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Emergency rules now in effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Elections Board

Rules adopted creating s. ElBd 1.395, relating to the use of
funds in a federal campaign committee that has been
converted to a state campaign committee and relating to the
use of those converted funds whose contribution to the federal
committee would not have been in compliance with
Wisconsin law if the contribution had been made directly to a
state campaign committee.

Finding of Emergency
The Elections Board finds that an emergency exists in the

recent change in federal law that permits the transfer of the
funds in a federal candidate campaign committee’s account to
the candidate’s state campaign committee account and finds
that a rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A statement of the
facts constituting the emergency is as follows:

Since the Bi−Partisan Campaign Reform Act of 2002
(BICRA), transfers of funds from a federal campaign
committee to a state campaign committee had not been
authorized under federal law.  In November, 2004, Congress
amended the Federal Election Campaign Act, (H.R. 4818,
s.532(3) and 532(4), to permit the transfer of a federal
candidate’s campaign committee’s funds to the candidate’s
state campaign committee, if state law permitted, and subject
to the state law’s requirements and restrictions.

Because of  Congress’ action in November, 2004, money
which had not been available to a state committee under
BICRA, and which might not have qualified for use for
political purposes in a state campaign because of its source or
because of other noncompliance with state law, could now be

transferred to a state committee, if state law permitted.
Wisconsin law, under the Board’s current rule, ElBd 1.39,
Wis. Adm. Code,  allows for conversion of federal campaign
committees, and their funds, to a state campaign committee
without regard to the source of those funds and without regard
to contribution limitations.

Restricting the use of such money to that money which has
been contributed to the candidate’s federal committee, under
circumstances in which the contribution would have
complied with Wisconsin law if it had been given directly to
the Wisconsin campaign committee, is found to be in the
public interest.

Publication Date: February 3, 2005
Effective Date: February 3, 2005*
Expiration Date: July 3, 2005
Hearing Date: May 18, 2005

*  On February 9, 2005, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended this emergency rule.

Health and Family Services (2)
(Health, Chs. HFS 110—)

1. Rules adopted revising ch. HFS 113, relating to
certification of first responders.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Health and Family Services finds that

an emergency exists and that the adoption of an emergency
rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public,
health, safety and welfare.  The facts constituting this
emergency are:

Currently, first responders are restricted in their provision
of emergency medical services (EMS) to performing
defibrillation.  These amended rules are primarily being
published by emergency order to allow first responders to also
use the following 2 potentially life−saving skills:

1. Non−visualized airway, to treat patients who are either
not breathing or their airway has been compromised due to
trauma or other means; and

2. The administration of epinephrine, for patients who have
suffered a severe allergic reaction.

The Department intends to immediately follow this
emergency rule with an identical proposed permanent
rulemaking order.

Publication Date: June 6, 2005
Effective Date: June 6, 2005
Expiration Date: November 3, 2005
Hearing Date: June 27, 2005

2. Rules adopted amending ss. HFS 119.07 (6) (b) to (d) and
119.15 (1) and (3), relating to operation of the health
insurance risk−sharing plan.

Exemption from finding of emergency
Section 149.143 (4), Stats., permits the Department to

promulgate rules required under s. 149.143 (2), Stats., by
using emergency rulemaking procedures, except that the
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Department is specifically exempted from the requirement
under s. 227.24 (1) and (3), Stats., that it make a finding of
emergency.  These are the emergency rules.  Department staff
consulted with the Health Insurance Risk−Sharing Plan
(HIRSP) Board of Governors on April 22, 2005 regarding the
rules, as required by s. 149.20, Stats.

The State of Wisconsin in 1980 established a Health
Insurance Risk−Sharing Plan (HIRSP).  HIRSP provides
major medical health insurance for persons who are covered
under Medicare because they are disabled, persons who have
tested positive for HIV, and persons who have been refused
coverage or who cannot get coverage at an affordable price in
the private health insurance market because of their mental or
physical health conditions.  Also eligible for coverage are
persons who recently lost employer−sponsored insurance
coverage if they meet certain criteria.  According to state law,
HIRSP policyholder premium rates must fund sixty percent of
plan costs, except for costs associated with premium and
deductible reductions.  The remaining funding for HIRSP is
to be provided by insurer assessments and adjustments to
provider payment rates, in co−equal amounts.

HIRSP Plan 1 is for policyholders that do not have
Medicare.  Ninety−one percent of the 18,530 HIRSP policies
in effect in February 2005 were enrolled in Plan 1.  Plan 1 has
Option A ($1,000 deductible) or Option B ($2,500
deductible).  The rates for Plan 1 contained in this rulemaking
order increase an average of 15.0% for policyholders not
receiving a premium reduction.  The average rate increase for
policyholders receiving a premium reduction is 12.1%.   Rate
increases for individual policyholders within Plan 1 range
from 7.0% to 16.8%, depending on a policyholder’s age,
gender, household income, deductible and zone of residence
within Wisconsin.  By law, Plan 1 rate increases reflect and
take into account the increase in costs associated with Plan 1
claims.

HIRSP Plan 2 is for persons eligible for Medicare because
of a disability or because they become age−eligible for
Medicare while enrolled in HIRSP.  Plan 2 has a $500
deductible.  Nine percent of the 18,530 HIRSP policies in
effect in February 2005 were enrolled in Plan 2.  The rate
increases for Plan 2 contained in this rulemaking order
increase an average of 20.3% for policyholders not receiving
a premium reduction.  The average rate increase for
policyholders receiving a premium reduction is 17.3%.  Rate
increases for individual policyholders within Plan 2 range
from 11.2% to 22.2%, depending on a policyholder’s age,
gender, household income and zone of residence within
Wisconsin.  Plan 2 premiums are set in accordance with the
authority and requirements set out in s. 149.14 (5m), Stats.

Publication Date: June 15, 2005
Effective Date: July 1, 2005
Expiration Date: November 28, 2005
Hearing Date: July 11, 2005

Insurance

Rules adopted revising ch. Ins 17, relating to annual
patients compensation fund and mediation fund fees for the
fiscal year beginning July 1, 2005.
Finding of emergency

The commissioner of insurance (commissioner) finds that
an emergency exists and that promulgation of an emergency
rule is necessary for the preservation of the public peace,
health, safety or welfare.  The facts constituting the
emergency are as follows:

Actuarial and accounting data necessary to establish fund
fees is first available in December of each year.  It is not
possible to complete the permanent fee rule process in time
for the injured patients and families compensation fund (fund)
to bill health care providers in a timely manner for fees
applicable to the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2005.

The commissioner expects that the permanent rule
corresponding to this emergency rule, clearinghouse No.
05−028, will be filed with the secretary of state in time to take
effect October 1, 2005  Because the fund fee provisions of this
rule first apply on July 1, 2005, it is necessary to promulgate
the rule on an emergency basis.  A hearing on the permanent
rule, pursuant to published notice thereof, was held on May
17, 2005.

Publication Date: June 27, 2005
Effective Date: July 1, 2005
Expiration Date: November 28, 2005

Natural Resources
(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1−)

Rules were adopted revising s. NR 20.33 (5) (c), relating to
the closure of sturgeon spearing on the Lake Winnebago
system.
Finding of emergency

The Department of Natural Resources find that an
emergency exists and a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public health, safety or welfare.  The facts
constituting this emergency are:

During the 2004 sturgeon spearing on Lake Winnebago,
spearers harvested a record 1,303 sturgeon on opening day,
exceeding the season harvest cap for adult female sturgeon.
the spearing season lasted only two days and resulted in an
overall harvest of 1,854 sturgeon.  The total harvest included
822 males, 348 juvenile females, and 684 adult females, 509
of which came on opening day, exceeding the harvest cap of
425.  Population reduction due to overharvest of lake sturgeon
could take years to reverse given the life history of lake
sturgeon.

Publication Date: February 2, 2005
Effective Date: February 2, 2005
Expiration Date: July 2, 2005
Hearing Date: February 23, 2005

Natural Resources (2)
(Environmental Protection − Water Regulation,

Chs. NR 300—)

1. Rules adopted revising ch. NR 326, relating to regulation
of piers, wharves, boat shelters, boat hoists, boat lifts and
swim rafts in navigable waterways.

Finding of emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public health, safety and welfare. The Wisconsin
Legislature recently enacted 2003 Wisconsin Act 118, to
streamline the regulatory process for activities in public trust
waters.  The state has an affirmative duty to administer the
new law in a manner consistent with the public trust
responsibilities of the State of Wisconsin under Article IX,
Section I of the Wisconsin Constitution.



Page 6 Mid−July 2005WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 595

2003 Act 118 identifies certain activities that may be
undertaken in public trust waters exempt from a permit, or
under a general permit. Certain activities may not be
undertaken in waters that are defined as “areas of special
natural resource interest” or at other locations where the
activity would cause detrimental impacts on public rights and
interests in navigable waters.  Without emergency rules to aid
in administering the new law, the following severe problems
will occur:

Until general permits are created by rule, any activity
which is not exempt requires an individual permit with an
automatic 30−day public notice.  The required 30−day
comment period will unnecessarily delay hundreds of
construction projects that otherwise could go ahead with
specified conditions for protecting lakes and streams (for
example, all new riprap and culvert applications currently
require public notices).

Unclear wording of exemptions currently puts property
owners, contractors and consultants at risk of violation.
Without clear procedures and standards established by
emergency rule, many more people may request exemption
determinations, slowing the decisions on individual permit
applications.

Wording of exemptions and temporary grading jurisdiction
puts lakes and streams at risk.  Without standards as intended
and described in the new law, exempted activities and grading
along shorelines will cause inadvertent but permanent
destruction of fish and wildlife habitat, loss of natural scenic
beauty and reduced water quality.  Rights of neighboring
property owners may also be harmed.  Cumulatively over one
or two construction seasons, these impacts will have
immediate and permanent effects on Wisconsin’s
water−based recreation and tourism industry.

To carry out the intention of the Legislature that 2003 Act
118 to speed decision−making but not diminish the public
trust in state waters, these emergency rules are required to
establish definitions, procedures and substantive standards
for exemptions, general permits and jurisdiction under the
new law.

Publication Date: April 19, 2004
Effective Date: April 19, 2004*
Expiration Date: September 16, 2004
Hearing Date: May 19, 2004

*On June 24, 2004, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended this emergency rule.

2. Rules adopted creating ch. NR 328, subch. III, relating to
shore erosion control on rivers and streams.

Finding of emergency
SECTION 2.  FINDING. The emergency rule procedure,

pursuant to s. 227.24, Stats., is necessary and justified in
establishing rules to protect the public health, safety and
welfare. The Wisconsin Legislature enacted 2003 Wisconsin
Act 118 to streamline the regulatory process for activities in
public trust waters.  The state has an affirmative duty to
administer the law in a manner consistent with the public trust
responsibilities of the State of Wisconsin under Article IX,
Section I of the Wisconsin Constitution.

Act 118 identifies certain activities that may be undertaken
as exempt from a permit, or under a general permit.  There are
no statutory exemptions for shore protection on rivers and

streams.  Without emergency rules to create general permits,
all shore protection projects on rivers and streams require an
individual permit with an automatic 30−day public notice.
The required 30−day comment period will unnecessarily
delay projects that otherwise could go ahead with prescribed
conditions established in a general permit.

To carry out the intention of Act 118 to speed
decision−making but not diminish the public trust in state
waters, these emergency rules are required to establish
general permits to be in effect for the 2005 construction
season, with specific standards for shore erosion control
structures on rivers and streams.

Publication Date: April 8, 2005
Effective Date: May 1, 2005
Expiration Date: September 28, 2005
Hearing Date: May 16, 2005

Revenue

Rules adopted revising s. Tax 18.07, relating to the
assessment of agricultural land.

Finding of emergency
The Wisconsin Department of Revenue finds that an

emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public welfare. The facts
constituting the emergency are as follows:

Pursuant to s. 70.32 (2r) (c), the assessment of agricultural
land is assessed according to the income that could be
generated from its rental for agricultural use. Wisconsin
Chapter Tax 18 specifies the formula that is used to estimate
the net rental income per acre. The formula estimates the net
income per acre of land in corn production based on a 5−year
average corn price per bushel, cost of corn production per
bushel and corn yield per acre. The net income is divided by
a capitalization rate that is based on a 50 year average interest
rate for a medium−sized, 1−year adjustable rate mortgage and
net tax rate for the property tax levy two years prior to the
assessment year.

For reasons of data availability, there is a three−year lag in
determining the 5−year average. Thus, the 2003 use value is
based on the 5−year average corn price, cost and yield for the
1996−2000 period, and the capitalization rate is based on the
5−year average interest rate for the 1998−2002 period. The
2005 use value is to be based on the 5−year average corn price,
cost and yield for the 1998−2002 period, and the
capitalization rate is to be based on the 2000−2004 period.

The data for the 1998−2002 period yields negative net
income per acre due to declining corn prices and increasing
costs of corn production. As a result, reliance on data for the
1998−2002 period will result in negative use values.

The department is issuing this emergency rule in order to
ensure positive and stable assessments of agricultural land for
2005.

Publication Date: December 29, 2004
Effective Date: December 29, 2004
Expiration Date: May 28, 2005
Hearing Date: May 26, 2005
Extension Through: September 24, 2005



Page 7Mid−July 2005 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 595

Workforce Development  (2)
(Labor Standards, Chs. DWD 270−279)

1. Rules adopted revising ss. DWD 274.015 and 274.03 and
creating s. DWD 274.035, relating to overtime pay for
employees performing companionship services.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that the attached rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

On January 21, 2004, pursuant to s. 227.26(2)(b), Stats., the
Joint Committee for Review of Administrative Rules directed
the Department of Workforce Development to promulgate an
emergency rule regarding their overtime policy for
nonmedical home care companion employees of an agency as
part of ch. DWD 274.
Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce
Development

Statutory authority:  Sections 103.005, 103.02, and 227.11,
Stats.

Statutes interpreted: Sections 103.01 and 103.02, Stats.
Section 103.02, Stats., provides that “no person may be

employed or be permitted to work in any place of employment
or at any employment for such period of time during any day,
night or week, as is prejudicial to the person’s life, health,
safety or welfare.” Section 103.01 (3), Stats., defines “place
of employment” as “any manufactory, mechanical or
mercantile establishment, beauty parlor, laundry, restaurant,
confectionary store, or telegraph or telecommunications
office or exchange, or any express or transportation
establishment or any hotel.”

Chapter DWD 274 governs hours of work and overtime.
Section DWD 274.015, the applicability section of the
chapter, incorporates the statutory definition of “place of
employment” and limits coverage of the chapter to the places
of employment delineated in s. 103.01 (3), Stats., and various
governmental bodies. Section DWD 274.015 also provides
that the chapter does not apply to employees employed in
domestic service in a household by a household.

Section 103.02, Stats., directs that the “department shall,
by rule, classify such periods of time into periods to be paid
for at the rate of at least one and one−half times the regular
rates.” Under s. DWD 274.03, “each employer subject to this
chapter shall pay to each employee time and one−half the
regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours
per week.” Section DWD 274.04 lists 15 types of employees
who are exempt from this general rule and s. DWD 274.08
provides that the section is inapplicable to public employees.

Nonmedical home care companion employees who are
employed by a third−party, commercial agency are covered
by the overtime provision in s. DWD 274.03. Section DWD
274.03 applies to all employees who are subject to the chapter
and not exempt under ss. DWD 274.04 or 274.08. The chapter
applies to companion employees of a commercial agency
because under s. DWD 274.015 a commercial agency is

considered a mercantile establishment. Section DWD 270.01
(5) defines a mercantile establishment as a commercial,
for−profit business. The chapter does not apply to companion
employees of a nonprofit agency or a private household. In
addition, none of the exemptions to the overtime section in ss.
DWD 274.04 or 274.08 apply to companion employees of a
commercial agency.

The Joint Committee for the Review of Administrative
Rules has directed DWD to promulgate an emergency rule
regarding the overtime policy for nonmedical home care
companion employees of an agency. This provision is created
at s. DWD 274.035 to say that employees who are employed
by a mercantile establishment to perform companionship
services shall be subject to the overtime pay requirement in s.
DWD 274.03. “Companionship services” is defined as those
services which provide fellowship, care, and protection for a
person who because of advanced age, physical infirmity, or
mental infirmity cannot care for his or her own needs. Such
services may include general household work and work
related to the care of the aged or infirm person such as meal
preparation, bed making, washing of clothes, and other
similar services. The term “companionship services” does not
include services relating to the care and protection of the aged
or infirm person that require and are performed by trained
personnel, such as registered or practical nurses.

This order also repeals and recreates the applicability of the
chapter section and the overtime section to write these rules
in a clearer format. There is no substantive change in these
sections.

Publication Date: March 1, 2004
Effective Date: March 1, 2004*
Expiration Date: July 29, 2004

*  On April 28, 2004, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended s. DWD 274.035 created as
an emergency rule.

2. Rules adopted revising ch. DWD 272, relating to
increasing Wisconsin’s minimum wages.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that the rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The federal minimum wage has fallen to its lowest
inflation−adjusted value of all time. When wages are so low
that workers and their families can’t afford their most basic
needs, society, particularly taxpayers, bears tremendous costs
due to poverty−related educational failure, workforce failure,
and citizenship failure. An adequate minimum wage supports
workers, helps strengthen families and communities, and
promotes the state’s overall economic and fiscal health.

Publication Date: May 25, 2005
Effective Date: June 1, 2005
Expiration Date: October 29, 2005
Hearing Date: June 14, 2005
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Scope statements

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Subject

Objective of the rule. Create rules identifying the discretion
the department will use in the enforcement of rules against
small business in compliance with s. 895.59 (2), Stats., and
make minor technical changes and updates to a variety of
current rules. 

Policy analysis

The part of the rule concerning enforcement discretion will
potentially affect all small businesses that engage in activities
that are the subject of current and future rules of the
department.  Those small businesses include farms and other
food producers, food processing, warehousing, food
wholesalers, retail food establishments, sellers of consumer
goods and services and residential rental property owners.

The technical changes department proposes to make
include the following:
• Update technical standards incorporated by reference in

current rules (new editions of technical references cited in
current rules).

• Correct erroneous and obsolete citations and
cross−references.

• Correct typographical errors.
• Make non−substantive organizational and drafting

changes.
• Make other minor changes to current rules.

The technical changes do not raise any significant policy
issues.

Policy alternatives

The part of the proposed rulemaking concerning
enforcement discretion is being undertaken to comply with
the statutory directive contained in s. 895.59 (2), Stats., that
provides, “Each agency shall promulgate a rule that requires
the agency to disclose in advance the discretion that the
agency will follow in the enforcement of rules and guidelines
against a small business.”  Given the statutory requirement,
there is no alternative to adoption of the rule.

Statutory authority

Section 895.59 (2), Stats.

Staff time required

The department estimates that it will use less than .1 FTE
staff time to modify this rule.  This includes research, drafting,
preparing related documents, holding public hearings, and
communicative with affected persons and groups. The
department will use existing staff to develop this rule.

Comparison with federal requirements

There are no federal regulations that address the subject
proposed to be treated by this rulemaking.

Health and Family Services

Subject
The Department of Health and Family Services proposes

to create Ch. HFS 44, relating to reasonable efforts to prevent
the removal of children from their homes and to reunify
children with their families in the context of the best interests
of the child, to achieving the goal of the permanency plan, and
to permanency planning.
Policy analysis

At the present time, there are federal laws and regulations
and state laws related to the issues to be included in this rule.
To a certain extent, the purpose of this rule is to codify those
existing requirements.  Over the years, as federal laws and
regulations have changed, we have also issued numbered
memos (policy memos) to implement those changes.  This
rule will also codify those memos.  The federal requirements,
in terms of laws, are primarily found in Titles IV−B and IV−E
of the Social Security Act as affected by the Adoption
Assistance and Child Welfare Act of 1980, the Indian Child
Welfare Act of 1978, the Adoption and Safe Families Act of
1997, the Chafee Foster Care Independence Act of 1999, and
other laws.

It is important that these requirements be codified into an
administrative rule because it is currently very difficult for
county child welfare staff, judges, District Attorneys,
Corporation Counsel, and others to understand the
complexity and comprehensiveness of existing requirements
when they are so sporadic and unorganized.

The rule will also include some new policies, mostly
relating to how requirements are to be implemented (e.g.,
conducting permanency plan reviews, submitting review
results to the court, supervisory sign−off at various stages in
the case process).
Statutory authority

Sections 48.38 (6), 227.11 (2), and 938.38 (6), Stats.
Staff time required

A great deal of work has gone into what will become the
content of the rule over many years.  It is anticipated that
approximately 20 hours of staff time will be required prior to
Department level review.
Comparison with federal requirements

Federal law and regulations establish the parameters for the
content of the rule.  For example, federal law requires that
agencies provide reasonable efforts to prevent the removal of
a child from his or her home; the rule will assist agencies in
determining what efforts are “reasonable.”

For the most part, the federal regulations applicable to this
rule are found at 45 CFR 1356 and 1357.  The rule generally
either replicates the federal regulation (or law under Title
IV−E of the Social Security Act) or provides additional
guidance on the implementation of that law or regulation.  The
rule is not more strict than the federal regulation but, as noted
above, provides some level of definition for terms used but not
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defined in the federal regulation or law.  In addition, the rule
provides policies and procedures for implementing federal
requirements (e.g., federal law requires 6−month reviews of
permanency plans; the rule provides the mechanisms by
which those reviews must occur).

Entities affected by the rule

The rule will have a direct impact on DHFS, the
Department of Corrections, county departments, private child
placing agencies, residential care centers, group homes,
treatment foster parents, foster parents, courts, and others
affiliated with the child welfare and juvenile justice systems.

Insurance

Subject

 Licensing of intermediaries and affecting small
businesses.

Objective of the rule.  Changes required to chs. Ins 6, 26 and
28 to adopt language conforming to the NAIC Producer
Model Act, NAIC Uniform Resident Licensing Standards,
NAIC Uniform Continuing Education (“CE”) Standards,
changes required for the migration from paper to electronic
processing within a new computer environment and to modify
fees as required.

Policy analysis

It is the intent to adopt national uniform licensing and CE
standards by 2006; to modify rules relating to renewal and CE
compliance so all are in place at the time of conversion to an
updated computer system.  Failure to comply with model
licensing and continuing education standards will cause
problems with reciprocity with the other states, and may
constitute grounds for the imposition of federal regulation.
Fees need to be adjusted to cover increased expenses and
reduced in other areas because of less costly electronic
processing.

Statutory authority

Sections 628.04 and 628.11, Stats.

Staff time required

400 hours and no other resources are necessary.

Comparison with federal requirements

There is currently no federal regulation of insurance agent
licensing requirements. The threat of federal regulation in the
insurance industry has been proposed over the past several
years.  Uniform standards in licensing and continuing
education will eliminate the need for federal regulation in the
future.

Entities affected by the rule

Insurance Intermediaries (individuals and firms),
Managing General Agents (individuals and firms),
Reinsurance Intermediaries Brokers and Managers
(individuals and firms), Prelicensing Education Schools,
Continuing Education Providers and Insurers.

Natural Resources

Subject

Removal of sunset dates from rules which establish small
game and spring turkey hunting in select state parks.

Policy analysis
In 2002, the department promulgated administrative rules

which established small game hunting in four state park
properties and offered expanded spring turkey hunting
opportunities in three state parks. Based on recommendations
from a citizen advisory committee, a three year sunset was
placed on these hunting opportunities in order to measure user
tolerance for increased hunting opportunities on these
properties. Following an evaluation of the 2003 and 2004
hunting seasons, which looked at criteria such as hunter
utilization and user conflicts, the department recommends
that these hunts continue at three of the four state parks where
small game hunting was offered, since there was no evidence
that these additional hunting opportunities conflicted with
non−hunting park utilization at these parks. Additionally, the
department recommends that the spring turkey hunts continue
at each of the three state parks where additional opportunities
were offered during the pilot.
Statutory authority

Sections 29.014 and 29.089 (3), Stats.
Staff time required

Approximately 200 hours will be needed by the department
to develop the rule prior to and following the hearings.
Comparison with federal requirements

Federal regulations allow states to manage the wildlife
resources located within their boundaries provided they do
not conflict with regulations established in the Federal
Register. This rule change does not violate or conflict with the
provisions established in the Federal Code of Regulations.
Entities affected by the rule

Groups impacted or interested in this rule include state park
users, State Park Friends Groups, and small game and turkey
hunters.

Natural Resources

Subject
Modification to ch. NR 10, establishing a deer hunting

season at Straight Lake Wilderness State Park.
Policy analysis

The 2,779 acre Brunkow Hardwoods Cooperation
department land acquisition in northern Polk County has
allowed for the establishment of the Straight River Wildlife
Area and Straight Lake Wilderness State Park. Together the
state park and wildlife area is n undeveloped, heavily wooded
property that is relatively pristine and undisturbed. It contains
an extremely rich diversity of flora and fauna as well as very
unusual geographic features. Without a deer hunting season
to control deer populations on the state park property, deer
herd control will not occur at the state park for several years
(until the master plan is complete).  This will result in an
increasing deer population, which typically results in
increased direct and indirect adverse impacts on the native
plant communities. This rule proposes a conservative deer
season in advance of a completed master plan that may be
modified should the property master plan prescribe an
alternative hunting season structure. Initial meetings with
interest groups support hunting on the property in advance of
a completed master plan.

The Natural Resources Board approved the purchase of the
property and the establishment of the park with the
understanding that hunting, amongst other recreation pursuits
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would be available on the property. Typically the
establishment of rules does not precede master plan
completion. However, in this instance and in the case of
Governor Thompson state park in 2004, potential direct
adverse impacts on native plant communities and the potential
for these large properties to serve as deer refugia has led the
department to establish deer hunting season in advance of the
final property master plans. With either park, if the master
planning process results in a recommendation for an
alternative deer season framework and regulations, then the
department will initiate rule making to implement the
preferred season structure. Additionally, due to the need for
a prompt solution for controlling the deer herd at Straight
Lake state park, traditional use of the Spring Hearings to
establish deer hunting seasons at state parks is not feasible and
this independent rule proposal is being advanced.
Statutory authority

Sections 29.014 and 29.089 (3), Stats.
Staff time required

Approximately 142 hours will be needed by the department
to develop the rule prior to and following the hearings.
Comparison with federal requirements

Federal regulations allow states to manage the wildlife
resources located within their boundaries provided they do
not conflict with regulations established in the Federal
Register. This rule change does not violate or conflict with the
provisions established in the Federal Code of Regulations.
Entities affected by the rule

The groups specifically interested in this rule process
include deer hunters, non−hunting outdoor recreationists,
farmers, foresters, motorists and neighboring landowners.

Natural Resources

Subject
Revision to ch. NR 411, relating to diesel and particulate

matter emissions from indirect sources.
Objective of the rule. The thrust of the proposed changes

will shift our current focus away from carbon monoxide (CO)
control from cars and onto the issue of regulating diesel
exhaust from trucks.
Policy analysis

The Indirect Source Program was originally designed to
insure that there would be no violations of the CO air quality
standards as cars idled in a queue to enter or leave a large
venue such as a ballpark or shopping mall.  Motor vehicle
emission characteristics have dramatically improved since
the inception of the Indirect Source Permitting Program and
CO from these venues has become much less of a threat.
However new information on fine−particles, indicate that
there is significant health risks associated with exposure to
fine−particles, in particular diesel exhaust.  Therefore, the
Department is proposing revisions to Ch. NR 411 that are
necessary to address the most significant public health issue,
diesel exhaust, while reducing our focus on CO.

The Bureau of Air Management reviewed several
high−profile permit applications for large−scale distribution
centers with significant heavy−duty diesel traffic.  Diesel
exhaust is considered a probable human carcinogen and a
number of recent scientific studies indicate that exposure to
elevated levels of diesel exhaust correlate to increased
mortality and asthma hospitalizations. Current practice in the

Indirect Source Program is to secure voluntary controls to
mitigate diesel exhaust exposure.  Success with this approach
has been mixed.  The challenge is to develop a de minimus
permit threshold applicable to truck traffic and establish
criteria that provide adequate public health protection from
diesel exhaust.

Also, revising ch. NR 411 will allow the Bureau of Air
Management to reduce the number of permits that require
review by re−evaluating the parking space threshold for cars.
CO levels from automobiles have been significantly reduced
through technological advances to the point where it is very
unlikely that a development with 1000 parking spaces and
adequate traffic capacity will actually cause a CO violation.
In addition, eliminating the CO screening level analysis
required of all roadway expansion projects could further
improve program efficiency.
Statutory authority

Sections 285.60 and 285.11, Stats.
Staff time required

The Department will need about 560 hours of total staff
time.
Comparison with federal requirements

Not applicable
Entities affected by the rule

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
WDNR Environmental Analysis Staff
Environmental and Traffic Consultants
Diesel Engine Manufacturers
Developers
Construction Industry
Truck Stops
Environmental Advocacy Organizations
Diesel Engine Retrofit Businesses

Public Instruction

Subject
Signature requirements for the open enrollment

application.
Objective of the rule. The Department proposes to amend

s. PI 36.03 (1) (d), to delete the requirement for both parents
to sign an open enrollment application form when the parents
are divorced or legally separated and have joint custody.
Policy analysis

The current provision was intended to require parents to
keep each other informed and to keep school districts out of
the middle of the situation.  However, it has created a hardship
in cases where one custodial parent cannot be located.

In other cases, the rule has had the opposite of the desired
effect.  The open enrollment period is only three weeks long
and  custody issues can be very complicated. Three weeks can
be too short a time to have the issue resolved, especially when
mediation and/or family court are involved.  Requiring both
signatures before the issue has been resolved reduces the
child’s educational options.   And occasionally, school
districts are drawn into the disagreement, rather than be
insulated from it.

The open enrollment form is an application only.  Allowing
one of the custodial parents to sign the form, even without
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informing the other, is not determinative of where the child
must go to school.  That question must be resolved in the way
all joint custodial decisions are made.  But it keeps the open
enrollment option open until such time as the parents can
make a joint decision.

Statutory authority

Section 118.51 (3) (a) 1., Stats.

Staff time required

The amount of time needed for rule development by
department staff and the amount of other resources necessary
are indeterminable. The time needed to create the rule
language itself will be minimal. However, the time involved
with guiding the rule through the required rule promulgation
process is fairly significant. The rule process takes more than
six months to complete.

Comparison with federal requirements

There are no similar existing or proposed federal
regulations concerning inter−district open enrollment
programs.

Veterans Affairs

Subject

Section VA 2.03, relating to the retraining grant program.
Objective of the rule. The Department seeks to modify

certain aspects of the retraining grant program in compliance
with its proposed 10−year solvency plan for the Veterans Trust
Fund (VTF).  The Department intends to limit the grant to a
specific amount per economic event and to establish a lifetime
limit of the number of grants per veteran.  Additionally, the
Department will impose a verification requirement to ensure
that the veteran successfully completed the training program
and an additional provision that will require veterans to use
alternative sources of funding, if available.  Other
modifications may be proposed to assure that the grant funds
are used for those veterans in greatest need of the funds.

Policy analysis

The Department administers a retraining grant program
under s. 45.397, Wis. Stats.  The program provides assistance
to veterans who lose employment or become underemployed
through no fault of their own.  The Department determined
that several additional safeguards should be built into the
program to assure that VTF funds are first used for those
veterans who have no alternative funding available and who
successfully complete the retraining program.  The proposed
modifications will help assure these objectives while
providing a stabilizing force on VTF expenditures.  This will
permit the Department to continue to offer a variety of other
benefits funded by the VTF.

Statutory authority
Section 45.397 (3), Stats.

Staff time required
Approximately 40 hours of Department of Veterans Affairs

staff time will be needed to promulgate the rules.
Comparison with federal requirements

The retraining grant program is administered under the
authority of state law.  There are no existing or proposed
federal regulations that address the activities to be regulated
by the rule.
Entities affected by the rule

The rule will affect applicants for grants under the
retraining grant program.

Veterans Affairs

Subject
Section VA 17.05 (2), relating to reimbursement for the

performance of military funeral honors.
Objective of the rule. The Department seeks to modify the

rule so as to coordinate the planning for the provision of
honors and the level of reimbursement with the National
Guard military funeral honors stipend program.
Policy analysis

The Department provides military funeral honors directly,
as well as coordinating the provision of such honors by
veterans organizations.  When the honors are provided by a
veterans organization, a specified reimbursement is provided
based upon the level of honors provided, as defined in the rule.
Recently, the National Guard has begun providing separate
funding for the provision of military funeral honors.  The
coordination of the provision of the honors, as well as the level
of reimbursement, will allow the Department to access
additional funds for the purpose of reimbursement, thereby
reducing expenditures from the Veterans Trust Fund.
Statutory authority

Sections 45.19  (1) and 45.35 (3), Stats.
Staff time required

Approximately 5 hours of Department of Veterans Affairs
staff time will be needed to promulgate the rules.
Comparison with federal requirements

The state military funeral honors program is administered
under the authority of state law.  There are no existing or
proposed federal regulations that address the activities to be
regulated by the rule.
Entities affected by the rule

The rule will affect applicants for military funeral honors
reimbursement.
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Submittal of rules to legislative council clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
Rule Submittal Date

On June 27, 2005, the Department of Agriculture, Trade
and Consumer Protection submitted a proposed rule to the
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Subject

The proposed rules affect chs. ATCP 99, 100 and 101,
relating to agricultural producer security.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
Public hearings are scheduled for August 10, 12 and 16,

2005.  The department’s Trade and Consumer Protection
Division is primarily responsible for this rule.

Contact Information
Kevin LeRoy
608−224−4928

Commerce
Rule Submittal Date

On June 17, 2005, the Department of Commerce
submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.

Subject

The proposed rules affect ch. Comm 72, relating to the
cleaning methods for historic buildings.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing is required and is scheduled for August

1, 2005.

Contact Information
Diane Meredith, Code Consultant
608−266−8982
dmeredith@commerce.state.wi.us

Financial Institutions−Banking
Rule Submittal Date

On June 21, 2005, the Department of Financial
Institutions submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Subject

The proposed rules affect ch. DFI−Bkg 80, relating to
prohibited bases for discriminating in the extension of
consumer credit.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing is required and scheduled for July 28,

2005.  The Office of Consumer Affairs is responsible for
the promulgation of the rule.

Contact Information
Mark Schlei, Deputy General Counsel
608−267−1705

Insurance
Rule Submittal Date

On June 20, 2005, the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Subject

The proposed rules affect s. Ins 50.30, relating to
actuarial opinion and summary.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

The date for the public hearing is July 29, 2005.
Contact Information

A copy of the proposed rule may be obtained from the
web site at:

http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm
or by contacting Inger Williams, Services Section,

Office of the Commissioner of Insurance, at (608)
264−8110.  For additional information, please contact Fred
Nepple at (608) 266−7726 or e−mail at
Fred.Nepple@oci.state.wi.us in the OCI Legal Unit.

Transportation
Rule Submittal Date

On June 15, 2005, the Department of Transportation
submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.
Subject

The proposed rules affect ch. Trans 276, relating to
allowing the operation of double bottoms and certain other
vehicles on specified highways.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and is scheduled for July 15,
2005. The Division of Transportation System
Development, Bureau of Highway Operations is
responsible for the promulgation of rules.
Contact Information

Julie A. Johnson, Paralegal
608−267−3703
julie.johnson@dot.state.wi.us

Transportation
Rule Submittal Date

On June 15, 2005, the Department of Transportation
submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.



Page 13Mid−July 2005 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 595

Subject
The proposed rules affect ch. Trans 276, relating to

allowing the operation of double bottoms and certain other
vehicles on specified highways.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and is scheduled for July 29,
2005. The Division of Transportation System
Development, Bureau of Highway Operations is
responsible for the promulgation of rules.
Contact Information

Julie A. Johnson, Paralegal
608−267−3703
julie.johnson@dot.state.wi.us

Workforce Development
Rule Submittal Date

On June 23, 2005, the Department of Workforce

Development submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Subject

The proposed rules repeal ch. DWD 278, relating to
garnishment.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing is not required because the proposed

rule brings an existing rule into conformity with a statute
that has been changed.  The organizational unit responsible
for the promulgation of the proposed rules is the DWD
Equal Rights Division.

Contact Information
Elaine Pridgen
608−267−9403
elaine.pridgen@dwd.state.wi.us
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Rule−making notices

Notice of Hearing
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

[CR 05−068]
The State of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade

and Consumer Protection announces that it will hold public
hearings on a proposed amendment to chs. ATCP 99, 100 and
101, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to Agricultural Producer
Security.  The hearings will be held at the times and places
shown below.  The department invites the public to attend the
hearings and comment on the proposed rule.  Following the
public hearing, the hearing record will remain open until
August 30, 2005, for additional written comments.

Hearing Dates and Locations
Wednesday, August 10, 2005
10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
DATCP Northwest Regional Office
Conference Room
3610 Oakwood Hills Pkwy
Eau Claire, WI  54701−7754
Handicapped accessible.

Friday, August 12, 2005
10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
DATCP Headquarters (Prairie Oak State Office Building)
Board Room (CR−106)
2811 Agriculture Drive
Madison, Wisconsin, 53718−6777
Handicapped accessible.

Tuesday, August 16, 2005
10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
DATCP Northeast Regional Office
Room 152A
200 N Jefferson Street
Green Bay, Wisconsin, 54301
Handicapped accessible.
Hearing impaired persons may request an interpreter for

these hearings.  Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by August 1, 2005, by writing to Kevin LeRoy,
Division of Trade and Consumer Protection, P.O. Box 8911,
Madison, WI 53708−8911, telephone (608) 224−4928.
Alternatively, you may contact the Department TDD at (608)
224−5058.  Handicap access is available at the hearings.
Written Comments and Copies of Rule

Written comments should be sent to the Wisconsin
Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection,
Division of Trade and Consumer Protection attention Kevin
LeRoy, 2811 Agriculture Drive, P.O. Box 8911, Madison WI
53708.  Written comments can be submitted via email to
kevin.leroy@datcp.state.wi.us.

You may obtain a free copy of this rule by contacting the
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection, Division of Trade and Consumer Protection, 2811
Agriculture Drive, P.O. Box 8911,  Madison, WI 53708. You
can also obtain a copy by calling (608) 224−4928 or emailing
kevin.leroy@datcp.state.wi.us. Copies will also be available
at the hearings.  To view the proposed rule online, go to:

https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home

Analysis Prepared by the Dept. of Agriculture, Trade
and Consumer Protection

Statutory authority: Sections 93.07 (1), 126.15 (1)
(intro.), 126.30 (1) (intro.), 126.46 (1) (intro.), 126.60 (1)
(intro.), 126.81 and 126.88 (intro.), Stats.

Statutes interpreted: Chapter 126, Stats.
The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer

Protection (“DATCP”) administers the agricultural producer
security program under ch. 126, Stats.  DATCP has broad
general authority, under s. 93.07 (1), Stats., to adopt rules
related to programs under its jurisdiction.  DATCP has
specific authority under ch. 126, Stats., to adopt rules for the
agricultural producer security program.

This rule modifies current rules related to the agricultural
producer security program under ch. 126, Stats.  The program
is designed to protect agricultural producers from
catastrophic financial defaults by grain dealers, grain
warehouse keepers, milk contractors and vegetable
contractors (collectively referred to as “contractors”) who
procure agricultural commodities from producers.

This rule does all of the following:
• It permits a licensed contractors to file voluntary security

for the benefit of producers if the contractor’s estimated
default exposure exceeds the maximum amount payable
from the Wisconsin agricultural producer security fund.
A contractor who files voluntary security may pay lower
fund assessments and make more favorable disclosures to
producers.  A voluntary security filing does not relieve a
contractor of any other duty to file security or pay fund
assessments.

• It changes and simplifies the disclosures that contractors
must give to producers.

• It clarifies current grain warehouse keeper record keeping
requirements.

Background. Under current law, contractors must be
licensed by DATCP.  Most contractors must contribute to an
agricultural producer security fund (the “fund”).  Fund
assessments are based on contractor size, financial condition
and risk practices.  If a contributing contractor defaults,
DATCP will pay producers out of the fund.  The total payment
may not exceed 60% of the fund balance at the time of default
(the current fund balance is approximately $5.5 million).

The current fund capacity is adequate to cover most, but not
all, potential defaults by contributing contractors.  Some large
contractors have an “estimated default exposure” that exceeds
current fund capacity (in some cases, by a very large amount).
Some of these contractors are currently required to file
security to cover at least part of the difference, but others are
not (DATCP lacks statutory authority to require security
filings for some of the contractors).

Voluntary Security.  Under this rule, a licensed contractor
may file voluntary security with DATCP if the contractor’s
estimated default exposure exceeds the maximum amount
payable from the fund (this rule does not change current
mandatory security filing requirements).  A contractor who
files security with DATCP may pay lower fund assessments
and make more favorable disclosures to producers.

Reduced Fund Assessment.  Under current rules, certain
contractors who file security with DATCP are entitled to a
reduction in their annual fund assessments (current rules



Page 15Mid−July 2005 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 595

specify the amount of the reduction).  Under this rule, certain
contractors who file security with DATCP (required or
voluntary) may pay reduced fund assessments if their
“estimated default exposure” is equal to or less than the sum
of the following:

• The maximum amount payable from the fund, if the
contractor defaults.

• The total amount of security (required or voluntary) filed
by the contractor.

Disclosures to Producers.  Under current rules, a contractor
must periodically disclose to producers the contractor’s
license, security and fund contribution status.  The current
rules specify the exact language that contractors must use.
The disclosures are intended to help producers assess the
degree of financial risk involved in dealing with any particular
contractor.  The current disclosures are rather complex, and in
some cases overstate the amount of security coverage
afforded to producers.

This rule changes and simplifies the current disclosure
requirements.  This rule, like the current rules, specifies the
exact language to be used.  Disclosure requirements vary
slightly between grain, milk and vegetable contractors,
because of differences in the security program for each
industry.  But for all contractors, the disclosure alternatives
are basically as follows:

• If the contractor’s “estimated default exposure” is equal
to or less than the amount of fund coverage and security
on file, the disclosure states that the security program may
provide full compensation for producers if the contractor
defaults (subject to statutory limits).

• If the contractor’s “estimated default exposure” is greater
than the amount of fund coverage and security on file, the
disclosure states that the security program may provide
some compensation for producers if the contractor
defaults.  But compensation may cover only a fraction of
a producer’s loss.

• If the contractor does not contribute to the fund or file any
security with DATCP, the disclosure states that the
security program will provide no compensation to
producers if the contractor defaults.

Definition of “Affiliate”.  Under current rules, contractor
financial statements must disclose accounts and notes payable
from “affiliates.”  These accounts and notes are excluded from
the balance sheet before financial ratios are calculated.  An
“affiliate” is currently defined as an owner, major
stockholder, partner, officer, director, member, employee or
agent (or a person owned, controlled or operated by one of
those persons).  This rule clarifies an “affiliate” also includes
any other person who has significant control or influence over
the contractor.

Grain Warehouse Records.  This rule clarifies current grain
warehouse record keeping requirements.  Under current law,
warehouse keepers must keep “daily position” records related
to grain in storage.  This rule clarifies that daily position
records must identify all grain kept by the warehouse keeper,
whether in licensed or unlicensed storage.  Records must
clearly distinguish between grain owned by the warehouse
keeper and that held for others.  Records must also show the
amount of grain entering and leaving storage each day.
Records must be based on individual grain transaction records
required under current law.

Fiscal Impact

This rule will have no significant fiscal impact on DATCP
or local government.

Business Impact
This rule will affect agricultural producers, grain dealers,

grain warehouse keepers, milk contractors and vegetable
contractors.  Many of these businesses are small businesses.

This rule will have a minimal impact on most affected
businesses, and effects will be positive in many cases
(especially for agricultural producers). The Wisconsin
legislature has spelled out detailed statutory requirements for
grain dealers, grain warehouse keepers, milk contractors and
vegetable contractors (ch. 126, Stats.).  DATCP has limited
authority to change these requirements by rule.

This rule will make minor changes to current rules.  Among
other things, this rule:
• Allows licensed contractors to file voluntary security (it

does not change current mandatory security
requirements).

• Allows some contractors to pay reduced fund
assessments.

• Changes and simplifies current contractor disclosures to
producers.  In some cases, current disclosures overstate
the amount of security coverage afforded to producers.
Some contractors may incur one−time costs to change
their disclosure forms.

• Clarifies current grain warehouse record keeping
requirements (this rule does not add major new record
keeping requirements).

This rule will not have a significant adverse economic
impact on small business.  Therefore, it is not subject to the
delayed small business effective date provision in s. 227.22
(2) (e), Stats.

Under 2003 Wis. Act 145, DATCP and other agencies must
adopt rules spelling out their rule enforcement policy for
small businesses.  DATCP has not incorporated a small
business enforcement policy in this rule, but it will propose a
separate rule on that subject.  DATCP will, to the maximum
extent feasible, seek voluntary compliance with this rule.

Wisconsin’s Security Program
Wisconsin has an agricultural producer security program

for grain, milk and vegetables.  The Wisconsin legislature has
spelled out detailed statutory requirements for grain dealers,
grain warehouse keepers, milk contractors and vegetable
contractors (ch. 126, Stats.).  Contractors must be licensed by
DATCP, and most contractors must contribute to an
agricultural producer security fund administered by DATCP.
A few contractors must also file security with DATCP.

Federal Programs
There is no federal producer security program related to

milk.  The U.S. department of agriculture (USDA)
administers a producer security program for federally
licensed grain warehouses that store grain for producers.
Grain warehouses may choose whether to be licensed under
state or federal law.  Federally−licensed warehouses are
exempt from state warehouse licensing and security
requirements.  State−licensed warehouses are likewise
exempt from federal requirements.

The federal grain warehouse program provides little or no
protection against financial defaults by grain dealers.  Grain
dealers are persons who buy and sell grain.  Sometimes, grain
dealers also operate grain warehouses.  DATCP currently
licenses grain dealers.  Licensed warehouse keepers must also
hold a state grain dealer license if they engage in grain
dealing.

USDA proposes to regulate grain dealer activities (grain
“merchandising”) by federally licensed warehouse keepers,
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to the exclusion of state regulation.  But USDA has not yet
finalized its regulations.  In any case, the federal regulations
would not apply to state−licensed grain warehouses, or to
grain dealers who do not operate a warehouse.

There is a federal security program for vegetables.  This
security program is mainly limited to fresh market vegetables,
and consists of a priority lien against vegetable−related assets.
Wisconsin’s vegetable security program applies only to
processing vegetables (not fresh market vegetables covered
by federal regulations).  There may be some limited overlap
between the Wisconsin and federal programs (the overlap
may be justified because the scope of federal coverage is not
entirely clear).
State Comparisons

In Minnesota, contractors must be licensed to procure
grain, milk or processing vegetables from producers, or to
operate grain warehouses.  Regulated contractors must file
bonds as security against default.

Neither Iowa nor Illinois have producer security programs
for milk or vegetables.  However, both states maintain
indemnity funds to protect grain producers.  Fund
assessments are based solely on grain volume.  In Wisconsin,
by contrast, fund assessments are based on grain volume and
financial condition.

Michigan has the following producer security programs:
• Potato dealers must be licensed, and must post bonds as

security against defaults.  (Wisconsin’s vegetable security
program includes, but is not limited to, potatoes.)

• Dairy plants that fail to meet minimum financial standards
must file security or pay cash for milk.

• Grain producers have the option of paying premiums into
a state fund.  In the event of a grain default, the fund
reimburses participating producers.

Agency Contact
Questions or comments related to this rule may be sent to

the following address:
Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
Trade and Consumer Protection Division
Bureau of Trade Practices
P.O. Box 8911
Madison, WI 53708−8911
Attn.: Kevin LeRoy
Telephone: (608) 224−4928
E−Mail: Kevin.Leroy@datcp.state.wi.us

Notice of Hearing
Commerce

[CR 05−064]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to s. 101.125,

Stats., the Department of Commerce will hold a public
hearing on proposed rules under ch. Comm 72, relating to
cleaning methods for historic buildings.
Hearing Information

The public hearing will be held as follows:

Date and Time: Location:
August 1, 2005
at 10:00 a.m.

Thompson Commerce Center
201 W. Washington Avenue
Conference Room #3C
Madison, Wisconsin

Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and
present comments on the proposed rules.  Persons making oral

presentations are requested to submit their comments in
writing.  Persons submitting comments will not receive
individual responses.  The hearing record on this proposed
rulemaking will remain open until August 15, 2005, to permit
submittal of written comments from persons who are unable
to attend the hearing or who wish to supplement testimony
offered at the hearing.  Written comments should be submitted
to Diane Meredith, at the Department of Commerce, P.O. Box
2689, Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email at
dmeredith@commerce.state.wi.us.

This hearing is held in an accessible facility.  If you have
special needs or circumstances that may make
communication or accessibility difficult at the hearing, please
call (608) 266−8741 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY) at least 10 days
prior to the hearing date.  Accommodations such as
interpreters, English translators, or materials in audio tape
format will, to the fullest extent possible, be made available
upon a request from a person with a disability.
Analysis Prepared by Department of Commerce

Statutory authority:  ss. 101.02 (1) and (15), and 101.1215,
Stats.

Statutes interpreted:  ss. 101.02 (1) and (15), and 101.1215,
Stats.

Under the statutes cited, the Department of Commerce
protects public health, safety, and welfare by promulgating
comprehensive construction requirements for public
buildings and places of employment.  In accordance with s.
101.1215, Stats., the Department is required to develop
requirements for prohibiting the use of abrasive cleaners on
the exterior of qualified historic buildings, including both
commercial buildings and one−and two−family dwellings.

The proposed rules under ch. Comm 72 are being created
to comply with s. 101.1215, Stats., relating to the prohibition
of abrasive cleaning methods and identification of acceptable
methods for cleaning the exterior facades of qualified historic
buildings  The Division of Safety and Buildings will enforce
the proposed rules by doing an investigative inspection when
a complaint is received by the agency.  If a violation is found,
the Division may refer the violation on to the appropriate
authority responsible for assessing penalties as specified in s.
101.1215 (4), Stats.

The proposed rules include the following:
1. The requirements apply to both public buildings and

places of employment, and one−and two−family dwellings
that are qualified historic buildings.  [Comm 72.02]

2. Administration and enforcement of these rules is by
complaint.  Penalties as specified under s. 101.1215, Stats.,
may be assessed for violation of these rules.  [Comm 72.03
and 70.04]

3. The term “abrasive cleaning method” has the meaning
given in s. 101.1215, Stats., and identifies as abrasive,
cleaning procedures that employ certain materials or tools,
such as sand, glass, rice husks carried in high or low−pressure
air or water, or the use of high pressure water.  [Comm 72.05
(1)]

4. The term “qualified historic building” has the meaning
given in s. 101.121 (2) (c), Stats.  [Comm 72.05 (3)]

5. Specific prohibition of any abrasive cleaning method on
a qualified historic building. [Comm 72.06 (1)]

6. Identifies where abrasive cleaners may be used, and
identifies a non−abrasive cleaning methods. [Comm 72.06
(2)]
Federal Comparison

An Internet−based search for “abrasive cleaning of exterior
surfaces of historic buildings” in the Code of Federal
Regulations identified the following existing federal
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regulations that address abrasive cleaning of historic
buildings:

1. 36CFR67– Historic Preservation Certifications
Pursuant to Sec. 48(g) and Sec. 170(h) of the Internal Revenue
Code of 1986

2. 36CFR68– The Secretary of the Interior Standards for
the Treatment of Historic Properties.

3. 36CFR800– Protection of Historic Properties
Under these existing federal regulations, chemical or

physical treatments may be used on historic properties for
preservation, rehabilitation, or restoration; however, the
treatments used must be the gentlest means possible.
Treatments that cause damage to historic materials are not to
be used.

An Internet−based search for “abrasive cleaning of exterior
surfaces of historic buildings” of the 2003 and 2004 issues of
the Federal Register did not identify any proposed federal
regulations that address abrasive cleaning of exterior surfaces
of historic buildings.

State Comparisons
An Internet−based search of adjacent states identified that

Illinois, Minnesota, Michigan and Iowa do not have any
specific rules relating to cleaning methods for the exterior
facades of historic buildings.

Council Members and Representation
The proposed rules were developed with the assistance of

the Historic Building Code Council, Dan Stephans, from the
Department of Administration, and James Draeger,
Wisconsin Historical Society.  The members of the Historic
Building Code Council are as follows:

Name Representing
Bruce Johnson . . . . . Wisconsin Builders Association
Steve Gleisner . . . . . City of Milwaukee Fire Dept.
Charles Quagliana . . AIA−Wisconsin Department of

Commerce
Chris Rute . . . . . . . . Milwaukee Historic Preservation

Commission
Jim Sewell . . . . . . . . Wisconsin Historical Society
Harry Sulzer . . . . . . . City of Madison
David Vos . . . . . . . . . Project Developer/Alexander 

Company

Copies of Rule
The proposed rules and an analysis of the proposed rules

are available on the Internet at the Safety and Buildings
Division Web site at www.commerce.wi.gov/SB/.  Paper
copies may be obtained without cost from Roberta Ward, at
the Department of Commerce, Program Development
Bureau, P.O. Box 2689, Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email
at rward@commerce.state.wi.us, or at telephone (608)
266−8741 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY).  Copies will also be
available at the public hearing.

Environmental Analysis
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Department has

considered the environmental impact of the proposed rules.
In accordance with ch. Comm 1, the proposed rules are a Type
III action.  A Type III action normally does not have the
potential to cause significant environmental effects and
normally does not involve unresolved conflicts in the use of
available resources.  The Department has reviewed these rules
and finds no reason to believe that any unusual conditions

exist.  At this time, the Department has issued this notice to
serve as a finding of no significant impact.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
1.  Types of small businesses that will be affected by the

rules.
A small business owning a qualified historic building or

providing exterior cleaning services may be affected by these
rules.  The primary purpose of these rules is to codify the
statutory prohibitions of certain types of cleaning methods for
exterior facades of qualified historic buildings.  Masonry
facades are the most vulnerable to abrasive cleaning methods
and there are only around 5,000 qualified historic buildings
with masonry exteriors statewide.  The rules do not mandate
cleaning and the impact on small businesses should be
minimal.

2.  Reporting, bookkeeping and other procedures required
for compliance with the rules.

There are no reporting, bookkeeping or other procedures
necessary for compliance with the rule.

3.  Types of professional skills necessary for compliance
with the rules.

None known.
4.  Rules have a significant economic impact on small

businesses.
No.
The small business regulatory coordinator for the

Department of Commerce is Carol Dunn, who may be
contacted at telephone (608) 267−0297, or Email at
cdunn@commerce.state.wi.us.

Fiscal Estimate
General effects: The proposed rules do not mandate

cleaning the exterior facades of a qualified historic building.
However, under the enabling statutes and the proposed rules,
when the facades of the qualified historic building are
cleaned, the cleaning methods must be non−abrasive.  There
are approximately 21,000 qualified historic buildings
throughout the state, with approximately 70% of the buildings
having wood facades, 25% having masonry facades, and 5%
having other types of facade material, such as stucco.
Masonry facades are the most vulnerable to abrasive cleaning
methods, and there are only around 5,000 qualified historic
buildings with masonry exteriors statewide.  Sandblasting is
a typical abrasive method used to clean the exterior facade of
a building, and chemical washing is a typical non−abrasive
method.  The average price for sandblasting is $1.50 to
2.25/square foot and the price for chemical washing is $3.00
to 6.75/square foot.

The Safety and Buildings Division is responsible for
enforcing chapter Comm 72 relating to abrasive cleaning of
historic buildings, and the enforcement mechanism is by
receipt of a complaint.  If a complaint were received, the
Division would do an investigative inspection and may assess
the owner a fee for the inspection.  There are no proposed
changes in the Division’s fee schedule.  Violations of the
statutes and the proposed rules would be subject to the
penalties prescribed under s. 101.1215 (4), Stats.

Overall effect on state, local or privately owned qualified
historic buildings:  When the exterior facade of any qualified
historic building is to be cleaned, a non−abrasive cleaning
method must be employed.  Since the rules do not mandate
cleaning and with only a specified number of buildings that
would be affected by the rules, the fiscal effect is anticipated
to be minimal.
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Notice of Hearing
Financial Institutions−Banking

[CR 05−065]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN That pursuant to ss.

426.108 and 227.11(2), Stats., and interpreting s. 426.108,
Stats., the Department of Financial Institutions, Office of
Consumer Affairs will hold a public hearing at the
Department of Financial Institutions, Office of the Secretary,
5th Floor Conference Room, 345 W. Washington Avenue in
the city of Madison, Wisconsin, on the 28th day of July, 2005,
at 1:00 p.m. to consider a rule to amend s. DFI—Bkg 80.85 (1)
and (2), and create s. DFI—Bkg 80.85 (5), relating to
prohibited bases for discriminating in the extension of
consumer credit.
Analysis Prepared by the Office of Consumer Affairs

Statute(s) interpreted: s. 426.108, Stats.
Statutory authority: ss. 426.108 and 227.11 (2), Stats.
Related statute or rule: None.
Explanation of agency authority: Pursuant to s. 426.104,

Stats., the department administers the Wisconsin Consumer
Act.

The objective of the rule is to amend s. DFI—Bkg 80.85 (1)
and (2), and create s. DFI—Bkg 80.85 (5).  The purpose of this
rule is to expand the prohibited bases for discriminating in the
extension of consumer credit.  Currently the Wisconsin
Consumer Act makes discrimination on the basis of sex or
marital status in the granting or extension of credit an
unconscionable credit practice.  The rule makes
discrimination on a prohibited basis in the granting or
extension of credit an unconscionable credit practice.  The
rule defines prohibited basis to include the already existing
bases as well as additional bases.

Federal Comparison
Federal regulation: 12 CFR 202 identifies similar

prohibited bases.

State Comparisons
 Minnesota, Iowa, Illinois and Michigan have comparable

laws.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
 The department reviewed federal regulations relating to

prohibited bases for discriminating in the extension of
consumer credit, as well as laws adopted by adjacent states
regarding the same.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The entities affected by this rule do not meet the definition

of a small business as set forth in s. 227.114, Stats.; therefore,
there is no effect on small business.

Fiscal Estimate
There is no state fiscal effect, and there are no local

government costs.  No funding sources or ch. 20
appropriations are affected.  There are no long−range fiscal
implications.

Contact Person
A copy of the proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be

obtained at no charge from Mark Schlei, Deputy General
Counsel, Department of Financial Institutions, Office of the
Secretary, P.O. Box 8861, Madison, WI 53708−8861, tel.
(608) 267−1705.  A copy of the proposed rule may also be
obtained and reviewed at the Department of Financial
Institutions’ website, www.wdfi.org.

Written comments regarding the proposed rule may be
submitted to Mark Schlei, Deputy General Counsel,
Department of Financial Institutions, Office of the Secretary,
P.O. Box 8861, Madison, WI 53708−8861, tel. (608)
267−1705, or via the department’s website contact page,
e−mail the secretary.  Written comments must be received by
the conclusion of the hearing.

Notice of Hearings
Health and Family Services

(Medical Assistance, Chs. HFS 100−)

[CR 05−052]

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to s. 49.45
(10), Stats., interpreting s. 49.46 (2) (a) 4. d. and (b) 6. g. and
m., Stats., the Department of Health and Family Services will
hold a public hearing to consider the repeal of s. HFS 107.12
(2) (b) and (3) (d); the repeal and recreation of s. HFS 107.113
(5) (d); and the creation of s. HFS 107.113 (5) (g) and 107.12
(4) (f) and (g), relating to private duty nursing and respiratory
care service benefits covered by the Wisconsin Medical
Assistance program, and affecting small businesses.

Hearing Information

The public hearings will be held:

Date & Time Location

July 27, 2005
Wednesday
1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.

500 Forest St.
Marathon County Courthouse
Room 131
Wausau, WI

July 28, 2005
Thursday
10:00 a.m. to noon

500 Riverview Ave.
Room 1053
Waukesha, WI

The hearing site is fully accessible to people with
disabilities.  If you are hearing or visually impaired, do not
speak English, or have circumstances that might make
communication at a hearing difficult and if you, therefore,
require an interpreter or a non−English, large print or taped
version of the hearing document, contact the person at the
address or phone number given above at least 10 days before
the hearing.  With less than 10 days notice, an interpreter may
not be available.

Written comments may be submitted at the public hearing,
or in lieu of attending a public hearing written comments can
be submitted by regular mail or email to the contact person
listed below.  Written comments may also be submitted to the
Department using the Wisconsin Administrative Rules
Internet website at the web address listed below.

Deadline for Comment Submission

The deadline for submitting comments is 4:30 p.m., on
Friday, August 12, 2005.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Health and
Family Services

The Department proposes to revise ss. HFS 107.113 (5) and
107.12 (2) relating to the number of hours a nurse may provide
private duty nursing services, including care to
ventilator−dependent recipients, for reimbursement by
Medicaid.  Specifically, the proposed revisions will become
more flexible to facilitate scheduling but restrict the total
number of hours a nurse may work and still receive Medicaid
reimbursement for such services.



Page 19Mid−July 2005 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 595

Effect on Small Business
The proposed changes will have a beneficial effect on

home health care agencies and nurses in independent private
duty nursing practice that offer private duty nursing services,
by providing these entities and their consumers with better
scheduling flexibility.

Fiscal Estimate
The Department is updating and clarifying some

requirements in its Medical Assistance rules.  Chapter HFS
107 specifies the Wisconsin Medical Assistance (MA)
covered services and reimbursement requirements for
providers.  As currently written, ch. HFS 107 limits the
amount of time a nurse may provide direct private duty
nursing (PDN) or respiratory care services (RCS).  In
particular, s. HFS 107.113 (5) (d), governing RCS, currently
provides that “[s]ervices provided by one individual in excess
of 12 continuous hours per day or 60 hours per week” are not
covered services.  The PDN rule has a similar limitation.  That
rule, s. HFS 107.12 (2) (b), states that PDN “is limited to 12
continuous hours in each 24 hour period and no more than 60
hours in a calendar week,” and that “[a] prior authorization
request for 2 consecutive 12−hour periods shall not be
approved.”

The Department has determined that strict adherence to the
preceding requirements that are currently expressed in its
administrative rules sometimes unnecessarily constrains the
provision of needed personal care services and may therefore
constitute an unjustified burden to both consumers and
providers.  Consequently, the Department is proposing to
amend the rules to reduce these restrictions.  Specifically, the
Department is promulgating changes in the number of hours
that private duty nurses and respiratory care nurses may work
in a 24−hour period.  The Department is further defining the
24−hour work period as a calendar day.  For the purpose of
scheduling breaks, it will retain the reference to any 24−hour
period.

Under this revision to the rule, the total number of hours
authorized for private duty nursing through the prior
authorization process will not change.  The rule change will
help to simplify the scheduling of private duty nursing
services.   The Department does not expect any fiscal effect
as a result of these changes.

Copy of Rule
A copy of the full text of the rules and the full text of the

fiscal estimate, and other documents associated with this
rulemaking may be obtained, at no charge, from the
Wisconsin Administrative Rules website at
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  At this website you can also
register to receive email notification whenever the
Department posts new information about this rulemaking
and, during the public comment period, you can submit
comments on the rulemaking order electronically and view
comments that others have submitted about the rule.

A copy of the full text of the rule and the fiscal estimate may
also be obtained by contacting the Department’s
representative listed below:

Al Matano
Division of Health Care Financing,
Bureau of Fee−for−service Health Care Benefits
P.O. Box 309
One West Wilson Street, Room 350
(608) 267−6848
MatanA@dhfs.state.wi.us

Notice of Hearing
Insurance

[CR 05−066]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN That pursuant to the

authority granted under s. 601.41 (3), Stats., and the
procedures set forth in under s. 227.18, Stats., OCI will hold
a public hearing to consider the adoption of the attached
proposed rulemaking order affecting s. Ins 50.30, Wis. Adm.
Code, relating to actuarial opinion and summary.
Hearing Information

Date: July 29, 2005
Time: 10:00 a.m., or as soon thereafter as the

matter may be reached
Place: OCI, Room 223, 

125 South Webster St., 2nd Floor,
Madison, WI

Written comments or comments submitted through the
Wisconsin Administrative Rule website at: https://
adminrules.wisconsin.gov on the proposed rule will be
considered. The deadline for submitting comments is 4:00
p.m. on the 7th day after the date for the hearing stated in this
Notice of Hearing.

Written comments should be sent to: Fred Nepple, OCI
Rule Comment for Rule Ins 5030, Office of the Commissioner
of Insurance, PO Box 7873, Madison WI 53707−7873

Analysis Prepared by the Office of the Commissioner Of
Insurance (OCI)

Statutes interpreted: Sections 600.01, 601.42, 601.465,
Stats.

Statutory authority:  Sections 601.42 and 601.465 and ch.
618, Stats.

OCI proposes this rule to require reports and other
information relating to actuarial opinions prepared and field
for property and casualty insurers, including nondomestic
insurers licensed under ch. 618, Stats.  Section 601.42, Stats.,
establishes the statutory authority to require reports and
submission of other information from any person, including
a licensed insurer, subject to regulation under the Insurance
Code. Section 601.465, Stats., establishes OCI’s authority to
retain the reports and information as privileged and
confidential.

Related Statutes or Rules:  The proposed rule is intended
to supplement the information required to be filed with
insurer’s annual financial statements under ch. Ins 50, Wis.
Adm. Code.

Summary:  Section Ins 50.30, Wis. Adm. Code, currently
requires licensed property and casualty insurers that file a
NAIC financial statement to also file an actuarial opinion.
Under current law OCI may also ask an insurer to file the
supporting actuarial summary and work papers.  This
proposed rule will require all domestic property and casualty
insurers that are required to file an actuarial opinion to also file
a supporting actuarial opinion summary.  The proposed rule
also notes that OCI, as under current law, may require a
licensed non−domestic property and casualty insurer to file a
summary and supporting work papers.  The actuarial
summary and work papers support the actuarial opinion,
which is a public document, however the proposed rule notes
the required supporting actuarial summary and work papers,
with their detailed proprietary information, may be retained
as confidential by OCI under s. 601.465, Stats.
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Federal Comparison
Comparison with any existing or proposed federal

regulation that is intended to address the activities to be
regulated by the proposed rule:   None

State Comparisons
All of the adjacent state insurance departments are

considering seeking legislation or a rule or are in the process
of promulgating a rule to put in effect the NAIC Model.
However none have yet adopted the NAIC Model.
Accordingly the current status is:

Iowa: None
Illinois: None
Minnesota: None
Michigan: None

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
This  proposed rule is based on the NAIC Property and

Casualty Actuarial Opinion Model Law.  It reflects the
experience and recommendations of insurance financial
regulators relating to analysis of the subject matter of the
currently required actuarial opinion.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN That pursuant

to s. 227.114, Stats., the proposed rule may have an impact on
small businesses. The initial regulatory flexibility analysis is
as follows:

a. Types of small businesses affected:  Small mutual
insurers.

b. Description of reporting and bookkeeping procedures
required:   The proposed rule requires filing of a summary of
information derived from the already currently required
actuarial analysis.

c. Description of professional skills required:  The actuarial
professional services currently required will also address
requirements of the proposed rule.

There are only five mutual insurers that will be subject to
the rule that are “small businesses.”  This is based on an
analysis of financial statements filed by property and casualty
insurers conducted by the bureau of financial analysis and
examination.  The assessment of fiscal and economic impact
on these insurers is based on bureau of financial analysis and
examination professional assessment, and the bureau’s past
experience in the analysis and examination of actuarial
reports and opinions.

The OCI small business coordinator is Eileen Mallow and
may be reached at phone number (608) 266− 7843 or at email
address Eileen.Mallow@oci.state.wi.us

Fiscal Estimate
The limited fiscal effect of the proposed rule on the insurers

will be due to the cost of producing and submitting the
Actuarial Opinion Summary.  The Actuarial Opinion
Summary will illustrate the difference between the insurer’s
recorded loss and loss adjustment expense reserves and the
actuary’s point estimates and/or range of reasonable
estimates.  This information is currently required to be
included in the opining actuary’s report, so including it in the
Actuarial Opinion Summary will not involve significant
additional work or expense.

The proposed rule also includes a conditional requirement.
If the insurer has a one−year adverse development in excess
of 5% of surplus during 3 of the last 5 years, the insurer’s
actuary must provide commentary.  This requirement would
not be applicable for most insurers in most years.  Where it is
applicable the actuary will have already considered the causes

of the adverse trend and providing a commentary will not
involve any significant additional cost.

Agency Contact Person
A copy of the full text of the proposed rule changes,

analysis and fiscal estimate may be obtained from the WEB
sites at: http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm

or by contacting Inger Williams, OCI Services Section, at:
Phone: (608) 264−8110
Email: Inger.Williams@OCI.State.WI.US
Address: 125 South Webster Street

2nd Floor Madison WI 53702
Mail: PO Box 7873, Madison WI 53707−7873

Submission of Comments
The deadline for submitting comments is 4:00 p.m. on the

14th day after the date for the hearing stated in the Notice of
Hearing.

Mailing address:
Fred Nepple
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 5030
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
PO Box 7873
Madison WI 53707−7873

Street address:
Fred Nepple
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 5030
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor
Madison WI 53702

WEB Site: http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm

Notice of Hearing
Marriage and Family Therapy, 

Professional Counseling and Social Work
Examining Board

[CR 05−043]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority

vested in the Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional
Counseling and Social Work Examining Board in ss. 15.08 (5)
(b), 227.11 (2) and 457.03 (2), Stats., and interpreting
s. 457.03 (2), Stats., the Marriage and Family Therapy,
Professional Counseling and Social Work Examining Board
will hold a public hearing at the time and place indicated
below to consider an order to amend s. MPSW 20.02 (18),
relating to recordkeeping by marriage and family therapists,
professional counselors and social workers.
Hearing Date, Time and Location

Date: August 2, 2005
Time: 9:30 a.m.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue

Room 179A
Madison, Wisconsin

Interested persons are invited to present information at the
hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Legal Counsel, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708, or by email to pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Written
comments must be received on or before August 12, 2005 to
be included in the record of rule−making proceedings.
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Analysis Prepared by the Dept. of Regulation and
Licensing

Statutes interpreted: Section 457.03 (2), Stats.
Statutory authority: Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2)

and 457.03 (2), Stats.
Section MPSW 20.02 (18) requires social workers,

marriage and family therapists, and professional counselors
to maintain adequate records relating to professional services
that they provide to clients.  However, this provision does not
provide any details as to what should be contained in those
records or for how long they need to be maintained.  Under
this proposal, records must contain five key elements and
must be prepared in a timely fashion.  In addition, clinical
records must be maintained for seven years following the
conclusion of treatment.

The current rule specifies a requirement to keep adequate
records relating to the service provided to a client; however,
there is no specific definition as to the types of records that
must be kept, or timeframes for the preparation and retention
of client records.

The proposed rule amendment creates a clear
recordkeeping requirement of clinical services provided by
licensed marriage and family therapists, professional
counselors and clinical social workers.  The records kept must
include:  assessment, diagnosis, treatment plan, progress
notes and a discharge summary.  The reports should be
prepared not more than 7 days following client contact and the
discharge summary should be prepared promptly upon
closure of a client’s case.  Client case records must be kept for
at least 7 years after the final date recorded for service in the
record.

The proposed rule change is good because it clarifies the
existing recordkeeping rule to better protect the public as well
as assist the therapists, counselors and social workers by
setting clear expectations and standards for recordkeeping, a
standard which was only implied before as “adequate.”  Small
business will only be affected in the sense that recordkeeping
is now more clearly defined; however, there should be no
fiscal impact as the existing rule already required adequate
recordkeeping.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
No study resulting in the collection of factual data was used

in reference to this rule−making effort.  The primary
methodology for revising the rule is the board’s ongoing
analysis and determination that a rules change is necessary.

Fiscal Estimate
The department estimates that this rule will require staff

time in the Division of Enforcement and in the Office of Legal
Counsel to receive, investigate and prosecute approximately
five complaints annually.  The value of these staff’s salary and
fringe benefits for this work is estimated at $6,206.

The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal
effect on the private sector.

Effect on Small Business
Pursuant to s. 227.114 (1), Stats., these proposed rules will

have no significant economic impact on a substantial number
of small businesses.

Text of Rule
SECTION 1.  MPSW 20.02 (18) is amended to read:
MPSW 20.02 (18)  Failing to maintain adequate records

relating to services provided a client in the course of a
professional relationship.  A credential holder providing
clinical services to a client shall maintain records
documenting an assessment, a diagnosis, a treatment plan,

progress notes, and a discharge summary.  All clinical records
shall be prepared in a timely fashion.  Absent exceptional
circumstances, clinical records shall be prepared not more
than one week following client contact, and a discharge
summary shall be prepared promptly following closure of the
client’s case.  Clinical records shall be maintained for at least
7 years after the last service provided, unless otherwise
provided by federal law.

Agency Contact Person
Pamela Haack, Department of Regulation and Licensing,

Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington Avenue,
Room 171, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708−8935.

Telephone: (608) 266−0495.
Email:  pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.

Submission of Comments
Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack,

Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Room 171, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708−8935. Email pamela.haack@drl.
state.wi.us.  Comments must be received on or before August
11, 2005, to be included in the record of rule−making
proceedings.

Notice of Hearings
Natural Resources

(Environmental Protection−General)
[CR 05−058]

(reprinted & corrected from 6/30/05 Register)
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 59.692,

227.11 (2) (a) and 281.31, Stats., interpreting ss. 59.69,
59.692 and 281.31, Stats., the Department of Natural
Resources will hold public hearings on revisions to ch. NR
115, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to minimum standards for
county shoreland zoning ordinances.  The proposed revisions
are intended to meet the statutory objectives of the program,
while providing certainty and flexibility to counties and
property owners.  Changes include adding definitions to the
rule for clarity; establishing standards for multi−unit
residential development, mobile home parks and
campgrounds; providing exemptions for certain activities
from shoreland setback and shoreland vegetation standards;
establishing impervious surface standards; and replacing the
“50% rule” for nonconforming structures with a standard
based on the size and location of structures.  These changes
will significantly decrease the number of variances granted by
counties, allowing certain activities to be allowed with a
simple administrative permit by the county.  Substantive
changes include:

Language is added to advance the statutory purposes of the
program found in s. 281.31 (1), Stats.

Language is added recognizing that this rule only
establishes minimum standards for county shoreland zoning
ordinances, and counties may adopt more protective
regulations to adequately protect local resources.

Language consistent with s. 59.692(7), Stats., is added to
clarify how this rule impacts lands annexed or incorporated by
cities and villages.

Language clarifying the authority of the town shoreland
zoning ordinances is added.

Language clarifying the applicability of ch. NR 115 in
areas under the jurisdiction of ch. NR 118 is added.

The number of definitions was increased from 13 to 52 to
help provide consistency in interpretation of county shoreland
zoning ordinances
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The requirement for land division review is changed from
the creation of “3 or more lots” to the creation of “one or more
lots” to ensure that all new lots created meet minimum lot size
requirements.  This standard was added to protect prospective
property owners and ensure that all lots have a buildable area.

If new lots are created that are divided by a stream or river,
one side of the lot must meet minimum lot size requirements
and density standards.  No portion of a lot or parcel divided
by a navigable stream may be developed unless that portion
of the lot or parcel meets or is combined to meet the minimum
lot size requirements and density standards.  This provision
will ensure that development only takes place on lots or
parcels which meet minimum lot size requirements, again
safeguarding property owners.

Counties may adopt standards to regulate substandard lots
in common ownership.

Minimum lot size and density standards are established for
multi−unit residential development, mobile home parks,
campgrounds and other types of uses.

Counties may request the approval of an alternative
regulation for campgrounds that is different than the
minimum standards in ch. NR 115.  Counties utilizing this
option must demonstrate how the alternative regulation
would achieve the statutory purposes of the program.

Counties are granted the flexibility to regulate keyhole lots.
New lot width measurement is developed which will

accommodate irregular shaped lots.
Counties are granted the flexibility to regulate backlots in

the shoreland zone.
Outlots may be created as part of a subdivision plat or

certified survey map.
Counties may request the approval of standards for

alternative forms of development with reduced lot sizes and
development densities for planned unit developments, cluster
developments, conservation subdivisions, and other similar
alternative forms of development if they include, at a
minimum, a required shoreland setback of more than 75 feet
and a larger primary buffer than is required in s. NR 115.15
(2).

Language is added to address structures exempted by other
state or federal laws from the shoreland setback standards.

Provisions are added to allow counties to exempt 15 types
of structures from the shoreland setback, an increase from 3
exempted structures.

The construction of new dry boathouses is prohibited.
Standards are established to qualify a lot for a reduced

setback and two methods of calculating the reduced setback
are provided.  Counties may also request approval of an
alternative setback reduction formulate, demonstrating how
the alternative is as effective in achieving the purposes of s.
281.31 (1) and (6), Stats.

Language governing management of shoreland vegetation
in the primary shoreland buffer is improved, resulting in a
more functional buffer protection habitat and water quality.

Tree and shrubbery pruning is allowed.  Removal of trees
and shrubs may be allowed if exotic or invasive species,
diseased or damaged, or if an imminent safety hazard, but
must be replaced.

Provisions are added to allow counties to exempt 7 types
of activities from the shoreland vegetation provisions.

A formula to calculate the vegetative buffer mitigation
requirements for existing multiple−unit developments was
added to proportionately mitigate based on the intensity of the
project.

A formula for the width of access corridors is provided,
replacing the “30 feet in any 100 feet” provision, which was
confusing if a lot had less than 100 feet of frontage.

Existing lawns may be maintained indefinitely in the
primary shoreland buffer, unless a property owner decides to
initiate one of 5 actions that require restoration of the primary
shoreland buffer.

Best management practices must be implemented and
maintained that, to the maximum extent practicable, result in
no increase in storm water discharge from impervious
surfaces.

If a project results in a lot being covered with 20% or more
impervious surfaces, the shoreland buffers must be preserved
or restored in compliance with the standards in s. NR 115.15
(applies only to lots with lands within 75 feet of the ordinary
high water mark).

An erosion control and revegetation plan is required for
land disturbing activities to minimize erosion and
sedimentation caused by the activity.

A county permit is required for land disturbing activities in
the shoreland zone if the project includes 2,000 square feet or
more of land.

Counties shall exempt from the permit requirement
activities that have already received permits from other
identified permitting authorities.

Counties may require a wetland buffer to minimize the
impacts of land disturbing activities to prevent damage to
wetlands.

The “50% rule” is removed, and a standard for the
regulation of nonconforming structures based on the location
and size of structures is used.

Unlimited ordinary maintenance and repairs is allowed on
nonconforming structures.

Structural alternations are allowed on nonconforming
structures if mitigation is implemented as specified by the
county.

Expansion and replacement of nonconforming accessory
structures is prohibited, unless located in a campground or
mobile home park, and certain standards are satisfied.

Expansions of nonconforming principal structures is
allowed is the structure is set back at least 35 feet from the
ordinary high water mark, if the footprint cap is not exceeded,
if mitigation is implemented as specified by the county and if
other standards are met.

Replacement of nonconforming principal structures is
allowed on the existing foundation anywhere within the
shoreland setback area, and on new foundations if the
structure is setback at least 35 feet from the ordinary high
water mark, if mitigation is implemented as specified by the
county, and if other standards are met.

Replacement of nonconforming principal structures is
prohibited if the structure has no foundation, the foundation
extends below the ordinary high water mark or the structure
extends over the ordinary high water mark.

Counties shall adopt a mitigation system that is roughly
proportional to the impacts of activities proposed.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
s. 227.114, Stats., it is not anticipated that the proposed rule
will have an economic impact on small businesses.  The
Department’s Small Business Regulatory Coordinator may be
contacted at:
 SmallBusinessReg.Coordinator@dnr.state.wi.us or by
calling (608) 266−1959.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
Department has prepared an Environmental Assessment in
accordance is s. 1.11, Stats., and ch. NR 150, Wis. Adm. Code,
that has concluded that the proposed rule is not a major state
action which would significantly affect the quality of the
human environment and that an environmental impact
statement is not required.
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NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
Department will hold question and answer session from 4:30
p.m. until 5:45 p.m. prior to each hearing.  Department staff
will be available to answer questions regarding the proposed
rules.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
hearings will be held on:

Tuesday, July 12, 2005 at 6:00 p.m.
Chippewa Valley Technical College
620 Clairemont Avenue
Eau Claire

Wednesday, July 13, 2005 at 6:00 p.m.
Wis. Indianhead Technical College
2100 Beaser Avenue
Ashland

Thursday, July 14, 2005 at 6:00 p.m.
Egg Harbor Room, Landmark Resort
7643 Hillside Road
Egg Harbor

Tuesday, July 19, 2005 at 6:00 p.m.
Western WI Technical College
304 6th Street North
La Crosse

Wednesday, July 20, 2005 at 6:00 p.m.
Whispering Pines Room, Grand Pines Resort
12355 W. Richardson Bay Road
Hayward       [Additional hearing]

Thursday, July 21, 2005 at 6:00 p.m.
Sentry World Theater
1800 North Point Drive
Stevens Point

Tuesday, July 26, 2005 at 6:00 p.m.
UW Washington County
400 University Drive
West Bend

Wednesday, July 27, 2005 at 6:00 p.m.
Grand Chute Town Hall
1900 Grand Chute Boulevard
Grand Chute

Thursday, July 28, 2005 at 6:00 p.m.
Holiday Inn Express       [Changed location]
Pelican/Shepherd Rooms
668 West Kemp Street
Rhinelander

Tuesday, August 2, 2005 at 6:00 p.m.
Lake Lawn Resort
2400 East Geneva Street
Delavan

Thursday, August 4, 2005 at 6:00 p.m.
Oak Hall Room, Fitchburg Community Center
5520 Lacy Road
Fitchburg

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
the Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of information
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request.  Please
call Toni Herkert at (608) 266−0161 with specific information
on your request at least 10 days before the date of the
scheduled hearing.

The proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be reviewed and
comments electronically submitted at the following Internet

site:  adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  Written comments on the
proposed rule may be submitted via U.S. mail to Toni Herkert,
Bureau of Watershed Management, P.O. Box 7921, Madison,
WI 53707.  Comments may be submitted until August 12,
2005.  Written comments whether submitted electronically or
by U.S. mail will have the same weight and effect as oral
statements presented at the public hearings.  A personal copy
of the proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be obtained from
Ms. Herkert.

Notice of Hearing
Revenue

[CR  05−063]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN That pursuant to s. 227.11

(2), Stats., and interpreting s. 70.32 (2r) (c), Stats., the
Department of Revenue will hold a public hearing at the time
and place indicated below, to consider the amendment of rules
relating to the use−value assessment of agricultural property.
Hearing Date, Time and Location

Date: July 25, 2005
Time: 1:00 P.M.
Location: Department of Revenue Building

Events Room
2135 Rimrock Road 
Madison, WI

Handicap access is available at the hearing location.

Written Comments
Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and

may make an oral presentation.  It is requested that written
comments reflecting the oral presentation be given to the
department at the hearing.  Written comments may also be
submitted to the contact person shown below no later than
August 1, 2005, and will be given the same consideration as
testimony presented at the hearing.

Contact Person
Scott Shields
Department of Revenue
Mail Stop 6−97
2135 Rimrock Road
P.O. Box 8971
Madison, WI  53708−8971
Telephone: (608) 266−2317
E−mail: sshields@dor.state.wi.us

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Revenue
Statute interpreted: Section 70.32 (2r) (c), Stats.
Statutory authority: Section 227.135, Stats.
Related statute or rule: Section 70.32 (2r) (c), Stats.
Each agency may promulgate rules that interpret the

provisions of any statute enforced or administered by it, if the
agency considers it necessary to effectuate the purpose of the
statute.

Pursuant to s. 70.32 (2r) (c), Stats., agricultural land is
assessed according to the income that could be generated from
its rental for agricultural use.  Wisconsin Chapter Tax 18
specifies the formula that is used to estimate the net rental
income per acre.  Income, expense, and value are determined
by applying an owner−operator appraisal methodology.  With
an owner−operator method, net income is determined by
deducting all operating costs and overhead from gross
income.  The formula specifies corn prices, cost of corn
production, and corn yield for determining net income.  Net
income is capitalized to determine the agricultural use−value
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per acre.  The capitalization rate is the sum of the interest rate
for a medium−sized, 1−year adjustable rate mortgage and the
municipal net tax rate for property taxes levied two years prior
to the assessment year.

A landlord−tenant appraisal methodology is another means
to estimate rental income.  The basis for this method is an
agreement or crop−share lease between a landowner
(landlord) and a farm operator (tenant).  Crop−share leases
allow landowners and farm operator to share risk and
management of a farm operation.  The lease provisions will
specify the distribution of income and costs.  Typically,
income and direct operational costs are equally distributed
among the landowner and farm operator with the landowner
assuming all property tax payments and the farm operator
assuming all labor and machinery costs.

The proposed rule order specifies the provisions of a
crop−share lease for determining the net rental income per
acre of agricultural land for 2006 and thereafter.  The rule will
specify the process and components for determining the
landowner’s share of gross income, cost of production, and
net income.

Second, the proposed rule specifies a capitalization rate
that is 11% or the sum of the interest rate for a medium−sized,
1−year adjustable rate mortgages and the municipal net tax
rate for property taxes levied two years prior to the assessment
year, whichever is greater.

Third, the proposed rule specifies that the annual change,
either positive or negative, in use−values for 2006 and
thereafter shall be limited to the percentage change in the
statewide equalized value in the prior year.  In determining the
percentage change in the statewide equalized value, the value
of agricultural land and the value of new construction are
excluded.

Lastly, the proposed rule repeals subdivisions that are no
longer applicable.

Further detail is provided in the summary of factual data
section below.

Federal Comparison
Property taxation is governed by Wisconsin’s constitution

and statutes, as such there are no current or pending federal
regulations regarding agricultural assessment.

State Comparisons
The valuation of agricultural land in Illinois, Michigan and

Minnesota are specified by statute; therefore, there are no
administrative rules related to agricultural valuation in these
states.   The Iowa administrative rule related to agricultural
valuation provides no detail regarding the formula used to
calculate agricultural land value; reference is made to the
Iowa real property appraisal manual.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
The proposed rule order specifies a landlord−tenant

crop−share appraisal method to estimate the rental income of
agricultural land.  Under a crop−share lease agreement, a
landowner provides the land and assumes the property tax
expenses for the land.  A farm operator provides the
machinery, fuel, and labor.  The landowner and farm operator
share the direct operating expenses, including the seed,
fertilizer, and pesticides or chemicals.  Income from the
harvested crop is also shared on the same basis as the direct
operating costs.  The proposed rule provides for an equal
distribution of income and cost among the landowner and
farm operator, which is reflective of a common crop−share
lease.

Gross income, cost of production, and net income are
determined based upon the following.

� Gross income is determined by multiplying the 5−year
average corn yield by the 5−year average market price of
corn.  The result is reduced by 50% in order to determine
the landowner’s income under a crop−share lease.

� Cost of production is determined by multiplying the
5−year average direct operating costs of corn production
by the 5−year average corn yield.  The result is reduced by
50% in order to determine the landowner’s costs under a
crop−share lease.

� The landowner also incurs a management expense that
captures the cost of maintaining and administering the
operation.  Management expense is 7.5% of the
landowner’s gross income.

� Net income is calculated by subtracting management
expenses and direct operating expenses from gross
income.  Dividing net income by the capitalization rate
provides the estimated value of agricultural land.

� Property taxes, which are a landowner responsibility, are
realized in the capitalization rate.

� With the exception of the capitalization rate’s municipal
tax rate, all data is averaged over a 5−year period.

Fiscal Estimate
The proposed rule amending Chapter Tax 18 would have

the effect on 2006 and later assessments of agricultural land.
Under the current permanent rule, the 2006 use value of

agricultural land would be based on the 5−year average corn
price, cost, and yield for the 1999−2003 period, and the
capitalization rate would be based on the 5−year average
interest rate for the 2001−2005 period.  Using the data for
these periods, it is estimated that agricultural land values
would be negative.  It is unclear how property with negative
values would be taxed.

To avoid negative values for agricultural land, the
Department of Revenue issued emergency rules to hold
agricultural land values at 2003 levels in both 2004 and 2005.

Under the proposed permanent rule, the 2006 and later use
values would be based on income capability from agricultural
land using a crop share lease approach.  Under a crop share
lease, a landowner and a farm operator share the cost of
growing a crop.  The common split in such agreement is
50−50, where the landowner and farm operator equally share
the harvested grain and input expenses.  The proposed rule
specifies the process of determining gross income, cost of
production, and net income.  Also, the proposed rule specifies
a capitalization rate as a 1−year adjustable rate mortgage for
farmland plus the net tax rate in the municipality from all
taxing jurisdictions or 11%, whichever is greater.

Under the proposed permanent rule, the annual change of
agricultural land value per acre would be limited to the
percentage change in equalized value of real and personal
property statewide, less new construction and agricultural
land.  From 2003 to 2004 the statewide equalized value (less
new construction and agricultural land) increased by 6%.
Assuming the same growth in equalized value from 2004 to
2005, assessed values per acre for each type of soil would only
increase by 6% from current values.   As a result, statewide
agricultural land values will approximately equal $2.1 billion
in 2006.  Since growth of agricultural land value will be
limited to the statewide change in equalized value excluding
new construction and agricultural land itself, agricultural land
as a share of total equalized value will decrease.

An average 200 acre farm can be an illustration of the fiscal
effect on farmland property taxes.  For example, under the
current permanent and emergency rules, an acre of grade 1
soil in Dodge County was assessed and then frozen at $261 per
acre.  Assuming an average Dodge County tax rate of $21.48
per $1,000 of assessed value, property taxes levied on a 200
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acre farmland in 2005 were about $1,120 ($261 x 200 x
0.02148).  Under the proposed permanent rule, a grade 1 soil
would be assessed at $276 ($261 x 1.06) per acre.  Because
agricultural land value growth will be smaller than the growth
of total equalized value, property tax on agricultural land as
a percent of total levies is expected to decrease statewide.
Property tax changes will vary by municipality, however,
based on local decisions and changes in state aid.

Under the proposed rule, there will be no loss of state
forestry tax revenue.  To the extent that the current permanent
rule would result in negative values for agricultural land and
therefore a loss of state forestry tax revenue, the proposed rule
would result in an increase of $413,000 in state forestry tax
revenues ($2.1 billion x .0002).

Relative to the valuation of agricultural land under the
emergency rules that were adopted to avoid negative values,
however, the proposed rule will result in a forestry tax revenue
increase of about $23,000.

Effect on Small Business
This proposed rule order does not have a significant effect

on small business.

Text of Rule
SECTION 1. Tax 18.07 (1) (b) 1., 2., 3., are amended to

read:
Tax 18.07 (1) (b) Net rental income per acre. 1. Beginning

in 1997 2006 and in each year thereafter, net rental income per
acre for each category of agricultural land in each
municipality shall be calculated according to the income
attributable to a landowner under a crop−share lease.  The
department shall assume a lease agreement where the income
and direct operating costs are distributed equally between the
landowner and farm operator.  The department shall adhere to
professionally accepted appraisal practices in determining
gross income, cost of production, and net income that are
attributable to a landowner under a crop−share lease.  Net
income shall be calculated by subtracting average total cost of
production per acre under subd. 3. from average gross income
per acre under subd. 2.

2. Beginning in 1997 2006 and in each year thereafter, the
landowner’s average gross income per acre for each category
of agricultural land in each municipality shall be calculated by
multiplying the category’s 5−year average corn yield per acre,
adjusted for the typical productivity of that category, by the
5−year average corn market price per unit of output. The
product shall be reduced by 50% to reflect a crop−share lease
with equal distribution of income. Yield per acre shall be
based on the federal soil conservation natural resource
conservation service’s soil productivity indices and corn
market price data shall be obtained from the Wisconsin
department of agriculture, trade and consumer protection. If
the federal soil conservation natural resource conservation
service and the Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade
and consumer protection are unable to provide, or to provide
timely, soil productivity indices and corn market price data,
respectively, comparable data shall be obtained from other
generally acceptable sources.

3. Beginning in 1997 2006 and in each year thereafter, the
landowner’s average total cost of production per acre for each
category of agricultural land shall be calculated by
multiplying the category’s 5−year average corn yield per acre,
adjusted for the typical productivity of that category, by the
5−year average cost of corn production. calculated from farm
expense information obtained from the Wisconsin
department of agriculture, trade and consumer protection, the
university of Wisconsin, federal agencies, or farm credit
services associations.  In calculating the 5−year average cost
of corn production, the department shall include the direct

operating costs incurred by the landowner under a crop−share
lease, which shall include the cost of seed, fertilizer, lime,
manure, chemicals, commercial drying, interest on operating
capital, or their equivalent.  The total cost of corn production
is reduced by 50% to reflect a crop−share lease with equal
distribution of direct operating costs.  The 5−year average cost
of corn production shall not include those costs incurred by a
farm operator under a crop−share lease, which  includes labor,
opportunity cost of unpaid labor, machinery, fuel, repairs,
overhead, or their equivalent.  An additional landowner cost
for operational management, equal to 7.5% of the average
gross income determined in subd 2., shall be subtracted from
the average gross income calculation in subd. 2.  Property
taxes are not a farm expense for purposes of calculating
average total cost of production per acre.  Yield per acre shall
be based on the federal soil conservation natural resource
conservation service’s soil productivity indices and cost of
corn production data shall be obtained from the Wisconsin
department of agriculture, trade and consumer protection. If
the federal soil conservation natural resource conservation
service and the Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade
and consumer protection are unable to provide, or to provide
timely, soil productivity indices and cost of corn production
data, respectively, comparable data shall be obtained from
other generally acceptable sources.

SECTION 2. Tax 18.07 (1) (b) 4., 5., 6., and 7. are repealed.
SECTION 3.  Tax 18.07 (1) (c) 5. is amended to read:
Tax 18.07 (1) (c) 5. The capitalization rate for each

municipality for each assessment year shall be 11% or
calculated by adding the sum of the statewide 5−year moving
average rate for the year prior to the assessment year and to the
net tax rate of that municipality for the property tax levy 2
years prior to the assessment year, whichever is greater.

SECTION 4. Tax 18.07 (1) (c) 6. and 7. are repealed.
SECTION 5.  Tax 18.07(1) (d) 1. and 2. are created to read:
Tax 18.07 (1) (d) 1. Beginning in 2006 and in each year

thereafter, increases and decreases in the use values for each
category of agricultural land in each municipality shall be
limited to the prior year’s percentage change in the statewide
equalized value.   When determining the percentage change
in the statewide equalized value, the department shall exclude
the value of agricultural land and new construction.  New
construction shall include increases in land value due to
higher land use, new subdivisions, and increases in
improvement value due to new construction, completion of
improvements partially assessed, remodeling and additions,
and land improvements such as addition of curb, gutter, sewer,
water, or their equivalent.  The amount of new construction
shall be reduced by the loss of land utility and loss of property
value due to full or partial destruction, removal,
contamination, or their equivalent.

2. The department shall calculate the percentage change
from the previous year’s use−values to the current year’s
use−values according to the formula in 18.07(1)(b).
Increases and decreases in the use values for each category of
agricultural land in each municipality shall be limited to the
percentage change determined in subd 1.  If the increase or
decrease is less than the percentage change determined in
subd. 1, the use value per acre will equal the value calculated
by the department according to the formula in 18.07(1)(b).

SECTION 6. Tax 18.07 (3) (a) is amended to read:
Tax 18.07 (3) (a) The assessor shall determine the use value

of each parcel of agricultural land based on the use value per
acre for that category of agricultural land in that municipality
provided by the department, adjusted by the assessor to reflect
more accurately the use value of that parcel of agricultural
land.
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Submittal of proposed rules to the legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Commerce
(CR 05−025)

Chs. Comm 2, 5 and 41, relating to boilers and pressure
vessels.

Insurance
(CR 05−028)

Ch. Ins 17, relating to annual injured patients and
families compensation fund fees.
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Rule orders filed with the revisor of statutes bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Revisor of Statutes Bureau and are in the process of being
published.   The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.   It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.   Contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at gary.poulson@legis.state.wi.us or (608) 266−7275 for updated information on
the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Commerce
(CR 04−072)

An order affecting ch. Comm 91, relating to equal speed
of access to toilets at facilities where the public
congregates.

Effective 1−1−06.

Commerce
(CR 05−010)

An order affecting ch. Comm 16, relating to electrical
construction.

Effective 9−1−05.

Commerce
(CR 05−011)

An order affecting ch. Comm 5, relating to welder,
electrician and plumber credentials.

Effective 8−1−05.

Natural Resources
(CR 05−016)

An order affecting ch. NR 10, relating to deer hunting as it
relates to the management of chronic wasting disease.

Effective 9−1−05.

Pharmacy Examining Board
(CR 05−001)

An order affecting ch. Phar 6, relating to variance
alternatives of alarm systems.

Effective 9−1−05.

State Public Defender
(CR 04−038)

An order affecting ch. PD 6, relating to the repayment of
cost of legal representation.

Effective 9−1−05.
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