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EMERGENCY RurLes Now IN EFFECT

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate rules
without complying with the usual rule—making procedures. Using
this special procedure to issue emergency rules, an agency must find
that either the preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare necessitates its action in bypassing normal rule—making
procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state newspaper,
which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal. Emergency rules are
in effect for 150 days and can be extended up to an additional
120 days with no single extension to exceed 60 days.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice will
contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the agency finding
of emergency, date of publication, the effective and expiration dates,
any extension of the effective period of the emergency rule and
information regarding public hearings on the emergency rule.

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT (2)

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection

1. Rules were adopted amending s. ATCP 60.19 (3) and (4),
relating to drug residues in raw milk.

Finding of Emergency

The state of Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and
consumer protection (DATCP) finds that an emergency exists and
that the following emergency rule is necessary to protect public
health, safety and welfare. The facts constituting the emergency are
as follows:

(1) Milk from Wisconsin dairy farms may not contain drug
residues. Current rules under ch. ATCP 60, Wis. Adm. Code, require
every dairy plant operator to perform a drug residue screening test
on every bulk load of raw milk received by that operator. If the bulk
load tests positive for any drug residue, the operator must test a milk
sample from each producer milk shipment included in that bulk
load. Current rules do not require a dairy plant operator to perform
a confirmatory test if a producer sample tests positive on an initial
test.

(2) If a producer sample tests positive for drug residue, the dairy
plant operator may hold that producer financially responsible for
contaminating the bulk load. In some cases, the cost of a
contaminated tanker load of milk may be $5,000 or more. The
department may also take enforcement action against the milk
producer. Enforcement may result in financial penalties or
suspension of the milk producer’s license.

(3) In several enforcement actions, producers have argued that
dairy plant drug residue tests were inaccurate. Producers claimed
that there was no confirmatory testing, and no opportunity to
confirm the accuracy of the dairy plant operator’s test findings.
Inaccurate findings may unfairly penalize affected producers, and
result in severe financial losses to those producers. The lack of a
confirmatory test aggravates conflicts between dairy plant operators
and milk producers.

(4) Confirmatory testing of test—positive producer samples
would provide greater assurance of fairness for milk producers, and
would help avoid conflicts between dairy plant operators and
producers. Dairy plant operators can perform confirmatory tests at
reasonable cost. An emergency rule requiring confirmatory testing
of producer samples is necessary to protect milk producers, and to
promote the efficient operation and economic well-being of
Wisconsin’s dairy industry.

(5) Confirmatory testing of test—positive producer samples will
enhance, and not reduce, the safety of Wisconsin milk supplies.
Dairy plant operators will still be required to test bulk tanker loads
of milk, and dispose of tanker loads that test positive for drug
residues.

(6) This emergency rule will strengthen public health protection
by requiring dairy plant operators to dispose of contaminated loads,
or denature contaminated loads before transferring them to the
custody of another person. Denaturing ensures that persons
receiving custody of contaminated loads will not redirect them to
human food use.

(7) Pending the adoption of rules according to normal
administrative rulemaking procedures, it is necessary to adopt this
emergency rule to do both of the following:

(a) Protect the public milk supply against drug residue
contamination by assuring proper disposal of contaminated milk.

(b) Provide additional assurance that milk producers will not be
subjected to serious penalties or financial losses based on inaccurate
drug residue tests.
Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:
Hearing Date:

April 30, 1999
April 30, 1999
September 27, 1999
June 18, 1999

2. Rules adopted revising s. ATCP 100.45, relating to
security of dairy plant payments to milk producers.

Finding of Emergency

(1) Section 100.06, Stats., is designed to provide “reasonable
assurance” that dairy farmers will be paid for the milk they produce.
Under ss. 97.20(2)(d)2. and 100.06, Stats., a dairy plant must, as a
condition to licensing, comply with  applicable security
requirements under s. 100.06, Stats., and department rules under ch.
ATCP 100, Wis. Adm. Code. Since dairy plant licenses expire on
April 30 annually, dairy plants must comply with applicable security
requirements in order to qualify for license renewal on May 1 of each
year.

(2) Under s. 100.06, Stats., and ch. ATCP 100, a dairy plant
operator who purchases milk from producers must do one of the
following:

(a) File with the department of agriculture, trade and consumer
protection (“department”) audited financial statements which show
that the operator meets minimum financial standards established by
s. 100.06, Stats.

(b) File security with the department in an amount equal to at
least 75% of the operator’s “maximum liability to producers,” as
calculated under s. ATCP 100.45(5).

(c) Enter into a dairy plant trusteeship under ch. ATCP 100,
Subch. V.

(3) Under s. ATCP 100.45(5), a dairy plant operator’s
“maximum liability to producers” is based on the plant operator’s
largest monthly purchase of milk during the preceding license year.
Milk prices hit all time record highs in 1998, dramatically increasing
monthly dairy plant payrolls. Security requirements for the 1999
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license year are currently based on these inflated 1998 monthly
payrolls, even though 1999 monthly payrolls have dropped
dramatically in response to price changes.

(4) Since December 1998, the average market price for raw milk
has fallen by approximately 40%. Dairy economists expect BFP
average prices to remain at least 12% to 16.2% below last year’s
average during 1999. Because of the dramatic decline in milk
prices, dairy plants have smaller producer payroll obligations than
they had in 1998.

(5) Prices received by Wisconsin dairy plants for processed dairy
products have also fallen dramatically since December. This has
created serious financial hardships for some dairy plants.

(6) Current security requirements, based on 1998 producer
prices and payrolls, are excessive in relation to current payroll
obligations and impose an added financial burden on dairy plants.
Current security requirements under s. ATCP 100.45(5), based on
last year’s prices, are at least 31 to 48% higher than they would be
if calculated at current prices.

(7) Because of the dramatic decline in dairy prices, some dairy
plant operators are required to file large amounts of additional
security, often amounting to millions of dollars. This is a major
expense for affected operators. Operators may find it difficult,
financially, to obtain and file the required security. If a dairy plant
is unable to file the required security in connection with the May 1,
1999 license renewal, the department will forced to take action
against the dairy plant’s license. This could result in the forced
closing of some unsecured dairy plants. The forced closing of an
unsecured plant may, in turn, result in serious financial losses to
producer patrons.

(8) By requiring excessive security based on last year’s prices,
current rules are making it unnecessarily difficult and expensive for
dairy plants to obtain and file security. This could contribute to the
financial failure of some dairy plants, or to the forced closing of
some unsecured plants. Dairy plant financial failures or closings, if
they occur, may cause serious and widespread financial injury to
milk producers in this state. This constitutes a serious and imminent
threat to the public welfare.

(9) In order to reduce the risk of dairy plant financial failures or
forced closings, rule amendments are urgently needed to adjust
dairy plant security requirements to appropriate levels based on
current milk prices. The rule amendments will relieve financially
stressed dairy plants from unnecessary financial burdens and will
make it easier for those dairy plants to file security with the
department. That, in turn, will reduce the risk of dairy plant financial
failures, or the forced closing of unsecured plants, which may
adversely affect milk producers.

(10) Rule amendments, to be effective, must be promulgated
prior to the dairy plant license year beginning May 1, 1999. That is
not possible under normal rulemaking procedures. Therefore, the
following emergency rule is needed to protect the public welfare.

(11)  Should milk prices rise beyond the levels currently
anticipated for the license year beginning May 1, 1999, so that
security filed under this emergency rule is less than 75% of a dairy
plant operator’s current monthly producer payroll, the operator is
required to notify the department of that fact under s. 100.06, Stats.,
and s. ATCP 100.20(3). The department may demand additional
security at that time.

Publication Date: April 20, 1999

Effective Date: May 1, 1999

Expiration Date: September 28, 1999
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EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT

Commerce & Natural Resources

(Petroleum Environmental Cleanup Fund
Interagency Responsibilities, Ch. Comm 46)

Rules adopted revising ch. Comm 46, relating to the
Petroleum Environmental Cleanup Fund Interagency
Responsibilities.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Commerce finds that an emergency exists and
that adoption of the rule included in this order is necessary for the
immediate preservation of public health, safety, and welfare.

The facts constituting the emergency are as follows. Under
sections 101.143 and 101.144, Wisconsin Statutes, the Department
protects public health, safety, and welfare by promulgating rules for
and administering the Petroleum Environmental Cleanup Fund
(PECFA Fund). The purpose of the fund is to reimburse property
owners for eligible costs incurred because of a petroleum product
discharge from a storage system or home oil tank system. In
administering this fund, the Department has relied upon a
Memorandum of Understanding with the Department of Natural
Resources for classifying contaminated sites, disbursing funds, and
addressing other statements of policy that affect the two
Departments.

On September 17, 1998, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules adopted a motion pursuant to s. 227.26(2)(b),
Stats., that directed the Department and the Department of Natural
Resources to jointly adopt the above portions of the Memorandum
of Understanding and related policy issues as an Emergency Rule.
An emergency rule in response to that directive was then adopted by
the two Departments and became effective on January 1, 1999.
Subsequently, further improvements for jointly administering the
PECFA fund were developed that were consistent with the JCRAR
directive, and were adopted by the two Departments in an
emergency rule which replaced the initial emergency rule. That
second emergency rule became effective on February 23, 1999.
Now, significant additional changes have again been developed,
which are also consistent with the JCRAR directive.

29

Chapter Comm 46 defines “high priority site,” “medium priority
site, ” and “low priority site,” and provides that the Department of
Natural Resources has authority for high priority sites and that the
Department of Commerce has authority for low and medium
priority sites. The rule requires transfer of authority for sites with
petroleum contamination in the groundwater below the enforcement
standard in ch. NR 140 from the Department of Natural Resources
to the Department of Commerce. The rule also establishes
procedures for transferring sites from one agency to the other when
information relevant to the site classification becomes available.

Chapter Comm 46 requires the two agencies to work
cooperatively to develop the following:

1. A system of joint decision—making for the selection of remedial
bids and the setting of remediation targets for sites which are
competitively bid or bundled with another site or sites.

2.An agreed—upon methodology for determining if there is
evidence of an expanding plume and the actions to take if the data
provided through the site investigation is not adequate.

3.A process for taking into account the impact of error of
measurement, repeatability of results and statistical significance,
when determining whether a site is above or below the enforcement
standard or any other contaminant level or target.

4.A system for electronically tracking the achievement of
remediation targets.
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5.A reconciled list of sites in remediation.

June 8 & July 10, 1999
June 8, 1999

August 28, 1999

July 12,13, 14 & 15, 1999

Publication Dates:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:
Hearing Dates:

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT (2)

Commerce

(Financial Resources for Communities,
Chs. Comm 105 to 128)

1. Rules adopted creating ch. Comm 112, relating to the
Wisconsin Development Zone Program.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Commerce finds that an emergency exists and
that the adoption of a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of public health, safety and welfare.

Pursuant to ss. 560.70 to 560.797, Stats., the Department of
Commerce is responsible for administering Wisconsin
Development Zone Program. These rules are being adopted to
incorporate in the administrative code the recent amendments
contained in 1997 Wis. Act 27 that entirely changed the eligibility
and the criteria for certified development zone businesses and the
process for the verification and the claiming of tax credits. Section
560.785, Stats., directs the Department of Commerce to develop
rules and exceptions to those rules concerning the eligibility for tax
benefits. After a review and evaluation of all the certified businesses
and their projects a number of exceptions have been identified in
order to meet the needs of different areas of the state and to fulfill our
commitments to businesses that were made prior to this legislation.
In order to process claims for tax years beginning on or after January,
1, 1998, these rules must be made available immediately.

February 25, 1999
February 25, 1999
July 25, 1999

May 12, 1999
September 22, 1999

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:
Hearing Date:
Extension Through:

2. Rules adopted creating ch. Comm 111, relating to
certified capital companies.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Commerce finds that an emergency exists
and that the adoption of the rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of public health, safety and welfare.

Analysis of Rules

Statutory Authority: ss. 560.31, 560.34 (1m) (b), and 227.24
Statutes Interpreted: ss 560.31, 560.34 (1m) (b), and 227.24

On June 17, 1999, the Department of Commerce (Commerce)
held a public hearing on proposed rules in response to 1997 Wis. Act
215. That act provides tax credits to persons that make certain
investments in certified capital companies that are certified by
Commerce. Legislators and persons interested in the rules testified
at the hearing and requested that Commerce adopt an emergency
rule that would (1) allow persons to apply for certification to become
certified as capital companies, (2) allow persons to apply to make a
certified capital investment in a certified capital company, and (3)
set forth the operational and reporting requirements of certified
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capital companies required under the law. Since then, articles in the
newspaper as well as business journals have pointed out the lack of
venture capital in the state hinders high—tech growth and making
that capital available will benefit Wisconsin as it has done in other
states. This emergency rule is necessary to begin implementation of
the law and to place Wisconsin in a better position to make capital
available to draw high—tech industries, create new businesses, and
expand existing businesses that will ultimately create new jobs and
benefit all its citizens.

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:
Hearing Date:

July 23, 1999

July 23, 1999
December, 19, 1999
August 17, 1999

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT

Employment Relations Commission

Rules adopted revising ch. ERC 33, Appendix C, relating
to the calculation of a minimum qualified economic
offer in collective bargaining with professional
school district employes.

Finding of Emergency

We find that it is necessary to promulgate the amendment to ch.
ERC 33, Appendix C as an emergency rule to preserve the public
peace, health, safety and welfare. Without the amendment, the
timely and peaceful resolution of collective bargaining disputes in
Wisconsin will be endangered.

June 12, 1999
June 12, 1999

November 9, 1999

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT

Professional Geologists, Hydrologists and Soil
Scientists

Rules adopted creating chs. GHSS 1 to 5, relating to the
registration and regulation of professional geologists,
hydrologists and soil scientists.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency

The Examining Board of Geologists, Hydrologists and Soil
Scientists finds that an emergency exists and that the attached rule
is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace,
safety or welfare. A statement of the facts constituting the
emergency is:

Section 64 of 1997 Wis. Act 300 states that the board is not
required to make a finding of emergency. However, the board offers
the following information relating to the promulgation of these rules
as emergency rules. The new regulation of professional geologists,
hydrologists and soil scientists was created in 1997 Wis. Act 300.
The Act was published on June 30, 1998; however the Act created
an effective date for the new regulation as being the first day of the
6th month beginning after the effective date of this subsection.

May 15, 1999
May 15, 1999
October 12, 1999
June 23, 1999

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:
Hearing Date:
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EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT (2)

Health & Family Services
(Medical Assistance, Chs. HFS 101-108)

1. Rules were adopted revising chs. HFS 101 to 103, and
108, relating to operation of BadgerCare health insurance
program.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Health and Family Services finds that an
emergency exists and that the rules are necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare. The facts
constituting the emergency are as follows:

This order creates rules that specify how a new program called
BadgerCare, established under s. 49.665, Stats., will work. Under
BadgerCare, families with incomes up to 185% of the federal
poverty level, but not low enough to be eligible for regular Medical
Assistance (MA) coverage of their health care costs, and that lack
access to group health insurance, are eligible to have BadgerCare
pay for their health care costs. The order incorporates the rules for
operation of BadgerCare into chs. HFS 101 to 103 and 108, four of
the Department’s chapters of rules for operation of the MA program.

BadgerCare is projected to cover over 40,000 currently
uninsured Wisconsin residents, including more than 23,000
children, by the end of 1999.

Benefits under BadgerCare will be identical to the
comprehensive package of benefits provided by Medical
Assistance. The existing Wisconsin Medicaid HMO managed care
system, including mechanisms for assuring the quality of services,
improving health outcomes and settling grievances, will be used
also for BadgerCare.

Department rules for the operation of BadgerCare must be in
effect before BadgerCare may begin. The program statute, s.
49.665, Stats., was effective on October 14, 1997. It directed the
Department to request a federal waiver of certain requirements of
the federal Medicaid Program to permit the Department to
implement BadgerCare not later than July 1, 1998, or the effective
date of the waiver, whichever date was later. The federal waiver
letter approving BadgerCare was received on January 22, 1999. It
specified that BadgerCare was not to be implemented prior to July
1, 1999. Once the letter was received, the Department began
developing the rules. They are now ready. The Department is
publishing the rules by emergency order so that they will go into
effect on July 1, 1999, rather than at least 9 months later, which is
about how long the process of making permanent rules takes, and
thereby provide already authorized health care coverage as quickly
as possible to families currently not covered by health insurance and
unable to pay for needed health care.

The rules created and amended by this order modify the current
Medical Assistance rules to accommodate BadgerCare and in the
process provide more specificity than s. 49.665, Stats., about the
nonfinancial and financial conditions of eligibility for BadgerCare;
state who is included in a BadgerCare group and whose income is
taken into consideration when determining the eligibility of a
BadgerCare group; expand on statutory conditions for continuing to
be eligible for BadgerCare; exempt a BadgerCare group with
monthly income at or below 150% of the federal poverty level from
being obliged to contribute toward the cost of the health care
coverage; and set forth how the Department, as an alternative to
providing Medical Assistance coverage, will go about purchasing
family coverage offered by the employer of a member of a family
eligible for BadgerCare if the Department determines that
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purchasing that coverage would not cost more than providing
Medical Assistance coverage.

July 1, 1999

July 1, 1999

November 28, 1999

August 26, 27, 30 & 31, 1999

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:
Hearing Dates:

2. Rule adopted amending s. HFS 105.39 (4) (b) 3., relating
to certification of specialized medical vehicle providers.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Health and Family Services finds that an
emergency exists and that the adoption of the rules included in this
order is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
peace, health, safety or welfare. The facts constituting the
emergency are as follows:

The Department’s rules for certification of specialized motor
vehicle (SMV) providers under the Medical Assistance (MA)
program include requirements for SMV drivers. Among current
requirements is that each driver must receive training in first aid and
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) before driving a vehicle or
serving as an attendant and must receive refresher training in first aid
every 2 years and refresher training in CPR annually. The specific
requirements for refresher training date from December 1, 1994.
When revising its rules for SMV providers earlier in 1994 the
Department proposed to require refresher training every 2 years for
both first aid and CPR, but at the public hearings on the proposed
rules 5 SMV providers said the CPR refresher training should take
place annually and the Department agreed and made that its
requirement.

Although the American Red Cross CPR training and certification
that the person is trained continue to be annual, the equivalent
American Heart Association CPR training and certification (the
American Heart Association prefers ‘“recognition” to
“certification”) is now every 2 years. This means that to comply
with the Department’s current MA rule for SMV drivers, s. HFS
105.39 (4) (b) 3., drivers who receive their training from the
American Heart Association must repeat the training each year.
That is unnecessary for maintenance of American Heart Association
certification (recognition) and the time and expense involved is a
burden on SMV providers and drivers. The Department is
modifying the rule through this order to simply require that drivers
maintain CPR certification.

The Department through this order is also changing the
requirement for refresher training in first aid from every 2 years to
at least every 3 years. That is because the American Red Cross
certification in first aid is now for 3 years. A requirement for more
frequent refresher training in first aid is a burden in time and expense
involved for SMV providers and drivers.

July 3, 1999
July 3, 1999
November 30, 1999
September 1, 1999

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:
Hearing Date:

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT (2)

Health and Family Services
(Health, Chs. HSS/HFS 110--)

1. Rules were adopted revising ch. HFS 119, relating to the
Health Insurance Risk—Sharing Plan.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency

Section 149.143 (4), Stats., permits the Department to
promulgate rules required under s. 149.143(2) and (3), Stats. by
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using emergency rulemaking procedures, except that the
Department is specifically exempted from the requirement under s.
227.24(1) and (3), Stats., that it make a finding of emergency. These
are the rules. Department staff consulted with the HIRSP Board of
Governors on April 30, 1999 on the proposed rules, as required by
s. 149.20, Stats.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of
Health and Family Services

The State of Wisconsin in 1981 established a Health Insurance
Risk—Sharing Plan (HIRSP) for the purpose of making health
insurance coverage available to medically uninsured residents of the
state. One type of coverage provided by HIRSP is supplemental
coverage for persons eligible for Medicare. This coverage is called
Plan 2. Medicare (Plan 2) has a $500 deductible. Approximately
17% of the 7,291 HIRSP policies in effect on March 31, 1999 were
of the Plan 2 type.

The Department through this rulemaking order is amending ch.
HFS 119 in order to update HIRSP Plan 2 premium rates in
accordance with the authority and requirements set out in s. 149.143
(2) (a) 2., Stats. The Department is required to set premium rates by
rule. These rates must be calculated in accordance with generally
accepted actuarial principles. Policyholders are to pay 60% of the
costs of HIRSP.

There are separate sets of tables in ch. HFS 119 that show
unsubsidized and subsidized Plan 2 premium rates. Both sets of
tables are amended by this order to increase the premium rates
because Plan 2 costs, which historically have been running about
50% less than Plan 1 costs, began to increase several years ago and
now are running at about 67% of Plan 1 costs. The Plan 2 premium
rates need to be increased to cover increased costs of treatment for
individuals enrolled under Plan 2. The order increases these
premium rates by about 18%.

In January 1999, the Department published an emergency rule
order to increase HIRSP unsubsidized Plan 2 premium rates by
about 10%, with the intention of increasing those rates again in July
1999 to the level provided for in this order. However, in May 1999
the Legislature’s Joint Committee for the Review of Administrative
Rules (JCRAR) refused to extend the effective period of that part of
the January 1999 emergency rule order relating to premium rate
increases, with the result that effective May 31, 1999, the rates
reverted back to the rates in effect before January 1, 1999.
Consequently, to increase rates effective July 1, 1999, the
Department through this rulemaking order has based the increased
rates on the rates in effect prior to January 1, 1999.

The Department through this order is also adjusting the total
HIRSP insurer assessments and provider payment rates in
accordance with the authority and requirements set out in s. 149.143
(2)(a)3. and 4., Stats. With the approval of the HIRSP Board of
Governors and as required by statute, the Department reconciled
total costs for the HIRSP program for calendar year 1998. The
Board of Governors approved a reconciliation methodology that
reconciles the most recent calendar year actual HIRSP program
costs, policyholder premiums, insurance assessments and health
care provider contributions collected with the statutorily required
funding formula. By statute, the adjustments for the calendar year
are to be applied to the next plan year budget beginning July 1, 1999.

The result of this reconciliation process for calendar year 1998
indicated that insurance assessments collected were greater than the
20% of costs (net of the GPR contribution from appropriation s.
20.435(5)(af), Stats.), required of insurers. Also, the calendar year
1998 reconciliation process showed that an insufficient amount was
collected from health care providers. As a result of this
reconciliation, the insurer assessments for the time periods July 1,
1999 through December 31, 1999 and January 1, 2000 through June
30, 2000, are reduced to offset the overpayment in 1998. The total
adjustments to the provider payment rates for the same time periods
are sharply increased in order to recoup the provider contribution
that was not collected in calendar year 1998. The budget for the plan
year ending June 30, 2000 and the calendar year 1998 reconciliation
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process were approved by the HIRSP Board of Governors in April
1999.

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:
Hearing Date:

June 30, 1999

July 1, 1999
November 28, 1999
September 9, 1999

2. Rules adopted creating s. HSS 122.10, relating to
distribution of 3 closed nursing home beds to a nursing
home that serves only veterans.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Health and Family Services finds that an
emergency exists and that the adoption of the rules is necessary for
the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare. The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

These rules are for the one—time distribution of 3 closed nursing
home beds to a nursing home or nursing homes that serve only
veterans. Following distribution of the 3 beds, the rules will be
allowed to lapse.

Section 150.31, Stats., establishes a statewide bed limit for
nursing homes as one means of controlling nursing home costs and
Medical Assistance program expenditures. Within that bed limit a
facility may close or its bed capacity may be reduced, in which case
beds are freed up and may be redistributed by the Department under
s. HSS 122.05(1)(c).

The Wisconsin Veterans Home at King has 4 separately licensed
nursing home buildings on its grounds, and a total licensed capacity
of 718 beds. It is operating at 99.9 percent of capacity with a long
waiting list for admission. Managers of the Wisconsin Veterans
Home have decided to close their underutilized 3 bed hospital
operation at King. The 3 hospital beds are currently located in
Stordock Hall. The 3 nursing home beds will replace the hospital
beds. Because of the burgeoning population of older veterans,
whose active service was during World War II, the Korean War, and
the Vietnam War, and the immediate pressure on admissions to the
facility, and the desirability of having flexibility when moving
residents, Wisconsin Veterans Home managers have asked that the
space previously used for hospital beds be converted to nursing
home space and that 3 closed nursing home beds be transferred to
the Veterans Home. These beds could be put on line immediately
and provide some relief to those awaiting admission.

This rulemaking order establishes a process for considering
applications for 3 closed nursing home beds to be made available to
a nursing home or nursing homes that serve only veterans, that ask
for no more than 3 beds and that do not require space to be added to
the building in which the beds will be located to accommodate those
beds.

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:

August 3, 1999
August 3, 1999
December 31, 1999

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT
Higher Educational Aids Board

Rules adopted amending s. HEA 11.03 (3) and creating s. HEA
11.03 (5), relating to the Minority Teacher Loan Program.

Finding of Emergency

The 1989 Wis. Act 31 created s. 39.40, Stats., which provides for
loans to minority students enrolled in programs of study leading to
licensure as a teacher. The Wisconsin Higher Educational Aids
Board (HEAB) administers this loan program under s. 39.40 and
under ch. HEA 11. Current rules require that a student be enrolled
full time and show financial need to be considered for participation
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in the Minority Teacher Loan Program. Students who did not enroll
full time and did not show financial need were allowed to participate
in the program in the past when part of the program was
administered by another administrative body. These students are
enrolled in teacher education programs that train teachers
specifically for the school districts named in the statutes that outline
the intent of the Minority Teacher Loan Program. Unless the Board
changes its rules, many participating students will lose their
eligibility in the program. This will cause a hardship to those
students who relied on the interpretation of the prior system
administration. Revising the rules would allow students who
participated in the program in the past to continue to participate. The
proposed revision will not affect expenditures of State funds for the
Minority Teacher Loan Program.

August 6, 1999
August 6, 1999
January 3, 2000

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT
Insurance

Rules adopted amending ss. Ins 17.01 (3) (intro.) and17.28
(6a) repealing and recreating s. Ins 17.28 (6), relating to
annual patients compensation fund and mediation fund
fees for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 1999.

Finding of Emergency

The commissioner of insurance (commissioner) finds that an
emergency exists and that promulgation of this emergency rule is
necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare. The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The commissioner was unable to promulgate the permanent rule
corresponding to this emergency rule, clearinghouse rule No.
99-70, in time for the patients compensation fund (fund) to bill
health care providers in a timely manner for fees applicable to the
fiscal year beginning July 1, 1999.

The commissioner expects that the permanent rule will be filled
with the secretary of state in time to take effect September 1, 1999.
Because the fund fee provisions of this rule first apply on July 1,
1999, it is necessary to promulgate the fee portion of the rule on an
emergency basis. A hearing on the permanent rule, pursuant to
published notice thereof, was held on May 17, 1999.

June 4, 1999
July 1, 1999
November 28, 1999

Publication Date:
Effective Date:
Expiration Date:

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT (2)

Natural Resources

(Environmental Protection-Water Regulation,
Chs. NR 300-)

1. Rules adopted creating ch. NR 303, relating to department
determinations of navigability for farm drainage ditches.
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Exemption From Finding of Emergency

The Department was directed by the JCRAR under s. 227.26 (2)
(b), Stats., to promulgate emergency rules regarding navigability

Analysis prepared by the Department of
Natural Resources

Statutory authority: s. 227.26 (2)(b)
Statute interpreted: s. 30.10 (4)(c)

This order codifies present department program guidance for
staff making navigability determinations for farm drainage ditches,
identifying various methods and information to be relied on when
making such determinations.

Publication Date: May 1, 1999

Effective Date: May 1, 1999

Expiration Date: September 28, 1999

Hearing Dates: June 16 and 17, 1999

2. Rules adopted creating ch. NR 328, relating to regulation
of water ski platforms and water ski jumps.

Analysis by the Department of Natural
Resources

Statutory authority: ss. 30.135, 227.11 (2) (a) and 227.24

Statutes interpreted: ss. 30.66, 30.69 and 30.135

Chapter NR 328 describes the conditions where a water ski jump
or platform will require a permit. It explains what constitutes a
substantive written objection to a water ski jump or platform and
provides a list of reasons that support a substantive written
objection. It specifies the contents of a public notice and the process
for making a substantive written objection. It details how the
department will respond to complaints about an existing water ski
jump or platform.

These rules were promulgated as emergency rules at the direction
of the joint committee for review of administrative rules.

Publication Date: July 9, 1999

Effective Date: July 9, 1999*

Expiration Date: December 6, 1999

*Rule suspended by Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules on July 5, 1999.
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STATEMENTS OF SCOPE OF PROPOSED RULES

Health and Family Services
(Community Services, Chs. HFS 30—-)

Subject:

Ch. HFS 97 — Relating to complaint procedures for inmates of the
Wisconsin Resource Center (WRC).

Description of policy issues:
Description of the objective(s) of the proposed rule:

To revise ch. HFS 97, relating to complaint procedures for
inmates of the Wisconsin Resource Center, to the extent necessary
to make it conform with recent changes to ch. DOC 310, relating to
complaint procedures for inmates of adult correctional institutions.

Description of policies——relevant existing policies, proposed
new policies and policy alternatives considered:

The Wisconsin Department of Corrections has a process by
which inmates of adult correctional institutions may file complaints
and have them expeditiously investigated and decided. The
procedures are specified in ch. DOC 310. Periodically, inmates are
transferred for treatment to the Wisconsin Resource Center (WRC),
a mental health treatment facility administered by the Department
of Health and Family Services (DHFS). Occasionally, an inmate
transferred to the Center will have an outstanding grievance that was
initiated when the inmate was at the inmate’s correctional facility.
In addition, an inmate receiving treatment at the WRC may initiate
a grievance while at the Center. To ensure continuity of the handling
of grievances between DHES and DOC, the Department of Health
and Family Services has maintained an inmate complaint resolution
process that is virtually the same as that specified by the Department
of Corrections in ch. DOC 310. The DHEFES version of the process
was created in December 1990, a few months after the adult
corrections program was separated from the predecessor agency to
DHEFS to become the Department of Corrections.

Effective May 1, 1998, the Department of Corrections sought to
improve how its inmate complaint review system works by
significantly modifying ch. DOC 310. The changes included the
following:

—  Permitting institution complaint examiners to reject
complaints that they determine are frivolous.

— Limiting the number of complaints an inmate may file to
2 complaints in a calendar week.

— Requiring the Department to make the written complaint
procedures available to all inmates.

— Permitting the institution complaint examiner to accept late
complaints for good cause.

— Generally prohibiting inmates from using language that is
profane, obscene, abusive or threatens others when filing a
complaint.

— Permitting the Secretary to extend the timelines for cause and
upon notice to the inmate and all interested parties.

—  Permitting the Department to reveal the identity of
complainants and the nature of the complaints to the extent
reasonable and appropriate for thorough investigation and
implementation of the remedy.

— Removing language that permits the corrections complaint
examiner (CCE) to order an evidentiary hearing.

— Requiring that all records of an inmate complaint be kept for
at least 3 years after disposition of the complaint.

— Allowing the Secretary to suspend the rules in an emergency
and defining an emergency.

— Eliminating redundant and confusing language and clarifying
some language and using current terminology.

Given that the DOC has made a variety of changes to its
grievance process in 1998, DHFS proposes to make comparable
changes to ch. HFS 97 so that ch. HFS 97 is, once again, consistent
with ch. DOC 310. Such revisions to ch. HFS 97 will ensure that the
same process will be available to a correctional inmate, whether the
inmate is at a DOC institution or at the WRC.

Statutory authority:
Sections 46.056 (1) and 227.11 (2), Stats.

Estimates of staff time and other resources needed to develop
the rules:

Estimated 10 total hours of Division of Care and Treatment
Facilities staff time to develop the rules in preparation for
Department review.

Pharmacy Internship Board

Subject:
Ch. Ph-Int 1 — Relating to Pharmacy Internship Board rules.
Description of policy issues:

Analysis prepared by the State of Wisconsin Pharmacy Internship
Board:

The profession of pharmacy, its roles, tasks, duties, and
responsibilities have evolved greatly within the past five years.
Similarly, the roles, tasks, duties, and responsibilities for interns
enrolled in the state’s pharmacy internship program have evolved as
a prerequisite for pharmacist licensure in Wisconsin. Ending in
1999, the five—year baccalaureate degree has been replaced with the
six—year Doctor of Pharmacy degree (Pharm.D.) as the entry—level
degree into the pharmacy profession. With the inception of the
Pharm.D., changes also have occurred in the didactic and
experiential learning course work required by the American Council
on Pharmaceutical Education, an accreditation agency, for schools
and colleges of pharmacy nationwide. As a result, pharmacy
students may now accrue all pharmacy internship hours while
enrolled in the academic curriculum. This differs from the former
baccalaureate degree where a minimum of 1000 of the 1500—hour
pharmacy internship requirement had to be served extracurricularly.
Furthermore, changes in experiential learning course work, and the
need for pharmacist preceptor supervision, now takes place earlier
in the curriculum than in the past. The Pharmacy Internship Board
needs to amend its current rules and make rule changes in light of
this.

Other factors necessitate changes in the Pharmacy Internship
Board rules. International pharmacy graduates (graduates from
non—accredited schools and colleges of pharmacy) can pursue
pharmacist licensure in Wisconsin as allowed by the Wisconsin
Pharmacy Examining Board. A prerequisite to do this includes
serving a pharmacy internship of 1500 hours before the state board
exams are taken. Amendments and additional Pharmacy Internship
Board rules are needed to reflect this change. Pharmacy residency
programs (as a form of postgraduate professional training) will
continue to emerge. Since some pharmacy residents elect not to
pursue pharmacist licensure during this training, the Pharmacy
Internship Board is needed to provide oversight and ensure adequate
supervision and consumer protection. Pharmacy Internship Board
rule amendments and changes are needed to reflect this. Last,
pharmacists licensed in other states who have applied and are
waiting to complete the Wisconsin pharmacist licensure exams
often desire pharmacy internship licenses to practice in the interim
period before they are licensed. Pharmacy Internship Board rule
amendments and rule changes are needed to ensure these
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pharmacists are eligible to practice as pharmacist interns before
being allowed to practice under the supervision of a registered
pharmacist.

Statutory authority:

Pursuant to authority vested in the state of Wisconsin Pharmacy
Internship Board by s. 36.25 (20), Stats., the state of Wisconsin
Pharmacy Internship Board hereby proposes to amend, repeal, and
create rules interpreting ss. 36.25 (20) and 450.045, Stats.

Time estimate to prepare the rule amendments and new
rules:

It is estimated that 30 to 40 hours of time will be required by
Pharmacy Internship Board staff to amend and develop the new
rules. This does not include the time spent by the Pharmacy
Internship Board to construct and develop the rule amendments and
new rules. The time spent by the Pharmacy Internship Board is
estimated at 20 hours.

Regulation and Licensing

Subject:

Chs. RL 80 to 87 — Relating to changes and clarification of
administrative rules relating to the practice of real estate appraisers.

Description of policy issues:
Objective of the rule:

Clarify and update administrative rules. Recommended changes
relate to:

1) Clarity, grammar, punctuation, use of plain language.

2) Revisions contained in the 1999 edition of Uniform Standards
of Professional Appraisal Practice to comply with federal law.

Policy analysis:

Existing policies are in chs. RL 80 to 87. The proposal would do
the following:

1) Clarify definitions, application requirements, continuing
education, experience, scope of practice, and rules of professional
conduct.

2) Adopt revisions contained in the 1999 edition of the Uniform
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice.

Statutory authority for the proposed rule:

Sections 227.11 (2), 458.03, 458.05, 458.085 and 458.24, Stats.

Estimate of the amount of time employes will spend to
develop the rule and of other resources necessary to develop the
rule:

80 hours.

Transportation

Subject:

Ch. Trans 101 - Relating to establishing a traffic violation
demerit point system.

Description of policy issues:

Description of the objective of the rule:

Chapter Trans 101 administratively interprets those portions of
chs. 343 to 349, Stats., relating to establishing a traffic violation
demerit point system. The Department is amending the rule to:

¢ Conform the rule to statutory changes made in 1997 Wis.
Act 84 relating to operating while suspended (OWS) and operating
after revocation (OAR).

* Address demerit point reduction for child support cases, a new
license withdrawal type created by 1997 Wis. Act 237.

e Conform the rule to s. 343.32 (2) (bd), Stats., as created by
1997 Wis. Act 135, which requires 6 demerit points be assessed
upon conviction for illegally crossing railroad tracks.
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* Change criteria used to set the effective dates for demerit point
cases.

Description of existing policies relevant to the rule and of new
policies proposed to be included in the rule and an analysis of policy
alternatives:

Amendment #1—Conform ch. Trans 101 to 1997 Wis. Act 84.
1997 Wis. Act 84 simplifies many motor vehicle laws related to
revocations and suspensions for the sake of the general public, law
enforcement, prosecutors, defense attorneys, courts, and the
Department. This rule-making will conform the administrative rule
to revised s. 343.32, Stats., which makes all demerit point license
withdrawals suspensions. No alternatives may be considered by the
agency because the rule must conform to the statute.

Amendment #2—Conform ch. Trans 101 to 1997 Wis. Act 237.
1997 Wis. Act 237 allows courts to suspend a person’s driver license
for non—payment of child support.

Chapter Trans 101 allows for the reduction of points upon
reinstatement of a driver’s license unless the license withdrawal was
for one of the non—driving related incidents, specified in
s. Trans 101.05 (1). Upon reinstatement, points are reduced to six
points. The point reduction applies only to convictions dated before
the reinstatement. In essence, this policy treats an existing driver
record withdrawal as a withdrawal covering all incidents for the last
twelve month period; what may have been multiple withdrawals are
treated as concurrent cases for determining length of the withdrawal.
Without this policy, some drivers would have consecutive cases
resulting in significantly longer withdrawal periods.

The suggested change in ch. Trans 101 simply adds non—payment
of child support to the list of non—driving related suspensions for
which there is no demerit point reduction upon license
reinstatement.

The possible alternative to this proposed change is to leave the
rule as it currently is written and allow reinstatements from
suspension for non—payment of child support to result in a reduction
down to 6 demerit points.

There are no public policy advantages to not amending this rule.
Amending the rule will remove a potential incentive for bad drivers
to refuse to pay child support. It will also be consistent with
Department procedures for other non—payment withdrawal actions
and therefore be easier for the public to understand and more
administratively efficient.

Amendment #3—Conform ch. Trans 101 to 1997 Wis. Act 135.
Section 343.32 (2) (bd), Stats., as created by 1997 Wis. Act 135,
creates stiffer penalties for violations at railroad crossings. Violators
will receive more serious sanctions for ignoring signals or driving
recklessly at railroad crossings. Ch. Trans 101 needs to be amended
to conform to this new statutory mandate. Accordingly, no
alternatives are considered.

Amendment #4—FEliminate license surrender date as an element
used in calculating the effective date of a demerit point suspension.
Current s. Trans 101.04 (4) makes the effective date of a suspension
contingent on whether and when a person has surrendered his or her
driver license to the Department.

This language in ch. Trans 101 has a long history. The
implementation of the policy, however, has changed dramatically
over time as staff resources for handling Department workload have
diminished. At one point, probably as recently as the late 1970’s or
early 1980’s, there was a concerted effort to collect licenses from
drivers when they appeared in court or by sending law enforcement
officers or driver license examiners out to the person’s home. Since
there is no research to support the premise that taking the license
document prevents or dissuades people from driving, this use of
valuable resources for this purpose was discontinued.

Until about 1996, a person could surrender a driver’s license at
one of the Division of Motor Vehicles field offices throughout the
state and have it returned to the central office in Madison for
recording on the driver licensing system. The Division discontinued
taking the license in 1996, because of the staff time required to
handle the licenses in the field.
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In 1996, the Division fully implemented a computer image
system to store documents and eliminate all paper files for
revocations and suspensions cases. Currently, the Division has no
file system in which to store driver licenses. For the few licenses,
about 10,000 per year, that are sent into the Madison central office,
the Division keys a surrender date and destroys the license. Last
year, the Division completed 333,000 license revocations or
suspensions. The current system —— with a small number of
surrenders being keyed online — results in very unequal application
of this portion of ch. Trans 101.

There are two possible alternatives to the proposal of eliminating
surrender date:

* Continue the existing system of inconsistently using surrender
date in determining the effective date of withdrawal cases.

* Allocate sufficient staff resources to collecting, recording and
storing licenses to be able to apply consistently a surrender effective
date.

Neither alternative would require a rule change. Making no
change, however, would continue the current inconsistent system at
a cost in lost processor time for no perceivable benefit. Allocating
resources to collect invalid licenses is not possible without
significant budget changes to pay for the staffpower required to
carry out that work.

Statutory authority for the rule:
Section 343.32 (2) (a), Stats.
Estimate of the amount of time that state employes will spend

developing the rule and of other resources necessary to develop
the rule:

35 hours

Workforce Development
(Prevailing Wage Rates, Chs. DWD 290
to 294)

Subject:

Chs. DWD 290 and 294 — Relating to prevailing wage rates.

Description of policy issues:

Objective of the proposed rule:

In 1995 Wis. Act 215 created the first major update of
Wisconsin’s prevailing wage laws since the inception of those in the
1930’s. The proposed rules attempt to update the Department’s
regulations to reflect the recent changes in the statutes. The
proposals also incorporate into the rules some long—standing
Department policies. Finally, the proposed rule contains changes
concerning a few issues agreed upon by a focus group representing
all of the major parties with interests related to these rules.
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Proposed changes:

Prior to the passage of Act 215, the Department maintained
separate administrative rules for s. 66.293, Stats., (ch. DWD 290)
and s. 103.49, Stats., (ch. DWD 292). With passage of Act 215, the
Department repealed ch. DWD 292. Chapter DWD 290 was then
intended to apply both to ss. 66.293 and 103.49, Stats.
Unfortunately ch. DWD 290 failed to contain some references to
s. 103.49, Stats. The proposed rule corrects these omissions.

Passage of Act 215 changed some terminology used in the
statutes. The proposed rule modifies the current rule to use the new
terminology. For example, the term “municipality” was changed in
the law to refer to “local governmental unit.”

Over the past three years the Department met with industry and
labor leaders to reach a common policy which could be applied in
certain circumstances. One of these problem areas concerned the
payment of fringe benefits for apprentices. The parties agreed to
adopt a rule that would set a standard practice of paying fringe
benefits to apprentices on public works projects. Previously, there
was no set standard in this area. Even with union contracts, the
various unions had no one set manner for dealing with this issue.

The focus group also agreed that any supply and installation work
performed on the site of a project would be covered by state
prevailing wage rates. Previously under certain circumstances the
Department had exempted supply and installation work performed
on the site of the public project from the state prevailing wage rates.

Another area upon which the focus group reached agreement
concerned the definition of cross—classification work. The
Department had a long—standing policy of allowing workers to work
in more than one classification up to twenty percent of a given work
week on a public project without having to receive a separate pay
rate for the second classification of work. The focus group agreed
to adopt a set definition of incidental cross—classification work
which would total no more than 15% of an individual’s work time
on a public project in a given work week.

Statutory authority for the proposed rule:
Sections 66.293 (12) (e) and 103.49 (7) (e), Stats.

Estimate of the amount of time employes will spend
developing the proposed rule and of other resources needed to
develop the rule:

Less than 40 hours.
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SuBMITTAL OF RULES TO LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL CLEARINGHOUSE

Notice of Submittal of Proposed Rules to
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings for further information on a particular rule.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection

Rule Submittal Date

On September 1, 1999, the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection submitted a proposed rule to the
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed rule amends ch. ATCP 105, relating to motor vehicle
fuel sales below cost.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

Public hearings are required. Three hearings will be held after the
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse completes its
review of the proposed rule. One hearing is scheduled for Monday,
October 11, 1999 from 1:00 to 4:00 p.m. at the Marathon Public
Library, 300 North 1st St., Wausau. The second hearing is scheduled
for Tuesday, October 12, 1999 from 1:00 to 4:00 p.m. in the Board
Room at the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and
Consumer Protection, 2811 Agriculture Dr., Madison. The third
hearing is scheduled for Thursday, October 14, 1999 from 1:00 to
4:00 p.m. in Room 129, DOC, State Office Bldg., 141 NW Barstow
St., Waukesha. The Division of Trade and Consumer Protection is
primarily responsible for promulgation of this rule.

Contact Information

If you have questions regarding this rule, you may contact:

Kevin LeRoy
Division of Trade and Consumer Protection
Telephone (608) 224-4928

or

Attorney Karl Marquardt
Telephone (608) 224-5031

Controlled Substances Board

Rule Submittal Date

On August 24, 1999, the Controlled Substances Board submitted a
proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

Statutory Authority: ss. 961.11 (1) and (2), 961.15, 961.17 and
961.19, Stats.

The proposed rule—making order relates to the scheduling of certain
drugs under ch. 961, Stats., the Uniform Controlled Substances Act.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on October 6, 1999 at
9:30 a.m. in Room 179A at 1400 East Washington Avenue,
Madison, Wisconsin.

Contact Information
If you have questions regarding this rule, you may contact:

Pamela Haack, Administrative Rules Coordinator
Telephone (608) 266—0495

Higher Educational Aids Board

Rule Submittal Date

On August 27, 1999, the Higher Educational Aids Board submitted
a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
Statutory authority: Sections 39.28 (1) and 227.11 (2), Stats.

The proposed rule affects s. HEA 11.03, Wis. Adm. Code, relating
to administration of the Minority Teacher Loan Program.

Reason for rules:

The 1989 Wis. Act 31 created s. 39.40, Stats., which provides for
loans to minority students enrolled in programs of study leading to
licensure as a teacher. The Wisconsin Higher Educational Aids
Board (HEAB) administers this loan program under s. 39.40, Stats.,
and under ch. HEA 11. Current rules require that a student be
enrolled full time and show financial need to be considered for
participation in the Minority Teacher Loan Program. Students who
did not enroll full time and did not show financial need were allowed
to participate in the program in the past when part of the program
was administered by another administrative body. These students
are enrolled in teacher education programs that train teachers
specifically for the school districts named in the statutes that outline
the intent of the Minority Teacher Loan Program.

Unless the Board changes its rules, many participating students will
lose their eligibility in the program. This will cause a hardship to
those students who relied on the interpretation of the prior system
administration. This rulemaking order expands program eligibility
to allow students who were eligible to participate under this program
in the past, when it was administered by a different system, to
continue to be eligible to participate in the future. Students who are
enrolled at least halftime and students who do not show financial
need will be able to participate in this program. The proposed
revision will not affect expenditures of State funds for the Minority
Teacher Loan Program.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

Public hearing under ss. 227.16, 227.17, and 227.18, Stats.;
approval of rules in final draft form by the HEAB Secretary; and
legislative standing committee review under s. 227.19, Stats.

Contact Information

Jane Hojan—Clark
Higher Educational Aids Board
Telephone (608) 264-6181



Mid-September, 1999 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER No. 525

Kickapoo Reserve Management Board

Rule Submittal Date

On August 24, 1999 the Kickapoo Reserve Management Board
submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse creating ch. KB 1, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to the
use of the land, water and facilities in the Kickapoo Valley Reserve.

Analysis
Statutory authority: ss. 44.41(7)(k) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.
Statutes interpreted: ss. 44.40 and 44.41, Stats.

The Kickapoo Reserve Management Board was created in 1994 to
manage the Kickapoo Valley Reserve, which encompasses
approximately 7,400 acres along 14 miles of the Kickapoo River in
Vernon County. The 11 member board, which is appointed by the
Governor, is required by statute to manage the land for low impact
recreation. It currently does so under a management lease
agreement with the U.S. Corps of Engineers, which purchased the
land in the early 1970’s as part of a large flood control and
dam-—building effort that was discontinued in 1975 because of
environmental and cost concerns.

In 1996 federal legislation deauthorized the dam project and
provided for ownership of approximately 7,400 acres to be
transferred to the state when federal requirements are met. An
additional 1,200 acres of tribally significant land is to be held in trust
for the Ho—Chunk Nation by the Federal Bureau of Indian Affairs.
The federal legislation that provides for the transfer of ownership
does not specify a date by which title must be transferred but, it is
anticipated that transfer of title to the 7,400 acres to the State will be
completed in April of 2000.

The proposed rules contain the detail related to the Board
management of the property, public use of the property and fees for
public use of the property. The rules are very similar to Department
of Natural Resources rules related to the use and management of
state parks. (See Chapter NR 45.) In addition to general rules related
to the management and use of the Reserve, the proposed rule
regulates vehicle operation, animals, fires, use of firearms and
hunting and camping on the Reserve. The proposed rule also
provides for the charging of fees for camping and other recreational
uses of the Reserve.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and scheduled for Thursday,
November 18, 1999 from 4:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. in the LaFarge
Community Building, 202 North State Street, LaFarge, Wisconsin.

Contact Information
For additional information or to obtain a copy of the proposed rule,

contact Marcy West, Executive Director, Kickapoo Reserve
Management Board at (608) 625-2960.

Medical Examining Board

Rule Submittal Date

On August 24, 1999, the Medical Examining Board submitted a
proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

Statutory Authority: ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 448.40 (1),
Stats.

The proposed rule-making order relates to computer—based
examinations.
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Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on October 20, 1999
at 9:00 a.m. in Room 179A at 1400 East Washington Avenue,
Madison, Wisconsin.

Contact Information

Pamela Haack, Administrative Rules Coordinator
Telephone (608) 266—-0495

Nursing, Board of

Rule Submittal Date

On August 24, 1999, the Board of Nursing submitted a proposed rule
to the Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

Statutory Authority: ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 441.16 (3) (b),
Stats.

The proposed rule-making order relates to prescribing limitations
for advanced practice nurse prescribers.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on November 4, 1999
at 2:00 p.m. in Room 179A at 1400 East Washington Avenue,
Madison, Wisconsin.

Contact Information

Pamela Haack, Administrative Rules Coordinator
Telephone (608) 266—0495

Public Instruction

Rule Submittal Date

On August 26, 1999, the Wisconsin Department of Public
Instruction submitted a proposed rule to the Wisconsin Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed rule amends ch. PI 6, relating to public librarian
certification.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

Public hearings are required and two public hearings are scheduled.
One hearing is on Tuesday, October 5, 1999 from 10:00 a.m. to
12:00 p.m. (noon) in the Wausau Room at Marathon County Public
Library, 3rd Floor, 300 North First St., Wausau. The second hearing
is on Wednesday, October 6, 1999 from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
(noon) at the Reference and Loan Library, 2109 South Stoughton
Road, Madison. The Division for Libraries and Community
Learning is primarily responsible for promulgation of this rule.

Contact Information

If you have questions regarding this rule, you may contact Peg
Branson, Continuing Education Consultant, Public Library
Development Team, at (608) 266—2413.

Public Instruction

Rule Submittal Date

On August 26, 1999, the Wisconsin Department of Public
Instruction submitted a proposed rule to the Wisconsin Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed rule amends ch. PI 37, relating to national teacher
certification grants.
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Agency Procedure for Promulgation

Public hearings are required and will be scheduled. The Division
for Learning Support: Instructional Services is primarily
responsible for promulgation of this rule.

Contact Information

If you have questions regarding this rule, you may contact Peter
Burke, Director, Teacher Education, Licensing and Placement, at
(608) 266—1879.

Public Service Commission

Rule Submittal Date

On August 29, 1999, the Public Service Commission submitted
proposed rules to repeal and recreate ch. PSC 111, Wis. Adm. Code,
relating to strategic energy assessments, to the Legislative Council
Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

These proposed rules affecting ch. PSC 111 were triggered by the
enactment of 1997 Wis. Act 204, which replaced the advance plan
process with strategic energy assessments. The proposed rules also

revise the requirements for certificates of public conveniences and
necessity (CPCNs).

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

In addition, the Commission, at its open meeting of August 26, 1999,
approved a Notice of Hearing pursuant to s. 227.17 (1), Stats. The
Notice of Hearing schedules public hearings to be held in the
Amnicon Falls Hearing Room of the Public Service Commission
Building, 610 North Whitney Way at 9:00 a.m., September 29, 1999.

A copy of the Notice of Hearing is being submitted to the
Department of Administration pursuant to s. 227.17 (1) (bm), Stats.
The Commission’s Electric Division is the organizational unit
responsible for preparing the rules.

Contact Information

If you have any substantive questions regarding the proposed rules,
you may contact Electric Division Assistant Administrator Robert
D. Norcross at 267-9229.

If you have any questions regarding the Commission’s internal
processing of the proposed rules, you may contact Attorney David
A. Ludwig at 266-5621.

Revenue

Rule Submittal Date

On September 1, 1999 the Wisconsin Department of Revenue
submitted a proposed rule order to the Wisconsin Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed rule order creates s. Tax 11.96, relating to delivery of
an ordinance to adopt or repeal a county or premier resort area tax.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

The Department intends to promulgate the proposed rule order
without a public hearing, pursuant to s. 227.16 (2) (e), Stats. The
Office of the Secretary is primarily responsible for the promulgation
of the rule order.

Contact Information

If you have questions regarding this rule, you may contact:

Mark Wipperfurth
Income, Sales, and Excise Tax Division
Telephone (608) 266—8253
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Transportation

Rule Submittal Date

On September 2, 1999, the Department of Transportation submitted
a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed rule-making order affects chs. Trans 138 and 139,
relating to dealer facilities, records and licenses and motor vehicle
trade practices.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and a hearing is scheduled for Friday,
November 12, 1999 at 1:00 p.m. in Room 421 of the Hill Farms State
Transportation Building, at 4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Madison,
Wisconsin. The Division of Motor Vehicles, Dealer Licensing and
Regulation Section is the organizational unit responsible for
promulgation of the proposed rule.

Contact Information

Julie A. Johnson, Paralegal
Telephone (608) 266—8810

Transportation

Rule Submittal Date

On September 2, 1999, the Department of Transportation submitted
a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed rule—making order affects ch. Trans 252, relating to
escort vehicles.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and a hearing is scheduled for Tuesday,
October 12, 1999 at 1:00 p.m. in Room 551 of the Hill Farms State
Transportation Building, at 4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Madison,
Wisconsin. The Divisions of Motor Vehicles, Infrastructure
Development and State Patrol are the organizational units
responsible for promulgation of the proposed rule.

Contact Information

Julie A. Johnson, Paralegal
Telephone (608) 266—-8810

Veterinary Examining Board

Rule Submittal Date

On August 24, 1999, the Veterinary Examining Board submitted a
proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

Statutory Authority: ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 453.03 (1),
Stats.

The proposed rule-making order relates to computerized
examinations.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on September 29, 1999
at 11:30 a.m. in Room 179A, at 1400 East Washington Avenue,
Madison, Wisconsin.

Contact Information

Pamela Haack, Administrative Rules Coordinator
Telephone (608) 266—0495
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NOTICE SECTION

Notice of Hearings

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer
Protection

[CR 99-133]

The State of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and
Consumer Protection announces that it will hold public hearings on
proposed amendments to ch. ATCP 105, Wis. Adm. Code, relating
to sales below cost. The public is invited to attend the hearings and
make comments on the proposed rule. Following the public
hearings, the hearing record will remain open until November 5,
1999, for additional written comments.

A copy of this rule and the proposed amendments may be
obtained free of charge, from the Wisconsin Department of
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection, Division of Trade and
Consumer Protection, 2811 Agriculture Drive, PO Box 8911,
Madison, WI 53708, or by calling (608)224-4928. Copies will also
be available at the public hearings.

An interpreter for the hearing impaired will be available on
request for these hearings. Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by September 30, 1999 either by writing to Kevin LeRoy,
2811 Agriculture Drive, PO Box 8911, Madison WI 53708-8911,
(608/224-4928), or by contacting the message relay system (TDD)
at 608/224-5058. Handicap access is available at the hearings.

Hearing Information

October 11, 1999
Monday
1:00 pm until 4:00 pm

Marathon Co. Public Library
300 North 1st St.
Wausau, WI

October 12, 1999
Tuesday
1:00 pm until 4:00 pm

Wisconsin Department of
Agriculture, Trade & Consumer
Protection
Board Room

2811 Agriculture Drive
Madison, WI

October 14, 1999
Thursday
1:00 pm until 4:00 pm

Department of Corrections
Room 129

State Office Building

141 Northwest Barstow St.
Waukesha, WI

Analysis Prepared by the Department of
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection

Statutory Authority: s. 93.07(1)
Statute Interpreted: s. 100.30

This rule interprets s. 100.30, Stats., which prohibits sales of
motor fuel and other merchandise below cost. The term “cost” is
extensively defined in s. 100.30, Stats., and DATCP rules under ch.
ATCP 105, Wis. Adm. Code. But neither the statute nor the current
rules define “selling price.”

Under s. 100.18(8), Stats., persons selling motor vehicle fuel at
retail must post the retail sale price on the motor fuel pump. But
many sellers now offer discounts such as customer loyalty
discounts, fleet discounts, volume discounts, preferred payment

method discounts and other incentives that may affect the ultimate
sale price.

This rule clarifies how a seller’s retail motor fuel “selling price”
is calculated, for purposes of s. 100.30, Stats. Under this rule, the
retail “selling price” of motor vehicle fuel is the selling price which
the seller is required to post under s. 100.18(8), Stats., less any
discounts offered by the seller that are fully earned and determinable
at the time of sale, except that discounts based soley on the
purchaser’s method of payment or receipt of credit do not reduce the
“selling price” of motor vehicle fuel for purposes of s. 100.30, Stats.

Fiscal Estimate

The department does not expect this rule to have any fiscal impact
on the department or local governments.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The proposed additions to ATCP 105, Wis. Adm. Code do not
have a significant effect on small business. The proposed rule is a
presentation of the department’s interpretation of how preferred
payment method discounts effect whether or not gasoline was sold
below cost.

Chapter ATCP 105 interprets s. 100.30, Stats. (sometimes
referred to as “The Unfair Sales Act” or “The Minimum Markup
Law”). This statute prohibits retailers, wholesalers and refiners of
motor vehicle fuel from selling products below cost. The term
“cost” is substantially defined in both the statute and the current rule.
However, there are no provisions in either the satute or current rule
that provide interpretations on how businesses are to determine the
selling price of their products.

This rule specifies that discounts, credits or rebates that are tied
to the payment method do not reduce the selling price of motor
vehicle fuel. The rule also specifies that discounts, credit or rebates
offered to the customer that are not tied to the payment method must
be considered as a reduction in the selling price of motor vehicle
fuel.

Notice of Hearing
Kickapoo Valley Reserve Management
Board
[CR 99-124]

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to s. 41.41 (7) (k), Stats., the
Kickapoo Reserve Management Board will hold a hearing at the
time and place shown below to consider a proposed order to create
ch. KB 1, relating to the use of the land, water and facilities in the
Kickapoo Valley Reserve.

Hearing Information

November 18, 1999 LaFarge Community Bldg.

Thursday 202 North State St.
4:00 p.m. to LaFarge, WI
8:00 p.m.

Written Comments

Written comments on the proposed rules may be sent to the
contact person by Thursday, December 2, 1999. Written comments
will receive the same consideration as written or oral testimony
presented at the hearing.

Analysis Prepared by the Kickapoo
Reserve Management Board
Statutory authority: ss. 44.41 (7) (k) and 227.11 (2) (a)
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Statutes interpreted: ss. 44.40 and 44.41

The Kickapoo Reserve Management Board was created in 1994
to manage the Kickapoo Valley Reserve, which encompasses
approximately 7,400 acres along 14 miles of the Kickapoo River in
Vernon County. The 11 member board, which is appointed by the
Governor, is required by statute to manage the land for low impact
recreation. It currently does so under a management lease
agreement with the U.S. Corps of Engineers, which purchased the
land in the early 1970’s as part of a large flood control and
dam-building effort that was discontinued in 1975 because of
environmental and cost concerns.

In 1996 federal legislation deauthorized the dam project and
provided for ownership of approximately 7,400 acres to be
transferred to the state when federal requirements are met. An
additional 1,200 acres of tribally significant land is to be held in trust
for the Ho—Chunk Nation by the Federal Bureau of Indian Affairs.
The federal legislation that provides for the transfer of ownership
does not specify a date by which title must be transferred but, it is
anticipated that transfer of title to the 7,400 acres to the State will be
completed in April of 2000.

The proposed rules contain the detail related to the Board
management of the property, public use of the property and fees for
public use of the property. The rules are very similar to Department
of Natural Resources rules related to the use and management of
state parks. (See Chapter NR 45.) In addition to general rules related
to the management and use of the Reserve, the proposed rule
regulates vehicle operation, animals, fires, use of firearms and
hunting and camping on the Reserve. The proposed rule also
provides for the charging of fees for camping and other recreational
uses of the Reserve.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to s. 227.14, Stats., the
proposed rule will have minimal impact on small businesses. The
initial regulatory flexibility analysis as required by s. 227.17 (3) (f),
Stats., is as follows:

1) Type of small business affected by the rule: None.

2) The proposed reporting, bookkeeping and other procedures
required for compliance with the rule: None.

3) The types of professional skills necessary for compliance
with the rule: None.

Fiscal Estimate

The proposed rule provides for the charging of fees for camping
and other recreational uses of the reserve. The fees will generate
revenue for the Kickapoo Valley Reserve Management Board that
will be used for management of the Reserve. Since fee rates and the
amount of recreational uses are unknown, it is not possible to
determine the amount of revenue that will be generated.

Copies of Rule and Contact Information

For additional information about or copies of the proposed rules
contact:

Marcy West, Executive Director
Telephone (608) 625-2960
Kickapoo Reserve Management Board
505 North Mill Street
LaFarge, WI 54639

Notice of Hearings
Public Instruction
[CR 99-129]
Notice is hereby given that pursuant to ss. 43.09(2) and 227.11

(2) (a), Stats., and interpreting s. 43.09, Stats., the department of
public instruction will hold public hearings as follows to consider
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the amending of Chapter PI 6, relating to public librarian
certification.

Hearing Information

October 5, 1999
Tuesday
10:00 a.m. — noon

Wausau

Marathon Co. Public Library
300 N. First Street, 3" Fir.
Wausau Room

October 6, 1999
Wednesday
10:00 a.m. - noon

Madison
Reference & Loan Library
2109 S. Stoughton Road

The hearing sites are fully accessible to people with disabilities.
If you require reasonable accommodation to access any meeting,
please call Peg Branson, Continuing Education Consultant, at (608)
266-2413 or leave a message with the Teletypewriter (TTY) at (608)
267-2427 at least 10 days prior to the hearing date. Reasonable
accommodation includes materials prepared in an alternative
format, as provided under the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Copies of Rule and Contact Person

A copy of the proposed rule and the fiscal estimate may be
obtained by sending an email request to
lori.slauson @dpi.state.wi.us or by writing to:

Lori Slauson
Administrative Rules & Federal Grants Coordinator
Department of Public Instruction
125 South Webster Street
P.O. Box 7841
Madison, WI 53707

Written comments on the proposed rules received by Ms. Slauson
at the above address no later than October 13, 1999, will be given
the same consideration as testimony presented at the hearing.
Comments submitted via email will not be accepted as formal
testimony.

Analysis by the Department of Public
Instruction

The proposed rules clarify and update the current public librarian
certification rules by making the following modifications:

* Continuing education participation will be measured by
contact hours rather than continuing education points.

 The required number of contact hours for continuing education
will be the same for all grade levels.

* Provisional certificates will be granted for 5 years, rather than
one year.

» Applicants who have not completed all of the library course
requirements will be issued temporary certificates rather than
provisional certificates.

e Temporary certificates will be available, depending on the
grade level and the courses to be completed. These certificates must
be renewed annually and may not be renewed after 3 years.

e Library directors in communities with a population increase
will receive an upgraded provisional certificate for the same time
period as the certificate being replaced.

e Library directors eligible for temporary certification must
apply within 3 months of employment, rather than the current 6
months.

» Temporary certificates will be available to certain previously
certified applicants whose certification has expired.

Fiscal Estimate

The proposed rules make minor, procedural changes and will not
result in any increased state or local government costs.
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Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The proposed rules are not anticipated to have a fiscal effect on
small businesses as defined under s. 227.114(1)(a), Stats.

Notice of Hearing
Public Service Commission
[CR 99-131]

Notice is hereby given that a hearing will be held to consider
revision to ch. PSC 111, relating to strategic energy assessment, at
the time and place indicated below, and continuing at times to be set
by the presiding hearing examiner.

The Public Service Commission proposes to repeal and recreate
ch. PSC 111, Wis. Adm. Code. These rules currently describe
procedures for filing and reviewing Advance Plan information and
applications for Certificates of Public Convenience and Necessity
(CPCN) under s. 196.491, Stats. The enactment of 1997 Wis.
Act 204, however, replaced Advance Plans with biennial Strategic
Energy Assessments and revised the law regarding CPCNs. These
proposed rules follow the statutory revisions.

Hearing Information

September 29, 1999
Wednesday
9:00 a.m.

Amnicon Falls Hrg. Room
Public Service Commission
610 North Whitney Way
Madison, WI

The Public Service Commission does not discriminate on the
basis of disability in the provision of programs, services, or
employment. This building is accessible to people in wheelchairs
through the Whitney Way first floor (lobby) entrance. Parking for
people with disabilities is available on the south side of the building.
Any person with a disability who needs additional accommodations
or who needs to obtain this document in a different format should
contact the case coordinator listed below.

Contact Information

Persons who desire to actively participate as full parties must
request full party status in writing. Full party status requests should
be addressed to Jeffry Patzke, Hearing Examiner, Public Service
Commission of Wisconsin, Examining Division, P.O. Box 7854,
Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7854.

Questions from the media may be directed to Jeffrey L. Butson,
Public Affairs Director, at (608) 267-0912.

Questions regarding this matter may be directed to case
coordinator Randel Pilo at (608) 267—-1474.

Summary and Analysis of Rules

Statutory authority: ss. 196.02 (3), 196.491 (2) (ag) and
(3) (a) 1., and 227.11

Statute interpreted: s. 196.491(2) and (3)

1997 Wis. Act 204 repealed the advance plan process for electric
utilities. In its place, state law now requires that the Public Service
Commission (Commission) biennially prepare a strategic energy
assessment (SEA). The SEA will evaluate the reliability of
Wisconsin’s current and future electric supply. Public utilities, rural
electric cooperatives, municipal utilities, merchant plant operators,
and independent power producers are all involved in producing and
providing electric power in Wisconsin, so each will be required to
submit information for the SEA. New rules with respect to CPCNs
are proposed to conform the Commission’s rules to the revisions
made in the CPCN process by Act 204.

Preparation of an SEA will commence with a forecast of peak
electric demand over the biennial period of an SEA, plus one
additional year. The forecast will then be compared against electric
power supply, to determine if capacity will be available to meet
future Wisconsin demand and to provide the additional reserve
margin needed for contingencies.
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Electricity providers will be required to submit the information
necessary to prepare the forecast of peak electric demand. This
information will consist of monthly actual non—coincident peak load
for a period preceding the SEA, and of predicted peak load for the
3—year period encompassing the SEA. The peak load information
will then be offset by programs in place to control peak load, such
as direct load control and interruptible load, and by net purchases of
firm capacity, i.e., capacity backed up by reserves. Any contracts by
an electricity provider to sell firm capacity with reserves will
increase peak load, while any contracts to purchase capacity with
reserves will offset the peak forecast. Subchapter II covers this
assessment of electric demand.

Next, each provider’s electric power supply will be evaluated.
Each electricity provider will be required to submit information
showing how much generating capacity it has installed in Wisconsin
or is using to provide electricity to ultimate end—users in Wisconsin.
This level of installed generating capacity must then be offset by
plans to retire units and sell capacity without reserves during the
3—year period encompassing the SEA. Any plans to upgrade
existing units, add new units, and purchase more capacity without
reserves will increase the electric power supply. The total amount
of electric power supply will then be compared against the
forecasted peak electric demand. Subchapter III covers the
assessment of electric power supply.

Purchases and sales of power depend on the electric transmission
system to complete the transaction. To the extent that Wisconsin
relies on such capacity arrangements to provide firm power, an
evaluation of the transmission system’s adequacy must also be
completed. Electricity providers will be required to submit data on
any firm reservations for use of the transmission system, while
transmission providers will be required to describe plans for
constructing new transmission lines during the 3—year period
encompassing the SEA, and to file copies of long—term transmission
studies that examine plans for transmission lines within and into
Wisconsin. Subchapter V covers transmission system operation
data.

As part of its SEA, the Commission must assess the extent that
competition is contributing to a reliable, low—cost electric system.
In addition, the Commission must assess the regional bulk power
market’s effect on the adequacy and reliability of electric supply in
Wisconsin, and the reasonableness of electric prices. To accomplish
these ends, the proposed rules require information on system
dispatch costs and average energy production costs. The
Commission must also evaluate whether competition is contributing
to an environmentally sound electric system, consider the public
interest in environmental protection, identify and describe activities
to discourage inefficient and excessive power use, and perform an
environmental assessment of each SEA. Conservation information
is also required to comply with the state energy goals and priorities
under ss. 1.12 and 196.025, Stats., when the Commission makes
determinations within the SEA. As a result, the proposed rules
require information on pollutant emissions and conservation. The
required cost, emissions, and conservation information is covered in
Subchapter IV.

Subchapter VI relates to the filing of applications for CPCNs.
Included in the subchapter are the minimum data requirements for
any application to build a large electric generating facility or
high—voltage transmission line.

Anyone wishing to receive a free copy of the proposed rules and
the template for submitting and organizing the required data should
contact the case coordinator listed below.

Fiscal Estimate

These rules revise ch. PSC 111 and have no fiscal effect,
independent of the fiscal effect of s. 196.491 (2) and (3), Stats., as
created in 1997 Wis. Act 204. The Public Service Commission
relies upon the fiscal analysis prepared for Assembly Bill 940,
which ultimately resulted in the enactment of 1997 Wis. Act 204, as
the starting point for its fiscal analysis. The fiscal analysis of
Assembly Bill 940 indicates that there is no expected effect on local
governments and that the costs of the Commission may increase, but
the increase may be possible to absorb within the agency’s budget.
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1997 Wis. Act 204 created statutes replacing the Advance Plan
process with the biennial Strategic Energy Assessment (SEA) and
modified the process for filing applications for Certificates of Public
Conveniences and Necessity. Under s. 196.491 (2) (a), Stats., the
Commission is to prepare a biennial SEA that evaluates the
adequacy and reliability of Wisconsin’s current and future electrical

supply.
Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The proposed rules would apply to any entity that has or expects
to have generation in Wisconsin greater than 5 MW, or that provides
electric service to ultimate end users in Wisconsin, including
self—providers and any entity providing transmission service in
Wisconsin. Based on the Commission’s investigation, it is unlikely
that any such providers would be a small business as defined in
s. 227.114, Stats. The proposed rules are therefore not expected to
affect small businesses as defined in s. 227.114, Stats.

Notice of Proposed Rule
Revenue
[CR 99-105]

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to s. 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.,
and interpreting ss. 77.51 (4), (12), (13), (14) (intro.), (h) and (L),
(15), (20) and (22) (a) and (b) and 77.52 (1), (2) (a) and (2m) (a) and
(b), Stats., and according to the procedure set forth in s. 227.16
(2) (e), Stats., the Department of Revenue will adopt the following
rules as proposed in this notice without public hearing unless, within
30 days after publication of this notice on September 15, 1999, it
is petitioned for a public hearing by 25 natural persons who will be
affected by the rule, a municipality which will be affected by the
rule, or an association which is representative of a farm, labor,
business or professional group which will be affected by the rule.

Contact Information

Please contact Mark Wipperfurth at (608) 266—8253, if you have
any questions regarding this proposed rule order.

Analysis by the Dept. of Revenue
Statutory authority: s. 227.11 (2) (a)

Statutes interpreted: ss. 77.51 (4), (12), (13), (14) (intro.), (h)
and (L), (15), (20) and (22) (a) and (b) and 77.52 (1), (2) (a) and
(2m) (a) and (b)

Sections 1 and 2. Tax 11.67 (2) (a) is revised, to update language
and to remove examples from the text of the rule and set them forth
separately, per Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse
(“Clearinghouse”) standards.

Tax 11.67(3) (e) 2. is revised and Tax 11.67 (3) (e) 3. is repealed,
to clarify that the taxability of materials used in constructing a
prototype depends on the primary objective of the customer, and that
determining whether a transaction is a purchase and sale of a
prototype, or a research and development service with the prototype
being incidental, is done on a case—by—case basis.

Section 3. Tax 11.67 (3) (f), (h) and (j) are revised, to conform
language and punctuation to Clearinghouse standards.

Section 4. Tax 11.67 (3) (L) to (n) are renumbered Tax
11.67(3)(k) to (m), to conform numbering to Clearinghouse
standards. As renumbered, Tax 11.67 (3) (L) is revised, to conform
punctuation to Clearinghouse standards.

Text of Proposed Rule

SECTION 1. Tax 11.67 (2) (a) and (3) (e) 2. are amended to
read:

Tax 11.67 (2) (a) Since persons engaged in the business of
furnishing services are consumers, not retailers, of the tangible
personal property which they use incidentally in rendering their
services, tax applies to the sale of such the tangible personal property

to them. Examples-arc physicians. lawyers-and-accountants.

Note to Revisor: Insert the following example following Tax
11.67 (2) (a):
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Example: Persons engaged in the business of furnishing
services include physicians, lawyers and accountants.

(3)(e)2. In certain instances under a research and development
contract, the information cannot be developed without the
production of a prototype. In this situation, the-researcher ewes-tax

| il | | ) e |

pufehas%&h&ma&eﬂalsased%e—eeﬂs@mekﬂ%pfe&e%yp%wﬁhe%*
Mmper%ﬁ%ale if the primary objective of the customer in the

transaction is to obtain tangible personal property, such as

prototype. the researcher may purchase the material used t0
construct the prototype without tax as property for resale. The

subsequent sale of the prototype by the researcher to the customer
is subject to tax unless an exemption applies. If the primary objective

of the customer is to obtain the information resulting from
production of the prototype. the prototype is considered transferred

to the customer incidental to the research and development services.
The researcher is subject to tax on the material purchased and used
to construct the prototype. Determinations shall be made on a
case—by—case basis.

Note to Revisor: Remove the examples following Tax
11.67(3)(e)2. and insert the following note:

Note: For a ruling on whether a specific transaction is a sale of
a prototype or a research and development service with the
prototype transferred incidental to the research and development
service, write to Wisconsin Department of Revenue, Administration
Technical Services, P.O. Box 8933, Madison, WI 53708—8933. The
transaction should be described in detail.

SECTION 2. Tax 11.67 (3) (e) 3. is repealed.
SECTION 3. Tax 11.67 (3) (f), (h) and (j) are amended to read:

Tax 11.67 (3) (f) Recording studios. When a recording studio
agrees to furnish or supply records, acetates or other tangible
personal property which becomes the property of others, the tax
applies to the total gross receipts resulting from the sale of such the
tangible personal property. Gross receipts shall may not be reduced
for labor or service costs, including charges for the use or rental of
studio facilities, even though such those costs may be itemized in
billing the customer.

(h) Drafting. Charges made by a self-employed person for
commercial drafting are subject to the tax when the charge is for
detailed drawings based entirely on specifications and data supplied
by architects, engineers; or other business firms. These charges are
taxable if the concepts, ideas, specifications or designs depicted in
the drawings produced are the customer’s and the person
performing the drafting simply transfers the details supplied by the
customer to paper thereby producing a drawing, which is tangible
personal property, for use by the customer. When the person
performing drafting services uses his or her own concepts and ideas
in producing detailed drawings for a customer, the sale of the
drawings is not a sale of tangible personal property.

(G)  Detonating explosives. — Detonating explosives is a
non—taxable service. A person who performs sueh that service and
furnishes the explosives used in conjunction with the service is the
consumer of the explosives.

SECTION 4. Tax 11.67 (3) (L) to (n) are renumbered Tax 11.67
(3) (k) to (m) and, as renumbered, Tax 11.67(3) (L) is amended to
read:

Tax 11.67(3) (L) Car washes. The gross receipts of persons
providing car wash service, including those providing
coin—operated self—service car washes consisting of a pressurized
spray of soap and water, are taxable. These persons are the
consumers of the tangible personal property; such as soap, brushes;
and towels; they purchase, except for the wax, air freshener and
protectants physically transferred to a customer’s vehicle. Thus,
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suppliers may accept a resale certificate for wax, air freshener and
protectants sold to car wash operators, but suppliers are liable for the
tax on all other sales of supplies to these operators.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

This proposed rule order does not have a significant economic
impact on a substantial number of small businesses.

Fiscal Estimate

The proposed order updates the Department of Revenue’s
administrative code relating to taxable sales by service enterprises,
and the taxability of components utilized in the production of
research and development prototypes. The changes clarify existing
language to reflect the Department’s current position, and alter style
and format to conform to Legislative Council Clearinghouse
standards. These rule changes do not have a fiscal effect.

Notice of Hearing
Transportation
[CR 99-135]

Notice is hereby given that that pursuant to ss. 85.16 (1), 110.06,
218.01 (5), 227.11 (2), Stats., and interpreting ss. 218.01 (1) (e) and
(n), 2) (d) 1., (2a), 3) (a) 6.,9., 14, 18., 19., 22. and 30., (3) (bf),
(7a), 218.30, 218.32 (2) and (4) (¢), 227.51 (2), 341.51 (3), 342.16
(1m) and (2), Stats., the Department of Transportation will hold a
public hearing at the time and place indicated below to consider the
amendment of chs. Trans 138 and 139, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to
dealer facilities, records and licenses and motor vehicle trade
practices.

Hearing Information

November 12, 1999
Friday
1:00 p.m.

Room 421

Hill Farms State Trans. Bidg.
4802 Sheboygan Ave.
Madison, WI

Parking for persons with disabilities and an accessible entrance
are available on the north and south sides of the Hill Farms State
Transportation Building.

An interpreter for the hearing impaired will be available on
request for this hearing. Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter at least 10 days prior to the hearing.

Written Comments

The public record on this proposed rule-making will be held
open until close of business November 26, 1999, to permit the
submission of written comments from persons unable to attend the
public hearing or who wish to supplement testimony offered at the
hearing. Any such comments should be submitted to Cathy Skaar,
Policy Analyst, Department of Transportation, Dealer Licensing
Section, Room 806, P. O. Box 7909, Madison, WI 53707-79009.

Analysis Prepared by the Wis. Dept. of
Transportation

Statutory authority: ss. 85.16 (1), 110.06, 218.01 (5), 227.11 (2)

Statutes interpreted: ss. 218.01 (1) (e) and (n), (2) (d) 1., (2a),
3) (a) 6.,9.,14., 18., 19., 22. and 30., (3) (bf), (7a), 218.30, 218.32
(2) and (4) (c), 227.51 (2), 341.51 (3), 342.16 (1m) and (2)

General Summary of Proposed Rule. Chapters Trans 138 and
139 regulate the conduct of motor vehicle dealers, salespeople, and
other licensees in Wisconsin and provide protection for consumers
from unfair trade practices. The proposed rule amends these
regulations to incorporate some new consumer protections and
some changes requested by the motor vehicle dealer industry
intended to facilitate commerce.

A detailed description of all proposed changes is given in the
Statement of Scope for this rule—making, published in the 11-1-98
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Wisconsin Administrative Register. The following are the proposed
changes:

1. Amend current s. Trans 138.02 (10) definition of “sell” a
motor vehicle, to include delivering a vehicle from a seller in another
jurisdiction to a retail consumer in Wisconsin. The change would
bring under dealer licensing authority those people who currently
deliver vehicles to Wisconsin consumers for out—of—state sellers.

2. Exempt from dealer licensing requirements those retail
auctions that sell, at one time, heavy (over 16,000 lbs.) construction
motor vehicles owned by several businesses, when those sales are
incidental to the vehicle owners’ primary business activities.

3. Change the definition of a “new” vehicle to allow any number
of miles for manufacturer tests, pre—delivery test, dealer exchange
or delivery, plus up to 200 miles for any other purpose (including the
purchasing consumer’s test drive).

4. To modify used motor vehicle disclosure requirements
applicable to motorcycles. The Department proposes to exempt
motorcycle dealers from the requirement of displaying the
Wisconsin Buyer’s Guide label on the motorcycle. Customers
would have to be provided with an opportunity to review the
Wisconsin Buyer’s Guide prior to entering into a contract to
purchase a motorcycle.

5. To create new protections for people who sell vehicles on
consignment through a dealer and to protect the people who buy
those consignment vehicles.

6. To clarify that a dealer may accept a subsequent offer on a
vehicle when an accepted offer is already pending, and to specify
required disclosures to the consumer whose offer is subject to an
earlier pending offer.

7. To clarify that there are two allowed methods for dealerships
to document changes to the motor vehicle purchase contract after the
dealer has accepted the offer.

8. Amend s. Trans 138.05 (5) to give the auctions 14 rather than
12 days to provide clear title before a dealer can rescind a purchase.

9. To restrict fraudulent consumer loan application practices
made possible by artificial adjustments to the price of a vehicle.

10. Amend current s. Trans 139.05 (2) (g) to permit dealers to
provide a total cash price for a vehicle on the face of the motor
vehicle purchase contract and to incorporate by reference a
computer printout or other document that itemizes the components
of that price. The consumer would sign the incorporated sheet.

11. Regulate adjustments to the amount due on delivery when a
lien pay—off is an estimate.

12. Allow a consumer to rescind a contract without penalty when
a rebate conditioned on consumer or vehicle eligibility is
unavailable at the time of delivery.

13. Require dealers to pay off loans on a trade—in vehicle within
7 business days of acquiring the vehicle.

14. Make the penalty warning more apparent to the consumer by
moving it next to the contract signature block.

15. Require a dealer either (a) to cancel a purchase contract
within 5 business days of its execution if the credit terms disclosed
in the contract cannot be obtained for the customer or (b) be bound
to delivery of the vehicle on those terms.

16. Specify time periods that a dealer must wait for a consumer
to accept or reject proposed credit terms, in different circumstances
of contract signature and vehicle delivery.

17. To clarify that a dealer may cancel a purchase contract by a
date specified in the contract if the contract is subject to the
consumer obtaining acceptable financing of the consumer’s choice,
and the consumer does not notify the dealer in writing that financing
has been secured.

18. Exclude audio equipment and molding damage when
calculating whether a new vehicle has been damaged to the extent
of more than 6% of its value when that equipment is replaced with
identical manufacturer’s original equipment.

19. Clarify that a dealer may complete a purchase contract for a
vehicle without inspecting and disclosing it if the vehicle is exempt
by rule from inspection and disclosure.
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20. To eliminate use of the term “service agreement” in the
proposed rule and to use “service contract” throughout instead.

21. Restore several warranty disclosure requirements to the
proposed rule which were removed from the rule in previous
amendment. Misinformation regarding warranties has resurfaced as
a problem since the provision was removed from the code.

Fiscal Estimate

This proposed rule will have no fiscal impact on the Department
or the Transportation Fund. No fiscal impact on local governments
is anticipated.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

This proposed rule will have little net effect on small businesses.
On the one hand, business activities of dealers are improved by some
streamlined requirements; on the other hand, disclosures of sales
practices are required to provide adequate consumer protection.
Specifically:

1. Amend current s. Trans 138.02 (10) definition of “sell” a
motor vehicle, to include delivering a vehicle from a seller in another
jurisdiction to a retail consumer in Wisconsin. The change would
bring under dealer licensing authority those people who currently
deliver vehicles to Wisconsin consumers for out—of—state sellers.
This provision will require some out—of—state dealers to become
licensed in Wisconsin and follow Wisconsin reporting and trade
practice law for sales in Wisconsin.

2. Exempt from dealer licensing requirements those retail
auctions that sell, at one time, heavy (over 16,000 Ibs.) construction
motor vehicles owned by several businesses, when those sales are
incidental to the vehicle owners’ primary business activities. This
provision will reduce paperwork burden for these small businesses.

3. Change the definition of a “new” vehicle to allow any number
of miles for manufacturer tests, pre—delivery test, dealer exchange
or delivery, plus up to 200 miles for any other purpose (including the
purchasing consumer’s test drive). This change will require dealers
to keep track of reasons for miles; on the other hand, this provision
will enable dealers to sell as “new” some vehicles which the
previous definition had not allowed, an aid to the business.

4. To modify used motor vehicle disclosure requirements
applicable to motorcycles. The Department proposes to exempt
motorcycle dealers from the requirement of displaying the
Wisconsin Buyer’s Guide label on the motorcycle. Customers
would have to be provided with an opportunity to review the
Wisconsin Buyer’s Guide prior to entering into a contract to
purchase a motorcycle. This provision will reduce small business
costs associated with protecting and/or replacing labels as is
required under current law; however, requiring that the label be
provided to the consumer before a contract becomes binding creates
a new function for businesses to perform. Without that step,
however, the significant consumer protections provided by the labels
would be lost.

5. To create new protections for people who sell vehicles on
consignment through a dealer and to protect the people who buy
those consignment vehicles. This provision will require dealers
selling vehicles on consignment to file UCC financing statements as
well as follow Wisconsin dealer regulations.

6. To clarify that a dealer may accept a subsequent offer on a
vehicle when an accepted offer is already pending, and to specify
required disclosures to the consumer whose offer is subject to an
earlier pending offer. This provision will allow dealers’ more
[flexibility in structuring transactions to protect consumers in this
circumstance, this provision requires dealers to provide clear
disclosure to consumers as to the status of their offers.

7. To clarify that there are two allowed methods for dealerships
to document changes to the motor vehicle purchase contract after the
dealer has accepted the offer. This provision will reduce paperwork
by allowing a new contract in addition to making changes on the
current contract; however, to provide necessary consumer
protections, dealers will be required to obtain consumer signature
of new contract and must attach all superseded contracts.
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8. Amend s. Trans 138.05 (5) to give the auctions 14 rather than
12 days to provide clear title before a dealer can rescind a purchase.
This provision will ease administrative burden on small businesses.

9. To restrict fraudulent consumer loan application practices
made possible by artificial adjustments to the price of a vehicle. This
provision will require dealers to specify true prices and discounts on
the purchase contract, to protect consumers from fraudulent
consumer loan applications; on the other hand, this requirement
will help dealers by assuring that the vehicle loan will more likely
be made and the purchase will close.

10. Amend current s. Trans 139.05 (2) (g) to permit dealers to
provide a total cash price for a vehicle on the face of the motor
vehicle purchase contract and to incorporate by reference a
computer printout or other document that itemizes the components
of that price. The consumer would sign the incorporated sheet. This
provision reduces dealer paperwork by allowing attached
references to price components; to provide necessary consumer
protection, however, the provision requires that the consumer sign
the incorporated sheet.

11. Regulate adjustments to the amount due on delivery when a
lien pay—off is an estimate. This provision will protect consumers
from contract obligation that they cannot meet; and it also protects
dealers by making it clear that a vehicle sale will or will not close.

12. Allow a consumer to rescind a contract without penalty when
a rebate conditioned on consumer or vehicle eligibility is
unavailable at the time of delivery. This provision provides
necessary consumer protections for sales involving rebates and
provides no hardship to dealers.

13. Require dealers to pay off loans on a trade—in vehicle within
7 business days of acquiring the vehicle. This provides necessary
consumer protections and involves no hardship to dealers.

14. Make the penalty warning more apparent to the consumer by
moving it next to the contract signature block. This provides
necessary consumer protections and involves no hardship to
dealers.

15. Require a dealer either (a) to cancel a purchase contract
within 5 business days of its execution if the credit terms disclosed
in the contract cannot be obtained for the customer or (b) be bound
to delivery of the vehicle on those terms. This provides necessary
consumer protections and involves no hardship to dealers.

16. Specify time periods that a dealer must wait for a consumer
to accept or reject proposed credit terms, in different circumstances
of contract signature and vehicle delivery. This provision improves
dealer cost situation by removing uncertainty as to purchase
consummation. ~ However, to provide necessary consumer
protections the provision specifies disclosure requirements in
different circumstances.

17. To clarify that a dealer may cancel a purchase contract by a
date specified in the contract if the contract is subject to the
consumer obtaining acceptable financing of the consumer’s choice,
and the consumer does not notify the dealer in writing that financing
has been secured. This provision reduces dealer uncertainty as to
whether a sale will close. However, to provide necessary consumer
protections the provision requires dealers and consumers to agree
in contract to a date.

18. Exclude audio equipment and molding damage when
calculating whether a new vehicle has been damaged to the extent
of more than 6% of its value when that equipment is replaced with
identical manufacturer’s original equipment. This provision
reduces small business costs without hardship to consumers.

19. Clarify that a dealer may complete a purchase contract for a
vehicle without inspecting and disclosing it if the vehicle is exempt
by rule from inspection and disclosure. This provision reduces small
business costs without hardship to consumers.

20. To eliminate use of the term “service agreement” in the rule
and to use “service contract” throughout instead. This provision is
technical and has no substantive effect.

21. Restore several warranty disclosure requirements to the rule
which were removed from the rule in previous amendment.
Misinformation regarding warranties has resurfaced as a problem
since the provision was removed from the code. This provides
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necessary consumer protections and involves no hardship to
dealers.

Copies of Proposed Rule and Contact
Information

Copies of the proposed rule may be obtained upon request,
without cost, by writing to Cathy Skaar, Policy Analyst, Department
of Transportation, Dealer Licensing Section, Room 806, P. O. Box
7909, Madison, WI 53707-7909 or by calling (608) 267-3635.
Copies may also be viewed and printed at the following website:
www.watda.org/links/trans139. Hearing—impaired individuals may
contact the Department using TDD (608) 266-3096. Alternate
formats of the proposed rule will be provided to individuals at their
request.

Notice of Hearing
Transportation
[CR 99-136]

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to s. 348.25 (3), Stats., and
interpreting s. 348.25 (3), Stats., the Department of Transportation
will hold a public hearing at the time and place indicated below to
consider the amendment of ch. Trans 252, Wis. Adm. Code, relating
to escort vehicles.

Hearing Information

October 12, 1999
Tuesday
1:00 p.m.

Room 551

Hill Farms State Trans. Bldg.
4802 Sheboygan Ave.
Madison, WI

Parking for persons with disabilities and an accessible entrance
are available on the north and south sides of the Hill Farms State
Transportation Building.

An interpreter for the hearing—impaired will be available on
request for this hearing. Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter at least 10 days prior to the hearing.

Written Comments

The public record on this proposed rule-making will be held
open until close of business October 15, 1999, to permit the
submission of written comments from persons unable to attend the
public hearing or who wish to supplement testimony offered at the
hearing. Any such comments should be submitted to Kathleen
Nichols, Department of Transportation, Motor Carrier Services
Section, Room 151, P. O. Box 7980, Madison, WI 53707-7980.

Analysis Prepared by the Wis. Dept. of
Transportation

Statutory authority: s. 348.25 (3)
Statute interpreted: s. 348.25 (3)

General Summary of Proposed Rule. This proposed rule will
amend ch. Trans 252, relating to escort vehicles, to update some

requirements reflecting changes in vehicle manufacturing and
industry practices. The rule is amended to expand vehicles which
may be used as escort vehicles to include single—unit trucks up to
32,000 pounds actual gross vehicle weight, gross vehicle weight
rating, or registered weight. The proposed amendment clarifies the
reference to a Type 1 automobile as defined in state law, and clarifies
that any escort vehicle must meet the “overhang” requirements of
s. 348.09, Stats., when carrying the required sign. The rule allows
either the current sign or a smaller (5’ long) sign. Finally, the
proposed rule amendment eliminates the requirement that escort
vehicles display flags on the bumpers but, instead, requires flashing
lights or strobe lights that are visible all around (360 degrees).
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Fiscal Estimate

The proposed rule will have no fiscal impact on the State or local
units of government.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The proposed rule amendment will benefit small businesses
involved in oversize/overweight load transport. The amendment
reflects changes in vehicle manufacturing and industry practices,
and thus should reduce business costs in complying with escort
vehicle requirements. Escort vehicle requirements are necessary to
adequately protect safety of the traveling public which may
encounter an oversize/overweight load in transit.

Copies of Proposed Rule and Contact
Information

Copies of the proposed rule may be obtained upon request,
without cost, by writing to Kathleen Nichols, Department of
Transportation, Motor Carrier Services Section, Room 151, P. O.
Box 7980, Madison, WI  53707-7980, or by calling (608)
266—6648.  Hearing—impaired individuals may contact the
Department using TDD (608) 266—-3096. Alternate formats of the
proposed rule will be provided to individuals at their request.

Notice of Hearing
Veterinary Examining Board
[CR 99-127]

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to authority vested in the
Veterinary Examining Board in ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and
453.03 (1), Stats., and interpreting s. 453.065, Stats., the Veterinary
Examining Board will hold a public hearing at the time and place
indicated below to consider an order to amend ss. VE 2.01 (2) and
3.03 (intro.), relating to computerized examinations.

Hearing Information

September 29, 1999 Room 179A
Wednesday 1400 East Washington Ave.
11:30 a.m. Madison, WI

Written Comments

Interested persons are invited to present information at the
hearing. Persons appearing may make an oral presentation but are
urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in writing as well.
Facts, opinions and argument may also be submitted in writing
without a personal appearance by mail addressed to the Department
of Regulation and Licensing, Office of Administrative Rules, P.O.
Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708. Written comments must be
received by October 6, 1999 to be included in the record of
rule—making proceedings.

Analysis Prepared by the Dept. of
Regulation and Licensing

Statutes authorizing promulgation: ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2)
and 453.03 (1)

Statute interpreted: s. 453.065

In this proposed rule—making order the Veterinary Examining
Board amends its rules relating to the administration of the
examinations, as well as changes to the application deadline date.
The Professional Examination Service (PES) will computerize the
national examinations in November 2000, and will require first, that
an applicant may sit for the examinations not more than six months
prior to graduation; and second, that an applicant may not apply for
the examination less than 60 days prior to its administration. These
proposed rules set forth the deadlines for eligibility to sit for the new
computerized examination as well as the new application
procedures.
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Text of Rule
SECTION 1. VE 2.01 (2) is amended to read:

VE 2.01 (2) To be qualified to sit for the national board
examination and clinical competency test, an applicant must have
either have graduated from or be a last year student who is scheduled
to graduate in not more than 6 months at a school of veterinary
medicine approved by the board or a foreign school of veterinary
medicine listed by the AVMA. To be qualified to sit for the
examination on state laws and rules, an applicant must meet the
requirements of s. VE 3.03.

SECTION 2. VE 3.03 (intro.) is amended to read:

VE 3.03 Application procedures for veterinary applicants to
take board examinations. An applicant shall file a completed
application with the board at least 30 60 prior to the date of the
scheduled examination. All supporting documents shall be
provided in English. An application is not complete until the board
receives all of the following:

Fiscal Estimate

1. The anticipated fiscal effect on the fiscal liability and revenues
of any local unit of government of the proposed rule is: $0.00.
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2. The projected anticipated state fiscal effect during the current
biennium of the proposed rule is: $0.00.

3. The projected net annualized fiscal impact on state funds of
the proposed rule is: $0.00.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

These proposed rules will be reviewed by the department through
its Small Business Review Advisory Committee to determine
whether there will be an economic impact on a substantial number
of small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats.

Copies of Rule and Contact Information

Copies of this proposed rule are available without cost upon
request to:

Pamela Haack
Department of Regulation and Licensing
Office of Administrative Rules
1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 171
P.O. Box 8935
Madison, WI 53708

Telephone (608) 266—-0495
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NOTICE OF SUBMISSION OF PROPOSED RULES TO THE PRESIDING OFFICER OF

EACH HOUSE OF THE LEGISLATURE, UNDER S. 227.19, STATS.

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings for further information on a particular rule.

Architects, Landscape Architects, Professional
Engineers, Designers and Land Surveyors Examining
Board (CR 99-102):
Chs. A-E 1, 2, 8 and 10 — Relating to professional geologist
registration, and removal of all references to “professional
geologists,” “professional geology” and “geological.”

Insurance, Commissioner of (CR 98-183):
SS. Ins 3.39, 3.48, 3.50, 3.52, 3.67, 6.11, 51.80 and ch. Ins 9 —
Relating to revising requirements for managed care plans and
limited service health organization plans to comply with recent
changes in state laws.

Medical Examining Board (CR 99-1):
Ch. Med 8 — Relating to licensure and regulation of physician
assistants.

Medical Examining Board (CR 99-98):
Chs. Med 6, 13 and 21 and ss. Med 10.02 and 17.02 — Relating
to the repeal of rules relating to the practice of podiatry.

Transportation (CR 98-168):
Ch. Trans 102 - Relating to operator’s licenses and
identification cards.
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ADMINISTRATIVE Rures FiLep WITH

THE

REVISOR OF STATUTES BUREAU

The following administrative rules have been filed with the Revisor of Statutes Bureau and are in the process of being
published. The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date. It is possible that the publication of these rules could be
delayed. Contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at (608) 266—7275 for updated information on the effective dates for the listed

rules.

Commerce (CR 99-29):
An order affecting ch. Comm 7, relating to explosive
materials.

Effective 11-01-99.

Commerce (CR 99-50):
An order affecting chs. Comm 16 and 17, relating to
electrical construction and inspection.

Effective 10-01-99.

Commerce (CR 99-75):
An order affecting ch. Comm 112, relating to the Wisconsin
Development Zone program.

Effective 11-01-99.

Natural Resources (CR 99-24):
An order affecting ss. NR 10.01, 10.145, 10.31, 15.022,
15.024, 15.03 and 27.03, relating to hunting and trapping.
Part effective 10-01-99.
Part effective 11-01-99.
Part effective 03—01-00.

Natural Resources (CR 99-42):
An order affecting ss. NR 10.01, 10.106, 10.13, 10.24, 15.03
and 19.07, relating to hunting and trapping.

Effective 10-01-99.

Public Service Commission (CR 99-3):
An order repealing and recreating ch. PSC 135, relating to
gas safety.

Effective 11-01-99.

Revenue (CR 99-35):
An order creating s. Tax 1.12, relating to electronic funds
transfer.

Effective 10-01-99.

Revenue (CR 99-54):
An order affecting ss. Tax 11.05, 11.87 and 11.94, relating
to governmental units; meals, food, food products and
beverages; and Wisconsin sales and taxable transportation
charges.

Effective 11-01-99.
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PuBric NOTICE

Public Notice
Dept. of Financial Institutions
(Division of Credit Unions)

ARTICLES OF DISSOLUTION
OF
WISCONSIN CREDIT UNION SAVINGS INSURANCE CORPORATION

The undersigned, being a natural person of the age of eighteen (18) years or more, hereby adopts the following
Articles of Dissolution for Wisconsin Credit Union Savings Insurance Corporation (“Corporation”):

ARTICLE 1

Name
The name of the Corporation is Wisconsin Credit Union Savings Insurance Corporation.

ARTICLE 11

Members

Dissolution was approved by a sufficient vote of the Board of Trustees and the Members. Authority to dissolve the
Corporation was granted by the following vote of the Members at a special meeting of the members duly convened
and held on May 8, 1999:

ENTITLED TO VOTE
Number of Members Number of Votes Number of Votes
Indisputably Entitled to be Cast Voting on Dissolution
Outstanding
358 358 239
VOTES CAST
Number of Undisputed

Votes Cast FOR Dissolution

233

A quorum being present, the number of votes cast for dissolution was sufficient for approval of dissolution of the
Corporation and these Articles of Dissolution.

This instrument was drafted by and is returnable to:

Gregory P. Mejer, Esq.
Michael Best & Friedrich LLP
One S. Pinckney St., #700
P.O. Box 1806
Madison, WI 53701-1806

Telephone (608) 257-3501
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