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Emergency rules now in effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Commerce 
(Financial Assistance for Businesses &

Communities, Chs. Comm 105—)

Rules were adopted creating ch. Comm 129, relating to
technology commercialization programs.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Commerce finds that an emergency

exists within the state of Wisconsin and that adoption of a rule
is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
health, safety and welfare.  A statement of the facts
constituting the emergency is as follows.

1.  In accordance with sections 560.205 (3) and 560.275
(7), Stats., the department has the responsibility to promulgate
rules to administer an Early Stage Business Investment
Program and a Technology Commercialization Grant and
Loan Program.

2.  Section 560.205 (1) and (2), Stats., makes available
certain tax benefits for investors in early stage businesses for
tax years beginning after December 31, 2004.

3.  Section 560.275 (2), Stats., makes available grant and
loan program funds appropriated as of July 1, 2004.

4.  The department, being the agency with primary
authority for economic development in the state, recognizes
that there is a verified need to assist the development of high
growth early stage technology businesses.  Wisconsin has
historically ranked low in the development of new start−ups
and in the attraction of risk capital.

5.  The department recognizes that promulgating this
emergency rule will alleviate the need for investors to defer
investments into qualified new businesses while they wait for
the promulgation of the permanent rule.  Such a circumstance
would effectively halt new investment into early stage high
tech companies in Wisconsin, a result that would be contrary
to the intent of the legislation.

6.  In addition, the department recognizes that without
promulgating this emergency rule, the department would
likely be unable to fully utilize the funds made available to
benefit early stage businesses.

7.  Finally, the department recognizes that without
promulgating this emergency rule, Wisconsin’s early stage
businesses would be unable to compete fairly to attract
much−needed risk capital and federal research dollars to
Wisconsin.

Publication Date: December 2, 2004
Effective Date: December 2, 2004
Expiration Date: May 1, 2005
Hearing Date: January 12, 2005
Extension Through: June 29, 2005

Elections Board

Rules adopted creating s. ElBd 1.395, relating to the use of
funds in a federal campaign committee that has been
converted to a state campaign committee and relating to the
use of those converted funds whose contribution to the federal
committee would not have been in compliance with
Wisconsin law if the contribution had been made directly to a
state campaign committee.

Finding of Emergency
The Elections Board finds that an emergency exists in the

recent change in federal law that permits the transfer of the
funds in a federal candidate campaign committee’s account to
the candidate’s state campaign committee account and finds
that a rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A statement of the
facts constituting the emergency is as follows:

Since the Bi−Partisan Campaign Reform Act of 2002
(BICRA), transfers of funds from a federal campaign
committee to a state campaign committee had not been
authorized under federal law.  In November, 2004, Congress
amended the Federal Election Campaign Act, (H.R. 4818,
s.532(3) and 532(4), to permit the transfer of a federal
candidate’s campaign committee’s funds to the candidate’s
state campaign committee, if state law permitted, and subject
to the state law’s requirements and restrictions.

Because of  Congress’ action in November, 2004, money
which had not been available to a state committee under
BICRA, and which might not have qualified for use for
political purposes in a state campaign because of its source or
because of other noncompliance with state law, could now be
transferred to a state committee, if state law permitted.
Wisconsin law, under the Board’s current rule, ElBd 1.39,
Wis. Adm. Code,  allows for conversion of federal campaign
committees, and their funds, to a state campaign committee
without regard to the source of those funds and without regard
to contribution limitations.
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Restricting the use of such money to that money which has
been contributed to the candidate’s federal committee, under
circumstances in which the contribution would have
complied with Wisconsin law if it had been given directly to
the Wisconsin campaign committee, is found to be in the
public interest.

Publication Date: February 3, 2005

Effective Date: February 3, 2005*

Expiration Date: July 3, 2005
Hearing Date: May 18, 2005

*  On February 9, 2005, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended this emergency rule.

Insurance

Rules were adopted creating ch. Ins 14, Wis. Adm. Code,
relating to vehicle protection plans.

Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that the attached rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare.
Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The statute requiring these changes is effective on
December 1, 2004. The length of the rulemaking process has
not permitted OCI to finish promulgating the rule. This
emergency implementation will allow vehicle protection
businesses to start getting registered and selling their
products. Many of these products are promoted as safety
related such as glass etching, the “club,” vehicle entry
warning sirens and others. Consumer would then be able
obtain the promoted safety benefits of these products as soon
as the legislature permitted them.

Publication Date: December 10, 2004

Effective Date: December 10, 2004

Expiration Date: May 9, 2005
Hearing Date: January 11, 2005
Extension Through: July 7, 2005

Natural Resources
(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1−)

Rules were adopted revising s. NR 20.33 (5) (c), relating to
the closure of sturgeon spearing on the Lake Winnebago
system.
Finding of emergency

The Department of Natural Resources find that an
emergency exists and a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public health, safety or welfare.  The facts
constituting this emergency are:

During the 2004 sturgeon spearing on Lake Winnebago,
spearers harvested a record 1,303 sturgeon on opening day,
exceeding the season harvest cap for adult female sturgeon.
the spearing season lasted only two days and resulted in an
overall harvest of 1,854 sturgeon.  The total harvest included
822 males, 348 juvenile females, and 684 adult females, 509
of which came on opening day, exceeding the harvest cap of
425.  Population reduction due to overharvest of lake sturgeon
could take years to reverse given the life history of lake
sturgeon.

Publication Date: February 2, 2005

Effective Date: February 2, 2005

Expiration Date: July 2, 2005
Hearing Date: February 23, 2005

Natural Resources (2)
(Environmental Protection − Water Regulation,

Chs. NR 300—)

1. Rules adopted revising ch. NR 326, relating to regulation
of piers, wharves, boat shelters, boat hoists, boat lifts and
swim rafts in navigable waterways.

Finding of emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public health, safety and welfare. The Wisconsin
Legislature recently enacted 2003 Wisconsin Act 118, to
streamline the regulatory process for activities in public trust
waters.  The state has an affirmative duty to administer the
new law in a manner consistent with the public trust
responsibilities of the State of Wisconsin under Article IX,
Section I of the Wisconsin Constitution.

2003 Act 118 identifies certain activities that may be
undertaken in public trust waters exempt from a permit, or
under a general permit. Certain activities may not be
undertaken in waters that are defined as “areas of special
natural resource interest” or at other locations where the
activity would cause detrimental impacts on public rights and
interests in navigable waters.  Without emergency rules to aid
in administering the new law, the following severe problems
will occur:

Until general permits are created by rule, any activity
which is not exempt requires an individual permit with an
automatic 30−day public notice.  The required 30−day
comment period will unnecessarily delay hundreds of
construction projects that otherwise could go ahead with
specified conditions for protecting lakes and streams (for
example, all new riprap and culvert applications currently
require public notices).

Unclear wording of exemptions currently puts property
owners, contractors and consultants at risk of violation.
Without clear procedures and standards established by
emergency rule, many more people may request exemption
determinations, slowing the decisions on individual permit
applications.

Wording of exemptions and temporary grading jurisdiction
puts lakes and streams at risk.  Without standards as intended
and described in the new law, exempted activities and grading
along shorelines will cause inadvertent but permanent
destruction of fish and wildlife habitat, loss of natural scenic
beauty and reduced water quality.  Rights of neighboring
property owners may also be harmed.  Cumulatively over one
or two construction seasons, these impacts will have
immediate and permanent effects on Wisconsin’s
water−based recreation and tourism industry.

To carry out the intention of the Legislature that 2003 Act
118 to speed decision−making but not diminish the public
trust in state waters, these emergency rules are required to
establish definitions, procedures and substantive standards
for exemptions, general permits and jurisdiction under the
new law.
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Publication Date: April 19, 2004

Effective Date: April 19, 2004*

Expiration Date: September 16, 2004
Hearing Date: May 19, 2004

*On June 24, 2004, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended this emergency rule.

2. Rules adopted creating ch. NR 328, subch. III, relating to
shore erosion control on rivers and streams.

Finding of emergency
SECTION 2.  FINDING. The emergency rule procedure,

pursuant to s. 227.24, Stats., is necessary and justified in
establishing rules to protect the public health, safety and
welfare. The Wisconsin Legislature enacted 2003 Wisconsin
Act 118 to streamline the regulatory process for activities in
public trust waters.  The state has an affirmative duty to
administer the law in a manner consistent with the public trust
responsibilities of the State of Wisconsin under Article IX,
Section I of the Wisconsin Constitution.

Act 118 identifies certain activities that may be undertaken
as exempt from a permit, or under a general permit.  There are
no statutory exemptions for shore protection on rivers and
streams.  Without emergency rules to create general permits,
all shore protection projects on rivers and streams require an
individual permit with an automatic 30−day public notice.
The required 30−day comment period will unnecessarily
delay projects that otherwise could go ahead with prescribed
conditions established in a general permit.

To carry out the intention of Act 118 to speed
decision−making but not diminish the public trust in state
waters, these emergency rules are required to establish
general permits to be in effect for the 2005 construction
season, with specific standards for shore erosion control
structures on rivers and streams.

Publication Date: April 8, 2005

Effective Date: May 1, 2005

Expiration Date: September 28, 2005
Hearing Date: May 16, 2005

Public Instruction

Rules adopted repealing s. PI 24.02 (3) and repealing and
recreating subchapter II of chapter PI 24, relating to the
payment of state aid under the student achievement guarantee
in education (SAGE) program.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Public Instruction finds an emergency

exists and that a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public welfare.  A statement of the facts
constituting the emergency is:

Section 118.43 (6m), Stats., requires the department to
promulgate rules to implement and administer the payment of
state aid under s. 118.43 (6), Stats.  Because the next deadline
for pupil reporting requirements occurs in January 2005, the
rule must take effect as soon as possible to give eligible
schools enough notice to meet such requirements.

Publication Date: December 20, 2004
Effective Date: December 20, 2004
Expiration Date: May 19, 2005
Hearing Date: January 14, 2005

Regulation and Licensing

Rules adopted creating ch. RL 150 to 154, relating to the
licensure and regulation of athlete agents.

Exemption from finding of emergency
SECTION 4. Nonstatutory provisions of 2003 Wisconsin

Act 150 states in part:
(2)  The department of regulation and licensing may, using

the procedure under section 227.24 of the statutes,
promulgate the rules under section 440.9935 of the statutes,
as created by this act, for the period before permanent rules
become effective, but not to exceed the period authorized
under section 227.24 (1) (c) and (2) of the statutes.
Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and (3) of the
statutes, the department is not required to provide evidence
that promulgating rules under this subsection as emergency
rules is necessary for the preservation of the public peace,
health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
findings of emergency for rules promulgated under this
subsection.
Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing

Statutes authorizing promulgation:  s. 227.11 (2), Stats.,
and ss. 440.99, 440.991, 440.915, 440.992, 440.9925,
440.993, 440.9935, 440.994, 440.9945, 440.995, 440.9955,
440.996, 440.9975, 440.998 and 440.999, Stats., as created by
2003 Wisconsin Act 150.

Statutes interpreted:  Chapter 440, Subchapter XII.
This emergency rule is promulgated pursuant to 2003

Wisconsin Act 150.  This Act grants the Department of
Regulation and Licensing the authority to create rules relating
to the licensure and regulation of athlete agents.

In this order adopting emergency rules the Department of
Regulation and Licensing creates rules relating to the
licensure of athlete agents.  These rules are as a result of 2003
Wisconsin Act 150 which enacted the Uniform Athlete
Agents Act.  Chapters RL 150 to 154 establish requirements
and standards for registration and the practice of registered
athlete agents.  The rules specify the registration requirements
for temporary and permanent registration, renewal
requirements, and prohibited conduct for athlete agents.

SECTION 1 creates Chapter RL 150 which sets forth the
statutory authority and the definitions for the proposed rules.

SECTION 2 creates Chapter RL 151 which sets forth the
application process and requirements for an initial certificate
of registration, including the application process for a
temporary certificate of registration.

SECTION 3 creates Chapter RL 152 which sets forth the
application process and requirements for renewal of a
certificate of registration.

SECTION 4 creates Chapter RL 153 which outlines the
standards of practice which apply to a credential holder.

SECTION 5 creates Chapter RL 154 which defines
unprofessional conduct.
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Publication Date: October 5, 2004

Effective Date: October 5, 2004
Expiration Date: March 4, 2005
Hearing Date: November 12, 2004
Extension Through: July 1, 2005

Revenue

Rules adopted revising s. Tax 18.07, relating to the
assessment of agricultural land.

Finding of emergency
The Wisconsin Department of Revenue finds that an

emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public welfare. The facts
constituting the emergency are as follows:

Pursuant to s. 70.32 (2r) (c), the assessment of agricultural
land is assessed according to the income that could be
generated from its rental for agricultural use. Wisconsin
Chapter Tax 18 specifies the formula that is used to estimate
the net rental income per acre. The formula estimates the net
income per acre of land in corn production based on a 5−year
average corn price per bushel, cost of corn production per
bushel and corn yield per acre. The net income is divided by
a capitalization rate that is based on a 50 year average interest
rate for a medium−sized, 1−year adjustable rate mortgage and
net tax rate for the property tax levy two years prior to the
assessment year.

For reasons of data availability, there is a three−year lag in
determining the 5−year average. Thus, the 2003 use value is
based on the 5−year average corn price, cost and yield for the
1996−2000 period, and the capitalization rate is based on the
5−year average interest rate for the 1998−2002 period. The
2005 use value is to be based on the 5−year average corn price,
cost and yield for the 1998−2002 period, and the
capitalization rate is to be based on the 2000−2004 period.

The data for the 1998−2002 period yields negative net
income per acre due to declining corn prices and increasing
costs of corn production. As a result, reliance on data for the
1998−2002 period will result in negative use values.

The department is issuing this emergency rule in order to
ensure positive and stable assessments of agricultural land for
2005.

Publication Date: December 29, 2004

Effective Date: December 29, 2004
Expiration Date: May 28, 2005
Hearing Date: May 26, 2005

Transportation

Rules adopted creating ss. Trans 254.12 (6) and 255.12
(17), relating to the issuance of single and multiple trip
oversize and overweight permits.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Transportation finds that an emergency

exists and that the rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public safety and welfare.  Although the
Department will pursue promulgation of this rule through
normal procedure, the Department finds an emergency exists
for the following reasons: (1) current administrative rules
have size limitations that prevent the use of the Milwaukee

Expressway for vehicles or load or dimensions greater than 11
feet in width, 13� feet in height, or 100 feet in length on the
Milwaukee Freeway; (2) structural beams and girders that
exceed the above transport limits are currently being
manufactured for the initial stages of construction of the
Marquette Interchange Reconstruction project; and (3) these
steel and concrete bridge components must be delivered to the
construction site beginning in February 2005 to keep the
project on time and on−budget.  Routing these oversized loads
on the Milwaukee surface street system may not be possible
due to the load lengths and the turning radiuses required.  If
the street geometry does allow the movement, these street
systems may not be designed to carry the weight of such loads.
Doing so will result in unsafe and possible permanent damage
to the surface street system.  Without this rule amendment, the
other alternative is to reduce the size of these structural
members (beams and girders) to meet these existing size
limitations which will significantly increase the total projects
costs and the time required to complete the project because of
the necessary redesign.

Publication Date: February 1, 2005
Effective Date: February 1, 2005
Expiration Date: July 1, 2005
Hearing Date: March 1, 2005

Workforce Development  (2)
(Labor Standards, Chs. DWD 270−279)

1. Rules adopted revising ss. DWD 274.015 and 274.03 and
creating s. DWD 274.035, relating to overtime pay for
employees performing companionship services.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that the attached rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

On January 21, 2004, pursuant to s. 227.26(2)(b), Stats., the
Joint Committee for Review of Administrative Rules directed
the Department of Workforce Development to promulgate an
emergency rule regarding their overtime policy for
nonmedical home care companion employees of an agency as
part of ch. DWD 274.
Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce
Development

Statutory authority:  Sections 103.005, 103.02, and 227.11,
Stats.

Statutes interpreted: Sections 103.01 and 103.02, Stats.
Section 103.02, Stats., provides that “no person may be

employed or be permitted to work in any place of employment
or at any employment for such period of time during any day,
night or week, as is prejudicial to the person’s life, health,
safety or welfare.” Section 103.01 (3), Stats., defines “place
of employment” as “any manufactory, mechanical or
mercantile establishment, beauty parlor, laundry, restaurant,
confectionary store, or telegraph or telecommunications
office or exchange, or any express or transportation
establishment or any hotel.”

Chapter DWD 274 governs hours of work and overtime.
Section DWD 274.015, the applicability section of the
chapter, incorporates the statutory definition of “place of
employment” and limits coverage of the chapter to the places
of employment delineated in s. 103.01 (3), Stats., and various
governmental bodies. Section DWD 274.015 also provides
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that the chapter does not apply to employees employed in
domestic service in a household by a household.

Section 103.02, Stats., directs that the “department shall,
by rule, classify such periods of time into periods to be paid
for at the rate of at least one and one−half times the regular
rates.” Under s. DWD 274.03, “each employer subject to this
chapter shall pay to each employee time and one−half the
regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours
per week.” Section DWD 274.04 lists 15 types of employees
who are exempt from this general rule and s. DWD 274.08
provides that the section is inapplicable to public employees.

Nonmedical home care companion employees who are
employed by a third−party, commercial agency are covered
by the overtime provision in s. DWD 274.03. Section DWD
274.03 applies to all employees who are subject to the chapter
and not exempt under ss. DWD 274.04 or 274.08. The chapter
applies to companion employees of a commercial agency
because under s. DWD 274.015 a commercial agency is
considered a mercantile establishment. Section DWD 270.01
(5) defines a mercantile establishment as a commercial,
for−profit business. The chapter does not apply to companion
employees of a nonprofit agency or a private household. In
addition, none of the exemptions to the overtime section in ss.
DWD 274.04 or 274.08 apply to companion employees of a
commercial agency.

The Joint Committee for the Review of Administrative
Rules has directed DWD to promulgate an emergency rule
regarding the overtime policy for nonmedical home care
companion employees of an agency. This provision is created
at s. DWD 274.035 to say that employees who are employed
by a mercantile establishment to perform companionship
services shall be subject to the overtime pay requirement in s.
DWD 274.03. “Companionship services” is defined as those
services which provide fellowship, care, and protection for a
person who because of advanced age, physical infirmity, or
mental infirmity cannot care for his or her own needs. Such
services may include general household work and work
related to the care of the aged or infirm person such as meal
preparation, bed making, washing of clothes, and other
similar services. The term “companionship services” does not

include services relating to the care and protection of the aged
or infirm person that require and are performed by trained
personnel, such as registered or practical nurses.

This order also repeals and recreates the applicability of the
chapter section and the overtime section to write these rules
in a clearer format. There is no substantive change in these
sections.

Publication Date: March 1, 2004
Effective Date: March 1, 2004*
Expiration Date: July 29, 2004

*  On April 28, 2004, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended s. DWD 274.035 created as
an emergency rule.

2. Rules adopted revising ch. DWD 272, relating to
increasing Wisconsin’s minimum wages.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that the rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The federal minimum wage has fallen to its lowest
inflation−adjusted value of all time. When wages are so low
that workers and their families can’t afford their most basic
needs, society, particularly taxpayers, bears tremendous costs
due to poverty−related educational failure, workforce failure,
and citizenship failure. An adequate minimum wage supports
workers, helps strengthen families and communities, and
promotes the state’s overall economic and fiscal health.

Publication Date: May 25, 2005
Effective Date: June 1, 2005
Expiration Date: October 29, 2005
Hearing Date: June 14, 2005 

[See Notice This Register]
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Scope statements

Dentistry Examining Board

Subject
Training requirements for dental hygienists applying local

anesthesia by applicator.
Objective of the rule.  This proposed rule would exempt

subginival, local anesthetics administered by applicator from
the educational program requirements of Ch. DE 7, which
currently apply to dental hygienists who administer local
anesthesia by injection.  With the exception, the 10 hours of
didactic and 11 hours of clinical education would not be
required if the dental hygienist limits administration of local
anesthetics to applicators.
Policy analysis

A new type of subginival, local anesthesia applied by
applicator, not by injection, is available and is being marketed
in Wisconsin.  The current rule concerning certification of
dental hygienists to administer local anesthesia does not
explicitly contemplate local anesthetics administered in this
manner, so a revision is sought to clarify educational
requirements for dental hygienists who apply local,
subginival anesthesia by applicator.

In terms of its application, some states consider local
anesthetics applied by applicator as they do medicaments
applied in periodontal pockets, similar to certain antibiotics.
Dental hygienists may apply such medicaments under
supervision.  Others consider it a topical anesthetic.  In these
instances, no rule−making may be required.
Comparison with federal requirements

There is no existing or proposed federal regulation for
summary and comparison.
Statutory authority

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 447.02 (2) (e), Stats.
Staff time required

200 hours.

Financial Institutions − Banking

Subject
Sections DFI—Bkg 80.85 (1), (2) and (5) relating to

prohibited bases for discriminating in the extension of
consumer credit.
Policy analysis

The objective of the rule is to amend ss. DFI—Bkg 80.85
(1) and (2), and create DFI—Bkg 80.85 (5).  The purpose of
this rule is to expand the prohibited bases for discriminating
in the extension of consumer credit.  Currently the Wisconsin
Consumer Act makes discrimination on the basis of sex or
marital status in the granting or extension of credit an
unconscionable credit practice.  The rule makes
discrimination on the basis of a prohibited basis in the
granting or extension of credit an unconscionable credit
practice.  The rule defines prohibited basis to include the
already existing bases as well as additional bases.

Statutory authority
Sections 426.108 and 227.11 (2), Stats.

Staff time required
100 hours.

Entities affected by the rule
Credit providers.

Federal regulation addressing the activities
12 CFR 202.

Health and Family Services

Subject
The Department proposes to repeal sections HFS 61.91 to

61.98 and create ch. HFS 35, rules relating to outpatient
mental health clinics, and to revise sections HFS 105.13 (2)
and 107.22 rules relating to outpatient mental health services
and certification of psychotherapy providers under Medical
Assistance (MA).
Policy analysis

Sections HFS 61.91 to 61.98 address procedures for
certification; required personnel; service requirements; and
denial, involuntary termination or suspension of certification
for outpatient mental health clinics; clinical supervision,
collaboration, and consultation; written authorization of
psychotherapy by a physician; initial assessments of clients
and development of treatment plans; progress notes;
discharge summaries; and record keeping.  In addition to these
requirements, these rules require clinics to ensure continuity
of care for persons with mental disorders or alcohol and drug
abuse problems by rendering or arranging for the provision of
specified services, including but not limited to, residential
facility placement; aftercare for continuing treatment in the
community to help the patient maintain and improve
adjustment following a period of treatment in a facility; and
emergency care. Section HFS 105.22 provides the
requirements for MA certification of psychotherapy
providers, staffing of outpatient facilities, and MA
reimbursement for outpatient psychotherapy services.
Section HFS 107.13 (2) details the Medicaid requirements for
covered services for outpatient psychotherapy services, prior
authorization and other limits and procedures, and
non−covered services under MA.

Sections HFS 61.91 to 61.98 have been revised several
times over the years, but have not been comprehensively
reviewed and rewritten since May 1981.  Section HFS 105.22,
was last revised in 1991, and s. HFS 107.13 (2), which was last
revised in 2004, but not comprehensively reviewed and
rewritten since March 1986.  Several changes affecting the
needs of persons who seek outpatient mental health services
and the operation of the outpatient mental health clinics have
occurred since the referenced rules were last revised.  These
changes include the passage of 2001 Wisconsin Act 80
dealing with licensure of social workers and other
professionals; 1993 Act 138 and N8 dealing with advanced
practice nurse prescribers; a shortage of psychiatrists in parts
of the state; and research regarding recovery−oriented
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treatment.  In addition, many professionals and
representatives of outpatient mental health clinics indicate
that the current rules are burdensome, costly, and do not help
to lead to the desired outcomes of persons receiving
treatment.

The Department believes that ss. HFS 61.91 to 61.98 need
a comprehensive rewrite to address these issues and to
incorporate functional changes to the rules made through
several statewide variances based on input from providers and
professional organizations.  In repealing ss. HFS 61.91 to
61.98 and creating ch. HFS 35 to replace these sections, the
Department intends to address several areas including,
allowing clinics to alternatively meet, the standards of one of
several national accrediting bodies, such as the Joint
Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations
(JCAHO); establishing a detailed certification process similar
in both organization and content to the certification process
set out in rules for other community mental health certified
programs, which includes actions taken against certified
programs and permits provisional certification pending
correction of minor deficiencies; adding a requirement for a
criminal records check on prospective new employees;
modifying the requirements for professional staffing of a
clinic; changing requirements of staff supervision to a quality
improvement process; adding training requirements for clinic
staff; adding or expanding rule language on admission,
assessment, consent for treatment, treatment planning and
medications administration; and adding sections on client
rights and obtaining information about client satisfaction with
treatment.

Proposed changes to ss. HFS 105.22 and 107.13 (2), will
ensure that the language in these rules is consistent with the
language in the proposed ch. HFS 35 and will reflect current
practices and needs, such as, indexing the number of visits and
dollar amounts before a prior authorization is required.

The Department believes that the proposed changes will
result in rules that are less burdensome to mental health
providers and improved services to mental health consumers.

Statutory authority

The Department’s authority to repeal and create these rules
is found in ss. 49.45 (10), 51.42 (7) (b) and 227.11 (2), Stats.

Staff time required

Estimated hours of staff time to draft the rules – 200 staff
hours.  An advisory committee will provide opportunities for
input from mental health consumers, mental health advocates,
professional organizations, accreditation organizations (e.g.,
Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare
Organizations, Council on Accreditation), and providers to
the drafting process.

Entities affected by the rule

Entities that may be affected by the proposed rules are
public and private outpatient mental health clinics certified by
the Department of Health and Family Services.

Comparison with federal requirements

42 CFR pt. 440.130 permits use of Medicaid funds to
provide diagnostic, screening, preventive, and rehabilitative
services, including any medical or remedial services
recommended by a physician or other licensed practitioner of
the healing arts, within the scope of his practice under state
law, for maximum reduction of physical or mental disability
and restoration of a recipient to his best possible functional
level.  There are no other known proposed or existing federal
regulations pertinent to outpatient mental health clinics.

Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional

Counseling and Social Work Examining Board −

Social Worker Section

Subject
Internship requirements.
Objective of the rule.  To create and clarify a specific term

of hours for  the internship requirement for the social work
training certificate, and to more clearly define what
constitutes a human services internship.
Policy analysis

Currently, the Social Worker Section rules specify no
hourly requirements for the required human services
internship.  Under the current rules, the board may reject a
social worker training certificate applicant based on what they
deem as an insufficient length of internship.  Therefore, the
Social Worker Section is modifying its rules to specify that
social worker training certificate applicants who are pursuing
their required human services experience through internship
must engage in at least 400 hours of supervised practice.  The
section also intends to better clarify what constitutes a human
services internship.
Statutory authority

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 457.03 and 457.22, Wis.
Stats.
Comparison with federal requirements

There is no existing or pending federal regulation relating
to internship requirements for social worker training
certificate applicants.
Staff time required

200 hours.

Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional

Counseling and Social Work Examining Board −

Marriage and Family Therapist Section

Subject
Continuing education requirements.
Objective of the rule.  To create greater uniformity among

the Marriage and family Therapist, Professional Counselor
and Social Worker sections with respect to continuing
education, including the criteria and acceptance of various
programs.
Policy analysis

The Marriage and Family Therapist, Professional
Counselor and Social Worker Sections all require 30 credit
hours of continuing education.  The Marriage and Family
Therapist Section is modifying its rules to permit continuing
education credits to be granted for additional items, including,
but not limited to, teaching academic courses, publishing
professional books, and presenting at national conferences.
In addition, these modifications will permit continuing
education credit to be granted to those credential holders who
take courses that are approved by the Professional Counselor
Section or by the Social Worker Section.  Finally, the revisions
will also permit continuing education hours to be granted for
courses that are either approved or sponsored by the American
Psychology Association.
Statutory authority

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 457.03 and 457.22, Wis.
Stats.
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Comparison with federal requirements
There is no existing or proposed federal legislation.

Staff time required
200 hours.

Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional

Counseling and Social Work Examining Board −

Social Worker Section

Subject
Continuing education requirements.
Objective of the rule.  To create greater uniformity among

the marriage and family therapist, professional counselor and
social worker sections with respect to continuing education,
including the criteria and acceptance of various programs.
Policy analysis

The Marriage and Family Therapist, Professional
Counselor and Social Worker Sections all require 30 credit
hours of continuing education.  The Social Worker Section is
modifying its rules to permit continuing education credits to
be granted for additional items, including, but not limited to,
teaching academic courses, publishing professional books,
and presenting at national conferences.  In addition, these
modifications will permit continuing education credit to be
granted to those credential holders who take courses that are
approved by the Marriage and Family Therapist Section or by
the Professional Counselor Section.  Finally, the revisions will
also permit continuing education hours to be granted for
courses that are either approved or sponsored by the American
Psychology Association.
Statutory authority

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 457.03 and 457.22, Wis.
Stats.
Comparison with federal requirements

There is no existing or proposed federal legislation.
Staff time required

200 hours.

Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional

Counseling and Social Work Examining Board −

Professional Counselor Section

Subject
Continuing education requirements.
Objective of the rule.  To create greater uniformity among

the Marriage and Family Therapist, Professional Counselor
and Social Worker Sections with respect to continuing
education, including the criteria and acceptance of various
programs.
Policy analysis

The Marriage and Family Therapist, Professional
Counselor and Social Worker Sections all require 30 credit
hours of continuing education.  The Professional Counselor
Section is modifying its rules to permit continuing education
credits to be granted for additional items, including, but not
limited to, teaching academic courses, publishing
professional books, and presenting at national conferences.

In addition, these modifications will permit continuing
education credit to be granted to those credential holders who
take courses that are approved by the Marriage and Family
Therapist Section or by the Social Worker Section.  Finally,
the revisions will also permit continuing education hours to be
granted for courses that are either approved or sponsored by
the American Psychology Association.
Statutory authority

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 457.03 and 457.22, Wis.
Stats.
Comparison with federal requirements

There is no existing or proposed federal regulation.
Staff time required

200 hours.

Natural Resources

Subject
Objective of the rule.  The ch. NR 700 rule series governs

site investigations and cleanup activities.  Many of the
revisions being proposed will update the sampling and
laboratory requirements necessary for a complete site
investigation and verification that a cleanup is working.
Specific changes suggested are eliminating the requirement
for analysis of gasoline range organics (GRO) and diesel
range organics (DRO), eliminating the soil standard for
GRO/DRO; revising reporting limits to the detection limit for
all compounds; removing product names from sample storage
devices and allowing for alternative storage devices; allowing
for the use of  preservation method SW−846 5035; updating
ch. NR 720, Soil Cleanup Standards, and ch. NR 746, Risk
Screening and Closure Criteria for Petroleum Product
Contaminated Sites and Agency Roles and Responsibilities,
to be consistent with ch. NR 726 requirements regarding
inclusion of sites exceeding soil standards on the GIS Registry
of Closed Remediation Systems, updating both statutory and
rule citations and revising a standard format for site
investigation reports to allow for more efficient review.

Additional changes to the proposal include requiring
persons conducting a cleanup to notify property owners
regarding residual contaminated soil, to be consistent with the
notification provided for residual groundwater
contamination; incorporating the authority granted by
modifications to s. 292.94 regarding  fees related to
enforcement action; specifying fees in NR 749, Fees for
Providing Assistance; Remediation and Redevelopment
Program, for review of changes or deletions to the GIS
Registry, revisions to NR 419, Control of Organic Compound
Emissions, regarding elimination of the form for reporting
treatment and disposal of petroleum contaminated soil;  and
revisions to NR 706, Hazardous Substance Discharge
Notification and Source Confirmation Requirements, to
mirror the statutory exemptions for law enforcement officers
and members of a fire department .
Policy analysis

GRO/DRO was originally used as a screening tool during
the initial stages of a site investigation due to a lower cost.
Compound specific levels are now obtainable at a similar
price as for GRO, and are still needed for site characterization,
determination of remedial options and for site closure.  There
is no longer a need to use DRO/GRO as a screening tool.
There is also no corresponding groundwater standard for
GRO/DRO.
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Changing the reporting limit to be equal to the detection
limit for all compounds will also be a change in policy.  Doing
so will provide more accurate data in the reporting of releases
and in defining the effectiveness of cleanup actions.  Allowing
preservation method SW−846 5035 will change policy, as
currently methanol preservation of soil samples for VOC
analysis is required.   Changing this method will result in a
more representative idea of site conditions, and will reduce
the use of hazardous materials.  An approval process for
allowing the use of storage devices is proposed instead of
listing acceptable devices in rule, so as to allow a greater range
of devices as they come onto the market.  The change is
needed to remove product names, which provides a
competitive disadvantage to other acceptable methods.

Currently, sites closing under NR 746 are exempted from
NR 720, Soil Standards.  Revising the rules to require that
these sites, while closing under NR 746, must also be included
on the GIS Registry for sites with residual soil contamination
will ensure consistency with other sites with residual soil
contamination closing under NR 726.  As very few sites have
closed under NR 746, we do not expect this change to be
controversial.  Including a requirement to notify those who
will have residual soil contamination left on their property
after case closure is consistent with the notification
requirements for residual groundwater contamination.

Statutory authority

ss. 227.11 (2) (a), 281.19 (1), 285.11 (1), 285.17, 289.05
(1), 289.06, 291.05 (6) (f), 292.11 and 292.31, Wis. Stats.

Staff time required

The final rule should be completed within 12 months of the
initiation of rule changes.  The initial rule order package is
expected to be prepared by Fall of 2005.  Working with the
affected parties in drafting the rules should expedite the
rule−making process.

Comparison with federal requirements

There are no federal regulations comparable to the rule
changes being proposed.

Entities affected by the rule

The entities affected by these rule changes include parties
responsible for conducting cleanups under the Spill Law,
environmental consulting firms conducting the investigations
and cleanups and laboratories conducting the analysis of
samples submitted to them.

Transportation

Subject

Objective of the rule.  This proposal will amend ch. Trans
276, which establishes a network of highways on which long
combination vehicles may operate, by adding two highway
segments to the network.  The actual segments being proposed
are:

STH 175 from CTH P S. of Theresa to STH 60
STH 50 from IH 43 to USH 12

Policy analysis

Federal law requires the Department of Transportation to
react within 90 days to requests for changes to the long truck
route network.  Wisconsin state law requires that the
Department use the administrative rule process to make
changes to the long truck route network.  Chapter Trans 276

is an existing rule set up for long truck routes.  The
Department has received requests from Kreilkamp Trucking,
Inc., in Allenton, WI, and Sutton Transport, Inc., in Weston,
WI, to add these highway segments.
Comparison with federal requirements

In the Surface Transportation Assistance Act of 1982
(STAA), the federal government acted under the Commerce
clause of the United States Constitution to provide uniform
standards on vehicle length applicable in all states.  The length
provisions of STAA apply to truck tractor−semitrailer
combinations and to truck tractor−semitrailer−trailer
combinations.  (See Jan. 6, 1983, Public Law 97−424, § 411)
The uniform standards provide that:

� No state shall impose a limit of less than 48 feet on a
semitrailer operating in a truck tractor−semitrailer
combination.

� No state shall impose a length limit of less than 28 feet
on any semitrailer or trailer operating in a truck
tractor−semitrailer−trailer combination.

� No state may limit the length of truck tractors.

� No state shall impose an overall length limitation on
commercial vehicles operating in truck tractor−semitrailer
or truck tractor−semitrailer−trailer combinations.

� No state shall prohibit operation of truck
tractor−semitrailer−trailer combinations.

The State of Wisconsin complied with the federal
requirements outlined above by enacting 1983 Wisconsin Act
78 which amended § 348.07(2), Stats., and § 348.08(1), Stats.
This act created §§ 348.07(2)(f), (fm), (gm) and 348.08(1)(e)
to implement the federal length requirements.  In 1986 the
legislature created § 348.07(2)(gr), Stats., to add 53 foot
semitrailers as part of a two vehicle combination to the types
of vehicles that may operate along with STAA authorized
vehicles.  (See 1985 Wisconsin Act 165)

The vehicles authorized by the STAA may operate on the
national system of interstate and defense highways and on
those federal aid primary highways designated by regulation
of the secretary of the United States Department of
Transportation.  In 1984 the USDOT adopted 23 CFR Part
658 which in Appendix A lists the highways in each state upon
which STAA authorized vehicles may operate.  Collectively
these highways are known as the National Network.  In 1983
Wisconsin Act 78, the legislature enacted § 348.07(4), Stats.,
which directs the Wisconsin Department of Transportation to
adopt a rule designating the highways in Wisconsin on which
STAA authorized vehicles may be operated consistent with
federal regulations.

The Department of Transportation first adopted ch. Trans
276 of the Wisconsin Administrative Code in December of
1984.  The rule is consistent with 23 CFR Part 658 in that the
Wisconsin rule designates all of the highways in Wisconsin
that are listed in 23 CFR Part 658 as part of the National
Network for STAA authorized vehicles.  The federal
regulation does not prohibit states from allowing operation of
STAA authorized vehicles on additional state highways.  The
rule making authority granted to the Wisconsin Department
of Transportation in § 348.07(4), Stats., allows the DOT to
add routes in Wisconsin consistent with public safety.  The
rule making process also provides a mechanism to review
requests from businesses and shipping firms for access to the
designated highway system for points of origin and delivery
beyond 5 miles from a designated route.  A process to review
and respond to requests for reasonable access is required by
23 CFR Part 658.
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Entities affected by the rule

The rule will affect the requesters of the routes to be
designated and other operators of commercial motor vehicles.

Statutory authority

s. 348.07(4), Stats.

Staff time required

It is estimated that state employees will spend 40 hours on
the rule−making process, including research, drafting and
conducting a public hearing.

Transportation

Subject

Objective of the rule.  This proposal will amend ch. Trans
276, which establishes a network of highways on which long
combination vehicles may operate, by adding one highway
segment to the network.  The actual segment being proposed
is:

STH 57 from Sturgeon Bay to Sister Bay

Policy analysis

Federal law requires the Department of Transportation to
react within 90 days to requests for changes to the long truck
route network.  Wisconsin state law requires that the
Department use the administrative rule process to make
changes to the long truck route network.  Chapter Trans 276
is an existing rule set up for long truck routes.  The
Department has received a request from Representative
Garey Bies, on behalf of businesses of the 1st Assembly
District, to add this highway segment.

Comparison with federal requirements

In the Surface Transportation Assistance Act of 1982
(STAA), the federal government acted under the Commerce
clause of the United States Constitution to provide uniform
standards on vehicle length applicable in all states.  The length
provisions of STAA apply to truck tractor−semitrailer
combinations and to truck tractor−semitrailer−trailer
combinations.  (See Jan. 6, 1983, Public Law 97−424, § 411)
The uniform standards provide that:

� No state shall impose a limit of less than 48 feet on a
semitrailer operating in a truck tractor−semitrailer
combination.

� No state shall impose a length limit of less than 28 feet on
any semitrailer or trailer operating in a truck
tractor−semitrailer−trailer combination.

� No state may limit the length of truck tractors.
� No state shall impose an overall length limitation on

commercial vehicles operating in truck tractor−semitrailer or
truck tractor−semitrailer−trailer combinations.

� No state shall prohibit operation of truck
tractor−semitrailer−trailer combinations.

The State of Wisconsin complied with the federal
requirements outlined above by enacting 1983 Wisconsin Act
78 which amended s. 348.07 (2), Stats., and s. 348.08 (1),
Stats.  This act created ss. 348.07 (2) (f), (fm), (gm) and
348.08 (1) (e) to implement the federal length requirements.
In 1986 the legislature created s. 348.07 (2) (gr), Stats., to add
53 foot semitrailers as part of a two vehicle combination to the
types of vehicles that may operate along with STAA
authorized vehicles.  (See 1985 Wisconsin Act 165)

The vehicles authorized by the STAA may operate on the
national system of interstate and defense highways and on
those federal aid primary highways designated by regulation
of the secretary of the United States Department of
Transportation.  In 1984 the USDOT adopted 23 CFR Part
658 which in Appendix A lists the highways in each state upon
which STAA authorized vehicles may operate.  Collectively
these highways are known as the National Network.  In 1983
Wisconsin Act 78, the legislature enacted s. 348.07 (4), Stats.,
which directs the Wisconsin Department of Transportation to
adopt a rule designating the highways in Wisconsin on which
STAA authorized vehicles may be operated consistent with
federal regulations.

The Department of Transportation first adopted ch. Trans
276 of the Wisconsin Administrative Code in December of
1984.  The rule is consistent with 23 CFR Part 658 in that the
Wisconsin rule designates all of the highways in Wisconsin
that are listed in 23 CFR Part 658 as part of the National
Network for STAA authorized vehicles.  The federal
regulation does not prohibit states from allowing operation of
STAA authorized vehicles on additional state highways.  The
rule making authority granted to the Wisconsin Department
of Transportation in s. 348.07 (4), Stats., allows the DOT to
add routes in Wisconsin consistent with public safety.  The
rule making process also provides a mechanism to review
requests from businesses and shipping firms for access to the
designated highway system for points of origin and delivery
beyond 5 miles from a designated route.  A process to review
and respond to requests for reasonable access is required by
23 CFR Part 658.
Entities affected by the rule

The rule will affect the requester of the route to be
designated and other operators of commercial motor vehicles.
Statutory authority

s. 348.07(4), Stats.
Staff time required

It is estimated that state employees will spend 40 hours on
the rule−making process, including research, drafting and
conducting a public hearing.

Workforce Development

Subject
Chapter DWD 272, Minimum wages.

Policy analysis
Pursuant to ss. 103.005 (5) (a) and 104.04, Stats., DWD

created a Minimum Wage Advisory Council in January 2004.
The Council collected and analyzed data relating to the issue
of the State of Wisconsin’s minimum wage rates, determined
the adequacy of the current minimum wage rates, and made
recommendations to the Department on potential adjustments
to the minimum wage rates.

The Minimum Wage Advisory Council recommended an
increase in the general minimum wage rate to $5.70 on
October 1, 2004, and to $6.50 on October 1, 2005, and various
increases to special wage rates. The Department incorporated
the Minimum Wage Advisory Council’s recommendations in
the proposed rule CR04−036. Legislative committees
objected to that rule.

The Department proposes a new rule to increase the
general minimum wage rate to $5.70 when the rule is effective
and to increase it to $6.50 on June 1, 2006; to increase special
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rates for opportunity employees, agricultural workers, camp
counselors, and golf caddies; and to create a special rate for
minors on these new effective dates.
Entities affected by the rule

Employers and employees
Comparison with federal requirements

The federal general minimum wage rate is $5.15 per hour
and the opportunity rate is $4.25 per hour for employees under

20 years old for the first 90 days of employment. There are no
special rates for minors, agricultural workers, camp
counselors, or golf caddies.
Statutory authority

Sections 103.005 (1), 104.04, 104.045, 104.07, and 227.11,
Stats.
Staff time required

150 hours.
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Submittal of rules to legislative council clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
Rule Submittal Date

On May 12, 2005, the Department of Agriculture, Trade
and Consumer Protection submitted a proposed rule to the
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Subject Matter

Statutory authority: s. 227.15, Stats.  The proposed rule
order relates to dairy and food license fees.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing is required and will be held on June 14,

15, 16 and 17.

Contact Information
Tom Leitzke
(608) 224−4711
tom.leitzke@datcp.state.wi.uw

Commerce
Rule Submittal Date

On May 5, 2005, the Department of Commerce
submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.

Subject Matter

Statutory authority: s. 227.14 (4m) and 227.17, Stats.
The proposed rule order relates to miscellaneous fee
schedule changes.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing is required and will be held on June 15,

2005.

Contact Information
Robert DuPont
(608) 266−8984
rdupont@commerce.state.wi.us

Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional
Counseling and Social Work Examining Board

Rule Submittal Date
On May 12, 2005, the Marriage and Family Therapy,

Professional Counseling and Social Work Examining
Board submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council
Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

Statutory Authority:  ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and
457.03, Stats.

The proposed rule−making order relates to postgraduate
education and field experience for licensure as a clinical
social worker.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing is required and will be held on June 29,

2005, at 9:30 a.m. in Room 179A, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin, 53702.
Contact Information

Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Office of Legal Counsel,
(608) 266−0495.

Pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us

Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional
Counseling and Social Work Examining Board

Rule Submittal Date
On May 12, 2005, the Marriage and Family Therapy,

Professional Counseling and Social Work Examining
Board submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council
Rules Clearinghouse.
Subject Matter

Statutory Authority:  ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and
457.03, Stats.

The proposed rule−making order relates to expiration of
a temporary credential issued by the Social Worker
Section.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on June 29,
2005, at 9:30 a.m. in Room 179A, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin, 53702.
Contact Information

Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Office of Administrative
Rules, (608) 266−0495.

Pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us

Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional
Counseling and Social Work Examining Board

Rule Submittal Date
On May 12, 2005, the Marriage and Family Therapy,

Professional Counseling and Social Work Examining
Board submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council
Rules Clearinghouse.
Subject Matter

Statutory Authority:  ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and
457.03 (2), Stats.

The proposed rule−making order relates to
recordkeeping by marriage and family therapists,
professional counselors and social workers.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on August
2, 2005, at 9:30 a.m. in Room 179A, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin, 53702.
Contact Information

Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Office of Administrative
Rules, (608) 266−0495.  Pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us
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Natural Resources
Rule Submittal Date

On May 5, 2005, the Department of Natural Resources
submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.
Subject Matter

The proposed rule order relates to miscellaneous
structures and dredging in navigable waterways.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on June 15,
2005.
Contact Information

Mary Ellen Vollbrecht
Bureau of Fisheries Management & Habitat Protection
608−264−8554

Natural Resources
Rule Submittal Date

On May 12, 2005, the Department of Natural Resources
submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.
Subject Matter

The proposed rule order relates to ch. NR 465, national
emission standards for hazardous air pollutants for surface
coating of plastic parts and products and miscellaneous
metal parts and products.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing is required and will be held on June 21,

2005.

Contact Information
Eric Mosher
Bureau of Air Management
608−266−3010

Natural Resources
Rule Submittal Date

On May 12, 2005, the Department of Natural Resources
submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.

Subject Matter

The proposed rule order relates to chs. NR 460 and 463,
incorporation of federal amendments in National Emission
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing is required and will be held on June 21,

2005.

Contact Information
Eric Mosher
Bureau of Air Management
608−266−3010
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Rule−making notices

Notice of Hearings
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

[CR 05−044]
The State of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade

and Consumer Protection (DATCP) issues dairy and food
licenses.  DATCP announces that it will hold a public hearing
on a rule related to dairy and food license fees under chs.
ATCP 59, 60, 70, 71, 75, 77, 80, 81, 82, and 85, Wis. Adm.
Codes.

DATCP will hold public hearings on June 14, June 15, June
16 and one by videoconference on June 17, 2005, at the places
shown below.  DATCP invites the public to attend the hearing
at these locations and comment on the proposed rule.
Following the public hearing date, the hearing record will
remain open until Ju1y 1, 2005, for additional written
comments.  Comments may be sent by e−mail to:
hearingcomments@datcp.state.wi.us

This proposed rule is posted at on the Wisconsin
Legislative Council web site at
http://www.legis.state.wi.us/lc/adm_rules.htm.  You may
also obtain a free copy of this rule by contacting the Wisconsin
Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection,
Division of Food Safety, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI
53708−8911, telephone (608) 224−4700 or e−mail
kathy.porter@datcp.state.wi.us.  Copies will also be available
at the public hearing.

Wisconsin Department Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer
Protection’s small business regulatory coordinator is Keeley
Moll.  She can be contacted at the following address: Keeley
Moll, Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and
Consumer Protection, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI
53708−8911, telephone (608) 224−5039, e−mail
keeley.moll@datcp.state.wi.us

Hearing impaired persons may request an interpreter for
these hearings.  Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by Friday, June 3, 2005 by writing to Debbie
Mazanec, P.O. Box 8911, Madison WI 53708−8911,
telephone (608) 224−4712, e−mail:
debbie.mazanec@datcp.state.wi.us or by telephoning the
message relay system (TTY) at (608) 266−4399 to forward
your call to the department at (608) 224−5058.  Handicap
access is available at all locations for the hearings.

Four hearings are scheduled at the following Dates, Times
and Locations:

Tuesday June 14, 2005
11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Eau Claire
Eau Claire Division of Food Safety Area Office
Conference Room
3610 Oakwood Hills Parkway
Eau Claire, WI 54701

Wednesday June 15, 2005
11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Appleton

Fox Valley Technical College
Room B126
1825 N. Bluemound Drive
Appleton, WI 54912

Thursday June 16, 2005
11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Waukesha
Waukesha State Office Building
Department of Transportation Offices
Room 247
141 NW Barstow St.
Waukesha, WI 53188

Video Conference Hearing
June 17, 2005
11:00 a.m. 1:00 p.m.
At the following sites:

Main Broadcast Center
Madison
UW Pyle Center
Room 227
702 Langdon Street
Madison, WI 53706

Green Bay
Green Bay State Office Building
Room 618
200 N. Jefferson St.
Green Bay, WI 54301

Monroe
Monroe High School
Distance Learning Lab − B01
Use Gymnasium Entrance
1600 26th St
Monroe, WI 53566

La Crosse
La Crosse State Office Building
Dept of Transportation
Room B29
3550 Mormon Coulee Rd.
La Crosse, WI 54601

Wausau
UW Marathon County −Wausau
Distance Education & Instructional Technology
Room 218
518 South 7th Avenue
Wausau, WI 54401
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Background Summary
This rule increases current license and reinspection fees for

milk producers, dairy plants, food processing plants, food
warehouses, milk distributors, retail food stores, dairy, food
or water−testing laboratories, milk haulers, buttermakers,
cheesemakers and butter or cheese graders.  This rule
increases fees beginning in 2006.

This rule also provides for annual license fee adjustments
(up or down) beginning in 2007, based on the prevailing cash
balance in Wisconsin’s food safety program revenue account.
Any upward adjustment of fees must be submitted to an
industry advisory council and approved by the Board of
Agriculture Trade and Consumer Protection.  All annual fee
adjustments, whether up or down, must be published in the
Wisconsin administrative register.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP)

The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection (“DATCP”) administers Wisconsin’s dairy and
food safety program.  The program is funded, in part, by dairy
and food license fees.  This rule modifies current license fees.
It also provides a mechanism and criteria for future license fee
adjustments.

Rulemaking Authority
Statutory authority: 93.07 (1), 93.09 (10), 93.12 (7), 97.17

(4), 97.175 (2), 97.20 (2c) (b), (2g) (b), (2n) (b), (2w) and (4),
97.21 (4m) and (6), 97.22 (2) (b), (4) (am) and (8), 97.27 (3m)
and (5), 97.29 (3) (am), (cm) and (5), 97.30 (3m) and (5), and
98.146 (4), Stats.

Statutes interpreted: 93.09, 93.12, 97.17, 97.175, 97.20,
97.21, 97.22, 97.27, 97.29, 97.30 and 98.146 (4), Stats.

Rule Content
General
This rule increases current license and reinspection fees for

milk producers, dairy plants, food processing plants, food
warehouses, milk distributors, retail food stores, dairy, food
or water testing laboratories, milk haulers, buttermakers,
cheesemakers and butter or cheese graders.  This rule
increases fees beginning in 2006.

This rule also provides for annual license fee adjustments
(up or down) beginning in 2007, based on the prevailing cash
balance in Wisconsin’s food safety program revenue account.
Any upward adjustment of fees must be submitted to an
industry advisory council and approved by the Board of
Agriculture Trade and Consumer Protection.  All annual fee
adjustments, whether up or down, must be published in the
Wisconsin administrative register.

Initial Fee Increase
DATCP currently licenses certain businesses that produce,

process or handle dairy or food products.  These businesses
must pay license fees and comply with food safety and
labeling laws administered by DATCP.  License fees pay for
part of DATCP’s food safety and labeling program.  DATCP
may adjust most license fees by rule.  This rule increases
current license and reinspection fees as follows:

Entity Current Fee(s) Proposed Fee(s)

Dairy Farm $20 annual license fee $24
  (paid by dairy plant operator)

$20 or $40 reinspection fee $24 or $48
  (paid by dairy plant operator
  if reinspection is required)

Dairy Plant Annual license fee:

$80 for a Basic Plant fee $96

$580 or $730 for grade A $699 or $879
  processing plant  (based on size)

$330 for grade A receiving station $397

$80 for grade A transfer station $96

$80 to $350 for grade B
  processing plant $96 or $421
   (based on size)

$80 for grade B receiving station $96
  or transfer station

Grade A milk procurement fee:
  0.6 cent per 100 lbs.      0.0096 cent per 100 lbs.

Grade B milk procurement fee
  0.2 cent per 100 lbs. No change

Reinspection fee:

$165 or $200 for grade A $203 or $246
  processing plant

$180 for grade B processing plant $221

$100 for grade A receiving station $123

$40 for grade B receiving station, $48
  or grade A or B transfer station

Butter and cheese grading fee:

  1.09 cents per 100 lbs. of product No change

Food Processing
  Plant $60−$525 annual license fee $78 − $685

  (based on size and type)

$200 surcharge for canning $261

$40−$350 reinspection fee $49 − $431
  (based on size and type)

Food Warehouse $50−$200 annual license fee $65−261
  (based on size and type)

$75−$200 reinspection fee $92 − $246
  (based on size and type)

Milk Distributor  $50 annual license fee $60
    per facility

$20 reinspection fee $25
  per facility

Retail Food
  Store $30−$450 annual license fee $39−587

  (based on size and type)

$60−$300 reinspection fee $74 − $369
  (based on size and type)

Dairy, Food or
  Water Testing
  Lab $336 annual lab certification fee         No change

  for each dairy or food test (other
  than milk drug residue screening)

$276 annual lab certification fee for     No
change

  each water test

$25 annual certification fee for each    No change
  dairy or food analyst (other than milk
  drug residue screening analyst)

$50−$500 initial fee and $25−$50   No change
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  annual renewal fee for lab
  performing milk drug residue
  screening

$25 initial evaluation fee for milk drug  No
change

  residue screening analysts
  (if more than 3 per lab)

Milk Hauler $30 annual milk hauler license fee $36

$30 milk hauler reinspection fee $36

$40 milk weigher and sampler license $48
  fee (2−year license)

$40 milk weigher and sampler $48
  reinspection fee

Buttermaker or
  Cheesemaker $50 license fee (2−year license) $60

$25 Buttermaker or Cheesemaker $30
  reinspection fee

Butter or Cheese
  Grader $50 license fee (2−year license) $60

Annual Fee Adjustment

This rule provides for annual adjustment of the above fees
(up or down), based on the prevailing cash balance in
Wisconsin’s food safety program revenue account on June 30
of each year.  Fees are subject to the following adjustments
(adjustments take effect on September 1 of each year):

•  If the program revenue account balance on June 30 is less
than $400,000, DATCP may increase the fees by the percent
necessary to increase the account balance by an amount equal
to the difference between $500,000 and the account balance.
Before increasing any fee, DATCP must consult with an
advisory council of food and dairy processors.  The fee
increase, if any, must be approved by the DATCP Board and
published in the Wisconsin administrative register.

•  If the program revenue account balance on June 30 is
greater than $600,000, DATCP must reduce the fees by the
percent necessary to reduce the account balance by an amount
equal to the difference between $500,000 and the account
balance.

•  If the program revenue account balance on June 30 is
between $400,000 and $600,000, the fees do not change.

Exemptions

This rule does not affect any of the following:
•  Fees that DATCP charges for certain services, such as

review of food processing equipment plans, or the testing,
timing and sealing of pasteurizers.  DATCP is authorized to
charge fees for such services in order to cover its cost of
providing the services.  DATCP may adjust these service fees
by written notice, in order to keep fees consistent with service
costs.

•  License fees for milk and cream testers.  DATCP is not
authorized to adjust these fees by rule.  Milk and cream testers
currently pay a license fee of $50 (for a 2−year license) and a
reinspection fee of $25.

This rule exempts ungraded barrel cheese from current and
proposed cheese grading fees (paid by dairy plants).

Technical Changes

This rule makes certain non−substantive editorial and
drafting changes to current rules.

Fiscal Impact
State Fiscal Effect
This rule will increase food safety program revenues by

$1.2 million in 2006.  This is necessary to offset a projected
deficit in DATCP’s food safety program revenue account
beginning in FY 2005−06.  Fees have not been increased since
1998. DATCP proposes to increase license fees for all food
and dairy license categories.   A complete fiscal estimate is
attached.

Wisconsin’s food safety program is funded by a
combination of general tax dollars (GPR) and program
revenue from license fees (PR).   In 1991, license fees funded
about 40% of program costs.  The 1995−97 biennial budget
act reduced GPR funding, so that PR accounted for about 50%
of food safety funding.  Because of further GPR reductions in
recent state budgets, the current  PR funding share is about
60%.

Other developments have combined to deplete the food
safety PR account balance.  Recent state budgets have lapsed
a substantial amount of license fee revenue to the state general
fund (to help remedy state budget deficits).   DATCP has
delayed fee increases (none since 1998), but has experienced
a modest increase in operating costs.  DATCP also incurred a
significant increase in PR costs when the legislature
transferred the grade A milk certification program to DATCP
(without any attached funding).  DATCP currently projects a
PR account deficit in FY 2005−06.

DATCP is working to deliver effective food safety
protection as efficiently as possible.  DATCP’s bureau of food
safety and inspection currently has 88 staff −− 12.75 fewer
than in 1997 and 15.5 fewer than in 1991.  Dairy farm
inspection frequency is based on milk quality tests and past
inspection performance (DATCP is exploring ways to expand
this risk−based approach).  DATCP is also working with other
agencies to share resources and minimize duplication.  For
example:

•  DATCP works with local government to license and
inspect retail food establishments.  Twenty−seven local
entities license and inspect on behalf of DATCP, compared to
15 in  1997.  Local entities now license and inspect 3,800 retail
food establishments, and DATCP licenses and inspects the
remaining 4,700 establishments.

•  DATCP coordinates dairy plant inspection with the
United States Department of Agriculture, Agricultural
Marketing Service, to avoid duplicate inspection.

•  Since 1997, DATCP has worked with the Wisconsin
Department of Health and Family Services (DHFS) to
eliminate duplicate licensing and inspection of grocery stores,
restaurants, and combination grocery−restaurants.  DATCP
and DHFS have adopted uniform rules for grocery stores and
restaurants, to avoid conflicting standards.  Standards are
based on the federal model food code.

Local Fiscal Effect
DATCP currently provides administrative support to local

governments that license and inspect retail food
establishments as agents of DATCP.  Local governments
establish their own license fees, and reimburse DATCP for
administrative services costs.  The reimbursement amount
equals 10% of the license fee that DATCP would charge local
license holders, if DATCP licensed them directly.  An increase
in DATCP license fees therefore increases local
reimbursement payments.

In FY 2004, local governments made a total of $50,005 in
reimbursement payments.  If DATCP adopts the fee increases
proposed in this rule, the reimbursement rate will remain at
10%, but the total reimbursement amount will increase to
$61,505.  This rule thus increases local costs by $11,500
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(statewide total).  Local governments can (and likely will)
pass this increased cost on to retail food businesses.  Local
governments can set license fees to recover up to 100% of
their reasonable operating costs.

Business Impact

This rule increases current license fees for milk producers,
dairy plants, food processing plants, food warehouses, milk
distributors, retail food stores, dairy, food or water testing
laboratories, milk haulers, buttermakers, cheesemakers and
butter or cheese graders licensed by DATCP.  Many of these
licensed entities are “small businesses.”

The proposed fee increase is necessary to prevent a deficit
in Wisconsin’s food safety program revenue account.  Fees
have not been increased since 1998.  The proposed fee
increase will have an impact on the affected businesses, but
not a dramatic impact.  DATCP has worked to maintain a fair
and equitable license fee schedule.

Fees are based on actual food safety costs related to each
license sector.  Fees are also based on business size, food
product type, and type of food handling operations.  Smaller
businesses generally pay lower fees than large businesses, and
lower−risk businesses generally pay lower fees than
higher−risk businesses.

This rule increases food safety license fees, but does not

change other license requirements.  This rule requires no
additional recordkeeping, and no added professional services
to comply.  A complete small business analysis (“initial
regulatory flexibility analysis”) is attached.

Under 2003 Wis. Act 145, DATCP and other agencies must
adopt rules spelling out their rule enforcement policy for
small businesses.  DATCP has not incorporated a small
business enforcement policy in this rule, but will propose a
separate rule on that subject.  Food and dairy businesses must
pay required license fees in order to obtain a license from
DATCP.

Federal Regulation
There are no existing or proposed federal regulations

related to license fees for food and dairy businesses operating
in Wisconsin.

Surrounding State Programs
All of the surrounding states charge license fees to food and

dairy businesses.  License structure and fees vary between
states.  Differences in license fees may partly reflect
differences in general tax dollar support for food and dairy
programs in different states.

Minnesota
Minnesota has a license and fee structure that is similar, but

not identical to, Wisconsin’s structure:

Dairy Fees – Minnesota
Grade A pasteurizing plant $500
Grade A farm $50
Grade A farm reinspection fee $45
Manufacturing plant $140 per pasteurizer unit
Manufactured farm $25
Manufactured farm reinspection fee $45
Processor assessment $.07 per cwt for fluid milk products sold for retail

sale in Minnesota
Farm bulk milk pick−up tanker $25
Milk procurement fee $.0071 per cwt of raw milk purchased

Food Fees – Minnesota
Retail food handler $50−$2,001 based on sales volume
Wholesale food handler $57−$1,502 based on sales volume
Food broker $150
Wholesale food processor or manufacturer $169−$2,571 based on sales volume

Michigan
Michigan has a license and fee structure that is similar, but not identical to, Wisconsin’s structure“

Dairy fees – Michigan
Milk plant $175
Farms sending milk to plant $5−$10
Receiving or transfer station $50
Milk tank truck cleaning facility $50
Milk transportation company $20
Milk tank truck $10
Grade A milk distributor $50
Single service container and closure plant $50
Bulk milk hauler/sampler $40 for 2 years

Food Fees – Michigan
Retail food establishment $70
Limited wholesale food processor $70
Food warehouse $70
Extended retail food establishment $175
Wholesale food processor $175
Mobile food establishment $175
Temporary food establishment $28
Bottled water manufacturer $25 for each product registered and $25 for each

water dispensing machine
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Iowa
Iowa has a license and fee structure that is similar, but not identical to, Wisconsin’s structure:

Dairy Fees – Iowa
Milk plant $2,000 for 2 years
Transfer station $400 for 2 years
Receiving station $400 for 2 years
Milk hauler $20 for 2 years
Milk grader $20 for 2 years
Bulk milk tanker permit $50 for 2 years
Reinspection fee $40
Resealing pasteurizer fee $100 per reseal
Purchaser of milk fee − Grade A $.015 per cwt of raw milk purchased
Purchaser of milk fee − Grade B $.005 per cwt of raw milk purchased

Food Fees – Iowa
Mobile food unit or pushcart $20
Temporary food establishment $25
*Food establishment $30−$225 based on sales volume
*Food service establishment $50−$225 based on sales volume
Food processing plant $50−$250 based on sales volume
Egg handler $15−$250 based on cases sold

*If one establishment must hold both a food establishment and a food service establishment license, each license fee is 75%
of the established fee.

Illinois
Illinois has a license and fee structure that is substantially different from the Wisconsin structure:

Dairy Fees – Illinois
Milk plant permit $100
Receiving or transfer station $50
Cleaning and sanitizing facility $50
Milk hauler−sampler $25
Milk tank truck $25
Certified pasteurizer sealer $100

Illinois does not license or charge a fee to most food establishments. The following are fees charged to Illinois food
establishments:

Food Fees
Salvage Operator $100 plus inspection fee based on size
Bottled water manufacturer or distributor $150
Egg handlers, distributors and breakers $15−$200 plus inspection fee per case of eggs sold

Notice of Hearing
Commerce

(Fee Schedule)
[CR 05−038]

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 101.02
(15) (h) to (j), and 101.19, Stats., the Department of
Commerce will hold a public hearing on proposed rules under
chapter Comm 2, relating to miscellaneous fee schedule
changes.

The public hearing will be held as follows:

Date and Time:
Wednesday, June 15, 2005 at 2:00 p.m.

Location:
Room 3B, Thompson Commerce Center
201 West Washington Avenue
Madison
Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and

present comments on the proposed rules.  Persons making oral
presentations are requested to submit their comments in
writing.  Persons submitting comments will not receive

individual responses.  The hearing record on this proposed
rulemaking will remain open until June 30, 2005, to permit
submittal of written comments from persons who are unable
to attend the hearing or who wish to supplement testimony
offered at the hearing.  Written comments should be submitted
to Ronald Acker, Department of Commerce, P.O. Box 2689,
Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email at
racker@commerce.state.wi.us.

This hearing is held in an accessible facility.  If you have
special needs or circumstances that may make
communication or accessibility difficult at the hearing, please
call (608) 266−8741 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY) at least 10 days
prior to the hearing date.  Accommodations such as
interpreters, English translators, or materials in audio tape
format will, to the fullest extent possible, be made available
upon request by a person with a disability.
Analysis

1.  Statutes Interpreted.
Sections 101.02 (15) (h) to (j), and 101.19, Stats.
2.  Statutory Authority.
Sections 101.02 (15) (h) to (j), and 101.19, Stats.
3.  Related Statute or Rule.
None.
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4.  Explanation of Agency Authority.

Section 101.02 (15) (h) to (j), Stats., grants the Department
general authority for protecting the health, safety and welfare
of the public by establishing reasonable and effective safety
standards for the construction, repair and maintenance of
public buildings and places of employment.  Section 101.19,
Stats., grants the Department authority to promulgate rules to
fix and collect fees.

5.  Summary of Proposed Rules.

The Division of Safety and Buildings within the
Department of Commerce is responsible for administering
and enforcing safety and health rules relating to the
construction and inspection of dwellings, public buildings
and places of employment.  The Division of Environmental
and Regulatory Services within the Department is responsible
for administering and enforcing safety and health rules
relating to underground and aboveground flammable and
combustible liquid storage tank systems.  In the
administration and enforcement of those rules, the
Department provides numerous services such as plan
examination, inspection and certification.  The Department,
by rule promulgated under chapter 227 of the Wisconsin
Statutes, is required to fix and collect fees which must, as
closely as possible, equal the cost of providing those services.

Most of the fees charged by the Division of Safety and
Buildings and the Division of Environmental and Regulatory
Services are contained in chapter Comm 2.  The proposed
rules consist of miscellaneous changes in chapter Comm 2 in
order to address inconsistencies, omissions, format and
administration problems that have been discovered since the
complete update of chapter Comm 2 in 2000.  The proposed
rules do not involve a general fee increase.

6.  Summary of, and Comparison with, Existing or
Proposed Federal Regulations.

There are no existing or proposed federal regulations that
address the activities to be regulated by the proposed rules.

7.  Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States.

The proposed rules consist of administrative changes
specific to the Department’s schedule of fees charged for the
services provided by the Safety and Buildings Division and
the Environmental and Regulatory Services Division.  There
are no similar rules in the states of Illinois, Iowa, Michigan
and Minnesota.

8.  Summary of factual Data and Analytical
Methodologies.

There were no factual data or analytical methodologies
used to develop the proposed rules.

9.  Analysis and Supporting Documents used to Determine
Effect on Small Business or in Preparation of Economic
Impact Report.

The proposed rules should have a minimal effect on small
business.  There were no supporting documents used to
determine the effect on small business, and an economic
impact report was not prepared.

The proposed rules and an analysis of the proposed rules
are available on the Internet at the Safety and Buildings
Division web site at:
www.commerce.state.wi.us/SB/SB−HomePage.html.  Paper
copies may be obtained without cost from Roberta Ward,
Department of Commerce, Program Development Bureau,
P.O. Box 2689, Madison, WI 53701−2689, Email
rward@commerce.state.wi.us, telephone (608) 266−8741 or
(608) 264−8777 (TTY).  Copies will also be available at the
public hearing.

Environmental Analysis
Notice is hereby given that the Department has considered

the environmental impact of the proposed rules.  In
accordance with chapter Comm 1, the proposed rules are a
Type III action.  A Type III action normally does not have the
potential to cause significant environmental effects and
normally does not involve unresolved conflicts in the use of
available resources.  The Department has reviewed these rules
and finds no reason to believe that any unusual conditions
exist.  At this time, the Department has issued this notice to
serve as a finding of no significant impact.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
1.  Types of small businesses that will be affected by the

rules.
The rules will affect any businesses that pay fees to the

Safety and Buildings Division or the Environmental and
Regulatory Services Division for the Divisions’ costs of
providing certain plan examination and inspection services.
Because the proposed rules basically consist of clarifications
to address inconsistencies, omissions, format and
administration problems, the rules will have a minimal affect
on small businesses.

2.  Reporting, bookkeeping and other procedures required
for compliance with the rules.

There are no reporting, bookkeeping or other procedures
required for compliance with the rules.

3.  Types of professional skills necessary for compliance
with the rules.

There are no types of professional skills necessary for
compliance with the rules.

4.  Rules have a significant economic impact on small
businesses.

No. Rules not submitted to Small Business Regulatory
Review Board.

Fiscal Estimate
The proposed rules consist of miscellaneous changes in ch.

Comm 2 to address inconsistencies, omissions, format and
administration problems, resulting in no significant changes
in the Department’s costs or revenues.  The proposed rules
will also not have any fiscal effect on local governments or the
private sector.

The major format change in the proposed rules consists of
modifying the fees related to reviewing storage tank plans and
inspecting storage tank installations for Aboveground
Storage Tanks (AST) and Underground Storage Tanks (UST).
These fees are based on the costs related to staff time for
reviewing owner’s proposed petroleum storage tank plans
and time worked inspecting tank installations.

The Department proposes to change the fee structure to
make the total fee easier to calculate.  The Department
deposits all fees collected into the Petroleum Inspection Fund,
which is the funding mechanism behind the  positions
associated with these activities.  Below is a sampling of
typical tank systems that are reviewed and the fees assessed
by the Department.

Tank Plan                             Current   Proposed   Difference

Commercial business with
  1,100 gallon capacity UST     $163       $160           −$3

Service station with 12,000
  gallon capacity UST          $366       $375             $9

Based on departmental analysis, the Department estimates
that revenues collected under the proposed plan will closely
mirror those currently collected.  However, by moving to a
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new fee methodology based on tank size, year−end revenues
are difficult to estimate as they will depend on the changing
market demand for these storage systems.  Similarly, while
the Department predicts decreased costs, they will likely be
negligible as they will result from lowered mailing and
telephone costs associated with fewer fee issues.

The small business regulatory coordinator for the
Department of Commerce is Carol Dunn, who may be
contacted at telephone (608) 267−0297, or Email at
cdunn@commerce.state.wi.us.

Notice of Hearing
Natural Resources

(Environmental Protection − Water
Management)
[CR 05−037]

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 30.12
(1), (1p) and (3) (br), 30.20 (1), (1k), (1t) and (2), 30.206 and
227.11 (2), Stats., interpreting ss. 30.12 (1g) (a), (g), (h) and
(km), (2m), (2r), (3) and (3m), 30.20 (1), (1g), (1k), (1m), (1t)
and (2), and 30.206, Stats., the Department of Natural
Resources will hold public hearings on revisions to chs. NR
329 and 345, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to miscellaneous
structures and dredging in navigable waterways.  The purpose
of this rule is to establish five additional general permits for
waterway activities, with appropriate conditions.  Revisions
to ch. NR 329 establish a general permit for pea gravel
blankets.  Revisions to ch. NR 345 establish general permits
for non−exempt manual dredging, maintenance dredging,
jetting to remove aquatic plants, and dredging less than 25
cubic yards from a river or stream.  All activities authorized
by general permits must follow technical standards similar to
those previously used for short form permits, in Department
guidance, or as developed with key stakeholders.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
s. 227.114, Stats., it is not anticipated that the proposed rule
will have an economic impact on small businesses.  The
Department’s Small Business Regulatory Coordinator may be
contacted at:
SmallBusinessReg.Coordinator@dnr.state.wi.us or by
calling (608) 266−1959.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
Department has made a preliminary determination that this
action does not involve significant adverse environmental
effects and does not need an environmental analysis under ch.
NR 150, Wis. Adm. Code.  However, based on the comments
received, the Department may prepare an environmental
analysis before proceeding with the proposal.  This
environmental review document would summarize the
Department’s consideration of the impacts of the proposal and
reasonable alternatives.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
hearings will be held on:

Wednesday, June 15, 2005 at 3:00 p.m.
Video conference participation will be available at:

Room 8F, State Office Building
101 E. Wilson Street
Madison

Room 220, UW−Marathon County
518 S. 7th Avenue
Wausau

Fiscal Estimate
The purpose of these permanent rule revisions is to

establish five additional general permits for waterway
activities, with appropriate conditions.

NR 329
NR 329 revisions establish a general permit for the

placement of pea gravel.  There will be a revenue impact,
consisting of a decrease in revenue of about $5,900 annually.
This revenue is from permit fees.  Currently, the placement of
pea gravel requires a $500 permit fee, and the revenue from
13 permits a year is $6,500.  With adoption of this rule, the
placement will be eligible for a $50 general permit, and the
revenue from 13 permits a year would be $650. There will be
a reduction in work related to review of permits, reflecting
that general permits will require less staff review.  The staff
savings is estimated at 137 hours annually, or 0.07 FTE, which
would equate to a cost reduction of $4,400 in salary and fringe
benefits.

NR  345
NR 345 revisions establish four general permits for various

dredging activities.  There will be a revenue impact,
consisting of a decrease in permit revenue of about $25,200
annually.  Currently, an estimated 314 dredging activities
require a $500 permit fee, yielding revenue of $157,000
annually.  Another 62 dredging projects require a $50 general
permit, and 25 projects are exempt from a permit and pay no
fee.  With adoption of this rule, an estimated 251 dredging
activities will be subject to a $500 individual permit, 125 will
be eligible for a $50 general permit, and 25 will be exempt
from any permit, for a total annual revenue from dredging of
$131,800. There will be a reduction in work related to review
of permits, reflecting that general permits will require less
staff review. The staff savings is estimated at 661 hours
annually, or 0.32 FTE, which would equate to a cost reduction
of  $21,000 in salary and fringe benefits.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
the Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of information
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request.  Please
call Roberta Lund at (608) 266−2220 with specific
information on your request at least 10 days before the date of
the scheduled hearing.

The proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be reviewed and
comments electronically submitted at the following Internet
site:  adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  Written comments on the
proposed rule may be submitted via U.S. mail to Mr. Dale
Simon, Bureau of Fisheries Management and Habitat
Protection, P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707.  Comments
may be submitted until June 22, 2005.  Written comments
whether submitted electronically or by U.S. mail will have the
same weight and effect as oral statements presented at the
public hearings.  A personal copy of the proposed rule and
fiscal estimate may be obtained from Ms. Roberta Lund,
Bureau of Fisheries Management and Habitat Protection, P.O.
Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707.

Notice of Hearing
Natural Resources

(Environmental Protection − Air Pollution
Control)

[CR 05−039]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 227.11

(2) (a) and 285.11 (1), Stats., interpreting s. 285.11 (6), Stats.,
the Department of Natural Resources will hold a public
hearing on revisions to chs. NR 460, 463 and 466, Wis. Adm.
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Code, relating to incorporation of federal amendments in
National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants
(NESHAP) into chs. NR 460 and 463.

The proposed rule will incorporate federal changes
promulgated by U.S. EPA on April 5, 2002, May 30, 2003 and
April 22, 2004 to the general provisions in ch. NR 460.  These
changes make the general provisions more flexible, thus
reducing the regulatory burden on industry while improving
compliance and compatibility with other regulations
governing sources of federal air toxics.  The proposed
amendments extend the period of time available for an owner
or operator of a facility to request a one−year compliance
extension for the installation of pollution controls, change
some provisions relating to startup, shutdown and
malfunction plans and add a new section which specifies
requirements for sources which are members of the U.S. EPA
Performance Track program.

The proposed rule will also incorporate federal changes to
NESHAP for chromium electroplating promulgated by U.S.
EPA on July 19, 2004 into ch. NR 463 and make the state rule
consistent with the federal rule.  The proposed amendments
add an option that allows hard chrome platers to meet the
requirements of NESHAP by controlling the surface tension
of their plating baths, establishing an emission rate
appropriate for closed tanks, broadening the definition of
chromium plating and anodizing tanks to include all the
ancillary equipment and relaxing the operating limit for mesh
pad scrubbers and making it easier for sources using this type
of control equipment to demonstrate compliance.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
s. 227.114, Stats., it is not anticipated that the proposed rule
will have an economic impact on small businesses.  The
Department’s Small Business Regulatory Coordinator may be
contacted at:
SmallBusinessReg.Coordinator@dnr.state.wi.us or by
calling (608) 266−1959.

Fiscal Impact
There is no fiscal impact on state or local governments.
NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the

Department has made a preliminary determination that this
action does not involve significant adverse environmental
effects and does not need an environmental analysis under ch.
NR 150, Wis. Adm. Code.  However, based on the comments
received, the Department may prepare an environmental
analysis before proceeding with the proposal.  This
environmental review document would summarize the
Department’s consideration of the impacts of the proposal and
reasonable alternatives.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the hearing
will be held at:

Tuesday, June 21, 2005 at 11:00 a.m.
Room 413, GEF #2
101 South Webster Street
Madison
NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to

the Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of information
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request.  Please
call Robert Park at (608) 266−1054 with specific information
on your request at least 10 days before the date of the
scheduled hearing.

The proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be reviewed and
comments electronically submitted at the following Internet
site:  adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  Written comments on the
proposed rule may be submitted via U.S. mail to Mr. Eric

Mosher, Bureau of Air Management, P.O. Box 7921,
Madison, WI 53707.  Comments may be submitted until July
1, 2005.  Written comments whether submitted electronically
or by U.S. mail will have the same weight and effect as oral
statements presented at the public hearings.  A personal copy
of the proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be obtained from
Mr. Mosher.

Notice of Hearing
Natural Resources

[CR 05−040]
(Environmental Protection − Air Pollution

Control)
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 227.11

(2) (a) and 285.11 (1), Stats., interpreting s. 285.11 (6), Stats.,
the Department of Natural Resources will hold a public
hearing on revisions to chs. NR 460, 465 and 484, Wis. Adm.
Code, relating to national emission standards for hazardous
air pollutants (NESHAP) for the surface coating of plastic
parts and products and of miscellaneous metal parts and
products.

The proposed rules will regulate the emissions of
hazardous air pollutants from major sources of federal
hazardous air pollutants which perform surface coating of
miscellaneous metal parts and products or surface coating of
plastic parts and products.  Coating operations, including the
use of thinners and cleaning materials are addressed by the
proposed rules.  Under the proposed plastic parts rule,
emission limits are specified as pounds of organic hazardous
air pollutants emitted per pound of coating solids used during
each 12−month compliance period.  Under the proposed
miscellaneous metal parts rule, emission limits are specified
as pounds of organic hazardous air pollutants emitted per
gallon of coating solids used during each 12−month
compliance period.  Three compliance options are provided
in each rule.  These are the compliant material option, the
emission rate without add−on controls option and the
emission rate with add−on controls options.

Under the surface coating of plastic parts and products rule,
existing affected sources have until April 19, 2007 to achieve
compliance.  New or reconstructed affected sources must
achieve compliance by the later of April 19, 2004 or the date
of initial startup.  Under the surface coating of miscellaneous
metal parts and products rule, existing affected sources have
until January 2, 2007 to achieve compliance.  New or
reconstructed affected sources must achieve compliance by
the later of January 2, 2004 or the date of initial startup.
Sources have until their final compliance date to reduce
hazardous air pollutant emissions below the major source
level and thereby avoid the rule.  Sources may also become a
synthetic minor hazardous air pollutant source to avoid the
rule by obtaining and complying with a federally enforceable
permit prior to the final compliance date that restrict
hazardous air pollutant emissions.

The proposed rules are identical to the federal NESHAP,
except for punctuation, capitalization, numbering and
nonsubstantive wording and the organizational changes made
to accommodate state rule form and style requirements and,
in some cases, to improve clarity.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
s. 227.114, Stats., it is not anticipated that the proposed rule
will have an economic impact on small businesses.  The
Department’s Small Business Regulatory Coordinator may be
contacted at:
SmallBusinessReg.Coordinator@dnr.state.wi.us or by
calling (608) 266−1959.



Page 26 May 31, 2005WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 593

Fiscal Impact
There is no significant fiscal impact on state or local

government entities.
NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the

Department has made a preliminary determination that this
action does not involve significant adverse environmental
effects and does not need an environmental analysis under ch.
NR 150, Wis. Adm. Code.  However, based on the comments
received, the Department may prepare an environmental
analysis before proceeding with the proposal.  This
environmental review document would summarize the
Department’s consideration of the impacts of the proposal and
reasonable alternatives.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the hearing
will be held at:

Tuesday, June 21, 2005 at 11:00 a.m.
Room 413, GEF #2
101 South Webster Street
Madison
NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to

the Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of information
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request.  Please
call Robert Park at (608) 266−1054 with specific information
on your request at least 10 days before the date of the
scheduled hearing.

The proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be reviewed and
comments electronically submitted at the following Internet
site:  adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  Written comments on the
proposed rule may be submitted via U.S. mail to Mr. Eric
Mosher, Bureau of Air Management, P.O. Box 7921,
Madison, WI 53707.  Comments may be submitted until July
1, 2005.  Written comments whether submitted electronically
or by U.S. mail will have the same weight and effect as oral
statements presented at the public hearings.  A personal copy
of the proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be obtained from
Mr. Mosher.

Notice of Hearing
Workforce Development

(Labor Standards)
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to Sections

104.04 and 227.11, Stats., the Department of Workforce
Development will hold a public hearing to consider
emergency and proposed permanent rules relating to
increasing Wisconsin’s minimum wages.

Hearing Information
Tuesday, June 14, 2005 @ 10:00 a.m.
Madison
G.E.F. 1 Building, Room H305
201 E. Washington Avenue
Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearings and

will be afforded the opportunity to make an oral presentation
of their positions. Persons making oral presentations are
requested to submit their facts, views, and suggested
rewording in writing.

Visitors to the GEF 1 building are requested to enter
through the left East Washington Avenue door and register
with the customer service desk. The entrance is wheelchair
accessible via a ramp from the corner of Webster Street and
East Washington Avenue. If you have special needs or
circumstances regarding communication or accessibility at

the hearing, please call (608) 267−9403 at least 10 days prior
to the hearing date. Accommodations such as ASL
interpreters, English translators, or materials in audiotape
format will be made available on request to the fullest extent
possible.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce
Development

Statutory authority: Sections 104.04 and 227.11, Stats.
Statutes interpreted: Chapter 104, Stats.
Wisconsin needs a minimum wage increase
Creating good paying jobs and a “high end” economy is a

top priority for Governor Jim Doyle’s administration. A key
focus of the Governor’s Grow Wisconsin economic
development plan is investing in people and helping families
climb the economic ladder. One of the most important
initiatives in the Governor’s plan is raising the state minimum
wage. Such an increase ensures that Wisconsin’s lowest wage
workers will share in the benefits of economic growth as
Wisconsin’s economy moves forward.

This is a critical time for Wisconsin to support low−wage
workers by increasing the minimum wage. It has been nearly
8 years since the federal minimum wage has been increased,
and in 2005 it will fall to its lowest inflation−adjusted value
of all time. The buying power of the federal minimum wage
in 1970 equaled about $8.00 in 2004 dollars. Given the
declining value of the minimum wage and the lack of federal
action to increase it, 16 other states have already enacted
minimum wages above the federal level.

When wages are so low that workers and their families
can’t afford their most basic needs, the costs that society,
particularly taxpayers, must bear related to poverty are so
insidious that anything that helps divert those expenses back
to the consumers of the services provided by those low−wage
workers is worthwhile. Educational failure, workforce
failure, citizenship failure can very often be traced back to
families forced to live in poverty. An adequate minimum
wage supports workers, helps strengthen families and
communities, and promotes the state’s overall economic and
fiscal health. Family−supporting wages reduce dependence
on the state and increase tax revenue from these families,
decreasing the burden on Wisconsin’s taxpayers.

It is estimated that 200,000 workers will be affected by
Wisconsin’s minimum wage increase. Many of these workers
are adults and a larger than proportionate share are minorities.
Putting more money in the hand of these low−wage workers
will result in $175 million in consumer expenditures in
Wisconsin’s economy. Low−wage workers spend nearly their
entire income in the local economy on basics. This spending
stimulates the local economy and benefits local businesses
because spending is concentrated locally on food, clothing,
shelter, and transportation. Most studies considering a
potential negative effect on employment opportunities
available to low−wage workers as a result of a moderate
minimum wage increase show little to no effect, although both
advocates and opponents are able to produce studies
supporting their side of the issue.

Minimum wage increases
Chapter 104, Stats., and Chapter DWD 272 provide that

Wisconsin’s minimum wage should be sufficient to enable the
employee receiving it to maintain himself or herself under
conditions consistent with his or her reasonable comfort,
physical well−being, decency, and moral well−being. Section
104.04, Stats., directs the Department of Workforce
Development to determine the state’s minimum wage taking
into consideration the effect of the wage on the economy of
the state, including employment opportunities for low−wage
workers and regional economic conditions within the state.
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In January 2004, Governor Doyle and the Department of
Workforce Development convened a Minimum Wage
Advisory Council to assist with determining whether there
should be an increase in Wisconsin’s minimum wage. The
Council included leaders from the business community, labor
organizations, community organizations, and both houses of
the legislature. The Department’s Office of Economic
Advisors provided the Advisory Council with data from the
U.S. Census; Current Population Survey; and the U.S.
Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics,
Occupational Employment Statistics. The council issued its
recommendations in March 2004.

Taking into consideration the Council’s recommendations,
the Department orders and proposes the following increases:

General minimum wage rate
• $5.70/hour effective 6/1/05 (currently $5.15/hour)
• $6.50/hour effective 6/1/06
Minor minimum wage rate
•  $5.30/hour effective 6/1/05 (currently same as adult rate

$5.15/hour)
•  $5.90/hour effective 6/1/06
Opportunity minimum wage rate
•  $5.30/hour effective 6/1/05 (currently $4.25/hour)
•  $5.90/hour effective 6/1/06
Agriculture minimum wage rate for workers age 18

and over
$5.15/hour effective 6/1/05 (currently $4.05/hour)
Agricultural minimum wage rate for workers age 17

and under
$4.25/hour effective 6/1/05 (currently $3.70/hour)
Camp counselor minimum wage rate for workers age

18 and over
If no room or board provided (currently $140/week)
$215/week effective 6/1/05, $270/week effective 6/1/06,

and $315/week effective 6/1/07
If board provided (currently $110/week)
$164/week effective 6/1/05, $217/week effective 6/1/06,

and $240/week effective 6/1/07
If room and board provided (currently $91/week)
$129/week effective 6/1/05, $171/week effective 6/1/06,

and $189/week effective 6/1/07
Camp counselor minimum wage rate for workers age

17 and under
If no room or board provided (currently $123/week)
$175/week effective 6/1/05, $225/week effective 6/1/06,

and $275 effective 6/1/07
If board provided (currently $92/week)
$133/week effective 6/1/05, $171/week effective 6/1/06,

and $209 effective 6/1/07
If room and board provided (currently $74/week)
$105/week effective 6/1/05, $135/week effective 6/1/06,

and $165 effective 6/1/07
Golf caddy minimum wage rate
 $10.50 for 18 holes effective 6/1/05 (currently $5.95)
 $5.90 for 9 holes effective 6/1/05 (currently $3.35)
Effect of minimum wage increases on Wisconsin’s economy
The Department of Workforce Development estimates that

200,000 workers will be affected by the minimum wage
increases.

First increase – June 1, 2005. The first increase in the
minimum wage from $5.15 to $5.70 per hour is estimated to
directly affect the wages of 50,000 hourly paid workers
currently earning at or below $5.15 per hour, plus an
additional 75,000 hourly paid workers currently earning
between $5.16 and $5.69 per hour. Thus, the total number of
workers directly affected by this first wage increase is
estimated to be 125,000 hourly paid workers.

This first increase to $5.70 per hour will also result in wage
compression among those who had previously earned slightly
higher hourly wages than the new minimum wage. It is
estimated that approximately 50,000 workers who earn
between $5.70 and $6.50 per hour could be indirectly affected
and receive wage increases as a result of this first minimum
wage increase.

Second increase – June 1, 2006. The second increase in the
minimum wage from $5.70 to $6.50 will directly affect the
hourly wages of an estimated 150,000 workers who would at
that time be earning at or below $6.50 per hour. The
Department estimates that another 50,000 workers earning at
or higher than $6.50 to a cap of about $7.00 per hour will also
see their hourly wages indirectly rise due to resultant wage
compression.

Industries and occupations. The majority of workers
affected by the wage increase are in food preparation and
serving related occupations and in personal care and services
occupations.  The vast majority of these workers are
employed in the broad leisure and hospitality sector, which
includes the food and accommodation industry. Retail trade
employment also shows moderately higher than average
number of minimum wage workers.

Workers affected by the wage increases include food
service workers, retail clerks, cleaning and housekeeping
laborers, personal care attendants, child care workers,
telemarketers, laundry and dry cleaning workers, veterinary
assistants, home health care aides, office workers, gaming
change and booth cashiers, building and grounds maintenance
laborers, and many other occupations in virtually all
industries in the state.

Demographics of affected workers. It is estimated that
nearly 80% of these low−wage workers are over 18 years of
age, 65% are female, and over one−third are heads of their
household. These workers are African−American, Hispanic,
and Asian in numbers larger than their proportion in the
population. Over two−thirds of these low−wage workers
work more than half−time:

30% work 1−19 hours per week
35% work 20−34 hours per week
35% work 35+ hours per week
Effect on business. The effect of the wage increase on

business will be $175 million in increased payroll costs.
Low−wage workers will circulate this money back into the
economy immediately, representing a 0.1 percent increase in
the gross state product. The increased spending by affected
workers may be a revenue growth for some businesses. The
effects may be slightly greater in northern, rural regions of the
state where minimum wage jobs make up a greater percentage
of the workforce. Higher wages also have a positive impact on
both workers and their employers by reducing turnover,
increasing work experience, and saving on training and
recruitment costs for both workers and employers. Any
increase in the cost of doing business will likely be passed on
to consumers as part of the price of the product or service
being purchased.

Effect on small businesses. The proposed rule will have an
effect on small businesses, which s. 227.114 (1), Stats.,
defines as 25 or fewer employees or less than $5 million in
gross annual sales. The primary businesses affected by the
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proposed rule will be those related to food preparation and
serving, personal care and services, and retail trade. The
Department has considered the methods listed in s. 227.114
(2), Stats., for reducing the impact of the rule on small
businesses. There are no reporting, bookkeeping, or
professional skills required for compliance with the proposed
rule. The rule requires businesses to pay affected employees
at least the specified minimum wage.

The exemption of small businesses from the requirements
of the rule would be contrary to the statutory objectives which
are the basis for the proposed rule. Pursuant to Chapter 104,
Stats., the primary purpose of the minimum wage is to require
that every wage paid by any employer to any employee is
sufficient to enable the employee receiving it to maintain
himself or herself under conditions of reasonable comfort,
reasonable physical well−being, decency, and moral
well−being. The Department estimates that a very high
percentage of workers affected by this minimum wage
increase work for employers with 25 or fewer employees or
less than $5 million in gross annual sales. If the rule exempted
these employers from minimum wage coverage, it would
render the minimum wage nearly meaningless.

Fiscal effect on state and local government
It is estimated that 35% of the additional $175 million in

consumer expenditures will be on items subject to the sales
tax. This translates to increased revenue of approximately $3
million for the state and some increased revenue for counties
with a local sales tax.

There may be increased state revenue from the income tax
on higher incomes for workers. The Department of Revenue
estimates that the additional individual income tax revenue on
the additional wages paid due to the minimum wage increase
will be $4.725 million. This amount will be offset by the
decline of business tax revenue estimated at $5.495 million.
The net effect on income tax revenue is estimated to be a
decline of $770,000.

It is estimated that 100−200 local governmental employees
across the state who work as seasonal summer helpers may be
affected by the increase. The increased cost is estimated at
approximately $20,000 across all local governments in the
state. The minimum wage increase is not expected to affect
state employees.

Federal law and adjacent states
Section 227.14 (2)3. and 4., Stats., requires the Department

to compare the proposed rule to any existing or proposed
federal regulation and rules in adjacent states.

General rate:
Federal $5.15
Iowa $5.15
Michigan $5.15
Minnesota $5.15 for employers with annual

gross sales of at least $500,000; effective 8/1/05, increasing
to $6.15 for employers with annual gross sales of at least
$625,000

$4.90 for employers with annual gross sales of less than
$500,000; effective 8/1/05, increasing to $5.25 for employers
with annual gross sales of less than $625,000

Illinois $6.50

Minor rate:
Federal None
Iowa None
Michigan None
Minnesota None

Illinois $6.00

Opportunity rate:
Federal $4.25 for employees under 20 years old for

first 90 days of employment
Iowa $4.25 for all employees for first 90 days of

employment
Michigan $4.25 for 16− to 19−year−olds for first 90

days of employment
Minnesota $4.25 for employees under 20 years old for

first 90 days of employment; increasing to $4.90 effective
8/1/05

Illinois No opportunity wage of general
application. Employers may apply for a license from the
Illinois Department of Labor to pay adult learners 70% of
minimum wage rate for initial six months of employment.
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Agricultural rate:
Federal None
Iowa None
Michigan None
Minnesota None
Illinois None

Camp counselor rate:
Federal None
Iowa None
Michigan None
Minnesota None
Illinois $260 per week

Golf caddy rate:
Federal None
Iowa: None
Michigan: None
Minnesota None
Illinois: Exempt from minimum wage

Technical correction
The proposed rule also repeals and recreates the policy that

travel time for the benefit of the employer is work time. It is
rewritten for clarity and with no change in substance.

Small Business Regulatory Coordinator

The Department’s Small Business Regulatory Coordinator
is Jennifer Jirschele. She may be reached at (608) 266−1023
or jennifer.jirschele@dwd.state.wi.us.

Contact Information and Written Comments

A copy of the emergency rule is available at the website
http://www.dwd.state.wi.us/er/. Due to statutory restrictions
on the rule promulgation process, the proposed permanent
rule may not be drafted until after June 10. A paper copy of the
emergency rule is available and the proposed permanent will
be available by contacting:

Elaine Pridgen

Office of Legal Counsel

Dept. of Workforce Development

201 E. Washington Avenue

P.O. Box 7946

Madison, WI 53707−7946

(608) 267−9403

elaine.pridgen@dwd.state.wi.us

Written Comments

Written comments on the proposed and emergency rules
received at the above address or email no later than June 13,
2005, will be given the same consideration as testimony
presented at the hearing.
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Submittal of proposed rules to the legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Commerce
(CR 05−010)

Ch. Comm 16, relating to electrical construction.

Dentistry Examining Board
(CR 04−109)

Ch. DE 2, relating to the definition of “dental school.”

Hearing and Speech Examining Board
(CR 05−026)

Ch. HAS 6, relating to definitions, temporary trainees,
continuing education, temporary licenses and
unprofessional conduct.

Natural Resources
(CR 04−107)

Relating to implementing general and registration air
permit program.

Natural Resources
(CR 05−004)

Relating to payment program for damage caused by
endangered and threatened species of wildlife and gray
wolves to hunting dogs and pets.

Natural Resources
(CR 05−005)

Relating to payment program for damage caused by
endangered and threatened species of wildlife and gray
wolves to livestock.

Natural Resources
(CR 05−016)

Relating to deer hunting as it relates to the management
of chronic wasting disease.

Veterinary Examining Board
(CR 04−125)

Rules affecting chs. VE 1, 7, 9 and 10, relating to
renewal, conduct and continuing education for
veterinarians and veterinary technicians.
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Rule orders filed with the revisor of statutes bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Revisor of Statutes Bureau and are in the process of being
published.   The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.   It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.   Contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at gary.poulson@legis.state.wi.us or (608) 266−7275 for updated information on
the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Health and Family Services
(CR 04−142)

An order affecting ch. HFS 148, relating to the cancer
drug repository.

Effective 7−1−05.

Insurance
(CR 04−121)

An order affecting ch. Ins 3, relating to Medicare
supplement, cost, select, Medicare Advantage and
Medicare Part D.

Effective 7−1−05.

Natural Resources
(CR 04−102)

An order affecting ch. NR 410, relating to asbestos permit
exemption fees and inspection fees.

Effective 7−1−05.

Natural Resources
(CR 04−112)

An order affecting ch. NR 20, relating to live well
standards for participants in the bass fishing tournament
pilot program.

Effective 7−1−05.

Natural Resources
(CR 04−113)

An order affecting chs. NR 500, 502, 544 and 545,

relating to recycling.
Effective 7−1−05.

Regulation and Licensing
(CR 04−110)

An order affecting chs. RL 150 to 154, relating to the
licensure and regulation of athlete agents.

Effective 7−1−05.

Regulation and Licensing
(CR 04−124)

An order affecting ch. RL 17, relating to supervision by
real estate brokers.

Effective 7−1−05.

Transportation
(CR 04−100)

An order affecting ch. Trans 102, relating to proof of
identification.

Effective 7−1−05.

Transportation
(CR 05−009)

An order affecting chs. Trans 254 and 255, relating to the
standards and procedures for the issuance of single and
multiple trip oversize and overweight permits.

Effective 7−1−05.
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Rules published with this register and final regulatory
flexibility analyses

The following administrative rule orders have been adopted and published in the May 31, 2005, Wisconsin Administrative
Register.  Copies of these rules are sent to subscribers of the complete Wisconsin Administrative Code and also to the subscribers
of the specific affected Code.

For subscription information, contact Document Sales at (608) 266−3358.

Architects, Landscape Architects, Professional
Engineers, Designers and Land Surveyors

Examining Board
(CR 03−087)

An order affecting ch. A−E 4, relating to application
contents for professional engineers.  Effective 6−1−05.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
These rules will have no significant economic impact on

a substantial number of small businesses, as defined in s.
227.114 (1) (a), Stats.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Gaming
(CR 04−073)

An order affecting chs. Game 41, 42 and 44, relating to
bingo and raffle events.  Effective 6−1−05.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
There will be no significant impact on small businesses.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Natural Resources
(CR 03−066)

An order affecting chs. NR 404 and 484, relating to
ambient air quality standards.  Effective 6−1−05.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The rule and rule revision are public exposure oriented

and will not directly affect emissions or activities of small
businesses in Wisconsin.  Should subsequent rules be required
in order to achieve these standards, small business analyses
will be prepared as needed.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The proposed rules were reviewed by the Assembly
Committee on Natural Resources and the Senate Committee
on Natural Resources and Transportation. No comments were
received by the department.

Natural Resources
(CR 04−061)

An order affecting ch. NR 809, relating to reporting of
analytical data and the procedure for returning to compliance

following an MCL violation of the nitrate, nitrite, or
combined nitrate and nitrite standards.  Effective 6−1−05.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The department intends to allow several formats for

laboratories to electronically submit drinking water analytical
results to the department.  Formats may include SML files, tab
delimited text files and web−based data entry.  Under very
limited circumstances, the department may allow laboratories
to submit results to the department on paper forms or in some
other format.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The proposed rules were reviewed by the Senate
Committee on Natural Resources and Transportation and the
Assembly Committee on Natural Resources.  On March 2,
2005, the Assembly Committee on Natural Resources held a
public hearing.  No modifications were requested.

Natural Resources
(CR 04−101)

An order affecting chs. NR 106, 149 and 219, relating to
the whole effluent toxicity (WET) test methods.  Effective
6−1−05.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
Smaller industrial permittees that discharge to a surface

water and have whole effluent toxicity (WET) requirements
in their permits, as well as smaller WET labs who may wish
to be certified to conduct WET tests, will be affected by this
rule.  The department does not expect significant impacts to
these businesses, however, because the changes that are
proposed to WET test methods are not expected to require
additional staff time or resources on the part of the permittee,
and are not expected to significantly increase the costs
associated with conducted WET tests.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The proposed rules were reviewed by the Senate
Committee on Natural Resources and Transportation and the
Assembly Committee on Natural Resources.  On March 2,
2005, the Assembly Committee on Natural Resources held a
public hearing.  No modifications were requested.

Natural Resources
(CR 04−111)

An order affecting ch. NR 20, relating to trout fishing in
Richland and Vernon counties.  Effective 6−1−05.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rule regulated individual anglers;

therefore, a final regulatory flexibility analysis is not
required.



Page 33May 31, 2005 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 593

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The proposed rules were reviewed by the Senate
Committee on Natural Resources and Transportation and the
Assembly Committee on Natural Resources.  On March 2,
2005, the Assembly Committee on Natural Resources held a
public hearing.  No modifications were requested.

Regulation and Licensing
(CR 04−097)

An order affecting chs. RL 4 and 31, relating to criminal
background investigations and fingerprinting of applicants. 
Effective 6−1−05.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
These proposed rules will have no significant economic

impact on a substantial number of small businesses, as defined
in s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Transportation
(CR 04−141)

An order affecting ch. Trans 102, relating to military
vehicle operator CDL exemption.  Effective 6−1−05.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
This rule−making has no effect on small business.  This

affects only drivers working for the U.S. Military.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Transportation
(CR 05−003)

An order affecting ch. Trans 276, relating to allowing the
operation of double bottoms and certain other vehicles on
certain specified highways.  Effective 6−1−05.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The provisions of this rule adding a highway segment to

the designated system have no direct adverse effect on small
businesses, and may have a favorable effect on those small
businesses which are shippers or carriers using the
newly−designated routes.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Transportation
(CR 05−006)

An order affecting ch. Trans 276, relating to allowing the
operation of double bottoms and certain other vehicles on
certain specified highways.  Effective 6−1−05.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The provisions of this rule adding a highway segment to

the designated system have no direct adverse effect on small
businesses, and may have a favorable effect on those small
businesses which are shippers or carriers using the
newly−designated routes.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Workforce Development
(CR 05−007)

An order affecting ch. DWD 290, relating to the
adjustment of thresholds for application of prevailing wage
rates.  Effective 6−1−05.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The rule does not affect small businesses as defined in s.

227.114 (1), Stats.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Veterans Affairs
(CR 05−002)

An order affecting ch. VA 13, relating to the veterans
assistance program.  Effective 6−1−05.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rules do not impact small business.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Veterans Affairs
(CR 05−008)

An order affecting ch. VA 4 and 12, relating to the home
improvement loan program and the personal loan program.
Effective 6−1−05.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed sales do not impact small business.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.
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Sections affected by rule revisions and corrections

The following administrative rule revisions and corrections have taken place in May 2005, and will be effective as indicated in
the history note for each particular section.  For additional information, contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at (608) 266−7275.

Revisions

Architects, Engineers, Designers and
Surveyors

Ch. A−E 4
S. A−E 4.09

Gaming
Ch. Game 41
S. Game 41.03
Ch. Game 42
S. Game 42.17
S. Game 42.18
Ch. Game 44
S. Game 44.01
S. Game 44.02 (3) to (8)
S. Game 44.03 (1), (3) and (4)
S. Game 44.04
S. Game 44.05 (4)
SS. Game 44.07 to 44.09

Natural Resources
Ch. NR 20
S. NR 20.20 (53) (f) and (63) (c)
Ch. NR 106
S. NR 106.09 (1)
Ch. NR 149
S. NR 149.22
Ch. NR 219
S. NR 219.04 Table A
Ch. NR 400
S. NR 400.02 (19m)
Ch. NR 404
S. NR 404.02 (2) and (8)
S. NR 404.04 (2), (5), and (6)
S. NR 404.06 (2)
Ch. NR 484
S. NR 484.04 (2), (4), and (4m)
Ch. NR 809
S. NR 809.12 (9) (f)

S. NR 809.80 (4)

Regulation and Licensing
Ch. RL 4
S. RL 4.02 (1g), (3e), (3m), (3s) and (5m)
SS. RL 4.07 to 4.09
Ch. RL 31
S. RL 31.035 (1m)
S. RL 31.036 (1m)

Transportation
Ch. Trans 102
S. Trans 102.23
Ch. Trans 276
S. Trans 276.07 (10) and (18)

Veterans Affairs
Ch. VA 4
S. VA 4.03 (2)
S. VA 4.09 (4)
S. VA 4.14 (1), (2) (a), (3) (b), (d), and (g), (4) (a) and

(c) to (f)
Ch. VA 12
S. VA 12.02 (2), (3) (g), (4), (6), (7), (13), and (15) to

(17)
S. VA 12.03 (1), (3)
S. VA 12.04
S. VA 12.05 (2)
S. VA 12.06 (2) and (3)
Ch. VA 13
S. VA 13.01 (1), (4), and (5)
S. VA 13.02 (2)  (intro.), (e) and (3)
S. VA 13.04 (3)
S. VA 13.06

Workforce Development
Ch. DWD 290
S. DWD 290.155 (1)
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Editorial corrections

Corrections to code sections under the authority of s. 13.93 (2m) (b), Stats., are indicated in the following listing.

Natural Resources
Ch. NR 149
S. NR 149.21 (5)

Regulation and Licensing
Ch. RL 31
S. RL 31.03 (1) (b)
S. RL 31.035 (1) (b)
S. RL 31.036 (1) (b)
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Executive  orders

The following are recent Executive Orders issued by the Governor.

Executive Order 96. Relating to a special election for the Town of Monticello.
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Public notices

Health and Family Services
(Medical Assistance Reimbursement of Nursing Homes)

State of Wisconsin Medicaid Nursing Facility Payment Plan:  FY 05−06
The State of Wisconsin reimburses Medicaid−certified nursing facilities for long−term care and health care services

provided to eligible persons under the authority of Title XIX of the Federal Social Security Act and ss. 49.43 to 49.47,
Wisconsin Statutes.  This program, administered by the State’s Department of Health and Family Services, is called
Medical Assistance (MA) or Medicaid.  Federal statutes and regulations require that a state plan be developed that
provides the methods and standards for setting payment rates for nursing facility services covered by the payment
system.  A plan that describes the nursing home reimbursement system for Wisconsin is now in effect as approved
by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).

The Department is proposing changes in the methods of payment to nursing homes and, therefore, in the plan
describing the nursing home reimbursement system.  The changes are effective July 1, 2005.

The proposed changes would update the payment system and make various payment−related policy changes.  Some
of the changes are necessary to implement various budget policies being considered in the Wisconsin 2005−2007
Biennial Budget.  Some of the changes are technical in nature; some clarify various payment plan provisions.

The estimated increase in annual aggregate expenditures attributable to these changes for nursing homes serving
MA residents is approximately $36,747,130 all funds, ($21,313,335 federal financial participation), excluding patient
liability.

The proposed changes are being implemented to comply with Wisconsin Statutes governing Medicaid payment
systems, particularly s. 49.45 (6m), Wis. Stats.

The proposed changes are as follows:
1. Modify the methodology to adjust the reimbursement for nursing homes within the parameters of 2005−2007

Biennial Budget Bill and to disburse the $34,479,166 allotted in the bill to a rate increase of approximately 5% for
nursing facilities and $2,267,964 allotted in the bill to a rate increase of approximately 3% for ICF−MRs.  These
modifications will include adjustments to the maximums, per diems, and other payment parameters in Sections 5.400,
5.500, 5.700, 5.800 and 5.900, the inflation and deflation factors in Section 5.300, and targets in Sections 3.000 and
5.000.

2. Change references to previous years for descriptive reasons where necessary.
3. Modify the labor factors listed in Section 5.410.
4. Create a new cost center combining Support Services, Administration and Fuel and Utilities into a single cost

center.
5. Change the dates of the definitions of base cost reporting period, common period, and rate payment year in

Sections 1.302, 1.303, and 1.314 to reflect the 2005−2006 period.
6. Re−write Section 3.775 Special Allowances for Facilities Operated by Local Units of Government.
7. Modify the calculation for the Medicare Upper Limit in Section 3.780 for ICF−MRs.
8. Modify Section 3.900, Reimbursement of State−Operated Facilities to include tribal−operated facilities.
9. Modify the targets in the property allowance in Section 3.532.
10. Modify Sections 2.710, 3.651 and 5.920, Exceptional Medicaid/Medicare Utilization Incentive to clarify issues

concerning the movement of beds and homes in Milwaukee.
11. Delete Sections 1.270 (3) and 1,270 (4), disallowance from working capital interest expense.
12. Modify Section 5.150, All Non−Expendable, Reusable Materials, to differentiate between cushions and seating

arrangements in wheelchairs.
13. Modify Section 3.531 (b), Maximum on Equalized Value.
14. Clarify Section 3.802, Ancillary Billable Services, to state that ancillaries mentioned in this section cannot be

paid as part of the rate but can be billed by the facilities.
15. Revise Sections 1.256, Hospice and 1.315 Patient Days.
16. Modify Section 3.600, Capital Incentives, to address patient lifts.
17. Modify Section 2.720, Private Room Incentive, to include a due date for filing an affidavit.
18. Create a quality−of−care incentive in Section 2.700, Provider Incentives.
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Copies of the Proposed Changes:
Copies of the proposed changes and proposed rates may be obtained free of charge by writing to:
Division of Health Care Financing
Attention:  Nursing Home Medicaid Payment Plan
P.O. Box 309
Madison, WI  53701−0309
or by faxing James Cobb at 608−264−7720.
The available proposed changes may be reviewed at the main office at any county department of social services

or human services.
Written Comments/Meetings:
Written comments on the proposed changes may be sent to the Division of Health Care Financing, at the above

address.  The comments will be available for public review between the hours of 7:45 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. daily in Room
350 of the State Office Building, 1 West Wilson Street, Madison, Wisconsin. Revisions may be made in the proposed
changes based on comments received.  There will also be public meetings to seek input on the proposed plan
amendment.  If you would like to be sent a public meeting notice, please write to the above address.  Revisions may
also be made in the proposed changes based on comments received at these forums.

Natural Resources
Notice of Availability of a Legislative Report Relating to Wisconsin’s Air State Implementation Plan

All interested persons are advised that the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) intends to submit proposed
rules as contained in Natural Resources Board Order AM−46−04 (Clearinghouse Rule No. 04−107) to the United
States Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) for incorporation into Wisconsin’s air state implementation plan
to meet requirements contained in the Federal Clean Air Act 42 USC  7401, et seq .  DNR has submitted these proposed
rules establishing programs for registration and general air permits and all supporting information as a report to the
legislative standing committees for environmental matters as required under s. 285.14 (2), Stats.  Information on
AM−46−04 can be viewed on the following website:
https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Rmo?nRmoId=186

If you are unable to make copies of this information from the website and would like copies of the information
supplied to the Wisconsin legislative committees, please call Ralph Patterson, DNR, at 608−267−7546 or send a
request via email to Ralph.Patterson@dnr.state.wi.us.
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Workforce Development
2005 CHILD CARE COPAY SCHEDULE

(Effective March 27, 2005)

Child Care Co−Payment Schedule for Licensed and Certified Care

Look down the column of the appropriate family size until you find the gross family monthly income level at or just less than the family income.  Look to the
right to find the appropriate co−payment  by family and type of care.

Gross Monthly Family Income−
Family Size:

Weekly Licensed Care 
Co−Pay Amount

Children in Subsidized
Care:

Weekly Certified Care
 Co−Pay Amount

Children in Subsidized
Care:

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 or
more

1 2 3 4
5 or
more

1 2 3 4
5 or
more

70% FPL 748 939 1129 1319 1509 1699 1889 2080 2270 5 8 13 16 21 2 6 9 12 15

75% FPL 802 1006 1209 1413 1617 1821 2024 2228 2432 5 11 15 20 24 4 7 10 14 16

80% FPL 855 1073 1290 1507 1725 1942 2159 2377 2594 7 12 17 22 27 6 8 12 16 19

85% FPL 909 1140 1371 1602 1832 2063 2294 2525 2756 11 15 20 25 32 7 11 14 18 21

90% FPL 962 1207 1451 1696 1940 2185 2429 2674 2918 12 19 24 30 36 8 13 16 21 26

95% FPL 1016 1274 1532 1790 2048 2306 2564 2822 3080 15 22 29 36 42 11 16 21 24 30

100% FPL 1069 1341 1613 1884 2156 2428 2699 2971 3243 17 25 32 40 46 12 16 22 27 33

105% FPL 1123 1408 1693 1978 2264 2549 2834 3119 3405 20 27 35 42 49 14 19 24 29 35

110% FPL 1176 1475 1774 2073 2371 2670 2969 3268 3567 22 30 36 44 51 16 21 26 30 36

115% FPL 1230 1542 1854 2167 2479 2792 3104 3416 3729 25 32 40 47 54 17 22 28 33 39

120% FPL 1283 1609 1935 2261 2587 2913 3239 3565 3891 27 35 42 49 57 19 25 29 35 40

125% FPL 1336 1676 2016 2355 2695 3034 3374 3714 4053 30 38 45 51 61 21 26 32 36 43

130% FPL 1390 1743 2096 2449 2803 3156 3509 3862 4215 32 41 49 58 66 22 28 35 40 46

135% FPL 1443 1810 2177 2544 2910 3277 3644 4011 4377 35 44 54 64 72 25 30 38 44 50

140% FPL 1497 1877 2258 2638 3018 3399 3779 4159 4540 37 47 57 66 77 26 33 40 47 53

145% FPL 1550 1944 2338 2732 3126 3520 3914 4308 4702 40 49 58 69 79 28 35 41 49 55

150% FPL 1604 2011 2419 2826 3234 3641 4049 4456 4864 42 51 62 71 82 29 36 43 50 57

155% FPL 1657 2078 2499 2920 3342 3763 4184 4605 5026 44 54 64 73 84 30 39 44 52 58

160% FPL 1711 2145 2580 3015 3449 3884 4319 4753 5188 47 57 67 77 87 33 40 47 54 61

165% FPL 1764 2212 2661 3109 3557 4005 4454 4902 5350 48 59 69 78 89 34 41 49 55 62

170% FPL 1818 2279 2741 3203 3665 4127 4589 5050 5512 49 62 71 82 91 35 43 50 57 63

175% FPL 1871 2346 2822 3297 3773 4248 4724 5199 5674 50 63 74 84 93 35 44 51 58 65

180% FPL 1925 2414 2903 3392 3881 4370 4859 5348 5837 53 66 77 87 96 36 47 54 61 68

185% FPL 1978 2481 2983 3486 3988 4491 4993 5496 5999 54 67 79 88 98 37 49 55 62 69

<<<−−−−−−−−−− +185% of the Federal Poverty Level −−−−−−−−−−−−−>>>

190% FPL 2031 2548 3064 3580 4096 4612 5128 5645 6161 55 69 82 91 100 40 50 57 63 71

195% FPL 2085 2615 3144 3674 4204 4734 5263 5793 6323 57 71 84 93 104 40 52 59 66 72

200% FPL 2138 2682 3225 3768 4312 4855 5398 5942 6485 59 72 86 96 105 41 54 61 67 73

<<<−−−−−−−−−− +200% of the Federal Poverty Level −−−−−−−−−−−−−>>>

Note:  The copayment rate for teen parents who are not Learnfare participants is minimum copay and is found by selecting the lowest income line (70%) FPL and then finding the
copayment listed, under either licensed care or certified care, for the appropriate number of children.  Parents who have left a W−2 employment position for unsubsidized work also
qualify for the minimum copay for one month.  Families with children who are authorized for 20 hours or less are subject to one half of their share of the family copay listed above
for those children.  No copay is required for parents who participate in Learnfare or Food Stamp Employment and Training.  Foster parents do not have a copayment responsibility for
the foster children in their care.  Kinship care relatives caring for a child under a court order do not have a copayment responsibility.  Kinship care relatives caring for a child without
a court order pay the minimum copay, unless they are receiving a child care subsidy for another child who is subject to a copayment greater than the minimum copay.

Note: Pursuant to s. DWD 56.08 (3), the Department of Workforce Development is authorized to adjust the co−pay schedule with publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register.
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