is under the age
subchapter. of 2.,

(2) RATE-SETTING METHOD. The county agency shall sub-
mit a written statement to the department in accordance

with s. HSS 55 .74, which describes the method by which
the county agency has determined reasonable and custom-

ary rates and the maximum rate that the county will

allow for the purchase of day care services .

(3) AUTHORIZED PROVIDERS, (a) The county agency may

purchase day care services from or provide vouchers for

the purchase of day care services from only the following

providers :

1 . Providers licensed by the department under subchs . I
and II, III or IV;

2 . Providers certified by the county agency under stan-
dards specified in s . HSS 55 .61, 55.62 or 55.63 ; or

3 . Programs established and provided by a school board
under a, 120 .13 (14), Stata,

(b) The county agency may not purchase services or
issue vouchers for day care services provided by a person
legally responsible for a child .

(c) The county agency may set policies prohibiting the
purchase of services or issuance of vouchers for day care
services provided by a relative living in the child's house-
hold.

(4) INFORMATION TO PROVIDERS The county agency shall

distribute brochures to day care providers regarding basic
child care, certification and licensing requirements ,

(5) EXPENDITURES OF DAY CARE FUNDS . The county
agency shall expend state-allocated day care funds in ac-

cordance, with s . 46.98 (3) and (4), Stats .,, and s. HSS
55 . 75 ~

(6) PROVISION AND PURCHASE OF SERVICE . The county
agency shall provide day care services directly, provide
day care services by contracting with day care providers,
or provide vouchers to parents for the purchase of day care
services. The county agency:

(a) Shall use a portion of its day care funds and may use
all of its day care funds to provide vouchers to eligible
parents, as follows :

1 . The county agency shall offer a voucher to each eligi-
ble parent to the extent that allocated funds are available;

2„ A voucher shall be in writing and shall authorize a
parent to obtain stipulated day care services from a pro-
vider under sub. (3) ; and

3„ The voucher shall set a maximum amount of author-
ized reimbursement which is the lesser of the county max-
imum rate or the provider's charge, minus the payment
that the parent is required to make under s . HSS 55 .77
(2).

(b) The county agency shall reimburse the day care pro-
vider for services authorized and provided, whether under
contract with the county agency or through vouchers, and
shall pay for absences up to 20% of the authorized
monthly units of service„ Counties may reimburse provid-
ers for absences exceeding 20% of the authorized monthly
units of service only when the day care is for parents with
Register, June, 1995, No„ 474

(c) The county agency may provide day care services for
an individual who is waiting to enter or continue an ap-
proved education or training program or employment :

1 . For a period not to exceed 2 weeks ; or

2 . For a period not to exceed one month where day care
arrangements would otherwise be lost and the work or
training activity is scheduled to begin within that period .

(7) WAITING LIST. (a) If funding is not sufficient to meet
the needs of all eligible parents, a county agency shall
establish a waiting list for services for parents who cannot
be accommodated by available funding„ The waiting list
shall include a parent's name, address and phone number,
and the date of the parent's application .

(b) The county agency shall place a parent's name on
the waiting list when an application is received by phone
or in writing and the parent's eligibility appears likely.
Documentation of eligibility is not required before placing
a name on the waiting list ,

(c) The county agency shall submit information to the
department every 6 months on the number of parents on
the waiting list, by category of eligibility under s„ HSS
55.76 .

History : Cr . Register, August, 1985, No, 356, eff 9-1-85 ; am . (6) (b), Cr.
(6) (c) and (7), Register, December, 1991, No. 432, eff. 1-1-9 2

HSS 55.74 Establishing county day care rates. (1) DAY
CARE PURCHASED BY CONTRACT If a county agency con-

tracts directly with a day care provider, the maximum

reimbursement rate for the provider shall be determined

as established under sub, (2) .

(2) DAY CARE PURCHASED BY VOUCHERS (a) General. If a

county agency provides day care by offering parents

vouchers, the agency shall annually set reasonable and

customary maximum day care rates in accordance with

procedures and policies set forth in this subsection.

(b) Survey, The county agency shall annually contact all
licensed group day care centers and family day care cen-
ters in the county to determine the day care prices they
charge to the general community .

(c) Groups. The county agency shall set separate maxi-
mum rates for the following 3 groups of children :

1 . Infants and toddlers under 2 years old ;

2 . Preschoolers age 2 up to. school age; and

3., Children 6 through 11 years old receiving care before
or after school.

(d) Types of care . The rates for each of the 3 groups
under par. (c) shall be set separately for the following
types of care :

1 . Licensed group day care centers;

2 . Licensed family day care centers ; and

3 . Certified family day care providers and in-home prov-
iders .

(e) Maximum rates for licensed day care centers„ The
maximum rates for licensed centers shall be set as follows :
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1 . Maximum rates for licensed group day care centers
shall be set so that at least 75% of the full-time, 40 or
more hours per week, group day care center slots in the
county can be purchased at or below the maximum rate .
The number of slots attributed to a center shall be equal
to the center's licensed capacity;

2 : Maximum rates for licensed group day care centers
shall be set so that at least 75% of the group day care
center slots for before and after school day care in the
county can be purchased at or below the maximum rate ;

3 . Maximum rates for licensed family day care centers
shall ensure that at least 75% of the full-time, 40 or more
hours per week, family day care center slots in the county
can be purchased at or below the maximum rates . The
number of slots attributed to a center shall be equal to the
center's licensed capacity;

4 . Maximum rates for licensed family day care centers
shall be set so that at least 75% of the family day care
center slots for before and after school day care in the
county can be purchased at or below the maximum rate ;

5 . In determining whether 75% of the full-time day care
slots can be purchased at or below the maximum rate, the
county agency may exclude day care centers which oper-
ate less than 5 days a week or 5 hours a day which receive
funding from a county department established under s, .
51 .42 or 51 .437, Stats., or which do not have a set day care
price;

6. Reduced maximum rates may not be set for siblings
served by group or family day care centers ; and

7 . Separate maximum rates shall be set for day care for
part of the day at group and family day care centers using
the same method required under this paragraph.

(f) Maximum rates for certified family day care. The
maximum rates for certified family day care shall be set
as follows :

1„ The maximum rate for certified family day care shall
be no less than 75% of the maximum rate for licensed
family day care centers unless another rate is justified by
the county agency through a survey of providers or users
of certified or uncertified family day care„ Rates for sib-
lings in certified family day care shall be no less than 75%
of the rate for the first child enrolled by the family ;

2. A graduated system of rates may be established for
certified family day care providers based on the training
and experience of the providers ;

3 . In-home care may be purchased only in the following
circumstances :

a„ A child has a special need ;

b, Licensed or certified care is not available within a
reasonable geographic area; or

c . Three or more children are being cared for.

(g) Maximum rates for certified in-home care . The maxi-
mum rates for certified in-home care shall be as follows :

1 . An in-home provider caring for a child for 15 or mor e
hours a week shall be paid in accordance with the state's
minimum wage law; or

2 . An in-home provider caring for a child for less than
15 hours a week shall be paid in accordance with the
maximum rates for certified family care under par . (f) ,

(h) Maximum rates for other day care providers . The
maximum rates for licensed group day care centers under
par. (e) shall also apply to the following other providers :

1. Day care programs established and provided by a
school board;

2 . Certified school-age day care programs ; and

3. Certified parochial and other private school-operated
day care programs.

(i) Higher rates for crisis or respite needs. Rates which
are higher than the maximums allowed under this section
may be set for day care provided to children of parents
with crisis or respite needs to cover costs of counseling
and other support services for parents provided directly,
or purchased by, day care providers and for training of day
care providers.

(j) Higher rates for a child with a special need, Rates
which are higher than the maximums allowed under this
section may be set for day care for a child with a special
need.

(k) Maximum rates for short-term and sporadic day
care, Maximum reimbursement rates for day care pro-
vided for less than a 2-week period or for sporadic periods
may be set through negotiations with the child care pro-
vider.

History: Cr,, Register, August, 1985, No . 356, eff 9-1-85; am (1), (2) (b),
(e) 5 and 7 ., cr (2) (j) and (k), Register, December, 1991, No. 432, eff 1-1-92

HSS 55.75 Use of day care funds . Day care funds distrib-
uted under s . 46 .98, Stats., may be expended by a county
only to fund services that directly or indirectly benefit
parents eligible under s . HSS 55.76, as follows :

(1) SERVICES THAT DIRECTLY BENEFIT PARENTS. Counties
shall expend day care funds to provide day care services
for parents eligible under s . HSS 55.76 through the use of
vouchers issued to parents or contracts with providers for
purchase of services; and

(2) SERVICES THAT INDIRECTLY BENEFIT PARENTS, De-

partment approval is required for counties to expend day
care funds :

(a) To purchase day care or child development-related
activities which indirectly serve children receiving day
care services, including equipment loan services, library
services, training services, program consultation and in-
formation and referral;

(b) To pay for the costs of higher rates under s, HSS
55„74 ( 2) (i) for counseling and other support services for
parents with crisis or respite needs ;

(c) To pay full or partial salaries for AFDC recipients
employed by day care centers or systems ;

(d) To pay for start-up, maintenance or exp an sion of day
care services or facilities; or

Register, June, 1995, No„ 474
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(e) To pay for services to enhance or improve the quality
of day care services, including education and training for
day care providers :

History: Cr, Register, August, 1985, No . 356, eff: 9-1-85.

HSS 55 .76 Parent eligibility . (1) NEED To be eligible for
day care funds, a parent shall have a need for day care
services for a child under the age of 12 and shall meet
eligibility criteria under sub . (2), (3), or (4) .

(2) ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA FOR WORKING PARENTS OR PAR-

ENTS SEEKING WORK. A parent who is working or seeking

work is eligible if.

(a) The parent is working, is a recipient of aid to fami-
lies with dependent children (AFDC) and has monthly day
care expenses exceeding the child care disregard limit
under AFDC . These parents are eligible for funding of day
care costs which are above the disregard limit up to the
county maximum day care rate ;

(b) The parent is income-eligible and is in paid employ-
ment, including migrant or seasonal labor ; or

(c) The parent is an AFDC recipient or income-eligible
and is actively seeking work, ; This parent is eligible for the
funding of a maximum of 20 hours of day care a week for
60 working days for time related to activities involved in
seeking employment.

(3) ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA FOR PARENTS IN TRAINING OR

EDIICnTIONAL PROGRAMS (a) A parent who is in training or
an educational program is eligible if the parent is an

AFDC recipient or income-eligible, maintains passing

grades and is recognized as a student in good standing in

an acceptable training or educational program designed to

lead directly to paid emplo,yment.

(b) An acceptable training or educational program in-
cludes:

1, An accredited program leading to a high school di-
ploma or a high school equivalency degree, including En-
glish as a second language or basic education ;

2, An accredited program leading to vocational or tech-
nical certification or a diploma ;

3 . An accredited program that is part of a logical pro-
gression of training or education leading to paid employ-
ment

; 4. A vocational rehabilitation program;

4 . Has been actively seeking work ,

(d) A county agency may require that the training or
educational program be related to the occupational goal
stated in an employability plan developed in cooperation
with Wisconsin job service .

(e) For the purpose of eligibility, a parent shall be lim-
ited to a total of 2 training or educational programs,
whether or not completed, unless the programs are part of
a logical progression of training or education leading to
paid employment

,(f) Day care funding eligibility for training or educa-
tional purposes shall be limited to a combined total of 48
months in training or education which need not be consec-
utive months, Part-time training shall be prorated to be
equivalent to 48 months of full-time training.

(g) A county may require, as a condition of eligibility for
day care funds, that a parent enrolled in an institution of
higher education document that all available student
grants and loans from the school's financial aids office
have been obtained.

(4) ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA FOR PARENTS WITH CRISIS OR

RESPITE NEEDS . A parent meeting eligibility criteria under

this subsection is eligible to receive funds for day care

costs without regard to income., Eligibility for a parent

with crisis or respite needs shall be determined by the

county agency based on the family situation, with particu-

lar attention to the following :

(a) A member of the family is receiving protective ser-
vices ;

(b) There is a risk of child abuse or neglect in the family,
or a risk of a health or social condition which may ad-
versely affect the child's development;

Note: Examples of family situations which might constitute xisk include
drug or alcohol abuse, mental health problems, family violence, acute finan-
cial stress and recent divorce or separation .

(c) The child is at-risk of out-of-home placement;

(d) The parent is hospitalized or otherwise unable to
provide adequate care to the child ;

(e) The parent or foster parent needs respite services
because of stress involved in caring for a child with devel-
opmentaldisabilities or serious problematic behavior ;

(f) The parent is under the age of 18 ;

(g) The parent lacks adequate parenting skills ;
5 . An accredited program leading to an undergraduate

college degree ; or

6. A publicly funded job experience or job training pro-
gram.

(c) A parent possessing a bachelor of science or arts
degree or equivalent is eligible for a maximum period of
one year and only if the parent:

1. Needs further education or training necessary for
entry into the job market ;

2 . Has been out of the work force for at least 2 years or
has been laid off within the last 6 months ;

3. Is available for work ; and

Register, June, 1995, No. 474

(h) The parent is receiving treatment for alcohol or
other drug abuse; or

(i) The parent is a foster parent and day care services
are needed to maintain the child in the foster care place-
ment .

(5) FUNDING PRIORITIES (a) If funding is insufficient to
meet the needs of all eligible parents, a county agency
shall place eligible parents who cannot be accommodated
by available funding on a waiting list in accordance with
s . HSS 55.73 (7) and shall distribute funds in accordance
with priorities established in s . 46 .98 (4) (a) and (c), Stats „

(b) A county agency may not establish priorities other
than those set forth in s., 46 .98 (4) (a) and (c), Stats .
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(c) A county agency may not terminate funding provided
to any parent eligible under subs. (1) to (4) and s. 46 .98
(4), Stats,, in order to give priority to clients identified in
s . 46.98 (4) (a) and (c), Stats .

(6) INCOME ELIGIBILITY, . A parent is income-eligible if
standard family income is within the income standard set
annually by the department . The income standard shall
be based on the state median income and may not be
lower than 70% of the state median income .

History: Cr. Register, August, 1985, No . 356, ef1: 9-1-85; cr (3) (g) and
(4) (i), am . (4) (intro.) and (g), r, and recr (4) (h) and (5), Register, Decembex,
1991, No . 432, eff, 1-1-92 ,

HSS 55.77 Parental choice and parents' payment . (1) PAR-

ENTS' CHOICE OF PROVIDER . Parents may choose the partic-

ular licensed or certified day care provider for their child,

except that a county agency may select the provider when

the care is for crisis or respite purposes and parents may

use in-home day care only with the approval of the county

agency.

(2) COSTS CHARGED TO PARENTS (a) Parents shall be
required to make payments for day care services provided
directly or by voucher or purchased by the county agency,
in accordance with a payment schedule and procedures
developed by the department under s. HSS 1 .03. Pay-
ments shallbe required of parents whose income is equal
to or greater than 50% of the state median income except
that payments for crisis or respite day care and payments
for working parents receiving aid to families with depen-
dent children (AFDC) and eligible under s . HSS 55 .76 (2)
(a) may be waived by the county agency.

(b) Parents using vouchers for the payment of day care
services may receive day care services from a provider
whose rate is higher than the county maximum rate and
pay the difference between the provider's rate and the
county maximum rate in addition to pa,yments required
under par . (a).

(c) If a county agency purchases da,y care services by
contract with a provider, billing and collection procedures
shall be subject to ch . HSS 1 . If a county agency purchases
day care services by means of a voucher issued to the
parents, billing and collection of the parents' payment
under par. (b) is the responsibility of the provider.

History: Cr,, Register, August, 1985, No 356, ef£ 9-1-85 ; am, (2) (a),
Register, Decexnber, 1991, No . 432, eff., 1-1-92 .

Subchapter VIII -
Start-up Grants

HSS 55.80 Sta rt-up grants to assure availability of child
care . (1) GENERAL INFORMATION„ (a) Statement of intent,

This section regulates the expenditure of funds appropri-
ated to provide start-up grants for newly operating cen-
ters, including grants for expansion of existing centers in
Wisconsin.

(b) To whom the rules apply. The rules in this section
apply to all persons, groups and day care centers making
application for start-up grants .

(c) Exceptions to rules . The department may make an
exception to any of the rules for approving start-up grants
when it is assured that granting the exception is benefi-
cial to the health, safety and welfare of children.

HSS 55.80
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(d) Defanitions . The definitions in s . HSS 55 .05 (4) ap-
ply . In addition :

1„ "Child care" means day care for children and includes
group care, family care and in-home care .

2"Division" means the division of community services
of the department .

3 . "Family care" means the care of a child in a family
home other than the child's own home by a responsible
person other than the child's parents for a period of time
less than 24 hours.

4, "In-home care" means care in the child's own home by
someone other than the child's parents on a routine
planned basis for a period less than 24 hours.

5 . "Newly operating center" means a day care center
which has been in operation for a pexiod of less than one
year or an existing center making grant application for
expansion purposes .

6 . "Satellite system" means family day care homes, in-
home care providers or a combination of both which are
centrally organized, coordinated, and administered as a
unit in themselves or as an extension of another center or
as part of the educational or training program of an ac-
credited school of social work or school of early childhood
education.

7. "Start-up grants" means money payments or a
planned series of money payments to an approved appli-
cant to be used for development or expansion of needed
child care services„ The grants are not loans.

(2) APPLICATION FOR START-UP GRANTS (a) Application

shall be made on a form provided by the department.

(b) Application shall be open to :

1 . Individuals or groups planning to establish voluntary
non-profit or proprietary child care services ;

2 . Individuals or groups submitting proposals for:

a„ A new center;

b. Expansion of an existing center or group of centers ;

c. An innovative program for special needs of the chil-
dren ; or

d. Satellite systems of family care, in-home care or a
combination of both.

3 . Newly operating centers which are experiencing fi-
nancial difficulties,.

(c) The individual, group or center making application
shall :

1 . Document the need for the specific service to be pro-
vided in the area proposed in the plan ; and

2. Submit written assurance to the department that the
service to be provided will meet the requirements for li-
censing of the day care centers for children under this
chapter .

(d) Application from newly operating centers experienc-
ing financial difficulties shall also include :
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1., Documentation of expenditures and income for the
total period of operation giving special details of financial
problem area ;

2 . Documentation of need for the service including the
target group of parents and children ;

3 . A detailed operating budget for any period of opera-
tion as requested by the department.

Note: A copy of'the application form can be obtained by writing: Bureau
of Human Resources, Division of Community Services, One West Wilson,
P .O . Box 7851, Madison, WI 53707.

(3) USE OF START-UP GRANTS (a) Grants may be used to :

1 . Finance a specific purchase or budget item related to
operating costs, including but not limited to :

a . Structural changes to meet licensing and building
codes;

b. Necessary equipment to begin or improve operations ;
and

c . Salary of a staff person or persons for a period not to
exceed 12 months;

2 . Finance a percentage of the total operating budget for
a 12-month period or less; or

3., Substitute for continuation of an in-kind contribution
made for a limited period of time which would need to be
met by the budget before the program is in full operation,
including but not limited to :

2. Ongoing training to upgrade the system itself and the
quality of the care given;

3 . A person who coordinates and supervises the care
families in the system and gives or makes available con-
sultation to them on a planned, ongoing basis ;

4 . An evaluation and approval of each child served and
a central file of pertinent data on each child and family ;
and

5. Centralized bookkeeping.

History: Cr Register, May, 1983, No . 329, eff. 6-1-83; renum from HSS
55 50, Register, August, 1985, No, 356, eff. 9-1-85.

HSS 55.81 Sta rt-up grants for before-school and after-
school services . (1) AUTHORITY AND PURPOSE. This section

is promulgated under the authority of s . 46.03 (7) (cm) 2 a,

Stats ., for the purpose of establishing conditions and pro-

cedures for the provision of start-up grants for before-

school and after-school day care programs for children

ages 4 to 11 .

(2) APPLICABILITY. This section applies to school dis-

tricts and private nonprofit organizations making applica-

tion for start-up grants under this section.

(3) ExCEPTIOrr TO A RULE. The department may make an
exception to any nonstatutory condition or procedure for
approving a start-up grant when it is shown to the depart-
ment's satisfaction that granting the exception is benefi-
cial to the health, safety and welfare of children .

(4) DEFINITIONS, In this section :

a, In-kind donation of free rent by a church, agency or (a) "After-school academic or recreation programs"
building owner for a limited period of time; and means day care programs established or contracted for t o

b. Voluntary services of staff. provide structured academic instruction or participation
in structured recreational activities for children 4 to 1 1

(b) Start-up grants may not be used for a service which
could be funded from other community, state or federal
sources. This does not, however, preclude the . collaborative
us of those funds with start-up and improvement grant
funds to meet the beginning of a needed service .,

years of age after school hours .

(b) "Before-school and after-school day care services"
means care and supervision of children 4 to 11 years of
age before school, after school, during school holidays or
during school vacations.

(4) TIME LIMIT,
. No subsidy from a start-up grant may (c) "Department" means the Wisconsin department of

extend beyond a 12-month period
., health and social services.

(5) START-UP GRANTS FOR SATELLITE SYSTEMS OF DAY

CAR.E . (a) Applications proposing to develop a satellite sys-

tem of family care, in-home care, or a combination of both

shall be accepted only from :

1, An existing center;

(d) "Division" means the department's division of com-
munity services .

(e) "Family day care" means the care and supervision of
no more than 8 children for less than 24 hours in a place
other than the child's own home

. 2. A licensed agency providing services to parents and (f) "In-home day care" means care in the child's own
children who may need child care ; home by someone other than the child's parents on a rou-

3. A county department of sociai services
; tine planned basis for a period less than 24 hours .

4 . An accredited college or university offering training
in social work or early childhood education; or

5. A corporate community coordinating group concerned
primarily with child care.

(b) The satellite system shall have centralized adminis-
tration which shall include :

1 . Recruitment, evaluation and training of the families
which will be part of the system;
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(g) "Program administration" means the management,
support and overhead costs of the nonprofit organization
or school district that are allocated to the before-school
and after-school day care services or after-school academic
or recreation program funded by a start-up grant .

(h) "REP" means a request for proposals, a document
released by the department to solicit applications for
start-up grants, and which defines who may apply for
funding, application procedures, review criteria and pro-
cedures for appealing rejection of an application .
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(i) "Satellite system" means family day care providers,
in-home day care providers or a combination of both which
are centrally organized, coordinated and administered ,

(j) "Start-up grants" means money payments to an ap-
proved applicant to be used for development or expansion
of before-school or after-school day care services . The
grants are not loans.

(5) APPLICATION FOR START-UP GRANTS . (a) An applicant

for a grant shall be :

1, A school district or private nonprofit organization for
a grant to establish or expand before-school or after-school
day care services or after-school recreation programs; or

2 A school district for a grant to establish or expand
after-school academic programs ,

(b) The department shall solicit applications for start-
up grants by preparing an RFP, publishing legal notice of
the availability of the RFP in the official state newspaper,
and distributing copies of the RFP upon request . The de-
partment shall consult with the Wisconsin department of
public instruction in developing the RFP

(c) Application shall be made in accordance with the
format specified in the RFP

(d) A proposal submitted in response to the RFP shall
describe a broadly based planning process involving
schools, child care providers, parents and community or-
ganizations .

(e) The school district or private nonprofit organization
making application shall :

1 . Provide information on the level of existing services
and the unmet demand for the specific service to be pro-
vided in the area proposed in the plan ; and

2 Submit written assurance to the department that the
service to be provided will meet the requirements for li-
censing of day care centers for children under ch. HSS 45
or ss, HSS 55.01 to 55 .37 or for day camps for children
under ss„ HSS 55 .40 to 55 .44, as appropriate, if the service
is required by law to be license d

Note: Prospective applicants may obtain the RFP by wxiting or phoning

the Bureau of Children, Youth and Families, Division of Community Sex-
vices, PO Box 7851, Madison, Wisconsin 53707, 608-266-3036 ,

(6) AMOUNT OF START-UP GRANTS (a) A grant for a single

program site may not exceed $10,000 .

(b) A grant to a single school district or nonprofit pro-

gram operating programs at 3 or more sites may not ex-

ceed $30,000

, (7) USE OF START-UP GRANTS . (a) A program or service

shall be provided on the premises of a public or private
school attended by some or all of the children who partici-
pate in the program or service, unless the applicant dem-
onstrates that there is no space available in the school for
the service or program and the school provides transporta-
tion to the alternative site. A school may provide transpor-
tation through an agreement with the start-up grant re-
cipient.

(b) The amount of a grant may not exceed 80% of the
cost of establishing the service or program, including in-
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kind contributions . The applicant shall agree to provide
20% in matching funds or in-kind contributions .

(c) No more than 7% of the grant may be used for pro-
gram administration,

(d) Notwithstanding par„ (a), a grant may be used to
establish a satellite system of day care programs to pro-
vide before-school and after-school day care services.

(e) Grants may be used to:

1 ., Finance a specific purchase or budget item related to
operating costs, including but not limited to:

a ., Structural changes to meet licensing or certification
codes;

b . Necessary equipment to begin or improve operation;
and

c„ The salary of a staff person or persons for a period not
to exceed 12 months; o r

2 . Finance a percentage of the total operating budget for
a 12-month period or less .

(8) START-UP GRANTS FOR SATELLITE SYSTEMS OF DAY

CARE (a) An application from a school district or private

nonprofit organization proposing to develop a satellite sys-

tem of family day care shall demonstrate the extent to

which the system will meet before-school and after-school

day care needs..

(b) The satellite s,ystem shall have centralized adminis-
tration which shall include :

1 . Recruitment, evaluation and training of the providers
which will be part of the system ;

2 . Ongoing training to upgrade the system itself and the
quality of the care given ;

3„ A person who coordinates and supervises the day care
providers in the system and gives or makes available con-
sultation to them on a planned, ongoing basis ;

4 . An evaluation and approval of each child served and
a central file of pertinent data on each child and family;
and

5 . Centralized bookkeeping ,

(c) The applicant shall provide a plan for transporting
children between the school and the satellite day care
sites ,

(9) AwARD OF GRANTS (a) The department shall appoint
a panel of reviewers to review and rate proposals and
recommend awards based on conditions and criteria set
out in this section. The panel shall include a representa-
tive from the department of public instruction

,(b) The department shall make awards based on th e
following criteria:

1. Documentation of unmet demand for services ;

2. Demonstrated ability of applicant to effectively ad-
minister the grant award ;

3 . Documentation by the applicant of continued support

for the services or program after the start-up period ; and
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4. Any other criterion specified in the RFP. ment„ Grant awards may be in a lump sum payment or a

(c) The department shall notify in writing all applicants
series of agreed upon payments over time .

for grants of award decisions . Notification shall be made (10) TIME laM1T No subsidy from a start-up grant may
within 60 days after receipt of a complete application for a extend beyond a 12-month period from the effective date
grant. of a signed agreement .

(d) Grant awards shall be contingent upon the signing History: Emerg cr. eff 7-1-90; cr. Register-, December, 1990, No . 420,

by both parties of an agreement drawn up by the depart- etf 1-1-91
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