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Emergency rules now in effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Commerce

A rule adopted creating s. Comm 2.33 (5), relating to
manufactured home certificate of title fees.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 76 (2) of 2005 Wisconsin Act 45 permits the

Department of Commerce to promulgate rules required under
sections 101.9205 (3), 101.9208 and 101.9213 (8), Stats., as
amended by 2005 Wisconsin Act 45, by using the emergency
rulemaking procedure under section 227.24, Stats., except
that the department is not required to provide evidence that the
emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of public
peace, health, safety or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of emergency.

The current statutes establish specific minimum fees that
the department must charge for conducting a file search, for
providing various services related to the titling of
manufactured homes, and for providing certain notices
related to security interests in manufactured homes.  2005
Wisconsin Act 45 removes those fees, effective December 1,
2005, from the statutes and requires the department to
establish, by rule, the fees for those services.  The emergency
rule establishes the required fees in the department’s fee
schedule, chapter Comm 2, without any changes in the fees
that have been charged under the current statutes.

The Act also requires the department to assess a new fee to
fund a manufactured housing rehabilitation and recycling
grant program.  The emergency rule establishes that fee to be
approximately the same as the environmental impact fee that
is no longer assessed.

Publication Date: November 29, 2005

Effective Date: December 1, 2005

Expiration Date: See section 76 (2) 2005 
  Wis. Act 45.

Hearing Date: January 6, 2006
[See Notice This Register]

Elections Board

Rules adopted creating s. ElBd 1.395, relating to the use of
funds in a federal campaign committee that has been
converted to a state campaign committee and relating to the
use of those converted funds whose contribution to the federal
committee would not have been in compliance with
Wisconsin law if the contribution had been made directly to a
state campaign committee.

Finding of Emergency
The Elections Board finds that an emergency exists in the

recent change in federal law that permits the transfer of the
funds in a federal candidate campaign committee’s account to
the candidate’s state campaign committee account and finds
that a rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A statement of the
facts constituting the emergency is as follows:

Since the Bi−Partisan Campaign Reform Act of 2002
(BICRA), transfers of funds from a federal campaign
committee to a state campaign committee had not been
authorized under federal law.  In November, 2004, Congress
amended the Federal Election Campaign Act, (H.R. 4818, s.
532 (3) and 532 (4), to permit the transfer of a federal
candidate’s campaign committee’s funds to the candidate’s
state campaign committee, if state law permitted, and subject
to the state law’s requirements and restrictions.

Because of  Congress’ action in November, 2004, money
which had not been available to a state committee under
BICRA, and which might not have qualified for use for
political purposes in a state campaign because of its source or
because of other noncompliance with state law, could now be
transferred to a state committee, if state law permitted.
Wisconsin law, under the Board’s current rule, s. ElBd 1.39,
Wis. Adm. Code,  allows for conversion of federal campaign
committees, and their funds, to a state campaign committee
without regard to the source of those funds and without regard
to contribution limitations.

Restricting the use of such money to that money which has
been contributed to the candidate’s federal committee, under
circumstances in which the contribution would have
complied with Wisconsin law if it had been given directly to
the Wisconsin campaign committee, is found to be in the
public interest.

Publication Date: February 3, 2005

Effective Date: February 3, 2005*

Expiration Date: July 3, 2005
Hearing Date: May 18, 2005

*  On February 9, 2005, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended this emergency rule.
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Insurance

Rules adopted amending s. Ins 8.49 Appendix 1, Wis.
Adm. Code, relating to small employer uniform employee
application for group health insurance.

Finding of emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare.
Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The federal government will be implementing Medicare
Part D insurance for prescription drugs effective January 1,
2006, therefore s. Ins 8.49 Appendix 1 needs to reflect
accurately the status of applicants as it relates to Medicare Part
D enrollment.  Further, also effective January 1, 2006, the
federal government requires employers or insurers to provide
an employee specific information on how to elect insurance
coverage after a qualifying event subsequent to have waived
coverage in accordance with 45 CFR 146.117 (c) (1).  In order
to have these changes in place prior to January 1, 2006, the
rule must be promulgated to add these modifications.

These changes include the ability for the employee
applicant to indicate that they carry Medicare Part D effective
January 1, 2006 and amends one sentence in the notice portion
of the wavier section of the application to add information on
how an employee following a qualifying event may opt to
obtain health insurance coverage after initially waiving
insurance coverage through the small employer group health
insurance plan.

Publication Date: November 4, 2005

Effective Date: November 4, 2005

Expiration Date: April 3, 2006

Natural Resources (4)
(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—)

1. Rules adopted revising ch. NR 10, relating to the 2005
migratory game bird seasons.

Finding of emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public welfare.  The federal government and state
legislature have delegated to the appropriate agencies
rule−making authority to control the hunting of migratory
birds. The State of Wisconsin must comply with federal
regulations in the establishment of migratory bird hunting
seasons and conditions.  Federal regulations are not made
available to this state until mid−August of each year. This
order is designed to bring the state hunting regulations to
conformity with the federal regulations.  Normal rule−making
procedures will not allow the establishment of these changes
by September 1.  Failure to modify our rules will result in the
failure to provide hunting opportunity and continuation of
rules which conflict with federal regulations.

Publication Date: August 31, 2005
Effective Date: August 31, 2005
Expiration Date: January 28, 2006
Hearing Date: October 17, 2005

2. Rules adopted revising chs. NR 46 and 47, relating to the
administration of the Managed Forest Law and the
Wisconsin Forest Landowner Grant Program.
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules that
govern the managed forest law.  The state legislature has
delegated the appropriate agencies rule−making authority to
administer the managed forest law.  State statute governing
the managed forest law was amended on July 25, 2005 with
an initial applicability date of June 1, 2005. This order is
designed to bring the administrative code into conformity
with the state statutes that govern the managed forest law.
Normal rule−making procedures will not allow the
establishment of changes necessary to continue processing
petitions for managed forest law received from June 1, 2005
to July 1, 2005 (petition deadline). Failure to process these
petitions will result in a delay in designation of these lands as
managed forest land and a failure to meet statutory deadlines
for designation.

Publication Date: October 4, 2005
Effective Date: October 4, 2005
Expiration Date: March 3, 2006
Hearing Date: October 19, 2005

3. Rules were adopted amending s. NR 19.50 relating to
hunter education fees.

The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,
Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to
regulate fees for safety education courses.  The state
legislature has delegated to the appropriate agencies rule
making authority to regulate and administer these courses.
The department must comply with state law.  This order is
desired to provide necessary funding for continuation of our
quality hunter education program.  Normal rule−making
procedures will not allow the establishment of the changes by
September 1.  Failure to modify our rules will result in lost
revenues and added expense to the hunter education program.

Publication Date: October 3, 2005
Effective Date: October 3, 2005
Expiration Date: March 2, 2006
Hearing Date: October 12, 2005

4. Rules were adopted amending ch. NR 47 relating to
relating to master logging certification scholarships.

Finding of emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to
regulate and administer grant programs.  The State legislature
has delegated responsibility for rule−making to the
Department of Natural Resources.  Normal rule−making
procedures will not allow the establishment of the rules in
time to allocate funds during this fiscal year.  Failure to
establish rules during FY06 will result in lost revenues and
added expense to the Master Logger Certification program.
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Publication Date: November 15, 2005

Effective Date: November 15, 2005

Expiration Date: April 14, 2006
Hearing Date: December 12, 2005

Natural Resources
(Environmental Protection − Water Regulation,

Chs. NR 300—)

Rules adopted revising ch. NR 326, relating to regulation
of piers, wharves, boat shelters, boat hoists, boat lifts and
swim rafts in navigable waterways.

Finding of emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public health, safety and welfare. The Wisconsin
Legislature recently enacted 2003 Wisconsin Act 118, to
streamline the regulatory process for activities in public trust
waters.  The state has an affirmative duty to administer the
new law in a manner consistent with the public trust
responsibilities of the State of Wisconsin under Article IX,
Section I of the Wisconsin Constitution.

2003 Act 118 identifies certain activities that may be
undertaken in public trust waters exempt from a permit, or
under a general permit. Certain activities may not be
undertaken in waters that are defined as “areas of special
natural resource interest” or at other locations where the
activity would cause detrimental impacts on public rights and
interests in navigable waters.  Without emergency rules to aid
in administering the new law, the following severe problems
will occur:

Until general permits are created by rule, any activity
which is not exempt requires an individual permit with an
automatic 30−day public notice.  The required 30−day
comment period will unnecessarily delay hundreds of
construction projects that otherwise could go ahead with
specified conditions for protecting lakes and streams (for
example, all new riprap and culvert applications currently
require public notices).

Unclear wording of exemptions currently puts property
owners, contractors and consultants at risk of violation.
Without clear procedures and standards established by
emergency rule, many more people may request exemption
determinations, slowing the decisions on individual permit
applications.

Wording of exemptions and temporary grading jurisdiction
puts lakes and streams at risk.  Without standards as intended
and described in the new law, exempted activities and grading
along shorelines will cause inadvertent but permanent
destruction of fish and wildlife habitat, loss of natural scenic
beauty and reduced water quality.  Rights of neighboring
property owners may also be harmed.  Cumulatively over one
or two construction seasons, these impacts will have
immediate and permanent effects on Wisconsin’s
water−based recreation and tourism industry.

To carry out the intention of the Legislature that 2003 Act
118 to speed decision−making but not diminish the public
trust in state waters, these emergency rules are required to
establish definitions, procedures and substantive standards
for exemptions, general permits and jurisdiction under the
new law.

Publication Date: April 19, 2004
Effective Date: April 19, 2004*
Expiration Date: September 16, 2004
Hearing Date: May 19, 2004

*On June 24, 2004, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended this emergency rule.

Public Instruction (2)

1. Rules adopted revising ch. PI 35, relating to the private
school proration process.

Finding of emergency
The department anticipates the program reaching the 15%

cap in the 2005−06 school year.  Because the department is
required to prorate the number of spaces available at each
participating private school, the prorating process must be in
place as soon as possible to provide adequate notice to
participating schools and parents.  Further, procedures must
be in place prior to the beginning of the 2005−06 school year
to avoid removing pupils from private schools that have lost
seats after the prorating process is completed.

Publication Date: August 1, 2005
Effective Date: August 1, 2005
Expiration Date: December 29, 2005
Hearing Date: August 31, 2005

2. Rules adopted amending emergency rules revising ch. PI
35, relating to prorating under the Milwaukee Parental
choice Program.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Public Instruction finds an emergency

exists and that a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public welfare.  A statement of the facts
constituting the emergency is:

The department anticipates the program reaching the 15%
cap in the 2005−06 school year.  Because the department is
required to prorate the number of spaces available at each
participating private school, the prorating process must be in
place as soon as possible to provide adequate notice to
participating schools and parents.

The rules contained in this order do not apply after
December 29, 2005, unless an extension is granted under s.
227.24 (2), Stats.

Publication Date: August 9, 2005
Effective Date: August 9, 2005
Expiration Date: December 29, 2005

Technical College System Board

Rules were adopted creating ch. TCS 17, relating to
training program grants.
Finding of emergency

The Wisconsin Technical College System Board finds that
an emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  A statement of the facts constituting an emergency
is:

The 2005 Wis. Act 25 (the 2005−2007 biennial budget bill)
created the training program grants under Wis. Stats. §§
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20.292 (1) (eh) and 38.41.  An annual appropriation of
$1,000,000 GPR in was established.  These funds were
provided to address a critical need of Wisconsin employers for
skills training and education necessary to protect the state’s
economic vitality and health.

The Act requires the WTCS Board to promulgate rules to
implement and administer the awarding of these grants.  The
Board has begun the permanent rule making process for
establishing administrative rules for these grants, but cannot
complete the required public hearing and review of these rules
prior to the middle of the fiscal year.  Therefore, to ensure that
business in need of skills training and other education may
access these services as soon as possible and that appropriated
funds are distributed to technical college districts for this
purpose, emergency administrative rules must be established
immediately.

Publication Date: October 7, 2005
Effective Date: October 7, 2005
Expiration Date: March 6, 2006
Hearing Date: January 4, 2006

[See Notice This Register]

Transportation

A rule adopted amending s. Trans 325.02, relating to
motor carrier safety regulations.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Transportation finds that an emergency

exists and that a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is on
October 1, 2005 the new hours−of−service regulations
became effective.  The new regulations apply to drivers and
carriers transporting property and passengers by commercial
vehicles in interstate commerce.  It is imperative the industry
operates under a single set of regulations.  Additionally, the
Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance out−of−service criteria
is directly formulated to the new hours−of−service.  Also
pursuant to 49 CFR 350.331(d), States are required to adopt
compatible laws or rules to remain eligible for Motor Carrier
Safety Assistance Program funding.  Currently, Wisconsin
receives approximately $4 million in such funding and that
funding could be in jeopardy if Wisconsin does not implement
these changes immediately.  The Motor Carriers Association
has urged the Department to implement these changes as it
will help ensure uniformity and increased highway safety.

Publication Date: December 1, 2005
Effective Date: December 1, 2005
Expiration Date: April 30, 2006
Hearing Date: February 13, 2006

[See Notice This Register]

Veterans Affairs  (2)

1. Rules adopted repealing s. VA 2.04 and repealing and
recreating s. VA 2.02, relating to the veterans tuition
reimbursement program.

Exemption From Finding of emergency
The legislature has authorized the department to

promulgate rules for the administration of the veterans tuition

reimbursement program under the emergency rule procedure
without providing evidence of the necessity of the
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare at
sec. 9153 (1) of 2005 Wis Act 25.

Publication Date: August 2, 2005
Effective Date: August 2, 2005
Expiration Date: December 30, 2005
Hearing Date: October 21, 2005

2. Rules adopted repealing and recreating s. VA 2.01,
relating to the assistance to needy veterans program.

Exemption From Finding of emergency
The legislature has authorized the department to

promulgate rules for the administration of the assistance to
needy veterans program under the emergency rule procedure
without providing evidence of the necessity of the
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare at
sec. 9135 (3k) of 2005 Wis Act 25.

Publication Date: August 2, 2005
Effective Date: August 2, 2005
Expiration Date: December 30, 2005
Hearing Date: October 21, 2005

Workforce Development
(Labor Standards, Chs. DWD 270−279)

Rules adopted revising ss. DWD 274.015 and 274.03 and
creating s. DWD 274.035, relating to overtime pay for
employees performing companionship services.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that the attached rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

On January 21, 2004, pursuant to s. 227.26(2)(b), Stats., the
Joint Committee for Review of Administrative Rules directed
the Department of Workforce Development to promulgate an
emergency rule regarding their overtime policy for
nonmedical home care companion employees of an agency as
part of ch. DWD 274.
Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce
Development

Statutory authority:  Sections 103.005, 103.02, and 227.11,
Stats.

Statutes interpreted: Sections 103.01 and 103.02, Stats.
Section 103.02, Stats., provides that “no person may be

employed or be permitted to work in any place of employment
or at any employment for such period of time during any day,
night or week, as is prejudicial to the person’s life, health,
safety or welfare.” Section 103.01 (3), Stats., defines “place
of employment” as “any manufactory, mechanical or
mercantile establishment, beauty parlor, laundry, restaurant,
confectionary store, or telegraph or telecommunications
office or exchange, or any express or transportation
establishment or any hotel.”

Chapter DWD 274 governs hours of work and overtime.
Section DWD 274.015, the applicability section of the
chapter, incorporates the statutory definition of “place of
employment” and limits coverage of the chapter to the places
of employment delineated in s. 103.01 (3), Stats., and various
governmental bodies. Section DWD 274.015 also provides
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that the chapter does not apply to employees employed in
domestic service in a household by a household.

Section 103.02, Stats., directs that the “department shall,
by rule, classify such periods of time into periods to be paid
for at the rate of at least one and one−half times the regular
rates.” Under s. DWD 274.03, “each employer subject to this
chapter shall pay to each employee time and one−half the
regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours
per week.” Section DWD 274.04 lists 15 types of employees
who are exempt from this general rule and s. DWD 274.08
provides that the section is inapplicable to public employees.

Nonmedical home care companion employees who are
employed by a third−party, commercial agency are covered
by the overtime provision in s. DWD 274.03. Section DWD
274.03 applies to all employees who are subject to the chapter
and not exempt under ss. DWD 274.04 or 274.08. The chapter
applies to companion employees of a commercial agency
because under s. DWD 274.015 a commercial agency is
considered a mercantile establishment. Section DWD 270.01
(5) defines a mercantile establishment as a commercial,
for−profit business. The chapter does not apply to companion
employees of a nonprofit agency or a private household. In
addition, none of the exemptions to the overtime section in ss.
DWD 274.04 or 274.08 apply to companion employees of a
commercial agency.

The Joint Committee for the Review of Administrative
Rules has directed DWD to promulgate an emergency rule
regarding the overtime policy for nonmedical home care

companion employees of an agency. This provision is created
at s. DWD 274.035 to say that employees who are employed
by a mercantile establishment to perform companionship
services shall be subject to the overtime pay requirement in s.
DWD 274.03. “Companionship services” is defined as those
services which provide fellowship, care, and protection for a
person who because of advanced age, physical infirmity, or
mental infirmity cannot care for his or her own needs. Such
services may include general household work and work
related to the care of the aged or infirm person such as meal
preparation, bed making, washing of clothes, and other
similar services. The term “companionship services” does not
include services relating to the care and protection of the aged
or infirm person that require and are performed by trained
personnel, such as registered or practical nurses.

This order also repeals and recreates the applicability of the
chapter section and the overtime section to write these rules
in a clearer format. There is no substantive change in these
sections.

Publication Date: March 1, 2004

Effective Date: March 1, 2004*

Expiration Date: July 29, 2004

*  On April 28, 2004, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended s. DWD 274.035 created as
an emergency rule.
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Scope statements

Architects, Landscape Architects, Professional
Engineers, Designers and Land Surveyors

Examining Board
Subject

Changes relating to land surveyor education and
experience requirements.  These changes will clean up and
clarify the existing rules and modify the course requirements
for land surveyors.
Policy analysis

Objective of the rule.  To update outdated language in the
current rules and recognize changes in the land surveyor
profession, including new coursework that has been added
due to new technology.  The updated language will clarify
existing rules and reflect changes that have been in the
profession.

Existing Policies Relevant to the Rule, New Policies
Proposed and Analysis of Policy Alternatives.

Existing rules relating to land surveyor experience and
education are in ss. A−E 6.03 and 6.04.  Currently, a land
surveyor applicant may meet the educational requirements by
receiving a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering.  The
curriculum would include no less than 24 semester credits in
courses concentrating on the legal principles and technical
aspects of land surveying.  The proposed rule change would
require no less than 16 of the 24 credits to be taken on the legal
principles and technical aspects of land surveying.  The
applicant would also be allowed to receive up to 8 credits in
certain other courses relating to surveying.  These courses
may include “Engineering Surveying,” “Municipal
Surveying,” “Route Surveying,” “Highway Surveying,”
“Topographic Surveying,” “Geodetic Surveying,”
“Photogrammerty,” “Cartography,” “Construction
Surveying,” “Air Photo Interpretation,” “Artillery
Surveying,” “Remote Sensing,” “Geographic Information
Systems” and “Land Information Systems.”

Experience requirements would include a modification to
allow experience to be acquired in preparing Transportation
Project Plats and Condominium Plats.
Comparison with federal requirements

This is not an area which is regulated by federal law or is
subject to any proposed federal legislation.  The standards for
state licensure are regulated by each state.
Statutory authority

Sections 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2), Stats.
Entities affected by the rule

Applicants for land surveyor registration.
Staff time required

400 hours.

Insurance
Subject

Objective of the rule.  To establish the annual fees which
participating health care providers must pay to the Injured

Patients and Families Compensation Fund as required by s.
655.27 (3) Wis. Stat.,  for the fiscal year beginning, July 1,
2006.  The proposed rule will also include a new classification
for part−time providers as authorized by the Fund Board of
Governors at its February 23, 2005 meeting.  In addition, the
proposed rule will update the listing of provider specialities
(ISO Codes) by assessment class and will establish the
mediation panel fees for fiscal year 2007 commencing July 1,
2006.
Policy analysis

Existing policies are set forth in the statutes cited in the next
section and in the rules themselves; a new part−time
classification for providers who practice 1200 hours or less a
fiscal year was approved by the Fund’s Board of Governors
to address the changes in the practice of medicine in the state.
Statutory authority

The statutory authority for this rule is s. 601.41 (3), 655.27
(3) (bg) and 655.61, Wis. Stat.
Staff time required

100 hours estimated state employee time to promulgate this
rule; other resources will include the review and
recommendation of the board’s actuarial committee based on
the analysis and recommendations of the fund’s actuaries and
the director of state courts.
Comparison with federal requirements

There is no existing or proposed federal regulation
addressing any medical malpractice fund like the Wisconsin
Injured Patients and Families Compensation Fund.
Entities affected by the rule

All health care provider participants in the fund as set forth
in s. 655.002 (1), Wis. Stat.

Natural Resources

Subject
Objective of the rule.  Amendment to ch. NR 406. The

proposed rule change will implement s. 285.60 (5m), Stats.,
as created by 2003 WI Act 118, related to a waiver of
construction permit requirements under certain
circumstances.

The Department would proposed the following
prerequisites when applying for a waiver:

1.  The person submitting the request is required to have
filed a complete construction permit application so the
Department is able to make an accurate determination of the
merits of the waiver request.

2.  The project is required to obtain a permit under ch. NR
406 but not chs. NR 405 or NR 408.
Policy analysis

Section 285.60 (5m), Stats., as created by 2003 WI Act 118,
requires the Department, by rule, to allow any person to
commence construction, reconstruction, replacement or
modification of a stationary source prior to issuance of a
construction permit under certain circumstances. The source
must demonstrate to the Department that the waiver is
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necessary to avoid undue hardship. The Department is
authorized to grant waiver requests on the bases specified in
the rule or on a case−by−case basis.  Under s. 285.60 (8),
Stats., the Department may not grant a waiver if that action
would conflict with the Clean Air Act.

The Department is required by Statute to act on the waiver
request within 15 days after it receives the request..

Current policy does not allow for commencing
construction prior to receiving a construction permit.
Statutory authority

Section 285.60 (5m) and (8), Stats.
Staff time required

Approximately 156 staff hours of time will be needed to
develop the rule.
Comparison with federal requirements

Under s. 285.60 (8), Stats., the Department may not
promulgate a rule under s. 285.60, Stats., that conflicts with
the federal clean air act.

There is no federal requirement that would prohibit
waivers for state only construction permits, those covered
under ch. NR 406, so there would be no conflict with the
federal clean air act if the waivers are granted only to projects
which do not require a PSD or NSR e.g., (major sources or
major modifications of major sources).

Environmental organizations have expressed an interest in
the implementation of the construction permit waivers.
Entities affected by the rule

There are approximately 200 construction permits issued
annually, and about 2000 sources listed on our air emission
inventory.

Natural Resources

Subject

Objective of the rule.  Amendments to chs. NR 406 and
407. The proposed rule changes will implement s. 285.60 (6)
(b), Stats., as created by 2003 WI Act 118, related to
exemptions for minor sources from air pollution control
construction and operation permits.
Policy analysis

Section 285.60 (6) (b), Stats., requires the Department, by
rule, to exempt minor sources from the requirement to obtain
a construction permit and an operation permit if the emissions
from the sources do not present a significant hazard to public
health, safety or welfare or to the environment.  Minor sources
are those facilities whose air emissions are below the Clean
Air Act threshold level for major sources.  Department rules
currently contain more than 30 specific exemption categories
as well as one general exemption.  The Department is
evaluating how to redefine the exemptions such that only
projects and facilities that have, or will have, significant
environmental impact or risk are subject to permitting
requirements.  The operation permit general exemptions the
Department is considering would only apply to facilities that
are not otherwise classified as Title V sources.  In addition, the
construction permit exemptions would only apply to projects

that are not subject to review under Prevention of Significant
Deterioration or Non−attainment New Source Review rules.
Statutory authority

Section 285.60 (6) (b), Stats.
Staff time required

Approximately 486 staff hours of time will be needed to
develop the rule.
Comparison with federal requirements

Under s. 285.60 (8), Stats.,  the Department may not
promulgate a rule under s. 285.60, Stats., that conflicts with
the federal Clean Air Act.

There is no federal requirement to issue operation permits
to non−title V sources whose potential to emit  is less than the
federal major source threshold; nor is there a federal
requirement to issue construction permits to minor sources or
minor modifications, although the Department’s air permit
program must be sufficient to ensure that national and state
ambient air quality standards are achieved.  There appears to
be no conflict with the federal Clean Air Act.
Entities affected by the rule

There are approximately 700 minor sources in Wisconsin
which could potentially be affected by the changes in
exemptions for air operation and construction permits.

Podiatrists Affiliated Credentialing Board

Subject
Continuing podiatric medical education waivers.

Policy analysis
Objective of the rule.  The rule changes would accomplish

two purposes.  By broadening the set of circumstances under
which a continuing podiatric medical education waiver may
be granted, the board could grant waivers for exceptional
circumstances that are not similar to prolonged illness or
disability.  By providing for a grace period in the initial
licensure period, a full two years for completion of the
continuing education credits would be assured.

Existing Policies Relevant to the Rule, New Policies
Proposed and Analysis of Policy Alternatives.

The board feels its continuing education rule is not broad
enough to allow the board to make discretionary decisions to
waive continuing education requirements in certain instances,
nor does the board allow a grace period for applicants who
apply to renew a license that expires on the first expiration
date after initial issuance of the license.
Comparison with federal requirements

There is no existing or proposed federal regulation for
summary and comparison.
Statutory authority

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 440.035 (1), Stats.
Entities affected by the rule

Licensees, continuing education providers, the
Department of Regulation and Licensing.
Staff time required

100 hours.
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Submittal of rules to legislative council clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Commerce
Rule Submittal Date

On December 1, 2005, the Wisconsin Department of
Commerce submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Subject

The proposed rule amends ch. Comm 155, relating to
interest on real estate trust accounts.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing is required and will be held  January 10,

2006.
The department’s Division of Housing and Community

Development is primarily responsible for this rule.

Contact Information
Patti Glassburn
Housing Financial Specialist
(608) 266−8273

Educational Approval Board
Rule Submittal Date

On November 30, 2005, the Educational Approval
Board (EAB) submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Subject

The proposed rule amends s. EAB 4.06, relating to the
student protection fee imposed on schools subject to EAB
approval.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
The EAB plans to adopt the proposed rule using the

thirty−day notice procedure.

Contact Information
David C. Dies
Executive Secretary
608/266−1996

Insurance
Rule Submittal Date

In accordance with ss. 227.14 and 227.15, Stats., the
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance is submitting a
proposed rule to the Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse on November 29, 2005.

Subject

These changes will affect chs. Ins 6, 26 and 28, Wis.
Adm. Code, relating to  agent licensing procedure changes
which will affect small business.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
The date for the public hearing is January 11, 2006.

Contact Person
A copy of the proposed rule may be obtained from the

WEB site at:
http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm
or by contacting Inger Williams, Services Section,

Office of the Commissioner of Insurance, at (608)
264−8110. For additional information, please contact
Robert Luck at (608) 266−0082 or e−mail at
Robert.Luck@oci.state.wi.us in the OCI Legal Unit.

Natural Resources
Rule Submittal Date

On November 10, 2005, the Wisconsin Department of
Natural Resources submitted a proposed rule to the
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse
amending chs. NR 12, 16 and 17, Wis. Adm. Code.
Subject

The proposed rule relates to hound dog training and
trialing on captive wild animals.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

Public hearings are required and will be held on January
10 and 12, 2006.

The department’s Bureau of Wildlife Management is
primarily responsible for this rule.
Contact Information

Kurt Thiede
(608) 267−2452

Natural Resources
Rule Submittal Date

On November 10, 2005, the Wisconsin Department of
Natural Resources submitted a proposed rule to the
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse
amending ch. NR 102, Wis. Adm. Code.
Subject

The proposed rule relates to designation of waters as
outstanding or exceptional resource waters.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

Public hearings are required and will be held on January
4, 5, 11 and 12, 2006.

The department’s Bureau of Watershed Management is
primarily responsible for this rule.
Contact Information

Russ Rasmussen
(608) 267−7651
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Natural Resources
Rule Submittal Date

On November 10, 2005, the Wisconsin Department of
Natural Resources submitted a proposed rule to the
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse
amending ch. NR 47, Wis. Adm. Code.

Subject

The proposed rule relates to master logging certification
scholarships.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing is required and will be held on

December 12, 2005.
The department’s Bureau of Forest Management is

primarily responsible for this rule.

Contact Information
Jeff Barkley
(608) 264−9217

Technical College System
Rule Submittal Date

On November 11, 2005, the Wisconsin Technical
College System (WTCS) Board submitted a proposed
administrative rule to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse for review.

Subject

The proposed rule is to create ch. TCS 17, relating to
training program grants.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing to consider creation of the proposed

rule is scheduled for January 4, 2006.
Contact Information

I have been designated as the agency contact responsible
for the development of this rule and for internal agency
processing.  Please contact me at 266−2449 or
morna.foy@wtcsystem.edu with any questions regarding
these materials.

Transportation
Rule Submittal Date

On November 30, 2005, the Wisconsin Department of
Transportation submitted a proposed rule to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse amending ch.
Trans 102, Wis. Adm. Code.
Subject

The proposed rule relates to the time period within
which a person moving to Wisconsin may operate a motor
vehicle under a driver license from his or her previous state
of residence.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on January
11, 2006.

The department’s Division of Motor Vehicles is
primarily responsible for this rule.
Contact Information

Julie A. Johnson, Paralegal
(608) 266−8810
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Rule−making notices

Notice of Hearings
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

[CR 05−108]
(Reprinted from 11/30/05 Register)

The State of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade,
and Consumer Protection (DATCP) announces that it will
hold public hearings on a proposed rule related to Fertilizer
and Pesticide Bulk Storage.

DATCP will hold 3 public hearings at the times and places
shown below.  DATCP invites the public to attend the hearings
and comment on the proposed rule.  Following the public
hearings, the hearing record will remain open until February
17, 2006, for additional written comments.

Hearing Locations:
Tuesday, January 24, 2006
1 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. and 5 p.m to 7 p.m.
Prairie Oak State Office Building
2811 Agriculture Drive
Board Room
Madison, WI  53708
Handicapped accessible

Wednesday, January 25, 2006
1 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. and 5 p.m to 7 p.m.
DNR Headquarters (West Central Region)
1300 West Clairemont Ave.
Room 158/185
Eau Claire, WI  54701
Handicapped accessible

Thursday, January 26, 2006
1 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. and 5 p.m to 7 p.m.
Gruenhagen Conference Center, U.W. Oshkosh
208 Osceola Street
Oshkosh, WI  54901
Wolf River Room
Handicapped accessible

Free Rule Copy
You may obtain a free copy of this rule in any of the

following ways (copies will also be available at the hearings):
 By mailing a request to the Wisconsin Department

Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection, Division of
Agricultural Resource Management, 2811 Agriculture Drive,
Madison, WI  53708−8911.

 By e−mailing matt.laak@datcp.state.wi.us.
 By calling 608−224−4518.
 By visiting DATCP’s website at:
http://www.datcp.state.wi.us/arm/agriculture/pest−fert/pe

sticides/accp/containment.jsp

 By visiting the Wisconsin Administrative Rules website
at:

https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home
Written Comments

You may submit written comments for the hearing record,
whether or not you attend any hearing.  Written comments
must be received no later than February 17, 2006.  You may
submit written comments in any of the following ways:

 By mail to Matt Laak, Wisconsin Department of
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection, Division of
Agricultural Resource Management, P. O. Box 8911,
Madison, WI 53708−8911.

 By e−mail to matt.laak@datcp.state.wi.us.
 By visiting the Wisconsin Administrative Rules website

at:
https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home.  You
will need to register on the website if you wish to submit
hearing comments via the website (there is no charge).
Small Business Regulatory Coordinator

DATCP’s Small Business Regulatory Coordinator is
Keeley Moll.  You may contact the Small Business
Regulatory Coordinator in any of the following ways:

 By mail to Keeley Moll, Wisconsin Department of
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection, Office of the
Secretary, P. O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708−8911.

 By e−mail at keeley.moll@datcp.state.wi.us.
 By telephone at 608−224−5039.
Hearing Impaired Access
Hearing impaired persons may request an interpreter for

these hearings.  Requests must be made by Monday, January
11, 2006.  You may request an interpreter in any of the
following ways:

By writing to Matt Laak, Division of Agricultural
Resource Management, 2811 Agriculture Drive, Madison,
WI  53708−8911, telephone 608−224−4518.  Alternatively,
you may contact the DATCP TDD at 608−224−5058.

 By mailing a request to the Matt Laak, Division of
Agricultural Resource Management, Wisconsin Department
Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection, 2811
Agriculture Drive, Madison, WI  53708−8911.

 By e−mailing matt.laak@datcp.state.wi.us.
 By calling 608−224−4518.
 By contacting the DATCP TDD at 608−224−5058.

Rule Analysis Prepared by the Department of
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection (“DATCP”) currently regulates fertilizer and
pesticide bulk storage facilities.  DATCP regulates to ensure
safe storage of fertilizer and pesticides, and to prevent spills
that may harm persons, property and the environment.

This rule consolidates, reorganizes and modifies current
rules.  This rule regulates the construction, operation and
maintenance of fertilizer and pesticide bulk storage facilities.
This rule requires operators to file construction plans with
DATCP before constructing certain bulk storage structures.
This rule also creates new construction standards for some
facilities.
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Statutory Authority
Statutory Authority: ss. 93.07 (1) and 94.645 (3), Stats.
Statute Interpreted: s. 94.645, Stats.
DATCP has broad authority, under s. 93.07 (1), Stats., to

adopt rules to implement laws under its jurisdiction.  DATCP
has specific authority to regulate fertilizer and pesticide bulk
storage under s. 94.645, Stats., and has rule making authority
for that purpose under s. 94.645 (3), Stats.

Rule Coverage
This rule applies to commercial facilities that store

unpackaged bulk fertilizer or pesticides.  This rule does not
apply to any of the following:

• Manure storage.
•  On−farm storage, mixing or loading of fertilizer or

pesticides for on−farm use (not for sale or distribution).
•  Facilities that store only packaged fertilizer or pesticides.

Rule Consolidation
DATCP currently administers separate bulk storage rules

for fertilizer and pesticides.  Since many facilities store
fertilizer and pesticides, this rule consolidates fertilizer and
pesticide bulk storage rules in a single rule chapter.  This
consolidation will make it easier for storage facility operators
to understand and comply with the rules.

Effect on Existing Facilities
This rule establishes some new construction standards for

fertilizer and pesticide storage facilities.  But the new
standards apply only to structures that are constructed or
substantially altered on or after the effective date of this rule.
Routine maintenance and repair is not considered a
substantial alteration.

Spill Prevention and Cleanup Costs
DATCP currently administers an agricultural chemical

cleanup program, funded by fertilizer and pesticide license
fees.  Under that program, DATCP compensates facility
operators for fertilizer and pesticide spill cleanup costs.
Proper construction and maintenance of storage facilities can
reduce spills and spill cleanup costs.

This rule does not change the agricultural chemical cleanup
program.  But by improving storage facility construction and
maintenance, this rule will help minimize spills and spill
cleanup costs.  That will help to control costs under the
agricultural chemical cleanup program.

Rule Contents

Construction Plans
Under current rules, fertilizer and pesticide bulk storage

facilities must be constructed to certain standards.  A
professional engineer is often involved.  However, current
rules do not require plan review by DATCP or a professional
engineer.

Under this rule, at least 21 days before an operator
constructs or substantially alters a storage facility, the
operator must file all of the following with DATCP:

•  Plans for the construction or alteration (design
specifications).

•  A signed written statement by a professional engineer,
certifying that the plans comply with this rule.

•  The approximate date on which the operator plans to start
construction.

DATCP may review and comment on plans filed under this
rule, but is not required to do so.  A failure to comment does
not signify approval.  An operator is not required to obtain

DATCP approval, but construction must conform to this rule
and to the plans filed with DATCP.

An operator may not deviate from the plans without prior
written notice to DATCP.  DATCP may, in its discretion,
inspect the construction (DATCP is not required to inspect).
The operator or a person chosen by the operator must inspect
the construction of new concrete structures to ensure that the
construction conforms to plans filed with DATCP.  The
operator must file a copy of the inspection report with DATCP.

Under this rule, as under current rules, DATCP may grant
a variance from applicable requirements if DATCP finds that
a nonconforming feature will provide substantially
equivalent protection for waters of the state.  This rule
clarifies that an operator must submit a variance request in
writing.  The request must clearly identify the proposed
nonconforming feature.  If the nonconforming feature affects
a secondary containment structure or a mixing and loading
pad, a professional engineer must certify that it will provide
substantially equivalent protection for waters of the state.
DATCP must grant or deny the request within 30 days, but
may extend the response deadline for good cause.

Storage Facility Siting
Under this rule, as under current rules, storage and

handling operations must be conducted over a mixing and
loading pad or secondary containment structure designed to
contain spills.  Under this rule, new mixing and loading pads,
secondary containment structures and bulk dry fertilizer
buildings must be located at least 5 feet above bedrock and
groundwater, at least 1,000 feet from any navigable lake, at
least 300 feet from any navigable stream, and outside any
100−year floodplain.  These siting limitations do not apply to
the reconstruction, expansion or alteration of a mixing and
loading pad, secondary containment structure or storage
building that was in use prior to the effective date of this rule.

Water Supply Protection
Under this rule, storage facilities must comply with well

setback requirements contained in chs. NR 811 and 812, Wis.
Adm. Code (the state well code).  All water supplies to a
storage facility must be protected against back flow.
Protection may include an air gap at each water supply outlet,
or a back flow protection device that complies with ch. Comm
82, Wis. Adm. Code (the state plumbing code).

Storage Containers for Liquid Fertilizer or Pesticide
Under this rule, as under current rules, storage containers

must be designed and constructed to prevent discharges, and
must be located within a secondary containment structure.
Storage containers must resist corrosion, puncture and
cracking, and must be constructed of materials that do not
react with stored products.  Storage containers must be strong
enough to hold the largest volume of product that may be
stored in them.

This rule establishes new requirements related to bladder
tanks, tank−in−tanks and field−erected storage containers
constructed or substantially altered after the effective date of
this rule.  The storage containers must comply with
construction standards in American Petroleum Institute
standard API 650.  An inspector certified under American
Petroleum Institute Standard API 653 must inspect the
storage containers at least once every 5 years, using inspection
procedures specified by API 653.

This rule, like the current rules, requires an operator to
anchor storage containers.  Under this rule, anchor plates may
not be embedded in the floor of a secondary containment
structure unless the structure is specifically designed to
handle the resulting stresses.  Anchor plates may not be
embedded in walls of a secondary containment structure.
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Storage Container Appurtenances

This rule, like the current rule, establishes standards for
storage container appurtenances such as valves, pipes, pumps,
fittings, hoses and metering devices.  Under this rule, as under
the current rule, storage container connections must be
equipped with shutoff valves.  Appurtenances must be made
of suitable materials, and must be designed to prevent
discharges.  Pipes and other appurtenances must be properly
supported to prevent sagging and breakage.

Under current rules, storage containers must have gauging
devices that show the volume of liquid in the containers.
Liquid level gauging devices are no longer required under this
rule.  But if a storage container has a liquid level gauging
device, the device must meet standards under this rule (the
standards are similar to current rules).  Under this rule, if a
storage container has an external sight gauge, the site gauge
must be anchored to the container at intervals of no more than
10 feet.  This rule, like the current rules, prohibits external
sight gauges on pesticide containers.

This rule establishes some new standards for
appurtenances.  Under this rule:

•  Piping connections must be threaded, welded, fused,
permanently band−clamped, or located over a mixing and
loading pad or secondary containment structure (to prevent
uncontained discharges from insecure connections).

• Piping or appurtenances constructed or substantially
altered after the effective date of this rule may not be placed
below ground, in concrete, or through any mixing and loading
pad or secondary containment structure.

•  An operator must annually inspect and pressure test any
pipe or appurtenance installed below ground, in concrete (to
ensure that there is no hidden discharge to the environment).

• An operator must annually inspect and test the joint
between an appurtenance and any containment structure wall
through which the appurtenance extends.

Storage Container Security

Under this rule, as under current rules, an operator must
keep storage containers individually locked, or in a secure
building or outdoor enclosure.  Unlike current rules, this rule
does not require individual locking of pesticide storage
containers kept in a secure outdoor enclosure.  This rule
clarifies fencing requirements for outdoor enclosures.

Filling, Labeling and Venting Storage Containers

Current rules prohibit an operator from filling a storage
container beyond capacity.  This rule prohibits an operator
from filling a storage container beyond 95% of capacity
(except mini−bulk containers or containers kept at constant
temperature).  This rule, like current rules, requires proper
labeling and venting of storage containers.

Underground Storage Prohibited

This rule, like current rules, prohibits underground storage
of bulk liquid fertilizer, bulk liquid pesticide, or recovered
discharges.  Sumps constructed after the effective date of this
rule may not be more than 2 feet deep, and may not have a
capacity of more than 50 gallons (see below).

Storage Containers; Inspection and Maintenance

Current rules require weekly inspections of liquid levels
and appurtenances, and monthly inspections of vents. Under
this rule, an operator is no longer required to make these
specific  inspections (or keep records of them), but must
inspect and maintain storage containers to minimize
discharge risks.

Abandoned Storage Containers
Under this rule, as under the current rules, an operator must

clean and rinse any abandoned storage container, and remove
all appurtenances from the abandoned container.  The
operator must remove any underground storage container
(including any sump that has a capacity of more than 50
gallons) that is abandoned.
Storage Structures; Dry Fertilizer or Pesticide

This rule expands and clarifies current requirements
related to storage of dry bulk fertilizer or pesticide.  Under this
rule, dry bulk products must be stored in a fully enclosed
building.  However, an operator may store the following
products outdoors:

•  Packaged products that are fully enclosed in durable
weatherproof packages or containers.

•  Potassium chloride, or other products specifically
approved by DATCP, if covered by a waterproof cover and
kept on an asphalt concrete or portland cement concrete
surface.

Storage structures must be constructed, inspected and
maintained to withstand the pressure of stored products, to
prevent discharges, and to prevent precipitation from
contacting stored product.  Stored product must be removed
from abandoned storage facilities, and from facilities that fail
to meet standards under this rule.  Storage bins must be
properly labeled to show fertilizer or pesticide contents.
Mixing and Loading Pads; General

Under this rule, as under current rules, fertilizer and
pesticide mixing and loading must be done over a mixing and
loading pad designed to catch and contain spills.  This rule
expands and clarifies current requirements for mixing and
loading pads.  Under this rule, a mixing and loading pad must
comply with all of the following requirements (less rigorous
requirements apply if the pad is used only for dry products):

•  It must be liquid−tight.
•  If constructed after the effective date of this rule, it must

have a capacity of at least 1,000 gallons or 125 percent of the
capacity of the largest storage container loaded or unloaded at
the storage facility, whichever is less.

•  It must be constructed of concrete, according to standards
specified in this rule.  A mixing and loading pad that was in
use prior to the effective date of this rule may be constructed
of asphalt concrete, but it must be replaced by a portland
cement concrete pad on or before December 31, 2009.

•  It must be served by a pump and storage container that can
be used to recover and store spilled liquid. The pump must be
self−activating or easily activated in response to a spill.  The
storage container must have an available capacity of at least
200 gallons at all times.

•  It must be designed and constructed to withstand
foreseeable load conditions.

•  It must be protected from precipitation runoff from
surrounding surfaces.

•  It may not have a precipitation drain (existing drains must
be permanently plugged within 6 months after the effective
date of this rule).

•  It must be inspected at the time of construction (if
constructed on or after the effective date of this rule), to ensure
that construction conforms to plans filed with DATCP.

•  It must be inspected and maintained on an ongoing basis.
An operator must remove a leaking mixing and loading pad
unless the pad is repaired and remains liquid−tight for at least
2 years after the repair.

A mixing and loading pad is not required for rail car
unloading, or for loading fertilizer or pesticide into anhydrous



Page 16 Mid−December 2005WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 600

ammonia nurse tanks, provided that those operations comply
with alternative requirements under this rule.

Sumps
This rule expands and clarifies current rules related to

sumps.  Under this rule, if a mixing and loading pad or
secondary containment structure drains to a sump, the sump
must be all of the following:

•  Liquid−tight.
•  Served by a pump and storage container that can be used

to recover and store spilled liquid.  The pump must be
self−activating or easily activated.  The storage container
must have an available capacity of at least 200 gallons at all
times.

•  Inspected at the time of construction (if constructed on or
after the effective date of this rule), to ensure that construction
conforms to plans filed with DATCP.

•  Inspected and maintained on an ongoing basis. An
operator must remove a leaking sump unless the sump is
repaired and remains liquid−tight.

A sump constructed after the effective date of this rule
must:

•  Be constructed of concrete.
•  Have a capacity of not more than 50 gallons.
•  Be no more than 2 feet deep.  The sump depth may not

exceed the shortest sump width.
•  Have walls and floor at least as thick, at every point, as

the mixing and loading pad or secondary containment
structure floor that drains to the sump.

•  Form part of a continuous surface, having an area of at
least 15 ft. by 15 ft. and a capacity of 250 gallons, which is free
of construction and control joints.  If a sump is constructed as
part of a concrete mixing and loading pad or secondary
containment structure, it must be constructed in a continuous
concrete pour with that pad or structure.

Secondary Containment Structures; General
Under this rule, as under current rules, liquid fertilizer and

pesticide storage containers must be located within a
secondary containment structure.  There are limited
exemptions for mobile, mini−bulk and empty storage
containers. This rule does not exempt ordinary
double−bottom storage containers.

Under this rule, as under current rules, a secondary
containment structure must be designed, constructed and
maintained to contain potential discharges of liquid fertilizer
or pesticide from storage containers.  Under this rule, as under
current rules, the capacity of the secondary containment
structure must be at least equal to the sum of the following:

•  125% of the capacity of the largest storage container
located within the structure, or 110% if the structure is fully
covered by a roof.

•  The total volume of discharged liquid that would be
displaced by the submerged portions of all other storage
containers, equipment or fixtures located within the structure
if the structure were filled to capacity with discharged liquid.

Under this rule, a secondary containment structure must be
designed to withstand the full hydrostatic head of any liquid
that may be discharged to the structure.  The structure must
have a coefficient of permeability of not more than 1 x 10−6

cm/sec.  Structure walls may not be taller than 4 feet (there are
limited exceptions).

This rule, like current rules, prohibits liquid bulk pesticide
storage in an outdoor secondary containment structure that
also holds bulk fertilizer.  Under this rule, all storage

containers must be located at least 24 inches from the walls of
the secondary containment structure and at least 24 inches
from each other (there are some limited exceptions).

Secondary Containment Structures; Construction
Alternatives

This rule expands and clarifies construction standards for
secondary containment structures.  Under this rule, a
secondary containment structure may consist of one of the
following:

•  Portland cement concrete structure.  A secondary
containment structure may be made of portland cement
concrete.  A portland cement concrete structure constructed
after the effective date of this rule must be constructed
according to standards specified in this rule.  The operator or
a person chosen by the operator must inspect the construction
to ensure that construction conforms to plans filed with
DATCP.

•  Block wall structure.  A secondary containment structure
may have concrete block walls if all of the following apply:

− The floor is made of poured portland cement concrete.
− The wall blocks are filled with portland cement concrete

and joined with mortar.
− The structure was in use prior to the effective date of this

rule.
− The structure is not used for more than one year after the

effective date of this rule.
•  Synthetic liner.  A secondary containment structure may

be constructed of earth or other materials, and lined with a
synthetic liner, if all of the following apply:

− The liner meets standards specified in this rule, and is
installed to manufacturer specifications.  A manufacturer’s
representative must supervise the installation.

− The liner manufacturer certifies that the liner is
chemically compatible with all products stored within the
structure, and guarantees liner effectiveness until a specified
date.  The operator must remove and inspect the liner by that
date, and at least once every 5 years thereafter.

− The operator repairs and maintains the liner as necessary,
according to manufacturer specifications.

− The liner rests on a proper base and is protected from
potential damage above and below, as prescribed by this rule.

•  Prefabricated basin.  A secondary containment structure
may consist of one or more prefabricated basins constructed
of steel or rigid synthetic material if the basins meet standards
specified in this rule.

•  Steel structure constructed in place. A secondary
containment structure may be constructed of steel if the
structure meets standards specified in this rule.  Structures
built after the effective date of this rule must be at least ? inch
thick at every point.

•  Earthen structure with earthen liner.  A secondary
containment structure may consist of an earthen structure
with an earthen liner if all of the following apply:

− The liner contains only fertilizer (not pesticide) storage
containers and, if the structure is built after the effective date
of this rule, all of the storage containers were constructed on
site.

− The liner meets specific rule requirements.  The liner
must be constructed of specified materials, must be at least 6
inches thick, must have a coefficient of permeability of not
more than 1 x 10−6 cm/sec., and must be covered by an
inorganic soil layer at least 6 inches thick.  It must be
maintained to prevent cracking and must be reconstructed at
least once every 15 years.
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•  Building floor; mobile and mini−bulk containers.  A
building floor may serve as a secondary containment structure
for mini−bulk containers, and for mobile containers stored on
the floor for less than 7 days, if the building is capable of
containing a discharge from those containers.

•  Mixing and loading pad.  A mixing and loading pad may
serve as a secondary containment structure if it meets all of the
requirements under this rule for a mixing and loading pad and
secondary containment structure.

 Tank−in−tank.  A tank−in−tank system may serve as a
secondary containment structure if all of the following apply:

 The tanks are designed to meet the API 650 standards.
 A liquid level monitoring device is installed to prevent

overfilling.
 The tank−in−tank is equipped with an effective leak

detection system.
 The leak detection system is inspected at least monthly.
 If a leak were to occur, the leak must be reported to the

department, and the tank be emptied and cleaned in agreement
with the department conditions and inspected and repaired in
compliance with API 653.

 Bladder Tank.  A bladder tank system may serve as a
secondary containment structure if all of the following apply:

 The tank is designed to meet the API 650 standard.
 The bladder within the tank is at least 40 mils thick and

chemically compatible with the products it is used to store.
 A qualified installer installs the bladder tank.
 A specially−designed shut−off valve and system is used.
 A liquid level monitoring device is installed to prevent

overfilling.
 The bladder is protected with a soft liner.
 The tank−in−tank is equipped with an effective leak

detection system.
 The leak detection system is inspected at least monthly.
 If a leak occurs in the bladder, the leak is reported to the

department, the tank is emptied and cleaned in agreement
with the department conditions and the bladder repaired by a
qualified person.

Secondary Containment Structures; Inspection and
Maintenance

Under this rule, an operator must routinely inspect and
maintain each secondary containment structure to ensure that
the structure complies with this rule and does not leak.  An
operator must remove a leaking secondary containment
structure unless the structure is repaired and remains
liquid−tight.

Discharge Response

Under this rule, an operator must do all of the following
whenever there is a discharge of fertilizer or pesticide at a
storage facility:

•  Take immediate and appropriate action to contain and
recover the discharge, and to mitigate risks to public health
and the environment.

•  Report the discharge to the department of natural
resources if a report is required under ch. NR 706 (a report is
not required if the discharge is fully contained in a mixing and
loading pad, sump or secondary containment structure).

If a discharge is fully contained within a mixing and
loading pad, sump or secondary containment structure, the
operator may recover the discharge at any time before the end
of the business day, except that:

•  The operator must recover discharged material from a
mixing and loading pad, and rinse the pad, before allowing
vehicles to drive through the discharge.

•  The operator must recover liquid (including discharges,
rinse water or precipitation runoff) from a mixing and loading
pad, sump or secondary containment structure whenever
necessary to mitigate health or environmental risks, maintain
available discharge containment capacity, or prevent
corrosion or instability of storage containers.

Storage, Use and Disposal of Recovered Material
Under this rule, an operator must safely use or dispose of

discharges, rinsate and precipitation runoff recovered from a
mixing and loading pad, sump or secondary containment
structure.  Use and disposal must comply with applicable
federal, state and local regulations.  Under this rule:

 An operator may deposit recovered material into a manure
storage pit if the material contains no pesticide residue.

 Recovered liquid, if held by the operator pending use or
disposal, must be held in a storage container that complies
with this rule.

 Recovered liquid may be used as fertilizer or pesticide mix
water if the resulting product complies with ATCP 40
(fertilizer) or ATCP 29 (pesticide).

 Recovered fertilizer material may be applied to land free
of charge, or distributed free of charge for application to land
(the operator must disclose fertilizer or pesticide contents to
the landowner).  However, any other sale or distribution of the
recovered material, as a fertilizer or pesticide, must comply
with ATCP 40 (fertilizer) or ATCP 29 (pesticide).

Under current rules (ATCP 35), an operator needs a
DATCP permit to landspread material recovered from the
environment, as part of an environmental cleanup.  But this
requirement does not apply to material recovered from a
mixing and loading pad, sump or secondary containment
structure.

Discharge Response Preparedness
Under this rule, as under current rules, an operator must

have a written discharge response plan for a storage facility.
The operator must keep a copy of the plan at the storage
facility (and nearest local office), and must make the plan
available to the department and local emergency responders
upon request.  The operator must keep the plan current at all
times.

Under this rule, as under current rules, a discharge response
plan must include all of the following:

•  The name and telephone number of a responsible
individual.

•  A site map showing the location of each storage container
or bin, and the type of fertilizer or pesticide stored in that
container or bin.

•  Procedures for responding to discharges at the facility.
•  Procedures for using or disposing of recovered

discharges.
Under this rule, a discharge response plan must also

include all of the following:
•  The Wisconsin spill reporting number

(1−800−943−0003).
•  A DATCP contact number.
•  The names and telephone numbers of 2 local excavation

contractors and 2 local earth hauling contractors.
•  Procedures for responding to discharges from mobile

containers shipped from the facility.
Under this rule, as under current rules, an operator must

have personnel, equipment and supplies available for
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discharge responses.  Equipment must include pumps,
recovery containers and personal protective equipment.
Personnel must be trained in emergency response procedures.

Transporting Bulk Fertilizer or Pesticide
This rule creates new requirements related to the

transportation of bulk fertilizer and pesticides by a storage
facility operator.  Under this rule:

•  An operator must transport bulk fertilizer and pesticides
in a manner that prevents reasonably foreseeable and
preventable hazards to persons, property and the
environment.

•  Mobile containers must be securely anchored to transport
vehicles. Other equipment on the transport vehicle that could
come in contact with the mobile container must also be
securely anchored to the vehicle.

•  Mobile containers must be protected from damage and
unauthorized access.

•  An operator may not transport bulk fertilizer or pesticides
in visibly broken, damaged or improperly sealed containers.

Environmental Assessments
Under this rule, an operator must check for possible

environmental contamination whenever a mixing and loading
pad, sump or secondary containment structure leaks, is
removed, or remains out of service for over 5 years:

As part of the environmental assessment, the operator must
sample and analyze soils, groundwater and other media, as
necessary, to determine the existence, nature and scope of
possible contamination.  The operator must report the results
of the environmental assessment to DATCP.

Recordkeeping
Under this rule, as under current rules, an operator must

keep records related to a storage facility.  This rule modifies
current record keeping requirements.  Under this rule, an
operator must keep records related to all of the following:

•  Required API 653 inspections of bladder tanks,
tank−in−tanks, and large storage containers constructed
on−site (inspections, by a certified inspector, are required
during construction and every 5 years after construction).

•  Required pressure tests of buried or embedded piping.
•  Required inspection and maintenance of storage

containers and structures (this rule requires an operator to
inspect and maintain storage containers and structures, as
necessary, to maintain compliance with this rule).

This rule eliminates current record keeping requirements
related to the following activities:

•  Annual inventory reconciliation (this rule repeals annual
inventory reconciliation requirement).

•  Weekly inspections of liquid levels and appurtenances
(this rule repeals weekly inspection requirements).

•  Discharges to the environment (an operator must report
discharges to DNR per DNR rules, and must provide DATCP
with the operator’s environmental assessment related to any
leaking storage container).

Under this rule, an operator must:
•  Keep API 653 inspection records for as long as the

operator owns or operates the storage facility.
•  Keep records of pressure tests, inspections and

maintenance for at least 3 years.
•  Keep the records at the storage facility or nearest local

office.
•  Make the records available to DATCP for inspection and

copying upon request.

Real Estate Sale or Lease; Disclosure
Under this rule, an operator must do all of the following

before the operator sells or leases storage facility real estate
for a different use (this rule does not limit other disclosures
that may be required under other applicable law):

•  Notify DATCP of the impending sale or lease.
•  Disclose to the purchaser or lessee that the real estate has

been used as a storage facility.

Inspection and Enforcement
DATCP may inspect a storage facility for compliance with

this rule, and may take enforcement action as necessary.
Under current state statutes, DATCP is authorized to do all of
the following as necessary:

•  Conduct investigations and issue warning notices.
•  Inspect facilities, and collect product and environmental

samples for testing.
•  Inspect and copy records.
•  Issue subpoenas and investigative demands.
•  Issue orders to correct violations of this rule.  DATCP

may issue orders on a summary basis, without prior notice or
hearing, if necessary to protect public health or the
environment.

•  Seek court action to enforce this rule or a DATCP order.
This may include actions for injunction, or for a civil
forfeiture of up to $1,000 per violation (each day of violation
constitutes a separate offense).  DATCP may also seek
criminal penalties if appropriate (fine of up to $200 and 6
months in jail, or both).

•  Deny, suspend, revoke the operator’s license as a
fertilizer manufacturer or distributor or pesticide application
business.

•  Order an operator to investigate and clean up
environmental contamination resulting from a discharge.
DATCP may order removal of structures, as necessary, for the
environmental cleanup.

•  Deny reimbursement of environmental cleanup costs for
which the operator would otherwise be eligible (for example,
if a discharge occurs because of an intentional or grossly
negligent violation of storage rules).

Standards Incorporated by Reference
Pursuant to s. 227.21, Stats., DATCP will request

permission from the attorney general and revisor of statutes
to incorporate the following standards by reference in this
rule, without reproducing the complete standards in this rule:

•  American Petroleum Institute standard 650, Welded Steel
Tanks for Oil Storage, 10th edition (September 1, 2003).

•  American Petroleum Institute standard 653, Tank
Inspection, Repair, Alteration, and Reconstruction, 3rd

edition (December 1, 2001).
•  Wisconsin Minimum Design Standards for Concrete

Agrichemical Containment (February, 2005), written by
Professor David W. Kammel, Department of Biological
Systems Engineering, University of Wisconsin−Extension.

Copies of these standards will be kept on file with DATCP,
the secretary of state and the revisor of statutes.  Copies are not
reproduced in this rule.

Fiscal Estimate
This rule will increase DATCP costs by approximately

$24,400 per year.  Additional staff time will be needed to train
storage facility operators, review and comment on storage
facility construction plans, and monitor compliance with
construction standards and other requirements.  This rule will
not generate any new revenue to cover the increased costs, so
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DATCP will need to absorb the increase at the expense of
other program activities.  A complete fiscal estimate is
attached.

This rule does not increase industry fees.  By minimizing
agrichemical discharges to the environment, this rule may
limit the long−term growth of reimbursement claims under
the agricultural chemical cleanup program.  That would have
a positive effect on DATCP’s agricultural chemical cleanup
fund, which is financed by industry fees.  However, DATCP
cannot accurately estimate the impact at this time.

Business Impact
This rule applies to commercial operators who store

unpackaged bulk fertilizer or pesticides for sale or
distribution.  Many of these operators are “small businesses.”
A complete small business analysis (“initial regulatory
flexibility analysis”) is attached.

This rule does not apply to any of the following:
•  Manure storage.
•  On−farm storage of fertilizer or pesticide for on−farm use

(not for sale or distribution).
•  Facilities that store only packaged fertilizer or pesticides.
This rule establishes some new construction standards for

fertilizer and pesticide storage facilities.  These new standards
apply to structures that are constructed or substantially
altered after the effective date of this rule.  This rule will not
have a significant impact on an existing facility unless the
operator substantially alters structures in that facility. Routine
maintenance and repair is not considered a substantial
alteration.

Under this rule, an operator must have construction plans
reviewed by a professional engineer, and must submit the
construction plans for discretionary review by DATCP.  This
may entail some additional costs for some operators, but will
help prevent much more costly design and construction
errors.  This rule does not require DATCP pre−approval of
new construction or alterations.  This rule allows design
flexibility, consistent with minimum standards.

Improved design and construction of storage facilities will
minimize environmental contamination and costly cleanups
that pose a large financial risk to storage facility operators.
Environmental cleanup costs are typically much higher than
preventive design and construction costs.  Reduction of
cleanup costs will also minimize financial demands on the
industry−funded agricultural chemical cleanup program.

This rule reduces the overall recordkeeping burden for
affected businesses (it adds some recordkeeping requirements
but eliminates others).  Consolidation of current fertilizer and
pesticide bulk storage rules will make the rules easier to read,
understand and implement.

DATCP has worked with University of
Wisconsin−Extension to spell out basic design standards for
concrete structures, so that engineering firms will not have to
design those structures from scratch.  That will reduce design
costs for facility operators.

Under 2003 Wis. Act 145, DATCP and other agencies must
adopt rules spelling out their rule enforcement policy for
small businesses.  DATCP has not incorporated a small
business enforcement policy in this rule, but will propose a
separate rule on that subject.  DATCP will, to the maximum
extent feasible, seek voluntary compliance with this rule.

Environmental Impact
This rule will help prevent environmental damage from

fertilizer and pesticide spills at bulk storage facilities.  This
rule will have no significant adverse environmental impact.
An environmental assessment is attached.

Federal and Surrounding State Programs

Federal Programs

There are no comparable federal programs to regulate the
storage of bulk fertilizer or pesticides (Wisconsin is a
national leader).

Michigan
Michigan’s bulk fertilizer and pesticide storage rules are

similar to Wisconsin’s.  Michigan requires mixing and
loading pads and secondary containment structures, but does
not have minimum design or construction standards for those
structures (nor does it require professional engineering
review of design specifications).
Minnesota

Minnesota’s bulk pesticide storage rules are similar, in
many respects, to Wisconsin’s.  Minnesota has not
promulgated bulk fertilizer storage rules, but has been
enforcing proposed rules that are similar to Wisconsin’s.
Minnesota requires mixing and loading pads and secondary
containment structures and has minimum design and
construction standards for those structures.  However,
Minnesota does not require professional engineering review
of design specifications.
Indiana & Iowa

Indiana and Iowa have rules that are similar to each other,
and somewhat similar to Wisconsin’s.  They require mixing
and loading pads and secondary containment structures, but
they do not set minimum design or construction standards or
require professional engineering review of design
specifications.
Illinois

Illinois has rules that are somewhat similar to Wisconsin’s.
Illinois requires mixing and loading pads and secondary
containment structures, and Illinois also sets minimum design
or construction standards or requires professional
engineering review of design specifications.

Notice of Hearing
Commerce

(Fee Schedule, Ch. Comm 2)
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss.

101.9205 (3), 101.9208 and 101.9213 (8), Stats., as amended
by 2005 Wisconsin Act 45, and s. 227.24 (4), Stats., the
Department of Commerce will hold a public hearing on the
emergency rule under section Comm 2.33 (5), relating to
manufactured home certificate of title fees.
The public hearing will be held as follows:

Date and Time:
Friday, January 6, 2006
10:00 a.m.
Location:
Room 3C, Thompson Commerce Building
201 West Washington Avenue
Madison
Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and

present comments on the emergency rule.  Persons making
oral presentations are requested to submit their comments in
writing.  Persons submitting comments will not receive
individual responses.  The hearing record on this rulemaking
will remain open until January 13, 2006, to permit submittal
of written comments from persons who are unable to attend
the hearing or who wish to supplement testimony offered at
the hearing.  Written comments should be submitted to
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Ronald Acker, at the Department of Commerce, P.O. Box
2689, Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email at
racker@commerce.state.wi.us.

This hearing is held in an accessible facility.  If you have
special needs or circumstances that may make
communication or accessibility difficult at the hearing, please
call (608) 266−8741 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY) at least 10 days
prior to the hearing date.  Accommodations such as
interpreters, English translators, or materials in audio tape
format will, to the fullest extent possible, be made available
upon a request from a person with a disability.

Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin Department of
Commerce

Analysis of Emergency Rule
1.  Statutes Interpreted.
Sections 101.9205 (3), 101.9208 and 101.9213 (8), Stats.,

as amended by 2005 Wisconsin Act 45
2.  Statutory Authority.
Sections 101.9205 (3), 101.9208 and 101.9213 (8), Stats.,

as amended by 2005 Wisconsin Act 45.
3.  Related Statute or Rule.
Section 101.19, Stats.
4.  Explanation of Agency Authority.
Sections 101.9205 (3), 101.9208 and 101.9213 (8), Stats.,

as amended by 2005 Wisconsin Act 45, require the
department to establish, by rule under section 101.19, Stats.,
the respective fees for the administration and enforcement of
the manufactured homes program activities required under
those sections.

5.  Summary of Rule.
The current statutes establish specific minimum fees that

the department must charge for conducting a file search, for
providing various services related to the titling of
manufactured homes, and for providing certain notices
related to security interests in manufactured homes.  2005
Wisconsin Act 45 removes those fees, effective December 1,
2005, from the statutes and requires the department to
establish, by rule, the fees for those services.  The emergency
rule establishes the required fees in the department’s fee
schedule, chapter Comm 2, without any changes in the fees
that have been charged under the current statutes.

The Act also requires the department to assess a new fee to
fund a manufactured housing rehabilitation and recycling
grant program.  The emergency rule establishes that fee to be
approximately the same as the environmental impact fee that
is no longer assessed.

6.  Summary of, and Comparison with, Existing or
Proposed Federal Regulations.

There is no existing or proposed federal regulation that
addresses the Safety and Buildings Division’s fees for the
administration and enforcement of the manufactured homes
program activities required under sections 101.9205 (3),
101.9208 and 101.9213 (8), Stats.

7.  Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States.
The emergency rule addresses the Safety and Buildings

Division’s fees unique to the administration and enforcement
of the department’s manufactured homes program.  Adjacent
states also assess fees for the administration and enforcement
of their manufactured home programs as follows.

 Illinois:  Fees are charged for a plan review, seal, code
compliance certificate, and plant inspection.

 Iowa:  Fees are charged for an installation seal, installer
certification, and home inspection.

 Michigan:  A fee is charged for a certificate of ownership.
 Minnesota:  Fees are charged for a construction seal,

installation seal, and temporary installation certificate.
8.  Summary of Factual Data and Analytical

Methodologies.
There were no factual data or analytical methodologies

used to develop the emergency rule.
9.  Analysis and Supporting Documents used to Determine

Effect on Small Business or in Preparation of Economic
Impact Report.

The emergency rule should have a minimal effect on small
business.  There were no supporting documents used to
determine the effect on small business, and an economic
impact report was not prepared.

The emergency rule and an analysis of the emergency rule
are available on the Internet at the Safety and Buildings
Division Web site at www.commerce.wi.gov/SB/.  Paper
copies may be obtained without cost from Roberta Ward, at
the Department of Commerce, Program Development
Bureau, P.O. Box 2689, Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email
at rward@commerce.state.wi.us, or at telephone (608)
266−8741 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY).  Copies will also be
available at the public hearing.

Environmental Analysis
Notice is hereby given that the Department has considered

the environmental impact of the proposed rules.  In
accordance with chapter Comm 1, the proposed rules are a
Type III action.  A Type III action normally does not have the
potential to cause significant environmental effects and
normally does not involve unresolved conflicts in the use of
available resources.  The Department has reviewed these rules
and finds no reason to believe that any unusual conditions
exist.  At this time, the Department has issued this notice to
serve as a finding of no significant impact.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
1. Types of small businesses that will be affected by the

rules.
The rule will affect any business that submits an

application to the department for a certificate of title for a
manufactured home.

2. Reporting, bookkeeping and other procedures required
for compliance with the rules.

There are no reporting, bookkeeping or other procedures
required for compliance with the rule.

3. Types of professional skills necessary for compliance
with the rules.

There are no types of professional skills necessary for
compliance with the rule.

4. Rules have a significant economic impact on small
businesses.

No.  Rules not submitted to Small Business Regulatory
Review Board

Fiscal Estimate
The rule will have no fiscal effect on the department, local

government or the private sector.
The small business regulatory coordinator for the

Department of Commerce is Carol Dunn, who may be
contacted at telephone (608) 267−0297, or Email at
cdunn@commerce.state.wi.us.
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Notice of Hearing
Commerce

(Housing Assistance, Chs. 150 − 155)

[CR 05−110]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to s. 452.13

(5), Stats., as amended by 2005 Wisconsin Act 25, the
Department of Commerce will hold a public hearing on
proposed rules under chapter Comm 155, relating to interest
on real estate trust accounts.

The public hearing will be held as follows:
Date and Time:  Tuesday, January 10, 2006
1:00 p.m.
Location:  Room 3C, Thompson Commerce Center
                  201 West Washington Avenue
                  Madison
Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and

present comments on the proposed rules.  Persons making oral
presentations are requested to submit their comments in
writing.  Persons submitting comments will not receive
individual responses.  The hearing record on this proposed
rulemaking will remain open until January 17, 2006, to permit
submittal of written comments from persons who are unable
to attend the hearing or who wish to supplement testimony
offered at the hearing.  Written comments should be submitted
to Ronald Acker, at the Department of Commerce, P.O. Box
2689, Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email at
racker@commerce.state.wi.us.

This hearing is held in an accessible facility.  If you have
special needs or circumstances that may make
communication or accessibility difficult at the hearing, please
call (608) 266−8741 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY) at least 10 days
prior to the hearing date.  Accommodations such as
interpreters, English translators, or materials in audio tape
format will, to the fullest extent possible, be made available
upon a request from a person with a disability.

Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin Department of
Commerce

1.  Statutes Interpreted.
Section 452.13 (5), Stats., as amended by 2005 Wisconsin

Act 25.
2.  Statutory Authority.
Section 452.13 (5), Stats., as amended by 2005 Wisconsin

Act 25.
3.  Related Statute or Rule.
None.
4.  Explanation of Agency Authority.
Section 452.13 (5), Stats., as amended by 2005 Wisconsin

Act 25, requires the department to promulgate rules necessary
to administer section 452.13, Stats.

5.  Summary of Rule.
Currently, banks and lending institutions submit a

statement and remit the interest from an interest bearing real
estate trust account (IBRETA) to the department in any format
and at any time of the year.  The proposed rules require the
submittal of the IBRETA information on a standardized form
and by a specific date each year.

6.  Summary of, and Comparison with, Existing or
Proposed Federal Regulations.

There is no existing or proposed federal regulation that
addresses the submittal of the IBRETA information to the
department.

7.  Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States.
Minnesota
The Wisconsin IBRETA statute was modeled after the

Minnesota statute, and as a result the two statutes are quite
alike.  In Minnesota, each real estate broker is required to
deposit all client funds, inferred to include at least earnest
money and other down payments, into an interest−bearing
trust account.  As in Wisconsin, it is the responsibility of the
financial institution, not the broker, to pay the interest, less
transaction costs, to the state.  The financial institution must
also submit a statement including the name of the broker, the
rate of interest, the amount of service charges deducted, and
the account balance for the period.

The method of collection and disbursement of these funds
differs slightly.  In Minnesota, the interest accruing to these
accounts is paid to the Commissioner of Finance and
deposited in the Housing Trust Fund account.  The Housing
Trust Fund is managed by the Minnesota Housing Finance
Agency (the equivalent of WHEDA) and consists of funds
from these interest−bearing accounts along with other state
funds, gifts, grants, donations, and other agency monies.  The
funds in the Housing Trust Fund account are used to support
low−income housing in the state by providing loans or grants
for the development, construction, acquisition, preservation,
and rehabilitation of low−income rental housing, for the
operating costs of low−income or supportive housing, and for
rental assistance.  Funds from the housing trust fund account
may only be used to benefit persons and families with income
less than 60 percent of the median income, and 75 percent of
these funds must be used for the benefit of persons and
families with income less than 30 percent of the median
income for a defined seven county area.  These funds may also
be used to benefit households receiving section 8 vouchers.

Receipts from the real estate brokerage accounts have
varied greatly since the program’s inception in 1989.  Below
is a table of receipts by year for the past ten years.  The figure
for 2005 has been estimated based on receipts through March,
2005.  In general, these receipts are comparable to those of the
Wisconsin IBRETA program.

1996 1997 1998 1999 2000
$386,677 $399,527 $419,028 $412,398 $376,645

2001 2002 2003 2004 2005
$421,598 $370,564 $274,928 $221,305 $300,503
Iowa
The state of Iowa also requires that brokers deposit all

money belonging to others, including receipts from property
management, rental or lease, advanced fee, or earnest money
contracts, into a trust account.  Interest accruing to these
accounts, less services charges, is to be remitted to the Iowa
Department of Economic Development.  It is the
responsibility of the broker, as opposed to the financial
institution as in Wisconsin and Minnesota, to see that the
interest is remitted.  Interest is remitted quarterly along with
a Real Estate Interest Remittance Form and a copy of the bank
statement.

Funds received by the Department of Economic
Development are deposited in the Local Housing Assistance
Fund.  These funds are used for housing programs but are not
limited to projects that benefit low−income households.  The
Iowa Department of Economic Development reports that in
recent years these funds have amounted to roughly $200,000.
There has been a decline in the amount of funds received in
recent years as a result of both low interest rates and a
provision in Iowa law that permits brokers or clients to keep
the interest on such accounts if specified in the contract.

Michigan
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Michigan does not require brokers to deposit client funds
into interest−bearing trust accounts.  The Michigan statutes
say that a broker may deposit such funds into an
interest−bearing account and that the interest accrued by this
account should be handled according to the contract between
the broker and the client.

Illinois
Illinois similarly does not require brokers to deposit client

funds into interest−bearing trust accounts.  On the contrary,
Illinois requires that brokers deposit escrow funds, meaning
earnest money and security deposits, in non−interest−bearing
accounts except in cases where the principals specifically
require otherwise.  In the case of an interest−bearing account,
the recipient of the interest must be specified in the contract
between the principals.

8.  Summary of Factual Data and Analytical
Methodologies.

There were no factual data or analytical methodologies
used to develop the proposed rules.

9.  Analysis and Supporting Documents used to Determine
Effect on Small Business or in Preparation of Economic
Impact Report.

The proposed rules should have a minimal effect on small
business.  There were no supporting documents used to
determine the effect on small business, and an economic
impact report was not prepared.

SECTION 1.  Comm 155.06 is repealed and recreated to
read:

Comm 155.06 Statement.  The information required
under s. 452.13. (2) (e) 2., Stats., shall be submitted annually
by February 1, for the previous calendar year, to the
department on form CDH−10829.  One report covering the
aggregate accounts at a depository institution shall be
submitted.

Note:  Copies of form CDH−10829 are available at no
charge from the Department of Commerce, PO Box 7970,
Madison, WI  53707−7970, or by telephone at 608/266−8273,
or on the Internet at www.commerce.wi.gov/CD.

The proposed rules and an analysis of the proposed rules
are available on the Internet at the Housing and Community
Development Division Web site at
www.commerce.wi.gov/CD.  Paper copies may be obtained
without cost from Ronald Acker, at the Department of
Commerce, Program Development Bureau, P.O. Box 2689,
Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email at
racker@commerce.state.wi.us, or at telephone (608)
267−7907 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY).  Copies will also be
available at the public hearing.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
1. Types of small businesses that will be affected by the

rules.
The rules will affect any bank or lending institution that

submits a statement and interest to the department under the
interest bearing real estate trust account (IBRETA) funding
program.

2. Reporting, bookkeeping and other procedures required
for compliance with the rules.

The rules require the submittal of a statement and interest
from an IBRETA to the department on a standardized form
and by a specific date each year.

3. Types of professional skills necessary for compliance
with the rules.

There are no types of professional skills necessary for
compliance with the rules.

4. Rules have a significant economic impact on small
businesses.

No
Rules not submitted to Small Business Regulatory Review

Board.
Environmental Analysis

Notice is hereby given that the Department has considered
the environmental impact of the proposed rules.  In
accordance with chapter Comm 1, the proposed rules are a
Type III action.  A Type III action normally does not have the
potential to cause significant environmental effects and
normally does not involve unresolved conflicts in the use of
available resources.  The Department has reviewed these rules
and finds no reason to believe that any unusual conditions
exist.  At this time, the Department has issued this notice to
serve as a finding of no significant impact.
Fiscal Estimate

The proposed rules have no effect on revenues or costs for
state or local government in the administration and
enforcement of chapter Comm 155.

The proposed rules hae no fiscal effect on the private sector.
The small business regulatory coordinator for the

Department of Commerce is Carol Dunn, who may be
contacted at telephone (608) 267−0297, or Email at
cdunn@commerce.state.wi.us.

Notice of Proposed Rule
Educational Approval Board

[CR 05−112]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN That pursuant to Sections

38.50 (2), (3), (10) (c) 4. & (cm), and 227.11 (2), Wis. Stats.,
and interpreting Sections 38.50 (2), (3), (7) and (10), Wis.
Stats., and according to the procedure set forth in s. 227.16 (2)
(e), Wis. Stats., the Educational Approval Board (EAB) will
adopt the following rule as proposed in this notice, without
public hearing unless, within 30 days after publication of this
notice December 15, 2005, the EAB is petitioned for a public
hearing by 25 natural persons who will be affected by the rule;
a municipality which will be affected by the rule; or an
association which is representative of a farm, labor, business
or professional group which will be affected by the rule.
Analysis Prepared by the Educational Approval Board

Rule Analysis
Under s. EAB 4.06, schools regulated by the EAB are

assessed a student protection fee.  The amount of the fee is
currently based on a rate of $0.50 per $1,000 of adjusted gross
annual school revenue as reported by the schools.  These fees
are deposited into an appropriation under s. 20.292 (2) (gm)
and are used to indemnify certain persons suffering loss from
such events as a catastrophic school closure.

This proposed rule would allow the EAB to assess a student
protection fee at a rate the board determines necessary to
protect the viability of the appropriation, not to exceed an
amount of $10,000 for any individual school and only if the
balance is less than $500,000.  The EAB has expressed
concern about being able to fulfill its statutory obligation of
protecting students in the event of a catastrophic school
closure.

Because the fund balance is currently less than $500,000,
the proposed rule would give the EAB the authority to assess
a fee at a rate higher than the current rate of $0.50 per $1,000.
However, the rule does not require the board to assess the
higher rate, and once the fund balance is in excess of
$500,000, the board would be specifically prohibited from
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assessing a higher fee.  In addition, the EAB would be limited
in assessing any individual school a student protection fee that
exceeds $10,000.

Text of Rule

SECTION 1.  EAB 4.06 (2)(b) is amended to read:

EAB 4.06 (2)( b)  The fee shall be based on a rate of $0.50
per $1,000 of adjusted gross annual school revenue as
reported in accordance with ss. EAB 4.01 (4) and 4.10 (2) (d),
or if the appropriation balance of s.20.292 (2)(gm) is less than
$500,000, a fee determined by the board to protect the
viability of the appropriation under s.20.292 (2)(gm), but not
to exceed $10,000 for an individual school.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The potential impact of this rule on small businesses is
limited to the extent that such businesses meet the statutory
definition of a school and are subject to the EAB approval.
The EAB currently approves 140 for−profit and non−profit
postsecondary schools.  These schools consist of technical,
career, distance−learning, and degree−granting institutions
that offer more than 600 degree and non−degree programs to
over 30,000 Wisconsin adults annually.  Typical programs
includes truck driving, massage therapy, home inspection,
teacher licensure, IT certifications, CAD drafting, as well as
traditional bachelor and master degrees.

Fiscal Estimate

At the present time, the student protection fund
appropriation contains $79,582.  Based on reported school
revenues for the 2006 renewal year, it is estimated that the FY
06 fund balance will increase to approximately $141,300 as
a result of the standard fee assessment.  This increase is based
on total reported school revenues of approximately $123.5
million.

In addition, provisions contained in the 2005−07 biennial
budget (2005 Wisconsin Act 25) will transfer $250,000 of
retained earnings from the EAB’s general operating budget
into the appropriation on June 30, 2006.  After the transfer, the
estimated balance for the student protection fund will be
$391,300.

Because of the permissive nature of the proposed rule
order, it is not possible to determine the fiscal effect.  Based
on a FY 06 fund balance of $391,300, the EAB would not be
able to assess more than $108,700 before the $500,000 cap is
reached.  However, the EAB has indicated that its primary
intent is to address a situation in which the balance falls below
the $500,000 due to a catastrophic school closure.  In addition,
no one school could be assessed more than $10,000.  To  gain
some insight about how the proposal might affect an
individual school, one should consider the student protection
fees assessed in 2005 totaled $55,746, ranging from no fee to
$9,941.  While the average fee was $446, the median fee was
only $58.

Copies of the Rule and Contact Person

Questions and requests for copies of the proposed rule
should be directed to:

David C. Dies

Educational Approval Board

30 W. Mifflin Street, 9th Floor

P.O. Box 8696

Madison, Wisconsin  53708

608/266−1996

Notice of Hearing
Insurance

[CR 05−111]
Notice is hereby given that pursuant to the authority

granted under s. 601.41 (3), Stats., and the procedures set forth
in under s. 227.18, Stats., OCI will hold a public hearing to
consider the adoption of the attached proposed rulemaking
order affecting ch. Ins 6, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to agent’s
licensing procedure changes which will affect small business.

Hearing Information
Date:    January 11, 2006
Time:    10:00 a.m., or as soon thereafter as the matter may

be reached
Place:   OCI, Room 227, 125 South Webster St 2nd Floor,

Madison, WI
Written comments or comments submitted through the

Wisconsin Administrative Rule website at:
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov on the proposed rule will be
considered. The deadline for submitting comments is 4:00
p.m. on the 14th day after the date for the hearing stated in this
Notice of Hearing.

Written comments should be sent to:
Robert Luck
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 6
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
PO Box 7873
Madison WI 53707−7873

Summary of Proposed Rule & Fiscal Estimate
For a summary of the rule see the analysis.  There will be

a state or local government fiscal effect. The full text of the
proposed changes, a summary of the changes and the fiscal
estimate are available at the OCI website (see below).

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
Notice is hereby further given that pursuant to s. 227.114,

Stats., the proposed rule may have an effect on small
businesses. The initial regulatory flexibility analysis is as
follows:

a. Types of small businesses affected:
Insurance agents
b. Description of reporting and bookkeeping procedures

required:
None beyond those currently required.
c. Description of professional skills required:
None beyond those currently required.

OCI Small Business Regulatory Coordinator
The OCI small business coordinator is Eileen Mallow and

may be reached at phone number (608) 266− 7843 or at email
address Eileen.Mallow@oci.state.wi.us

Contact Person
A copy of the full text of the proposed rule changes,

analysis and fiscal estimate may be obtained from the OCI
internet WEB site at http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by
contacting Inger Williams, Services Section, OCI, at:
Inger.Williams@OCI.State.WI.US, (608) 264−8110, 125
South Webster Street – 2nd Floor, Madison WI or PO Box
7873, Madison WI 53707−7873.

Analysis Prepared by the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance (OCI)
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1. Statutes interpreted: ss. 600.01 and 628.04, Stats.
2. Statutory authority: ss. 601.31 (m), 601.41 (3), 601.42,

628.04, 628.10 and 628.11, Stats.
Note: OCI is submitting a Technical Bill that changes the

procedure for licensees that don’t pay fees or complete
continuing education requirements and the relaxed
reinstatement requirements. If this bill has not been signed
into law prior to OCI submitting the rule to the legislature,
OCI will modify the procedures to conform to existing law
and the existing rule. The billing and CE due dates will change
regardless of whether the Technical bill is enacted.

3. Explanation of the OCI’s authority to promulgate the
proposed rule under these statutes:

These statutes permit the commissioner of insurance to set
standards by for prelicensing education, continuing
education, agent fees and other procedural requirements of
licensing. These changes change the existing procedures
which have been in effect for many years. They do not attempt
to extend the commissioner’s authority to areas not previously
regulated by the existing rules.

See the Note in item #2 above relating to the OCI Technical
bill.

4. Related Statutes or rules:
None.
5. The plain language analysis and summary of the

proposed rule:
These changes attempt to move OCI to the NAIC model

standards for licensing producers. In May of 2006, OCI is also
converting the licensing software used from “COSMOS” to
“SIRCON” requiring certain changes.

In addition, OCI is introducing a Technical bill which will
change certain requirements needed to implement the NAIC
standard and the conversion to SIRCON. If this OCI
Technical bill is not enacted, certain provisions of these
changes would have to be modified. These modifications
would be done before the rule is sent to the legislature for the
review period. The modifications would deal mainly with the
revocation of licenses for non payment of fees or CE non
compliance and the relaxed reinstatement requirements.

Fee and CE Reporting Changes
The NAIC model has renewal billings and continuing

education (“CE”) compliance due based on the agents month
and year of birth. In order to change from our current system
of billing and requiring CE compliance once every two years,
there needs to be a transition period. This proposed transition
would ensure that all agents pay the same overall fees and
require 12 CE credit hours per year. The following is a
description of how the new billing/CE procedures would be
transitioned:

Year Notice Type Recipients Notice Dates

2005 CE−24 credits All Current System: Notice sent 12/04,
  suspended 2/05 and revoked 4/05

2006 Old Fee All Current System: Notice sent 12/05,
  suspended 2/06 and revoked 4/06

2007 50% New Fee Odd year birth date For future notices (both fee & CE)
CE=24 credits Resident Odd year −Send notice at least 60 days prior

birth date  to the 15th day of the birth month
 −Revoke on 15th day of the birth 
 month

2008 New Fee Even year birth date
CE=36 credits Resident Even year birth date

2009 New Fee Odd year birth date
CE=24 credits Resident Odd year birth date

2010 New Fee Even year birth date
CE=24 credits Resident Even year birth dates

(Repeat 2009 and 2010 for odd and even years in the future)

The fees are being raised slightly, but still far below what
most states require. These increases will partially cover some
additional costs of the new system, the costs of electronic
processing of the renewals, the cost of paying renewal fees
with a credit card and certain other fees which are being
deleted in the OCI technical bill being introduced in the
legislature. The revocation referenced above and relaxed
reinstatement provisions depend on the passage of the OCI
technical bill. If this does not pass, the current system of
suspending and revoking 60 days later as required in s.
628.10, Stats., would continue.

The changes would require all insurers to do appointments
and termination of agents on line. Currently, most insurers
utilize this method.

The SIRCON system will automatically check the current
status of nonresident agents licensing in their home state,
alleviating the need for agents to provide a paper Certificate
of Licensing. In addition, the Department of Justice crime
checks will be done electronically. This will eliminate another
paper item that applicants currently have to obtain and bring
to the testing site.

Prelicensing Education Changes
Other changes clarify how the hours for prelicensing

education are calculated and expand the exemptions for
prelicensing education for agents who hold certain
professional designations.

Programs that offer courses will be required to notify OCI
electronically of all agents who have taken any course,
eliminating the paper certification now required with the
agent’s application. Most providers that offer prelicensing
education also offer continuing education and currently
provide the continuing education information electronically.
The requirement to also provide the prelicensing education
information electronically should not be a burden for the
providers.

Continuing Education (“CE”) Changes
OCI would require that 3 hours of the 24 CE hours needed

every two years be devoted to the ethics of insurance. This
exposure to discussions of ethics would hopefully inform or
expand agent’s views of how insurance should be marketed.
Programs that offer courses will be required to notify OCI
electronically of all agents who have taken any course,
eliminating the paper notifications. Most providers do this
already.

In the past, there have been relatively few “correspondence
courses” approved for CE. These changes would specifically
allow correspondence courses and set some criteria for
approval.

6. Summary of and preliminary comparison with any
existing or proposed federal regulation that is intended to
address the activities to be regulated by the proposed rule:

There is no similar federal regulation covering these
activities. Insurance is generally regulated on the state level
with the National Association of Insurance Commissioners
producing model procedures for states.

7. Comparison of similar rules in adjacent states as found
by OCI:

Iowa:
Application fees:  $50 per line
Renewal fees:  $100, triennially on April 1
CE:  36 hours triennially due December 31 prior to license

renewal
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Illinois: 215 ILCS 5, Illinois Insurance Code

Application fees:  $180 for residents & $250 for
nonresidents

Renewal fees:  $180 for residents & $250 for nonresidents

biennially on registration issuance date

CE: 30 hours biennially due on registration issuance date

Minnesota: Statutes chapter 60K and Rules chapter 2795

Application fees: $50 per line

Renewal fees: $50 per line, biennially on October 31

CE: 30 hours biennially due on October 31

Michigan:

Application fees: $10 application fee per line plus $60
testing fee per line

Renewal fees: Perpetual license

CE: 30 hours biennially due on individual compliance date
based on last digit of the social security number and the first
letters of producer’s last name

8. A summary of the factual data and analytical
methodologies that OCI used in support of the proposed rule
and how any related findings support the regulatory approach
chosen for the proposed rule:

These changes bring Wisconsin into conformance with the
system used by many other states and preferred by the NAIC
for uniformity. Once all states start billing in the agent’s birth
month, agents who are licensed in more than one state will
have a better idea of when fees and continuing education is
due in the various states.

9. Any analysis and supporting documentation that OCI
used in support of OCI’s determination of the rule’s effect on
small businesses under s. 227.114:

The small increase in fees will offset increased costs by
OCI incurred for using on−line renewal and allowing credit
card payment of fees. Agents using these services will not pay
additional fees to use them with the costs being included in the
renewal fee.

In addition, in the OCI technical bill, if passed, will
eliminate certain existing fees for agent letters of certification,
agent letters of clearance, replacement copies of new licenses
and issuing of duplicate licenses. The net effect of all changes,
including those in the OCI technical bill, will end up with no
or a very small increase in revenue to OCI.

It is difficult to determine agent savings from reduced
paperwork in the licensing process but there clearly is a
reduction in cost. Similarly, agents licensed in other states will
benefit from more uniform billing and renewal procedures but
it is difficult to place a single dollar amount on this type of
benefit.

10. If these changes may have a significant fiscal effect on
the private sector, the anticipated costs that will be incurred by
private sector in complying with the rule:

These changes will not have a significant fiscal effect on
the private sector.

11. A description of the Effect on Small Business:

This rule will have an effect on small businesses but will
not be a significant impact on small businesses. Many
insurance agents are small businesses. This rule would
minimally raise a biennial fee by $5 per year for resident
agents and $10 per year for nonresident agents. These
increases are very small. In addition, the increased fees will
cover the additional cost of agents being able to renew on−line
and pay with a credit card.

The changes promote efficiency by eliminating paperwork
that agents currently are required to complete, mainly in the
licensing process.

For agents that are licensed in other states, the new billing
procedures are uniform with the direction others states are
going. After all states adopt the new procedures, Wisconsin
agents will be able to deal with licensing issues in all states on
a more uniform basis.

12. Agency contact person:
A copy of the full text of the proposed rule changes,

analysis and fiscal estimate may be obtained from the WEB
sites at: http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by contacting
Inger Williams, OCI Services Section, at:

Phone: (608) 264−8110
Email: Inger.Williams@OCI.State.WI.US
Address: 125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor

Madison WI 53702
Mail: PO Box 7873, Madison WI 53707−7873
13. Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline

for submission:
The deadline for submitting comments is 4:00 p.m. on the

14th day after the date for the hearing stated in the Notice of
Hearing.

Mailing address:
Robert Luck
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 6
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
PO Box 7873
Madison WI 53707−7873

Street address:
Robert Luck
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 6
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor
Madison WI 53702
WEB Site: http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm

Notice of Hearing
Technical College System

[CR 05−107]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to s.38.41,

Stats., and interpreting ss. 20.292 (1) (eh) and 38.41, Stats.,
the Wisconsin Technical College System Board will hold a
public hearing to consider creation of rules relating to training
program grants.

Hearing Information
Date: January 4, 2006
Time: 1:30 p.m.
Location: Wis. Technical College System Office

345 West Washington Avenue
First Floor Meeting Room
Madison, Wisconsin

Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin Technical College
System Board

1. Statutes interpreted:  Wis. Stats. s. 20.292 (1) (eh) and s.
38.41.
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2. Statutory authority:  Wis. Stats. s. 38.41.
3. Explanation of agency authority: Section 38.41 (4),

Stats., authorizes the technical college system board to
promulgate rules to implement and administer the awarding
of grants to technical college district boards to provide skills
training or other education related to the needs of business.

4. Related statute or rule:  none
5. Plain language analysis:  No grant award criteria are

specified in statute. The purpose of the rule is to implement
and administer the awarding of training program grants to
technical college districts to provide skills training or other
education related to the needs of business.  To be eligible for
grant awards, technical college districts will develop
proposals with a business to provide skills training or
education to improve employee skill levels, and workplace
efficiency and productivity.  Grant proposals will also be
assessed for the extent to which the proposed training or
education supports regional workforce and economic
development efforts.

6. Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulations:  not applicable

7. Comparison with rules in adjacent states: not applicable
8. Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:

not applicable
9. Analysis and supporting documents used to determine

effect on small business or in preparation of economic impact
report:  not applicable

10. Effect on small business: Small businesses may access
training or education through the training program grants, but
there is no mandated participation in the program.

11. Agency contact person:  Morna Foy, Executive
Assistant, Wisconsin Technical College System, 345 W.
Washington Ave, P.O. Box 7874, Madison, Wisconsin
53707−7874, telephone (608) 266−2449, e−mail
morna.foy@wtcsytem.edu.

It is the policy of the Wisconsin Technical College System
Board (WTCSB) to provide accommodations to persons with
disabilities which may affect their ability to access or
participate in WTCS activities. Persons may request
assistance or reasonable accommodation for the scheduled
public hearing by contacting Morna Foy at (608) 266−2449 or
accessing the telecommunications device for the deaf at (608)
267−2483 on or before December 28, 2005.

12. Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline
for submission:  Written comments will be accepted by the
agency contact person listed above until 4:00 p.m. on January
4, 2006.  Written comments will be given the same
consideration as testimony presented at the hearing.  People
submitting comments will not receive individual responses.

TEXT OF RULE
Section 1.  Chapter TCS 17 (title) is created to read:
CHAPTER TCS 17 (title)
TRAINING PROGRAM GRANTS
TCS 17.01  PURPOSE.  The purpose of this chapter is to

establish procedures to implement and administer training
grants to technical college districts to provide skills training
or other education related to the needs of business s. 38.41,
Stats.

TCS 17.02  DEFINITIONS.  In this chapter:
(1) “Board” means the Technical College System Board

established under ch. 15.94, Stats.
(2) “District” means a technical college district established

under ch. 38, Stats.

(3) “District board” means the district board in charge of
the technical colleges of a district.

(4) “Instructional Materials, Software, and Equipment”
means instructional materials, software and equipment to be
directly used or consumed by the business employees during
instructional activities.

(5) “Staff Development” means learning activities that can
be expressly designed to increase the expertise of a technical
college district instructor who will deliver instruction
described in the grant application.

(6) “Technical college” means a Wisconsin technical
college established under ch. 38, Stats.

TCS 17.03  GENERAL .  (1) Only technical college
districts are eligible to apply for grants funds under this
chapter.

(2) The Board shall approve grant guidelines and may
update as needed.  The guidelines shall contain application
instructions, requirements and procedures, application
deadline dates, allowable uses of funds, and award limits.

TCS 17.04  GRANT APPLICATIONS.  (1) At times
established by the board, a district may submit a proposal for
a grant to provide skills training or other education related to
the needs of business.

(2) Each grant proposal shall include all of the following:
(a) A description of the process used to identify both

employee and company needs and the goals and expectations
of the program.

(b) A description of the nature of the business receiving
training as well as their products and or services, including a
description of the impact of the business on the local or
regional economy.

(c) A description of the allowable activities to be funded by
the grant.

(d) A standard financial report and detailed budget.
TCS 17.05  GRANT AWARD CRITERIA.  When

considering approval or disapproval of a grant award, the
board shall consider:

(1) Whether the grant proposal has sufficient financial
resources to successfully provide the training or education as
proposed in the grant proposal.

(2) The extent to which the proposed training or education
will improve employee skill levels, workplace efficiency and
productivity.

(3) The extent to which the proposed training or education
will improve the availability of services to businesses and
promote an increased investment in the development of
incumbent workers.

(4) The extent to which the proposed training or services
support regional workforce and economic development
efforts.

TCS 17.06  CONDITIONS OF THE GRANT AWARD.
(1) District boards or employers receiving skills training or
education under the grant shall contribute matching funds,
other than in−kind matching funds, equal to at least 25% of
total approved project costs.

(2) Grant award funds, including matching funds, may not
be used for administration, marketing, or indirect costs.

(3)  The board may establish limitations on the percentage
of the grant award funds and matching funds that may be used
to purchase or lease instructional materials, software,
equipment or supply items and that may be used to fund staff
development costs.  Such limitations shall be specified in the
grant guidelines approved by the board under TCS 17.02 (2).

TCS 17.07  REPORTING REQUIREMENTS.  (1) A
district receiving a grant under this chapter shall submit to the
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board data and information on the use and effect of grant funds
as specified in the grant guidelines approved by the board
under TCS 17.02 (2).

Proposed Effective Date
The proposed effective date for this rule is May 1, 2006.

Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
Not applicable.

Fiscal Estimate
These rules implement s. 38.41, Wis. Stats., which requires

the technical college system board to establish administrative
rules to implement and administer training program grants.

The functions required by these rules can be absorbed
within existing staff.  Therefore, there is no fiscal effect on the
agency.  A fiscal estimate based on the fiscal effect of the
authorizing statute may be obtained from the Wisconsin
Technical College System Board upon request.

Notice of Hearing
Transportation

[CR 05−109]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to s. 343.02

(1) Stats., and interpreting s. 343.05 (4) (b) 1., Stats., the
Department of Transportation will hold a public hearing in
Room 254 of the Hill Farms State Transportation Building,
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin on the 11th
day of January, 2006, at 2:00 PM, to consider the
amendment of ch. Trans 102, Wisconsin Administrative
Code, relating to the time period within which a person
moving to Wisconsin may operate a motor vehicle under a
driver license from his or her previous state of residence.

An interpreter for the hearing impaired will be available on
request for this hearing.  Please make reservations for a
hearing interpreter at least 10 days prior to the hearing.

Parking for persons with disabilities and an accessible
entrance are available on the north and south sides of the Hill
Farms State Transportation Building.

Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin Department of
Transportation

Statutes interpreted:  s. 343.05 (4) (b) 1., Stats.
Statutory authority:  s.  343.02 (1), Stats.
Explanation of agency authority: Section 343.02(1),

Stats., grants the Department responsibility for administering
and enforcing Chapter 343, Stats., and authority to
promulgate such rules as the secretary considers necessary for
that purpose.

Related statute or rule:
• Section 340.01 (37), the definition of ”Nonresident” for

the motor vehicle code.
• Section 343.01 (2) (g), the definition of ”Resident” for

driver licensing purposes.
• Section 343.06 (1) (k), which prohibits issuance of

licenses to nonresidents.
Plain language analysis:  Current law requires all persons

to have driver licenses as a condition of operating a motor
vehicle on a highway.  Residents must hold a Wisconsin driver
license.  s. 343.05, Stats.  Nonresidents must be at least 16
years old have a license from their home jurisdiction.  Nothing
in the statutes deals with the situation of a person moving to
Wisconsin and establishing residence here.  Statutorily, once
a person establishes their one permanent home in this state,
they cannot operate on the license from their old state of

residence.  The statutes do not provide any leeway or time
period within which a person may operate on their
out−of−state license upon moving to this state.

Because this circumstance arises frequently, WisDOT
promulgated an administrative rule that provides a 30−day
deadline for new residents to obtain a driver license.  In
practice, police agencies statewide do not arrest persons for
driving without a driver license within the first 30 days after
they move to this state following the spirit of the regulation.

In the past year, WisDOT has implemented new, more
stringent proof of identity requirements as a condition of
obtaining a Wisconsin driver license.  Rather than simply
accepting the out−of−state license as evidence of identity, the
Department also requires documentation such as a certified
birth certificate or passport.

DMV has found that person moving to this state often
cannot obtain these required documents within 30 days of
moving to this state.  Accordingly, this rule making proposes
to extend the time period within which people should obtain
a Wisconsin driver license after moving to this state to 60
days.

Summary of, and preliminary comparison with, existing or
proposed federal regulation:  There is no federal legislation on
this point.  Federal CDL law, in fact, permits states to issue
CDLs to drivers who are not residents of their states.

Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States:
Michigan:  Michigan law does not appear to allow a driver

any grace period. Mich. Comp. Laws, ss. 257.301 and
257.302.

Minnesota:  Allows new resident 60 days to obtain Class
D or M Minnesota license, 30 days to obtain a Minnesota
CDL. s. 171.03, Minn. Stats.

Illinois :  Allows new resident 90 days to obtain an Illinois
driver license. 625 ILCS 5/6.102(7).

Iowa:  License must be obtained immediately upon
establishing residency in Iowa. s. 321.174, Iowa Code.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
used and how the related findings support the regulatory
approach chosen:  Not applicable.

Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine
effect on small businesses:  None.

Effect on small business:  This proposed rule would have
no effect on small business. The Department’s Regulatory
Review Coordinator may be contacted by e−mail at
andrew.ruiz@dot.state.wi.us, or by calling (414) 438−4585.

Fiscal effect and anticipated costs incurred by private
sector:  The Department estimates that there will be no fiscal
impact on the liabilities or revenues of any county, city,
village, town, school district, vocational, technical and adult
education district, sewerage district, or federally−recognized
tribes or bands.  The Department estimates that there will be
no fiscal impact on state or private sector revenues or
liabilities.

Agency contact person and place where comments are
to be submitted and deadline for submission:  The public
record on this proposed rule making will be held open until
close of business the day of the hearing  to permit the
submission of comments in lieu of public hearing testimony
or comments supplementing testimony offered at the hearing.
Any such comments should be submitted to Erin Egan,
Department of Transportation, Division of Motor Vehicles,
Office of Program Operations, Room 351, P. O. Box 7911,
Madison, WI  53707−7911.  You may also contact Ms. Egan
by phone at (608) 266−1449.

To view the proposed amendments to the rule, view the
current rule, and submit written comments via
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e−mail/internet, you may visit the following website:
http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/library/research/law/rulenoti
ces.htm.

Notice of Hearing
Transportation

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to s. 110.075
and ch. 194, Stats., interpreting ch. 194, Stats., the
Department of Transportation will hold a public hearing on
the 13th day of February, 2006, at the Hill Farms State
Transportation Building, Room 551, 4802 Sheboygan
Avenue, Madison, WI, at 3:00 PM, to consider the
amendment of ch. Trans 325, Wisconsin Administrative
Code, relating to motor carrier safety regulations.

Parking for persons with disabilities and an accessible
entrance are available.

A copy of the emergency rule may be obtained upon
request from Capt. Charles R. Teasdale, Wisconsin
Department of Transportation, Division of State Patrol,
Bureau of Field Operations, Room 551, P. O. Box 7912,
Madison, WI  53707−7912, or by calling (608) 266−0305.
Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin Department of
Transportation

Statutes interpreted:  Ch. 194, Stats.
Statutory authority:  s.  110.075 and Ch. 194, Stats.
Explanation of agency authority:  The secretary shall set

standards and adopt rules to establish a plan of inspection to
implement the inspection program. It shall be the duty of the
department to prescribe rules and regulations as to safety and
operations and the hours of labor of drivers of motor vehicles
operated under the authority of this chapter.

Related statute or rule:  ss. 110.07, Stats.
Plain language analysis:  As prescribed by state statute,

the Department is mandated to regulate both intra and
interstate transportation of property and passengers by
commercial motor vehicles. It is in the best interest of the
public when current regulations are used for enforcement of
these regulations.

Summary of, and preliminary comparison with, existing or
proposed federal regulation:  Trans 325 (Interstate Motor

Carrier Safety regulations) adopts Federal regulations 49CFR
parts 390 to 397.

Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States:  All adjacent
states (Michigan, Minnesota, Illinois and Iowa) adopt the
same Federal regulations.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
used and how the related findings support the regulatory
approach chosen:  The Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Administration did extensive research into the
hours−of−service for commercial vehicle drivers.  Its
research, coupled with input from the motor carrier industry,
resulted in the new hours−of−service regulations for interstate
commerce effective October 1, 2005.  It is imperative the
same regulations are enforced from state−to−state.

Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine
effect on small businesses:  The research provided by the
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration was used in
analyzing the effects on small business.

Effect on small business:  All businesses will have the
same effect.  There is no differentiation between small
business and large business.  The Department’s Regulatory
Review Coordinator may be contacted by e−mail at
andrew.ruiz@dot.state.wi.us, or by calling (414) 438−4585.

Fiscal effect and anticipated costs incurred by private
sector:  The Department estimates that there will be no fiscal
impact on the liabilities or revenues of any county, city,
village, town, school district, vocational, technical and adult
education district, sewerage district, or federally−recognized
tribes or bands.  The Department estimates that there will be
no fiscal impact on state or private sector revenues or
liabilities.

Copies of Emergency Rule:  Requests for copies of the
emergency rule should be submitted to Capt. Charles
Teasdale, Department of Transportation, Division of State
Patrol, Bureau of Field Services, Room 551, P. O. Box 7912,
Madison, WI  53707−7912.  You may also contact Capt.
Teasdale by phone at (608) 266−0305.

To view the emergency rule, you may visit the following
website:
http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/library/research/law/rulenoti
ces.htm.
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Submittal of proposed rules to the legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Dentistry Examining Board
(CR 04−095)

Ch. DE 11, relating to the requirements for administering
the office facilities and equipment for safe and effective
administration and the applicable standards of care, and
to provide for reporting of adverse occurrences related to
anesthesia administration.

Insurance
(CR 05−099)

Ch. Ins 8, relating to small employer uniform employee
application for group health insurance.

Transportation
(CR 05−082)

Ch. Trans 200, relating to specific information signs.
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Rule orders filed with the revisor of statutes bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Revisor of Statutes Bureau and are in the process of being
published.   The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.   It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.   Contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at gary.poulson@legis.state.wi.us or (608) 266−7275 for updated information on
the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
(CR 05−044)

An order affecting chs. ATCP 60, 69, 70, 71, 75, 77, 80,
82 and 85, relating to food and dairy license and
reinspection fees.

Effective 1−1−06.

Financial Institutions − Banking
Financial Institutions − Savings Banks
Financial Institutions − Savings and Loan
(CR 05−045)

An order affecting chs. DFI−Bkg 3, DFI−SB 16 and
DFI−SL 22, relating to debt cancellation contracts and
debt suspension agreements.

Effective 4−1−06.

Financial Institutions − Credit Unions
(CR 05−046)

An order affecting ch. DFI−CU 74, relating to incidental
powers activity authority parity with federal credit
unions.

Effective 2−1−06.

Health and Family Services
(CR 05−080)

An order affecting ch. HFS 149, relating to Selection and
Monitoring of Vendors for the Special Supplemental
Food Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC).

Effective 2−1−06.
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Public notices

Financial Institutions − Banking

Notice of Interest Rate on Required Residential Mortgage Loan Escrow Accounts For 2006

Under Section 138.052 (5) (a), Stats., with some exceptions, a bank, credit union, savings bank, savings and loan
association, or mortgage banker, which originates a residential mortgage loan requiring an escrow account to assure
the payment of taxes or insurance, shall pay interest on the outstanding principal of the escrow.

Section 138.052 (5) (am) 2., Stats., directs the division of banking to determine annually the required interest rate.
The rate is based on the average of interest rates paid on regular passbook deposit accounts by institutions under the
division of banking’s or office of credit unions’ jurisdiction.

The Department of Financial Institutions, Division of Banking, has calculated the interest rate required to be paid
on escrow accounts under Section 138.052 (5), Stats., to be 0.83%  for 2006.  This interest rate shall remain in effect
through December 31, 2006.

Contact Person:
Mr. Michael J. Mach, Administrator
Department of Financial Institutions
Division of Banking
Telephone (608) 261−7578
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