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1 DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE Comm 2.02
Chapter Comm 2
FEE SCHEDULE

Subchapter I — Miscell Comm?233 Mobile homes.
Comm 2.001  Scope. Comm 234  One- and two-family dwellings, multifamily dwellings, manufac-
Comm 2.02 Handling, copying and miscellancous fees tured dwellings and manufactured multifamily dwellings.
Comm?2.04 ~ Miscellaneous plan reviews, inspections and services. Comum 2.35  Rental unit energy efficiency program.
Comm 2.06 - Fee zlissessment and collection. Subchapter IV — Petroleum
Comm2.07 Fee refunds. ) )
Comm2.08 Waiver of fee assessments Comm241  Petroleum product fund.

: : Comm?242  Self-service stations or stations using key, card or code operated dis-
Subchapter II — Safety Services pensing devices L
Comm2.11  Boilers and pressure vessels. Comm 2.43 - Storage tanks: flammable and combustible liquids, liquefied petro-
Comm 2,12  Anhydrous ammonia systems. leum gas, Hiquefied natural gas and compressed natural gas.
Comm2.13  Mechanical refrigeration systems. . Subchapter V — Material Approvals and Petitions
Comm 2.15  Elevators, power dumbwaiters, escalators, moving walks and ramps,  Comm 251  Material approvals.

lifts for accessibility and material lifts. Comm 2.52 Petitions for variance
Comm 2.16  Inspection assessments. .
Comm2.17 Mines, pits and quarries. Subchapter VI — Building Water Systems
Comm2.18  Explosive materials. Comm2.61  Miscellaneous inspections, reviews and services.
Comm 2.19  Fireworks manufacturing plants Comm 2.635 Lot restriction waivers,
Comm 2.20  Amusement rides. Comm2.64  Plumbing systems.
Comm 2.21 . Tramways, lifts and towing devices Comm 2:65 - Private onsite wastewater treatment systems.
Comm 2.66 .~ Product approvals.
Subchapter III — Buildings Comm 2.67 . Sanitary permits. )
Buildings, structures, heating, venulauon and ﬁre protecuon systens,  Comm2.68  Swimming pool plan review fees

Comm2.31

Note: Chapter Ind 69 as it existed on June 30, 1992 was repealed and a new chapter
ILHR 2 was created effective July 1, 1992, Chapter ILHR 2 was renumbered Comm
2 under’s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 1., Stats., and corrections made under s. 13.93 (2) (b) 6. and
7., Stats., Register, October, 1996, No. 490. Corrections made under s. 13.93 (2m)
(b) 6. and 7., Stats., Register, February, 1997, No, 494; corrections made under s.
13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats., Register, February, 1999, No. 518

Subchapter I — Miscellaneous

Comm 2.001 Scope. The fees established in this chapter
shall be paid to the Wisconsin department of commerce, divisions
of safety and buildings and environmental and regulatory. ser-
vices, for providing those services authorized in the Wisconsin
Statutes. The divisions may withhold providing services to indi-
viduals who have past due accounts with the division.

Note: All checks or money ordexs are to be made payable to Wiscorsin department

of commerce.
History: Cr. Register, June, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92.

‘Comm 2.02 - Handling, copying and miscellaneous
fees. (1) HANDLINGFEES. (a) The department may charge a han-

dling fee, determined at $25.00 per hour, with a minimum fee of

$25.00, in addition to any other fee pr ovided in this chapter, to off-
set administrative costs.

(b) A handling fee of $50.00 per plan shall be charged to the
submitting party for any plan which is submitted to the depart-
ment, entered ‘into the department’s plan systemand, then,
requested to be returned by the submitting party prior to review.
This fee does not apply to building plan components, other than
the original building or heating and ventilation plan noted in s.
Comm 2.31 (1) (), submitted after the original plan submittal.

(2) PHOTOCOPYING EEES. A photocopying fee of $0. 25 per
page may be charged.

(3) PLAN REPRODUCTION FEES A fee of $5.00 per plan sheet
shall be charged to the submlttmg party for plan reproduction on
plan sheets larger than legal size: Plan sheets at or smaller than
legal size may be charged the normal photocopying fee.

(4) PLAN APPROVAL - ADDITIONAL SETS. A maximum of 5 sets
of plans shall be stamped approved without additional fees being
charged. Upon request, additional sets of plans identical to pre-
viously approved plans shall be stamped approved upon receipt

of a $20.00 fee per plan.
Note: The 5 sets include the one set retained by the department

(4m) FEEFOR EXTENSION OF PLAN APPROVAL. The examination
fee for-a plan previously approved by the department for which an
approval extension is requested shall be $100.00 per plan.

(5) MAILING LISTS. The fee for mailing lists shall be $25.00 for
the first 1,000 names and $5.00 for each 1,000 names thereafter.
This fee shall be doubled, if gummed labels are requested.

{6) COMPUTER INFORMATION. Information from computer files
is available for the costs incurred in generating the data requested.

(7) MiCROFILM FEES. Microfilm prints of approved building
and heating plans for the years 19671972 are available at the cost
of reproduction.

(8) INSPECIION AND COPYING OF FILES, PLANS AND SPECIFICA-
1I0NS. The department shall allow inspection and copying of all
files and plans, specifications and related materials filed with the
department, except as follows:

(a) The department may restrict, on a case by case basis, the
right of inspection or copying of files and plans, specifications and
related materials where the possible harm to the public interest
outweighs the benefits of inspection or copying for the following
types of buildings and facilities:

1. Banks, savings and loans, credit unions, securities dealers
and other types or parts‘of buildings where large sums of money,
negotiable securities or valuables are stored in secured areas;

2. Jails and other cotrectional institutions; :

3. Public facilities regularly used for the storage or evaluation
of evidence in criminal proceedings;

4, Armories;

5. Public broadcasting facilities;

6. Power generating facilities;

7. Museums and libraries; and ; ,

8. Noncommercial storage tanks which store heating oil for
consumptive use on the premises.

(b) The depattment shall allow inspection or copying of files
and plans, specifications and related materials of all buildings in
response to lawful subpoena or written requests from law enforce-
ment agencies.

(c) Prior to any inspection or copying of files and plans speci-
fications and related materials, a written, signed application shall
be obtained from the person requesting the inspection or copying.
The application shall contain a general description of the files or
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premises for which inspection or copying is requested and the full
name, address and telephone number of the requester. The written
request shall contain a statement that any information obtained
from the inspection or copying shall not be used for any unlawful
purpose or unfair competitive practice, and that the information
set out therein is true and correct: The department will consider the
information supplied in the request in conjunction with the type
of buildings noted in par. (a) in determining whether the request
for inspection or copying shall be granted. The department may
transmit a copy of this statement to the owner and submitter of the
documents being inspected or copied.

(d) The department may charge a reasonable amount to defray
its costs. in providing copies.
History: Cr. Register, June, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92; am. (1) (a), r and recr. (4),
cr. (4m), Register, July, 2000, No. 535, eff. 9-1-00; correction in (1) (b) made under
s 13.93 (2m).(b) 7, Stats., Register, July, 2000, No. 535.

Comm 2.03 Special inspections. History: Cr Register, June, 1992, No
438, eff. 7-1-92; r. Register, July, 2000, No. 535, eff. 9-1-00.

Comm 2.04 Miscellaneous plan reviews, inspec-
tions and services. (1) MISCELLANEOUS PLAN REVIEWS
Unless specified otherwise in this chapter, the fee for department
costs incurred in performing miscellaneous plan reviews shall be
$60.00 per hour per plan, with a minimum fee of $60.00 per plan,

(2) MISCELLANEOUS INSPECTIONS AND INVESTIGATIONS. Unless
specified otherwise in this chapter, fees for department costs
incurred in performing miscellaneous inspections or investiga-
tions, including special inspections for alterations, fabrication,
repairs, testing, electrical construction and quality assurance
methods, which are either provided on request or to satisfy admin-
istrative code requirements, shall be determined and assessed in
accordance with Table 2.04. An additional amount may be
charged to cover all expenses, including travel time, mileage,
meals and lodging. Travel expenses shall be limited to those
allowed under ss. 16.53 and 20.916, Stats., and collective bargain-
ing agreements.

Table 2.04
Miscellaneous Inspections and Investigations Fees

Fee Per Hour
Per Inspector

Individual Special Inspections

(a) ‘Inspections performed between the hours
of 7:45 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. on weekdays

" Monday through Friday . . $60.00

(b) Inspections performed on Saturdays,
Sundays, holidays and at times other

than scheduled in (@) ... .%o ovvinennnn ... $90.00

(c) For supervising the American Society -
of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) joint
review and audit and for conducting

shop audits, Monday through Friday .......... $90.00

(2m) MINIMUM CHARGE. In reference to Table 2.04 (2) and (b),
a minimum charge of 4 hours shall be assessed for all special
inspections required during fabncatlon and testing of ASME code
items.

(3) MISCELLANEOUS GOODS AND SERVICES. The department
‘may collect a fee for providing goods and services related to work
that has been delegated by the department to authorized agents,
municipalities or other state agencies based upon actual cost.

History: Cr. Register, June, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92; am. (1),1 and recr. (2),
cr. (2m), Register, July, 2000,.No. 533, eff..9-1-00.

Comm 2.06 Fee assessment and collection.
(1) AssessMENT. Unless specified otherwise in this chapter, reg-
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istration, inspection and all other fees in this chapter shall be paid
annually before registration is processed by the department.

(2) CoLLECTION. All fees not paid within 60 calendar days
after the first invoice date may be assessed a late payment fee
equal to one percent per month of the outstanding balance.

(3) MoONTHLY BILLING SERVICE. Upon request and advance
approval, the department may bill for services rendered on a
monthly basis rather than requiring payment on an individual fee
basis. Advance approval shall be obtained from the director in
charge of the affected program. The decision to grant the request
shall be based on the applicant’s past record of paying for the ser-
vice, the credit rating from a recognized credit organization or a
letter of financial reference concerning loan and account informa-
tion from a financial institution.

(4) CHARGE CARD. The department may accept fee payment

by charge card.
History: Cr. Register, June, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92; am (2), r. Table 2 06, Reg-
ister, July, 2000, No. 535, eff. 9~1-00.

Comm 2.07 Fee refunds. (1) GeneraL. If a request for
a permit, for which a fee is paid and a processing time is specified,
is not processed by the department within the time specified, a
refund of 50% of the fee paid shall be made to the person who paid
for the request for the permit.

(2) Dernizions. The following definitions shall apply in this
section:

(a) “Fee” means the amount of money paid for a single permit
or request for service, but does not mean the total amount of
money which may be submitted with an application covering
more than one permit or request for service.

(b) “Permit” includes an examination of plans, initial permit
to operate, registration of a device, approval of a material or prod-
uct, shaft excavation permit, petition for variance, permission to
start construction, rental unit certificate of compliance, priority
review and petition, and underground-tank registration and use
permit, but does not include any inspection services.

(3) PROCESSING TIME () Starting date. The permit process-
ing time shall begin on the day after receipt of the request for the
permit whether by mail or in person. When the department finds
a permit application has been submitted with inadequate informa-
tion or fees, the application will be placed on hold and the départ-
ment will notify the applicant of the information needed to process
the application. Upon receipt of the complete information, the
department will process- the permit, except that the length of the
processing time shall start over and the: processing time shall
begin the day after the receipt of the additional information or
fees.

(b) Ending date The ending date which shall be used to assess
whether the permit was processed within the time period specified
shall be the date the department actually made a determination to
approve, deny or withhold the permit, and not the date on the cor-
respondence noting the action or the date the permit was mailed
out. : :

Note: The specific processing times for various permits may be found in the
respective chapters where the permits are required

4) DEI’ERMINATION (@ The starting and ending. dates
recorded on the computer records or individual file shall be pre-
sumed by the department to be correct and shall be the dates used
to assess whether a refund is to be made.

(b) The initial detemﬁnation as to whether the permit, was pro-
cessed within the time period specified shall be made by the direc-
tor of the bureau responsible for issuing the permit.

(¢) Determinations subject to dispute shall be forwarded to the
division administrator for a final determination.

-{5) PAYMENT OF REFUND FEES. (a) All refunds made by the
department shall be forwarded through the United States postal
service.
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(b) Refunds shall be mailed to the person who paid for the
request for the permit at the address of record indicated on the

department’s request for service forms.
History: Cr. Register, June, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92; am. (2) (b), Register,
g)ctobcr, 1996, No. 490, eff. 11-1-96; am. (2) (b), Register, July, 2000, No. 535, eff.
-1-00.

Comm 2.08 Waiver of fee assessments. All or a por-
tion of any fee. may be waived upon a determination of indigency.
Waivers under this section may be granted only by the secretary

of the department.
History: Cr Register, June, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92.

Subchapter II — Safety Services

Comm 2.10 Complaint investigations and certificates of operation.
History: Cr. Register, June, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92; . Register, July, 2000, No
535, eff. 9-1-00. -

- Comm 2.11 Boilers and pressure vessels.
(1) Bormer FEES. Inspection fees for boilers shall be determined
1n accordance with Table 2.11-1

'(2) PRESSURE VESSEL FEES. . Inspection fees for pressure ves-
sels shall be determined in accordance with Table 2.11-2.

{3) REINSPECTION FEES. A fee of $55.00 per inspection shall
be assessed for inspections made by the department to gain com-
pliance with ch..Comm 41, after orders have been issued by the
department.

Table 2.11-1
Boiler Inspection Fees

Heating Type of Inspection
Type of Boiler Surface Area :
(Square Feet) | Internal | External
Miniature 20 orless $20.00 | $20.00
Power 21-250 $55.00 | $55.00
251-1,000 $120.00 .| $80.00
1,001-10,000 | $160.00 |$115.00
Over 10,000 | $420.00 |$195.00
Heatmg , N/A
— With manhole $9500 | $40.00
—Without manhole $85.00 | $40.00
—Multiple boilers Not more than
at one location $200.00

Table 2.11-2
Pressure Vessel Inspection Fees

8 Operating Type of Inspection
Volume of Pressure Pressure .
Vessels(Cubic Feet) (psig) Internal or External
All sizes Less than 15 No Fee
11 or less 15 or more No Fee
12-200 15 or more $35.00

- 201-500 15 or more $80.00
Over 500 15 or more $95.00
Miipepesre | Noumore tan

location : ’

(4) ALTERATION AND REPAIR FEES. 'An Owner Or user reporting
an alteration or repair to a boiler or pressure vessel, as required
by ch. Comm 41, shall pay a fee of $35.00 with each alteration or
repair report.

(5) FEE FOR FAILURE TO HAVE BOILER OR PRESSURE VESSEL
READY FOR INSPECTION. The owner shall pay a fee equal to 50%

Comm 2.15

of the applicable inspection fee for failure to have the boiler or
pressure vessel ready for inspection on the date specified, unless
the owner notifies the department, in writing, 7 business days
prior to the specified inspection date. -

(6) PerMIT TO OPERATE. The fee for the issuance of a permit
to operate for each boiler or pressure vessel shall be $35.00.

(7) PrrING INVESTIGATION. Fees related to piping investiga-
tions performed by the department shall be determined in accor-

dance with s. Comm 2.04 (2).

History: Cr. Register, June; 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92; coxxecuons in (3), (4) and
(6) made under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats., Register, November, 1999, No. 527; am.
(3), (4) and (6) and Tables 2.11-1 and 2.11—2, cr. (7), Register, July, 2000, No, 535,
eff. 9-1-00.

Comm 2.12 Anhydrous ammonia systems. (1) PLaN
EXAMINATION AND INSPECTION FEES. The owner or user shall sub-
mit a fee of $450.00 for plan examination and external inspection
of each new anhydrous ammonia handling or storage facility.

(2) PERIODIC INSPECTION FEES. (&) Storage facilities. Fees for
the required periodic inspection of storage facilities shall be
$100.00 per facility.

(b) Nurse tanks. Fees for the required periodic inspection of
nurse tanks shall be determined in accordance with Table 2.12.

Table 2.12

Nurse Tank Inspection Fees

Nurse Tanks Per Site Fee
100rless ..o . $40.00
31-50 . . $135.00
. Over 50 .. $190.00

3) PERMIT TO OPERATE The fee for the issuance of a permit
to operate for each anhydrous ammonia system shall be $35.00.
History: Cr. Register, June, 1992, No. 438, cff. 7-1-92; am. (1), (2) (2) and (3) and
Table 2.12, Register, July, 2000, No. 535, eff. 9~1-00

Comm 2.13 Mechanical refrigeration systems.
(1) InsPECTION FEES. The inspection fees, based on the aggregate
tonnage of the mechanical refrigeration system, shall be deter-
mined in accordance with Table 2.13.

Table 2.13
Mechanical Refrigeration Inspection Fees

Capacity in Tons Inspection Fee

- Less than 3 . No fee
325 S S . $40.00
T26-100 . . e e $65.00
101250 .0 . $85.00
251500 .« .o v e e $140.00
501750 e e $190.00
751-1,000 PP . $230.00
Over 1,000 ... .. e $270.00

Note: For the purpose of assessing the inspection fee, the capacity of a mechanical
refrigeration system will be determined in tons. One ton of refrigeration capacity is
considered to be the equivalent of abstracting heat at the rate of 12,000 Btu per hour.

(2) Perwmit TO OPERATE. The fee for the issuance of a permit
to operate for each mechanical refrigeration system shall be
$35.00. ,

History: Cr. Register; June, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92; correction in- (3) (c) made
under s. 13.93.(2m) (b)-7., Stats., Register, Novembex, 1994, No. 467; 1. (3), Register,
October, 1996, No. 490, eff 11~ 1-96; am. Table 2.13 and (2), Register, July, 2000,
‘No. 535, eff 9—1-00

Comm 2.15 Elevators, power dumbwaiters, escala-
tors, moving walks and ramps, lifts for accessibility and
material lifts. (1) PLAN EXAMINATION, APPLICATION AND INITIAL
INSPECTION' FEES. - Fees for the- initial inspection and for the
examination of plans or for an application for installation or alter-
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ation, or both; submitted in accordance with the requirements of

s. Comm 18.09, shall be determined in accordance with Table
2.15-1. A reinspection fee as specified in. Table 2.15-1 shall be
charged for each inspection conducted until the installation or
alteration qualifies for a permit to operate.

Table 2.15-1

Plan Examination and Inspection Fees
for Elevators and Lifting Devices

Type of Unit or Plax;‘I;J; ?:ﬁ?:lmn Reinspection
Number of Landings Inspection Fee Fee

0—4 landings $5504‘OQ $300.00
5-10landings $600.00 $400.00

11 or more landings $700.00 $500.00
Remodeled elevators '

or es’c_:alato,rs . $400.00 $300.00
Escalators $500.00 $300.00

(2) PERIODIC’ INSPECTION AND REINSPECTION FEES. Fees for
periodic 'inspections and reinspections of all classes of elevators
and lifting devices within the scope of ch. Comm 18 shall be deter-
mined in accordance with Table 2.15~2. An inspection fee shall
also-be charged for each reinspection of an-elevator in accordance
with Table 2.15-2 until the installation or alteration qualifies for
a permit to operate.

Table 2.15-2
Periodic Inspection and Reinspection Fees
for Elevators and Lifting Devices

Type of Unit or Number

of Landings Inspection Fee
‘0—4 landings . $90.00
5-10 landings R . $120.00
11 or more landings .. .........o% 0 e $150.00
Escalators . . $150.00

(2m) FEE FOR FAILURE TO HAVE EQUIPMENT READY FOR INSPEC-
TION. The owner shall pay a fee equal to 50% of the applicable
inspection fee for failure to have the elevator or lifting device
ready for inspection on the date specified, unless the owner noti-
fies the department; in writing, 7 business days prior to-the speci-
fied inspection date.

(3) ‘PermiT 1O OPERATE. The fee for the issuance of a permit
to.operate for each elevator shall be $35.00.

History: Cr. Register, June, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92; am. (3) and r. Table
2.15-2, Register, October, 1996, No. 490, eff. 11-1-96; emerg. r. and recr, eff
6—1—97 r. and recr., Register, January, 1998, No. 505, eff. 2-1-98; am. (1) and (3),
Register, Novembex 1999, No. 527, eff. 12-1-99; am. (1) to (3), ¢r. (2m), Regxstcx,
July, 2000, No. 535, eff. 9-1-00.

Comm 2.16 Inspection assessments. The department
may inspect any installation which is also inspected by a certified
inspector. When thé department inspection confirms that the
inspection report is incompiete, invalid or unacceptabie,. the
department will assess the inspector or his or her employer a fee
determined in accordance with s. Comm 2.11 or2.15 (2).

History: Cr. Register, June, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92; . (1) and renum. (2) to
be s.:2.16 and am., Reégister, October, 1996, No. 490, eff. 11-1-96. .

.-Comm 2.17 . Mines, pits and quarries. (1) SUBMITTAL
REQUIREMENTS - The person or firm operating the crushing, screen-
ing or washing equipment shall submit, with the fee specified in
sub. (2), the name of the mine, pit or quarry; the name of the com-
pany; the mailing address; the telephone number; and the type of
product to-be mined, such as ore, stone, clay, lime or aggregate.

(2) SareTY SERVICE. The annual safety service fee for each
metal or nonmetal mine, pit-or quarry shall be based on the size
of the respective operation for the calendar year. Production
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records shall be made available upon request. The fee shall be
determined in accordance with Table 2.17. This fee does not apply

to mines, pits or quarries used for private domestic use.
Note: The department intends to review the fees in Table 2.17 with the Mines, Pits
and Quarries Advisory Council by June 1, 2001, and annually thercafter.

B Table 2.17
Annual Production Safety Service Fee

Annual Safety

Annual Production (Tons Per Year) Service Fee

Lessthan 50,000 ... ..........cvvevunon... $95.00
50,000-100,000 ... e ii .. $185.00
100,001-200,000 ........... .. ..c.vuuno.... $370.00
200,001-300,000 . ... ... ...iiiianeo. .. $560.00
300,001-400,000 . ..........ccoiiaiia. . $740.00
400,001-500,000 . .....c.cveiiine .. $930.00
Over 500,000 ............ e e $1 485.00

(3) SHAFT EXCAVATION PERMIT. The fee for obtaining a shaft
excavation permit shall be $400.00 per permit.

(4) MISCELLANEOUS INSPECTIONS. The fee for miscellaneous
consultation  inspections provided on request shall be in accor-
dance with s. Comm 2.04.(2).

(5) TRAWNING. “The fee for persons who receive department
training that is required by the federal mine safety and health
administration and who are not required to pay a safety service fee
shall be $20.00 per person per half day of training and $30.00 per

person per day of training.

History: Cr. Register; June, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92; am. (1) and (2) and Table
2.17, renum. (3) (a) and (¢) to be (3) and (4) and am., 1. (3) (b) and (4), Register, July,
2000,-No. 535, eff. 9-1-00. ,

Comm 2.18 Explosive materials. (1) Use Fees for
conducting a safety inspection.of the use of explosive materials
shall be assessed in accordance with s. Comm 2.04 (2). Use of
explosive materials shall include the storage of daily supplies.

(2) PERMANENT STORAGE: Fees for conducting a safety inspec-
tion of a permanent explosive materials storage facility shall be
determined in accordance with Table 2.18. The fees are based on
the combined volume of one or more magazines at any given site.
This inspection fee applies to blasters and explosive materials
contractors working independently of mine, pit or quarty opera-
tions‘.

Table 2.18
Explosxve Materials Storage Facility Inspectlon Fees
Quantity of Explosives Fee
Storage Per Site ]
Less.than 100 cubic feet. - $80.00
100500 cubic feet . $120.00
Over 500 cubsic feet . $160.00

(3) TEMPORARY STORAGE IN' A COMMUNITY. Fees for depart-
ment costs incurred in the performance of safety inspections ‘of
terporary explosive materials storage magazines in a community
shall be $80.00 per magazine. -

History: Cr. Register, June, 1992, No. 438, eff, 7-1-92; r. (1) and Table 2.18-1,

Register, October, 1996, No. 490, eff. 11-1-96; renum. (2) tobe (1) to (3) and am,,
am, Table 2:18, Regxstex, July, 2000, No. 535, eff. 9-1-00.

Comm 2.19 Fireworks manufacturmg plants. Fees
for department costs incurred in the performance of inspection of
fireworks manufacturing plants shall be determined in accordance

with s. Comm 2.04 (2).
History: Cr Register, Tune, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92; 1. (2), Register, October,
1996, No. 490, eff. 11-1-96; am. Register, July, 2000, No. 535, eff. 9~1-00.

Comm 2.20 Amusementrides. (1) PLAN EXAMINATION,
DATA' REVIEW, REGISTRATION AND INSPECTIONS. Fees for amuse-
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ment rides shall be determined in accordance with the following
schedule:
(a) Plan examination for new amusement ride tramways
. e . $220.00 per plan submittal
Note See ch Comm 3’5 for deflmuons of txamways
(b) Review of engineering analysis and test data associated
with the acceptance of amusement rides and bungee jumping sites
- . $220.00 per review
(c) Annual reglstratlon for all amusement rides .
- . $50. 00 pex ride
(d) Inspectlon of coin operated kiddie ndes with 2 maximum
capacity of 3 children . . $60.00 per ride
(e) Inspection of Class 1 amusement 11des $120 00 per ride
(f) Inspection of Class 2 amusement rides, except amusement
rides that the manufacturer estimates require more than 40 work
hours for erection , e . $225.00 per ride
(2 Inspectlon of Class 3 amusement ndes and amusement
rides that the manufacturer estimates require more than 40 work
hours for erection . e . $325.00 per ride
(h) Inspection of amusement ride tramways e
. . $400.00 per tIamway
(1) Inspectlon of bungee Jumpmg s1te e
e $800 OO per 51te or towel
(]) Late reglstrauon fee for fallure to register amusement ride
before opening it to the public ... ... . $160.00 per ride
(k) Reinspection fee to gain compli‘ance with department
orders if compliance isnotmet . .......... $225.00 pér visit
Note: Sec ch. Comm 34 for definitions of ride classes.
'(2) FEE ASSESSMENT AND COLLECTION. Registration and
inspection fees for amusement rides shall be paid annually before
registration is processed by the department.

History: Cr. Register, June, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92; am. (1), Register, July,
2000, No, 535, eff. 9-1-0!

Comm 2.21 Tramways, lifts and towing devices.
(1) PLANEXAMINATION FEE. Fees for the examination of plans for
tramways, lifts and towing devices shall be determined in accor-
dance with Table 2.21-1.

Table 2.21-1
Plan Examination Fees for
Tramways, Lifts and Towing Devices

Type of Lift or Device

Fee Per Plan
Gondola lifts and rides . $780.00
Chair lifts and rides . .. . . $580.00
Surface tows, except fiber and wire rope tows . $390.00
Fiber and wire rope tows . $260.00

Comm 2.31

Note: See ch. Comm 34 for definition of the term “Amusement Ride” as it applies
to tramways, lifts and towing devices used as amusement rides.
Note: Surface tows include T-bar, platter and similar devices.
(2) InsPecTION FEES. Fees for the inspection of new 1nstalla-
tions, annual inspections and other inspections shall be deter-
mined in accordance with Table 2.21-2.

Table 2.21-2
Inspection Fees for Tramways, Lifts and Towing Devices

Type of Lift or Device Inspection Fee Per Installation
Gondola lifts and rides . $530.00
Chair lifts and rides . ....... . $530.00
Surface tows, except fiber and wire rope tows $350.00
Fiber and wite TOpe tOWS .. .........ouuunnnn .. $210.00

Note: See ch. Comm 34 for definition of the term “Amusement Ride” as it applics
to tramways, lifts and towing devices used as amusement rides
Note: Surface tows include T-bar, platter and similar devices
(3) LoaD 1EST FEE. The fee for certifying a load test shall be
$350.00 per load test.
{4) PermIT TO OPERATE. The fee for the issuance of a permit
to operate for each tramway, lift or towing device shall be $35.00.

History: Cr. Register, June, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92; am. (3), (4), Tables 2.21-1
and 2 21-2, Register, July, 2000, No. 535, eff. 9-1-00.

Subchapter III — Buildings

Comm 2.31 Buildings, structures, heating, ventila-
tion and fire protection systems. (1) PLAN SUBMITTAL (a)
General. Fees relating to the submittal of all plans, submitted in
accordance with the requirements of chs. Comm 50 to 64 and 66,
shall be determined in accordance with this section.

(b) Plan review fees. Fees relating to the submittal of all build-
ing plans, heating, ventilating and air conditioning (HVAC) plans,
and fire protection system plans shall be computed on the basis of
the total gross square footage of each building or affected area.
The fees shall be determined in accordance with Table 2.31-1 for
buildings not located in municipalities that have assumed building
inspection responsibilities. The fees shall be determined in accor-
dance with Table 2.31-2 for buildings located in agent municipal-
ities and counties that have assumed the building inspection
responsibilities specified under s. 101.12 (3) (g), Stats., and ch.
Comm 50.

Note: See ch. Comm 50 for the types of buildings and components that must be
submitted for review. Fees for component plans that are an integral part of the build-
ing project are included in the “Building Plans” or “HVAC Plans” fees provided they
are submitted prior to final inspection. Also, see the Plan Submittal Kit (SBD-8927)
for detailed information on all submittal processes relating to component plans such
as lighting and pre-engineered structural components
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Table 2.31-1
Plan Review Fees for Buildings Not Located in Municipalities That Perform Inspections
Fees
_ Area B ) Fire Alarm System Fire Suppression

(Square Feet) Building Plans HVAC Plans Plans System Plans
Less than 2,500 $260 $160 $30 $30
2,501-5,000 330 220 60 60
' 5,001-10,000 550 260 80 80
10,001-20,000 750 400 150 150
20,001-30,000 1,100 540 220 220
30,001-40,000 1,500 830 360 360
40,001-50,000 2,000 1,100 500 500
50,001-75,000 2,700 1,500 720 720
75,001-100,000 3,400 2,100 1,000 ‘1,000'
100,001-200,000 5,600 2,700 1,300 1,300
200,001-300,000 9,900 6,300 3,100 3,100
300,001-400,000 15,000 9,200 4,500 4,500
400,001-500,000 18,500 12,000 5,900 5,900
Over 500,000 20,000 13,500 6,700 6,700

; Table 2.31-2
Plan Review Fees for Buildings Located in Municipalities That Perform Inspections

Fees
i ‘ Fire Alarm System Fire Suppression

Area (Square Feet) Building Plans HVAC Plans Plans System Plans
Less than 2,500 $220 $130 $15 $15
2,501- 5,000 290 200 50 50
5,001~ 10,000 430 220 . 60 © 60
10,001- 20,000 ~.-670 340 . 120 120
20,001- 30,000 990 480 190 190

30,001 40,000 1,300 750 320 320

40,001- 50, 000 1,800 1,000 450 450
- -50,001-" 75,000 2,400 1,300 600 600
1 75,001-100,000 3,000 1,900 900 900
100,001-200,000 5,000 2,400 1,150 "1,150
200,001-300,000 8,900 5,700 2,300 2,800
300,001--400,000 13,400 8,300 4,100 4,100
400,001-500,000 16,700 10,800 5,300 5,300
Over-500,000 18,000 12,100 6,000 6,000

(¢) Multiple identical buildings. The fees set forth in this para-
graph may be applied to a project which contains multiple identi-
cal buildings. In order to qualify for the multiple identical build-
ing fee, plans for all buildings shall be submitted at the same time.
The fees for the submittal of plans for the first building shall be
determined in accordance with Table 2.31-1 or 2.31-2 on the

basis of the total gross area of one building. The fee for each of

the remaining identical buildings shall be computed on the basis
of an area of less than 2,500 square feet.

(d) Miscellaneous plans. The fee for miscellaneous plans shall
be $200 per plan. Miscellaneous plans are plans which have no
building, HVAC or fire protection system plan submissions and
those plans for which no area may be associated. Miscellaneous
plans include, but are not limited to, all of the following:

1. Footing and foundation plans submitted prior to the sub-
mission of the building plans.

2. Industrial exhaust systems for dust, fumes, vapors and
gases, for government—owned buildings only.

3. Spray booth plans, for government—owned buildings only.
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4. Stadium, grandstand and bleacher plans, and interior
bleacher plans submitted as independent projects.

5. Structural plans submitted as independent projects, such as
docks, piers, antennae, outdoor movie screens and observation
towers.

6. Any building compornent, other than building, HVAC and
fire protection systems, submitted following the final inspection
by a deputy of the department or, in the case of an agent municipal-
ity or county, the inspector having jurisdiction.

7. Building, HVAC and fire protection system plans sub-
mitted following denial of plan approval, if the submission is
within 8 months of the denial.

(€) Permission to start construction. The fee for a permission
to start construction shall be $50.00.

(f) Revisions. The fee for revisions to previously approved
plans and plans that have been previously reviewed but not denied
shall be $50.00.

(g) Second class city. A second class city that is certified to
perform the expanded plan examinations specified in s. Comm
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50.21 (5)(b) or 66.24 (5)(b) shall submit to the department the fee
specified in Table 2.31-3 for each building or structure reviewed
which exceeds the limits specified in s. Comm 50.21 (5)(c) or
66.24 (5)(c).

(h) Appointed agent. An agent that is appointed by the depart-
ment under s. Comm 50.22 or 66.24 (8) to perform plan examina-
tions shall submit to the department the fees specified in Table
2.31-3 for each building or structure reviewed under s. Comm

Comm 2.34

50.22 or 66.24 (8).

(i) Notice fee. The fee for notifying the department of electing
to use a registered individual for building design and supervision
in lieu of departmental plan approval, under s. Comm 50.12 (1t)
or 66.14 (1t), shall be $20.00 for the building plans and related
components, $20.00 for the heating, ventilating and air condition-
ing plans and related components, $20.00 for the fire alarm system
plans and $20.00 for the fire suppression system plans.

Table 2.31-3
Fees to be Forwarded to the Department
for Reviews Performed by Second Class Cities and Appointed Agents

Fees ,
‘ Fire Alarm System  Fire Suppression

Area (Square Feet) Building Plans HVAC Plans Plans System Plans
" Less than 2,500 $35 $20 $5 $5
2,501~ 5,000 45 30 8 '8
5,001- 10,000 75 35 10 10
10,001- 20,000 100 55 20 20
20,001- 30,000 150 75 30 , 30
30,001~ 40,000 195 115 50 50
40,001- 50,000 270 150 70 70
50,001~ 75,000 360 195 90 90
75,001-100,000 450 285 135 135
100,001-200,000 750 360 175 175
:200,001-300,000 1,335 855 420 420
300,001-400,000 2,010 1,245 . 615 615
400,001-500,000 , 2,505 1,620 795 795
Over 500,000 2,700 1,815 900 900

(2) FEE FOR PLAN ENTRY. A plan entry fee of $100.00 shall be
submitted with each submittal of plans to the depa:tment in addi-
tion to the plan review and inspection fees.

Note: For example, the total fee to be-submitted under Table 2.31-1 fora 15,000

square foot building that includes building plans, HVAC plans, fire alarm plans and
fixe suppression plans would be $750 + $400 + $150 + $150 + $100 = $1,550.

(3) PRIORITY PLANREVIEW. An appointment may be made with
the department to facilitate the examination of plans. The plans
shall comply with the provisions of s. Comm 50.12. The fee for
this type of plan submittal shall be determined at twice the normal
rate, based on the appropriate category of plan specified under this
section.

(4) REINSPECTION FEE. A fee as specified in s, Comm 2.04 (2)
shall be assessed for inspections made by the department to gain
compliance with rules after orders have been issued by the depart-
ment.

(5) COMPLETION STATEMENT, A fee of $10.00 shall be assessed
for any project where the department has issued orders for a
completion statement to be submitted as required by s. Comm
50.10.

(6) FeererunDs The department may refund the difference
in fees between Tables 2.31-1 and 2.31-2 for projects that are
abandoned prior to construction.

(7) COLLECTION OF FEES. Fees shall be remltted at the time the
plans are submitted. No plan examinations, approvals or inspec-
tions shall be made until fees are received.

History: Cr. Register, June, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92; am (1) (intro.), Register,
March, 1995, No. 471, eff. 4-1-95; ¢r. (1) (a) 2. g.; 1. and recr. Table 2.31-1 and
2.31-2, Register, February, 1997, No. 494, eff. 4-1-97; correction in (1) (intro.) made
under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats., Register, November, 1999, No. 527; r. and recr. (1),

) and Tables 2.31-1 and 2. 31-—2 cr. Table 2.31-3, Register, July, 2000, No. 535, eff
9-1-0!

Comm: 2.33 Mobile homes. (1) CERTIFICATION AND
INSPECTION FEES. Fees for certification and inspection relative to

the manufacture of mobile homes shall be determined in accor-
dance with Table 2.33.

Table 2.33
Certification and Inspection Fees
for Manufactured Homes

Type of Approval Fee
Established by Contract
See s. Comm 2.04 (2)

Manufactured home inspection . . ..
Plant inspection and cextification .. . .

Required inspection not included in the
fee distribution system described in
24 CFR 3282204 (@) ............

Warranty-related inspections, re—

-inspections or investigative actions

conducted as a result of consumer .
complaints . .................... " See s. Comm 2.04 (2)

See s: Comm 2.04 (2)

(2) FORMALDEHYDE INVESTIGATION AND TESTING. To offset the
department cost of conducting formaldehyde testing and com-
plaint investigation related to formaldehyde in accordance with
ch. Comm 27, a fee shall be assessed in accordance with s. Comm
2.04 (2), or $120 per test, whichever is greater.

History: Cr, Register, June, 1992, No, 438, eff. 7-1-92; am. Table 2.33, Register,
;)c;iggr, 1996, No 490, eff. 11-1-96; am. (2), Register, July, 2000, No. 535, eff.

Comm 2.34 One- and two-family dwellings, multi-
family dwellings, manufactured dwellings and
manufactured multifamily dwellings. (1) UNIFORM BUILD-
ING PERMIT SEAL. A fee of $25.00 shall be remitted to the depart-
ment or its agent at the time of application for a Wisconsin Uni-
form Building Permit Seal.- Municipalities administering the
Uniform Dwelling Code shall purchase one $25.00 permit seal for
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each new dwelling falling within the scope of the Uniform Dwell-
ing Code.

-(2) DEPARIMENTAL PLAN-REVIEW. The following fees for plan
review of dwellings or their alterations or additions shall apply
where the department administers and enforces the Uniform
Dwelling Code, and ‘may be applied when the department is
requested by a municipality to assist in the administration and
enforcement of the Uniform Dwelling Code:

(a) Where employees of the department review plans, the fee

shall be determined in accordance with s. Comm 2.04 (1) or

$80.00 per plan, whichever is greater.

(b) Where an independent inspector or inspection agency
under contract to the department reviews plans, the fees estab-
lished in the contract shall defray the actual cost of the service.

(3) DEPARTMENTAL INSPECTIONS. The following fees for on—
site inspections shall apply where the department administers and
enforces the Uniform Dwelling Code, and may be applied when
the department is requested by a municipality to assist in the
administration and enforcement of the Uniform Dwelling Code:

(a) Where employees of the department perform on-site
inspections, the fee shall be determined in accordance with s.
Comm 2.04 (2), with a minimum fee of $120.00 per inspection,
payable in advance of issuing the building permit.

(b) Where employees of the department perform on-site
enforcement-related inspections as a result of consumer com-
plaints, contractor requests or requests by any individuals in
municipalities where permits are not issued and inspections are
not performed, a fee shall be assessed to the individual requesting
the inspection determined in accordance with s. Comm 2.04 (2),
with a minimum fee of $120.00 per inspection, payable in advance
of the inspection.

(c) Where an independent inspector or inspection agency
under contract to the department performs inspections, the fees
established in the contract shall defray the actual cost of the ser-
vice.

(4) MULTIFAMILY DWELLINGS. Fees related to plan examina-
tion and field mspectmns shall be determmed inaccordance with
s. Comm 2.31.

_ {5) MANUFACTURED DWELLINGS. (a) Except as provided in
pars. (b) and (c), where employees of the department perform plan
reviews, plant evaluations, consumer complaint investigations or
any other type of enforcement-related activity for manufactured
dwellings, the manufacturer shall be assessed at the rates deter-
mined in accordance with s. Comm 2.04.

(b) The minimum fee for plan review shall be $80.00 per plan

(¢)" The minimum fee for 1nspect10ns shall be $120.00 per
inspection.

(6) MANUFACTURED MULTIFAMILY DWELLINGS. (a) Fees related
to plan examination and field inspections shall be determined in
accordance with s. Comm 2.31.

(b) Fees related to in—plant inspections performed by the
department shall be assessed and determined in accordance with
s. Comm 2.04 (2).

(7) ‘WISCONSIN INSIGNIAS. Fees for Wisconsin insignias shall
be assessed and computed on the basis of $25.00 for each dwelling
unit.

(8) MisCELLANEOUS FEES. When the department provides
goods or services not specifically covered by the fees in subs. (1)
t0.(6), fees may be charged to persons or organizations requesting
the goods and services based upon actual cost.

History: Cr. Register, June, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92; renum. @) to(7)tobe(S)
to(8), cr. (4), Register, March, 1995; No. 471, eff. 4-1-95.

Comm 2.35 Rental unit energy efficiency program.

Pursuant to's. 101.19 (1) (i), Stats., the fees to administet and
enforce s. 101.122, Stats., are as follows:
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(1) APPLICATIONS FOR EXEMPTION. A fee of $25.00 shall be
remitted to the department when an application for exemption is
submitted to the department.

(2) APPLICATIONS FOR STIPULATION. A fee of $50.00 shall be
remitted to the department when an application for stipulation is
submitted to the department.

(3) APPLICATIONS FOR WAIVER - A fee of $50.00 shall be
remitted to the department when an application for waiver is sub-
mitted to the department.

- *(4) CERTIFICATION STAMPS. A fee of $20.00 shall be remitted
to the department for each certification transfer authorization

‘stamp used to authorize certificates of compliance. Only certified
‘rental unit energy efficiency inspectors and authorized municipal-

ities may purchase certification stamps from the department.
(5) FEES FOR INSPECTION AND CERTIFICATION. (a) Maximum

fee. The maximum fee for inspection or evaluation and certifica-

tion of rental units by the department, authorizing municipality or
any certified inspector, shall be as follows:
1. Upto2Rental Units ........... . $200.00

2. Three to 8 Rental Units $200 plus $50 for
each additional rental unit over 2 rental umts :

3. Over 8 Rental Units ........... $500 plus $25 for
each additional rental unit over 8 rental units

(b) Scope of fee. 1. The inspection and certification fee shall
cover the cost of performing an initial inspection, which includes
issuing a field inspection report explaining items of noncom- ~
pliance and a final inspection, which includes the cost of the certi-
fication stamp and preparation of the certificate. If additional
inspections are required due to noncompliant items not being cor-
rected, an additional fee, based upon an actual cost basis, includ-
ing salary and actual travel expenses, may be charged to offset the
cost of further inspections. If, after an initial inspection, a notice
of noncompliance is issued and, upon reinspection, all the
required energy measures were installed, no additional charges
may be made for any further inspections. Further inspections may
be necessary to assure-that the proper energy measures are
installed in response to any additional points of noncompliance.

2. The evaluation and certification fee shall cover the cost of
preparing necessary forms, the cost of the certification stamp and
preparation of the certificate. If the building performance is deter-
mined by calculation from fuel use data, the fee shall cover the
cost of collecting and verifying the. fuel use and building size
information and performing necessary calculations. The fee does
not cover field measurement of the building performance.

(¢) Fees for requested inspections. Inspectlons the department
is'requested to perform will be charged the maximum fee.

(6) TRANSFER AUTHORIZATION STAMPS. Any authorized
municipality shall remit to the department the following fees for
each transfer authorization stamp: .

T(@) Certificate .. ... ... iee i $10.00
(b) Stipulation .. .- $10.00
(¢c) Waiver . $10.00

History: Cr. Regxster Iune, 1992 No 438 eff 7— —92 am. (5) (a) (muo ), renum,
(5)(b) to be (5) (b) 1., cr. (5) (b) 2., Register, February, 1999, No. 518, eff. 3-1-99

Subchapter IV — Petroleum

Comm 2.41 Petroleum product fund. (1) GENERAL
The department shall collect an mspectlon fee for each gallon of
petroleum product from which a sample is taken. The inspection
fee and the distribution of the fee shall be as specified in s..168.12,
Stats.

(2) SPECIFIED FEES AS LIENS ON PRODUCT INSPECTED. The fees
specified in this section shall be a lien on the products inspected.

(3) ‘PENALTIES FOR VIOLATION OF S. 168 05, STATS: In addition to
the penalties specified under's. 168.15, Stats., when the depart-
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ment identifies a violation of the statutory provisions of s.-168.05,
Stats., it shall charge a fee based upon the following schedule:-
(a) 1. For the first violation identified during the calendar year,
a fee equal to the total inspection fee collected under this section;
2. For the second violation identified during the calendar
year, twice the inspection fee specified in subd. 1.; and
3. For the third and subsequent violations identified during
the calendar year, 3 times the inspection fee specified in subd. 1.
(b) If the department is notified within 60 days of the violation
of §. 168.05, Stats., by the person who imported or received the
petroleum product, a fee equal to the total inspection fee collected
under this section shall be charged.
History: Cr. Register, June, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92; r. and recr. (1), 1. (1m),

Register, December, 1992, No. 444, eff. 1-1-93; 1. (4), Regxstex October, 1996, No.
490, eff 11-1-96.

Comm 2.42 Self—serwce stations or stations using
key, card or'code operated dispensing devices. Fees for
the examination of plans and site inspections for self—service sta-
tions or stations using key, card or code operated dispensing
devices shall be determined in accordance with Table 2.42. Tank
installation fees for such stations shall be in accordance with Table
2.43.

Comm 2.43

Table 2.42
“Plan Examination and Inspection Fees for Stations

Type of Examination or Inspection Fee

Self-Service Stations or
Stations Converting to Key, Card or Code Operations
Plan examinationfee . ...........ooviono... $22.00
Site inspectionfee ..............ieen...... $43.00
History: Cr. Register, June, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92.

5

Comm 2.43 Storage tanks: flammable and combus-
tible liquids, liquefied petroleum gas, liquefied natural
gas and compressed natural gas. (1) PLAN EXAMINATION
AND INSPECTION FEE, Fees for the examination of plans and site
inspections for tanks used for the storage of flammable and com-
bustible liquids, liquefied petroleum gas, liquefied natural gas and
compressed natural gas shall be determined in accordance with
Table 2.43.

Table 2.43
Plan Examination and Inspection Fees for Storage Tanks

Type of Registration, Renewal, Examination or Inspection

Fee

Flammable liquid tank systems or combustible liquid tank systems or components of tank systems

Plan Examination

All Tanks Under 5000 Gallon Capacity . . .......ovvtvivnuimrrennonnnin.

(No state plan examination fee
required; local authorized agent will
charge a fee which must be at least
equal to the state fee minus the
groundwater surcharge.)

All Tank Systems w1th1n Scope of Subch. VI of ch. Comm 10 and Aboveground Tank Systems within the Scope of Subch. VI

and Having a 5000 Gallon Capacity or Larger

Plans With 10 or Fewer Tank Systems or Components of Tank Systems ..........

$35.00 for the first tank system or -
component of a tank system plus
$10.00 for each additional tank sys-
tem or component of a tank system

Plans With 11 or More Tank Systems or Components of Tank Systems .......... $1’50“00 _
Site Inspection Fees )
Installations With Only One Tank System or Component of a Tank System $100.00

Installanons With 2 or More Tank Systems or Components of Tank Systems e

$50.00 for each tank or component

Miscellaneous Plan Review and Inspection

of a tank system up to $1700.00.

Addition of Spill or Overfill Protection Only .. .........................o... $22.00
Addition of Leak Dtection ... ... .. .ov.oveor e e $22.00
Addition of Corrosion PIoteCtion . .. .. .. v vuvueeneas e $22.00
Conversion of Full-Service Stations to Self—Service or Conversion to Key, Card or

COE . v vt et e e e e e e 835,00
Site Inspection for Plan Reviews i in This Section ............ ... $43.00

L1qu1f1ed Petroleum Gas and Liquefied Natural Gas Systems
125 to 1,999 Gallon Water Capacity Tank .........

2000 Gallon Water Capacity and Above

Plan Examinetjon Fee . o e e e Y e

Site Inspection Fee . .. ..ottt i e e e e

(No state examination or inspection
fee required.)

$200.00 per site
$250.00 per site
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Table 2.43 — Continued
Plan Examination and Inspection Fees for Storage Tanks

Type of Registration, Renewal, Examination or Inspection

Fee

Compressed Natural Gas Systems
Vehicle Fueling Sites
Plan Examination Fee

Site InspectionFee ... .......... ... ... ...

$200.00 pérj site
$250.00 per site

Plan Revisions
‘Plan Revision Examination Fee .........

$100.00 per 1ev1sed plan

(2) GROUNDWATER FEE. Pursuant to s. 101.14 (5) Stats the

department shall, in addition to any other fee charged for plan
examination and approval for the construction of a new or addi-
tional installation or change in operation of a previously approved
installation for the storage, handling or use of combustible or
flammable liquids as specified in sub. (1), collect a groundwater
fee of $100.00.

History: Cr. Register, June, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92; am. Table, Register,
March, 1996, No. 483, eff. 4-1~96; conection in Table 2.43 made under s. 13.93 2m)
(b) 7., Stats., Register, November, 1999, No. 527; am. Table 2.43, Register, July,
2000, No. 535, eff. 9-1-00.

Subchapter V — Material Approvals and Petitions

Comm 2.51 Material approvals. (1) The fee for depart-
ment review. of an application for the approval of a material,
equipment: or product, other than a plumbing product,-or for
approval of an.alternate standard, shall be determined in accor-
dance. with Table 2.51.

(2) The fee for a special inspection of an installation. of a mate-
rial, equipment or product for which an experimental approval has
been issued in accordance with s. Comm 20.18, 50.19 or 66.25
shall be determined in accordance with s. Comm 2.04 (2).

Table 251
Material Review Fees

Fee per Review

- Type of Review

Action Chapter Comm 10  Alternate . Alternate
, and Voluntary Product Experimental Standard
New approval - $1,000 $1,200 $2,000 $1,200
Renewal of approval with no changes $ 750 $ 900 $1,500 NA*
Renewal of approval with changes $1,000 $1,200 $2,000 NA*
Manufacturer’s request for minor revision .

(no extension of approval period) $ 200 $ 200 $ 200 NA*
Manufacturer’s request for major revision $1.000 $i 200 $2.000 NA*

(new 5-year period)

NA means not applicable

History: Cr. Register, June, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92; am. Register, July, 2000, No. 535, eff. 9-1-00.

~ Comm 2.52 Petitions for variance. (1) GeNeraL. The
department shall consider and may grant a variance from an
administrative rule upon receipt of a fee, a completed petition for
variance form from the owner, and a position statement from the
fire department where applicable, provided an equivalency is
established which meets the intent of the rule being petitioned.

(2) PETITIONS FOR VARIANCE ON RULES UNDER CHS. COMM 20 TO

25, UNIFORM DWELLING CODE, AND CH. COMM 67, RENTAL UNIT
ENERGY EFFICIENCY CODE. The fee for reviewing petitions for vari-
ance on rules under chs. Comm 20 to 25 and ch. Comm 67 shall

be $125.00 per petition,

(3) PETITIONS FOR VARIANCE ON RULES UNDER CHS. COMM 50 TO

64, BUILDING AND HEATING, VENTILATING AND, AIR CONDITIONING

CODE, AND CH. COMM 66, UNIFORM MULTIFAMILY DWELLING CODE
(a) The fee for reviewing petitions for variance on rules under chs.
Comm 50 to 64 and 66 shall be $500.00 per petition.

(b) Except as provided in par. (d), a separate petition shall be
submitted for each building, even if the buildings are similar. If,
after review, it is'determined that some or all of the petitions may
be processed using a precedent, a portion of the variance fee may
be refunded in accordance with sub. (10) (b).

(c) Where identical petitions are submitted for identical build-
ings with a common owner on a single piece of property, the fee
for the first building shall be $500.00 and the fee for each subse-
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quent building shall be submitted in accordance with sub. (10) (b)
for precedent petitions.

(d) Where an identical variance is sought for identical build-
ings with a common owner in a single municipality, and all of the
buildings.are listed on one submitted petition, the fee for the first
building shall be $490.00, and the fee for each subsequent build-
ing shall be $50.

(4) PETITIONS FOR VARIANCE ON RULES UNDER CH. COMM 70, HIS-
TORIC BUILDING CODE. The fee for reviewing petitions for variance
on rules under ch. Comm 70 shall be $300.00 per petition.

(5) PETITIONS FOR VARIANCE ON RULES UNDER CHS COMM 81 TO
85, UNIFORM PLUMBING CODE. The fee per petition for processing
petitions for variance to rules under chs. Comm 81 to 85 shall be
$225.00.

(6) PETIIIONS FOR VARIANCE UNDER S. 101.055 (4), STATS. The fee
for reviewing petitions for temporary, experimental and perma-
nent variances under s. 101.055 (4), Stats., shall be-$300.00 per
petition. ‘

(7) PETITIONS FOR VARIANCE, OTHER RULES. The fee for review-
ing petitions for variance on rules of the department, administered
by the division of safety and buildings and not specifically men-
tioned under this section, shall be $250.00 per petition.

(8) PRIORITY PETITIONS. (a) Upon requést, the department will
process petitions for variance on a priority basis. Except as speci-
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fied in par. (b), the fees for processing these petitions shall be
double the amounts specified in subs. (2), (3),.(5) to (7) and (9).

‘(b) The fees for processing petitions for variance under’ ch.
Comm 70 shall be as specified in sub. (4). -

(9) RevISIONS. (a) Statements or conditions in a petition for
variance may be revised within one year of the date of the written
decision. The fee per petition for revisions to previously deter-
mined petitions for variance shall be as follows:

1. Petitions on rules under sub. (2) ......:...... $50.00

2. Petitions on rules under sub. (5) ... ... . $75.00

3. All other petitions . e $100 00

(b)- For revisions xequested after one year from the date of the
written decision, a new petition for variance shall be submitted.

(10) ADDITIONAL AND REDUCED FEES. (a) For complex peti-
tions for variance which require more than 8 hours to review and
process, an additional fee may be charged at the rate of $60.00 per
hour for each hour in excess of 8 hours, For precedent petitions
for variance which require more than 3 hours to review and pro-
cess, an additional fee may be charged at the rate of $60.00 per
hour for each hour in excess of 3 hours.

(b) For petitions processed under sub. (3) or (4), a refund may
be returned. The minimum fee per petition charged by the depart-
ment shall be based on the following schedule:

1. The minimum fee for a petition for variance that is returned
without decision before assignment for staff review shall be 25%
of the required fee.

2. The minimum fee for a petition for variance that is returned
without decision after staff review shall be 25% of the required fee
plus $60.00 per hour of review and processing time.

3. The minimum fee for a non—priority petition for variance
based on precedence shall be 50% of the required fee.

4. The minimum fee for a priority petition for variance based
on precedence shall be 75% of the required fee.

History: Cr. Register, June, 1992, No. 438, eff 7-1-92; emerg. cr. (6m), eff.
10-1-93; cr. (6m), Register, March, 1994, No, 459, eff. 4-1-94; am. (3) (2), Register,
March, 1995, No. 471, eff. 4-1-95; correction in (2) made under s. 13.93 (2m) (b)
7., Stats., Register, November, 1999, No. 527; 1. and recr. (5), Register, April, 2000,
No. 532, eff. 7-1-00; am. (3) (a), (c), (6), (7), (10) (a) and (b) 2., 1. (6m), Register,

July, 2000, No. 535, eff. 9-1-00; am. (3) (b), cr. (3) (d), Register, September, 2000,
No. 537, eff. 10-1-00.

Subchapter VI — Building Water Systems

Comm 2.61 Miscellaneous inspections, reviews
and services. (1) SPECIAL PLUMBING INSPECTIONS. (a) Plumb-

Comm 2.64

ing inspections for sanitary districts or other special purpose dis-
tricts shall be determined in accordance with s. Comm 2.04 (2).

" (b) The department may assess a fee determined in accordance
with s. Comm 2.04 (2) for a field inspection for a department rep-
resentative to conduct a soil evaluation.

(2) Revisions. The fee for revisions to previously approved
plumbing and private sewage plans shall be $75.00 per plan. This
fee shall apply when plans are revised for reasons other than those
which were requested by the department.

(3) PRIORITY PLAN REVIEW. (a) A submitter of plans for
plumbing or private onsite wastewater treatment systems may
request and make an appointment with the department to facilitate
the review of the plans on a priority basis.

(b) The fee for plan review on a priority basis shall be twice
the rate as determined under Tables 2.64~1, 2.64-2 or 2.65.

(¢) The scheduling of a plan review on a priority basis shall be
contingent upon the department having sufficient time and staff
to accommodate the request.

(4) PRrOJECTS WITHOUT APPROVALS. The fees specified in this
subchapter shall be doubled for those projects for which the instal-
lation of plumbing has started without departmental approval.

(5) MISCELLANEOUS SERVICES. When the department provides
goods or services not specifically covered in this section, fees may
be charged to organizations requesting such goods and services.

History: Cr. Register, June, 1992, No 438, eff. 7-1-92; r. and recr. (3), Register,

April; 2000, No:532, eff. 7-1-00; am. (1) and (2), Register, July, 2000, No. 535, eff.
9-1-00.

Comm 2,63 Plat review and investigations for subdivisions without
public sewers. History: Cr. Register, June, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92; 1, Register,
April, 2000, No, 532, eff. 7-1-00.

Comm 2.635 Lot restriction waivers. The fee for any
lot restriction waiver issued by the department shall be $80.00 per

lot.
History: Cr. Register, July, 2000, No 535, eff, 9-1-00.

Comm 2.64 Plumbing systems. (1) GENERAL. Plan
examination fees for preliminary or complete plans shall accom-
pany the plans and specifications when submitted. If the depart-
ment determines, upon review of the plans, that inadequate fees
were provided, the necessary additional fees shall be provided
prior to departmental approval:

(2) ExamINATION. FEES. The plan examination fee shall be
determined in accordance with Table 2.64—1. The minimum fee
shall be $60.00 per plan.
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Table 2.64-1
Plan Examination Fees for Plumbing Systems

1. Sanitary drain and vent system .. ............. s

2. ,Sanitai‘y building sewer only, no drain and vent ........
- 3. "Building water distribution system ... ........0 ... ...

4. Building water service only, no water distribution system

5. 'Building storm and clear water drain System . .. ........

*6.. Car wash interceptor . ..............:.

*7. “Garage catch basin ... .. ..vvuu i
*8,  Grease IMErCePIOL .. ... ovvvre e e

*Q, O INLEXCEPLOT. . .« . oo vt v e et e e
. $70.00 per station

*10.
*11.

Sanitary dump station . ............

13, Alternate plumbing system ...:...........oooo oo

Chemical waste SYSIIM . ...

$40.00 per inch diameter of each bldg. sewer, or for multiple
sewer connections serving a single building the fee may be
‘calculated per sub. (3) (a)

$25.00 per inch diameter of each bldg. sewer

$40.00 per inch diameter of each water service, or for -
multiple water service connections serving a single building
the fee may be calculated per sub. (3) (b)

$25.00 per inch diameter of each water service .

$10.00 per inch diameter of each bldg. storm sewer, or for
multiple sewer dischaige points for a single site the fee may
be calculated per sub. (3) (c)

. "$70.00 per interceptor

$70.00 per basin
$70.00 per interceptor
$70.00 per interceptor

$70.00 per system
$400 per system

14.  Mobile home parks and campground/recreational vehicle parks:

125 SIES . o e e e e e
26250 SIES . o e i e e
. $400.00

51-125sites .. ...

OVEL 125 SHES . oo e e va 6 e e e e e e e
15, Private WateI Maifl .« v v vo v et e e e e e e

16. Cross connection control devices:

Reduced pressure principle backflow preventer ........
Reduced pressure detector backflow preventer . . D
Pressure vacuum breaker assembly ..................
 Back siphonage backflow v,\acuumv,breaker e

17. Sanitary private interceptor main sewers, determined on

the largest diameter of each interceptor main sewer “. . . ..

18. - Storm private interceptor main sewers, determined on

the largest diameter of each interceptor main sewer . . . ..

19. Experimental plumbing system

$300.00
$350.00

$500.00 ‘
$25.00 per inch diameter

$125.00 per device
$125.00 per device
$125.00 per device
$125.00 per device

$25.00 per inch diameter

$10.00 per inch diameter
$500.00 per system

# Note: For table entries 6 to 11, no additional fee would be required if submitted with the sanitary drain and vent system.

(3) EXAMINATION FEES FOR ADDITIONS AND REMODELING.
When new or relocated fixtures or both are connected to the exist-
ing piping inside a building, the fee shall be determined in accor-
dance with the following procedures:

(a) Sanitary building sewer, drain and vent. 1, Total all of the
drainage fixture units which are being added or relocated.

2. Refer to s. Comm 82.30 Table 82.30-2, and determine the
horizontal drain size which would be required if all new or relo-
cated fixtures discharged through one pipe.

Note: Disregard the asterisk limitation regarding water closets This pipe size is
used for determining the fee only and does not necessarily mean this pipe size is used
in actual design or installation.

3. Determine the fee based on pipe diameter in Table 2.64-1,
entry 1. g
(b) Building water distribution system. 1. Total all of the water
supply fixture units which are being added or relocated, using s.
Comm 82.40 Tables 82.40-1 and 2, and convert to gallons per
minute (GPM) in accordance with s. Comm 82.40 Table 82.40-3.
2. The fees shall be determined in accordance with GPM
demand of the new or relocated fixtures as specified in Table
2.64-2.
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Table 2.64-2
Plan Examination Fees for Building Water
Distribution Systems

GPM Fee
B2 A6 . e e $60.00
T8=119 i $100.00

120-170 ..o e $120.00
171-298 . e, $140.00

(¢) Building storm sewer and drainage system. 1. Total each
different type of area which the new or relocated drains serve and
convert to GPM using ch. Comm 82 Tables 82.36-1, 2 and 3. To
this, add the GPM discharge from any added or relocated clear
water drains located inside the building.
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2. Refer to ch. Comm 82 Table 82.36-4, using the column for

1/4 inch per foot pitch, to determine the horizontal drain size
which would be required if all new or relocated fixtures dis-
charged through one pipe. Use this pipe size for determining the
fee.
3. Determine the fee based on pipe diameter in Table 2.64-1,
entry 5.
History: Cr. Régistex; June, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92; am. Table 2 641, Regis-
ter, February, 1994, No. 458, eff. 3-1-94; am. Table 2.64~1; Register, February,

1997, No. 494, eff. 3-1-97; am. (3) (a) 3. and (c) 3. and Tables 2.64~1 and 2.64-2,
Register, July, 2000, No. 533, eff. 9-1-00.

~Comm 265 Private onsite wastewater treatment
systems. (1) GENeEraL. The plan examination fee as deter-
mined under this section shall accompany the plans and specifica-
tions for the proposed design of a private onsite wastewater treat-
ment system at a specific site. If the department determines, upon
review of the plans, that inadequate fees were provided, the
department will not make a final determination on the plans until
the appropriate fees are received.

. (2) ExaMINATION FEES. The plan examination fee for a private

onsite wastewater treatment system submitted to the department
for review shall be determined in accordance with Table 2.65,
rounded to the nearest dollar.

Table 2.65
Plan Review
Private Onsite Wastewater Treatment Systems

Type of Project Fee

1. All treatment components are approved under s. Comm
84.10 (2) or (3):

Design wastewater flow of the proposed system:

1,000 gpdorless .......... $175.00
1,001-2,000 gpd .......... $225.00
2,001-5,000 gpd $275.00
greater than 5,000 gpd ... ...  $300.00 plus 0.05/g/d

2. One or more treatment components are not approved under
s. Comm 84.10 (2) or (3):

Design wastewater flow of the proposed system:

1,000 gpdorless .......... $300.00
1,001-2,000gpd .......... $400.00
2,001-5,000 gpd $500.00

$600.00 plus $0.05/g/d
3. Holding tanks approved under s. Comm 84.10 (2) or (3):

greater than 5,000 gpd ... ...

Design wastewater flow of the proposed system:
5,000 gpdorless .......... $60.00
5,001-10,000 gpd ... ..... $100.00
greater than 10,000 gpd .. ... $150.00

4. Holding tanks not approved under s. Comm 84.10 (2) or
@)

Design wastewater flow of the proposed system:

5000gpdorless .......... $120.00
5,001-10,000 gpd $200.00
greater than 10,000 gpd .. ... $300.00

(3) Dara ReVIEW. The fee to review soil saturation monitoring
studies or reports in accordance with s. Comm 85.60 (2) or (3)
shall be $100.00 per site.

History: Cr. Register, June, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92; r. and recr., Register,
April, 2000, No, 532, eff. 7-1-00

Comm 2.66

Comm 2.66 Product approvals. (1) ApPROVALS. (a)
Except as provided in par. (b), the fee for the request of a review
by the department for a plumbing product under s. Comm 84.10
(2) shall be determined in accordance with Table 2.66.

~ Table 2.66
Plumbing Product Approval Fees
Fee
Type of Review
Revision
Product ‘ New or

Review | Renewal

1. Chemical or biochemical treat-

ment for private sewage systems $200 $100
2. Health care plumbing appliance $200 $100
3. Laboratory plumbing appliance $200 $100

4. . Prefabricated holding or treatment
components for private onsite

wastewater treatment systems $200 $100
5. Prefabricated plumbing $200 $100
6. Water treatment device , $200 $100

(b) 1. The fee for the request of the review of a research report
by the department for a cross—connection control device under the
administrative procedures described in s. Comm 84.10 (2) (2) 2.
shall be determined in accordance with the revision or renewal
provisions of Table 2.66.

2. The fee for a minor revision to a previously issued approval
for an exterior grease interceptor, holding or septic tank may be
$45.00 plus $5.00 for each approval affected in lieu of the fee spe-
cified in Table 2.66. For the purpose of this subdivision, a minor
revision shall be considered a modification that does not affect the
function, retention capacity, basic shape or size of the tank. The
expiration date of the original approval shall not be extended if the
minor revision is approved.

(c) 1. The fee for the request of an alternate approval to be
issued by the department for a plumbing product shall be $300.00.

2. a. Except as provided in subd. 2. b., the fee for the request
of a revision or renewal of an alternate approval to be issued by
the department for a plumbing product shall be $150.00.

b. The fee for a minor revision to a previously issued alternate
approval for an exterior grease interceptor, holding, septic or other
sewage treatment tank may be $45.00 plus $5.00 for each
approval affected in lieu of the fee specified in subd. 2. a. For the
purpose of this subparagraph, a minor revision shall be considered
a modification that does not affect the function, retention capacity,
basic shape or size of the tank, or the basis of the approval being
classified as an alternate. The expiration date of the original
approval shall not be extended if the minor revision is approved.

(d) 1. The fee for the request of an experimental approval to
be issued by the department for a plumbing product shall be
$500.00.

2. The fee for the request of a revision or renewal of an experi-

‘mental approval to be issued by the department for a plumbing

material or product shall be $250.00.
(e) The fee for a special inspection of an installation of a prod-
uct, for which an experimental approval has been issued in accor-

" dance with s. Comm 84.50, shall be determined in accordance

with s. Comm 2.04 (2).

(2) POWTS APPROVALS AND MANUFACTURER CHANGES. (a)
The fee for the request to have a method or technology reviewed
as a POWTS holding, treatment or dispersal component or site
constructed private onsite wastewater treatment system compo-
nent by the department, in accordance with s. Comm 84.10 (3),
shall be $300.00 per method, technology, or site constructed com-
ponent.

Register, September, 2000, No. 537




Comm 2.66

(b) The fee for the request of ‘a change of manufacturer’s name
or address on an approval issued by the department for a plumbing
product -shall be $15.00. The expiration date of the original
approval shall not be extended.

History: Cr. Register, June, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92; emerg. am. Table 2.66 and
(1) (b) 1., eff. 5~12-94; am Table 2.66, (1) (b)l Register, October, 1994, No. 466,
eff. 11— 1—94 am. Table 2.66, (1) (d) 2. and 1. and recr. (2) (a), Register, April, 2000,
No. 5302 eff, 7-1-00; am (1) (¢) and Table 2.66, Register; July, 2000, No. 535, eff.
9-1-0f

Comm 2.67 Sanitary permits. (1) Fee (a) Pursuant to
s. 145.19 (5), Stats., the fee for a sanitary permit issued by a gov-
ernmental unit shall be at least $116.00.

Note: The sanitary permit fee includes a $25.00 groundwater fee, required by s.
145.19/(6), Stats., that is forwarded by the department of commerce to the department
of natural resources.

(b) The fee for a sanitary permit issued by the department
under s. Comm 83.21 shall be $200.00.

(2) PORTION FORWARDED TO THE DEPARIMENT The govern-
mental unit responsible for the regulation of private onsite waste-
water treatment systems shall forward to the department $75.00
of each sanitary permiit fee, determined in accord with s. 145.19,
Stats.

Note: The $75.00 includes the $25.00 groundwater fee, required by s. 145 19 (6),
Stats., that is forwarded to the department of natural resources.

History: Cr. Register, June, 1992, No. 438, eff. 7-1-92; renum. and am. (1) to be
(1) (a), cr. (1) (b) and am. (2), Register, Apnl 2000, No. 532, eff. 7-1-00
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Comm 2.68 Swimming pool plan review fees.
(1) Plan examination fees for public swimming pools and water
attractions shall accompany the plans and specifications when
submitted. If the department determines, upon review of the plans,
that inadequate fees were provided, the necessary additional fees
shall be provided prior to departmental approval.

(2) Except as provided in sub. (3), plan examination fees for
the construction, alteration or reconstruction of public swimming
pools and water attractions shall be as follows:

(a) $300.00 for the initial construction of a public swimming
pool, gutter type;

(b) $225.00 for the initial construction of a public swimming
pool, skimmer type;

(c) $300.00 for the initial construction of a water attraction;

(d)  $100.00 for an alteration or reconstruction of a public
swimming pool or water attraction; and

" (e).$60.00 for revisions to previously approved plans.

(3) If the plans and specifications involve more than one pub-
lic sw1mm1ng pool or more than one water attraction at the same
site, plan review fees shall be the highest applicable fee under sub.
(2) for one pool, or if not a pool, for one attraction, plus 50% of
thie applicable fee for each additional pool or attraction.

Note: See s, Comm 90.02 (2) for definitions relative to swimming pools.
History: Emerg, cr. eff. 10-1-93; cr. Register, March, 1994, No. 459, eff, 4-1-94.




	539Nov00Comm2.pdf 

