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Emergency rules now in effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule—making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule—making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective
and expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of
the emergency rule and information regarding public
hearings on the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency. The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection — (4)

1. Rule adopted repealing s. ATCP 134.06 (3) (c) note and
creating s. ATCP 134.06 (3) (d), relating to residential
rental practices.

Exemption from finding of emergency

On June 21, 2000, the Legislature’s Joint Committee for
Review of Administrative Rules (JCRAR) found that the
“note” to s. ATCP 134.06 (3) (c) is actually a rule and directed
DATCP to adopt the “note” as an emergency rule. According
to s. 227.26 (2) (b), Stats., DATCP must promulgate the
emergency rule under s. 227.24 (1) (a), Stats., within 30 days
after the JCRAR directs DATCP to do so. Because the JCRAR
has directed DATCP to adopt this emergency rule, DATCP is
not required to make any other finding of emergency.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection

The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection (DATCP) administers state landlord—tenant rules
contained in ch. ATCP 134, Wis. Adm. Code. These rules
affect over 1.5 million Wisconsin residents.

This emergency rule modifies current residential rental
practices rules related to security deposit withholding. Under
current rules, a landlord may not withhold a security deposit
for normal wear and tear, or for other damages or losses for
which the tenant cannot reasonably be held responsible. A
“note” to s. ATCP 134.06 (3) (c¢) also states that a landlord
may not withhold from a tenant’s security deposit for routine
painting or carpet cleaning, where there is no unusual damage
caused by tenant neglect.

Publication Date:  July 20, 2000
Effective Date: July 20, 2000
Expiration Date: December 18, 2000

Extension Through: April 16, 2001

2. Rules adopted creating ch. ATCP 16, relating to importing
bovine animals, goats or cervids from a state designated by
USDA as a tuberculosis “non—-modified accredited” state.

Finding of emergency

(1) Bovine tuberculosis is a contagious, infectious and
communicable disease caused by Mycobacterium bovis (M.
bovis). 1Tt affects cattle, bison, deer, elk, goats and other
species, including humans. Bovine tuberculosis in infected
animals and humans manifests itself in lesions of the lung,
bone, and other body parts. Bovine tuberculosis causes
weight loss and general debilitation, and can be fatal.

(2) Wisconsin is currently classified by the United States
Department of Agriculture (USDA) as “accredited—free” for
tuberculosis.

(3) The USDA recently reclassified Michigan from
“accredited—free” to ‘“non—-modified accredited,” reflecting a
higher risk of bovine tuberculosis.

(4) A significant number of bovine animals, goats and
cervids are imported to Wisconsin from Michigan each year.

(5) The last known case of bovine tuberculosis in cattle in
Wisconsin was confirmed in an animal imported from
Michigan.

(6) If bovine tuberculosis becomes established in
Wisconsin, it will pose a significant threat to the health of
domestic animals and humans in this state.

(7) An emergency rule is needed to protect the public
peace, health, safety and welfare. This emergency rule will
help to control a serious disease in cattle, goats and cervids
and will help protect the marketability of Wisconsin—-raised
animals.

Publication Date:  August 11, 2000
Effective Date: August 11, 2000
Expiration Date: January 8, 2001
Hearing Date: September 19, 2000

Extension Through: May 7, 2001

3. Rules adopted creating s. ATCP 10.21 (10) (c) and (15)
relating to reimbursement of Johne’s disease testing costs.

Finding of emergency

The state of Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and
consumer protection (“department”) finds that an emergency
exists and that an emergency rule is necessary to protect
public health, safety and welfare. The facts constituting the
emergency are as follows:

1. 1999 Wisconsin Act 9 was published on October 28,
1999. It appropriates $100,000 for financial assistance to
owners of livestock herds for conducting testing for Johne’s
disease (paratuberculosis) for FY 2000-01. It requires the
department to provide the financial assistance.

2. 1999 Wisconsin Act 9 requires the department to
promulgate rules for implementing the financial assistance
program.

3. Permanent rules establishing the program will not take
effect before June 1, 2001. This emergency rule establishes
an interim procedure which will allow owners of livestock
herds to apply for grants under this program. Without this
rule, no person would be able to apply for a grant in FY
2000-01 until at least June 1, 2001, and the department would
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have insufficient time to review and process the grant requests
before the end of the fiscal year.

Publication Date:  January 1, 2001
Effective Date: January 1, 2001
Expiration Date: May 31, 2001
Hearing Date: February 13, 2002

4. Rules adopted revising ch. ATCP 80, relating to
pathogen—tests on ready—to—eat dairy products.

Finding of emergency

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and
Consumer Protection (DATCP) finds that an emergency
exists and that an emergency rule is necessary to protect
public health, safety and welfare. The facts constituting the
emergency are as follows:

(1) DATCEP licenses and inspects dairy plants under s. 97.20,
Stats. Current DATCP rules, under s. ATCP 80.56(4), Wis.
Adm. Code, require dairy plant operators to report to DATCP
the results of any microbiological test that confirms the
presence of a pathogenic organism in a pasteurized or
ready—to—eat dairy product.

(2) There has been a nationwide increase in food borne
disease outbreaks associated with food and dairy products.
Such outbreaks can occur when ready—to—eat foods enter food
distribution channels without being tested for pathogenic
bacteria.

(3) There is no national or state law requiring dairy plant
operators to test ready—to—eat dairy products for pathogens
prior to sale or distribution. Dairy plant operators have a
natural incentive to test, in order to avoid liability and meet
their customers’ product safety demands. But the current test
reporting requirement under s. ATCP 80.56(4) discourages
pathogen testing, because test reports become public records
that may be open to public inspection even if the affected
products are withheld from distribution.

(4) There is an urgent need to repeal this counterproductive
reporting requirement, and to create alternative rules that will
encourage pathogen testing and provide stronger public
health protection. This emergency rule will encourage more
pathogen testing, and provide stronger public health
protection, pending the adoption of “permanent” rule
changes.

Publication Date:  March 2, 2001

Effective Date: March 2, 2001

Expiration Date: July 30, 2001
Commerce

(Flammable and Combustible Liquids — Ch. Comm 10)

Rules adopted revising s. Comm 10.345, relating to the effective
date of required upgrades to aboveground bulk tanks that were
in existence on May 1, 1991.

Finding of emergency

The Department of Commerce finds that an emergency
exists and that the adoption of a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of public health, safety and welfare.
The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

Wisconsin Administrative Code ch. Comm 10, Flammable
and Combustible Liquids Code, became effective on 5/1/91.
Section Comm 10.345 (2) contains requirements for bulk
tanks in existence on that date to be provided with specific
containment or leak detection upgrades within 10 years of that
date. Some concerns have been expressed on the impact that
compliance date could have on heating oil supplies and prices
this winter. Construction requirements could result in a
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substantial number of tanks storing heating oil to be closed
during the winter heating season in preparation for the
required upgrades.

Based on these concerns, the department has agreed to
extend the compliance deadline for 3 months until 8/1/01 if
approvable tank system upgrade plans have been submitted to
the department by 2/1/01.

Publication Date:  January 6, 2001
Effective Date: January 6, 2001
Expiration Date: June 4, 2001
Hearing Date: February 27, 2001
Corrections

Rules adopted revising ch. DOC 309, relating to sexually explicit
material at adult correctional institutions.

Finding of emergency

The Department of Corrections finds that an emergency
exists and that rules are necessary for preservation of the
public welfare. A statement of the facts constituting the
emergency is: Effective December 1, 1998, the Department
implemented rules restricting inmates’ access to sexually
explicit material. These rules were challenged in federal court
in a class action suit brought by several inmates (Aiello v.
Litscher, Case No. 98—-C-791-C, Western District of
Wisconsin). The defendants filed a motion for summary
judgment, but it was denied by the court in language that
suggested the rules were unconstitutional in their present
form based on a number of federal appellate court decisions
that were reported after the rules were implemented.

In light of these developments, the parties negotiated a
settlement which includes an immediate revision of the
present rules to conform to the latest decisional law regarding
the extent to which inmates’ access to sexually explicit
material can be restricted for legitimate penological
objectives. Adoption of the revised rules no later than
February 23, 2001, is necessary to avoid a lapse of the
settlement agreement and lengthy trial with the attendant
possibility of having to pay a considerable amount in
attorneys’ fees.

This order:

» Revises the present rules restricting inmates’ access to
sexually explicit material by prohibiting access to published
material that depicts nudity on a routine or regular basis or
promotes itself based on nudity in the case of individual
one—time issues.

 Revises the present rules by prohibiting access to written
material when it meets the legal definition of obscenity.

Publication Date:  February 23, 2001
Effective Date: February 23, 2001
Expiration Date: July 23, 2001

Employment Relations Commission

Rules were adopted amending ch. ERC 3, Appendices A, B
and C relating to the calculation of a qualified economic
offer in collective bargaining with professional school
district employees.

Finding of emergency

As required by s. 227.24 (1), Stats., we find that it is
necessary to promulgate the amendment to ch. ERC 33,
Appendices A, B, and C as an emergency rule to preserve the
public peace, health, safety and welfare. Absent
promulgation of this emergency rule, the timely and peaceful
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resolution of collective bargaining disputes in Wisconsin will
be endangered.

The amendment of ch. ERC 33, Appendices A, B and C is
required by 1999 Wisconsin Act 9’s amendment of the
statutory definition of a qualified economic offer in
s. 111.70(1)(nc)1.c., Stats., and the ruling of the Wisconsin
Court of Appeals in Racine Education Ass’n v. WERC, 238,
Wis.2d 33 (2000). The amended statutory definition of
qualified economic offer first applies to school district
professional employee bargaining agreements covering the
period of July 1, 2001 through June 30, 2003.

As amended, ch. ERC 33, Appendices A, B and C allow a
school district to accurately calculate the level of salary
increase, if any, which the district must offer to the labor
organization representing the district’s professional
employees as part of a qualified economic offer. As amended,
ch. ERC 33, Appendices A, B and C implement (1) the
statutory requirement that salary increases due to a promotion
or the attainment of increased professional qualifications are
not part of a qualified economic offer; and (2) the ruling of the
Court in Racine Education Ass’n v. WERC that a qualified
economic offer cannot exceed a 3.8% increase in salary and
fringe benefit costs.

Publication Date:  January 22, 2001
Effective Date: January 22, 2001
Expiration Date: June 20, 2001

Financial Institutions — Division of Securities

Rules adopted revising ch. DFI-Sec 5, relating to adopting
for use in Wisconsin the Investment Adviser
Registration Depository.

Finding of emergency

The Division of Securities of the Department of Financial
Institutions for the State of Wisconsin finds that an emergency
exists and that rules are necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare. A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency follows:

The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”),
in conjunction with the North American Securities
Administrators Association (“NASAA”), an organization
comprised of the securities administrators of all 50 states,
including Wisconsin, has developed an electronic filing
system for licensure of investment advisers to replace the
paper filing system which heretofore has been used in all
states. The system, the Investment Adviser Registration
Depository (IARD), will permit investment advisers to satisfy
their initial and renewal filing obligations to obtain licensure
under the federal and state securities laws with a single
electronic filing made over the Internet, instead of having to
make separate paper filings with the SEC and with each state
in which the investment adviser seeks to do business.

After several years in development and a pilot phase in the
fall of 2000 that the Division participated in, the
commencement date for states and the SEC to accept filings
under the IARD has been set for January 1, 2001.
Consequently, NASAA member states, including Wisconsin,
need to take the necessary rule-making or other regulatory
action by January 1, 2001 to enable investment advisers to
make their licensing filings electronically. The Emergency
Rules make the necessary changes to the Division’s
investment adviser license filing provisions that are
immediately needed to adopt the IARD for use in Wisconsin
by investment advisers.
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The TARD will be operated by NASD Regulation, Inc., a
self-regulatory organization that for 20 years has operated an
equivalent electronic filing system (the Central Registration
Depository or “CRD”) for federal and state licensure of
securities broker—dealers and their sales agents. As with the
CRD, the TARD will provide the advantages of: (1)
elimination of paper filings; (2) a single filing will satisfy
federal and state filing requirements; and (3) automatic
payment of state licensing fees to the states where the
investment adviser does business. Additionally and
importantly, the IARD will provide the investing public with
immediate, real-time access to information about investment
advisers and their representatives.

Congress in its passage of the National Securities Markets
Improvement Act in 1996 provided for the development of
this electronic filing system for investment advisers, and the
SEC has adopted rules mandating such. The SEC and the
states have been working together to develop both the
necessary changes to the filing form (Form ADV), and to the
filing procedures to achieve uniformity in the filing processes
and procedures. Additionally, to achieve uniformity among
the states in the adoption of rules implementing the IARD, a
NASAA Working Group has developed Model Rules (with
commentary) to coordinate with the SEC requirements. The
Wisconsin Emergency Rules adopted herein follow the
NASAA Model Rules.

The Emergency Rules provide for: (1) a revised Licensing
Procedure section in s. DFI-Sec 5.01 (1) and (2); (2)
temporary and permanent hardship exemption provisions in
s. DFI-Sec 5.01 (11); (3) a revised brochure rule in s. DFI-Sec
5.05(8); (4) revised filing periods and license expiration dates
for licenses of investment advisers and investment adviser
representatives, as well as for license withdrawals in ss.
DFI-Sec 5.07 and 5.08; (5) a revised procedure for filings by
federal covered advisers in s. DFI-Sec 5.11; and (6) a specific
section in s. DFI-Sec 5.12 dealing with transition filings.
Separate from these Emergency Rules, the Division will be
issuing General Orders to further implement timing for
various categories of filers, and which will provide partial fee
rebates for 2001 for the smaller, state—only licensed advisers
to help defray the initial one—time fee (of $150) they must pay
for their initial participation in the IARD.

Publication Date:  December 29, 2000
Effective Date: January 1, 2001
Expiration Date: May 31, 2001
Hearing Date: April 18, 2001

Health & Family Services
(Health, Chs. HFS 110-)

Rules adopted revising ch. HFS 163, relating to certification
for the identification, removal and reduction of lead-based
paint hazards.

Finding of emergency

The Department of Health and Family Services finds that an
emergency exists and that the rules are necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare. The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

Summary

September 2000 regulations issued by the U.S. Department
of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) assume states’
commencing lead abatement activities compliant with the
federal regulations beginning March 15, 2001.  The
Department estimates that about 5,000 structures in the state
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require lead abatement activities. About 300 persons need to
be trained to conduct lead abatement activities on these 5,000
structures. Without DHFS issuance of revised training
program requirements, Wisconsin’s lead training programs
will not alter their courses to HUD standards or receive state
accreditation in time for sufficient personnel to be trained by
the time high demands for lead abatement commences. To
sanction ill-trained lead abatement personnel by March 15,
2001, the Department would needlessly endanger the health
of both untrained lead abatement personnel and the public
whose residences are affected.

Lead Abatement Activities

Residences built before 1978 have a high likelihood of
containing lead-based paint. When lead—based paint is in poor
condition or when it is disturbed through activities such as
sanding or scraping, the paint can break down into chips and
dust that become a potential source of lead poisoning for
occupants. Wisconsin has nearly 500,000 rental units and 1
million owner—occupied units built before 1978 and presumed
to contain lead—based paint.

Exposure to lead in paint, dust or soil has both short—term
and long—term adverse health effects on children, causing
learning disabilities, decreased growth, hyperactivity,
impaired hearing, brain damage and even death. When not
fatal, these effects on the body last a lifetime. Of 63,400
Wisconsin children under the age of 6 screened for lead
poisoning in 1999, 3,744 were identified as having lead
poisoning. However, the number of children affected by lead
poisoning is probably much greater, since the 63,400 screened
represented only 16% of the state’s children under the age of
6. Many of these children would not become lead poisoned
if pre—1978 dwellings did not have deteriorated paint or
lead—based paint on friction or impact surfaces and if
lead—safe techniques were used when disturbing lead—based
paint.

Lead poisoning can also affect older children and adults.
In 1999, a 40—year old man employed to remove paint from
windows of a rental dwelling was severely lead poisoned. He
was hospitalized with complaints of headaches and joint pain.
He underwent multiple sessions of chelation therapy to
remove some of the lead from his blood, but still suffered
serious neurological damage, which affected his speech and
balance. This man’s lead poisoning could have been avoided
if he had been trained to use lead—safe techniques and personal
protection equipment.

Existing Wisconsin Law

Chapter 254, Stats., provides for a comprehensive lead
hazard reduction program, including lead exposure
screening, medical case management and reporting
requirements, and the development of lead training
accreditation and certification programs. Under the authority
of Chapter 254, Stats., the Department promulgated Chapter
HFS 163, Wis. Adm. Code, in 1988 to provide rules for the
certification of individuals performing lead hazard reduction
and for the accreditation of the courses that prepare
individuals for certification. These rules have been revised
over time to meet requirements of the U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency (EPA).

Wisconsin met federal standards for a state—administered
lead training accreditation and certification program and
received EPA authorization effective January 27, 1999. The
Department’s Asbestos and Lead Section of the Bureau of
Occupational Health administers and enforces lead—based
paint training, certification and work practice provisions of
Chapter HFS 163, Wis. Adm. Code. The Section operates on
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a combination of program revenue and lead program
development grants from the EPA.

Under Chapter HFS 163, Wis. Adm. Code, a person
offering, providing or supervising lead—based paint activities
for which certification is required must be certified as a lead
company and may only employ or contract with appropriately
certified individuals to perform these activities. An individual
may apply for certification in the following disciplines: lead
(Pb) worker, supervisor, inspector, risk assessor and project
designer. For initial certification, the individual must be 18
years of age or older, must meet applicable education and
experience qualifications, must successfully complete
certification training requirements and, to be certified as a lead
(Pb) inspector, risk assessor or supervisor, must pass a
certification examination.  All individuals must have
completed worker safety training required by the U.S.
Occupational Health and Safety Administration for lead in
construction. In addition, a lead (Pb) worker, supervisor, or
project designer must complete a 16-hour lead (Pb) worker
course, a lead (Pb) supervisor or project designer also must
complete a 16-hour lead (Pb) supervisor course, and a lead
(Pb) project designer must complete an 8-hour lead (Pb)
project designer course. A lead (Pb) inspector or risk assessor
must complete a 24-hour lead (Pb) inspector course and a lead
(Pb) risk assessor must also complete a 16-hour lead (Pb) risk
assessor course.

New Federal Regulations

The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
(HUD) revised 24 CFR Part 35 effective September 15, 2000.
The regulations require most properties owned by the federal
government or receiving federal assistance to conduct
specified activities to make the property lead—safe.
Specifically, these regulations affect property owners receiving
federal rehabilitation funds and landlords whose tenants
receive federal rental assistance. To meet HUD’s lead—safe
standards, most affected properties must have a risk assessment
completed and must use certified persons to reduce or eliminate
the lead-based paint hazards identified in the risk assessment
report. Property owners must also use trained people to
perform maintenance or renovation activities and must have
clearance conducted after completing activities that disturb
lead—based paint. Clearance is a visual inspection and
dust-lead sampling to verify that lead—based paint hazards are
not left behind. The HUD regulations also establish a new,
research—based standard for clearance that is more protective
than HUD’s previously recommended standard.

The EPA has issued a memorandum urging States to
implement a lead sampling technician discipline for which a
1-day training course would be required. Addition of this
discipline would help to meet the increased demand for
clearance under both the HUD regulations and renovation and
remodeling regulations being considered by EPA.

The EPA is preparing to promulgate lead renovation and
remodeling regulations under 40 CFR Part 745. Under these
training and certification regulations for renovators, any person
who disturbs paint in a pre—1978 dwelling, other than a
homeowner performing activities in an owner—occupied
dwelling, will have to complete lead—safe training. EPA is also
considering requiring clearance after any activity that disturbs
paint in a pre-1978 dwelling, except when work on
owner—occupied property was done by the property owner.
New Wisconsin Law

1999 Wisconsin Act 113 requires the Department to
establish a process for issuing certificates of lead—free or
lead—safe status and registering the properties for which
certificates are issued. If a dwelling unit has a valid certificate
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of lead—free or lead—safe status when a person who resides in
or visits the unit is lead poisoned, the property owner, and his
or her agents and employees are generally immune from civil
and criminal liability for their acts or omissions related to the
lead poisoning or lead exposure. Act 113 also requires the
Department to establish the requirements for a training course
of up to 16 hours that property owners, their agents and
employees may complete in order to receive certification. The
Department must also specify the scope of the lead
investigation and lead hazard reduction activities that may be
performed following certification. Act 113 specifies that
administrative rules to implement Act 113 must be submitted
to the Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse by December
1, 2000. The rules providing the standards for lead—free and
lead—safe property, and the procedures for issuing certificates
of lead—free status and lead—safe status, are being promulgated
separately and are not expected to be published for several
months.

Result of Changing Federal and State Requirements

New HUD regulations create an urgent need for
appropriately trained and certified workers to conduct
activities that reduce or identify lead—based paint hazards.
Due to a lack of trained and certified individuals to perform
the activities required by the HUD regulations, housing
agencies in Wisconsin have been forced to ask HUD for a
6—month extension before beginning enforcement of the
regulations. To be granted the extension, the agencies must
provide a plan for increasing the number of certified persons
to meet the demand by March 15, 2001. If HUD does not grant
an extension, millions of dollars in federal funding for
rehabilitation and lead hazard reduction may be lost.

In addition to the demand for certified persons generated
by the HUD regulations, Act 113 is generating its own
demand for certified persons. Many property owners want to
begin reducing lead—based paint hazards on their properties in
order to meet the standards for lead—free or lead—safe property
when the standards take effect. Although property owners
and their employees may be certified now under Chapter HFS
163, Wis. Adm. Code, some property owners feel 5 days of
training is too extensive for the work they will be performing.
Act 113 requires the Department to establish the requirements
for a training course of up to 16 hours that property owners,
their agents and employees may complete in order to receive
certification. This emergency rule meets the requirement of Act
113 by providing for certification as a lead (Pb) low-risk
supervisor to independently perform limited lead hazard
reduction activities after only 2 days of training.

Department Response

The Department is gravely concerned that a lack of
properly trained and certified individuals to meet the
increased demand may lead to an increase in lead poisoning
due to work being performed by untrained individuals. The
new disciplines in this emergency order will help meet the
demand for certified individuals because the rules reduce the
training hours required for certification by targeting training to
specific activities. With more individuals becoming certified,
housing authorities and property owners will be able to comply
with HUD regulations and property owners will be able to
reduce lead—based paint hazards in preparation for the
implementation of Act 113 lead—free and lead—safe property
standards.

In promulgating these revisions to the certification and
training accreditation requirements under chapter HFS 163, the
Department seeks to meet the needs of all the parties affected
by training or certification requirements under State, federal or
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local lead regulations. For each revision made by these rules,
the Department considered the impact of the cost, the ease with
which persons could comply, the ability to easily move to a
higher level of certification, and the consistency with other
regulations. In developing the low-risk worker and low—risk
supervisor disciplines, the Department also considered
potential requirements of EPA’s renovation and remodeling
regulations.

The Department divided required training into smaller
independent modules to allow individuals to complete the
least amount of training necessary to safely and accurately
perform the lead—based paint activities for which the
individual becomes certified. In addition, the Department:

e Divided lead hazard reduction activities into those that are
low-risk and high-risk.

e Divided site management activities into project design and
supervision of low-risk versus high-risk activities.

* Divided lead investigation activities conducted by lead risk
assessors into sampling, inspection, and hazard investigation.

* Revised the definitions, training and certification requirements and
accreditation standards to reflect these categories of activities.

Publication Date: December 1, 2000

Effective Date: December 1, 2000

Expiration Date: April 30, 2001

Hearing Date:  January 12, 16, 17, 18 and 19, 2001

Natural Resources — (3)
(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1-)

1. Rules adopted creating s. NR 1.445 and revising
ch. NR 51, relating to the stewardship program.

Exemption from finding of emergency

Emergency rules are necessary for the department to act as
authorized under s. 23.0917, Stats., as created by 1999 Wis.
Act 9. According to section 9136 (10g) of this Act, the
department is not required to make a finding of emergency or
provide evidence that promulgating this emergency rule is
necessary for the preservation of public peace, health, safety
or welfare. In addition, the emergency rules promulgated
under this authority remain in effect until June 30, 2001, or
until the date on which the corresponding permanent rules
take effect, whichever is sooner.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Natural
Resources:

Statutory authority: ss. 227.11 (2), 227.24, Stats, and
s. 9136 (10g), 1999 Wis. Act 9

Statutes interpreted: ss. 23.09 (19), (20) and (20m), 23.0917,
23.092, 23.094, 23.096, 23.098, 23.17, 23.175, 23.197, 23.27,
23.29, 23.295, 30.24 and 30.277, Stats.

The emergency rule:
* Implements a statutory change that requires the department
to obtain county approval for acquisitions in counties where
greater than 66% of the land is publicly owned.
e Moves three stewardship grant programs (local park aids,
urban green space, and urban rivers) from ch. NR 50 to ch. NR
51. Improves grant administration by combining all
stewardship grant programs into one chapter.
* Revises and expands program definitions, including definitions
for nature-based outdoor recreation and middle kettle moraine, to
clarify terms, reflect statutory changes and improve grant
administration.
e Implements a statutory change that expands grant
eligibility to include non 501 (c) (3) organizations.
* Reorganizes the structure of chapter 51 to incorporate new
programs and local government programs.
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e Implements statutory changes that identify priorities and
expand the purposes for which nonprofit conservation
organizations can receive grants. Makes minor revisions to
improve grant administration.

* Makes minor revisions to bring the natural areas program
in line with statutory changes.

* Establishes the administrative framework for the new bluff
protection program. Defines “bluff” and sets program priorities.
* Makes minor revisions in the habitat areas and fisheries
program to bring the program in line with statutory changes and
improve grant administration.

 Establishes the administrative framework for acquisition of
property by the department and nonprofit conservation
organizations to preserve wild lakes. Defines “wild lake.”

* Makes minor revisions to the stream bank program to bring
the program in line with statutory changes.

* Makes minor revisions to the state trails program to
improve grant administration.

e Implements a statutory change that makes nonprofit
conservation organizations eligible for grants for state property
development. Revises grant priorities and makes minor
revisions to improve administration of the state property
development grant program.

* Establishes the administrative framework and sets
priorities for the new Baraboo Hills subprogram.

e Clarifies and streamlines the administration of local
assistance grants to governmental units.

* Clarifies and streamlines the administration of the local park
aids, urban green space, and urban rivers grant programs which
provide grant funds for governmental units and nonprofit
conservation organizations. Implements statutory changes that
require that all grants issued under these programs be for
nature-based outdoor recreation. Lists eligible nature—based
projects and sets grant priorities. Also implements a statutory
change that allows “shoreline enhancements” to be funded under
the urban rivers program and provides a list of typical shorelines
enhancements that will qualify for the program.

* Establishes the administrative framework for the new
acquisition of development rights program that provides grant
funds to local governments and nonprofit conservation
organizations. Sets priorities and identifies other factors that will
be considered in awarding grants.

* Makes minor revisions to improve administration of the
Heritage state park and forest trust program.

Publication Date: September 1, 2000

Effective Date: September 1, 2000

Expiration Date: See section 9136 (10g), 1999 Wis. Act 9
Hearing Dates: November 1 & 2, 2000

2. Rules adopted revising ch. NR 47, relating to the federal
cost sharing program to suppress gypsy moths.

Finding of emergency

An emergency rule is necessary in order to make the cost
shared gypsy moth suppression program available for aerial
treatments in May 2001. Given the survival of caterpillars this
summer, the department expects that populations of gypsy
moth will be high enough in some localities in 2001 to
necessitate suppression to protect tree health. In order to offer
participation in the aerial treatment project and cost sharing
from the U.S. Forest Service, it is necessary that preparatory
work be done this fall and winter to define treatment blocks.
When gypsy moth outbreaks occur, the public typically
becomes concerned and looks for ways to reduce the
population of gypsy moth to tolerable levels. Treatments to kill
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large numbers of the pest can be expensive, at times damaging
to our native insects and other animals, or even dangerous to the
landowner and others when pesticides are not used according
to directions. The Department organized suppression program
will provide the public with a safe, effective and affordable
means to prevent damage to their trees.

Publication Date:  November 10, 2000
Effective Date: November 10, 2000
Expiration Date: April 9, 2001
Hearing Date: January 17, 2001

3. Rules adopted revising ch. NR 6 relating to defining
unreasonable and improper speed to include operating a
snowmobile at speeds greater than 50 MPH during the
hours of darkness.

Finding of emergency

During the 1999-2000 snowmobile season conservation
wardens investigated 38 fatal snowmobile accidents. Of these
accidents, 10 deaths could be directly attributed to operation
at excessive speed during the hours of darkness. Fourteen
other deaths could have been avoided if the operators had
observed more prudent speeds, allowing them to avoid
nighttime hazards. Potentially 24 of the 38 fatalities could
have been avoided if the snowmobiler had been operating at
slower speeds during the hours of darkness. Unless an
immediate change is made in the snowmobile laws similar
number of avoidable fatalities will occur during the
2000-2001 snowmobile season. Even greater numbers could
occur if the early snows seen in November of 2000 remain,
thereby extending the snowmobile season beyond that
experienced in 1999-2000.

Publication Date:  December 15, 2000
Effective Date: December 15, 2000
Expiration Date: May 14, 2001
Hearing Date: January 17, 2001

Natural Resources
(Environmental Protection — Investigation and
Remediation, Chs. NR 700—-)

Rules adopted creating ch. NR 754 relating to environmental
insurance requirements for liability exemptions for
voluntary remediation.

Exemption from finding of emergency
This rule is being promulgated as an emergency rule

because 1999 Wis. Act 9 (Section 9136(3)) required the

adoption of this rule as an emergency rule (following the
procedures in s. 227.24, Stats.). 1999 Wis. Act 9 stated that
the department is not required to provide evidence that this
rule is necessary for the preservation of the public peace,

health, safety or welfare and without having to provide a

finding of emergency.

Analysis prepared by the Dept. of Natural Resources
Statutory authority: ss. 227.11(2) and 227.24, Stats.
Statute interpreted: s. 292.15, Stats.

Section 292.15 (2) (ae) 3m., Stats., directs the department
to promulgate rules to describe the requirements that must be
met by a voluntary part seeking a Certificate of Completion,
where natural attenuation is employed as the remedial action.
The 1999-2001 State Budget (1999 Wisconsin Act 9) created
s. 292.15(2)(ae), Stats., which allows parties to use natural
attenuation as a remedy to obtain the voluntary party liability
exemption. This section includes a provision where the DNR



Page 10

may require a voluntary party to obtain environmental
insurance if the voluntary party wants to receive a Certificate
of Completion before the groundwater enforcement standards
are met through natural attenuation. This rule requires that all
voluntary parties who apply for the liability exemption under
this section obtain environmental insurance to cover the cost
to cleanup the environment if natural attenuation fails.

Publication Date:  March 6, 2001
Effective Date: March 6, 2001
Expiration Date: August 3, 2001
Hearing Date: April 16, 2001

[See Notice this Register]

Public Service Commission (2)

1. Rules adopted creating s. PSC 2.06, relating to procedures
for the confidential treatment of records.

Exemption from finding of emergency

At the direction of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s.227.26 (2) (b), Stats., the
Commission adopts a rule to create s. PSC 2.06, Wis. Adm.
Code, relating to procedures for the confidential treatment of
records.

Analysis by the Public Service Commission

Statutory authority: ss. 196.02(1) and (3), 227.11, 227.24
and 227.26, Stats.

Statutes interpreted: ss. 196.14, 196.72 and 196.795 (9),
Stats.

On August 15, 2000, the Commission voted to promulgate
administrative rules on requests for confidential handling of
documents filed with the Commission. On September 20,
2000, the Joint Committee for Review of Administrative Rules
directed the Commission to adopt a rule on the subject under
s.227.26 (2) (b), Stats. This rule creates a process for obtaining
a designation of confidential status. Under the rule, a
determination on whether information shall be treated
confidentially shall be made at the time the information is given
to the Commission. Under previous Commission procedures,
if a person filing a document sought confidential treatment of
information in the document, the filer could do so by
identifying the grounds under which confidentiality could be
granted. The Commission would accept the filing, but the
acceptance did not constitute a determination that public access
to the information would not be permitted. The Commission
would determine if confidential status should be granted when
a request for that information was made by another person.

Under this rule, a person who wishes the Commission to
keep confidential information in the possession of the
Commission, or requested by the Commission, must make an
application for confidential status. The application must
identify the information for which confidential treatment is
sought and identify the authority under which confidential
status should be granted. Within 21 days after receiving an
application, the Commission may seek additional information
from the applicant, if needed, to make a confidentiality
determination. The applicant must respond within 30 days to
the information request.

The Commission will make a determination on a
confidentiality request within 30 days of receiving the
additional information or within 30 days of the filing of the
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application if no additional information is needed. The
determination will specify what, if any, information is given
confidential treatment and the basis for that determination.

The Commission will give the applicant written notice of its
determination. The Commission shall post all determinations
regarding confidentiality on its website and may give other
appropriate notice. If an applicant is authorized to file
information confidentially in the context of a Commission
proceeding, the applicant shall serve a copy of the determination
on all persons listed on the service list for that proceeding.

Publication Date:  October 23, 2000
Effective Date: October 23, 2000
Expiration Date: March 22, 2001

Extension Through: May 20, 2001

2. Rules adopted amending s. PSC 116.06 (1) and (2),
relating to the triggering mechanism and the period of
time in which fuel costs are estimated for purposes of
seeking an emergency or extraordinary rate increase
under s. PSC 116.06.

Finding of emergency

In order to preserve the health, safety, and welfare of
Wisconsin residential, commercial and industrial ratepayers
it is necessary to amend s. PSC 116.06 (1) and (2), which
would allow the Commission to grant a rate increase to an
applicable Class A electric public utility based on estimated
fuel cost for the year in which it is reasonably anticipated that
the rate increase would go into effect. In granting the rate
change the Commission must find, after a hearing confined
solely to fuel costs, that the utility is eligible to seek an
emergency or extraordinary rate increase under the current
rule, an emergency or extraordinary increase in the cost of fuel
exists, and the fuel cost increase will affect the utility’s
average yearly fuel costs for the year in which it is reasonably
anticipated that the rate increase would go into effect so as to
fall outside the established annual range for that year. This
change would assist in implementing the rule at a time of
volatile fuel costs.

Publication Date:  December 28, 2000
Effective Date: December 28, 2000
Expiration Date: May 27, 2001
Hearing Date: January 23, 2001

Tobacco Control Board

Rules adopted creating ch. TCB 1, relating to the
administration and awarding of grants for tobacco control
and establishing criteria for recipients of the grants.

Finding of emergency

The Wisconsin Tobacco Control Board finds that an
emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the health, safety and welfare of
Wisconsin residents, particularly youth and current smokers.
A statement of the facts constituting the emergency is as
follows:

The health and fiscal impact of tobacco use are well
documented. In Wisconsin alone, 7,800 deaths occur each year
from tobacco—related disease. In addition, Wisconsin
government, residents and health care providers pay over $1.3
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billion annually for health care costs associated with tobacco
use.

While tobacco’s effects are in individuals’ futures,
immediate action is required to reverse the recent trend
toward rising youth addiction and resulting long—term
negative health effects of tobacco use. According to the
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, over 3,000
youths begin smoking every day in the United States. In
Wisconsin alone, there has been a 19 percent increase in high
school tobacco use since 1993, with over 38 percent of high
school youth smoking a cigarette in the last month. This
increase in youth tobacco use is particularly threatening since
over 90 percent of current smokers began smoking before the
age of 18. Of the current 1 million smokers in Wisconsin, half
will die from tobacco-related diseases such as emphysema,
lung cancer, heart disease and stroke.

In addition, tobacco use among specific populations
continues to present an ongoing threat to the health of
Wisconsin citizens. Wisconsin has a rate of tobacco use
among pregnant women that is 30 percent higher than the
national average. In addition, the national smoking rate
among African—American youth doubled from 14 percent in
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1993 to 28 percent in 1997. Finally, the 48% smoking rate of
Medicaid recipients is twice the rate of the general population.

The ongoing and emerging health impacts and costs
associated with tobacco use necessitate the immediate
implementation of the comprehensive initiative to address
tobacco use in Wisconsin.

The Board, through this order, is creating chapter TCB 1
relating to the Board’s administering and awarding grants for
tobacco control and establishing criteria for recipients of the
grants. The rule is being promulgated under the authority of
s. 255.15 (1m), Stats., for the purpose of establishing criteria,
procedures, requirements and conditions for the award of
project grants from the appropriation under s. 20.436 (1) (tc),
Stats., to organizations that operate or propose to operate
programs reducing tobacco use by preventing tobacco use,
promoting tobacco use cessation and eliminating environmental
tobacco smoke.

Publication Date:  November 7, 2000
Effective Date: November 7, 2000
Expiration Date: April 6, 2001
Hearing Date: January 10, 2001
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Scope statements
Financial Institutions Statutory authority for the rule:
. Section 215.135, Stats.
Subject

Section DFI—SB 16.03 (7) relating to investments in
development companies.

Description of policy issues:

Description of the objective of the rule:

The objective of the rule is to create s. DFI—SB 16.03 (7).
Description of existing relevant policies and new policies
proposed to be included in the rule and an analysis of policy
alternatives:

Currently state—chartered banks are authorized to invest, in
an amount not to exceed in the aggregate 5% of its capital, in
shares of small business investment companies located in this
state. However, similar authorization does not exist for
state—chartered savings banks.  This rule authorizes
state—chartered savings banks to similarly invest. This rule
helps state—chartered savings banks to remain competitive
with other financial institutions.

Statutory authority for the rule:
Section 214.03, Stats.

Estimate of the amount of time state employees will spend
to develop the rule and other resources necessary to
develop the rule:

Estimated time to be spent by state employees — 40 hours.
No other resources are necessary.

Contact information:
For additional information, contact:
Mark Schlei, Deputy General Counsel
Department of Financial Institutions
Office of the Secretary
P.O. Box 8861
Madison, WI 53708-8861
Tel. (608) 267-1705
TTY (608) 266—-8818

Financial Institutions

Subject
Section DFI—SL 16.05 relating to investments in
development companies.

Description of policy issues:

Description of the objective of the rule:

The objective of the rule is to create s. DFI—SL 16.05.

Description of existing relevant policies and new policies
proposed to be included in the rule and an analysis of policy
alternatives:

Currently state—chartered banks are authorized to invest, in
an amount not to exceed in the aggregate 5% of its capital, in
shares of small business investment companies located in this
state. However, similar authorization does not exist for
state—chartered savings banks.  This rule authorizes
state—chartered savings banks to similarly invest. This rule
helps state—chartered savings banks to remain competitive
with other financial institutions.

Estimate of the amount of time state employees will spend
to develop the rule and other resources necessary to
develop the rule:

Estimated time to be spent by state employees — 40 hours.
No other resources are necessary.

Contact information:
For additional information, contact:
Mark Schlei, Deputy General Counsel
Department of Financial Institutions
Office of the Secretary
P.O. Box 8861
Madison, WI 53708-8861
Tel. (608) 267-1705
TTY (608) 266—8818

Insurance

Subject
Revision of s. Ins 50.06 (2) (f), relating to notes to annual
audited financial statements.

Policy analysis

Objective of the rule. This rule will simplify rule language
concerning required notes to annual audited financial
statements that insurers file with the commissioner.

Analysis. There is no policy change, current policy is to
follow National Association of Insurance Commissioners’
(NAIC) guidelines in the interest of uniformity, a change in
NAIC guidelines makes specific language in the current rule
superfluous.

Statutory authority
Sections 601.41 (3) and 601.42

Staff time required
10 hours

Natural Resources

Subject

A revision to ch. NR 25 relating to commercial fishing rule
changes recommended by the commercial fisheries task
force.

Policy analysis

The commercial fisheries task force recommended 12 key
areas for changes to the commercial fishing regulations. At
the August 16, 2000 Natural Resources Board meeting the
Board approved the recommendations of the task force and
directed department personnel to start the rule writing
process. Groups impacted and interested in these issues
include: Commercial fisheries task force, Lake Michigan and
Lake Superior commercial fishing boards, licensed
commercial fishermen and crew members, Great Lakes sport
fishing groups, and wholesale fish dealers.

The commercial fisheries task force was formed to address
the following stated issue: “The long term stability of Great
Lakes fish stocks are in jeopardy. Under current laws and
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limited Department resources, we cannot determine or
control the number of fish being harvested. Current laws fail
to deter false reporting, unlawful harvest, and unlawful sale
of commercial fish species. As a result, consumers, sport
fishers, commercial fishers, wholesale fish dealers, and others
suffer from reduced bag limits, reduced quotas, and lost
business opportunities.”

Statutory authority
Sections 29.014, 29.519 and 227.11 (2) (a)

Staff Time Required
990 hours

Natural Resources

Subject

Rule development for pen standards for captive animals
held under the authority of a dog training permit. Rule
development for the use of captive bear for bear dog training
and bear dog trials.

Policy analysis

Currently the dog training rules do not specify pen
standards for captive animals held under the authority of a dog
training and the rules do not address the use of captive bear for
bear dog training and bear dog trial purposes. Only general
guidelines for the use of captive animals are in place to deal
with the issue.

Groups likely impacted are members of the Conservation
Congress (bear committee and hunting with dogs committee),
Wisconsin Wildlife Federation and Wisconsin Bear Hunters
Association. Groups interested include Raising Awareness of
the Value of Endangered Nature (RAVEN) Alliance for
Animals and Humane Society of Wisconsin.

Currently the dog training rules do not specify pen
standards for captive animals held under the authority of a dog
training license and the rules do not address the use of captive
bear for bear dog training and bear dog trial purposes.
Minimum pen standards are established by ch. NR 16 that
should apply uniformly to any person possessing live captive
animals. The use of captive bears for dog training purposes
has become more prevalent which raises concerns about
humane care and treatment of captive bear. Captive bear are
held under the authority of game farm license that has very
specific pen standards and barrier fence standards which are
being ignored when the captive bear are used for dog training
purposes. The department has a statutory mandate to ensure
that captive animals receive humane, adequate and sanitary
care. This requirement is especially acute with captive bear
which can live 15 to 30 years in captivity.

Statutory authority
Sections 29.014 (1), 29.321 and 227.11 (2) (a)

Staff Time Required
152 hours

Natural Resources

Subject

Amendments to sections NR 809.50, 809.51, 809.52 and
809.53, relating to safe drinking water regulations for
radionuclides.

Policy analysis
This rule will establish a Maximum Contaminant Level
(MCL) of 5 pCi/l for radium 226 plus radium 228 in drinking
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water. This MCL has been under review since USEPA
proposed revisions to the radionuclide rule in 1991. This rules
also establishes MCLs and monitoring requirements for gross
alpha activity, gross beta activity and uranium in drinking
water. Action by the Bureau of Watershed Management to
address acceptable methods for disposing drinking water
treatment plant wastes that contain radionuclides is expected
to occur in 2001, but will be delayed from the timeframe
indicated. Some minor rule changes will also be presented to
correct typographical errors and include clarifications issued
by USEPA for existing rules.

The United States Environmental Protection Agency
(USEPA) published a final rule to establish drinking water
standards for radionuclides on December 7, 2000. As a
primacy agency, the Department must develop drinking water
standards to be included in ch. NR 809 that are no less
stringent than the federal regulations.

Statutory authority
Sections 281.17 (8), 227.11 (2), 281.11 and 281.12

Staff Time Required
141 to 191 hours

Transportation

Policy analysis

Objective of the rule. Chapter Trans 260 governs single trip
permits for mobile homes/manufactured homes. Chapter
Trans 261 governs multiple trip permits for mobile
homes/manufactured homes. The proposed amendments are
intended to redefine the dimensions allowable under multiple
and single trip permits, and will redefine the way that single
and multiple trip mobile home permit dimensions are
measured, and consider provisions for escort requirements.

Current allowable dimensions for multiple and single trip
permits are outdated, considering recent changes in
manufactured housing design. New configurations exceed
the dimensions for multiple trip permits, and require single
trip permits. By redefining the allowable dimensions, the
number of single trip permits needed will decrease. This will
reduce workload in DMV and also improve permit
turnaround time, which will benefit industry. DOT issues all
permits for mobile home transport. To improve consistency
of administration and enforcement, the Department wants the
way in which dimensions are measured for single and
multiple trip permits to be uniform.

Statutory authority
Section 348.25 (3)
Staff time required

Approximately 300 hours

Transportation
Policy analysis

Objective of the rule. This proposal will amend ch. Trans 276,
which establishes a network of highways on which long
combination vehicles may operate, by adding one highway
segment to the network. The actual segment being proposed
is State Trunk Highway 48 from STH 53 in Rice Lake to STH
40.

Federal law requires the Department of Transportation to
react within 90 days to requests for changes to the long truck
route network. Wisconsin state law requires that the
Department use the administrative rule process to deal with
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changes to the long truck route network. Chapter Trans 276
is an existing rule set up for long truck routes. The
Department has received a request from Birchwood Lumber
and Veneer Company, Birchwood, WI, to add the highway
segment.
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Statutory authority
Section 348.07 (4)
Staff time required

It is estimated that state employees will spend 40 hours on the
rule-making process, including research, drafting and
conducting a public hearing.
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Submittal of rules to legislative council clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings for further information on a particular rule.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
Rule Submittal Date

On February 27, 2001, the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection submitted a proposed
rule to the Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed rule makes minor remedial drafting
changes to current department rules under chapters
ATCP 92, 1, 29, 30, 57,91, 98, 101, 109, 110, 111, 116,
and 121.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

The department will hold a public hearing on April 25,
2001.

Contact Information

The department’s Office of Legal Counsel is primarily
responsible for this rule.

If you have questions, you may contact:
Roxy Capelle at (608) 224-5023.

Medical Examining Board
Rule Submittal Date
On March 14, 2001, the Medical Examining Board

submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council
Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rule—making order relates to the USMLE
examination.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on May 16,
2001 at 8:30 a.m. in Room 179A, Medical Examining
Board, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Madison,
Wisconsin.

Contact Information
If you have questions, you may contact:
Pamela Haack, Paralegal

Administrative Rules Coordinator
(608) 266—0495

Medical Examining Board
Rule Submittal Date
On March 14, 2001, the Medical Examining Board

submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council
Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed rule-making order relates to prescribing or
dispensing schedule II amphetamines or schedule II
anorectics.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on May 16,
2001 at 8:30 a.m. in Room 179A, Medical Examining
Board, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Madison,
Wisconsin.

Contact Information

If you have questions, you may contact:
Pamela Haack, Paralegal
Administrative Rules Coordinator
(608) 266—0495

Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists
and Professional Counselors Examining Board

Rule Submittal Date
On March 5, 2001, the Examining Board of Social
Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists and
Professional Counselors submitted a proposed rule to the
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rule-making order relates to professional
counselor training certificates.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on May 17,
2001 at 10:00 a.m. in Room 179A, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin.

Contact Information

If you have questions, you may contact:
Pamela Haack, Paralegal
Administrative Rules Coordinator
(608) 266—0495

Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists
and Professional Counselors Examining Board
Rule Submittal Date
On March 5, 2001, the Examining Board of Social
Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists and

Professional Counselors submitted a proposed rule to the
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed rule—making order relates to conforming
existing rules to present practices and to other rules.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on May 22,
2001 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 179A, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin.

Contact Information

If you have questions, you may contact:
Pamela Haack, Paralegal
Administrative Rules Coordinator
(608) 266—0495
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Rule—making notices

Notice of Hearing

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
[CR 01-21]
(Reprinted from mid—March 2001 Register)

The State of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade
and Consumer Protection announces that it will hold a public
hearing on proposed rule changes to ATCP 29, Wis. Adm.
Code. The hearing will be held at the time and place shown
below. The public is invited to attend the hearing and make
comments on the proposed rule. Following the public
hearing, the hearing record will remain open until April 11,
2001, for additional written comments.

A copy of this rule may be obtained free of charge, from the
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection, Division of Agricultural Resource Management,
2811 Agriculture Drive, P.O. Box 8911, Madison WI 53708
or by calling (608) 224-4523. Copies will also be available
at the public hearing.

An interpreter for the hearing impaired will be available on
request for the hearing. Please make reservations for a
hearing interpreter by March 21, 2001 either by writing Karen
Ayers, 2811 Agriculture Drive, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI
53708, (608/224-4523), or by contacting the message relay
system (TTY) at 608/224—-5058. Handicap access is available
at the hearing.

Wednesday, March 28, 2001 from 1:00 p.m.—5:00 p.m.
Wisconsin Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection

Board Room

2811 Agriculture Drive

Madison, WI 53718-6777.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection

Statutory authority: ss. 93.07 (1) and 94.73(15)

Statutes interpreted: ss. 94.681 (3), 94.685 (3) (a) 2.,
94.703 (3) (a) 2. and 94.704 (3) (a) 2.

This rule increases pesticide license fee surcharges in order
to continue funding for the agricultural chemical cleanup
program under s. 94.73, Stats.

Background

The department of agriculture, trade and consumer
protection (DATCP) administers an agricultural chemical
cleanup program under s. 94.73, Stats. This program is
designed to clean up environmental contamination caused by
spills of fertilizers and nonhousehold pesticides. Under the
cleanup program, DATCP may reimburse a portion of the
eligible cleanup costs. Over 360 contaminated sites are being
cleaned up under this program.

When the cleanup program was first established, it was
funded by a combination of general tax dollars (GPR) and
agricultural chemical license fee surcharges. But the
Legislature later withdrew GPR funding. The Legislature
also transferred $500,000 in license fee surcharge funds from
this program to the state general fund. The program is now
funded entirely by license fee surcharges.

Under s. 94.73 (15), Stats., DATCP must adjust these
surcharges by rule, as necessary, to maintain a cleanup fund
balance of not more than $5 million and not less than $2
million. In response to a fund surplus, DATCP adopted rules
suspending license fee surcharges until December, 2002. But
an increase in cleanup reimbursement claims has depleted the
fund more rapidly than expected. DATCP currently projects
that the fund balance will fall below the required $2 million
minimum amount later this calendar year. If no new funding
is provided, the fund balance will likely fall to zero in the next
biennium.

In order to provide continued funding for cleanup projects,
this rule reinstates pesticide license fee surcharges beginning
in December, 2001. This rule change will likely prevent the
fund balance from falling to zero, but will not necessarily
maintain the required minimum balance of $2 million. This
rule does not affect fertilizer license fees, which will
automatically resume in August, 2002.

Pesticide Manufacturers and Labelers; License Fee
Surcharges

Under this rule, pesticide manufacturers and labelers must
pay license fee surcharges based on their annual gross sales of
pesticide products in Wisconsin:

e For each product with annual gross sales less than
$25,000, the surcharge is $5. This surcharge is added to the
current basic license fee of $275 per product.

e For each product with annual gross sales between
$25,000 and $75,000, the surcharge is $100. This surcharge
is added to the current basic license fee of $790.

e For each product with annual gross sales greater than
$75,000, the surcharge is 0.75% of gross sales. This surcharge
is added to the current basic license fee of $2760 plus 0.2% of
gross sales.

A manufacturer or labeler must pay the required surcharge
for each license year ending December 31, based on sales for
the 12 months ending September 30 of the preceding license
year. This rule first applies to license applications for the year
2002. To obtain a license for the year 2002, an applicant must
pay surcharges based on sales for the 12 months ending
September 30, 2001.

Dealers and Distributors of Restricted—Use Pesticides;
License Fee Surcharges

Under this rule, a dealer or distributor of restricted—use
pesticides must pay an annual license fee surcharge for each
business location. This surcharge adds $40 to the current
annual license fee of $60 per business location. A dealer or
distributor must pay the surcharge to obtain a license for each
year ending December 31, beginning with the 2002 license
year.

Pesticide Application Businesses

Under this rule, a pesticide commercial application
business must pay an annual license fee surcharge for each
business location. The surcharge adds $55 to a current annual
license fee of $70 per business location. A pesticide
application business must pay the surcharge in order to obtain
a license for each license year ending December 31, beginning
with the 2002 license year.
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Individual Commercial Applicators

Under this rule, an individual commercial applicator of
pesticides must pay an annual license fee surcharge of $20,
which is added to the current annual license fee of $30. An
individual commercial applicator must pay the surcharge in
order to obtain a license for each license year ending
December 31, beginning with the 2002 license year.

Fiscal estimate
See page 18 from the 3/15/01 Wis. Adm. Register.

Initial regulatory flexibility analysis
See page 18 from the 3/15/01 Wis. Adm. Register.

Notice of Hearing

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
[CR 01-28]

The State of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade
and Consumer Protection announces that it will hold a public
hearing on proposed rules relating to minor remedial drafting
changes to department rules. The hearing will be held at the
time and place shown below. The public is invited to attend
the hearing and make comments on the proposed rules.
Following the public hearing, the hearing record will remain
open until April 30, 2001, for additional written comments.

A copy of this rule may be obtained free of charge, from the
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection, Division of Legal Counsel, 2811 Agriculture
Drive, P.O. Box 8911, Madison WI 53708, or by calling (608)
224-5023. Copies will also be available at the hearings.

An interpreter for the hearing impaired will be available on
request for these hearings. Please make reservations for a
hearing interpreter by April 18, 2001, by writing to Roxy
Capelle, Division of Legal Counsel, P.O. Box 8911, Madison
WI 53708-8911, telephone (608) 224-5023. Alternatively,
you may contact the Department TDD at (608) 224-5058.
Handicap access is available at the hearings.

One hearing is scheduled:

Wednesday, April 25, 2001

1:30 p.m. until 3:30 p.m.

Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
Board Room

2811 Agriculture Drive

Madison, WI 53704

Handicapped accessible

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection

Statutory Authority: s. 93.07 (1)
Statutes Interpreted: s. 93.07(10), 95.20 and 95.25

This rule makes the following minor remedial drafting
changes to current DATCP rules:

Modifies ch. ATCP 1 (administrative orders and contested
cases) to be consistent with s. 227.485, Stats., and the
Wisconsin Court of Appeals decision in Gordon v. State
Medical Examining Board, 225 Wis. 2d 552 (Ct. App. 1999).
This rule clarifies that a prevailing party filing a motion for
costs and attorneys fees in an administrative contested case
must file that motion within 30 days after the department
issues its proposed (not final) decision in the case. If the
department issues its final decision without first issuing a
proposed decision, the prevailing party may file the motion
within 30 days after the department issues its final decision.
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Under current law, the administrative law judge who hears the
case must issue a proposed decision if the administrative law
judge is not the final decisionmaker. This rule clarifies (per
current law) that if the administrative law judge is the final
decisionmaker, the administrative law judge may issue a final
decision without first issuing a proposed decision.

Clarifies the license expiration dates for bulk milk weigher
and sampler licenses. This rule clarifies (per current law) that
the license is a 2—year, not a 3—year license. A license
normally expires on September 30. But if the department
issues an original license prior to September 30 of any year,
based on an application received after August 15 of that year,
the license expires on the 3" September 30 after the
department issues the license.

Clarifies current rules related to home improvement
contracts. Under current rules (ch. ATCP 110), some home
improvement contracts must be in writing. A home
improvement contract must contain certain disclosures if (1)
current rules require a written contract or (2) the contract is
prepared on the seller’s “pre—printed contract form.” This
rule clarifies the second condition, which has been somewhat
difficult to interpret. Under this rule, a home improvement
contract must contain certain disclosures if (1) current rules
require a written contract or (2) the buyer signs a written
contract. This rule makes parallel modifications to other rule
provisions dealing with contract changes.

Repeals obsolete rule provisions related to motor fuel price
posting, including provisions authorizing the temporary use
of so—called “pennywheel conversion devices.” These
temporary provisions had a stated “sunset” date of December
31, 1998, and are no longer in effect.

Clarifies current prohibitions related to “referral selling
plans” (ATCP 121). Under current rules, a “referral selling
plan” means “any method of sale where the seller or lessor, as
an inducement for a consumer sale, offers compensation to a
prospective buyer or lessee either for (a) names of other
prospective buyers or lessees, or (b) otherwise aiding the
seller or lessor in making consumer sales.” A referral selling
plan operates like a pyramid scheme or lottery. Each buyer
purchases in reliance upon promised future payments that
may result if the buyer refers other sales prospects who
purchase in turn. But the payments may never occur, and the
“chain” of prospects inevitably breaks. In 1968, the
department prohibited referral selling plans unless the seller
compensates the buyer before making any sale to that buyer
(thus eliminating the element of “chance”). This rule clarifies
but does not change the current prohibition.

Eliminates obsolete references to statutes or rule
provisions that no longer exist, and corrects obsolete
references to statutes or rule provisions that have been
changed. Amends several rule titles, to shorten or clarify those
titles. Corrects a number of erroneous cross—references in
current rules. Makes non-substantive drafting and
organizational changes.

Fiscal Estimate

This rule will have no fiscal effect on the department or
local units of government.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

This rule makes minor remedial drafting changes to a
variety of DATCP rules. This rule merely clarifies rule
provisions, conforms current rule provisions to current law, or
makes non—substantive organizational or drafting changes.
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Notice of Hearing

Architects, Landscape Architects, Professional
Engineers, Designers and Land Surveyors
Examining Board
[CR 01-34]

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority
vested in the Examining Board of Architects, Landscape
Architects, Professional Engineers, Designers and Land
Surveyors in ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 137.06 and 227.11 (2), Stats.,
and interpreting s. 443.17, Stats., the Examining Board of
Architects, Landscape Architects, Professional Engineers,
Designers and Land Surveyors will hold a public hearing at
the time and place indicated below to consider an order to
create s. A-E 2.02 (7), relating to seals and stamps.

Hearing Date, Time and Location

Date: April 11, 2001

Time: 1:15 p.m.

Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue
Room 179A

Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing:

Interested persons are invited to present information at the
hearing. Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well. Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Administrative Rules, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708. Written comments must be received by
April 25, 2001 to be included in the record of rule-making
proceedings.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing

Statutes authorizing promulgation: ss. 15.08 (5) (b),
137.06 and 227.11 (2), Stats.

Statute interpreted: s. 443.17, Stats.

The current rules of the Examining Board of Architects,
Landscape Architects, Professional Engineers, Designers and
Land Surveyors require all registration seals or stamps affixed
to drawings and specifications to be filed as public documents
to be original seals or stamps. This proposed rule-making
order will authorize registrants to use electronic signatures, to
include use of registration seals or stamps, when submitting
drawings and specifications as public documents, as
permitted by the government unit receiving the drawings and
specifications. This proposed change will enhance the
options consistent with available technology and need a more
efficient means to submit original documents required as
public records. This proposed rule will create s. A-E 2.02 (7)
to include reference to affixing a seal or stamp to
specifications as well as drawings to be filed as original
documents. The rule also clarifies which authority a
registrant must follow when using electronic signatures.

Text of Rule

SECTION 1. A-E 2.02 (7) is repealed and recreated to
read:

A-E 2.02 (7) (a) All seals or stamps affixed to drawings
and specifications to be filed as public documents shall be
original. No stickers or electronically scanned images shall
be allowed.
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(b) All seals and stamps on drawings and specifications to
be filed as public documents shall be signed and dated by the
registered professional as follows:

1. In a permanent ink contrasting with the seal and the
background; or,

2. Utilizing an electronic signature meeting the
requirements of s. 137.06, Stats., if permitted by the
governmental unit that is to receive the drawings and
specifications.

(c) If other standards for signatures or seals are prescribed
by statute, the statutes shall govern.

Fiscal Estimate

1. The anticipated fiscal effect on the fiscal liability and
revenues of any local unit of government of the proposed rule
is: $0.00.

2. The projected anticipated state fiscal effect during the
current biennium of the proposed rule is: $0.00.

3. The projected net annualized fiscal impact on state funds
of the proposed rule is: $0.00.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

These proposed rules will be reviewed by the department
through its Small Business Review Advisory Committee to
determine whether there will be an economic impact on a
substantial number of small businesses, as defined in s.
227.114 (1) (a), Stats.

Copies of Rule and Contact Person

Copies of this proposed rule are available without cost
upon request to: Pamela Haack, Department of Regulation
and Licensing, Office of Administrative Rules, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Room 171, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708 (608) 266—0495.

Notice of Hearings

Corrections
[CR 00-140]

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 227.11
(2) (a), 302.07, 302.08, 302.11 (2) and 302.04, Stats., the
department of corrections proposes the following rule relating
to classification, assessment and evaluation and program
review.

Hearing information:

Date & Time Location

April 17, 2001 Room 041

Tuesday State Office Building, GEF III

11:00 A.M. 125 S. Webster
Madison, Wisconsin

April 18, 2001 Room 120

Wednesday State Office Building

10:00 a.m. 141 N.W. Barstow Street
Waukesha, Wisconsin

April 19, 2001 Room 136

Thursday State Office Building

11:00 AM. 1681 214 Avenue South

Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin

The public hearing sites are accessible to people with
disabilities.

Proposed Order of the Department of Corrections
Repealing and Recreating rules

The Wisconsin department of corrections proposes an
order to repeal ss. DOC 302.01-302.20, and create ss. DOC
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302.01-302.205, relating to classification, assessment and
evaluation, and program review.

Analysis by the Department of Corrections

Statutory authority: ss. 301.02, 301.03 (2), 302.07 and
227.11 (2), Stats.

Statutes interpreted: ss. 301.046, 301.048, 302.045,
302.055, 302.07, 302.08, 302.15, 302.18, 302.27, 303.065
and 303.068, Stats.

After more than 20 years of experience with the rules
related to classification, assessment and evaluation, and
program review, the Department of Corrections proposes to
update the rules.

Need for Revision

The need for these changes cannot be overstated. The
current rule was written and enacted at a time when the
classification unit was a part of the adult institution system
and at a time when the entire adult institution population
represented fewer than 4,500 inmates. That system included
all maximum, medium and minimum security facilities.
Personnel  staffing  committees and  reviewing
recommendations came from within the system and did not
permit independent review or decision making. Often,
conflicting program and custody decisions were settled by the
same staff member affected by the outcome.

Chapter DOC 302 governs inmate classification,
assessment and evaluation, and program review at state
correctional institutions. As technology, science, population
and government evolve over time, practices must adapt to
those changes. We ultimately grow wiser and more efficient
based on new knowledge and procedures. What was thought
routine, necessary or even effective correctional practice in
1980 may not be accurate today.

For example, our prison population has grown from 1,930
in 1976 to more than 20,600 currently. This enormous
increase in prisoners, along with their increased level of
sophistication, has placed a greater burden on correctional
staff. In many ways, Wardens and staff no longer enjoy the
luxury of time that once afforded them the ability to maneuver
bureaucratic requirements. The situations encountered and
decisions that are made are infinitely different from those of
20 years ago when the current rule was promulgated.

While addressing the needs of the Department, including
internal restructuring and reorganization, this rule change also
retains and strengthens inmate involvement in the
classification processes including the assignment of custody,
program and placement. In general, the processes are
streamlined, require fewer mandatory reviews, and provide
options for dealing with emergencies and situations when the
offender is not accessible.

Background

This rule provides the Department a process for
determining custody classification, program or treatment
assignment, and transfer decisions concerning inmates. The
Department uses classification to regulate the level of
supervision and movement of inmates within and outside of
an institution.

Assessment and Evaluation provides the Department a
process for conducting the initial assessment on risk, criminal
and social background, sentence structure, academic and
vocational requirements; conducting certain kinds of
evaluations; determining custody classification; assessing the
motivation of an inmate; and formulating an individualized
plan to coordinate custody classification and recommended
programs for an inmate on arrival to the Department.
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Program Review provides the Department an ongoing
process for review of the custody, program and treatment
assignments and placement.

Definitions

This rule makes only the following definition change:
“Security  Classification” is changed to “Custody
Classification.”

This rule also changes “minimum security—community
residential confinement (CRC)” to “community” custody.

Custody Classification

Unlike the current rule, this rule clearly establishes that
custody classification is defined by an inmate’s level of risk.
This rule specifically provides that custody classification
function is to regulate the supervision and movement of
inmates among institutions and between institutions and
community programs and is defined by the risk associate with
any of the following:

Assaultive or predatory behavior;

Escape, walk—away, or absconding;

Misconduct;

Disruption to the orderly processes of an institution;

Participation and progress in program or treatment;

Adjustment and history under community supervision; and

Pending legal processes.

The higher the risk, the higher the inmate’s overall custody
level. Custody level is evaluated using a minimum of 14
different factors that summarize an offender’s history as best
possible. This includes the use of an objective risk rating
system. This rule also adds community concerns relating to
an offender’s risk as one of the factors considered when
determining custody classification. This rule also allows
parole commission actions and stated expectations such as the
likelihood of release during review period to be considered as
factors in assigning a custody classification

This rule establishes that program consideration is a right
that offenders have if certain prerequisites are met and space
is available. The rule clarifies that no offender can be forced
into programming and that program refusal may have an
impact on custody classification.

This rule condenses the current six custody classifications
into five by combining “maximum security close” and
“maximum security—general” to create “maximum.”

For each custody level, this rule requires certain levels of
monitoring relating to conduct, behavior and activities and
removes restrictions in the current rule regarding inmate
supervision, movement and programs. This change helps to
more clearly separate institutional issues from classification
issues. It is the institution’s responsibility to determine
housing, supervision and movement methods and policies.
Classification is responsible for designating the level of
custody.

Specifically, this rule provides that community custody
requires limited monitoring of conduct, behavior and
activities and removes restrictions regarding residence,
placement, purpose, allowing more flexibility within the
custody classification. Provides that community custody is
used for the following inmates who are in the community
without Department of Corrections escort:

Work or study release;

Off—grounds projects under
non—correctional staff’

Driving institution vehicles;

Leave for qualified inmates;

Community residential confinement;

supervision  of
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Intensive sanctions; and

Other programs which the department may establish.

This rule also guarantees that an inmate’s custody
classification shall be no greater than the institution’s
designated security classification except for pending
transfers, declared emergencies or disturbances.

This rule removes the 10 year old chart of institutions and
their designated classifications because this information is
continually changing due to new or altered institutions within
the system.

This rule applies a consistent procedure for custody
classification at the conclusion of A & E and deletes language
distinguishing procedures at Waupun, Green Bay and
Taycheedah.

Life Sentences

This rule simplifies the process for determining minimum
custody eligibility for inmates serving life sentences.
Offenders with life sentences are no longer designated as one
of four life categories. The current rule divides life sentence
inmates into four categories based on various factors
surrounding the nature of the crime, the inmate and the victim.
This process is tedious, difficult, and uncertain at best. This
new rule will simplify that process and treat all inmates
according to the same standards for determining eligibility for
minimum custody. Inmates serving a life sentence who have
reached the parole eligibility date will now be treated with the
same procedures used for all other inmates.

This rule provides that an inmate serving a life sentence
without the possibility of parole is not eligible for minimum
or community custody classification.

Assessment and Evaluation

Requires that the A & E process be done as “expeditiously
as possible” and removes the arbitrary timeframe of 6 weeks
after arrival. Obtaining certain information, such as
sentencing transcripts and Pre—Sentence Investigation
reports, often takes longer than six weeks. Without this
change, inmates that do not have these necessary documents
would have to be staffed and transferred. When these
documents become available, the PRCs would need to
conduct an early recall to consider the information. It is more
efficient to permit the A & E process to complete the review
even though it may take longer than the currently prescribed
six week time period.

This rule extends the time period to no more than 12
months for A&E review. This will reduce the number of
frivolous reviews and enable staff to set recall dates to
correspond to significant changes in offender plans.

Because housing, movement and supervision are
institutional issues and should not be confused with
classification issues, this rule removes language specifically
authorizing restricted movement during the A & E process.
Institutions maintain discretionary authority to separate an
inmate from the general resident population via custody
classification. See 302.07 and 302.12.

Provides that A & E reviews be conducted by a
classification specialist with the assistance of other staff as
needed and removes requirement that A & E be conducted by
a committee comprised of not less than 3 permanent
members. This change is necessary because the increased
number of admissions add a tremendous burden on the limited
resources of the institution to perform committee work. This
change permits the classification specialist to work directly
with the inmate in the process rather than relying on a second
or third party that may not know anything about the case. This
change will increase the A & E efficiency.
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Program Assignment

This rule allows inmates to be considered for school
assignments, vocational programs, or treatment assignments
provided the following conditions are met:

Inmate has an A & E or program review need in the area
considered;

Space available in the program;

Inmate attains necessary and appropriate custody
classification;

State or federal laws do not exclude the inmate from
participation; and

Inmate meets program or treatment prerequisites.

This rule allows the department to consider more than the
currently limiting list of factors regarding criteria for program
assignment.

Program Review

This rule provides a simplified program review process by
reducing the committee membership and allowing the
offender to deal directly with the committee rather than a
social worker. The current rule requires the social worker to
make comments to an inmate regarding a process they have
very little knowledge about. Often, the time between the
social worker’s interview with the inmate and the actual PRC
date may be several weeks, requiring information to be
updated for the committee. Further, the social worker’s
comments may not clearly reflect the inmate’s comments.
This rule change reduces the duplication of work, shortens the
time between the social worker’s comments and the PRC date,
and permits the inmate to discuss issues directly with the
committee.

This rule allows for alternative forms of communication
including telephone conference calls, video, written
comments and other electronic devices to greater involve the
inmate and ensure that program review is completed in a more
timely manner.

Recordkeeping

This rule creates a process where the institution may,
between regularly scheduled PRC, record certain information
concerning an inmate. Occasionally, inmate records need to
be updated but the PRC process is not required. This
provision will allow the institution to keep more accurate
records in a timely manner without confusing the need for a
PRC.

Appeals

This rule creates a process whereby an inmate may appeal
procedural issues relating to custody classification, transfer,
institution placement, and program or treatment assignment.

Orientation

Removes language allowing orientation sessions to be
conducted by inmates. Orientation is an administrative
process and should clearly be presented by staff so that
policies, procedures and descriptions of the system are
accurately stated. Inmates should not be in a position to
explain these issues to other inmates. It is unmistakably the
responsibility of the Department of Corrections.

This rule change removes language requiring specific
orientation procedures, including those for handicapped and
non—English speaking inmates, as these requirements are a
part of the Department’s continuing mission to provide
resources consistent with state and federal laws and
regulations including fundamental fairness and due process.

This rule removes requirement that each inmate, during A
& E or transfer from another institution, receive written copy
of the rules of conduct. Chapter DOC 303 already provides
for this.
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Section 1. Chapter DOC 302 is repealed and recreated to
read:

DOC 302.01 Applicability. Pursuant to authority vested in
the department of corrections by ss. 227.11 (2), 301.02,
301.03 (2), and 302.07 Stats, the department adopts this
chapter which applies to the department and all inmates in its
legal custody for implementation of ss. 301.046, 301.048,
302.045, 302.055, 302.07, 302.08, 302.15, 302.18, 302.27,
303.065 and 303.068, Stats.

DOC 302.02 Purpose of classification. (1) The purpose
of this chapter is to provide procedures for custody
classification, program or treatment assignments, and
transfers.

(2) The goals and objectives of this chapter are all of the
following:

(a) To classify every inmate based upon risk factors relative
to public safety, institutional security, and staff and inmate
safety.

(b) To establish and review the custody classification,
program or treatment assignments, and institution placement
that ensures public, staff, and inmate safety.

(c) To involve inmates in the processes for custody
classification, program or treatment assignments, and transfer
consideration.

(d) To the extent possible, match inmate need to institution
resources.

(e) To provide a documented current and historical
reference of custody classification, program or treatment
assignments, transfers and comments on each inmate.

DOC 302.03 Definitions. In this chapter:

(1) “A&E” or “assessment and evaluation” means
assessment and evaluation as performed under s. DOC
302.12.

(2) “Classification section chief” means the section chief
of the bureau of offender classification and movement.

(3) “Classification specialist” means the A&E or program
review staff person from the bureau of offender classification
and movement.

(4) “Custody classification” means the security rating
applied to an inmate based on the procedures of ss. DOC
302.13 and 302.17.

(5) “DAI” means the division of adult institutions,
department of corrections.

(6) “DCC” means the division of community corrections,
department of corrections.

(7) “Department” means the department of corrections.

(8) “Director” means the director of the bureau of offender
classification and movement, department of corrections, or
his or her designee.

(9) “Disciplinary hearing” means a hearing authorized
under ch. DOC 303 for the discipline of inmates for
misconduct.

(10) “IS” means intensive sanctions administered by the
department of corrections.

(11) “PRC” means the program review committee.

(12) “Program needs” means the program or treatment
needs of an individual inmate which reduce the risk to
re—offend, escape, or be a security problem during
confinement and promote readiness for community
reintegration.

(13) “Program review” or “PR” means the ongoing process
of monitoring of custody classification, institution placement
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and program or treatment assignments as performed under s.
DOC 302.17.

(14) “Program or treatment” means the programs,
treatment and services provided by an institution or the
department such as education, alcohol and drug abuse
treatment, sex offender treatment, and clinical and social
service counseling.

(15) “Secretary” means the secretary of the department of
corrections, or his or her designee.

(16) “Security classification” means the security level of an
institution based upon the physical plant characteristics, staff
resources and degree of supervision of inmates.

(17) “Superintendent” means a superintendent, or
designee, at a correctional center as established under s.
301.13, Stats..

(18) “Warden” means the warden, or designee, at an
institution.

(19) “Working days” means all days except Saturday,
Sunday, and state legal holidays.

DOC 302.04 Custody classification. (1) The purpose of
a custody classification is to determine the appropriate
placement of an inmate in order to regulate the supervision
and movement of inmates among institutions, and between
institutions and community programs.

(2) Custody classification is determined by assessing the
risk of each inmate regarding all of the following:

(a) Assaultive or predatory behavior.

(b) Escape, walk—away, and absconding occurrences.

(c) Violation of inmate disciplinary rules under ch. DOC
303.

(d) Disruption to the orderly processes of an institution.

(e) Participation and progress in program or treatment.

(f) Adjustment and history under community supervision.

(g) Pending legal processes.

(3) The department initiates custody classification at A&E
and changes it by an individualized assessment through the
program review process using factors identified in s. DOC
302.07.

DOC 302.05 Custody classification levels. An inmate is
classified under one of the following 5 custody classification
levels based upon the result of an assessment of the inmate’s
risk under the A&E or PRC process:

(1) Maximum custody requires very close monitoring of
inmate conduct, behavior and activities.

(2) Medium custody requires moderate monitoring of
inmate conduct, behavior and activities.

(3) Medium—out custody requires moderate monitoring of
inmate conduct, behavior and activities inside the institution
and permits placement outside the confines of the institution
under supervision.

(4) Minimum custody requires general monitoring of
inmate conduct, behavior and activities inside the institution
and permits placement outside the confines of the institution.

(5) Community custody requires limited monitoring of
inmate conduct, behavior and activities. This classification is
used for the following activities:

(a) Work or study release under ch. DOC 324.

(b) Off—grounds projects under the supervision of
non—correctional staff under ch. DOC 325.

(c) Driving institution vehicles under ch. DOC 325.

(d) Leave for qualified inmates under ch. DOC 326.

(e) Community residential confinement under ch. DOC
327.

(f) Intensive sanctions under ch. DOC 333.
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(g) Other programs which the department may establish.

DOC 302.06 Institutional security classifications and
relationship to custody classification. (1) Except for
inmates awaiting transfers, and institutions in which there is
a declared emergency or disturbance, an inmate’s custody
classification shall be no greater than the designated security
classification of the institution in which the inmate is placed.

(2) Segregation units at any facility are considered
maximum security.

DOC 302.07 Factors in assigning a custody
classification. The department may consider factors that
include but are not limited to the following in assigning
custody classification:

(1) The nature and seriousness of the offense the inmate
was convicted of. In evaluating the seriousness of the offense,
the department may consider the following:

(a) Potential of physical danger to another.

(b) Harm done to the victim in the commission of the
offense.

(c) Whether the inmate exhibited physical aggressiveness
that exposed another to harm.

(d) Aggravating or mitigating factors in the commission of
the offense for which the inmate was convicted.

(2) The inmate’s criminal record and juvenile delinquency
adjudications.

(3) The length of sentence being served.

(4) The inmate’s motivation for the crime convicted of.

(5) The inmate’s attitude regarding the offense and
sentence.

(6) The inmate’s record of adjustment and misconduct
including any record of escape from a department facility, IS,
a mental health facility, a local jail or any other confinement
facility, or absconding from probation, parole, or extended
supervision.

(7) The length of time the inmate has been in a particular
custody classification and overall time served during the
current period of incarceration.

(8) The inmate’s medical and clinical needs, including
physical or psychological treatment and observation.

(9) The risk of placing an inmate in the community where
the offense was committed or where the institution is located,
including the general attitude of the public as reflected by
elected officials, judges, sheriffs, district attorneys, or a
victim or witness.

(10) The inmate’s performance or refusal to participate in
programs or treatment

(11) A pending legal process, notification or detainer.

(12) Parole commission actions and stated expectations,
and in the absence of any stated expectations, the likelihood
of a release during the review period.

(13) The results of specially designed and researched risk
rating instruments developed to assist with the individualized
and objective assessment of a custody classification or
program and treatment assignments and placements.

(14) The inmate’s vulnerability to physical assault by other
inmates.

DOC 302.08 Requirements for assigning a minimum
custody classification to an inmate serving a life sentence.
(1) In this section, “life sentence” means a sentence of life
imprisonment An inmate sentenced to life imprisonment who
is released on parole, violates a condition of parole and is
returned to a state correctional institution with or without a
new sentence is considered to be serving a life sentence. If the
governor pardons or commutes a life sentence, it is no longer
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a life sentence. The life sentence definition also applies to an
inmate from another jurisdiction who is serving a sentence of
life imprisonment under that jurisdiction’s laws.

(2) To be eligible for a minimum custody classification, an
inmate serving a life sentence shall have:

(a) Reached parole eligibility as defined in ss. 304.06 (1)
and 973.014, Stats.

(b) A recommendation for minimum custody classification
made by the PRC under s. DOC 302.17.

(c) Director’s approval for minimum
classification.

DOC 302.09 Program consideration. Unless otherwise
specified by the rules of the department or by state and federal
law, inmates may be considered for school assignments,
vocational programs or treatment assignments within the
Wisconsin correctional system if all of the following
conditions are met:

(1) The inmate has a program or treatment need that the
program being considered would meet.

(2) There is space available in the program.

(3) The inmate attains the custody classification needed for
transfer to the site where the program is available.

(4) The inmate meets program or the treatment
prerequisites.

DOC 302.10 Factors in assigning a program or
treatment component. (1) The department may consider
factors including but not limited to the following in assigning
an inmate to a program or treatment component:

(a) Factors under s. DOC 302.07.

(b) Program or treatment prerequisites.

(c) The inmate’s past performance in programs.

(d) Federal or state law requirements.

(2) The inmate may choose not to participate in program
and treatment with an understanding that a refusal may affect
custody classification and placement.

DOC 302.11 Purposes of A&E. The purposes of A&E
shall be all of the following:

(1) To assess an inmate’s risk under s DOC 302.04 (2).
(2) To determine an inmate’s custody classification.

(3) To provide an inmate with orientation to the
department.

(4) To assess an inmate’s criminal and social background,
sentence structure, and academic and vocational
requirements.

(5) To evaluate an inmate’s academic, vocational, medical,
social, and treatment needs.

(6) To determine an inmate’s treatment and program needs
and priorities and coordinate these with custody classification
and institution or program placement.

DOC 302.12 Applicability of the assessment and
evaluation. (1) Every inmate shall participate in an
assessment and evaluation or an alternative process as
approved by the department. This process shall be completed
as expeditiously as possible.

(2) The director may alter the scope, purpose and duration
of the assessment and evaluation process to meet security and
bed needs of the department.

DOC 302.13 Procedure for custody classification at
conclusion of A&E. (1) The classification specialist shall do
all of the following:

(a) Collect and review information pertaining to the inmate
such as offense history, adjustment, risk factors, program
goals and other relevant concerns.

custody



March 31, 2001

(b) Interview the inmate and afford the inmate an
opportunity to provide information.

(c) Document the inmate’s views.
(d) Prepare a report that includes all of the following:

1. A summary of the information gathered through (a), (b)
and (c).

2. A recommendation of custody classification, program or
treatment needs, institution placement, and a date for program
review not to exceed 12 months.

(2) The director shall review the recommendations and
make a final custody classification decision.

(3) The department shall make available to the inmate a
written copy of the decision.

DOC 302.14 Applicability of program review. The
department shall monitor custody classification, risk rating,
institution placement and program or treatment assignments
for every inmate.

DOC 302.15 Purpose of program review. The purpose
of program review is the following:

(1) To provide systematic review of the inmate’s needs
relating to education, medical, clinical, social,
offense—related and other treatment needs.

(2) To assess the inmate’s custody classification.

(3) To assess the inmate’s motivation to become involved
in treatment and programs.

(4) To secure program or treatment space as needed to
permit the inmate to complete an assignment.

(5) To provide the inmate with supplemental or alternative
treatment or program assignments.

(6) To provide a review of the inmate’s adjustment, conduct
and program participation.
(7) To evaluate the inmate’s risk.

(8) To establish a date not to exceed 12 months for the next
program review.

(9) To permit program review prior to the date set in (8)
when one of the following occur:

(a) A significant change affecting custody, program or
treatment assignments, or institution placement as
determined by the classification specialist.

(b) An order of the director or warden.

(c) Referral by the institution adjustment committee as
defined in s. DOC. 303.02 (1).

(10) To recommend placement changes to accommodate
program objectives.

DOC 302.16 Program review personnel. Every
correctional institution and center shall have a program
review committee.

(1) The director shall designate a classification specialist as
the chairperson of the program review committee in a
correctional institution.

(2) The superintendent shall designate a staff member to
serve as the chairperson of the program review committee in
a community correctional center.

(3) The warden or superintendent may designate up to 2
staff members to represent their respective division on the
committee.

DOC 302.17 Program review procedure. (1) Before the
scheduled program review, an institution staff member,
designated by the Warden or Superintendent, shall do all of
the following:

(a) Investigate and document the inmate’s adjustment and
conduct, program or treatment assignments and other relevant
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factors to make a determination of progress and
accomplishments.

(b) Make written comments to the program review
committee regarding custody classification, program or
treatment assignment, and institution placement.

(2) Before the scheduled review, classification staff will
inform the inmate of the following:

(a) The program review date.

(b) The inmate’s option to waive the interview appearance.

(c) That if the inmate disrupts the interview or refuses to
attend the interview, staff shall conduct the review procedure
without the inmate being present.

(3) At the program review committee interview, staff shall
inform the inmate of the following:

(a) The purpose of the review.

(b) The staff comments regarding custody classification,
program or treatment assignments, and institution placement.

(4) The inmate may present additional information and
state an opinion about the custody classification, program or
treatment assignment, or institution placement at the PRC
interview. The inmate may present the additional information
in writing if the inmate is unavailable for the PRC interview.

(5) The program review chairperson may suspend the
program review in order to investigate any issue affecting
custody classification, institution placement and program or
treatment assignment.

(6) Each member of the committee shall have one vote. A
recommendation for a change in custody classification,
transfer, or institution placement requires a unanimous vote.
If the vote is not unanimous, the classification specialist shall
refer the decision to the classification section chief and the
warden for a recommendation. If they are not able to agree, the
classification section chief shall refer the case with comments
to the director, who will make the decision. A
recommendation for program or treatment assignment
requires a majority vote.

(7) The committee shall consider as factors in assigning
custody classification those stated in s. DOC 302.07. In
addition, the criteria under s. DOC 302.08 shall apply to the
custody classification of inmates serving a life sentence.
Factors other than those in ss. DOC 302.07 and 302.08 may
be considered to preserve the security and safety needs of
inmates, staff, facilities or community.

(8) The committee’s recommendation for custody or
transfer requires approval of the director.

(9) The PRC may use written comments, telephone
conference calls, video or other electronic devices or medium
for program review.

(10) The classification specialist shall give the program
review decision to the inmate in writing.

DOC 302.18 Appeals. (1) An inmate may appeal
procedural issues relating to custody classification, transfer,
institution placement, and program or treatment assignment
to the director within 30 days of the inmate’s receipt of the
written decision.

(2) The director shall respond to an appeal within 30 days
following written receipt of the appeal.

DOC 302.19 Transfers. (1) The director may transfer an
inmate to any facility authorized by the department.

(2) The director may transfer an inmate based solely on the
availability of beds and security needs of the department.

(3) When an inmate is removed from an institution for a
medical, clinical, or security emergency, the inmate may be
segregated from the general inmate population. If the
department is unable to do so, the inmate may be transferred
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to a county jail or other confinement facility pending the
results of the disciplinary hearing or review of the inmate’s
custody classification and program assignment. If the jail or
other facility is unable or unwilling to retain an inmate, the
inmate may be transferred to another placement pending the
placement in an institution within the department.

(4) If an inmate is not transferred in accordance with s.
DOC 302.17, the department shall review the custody and
institution placement as provided under s. DOC 302.17 within
10 working days following the decision that prompted the
transfer.

(5) Notwithstanding s. DOC 302.17, when the PRC screens
an inmate to determine eligibility for transfer to another
institution, or decides to transfer the inmate to another
institution, the inmate is not entitled to know the criteria or
factors upon which the decisions are based if the department
determines that release of the criteria would threaten the
security of the prison system.

DOC 302.20 Recordkeeping. (1) The director, section
chief or a classification specialist may record information
concerning an inmate between regularly scheduled PRC
regarding:

(a) Program or treatment assignments.

(b) Progress of program or treatment assignment.

(c) Physical health.

(d) Mental health.

(e) Conduct and adjustment.

(f) Placement.

(g) Custody level.

(2) The classification specialist shall provide the inmate a
copy of the record and shall permit the inmate to provide
information at the next regularly scheduled program review.

DOC 302.205 Emergency suspension of rules. The
secretary may temporarily suspend the rules specified in this
chapter if the warden determines that there is a disturbance or
an emergency.

Appendix

Note: DOC 302.05. Section DOC 302.05 identifies the
five custody classifications used in Wisconsin. Each of the
five categories reflect the different level of risk portrayed by
the inmate based on the purpose of custody classification as
explained in s. DOC 302.04 and assessed on each of the
factors presented in ss. DOC 302.07 and 302.08. Each
institution determines its own method for day to day
supervision to respond to the risk presented by the inmate’s
behavior, conduct and activities.

Note: DOC 302.11. Among the objectives of the
correctional system are protection of the public through
appropriate correctional supervision and the reassimilation of
the inmate into the community. These require an assessment
of the inmate’s needs and objectives, assignment to an
appropriate institution and program, motivation of the inmate,
and periodic review of the inmate’s progress. The A&E
process is the initial effort to orient, classify and assign
inmates in the Wisconsin correctional system. Its purposes are
stated in s. DOC 302.11.

Note: DOC 302.17. Section. DOC 302.17 states the
procedure and decision making authority for decisions
concerning the ongoing academic, vocational, medical,
clinical, social, offense—related or other treatment needs of an
inmate. The authority of staff to classify and transfer inmates
is broad.

To ensure a fair, informed decision, the process has the
following elements:
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1. A decision—making process that involves staff who are
most informed about the inmate.

2. Centralized decision—making for the whole correctional
system.

3. An opportunity for the inmate to be heard on the issues
being addressed.

4. A written explanation of the decision provided to the
inmate.

5. An appeal process (s. DOC 302.18).

Note: DOC 302.19. This section is intended to cover
inmate transfers among state prisons, federal institutions, or
a facility otherwise deemed appropriate, as well as inmate
transfers to facilities located outside the state of Wisconsin.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis:

These rules are not expected to have an effect on small
businesses.

Fiscal Estimate:

The Department of Corrections is proposing to repeal and
recreate ch. DOC 302 relating to the classification,
assessment and evaluation (A&E), and program review of
inmates. While addressing the needs of the Department,
including internal restructuring and reorganization, this rule
change also retains and strengthens inmate involvement in the
classification process, including the assignment of custody,
program and placement. In general, the processes are
streamlined, require fewer mandatory reviews, and provide
options for dealing with emergencies and situations when the
offender is not accessible. Specific changes include, but are
not limited to:

* Clearly establishing that custody classification is defined by
an inmate’s level of risk;

* Requiring that A&E be done as expeditiously as possible
instead of the current six week timeframe;

* Providing that A&E reviews be conducted by a
classification specialist with the assistance of other staff as
needed and removes the requirement that A&E be conducted
by a committee comprised of not less than three permanent
members, and;

* Providing a simplified program review process by reducing
the committee membership and allowing the offender to deal
directly with the committee rather than a social worker.

Although these rule changes are not expected to have a
fiscal impact on the Department, the proposed changes are
expected to reduce workload and streamline processes for
already overburdened staff.

Contact Person:

Julie M. Kane (608) 267-9839

Office of Legal Counsel

149 East Wilson Street

P.O. Box 7925

Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7925

If you are hearing or visually impaired, do not speak
English, or have circumstances which might make
communication at the hearing difficult and if you, therefore,
require an interpreter or a non—English, large print or taped
version of the hearing document, contact the person at the
address or phone number above. A person requesting a
non—English or sign language interpreter should make that
request at least 10 days before the hearing. With less than 10
days notice, an interpreter may not be available.

Written Comments:

Written comments on the proposed rules received at the
above address no later than April 30, 2001 will be given the
same consideration as testimony presented at the hearing.
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Notice of Hearings

Natural Resources
(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—)
[CR 01-30]

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 23.09
(2) (h), 26.35, 28.07 and 227.11 (2), Stats., interpreting ss.
26.35 and 28.07, Stats., the Department of Natural Resources
will hold public hearings on the repeal and recreation of s. NR
1.212 (1) and (2), Wis. Adm. Code, relating to private forestry
priorities for assistance and amendment of s. NR 1.213 (3) (b)
and (d), Wis. Adm. Code, relating to the cooperating forester
program.

Section NR 1.212 provides guidance in setting priorities
followed by DNR foresters when scheduling fieldwork with
over 10,000 private landowners annually. The rule is
necessary because demand for assistance far exceeds
available staff time. The revised rule establishes initial
management guidance to landowners, timber harvest advice,
referrals to cooperating private foresters for timber harvest
marking, forestry incentives program administration, and
landowner education among the highest priorities. Less
emphasis would be placed on providing complex or detailed
services that may be available from private enterprise or on
practices that are not mandatory under the forest tax
programs. These changes are designed to make more efficient
use of DNR staff time and to integrate state forestry services
more closely with assistance available from private enterprise
and other groups in order to serve as many landowners as
practical.

In addition to providing private forestry assistance through
DNR staff, the Department promotes services of private and
industrial foresters to landowners seeking help. Commercial
foresters who apply and agree to follow the management
guidelines and minimum training requirements of the
Cooperating Forester Program are included. Currently,
cooperators agree to follow DNR forestry standards only on
work coming directly from DNR referrals, with a possibility
of lower standards elsewhere. The rule will also raise the
minimum continuing forestry education requirement for
cooperators from 6 to 10 hours per year in an additional effort
to improve quality.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
s. 227.114, Stats., the proposed rule may have an impact on
small businesses. The initial regulatory flexibility analysis is
as follows:

a. Types of small businesses affected: Private consulting
foresters and industrial foresters

b. Description of reporting and bookkeeping procedures
required: No new requirements

c. Description of professional skills required: No new
skills. However, cooperating foresters are required to apply
DNR approved silviculture guidelines in all their work.
Participation in the cooperating forestry program is entirely
voluntary.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
Department has made a preliminary determination that this
action does not involve significant adverse environmental
effects and does not need an environmental analysis under ch.
NR 150, Wis. Adm. Code. However, based on the comments
received, the Department may prepare an environmental
analysis before proceeding with the proposal.  This
environmental review document would summarize the
Department’s consideration of the impacts of the proposal and
reasonable alternatives.
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NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
hearings will be held on:

April 11, 2001 Pinery Room
Wednesday Portage County Library

1001 Main Street

Stevens Point  at 1:00 p.m.
April 12, 2001 Large Conference Room
Thursday DNR Headquarters

1300 Clairemont Avenue

Eau Claire at 10:00 a.m.
April 19, 2001 Large Conference Room
Thursday DNR Headquarters

1125 N. Military Avenue

Green Bay at 1:00 p.m.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
the Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of informational
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request. Please
call Paul Pingrey at (608) 267—7595 with specific information
on your request at least 10 days before the date of the
scheduled hearing.

Written comments on the proposed rules may be submitted
to Mr. Paul Pingrey, Bureau of Forestry, P.O. Box 7921,
Madison, WI 53707 no later than April 27, 2001. Written
comments will have the same weight and effect as oral
statements presented at the hearings. A copy of the proposed
rules [FR—11-01] and fiscal estimate may be obtained from
Mr. Pingrey.

Fiscal Estimate

There is no fiscal impact. The changes in work priorities
will only redistribute available staff hours among services,
not add services or costs. Regarding the Cooperating Forester
Program, participants receive no remuneration and pay no
fees.

Notice of Hearings

Natural Resources
(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—)
[CR 01-07]

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 30.505,
30.62 (2) (d) 2. and 3., 30.79 (2m) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.,
interpreting ss. 30.50 (2), 30.62 (2) (b), 30.635, 30.69, 30.77
and 30.79 (5), Stats., the Department of Natural Resources
will hold public hearings on revisions to ss. NR 5.001, 5.125,
5.15 and 50.13, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to boating safety
and enforcement. The proposed rule creates a definition for
“boat” to include motorized fishing rafts which will then
require the rafts to be licensed. This definition is consistent
with federal law. Definitions are also being created for
“public access” for the purpose of motorboat prohibitions on
lakes 50 acres or less and “water skis, aquaplane or similar
device” to include the technological advancements in the
sport.

The proposed rule also adds another procedure for
motorboat noise testing, creates a set of standards for local
boating ordinances and clarifies the requirements that set a
40% cap on a municipal boat patrol’s administrative
expenses.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
s. 227.114, Stats., it is not anticipated that the proposed rule
will have an economic impact on small businesses.
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NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
Department has made a preliminary determination that this
action does not involve significant adverse environmental
effects and does not need an environmental analysis under ch.
NR 150, Wis. Adm. Code. However, based on the comments
received, the Department may prepare an environmental
analysis before proceeding with the proposal.  This
environmental review document would summarize the
Department’s consideration of the impacts of the proposal and
reasonable alternatives.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
hearings will be held on:

April 24, 2001 Room 222
Tuesday UW-Marathon Center

518 7th Avenue

Wausau at 10:00 a.m.
April 24, 2001 Large Conference Room
Tuesday DNR Headquarters

1125 N. Military Avenue

Green Bay  at 3:00 p.m.
April 25, 2001 225 NW, State Capitol
Wednesday Madison at 10:00 a.m.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
the Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of informational
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request. Please
call John Lacenski at (608) 264-8970 with specific
information on your request at least 10 days before the date of
the scheduled hearing.

Written comments on the proposed rule may be submitted
to Mr. John Lacenski, Bureau of Law Enforcement, P.O. Box
7921, Madison, WI 53707 no later than May 4, 2001. Written
comments will have the same weight and effect as oral
statements presented at the hearings. A copy of the proposed
rule [LE-01-01] and fiscal estimate may be obtained from
Mr. Lacenski.

Fiscal Estimate

There will be no net change in FTE hours or expenditure
of new funds for these rule revisions. The change will only
be in terms of method of enforcement tactic used and
definition of terms within said rules. Wardens will use
existing equipment and existing hours to enforce these rules.

Notice of Hearings

Natural Resources
(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—)
[CR 01-11]

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 23.09
(2) (intro.), 23.11 (1), 23.28 (3), 27.01 (2) (j) and 227.11 (2)
(a), Stats., interpreting ss. 23.09 (2) (intro.), 23.28 (3), 27.01
(2) (I) and (j) and 28.03, Stats., the Department of Natural
Resources will hold public hearings on the creation of s. NR
1.33 and revisions to ch. NR 45, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to
public use of department lands. The proposed rule includes
a policy of the Natural Resources Board on rock climbing
expressing general recognition for rock climbing as an
appropriate outdoor recreational activity on most Department
properties.  Proposed changes to ch. NR 45 give the
Department authority to regulate climbing activities,
including the potential for requiring a climbing permit.
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The proposed rule also contains provisions to:

1. Allow the department to issue citations for use or
possession of drug paraphernalia.

2. Prohibit paint—ball activities on department lands.

3. Allow the Department, by posted notice, to restrict the
use of centerfire and rimfire rifles, handguns or shotguns with
slugs on the Nevin Springs fish and wildlife area.

4. Prohibit jumping or diving into the St. Croix River off
the cliffs at Interstate state park.

5. Prohibit fishing in designated beach areas.

6. Regulate bicycle usage and camping at the Willow
Flowage scenic waters area.

7. Prohibit pets in the indoor group camps and place a
minimum 2—-day restriction on group camp reservations on
weekends at the Black River state forest.

8. Allow unleashed dogs in designated pet swim areas.

9. Clarify other existing rules.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
s. 227.114, Stats., it is not anticipated that the proposed rule
will have an economic impact on small businesses.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
Department has made a preliminary determination that this
action does not involve significant adverse environmental
effects and does not need an environmental analysis under ch.
NR 150, Wis. Adm. Code. However, based on the comments
received, the Department may prepare an environmental
analysis before proceeding with the proposal.  This
environmental review document would summarize the
Department’s consideration of the impacts of the proposal and
reasonable alternatives.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
hearings will be held on:

April 24, 2001 Room 222
Tuesday UW-Marathon Center

518 7t Avenue

Wausau at 11:00 a.m.
April 24, 2001 Large Conference Room
Tuesday DNR Headquarters

1125 N. Military Avenue

Green Bay  at 4:00 p.m.
April 25, 2001 225 NW, State Capitol
Wednesday Madison at 11:00 a.m.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
the Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of informational
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request. Please
call Kathryn Fitzgerald at (608) 267-2764 with specific
information on your request at least 10 days before the date of
the scheduled hearing.

Written comments on the proposed rule may be submitted
to Ms. Kathryn Fitzgerald, Bureau of Facilities and Lands,
P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707 no later than May 4, 2001.
Written comments will have the same weight and effect as
oral statements presented at the hearings. A copy of the
proposed rule [LF-04-01] and fiscal estimate may be
obtained from Ms. Fitzgerald.

Fiscal Estimate

There is no significant fiscal impact. Most of the
provisions in ch. NR 45 which are being created or amended
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are activities which are either an integral part of the
day—to—day work of existing staff or would be incorporated
into work activities. The only provisions that would have
slight positive fiscal impacts are those being proposed related
to defining vehicle fee areas at Black River Forest and
clarifying that the fee exemption for Peninsula State Park golf
course parking lot only applies to golfers and clubhouse
patrons. The exact amount of revenue generated from these
changes would be difficult to quantify and would be so
insignificant that it has been included as “0” on the fiscal
estimate worksheet. Correspondingly, any costs are likely to
be insignificant and would likewise be difficult to estimate
accurately.

Notice of Hearing

Natural Resources

(Environmental Protection — Remediation,
Chs. NR 700—)

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 227.11
(2) and 227.24, Stats., interpreting s. 292.15 (2) (ae), Stats.,
the Department of Natural Resources will hold a public
hearing on Natural Resources Board Emergency Order No.
RR-13-01 (E) pertaining to environmental insurance
requirements for liability exemptions for voluntary
remediation. This emergency order took effect on March 6,
2001. The statute directed the Department to promulgate
rules to describe the requirements that must be met by a
voluntary party seeking a Certificate of Completion where
natural attenuation is employed as the remedial action. The
statute includes a provision where the Department may
require a voluntary party to obtain environmental insurance if
the voluntary party wants to receive a Certificate of
Completion before the groundwater enforcement standards
are met through natural attenuation. This rule requires that all
voluntary parties who apply for the liability exemption under
this section obtain environmental insurance to cover the cost
to clean up the environment is natural attenuation fails.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the hearing
will be held on:

April 16, 2001
Monday

Room 611A, GEF #2
101 South Webster Street
Madison at 1:00 p.m.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
the Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of informational
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request. Please
call Michael Prager at (608) 261-4927 with specific
information on your request at least 10 days before the date of
the scheduled hearing.

Written comments on the emergency rule may be
submitted to Mr. Michael Prager, Bureau of Remediation and
Redevelopment, P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707 no later
than April 20, 2001. Written comments will have the same
weight and effect as oral statements presented at the hearing.
A copy of the emergency rule may be obtained from Mr.
Prager.

Fiscal Estimate

The department does not anticipate significant fiscal
impacts from this rule. Parties seeking this optional liability
exemption will be required to pay a one—time insurance fee to
the department for insurance coverage. The department will
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then submit this fee to the contracted insurance underwriter to
pay the insurance premiums required under the state’s master
insurance contract. As a result, we anticipate no net impact
from this rule on the state. This rule is optional for parties who
choose to conduct a voluntary cleanup and seek the voluntary
party liability exemption using natural attenuation, where
groundwater enforcement standards are being exceeded.

Notice of Hearing

Public Service Commission
[CR 01-33]
Hearing Date: Tuesday, May 1, 2001 — 10 a.m.

Hearing Location: Amnicon Falls Hearing Room — 1st
Floor, Public Service Commission, 610 North Whitney Way,
Madison, WI

Comments Due: Friday, May 11, 2001 — Noon
FAX Due: Thursday, May 10, 2001 — Noon

Address Comments To: Lynda L. Dorr, Secretary to the
Commission, Public Service Commission, P.O. Box 7854,
Madison, WI 53707-7854, FAX (608) 266—-3957

The Commission proposes to amend Wis. Admin. Code ch.
PSC 185 relating to Standards for Water Public Utility
Service.

Analysis Prepared by the Public Service Commission of
Wisconsin

Statutory authority: ss. 196.02 (3), 196.03, 196.16 (2) and
227.11 (2).

Statutes interpreted: ss. 196.02 (3), 196.03 (1) and 196.16
(2).

A hearing in this matter was originally held on December
5,2000. However, while notice of that hearing was provided
to all Wisconsin water utilities, the notice inadvertently was
not published in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. To
meet the statutory requirement of publication — and to allow
interested parties the opportunity to comment on changes
made as a result of the first hearing — a second hearing is being
set for Tuesday, May 1, 2001 at 10:00 a.m. Persons who
participated in the December 5, 2000 hearing may wish to
submit written comments in lieu of attending the May 1, 2001
hearing.

The primary objectives of the proposed rule revisions are
to update the water code for consistency with customer
service provisions in the other utility industries, to clarify
language and citations and to better reflect current technology
and industry practice. Following is the analyses of the
specific proposals. After these analyses are the instructions
for the literal changes to the code.

SECTION 1. PSC 185.22 is amended for clarity and
rewritten to maintain consistency with recent changes to PSC
113 of the electric code.

SECTION 2. PSC 185.33 (10) (a) is amended to limit the
maximum monthly late charge rate from 1%2 % to 1 % to
comply with Wis. Stat. 138.05 (1) (a), and to be consistent
with PSC 113 of the electric code.

SECTION 3. PSC 185.33 (13) (b) is amended to clarify
that both a customer and a utility read of the water meter
constitutes an actual read.

SECTION 4. PSC 185.33 (18) (c) is renumbered PSC
185.33 (18) (d).

SECTION 5. PSC 185.33 (18) (c) is created to allow a
utility to request a signed application for residential service
and verification of the identity and residency of an applicant
for water service.
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SECTION 6. PSC 185.361 (4) (b) is amended to change the
time period consistent with SECTION 13. PSC 185.37 (11)
(a) where the utility may not disconnect service until 10 days
after the customer was noticed by the utility of the pending
disconnection.

PSC 185.37 is concerned with the disconnection of water
service and several parts of this rule have been reorganized
and updated to be consistent with PSC 113 of the electric code.

SECTION 7. PSC 185.37 (1) (b) is amended to change the
time period consistent with SECTION 13. PSC 185.37 (11)
(a) where the utility may not disconnect service until 10 days
after the customer was noticed by the utility of the pending
disconnection.

SECTION 8. PSC 185.37 (1m) is created so that the utility
may transfer past due utility bills of “jointly—metered
property” (rental property) to the account of the property
owner.

SECTION 9. PSC 185.37 (2) (am) is created so the utility
can disconnect or refuse service to a customer who is
delinquent on water service and tries to transfer service to a
new account holder while the delinquent customer still resides
within the household.

SECTION 10. PSC 185.37 (2) (e) and PSC 185.37 (2) (1)
are amended to clarify the existing rule and to allow the utility
to disconnect or refuse service to an applicant for service
when the applicant does not provide the information set out in
PSC 185.33 (18) (a), (b), and (c).

SECTION 11. PSC 185.37 (8) (h) is amended to clarify and
expand utility requirements when a heat advisory, heat
warning, or heat emergency has been issued.

SECTION 12. PSC 185.37 (8m) is created to clarify
extenuating circumstances that utilities must consider before
disconnecting a customer.

SECTION 13. PSC 185.37 (9) and (11) (a) are amended to
clarify disconnection during the heating season and to change
the time spans concerning disconnection and notices.

SECTION 14. PSC 185.38 (4m) is created to be consistent
with ch. PSC 113 of the electric code and clarify utility
responsibilities in handling deferred payment agreements.

SECTION 15. PSC 185.39 (2) (c) is amended to maintain
consistency with ch. PSC 113 of the electric code. It clarifies
expectations for utility response time involving complaints
before the Commission.

SECTION 16. PSC 185.75 (5) is amended to eliminate the
requirement to test water meters upon removal. The
replacement language protects the customer who is in a meter
accuracy dispute by requiring the utility removing the old
meter to test it for accuracy.

SECTION 17. PSC 185.76 (6) is created to provide
flexibility for qualifying utilities to adopt a metering program
that recognizes technological change and local water quality
as it relates to meter life cycle costing.

SECTION 18. PSC 185.87 is repealed to eliminate
unnecessary duplication with Wis. Admin. Code NR 811.08
(5) Maintenance.

Text of Proposed Rule

SECTION 1. PSC 185.22 is amended to read:
PSC 185.22 Information available to customers. (1) The

utility shall keep on file in every station and office of the
utility, where customer payments-are Ie.ee.i ved copies of the
Fate sehe_dules ap_pheable in-such-locality. The H.H.I'E? shall
keep]' ee]p]ies' of thischapter ]and ;H] ch f]ulegsg' of thge ;*Hhtf’.].as. a;Ae
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utility shall have copies of its rates and rules applicable to the
locality available in its office where payments are received
and at area libraries. A utility shall give reasonable notice to
customers as to where the information is available to them.

SECTION 2. PSC 185.33 (10) (a) is amended to read:

PSC 185.33 (10) (a) The amount of the charge shall be no
more than one-and-one—half percent per month for late charges
related to service provided for the utility’s residential class of
customers, and shall be no more than one and one—half
percent per month for late charges related to service provided
for all other purposes. and The amount of the charge shall be
filed with and approved by the Commission before it shall be
applied.

SECTION 3. PSC 185.33 (13) (b) is amended to read:

PSC 185.33 (13) (b) The utility may leave a meter reading
form when access to a meter cannot be gained. If requested
by the customer, the utility shall provide such a form. If no
form is left on the premises, or if the form is not returned in
time to be processed in the billing cycle, a minimum or
estimated bill may be rendered. In cases of emergency the
utility may render minimum or estimated bills without
reading meters or supplying meter reading forms to

customers. Only in unusual cases or when approval is

obtained from the customer may more than 3 consecutive
estimated-or-minimum bills be rendered: Except in unusual
cases, a meter reading by the customer or the utility shall be
obtained after 3 consecutive estimated or minimum bills have
been rendered.

SECTION 4. PSC 185.33 (18) (c) is renumbered PSC
185.33 (18) (d).

SECTION 5. PSC 185.33 (18) (c) is created to read:

PSC 185.33 (18) (¢) 1. A utility may request a signed
application for residential service and verification of the
identity and residency of an applicant for residential service
at a premises where a bill remains unpaid for service provided
within the previous 24 months.

2. Any one of the items under subd. a. or any 2 of the items
under subd. b. shall constitute adequate verification of
identity, although a utility may accept other forms of
verification:

a. Photo identification card, driver’s license, or U.S.
military card.

b. Current utility bills, bank statements, rental agreements,
or letter of identification from a social service agency or
employer.

3. Any two of the following items shall constitute adequate
verification of residency, although a utility may accept other
forms of verification: current utility bills, bank statements,
rental agreements, or letter of identification from a social
service agency or employer.

4. An applicant denied or refused service because of this
subsection shall be informed in writing of his or her ability to
dispute the matter through the public service commission, and
shall be provided with the address and telephone number of
the commission.

SECTION 6. PSC 185.361 (4) (b) is amended to read:

PSC 185.361 (4) (b) On termination of a guarantee
contract, or whenever the utility deems the amount of surety
insufficient, a cash deposit or a new or additional guarantee
may be required on a 20—day written notice to the customer.
The service of a customer who fails to comply with these
requirements may be disconnected on an 8 a 10—day written
notice, subject to the establishment of a deferred payment
agreement for the deposit.

SECTION 7. PSC 185.37 (1) (b) is amended to read:
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PSC 185.37 (1) (b) At least 8 10 calendar days prior to
disconnection, the utility shall give a written notice of
disconnection upon a form approved by the commission and
which conforms to the requirements of sub. (11) unless
excepted elsewhere.

SECTION 8. PSC 185.37 (1m) is created to read:

PSC 185.37 (1m) Prior to disconnecting a jointly—metered
property containing more than one rental dwelling unit and
where service is in the property owner or manager’s name, the
utility shall first make an attempt to transfer the debt to the
property owner’s or manager’s residence or office service. If
a transfer is permitted under sub. (7) (a), the utility shall
pursue available collection efforts at the owner’s or
manager’s  property prior to disconnecting the
jointly—metered property.

SECTION 9. PSC 185.37 (2) (am) is created to read:

PSC 185.37 (2) (am) Delinquency in payment for service
received by a previous account holder or customer at the
premises to be served, if an account is transferred to a new
account holder or customer and the previous account holder
or customer continues to be an occupant of the dwelling unit
to be served.

SECTION 10. PSC 185.37 (2) (e) and PSC 185.37 (2) (1)
are amended to read:

PSC 185.37 (2) (e) Refusal or failure to permit authorized
utility personnel to read the meter at least once every 6 4
months where the utility bills monthly or bimonthly, or at least
once every 9 months where the utility bills quarterly or less
frequently than quarterly. The 4— 6— or 9— month period
begins with the date of the last meter reading;

PSC 185.37(2)(1) Failure of an applicant for utility service
to pr0V1de the ered}t 1nf0rmat10n ﬂeeesrsafyq&eseabhslcknew

agreemem set forth ins. PSC 185 33(18) (a) (b) and (c)
SECTION 11. PSC 185.37 (8) (h) is amended to read:

PSC 185 37 (8) (h) Iﬂaﬁe&%&dﬂsm%pwmﬁﬂghas%een

The utlhty
may not disconnect service in affected counties when a heat

advisory, heat warning, or heat emergency issued by the

national weather service is in effect. A utility shall make
reasonable attempts to reconnect service to an occupied

dwelling that has been disconnected when an occupant states
that there is a potential threat to health or life that results from
the combination of the heat and loss of service. The utility
may require that an occupant produce a licensed physician’s
statement or notice from a public health, social services, or
law enforcement official which identifies the medical
emergency for the occupant. Upon expiration of the heat
advisory, heat warning, or heat emergency. the utility may
disconnect service to a property that was reconnected during
this period without further notice if an appropriate payment
arrangement has not been established.

SECTION 12. PSC 185.37 (8m) is created to read:

PSC 185.37 (8m) If the utility is provided notice that there
are extenuating circumstances, such as infirmities of aging,
developmental, mental or physical disabilities, the use of life
support systems, or like infirmities incurred at any age, or the
frailties associated with being very young, the utility shall
take these circumstances into consideration and ensure
compliance with PSC 185.37(10) prior to disconnecting
service.

SECTION 13. PSC 185.37 (9) and (11) (a) are amended to
read:
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PSC 185.37(9) Netwithstanding-ss- PSC-1H3.1324-and

serviecatany-time—unless-waterservieeis-wneeessary-part-of
a-dwelling’s-heating system- Residential water utility service

to an occupied dwelling may not be disconnected during the
period November 1 to April 15 if the water service is a
necessary part of a dwelling’s heating system.

PSC 185.37 (11) (a) A utility shall not disconnect service
unless written notice by first class mail is sent to the customer
or personally served upon a responsible party at least 8 10
calendar days prior to the first date of the proposed
disconnection except as provided in pars. (3), (4), and (7). If
the billing address is different from the service address, notice
shall be posted at each individual dwelling unit of the service
address not less than 5 days before disconnection. If access
is not possible, this notice shall be posted, at a minimum, to
all entrances to the building and in the lobby. The notice shall
contain: (1) the date of the notice; (2) the proposed date of
disconnection; and (3) that, if feasible, the occupants may
apply to the utility to accept responsibility for future bills and
avoid disconnection of service. Refusal or acceptance of the
application for service is subject to those conditions set out in
this chapter. If disconnection is not accomplished on or before
the 15 20th day after the first notice date, a subsequent notice
shall be left on the premises not less than 24 hours nor more
than 48 hours prior to the disconnection unless the customer
and the utility agree to extend the 15 20—day time period.

SECTION 14. PSC 185.38 (4m) is created to read:

PSC 185.38 (4m) A utility that does not require a written
deferred payment agreement shall communicate to the
customer all points listed above (PSC 185.38 (4)) except those
pertaining to a signature when making the arrangement with
the customer. A utility must send written confirmation of a
deferred payment agreement upon customer request. The
commission may require a utility to use written deferred
payment agreements.

SECTION 15. PSC 185.39 (2) (¢) is amended to read:

PSC 185.39 (2) (c) The utility shall designate employes for
responding to commission complaints who are readily
available and have an appropriate and sufficient authority

level for investigating and resolving concerns raised by the
commission and its staff. Utilities shall promptly inform the

commission of any changes in these designations. A utility
shall respond to the commission staff’s request for an
investigation in-a-promptmanner. by attempting to contact the
complainant within 48 hours for most circumstances. or 4
hours in an emergency situation, and by providing a response

to the commission within 10 business days. Staff may extend
this time period if the utility requests more time to complete

its investigation. Based on information provided by the utility
and the customer, the commission staff shall make an
informal determination for settlement of the dispute and
communicate that determination to both parties. Either party
to the dispute may request and receive the commission staff
determination, and the basis for it, in writing. Commission
staff shall inform any customer disputing an informal
determination of the right to pursue a formal review.

SECTION 16. PSC 185.75 (5) is amended to read:

PSC 185.75 (5) UponRemoval: If a meter is removed
while a usage dispute is pending.

SECTION 17. PSC 185.76 (6) is created to read:

PSC 185.76 (6) When system losses are less than the
required percentages under s. PSC 185.85 (4), a utility in lieu
of testing every meter as required under sub. (1), may satisfy
the requirements of this section for 5/8, 3/4, and 1—inch meters
by adopting a new meter replacement program that results in
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each meter being replaced within 20 years of the original date
of installation.

SECTION 18. PSC 185.87 is repealed.

SECTION 19. PSC 185.88 and 185.89 are renumbered
PSC 185.87 and PSC 185.88.

Fiscal Impact

The Commission anticipates that there will be minimal or
decreasing effect on state expenditures. Local government
expenditures should be reduced. See attachment A.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The proposed rules would apply to public utilities as
defined in s. 196.01 (5), Stats. The proposed rules do not
affect small businesses as defined in s. 227.114, Stats.

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Commission will
hold a hearing on these proposed rules in the Amnicon Falls
Hearing Room, at the Public Service Commission Building,
610 North Whitney Way, Madison, Wisconsin, on Tuesday,
May 1, 2001 at 10:00 a.m. This building is accessible to
people in wheelchairs through the Whitney Way (lobby)
entrance. Handicapped parking is available on the south side
of the building. Any person with a disability who needs
additional accommodations should contact the case
coordinator listed below.

Written Comments

Any person may submit written comments on these
proposed rules. The hearing record will be open for written
comments from the public, effective immediately, and until
Friday, May 11, 2001, at noon (Thursday, May 10, 2001, at
noon, if filed by fax).

All written comments must include a reference on the filing
to docket 1-AC-194. File by one mode only.

If filing by mail. courier, or hand delivery: Address as
shown in the box on page 1. Industry parties should submit

an original and 15 copies. Members of the general public
need only file an original.

If filing by fax: Send fax comments to (608) 266—3957.
Fax filing cover sheet MUST state “Official Filing,” the
docket number (1-AC-194), and the number of pages
(limited to 20 pages for fax comments).

Contact Persons

Questions from the media may be directed to Jeffrey L.
Butson, Public Affairs Director, at (608) 267-0912.

Questions regarding this matter should be directed to case
coordinator Bruce Schmidt at (608) 266—-5726, or by email at
schmib@psc.state.wi.us. ~ Hearing or speech—impaired
individuals may also use the Commission’s TTY number,
(608) 267-1479.

The Commission does not discriminate on the basis of
disability in the provision of programs, services, or
employment. Any person with a disability who needs
accommodations to participate in this proceeding or who
needs to obtain this document in a different format should
contact the case coordinator listed above.

Notice of Hearing
Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists
and Professional Counselors Examining Board
[CR 01-20]

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority
vested in the Examining Board of Social Workers, Marriage
and Family Therapists and Professional Counselors in ss.
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15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2), Stats., and interpreting s. 457.08
(3) (c) and (4) (c), Stats., the Examining Board of Social
Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists and Professional
Counselors will hold a public hearing at the time and place
indicated below to consider an order to amend s. SFC 4.01 (1)
(b) 1. and 2., relating to supervision of precertification
supervised practice of social work.

Hearing Date, Time and Location

Date: April 19, 2001

Time: 9:15 a.m.

Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue
Room 179A

Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing:

Interested persons are invited to present information at the
hearing. Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well. Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Administrative Rules, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708. Written comments must be received by
May 3, 2001 to be included in the record of rule-making
proceedings.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing

Statutes authorizing promulgation: ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and
227.11 (2), Stats.

Statute interpreted: s. 457.08 (3) (c) and (4) (c), Stats.

Currently, supervision may be exercised by “a social
worker certified at least at the level of the social worker being
supervised, if the supervising social worker is qualified to
practice without supervision.” This does not adequately
protect the public since certain grandfathered social workers
without adequate training, knowledge and skill satisfy that
definition. This rule-making will require that social workers
who supervise a period of pre—certification practice of social
work have a master’s or a doctor’s degree in social work.

Currently, there is no requirement for advance approval of
supervisors. This rule-making permits supervision by a
psychologist or a psychiatrist “if the social worker section
determines that supervision by a certified social worker is
unobtainable or unreasonably restrictive of the delivery of
social work services to a particular population.” Different
interpretations of that language have led to
misunderstandings. To avoid such situations, advance
approval of supervisors other than independent clinical social
workers will be required. This rule-making requires a person
contemplating supervision by a person other than an
independent clinical social worker to obtain approval by the
social worker section in advance of the supervision period.

Text of Rule

SECTION 1. SFC 4.01 (1) (b) 1. and 2. are amended to
read:

SFC 4.01 (1) (b) 1. A social worker certified at least at the
level of the social worker being supervised, if the supervising
social worker has a master’s or doctor’s degree in social work
and is qualified to practice without supervision, or

2. A psychologist licensed under ch. 448, Stats., or a
psychiatrist licensed under ch. 448, Stats., approved by the
social worker section in advance of the supervision of the
practice of social work if the social worker section determines
that supervision by a certified social worker is unobtainable
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or unreasonably restrictive of the delivery of social work
services to a particular population, or unduly interferes with
training social workers in providing services to a particular
population.

Fiscal Estimate

1. The anticipated fiscal effect on the fiscal liability and
revenues of any local unit of government of the proposed rule
is: $0.00.

2. The projected anticipated state fiscal effect during the
current biennium of the proposed rule is: $0.00.

3. The projected net annualized fiscal impact on state funds
of the proposed rule is: $0.00.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

These proposed rules will have no significant economic
impact on a substantial number of small businesses, as defined
ins. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats.

Copies of Rule and Contact Person

Copies of this proposed rule are available without cost
upon request to: Pamela Haack, Department of Regulation
and Licensing, Office of Administrative Rules, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Room 171, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708 (608) 266—0495

Notice of Hearing

Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists
and Professional Counselors Examining Board
[CR 01-19]

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority
vested in the Examining Board of Social Workers, Marriage
and Family Therapists and Professional Counselors in ss.
15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2), Stats., and interpreting s. 440.03
(13), Stats., the Examining Board of Social Workers,
Marriage and Family Therapists and Professional Counselors
will hold a public hearing at the time and place indicated
below to consider an order to amend s. SFC 3.13 (1) (¢),
relating to background checks.

Hearing Date, Time and Location

Date: April 19, 2001

Time: 9:15 a.m.

Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue
Room 179A

Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing:

Interested persons are invited to present information at the
hearing. Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well. Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Administrative Rules, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
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Wisconsin 53708. Written comments must be received by
May 3, 2001 to be included in the record of rule-making
proceedings.

Analysis

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing.

Statutes authorizing promulgation: ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and
227.11 (2), Stats.

Statute interpreted: s. 440.03 (13), Stats.

In this proposed rule-making order s. SFC 3.13 (1) is
amended to permit the Social Worker Section to consider any
criminal or disciplinary background by an applicant for a
social work training certificate. The amendment would
require an applicant applying for a social work training
certificate to supply information about any prior disciplinary
history and to grant authority to the section to deny an
application based on a relevant disciplinary history or a
criminal history substantially related to the profession.

Currently, there is a requirement that an applicant for a
social work training certificate supply information about any
criminal history. The rule does not specifically authorize the
consideration of that information in the decision to grant a
training certificate, nor does it require an applicant to provide
any relevant disciplinary history.

Text of Rule
Section 1. SFC 3.13 (1) (c) is amended to read:
SEC 3.13 (1) (¢) Lﬂf@;ma&exHeqﬂested%y—m&seeﬁen

. Prof that the
applicant does not have a record of arrests or convictions,
subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, Stats., or a record

of prior disciplinary actions against a professional credential
in any jurisdiction.

Fiscal Estimate

1. The anticipated fiscal effect on the first liability and
revenues of any local or government of the proposed rule is:
$0.00.

2. The projected anticipated state fiscal effect during the
current biennium of the proposed rule is: $0.00.

3. The projected net annualized fiscal impact on state funds
of the proposed rule is: $0.00.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
These rules will have no significant economic impact on a

substantial number of small businesses, as defined in
s.227.114 (1) (a), Stats.

Copies of Rule and Contact Person

Copies of this proposed rule are available without cost
upon request to: Pamela Haack, Department of Regulation
and Licensing, Office of Administrative Rules, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Room 171, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708 (608) 266—-0495.


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/2001/19
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Submission of proposed rules to the legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings for further information on a particular rule.

Tobacco Control Board (CR 00-173) Workforce Development (CR 01-005)
TCB 1 — Relating to the tobacco control board’s DWD 290.155 (1) — Relating to annual adjustment of
administering and awarding grants for tobacco control thresholds for application of prevailing wage rates to the
and establishing criteria for recipients of the grants. presiding officers of the Legislature for referral to the

appropriate standing committees for legislative review.


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/2000/173
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/2001/5
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Rule orders filed with the
revisor of statutes bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Revisor of Statutes Bureau and are in the process of being
published. The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date. It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed. Contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at (608) 266—7275 for updated information on the effective dates for the listed rule

orders.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
(CR 00-119)

An order relating to groundwater protection.
Effective 5-1-01

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
(CR 00-145)
An order relating to importing bovine animals, goats and
cervids from “non—modified accredited” states.
Effective 5-1-01

Health and Family Services (CR 00-150)
An order relating to administration of supplemental
security income (SSI), state supplemental payments to
low—income elderly and disabled residents of Wisconsin
and their dependent children.

Effective 5-1-01

Public Instruction (CR 00-83)
An order making several minor modifications to align ch.
PI 14.03, minimum standards for audit and standard
school district audit contracts.

Effective 5—1-01

Transportation (CR 00-152)
A rule relating to outdoor advertising sign annual fees.
Effective 5-1-01

Workforce Development (CR 00-108)
Rules relating to the state directory of new hires.
Effective 5-1-01


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/2000/119
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/2000/145
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/2000/150
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/2000/83
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/2000/152
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/2000/108
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Rules published with this register and final regulatory
flexibility analyses

The following administrative rule orders have been adopted and published in the March 31, 2001 Wisconsin Administrative
Register. Copies of these rules are sent to subscribers of the complete Wisconsin Administrative Code and also to the subscribers

of the specific affected Code.

For subscription information, contact Document Sales at (608) 266—3358.

Commerce (CR 00-73)

An order affecting chs. Comm 20-25 relating to the
uniform (1-2 family) dwelling code.
Effective 4-1-01

Summary of final regulatory flexibility analysis

The Uniform Dwelling Code, per statute, applies
uniformly throughout the state, regardless of the size of the
business involved. The Uniform Dwelling Code Council,
whose membership is determined per statute, has a majority
of the members representing small businesses. The rules
contained herein represent the consensus of that Council.

Comments received at public hearings consist of
opinions on the best way to provide safe, economical and
energy efficient housing in the state. These comments are
reviewed with the Uniform Dwelling Code Council, whose
membership has a majority representing small businesses.
Those that achieve consensus through the Council are
included in the proposed rules.

There are no substantial reporting requirements
contained in these rules.

There are no substantial measures or investments
required of small businesses contained in these rules.
Comments

No comments were received.

Natural Resources (CR 00-118)

An order renumbering, amending and creating rules
pertaining to deer management unit boundaries and population
goals.

Effective 4—-1-01
Summary of final regulatory flexibility analysis

The rules do not regulate small businesses; therefore, a
final regulatory flexibility analysis is not required.
Comments

The rules were reviewed by the Assembly Committee on
Natural Resources and the Senate Committee on
Environmental Resources. There were no comments.


https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/2000/73
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/cr/2000/118
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Sections affected by rule revisions and corrections

The following administrative rule revisions and corrections have taken place in March 2001, and will be effective as indicated
in the history note for each particular section. For additional information, contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at

(608) 266-7275.

Revisions
Commerce: Ch. Comm 22
(Uniform Dwelling, Chs. Comm 20-25) S. Comm 22.04 (entire section)
Ch. Comm 20 S. Comm 22.07 Table 22.07-1
S. Comm 20.04 (1) and (3) to (5) S. Comm 22.12 (3)
S. Comm 20.05 (6) to (9) S. Comm 22.17 (1) - .
S. Comm 20.07 (4m), (10m), (15g), (17), (24m), (24r), S. Comm 22.18 (entire section)
(28), (28r), (33m), (34f), (36), (41m), (45), (47), S. Comm 22.25 (entire section)
(53), (53m), (55m), (56m), (60), (61) and (73m) S. Comm 22.27 (2)
S. Comm 20.10 (1) (b) S. Comm 22.28 (2)
S. Comm 20.24 (1), (4), (7) (f) to (r) and (12) S. Comm 22.31 (5)

Ch. Comm 21

S. Comm 21.02 (3) (a) and (e)

S. Comm 21.03 (1), (2) (b), (5), (6), (6m), (7) and (8)

S. Comm 21.04 (entire section)

SS. Comm 21.08 to 21.11 (entire sections)

S. Comm 21.15 (1) (e)

S. Comm 21.17 (3) (d)

S. Comm 21.18 (1) (b), (¢) and (d), (2) (a), (3) and
Tables 21.18-A, -B, —C, -D, —E and -F.

. Comm 21.22 (1m), (4) and (5) (b)

. Comm 21.24 (entire section)

. Comm 21.25 (1) (b), (¢) and (d), (2), (3) (b), (6) and
Tables 21.25—E and —F.

S. Comm 21.27 (3) (a)

S. Comm 21.29 (6) and (9)

S. Comm 21.30 (7) (a), (d) and (e) and (9) (¢)

v

Ch. Comm 23

S. Comm 23.02 (3)

S. Comm 23.04 (1) (e) and (4)
S. Comm 23.045 (2) (b) and (c)
S. Comm 23.06 (entire section)
S. Comm 23.062 (entire section)
S. Comm 23.14 (3)

Natural Resources:
(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1--)
Ch.NR 10

S. NR 10.104 (4) (b) and (5) (b)
S.NR 10.117 (5)
S. NR 10.28 (1) and (2) (c)

Editorial corrections

Corrections to code sections under the authority of s. 13.93 (2m) (b), Stats., are indicated in the following listing:

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection:
Ch. ATCP 118

S. ATCP 118.01 (3) (b) had a correction made under
s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats.

Commerce:
(Manufacture of Fireworks, Ch. Comm 9)

Ch. Comm 9

S. Comm 9.24 (1) had a correction made under s. 13.93
(2m) (b) 7., Stats.

S. Comm 9.28 (1) (a) had a correction made under
s. 13.93 2m) (b) 7., Stats.

(Uniform Dwelling, Chs. Comm 20-25)
Ch. Comm 20

S. Comm 20.09 (5) (b) had a correction made under
s. 13.93 2m) (b) 7., Stats.

Ch. Comm 21

S. Comm 21.02 (3) (b) had a correction made under
s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats.

S. Comm 21.205 (entire section) had a correction made
under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats.

Ch. Comm 22

S. Comm 22.22 (6) had a correction made under
s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats.

Corrections:
Ch. DOC 303

S. DOC 303.20 (1) and (2) (c) had corrections made
under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats.

Ch. DOC 316

S. DOC 316.01 (entire section) had a correction made
under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats.
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Ch. DOC 380

S. DOC 380.03 (11) had a correction made under
s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats.

Educational Approval Board:
Ch.EAB 1

S. EAB 1.01 (23) had a correction made under s. 13.93
(2m) (b) 7., Stats.

Ch. EAB 3

S. EAB 3.01 (6) (a) had a correction made under
s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats.

Ch.EAB 4

S. EAB 4.10 (2) (b) and (d) had corrections made under
s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats.

Ch. EAB 10

S. EAB 10.02 (4) had a correction made under s. 13.93
(2m) (b) 7., Stats.

S. EAB 10.04 (1) had a correction made under s. 13.93
(2m) (b) 7., Stats.

Elections Board:
Ch.EIBd 1

S. El Bd 1.65 (1) had a correction made under s. 13.93
(2m) (b) 7., Stats.

Emergency Management:
Ch. WEM 1

S. WEM 1.06 (2) had a correction made under s. 13.93
(2m) (b) 7., Stats.

Ch. WEM 2

S. WEM 2.04 (1) (intro.) had a correction made under
s. 13.93 2m) (b) 7., Stats.

Ch. WEM 4

S. WEM 4.01 (entire section) had a correction made
under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats.

S. WEM 4.04 (3) had corrections made under s. 13.93
(2m) (b) 7., Stats.

S. WEM 4.09 (1) (a) and (2) (a) had corrections made
under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats.
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Ch. WEM 5

S. WEM 5.05 (5) had a correction made under s. 13.93
(2m) (b) 7., Stats.

Ch. WEM 6

S. WEM 6.02 (7) had corrections made under s. 13.93
(2m) (b) 7., Stats.

Environmental Education Board:
Ch. EEB 2
S. EEB 2.02 (1), (2) and (5) had corrections made under
s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats.
S. EEB 2.04 (1) and (4) had corrections made under
s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats.

Natural Resources:
(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1--)

Ch.NR 10

S. NR 10.001 (9¢) had corrections made under s. 13.93
(2m) (b) 7., Stats.

Natural Resources:

(Environmental Protection——Investigation and
Remediation, Chs. NR 700—-)

Ch. NR 706

S. NR 706.02 (2) had a correction made under s. 13.93
(2m) (b) 7., Stats.

S. NR 706.03 (5) had a correction made under s. 13.93
(2m) (b) 7., Stats.

S. NR 706.11 (3) had a correction made under s. 13.93
(2m) (b) 7., Stats.

S. NR 706.15 (2) (a) and (3) (a) had corrections made
under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats.

Ch.NR 718

S. NR 718.01 (entire section) had a correction made
under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats.

S. NR 718.02 (1) (a) and (b) had corrections made
under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats.

Ch. NR 728

S. NR 728.01 (entire section) had a correction made
under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats.

Errata

Items reprinted to correct printing errors such as dropped copy (or other errors) are indicated in the following listing:

Commerce:

(Risk Screening and Closure Criteria for
Petroleum Product Contaminated Sites,
Ch. Comm 46)

Ch. Comm 46
S. Comm 46.06 Table 1 was reprinted to correct error.

Employee Trust Funds:
Ch. ETF 20
S. ETF 20.35 was reprinted to correct subsection titles.

Transportation:
Ch. Trans 8

S. Trans 8.02 (7) was reprinted to correct printing error.
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Sections affected by revisor’s corrections not published

Revisor’s corrections under s. 13.93 (2m) (b), Stats., identified in this Wis. Adm. Register.

Subscriber’s note: Please make corrections (manually) in your printed code. The affected sections are shown as corrected on
the Revisor of Statutes Internet site, Http://www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/, and on the WisLawld CD-ROM. Printed code will be

shown as corrected in its next printing.

Location of invalid cross-reference

Invalid cross-reference

Correction

DFI-CU 60.06

186.255 (11)

186.235 (11)

DFI-SL 12.02 (4)

221.04 (1) (k)

221.0303 (1)

DFI-SL 13.04 (1), (2) (intro.) and Note

138.056 (1) (a) 4a.

138.056 (1) (a) 4. a.

DFI-SB 12.02 (4)

221.04 (1) (k)

221.0303 (1)

DFI-SB 13.03 (1) and (2) (intro.)

138.056 (1) (a) 4a.

138.056 (1) (a) 4. a.

DFI-SB 16.03 (6)

66.521

66.1103

WGC 18.01 (1) (a)

562.07, 20.192 (2) (2), 562.07 (1)

Note inserted: 1991 Wis. Act 39
repealed ss. 20.192 and 562.07,
Stats.

(12)

WGC 18.01 (2) 562.07 Note inserted: 1991 Wis. Act 39
repealed s. 562.07, Stats.

WGC 18.01 (2) 181.02 (4) 181.0103 (5)

WGC 18.02 562.07 Note inserted: 1991 Wis. Act 39
repealed s. 562.07, Stats.

WGC 18.03 20.192 (2) (g) and 562.07 Note inserted: 1991 Wis. Act 39
repealed ss. 20.192 and 562.07,
Stats.

WGC 43.02 163.63 (1) 563.63 (1)

WGC 44.01 163.04 563.04

HFS 5.01 46.22 (6), 49.50 (2) and (5), 51.42 49.33 (4) and (7), 51.42 (7) (b)

HFS 10.36 (1) (b) 1.

55.05 (1)

55.01 (1t)

HFS 34.03 (11) (a) 3.

940.225 (5) (a)
940.225 (5) (b)

940.225 (5) (b)
940.225 (5) (c)

HFS 37.06 (1) 146.025 252.15
HFS 38.01 (1) 48.67 (1) 48.67

HFS 38.10 (2) (i) ch. HSS 37 ch. HFS 37
HFS 40.03 (14) 115.86 115.817

HES 40.03 (20)

HSS 101.03 (145)

HES 101.03 (145)

HES 40.03 (24)

HSS 107.32 (1) (a) 2.

HFS 107.32 (1) (a) 2.

HFES 40.09 (2) (b)

HSS 107.22

HFES 107.22



http://www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/
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Location of invalid cross-reference Invalid cross—reference Correction
HFS 40.15 (2) HSS 190.09 HFS 190.09
HFS 42.01 48.551 (2) 48.55 (2)
48.551 48.55
HFS 42.03 (1) 48.551 48.55
HES 50.05 (1) (a) 49.19 (12) 48.62 (4)
HEFS 59.02 (8) 938.22 (8) Delete
HFS 61.92 51.42 (5) (b) to (d), 51.42 (12) 51.42 (5) (a) 2. to 4. and (7) (b)
HEFS 65.02 (9) 49.177 49.77
HES 68.02 (2) (b) ch. HSS 82 ch. HFS 82
HES 73.04 (1) 46.27 (5) (a) 46.27 (5) (am)
HES 73.07 (1) () 49.177 49.77

HFES 75.03 (9) (a)

HEFES 76.06, 76.07

HFES 75.06, 75.07

HSS 56.01 (2)

48.67 (1)

48.67

HSS 56.01 (2)

49.19 (12)

48.62 (4)

HSS 56.02 (2) ILHR 51.01 (10) Comm 51.01 (10)
HSS 56.04 (7) (c) 5. c. ch. HSS 1 ch. HFS 1
HSS 56.09 (1) and (2) (a) 49.19 (12) 48.62 (4)

March 31, 2001
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Executive orders

The following are recent Executive Orders issued by the Governor.

Executive Order 418. Relating to a proclamation that the Executive Order 1. Relating to the findings of
flag of the United States and the flag of the State of Wisconsin be Governor’s task force on racial profiling.
flown at half-staff as a mark of respect for Assistant Fire Chief
Dana Johnson of the Grantsburg Volunteer Fire Department.
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