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Emergency rules now in effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Administration

Rules adopted revising ch. Adm 10, relating to cost benefit
analyses of contractural services.

Exemption from Finding of Emergency
Section 8(2) of 2005 Wisconsin Act 89 requires the

Department of Administration to promulgate rules required
under ss. 16.004 (1), 16.705 (2) and 227.11 Stats., by using the
emergency rulemaking procedure under s. 227.24, Stats.,
except that the department is not required to provide evidence
that the emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of
public peace, health, safety or welfare and is not required to
provide a finding of emergency.
Plain language analysis

The department intends to promulgate a rule as required by
Act 89 to require a cost−benefit analysis to be completed for
each bid or request for proposal to compare the cost of
contracting for services versus providing the services with
state employees.

Currently, all state agencies and UW System campuses
may contract for services between $25,000 and $200,000 if
they can show that the services can be performed more
economically or efficiently by such a contract than by state
employees. Currently, if the contractual services would be
greater than $200,000, the contracting agency must complete
a more rigorous and detailed cost/benefit analysis to
demonstrate that the services can be performed more
economically or efficiently by such a contract than by state
employees.  This more rigorous and detailed analysis includes
total cost, quality and nature of services required, specialized

skills, time factors, risk factors and legal barriers.  Act 89
requires agencies to conduct uniform cost−benefit analysis of
each proposed contractual service procurement involving an
estimated expenditure of more than $25,000 in accordance
with standards prescribed in the rules.  Cost benefit−analysis
is defined to include total cost, quality, technical expertise and
timeliness of a service.

Act 89 also requires agencies to review periodically, and
before any renewal, the continued appropriateness of
contracting under each services agreement involving an
estimated expenditure of more than $25,000.  Act 89 requires
the department to complete an annual summary report of the
cost benefit−analysis prepared by state agencies in the
preceding fiscal year and recommendations for elimination of
unneeded contractual service procurements and for the
consolidation or resolicitation of existing contractual service
procurements.

Publication Date: July 1, 2006
Effective Date: July 1, 2006
Expiration Date: November 28, 2006
Hearing Date: August 10, 2006

[See Notice this Register]

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Rules adopted revising chs. ATCP 10 and 11, relating to
a poultry flock certification program.

Finding of Emergency
(1)  The Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and

consumer protection (“DATCP”) administers Wisconsin’s
animal health and disease control programs, including the
national poultry improvement program (NPIP).  The NPIP is
designed to prevent the spread of Salmonella pullorum, fowl
typhoid and, in the case of turkeys, Mycoplasma
gallispepticum.  NPIP is governed by 9 CFR 145 and 147.
NPIP enrollment is voluntary, but non−enrolled flocks are
subject to certain movement restrictions.

(2)  Current DATCP rules prohibit the import, use, sale or
movement of poultry, farm−raised game birds or their eggs for
breeding or hatching unless they originate from flocks that are
enrolled in NPIP and meet NPIP standards.  Current DATCP
rules also prohibit the exhibition of poultry or farm−raised
game birds at a fair, exhibition or swap meet unless they
originate from an NPIP “pullorum−typhoid clean” or
equivalent flock, or are individually tested for
pullorum−typhoid.

(3)  NPIP is primarily designed for large commercial flocks
that move birds or eggs in interstate commerce.  NPIP requires
yearly testing of all sexually mature birds, and routine
inspections.  Fees for enrollment in the program differ based
on flock size and purpose, and range from $20 to $200.  NPIP
enrollment and testing may be cost−prohibitive for small
flocks.  Current rules restrict market access and exhibition by
small producers of poultry and farm−raised game birds, and
impose an unnecessary burden on those producers.  Some
small producers may be tempted to ignore or subvert current
rules, in order to market or exhibit their poultry or farm−raised
game birds.  That may, in turn, create unnecessary risks of
disease.
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(4)  It is urgently necessary to provide alternative disease
monitoring options for small producers of poultry and
farm−raised game birds, so that those producers can legally
and economically move, market and exhibit their birds.  The
current lack of alternatives creates an unnecessary economic
hardship, and an unnecessary risk of disease spread.

(5)  DATCP has proposed rules which would create
practical disease monitoring alternatives for small producers
of poultry and farm−raised game birds.  DATCP is proceeding
to adopt those rules by normal rulemaking procedures.
However, normal rulemaking procedures require at least a
year to complete.  A temporary emergency rule is needed to
eliminate unnecessary hardship and risk in the short term, and
to provide practical and effective disease monitoring for this
year’s fair and exhibition season.

Publication Date: March 3, 2006

Effective Date: March 3, 2006

Expiration Date: July 31, 2006
Hearing Date: March 31, 2006

Commerce
(Commercial Buildings, Chs. Comm 61−65)

Rules adopted revising ch. Comm 62, relating to automatic
fire suppression for student housing facilities serving colleges
and universities.

Finding of Emergency
Department of Commerce finds that an emergency exists

within the state of Wisconsin and that adoption of a rule is
necessary for the immediate preservation of the public health,
safety and welfare.  A statement of the facts constituting the
emergency is as follows.

1.  In accordance with sections 101.14 (4) (b) 3., Stats., and
the provisions under 2005 Wisconsin Act 78, the department
has the responsibility to promulgate rules requiring the
installation of automatic fire sprinkler systems in various
student housing facilities serving colleges and universities.

2.  2005 Wisconsin Act 78 was published on January 6,
2006, making January 7, 2006 the effective date of the Act.

3.  Various provisions of the Act specified the effective date
as the trigger to install the automatic fire sprinkler systems.

4.  The department recognizes that promulgating this
emergency rule will incorporate under the commercial
building code, chapters, Comm 61 to 65, specific design and
construction standards for new student housing facilities that
are consistent with the intent of the Act.

5.  The department recognizes that without promulgating
this emergency rule, there could be confusion in design of any
new student housing to be constructed in the very near future.
The omission of the automatic fire sprinkler system during the
initial design and construction would potentially place lives
at greater risk.

6.  In addition, the department recognizes that without
promulgating this emergency rule, the confusion in omitting
the automatic fire sprinkler system would result in additional
costs to retrofit the installation of the system in order to fulfill
the statutory obligation based upon the effective date of the
Act.

Publication Date: March 4, 2006
Effective Date: March 4, 2006
Expiration Date: August 1, 2006
Hearing Date: May 15, 2006
Extension Through: September 29, 2006

Commerce
(Financial Resources for Business and
Communities, Chs. Comm 105 to 131)

Rule adopted creating ch. Comm 131, relating to diesel
truck idling reduction grants.

Exemption from Finding of Emergency
The legislature by Section 9108 (1w) in 2005 Wisconsin

Act 25, provides an exemption from a finding of emergency
for the adoption of this rule.

The rules specify who is eligible for receiving a grant in this
program for purchasing and installing diesel truck idling
reduction equipment.  Eligible costs are also specified, along
with how to apply for the grants.  Parameters for awarding the
grants are likewise specified.  These parameters include (1)
disallowing grants to any applicant who is failing to comply
with any conditions imposed on any previous grant received
in this program; and (2) alerting applicants that the
Department may (a) refuse to award grants for idling
reduction equipment on truck tractors that do not have a
sleeper berth, (b) annually allocate up to 25 percent of the
grant funding to applicants who own and operate 50 or fewer
truck tractors, and (c) set deadlines for submitting
applications, and then prorate the awards to the applicants if
the total funding requested in the applications exceeds the
available revenue.

Publication Date: June 30, 2006
Effective Date: July 1, 2006
Expiration Date: November 28, 2006
Hearing Date: July 25, 2006

[See Notice this Register]

Corrections

A rule was adopted creating s. DOC 332.19, relating to a
sex offender registration fee.

Finding of Emergency
The department of corrections finds that an emergency

exists and that rules are necessary for the immediate
preservation of public peace, health, safety and welfare.  A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is: Under
2005 WI Act 25, the legislature authorized the department to
establish a sex offender registration fee.  If the rule is not
created promptly and immediately, the department will not be
able to collect the fees which are to be used to offset the costs
of monitoring probationers, parolees, or persons on extended
supervision, which could result in a lessening of supervision
due to budget limitations.

The purpose of the emergency rule is to establish an annual
sex offender registration fee to partially offset the costs of
monitoring persons who are on probation, parole, or extended
supervision.  The permanent rule process has been started.
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However, the permanent rule process will take approximately
nine months to complete.  Emergency rules are necessary to
respond promptly to the collection of fees while permanent
rules are being developed.

Publication Date: June 8, 2006

Effective Date: June 8, 2006

Expiration Date: November 5, 2006
Hearing Date: July 18, 2006

Elections Board

Rules adopted creating s. ElBd 1.395, relating to the use of
funds in a federal campaign committee that has been
converted to a state campaign committee and relating to the
use of those converted funds whose contribution to the federal
committee would not have been in compliance with
Wisconsin law if the contribution had been made directly to a
state campaign committee.

Finding of Emergency
The Elections Board finds that an emergency exists in the

recent change in federal law that permits the transfer of the
funds in a federal candidate campaign committee’s account to
the candidate’s state campaign committee account and finds
that a rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A statement of the
facts constituting the emergency is as follows:

Since the Bi−Partisan Campaign Reform Act of 2002
(BICRA), transfers of funds from a federal campaign
committee to a state campaign committee had not been
authorized under federal law.  In November, 2004, Congress
amended the Federal Election Campaign Act, (H.R. 4818, s.
532 (3) and 532 (4), to permit the transfer of a federal
candidate’s campaign committee’s funds to the candidate’s
state campaign committee, if state law permitted, and subject
to the state law’s requirements and restrictions.

Because of  Congress’ action in November, 2004, money
which had not been available to a state committee under
BICRA, and which might not have qualified for use for
political purposes in a state campaign because of its source or
because of other noncompliance with state law, could now be
transferred to a state committee, if state law permitted.
Wisconsin law, under the Board’s current rule, s. ElBd 1.39,
Wis. Adm. Code,  allows for conversion of federal campaign
committees, and their funds, to a state campaign committee
without regard to the source of those funds and without regard
to contribution limitations.

Restricting the use of such money to that money which has
been contributed to the candidate’s federal committee, under
circumstances in which the contribution would have
complied with Wisconsin law if it had been given directly to
the Wisconsin campaign committee, is found to be in the
public interest.

Publication Date: February 3, 2005

Effective Date: February 3, 2005*

Expiration Date: July 3, 2005
Hearing Date: May 18, 2005

*  On February 9, 2005, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended this emergency rule.

Emergency Management
Rule adopted creating ch. WEM 7, relating to disaster

assistance for local governments.

Finding of Emergency
  The Wisconsin Division of Emergency Management finds

that an emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  A statement of facts constituting an emergency is as
follows:

1.  The 2005 Wis. Act 269 created the major disaster
assistance program under Wis. Stats. § 166.03 (2) (b) 9.  An
annual appropriation of $3,000,000 SEG A for fiscal years
2005−06 and 2006−07 was established under Wis. Stats. §
20.465 (3) (b) (s) from the petroleum inspection fund.  These
funds were provided to make payments to local units of
government for damages and costs incurred as a result of a
major catastrophe. This Act was made retroactive to January
1, 2005.

2. The Act requires the Wisconsin Department of Military
Affairs, through its Division of Emergency Management, to
promulgate rules to implement and establish the application
process and the criteria to determine eligibility under the
major disaster assistance program. The Division will
immediately begin the permanent rule−making process for
establishing administrative rules for these payments, but
cannot complete the required hearings and review of these
rules prior to the lapse of funds retained in the major disaster
assistance appropriation for fiscal year 2005−06.

3. To ensure that appropriated funds for fiscal year
2005−06 are timely paid to local governmental units for
damages and eligible costs incurred as a direct result of major
catastrophes, emergency administrative rules must be
established immediately.

Publication Date: June 8, 2006
Effective Date: June 8, 2006
Expiration Date: November 5, 2006

Health and Family Services

Rules were adopted revising chs. HFS 110 and 111,
relating to licensing emergency medical technicians and
affecting small businesses.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Health and Family Services finds that

an emergency exists and that the adoption of an emergency
rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public,
health, safety and welfare.

The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:
In Wisconsin there are approximately 430 ambulance

service providers.  Approximately 80% are volunteer (not for
profit) or owned by private for profit entities.  The remaining
20% are government owned.  A total of 129 ambulance
service providers and 2,812 licensed individuals in 48
counties currently provide emergency medical services at the
EMT−basic−IV (74) or EMT−provisional intermediate (55)
level to approximately 2.65 million Wisconsin residents.  The
provider industry estimates that these ambulance service
providers are losing approximately $1.5 million dollars in
reimbursement revenues annually due to the codification of
the EMT−basic IV services in ch. HFS 110 as basic life
support.  The loss is likely to increase when the provisional
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EMT−intermediate is renamed EMT−basic IV effective July
1, 2006, and an estimated 95% of the individuals who are
currently licensed and titled as provisional
EMT−intermediate will be renamed EMT−basic IV.
Ambulance service providers report that they cannot continue
to cover the costs of training and operating at the advanced life
support level of care while being reimbursed at the basic life
support level of care.  Consequently, the level of emergency
medical services provided in over half of the state’s 72
counties may be reduced or become non−existent unless
changes are implemented.

To maintain the level of emergency medical services that
are currently being provided and to avoid confusion about the
skills and level of care provided by the EMT−basic IV
licensee, the department in these emergency rules is changing
the name of the EMT−basic IV license to EMT−intermediate
technician and moving the licensing requirements to ch. HFS
111. These changes will allow ambulance service providers to
charge for both at the higher rate of reimbursement.  In
addition, these emergency rules will modify the continuing
education requirements under ch. HFS 110 to allow
ambulance service providers flexibility in providing refresher
training to EMT−basic licensees.  This change will reduce
financial and scheduling burdens on providers by allowing
them to use their training dollars more cost effectively.

Publication Date: July 1, 2006

Effective Date: July 1, 2006

Expiration Date: November 28, 2006
Hearing Dates: July 25, 26 and 27, 2006

[See Notice this Register]

Natural Resources (4)
(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—)

1. Rules were adopted amending ch. NR 25 relating to
commercial fishing for lake trout in Lake Superior.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Natural Resources finds that an

emergency exists and the foregoing rules are necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:
The waters of Lake Superior were not part of the extensive
off−reservation treaty rights litigation known as the Voigt
case.  The parties stipulated that the Lake Superior rights
would be dealt with, to the extent possible, by agreement
rather than litigation.  This rule represents the implementation
of the most recent negotiated amendments to the agreement
between the State and the Red Cliff and Bad River Bands.  In
order to comply with the terms of the agreement, the State
must change its quotas and commercial fishing regulations at
the earliest possible date.  Failure by the State to do so will not
only deprive state fishers of increased harvest opportunities
available under the agreement, but could also jeopardize the
agreement, putting the entire Lake Superior fishery at risk of
litigation.

Publication Date: December 15, 2005

Effective Date: December 15, 2005

Expiration Date: May 14, 2006
Hearing Date: January 13, 2006

Extension Through: September 10, 2006

2. Rules were adopted revising s. NR 10.25, relating to the
issuance of turkey hunting permits.

Plain Language Analysis
This rule change will allow the department to issue turkey

tags remaining after the initial permit drawing in accordance
with state statute, which is first−come, first−served.
Additionally, this rule updates code language to accurately
describe how permits are currently issued (by zone and by
time period) and establishes that no person may obtain more
than one turkey carcass tag per day.

Exemption from finding of emergency
2005 Wisconsin Act 25, allowed the department to utilize

the procedure under s. 227.24, Stats., to promulgate rules
implementing s. 29.164, Stats., for the period before the date
on which permanent rules take effect, but may not exceed the
period authorized under s. 227.24 (1) (c) and (2), Stats.
Notwithstanding s. 227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and (3), Stats., the
department is not required to provide evidence that
promulgating a rule under this subsection as an emergency
rule is necessary for the preservation of the public peace,
health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide a
finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under this
subsection.

Publication Date: February 13, 2006
Effective Date: March 1, 2006
Expiration Date: July 29, 2006
Hearing Date: April 10, 2006

3. Rules were adopted revising ch. NR 47, relating to the
forestry research and development grant program.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to
regulate and administer grant programs.  The State legislature
has delegated responsibility for rule−making to the
Department of Natural Resources.  Normal rule−making
procedures will not allow the establishment of the rules in
time to allocate funds during this fiscal year.  Failure to
establish rules during FY06 will result in lost opportunity for
Wisconsin interests to compete for federal grants that improve
the public health, public good and the environment through
the development of alternative renewable energy and
biochemical sources from forestry biomass.

Publication Date: March 16, 2006
Effective Date: March 16, 2006
Expiration Date: August 13, 2006
Hearing Date: April 24 & 26, 2006

4. Rules were adopted creating s. NR 45.04 (1) (g), relating
to regulation of firewood entering and exiting department
lands and affecting small businesses.

Finding of Emergency
It is important to have restrictions on out−of−state firewood

entering department lands in place this camping season due to
recent developments in efforts to eradicate and quarantine
emerald ash borer in the areas where it is currently
established.  In Michigan, Ohio, Indiana and Ontario,
eradication programs are being dramatically scaled back or
abandoned entirely for this summer.  A recent audit of
quarantine efforts in Michigan where emerald ash borer is
most abundant and widespread is critical and faults their
program for lax enforcement and poor education of the public
to the dangers of moving firewood.  Given this situation, a
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need for an external quarantine to protect Wisconsin forest
resources, industry, and community trees becomes obvious.
The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and
Consumer Protection has proposed an external quarantine on
host material of emerald ash borer and three other invasive
pests and diseases and our firewood regulation would help
support this effort, provide an opportunity for education of the
public and reduce one of the reasons people move firewood:
for use while camping.

Publication Date: March 27, 2006

Effective Date: April 1, 2006

Expiration Date: August 29, 2006
Hearing Date: July 5, 2006

Natural Resources (2)
(Environmental Protection − Water

Regulation, Chs. NR 300—)

1. Rules adopted revising ch. NR 326, relating to regulation
of piers, wharves, boat shelters, boat hoists, boat lifts and
swim rafts in navigable waterways.

Finding of emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public health, safety and welfare. The Wisconsin
Legislature recently enacted 2003 Wisconsin Act 118, to
streamline the regulatory process for activities in public trust
waters.  The state has an affirmative duty to administer the
new law in a manner consistent with the public trust
responsibilities of the State of Wisconsin under Article IX,
Section I of the Wisconsin Constitution.

2003 Act 118 identifies certain activities that may be
undertaken in public trust waters exempt from a permit, or
under a general permit. Certain activities may not be
undertaken in waters that are defined as “areas of special
natural resource interest” or at other locations where the
activity would cause detrimental impacts on public rights and
interests in navigable waters.  Without emergency rules to aid
in administering the new law, the following severe problems
will occur:

Until general permits are created by rule, any activity
which is not exempt requires an individual permit with an
automatic 30−day public notice.  The required 30−day
comment period will unnecessarily delay hundreds of
construction projects that otherwise could go ahead with
specified conditions for protecting lakes and streams (for
example, all new riprap and culvert applications currently
require public notices).

Unclear wording of exemptions currently puts property
owners, contractors and consultants at risk of violation.
Without clear procedures and standards established by
emergency rule, many more people may request exemption
determinations, slowing the decisions on individual permit
applications.

Wording of exemptions and temporary grading jurisdiction
puts lakes and streams at risk.  Without standards as intended
and described in the new law, exempted activities and grading
along shorelines will cause inadvertent but permanent
destruction of fish and wildlife habitat, loss of natural scenic
beauty and reduced water quality.  Rights of neighboring
property owners may also be harmed.  Cumulatively over one
or two construction seasons, these impacts will have

immediate and permanent effects on Wisconsin’s
water−based recreation and tourism industry.

To carry out the intention of the Legislature that 2003 Act
118 to speed decision−making but not diminish the public
trust in state waters, these emergency rules are required to
establish definitions, procedures and substantive standards
for exemptions, general permits and jurisdiction under the
new law.

Publication Date: April 19, 2004
Effective Date: April 19, 2004*
Expiration Date: September 16, 2004
Hearing Date: May 19, 2004

*On June 24, 2004, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended this emergency rule.

2. Rules adopted creating ss. NR 328.31 to 328.36, relating
to shore erosion control on rivers and streams.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public health, safety and welfare. The Wisconsin
Legislature enacted 2003 Wisconsin Act 118 to streamline the
regulatory process for activities in public trust waters.  The
state has an affirmative duty to administer the law in a manner
consistent with the public trust responsibilities of the State of
Wisconsin under Article IX, Section I of the Wisconsin
Constitution.

Act 118 identifies certain activities that may be undertaken
as exempt from a permit, or under a general permit.  There are
no statutory exemptions for shore protection on rivers and
streams.  Without emergency rules to create general permits,
all shore protection projects on rivers and streams require an
individual permit with an automatic 30−day public notice.
The required 30−day comment period will unnecessarily
delay projects that otherwise could go ahead with prescribed
conditions established in a general permit.  To carry out the
intention of Act 118 to speed decision−making but not
diminish the public trust in state waters, these emergency
rules are required to establish general permits to be in effect
for the 2006 construction season, with specific standards for
shore erosion control structures on rivers and streams.

Publication Date: May 5, 2006
Effective Date: May 8, 2006
Expiration Date: October 4, 2006
Hearing Date: June 13, 2006

Regulation and Licensing

Rules were adopted creating chs. RL 164 and 165, relating
to a code of conduct and renewal requirements for substance
abuse professionals.

Plain language analysis
The purpose of this emergency rule is to create a code of

conduct to facilitate assumption of disciplinary proceedings
as part of the transfer of the regulation of substance abuse
professionals from the Department of Health and Family
Services to the Department of Regulation and Licensing.  The
emergency rule also sets forth the requirements for renewal.

The Department of Regulation and Licensing must
promulgate this emergency rule for the period before the
effective date of the permanent rules as promulgated under
Wis. Stats. s. 440.88 (3).  Under the previous regulatory
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scheme, the Department of Health and Family Services and
the Wisconsin Certification Board had established a code of
conduct and restrictions on late renewals.  This emergency
rule continues the applicability of the rules until the
department, with the advice of the Advisory Committee, can
establish permanent rules.

Exemption from finding of emergency
Section 9140 (1q) of 2005 Wisconsin Act 25 states in part:

“Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and (3) of the
statutes, the department is not required to provide evidence
that promulgating a rule under this subsection as an
emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of the public
peace, health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under this
subsection.”

Publication Date: April 15, 2006

Effective Date: April 15, 2006
Expiration Date: September 12, 2006
Hearing Date: June 27, 2006

Transportation

Rules adopted creating ch. Trans 515, relating to
contractual service procurement.

Exemption from finding of emergency
The Legislature, by Section 8 of 2005 Wis. Act 89,

provides an exemption from a finding of emergency for the
adoption of the rule.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Transportation
The proposed rule requires a cost benefit analysis before

procuring engineering or other specialized services under s.
84.01 (13), Stats., in excess of $25,000 when those services
are normally performed by state employees. The required
analysis includes a comparison between the costs of
contracting out and performing the services with state
employees.  The analysis also considers other subjective
factors such as timeliness, quality and technical expertise.

Publication Date: July 1, 2006
Effective Date: July 1, 2006
Expiration Date: November 28, 2006
Hearing Date: August 8, 2006

Workforce Development
(Labor Standards, Chs. DWD 270−279)

Rules adopted revising ss. DWD 274.015 and 274.03 and
creating s. DWD 274.035, relating to overtime pay for
employees performing companionship services.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

On January 21, 2004, pursuant to s. 227.26(2)(b), Stats., the
Joint Committee for Review of Administrative Rules directed
the Department of Workforce Development to promulgate an
emergency rule regarding their overtime policy for
nonmedical home care companion employees of an agency as
part of ch. DWD 274.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce
Development

Statutory authority:  Sections 103.005, 103.02, and 227.11,
Stats.

Statutes interpreted: Sections 103.01 and 103.02, Stats.
Section 103.02, Stats., provides that “no person may be

employed or be permitted to work in any place of employment
or at any employment for such period of time during any day,
night or week, as is prejudicial to the person’s life, health,
safety or welfare.” Section 103.01 (3), Stats., defines “place
of employment” as “any manufactory, mechanical or
mercantile establishment, beauty parlor, laundry, restaurant,
confectionary store, or telegraph or telecommunications
office or exchange, or any express or transportation
establishment or any hotel.”

Chapter DWD 274 governs hours of work and overtime.
Section DWD 274.015, the applicability section of the
chapter, incorporates the statutory definition of “place of
employment” and limits coverage of the chapter to the places
of employment delineated in s. 103.01 (3), Stats., and various
governmental bodies. Section DWD 274.015 also provides
that the chapter does not apply to employees employed in
domestic service in a household by a household.

Section 103.02, Stats., directs that the “department shall,
by rule, classify such periods of time into periods to be paid
for at the rate of at least one and one−half times the regular
rates.” Under s. DWD 274.03, “each employer subject to this
chapter shall pay to each employee time and one−half the
regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours
per week.” Section DWD 274.04 lists 15 types of employees
who are exempt from this general rule and s. DWD 274.08
provides that the section is inapplicable to public employees.

Nonmedical home care companion employees who are
employed by a third−party, commercial agency are covered
by the overtime provision in s. DWD 274.03. Section DWD
274.03 applies to all employees who are subject to the chapter
and not exempt under ss. DWD 274.04 or 274.08. The chapter
applies to companion employees of a commercial agency
because under s. DWD 274.015 a commercial agency is
considered a mercantile establishment. Section DWD 270.01
(5) defines a mercantile establishment as a commercial,
for−profit business. The chapter does not apply to companion
employees of a nonprofit agency or a private household. In
addition, none of the exemptions to the overtime section in ss.
DWD 274.04 or 274.08 apply to companion employees of a
commercial agency.

The Joint Committee for the Review of Administrative
Rules has directed DWD to promulgate an emergency rule
regarding the overtime policy for nonmedical home care
companion employees of an agency. This provision is created
at s. DWD 274.035 to say that employees who are employed
by a mercantile establishment to perform companionship
services shall be subject to the overtime pay requirement in s.
DWD 274.03. “Companionship services” is defined as those
services which provide fellowship, care, and protection for a
person who because of advanced age, physical infirmity, or
mental infirmity cannot care for his or her own needs. Such
services may include general household work and work
related to the care of the aged or infirm person such as meal
preparation, bed making, washing of clothes, and other
similar services. The term “companionship services” does not
include services relating to the care and protection of the aged
or infirm person that require and are performed by trained
personnel, such as registered or practical nurses.

This order also repeals and recreates the applicability of the
chapter section and the overtime section to write these rules
in a clearer format. There is no substantive change in these
sections.
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Publication Date: March 1, 2004
Effective Date: March 1, 2004*
Expiration Date: July 29, 2004

*  On April 28, 2004, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended s. DWD 274.035 created as
an emergency rule.
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Scope statements

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Subject

Rules affect ch. ATCP 70, relating to food processing
plants.

Objective of the rule.  This rule will update current food
processing plant rules under ch. ATCP 70.  This rule will
include food safety enhancements, and adapt current rules to
recent changes in food processing technology and practices.
This rule will not change current license fees for food
processing plants.

Policy Analysis

Wisconsin’s current food processing rules are outdated in
various respects, based on changes in food science,
technology and processing practices.  This rule will update
current rules to accommodate food safety advances, and
changes in the food processing industry.  Rules may include
standards for the construction and maintenance of facilities;
the design, installation, cleaning and maintenance of
equipment and utensils; personnel sanitation; food handling
and storage; sanitary production and processing; and food
sources and food labeling.

Policy Alternatives

DATCP is responsible for regulating food processing
plants to ensure a safe and wholesome food supply.
Regulation must keep pace with changing food science, and
with changing technology and food processing practices.
DATCP will consult with the food processing industry in the
development of this rule.

If DATCP does nothing, current rules will remain in effect.
Current rules are outdated in a number of respects, and will
become increasingly outdated in relation to actual food safety,
production, processing, and packaging practices currently
used by Wisconsin food processing plants.

Statutory authority

Sections 93.07 (1) and 97.29 (5), Stats.

Staff time required

DATCP estimates that it will use approximately 0.5 FTE
staff to develop this rule.  This includes time required for
analysis, rule drafting, preparing related documents, holding
public hearings and communicating with affected persons and
groups.  DATCP will use existing staff to develop this rule.

Entities affected by the rule

Licensed Wisconsin food processing plants will be
affected.

Comparison with federal regulations

The United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
administers federal food safety laws.  However, most
regulation and inspection of food processing plants occurs at
the state level.  Current federal law does not preempt state law.
DATCP works cooperatively with FDA, and designs state
regulation to be reasonably consistent with federal law.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
Subject

Rules affect ch. ATCP 106, relating to price gouging during
an emergency.

Objective of the rule.  Adopt rules to implement newly
enacted “price gouging” legislation, as mandated by the
Legislature in 2005 Wis. Act 450.
Policy Analysis

Section 100.305, Stats., created by 2005 Wisconsin Act
450, prohibits a sellers from selling “consumer goods or
services” at wholesale or retail at “unreasonably excessive
prices” if the Governor, by executive order, has certified that
the state or a part of the state is in a “period of abnormal
economic disruption” due to an emergency.  An emergency
may include, for example, a destructive act of nature, a
disruption of energy supplies that poses a serious risk to the
public health or welfare, a hostile action, or a strike or civil
disorder.

The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection (“DATCP”) must adopt rules to implement the
“price gouging” legislation.  DATCP is specifically required
to adopt rules to determine when prices are considered
“unreasonably excessive.”
Policy Alternatives

The Legislature has directed DATCP to adopt rules.
DATCP has no alternative, but to do so.  DATCP has not yet
determined the content of the rules.
Statutory authority

Sections 93.07 (1) and 100.305 (3), Stats.
Staff time required

DATCP estimates that it will use approximately 1.0  FTE
staff time to develop this rule.  This includes research,
drafting, preparing related documents, holding public
hearings, coordinating advisory council discussions and
communicating with affected persons and groups.  DATCP
will assign existing staff to develop this rule.
Entities affected by the rule

Depending on the scope of a declared emergency, this rule
could conceivably affect nearly every wholesaler and retailer
of consumer goods in the state.  A declared emergency may
be statewide or localized in scope, and may broad−based or
confined to certain economic sectors.  The impact of this rule
will vary accordingly.

Whenever it applies in an emergency, this rule will limit the
prices that may be charged by affected wholesalers and
retailers.  This rule will prohibit prices that are “unreasonably
excessive,” as determined by this rule.  DATCP has not yet
determined what rule criteria will be used to identify prices
that are “unreasonably excessive,” but DATCP does not
anticipate that this rule will prevent sellers from maintaining
their normal markup on consumer goods and services.

The rule may benefit consumers by preventing egregious
price gouging during periods of abnormal economic
disruption caused by an emergency.  DATCP will attempt to
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develop rules that prevent egregious price gouging without
aggravating market disruption.

Comparison with federal regulations

There are no federal “price gouging” prohibitions currently
in effect.  However, there are federal laws that set or limit
prices for certain products or services in certain sectors.  Some
of these laws may preempt state “price gouging” provisions
related to the federally−regulated products or services.  For
example, state law may not regulate interest rates charged by
federally chartered banks, or certain prices charged by certain
federally regulated common carriers.  The scope and effect of
federal regulation varies by industry sector, and is highly
specific to individual federal programs.

Commerce

Subject

The rules affect chs. Comm 2, 5, 18, 20, 21, 61 and 62,
relating to conveyance systems.

Objective of the rule.  The objectives of this rule project, to
be incorporated into one or more rule packages, are to
implement the mandates of 2005 Wisconsin Act 456 which
increases the Department’s regulatory oversight with respect
to the installation, maintenance, inspection and testing of
conveyance systems, such as elevators, escalators and
platform lifts.

Policy Analysis

Existing policies. The Department currently administers
and enforces minimum standards for the design, installation
and maintenance of conveyance systems such as elevators,
escalators and lifts, in public buildings and places of
employment under chapter Comm 18, Elevators, Escalators
and Lift Devices.  This code adopts and references the 2000
edition of the ASME A17.1, Safety Code for Elevators and
Escalators, and the 2001 edition of the ASME A18.1a, Safety
Standard for Platform Lifts and Stairway Chairlifts.  Under
the code, the Department utilizes a number of compliance
strategies, including the review of plans for the installation of
new elevators and escalators, acceptance inspection of new
conveyance systems, periodic inspection of existing
conveyance systems and the issuance of permits to operate.

New policies. The rule project will reflect the new statutory
mandates to:
� Establish a licensing program for elevator contractors and

mechanics.
� Requiring that a person engaged in the business of

constructing, installing, altering, servicing or
maintaining conveyances must be licensed.

� Requiring that a person erecting, constructing,
altering, replacing, maintaining, repairing, removing
or dismantling must be licensed or under the
supervision of a licensed individual.

� Expand the operating permit program to include elevators
and lifts within individual residences.

� Expand the plan review and inspection program to include
elevators and lifts with individual residences.

� Establish that the department standards for the design,
installation and maintenance of conveyance systems are
uniform with respect to application.

� Incorporate and reference the latest national standards for
the design, installation and maintenance of conveyance
systems, including standards for residential conveyance
systems.

Statutory authority
Chapter 101, Subchapter VII as created by 2005 Wisconsin

Act 456.
Staff time required

The department estimates that it will take approximately
700 hours to develop this rule.  The time includes reviewing
the current codes and related national standards, working with
the statutory advisory council, then drafting the rules and
processing the rules through public hearings, legislative
review and adoption.  The department will assign existing
staff to perform the review and develop the rule changes.
There are no other resources necessary to develop the rule.
Entities affected by the rule

The rule will affect any entity that is involved in the design,
installation, alteration and maintenance of conveyance
systems, elevators, escalators and lifts.  The rule will also
affect owners of buildings with new and existing conveyance
systems, elevators, escalators and lifts.
Comparison with federal regulations

An internet−based search of the Code of Federal
Regulations (CFR) did not find any federal regulations
relating to the activities to be regulated under the rule.

Natural Resources
Subject

Chapter NR 25: Commercial fishing − outlying waters.
Policy Analysis

Objective of the rule.  If the yellow perch recovery
continues in Green Bay or Lake Michigan, we can expect to
be pressured to increase commercial quotas in Green Bay or
to re−open commercial fishing for yellow perch in Lake
Michigan.  Changes in yellow perch commercial harvest
limits are typically controversial, with sport and commercial
fishers often holding very different views of what should be
done.  The intent of this rule−making is to implement a system
that would have harvest limits rise and fall as functions of
objective measures of fish abundance, so that as yellow perch
recovery continues adjustments to harvest limits will occur
automatically.   If abundance falls again at some time in the
future, the commercial harvests would automatically be
reduced.  Sport and commercial fishers on Green Bay and
Lake Michigan would be interested in this issue.  It could be
somewhat controversial.
Statutory authority

Sections 29.041, 29.014 (1), 29.519 (1) (b), and 227.11 (2)
(a), Stats.
Staff time required

One month FTE (combined effort by the Great Lakes
Fisheries Specialist, a staff attorney, several field biologists,
and wardens).
Entities affected by the rule

The interests of both commercial and sport fishers will be
affected.  In the past this issue has been controversial at times.
Comparison with federal regulations

None.
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Public Service Commission

Subject

Objective of the rule.  This rulemaking will consider
whether it may be appropriate to revise the rule regarding the
standards and processes under which the Commission
authorizes changes in retail rates required by changes in fuel
costs electric public utilities incur to supply electricity to
customers.

Policy Analysis

The Commission determines the amount Wisconsin
electric public utilities may charge customers in periodic rate
case proceedings.  These proceedings include finding
reasonable forecasts of the utility’s sales, demand, revenues,
and expenses for a representative test year when the new rates
will be in effect.  For most costs predicted for a test year, no
significant difference exists between the forecasted and actual
realized amounts.  However, the volatile nature of the cost of
fuel for generation often causes significant increases or
decreases in the forecasted cost of fuel.  These shifts in the cost
of fuel may cause utility rates to become unjust and
unreasonable, requiring a rate change.  As early as the 1920s
states allowed “escalator clauses,” an automatic rate
adjustment mechanism contained in a utility’s tariff that
allows for changes in rates based on a pre−approved formula
triggered by a change in the cost of a specific input, like the
cost of coal to fuel electric generation.  More than 25 years ago
the Wisconsin Legislature enacted Wis. Stats. s. 196.20 (4)
prohibiting use of automatic adjustment clauses by large
investor−owned electric public utilities.  Instead, the statute
authorized the Commission to approve, after a hearing, a rate
increase for these utilities to allow for the recovery of costs
caused by an emergency or extraordinary increase in the cost
of fuel.

Wis. Admin. Code ch. PSC 116 implements Wis. Stats. s.

196.20 (4) under which the Commission may approve an
increase or decrease in the rates of an electric public utility, as
a result of an extraordinary or emergency change in the cost
of fuel.  The current rule reflects an update in 2002.  Since
2002, events such as the implementation of Midwest
Independent Transmission System Operator–Day 2 Market,
increased demand on some fuels, increased transportation
costs of some fuels, and the effects of hurricanes on the
availability of some fuels, have increased the volatility of fuel
costs.

This rule change will allow the department to issue turkey
tags remaining after the initial drawing in accordance with
state statute, which is first−come, first−served. Additionally,
this rule updates code language to accurately describe how
permits are currently issued (by zone and by time period) and
establishes that no person may obtain more than one turkey
carcass tag per day.
Comparison with federal regulations

The Commission is unaware of any federal regulation in
this area.
Statutory authority

Wis. Stats. ss. 196.02 (3), 196.20, and 196.37.
Staff time required

The Commission estimates that approximately 500 hours
of Commission staff time will be required in this rulemaking.
Other resources necessary to develop rule

Commission staff may meet and consult with utility
representatives, customers and their representatives and
members of the general public during the course of this
rulemaking.
Entities affected by the rule

The rulemaking will affect electric public utilities as
defined by Wis. Stats. s. 196.20 (4) (a) 2., and their customers.



Page 15Mid−July 2006 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 607

Submittal of rules to legislative council clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Administration

On June 30, 2006, the Department of Administration
submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.

Analysis
Statutory Authority:  ss. 16.004 (1) and 227.11, Stats.
Statute Interpreted:    s. 16.967 (3) and (7), Stats.

The proposed rule changes reflect recent statutory changes
which include the sunset of the Wisconsin Land Information
Board.  The Department proposes to amend the rule to reflect
the department’s role in the land information programs’
administration and to increase eligibility for grants to county
land information offices.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing will be held on August 2, 2006.
Contact Person

If you have questions regarding the proposed rule,
please contact:

Mike Friis
Department of Administration
Telephone: (608) 267−7982
E−Mail:  michael.friis@wisconsin.gov

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

On June 29, 2006, the Department of Agriculture, Trade
and Consumer Protection submitted a proposed rule to the
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rule affects ch. ATCP 156, relating to seed

potato certification and grading.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

Public hearings will be held.  The Division of Trade and
Consumer Protection is primarily responsible for the rule.

Contact Person
Kevin LeRoy at (608) 224−4928

Health and Family Services

On June 21, 2006, the Department of Health and Family
Services submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The department proposes to change the name of the

EMT−basic IV license to EMT−intermediate technician
and move the licensing requirements to ch. HFS 111.  The
department also proposes to modify the continuing
education requirements under ch. HFS 110.

Federal statutes or regulations which require adoption of
or are relevant to the substance of proposed rules:  The

department knows of no existing or proposed federal
regulations that address these levels of providers.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
Public hearings will be held as follows:
July 25, 2006: 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM at the Department of

Health & Family Services, 1 W. Wilson St., Rm. B139
Madison, WI; July 26, 2006: 6:00 PM to 8:00 PM at the
Business Education Center,

Chippewa Valley Technical College, Room 100A (RCU
Community Room), 620 West Clairemont Avenue, Eau
Claire, WI; July 27, 2006: 6:00 PM to 8:00 PM, Northwest
Technical College

Business Center, Room 213, 2740 West Mason Street,
Green Bay, WI.

Contact Person
For substantive questions on rules contact:
Dan Williams
Department of Health and Family Services
Division of Public Health − Emergency Medical Services
1 West Wilson Street Room 118
P.O. Box 2659
Madison, WI 53701−2659
608−261−6870
willidp@dhfs.state.wi.us

For small business considerations contact:
Rosie Greer
608−266−1279
greerrj@dhfs.state.wi.us

For rules processing information contact:
Rosie Greer
608−266−1279
greerrj@dhfs.state.wi.us

Health and Family Services
On June 22, 2006, the Department of Health and Family

Services submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The department proposes to create ch. HFS 137 to

prescribe by rule forms for use by physicians, technicians,
and tissue bank employees when removing organs and
tissue, other than cardiovascular tissue from decedents.

Federal statutes or regulations which require adoption of
or are relevant to the substance of proposed rules: There is
no known existing or proposed federal regulation that is
comparable to the proposed rules.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
Public hearings:  The proposed rules only prescribe

forms.  No public hearings will be held pursuant to s.
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227.23, Stats.  The department will, however, accept
comments on the proposed rules until August 11, 2006.

Contact Persons
For substantive questions and comments on rules

contact:
Martha Mallon
Bureau of Environmental and Occupational Health
1 West Wilson Street
P. O. Box 7851
Madison, WI  53707−7851
(608) 261−6854 or, if you are hearing impaired, (608)

261−9314 (TTY)
malloma@dhfs.state.wi.us

For small business considerations contact:
Rosie Greer
608−266−1279
greerrj@dhfs.state.wi.us
For rules processing information contact:
Rosie Greer
608−266−1279
greerrj@dhfs.state.wi.us

Health and Family Services

To repeal ss. HFS 61.91 to 61.98 and create ch. HFS 35,
and to modify ss. HFS 105.22 and 107.13 (Medicaid rules)
relating to certification of outpatient mental health clinics,
and affecting small businesses.

Federal statutes or regulations which require adoption of
or are relevant to the substance of proposed rules:  42 CFR
440.130 permits use of Medicaid funds to provide
diagnostic, screening, preventive, and rehabilitative
services, including any medical or remedial services
recommended by a physician or other licensed practitioner
of the healing arts, within the scope of his practice under
state law, for maximum reduction of physical or mental
disability and restoration of a recipient to his best possible
functional level.  There are no other known proposed or
existing federal regulations pertinent to outpatient mental
health clinics.

Court decisions directly relevant to the proposed rule:
None known.

Public hearings:
Date and Time

Tuesday, August 1, 2006 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. &
1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Thursday, August 3, 2006 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. &
1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Location
Mendota Mental Health Institute− Conference Center
301 Troy Drive, Madison, WI

North Central Health Care Facilities− Lakeview Center
1000 Lakeview Drive, Wausau, WI

Waukesha Regional Office, Room 151
141 NW Barstow St. Waukesha, WI

Names and phone numbers of agency contacts:
For substantive questions on rules contact:
Dan Zimmerman
Bureau of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services
1 W. Wilson Street, Room 455
Madison, WI  53707−7851
608−266−7072
zimmeds@dhfs.state.wi.us

For small business considerations and rules
processing information contact:

Rosie Greer
608−266−1279
greerrj@dhfs.state.wi.us

Health and Family Services

Subject:  Training programs for child protective services
caseworkers and supervisors.

Federal statutes or regulations which require adoption of
or are relevant to the substance of proposed rules:

The Department knows of no comparable federal
regulations.

Court decisions directly relevant to the proposed rule:
None known.

Public hearings:  A public hearing will be held from
10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. on August 1, 2006, at Southern
Child Welfare Partnership Training Center, 455 Science
Drive, Suite 110, Madison, WI; DHFS Regional Office,
1853 North Stevens Rhinelander, WI 54501 (by video
conferencing); University of Wisconsin−Green Bay
MAC137, 2420 Nicolet Drive, Green Bay, WI (by video
conferencing).

Names and phone numbers of agency contacts:
For substantive questions on rules contact:
Christopher Sieck
Statewide Training Coordinator
Division of Children and Family Services
DHFS/DCFS
P.O. Box 8916
Madison, Wisconsin 53708−8916
(608) 266−5668
crsieck@wisc.edu

For small business considerations contact:
Rosie Greer
608−266−1279
greerrj@dhfs.state.wi.us

For rules processing information contact:
Rosie Greer
608−266−1279
greerrj@dhfs.state.wi.us

Health and Family Services

On June 28, 2006, the Department of Health and Family
Services submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
To repeal and recreate ch. HFS 172, relating to pools and

water attractions and affecting small businesses.
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Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing will be held at 10:00 a.m. on August 9,

2006, at the Department of Health and Family Services, 1
West Wilson St., Rm. B139, Madison, WI and at 10:00 a.m.
on August 10, 2006 at Marathon County Health
Department, 1200 Lake View Drive, Room 200, Wausau,
WI.

Contact Persons
For substantive questions on rules contact:
Tracynda Davis
Program Manager
Swimming Pools and Water Attractions
Food Safety & Recreational Licensing
Wisconsin Division of Public Health
608−266−8294
davistl@dhfs.state.wi.us

For small business considerations contact:
Rosie Greer
608−266−1279
greerrj@dhfs.state.wi.us

For rules processing information contact:
Rosie Greer
608−266−1279
greerrj@dhfs.state.wi.us

Insurance

On June 30, 2006, the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
These changes will affect ss. Ins 9.01 (5), (9m), (10m)

and (13), 9.20  (intro), 9.25 (4), 9.32 (2) (a) and (f), 9.41 and
9.42 (1) and (5) (a), Wis. Adm. Code, relating to defined
network plans, preferred provider plans, limited service
health organizations and limited scope plans and affecting
small business.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
The date for the public hearing is August 2, 2006.

Contact Person
A copy of the proposed rule may be obtained from the

WEB site at:  http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm
or by contacting Inger Williams, Services Section,

Office of the Commissioner of Insurance, at (608)
264−8110. For additional information, please contact Julie
Walsh at (608) 264−8101 or e−mail at
Julie.Walsh@oci.state.wi.us in the OCI Legal Unit.

Natural Resources

On June 15, 2006, the Department of Natural Resources
submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rule−making order relates to the 2006

migratory game bird seasons and waterfowl hunting zones.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

Public hearings are required and will be held on August
7, 8, 9 and 10, 2006.

Contact Person
Kent Van Horn
Bureau of Wildlife Management
(608) 266−8841

Natural Resources

On June 23, 2006, the Department of Natural Resources
submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rule−making order relates to construction

permit waiver requests from air contaminant sources.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

Public hearings are required and will be held on August
7 and 8, 2006.

Contact Person
Joe Brehm
Bureau of air Management
(608) 267−7541

Transportation

On June 22, 2006, the Department of Transportation
submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.

Analysis
Statutory Authority:  ss. 227.14 (4m), Stats.
The proposed rule−making order relates to contractual

service procurement.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on August
8, 2006.

The organizational unit responsible for promulgation of
the proposed rule: Division of Transportation System
Development, Bureau of State Highway Programs.

Contact Person
Julie A. Johnson, Paralegal
(608) 266−8810

Transportation

On June 29, 2006, the Department of Transportation
submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rule affects ch. Trans 102, relating to

operator’s licenses and identification cards.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is scheduled for August 3, 2006.  The
Division of Motor Vehicles, Bureau of Driver Services, is
responsible for promulgation of the rule.
Contact Persons

Julie A. Johnson, Paralegal
(608) 266−8810

University of Wisconsin System

On June 23, 2006, the Board of Regents of the
University of Wisconsin System submitted a proposed rule
to the Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.
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Analysis
The proposed rule creates ch. UWS 7, and amends ch.

UWS 11, relating to dismissal of faculty and academic staff
who have engaged in serious criminal misconduct.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing on the proposed rule is required and

will be held on August 2, 2006 at 9:00 a.m. in Room 1820
Van Hise Hall, 1220 Linden Drive, Madison, Wisconsin.

The UW System Office of General Counsel is primarily
responsible for preparing this proposed rule.

Contact Person
Christopher Ashley
(608) 262−3662
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Rule−making notices

Notice of Hearing
Administration

[CR 06−084]
Notice is hereby given that pursuant to ss.  16.004 (1) and

227.11 (2) (a), interpreting ss. 16.967 (3) and (7), Stats., the
Department of Administration will hold a public hearing on
a proposed rule order amending ch. Adm 47 relating to the
administration of the Wisconsin Land Information Program.

Hearing Information
Date: August 2, 2006
Time: 3:30 P.M.
Location: WI Dept. of Administration Building

101 East Wilson Street, Room 4B
Madison, WI  53702

Interested persons are invited to present information at the
hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are also urged to submit facts, opinions and arguments in
writing as well.  Written comments from persons unable to
attend the public hearing, or who wish to supplement
testimony offered at the hearing, should be directed to:  Donna
Sorenson, Department of Administration, P.O. Box 7864,
Madison, WI  53707−7864.  Written comments must be
received by August 11, 2006, to be included in the record of
rule−making proceedings.

Proposed order of the Department of Administration
The Wisconsin Department of Administration proposes an

order to repeal s. Adm 47.02 (2), to renumber s. Adm 47.02(3)
through (11) and to amend ss. Adm 47.02 (2), 47.03 (intro.),
47.04 (intro.), (2) and (4), 47.05, 47.06 (intro.) and (2) and
47.07, relating to the administration of the Wisconsin Land
Information Program.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Administration
Statutory authority: s. 16.004 (1) and 227.11, Stats.
Statutes interpreted: ss. 16.967 (3) and (7), Stats.
Explanation of agency authority:  Pursuant to s. 16.967,

Stats., the Wisconsin Department of Administration is
responsible for the administration of the Wisconsin Land
Information Program.

Related Statute or Rule:  None.
Plain language analysis of Proposed Amendments
The department proposes to amend Chapter Adm 47 to

reflect the department’s role in the land information
program’s administration and increase eligibility for grants to
county land information offices.

Proposed revisions to ss. Adm 47.03, 47.04, 47.05, 47.06
and 47.07, would eliminate reference to the Land Information
Board which was eliminated in the 2005−07 state budget and
identify the department as the administrator of the land
information grant program.

Proposed revisions to s. 47.04 would change the eligibility
requirement for base budget funding awards to counties. The
proposed amendment to s. Adm 47.02 increases the maximum
level of recording fees a county may retain and be eligible for
a base budget award to $50,000 from $35,000.  This change
is among the recommendations from the August 2004 Report

to the Legislature by the Wisconsin Land Information Board
and Land Information Council that also recommended the
sunset of those bodies.

Note:  Complaint forms are available from the Department
of Regulation and Licensing, Division of Enforcement, 1400
East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:
http://drl.wi.gov.

None.
Comparison of Similar Rules in Adjacent States
The department’s Land Information Program is unique to

the region, as many adjacent states are in preliminary stages
of creating such partnerships with their counties.  Despite the
lack of structured programs to support the development of
land information at a county−wide level, a few states may
provide competition−based grants, basic funds for training, or
technology licenses.  In most instances counties are expected
to support and maintain existing land information programs
through local funding.

Data Used To Support Rule
The current rule’s revisions were codified in 2002. These

proposed rule changes reflect changes in state statute that
includes the sunset of the Wisconsin Land Information Board.
The changes are also based on the August 2004 report to the
Governor and Legislature on “An Evaluation of Functions,
Activities and Future Directions” prepared by the Land
Information Board and Wisconsin Land Council.  That
consensus document addressed the continuation of the
functions of the land information program, now administered
by the department, assigned additional duties to the State
Cartographer’s office at the University of Wisconsin, and
recommended increasing eligibility for Base Budget land
information awards to county land information offices.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The department does not foresee any significant impact on

small business.

Fiscal Estimate
Estimated fiscal effect on state operations:  The

Department currently administers approximately 18 Base
Budget grants.  Because systems and procedures are already
in place to manage these grants, increasing eligibility for
additional counties will have a minimal affect on state
operations.

Estimated fiscal effect on local governments:  Increasing
eligibility for counties to receive base budget grants will allow
additional counties to be eligible for these grants. Those funds
would provide for capacity building to those counties with
fewer resources and assist in the development of a
comprehensive and integrated state wide system of
geographic information.

Estimated fiscal effect on private entities:  None.
Contact Person:
Mike Friis
Department of Administration
(608) 267−7982 (telephone)
michael.friis@wisconsin.gov
Text of Rule:
Section 1. Adm 47.02 (2) is repealed.
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Section 2. Adm 47.02(3) through (11) are renumbered
Adm 47.02(2) through (10), and Adm 47.02(2), as
renumbered, is amended to read:

(2) “County−wide plan for land records modernization”
means the plan under s. 59.72 (3) (b), Stats., approved by the
board department under s. 16.967 (3) (e), Stats.

Section 3:  Adm 47.03 (intro.) is amended to read:

Adm 47.03 Eligible projects and activities.  A county may
apply to the board department for a grant for any of the
following projects:

Section 4. Adm 47.04 (intro.) is amended to read:

Adm 47.04 Grants. Subject to availability of funds, the
board department shall determine annual grant amounts for
eligible projects under s. Adm 47.03, by October 15, of each
year. A grant may not exceed $100,000. The board
department may award more than one grant to a county board
as provided by s. 16.967 (7) (b), Stats. Any funds not granted
in any given year shall remain available for general
distribution to eligible local units of government, at the
discretion of the board department in future grant cycles.  In
carrying out its duties under this section, the department may
seek advice and assistance from state agencies, local
governmental units, and other experts involved in collecting
and managing land information. The board department may
provide the following grant categories:

Section 5:  Adm 47.04(2) is amended to read:

(2) Land information system base budget grants for eligible
projects and activities provided in s. Adm 47.03 (1) through
(5), shall be available to provide a minimum funding level to
enable a county land information office to develop, maintain
and operate a basic land information system.  To be eligible
for this category, the fees that a county retained under the
provisions of s. 59.72 (5) (b), Stats., shall be less than $35,000
$50,000 for the preceding fiscal year.

Section 6:  Adm 47.04 (4) is amended to read:

(4)  Strategic initiative grants for eligible projects and
activities as provided in s. Adm 47.03 (1) through (5), for
expediting and fostering statewide and regional strategic
initiatives consistent with specific statutory requirements and
standards adopted by the board department.

Note: The Wisconsin Land Information program statutes
and the standards adopted by the Board Department may be
obtained from the Department’s Land Information Program
Office at 17 South Fairchild Street, P.O. Box 8944, Madison,
Wisconsin or at the following website:
www.doa.state.wi.us/olis
http://www.doa.state.wi.us/dir/index.asp.

Section 7:  Adm 47.05 is amended to read:

Adm 47.05 Grant application. All applications shall be
submitted on the authority of the county board on behalf of an
eligible applicant.  Application authority shall be obtained by
specific action of the county board.  The board department
may request evidence of such authority.  County boards may
delegate their authority to apply for grants to the entity
responsible for administration of the county land information
office established under s. 59.72 (3), Stats. Any such
delegation shall be explicit.  All applications shall be fully
completed and submitted on forms provided by the
department before the deadline established by the board
department.  Applications shall be executed under the
authority of both the county or delegated authority and the
eligible applicant. The department shall give notice of
application periods to county land information offices at least
90 days prior to the deadline for submission of applications.

Note: Grant Applications can be obtained by calling or
writing the Wisconsin Land Information Program,
Department of Administration, P. O. Box 1645 8944,
Madison, WI 53701–1645 53708−8944 (telephone
608/267–2707 3369). The application may also be viewed
and printed at the following website:
www.doa.state.wi.us/olis
http://www.doa.state.wi.us/dir/index.asp.

Section 8:  Adm 47.06(intro.) is amended to read:
Adm 47.06 Evaluation criteria. Grant requests shall be

reviewed and evaluated by department staff for board
department approval. All grant applications shall be
evaluated on the applicant’s responsiveness to the following
requirements:

Section 9:  Adm 47.06(2) is amended to read:
(2) Projects shall meet or exceed all relevant statutory

requirements and standards established by the board
department under s. 16.967 (3)

Section 10.  Adm 47.07 is amended to read:
Adm 47.07 Grant agreements. Grants are contingent upon

the execution of a grant agreement.  Failure of a grantee to
execute a grant agreement shall result in withdrawal of the
offer. The board, the department, and the grantee may
negotiate the specific budget items, project goals, and other
terms and conditions prior to the board department approving
the grant.  Terms of a grant award shall be administered
through the grant agreement.

Notice of Hearing
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

[CR 06−085]
The state of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade

and Consumer Protection (DATCP) announces that it will
hold public hearings on a proposed repeal and recreation of
chapter ATCP 156, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to Seed Potato
Certification and Grading.

DATCP will hold three public hearings at the times and
places shown below.  DATCP invites the public to attend the
hearings and comment on the proposed rule.  Following the
public hearings, the hearing record will remain open until
Thursday, August 31, 2006 for additional written comments.
Comments may be sent to the Division of Trade and
Consumer Protection at the address below, by email to
kevin.leroy@datcp.state.wi.us or online at https://apps4.
dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home

Copy of rule
You may obtain a free copy of this rule by contacting the

Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection, Division of Trade and Consumer Protection, 2811
Agriculture Drive, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708.  You
may also obtain a copy by calling (608) 224−4928 or emailing
kevin.leroy@datcp.state.wi.us.  Copies will also be available
at the hearings.  To view the proposed rule online, go to:

https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home

Written comments
To provide comments or concerns relating to small

business, please contact DATCP’s small business regulatory
coordinator Keeley Moll at the address above, by emailing to
Keeley.Moll@datcp.state.wi.us or by telephone at (608)
224−5039.

Hearing impaired persons may request an interpreter for
these hearings.  Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by July 31, 2006, by writing to Kevin LeRoy,
Division of Trade and Consumer Protection, P.O. Box 8911,
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Madison, WI 53708−8911, telephone (608) 224−4584.
Alternatively, you may contact the DATCP TDD at (608)
224−5058.  Handicap access is available at the hearings.

Hearing Dates and Locations

Monday, August 7, 2006
1:00 p.m. until 3:00 p.m.
Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
Board Room (CR−106)
2811 Agriculture Drive
Madison, Wisconsin, 53718−6777

Wednesday, August 9, 2006
10:00 a.m. until 11:30 a.m.
The Portage County Public Library
Charles M. White Library Building
The Pinery Room
1001 Main Street
Stevens Point, Wisconsin 54481

Wednesday, August 9, 2006
2:30 p.m. until 5:00 p.m.
Langlade County Fair Grounds
Clover Room, Multipurpose Building
1581 Neva Road
Antigo, Wisconsin, 54409−2340

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection

This rule repeals and recreates current rules related to
Wisconsin’s certified seed potato program, a voluntary
program for the certification and grading of seed potatoes in
this state.  The program is jointly administered by the
Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and consumer
protection (“DATCP”) and the university of Wisconsin
college of agricultural and life sciences (the “college”).   This
rule updates and clarifies current certification standards and
procedures.

Statutory Authority
Statutory authority:   ss. 93.07 (1), 93.09, 100.14 (1) and

100.20 (2), Stats.
Statutes interpreted:  ss. 93.06 (1), (1m), (1p), (1q) and

(11), 93.09, 100.14 (1) and 100.20, Stats.
DATCP has broad authority, under s. 93.07(1), Stats., to

adopt rules to implement laws under its jurisdiction.  DATCP
also has authority, under the above statutes, to adopt grading
and certification standards for commodities, to provide
grading and certification services upon request, and to recover
the cost of the requested services.  DATCP has authority,
under s. 100.20, Stats., to prohibit unfair and deceptive
business practices.

Under s. 93.06 (11), Stats., DATCP may cooperate with
other entities and appoint agents for the administration of
programs under its jurisdiction.  DATCP administers the
certified seed potato program pursuant to this rule and a
memorandum of understanding with the college.

DATCP has delegated authority to the college to inspect
and certify seed potatoes for disease risk.  The college may
charge fees to cover the college’s costs of inspection and
certification.  Certification decisions by the college may be
subject to administrative review by DATCP, as provided in
this rule.

DATCP grades seed potatoes, once they are certified by the
college.  A person may not sell potatoes as Wisconsin certified

seed potatoes unless the potatoes are certified by the college
and graded by DATCP.

Background
Wisconsin is one of the nation’s largest potato producing

states.  Wisconsin’s certified seed potato program helps
Wisconsin’s potato industry, by maintaining the quality and
disease−free reliability of seed potatoes.  Commercial potato
growers can rely on the seed potatoes they purchase.  Seed
potato growers can market their seed potatoes more
effectively, because buyers can purchase with confidence.
Certification helps prevent the spread of serious and
potentially devastating potato diseases, and facilitates the
movement of seed potatoes in interstate and international
commerce.
Participation is Voluntary

Seed potato certification and grading is voluntary, and is
done at the request of the seed potato grower.  Yet most
Wisconsin potatoes are grown from certified seed, because
certification helps buyers and sellers alike.

At the request of a seed potato grower, the college inspects
seed potatoes for diseases and other conditions.  The college
then certifies the seed potatoes in appropriate categories based
on predicted disease−free reliability.  DATCP inspects and
grades college−certified seed potatoes for other measures of
quality.   A grower may not sell potatoes as certified seed
potatoes unless the potatoes have been certified by the college
and graded by DATCP.

Seed potatoes are labeled with their certification and grade
classifications, so that buyers know what they are getting.
Certification and grade classifications affect purchase
decisions and sale prices.  DATCP and the college charge fees
to cover the cost of requested grading and certification
services.
The Certification Process

DATCP rules specify standards and procedures for seed
potato certification and grading.  Current rules are contained
in ch. ATCP 156, Wis. Adm. Code.  Historically, the college
has provided disease−free propagative material used to grow
multi−generational lines of certified seed potatoes in this
state.

Seed potato growers plant propagative material provided
by the college, and harvest the seed potatoes.  Harvested seed
potatoes may be sold to commercial growers, or replanted to
produce subsequent generations of seed potatoes.  If the seed
potatoes are certified by the college (and graded by DATCP),
they may be sold as certified seed potatoes (normally at a
higher price).  If they are certified as “foundation” seed
potatoes, they may be replanted to produce subsequent
generations of certified seed potatoes.

With each generation of planting in the field, the
disease−free reliability of the seed potatoes (and hence their
certification classification) is reduced.  After a certain number
of generations, seed potatoes may no longer be used as
“foundation” seed potatoes to produce other certified seed
potatoes.  However, a seed potato grower may start a new line
of certified seed potatoes, using new disease−free propagative
material provided by the college or a comparable source.

As part of the certification process, the college samples and
inspects growing and harvested seed potatoes.  The college
also conducts follow−up evaluations of potatoes grown from
the certified “lot.”  The college looks for diseases of concern.
The college may not certify a seed potato “lot” if samples from
that “lot” fail to meet minimum disease standards.

If a “lot” meets minimum disease standards, the college
assigns a classification code based on generation (with each
year of field planting the classification drops one level,
reflecting increased disease risk).  Each “lot” is labeled with
its assigned classification code.
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Once the college has certified seed potatoes, and assigned
a disease−risk classification, DATCP may grade the potatoes
based on various quality factors.  DATCP visually inspects
samples of potatoes drawn from the graded “lot,” and grades
the “lot” according to DATCP rules.  Each graded “lot” is
labeled with its assigned grade.
Rule Changes Needed

In recent years, there has been increased demand for rapid
introduction of new potato varieties, often from out−of−state
sources.  Biotechnology has expanded disease−testing
options, and has facilitated the creation of new potato
varieties and new forms of propagative material.  There has
been increased cooperation between states, aimed at
standardizing seed potato certification.

These developments have not replaced the traditional
certification program based on college propagative material,
field inspection and “limited−generation” plantings.
However, they do require some program changes and
adaptations.

This rule provides a clearer, more up−to−date framework
for the seed potato certification program administered by the
college.  Among other things, this rule:

�  Clarifies and, in some cases, changes current certification
standards and procedures.

�  Eliminates some outdated requirements, and strengthens
some disease−control standards.

�  Recognizes new laboratory testing capabilities.
�  Expands the number of sources from which growers may

obtain propagative material for certified seed potatoes, while
minimizing disease risk.

�  Allows for variances in certification standards to
accommodate unusual situations.

�  Clarifies how propagative material is regulated.
This rule does not substantially alter current standards or

procedures for DATCP quality inspection of seed potatoes.
However, it clarifies the respective roles of DATCP and the
college, and spells out grading standards and procedures with
greater clarity.

Rule Coverage
This rule applies to seed potato growers who wish to

produce and sell certified seed potatoes (participation is
voluntary, and there is nothing to prohibit sales of uncertified
seed potatoes).  It also applies to laboratories and greenhouses
that provide propagative material used to grow certified seed
potatoes.  This rule does not apply to any of the following:

�  Producers who grow potatoes only for consumption, and
not for seed.

�  Producers who grow potatoes for seed, but do not wish
to have their seed potatoes certified and graded (participation
is voluntary).

�  Home gardens.
Rule Contents

Rule Reorganization
This rule reorganizes current rules into subchapters.  This

clarifies the distinction between certification by the college
and grading by DATCP.  This rule also redrafts the current
rules, so they will be easier to read and understand.

Certification Procedure
This rule clarifies the procedure by which a seed potato

grower may apply for and obtain certification of seed
potatoes.  Among other things, it clarifies the information that
the grower must include on the application form, and the
information that the college must include in the certification.

This will make it easier for the college to process certification
requests, and document certifications.  It will also provide a
better certification history and record, which is important for
certification credibility, disease control and future
certification.

Under this rule, if an applicant seeks certification of a
protected (patented) variety of seed potatoes, the application
must document that the applicant has permission to grow the
protected variety.  This is consistent with requirements under
federal law.

Under this rule, as under current rules, the college may
certify a “lot” of seed potatoes at the request of the seed potato
grower.  This rule clarifies that a “lot” includes all potatoes of
the same variety and line that are grown from the same source
seed on the same farm in the same year.  Certification does not
constitute a warranty by the college, and does not extend to
any disease or condition that cannot be observed by visual
inspection.

Certification Standards; General
This rule clarifies minimum standards for the certification

of seed potatoes, including standards for all of the following:
�  Propagative material used to grow the certified seed

potatoes.
�  Field planting.
�  Field and harvest inspections.
�  Post−harvest testing.

Propagative Material.
This rule expands the number of sources from which

growers may obtain propagative material for certified seed
potatoes, while minimizing disease risk.  Under this rule,
certified seed potatoes must be grown from one of the
following (no other propagative materials may be planted on
a farm producing certified seed potatoes):

�  Certified “foundation” seed potatoes produced, on the
same farm, by the producer requesting certification.

�  Certified “foundation” seed potatoes produced on
another farm, if pre−approved by the college.

�  Propagative material produced by the college.
�  “Foundation” seed potatoes certified by another state,

under standards equivalent to the standards in this rule, if
pre−approved by the college.

�  Propagative material produced in an approved laboratory
or greenhouse (see below), if pre−approved by the college.

�  Propagative material produced by a recognized breeding
program and pre−approved by the college.

Field and Harvest Inspection.
Under this rule, as under the current rules, the college must

conduct field and harvest inspections of certified seed
potatoes.  The college must visually inspect a representative
sample of growing potato plants, and a representative sample
of harvested potatoes.  The college must inspect for specified
diseases and conditions, including leafroll, mosaics, spindle
tuber, bacterial ring rot and variety mixture.

Under this rule, as under the current rules, the college must
reject an entire “lot” of potatoes for certification if inspection
samples exceed specified tolerances for the relevant diseases
or conditions.  This rule makes the following key changes to
current tolerances, to make them more consistent with
tolerances in other states:

�  It specifies a zero tolerance for spindle tuber (which
currently has a positive tolerance, but has not been detected
for several decades).

�  It increases (slightly) the current tolerance for variety
mixture.
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Field and harvest inspection tolerances, as revised by this
rule, are shown in Table 1:

Table 1
Field and Harvest Inspection Standards

Condition 1st Field
Inspection

Subsequent Field or 
Harvest Inspections

Foundation
Seed 

Potatoes

Other
Seed

Potatoes

Leafroll 1.5% 0.25% 1.0%

Mosaics 2.0% 0.25% 1.0%

Spindle tuber 0.0% 0.0% 0.0%

Total leafroll and
mosaics

3.0% 0.25% 2.0%

Bacterial ring rot 0.0% 0.0% 0.0%

Variety mixture 1.0% 0.1% 0.1%

“Foundation” Seed Potatoes; Supplementary Standards.
This rule, like the current rules, specifies higher standards

for the certification of “foundation” seed potatoes (which may
be used to grow other certified seed potatoes, not just
commercial potatoes or uncertified seed potatoes).
“Foundation” seed potatoes are subject to more rigorous
disease tolerances (see Table 1 above and Table 2 below), and
more rigorous inspection and control for bacterial ring rot (see
below).  The college may not certify “foundation” seed
potatoes until it has completed its post−harvest testing of the
potatoes (see below).

Bacterial Ring Rot.
The current rules and this rule specify a zero tolerance for

bacterial ring rot.  Under the current rules and this rule, the
college must reject for certification any “lot” of seed potatoes
in which bacterial ring rot is found.  The college may certify
other lots on the same farm, but not as “foundation” class seed.
The farm must produce 2 annual crops free of bacterial ring
rot before the college can again certify “foundation” class
seed from that farm. There is no exception to this requirement.

Under current rules, if bacterial ring rot is found in 2 “lots”
from the same farm within 3 years, the college may not certify
any other “lots” from that farm (regardless of whether
bacterial ring rot is actually found in those “lots”).   This rule
allows the college to certify the other “lots,” but not as
“foundation” seed (until the farm produces 2 annual crops free
of bacterial ring rot).

Post−Harvest Test.
Under current rules and this rule, the college must conduct

a post−harvest test on every “lot” of certified seed potatoes.
The college may not certify a “lot” that fails a post−harvest
test, except that in some cases this rule allows certification
based on lab testing (see below).

To conduct a post−harvest test, the college collects a
sample of potatoes from the “lot” to be certified, and plants
those potatoes in a winter growing location.  The college then
inspects the potatoes grown in the winter location for disease
and variety mixture.  The inspection must show compliance
with specified tolerances (this rule revises some of the current
tolerances).  The tolerances (as revised by this rule) are shown
in Table 2:

Table 2
Post−Harvest Test Standards

Condition Foundation
seed potatoes

Other certified
seed potatoes

Leafroll 0.5% 5.0%

Mosaics 0.5% 5.0%

Spindle tuber 0.0% 0.0%

Total leafroll and
mosaics

0.5% 5.0%

Bacterial ring rot 0.0% 0.0%

Variety mixture 0.25% 2.0%

This rule allows for greater use of laboratory testing in lieu
of traditional post−harvest testing.  Under this rule, the college
may certify a “lot” of seed potatoes that passes field and
harvest inspection, regardless of any post−harvest testing, if
laboratory testing by the college shows that the “lot” meets the
post−harvest test standards in Table 2.

Variance Allowed by the College
Under this rule, the college may certify a “lot” of seed

potatoes that fails to comply with applicable tolerances in
Table 1 or Table 2, if the college documents all of the
following:

�  Special conditions justify the certification, and there is
a reasonable likelihood that the next generation of seed
potatoes grown from the non−complying lot will meet
applicable tolerances.

�  No bacterial ring rot has been found in the lot.
�  The certification will not jeopardize seed potato quality,

or pose a significant risk of harm to the potato industry or
consumers.

�  The certified seed potatoes will not be planted on any
farm other than the farm where they are produced.

Classifying Certified Seed Potatoes
Under current rules and this rule, the college gives each

“lot” of certified seed potatoes a classification number based
on generation (with each year of field planting the
classification drops one level, reflecting increased disease
risk).  Under current rules, seed potatoes may be certified for
5 generations (4 generations as “foundation” seed), except
that “Elite” seed potatoes produced by the college may be
certified for up to 7 generations (6 generations as
“foundation” seed).

This rule allows certification for up to 7 generations (6
generations as “foundation” seed), and eliminates the separate
classification of “Elite” seed.  This will make Wisconsin’s
classification system more consistent with the system in other
states.  The new classification system is shown below (FY1
is the highest classification):

Under this rule, the college may authorize a seed potato
grower to use experimental propagative material from a
breeding farm.  This makes it possible for growers to
experiment with new varieties.  However, seed potatoes
grown from the experimental material may be certified for
only 3 generations (“Ex5 Foundation,” “Ex6 Foundation” and
“Certified”), not 7 generations.

Table 3
Classification

Year of Field
Propagation on

Seed Potato
Farm

(Generation)

Standard
Classification

Experimental*
Classification

1 FY1 Foundation Ex5 Foundation

2 FY2 Foundation Ex6 Foundation

3 FY3 Foundation Certified**

4 FY4 Foundation

5 FY5 Foundation
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6 FY6 Foundation

7 Certified**

*  Applies to lines of seed potatoes grown from experimental field−grown
propagative material from recognized breeding programs.

** “Certified” (non−foundation) class seed may not be replanted to
produce other certified seed potatoes, but may be used to produce
commercial potatoes or uncertified seed potatoes.

Under this rule, “foundation” seed potatoes certified by
another state have the same classification assigned by that
state, provided that the other state certifies seed potatoes
under standards equivalent to the standards in this rule.  If the
other state does not provide field year information, the seed
will be classified as FY5.

Once for each line of certified seed potatoes, the college
may renew a classification by doing one of the following
(contrary to the normal classification progression):

�  The college may classify, as “FY5” rather than
“certified,” certified seed potatoes produced from seed
potatoes classified as “FY6.”

�  The college may classify, as “Ex5” rather than
“certified,” certified seed potatoes produced from seed
potatoes classified as “Ex6.”

A seed potato grower seeking such a renewal must show
that the seed potatoes meet the standards for the renewed
classification. The college may require verification in the
form of laboratory testing.  “Tuber unit planting” is no longer
required, in order to qualify for a renewal classification,
because most seed potato growers no longer have the
necessary equipment.

Approved Laboratories and Greenhouses

Historically, the college has provided disease−free
propagative material used to grow lines of certified seed
potatoes in this state.  But in recent years, there has been
increased demand for new potato varieties, often from
out−of−state sources.

This rule expands the sources from which a seed potato
grower may obtain propagative material used to start a line of
certified seed potatoes.  However, this rule includes
safeguards to prevent the introduction of disease, and to
maintain the credibility of the certification process.

This rule allows a seed potato grower to obtain propagative
material from, among other places, a laboratory or
greenhouse approved by the college.  “Propagative material”
may include tissue culture plantlets, microtubers, minitubers
or tubers that are produced under rigorous laboratory or
greenhouse conditions to ensure that they are free of disease.

The college may approve a laboratory or greenhouse in this
state if all of the following apply:

�  The college inspects the laboratory or greenhouse before
granting approval, and at least annually after granting
approval.  The college must also inspect minitubers, if any,
produced by a greenhouse.

�  The laboratory or greenhouse uses testing, propagation,
isolation and sanitation procedures equivalent to those used
by the college.

�  The laboratory or greenhouse operator does all of the
following:

�  Applies to the college for approval, and provides
information reasonably required by the college for
purposes of evaluation and approval.

�  Agrees to pay the college’s reasonable costs to
inspect, evaluate and approve the laboratory or
greenhouse.

�  Keeps complete records of laboratory or greenhouse
operations, and of propagative material produced by the
laboratory or greenhouse.  The operator must make the
records available to the college upon request.

�  Labels propagative material as directed by the
college, consistent with this rule.

The college may approve a laboratory or greenhouse in
another state if the seed potato certification agency in the
other state approves that laboratory or greenhouse for the
same purpose, using standards and procedures that are
equivalent to the standards and procedures that the college
uses to approve in−state laboratories and greenhouses under
this rule.

Storing, Shipping and Handling Certified Seed Potatoes
This rule spells out basic standards for storing, shipping

and handling certified seed potatoes, to prevent disease
contamination.  This rule modernizes current standards.  For
example, this rule eliminates the current requirement that
“foundation” seed potatoes be shipped in bags (it allows bulk
shipments) and addresses shipment in totes.  This rule also
eliminates the current requirement that bags or trucks be
sealed with a metal seal.

Misrepresentation
Under this rule, no person may do any of the following:
�  Sell or represent potatoes as certified seed potatoes unless

they are certified, graded and labeled under this rule, or by
another state under standards equivalent to those in this rule.

�  Sell or represent potatoes as Wisconsin certified seed
potatoes unless they are certified by the college and graded by
DATCP under this rule.

�  Misrepresent the terms, conditions or basis for any seed
potato certification.

The college may withdraw certification if a seed potato
seller misrepresents the terms of the certification.  DATCP
may also prosecute fraudulent misrepresentations in court.
Buyers who suffer monetary loss because of fraudulent
misrepresentations have a private remedy for double
damages, court costs and attorney fees.

Review of College Actions
Current rules provide no mechanism by which a seed

potato grower may seek review of an adverse certification
decision by the college.  Under this rule, a seed potato grower
may request an informal meeting with the college to review
an adverse decision.  The college must hold the informal
meeting within 30 days, unless the requester agrees to a later
date.  The meeting may be held by telephone.

If the matter is not resolved after the informal meeting with
the college, the seed potato grower may request a contested
case hearing before DATCP.  DATCP may reverse, modify or
remand a decision of the college if DATCP finds that the
decision is contrary to this rule.  However, DATCP may not
reverse, modify or remand a matter that this rule leaves to the
discretion of the college.

Seed Potato Grading by DATCP
This rule clarifies, but does not substantially alter, the

standards for DATCP grading of seed potatoes certified by the
college.  This rule prohibits misrepresentations of grade.  This
rule describes the current mechanism by which a person
adversely affected by a DATCP grading decision may request
a contested case hearing.

Fiscal Estimate
This rule will not have a significant fiscal impact on

DATCP or the college. This rule will not affect local units of
government.  A complete fiscal estimate is attached.
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Business Impact
This rule applies to seed potato growers who wish to

produce and sell certified seed potatoes (participation is
voluntary, and there is nothing to prohibit sales of uncertified
seed potatoes).  It also applies to laboratories and greenhouses
that provide propagative material used to grow certified seed
potatoes.  Many of these businesses may qualify as “small
businesses.”

This rule does not apply to any of the following:
�  Producers who grow potatoes only for consumption, and

not for seed.
�  Producers who grow potatoes for seed, but do not wish

to have their seed potatoes certified and graded (participation
is voluntary).

� Home gardens.
This rule will assist the Wisconsin potato industry,

including seed potato growers.  This rule is not expected to
have any significant adverse impact on seed potato growers
or other sectors of the Wisconsin potato industry.
Participation is voluntary.

This rule modernizes Wisconsin’s certified seed potato rule
to address changing industry practices and standards.  Among
other things, this rule:

�  Clarifies current certification standards and procedures.
�  Allows seed potato growers to obtain propagative

material from a wider array of sources.  This will help satisfy
emerging demands for rapid introduction of new potato
varieties, often from out−of−state sources.  This rule includes
safeguards to ensure that seed potatoes from these sources are
not diseased.  Laboratories and greenhouses producing
propagative material must be approved by the college, and the
college must pre−approve propagative material before
growers in this state plant the propagative material to produce
certified seed potatoes.

�  Provides for more targeted response to findings of
bacterial ring rot.  This rule provides continued strong
protection against bacterial ring rot, but reduces the threat of
devastating business losses to seed potato growers.

�  Updates current disease tolerances, to reflect current
interstate and international standards.  The college may also
grant written variances for individual lots if special conditions
justify the variance, and if the college finds that the variance
does not create a risk of harm to other potato producers, to the
potato industry, or to consumers.

�  Provides for certification reciprocity between states.
Seed potatoes certified in another state may be sold as
certified seed potatoes in Wisconsin, provided that the other
state reciprocates, and provided that the other state applies
certification standards and procedures that are equivalent to
those applied in Wisconsin.  Seed potatoes certified in another
state may not be represented as Wisconsin certified seed
potatoes, and must be labeled to show certification in another
state.

� Modernizes requirements for certified seed potato
labeling, shipping and handling.

�  Provides a mechanism by which a seed potato grower
may obtain informal and formal review of an adverse
certification decision by the college.

�  Prohibits fraudulent sales of uncertified seed as certified
seed.

This rule makes minor changes related to certification
application, certification procedure, recordkeeping, and
certified seed potato handling and labeling.  However, none
of these changes will have a significant adverse impact on
potato growers.

Because this rule has no significant adverse impact on
small business, it is not subject to the delayed small business
effective date provided in s. ATCP 227.22(2)(e), Stats.
DATCP has not incorporated a small business enforcement
policy in this rule, pursuant to 2003 Wis. Act 145, because
participation in the seed potato certification program is
voluntary.  DATCP has proposed a separate rule related to the
exercise of enforcement discretion under all of its rules.
Environmental Impact

This rule will have no significant environmental impact,
compared to current rules.  This rule, like the current rules,
will help to prevent the introduction and spread of serious
potato diseases in this state.  No environmental impact
statement is required.
Federal Programs

There are no comparable federal programs related to the
certification of seed potatoes.  The United States department
of agriculture, animal and plant health inspection service, is
currently developing a proposed memorandum of
understanding with states to standardize seed potato
certification between states, and to ensure that certification
meets minimum standards.  This rule is consistent with the
proposed memorandum of understanding.
Surrounding State Programs

Michigan.  Michigan recently changed its seed potato
certification rules.  The changes make the Michigan rules
more consistent with Wisconsin rules.  Conversely, this rule
will also make Wisconsin rules more consistent with
Michigan rules.  For example:

� Michigan’s rule allows variances from certification
standards for good cause (such as a statewide shortage of
certified seed potatoes).  This rule will allow the college to
grant similar variances.

� Michigan’s rule has a zero tolerance for potato spindle
tuber.  This rule also specifies a zero tolerance for spindle
tuber.

� Michigan’s rule does not require certified “foundation”
seed to be shipped in bags (it allows bulk shipments).  This
rule also allows bulk shipments, and eliminates the current
bagging requirement in Wisconsin.

Minnesota.  Minnesota’s seed potato certification rule is
similar to Wisconsin’s.  But unlike Wisconsin, Minnesota also
restricts the planting of uncertified seed potatoes.  The
Minnesota rules prohibit a person from planting more than 10
acres of uncertified seed potatoes unless those seed potatoes
have passed a field inspection. The field inspection must show
compliance with disease standards similar to those that apply
to certified seed potatoes (among other things, the potatoes
must be free of ring rot).

This rule will make Wisconsin rules more consistent, in
certain areas, with Minnesota rules.  For example:

�  Minnesota’s rule allows variances from certification
standards for good cause (such as a statewide shortage of
certified seed potatoes).  This rule will allow the college to
grant similar variances.

�  Minnesota’s rule has a zero tolerance for potato spindle
tuber.  This rule also specifies a zero tolerance for spindle
tuber.

�  Minnesota’s rule does not require certified “foundation”
seed to be shipped in bags (it allows bulk shipments).  This
rule also allows bulk shipments, and eliminates the current
bagging requirement in Wisconsin.

�  Minnesota’s rule provides for a more targeted response
to bacterial ring rot findings.  This rule adopts a similar
approach in Wisconsin.

�  Minnesota’s rule allows growers to apply for certification
of protected varieties, if they have permission to grow those
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varieties (the rule does not otherwise regulate the planting of
protected varieties).  This rule takes a similar approach.

Indiana, Illinois & Iowa.  Indiana, Illinois and Iowa do not
produce seed potatoes and do not have seed potato
certification rules.

DATCP and UW Contacts
Questions and comments related to this rule may be

directed to the following persons:
Comments for the Hearing Record:
Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
   Protection
P. O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708−8911
Attn: Kevin LeRoy
Telephone: (608) 224−4928
E−mail: Kevin.Leroy@datcp.state.wi.us

Other Questions or Comments:
Department of Plant Pathology 
University of Wisconsin−Madison 
1630 Linden Dr. 
Madison, WI 53706
Attn:   Dr. Amy Charkowski, Assistant Professor
   (Administrative Director)
Telephone: (608) 262−7911 
E−mail:  Amy Charkowski [amyc@plantpath.wisc.edu]

Notice of Hearing
Architects, Landscape Architects, Professional

Engineers, Designers and Land Surveyors

[CR 06−057]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority

vested in the Examining Board of Architects, Landscape
Architects, Professional Engineers, Designers and Land
Surveyors in ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2), Stats., and
interpreting s. 443.06, Stats., the Examining Board of
Architects, Landscape Architects, Professional Engineers,
Designers and Land Surveyors will hold a public hearing at
the time and place indicated below to consider an order to
repeal s. A−E 6.03 (1) (a) 1. i. and 2.d.; to amend ss. A−E 6.03
(1) (a) 1. a., b., c. and g., (2) (a) 2. e., and 6.04 (1) (b) and (2)
(b); and to create s. A−E 6.03 (1) (b) 6. and 7., relating to land
surveyor education and experience requirements.

Hearing Date, Time and Location
Date: August 3, 2006
Time: 9:45 a.m.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue

Room 121C
(Enter at 55 N. Dickinson Street)
Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the hearing
Interested persons are invited to present information at the

hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of
Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East Washington Avenue,
Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708−8935,
or by email at pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Comments
must be received on or before August 3, 2006 to be included
in the record of rule−making proceedings.

Analysis

Statute interpreted: Section 443.06, Stats.
Statutory authority: Sections 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2),

 Stats.
The Examining Board of Architects, Landscape

Architects, Professional Engineers, Designers and Land
Surveyors, under the authority of s. 443.06, Stats, may
establish the requirements for registration as a land surveyor.

Related statute or rule

There are no other statutes or rules other than those listed
above.

Plain language analysis:

The proposed revision to s. A−E 6.03 changes the current
rules to recognize and incorporate developments in the land
surveyor profession, including new experience options in the
field of surveying.  The proposed revision of s. A−E 6.03
modifies the experience requirement to include the
preparation of transportation project plats and condominium
plats.  The revisions also clarify the type of other experience
that would be allowed to satisfy the requirements for
licensure.

The proposed revisions to s. A−E 6.04 reflect changes in
the land surveying curriculum as a result of advances in
surveying technology.  The revisions specifically recognize
that such courses satisfy the educational requirements for
registration as a land surveyor in Wisconsin.

SECTION 1 adds the language “interpreting legal
descriptions, deeds and survey maps” to the qualifying work
experience requirement in s. A−E 6.03 (1) (a) 1. a.  SECTION
1 also eliminates the term “relocate” because it is redundant
and the actual surveying function is the “location” of lost
corners.  And SECTION 1 adds language describing the type
of land survey system corners (USPLS) involved in location
surveys.

SECTION 2 is being revised to eliminate the writing and
interpreting land descriptions provision because it was added
to s. A−E 6.01 (1) (a) 1. a.  The provision also eliminates the
preparation of certain types of maps as qualifying experience
due to changes in the field of surveying.

SECTION 3 modifies the existing language to specify the
type of official plats and maps which satisfy the qualifying
experience in s. A−E 6.03 (1) (a) 2. e.

SECTION 4 creates two additional types of work
experience which satisfy the one−third experience
requirement in s. A−E 6.03 (1) (b).

SECTION 5 is being revised to add additional acceptable
courses due to changes in the land surveying curriculum.
SECTION 5 also adds a specific minimum number of credits,
16, out of a total number of 24 semester credits required in
principles of land surveying and technical aspects of land
surveying for applicants with a bachelor’s degree in civil
engineering.  The change also allows applicants with civil
engineering degrees to receive a specified number of semester
credits, 8, in other survey−related courses.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulation

There is no existing or proposed federal regulation.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

No study resulting in the collection of factual data was used
relating to this rule.  The primary methodology for revising
the rule is the board’s analysis and determination that a rule
change is necessary.
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Analysis on small business or in preparation of
economic impact report

The proposed rule would change the education and
experience requirements for registration as a land surveyor in
Wisconsin.  There are 1579 active land surveyors licensed in
Wisconsin.  Of the active 1579 land surveyor licensees in
Wisconsin, a significant percentage of them probably work in
small businesses.

In order for a land surveyor to obtain their license, the
applicant must demonstrate that they are qualified to become
a land surveyor.  These registration requirements can be met
in several different ways, which include a certain amount of
education and experience requirements.

These registration requirements would be changed as it
relates to education and experience requirements.  The
experience requirements in the proposed rule would clarify
existing rules and allow for the experience requirements to be
met by working on Transportation Project Plats and
Condominium Plats.  This rule would merely clarify and add
areas in which experience credit can be given as well as
expand the types of courses that will be allowed to satisfy the
educational requirements and reallocate the number of credits
that can be taken in certain educational areas.  The total
amount of education and experience required for registration
will not be changed.

There will be no additional reporting requirements,
bookkeeping requirements, or compliance costs.  This rule
will not have an effect on small business.

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector:

The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal
effect on the private sector.

Fiscal estimate

The department estimates that this rule will require staff
time in the Division of Professional Credentialing and the
Division of Board Services.  The total staff salary and fringe
is estimated at $2,100.

Effect on small business

These proposed rules will have no significant economic
impact on a small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1),
Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator
may be contacted by email at larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or
by calling (608) 266−8608.

Agency contact person

Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and
Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708−8935.  Telephone: (608) 266−0495.  Email:
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.

Written comments

Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack, Paralegal,
Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708−8935, or by email at
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Comments must be received
on or before August 3, 2006 to be included in the record of
rule−making proceedings.

Text of Rule
SECTION 1.  A−E 6.03 (1) (a) 1. a., b., c. and g. are

amended to read:
A−E 6.03 (1) (a) 1. a.  Researching public and private

records and interpreting legal descriptions, deeds, and survey
maps.

b.  Relocating Locating lost and obliterated corners and
United States public land survey system corners and
reestablishing or perpetuating monuments of the corners.

c.  Establishing, reestablishing or and perpetuating survey
monuments.

g.  Preparing descriptions of real property from data
acquired by field measurements and other evidence of
property location.

SECTION 2.  A−E 6.03 (1) (a) 1. i. and 2. d. are repealed.
SECTION 3.  A−E 6.03 (1) (a) 2. e. is amended to read:
A−E 6.03 (1) (a) 2. e.  Official plats or maps of land in this

state in accordance with the Wisconsin administrative code.
SECTION 4.  A−E 6.03 (1) (b) 6. and 7. are created to read:
A−E 6.03 (1) (b) 6.  Transportation project plats in

accordance with Wisconsin statutes or local ordinances.
7.  Condominium plats prepared in accordance with

Wisconsin statutes or ordinances.
SECTION 5.  A−E 6.04 (1) (b) and (2) (b) are amended to

read:
A−E 6.04 (1) (b)  No more than 4 credits may be in courses

related to land surveying such as “Engineering Surveying”,
“Municipal Surveying”, “Route Surveying,” “Highway
Surveying”, “Topographic Surveying,” “Geodetic
Surveying”, “Photogrammetry”, “Cartography”,
“Construction Surveying”, “Air Photo Interpretation” and
“Artillery Surveying”. “engineering surveying,” “municipal
surveying,” “route surveying,” “highway surveying,”
“topographic surveying,” “geodetic surveying,”
“photogrammetry,” “cartography,” “construction surveying,”
“air photo interpretation,” “artillery surveying,” “geographic
information systems,” “land information systems” and
remote sensing systems.”

(2) (b)  Received a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering
of not less than 4 years duration from a college or university
accredited by a regional accrediting agency approved by the
state where the college or university is located.  The
curriculum shall include no less than 16 of 24 semester credits
in courses concentrating on the legal principles of land
surveying and the technical aspects of land surveying.  These
courses shall include areas of study such as research of public
and private records, principles of evidence and the
interpretation of written documents used in boundary
determination, the study of the legal elements of land
surveying including those involving resurveys, boundary
disputes, defective descriptions, riparian rights and adverse
possession, the study of the professional and judicial
functions of a land surveyor, the study of surveying methods
for measuring distance and angular values, note keeping,
computation and writing descriptions and the study of the
Wisconsin statutes and local ordinances relating to the
preparation of subdivision maps and plats, other land
divisions and real property creation.  The applicant may be
allowed to receive up to 8 credits in certain other courses
relating to surveying.  These courses may include
“engineering surveying,” “municipal surveying,” “route
surveying,” “highway surveying,” “topographic surveying,”
“geodetic surveying,” “photogrammetry,” “cartography,”
“construction surveying,” “air photo interpretation,”
“artillery surveying,” “geographic information systems,”
“land information systems” and “remote sensing systems.”
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Notice of Hearing
Commerce

(Financial Resources for Businesses and
Communities)

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to section
560.125 (5m) of the Statutes, the Department of Commerce
will hold a public hearing on emergency rules in chapter
Comm 131 relating to diesel truck idling reduction grants.

The public hearing will be held as follows:
Date and Time: Location:
July 25, 2006
Tuesday
At 1:00 P.M.

Thompson Commerce Center
Third Floor, Room 3B
201 West Washington Avenue
Madison, Wisconsin

Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and
present comments on the emergency rules.  Persons making
oral presentations are requested to submit their comments in
writing, via e−mail.  Persons submitting comments will not
receive individual responses.  The hearing record on this
rulemaking will remain open until July 31, 2006, to permit
submittal of written comments from persons who are unable
to attend the hearing or who wish to supplement testimony
offered at the hearing.  E−mail comments should be sent to
srockweiler@commerce.state.wi.us.  If e−mail submittal is
not possible, written comments may be submitted to Sam
Rockweiler, Department of Commerce, Division of
Environmental and Regulatory Services, P.O. Box 14427,
Madison, WI 53708−0427.

This hearing will be held in an accessible facility.  If you
have special needs or circumstances that may make
communication or accessibility difficult at the hearing, please
call Sam Rockweiler at (608) 266−0797 or (608) 264−8777
(TTY) at least 10 days prior to the hearing date.
Accommodations such as interpreters, English translators, or
materials in audio tape format will, to the fullest extent
possible, be made available upon a request from a person with
a disability.

Analysis prepared by Dept. of Commerce

1.  Statutes Interpreted:  Section 560.125

2.  Statutory Authority:   Section 560.125 (4) (f) and (5m)

Section 560.125 (5m) of the Statutes, as created by 2005
Wisconsin Act 25, requires the Department to promulgate
rules for administering a diesel truck idling reduction grant
program under section 560.125 of the Statutes.  Section
560.125 (4) (f) of the Statutes authorizes the Department to
impose conditions on the receipt of grants issued in this
program.

The rules specify who is eligible for receiving a grant in this
program for purchasing and installing diesel truck idling
reduction equipment.  Eligible costs are also specified, along
with how to apply for the grants.  Parameters for awarding the
grants are likewise specified.  These parameters include (1)
disallowing grants to any applicant who is failing to comply
with any conditions imposed on any previous grant received
in this program; and (2) alerting applicants that the
Department may (a) refuse to award grants for idling
reduction equipment on truck tractors that do not have a
sleeper berth, (b) annually allocate up to 25 percent of the
grant funding to applicants who own and operate 50 or fewer
truck tractors, and (c) set deadlines for submitting
applications, and then prorate the awards to the applicants if
the total funding requested in the applications exceeds the
available revenue.

Related statute
Chapter Comm 48 regulates petroleum products, including

diesel fuels, in Wisconsin.

Comparison with federal regulations
Various federal regulations address efforts to decrease

emissions of air contaminants or to decrease the use of energy,
by motor vehicles.

Particularly pertinent to the rules is a regulation published
by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) in the
January 18, 2001, Federal Register, under Title 40, Parts 69,
80, and 86, in the Code of Federal Regulations.  Through this
regulation, the EPA has established a comprehensive national
control program for reducing particulate matter and
nitrogen−oxide emissions from heavy−duty diesel engines by
90 percent and 95 percent below current standard levels,
respectively.  This national program includes stringent, new
emission standards that will begin to take effect in model year
2007, and a corresponding significant reduction of the level
of sulfur in diesel fuels, which is needed to enable engine
components to consistently meet the emission standards.

Extensive federal efforts related to this national program
are also underway for reducing these emissions by reducing
diesel engine idling – such as (1) the EPA’s National Clean
Diesel Campaign, which is aggressively promoting diesel
idling reduction nationwide; (2) the National Transportation
Idle−Free Corridors project, as sponsored by the EPA’s
SmartWay� Transport Partnership, which aims to eliminate
all unnecessary long−duration diesel truck and locomotive
idling at strategic points along major transportation corridors;
(3) the Clean Cities Program in the U.S. Department of
Energy (DOE), which includes addressing research and
development for diesel idling reduction technologies, and
corresponding funding of national and state−level
demonstration projects; (4) the National Idling Reduction
Network News, as published monthly by the DOE’s Argonne
National Laboratory, which summarizes current events and
developments nationwide relating to diesel idling reduction;
and (5) the Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality
Improvement Program in the U.S. Department of
Transportation’s Federal Highway Administration, which
funds retrofitting of heavy−duty diesel engines that results in
reducing nitrogen−oxide emissions in air−quality related,
nonattainment or maintenance areas.  In addition, Sections
792 and 793 of the federal Energy Policy Act of 2005
authorize the EPA to provide $200 million per year, for fiscal
years 2007−2011, for grants and loans to states and other
eligible entities to achieve significant reductions in diesel
emissions, and those funds can be used in programs that use
verified technology to reduce long−duration idling of
medium− and heavy−duty diesel trucks.

Comparison with adjacent states
In reviewing available sources, such as the National Idling

Reduction Network News, and the Compendium of Idling
Regulations by the American Transportation Research
Institute, and in discussing corresponding efforts with staff in
Minnesota and the EPA, Department staff did not find any
rules in adjacent states that address grants for purchasing and
installing diesel truck idling reduction equipment.  However,
under corresponding statutory criteria, Minnesota began
providing loans in 2005 that can be used for this purpose,
through its Small Business Environmental Improvement
Loan Program.  Related efforts in Iowa, Illinois and Michigan
include (1) sponsoring of workshops in March 2006 in
Michigan, and in May 2006 in Illinois, in conjunction with the
EPA’s Midwest Clean Diesel Initiative; and (2) proposed
legislation that was passed overwhelmingly by the Illinois
legislature in March 2006, which would prohibit diesel
vehicles in excess of 8000 pounds from idling more than 5



Page 29Mid−July 2006 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 607

minutes within any 60−minute period, except for various
exemptions.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

The data and methodology for developing these rules
consisted of (1) incorporating the detailed, prescriptive
criteria in section 560.125 of the Statutes; (2) soliciting and
utilizing input from representatives of the stakeholders who
are expected to participate in this program; (3) discussing
similar efforts to reduce diesel truck idling, with
corresponding staff in Minnesota, Pennsylvania, and the EPA;
and (4) reviewing Internet−based sources of related federal,
state, and private−sector information.

Analysis for making determination of effect on small
business or in preparation of economic impact report

The Department considered the potential for owners of
large truck fleets to quickly exhaust the available grant funds,
as based on the number of trucks in each of the 10 largest fleets
in Wisconsin.  The Department therefore plans to annually
allocate up to 25 percent of the grant funding to applicants
who own and operate 50 or fewer truck tractors, in order to
field−test the effectiveness of the program and the idling
reduction equipment across the complete spectrum of the
trucking industry in Wisconsin.

Effect on small business

The rules are not expected to impose any significant costs
on small businesses, because the rules only address how the
Department will award grant funds for diesel truck idling
reduction equipment.

Agency contact

Tom Coogan, Wisconsin Department of Commerce,
Bureau of Entrepreneurship, P.O. Box 7970, Madison, WI,
53707−7970, telephone: (608) 267−9214.  E−Mail:
Thomas.Coogan@wisconsin.gov

Copies of rule

The emergency rules and an analysis of the rules are
available on the Internet at the Department of Commerce Web
site, through the links there for the Diesel Truck Idling
Reduction Program.  Paper copies may be obtained without
cost from Tom Coogan at the Department of Commerce,
Bureau of Entrepreneurship, P.O. Box 7970, Madison, WI
53707−7970, or at Thomas.Coogan@Wisconsin.gov, or at
telephone (608) 267−9214 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY).  Copies
will also be available at the public hearing.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

1.  Types of small businesses that will be affected by the
rules.

Owners and operators of small fleets of diesel trucks who
choose to apply for the grant funds, and vendors who sell or
install the idling reduction equipment addressed by the grant
funds.

2. Reporting, bookkeeping and other procedures required
for compliance with the rules.

Each grant recipient must submit a report describing the
operation and performance of the idling reduction equipment
funded by the grant.

3. Types of professional skills necessary for compliance
with the rules.

No new professional skills will be necessary for
compliance with the rules.

4. Rules have a significant economic impact on small
businesses.  No.

The small business regulatory coordinator for the
Department of Commerce is Carol Dunn, who may be
contacted at telephone (608) 267−0297, or at
cdunn@commerce.state.wi.us.

Fiscal Estimate
The above appropriation, as created by 2005 Wis. Act 25,

will result in a temporary shortfall to the Department, which
likely will be absorbed within the agency’s budget.

The proposed rules are not expected to impose any
significant costs on the private sector, because the rules only
address how the Department will award grant funds for diesel
truck idling reduction equipment.

Notice of Hearing
Health and Family Services

(Community Services, Chs. HFS 30—)
[CR 06−081]

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 48.981
(8) (d), Stats., and s. 227.11(2), Stats., and interpreting s.
48.981 (8) (d), Stats., to create ch. HFS 43, relating to the
standards for training required for staff and supervisors
involved in the access, initial assessment, and ongoing
services delivered to children and families in child abuse and
neglect cases, and affecting small businesses.

Hearing Date(s) and Location(s)
Tuesday, August 1, 2006
10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Southern Child Welfare Partnership Training Center
455 Science Drive, Suite 110
Madison, WI 53711

DHFS Regional Office, 1853 North Stevens
Rhinelander, WI 54501 – Video conferencing

University of Wisconsin−Green Bay
MAC137
2420 Nicolet Drive
Green Bay, WI 54311−7001− Video conferencing

The hearing site is fully accessible to people with
disabilities.  If you are hearing impaired, do not speak English
or have circumstances that might make communication at a
hearing difficult; you require an interpreter or a non−English
large print or taped version of the proposed rules, contact the
person at the address or telephone number given below at least
10 days before the hearing.  With less than 10 days notice, an
interpreter may not be available.

Place Where Written Comments May be Submitted
Written comments may be submitted at the public hearing

or submitted to the contact person listed below.  Comments
may also be made using the Wisconsin Administrative Rule
Website at http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.

Deadline for Comment Submission
The deadline for submitting comments to the Department

is 4:30 p.m. on August 8, 2006.
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Analysis Prepared by the Department of Health and
Family Services

The Department proposes to create ch. HFS 43 to address
training requirements for child protective caseworkers and
supervisors involved in the access, initial assessment, and
ongoing services delivered to children and families in child
abuse and neglect cases.

The Department proposes to establish statewide minimum
standards for pre−service training, foundation training,
ongoing training, and supervisory training of child protective
services staff.  This training will include recognizing and
responding to domestic violence. In addition proposed ch.
HFS 43 creates a monitoring process that allows the
Department to review and approve training plans submitted
by affected agencies and monitor compliance by individual
staff.  The proposed rule will apply to the Department’s
Bureau of Milwaukee Child Welfare (BMCW), county
human or social service departments that provide child
protective services, and private child welfare agencies
licensed under s. 48.60, Stats., and ch. HFS 54 which contract
with the Department or county human or social services
departments to provide child protective services.

The proposed creation of ch. HFS 43 will not have an affect
on the Memorandum of Understanding between the
Department and the Department of Corrections that allows
the intake training required under s. 48.06 (1), Stats., for
intake caseworkers to be provided by the Department of
Corrections and the Wisconsin Juvenile Court Intake
Association under Ch. DOC 399.

Effect on Small Business (Initial Regulatory Flexibility
Analysis)

Section 48.981 (8) (d) 2., Stats., requires the Department to
make training programs available for child protective services
caseworkers and supervisors to complete training in child
abuse and neglect protective services, unborn child abuse
protective services,  and on recognizing and appropriately
responding to domestic abuse.  Section 48.981 (8) (d) 2.,
Stats., further requires that the Department promulgate rules
to monitor compliance with the training requirement.  To
implement the requirements under s. 48.981 (8) (d) 2., Stats.,
and to promote statewide consistency, the Department
proposes rule requirements for pre−service, foundation, and
in−service training for those individuals required under s.
48.981 (8) (d) 1., Stats.

Pre−service training is a web−based curriculum developed
by the Training Partnerships that may be delivered by an
alternative method.  Pre−service training is required for child
protective services caseworkers and, in certain
circumstances, supervisors who begin employment after the
effective date of the proposed rule.  Foundation training is a
curriculum approved by the Department and identified as
essential skills and applications training for child protective
services caseworkers and supervisors.  It is required to be
completed within two years after employment as a child
protective services caseworker.  In−service training consists
of continuing education in child welfare and is taken after the
completion of pre−service training.  This training requirement
is ongoing during the term of employment of child protective
services caseworkers and supervisors.

Except in Milwaukee County, child protective services are
the legislated responsibility of county human services or
social services departments (county department).  In
Milwaukee County, child protective services are the
responsibility of the Department.  The proposed rule will
apply to child protective services staff of the Department and
county human services or social services departments and to
child welfare agencies that contract with the Department or

county department to provide child protective services.  Child
placing agencies that are not under contract with the
Department or a county department do not provide child
protective services.  Currently, there are 56 licensed child
welfare agencies in Wisconsin.  To date, the proposed rules
will affect only the 2 agencies that are under currently under
contract with the Department to provide child protective
services.  There are no child placing agencies under contract
with a county department to perform child protective services.

In the event that child placing agencies meeting the
definition of small businesses under s. 227.114 (1), Stats.,
contract with either the Department or a county department,
the child placing agency will incur training costs for staff who
perform child protective services.  The costs incurred are a
result of the agencies’ and staff responsibilities to comply
with s. 48.891 (8) (d) 1., Stats., not the proposed rules.  The
only cost to the agency is for staff time to participate in
training.  Agencies are not required to develop or conduct
training under the proposed rules or s. 48.981 (d) 1., Stats.;
however, under the proposed rule, agencies have that option
as it is related to pre−service training; otherwise pre−service
training is available as web−based training.  If an agency
decides to conduct its own pre−service training, the costs will
extend beyond opportunity costs to possibly include facility
rental, trainer fees, and training materials.

Pursuant to the forgoing analysis, the proposed rule will
affect any licensed child placing agency that is under contract
with the Department or a county department, including those
that are small businesses, to provide child protective services.
However, the proposed rule will not have a significant
economic impact on any of those businesses.  In addition, the
Department does not believe that the proposed rules will
increase costs implicitly imposed under s. 48.981(8) (d) 1.,
Stats.

Small Business Regulatory Coordinator
Rosie Greer
Greerrj@dhfs.state.wi.us
608−266−1279

Fiscal Estimate
Proposed rule HFS 43 was developed with significant

involvement of the Department, the Child Welfare Training
Partnerships, county human services and social services
departments, and private agencies.  Child protective services
agencies are required under s. 48.981(8)(d), Stat., to provide
training, which is approved by the Department, on the
investigation and treatment of child abuse and neglect.  Most
agencies currently provide and pay for that training.  The
Department, under s. 48.981(8)(d), Stat., is required to
develop rules to monitor compliance with the training
requirement.

The costs arising from proposed HFS 43 for monitoring
compliance with the statutory requirement for training may be
minimal, and can be absorbed by the affected agencies.  The
Department believes that the information which agencies will
be required to enter into e−WiSACWIS or into personal or
other records and make available to the Department for
monitoring will require minimal time or effort.

Obtaining Copies of Rules and Fiscal Estimate
A copy of the full text of the rules and the fiscal estimate

can be obtained at no charge from the Wisconsin
Administrative Rules Website at
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov or by contacting the person
listed below.

Contact Person
Christopher Sieck
Statewide Training Coordinator
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Division of Children and Family Services
DHFS/DCFS
P.O. Box 8916
Madison, WI  53708−8916
crsieck@wisc.edu

Notice of Hearing
Health and Family Services

(Community Services, Chs. HFS 30 —

Medical Assistance, Chs. HFS 100—)

[CR 06−080]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to Sections

49.45 (10), 51.03 (4) (f), (g), and (h) and (5), 51.04, 51.42 (7)
(a) and (b), and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., and interpreting 49.45
(10), 51.04, 51.03 (4) (f), (g), and (h) and (5), 51.42 (7) (a) and
(b), and 632.89, (2) Stats., Stats., to repeal HFS 105.22 (1) (d)
; to amend HFS 105.22 (1) (c), 105.22 (2) (title), (a) and (b),
and (3), 107.13 (2) (a) (intro.) and 1. (intro.), 107.13 (2) (a) 3.
a. and b, 4. a. to f., 6., 7. , (b) 1., 4. a. to d., (c) 4. and 6., and
(d) 2.; and to create ch. HFS 35, 105.22 (1) (bm), 107.13 (2)
(a) 1. a. to g. and (2m) rules relating to outpatient mental
health clinics and affecting small businesses.

Hearing Date(s) and Location(s)

Monday, July 31, 2006 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. & 1:00
p.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Mendota Mental Health Institute− Conference Center
301 Troy Drive
Madison, WI

Tuesday, August 1, 2006 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. & 1:00
p.m. to 3:00 p.m.

North Central Health Care Facilities− Lakeview Center
1000 Lakeview Drive
Wausau, WI

Thursday, August 3, 2006 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. & 1:00
p.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Waukesha Regional Office, Room 151
141 NW Barstow St.
Waukesha, WI

The hearing site is fully accessible to people with
disabilities.  If you are hearing impaired, do not speak English
or have circumstances that might make communication at a
hearing difficult; you require an interpreter or a non−English
large print or taped version of the proposed rules, contact the
person at the address or telephone number given below at least
10 days before the hearing.  With less than 10 days notice, an
interpreter may not be available.

Place Where Written Comments May be Submitted
Written comments may be submitted at the public hearing

or submitted to the contact person listed below.  Comments
may also be made using the Wisconsin Administrative Rule
Website at http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.

Deadline for Comment Submission
The deadline for submitting comments to the Department

is 4:30 p.m. on August 10, 2006.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Health and
Family Services

The current rules for outpatient mental health clinics are
under ss. HFS 61.91 to 61.98.  These regulations address
procedures for certification; required personnel; service
requirements; and denial, involuntary termination or
suspension of certification for outpatient mental health
clinics; clinical supervision, clinical collaboration, and
clinical consultation; written authorization of psychotherapy
by a physician; initial assessments of clients and development
of treatment plans; progress notes; discharge summaries; and
record keeping.  In addition to these requirements, these rules
require clinics to ensure continuity of care for persons with
mental disorders or alcohol and drug abuse problems by
rendering or arranging for the provision of specified services,
including but not limited to, residential facility placement;
aftercare for continuing treatment in the community to help
the patient maintain and improve adjustment following a
period of treatment in a facility; and emergency care.  Sections
HFS 61.91 to 61.98 have not been comprehensively reviewed
and rewritten since May 1981.

Section HFS 105.22 provides the requirements for medical
assistance certification of psychotherapy providers, staffing
of outpatient facilities, and medical assistance reimbursement
for outpatient psychotherapy services.  Section HFS 107.13
(2) details the medical assistance requirements for covered
services for outpatient psychotherapy services, prior
authorization and other limits and procedures, and
non−covered services under the medical assistance program.

Section HFS 105.22, was last revised in 1991 and s. HFS
107.13 (2) has not been comprehensively reviewed and
rewritten since March 1986.  For outpatient mental health
services, Medicaid reimburses psychiatrists, Ph.D.
psychologists, advanced practice nurse prescribers with a
psychiatric specialty, and outpatient mental health clinics that
meet the requirements under proposed s. HFS 35.04 (2) (c).
Proposed s. HFS 35.04 (2) (c) requires at least one mental
health professional to be available to provide outpatient
mental health services at least 37.5 hours per week and at least
one mental health professional who is a psychiatrist,
psychologist or advanced practice nurse prescriber who
provides outpatient mental health services to consumers of the
clinic at least 4 hours per month. This is not a change from
current rules.

The Department proposes to repeal ss. HFS 61.91 to 61.98
and create ch. HFS 35 to do all the following:

 Eliminate burdensome provisions that do not help to lead
to the desired outcomes for persons who receive outpatient
mental health services treatment.

 Codify, in rule, the statewide variances that have been
issued by the Department to outpatient mental health
providers.

 Increase flexibility for clinic operations including
allowing certified clinics to alternatively meet the standards
of one of several national accrediting bodies when applying
for renewal certification; permitting clinics to provide either
clinical supervision, clinical collaboration or clinical
consultation as part of the clinic’s quality improvement
process; allowing  mental health professionals to provide the
recommendation for psychotherapy for consumers who are
not medical assistance recipients; allow persons other than a
physician or psychiatrist to provide mental health services;
and allow clinics to provide psychotherapy services in the
clinic, a branch office, or alternate location.

 Establish certification and enforcement processes that are
similar in both organization and content to the certification
and enforcement processes set out in rules for other certified
community mental health programs.
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 Clarify the minimum staff requirements for a clinic; and
the role of professional staff of a clinic, including for persons
who prescribe medication within a clinic.

 Clarify record keeping requirements for psychotherapy
notes.

 Establish training requirements for clinic staff.
 Add or expand language on admission, assessment,

consent for treatment, treatment planning and medication
administration; standards for electronic records, and
consumer rights.

 Incorporate the provisions under s. 50.065, Stats., and chs.
HFS 12 and 13 that require caregiver background checks on
clinic staff and reporting of clinic staff misconduct.

 Increase consumers’ participation in treatment planning
resulting in treatment that is recovery−based and
consumer−directed.

The Department proposes to revise ss. HFS 105.22 and
107.13 (2), to ensure that the language in these rules are
consistent with the language in the proposed ch. HFS 35 and
that these rules  current practices and needs, such as, indexing
the number of visits and dollar amounts before a prior
authorization is required.  Covered services are not proposed
to change.

Effect on Small Business (Initial Regulatory Flexibility
Analysis)

The Department is required under s. 51.42 (7) (b), Stats.,
to promulgate rules which govern the administrative structure
deemed necessary to administer community mental health
services; prescribe standards for qualifications personnel;
prescribe standards for quality of professional services;
govern eligibility of patients to the end that no person is
denied service on the basis of age, race, color, creed, location
or inability to pay; and to establish medication procedures to
be used in the delivery of mental health services.  Section
51.04, Stats., allows treatment facilities to apply to the
Department for certification of the facility for the receipt of
funds for services provided as a benefit to medical assistance
recipients under s. 49.46 (2) (b) 6. f., Stats., or to a community
aids funding recipient under s. 51.423 (2), Stats., or provided
as mandated private insurance coverage under s. 632.89 (2),
Stats.  Section 51.42 (7) (a), Stats., requires the Department
to review and certify county departments of community
programs and community mental health programs to assure
that the county department and programs are in compliance
with the purpose and intent of s. 51.42 Stats., to enable and
encourage counties to develop a comprehensive range of
services offering continuity of care; to utilize and expand
existing governmental, voluntary and private community
resources for provision of services to prevent or ameliorate
mental disabilities, including mental illness, developmental
disabilities, and alcoholism and drug abuse; to provide for the
integration of administration of those services and facilities
organized under s. 51.42, Stats., through a county department
of community programs; and to authorize state consultative
services, review and establishment of standards and grants−in
aids for such program of services and facilities.

The rules promulgated under s. 51.42 (7) (b), Stats., are
currently codified under ss. HFS 61.91 through 61.98.  These
rules initially were effective on January 1, 1980 with the most
recent revisions effective on May 1, 1981.  The rules were
written primarily for public mental health clinics, which were
assumed to have access to an interdisciplinary team (e.g.,
psychiatrist, nurse, psychotherapists, etc.).  During the past 25
years, many private providers have sought to become a
certified outpatient mental health clinic in order to bill
insurance companies for services provided under s. 632.89
(2), Stats.

Under the current regulations, a certified clinic must
include a psychiatrist or a licensed psychologist, as well as a
master’s level social worker or a registered nurse with a
master’s degree with a psychiatric specialty.  Other mental
health professionals with training and experience in mental
health may be employed as necessary, including persons with
master’s degrees and course work in clinical psychology,
psychology, school psychology, counseling and guidance, or
counseling psychology.  The clinic is required to ensure
continuity of care for persons with mental disorders or alcohol
and drug abuse problems by rendering or arranging for the
provision of and documentation of services such as evaluation
to determine the extent to which the patient’s problem
interferes with normal functioning; residential facility
placement for patients in need of a supervised living
environment; partial hospitalization to provide a therapeutic
milieu or other care for non–residential patients for only part
of a 24–hour day; pre–care prior to hospitalization to prepare
the patient for admission; aftercare for continuing treatment
in the community to help the patient maintain and improve
adjustment following a period of treatment in a facility;
emergency care for assisting patients believed to be in danger
of injuring themselves or others; rehabilitation services to
achieve maximal functioning, optimal adjustment, and
prevention of the patient’s condition from relapsing;
habilitation services to achieve adjustment and functioning of
a patient in spite of continuing existence of problems;
supportive transitional services to provide a residential
treatment milieu for adjustment to community living;
professional consultation to render written advice and
services to a program or another professional on request.  The
current rule also requires the clinic to provide a minimum of
2 hours each of clinical treatment by a psychiatrist or
psychologist and a social worker for each 40 hours of
psychotherapy provided by the clinic. Specified personnel
employed by a clinic are required to be under the supervision
of a physician or licensed psychologist who meets the
requirements of s. HFS 61.96 (1) (a) for a specified  time
relating to the number of hours of psychotherapy provided
and frequency of a consumer’s treatment sessions.  The
current rule further requires that each consumer receive an
initial assessment and have a treatment record that contains a
treatment plan, progress notes and discharge summary.

Through this order, the Department proposes to repeal ss.
HFS 61.91 through 61.98 and create ch. HFS 35.  Private and
public clinics have reported difficulty in meeting the
requirement of having a psychiatrist or psychologist to work
in the clinic or to accept referrals from the clinic.  To address
this issue, the Department is adding 2 options for minimum
staffing requirements that do not require a psychiatrist or
psychologist to be a staff member of the clinic.  The proposed
rule also will respond to the issue of clinical supervision by a
psychiatrist or psychologist.  Many clinics report that this
oversight model is costly, and that the process does not yield
meaningful feedback to staff.  To address this issue, the
proposed rules will permit clinical collaboration, which is a
process by which staff within the clinic review the treatment
effectiveness and together identify possible changes in
treatment approaches, staff training, policy changes, etc., as
an alternative to clinical supervision.

The private sector outpatient mental health clinics that will
be affected by the proposed rules are those that contract with
county departments under s. 46.23, s. 51.42 or 51.437, Stats.,
to implement its community mental health services programs
or to receive reimbursement for outpatient mental health
services from the Wisconsin medical assistance program or
private insurance under s. 632.89, (2) Stats.  As of June 2006,
there are 837 certified outpatient mental clinics located
throughout Wisconsin with the largest concentrations in the
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metropolitan areas of the central and southeastern parts of the
state.  The majority, 92 percent (772 clinics) are privately
owned non−profit or for−profit entities.  The remaining 8
percent are government owned.  The privately owned clinics
(as represented in the WABHS survey and assumed by the
Department to be representative of the “average” clinic) are
staffed primarily by licensed clinical social workers, licensed
marriage and family therapists, or licensed professional
counselors and support staff who provide approximately 788
hours of mental health services (and 237 hours of
psychotherapy services) per week to children, adolescent,
adults, and senior adults of various degrees of mental health
issues and diagnoses, such as disorders relating to legal and
illicit drug use; eating and sleeping disorders; depressive,
bipolar, anxiety disorders; and personality disorders.  Staff of
these clinics also may include medical doctors, psychiatrists,
psychologists, advanced practice nurse prescribers, persons
with a master’s in social work, persons with a master’s of
science, and substance abuse counselors. The current and
proposed rules do not apply to or individual practitioners
licensed by the Department of Regulation and Licensing to
provide psychotherapy; these individuals can apply their
trade as permitted by their license without being certified as
an outpatient mental health clinic.

More than 10% of the certified outpatient clinics that will
be affected by the proposed rules may be small businesses as
defined under s. 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., as the average private
clinic may be independently owned and operated and employs
less than 25 employees or has gross annual revenues under
$5,000,000.  As discussed below, the Department believes
that the proposed rules will decrease costs to the average
outpatient mental health clinic.  The cost elements discussed
in this analysis are staffing; documentation and reporting;
recordkeeping; and the certification process.  Any costs other
than those specified in this analysis appear to be negligible
and are inherent in the conduct of clinic business or are the
result of required compliance with ch. 51, Stats, as a mental
health provider.

The requirements in the proposed rule relating to reporting,
record keeping, and the certification process and the
associated costs are unchanged compared to the current rule,
except that under the renewal certification process clinics that
are accredited by nationally recognized bodies may request a
waiver of part of the bi−annual process.  In addition clinics,
under specified conditions, may also be certified as
exceptional clinics. Certification for exceptional clinics
renews every three years.  A grant of a waiver of certification
requirements or receipt of exceptional certification may
reduce a clinic’s costs.  Although the rules require additional
specificity in regard to documentation in the content of
assessment and treatment plan records, the costs of
documentation are not expected to increase.  There is no data
or basis that indicates that the time involved completing the
documentation of the assessment and treatment plan will
increase.  There are no capital costs imposed by the proposed
rules.

The proposed rules are minimum requirements that give
maximum flexibility under regulations that are required by
statute and the intent and purpose of s. 51.42, Stats.  The
Department believes that the benefits of the proposed rules
will outweigh any costs that they may impose because the
proposed rules will benefit both consumers and clinics by
improving access, protection, and quality of care and quality
of life to consumers receiving or seeking mental health
services and will reduce costs and the burden of regulation on
outpatient mental health clinics that choose to be certified.
For example, under the existing rule, services must be
provided at the clinic office or a branch office identified in the
certificate issued by the Department unless it is demonstrated

to the Department that there are specific barriers to care if
services are not delivered outside the clinic.  In addition, there
currently are limitations in the use of a branch office, such as
branch offices must be located within 30 miles of the main
office and all treatment records must be stored in the main
office.  In the proposed rule, service delivery will be more
flexible as clinics will be allowed to offer services where
needed without having to seek additional certification and
other limitations on the use of branch offices are also
removed.  This should increase the profitability of the clinic
or reduce the costs of clinics by increasing the numbers of
consumers that may be served and eliminating any costs that
may be incurred in certifying and maintaining a branch office.
The existing rules were written for comprehensive, publicly
operated clinics.  The proposed rules have eliminated the
requirements that clinics provide, or provide access to
residential facilities, partial hospitalization, pre−care for
hospitalization, rehabilitation services, habilitation services,
and supportive transitional services.  The services under the
proposed rule allow for services to be provided, contracted or
provided by agreement.  It is assumed that the therapist would
expedite services as required for individual clients.  The time
and cost of procuring these services or agreements has been
eliminated.  The existing rule requires that every consumer
have a referral from a physician for psychotherapy services.
The proposed rule allows a licensed therapist to make the
recommendation for therapy if the consumer is a
non−Medicaid recipient, which reduces cost to the consumer
and increases accessibility to services.  This would be an
estimated cost savings to the consumers (who are not
Medicaid recipients) of $100.  However, recommendations
for psychotherapy for Medicaid recipients must be by a
physician as required under s. 49.46 (2) (b) 6. f., Stats.

Personnel requirements have been changed to allow
alternatives to the existing rule and to recognize and reduce a
clinic’s staffing costs and the difficulty clinics reportedly have
in obtaining staff.  Existing rules require a minimum of two
hours of clinical treatment by a psychiatrist or psychologist
for each 40 hours of psychotherapy provided in a clinic.  The
proposed rule eliminates this requirement with an estimated
minimum savings of $19,000 per year for the small clinic.
Larger clinics likely will save proportionally increased
amounts.  As reported in the WABHS survey, the average
clinic already meets the minimum staffing requirements
under the proposed rules.  These clinics have sufficient
numbers of staff working sufficient number of hours to meet
the current and proposed minimum staff requirements.
Although the Department estimates that approximately 150
currently certified clinics may not currently meet the
minimum staff requirements or the proposed regulations, the
Department believes that these and all other clinics will be
able meet one of the options for minimum staffing without
difficulty and without increased costs.  The proposed rules
provide two options for minimum staffing that do not require
a psychiatrist or psychologist to be a staff member of the
clinic, which acknowledges the shortage of psychiatrists and
psychologists.  A third option for minimum staffing is similar
to the current regulations, but is more stringent in that it
requires staff to be available to provide psychotherapy at least
37.5 hours per week, but is less stringent in that it requires
only four hours of direct services from a psychiatrist,
psychologist or advanced practice nurse prescriber.  The
proposed rule permits existing clinics to be “grandfathered”
for a two−year period of time, to comply with the minimum
staffing requirements in the proposed rules.  If a clinic submits
data regarding its reasonable, bona fide efforts to comply with
the minimum staffing requirements, then the Department may
grant a waiver request regarding the minimum staffing
requirements for the clinic.  The proposed staffing
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requirements may be met either through contract or
employment.  Also, under the existing rule clinics are required
to provide supervision by a psychiatrist or psychologist at the
rate of 30 minutes for every 40 hours of therapy provided.  The
current rules require clinics to have clinical supervision from
a psychiatrist or psychologist.  As reported in the WABHS
survey the oversight model type most used by clinics is
clinical supervision from a psychiatrist or psychologist which
costs the average clinic approximately $701 per month and
$593 per month, respectively.  The proposed rules will allow
clinical collaboration, which is a process by which staff within
the clinic review the treatment effectiveness and together
identify possible changes in treatment approaches, staff
training, policy changes, etc., as an alternative to clinical
supervision.  Clinics that already use clinical collaboration
(which is currently allowed under a statewide waiver) have an
average reported cost of $551 per month.  Based on the
average costs for clinical supervision versus clinical
collaboration, the cost−savings for using clinical
collaboration is estimated to be approximately $500 to $1800
per year. The average clinic has annual gross revenues of
$593,000 per year (based on the revenue information reported
in the WABHS survey).  For the average clinic, the estimated
cost savings of $19,000 plus $1,800 per year represent a 3.5
percent potential decrease in costs for a clinic if the clinic
chooses clinical collaboration as an oversight model.

The proposed rules include waiver and variance provisions
to allow clinics to use alternatives to rules when compliance
is difficult because of availability of staff or remote
geographic locations or strict enforcement of the requirement
would result in unreasonable hardship on the outpatient clinic
or consumer.  A waiver or variance can also be used if there
are more creative ways to meet a requirement or if “deemed
status” from a national accrediting organization is recognized,
which would eliminate duplicate costs to the agency for staff
time to prepare for survey by both the national accrediting
organization and Department staff.  A waiver or variance
would not be allowed if quality of care is adversely affected.
The proposed rules allow for a provisional certification for a
clinic that has no major deficiencies but has one or more minor
deficiencies for up to one year, a regular certification for a
clinic that has no major or minor deficiencies for up to two
years, and an exceptional certification for a clinic that has no
major or minor deficiencies and meets additional standards
for up to three years.

Pursuant to the foregoing analysis, the proposed rules may
decrease costs to the small businesses affected by the
proposed rules. The proposed rules will affect a substantial
number of small businesses, but will not have a significant
economic impact on those businesses.  Further, any increase
in operating costs or decreases in revenues that may be caused
by the proposed rules are expected to be less than the 2005
Consumer Price Index of 3.4%.

Small Business Regulatory Coordinator

Rosie Greer

Greerrj@dhfs.state.wi.us

608−266−1279

Fiscal Estimate

State fiscal effect − The rule does not mandate any changes
to fees charged to outpatient mental health clinics, increase
the number of State surveyors, or otherwise create new or
different requirements for the department.  The rule does not
change the provider requirements for who may bill Medicaid
for outpatient services.  In addition, the rule does not propose
to change the services that are Medicaid reimbursable as an
outpatient mental health service.  Therefore, no increases or

decreases are anticipated in the Medicaid budget as a result of
the rule changes.

Summarized below is the analysis of the potential fiscal
impact the rule may have on county and private sector
outpatient mental health clinics:

1. The proposed rule has no specific space, design, or
organizational requirements for outpatient mental health
clinics.  The capital costs for the clinic are based on individual
preferences, such as the number of staff, staff service time,
and location of offices.  The number of support staff would
also be related to the size of the operation.

2. Ongoing operational costs would include the cost of
contracting for services from a psychiatrist, psychologist or
other mental health professional for the purpose of clinical
collaboration on treatment.  The proposed rule has added
alternatives to reduce this cost over the existing rule.
Specifically, the current rule requires clinical supervision
from a psychiatrist or psychologist at an average reported cost
in the survey of clinics of $701/month and $593/month,
respectively.  The proposed rule permits an oversight model
of either clinical supervision or clinical collaboration, which
has an average reported cost of $551/month.

3. Ongoing transaction costs would include normal clinical
data keeping which is factored into the hourly fee charged to
the client.  Typically, a therapeutic hour is calculated to be 45
minutes with the remaining 15 minutes used for
documentation related to the therapy session and other record
keeping.  The cost of preparing for the actual compliance
review would assume that the psychotherapist has a full
schedule of therapy sessions, and would need to disrupt the
normal schedule.  However, most clinics do not function on
a full 40 hours of therapy per week, a typical schedule would
be 50% direct face−to−face time.

4. Start−up costs would vary with the skills of the
individual.  The tasks would include creation of policies and
procedures, design of documentation and filing systems.

The expected average compliance cost may range from
$500 to $1,000 depending on the size and nature of the
operation.  Other costs to consider:

1. Ability to finance compliance costs:  The cost of
compliance is primarily composed of individual time. There
are no capital costs required by the rules.

2. Financial hardship:  The rule is designed to reduce cost
over the existing rule.

3. Competitiveness of enterprises and sectors:  When a
clinic elects to be certified under the existing or proposed
rules, they have access to additional funding which would not
otherwise be available.  This includes funding from mandated
insurance under WI Stats. 632.89 and Medicaid.  The funding
provides up to $500 of coverage for those individuals with
insurance or Medicaid.  There is also the advantage of being
recognized as complying with standards established by the
state mental health authority.

4. Barriers to entry and expansion: The individual clinic
seeking certification is required to meet minimum standards
of compliance.  This requires compliance with accepted
standards of service.  The primary barrier would be the
therapist’s ability to comply with the accepted standards.
There are no restrictions on the number and locations of
agencies.  The addition of staff which is the principal method
of expansion simply requires the notification of the certifying
agency of the qualifications of new staff.  The same is true for
adding additional branches to the clinics.  The clinical
operation is in control of the type and style of office they wish
to a create or add.

Employment effects:  There should be no effect on the
present employment within clinics.  The rules have been
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structured to allow qualified staff of existing operations to
continue.  There may be minimal effect on those operations,
which were marginally operating under the existing
standards.  The proposed rules allow the hiring of additional
staff for specific functions within the clinic.  There are
provisions to allow persons who are in the process of training
and those with alternative qualifications to be employed by
the clinic.

Specific cost saving changes:  The proposed rules only
apply to those clinics who choose to be certified.  Individuals
who are licensed to provide psychotherapy can apply their
trade as permitted by their license.  The proposed rules only
apply to those clinical operations electing to be approved as
an outpatient clinic as defined by the rules.

The following changes have been made to improve the
quality of care and at the same time reduce costs and the
burden of regulation.

1. The location of service delivery has been changed to be
more flexible.  Under the existing rule, services could only be
provided at the clinic offices unless it was demonstrated there
were specific barriers to care.  This should increase the
profitability of the clinic by increasing the numbers of persons
that can be accessed.

2. “Deemed status” from a national accrediting
organization is recognized.  This would not duplicate costs to
the agency for staff time to prepare for a survey by both the
national accrediting organization and Department staff,
potentially saving money during the certification period.

3. A waiver or variance of a requirement is permitted to
allow clinics alternatives to rules when compliance is difficult
due to availability of staff, remote geographic locations, or
strict enforcement of the requirement would result in
unreasonable hardship on the outpatient clinic or consumer.
The waiver or variance would not be allowed if quality of care
is adversely affected.

4. The personnel requirements have been changed to allow
alternatives to the existing rule to reduce costs and difficulty
of obtaining staff.  Existing rules require a minimum of two
hours of clinical treatment by a psychiatrist or psychologist
for each 40 hours of psychotherapy provided.  The new rule
eliminates this requirement with a minimum savings of
$19,000 per year of cost for the small clinic.  Larger clinics
will save proportionally increased amounts.

5. Under the existing rule, clinics are required to provide
supervision by a psychiatrist or psychologist at the rate of 30
minutes for every 40 hours of therapy provided.  The cost for
a small clinic would be approximately $5,000 per year.  The
new rule allows clinical collaboration with other licensed staff
to provide for this function.

6. Service requirements have been extensively reduced to
recognize the wider variety of clinics and methods of
providing care.  The existing rules were written for publicly
operated clinics.  Private clinics have been allowed to apply
for certification if they agree to comply with the rules.  The
proposed rules have eliminated the requirements that clinics
provide, or provide access to residential facilities, partial
hospitalization, pre−care for hospitalization, rehabilitation
services, habilitation services, and supportive transitional
services.  The services under the proposed rule may be
provided, contracted or provided by agreement.  It is assumed
that the therapist would expedite services as required for
individual clients.  The time and cost of procuring these
services or agreements has been eliminated.

7. The existing rule requires that every consumer must have
a referral from a physician for psychotherapy services.  The
proposed rule allows the licensed therapist to make the

recommendation for therapy, which reduces cost to the
consumer and increases accessibility to services.  This would
be an estimated cost savings to the consumers (who are not
Medicaid recipients) of $100.

Obtaining Copies of Rules and Fiscal Estimate
A copy of the full text of the rules and the fiscal estimate

can be obtained at no charge from the Wisconsin
Administrative Rules Website at http://adminrules.
wisconsin.gov or by contacting the person listed below.

Contact Person
Dan Zimmerman
Department of Health and Family Services
Bureau of Mental Health & Substance Abuse Services
Room 455
1 W. Wilson St.
Madison, WI 53707
zimmeds@dhfs.state.wi.us
(608) 266−7072

Notice of Hearing
Health and Family Services

(Health, chs. HFS 110—)
[CR 06−075]

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 146.50
(4) (c), (5) (b), (6) (b) 2., (8m), (13), and 227.11 (2), Stats,
Stats., and interpreting ss. 146.50 (1) (d) to (g), (4) (c), (5) (b)
and (d), (6), (9), (10), (13) and 146.53 (5) (g), Stats., the
department proposes to modify rules relating to licensing
emergency medical technicians and affecting small
businesses.

Hearing Date(s) and Location(s)

Hearing Date & Time Hearing Location

July 25, 2006
1:00 PM to 3:00 PM

Dept. of Health & Family Services
1 W. Wilson St., Rm. B139
Madison, WI

July 26, 2006
6:00 PM to 8:00 PM

Business Education Center
Chippewa Valley Technical College
Room 100A (RCU Community
Room)
620 West Clairemont Avenue
Eau Claire, WI

July 27, 2006
6:00 PM to 8:00 PM

Northwest Technical College
Business Center Room 213
2740 West Mason Street
Green Bay, WI

The hearing site is fully accessible to people with
disabilities.  If you are hearing impaired, do not speak English
or have circumstances that might make communication at a
hearing difficult; you require an interpreter or a non−English
large print or taped version of the proposed rules, contact the
person at the address or telephone number given below at least
10 days before the hearing.  With less than 10 days notice, an
interpreter may not be available.

Place Where Written Comments May be Submitted
Written comments may be submitted at the public hearing

or submitted to the contact person listed below.  Comments
may also be made using the Wisconsin Administrative Rule
Website at http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.
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Deadline for Comment Submission

The deadline for submitting comments to the Department
is 4:30 p.m. on July 31, 2006.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Health and
Family Services

Wisconsin has two levels of emergency medical services.
They are basic life support and advanced life support.  These
two levels are distinguished by the skills and medications that
can be used by emergency medical services personnel when
performing pre−hospital care.  At the basic life support level,
the department licenses individuals as emergency medical
technician−basic (EMT−basic) and emergency medical
technician−intravenous (EMT−basic IV) and certifies
individuals as First Responders.  At the advanced life support
level, the department licenses individuals as provisional
emergency medical technician−intermediate (provisional
EMT−intermediate), emergency medical technician−
intermediate (EMT−intermediate), and emergency medical
technician−paramedic (EMT−paramedic).  The requirements
for basic life support are codified in chs. HFS 110 and HFS
113.  Requirements for advanced life support are codified in
chs. HFS 111 and HFS 112.

The training and competency requirements for the
EMT−basic IV license are identical to the training and
competency requirements for the provisional EMT−
intermediate license.  But because the EMT−basic IV
requirements are codified in the basic life support code,
ambulance service providers are reimbursed at the basic life
support level of care instead of the advanced life support level
of care.  The ambulance service provider industry report that
this situation is having a negative fiscal impact on ambulance
service providers that use EMT−basic IV licensees to provide
emergency medical services and may eventually cause a
reduction of services in the communities that they serve.

To maintain the level of emergency medical services that
are currently being provided and to avoid confusion about the
skills and level of care provided by the EMT−basic IV
licensee, the department proposes to change the name of the
EMT−basic IV license to EMT−intermediate technician and
move the licensing requirements to ch. HFS 111.  No changes
to skills and competency requirements are being proposed.
The department also proposes to modify the continuing
education requirements under ch. HFS 110 to allow
ambulance service providers flexibility in providing refresher
training to EMT−basic licensees.  This change will reduce
financial and scheduling burdens on providers by allowing
them to use their training dollars more cost effectively, and it
will create uniformity between the basic refresher
requirements and the refresher requirements that are in place
for the other skill levels.

The department will implement these changes in a
substantially identical emergency rule to become effective on
July 1, 2006, because under current s. HFS 111.045,
individuals who are licensed as provisional
EMT−intermediate licensees will become EMT−basic IV
licensees effective July 1, 2006.   If this occurs, it’s likely that
the currently reported negative affects on the ambulance
provider industry will increase.

Effect on Small Business (Initial Regulatory Flexibility
Analysis)

In Wisconsin there are approximately 430 ambulance
service providers.  Approximately 80% are volunteer (not for
profit) or owned by private for profit entities.  The remaining
20% are government owned.  A total of 129 ambulance
service providers and 2812 licensed individuals in 48 counties
currently provide emergency medical services at the

EMT−basic−IV (74) or EMT−provisional intermediate (55)
level to approximately 2.65 million Wisconsin residents.

The provider industry estimates that these ambulance
service providers are losing approximately $1.5 million
dollars in reimbursement revenues annually due to the
codification of the EMT−basic IV services in ch. HFS 110 as
basic life support.  The loss is likely to increase when the
provisional EMT−intermediate is renamed EMT−basic IV
effective July 1, 2006, and an estimated 95% of the
individuals who are currently licensed and titled as
provisional EMT−intermediate will be renamed EMT−basic
IV.  Consequently, the level of emergency medical services
provided in over half of the state’s 72 counties may be reduced
or become non−existent unless the proposed changes are
implemented.

The department believes the proposed changes will have a
positive fiscal effect on ambulance service providers as the
proposed changes are likely to increase revenues through
increased reimbursement.  The proposed rules do not do not
require any additional reporting or record keeping, or other
requirements that may increase costs or decrease revenues.

Pursuant to the foregoing analysis the proposed rules will
have a positive fiscal effect on ambulance service providers,
including those that may be small businesses.

Small Business Regulatory Coordinator
Rosie Greer
Greerrj@dhfs.state.wi.us
608−266−1279

Fiscal Estimate

Currently the department sets standards for different
categories of Emergency Medical Technicians (EMT) in rule.
By amending this administrative rule, the Department
proposes to eliminate the category of EMT−basic IV, retain
the category of provisional EMT− intermediate (which is due
to sunset on June 30, 2006), and rename both categories of
providers as EMT−intermediate technicians.  This change
will allow providers with specific skill levels, including
advanced life support, to be classified appropriately.  This
change in rule allows these categories of EMT providers to be
placed in the appropriate rule, which defines their scope of
practice more adequately.  As a result, ambulance service
providers will be able to charge for the more complex skill sets
at a higher rate based on the treatment modalities that are
utilized and individual ambulance providers will be able to
increase their revenues. The addition of more flexible renewal
requirements will allow services to better budget and use their
training dollars more efficiently. This is a significant issue
with regard to reduced local budgets.

Ambulance service providers report that they cannot
continue to cover the costs of training and operating at the
advanced life support level of care while being reimbursed at
the basic life support level of care.  The provider industry
estimates that Wisconsin ambulance service providers are
losing approximately $1.5 million dollars in reimbursement
revenues annually due to the codification of the EMT−basic
IV services in ch. HFS 110 as basic life support rather than in
ch. HFS 111 as advanced life support.  The loss of revenue
would increase if the current provisional EMT−intermediate
were renamed EMT−basic IV when the category of
provisional EMT−intermediate sunsets, as would happen
under the current rule.  However, this rule change will
reclassify both categories as EMT−intermediate technicians,
which will allow ambulance service providers to charge for
both at the higher rate of reimbursement.  Medical insurance
providers and other entities responsible for health care costs
may see some increase in expenses as a result of this change.
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In many cases now, Medicaid reimburses ambulance
providers for the actual level of services required.  As a result,
there are not likely to be significant increased expenses for
Medicaid as a result of this rule change.  Without this rule
change and the potential for rate increases, some EMT
providers may not be able to continue to operate.  The level
of services provided in some communities would be likely to
decrease or disappear.  This rule change will help to ensure
that an adequate emergency medical services system remains
in place in Wisconsin.

Obtaining Copies of Rules and Fiscal Estimate
A copy of the full text of the rules and the fiscal estimate

can be obtained at no charge from the Wisconsin
Administrative Rules Website at
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov or by contacting the person
listed below.

Contact Person
Dan Williams
Department of Health and Family Services
Division of Public Health − Emergency Medical Services
1 West Wilson Street Room 118
P.O. Box 2659
Madison, WI 53701−2659
608−261−6870
willidp@dhfs.state.wi.us

Notice of Hearing
Health and Family Services
(Health, Chs. HFS 110—)

[CR 06−086]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 227.11

(2), 250.04 (1) and (7) and 254.47, Stats., interpreting ss.
254.47 and 254.85, Stats., the Department of Health and
Family Services will hold a public hearing to consider the
Department’s proposal to repeal and recreate ch. HFS 172
relating to pools and water attractions, and affecting small
business.

Hearing Information
Two public hearings will be held, as follows:

Wednesday, August 9, 2006
Time:  10:00 AM

Dept. of Health and 
  Family Services
1 West Wilson Street 
Room B 139
Madison, WI  53703

Thursday, August 10, 2006
Time:  10:00 AM

Marathon County Health
  Dept.
1200 Lakeview Drive
Room 200
Wausau, WI 54403−6797

The hearing site is fully accessible to people with
disabilities.  If you are hearing or visually impaired, do not
speak English, or have circumstances that might make
communication at a hearing difficult and if you, therefore,
require an interpreter or a non−English, large print or taped
version of the hearing document, contact the person at the
address or phone number given above at least 10 days before
the hearing.  With less than 10 days notice, an interpreter may
not be available.

Written comments
Written comments may be submitted at the public hearing,

or in lieu of attending a public hearing written comments can
be submitted by regular mail or email to:

Tracynda Davis
1 W. Wilson Street, Room 150
Madison, WI  53702
Phone:  608−266−8924
Fax:  608−267−3241
Email:  davistl@dhfs.state.wi.us
Written comments may also be submitted to the

Department using the Wisconsin Administrative Rules
Internet website at http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.

The deadline for submitting comments is 4:30 p.m., on
Friday, August 17, 2006.  

Analysis prepared by the Dept. of Health and Family
Services

The Department of Commerce has authority related to the
design and construction of public pools and water attractions,
including plan approval and supervision of construction.
When a facility has been properly designed and built, the
Department of Health and Family Services (DHFS) then
reviews the pool for operation, safety and maintenance and
gives the pool a permit to operate if all conditions of ch. HFS
172 are met.

DHFS proposes revisions to ch. HFS 172 based on recent
scientific research and extensive input from pool designers
and operators.  The rule will generally not have an effect on
standard rectangular pools and whirlpools that have not made
changes resulting in increased risk. Waterslides that were
previously regulated by the Department of Commerce, are
included in these rule revisions, requiring permitting, either
separately or as a pool appurtenance, and annual inspection by
DHFS for operation and safety. A certified structural engineer
will be required to evaluate the physical condition of the slide
every 5 years for bolt degradation and physical stress load
capabilities.

The rule also proposes changes related to lifeguard and
attendant staffing, to add flexibility in these plans.

Chapter HFS 172, Wis. Adm. Code, is proposed to
correspond to the recent changes made by the Department of
Commerce in ch. Comm 90, Wis. Adm. Code.

The Certified Pool Operator (CPO) requirement is
proposed only for operators of water attractions. Traditional
pools used for swimming, diving, wading, relaxation, or
therapy would not require certified operators.  Water
attractions include activity pools, leisure rivers, plunge pools,
water slides, vanishing edge pools, vortex pools, and wave
pools.  CPO training and registration can be obtained through
two national organizations, and the Department will evaluate
other organizations upon request.  Currently, there are 4000
licensed pools in WI; over 50% are managed by a CPO,
including nearly all water attractions.  Thus, the requirement
to have a CPO will have minimal impact, as the industry
already recognizes the importance of and has trained
operators accordingly.

Effect on Small Business (Initial Regulatory Flexibility
Analysis)

Since the last revision to ch. HFS 172 in 1989, the water
recreation industry has changed significantly.  The newly
revised code addresses many pool types, and is designed to
allow sufficient flexibility for the development of new types
of water attractions in the future.  Also, as of May 2004, pool
and water slides, formerly inspected by the Department of
Commerce, will now fall under the purview of DHFS.  A
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Memorandum of Understanding is being developed between
the Department of Commerce and DHFS to ensure ongoing
seamless approval and inspection of pool slides. The new rule
provisions also address additional appurtenances such as
climbing and walking features.

These code provision changes should have a minimal
impact on small business. The water recreation industry and
the operators of small businesses with pools were well
represented on the advisory committee, and consensus was
obtained before these final rule changes were proposed.

This rule revision will not impose significant increases in
licensing and operating fees.  90% of the 4,000 pools in
Wisconsin will not be affected by these revisions. The 10% of
pools that will be affected include the largest facilities, most
of which already meet the CPO and life guarding
requirements, and potentially include poorly or illegally
operated pools.

The following issues from the revision of ch. HFS 172 may
potentially affect small business operators:

�  Lifeguard requirements
�  CPO requirements
�  Fees for inspections, pre−inspections, re−inspections,

and operating without a license
�  Lifeguards: There are nearly 4,000 licensed individual

pools in Wisconsin, but only half of those pool facilities
include 2 or more pools.  DHFS has no current definitive
breakdown of the number of facilities the new lifeguarding
requirements would affect, but estimates that perhaps 200 to
300 facilities will fall under the provisions of this rule, and
most of these facilities are already in full compliance. These
rule revisions alter the codified lifeguard requirements, but
are not necessarily more stringent. There will be ongoing
costs related to the turnover in lifeguard positions, but water
attraction operators build lifeguard costs into their business
plans. Labor and training costs are detailed below.

� Revenue analysis of lifeguard staffing plans: The range
of revenues regarding pool operations is vast.  Many
pools show no direct income; e.g., hotels or apartment
complexes that do not charge for admission to the pool.
Nor is there a definable difference in occupancy rates
between properties with a pool versus properties without.
Alternatively, there are large water attractions in
Wisconsin that generate millions of dollars in revenue
from their extensive water attractions.

� While 98% of pool operators qualify as small
businesses, the biggest 5% of pool operators have
facilities requiring life guarding and therefore the
majority of operators will not be affected by these rule
changes, as these facilities are already in compliance.
Moderately sized hotels have recently begun expanding
their pools by adding slides, interactive play features, etc.
These facilities will feel the impacts of the rules the most,
because they are approaching the line distinguishing a
public pools from a water attraction.  These facilities will
need to hire staff members to supervise their pools and
either hire already certified lifeguards or train existing
staff.  DHFS estimates 20 hotels per year would fall into
this category.

Costs to agencies: There is no additional cost to state or
local agencies related to meeting the lifeguard requirements.

DHFS will absorb minimal costs associated with training
inspectors to properly inspect water slides.  Each inspection
of pool slides should take no more than 20 to 30 additional
minutes while the inspector is already present.

�  Certified Pool Operator (CPO) Requirements: Wisconsin
has a large pool of certified pool operators, and regularly adds

more.  From April 2001 to April 2006, 2041 persons
graduated from Wisconsin Certified Pool Operator courses.
Thus, the industry should feel little impact from these new
rule provisions, as most facilities that need a CPO either
already have a CPO or can choose from the pool of qualified
individuals.

�  Inspection, Pre−inspection and Re−inspection fees: The
addition of pre−inspection and re−inspection fees, as well as
higher fees associated with waterslide inspections may have
an economic impact related to this rule. A pre−inspection is
an examination of the facility prior to the facility’s opening to
ensure compliance with applicable statutes and
administrative rules.   Re−inspections occur when a facility
presents a potential hazard to the general public if conditions
are not corrected, and therefore an additional inspection is
necessary.

�  Water slide inspection fees: DHFS follows a system of
rating, inspecting, and charging establishments according to
the relative risk related to and the complexity of the operation.
Accordingly, a revised fee structure has been created with the
following changes:

� Traditional pool or hot tub . . . . . no change

� Water attraction without slides . . plus $25 annually

� Water attraction with 1 or 2 slides plus $100 annually

� Additional water slides . . . . . . . . plus $150 annually

� Additional pool slides (smaller) . plus $50 annually
DHFS estimates there are 400 water attractions without

slides, 200 with 1 or 2 slides, an additional 20 water slides, and
an additional 20 pool slides. Increased revenue to DHFS
under the new rule is estimated to be:

400 * $25 = $10,000
200 * $100 = $20,000
20 * $150 = $3,000
20 * $50 = $1,000
Total revenue increase = $34,000

�  Operating without a license: A fee equal to the annual
licensing fee has been added to the rule for facilities found to
be purposefully operating without a license. This fee will not
apply to someone who is merely late in renewing, or who
inadvertently misplaces the fee notice.

Benefits of the code revisions:
 Pool operators understand the need to keep the public safe,

and the goal of keeping their operations open. These
administrative rule revisions address both of those issues.

�  Serious but flexible lifeguard plans will help pool
operators keep their operations safe.

�  A Certified Pool Operator is an expert at maintaining
water quality and pool safety, establishing policies and
procedures to provide a constant safe environment, and
training staff.  Certified Pool Operators are also trained in
monitoring and testing pool water, in order to maintain proper
pool chemical balances.

�  The test kit reagent required in these rule revisions is less
expensive than kits currently used. Since pools are tested up
to 4 or more times per day, over time, this will mean a
considerable savings to the industry.

�  The new fees require services to be paid for by the
operators who require the services rather than by dividing
them among all operators.

Operations that are built or redesigned so that pools will be
direct sources of income will face additional training and
labor costs as outlined above. Most pools in Wisconsin are
simple swimming pools or spas designed and operated as an
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amenity to lodging. These operations will feel little or no
impact from the proposed revisions.

Fiscal estimate
The DHFS proposes to repeal and re−establish HFS 172

regulating the operation and maintenance of public pools and
water attractions.  Presently, the DHFS or agent local health
departments are required by statute to perform a
pre−inspection  − a detailed examination of a new public pool
or water attraction to ensure administrative code compliance
− prior to issuing a license.  The proposed changes in this rule
would establish a pre−inspection fee to recover the program
costs associated with the pre−inspection.  The DHFS also
proposes to establish fees for re−inspection of facilities to
recover costs associated with facilities that are found to have
significant violations of administrative code which would
require a follow−up inspection.  The proposed rule changes
also incorporate the transfer of responsibility for the routine
safety inspection of waterslides from the Department of
Commerce to the Department of Health and Family Services
or agent local public health departments and include fees to
recover the costs associated with these inspections.  The
proposed fees are scaled to the complexity of the facility to
reflect the amount of time and cost associated with the
inspection.  It is estimated that the fee changes described
above will result in approximately $100,000 additional
program revenue to the DHFS annually.

The proposed rule changes would require additional
responsibilities of the local agent public health departments.
Staff would be required to verify lifeguard staffing plans for
public pools and water attractions, and inspect waterslides
within their jurisdiction.  Local agent public health
departments are able to set annual license fees to recover the
costs of these additional responsibilities.

It is estimated that total annual costs to the industry for the
new pre−inspection fees for approximately 200 to 400 newly
constructed facilities and facilities changing ownership
would be $50,000 to $60,000. It is estimated that 100 to 200
facilities will require re−inspections annually due to
significant compliance problems resulting in annual costs to
the industry of $7,500 to $15,000.  The proposed
pre−inspection and reinspection fees will not impact existing
and compliant public pools and water attractions.  An
estimated 200 new facilities with water or pool slides will
apply for permits and be charged fees of between $50 to $150,
for a total estimated cost to the industry of $20,000 annually.
Total charges to the industry from permit fees, pre−inspection
fees, and re−inspection fees are estimated to be approximately
$100,000 annually.

There will be fiscal impacts to existing public pools and
water attractions associated with proposed new health and
safety operational requirements.   Facilities may require an
additional lifeguard or attendant. It is difficult to estimate the
number of facilities impacted by this proposed change;
however it is estimated that only about 200 to 300 of the 4,000
licensed individual facilities in Wisconsin may be affected
and most of those are likely already in full compliance.
Additionally, the rule proposes that water attractions employ
a certified pool operator.  While most existing water
attractions are already in compliance with this proposed
change, it is estimated that approximately 20 new or expanded
facilities will be constructed annually.

Document Copies
A copy of the full text of the rules and the full text of the

fiscal estimate, and other documents associated with this
rulemaking may be obtained, at no charge, from the
Wisconsin Administrative Rules website at
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov or by contacting:

Tracynda Davis
1 W. Wilson Street, Room 150
Madison, WI  53702
Phone:  608−266−8924
Fax:  608−267−3241
Email:  davistl@dhfs.state.wi.us

Small Business Regulatory Review Coordinator
For matters or comments concerning a rule’s impact on

small businesses, contact:
Rosie Greer, DHFS Administrative Rules Manager (608)

266−1279  or Email: greerrj@dhfs.state.wi.us

Notice of Hearing
Insurance

[CR 06−083]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to the

authority granted under s. 601.41(3), Stats., and the
procedures set forth in under s. 227.18, Stats., OCI will hold
a public hearing to consider the adoption of the attached
proposed rulemaking order affecting Section Ins , Wis. Adm.
Code, relating to defined network plans, preferred provider
plans, limited service health organizations and limited scope
plans and affecting small businesses.
Hearing Information

Date: August 2, 2006. . . . . . . 
Time: 1:30 p.m., or as soon thereafter as the. . . . . . 

 matter may be reached
Place: OCI, Room 227. . . . . . 

125 South Webster Street 
2nd Floor
Madison, WI

Written comments
Written comments can be mailed to:
Julie Walsh
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
PO Box 7873
Madison WI 53707−7873

Written comments can be hand delivered to:
Julie Walsh
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor
Madison WI 53702
Comments can be emailed to:
Julie Walsh
Julie.Walsh@oci.state.wi.us
Comments submitted through the Wisconsin

Administrative Rule website at: http://adminrules.
wisconsin.gov on the proposed rule will be considered.

The deadline for submitting comments is 4:00 p.m. on the
8th day after the date for the hearing stated in this Notice of
Hearing.
Copy of rule and contact person

A copy of the full text of the proposed rule changes,
analysis and fiscal estimate may be obtained from the OCI
internet WEB site at http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by
contacting Inger Williams, Services Section, OCI, at:

Email:   Inger.Williams@oci.state.wi.us
Phone:   (608) 264−8110
Address: PO Box 7873, Madison WI 53707−7873.
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Analysis prepared by the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance (OCI)

1. Statutes interpreted:   Sections 600.01, 628.34 (12) and
632.85, and ch. 609, Stats.

2. Statutory authority: Sections 600.01 (2), 601.41 (3),
601.42, 628.34 (12), 609.20 and 609.38, Stats.

The Commissioner of Insurance is authorized to
promulgate rules under ss. 601.41 and 609.20, Stats.  Section
609.20, Stats., permits the Commissioner to promulgate rules
relating to preferred provider plans and defined network plans
in order to ensure enrollee access to health care services and
ensure continuity of health care while recognizing the
differences between preferred provider plans and defined
network plans.

4. Related Statutes or rules:   There are no related statutes
or rules.

Plain language analysis and summary
The proposed rule:
1) Eliminates the term “limited scope plan” from

provisions governing defined network and preferred provider
plans.  The commissioner’s intent is to eliminate the
application to limited scope plans of certain rules
promulgated in Clearinghouse Rule 05−059.

2) Changes the provision governing improper utilization
practices so as prohibit improper practices but not deem the
insurer a defined network plan.

3) Eliminates specific requirements  relating to network
location, hours, waiting times and availability of after hours
care but retains the requirement that access must be
reasonably prompt consistent with normal practices and
standards in the area.

4) Makes it clear that coverage of emergency medical
services at in−network cost sharing is not required after the
point that the provider has met its obligation to treat the
enrollee under federal law.

Comparison with federal regulation
There is no federal regulation that addresses the activities

regulated by the proposed rule.

Comparison of adjacent states
Iowa:  Iowa statute §514C.16, requires a carrier which

provides coverage for emergency services to be responsible
for charges for emergency services furnished outside any
contractual provider network or preferred provider network
for covered individuals.  Iowa Administrative Code s.
191−27.4 (1)(a), requires a health benefit plan which provides
for incentives for covered persons to use the health care
services of a preferred provider to contain a provision that if
a covered person receives emergency services specified in the
preferred provider arrangement and cannot reasonably reach
a preferred provider, emergency services rendered during the
course of the emergency will be reimbursed as though the
covered person had been treated by a preferred provider,
subject to any restrictions which may govern payment by a
preferred provider for emergency services.  Iowa statute
§514B and Administrative Code 191−40.21, require HMOs to
reimburse a provider of emergency services after a review of
the care and may not deny reimbursement solely on the
grounds that the services were provided by non−contracted
providers.

 Iowa statute §514F.3 requires the commissioner of
insurance to adopt rules for preferred provider contracts and
organizations and to adopt rules related to preferred provider
arrangements. Iowa statute §514K.1 requires HMOs,
organized delivery systems or an insurer using a preferred

provider arrangement to provide to its enrollees written
information that at a minimum must include the following; a
description of the plan’s benefits and exclusions, enrollee
cost−sharing requirements, list of participating providers,
disclosure of drug formularies, explanation for accessing
emergency care services, policy for addressing
investigational or experimental treatments, methodologies
used to compensate providers, performance measures as
determined by the commissioner and information on how to
access internal and external grievance procedures.  In addition
the Iowa department must annually publish a consumer guide
providing a comparison by plan on performance measures,
network composition, and other key information to enable
consumers to better understand plan differences.

Iowa Administrative Code 191−27.3 (1), requires
preferred provider arrangements to establish the amount and
manner of payment to a preferred provider, the mechanisms
designed to minimize cost of the health benefits plan and
ensure reasonable access to covered services under the
preferred provider arrangement.  Iowa Administrative Code
191−27.4 (1) (b), requires preferred provider plans to contain
a provision that clearly identifies the differentials in benefit
levels for health care services of preferred providers and
non−preferred providers.  Iowa Administrative Code
191−27.4 (2), requires that if a health benefit plan provides
difference in benefit levels payable to preferred providers
compared to other providers, such difference shall not
unfairly deny payment for covered services and shall be no
greater than necessary to provide a reasonable incentive for
covered persons to use the preferred provider.

Illinois: Illinois statutory code 215 ILCS 5/370o, requires
any preferred provider contract to provide the enrollee
emergency care coverage regardless of whether the
emergency care is provided by a preferred or non−preferred
provider and the coverage shall be at the same benefit level as
if the service or treatment had been rendered by a plan
provider.  Section 215 ILCS 5/370i, sec. (a) prohibits policies
from containing provisions that would unreasonably restrict
the access and availability of health care services for the
enrollee.  Section 215 ILCS 134/40, sec. 40 (d) requires a
health care plan to pay for services of a specialist with the
enrollee only responsible for the services as though the
services were provided by an in−network provider when the
plan does not have the specialist that the enrollee needs for the
care of an on−going specific condition.  The primary care
physician arranges for the enrollee to see a specialist that is
within a reasonable distance and travel time and the primary
provider notifies the plan of the referral.

The information required to be provided to consumers is
contained in s. 215 ILCS 134/15, that requires annual
reporting of participating health care providers in the plan’s
service area and in addition to basic terms of the plan, includes
disclosure of out−of−area coverage, if any, financial
responsibility of enrollees including co−payments,
deductibles, premium and any other out−of−pocket expenses,
continuity of care, appeal rights and mandated benefits.
Illinois Administrative Code s. 5420.40, requires disclosure
so that a person can compare the attributes of various health
care plans based upon a description of coverage.  This
disclosure includes that 2 appendices are completed that detail
specific co−payments, coinsurance, deductibles, and other
cost−sharing provisions for services that must be included
with the policy for consumer information.

In addition to the worksheets that provide consumers with
detailed information, Illinois statutory code s. 215ILCS
5/356z.2, also requires an insurer that issues or renews a
individual or group accident and health policy and arranges,
contracts with or administers contracts with providers
whereby the beneficiary are provided an incentive to use the
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services of such provider must include the following
disclosure of limited benefits in its contracts and evidence of
coverage:

WARNING, LIMITED BENEFITS WILL BE PAID
WHEN NON−PARTICIPATING PROVIDERS ARE USED.
You should be aware that when you elect to utilize the services
of a non−participating provider for a covered service in
non−emergency situations, benefit payments to such
non−participating provider are not based upon the amount
billed.  The basis of your benefit payment will be determined
according to your policy’s fee schedule, usual and customary
charge (which is determined by comparing charges for similar
services adjusted to the geographical are where the services
are performed), or other method as defined by the policy.
YOU CAN EXPECT TO PAY MORE THAN THE
COINSURANCE AMOUNT DEFINED IN THE POLICY
AFTER THE PLAN HAS PAID ITS REQUIRED PORTION.
Non−participating providers may bill members for any
amount up to the billed charge after the plan has paid its
portion of the bill.  Participating providers have agreed to
accept discounted payment for services with no additional
billing to the member other than co−insurance and deductible
amounts.  You may obtain further information about the
participating status of professional providers and information
on out−of−pocket expenses by calling the toll free telephone
number on your identification card. (Emphasis in original.)

Illinois statute s. 215 ILCS 134/80 requires that health care
plans have procedures for quality assessment program
including in s. (3) and (4) that require plans have a procedure
for remedial action to correct quality problems that have been
verified in accordance with the written plan’s methodology
and criteria, including written procedures for taking
appropriate corrective action and follow−up measures
implemented to evaluate the effectiveness of the action plan.

Illinois Administrative Code s. 5420.50 requires that all
provider agreements contain provisions providing for
advance notice from providers when terminating from the
plan and requirements that the plan notify affected enrollees
on a timely basis.  The notice provided to the enrollee must
contain information on how enrollees are to select a new
health care provider.

Minnesota: Minnesota statute s. 62A.049, prohibits an
accident and sickness policy from requiring prior
authorization in cases of emergency confinement or
emergency treatment.  The enrollee or authorized
representative must notify the insurer as soon as reasonably
possible.  Section 62Q.55 requires managed care
organizations including preferred provider organization, to
provide enrollees with available and accessible emergency
services.  Services shall be covered whether provided by
participating or nonparticipating providers and whether
provided within or outside the health plan’s service area.
Section 62D.20 and s. 4685.0700, Minnesota Administrative
Code, require HMOs to provide out−of−area services
including for emergency care.

Minnesota statute s. 62Q.49 (subd. 2) (a), requires all
health plans to clearly specify how the cost of health care used
to calculate any co−payments, coinsurance or lifetime
benefits will be affected by the contracting in which health
care providers agree to accept discounted charges.  Further
any marketing or summary materials must be disclosed
prominently and clearly explain the provisions relating to
co−payments, coinsurance or maximum lifetime benefits.

Minnesota statute s. 62Q.58, requires that if an enrollee
receives services from a nonparticipating specialist because
a participating specialist is not available, the services must be

provided at no additional cost to the enrollee beyond what the
enrollee would otherwise pay for services received from a
participating specialist.

Minnesota statute s. 62Q.746, permits the department to
request and the health plan to provide the following
information including how the plan determines who are
eligible to participating in the network, the number of
full−time equivalent physicians, by specialty, non−physician
providers and allied health providers used to provide services
and summary data that is broken down by type of provider
reflecting actual utilization of network and non−network
practitioners and allied professionals by enrollees of the plan.

Michigan: Michigan statute s. 500.3406k, requires an
expense−incurred hospital, medical or surgical policy that
provides coverage for emergency health services, including
an HMO plan, to provide coverage for medically necessary
services provided to an enrollee for the sudden onset of a
medical condition that manifests itself by signs and symptoms
of sufficient severity, that the absence of immediate care could
reasonably be expected to result in serious jeopardy to health
without prior authorization.

Insurers that contract with providers are governed by the
Prudent Purchaser Act of 1984 including preferred provider
organization (MCL 550.50 et seq.).  The organization that
contracts with providers shall annually report to the
commissioner basic utilization of the providers (MCL
550.56).  Under MCL 550.53, organizations that contract with
providers to control costs and utilization may limit the number
of providers to the number necessary to assure reasonable
levels of access to health care services, located within
reasonable distance.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
The information OCI used in support of this proposed rule

includes the information described in the analysis of
Clearinghouse Rule 05−059.  However more specifically it
includes the information provided by representatives of the
insurance industry, preferred provider organizations, and
providers in a series of meetings, and in responses to OCI’s
requests for comments and information, concerning the topics
addressed by the proposed rule.

Fiscal estimate
There will be no state or local government fiscal effect.
This rule will not have a significant fiscal effect on the

private sector.  Its effect will be to limit requirements
otherwise applied by rules currently in effect, including
Clearinghouse rule 05−059.

Initial regulatory flexibility analysis
This rule does not impose any additional requirements on

small businesses.  Its effect will be to limit requirements
otherwise applied by rules currently in effect, including
Clearing house rule 05−059.

Notice is hereby further given that pursuant to s. 227.114,
Stats., the proposed rule may have an effect on small
businesses. The initial regulatory flexibility analysis is as
follows:

a. Types of small businesses affected:  Insurers
b. Description of reporting and bookkeeping procedures

required:   None beyond those currently required.
c. Description of professional skills required:  None

beyond those currently required.
The OCI small business coordinator is Eileen Mallow and

may be reached at phone number (608) 266− 7843 or at email
address Eileen.Mallow@oci.state.wi.us
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Notice of Hearings
Natural Resources

(Environmental Protection − air Pollution
Control)

[CR 06−079]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 227.11

(2) (a) and 285.11 (1) and (6), Stats., interpreting ss. 285.11
(6), 285.60 (5m) and 285.69 (1d), Stats., the Department of
Natural Resources will hold public hearings on revisions to
chs. NR 406 and 410, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to
construction permit waiver requests from air contaminant
sources.  The State Implementation Plan developed under s.
285.11 (6), Stats., is revised.  Section 285.60 (5m), Stats., as
created by 2003 Wisconsin Act 118) requires the Department,
by rule, to allow sources who file an air pollution control
construction permit application to request a construction
permit waiver under certain circumstances.  Construction
permit waivers would allow a facility to start on−site
preparation, including, but not limited to, site clearing,
grading, dredging or landfilling prior to receiving a
construction permit when necessary to avoid undue hardship.
The Department must act on the waiver request within 15 days
of receipt of the request.  There is a $300 non−refundable fee
associated with filing a waiver request.

Section NR 406.03 (2) contains criteria for allowing a
facility to obtain a commence construction waiver.  The
facility must first submit a complete construction permit
application and a waiver request.  Section NR 410.03 (1) (bm)
establishes the fee.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
s. 227.114, Stats., the proposed rule may have an impact on
small businesses.  The initial regulatory flexibility analysis is
as follows:

a.  Types of small businesses affected:  All air pollution
sources that have a permit or are required to obtain a
construction permit, except for those sources that need an air
construction permit under federal law.

b.  Description of reporting and bookkeeping procedures
required:  No additional reporting or bookkeeping
requirements are created.

c.  Description of professional skills required:  No
additional skills are required.

The Department’s Small Business Regulatory Coordinator
may be contacted at SmallBusiness@dnr.state.wi.us or by
calling (608) 266−1959.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
Department has made a preliminary determination that this
action does not involve significant adverse environmental
effects and does not need an environmental analysis under ch.
NR 150, Wis. Adm. Code.  However, based on the comments
received, the Department may prepare an environmental
analysis before proceeding with the proposal.  This
environmental review document would summarize the
Department’s consideration of the impacts of the proposal and
reasonable alternatives.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
the Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of information
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request.  Please
contact Robert Eckdale at (608) 266−2856 or by e−mail at
Robert.Eckdale@dnr.state.wi.us with specific information on
your request at least 10 days before the date of the scheduled
hearing.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
hearings will be held on:

Monday, August 7, 2006 at 1:00 p.m.
Pinery Room, Portage County Library
1001 Main Street
Stevens Point

Tuesday, August 8, 2006 at 1:00 p.m.
Room 609, GEF #2 State Office Building
101 South Webster Street
Madison
The proposed rule and supporting documents, including

the fiscal estimate may be viewed and downloaded and
comments electronically submitted at the following Internet
site:  http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  (Search the Web site
using the Natural Resources Board Order number
AM−08−06.)  Written comments on the proposed rule may
also be submitted via U.S. mail to Mr. Joe Brehm, Bureau of
Air Management, P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707 or by
e−mail to Joseph.Brehm@dnr.state.wi.us.  Comments may be
submitted until August 18, 2006.  Written comments whether
submitted electronically or by U.S. mail will have the same
weight and effect as oral statements presented at the public
hearings.  If you do not have Internet access, a personal copy
of the proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be obtained from
Robert Eckdale, (608) 266−2856, Bureau of Air
Management, P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707.

Notice of Hearing
Transportation

[CR 06−082]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 343.14

(2) (er), 343.17 (3), 343.20 (1m) and 343.50 (5) and (6), Stats.,
and interpreting s. 343.14 (2) (er), Stats., the Department of
Transportation will hold a public hearing in Room 144−B of
the Hill Farms State Transportation Building, 4802
Sheboygan Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin on the 3rd day of
August, 2006, at 1:00 PM, to consider the amendment of ch.
Trans 102, Wisconsin Administrative Code, relating to
operator’s licenses and identification cards.

An interpreter for the hearing impaired will be available on
request for this hearing.  Please make reservations for a
hearing interpreter at least 10 days prior to the hearing.

Parking for persons with disabilities and an accessible
entrance are available.

Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin Department of
Transportation

Statutes interpreted:  s. 343.14 (2) (er), Stats.
Statutory authority:  ss.  343.14 (2) (er), 343.17 (3), 343.20

(1m) and 343.50 (5) and (6), Stats.
Explanation of agency authority:  2005 Wisconsin Act 126

requires that a person applying for a driver’s license or
identification card provide documentary proof of citizenship
or legal presence in the United States.

Related statute or rule:  ss. 343.06, 343.14 and 343.20,
Stats.

Plain language analysis:  2005 Wisconsin Act 126 requires
all persons applying for an original, reissue, reinstatement,
renewal or duplicate Wisconsin driver’s license or
identification card on or after April 1, 2007 to show
documentary proof of citizenship or legal presence in this
country.  Currently, applicants for a driver’s license or
identification card are required to show proof of identity,
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name and date of birth, and residency.  2005 Wisconsin Act
126 also requires operator’s licenses and identification cards
to expire on the date the person’s legal presence in the United
States is no longer authorized.  This rule implements these
expiration dates.

Summary of, and preliminary comparison with, existing or
proposed federal regulation:  This proposed rule making
moves Wisconsin towards compliance with the legal presence
requirements of the federal REAL ID Act, which takes effect
May 11, 2008.

Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States:
Michigan:  No legal presence requirement.
Minnesota:  Legal presence required.
Illinois:  Legal presence required.
Iowa:  Legal presence required.
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

used and how the related findings support the regulatory
approach chosen:  Not applicable.

Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine
effect on small businesses: Some small businesses may be
affected, if their employees who are not U.S. citizens do not
have legal presence and consequently lose their driving
privileges and require driving privileges to attend or perform
their jobs.  These costs are indeterminable.

Effect on small business:  Indeterminable.  The
Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by e−mail at andrew.ruiz@dot.state.wi.us, or by
calling (414) 438−4585.

Fiscal effect and anticipated costs incurred by private
sector:  Costs incurred by the private sector is indeterminable.
This rule does not directly affect business but may affect the
work force.  The Department estimates that there will be no
fiscal impact on the liabilities or revenues of any county, city,
village, town, school district, vocational, technical and adult
education district, sewerage district, or federally−recognized
tribes or bands.  The Department estimates that there will be
no fiscal impact on state revenues or liabilities.

Agency contact person and place where comments are to
be submitted and deadline for submission:  The public record
on this proposed rule making will be held open until close of
business the day of the hearing to permit the submission of
comments in lieu of public hearing testimony or comments
supplementing testimony offered at the hearing.  Any such
comments should be submitted to Erin Egan, Department of
Transportation, Bureau of Driver Services, Room 255, P. O.
Box 7911, Madison, WI  53707−7911.  You may also contact
Ms. Egan by phone at (608) 266−1449.

To view the proposed amendments to the rule, view the
current rule, and submit written comments via
e−mail/internet, you may visit the following website:
http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/library/research/law/rulenoti
ces.htm.

Notice of Hearing
University of Wisconsin System

[CR 06−078]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 36.09

(1), 36.11 (1) and 36.13 (3), Stats., the Board of Regents of the
University of Wisconsin System will hold a public hearing in
Room 1820 Van Hise Hall, 1220 Linden Drive, in the City of
Madison, Wisconsin on August 2, 2006 at 9:00 a.m. to
consider the creation of rules relating to the dismissal of
faculty and academic staff in special cases.  Persons with
disabilities requesting an accommodation to attend are asked

to contact Judith Temby in advance of the hearing at (608)
262−2324.

Analysis prepared by the Board of Regents of the
University of Wisconsin System.

Statutes interpreted:  Sections 36.09 (1), 36.11 (1) and
36.13 (3), Stats.

Statutory authority:  Sections 36.09 (1), 36.11 (1) and 36.13
(3), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority:  The Board of Regents of
the University of Wisconsin System has the authority under
Sections 36.09 (1), 36.11 (1) and 36.13 (3), Stats., to issue
rules for the dismissal of faculty and academic staff members.

Related statute or rule:  Current Wis. Admin. Code chs.
UWS 4 and UWS 11.

Plain language analysis:  The purpose of the proposed rules
is to add provisions to Board rules regarding dismissal of
faculty and academic staff to deal specifically with
circumstances in which faculty and academic staff members
have engaged in serious criminal misconduct, a category of
just cause under the rule.  The proposed rules would define
serious criminal misconduct, provide protection for
constitutionally−protected conduct, expression, or beliefs,
and assure adequate due process in the dismissal proceedings.

SECTION 1 amends s. UWS 2.02 to provide that rules and
procedures developed pursuant to ch. UWS 7 by the faculty
of each institution shall be forwarded by the chancellor to the
president and by the president to the board for its approval
prior to their taking effect.

SECTION 2 creates ch. UWS 7 relating to dismissal of
university faculty members who engage in serious criminal
misconduct.  SECTION 2 also defines “serious criminal
misconduct”, and provides that constitutionally−protected
conduct, expression, or belief do not constitute serious
criminal misconduct.  SECTION 2 establishes expedited
procedures for investigation and dismissal of faculty
members who engage in serious criminal misconduct.
SECTION 2 provides that a chancellor, after consultation
with appropriate faculty governance representatives, may
suspend a faculty member from duties without pay pending
the final decision as to his or her dismissal in appropriate
circumstances.

SECTIONS 3 AND 4 amend ch. UWS 11 to provide that
just cause for dismissal of members of the academic staff
includes “serious criminal misconduct” as defined in
SECTION 5.

SECTION 5 amends ch. UWS 11 to provide for dismissal
of members of the academic staff who engage in serious
criminal misconduct.  SECTION 5 also defines “serious
criminal misconduct”, and provides that
constitutionally−protected conduct, expression, or belief do
not constitute serious criminal misconduct.   SECTION 5
establishes expedited procedures for investigation and
dismissal of members of the academic staff who engage in
serious criminal misconduct.  SECTION 5 provides that a
chancellor, after consultation with appropriate academic staff
governance representatives, may suspend a faculty member
from duties without pay pending the final decision as to his or
her dismissal in appropriate circumstances.

Copies of the text of the rule may be obtained at no charge
from the Office of the Board of Regents, 1860 Van Hise Hall,
1220 Linden Drive, Madison, Wisconsin 53706.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulations:  There is no existing or proposed federal
regulation for summary and comparison.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states.  There are no
corresponding rules in adjacent states for comparison.
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Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:
There were no factual data or analytical methodologies used
to develop the proposed rules.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine
effect on small business:  The proposed rules affect only
faculty and academic staff of the University of Wisconsin
System.  They have no effect on small business.

Effect on small business:  The proposed rules will have no
effect on small business.

Fiscal estimate
The proposed rules will have no fiscal effect.

Agency contact person
Christopher L. Ashley, Senior System Legal Counsel,

University of Wisconsin System Administration, 1808 Van
Hise Hall, 1220 Linden Drive, Madison, Wisconsin 53706.
Telephone: (608) 262−3662.   Email: cashley@uwsa.edu.

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for
submission:  Comments may be submitted to: Christopher L.
Ashley, Senior System Legal Counsel, University of
Wisconsin System Administration, 1808 Van Hise Hall, 1220
Linden Drive, Madison, Wisconsin 53706.  Email to
cashley@uwsa.edu.  The deadline for written comments to
the Board is 4:30 p.m. on September 29, 2006.
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Submittal of proposed rules to the legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
(CR 06−008)

Ch. ATCP 21, relating to plant pest import controls and
quarantine.

Financial Institutions − Banking
(CR 06−045)

Ch. DFI−Bkg 74, relating to collection agencies.

Revenue
(CR 06−030)

Relating to liquor wholesaler warehouse facilities.

Transportation
(CR 06−043)

Ch. Trans 327, relating to motor carrier safety.

Transportation
(CR 06−048)

Ch. Trans 276, relating to allowing the operation of
double bottoms and certain other vehicles on certain
specified highways.
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Rule orders filed with the revisor of statutes bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Revisor of Statutes Bureau and are in the process of being
published.   The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.   It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.   Contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at gary.poulson@legis.state.wi.us or (608) 266−7275 for updated information on
the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Health and Family Services
(CR 05−033)

An order affecting chs. HFS 105 to 107, relating to
Medicaid reimbursement for dental services.

Effective 9−1−06.

Natural Resources
(CR 05−115)

An order affecting chs. NR 25 and 26, relating to
allocation of lake trout and commercial fishing for lake
trout in Lake Superior.

Effective 8−1−06.

Veterans Affaiars
(CR 06−020)

An order affecting ch. VA 16, relating to the county
transportation services grant program.

Effective 8−1−06.
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