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Emergency rules now in effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Administration

Rules adopted revising ch. Adm 10, relating to cost benefit
analyses of contractural services.

Exemption from Finding of Emergency
Section 8(2) of 2005 Wisconsin Act 89 requires the

Department of Administration to promulgate rules required
under ss. 16.004 (1), 16.705 (2) and 227.11 Stats., by using the
emergency rulemaking procedure under s. 227.24, Stats.,
except that the department is not required to provide evidence
that the emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of
public peace, health, safety or welfare and is not required to
provide a finding of emergency.

Plain language analysis
The department intends to promulgate a rule as required by

Act 89 to require a cost−benefit analysis to be completed for
each bid or request for proposal to compare the cost of
contracting for services versus providing the services with
state employees.

Currently, all state agencies and UW System campuses
may contract for services between $25,000 and $200,000 if
they can show that the services can be performed more
economically or efficiently by such a contract than by state
employees. Currently, if the contractual services would be
greater than $200,000, the contracting agency must complete
a more rigorous and detailed cost/benefit analysis to
demonstrate that the services can be performed more
economically or efficiently by such a contract than by state
employees.  This more rigorous and detailed analysis includes

total cost, quality and nature of services required, specialized
skills, time factors, risk factors and legal barriers.  Act 89
requires agencies to conduct uniform cost−benefit analysis of
each proposed contractual service procurement involving an
estimated expenditure of more than $25,000 in accordance
with standards prescribed in the rules.  Cost benefit−analysis
is defined to include total cost, quality, technical expertise and
timeliness of a service.

Act 89 also requires agencies to review periodically, and
before any renewal, the continued appropriateness of
contracting under each services agreement involving an
estimated expenditure of more than $25,000.  Act 89 requires
the department to complete an annual summary report of the
cost benefit−analysis prepared by state agencies in the
preceding fiscal year and recommendations for elimination of
unneeded contractual service procurements and for the
consolidation or resolicitation of existing contractual service
procurements.

Publication Date:July 1, 2006
Effective Date: July 1, 2006
Expiration Date: See section 8 (2) of 2005 Wis. Act 89.
Hearing Date: August 11, 2006

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection (2)

1. Rules adopted revising ch. ATCP 136, relating to mobile
air conditioners; reclaiming or recycling refrigerant.

(1)  The Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and
consumer protection (“DATCP”) administers s. 100.45, Stats.
 DATCP has adopted rules under ch. ATCP 136 to implement
s. 100.45, Stats.  The current rules regulate the sale and
installation of mobile air conditioner refrigerants, including
“substitute refrigerants” such as R 134A.  Among other
things, the current rules prohibit the sale of mobile air
conditioner refrigerants in containers holding less than 15 lbs.
of refrigerant.

(2)  On June 28, 2006, the Legislature’s Joint Committee
for Review of Administrative Rules (JCRAR) voted to
suspend all current state rules related to the installation and
sale of “substitute refrigerants” of any kind.  This broad
exemption will become effective on July 7, 2006 unless by
that date DATCP adopts a narrower alternative exemption by
emergency rule.  The narrower exemption specified by
JCRAR would apply only to the sale of the “substitute
refrigerant” R 134A.  The exemption would allow the sale of
R 134A to the general public in “do−it−yourself” containers
holding less than 15 lbs.

(3)  DATCP is adopting this emergency rule for the sole
purpose of preventing a broader JCRAR suspension of rules
that currently prevent the release of mobile air conditioner
refrigerant into the environment.

Publication Date: July 12, 2006
Effective Date: July 12, 2006
Expiration Date: December 9, 2006
Hearing Date: August 15, 2006

2. Rules adopted amending s. ATCP 10.47 (2) (c) and (3)
(b) 3., relating to minimum acreage requirements for
farm−raised deer hunting preserves.
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(1)  The Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and
consumer protection (“DATCP”) administers state laws
related to farm−raised deer.  DATCP currently licenses deer
farms and issues certificates for deer hunting preserves,
pursuant to s. 95.55, Stats., and ch. ATCP 10, Wis. Adm.
Code.

(2)  Current law generally prohibits deer hunting preserves
smaller than 80 acres.  However, 2005 Wis. Act 359 (enacted
effective May 3, 2006) provides a limited “grandfather”
exemption for certain white−tailed deer hunting preserves
previously licensed by the Department of Natural Resources
(“DNR”).   Under Act 359, a white−tailed deer hunting
preserve is exempt from the 80−acre minimum size
requirement if, among other things, the acreage of the hunting
preserve is “not less than the acreage subject to the deer farm
license on December 31, 2002.”    This rule clarifies that the
“acreage subject to the deer farm license on December 31,
2002” means the hunting acreage subject to the deer farm
license on December 31, 2002.  Without this interpretation,
Act 359 would have no practical effect and would be rendered
a nullity.

(3)  The “grandfather” exemption in Act 359 is limited to
hunting preserve operators who apply by November 1, 2006.
 DATCP must act on applications within 90 business days.
Action may affect an operator’s ability to operate during the
2006 hunting season.  DATCP is adopting this rule as an
emergency rule, in order to facilitate timely action on
applications.  DATCP could not adopt this rule by normal
rulemaking procedures in time to implement Act 359.

Publication Date: October 9, 2006

Effective Date: October 9, 2006

Expiration Date: March 7, 2007
Hearing Date: November 13, 2006

Commerce
(Financial Resources for Businesses and
Communities, Chs. Comm 105 to 131)

Rule adopted creating ch. Comm 131, relating to diesel
truck idling reduction grants.

Exemption from Finding of Emergency
The legislature by Section 9108 (1w) in 2005 Wisconsin

Act 25, provides an exemption from a finding of emergency
for the adoption of this rule.

The rules specify who is eligible for receiving a grant in this
program for purchasing and installing diesel truck idling
reduction equipment.  Eligible costs are also specified, along
with how to apply for the grants.  Parameters for awarding the
grants are likewise specified.  These parameters include (1)
disallowing grants to any applicant who is failing to comply
with any conditions imposed on any previous grant received
in this program; and (2) alerting applicants that the
Department may (a) refuse to award grants for idling
reduction equipment on truck tractors that do not have a
sleeper berth, (b) annually allocate up to 25 percent of the
grant funding to applicants who own and operate 50 or fewer
truck tractors, and (c) set deadlines for submitting
applications, and then prorate the awards to the applicants if
the total funding requested in the applications exceeds the
available revenue.

Publication Date: June 30, 2006
Effective Date: July 1, 2006
Expiration Date: November 28, 2006
Hearing Date: July 25, 2006

Corrections

A rule was adopted creating s. DOC 332.19, relating to a
sex offender registration fee.

Finding of Emergency
The department of corrections finds that an emergency

exists and that rules are necessary for the immediate
preservation of public peace, health, safety and welfare.  A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is: Under
2005 WI Act 25, the legislature authorized the department to
establish a sex offender registration fee.  If the rule is not
created promptly and immediately, the department will not be
able to collect the fees which are to be used to offset the costs
of monitoring probationers, parolees, or persons on extended
supervision, which could result in a lessening of supervision
due to budget limitations.

The purpose of the emergency rule is to establish an annual
sex offender registration fee to partially offset the costs of
monitoring persons who are on probation, parole, or extended
supervision.  The permanent rule process has been started.
However, the permanent rule process will take approximately
nine months to complete.  Emergency rules are necessary to
respond promptly to the collection of fees while permanent
rules are being developed.

Publication Date: June 8, 2006
Effective Date: June 8, 2006
Expiration Date: November 5, 2006
Hearing Date: July 18, 2006
Extension Through: January 3, 2007

Elections Board (2)

1. Rules adopted creating s. ElBd 1.395, relating to the use of
funds in a federal campaign committee that has been
converted to a state campaign committee and relating to
the use of those converted funds whose contribution to the
federal committee would not have been in compliance
with Wisconsin law if the contribution had been made
directly to a state campaign committee.

Finding of Emergency
The Elections Board finds that an emergency exists in the

recent change in federal law that permits the transfer of the
funds in a federal candidate campaign committee’s account to
the candidate’s state campaign committee account and finds
that a rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A statement of the
facts constituting the emergency is as follows:

Since the Bi−Partisan Campaign Reform Act of 2002
(BICRA), transfers of funds from a federal campaign
committee to a state campaign committee had not been
authorized under federal law.  In November, 2004, Congress
amended the Federal Election Campaign Act, (H.R. 4818, s.
532 (3) and 532 (4), to permit the transfer of a federal
candidate’s campaign committee’s funds to the candidate’s
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state campaign committee, if state law permitted, and subject
to the state law’s requirements and restrictions.

Because of  Congress’ action in November, 2004, money
which had not been available to a state committee under
BICRA, and which might not have qualified for use for
political purposes in a state campaign because of its source or
because of other noncompliance with state law, could now be
transferred to a state committee, if state law permitted.
Wisconsin law, under the Board’s current rule, s. ElBd 1.39,
Wis. Adm. Code,  allows for conversion of federal campaign
committees, and their funds, to a state campaign committee
without regard to the source of those funds and without regard
to contribution limitations.

Restricting the use of such money to that money which has
been contributed to the candidate’s federal committee, under
circumstances in which the contribution would have
complied with Wisconsin law if it had been given directly to
the Wisconsin campaign committee, is found to be in the
public interest.

Publication Date: February 3, 2005

Effective Date: February 3, 2005*/**

Expiration Date: December 3, 2006
Hearing Date: May 18, 2005

*  On February 9, 2005, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended this emergency rule.

**  The legislative session ended on July 12, 2006, with no
action on the bill that would have sustained the suspension
action.

2. Rules were adopted creating s. ElBd 3.04, relating to
election day registration and the requirement to provide a
driver’s license number or other form of identification to
register at the polls.

Finding of Emergency
The Elections Board finds that an emergency exists in the

2002 change in federal law that requires persons who have
been issued a current and valid driver’s license to list that
number in completing a voter registration application or their
registration may not be processed.

In 2002, Congress enacted the Help America Vote Act to
address problems and issues that surfaced in the 2000
presidential election.  Section 303(a)(5)(A)(i) of the Act
provided that “an application for voter registration for an
election for Federal office may not be accepted or processed
by a state unless the application includes – in the case of an
applicant who has been issued a current and valid driver’s
license, the applicant’s driver’s license number.”  To comply
with federal law, but also to avoid disenfranchising those
Wisconsin election day registrants who have been issued a
current and valid Wisconsin driver’s license but do not
provide that number on their registration form, the Board has
adopted s. ElBd 3.04, providing for the issuance of a
provisional ballot to those registrants, pursuant to s. 6.97,
Stats.  Under that statute, the provisional ballot will be
counted if the registrant provides, by any means feasible, his
or her driver’s license number to the clerk of the municipality
in which the registrant has voted, not later than 4:00 p.m., on
the day following the election.

Previously, the Board’s policy had been to process the
election day registration of those registrants who failed to list
their driver’s license number on their registration application,
if they had provided, on their registration form, a
Wisconsin−issued Identification Card Number or the last four
digits of their Social Security Number. Whether that policy
complied with federal law had been in issue. Assuring that

Wisconsin’s practice complies with federal law and obtaining
that assurance before election day, by the promulgation of this
emergency rule, is found to be in the public interest.

Publication Date: July 31, 2006
Effective Date: July 31, 2006
Expiration Date: December 28, 2006
Hearing Date: October 4, 2006

Emergency Management
Rule adopted creating ch. WEM 7, relating to disaster

assistance for local governments.
Finding of Emergency

  The Wisconsin Division of Emergency Management finds
that an emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  A statement of facts constituting an emergency is as
follows:

1.  The 2005 Wis. Act 269 created the major disaster
assistance program under Wis. Stats. § 166.03 (2) (b) 9.  An
annual appropriation of $3,000,000 SEG A for fiscal years
2005−06 and 2006−07 was established under Wis. Stats. §
20.465 (3) (b) (s) from the petroleum inspection fund.  These
funds were provided to make payments to local units of
government for damages and costs incurred as a result of a
major catastrophe. This Act was made retroactive to January
1, 2005.

2. The Act requires the Wisconsin Department of Military
Affairs, through its Division of Emergency Management, to
promulgate rules to implement and establish the application
process and the criteria to determine eligibility under the
major disaster assistance program. The Division will
immediately begin the permanent rule−making process for
establishing administrative rules for these payments, but
cannot complete the required hearings and review of these
rules prior to the lapse of funds retained in the major disaster
assistance appropriation for fiscal year 2005−06.

3. To ensure that appropriated funds for fiscal year
2005−06 are timely paid to local governmental units for
damages and eligible costs incurred as a direct result of major
catastrophes, emergency administrative rules must be
established immediately.

Publication Date: June 8, 2006
Effective Date: June 8, 2006
Expiration Date: November 5, 2006
Hearing Date: August 14, 15, 16 & 17, 2006
Extension Through: December 4, 2006

Financial Institutions − Banking
Rules were adopted revising ch. DFI—Bkg 77, relating to

pawnbrokers.
Finding of Emergency

The effect of 2005 Wisconsin Act 158 is that pawnbrokers
licensed by the department under s. 138.09, Stats., are exempt
from s. 138.10, Stats., effective October 1, 2006.  Under
statutory procedures, however, a permanent rule regulating
these pawnbrokers is unlikely to be effective until mid−2007,
leaving the public without the safeguards of the permanent
rule until that time.  Thus the preservation of public safety and
welfare necessitates enacting the safeguards of the emergency
rule until a permanent rule is in effect.
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Publication Date: September 25, 2006

Effective Date: October 1, 2006

Expiration Date: February 28, 2007

Health and Family Services (2)
(Health, Chs. HFS 110—)

1. Rules were adopted revising chs. HFS 110 and 111,
relating to licensing emergency medical technicians and
affecting small businesses.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Health and Family Services finds that

an emergency exists and that the adoption of an emergency
rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public,
health, safety and welfare.

The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:
In Wisconsin there are approximately 430 ambulance

service providers.  Approximately 80% are volunteer (not for
profit) or owned by private for profit entities.  The remaining
20% are government owned.  A total of 129 ambulance
service providers and 2,812 licensed individuals in 48
counties currently provide emergency medical services at the
EMT−basic−IV (74) or EMT−provisional intermediate (55)
level to approximately 2.65 million Wisconsin residents.  The
provider industry estimates that these ambulance service
providers are losing approximately $1.5 million dollars in
reimbursement revenues annually due to the codification of
the EMT−basic IV services in ch. HFS 110 as basic life
support.  The loss is likely to increase when the provisional
EMT−intermediate is renamed EMT−basic IV effective July
1, 2006, and an estimated 95% of the individuals who are
currently licensed and titled as provisional
EMT−intermediate will be renamed EMT−basic IV.
Ambulance service providers report that they cannot continue
to cover the costs of training and operating at the advanced life
support level of care while being reimbursed at the basic life
support level of care.  Consequently, the level of emergency
medical services provided in over half of the state’s 72
counties may be reduced or become non−existent unless
changes are implemented.

To maintain the level of emergency medical services that
are currently being provided and to avoid confusion about the
skills and level of care provided by the EMT−basic IV
licensee, the department in these emergency rules is changing
the name of the EMT−basic IV license to EMT−intermediate
technician and moving the licensing requirements to ch. HFS
111. These changes will allow ambulance service providers to
charge for both at the higher rate of reimbursement.  In
addition, these emergency rules will modify the continuing
education requirements under ch. HFS 110 to allow
ambulance service providers flexibility in providing refresher
training to EMT−basic licensees.  This change will reduce
financial and scheduling burdens on providers by allowing
them to use their training dollars more cost effectively.

Publication Date: July 1, 2006

Effective Date: July 1, 2006

Expiration Date: November 28, 2006
Hearing Dates: July 25, 26 and 27, 2006

2. Rules adopted creating ch. HFS 137, relating to
prescribing forms for use by physicians, technicians and

tissue bank employees when removing organs and tissue,
other than cardiovascular tissue from decedents.

Exemption from Finding of Emergency
The legislature by 2005 Wisconsin Act 230 requires these

rules to be promulgated as emergency rules and exempts the
Department from making a finding of emergency or
providing evidence that these rules as emergency rules is
necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health,
safety, or welfare.

Plain language analysis:
The Department is required by 2005 Wisconsin Act 230 to

appoint an advisory committee to assist the Department in
prescribing, by rule, a form for removal of organs and a form
for removal of tissue, other than cardiovascular tissue, for use
by physicians, technicians, and tissue bank employees under
section 157.06 (4m) (e) of the statutes, as created by Act 230.
Section 157.06 (4m) (e), Stats., requires a physician who
removes tissue or an organ from a decedent or a technician or
tissue bank employee who removes tissue from a decedent
under s. 157.06 (4m), Stats., to complete the form created by
the Department and transmit the form to the coroner or
medical examiner with jurisdiction over the decedent.

As required by section. 12. (1) (b) of Act 230, the
Department intends to promulgate permanent rules that are
substantially identical to the emergency rules.

Because these rules only prescribe forms, the Department
will, as allowed under s. 227.23, Stats., promulgate these rules
without adhering to the notice and public hearing
requirements set forth under ch. 227, Stats.  Also, as allowed
under s. 227.23, Stats., the forms prescribed by the proposed
rules will not be published in the Wisconsin administrative
code or the Wisconsin Administrative Register, but will be
listed by title and description with a statement as to how the
forms may be obtained.

Publication Date: July 24, 2006
Effective Date: August 1, 2006
Expiration Date: December 29, 2006

Insurance (2)

1. Rules adopted creating ss. Ins 9.25 (8) and 9.27 (4), Wis.
Adm. Code, relating to preferred provider plan
applicability dates and affecting small business plan
limited exemption.

Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that the attached rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare.
Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The rule identifies a limited group of policies issued by
licensed insurers offering preferred provider plans that do not
comply with newly promulgated ch. Ins 9, Wis. Adm. Code.
In compliance with the request of the Joint Committee for the
Review of Administrative Rules  (JCRAR), this rule must be
issued as an emergency rule and permanent rule.  It is not
possible to complete the permanent rule process prior to the
effective date of the chapter, January 1, 2007, therefore this
emergency rule is necessary.

The commissioner has filed a notice of scope for drafting
the permanent rule corresponding to this emergency rule and
will continue with the permanent rule making process.  It is
intended that one rule hearing can be held to comply with both
the emergency rule and permanent rule requirements.



Page 9Mid−November 2006 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 611

Publication Date: August 31, 2006

Effective Date: September 1, 2006
Expiration Date: January 29, 2007

2. Rules adopted revising s. Ins 6.77, relating to
underinsured and uninsured motorist coverage in
umbrella and commercial policies.

Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that the attached rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare.
Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

These changes will modify the rule in light of the recent
Supreme Court decisions, Rebernick v American Family
Mutual Ins Company, 2006 WI 27 and Rocker v USAA
Casualty Ins Company, 2006 WI 26. In Rebernick, the court
held that s 632.32(4m), Stats, applies to personal umbrella
policies. In Rocker, the court held that s. 632.32 (6) (a), Stats,
applies to commercial general liability policies and
commercial umbrella policies. These interpretations are
inconsistent with current insurer practices and OCI’s
expectation of what would be covered in these types of
policies.

Compliance with this interpretation would create
significant, if not impossible compliance problems for
insurers. Many insurers who write umbrella coverage do not
write and are not even licensed to write automobile coverage.
A second, difficult issue is that the limits for umbrella
coverages are generally very high, $1,000,000. It is unclear
how an umbrella policy would reconcile these limits with the
underlying auto policy and underinsured motorist coverage.
For this reason, OCI had previously by rule exempted
umbrella policies from the similar requirements of the
uninsured motorist coverages in s. 632.32, Stats. For similar
reasons, the same revision is being made for commercial
liability policies.

Publication Date: September 29, 2006

Effective Date: September 29, 2006

Expiration Date: February 26, 2007

Natural Resources  (2)
(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—)

1. Rules were adopted creating s. NR 45.04 (1) (g), relating
to regulation of firewood entering and exiting department
lands and affecting small businesses.

Finding of Emergency
It is important to have restrictions on out−of−state firewood

entering department lands in place this camping season due to
recent developments in efforts to eradicate and quarantine
emerald ash borer in the areas where it is currently
established.  In Michigan, Ohio, Indiana and Ontario,
eradication programs are being dramatically scaled back or
abandoned entirely for this summer.  A recent audit of
quarantine efforts in Michigan where emerald ash borer is
most abundant and widespread is critical and faults their
program for lax enforcement and poor education of the public
to the dangers of moving firewood.  Given this situation, a
need for an external quarantine to protect Wisconsin forest
resources, industry, and community trees becomes obvious.
The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and
Consumer Protection has proposed an external quarantine on

host material of emerald ash borer and three other invasive
pests and diseases and our firewood regulation would help
support this effort, provide an opportunity for education of the
public and reduce one of the reasons people move firewood:
for use while camping.

Publication Date: March 27, 2006
Effective Date: April 1, 2006
Expiration Date: August 29, 2006
Hearing Date: July 5, 2006
Extension Through: October 27, 2006

2. Rules adopted revising ch. NR 10, relating to the 2006
migratory game bird seasons.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public welfare. The federal government and state
legislature have delegated to the appropriate agencies
rule−making authority to control the hunting of migratory
birds. The State of Wisconsin must comply with federal
regulations in the establishment of migratory bird hunting
seasons and conditions. Federal regulations are not made
available to this state until mid−August of each year.  This
order is designed to bring the state hunting regulations to
conformity with the federal regulations. Normal rule−making
procedures will not allow the establishment of these changes
by September 1.  Failure to modify our rules will result in the
failure to provide hunting opportunity and continuation of
rules which conflict with federal regulations.

Publication Date: August 31, 2006
Effective Date: August 31, 2006
Expiration Date: January 28, 2007
Hearing Date: October 11, 2006

Natural Resources
(Environmental Protection − Water

Regulation, Chs. NR 300—)

Rules adopted creating ss. NR 328.31 to 328.36, relating to
shore erosion control on rivers and streams.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public health, safety and welfare. The Wisconsin
Legislature enacted 2003 Wisconsin Act 118 to streamline the
regulatory process for activities in public trust waters.  The
state has an affirmative duty to administer the law in a manner
consistent with the public trust responsibilities of the State of
Wisconsin under Article IX, Section I of the Wisconsin
Constitution.

Act 118 identifies certain activities that may be undertaken
as exempt from a permit, or under a general permit.  There are
no statutory exemptions for shore protection on rivers and
streams.  Without emergency rules to create general permits,
all shore protection projects on rivers and streams require an
individual permit with an automatic 30−day public notice.
The required 30−day comment period will unnecessarily
delay projects that otherwise could go ahead with prescribed
conditions established in a general permit.  To carry out the
intention of Act 118 to speed decision−making but not
diminish the public trust in state waters, these emergency
rules are required to establish general permits to be in effect
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for the 2006 construction season, with specific standards for
shore erosion control structures on rivers and streams.

Publication Date: May 5, 2006

Effective Date: May 8, 2006

Expiration Date: October 4, 2006
Hearing Date: June 13, 2006

Extension Through: December 2, 2006

Natural Resources
(Environmental Protection − Hazardous

Waste, Chs. NR 600—)

Rules adopted revising chs. NR 660 to 665, relating to
hazardous waste management.

Exemption from Finding of emergency
The Department of Natural Resources finds that an

emergency exists and the foregoing rules are necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

In 2001, EPA proposed regulations to change the
hazardous waste manifest requirements under the federal
Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA) to
eliminate all state−specific manifest requirements and to
require electronic submittal of the manifests.  The EPA’s final
rule was published March 4, 2005, with correcting
amendments published on June 16, 2005, and the effective
date is September 5, 2006.  The new regulations require the
use of standardized manifest forms in all states and require
certification from EPA in order to print the manifest forms.
(Final action on the e−manifest was postponed.)  Unlike most
RCRA rules, this federal regulation will take effect,
nation−wide, on the effective date.  The new federal
requirements will apply in all states, including Wisconsin, but
will not override or supersede Wisconsin’s state−specific
hazardous waste manifest requirements.  Accordingly, the
potential exists for conflicting or additional state manifest
requirements to exist beginning on that date, and the
advantages of a single, uniform nationwide rule will be lost.

The normal administrative rulemaking process cannot be
completed in time to conform Wisconsin’s hazardous waste
manifest requirements to the new EPA manifest regulations
by their September 5, 2006 effective date.  However, failure
to adopt the new federal requirements as state rules by this
date may cause legal uncertainty and potential confusion
among hazardous waste generators, transporters and
treatment, storage and disposal facility operators, as well as
state regulatory program staff.  This could interfere with
interstate commerce and the orderly functioning of
government, imposing unnecessary regulatory costs on
Wisconsin individuals and businesses and out−of−state
companies doing business in Wisconsin, to the detriment of
the public welfare.  More importantly, the potential confusion
caused by different state and federal manifest requirements
could lead to improper transportation and management of
hazardous wastes, resulting in a threat to public health or
safety and the environment.

Publication Date: September 2, 2006

Effective Date: September 5, 2006

Expiration Date: February 2, 2007
Hearing Date: September 26, 2006

Optometry Examining Board

A rule Was adopted creating ch. Opt 8, relating to
continuing education.

Exemption from finding of emergency
2005 Wisconsin Act 297 section 58 states in part:
“(3) Continuing education rules.  (b) …Notwithstanding

section 227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and (3) of the statutes, the
optometry examining board is not required to provide
evidence that promulgating a rule under this paragraph as an
emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of the public
peace, health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under this
paragraph.”

Plain language analysis
Chapter Opt 8 is being created to incorporate the

continuing education requirements that optometrists must
complete in order to renew their registrations.  As a result of
the changes made to ch. 449, Stats., by 2005 Wisconsin Act
297, all optometrist will now be required to complete 30 hours
of continuing education.  Previously, only optometrists who
were certified to use diagnostic pharmaceutical agents (DPA)
and therapeutic pharmaceutical agents (TPA) were required
to complete continuing education course work.

Publication Date: November 8, 2006

Effective Date: November 8, 2006

Expiration Date: April 7, 2007
Hearing Date: December 7, 2006

[See Notice this Register]

Regulation and Licensing

Rules were adopted creating chs. RL 164 and 165, relating
to a code of conduct and renewal requirements for substance
abuse professionals.

Plain language analysis
The purpose of this emergency rule is to create a code of

conduct to facilitate assumption of disciplinary proceedings
as part of the transfer of the regulation of substance abuse
professionals from the Department of Health and Family
Services to the Department of Regulation and Licensing.  The
emergency rule also sets forth the requirements for renewal.

The Department of Regulation and Licensing must
promulgate this emergency rule for the period before the
effective date of the permanent rules as promulgated under
Wis. Stats. s. 440.88 (3).  Under the previous regulatory
scheme, the Department of Health and Family Services and
the Wisconsin Certification Board had established a code of
conduct and restrictions on late renewals.  This emergency
rule continues the applicability of the rules until the
department, with the advice of the Advisory Committee, can
establish permanent rules.

Exemption from finding of emergency
Section 9140 (1q) of 2005 Wisconsin Act 25 states in part:

“Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and (3) of the
statutes, the department is not required to provide evidence
that promulgating a rule under this subsection as an
emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of the public
peace, health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under this
subsection.”
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Publication Date: April 15, 2006

Effective Date: April 15, 2006

Expiration Date: September 12, 2006
Hearing Date: June 27, 2006
Extension Through: January 9, 2007

Transportation (2)

1. Rules adopted creating ch. Trans 515, relating to
contractual service procurement.

Exemption from finding of emergency
The Legislature, by Section 8 of 2005 Wis. Act 89,

provides an exemption from a finding of emergency for the
adoption of the rule.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Transportation
The proposed rule requires a cost benefit analysis before

procuring engineering or other specialized services under s.
84.01 (13), Stats., in excess of $25,000 when those services
are normally performed by state employees. The required
analysis includes a comparison between the costs of
contracting out and performing the services with state
employees.  The analysis also considers other subjective
factors such as timeliness, quality and technical expertise.

Publication Date:July 1, 2006

Effective Date: July 1, 2006

Expiration Date: See section 8 (2) of 2005 Wis. Act 89
Hearing Date: August 8, 2006

2. Rules adopted revising ch. Trans 276, relating to allowing
the operation of certain 2−vehicle combinations on certain
highways without a permit.

Exemption from finding of emergency
The Legislature, by Section 7 of 2005 Wis. Act 363,

provides an exemption from a finding of emergency for the
adoption of the rule.

Plain language analysis
Section 348.07 (1), Stats., historically has limited vehicle

lengths on Wisconsin highways to 65 feet.  Section 348.07(2),
Stats., allowed vehicles meeting the specifications of that
subsection to operate without permits despite exceeding the
65−foot limit of subsection (1).

2005 Wis. Act 363 amended s. 348.07, Stats., and
essentially made 75 feet the default permitted length on the
state trunk highway system.  Wisconsin’s old default 65−foot
overall length limit still applies on all local roads but only
applies to state trunk highways that are designated as 65−foot
restricted routes by the Department.  This emergency rule
making establishes a preliminary list of such “65−foot
restricted routes.”

Prior to Act 363, s. 348.07 (4), Stats., permitted the
Department to designate “long truck routes” upon which no
overall length limits apply.  The Department designates the
state’s long truck routes in s. Trans 276.07.  This rule making
does not affect those longstanding designations.

The new “default” 75−foot overall length limit applies on
state highways that are neither designated as 65−foot
restricted routes under this rule making nor long truck routes
under s. Trans 276.07.

Definitions have been added to the rule to make it easier to
identify the nature of designations made by the Department in
Ch. Trans 276.

In drafting this rule the Department noticed several items
that it believes may be of special interest to the legislature and
which, in the Department’s view, deserve special legislative
attention.  First, Act 363 did not grant any authority for
75−foot vehicles using the new 75−foot routes to leave those
routes to reach fuel, food, maintenance, repair, rest, staging,
terminal or vehicle assembly facilities or points of loading or
unloading.  The Department does not believe this oversight
was intentional and, on an emergency basis, has designated
the intersection of each 75−foot route and any other highway
as a long truck route under its authority in s. 348.07 (4), Stats.
This will permit trucks to exceed the 65−foot default length
limit on local roads to access such facilities and make
deliveries.  The Department encourages the legislature to
consider statutorily establishing access rights for vehicles
using 75−foot restricted routes.

The second consequence of Act 363 the Department has
discovered in drafting this emergency rule is that one statute
that formerly restricted double−bottom tractor−trailer
combinations to the state’s long−truck network was repealed
by the deletion of the reference to s. 348.07 (2) (gm), Stats.,
by the Act’s amendment of s. 348.07 (4), Stats.  Under the
amended statute, as revised by Act 363, it might appear to a
reader that double bottom trucks of unlimited length may
operate upon any highway in the state, including local roads
and streets, without permits.  Section 348.08 (1) (e), Stats.,
however, continues to provide that double−bottom trucks be
restricted to highways designated by the department under s.
348.07 (4).  WisDOT believes this provision continues to limit
double−bottom operation to long truck routes designated by
the Department under s. 348.07 (4), Stats.  WisDOT would
suggest the deleted reference to (2) (gm) in 348.07 (4), Stats.,
be re−inserted into the statute to avoid confusion.

Finally, the Department notes that s. 348.07, Stats., is
becoming difficult to decipher from a legal standpoint
because of the many amendments that have been made to it
over the years.  It may be that recodifying the statute for the
purpose of clarification of the length limitations of Wisconsin
law would be helpful to truck and long vehicle operators in
this state.

Publication Date: September 15, 2006
Effective Date: September 15, 2006
Expiration Date: See section 7 (2) of 2005 Wis.

  Act 363
Hearing Date: October 4, 2006

Workforce Development

Rules adopted amending s. DWD 59.07 (2) (d) 2., relating
to grants supporting community child care initiatives.

Exemption from Finding of emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

Under the Grants Supporting Community Child Care
Initiatives program, the Department distributes federal Child
Care Development Funds to local governments and tribes.
The funding period for the grants is the federal fiscal year of
October 1 to September 30. The Department cannot release
the 2006−2007 grants scheduled to begin October 1 until the
change in this emergency rule is effective. These grants will
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provide $2.5 million of federal funds to support activities such
as accommodation of children with disabilities, education of
providers, and staff retention strategies.

The change in this rule and other changes to Chapter DWD
59 are included in a proposed permanent rule that is expected
to be effective by the end of the year.

Publication Date: October 2, 2006
Effective Date: October 2, 2006
Expiration Date: March 1, 2007
Hearing Date: October 26, 2006
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Scope statements

Natural Resources

Subject

Objective of the rule.  The objective of the proposed order
is to specify emergencies on department owned lands over
which the chief state forester shall have management
authority as required by the legislature in WI Act 166, section
23.114.  Emergencies described shall include but are not
limited to, invasive species or pest infestation, disease and
damage to timber from fire, snow, hail, ice or wind.  This rule
will provide additional authority of the chief state forester to
manage emergencies on department owned forest land.  The
rule will specify the procedure the chief state forester will take
in making the decision to act in response to an emergency
including considering advice from other state agencies and
identified affected or involved parties.  This procedure may be
similar to that described in s. NR 30.06 (4), Wis.
administrative code dealing with emergency fire restrictions.
The rule will also describe the procedure for notifying the
public of the emergency situation, what actions will be taken
as a result, and when the state of emergency is lifted similar
to the procedure described in s. NR 30.06 (3) (a), Wis.
administrative code.

Policy Analysis

The legislature requires the department to define
emergencies on department forest lands over which the chief
state forester would have management authority.  This rule
could provide additional authority to the chief state forester to
properly respond to forest health emergencies.  For example,
we are now faced with the threat of invasion by the emerald
ash borer, a foreign pest which kills all ash trees it attacks.  The
only treatment currently available to eradicate pioneering
colonies of the borer is to cut down and destroy all infested ash
as well as all ash within a � mile which are potentially
infested though may not show any signs of infestation.  This
appropriate response might be hindered by s. 26.30 (2), Stats.,
prohibiting the department from using silvicultural methods,
such as the selective cutting described here, to control forest
pests.  The proposed rule would allow an exception to use
silvicultural methods only on department managed forest
lands.   This proposed rule would also allow the chief state
forester to take actions in response to emergencies that might
be at odds with the master plan for a property.  For example,
early harvest of a stand badly damaged by a tornado.

Comparison with federal regulations

The drafter is not aware of any existing or proposed federal
regulations that are similar to this proposed rule.

Entities affected by the rule

Businesses and individuals that harvest wood from, as well
as users of, state lands could be affected either positively or
negatively depending on the circumstances and response to
the emergency.  The complexity of the potential impacts
makes developing a procedure to involve the input from
affected or involved parties an important component of this
rule.

Statutory authority
This rule is being developed in response to a requirement

of the legislature in WI Act 166, section 23.114.
Staff time required

We estimate it will take 30 hours of staff time to develop the
proposed rule before any public review and 40 hours for
public review hearings afterwards to finalize the rule text.

Natural Resources

Subject
Objective of the rule.  Authorization to begin drafting rules

pertaining to free issuance of certificate of numbers per 2005
Wisconsin Act 481 and to clarify definitions in s. NR 5.001.
Policy Analysis

2005 Wisconsin Act 481 which was passed into law
requires the department to issue free certificate of numbers to
boats in the state used for advertisement for a period not to
exceed 15 days.

This will require development of a procedure to do that.
This will only impact people involved in the making of

those advertisements.
Wisconsin Administrative code ch. NR 5 provides

definitions clarifying certain points which are in code and
statute.  We wish to clarify the definition of safe carrying
capacity as it relates to capacity plates in boats.
Statutory authority

s. 30.52 (3g) (b), statutes for certificate of numbers.
s. 227.11 (s) (a), statutes for capacity plates.

Staff time required
10 hours.

Comparison with federal regulations
There is a federal regulation pertaining to capacity plates.

The requested change does not affect the regulation in federal
code nor will the federal code affect the requested change.  .
Entities affected by the rule

NMMA.

Natural Resources

Subject
Objective of the rule.  Authorization to begin drafting new

rules created within s. NR 19.50 to establish fees for internet
based ATV and snowmobile safety certification programs and
to go to hearing with new rules.
Policy Analysis

State statute 23.33 (5) (b) 1. mandates that no person who
is at least 12 years of age and who is born on or after January
1, 1988, may operate an all−terrain vehicle unless he or she
holds a valid safety certificate.  State statute 350.05 (2) (a)
mandates that no person who is at least 12 years of age and
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who is born on or after January 1, 1985, may operate a
snowmobile unless he or she holds a valid snowmobile safety
certificate.

Currently in Wisconsin, a valid ATV safety certificate may
be obtained by completing a classroom course only.  A
snowmobile safety certificate may be obtained by completing
a classroom course or CD ROM course which is mailed by the
Department upon request and completed by the student on
their own.

A common complaint received by the Department is
availability, convenience and frequency of safety courses;
especially ATV safety courses.  Internet based course would
alleviate this problem and make it more convenient for
out−of−state tourists, especially Illinois which does not have
an ATV safety program.  The Internet course for Snowmobile
Safety would consist of taking the current CD ROM course
and placing it on the internet, thereby reducing workload and
costs to the Department.  A Memorandum of Understanding
would need to be established with the internet course provider
establishing a fee for the course.
Statutory authority

s. 23.33 (5) (d), s. 350.055.
Staff time required

40 hours.
Comparison with federal regulations

N/A
Entities affected by the rule

Snowmobile and ATV Safety Instructors, Assoc. of WI
Snowmobile Clubs and the WI ATV Assoc.

Natural Resources

Subject

Objective of the rule.  Authorization to begin drafting rules
pertaining to mandatory education law for boaters required by
Wisconsin Act 356 dealing with rentals.  Modification to
Wisconsin Administrative code s. NR 5.18 language to
provide more opportunity to take a boating safety course
through the internet or boat rental business.
Policy Analysis

2005 Wisconsin Act 356 which was passed into law
requires the department to establish procedures for
implementing the new state statute as it relates to renters of
boats who have not been certified in boating education
previously.

This will require development of a course which will meet
the needs of the public renting boats and the rental agents.
This will only impact renters of boats who do not have an
approved Boating Safety Certificate.

Wisconsin Administrative code s. NR 5.18 establishes fees
to be charged and collected by WI DNR certified Boating
Safety Instructors and entities which we have a MOU with.
We are proposing modification of administrative rule
language, to provide more opportunity to take a boating safety
course through the internet or boat rental business.
Statutory authority

s. 30.74 (1) (am) a (1) (a), 30.74 (1) (b).
Staff time required

40 hours.

Comparison with federal regulations
Not Applicable.

Entities affected by the rule
Entities that will be affected by the rule include boat rental

businesses, United States Coast Guard Auxiliary, United
States Power Squadron, and Boating Safety Instructors.

Natural Resources

Subject
Objective of the rule.  The definition of a lifeboat will be

addressed in s. NR 5.001 and shall eliminate confusion for the
public regarding their responsibility to register their rubber
rafts and dingys if used for anything other than transporting
passengers from a vessel in distress.  This will make the state
law consistent with the Federal Boat Safety Act.
Policy Analysis

Many large motorboats and sailboats carry rubber rafts or
dingys on board for the purpose of transportation between
shore and the boat or between boats.  When equipped with
motors, these rubber rafts or dingys should be registered as
motorboats as they are being used for transportation on water.

The rule will still exempt lifeboats from registration when
they are being used exclusively for transporting passengers
and material from vessels in distress.
Statutory authority

s. 227.11 (2) (a).
Staff time required

1 hour.
Comparison with federal regulations

This rule would mirror CFR 33 with the use of lifeboats and
being exempted for registration.
Entities affected by the rule

All Wisconsin boat owners could be affected by the rule.

Natural Resources

Subject
Objective of the rule.  The Bureau of Wildlife Management

recommends promulgating administrative rules that modify
sections of chapters NR 10 and 12.  These hunting, trapping,
and wildlife nuisance related rule changes are minor and
non−controversial in nature. The intent of these rule changes
is to provide clarification to existing rules and update
administrative code language and references. Specifically,
these rules will define disabled person as one holding a Class
A, B, or C Disability Permit, establish the non−resident
raccoon trapping season dates, add deer management unit 1M
to fisher zone A, clarify that open and closed hunting seasons
do not pertain to nuisance wildlife removal permits, correct
cross−references and clarify language resulting from the 2006
deer rule changes.
Policy Analysis

There are no significant policy issues associated with this
rule package. Every year the department promulgates a rule
order that contains changes that are considered to be minor
and non−controversial. This package known as the annual
housekeeping order helps to correct inaccuracies and clarify
existing regulations.
Statutory authority

SS. 29.014, 29.184 (5), 29.361, and 29.885, Stats.
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Staff time required
154 hours.

Entities affected by the rule

Groups likely interested in the outcome of these rule
changes include deer hunters, bear hunters and trappers.
However, because of the corrective and non−controversial
nature of these changes no groups will be significantly
impacted.
Comparison with federal regulations

Federal regulations allow states to manage the wildlife
resources located within their boundaries provided they do
not conflict with regulations established in the Federal
Register.  None of these rule changes violate or conflict with
the revisions established in the Federal Code of Regulations.

Natural Resources

Subject
Objective of the rule.  The Bureau of Wildlife Management

recommends promulgating administrative rules modifying
chapters NR 10, 11, 16, 19, and 45 relating to hunting,
trapping, and use of public lands.
Policy Analysis

These rule changes are proposed for inclusion on the 2007
Spring Hearing questionnaire. Specifically, these rules would
close the jackrabbit season, modify gun deer hunting at two
State Parks and the Apostle Islands, modify bear zone A1 to
be a stand alone zone, combine turkey management zones,
add two Wildlife Management Areas to the 2:00 PM closure
for pheasant hunting, and modify closed areas within the
Upper Mississippi Fish and Wildlife Refuge. In addition, this
rule proposal would modify hunting methods such as fall
turkey hunting with dogs, using blinds on state land, and trap
sizes and requirements. Finally, this rule proposal sets a
specific Trapper Education class fee, and modifies deer
feeding restrictions.

These changes do not deviate from existing board policy.
The proposed changes to hunting seasons, hunting and
trapping equipment and methods, and use of public lands are
consistent with previous board actions and policies.
Statutory authority

SS. 23.09 (2), 23.091, 29.014, 29.041, 29.089 (3), 29.335,
29.512, 29.597, and 169.18 Stats.
Staff time required

606 hours.
Entities affected by the rule

Deer, bear, turkey, and waterfowl hunters, trappers,
landowners, non−hunting outdoor enthusiasts, and state park
users will all be affected by these rules.
Comparison with federal regulations

Federal regulations allow states to manage the wildlife
resources located within their boundaries provided they do
not conflict with regulations established in the Federal
Register. None of these rule changes violate or conflict with
the provisions established in the Federal Code of Regulations.

Natural Resources

Subject
Objective of the rule.  Modifications to portions of ch. NR

20, pertaining to fishing regulations on inland waters, and ch.
NR 21, pertaining to Wisconsin−Minnesota boundary waters.
Policy Analysis

The Department is beginning the process of
recommending changes to Wisconsin administrative code
relating to recreational fishing regulations.  The Department
anticipates requesting hearings on these changes in January,
2007, and holding approved hearings in April 2007.
Statutory authority

ss. 29.014 and 29.041, Stats.
Staff time required

The Department anticipates spending approximately 275
hours in the rule development process.
Comparison with federal regulations

Authority to promulgate fishing regulations is granted to
States.  No federal regulations apply to the proposed changes
in regulating recreational fishing activity.

Natural Resources

Subject
Objective of the rule.  Requesting NRB authorization to

bring to public hearing changes to ch. NR 10, regarding gun
deer seasons.
Policy Analysis

Significant changes have been implemented toward gun
deer seasons beginning in 2006; including the trial
elimination of the October antlerless gun season and creation
of a trial statewide December antlerless gun season.  This rule
proposal will address the future of the December and October
antlerless gun deer seasons pending conclusive information
collected during the 2006 deer seasons.  In addition, this rule
proposal clarifies deer harvest and tagging options for youth
deer hunters during the special youth deer hunt event, and
creates a free antlerless carcass tag for current year graduates
of hunter education.
Statutory authority

s. 29.014, Stats.
Staff time required

94 hours.
Entities affected by the rule

All deer hunting stakeholder groups and others, such as the
Association of Wisconsin Snowmobile Clubs, Wisconsin
Farm Bureau, and forestry interest groups will be interested
in the changes proposed in this rule.
Comparison with federal regulations

Federal regulations allow states to manage the wildlife
resources located within their boundaries provided they do
not conflict with regulations established in the Federal
Register. None of these rule changes violate or conflict with
the provisions established in the Federal Code of Regulations.
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Submittal of rules to legislative council clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Commerce
On October 17, 2006, the Department of Commerce

submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The proposed rule−making order relates to the
woman−owned business certification program.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on
November 27, 2006.
Contact Person

Sam Rockweiler
(608) 266−0797
srockweiler@commerce.state.wi.us

Optometry Examining Board
On October 30, 2006, the Optometry Examining Board

submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.

Analysis

Statutory Authority:  ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2),
Stats., and s. 449.06 (2m), Stats., as created by 2005
Wisconsin Act 297.

The proposed rule−making order relates to
examinations, endorsement, delegation, TPA/DPA,
renewal and continuing education relating to optometrists.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing is required and will be held on

December 7, 2006 at 9:15 a.m. in Room 121C at 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin.

Contact Person
Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Office of Legal Counsel,

(608) 266−0495.
Pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us
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Rule−making notices

Notice of Hearing
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

(reprinted from October 31, 2006 Register)

The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection announces that it will hold a public hearing on an
emergency rule relating to the minimum acreage for
farm−raised deer hunting preserves.  This emergency rule
preserves the intent of Act 359 to “grandfather” certain
pre−existing hunting preserves that would otherwise fail to
meet recently−enacted minimum acreage requirements under
s. 95.55 (5) (a), Stats.  This emergency rule affects a small
number of previously licensed white−tailed deer hunting
preserves.

DATCP will hold one hearing at the time and place shown
below.  DATCP invites the public to attend the hearing and
comment on the emergency rule.  Following the public
hearing, the hearing record will remain open until November
20, 2006, for additional written comments.  Comments may
be sent to the Division of Animal Health at the address below
or by e−mail to:  hearingcommentsAH@datcp.state.wi.us.

Copy of Rule
You may obtain a free copy of this rule by contacting the

Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection, Division of Animal Health, 2811 Agriculture
Drive, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708. You can also
obtain a copy by calling (608) 224−4886 or emailing
Richard.bourie@datcp.state.wi.us. Copies will also be
available at the hearings.  To view the proposed rule online,
go to:  https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home

To provide comments or concerns relating to small
business, please contact DATCP’s small business regulatory
coordinator Keeley Moll at the address above, by emailing to
Keeley.Moll@datcp.state.wi.us or by telephone at (608)
224−5039.

Hearing Date and Location

Monday, November 13, 2006
1:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
2811 Agriculture Drive, Board Room
Madison, WI 53708
Handicapped accessible

Hearing impaired persons may request an interpreter for
the hearing.  Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by Wednesday, November 8, 2006, by writing to
Dr. Richard Bourie, Division of Animal Health, P.O. Box
8911, Madison, WI 53708−8911, telephone (608) 224−4886.
Alternatively, you may contact the Department TDD at (608)
224−5058.  Handicap access is available at the hearing.

Analysis prepared by the Dept. of Agriculture, Trade
and Consumer Protection

This emergency rule interprets and clarifies 2005 Wis. Act.
359, related to minimum acreage requirements for
farm−raised deer hunting preserves.  This emergency rule
preserves the intent of Act 359 to “grandfather” certain
pre−existing hunting preserves that would otherwise fail to
meet recently−enacted minimum acreage requirements under
s. 95.55 (5) (a), Stats.  This emergency rule affects a small

number of previously licensed white−tailed deer hunting
preserves.

Statutory Authority: ss. 93.07 (1), and 95.55 (6), Stats.
Statute Interpreted:  s. 95.55, Stats.
The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and

Consumer Protection (DATCP) has broad general authority to
adopt rules interpreting statutes under its jurisdiction (see s.
93.07 (1), Stats.).  DATCP is specifically authorized to adopt
rules to regulate both the raising of farm−raised deer and the
hunting of farm−raised deer in this state (see s. 95.55 (6),
Stats.).  This emergency rule clarifies the minimum acreage
required for certain white−tailed deer hunting preserves.
Background and Purpose

DATCP administers Wisconsin’s animal health and disease
control programs, including programs to license and regulate
keepers of farm−raised deer.  Under s. 95.55, Stats., and
DATCP rules, no person may operate a farm−raised deer
hunting preserve without a deer farm license and hunting
preserve certificate from DATCP.  A deer farm license must
be renewed every year.  A hunting preserve certificate is good
for 10 years, unless suspended or revoked.

Section 95.55 (5), Stats. (enacted by 2003 Wis. Act 145
effective January 1, 2003) generally prohibits hunting
preserves that are smaller than 80 acres.  However, 2005 Wis.
Act 359 (enacted effective May 3, 2006) creates a limited
“grandfather” exemption for certain white−tailed deer
hunting preserves previously licensed by the Department of
Natural Resources (DNR).   Regulation of white−tail deer
farms and hunting preserves was transferred from DNR to
DATCP effective January 1, 2003.

Under the “grandfather” exemption created by 2005 Wis.
Act 359, DATCP may permit a white−tail deer hunting
preserve smaller than 80 acres if the hunting preserve meets
several specific requirements.  One of the requirements is that
the hunting preserve acreage must be “not less than the
acreage subject to the DNR deer farm license on December
31, 2002.”

The apparent intent of the legislation was to “grandfather”
certain white−tailed deer hunting preserves that are currently
no smaller than they were when previously licensed by DNR.
However, DNR license documents from 2002 refer only to the
total acreage of the licensed deer farm (including hunting and
non−hunting acreage), and do not separately identify hunting
vs. non−hunting acreage.  Under one possible reading of the
legislation, a hunting preserve is “grandfathered” only if the
current hunting acreage is not less than the total hunting and
non−hunting acreage licensed by DNR in 2002, even though
the hunting acreage itself is no smaller than in 2002.
However, such a reading would render the legislation a
nullity.

This emergency rule interprets 2005 Wis. Act 359 to
preserve the apparent intent of the legislation, and to avoid
rendering the legislation null.  Under this emergency rule, a
white−tailed deer hunting preserve may qualify for
“grandfather” status if, among other things, the operator can
document that the current hunting acreage is no less than the
hunting acreage on the same deer farm licensed by DNR in
2002.

DATCP is adopting this emergency rule to clarify hunting
preserve criteria in time for the 2006 hunting season, and
within the time period contemplated by 2005 Wis. Act 359.
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Hunting preserve operators who wish to claim the
“grandfather” exemption must apply by November 1, 2006,
and DATCP must act on each application within 90 days.
DATCP could not adopt this rule by normal rulemaking
procedures in time to implement Act 359.

Federal Programs

DATCP administers animal disease control programs in
cooperation with the United States department of agriculture
(USDA). DATCP cooperates with USDA in the
administration of programs related to chronic wasting disease
and other diseases of farm−raised deer.  USDA does not itself
regulate deer hunting preserves, as such.

Surrounding State Programs

Cervid (white−tailed deer) hunting preserves are allowed
in surrounding states.

Minnesota law does not specifically permit or prohibit
white−tailed deer hunting preserves. Currently some deer
farms hold hunts, and there is no minimum acreage required.
Although proposed, no legislative action has been taken to
clarify the law in the last three legislative sessions.

Iowa originally issued licenses to game farms for the
hunting of game birds and /or white−tailed deer.  The
minimum acreage was 320 acres. Iowa now requires separate
licenses for hunting game birds and hunting white−tailed deer.
Each hunting area is now required to have a minimum of 320
acres.  Some farms could not meet the 320−acre−each
requirement when the law changed, so Iowa did allow game
farms that formerly hunted both types of game to receive both
licenses under a “grandfathering  provision”, even though
neither hunting area is 320 acres.  The grandfathering
provision opportunity has expired.

Illinois allows hunting of non−indigenous species on game
hunting areas of 640 to 2560 contiguous acres.  White−tailed
deer are native to Illinois and may not be hunted under this
license.  However, there is no direct prohibition on hunting
white−tailed deer. Illinois issues permits for deer breeding
farms, with no minimum acreage requirement.  Two breeding
farms began offering hunts for white−tailed deer 10−15 years
ago (a hunter buys a deer and then shoots it).  No legislative
action has been taken to address the issue of hunts on breeding
farms.

Michigan issues licenses to 4 classes of deer farms,
dependent mostly on the size of the farm.  Hunting of
white−tailed deer is allowed on all classes, with no minimum
acreage requirement.

Fiscal Impact

This rule will have no fiscal impact on local government
and an insignificant impact on DATCP.  DATCP will incur
added staff and administrative costs to administer the new
farm−raised deer hunting preserve certification for less than
80 acres, but expects to absorb the additional workload with
existing staff and appropriations.  There is a $150 inspection
fee to get a hunting preserve certificate.  That fee applies to all
applications, regardless of acreage.

Small Business Impact

This rule affects a very small number of white−tailed deer
hunting preserve operators, all of whom are “small
businesses.”  This rule will have a positive impact on those
operators.  Current statutes and rules generally prohibit
hunting preserves smaller than 80 acres.  This rule effectively
implements 2005 Wis. Act 359, which provides a possible
“grandfather” exemption for a few operators.  This rule does
not impose any additional restrictions or burdens on small
business.

DATCP Contact Person
Questions and comments related to this rule may be

directed to:
Dr. Richard Bourie
Department of Agriculture, trade and Consumer Protection
P.O. Box 8911
Madison, WI 53708−8911
Telephone (608) 224−4886
E−Mail:  hearingcommentsAH@datcp.state.wi.us

Notice of Hearing
Commerce

(Financial Assistance for Businesses and
Communities)
[CR 06−113]

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to s. 560.035
(1) (c), Stats., the Department of Commerce will hold a public
hearing on proposed rules under chapter Comm 104, relating
to implementing a woman−owned business certification
program.

The public hearing will be held as follows:

Date and Time: Location:
Monday
November 27, 2006
Commencing at
10:00 A.M.

Thompson Commerce Center
Third Floor, Room 3B
201 West Washington Avenue
Madison, Wisconsin

Written comments
Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and

present comments on the proposed rules.  Persons making oral
presentations are requested to submit their comments in
writing, via e−mail.  Persons submitting comments will not
receive individual responses.  The hearing record on this
proposed rulemaking will remain open until November 30,
2006, to permit submittal of written comments from persons
who are unable to attend the hearing or who wish to
supplement testimony offered at the hearing.  All written
comments should be submitted by e−mail to
srockweiler@commerce.state.wi.us.  If e−mail submittal is
not possible, written comments may be mailed to Sam
Rockweiler, Department of Commerce, Division of
Environmental and Regulatory Services, P.O. Box 14427,
Madison, WI 53708−0427.

This hearing will be held in an accessible facility.  If you
have special needs or circumstances that may make
communication or accessibility difficult at the hearing, please
call Sam Rockweiler at (608) 266−0797 or (608) 264−8777
(TTY) at least 10 days prior to the hearing date.
Accommodations such as interpreters, English translators, or
materials in audio tape format will, to the fullest extent
possible, be made available upon a request from a person with
a disability.
Rule Summary

Statutes Interpreted:  Sections 560.035 (1) and 227.51
Statutory Authority:  Section 560.035 (1) (c)

Explanation of Agency Authority
Section 560.035 (1) (c), Stats., as created by 2005

Wisconsin Act 358, requires the Department to promulgate
rules for implementing a woman−owned business
certification program under s. 560.035 (1), Stats.
Related Statute or Rule

Chapter Comm 105 contains the requirements for the
Department’s Minority Business Certification Program.
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Although that program does not recognize women as
minorities, many of the best practices which the Department
has developed in that program are extrapolative to a program
for certifying woman−owned businesses.
Plain Language Analysis

The proposed rules primarily specify (1) which businesses
are eligible for becoming certified in this program, (2) how to
apply for certification and recertification, (3) how the
certifications will be issued, renewed, and rescinded, and (4)
how to appeal a decision by the Department.  Parameters are
also included for recognizing equivalent certifications that are
issued by other public agencies; and for utilizing an advisory
committee in decision−making for certification,
decertification, recertification, and subsequent rule
development.
Summary and Comparison of Federal Regulations

Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations, Part 26,
Subpart D, addresses certification standards for
disadvantaged business enterprises that participate in federal
Department of Transportation (DOT) financial assistance
programs.  Those enterprises include businesses that are
substantially owned by women having a personal net worth
which does not exceed $750,000.  Subpart E addresses the
certification procedures, which include determination and
issuance of the credential by corresponding State−level or
multi−State Unified Certification Programs.  The certification
criteria in Subparts D and E are similar to the rules proposed
in chapter Comm 104, in addressing the application process;
documentation of majority ownership and control;
acceptance of certifications by the U.S. Small Business
Administration; issuance or denial of the credential; appeals;
notification duty if application information changes
materially; recertification; and ineligibility of not−for−profit
organizations.

Title 13 of the Code of Federal Regulations, Part 124,
Subpart B, addresses the U.S. Small Business
Administration’s certification of small disadvantaged
businesses, for participation in federal procurements aimed at
overcoming the effects of discrimination.  Some
woman−owned businesses in Wisconsin are expected to be
eligible for this certification.  The certification criteria in
Subpart B are similar to the rules proposed in Comm 104, in
addressing the application process; documentation of
ownership and control; issuance or denial of the credential;
reconsideration; certification by other certifying entities,
including the federal DOT; decertification; appeals; and
recertification.

Wisconsin’s statutory parameters for certifying
woman−owned businesses, and the rules proposed in Comm
104, do not specify a maximum business size or maximum net
worth, beyond which women owners are ineligible for
certification.  The rules proposed in Comm 104 also differ
from the federal criteria by not accepting certifications from
private−sector entities.
Comparison With Rules in Adjacent States

An Internet−based search of State−level rules in
Minnesota, Iowa, Illinois, and Michigan revealed the
following information relating to certification of woman− or
female−owned businesses.

Minnesota. Minnesota offers a targeted−group
procurement program to help remedy the effects of past
discrimination against members of targeted groups.  To be
considered under the program, a business must be designated
as a targeted business by the Minnesota Commissioner of
Administration.  As directed by section 16C.19 of the
Minnesota Statutes, the criteria for these designations are
promulgated as rules and are included in Minnesota Rules,

Chapter 1230.  This chapter addresses certification of small,
targeted−group businesses that are at least 51 percent owned
and operationally controlled on a day−to−day basis by either
women or other socially disadvantaged persons.  This chapter
is also similar to the rules proposed in Comm 104 in
addressing the application process; documentation of
majority ownership and control; issuance or denial of the
credential; input from an advisory committee; and use of a
statutory, contested−case hearing process for appeals.

Iowa.   Chapter 54 of the rules of the Iowa Department of
Economic Development establishes a targeted small business
procurement program for promoting the growth,
development and diversification of Iowa businesses that are
owned by minorities or women.  Chapter 55 of the rules of that
Department establishes a targeted small business financial
assistance program to assist women, minorities, persons with
disabilities, and low–income individuals in establishing or
expanding small business ventures in Iowa.  Prior to
participation in either of these two programs, a business must
be certified as a targeted small business, in accordance with
Chapter 25 of the rules of the Iowa Department of Inspections
and Appeals.  Under the definitions in that Chapter, a targeted
small business (1) is 51 percent or more owned, operated, and
actively managed by minorities, women, or persons with
disabilities; (2) has an annual gross income of less than $3
million; and (3) is operated for profit.  The certification rules
in the Chapter are similar to the rules proposed in Comm 104,
in addressing the application process; documentation of
majority ownership and control; issuance or denial of the
credential; consideration of certification by another agency;
decertification; recertification; and use of a statutory,
contested−case hearing process for appeals.  The rules
proposed in Comm 104 differ by not limiting annual sales to
$3 million.

Illinois.   Title 44, Part 10 of the Illinois Administrative
Code implements the Business Enterprise for Minorities,
Females, and Persons with Disabilities Act [30 ILCS 575].
This Act establishes a goal that at least 12 percent of contracts
awarded by State agencies subject to the Act be awarded to
businesses which are owned and controlled by minorities,
females, or persons with disabilities.  Of that 12 percent, 5
percent must be female−owned businesses; and these
businesses cannot have annual gross sales of $27 million or
more, including sales from any affiliates.  The Act also
authorizes development and use of a procedure to certify
firms eligible for the benefits of the Act; allows for certain
special treatment in contracting with certified businesses; and
establishes a Council, Secretary, and, in the Department of
Central Management Services, a program function to
implement and oversee the Act.  Section 10.30 of Part 10, Title
44, addresses the roles of the State agencies and the Council
in achieving compliance with the contract−awarding goals.
Under Section 10.50, only certified businesses are eligible for
the benefits of the Business Enterprise program, and State
agencies can count only those expenditures with a certified
vendor, or subcontractor, toward meeting the
contract−awarding goals.  The certification rules in Sections
10.50 to 10.72 are similar to the rules proposed in Comm 104,
in addressing the application process; documentation of
majority ownership and control; issuance or denial of the
credential; consideration of certification by another entity;
input from an advisory committee; reconsideration;
decertification; appeals; and recertification.  The rules
proposed in ch. Comm 104 differ by not limiting annual sales
to $27 million, and by not accepting certifications from
private−sector entities.

Several other rules in other portions of the Illinois
Administrative Code require or encourage targeting of
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various opportunities to women−owned businesses, but do
not link this targeting to certification.

Michigan.  No information was found relating to
certification of women− or female−owned businesses.

Summary of Factual Data and Analytical Methodologies
The data and methodology for developing these proposed

rules were derived from and consisted of incorporating the
criteria in s. 560.035 (1), Stats.; incorporating many of the
best practices the Department has developed in its current,
similar program for certifying minority−owned businesses;
soliciting and utilizing input from representatives of the
stakeholders who are expected to participate in this program;
and reviewing Internet−based sources of related federal, state,
and private−sector information.

Supporting Documents Used to Determine Effect on Small
Business or in Preparation of an Economic Impact Report

The primary document that was used to determine the
effect of the proposed rules on small business was 2005
Wisconsin Act 358.  This Act requires the Department to
implement a program for certifying woman−owned
businesses, and requires the Department to promulgate rules
for administering the program.  However, this Act does not
require these businesses to become certified, and does not
create preferences in governmental procurement for these
businesses.  Consequently, the proposed rules do not require
this certification, and do not create procurement preferences.

Effect on Small Business
The proposed rules are not expected to impose a negative

effect on small business, because the rules only address
applying for, receiving, and maintaining voluntary
credentials. This rule does have the potential to enable
woman−owned businesses to benefit from additional business
opportunities.  In recognizing this positive impact, the
Department took steps to reduce possible barriers for
woman−owned, small businesses as defined in s.  227.114 (1),
Stats., by requesting external participation in the draft rule
development.  The Department organized and solicited the
comments from organizations that represent the interests of
woman−owned small businesses, and from those who
represented supplier−diversification programs.  The rule
advisory group included the following members and
organizations:

Kathy Doyle . . . . . . . . . . . Advocap
Renee Walz . . . . . . . . . . . Western Dairyland 

Community Action
Jennifer Ring Mellberg . . Wisconsin Women’s Busi-

ness Initiative Corporation
Bill Smith . . . . . . . . . . . . . National Federation of

Independent Businesses
Mary Stoltz . . . . . . . . . . . . Madison Chapter of

National Association of
Women Business Owners

Beth Nemecek . . . . . . . . . AmeriPrint Graphics, Inc
Laurie Benson . . . . . . . . . Inacom, Inc.
Lisa Kleiner . . . . . . . . . . . Wood, McNally, Maloney

& Peterson, S.C.
Jerry Fulmer . . . . . . . . . . . WE Energies
Mary Trimmier . . . . . . . . . U.S. Small Business

Administration
Mildred Hyde Demoze . . . Milwaukee County Office

of Community Business
Development Partners

The rule−advisory group had the opportunity to review the
rule drafts and provide input through two meetings held at the
Department, on July 27 and August 16, 2006.

Small businesses’ access to information about the
woman−owned business enterprise (WBE) certification
program will determine the level of participation by the
woman−owned businesses that meet the small business
definition contained in section 227.114 (1).  The Department
plans to issue a statewide press release announcing the
availability of the WBE certification, so that small businesses
which are not members of associations or business−related
organizations will be aware of the new WBE certification
program.  The Department also plans to promote the
availability of the woman−owned business certification
through the Department’s network of entrepreneurial
business−assistance partners, numerous business affiliations
and industries, and Department−sponsored events that cater to
small business.  A user−friendly WBE fact sheet is expected
to be available through a Department WBE certification Web
site, and training sessions may be offered, to assist small
businesses in understanding the requirements and the
application process.  

Agency Contact Information
Ruby Brooks, Wisconsin Department of Commerce,

Bureau of Minority Business Development, P.O. Box 7970,
Madison, WI, 53707−7970; telephone (608) 266−8380;
e−mail rbrooks@commerce.state.wi.us.

Copy of Rules
The proposed rules and an analysis of the rules are

available on the Internet, by entering “Comm 104” in the
search engine at the following Web site:
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  Paper copies may be
obtained without cost from Anne Thundercloud at the
Department of Commerce, Bureau of Minority Business
Development, P.O. Box 7970, Madison, WI 53707, or at
AThundercloud@commerce.state.wi.us, or at telephone
(608) 267−9550 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY).  Copies will also
be available at the public hearing.

Environmental Analysis
Notice is hereby given that the Department has considered

the environmental impact of the proposed rules.  In
accordance with ch. Comm 1, the proposed rules are a Type
III action.  A Type III action normally does not have the
potential to cause significant environmental effects and
normally does not involve unresolved conflicts in the use of
available resources.  The Department has reviewed these rules
and finds no reason to believe that any unusual conditions
exist.  At this time, the Department has issued this notice to
serve as a finding of no significant impact.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
1. Types of small businesses that will be affected by the

rules.
Businesses that qualify and want to become certified as a

woman−owned business.
2.  Reporting, bookkeeping and other procedures required

for compliance with the rules.
Each applicant must (1) complete and submit a

Department−supplied application, (2) subsequently notify the
Department of any changes to the information contained in
the application, and (3) complete and submit a
Department−supplied application for recertification, for
continuation of the certification beyond each three−year
certification period.

3.  Types of professional skills necessary for compliance
with the rules.
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No new professional skills would be necessary for
compliance with the proposed rules.

4.  Rules have a significant economic impact on small
businesses.   No.

The small business regulatory coordinator for the
Department of Commerce is Carol Dunn, who may be
contacted at telephone (608) 267−0297, or by e−mail at
cdunn@commerce.state.wi.us.

Fiscal Estimate

The appropriation, as created by 2005 Wisconsin Act 358,
will result in revenues that will offset the Department’s costs
in administering this new program.

The Department estimates that 1200 businesses will
maintain the credential under this program, at an annual fee
of $50.

The proposed rules are not expected to impose any
significant, mandated costs on the private sector, because the
rules only address applying for, receiving and maintaining
voluntary credentials.

Notice of Hearing
Optometry Examining Board

[CR 06−116]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority

vested in the Optometry Examining Board in ss. 15.08 (5) (b)
and 227.11 (2), Stats., and s. 449.06 (2m), Stats., as created by
2005 Wisconsin Act 297, and interpreting ss. 449.02, 449.04
(1), 449.055, 449.06 (1) and (2m), 449.08 (1), 449.17 (1),
(1m) and (2), and 449.18 (1), (2), (5) and (6), Stats., the
Optometry Examining Board will hold a public hearing at the
time and place indicated below to consider an order to repeal
Opt 1.02 (3), 3.01, the Note following Opt 4.02 (2), 6.02 (2)
and (5), and 6.05 to 6.08; to renumber Opt 6.02 (1); to
renumber and amend Opt 5.12; to amend Opt 1.01, 1.02
(intro.), 3.02 (1) (intro.), the second Note following 3.02 (1)
(a), the Note following 3.02 (1) (c), 3.03, 3.09, ch. Opt 4
(title), 4.01 (intro.), (1) to (5) and (7), 4.02 (1) (intro.) and (c),
4.03 (1) and (2) (intro.), 5.12 (title), ch. Opt 6 (title), 6.01, 6.02
(6), ch. Opt 7 (title), 7.03 (title) and 7.03, and 7.05 (1) and (2)
(intro.); to repeal and recreate Opt 1.02 (6), 1.03, 6.02 (3),
6.03 and 6.04; and to create Opt 4.01 (8) and (9), 5.02 (6), 5.12
(1), (2) and (3), 6.02 (1) and ch. Opt 8, relating to
examinations, endorsement, delegation, TPA/DPA, renewal
and continuing education relating to optometrists.

Hearing Date, Time and Location

Date: December 7, 2006
Time: 9:15 a.m.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue
(Enter at 55 N Dickinson Street)

Room 121C
Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing

Interested persons are invited to present information at the
hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Legal Counsel, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708.  Written comments must be received by December 7,

2006, to be included in the record of rule−making
proceedings.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing

Statutes interpreted:  Sections 449.02, (3), 449.04 (1),
449.055, 449.06 (1) and (2m), 449.08 (1), 449.17 (1), (1m)
and (2), and 449.18 (1), (2), (5) and (6), Stats.

Statutes authorizing promulgation:  Sections 15.08 (5) (b)
and 227.11 (2), Stats., and s. 449.06 (2m), Stats., as created by
2005 Wisconsin Act 297.

Explanation of agency authority:  Chapter 449, Stats., and
2005 Wisconsin Act 297, give authority to the Optometry
Examining Board to promulgate rules relating to the issuance
and renewal of licenses; the issuance of certificates to use
diagnostic and therapeutic pharmaceutical agents; the
issuance of licenses by endorsement; continuing education
requirements and grounds for discipline of optometrists.

Related statute or rule:  Chapter RL 10 which identifies the
diagnostic and therapeutic pharmaceutical agents that have
been approved by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing for use by optometrists.

Plain language analysis:  SECTIONS 1 and 2.  The current
rules include a reference in ss. Opt 1.01 and 1.02 to chs. Opt
1 to 7.  These sections are being amended to clarify that these
provisions also apply to ch. Opt 8.

SECTION 3.  In this section, the board repeals the
definition of “immediate supervision.”

SECTION 4.  In this section the board creates a definition
of  “supervision.”  The board also repeals the definition of
“routine visual screening” that is found in s. Opt 1.02 (6).

SECTION 5.  In this section, the board repeals and
recreates s. Opt 1.03, which relates to delegation and
supervision of unlicensed persons.  The rule clarifies that,
with 2 exceptions, optometrists may direct unlicensed persons
working under their supervision to perform any act that is
within the scope of the practice of optometry.

SECTION 6.  Section Opt 3.01, which relates to fixing a
time and place for examinations, is being repealed because the
examinations are now administered on−line.

SECTION 7.  Section Opt 3.02 (1) is being amended to
clarify that applications for examination are no longer
required to be submitted 30 days prior to the date of the
examination, and to make minor and technical changes to the
examination procedures.  These changes are required
primarily because examinations are now administered
on−line.

SECTIONS 8 and 9.  These sections amend Notes to
identify where applications may be obtained.

SECTIONS 10 and 11.  These sections make minor and
technical revisions to the rules that relate to application and
examination procedures.

SECTIONS 12−17.  These sections amend ch. Opt 4 to
incorporate the provisions for endorsement that are contained
in 2005 Wisconsin Act 297.  Those provisions require
applicants to be “in good standing;” to have practiced
optometry in another state that has substantially similar
requirements, and to have completed the educational course
work required to use diagnostic and therapeutic
pharmaceutical agents.  In addition, other minor and technical
revisions relating to application and examination procedures
are being made to the rules.

SECTION 18.  Section Opt 5.02 (6) is being created to
define “signature” to mean “a handwritten mark or an
electronic sound, symbol, or process attached to or logically
associated with a record and executed or adopted by a person
with the intent to sign the record.”
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SECTIONS 19−21.  Section Opt 5.12, which relates to
supervision of unlicensed persons who perform routine vision
screenings, is being repealed and recreated to state that it shall
be unprofessional conduct for an optometrist to do any of the
following:

(1)  Delegate the prescribing of pharmaceutical agents, or
the removal of foreign bodies from an eye or from an
appendage to the eye, to an unlicensed person.

(2)  Delegate the performance of tasks related to the
practice of optometry to an unlicensed person that exceeds
that person’s competence, education, training or experience.

(3)  Fail to exercise supervision over an unlicensed person,
as provided under s. Opt 1.03.

SECTIONS 22−31.  These sections amend, repeal, and
repeal and recreate ch. Opt 6 to incorporate the substantial
changes made by 2005 Wisconsin Act 297 relating to the use
of diagnostic and therapeutic pharmaceutical agents and
removal of superficial foreign bodies from an eye or from an
appendage to the eye.  Chapter Opt 6, as recreated,
incorporates the procedures for the issuance of certificates to
use diagnostic and pharmaceutical agents; the education and
examination requirements that must be completed in order for
an optometrist to obtain a certificate, and the permitted use of
diagnostic and therapeutic pharmaceutical agents.  Some of
the primary changes made to ch. 449, Stats., by 2005
Wisconsin Act 297, which are incorporated into ch. Opt 6 or
clarified in ch. Opt 6, include the following:

Section 449.17 – DPA Certificates.  As a result of the
revisions to the statutes, the Department of Regulation and
Licensing will no longer grant DPA certificates.  The board is
now authorized to grant DPA certificates, but only to
optometrists who were licensed by the board before August
1, 2006.  Optometrists licensed by the board on or after August
1, 2006, will automatically be authorized to use diagnostic
pharmaceutical agents (DPA) without having to obtain a
separate DPA certificate.  Note that the DPA certificates
granted by the department prior to August 1, 2006, will
remain in effect while the optometrist’s license remains in
effect unless suspended or revoked by the board.  [Wis. Stats.
s. 449.17 (1m) (d).]  Note also that the Secretary of the
department retains the authority to promulgate rules
specifying the topical ocular diagnostic pharmaceutical
agents that may be used by optometrists.  See also Wis. Adm.
Code ch. RL 10.]

Section 449.18 – TPA Certificates.  As a result of the
revisions to the statutes, the board retains the authority to
grant TPA certificates, but only to optometrists who were
licensed by the board before August 1, 2006.  Optometrists
licensed by the board on or after August 1, 2006, will
automatically be authorized to use therapeutic
pharmaceutical agents (TPA) without having to obtain a
separate TPA certificate.  Note that the TPA certificates
granted by the board prior to August 1, 2006, will remain in
effect while the optometrist’s license remains in effect unless
suspended or revoked by the board.  [Wis. Stats. s. 449.18 (2)
(e).]  Note also that the Secretary of the department retains the
authority to promulgate rules specifying the therapeutic
pharmaceutical agents that may or may not be used by
optometrists.  [See also Wis. Adm. Code ch. RL 10.]

Section 449.06 – Renewal; continuing education.  As a
result of the revisions to the statutes, all optometrists will be
required to complete 30 hours of continuing education.  Note
also that, as stated above, DPA and TPA certificates will not
expire; therefore; the certificates will not need to be renewed.

SECTION 31.  This section repeals ss. Opt 6.05 to 6.08,
which relate to the approval of continuing education courses

and the renewal of TPA certificates.  The provisions relating
to continuing education are being incorporated into ch. Opt 8.
Under 2005 Wisconsin Act 297, TPA certificates no longer
expire; therefore, optometrists are not required to renew them.

SECTIONS 32−34.  These sections amend ss. Opt 7.03 and
7.05 to clarify that all optometrists must now complete the
required continuing education course work in order to renew
their registrations.  Previously, only optometrists who held
TPA certificates were required to complete continuing
education course work.

SECTION 35.  Chapter Opt 8 is being created to
incorporate the continuing education requirements that
optometrists must complete in order to renew their
registrations.  As a result of the changes made to ch. 449,
Stats., by 2005 Wisconsin Act 297, all optometrists will now
be required to complete 30 hours of continuing education.
Previously, only optometrists who were certified to use
diagnostic pharmaceutical agents (DPA) and therapeutic
pharmaceutical agents (TPA) were required to complete
continuing education course work.

Section Opt 8.01 creates definitions for “biennium,”
“COPE” and “hardship.”

Section Opt 8.02 identifies the course work that
optometrists must complete and the procedure that they must
follow in order to renew their registrations.  The proposed
rules require optometrists to complete 30 hours of approved
continuing education in each biennial registration period.  A
minimum of 7 of the 30 hours must be approved glaucoma
education.  To obtain credit for completion of continuing
education hours, optometrists must, at the time of each
renewal of their registrations, sign a statement certifying that
the course work has been completed.  If audited, the
optometrists will be required to submit their certificates of
attendance issued by each course provider or other evidence
of attendance  satisfactory to the board.  An optometrist who
fails to meet the continuing education requirements by the
renewal date may not engage in the practice of optometry until
his or her registration is renewed under s. Opt 7.05.

Section Opt 8.03 creates the criteria for the approval of
continuing education courses, which was previously
contained in ch. Opt 6.  In general, to apply for approval of a
continuing education course, a course provider must submit
to the board office an application on forms provided by the
department that shall include the title, general description and
an outline of the course, the dates, the location, the name and
qualifications of the instructor of the course, and the sponsor
of the course.  The following criteria will be considered in the
approval process:

(1) The subject matter of the course pertains to the practice
of optometry.

(2) The provider of the continuing education courses
agrees to monitor the attendance and furnish a certificate of
attendance to each participant.  The certificate of attendance
shall certify successful completion of the course.

(3) The provider of the course is approved by the board.
(4) The course content and instructional methodologies are

approved by the board.
In addition, alternate delivery method continuing

education courses such as home−study courses, self−study
packages, computer courses, televideo conferencing and
other methods may be approved by the board.  Finally, a
continuing education course approved by the Council on
Optometric Practitioner Education (COPE), or sponsored by
a state optometric association, the American Optometric
Association, the American Academy of Optometry, or an
accredited school or college of optometry, which satisfies the
criteria established under s. Opt 8.03 (2), shall be approved by
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the board without receipt of a course approval application
from the course provider.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulation:

There is no existing or proposed federal regulation.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states:
Illinois:
Illinois’s administrative rules relating to the practice are

found in Title 68: Professions and Occupations, Chapter VII:
Department of Financial and Professional Regulation Part
1320, Optometric Practice Act of 1987.  These rules may be
found at:
http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode.068/0680
1320sections.html

Iowa:
Iowa’s administrative rules relating to the practice of

optometry are found in their chapters 179 to 183.  These rules
may be found at:
http://www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure/laws.asp?board=opt

Michigan:
Michigan’s administrative rules relating to the practice of

Optometry are found in their sections R. 338.211 to 338.279
(General Rules) and R 338.291 (Ethical and Unprofessional
Conduct). There rules may be found at:
http://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admincode.asp?AdminCode
=Single&Admin_Num=33800251&Dpt=CH&RngHigh=
and
http://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admincode.asp?AdminCode
=Single&Admin_Num=33800291&Dpt=CH&RngHigh=

Minnesota:
Minnesota’s administrative rules relating to the practice of

optometry are under their Chapter 6500 and maybe found at:
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/arule/6500/

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:
The Department of Regulation and Licensing is assisting

in drafting of the board’s rules as per recent amendments of
ch. 449, Stats.  The board’s professional and public members
provided their input and guidance into the rule drafting
process.

The department relied on information provided by the
Wisconsin Association of Optometrists (WOA) regarding
their membership and projected costs of continuing
education.  For licensee counts, the numbers were derived
from the credentialing database of the Department of
Regulation and Licensing in September of 2006.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine
effect on small business or in preparation of economic impact
report:

The proposed rules make a number of changes that may
affect the practice of optometry as it relates to small business.
The changes may be positive in terms of increasing flexibility
in licensure requirements (licensure mobility), providing
delegated authority and changing continuing education
requirements.

These rules will affect those who are currently practicing
under a Wisconsin license (913 active licensees in and out of
state); those who may wish to renew their license (1,258
inactive licensees in and out of state), and those looking to
begin practice in Wisconsin, transfer to another jurisdiction,
or apply to Wisconsin through licensure by endorsement.

The following changes may affect small business:
Redefinition of Supervision:  The existing rules provide for

immediate supervision of staff within a clinic by a licensed
optometrist.  The board finds that these rules are outdated and

not relevant to the modern practice of optometry.  The board
is proposing to introduce flexibility into the practice of
optometry by developing a rule which allows optometrists to
determine the level of oversight required for the supervision
of unlicensed persons.

Delegated Authority:  The amendments to ch. 449, Stats.,
allow an optometrist to train staff to provide certain services
in the clinic which were formerly restricted to licensed
professionals.  This amendment allows unlicensed persons to
practice certain services which are considered within the
scope of practice of optometry, under their supervising
optometrist’s license, but only after adequate training has
been provided.  Delegated authority may generate costs to
small business by requiring formal optometric training of
staff, however the decision to delegate these tasks is entirely
optional.

Endorsement:  The new rules provide that a licensee of
another jurisdiction with substantially equivalent licensure
requirements may transfer to Wisconsin.  This may increase
competition, however as reported by the board, many states
are moving to the licensure by endorsement model which
would also allow Wisconsin optometrists to transfer easier to
another jurisdiction.  This may have a neutral effect as it
relates only to licensure mobility.

Continuing Education:  Under the existing rules – now
outdated due to changes in statute – the only optometrists
required to take continuing education course work for
licensure renewal – were those certified by the board to use
therapeutic pharmaceutical agents (TPA).  Recent updates to
ch. 449, Stats., (practice of optometry) requires all
optometrists to take continuing education course work;
therefore the board is drafting rules to require 30 hours of
continuing education for renewal for all optometrists’
licensure.

As of September, 2006, there were a total of 2,171
Wisconsin licensed optometrists (in and out of state, active
and inactive licenses).  Of that number, there were 913 active
license holders (in and out of state) certified to use TPA and
therefore required to complete 30 hours of continuing
education in a biennium.

There are 328 active license holders who currently do not
hold the TPA certification, who will have to meet the new
renewal requirements of 30 hours of board approved
continuing education in the biennium.

As per an estimate of the Wisconsin Optometric
Association*, costs per hour of continuing education range
from:

 $30 per hour of continuing education; $15−$20 per hour
for continuing education packages – WOA membership only

 $90 per hour of continuing education; $50 per hour for
continuing education packages – Non−members

*The WOA reports that there is significant availability of
continuing education hours available at no charge at the local
level to optometrists which mitigates the biennial cost of
renewal for licensure.

The impact on biennial continuing education costs would
range from insignificant (free continuing education
available), to $450 to $2,700 (maximum cost per hour of
continuing education for non−WOA members).

Although the cost of continuing education is a factor in the
operational costs of a license holder, continuing education is
a standard requirement of many professional examining
boards and is seen as valuable educational experience which
not only increases and refreshes the practice knowledge of a
license holder, but also serves to protect the public.
Additionally, there is a wide availability of continuing
education for optometrists that could be less or more
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expensive than what the WOA provides, however there is a
wide range of choice available to optometrists for the market.

The Wisconsin Optometric Association provided an
estimate (of their members) that over 50% of optometrists are
operating as or working in a small business (25 people or less
or under 5 million in sales).

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.

Fiscal Estimate

The department estimates that this rule will require staff
time in the Divisions of Management Services and
Professional Credentialing.  The one−time salary and fringe
costs in the Divisions of Management Services and
Professional Counseling are estimated at $747.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector:
The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal

effect on the private sector.
Effect on small business:
These proposed rules will have no significant economic

impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.
The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or by
calling (608) 266−8608.

Agency Contact Person

Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and
Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708−8935.  Telephone: (608) 266−0495.  Email:
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for
submission:

Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack, Paralegal,
Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708−8935, or by email at
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Comments must be received
on or before December 7, 2006 to be included in the record of
rule−making proceedings.

Notice of Hearing
Optometry Examining Board

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority
vested in the Optometry Examining Board in ss. 15.08 (5) (b)
and 227.11 (2), Stats., and s. 449.06 (2m), Stats., as created by
2005 Wisconsin Act 297, and interpreting 449.06 (1) and
(2m), Stats., the Optometry Examining Board will hold a
public hearing at the time and place indicated below to
consider an order to create ch. Opt 8, relating to continuing
education relating to optometrists.

Hearing Date, Time and Location

Date: December 7, 2006
Time: 9:15 a.m.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue
(Enter at 55 North Dickinson Street)

Room 121C
Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing
Interested persons are invited to present information at the

hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Legal Counsel, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708.  Written comments must be received by December 7,
2006, to be included in the record of rule−making
proceedings.
Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing.

Statutes interpreted:  Section 449.06 (1) and (2m), Stats.
Statutes authorizing promulgation:  Sections 15.08 (5) (b)

and 227.11 (2), Stats., and s. 449.06 (2m), Stats., as created by
2005 Wisconsin Act 297.

Explanation of agency authority:  The Optometry
Examining Board is authorized under s. 449.06 (2m), Stats.,
as amended by 2005 Wisconsin Act 297, to promulgate rules
relating to continuing education requirements for
optometrists.

Related statute or rule:  Chapter RL 10, which identifies the
diagnostic and pharmaceutical agents that have been
approved by the Department of Regulation and Licensing for
use by optometrists.

Plain language analysis:  Chapter Opt 8 is being created to
incorporate the continuing education requirements that
optometrists must complete in order to renew their
registrations.  As a result of the changes made to ch. 449,
Stats., by 2005 Wisconsin Act 297, all optometrist will now
be required to complete 30 hours of continuing education.
Previously, only optometrists who were certified to use
diagnostic pharmaceutical agents (DPA) and therapeutic
pharmaceutical agents (TPA) were required to complete
continuing education course work.

Section Opt 8.01 creates definitions for “biennium,”
“COPE” and “hardship.”

Section Opt 8.02 identifies the course work that
optometrists must complete and the procedure that they must
follow in order to renew their registrations.  The proposed
rules require optometrists to complete 30 hours of approved
continuing education in each biennial registration period.  A
minimum of 7 of the 30 hours must be approved glaucoma
education.  To obtain credit for completion of continuing
education hours, optometrists must, at the time of each
renewal of their registrations, sign a statement certifying that
the course work has been completed.  If audited, the
optometrists will be required to submit their certificates of
attendance issued by each course provider or other evidence
of attendance satisfactory to the board.  An optometrist who
fails to meet the continuing education requirements by the
renewal date may not engage in the practice of optometry until
his or her registration is renewed under s. Opt 7.05.

Section Opt 8.03 creates the criteria for the approval of
continuing education courses, which was previously
contained in ch. Opt 6.  In general, to apply for approval of a
continuing education course, a course provider must submit
to the board office an application on forms provided by the
department that shall include the title, general description and
an outline of the course, the dates, the location, the name and
qualifications of the instructor of the course, and the sponsor
of the course.  The following criteria will be considered in the
approval process:

(1)  The subject matter of the course pertains to the practice
of optometry.

(2)  The provider of the continuing education course agrees
to monitor the attendance and furnish a certificate of



Page 25Mid−November 2006 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 611

attendance to each participant.  The certificate of attendance
shall certify successful completion of the course.

(3)  The provider of the course is approved by the board.

(4)  The course content and instructional methodologies are
approved by the board.

In addition, alternate delivery method continuing
education courses such as home−study courses, self−study
packages, computer courses, televideo conferencing and
other methods may be approved by the board.  Finally, a
continuing education course approved by the Council on
Optometric Practitioner Education (COPE), or sponsored by
a state optometric association, the American Optometric
Association, the American Academy of Optometry, or an
accredited school or college of optometry, which satisfies the
criteria established under s. Opt 8.03 (2), shall be approved by
the board without receipt of a course approval application
from the course provider.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulation:

There is no existing or proposed federal regulation.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states:

Illinois:

Illinois’s administrative rules relating to the practice are
found in Title 68: Professions and Occupations, Chapter VII:
Department of Financial and Professional Regulation Part
1320, Optometric Practice Act of 1987.  These rules may be
found at:
http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode.068/0680
1320sections.html

Iowa:

Iowa’s administrative rules relating to the practice of
optometry are found in their chapters 179 to 183.  These rules
may be found at:
http://www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure/laws.asp?board=opt

Michigan:
Michigan’s administrative rules relating to the practice of

Optometry are found in their sections R. 338.211 to 338.279
(General Rules) and R 338.291 (Ethical and Unprofessional
Conduct). There rules may be found at:
http://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admincode.asp?AdminCode
=Single&Admin_Num=33800251&Dpt=CH&RngHigh=
and
http://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admincode.asp?AdminCode
=Single&Admin_Num=33800291&Dpt=CH&RngHigh=

Minnesota:
Minnesota’s administrative rules relating to the practice of

optometry are under their Chapter 6500 and maybe found at:
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/arule/6500/

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:

The Department of Regulation and Licensing is assisting
in drafting of the board’s rules as per recent amendments of
ch. 449, Stats.  The board’s professional and public members
provided their input and guidance into the rule drafting
process.

The department relied on information provided by the
Wisconsin Association of Optometrists (WOA) regarding
their membership and projected costs of continuing
education.  For licensee counts, the numbers were derived
from the credentialing database of the Department of
Regulation and Licensing in September of 2006.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine
effect on small business or in preparation of economic impact
report:

Under the existing rules, which are now outdated due to
changes in statute, the only optometrists required to take
continuing education course work – 30 hours of board
approved continuing education in the biennium – were those
certified by the board to use therapeutic pharmaceutical
agents (TPA).  Recent updates to ch. 449, Stats., (practice of
optometry) requires all optometrists to take continuing
education course work, therefore the board is drafting rules to
require 30 hours of continuing education in the biennium for
renewal for all optometrists’ licensure.

As of September, 2006, there were a total of 2,171
Wisconsin licensed optometrists (in and out of state, active
and inactive licenses).  Of that number, there were 913 active
license holders (in and out of state) certified to use TPA and
therefore required to complete 30 hours of continuing
education in a biennium.

There are 328 active license holders who currently do not
hold the TPA certification, who will have to meet the new
renewal requirements of 30 hours of board approved
continuing education in the biennium.

As per an estimate of the Wisconsin Optometric
Association*, costs per hour of continuing education range
from:

$30 per hour of continuing education; $15−$20 per hour for
continuing education packages – WOA membership only

$90 per hour of continuing education; $50 per hour for
continuing education packages – Non−members

*The WOA reports that there is significant availability of
continuing education hours available at no charge at the local
level to optometrists which mitigates the biennial cost of
renewal for licensure.

The impact on biennial continuing education costs would
range from insignificant (free continuing education
available), to $450 to $2,700 (max cost per hour continuing
education for non−WOA members).

Although the cost of continuing education is a factor in the
operational costs of a license holder, continuing education is
a standard requirement of many professional examining
boards and is seen as valuable educational experience which
not only increases and refreshes the practice knowledge of a
license holder, but also serves to protect the public.
Additionally, there is a wide availability of continuing
education for optometrists that could be less or more
expensive than what the WOA provides, however there is a
wide range of choice available to optometrists for the market.

The Wisconsin Optometric Association provided an
estimate (of their members) that over 50% of optometrists are
operating as or working in a small business (25 people or less
or under 5 million in sales).

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector:
The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal

effect on the private sector.

Fiscal Estimate
The department estimates that this rule will have no

significant fiscal impact.
Effect on small business:
These proposed rules will have no significant economic

impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.
The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or by
calling (608) 266−8608.
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Agency Contact Person
Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and

Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708−8935.  Telephone: (608) 266−0495.  Email:
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.

Place where comments are to be submitted:
Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack, Paralegal,

Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708−8935, or by email at
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.
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Rule orders filed with the revisor of statutes bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Revisor of Statutes Bureau and are in the process of being
published.   The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.   It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.   Contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at gary.poulson@legis.state.wi.us or (608) 266−7275 for updated information on
the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Barbering and Cosmetology Examining Board
(CR 05−118)

An order affecting chs. BC 1 to 4 and 8, relating to
definitions, microdermabrasion, chemical exfoliation,
managers, ear piercing, waxing, nail enhancement,
licensing requirements and reinstatement of license.

Effective 12−1−06.

Commerce
(CR 05−113)

An order affecting chs. Comm 2, 20, 21, 60 and 61,
relating to erosion control, sediment control and storm
water management for the construction of buildings.

Effective 4−1−07.

Health and Family Services
(CR 06−075)

An order affecting chs. HFS 110 and 111, relating to
licensing emergency medical technicians.

Effective 1−1−07.

Emergency Management
(CR 06−088)

An order creating ch. WEM 7, relating to the application
process and criteria for determining eligibility for
payments to local units of government and costs incurred
for major catastrophes.

Effective 1−1−07.

Emergency Management
(CR 06−091)

An order creating ch. WEM 8, relating to the
establishment of standards for the adoption of the Mutual
Aid Box Alarm System.

Effective 1−1−07.

Natural Resources
(CR 06−065)

An order affecting ch. NR 45, relating to regulation of
firewood entering department lands and affecting small
businesses.

Effective 12−1−06.

Public Instruction
(CR 06−092)

An order affecting ch. PI 21, relating to driver’s
education requirements and aid.

Effective 1−1−07.

Public Instruction
(CR 06−093)

An order repealing ch. PI 15, relating to establishing
qualifications and selection procedures for CESA
administrators.

Effective 1−1−07.

Regulation and Licensing
(CR 06−069)

An order affecting chs. RL 90 to 94, relating to
application requirements, definitions, certification,
reciprocity, waiver of education requirements and
unprofessional conduct, governing the certification of
massage therapists and bodyworkers.

Effective 1−1−07.

Regulation and Licensing
(CR 06−096)

An order creating chs. RL 180 to 183 and Appendix I,
relating to the issuance and renewal of licenses, the
issuance of temporary permits, standards of practice and
grounds for discipline of licensed midwives.

Effective 1−1−07.

Revenue
(CR 06−063)

An order affecting ch. Tax 2, relating to the computation
of the apportionment fraction of multistate businesses.

Effective 12−1−06.

Revenue
(CR 06−087)

An order affecting ch. Tax 1, relating to the discretion that
the department will follow in the enforcement of rules
and guidelines as they apply to a small business.

Effective 12−1−06.

Workforce Development
(CR 06−044)

An order affecting chs. DWD 12, 16, 17, 55 and 56,
relating to Wisconsin Works, Emergency Assistance and
child care.

Effective 12−1−06.
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