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Emergency rules now in effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection

Rules adopted amending s. ATCP 10.47 (2) (c) and (3) (b)
3., relating to minimum acreage requirements for farm−raised
deer hunting preserves.

(1)  The Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and
consumer protection (“DATCP”) administers state laws
related to farm−raised deer.  DATCP currently licenses deer
farms and issues certificates for deer hunting preserves,
pursuant to s. 95.55, Stats., and ch. ATCP 10, Wis. Adm.
Code.

(2)  Current law generally prohibits deer hunting preserves
smaller than 80 acres.  However, 2005 Wis. Act 359 (enacted
effective May 3, 2006) provides a limited “grandfather”
exemption for certain white−tailed deer hunting preserves
previously licensed by the Department of Natural Resources
(“DNR”).   Under Act 359, a white−tailed deer hunting
preserve is exempt from the 80−acre minimum size
requirement if, among other things, the acreage of the hunting
preserve is “not less than the acreage subject to the deer farm
license on December 31, 2002.”    This rule clarifies that the
“acreage subject to the deer farm license on December 31,
2002” means the hunting acreage subject to the deer farm
license on December 31, 2002.  Without this interpretation,
Act 359 would have no practical effect and would be rendered
a nullity.

(3)  The “grandfather” exemption in Act 359 is limited to
hunting preserve operators who apply by November 1, 2006.
DATCP must act on applications within 90 business days.
Action may affect an operator’s ability to operate during the

2006 hunting season.  DATCP is adopting this rule as an
emergency rule, in order to facilitate timely action on
applications.  DATCP could not adopt this rule by normal
rulemaking procedures in time to implement Act 359.

Publication Date: October 9, 2006
Effective Date: October 9, 2006
Expiration Date: March 7, 2007
Hearing Date: November 13, 2006

Dentistry Examining Board

Rules were adopted amending ch. DE 11, relating to better
identifying the different levels of anesthesia, including
nitrous oxide, anxiolysis, conscious sedation−enteral,
conscious sedation−parenteral, deep sedation, and general
anesthesia, and the requirements for each level.

Finding of Emergency
The board finds that failure to delay the effective date of

CR04−095, from January 1, 2007, to July 1, 2007, will create
a danger to the public health, safety and welfare.  The extra six
months are needed to allow the implementation of the rule to
occur and to ensure the continued use of conscious sedation
for dental patients.

Publication Date: December 21, 2006
Effective Date: December 29, 2006
Expiration Date: May 28, 2007
Hearing Date: January 31, 2007 

[See Notice this Register]

Financial Institutions − Banking
Rules were adopted revising ch. DFI—Bkg 77, relating to

pawnbrokers.

Finding of Emergency
The effect of 2005 Wisconsin Act 158 is that pawnbrokers

licensed by the department under s. 138.09, Stats., are exempt
from s. 138.10, Stats., effective October 1, 2006.  Under
statutory procedures, however, a permanent rule regulating
these pawnbrokers is unlikely to be effective until mid−2007,
leaving the public without the safeguards of the permanent
rule until that time.  Thus the preservation of public safety and
welfare necessitates enacting the safeguards of the emergency
rule until a permanent rule is in effect.

Publication Date: September 25, 2006
Effective Date: October 1, 2006
Expiration Date: February 28, 2007
Hearing Date: December 13, 2006

Insurance (2)

1. Rules adopted creating ss. Ins 9.25 (8) and 9.27 (4), Wis.
Adm. Code, relating to preferred provider plan
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applicability dates and affecting small business plan
limited exemption.

Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that the attached rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare.
Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The rule identifies a limited group of policies issued by
licensed insurers offering preferred provider plans that do not
comply with newly promulgated ch. Ins 9, Wis. Adm. Code.
In compliance with the request of the Joint Committee for the
Review of Administrative Rules  (JCRAR), this rule must be
issued as an emergency rule and permanent rule.  It is not
possible to complete the permanent rule process prior to the
effective date of the chapter, January 1, 2007, therefore this
emergency rule is necessary.

The commissioner has filed a notice of scope for drafting
the permanent rule corresponding to this emergency rule and
will continue with the permanent rule making process.  It is
intended that one rule hearing can be held to comply with both
the emergency rule and permanent rule requirements.

Publication Date: August 31, 2006

Effective Date: September 1, 2006

Expiration Date: January 29, 2007
Hearing Date: December 12, 2006

2. Rules adopted revising s. Ins 6.77, relating to
underinsured and uninsured motorist coverage in
umbrella and commercial policies.

Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that the attached rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare.
Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

These changes will modify the rule in light of the recent
Supreme Court decisions, Rebernick v American Family
Mutual Ins Company, 2006 WI 27 and Rocker v USAA
Casualty Ins Company, 2006 WI 26. In Rebernick, the court
held that s. 632.32 (4m), Stats, applies to personal umbrella
policies. In Rocker, the court held that s. 632.32 (6) (a), Stats,
applies to commercial general liability policies and
commercial umbrella policies. These interpretations are
inconsistent with current insurer practices and OCI’s
expectation of what would be covered in these types of
policies.

Compliance with this interpretation would create
significant, if not impossible compliance problems for
insurers. Many insurers who write umbrella coverage do not
write and are not even licensed to write automobile coverage.
A second, difficult issue is that the limits for umbrella
coverages are generally very high, $1,000,000. It is unclear
how an umbrella policy would reconcile these limits with the
underlying auto policy and underinsured motorist coverage.
For this reason, OCI had previously by rule exempted
umbrella policies from the similar requirements of the
uninsured motorist coverages in s. 632.32, Stats. For similar
reasons, the same revision is being made for commercial
liability policies.

Publication Date: September 29, 2006

Effective Date: September 29, 2006

Expiration Date: February 26, 2007
Hearing Date: December 11, 2006

Natural Resources
(Environmental Protection − Hazardous

Waste, Chs. NR 600—)

Rules adopted revising chs. NR 660 to 665, relating to
hazardous waste management.

Exemption from Finding of emergency
The Department of Natural Resources finds that an

emergency exists and the foregoing rules are necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

In 2001, EPA proposed regulations to change the
hazardous waste manifest requirements under the federal
Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA) to
eliminate all state−specific manifest requirements and to
require electronic submittal of the manifests.  The EPA’s final
rule was published March 4, 2005, with correcting
amendments published on June 16, 2005, and the effective
date is September 5, 2006.  The new regulations require the
use of standardized manifest forms in all states and require
certification from EPA in order to print the manifest forms.
(Final action on the e−manifest was postponed.)  Unlike most
RCRA rules, this federal regulation will take effect,
nation−wide, on the effective date.  The new federal
requirements will apply in all states, including Wisconsin, but
will not override or supersede Wisconsin’s state−specific
hazardous waste manifest requirements.  Accordingly, the
potential exists for conflicting or additional state manifest
requirements to exist beginning on that date, and the
advantages of a single, uniform nationwide rule will be lost.

The normal administrative rulemaking process cannot be
completed in time to conform Wisconsin’s hazardous waste
manifest requirements to the new EPA manifest regulations
by their September 5, 2006 effective date.  However, failure
to adopt the new federal requirements as state rules by this
date may cause legal uncertainty and potential confusion
among hazardous waste generators, transporters and
treatment, storage and disposal facility operators, as well as
state regulatory program staff.  This could interfere with
interstate commerce and the orderly functioning of
government, imposing unnecessary regulatory costs on
Wisconsin individuals and businesses and out−of−state
companies doing business in Wisconsin, to the detriment of
the public welfare.  More importantly, the potential confusion
caused by different state and federal manifest requirements
could lead to improper transportation and management of
hazardous wastes, resulting in a threat to public health or
safety and the environment.

Publication Date: September 2, 2006
Effective Date: September 5, 2006
Expiration Date: February 2, 2007
Hearing Date: September 26, 2006

Optometry Examining Board
A rule Was adopted creating ch. Opt 8, relating to

continuing education.

Exemption from finding of emergency
2005 Wisconsin Act 297 section 58 states in part:
“(3) Continuing education rules.  (b) …Notwithstanding

section 227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and (3) of the statutes, the
optometry examining board is not required to provide
evidence that promulgating a rule under this paragraph as an
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emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of the public
peace, health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under this
paragraph.”
Plain language analysis

Chapter Opt 8 is being created to incorporate the
continuing education requirements that optometrists must
complete in order to renew their registrations.  As a result of
the changes made to ch. 449, Stats., by 2005 Wisconsin Act
297, all optometrist will now be required to complete 30 hours
of continuing education.  Previously, only optometrists who
were certified to use diagnostic pharmaceutical agents (DPA)
and therapeutic pharmaceutical agents (TPA) were required
to complete continuing education course work.

Publication Date: November 8, 2006
Effective Date: November 8, 2006
Expiration Date: April 7, 2007
Hearing Date: December 7, 2006

Regulation and Licensing

Rules adopted creating chs. RL 160 to 168, relating to
substance abuse professionals.

Exemption from finding of emergency
Section 9140 (1q) of 2005 Wisconsin Act 25 states in part:

“Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and (3) of the
statutes, the department is not required to provide evidence
that promulgating a rule under this subsection as an
emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of the public
peace, health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under this
subsection.”
Plain language analysis

2005 Wisconsin Act 25 created Subchapter VII of chapter
440, Stats., Substance Abuse Counselors, Clinical
Supervisors, and Prevention Specialists.  This Act transferred
the certification and regulation of Alcohol and other Drug
Abuse (AODA) counselors from the Department of Health
and Family Services to the Department of Regulation and
Licensing, effective 2006.  This proposed rule−making order
creates rules relating to definitions, requirements for
certification, supervised practice, scope of practice, education
approval and professional liability insurance for substance
abuse professionals.

Publication Date: November 27, 2006
Effective Date: December 1, 2006
Expiration Date: April 30, 2007

Transportation (2)

1. Rules adopted creating ch. Trans 515, relating to
contractual service procurement.

Exemption from finding of emergency
The Legislature, by Section 8 of 2005 Wis. Act 89,

provides an exemption from a finding of emergency for the
adoption of the rule.
Analysis Prepared by the Department of Transportation

The proposed rule requires a cost benefit analysis before
procuring engineering or other specialized services under s.

84.01 (13), Stats., in excess of $25,000 when those services
are normally performed by state employees. The required
analysis includes a comparison between the costs of
contracting out and performing the services with state
employees.  The analysis also considers other subjective
factors such as timeliness, quality and technical expertise.

Publication Date:July 1, 2006
Effective Date: July 1, 2006
Expiration Date: See section 8 (2) of 2005 Wis. Act 89
Hearing Date: August 8, 2006

2. Rules adopted revising ch. Trans 276, relating to allowing
the operation of certain 2−vehicle combinations on certain
highways without a permit.

Exemption from finding of emergency
The Legislature, by Section 7 of 2005 Wis. Act 363,

provides an exemption from a finding of emergency for the
adoption of the rule.

Plain language analysis
Section 348.07 (1), Stats., historically has limited vehicle

lengths on Wisconsin highways to 65 feet.  Section 348.07(2),
Stats., allowed vehicles meeting the specifications of that
subsection to operate without permits despite exceeding the
65−foot limit of subsection (1).

2005 Wis. Act 363 amended s. 348.07, Stats., and
essentially made 75 feet the default permitted length on the
state trunk highway system.  Wisconsin’s old default 65−foot
overall length limit still applies on all local roads but only
applies to state trunk highways that are designated as 65−foot
restricted routes by the Department.  This emergency rule
making establishes a preliminary list of such “65−foot
restricted routes.”

Prior to Act 363, s. 348.07 (4), Stats., permitted the
Department to designate “long truck routes” upon which no
overall length limits apply.  The Department designates the
state’s long truck routes in s. Trans 276.07.  This rule making
does not affect those longstanding designations.

The new “default” 75−foot overall length limit applies on
state highways that are neither designated as 65−foot
restricted routes under this rule making nor long truck routes
under s. Trans 276.07.

Definitions have been added to the rule to make it easier to
identify the nature of designations made by the Department in
Ch. Trans 276.

In drafting this rule the Department noticed several items
that it believes may be of special interest to the legislature and
which, in the Department’s view, deserve special legislative
attention.  First, Act 363 did not grant any authority for
75−foot vehicles using the new 75−foot routes to leave those
routes to reach fuel, food, maintenance, repair, rest, staging,
terminal or vehicle assembly facilities or points of loading or
unloading.  The Department does not believe this oversight
was intentional and, on an emergency basis, has designated
the intersection of each 75−foot route and any other highway
as a long truck route under its authority in s. 348.07 (4), Stats.
This will permit trucks to exceed the 65−foot default length
limit on local roads to access such facilities and make
deliveries.  The Department encourages the legislature to
consider statutorily establishing access rights for vehicles
using 75−foot restricted routes.

The second consequence of Act 363 the Department has
discovered in drafting this emergency rule is that one statute
that formerly restricted double−bottom tractor−trailer
combinations to the state’s long−truck network was repealed
by the deletion of the reference to s. 348.07 (2) (gm), Stats.,
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by the Act’s amendment of s. 348.07 (4), Stats.  Under the
amended statute, as revised by Act 363, it might appear to a
reader that double bottom trucks of unlimited length may
operate upon any highway in the state, including local roads
and streets, without permits.  Section 348.08 (1) (e), Stats.,
however, continues to provide that double−bottom trucks be
restricted to highways designated by the department under s.
348.07 (4).  WisDOT believes this provision continues to limit
double−bottom operation to long truck routes designated by
the Department under s. 348.07 (4), Stats.  WisDOT would
suggest the deleted reference to (2) (gm) in 348.07 (4), Stats.,
be re−inserted into the statute to avoid confusion.

Finally, the Department notes that s. 348.07, Stats., is
becoming difficult to decipher from a legal standpoint
because of the many amendments that have been made to it
over the years.  It may be that recodifying the statute for the
purpose of clarification of the length limitations of Wisconsin
law would be helpful to truck and long vehicle operators in
this state.

Publication Date: September 15, 2006
Effective Date: September 15, 2006
Expiration Date: See section 7 (2) of 2005 Wis.

  Act 363
Hearing Date: October 4, 2006

Workforce Development
Rules adopted amending s. DWD 290.155 (1), relating to

the adjustment of thresholds for application of prevailing
wage rates.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that the rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

Adjusting the thresholds for application of the prevailing
wage rate requirements by emergency rule ensures that the
adjustments are effective on a date certain that is prior to the
time of year that project requests are generally submitted to
the Department and applicability of the prevailing wage law
is determined. The adjustment avoids imposing an additional
administrative burden on local governments and state
agencies caused by an effective decrease of the thresholds due
solely to inflation in the construction industry. If these new
thresholds are not put into effect by emergency rule, the old
thresholds will remain effective for approximately six to
seven months, until the conclusion of the permanent
rule−making process. The thresholds are based on national
construction cost statistics and are unlikely to be changed by
the permanent rule−making process.

Publication Date: December 28, 2006
Effective Date: January 1, 2007
Expiration Date: May 31, 2007
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Scope statements

Revenue

Subject
Section Tax 1.12, relating to electronic funds transfer.

Policy Analysis
Objective of the rule.  The objective of the proposed rule is

to create a provision specifying that withholding payments by
an employer of the delinquent tax of an employee under s.
71.91 (7), Stats., are required to be made by electronic funds
transfer (EFT).

A new policy is being proposed, whereby the department
may require that certain payments be made by electronic
funds transfer (EFT), as authorized under s. 73.029, Stats.

If the rules are not changed, they will not reflect proposed
department policy.
Comparison with Federal Regulations

The department is not aware of any existing or proposed
federal regulation that is intended to address the activities to
be regulated by the rule.
Entities Affected by the Rule

Employers that withhold delinquent tax of employees
under s. 71.91 (7), Stats.
Statutory Authority

Section 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.
Staff Time Required

The department estimates it will take approximately
100 hours to develop this rule order

University of Wisconsin System

Subject
Clarification and restructuring of Board of Regents rules

relating to conduct on university lands and student
non−academic disciplinary procedures.

Objective of the rule.  The objective of the proposed
rule−making is to reorganize, update and clarify Board of
Regents rules governing traffic, parking, and conduct on land
under control of the Board of Regents, currently codified in
ch. UWS 18, Wis. Adm. Code; and to update and clarify the
scope of conduct subject to Board of Regents rules on student
non−academic misconduct, currently codified in ch. UWS 17,
Wis. Adm. Code, as well as applicable disciplinary sanctions
for such misconduct, and hearings and appeals regarding such
disciplinary sanctions.
Policy Analysis

Ch. UWS 17, Wis. Adm. Code:  Chs. UWS 14 and 17, Wis.
Adm. Code, establish standards of conduct for students of

UW System institutions, with ch. UWS 14 addressing
academic misconduct, and ch. UWS 17 addressing
non−academic misconduct.  Both chapters are updated
periodically.  As a result of a recent review of ch. UWS 17, the
Board is considering changes in the rules to address issues on
campuses and in the broader university community that have
arisen since the rules were last revised in May 1996.
Specifically, increased use of electronic communications on
campus has expanded the scope of behavior such as hacking,
identity theft, and email harassment that may constitute
non−academic misconduct, but which is not adequately
described in the current rule.  The availability of electronic
communications also may improve and streamline notice and
communication during the disciplinary process by allowing
certain notifications to occur electronically rather than by
personal delivery or first−class mail as currently provided.  In
addition, it is also desirable to clarify at this time certain terms
in the provisions relating to disciplinary sanctions for
non−academic misconduct, including situations in which the
misconduct occurs away from the campus, and to hearings
and appeals of disciplinary sanctions.

Ch. UWS 18, Wis. Adm. Code:  Ch. UWS 18 addresses
operation of motor vehicles, parking, and other conduct on
land under the control of the Board of Regents.  The Board
proposes several amendments to better organize the chapter,
and to clarify the scope of prohibitions related to particular
kinds of conduct on campus such as operating motor vehicles,
parking, dumping, bicycle riding, selling and soliciting goods
and services, smoking, using sound−amplifying equipment,
and using computers.  Prohibitions on certain types of conduct
will be grouped according to categories that will make the rule
easier to read and understand.
Comparison with Federal Regulations

Not applicable.
Entities Affected by the Rule

This rule will affect students and staff of University of
Wisconsin System institutions, as well as university guests,
visitors, and members of the public who enter a campus of the
University of Wisconsin System for the purpose of
conducting business, participating in university−sponsored
activities, or for other reasons.
Statutory Authority

Sections 36.09 (1), 36.11 (1) and (2), and 36.35, Wis. Stats.
Staff Time Required

The Board estimates that it will take approximately 30
hours of staff time to develop the proposed rule, and 20 hours
to finalize the rule following public hearing.
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Submittal of rules to legislative council clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Elections Board

On December 21, 2006, the State Elections Board
submitted proposed rules to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed rule creates s. ElBd 3.04, relating to
voting by provisional ballot for election−day registrants.
Section 303(a)(5)(A)(i) of the Help America Vote requires
the adoption of this rule. To comply with federal law, but
also to avoid disenfranchising those Wisconsin election
day registrants who have been issued a current and valid
Wisconsin driver’s license but do not provide that number
on their registration form, the Board proposes to adopt this
rule, providing for the issuance of a provisional ballot,
pursuant to s. 6.97, Stats., to those election−day registrants.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

The Elections Board is following the 30−day notice
procedure, under s. 227.16 (2) (e), Stats., for the promulgation
of these rules.  The agency person responsible for internally
processing this rule is George A. Dunst, legal counsel for the
State Elections Board.

Contact Person
George A. Dunst, Legal Counsel

Telephone:  (608) 266−0136.

Public Service Commission

On December 22, 2006, the Public Service Commission
submitted proposed rules to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rule creates ch. PSC 137, which

establishes procedures and criteria for energy efficiency
and renewable resource programs to be implemented under
s. 196.374, Stats., beginning July 1, 2007.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing will be held on January 26, 2007.  The Gas

and Energy Division of the Commission is the organizational
unit responsible for the promulgation of the rule.

Contact Person
Carol Stemrich, Project Coordinator
Telephone: (608) 266−8174

Workforce Development

On December 21, 2006, the Department of Workforce
Development submitted proposed rules to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The proposed rules affect ch. DWD 277, relating to
notice to home care consumers and workers and affects
small businesses.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing is required and will be held on January 25,

2007. The organizational unit responsible for the
promulgation of the proposed rules is the DWD Equal Rights
Division.

Contact Person
Elaine Pridgen
Telephone: (608) 267−9403
Email: elaine.pridgen@dwd.state.wi.us
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Rule−making notices

Notice of Hearings

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

[CR 06−136]

(Reprinted from 12/31/06 Register)

The state of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade
and Consumer Protection (DATCP) announces that it will
hold public hearings on a proposed amendment to chapter
ATCP 30, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to chloropicrin and
metam sodium soil fumigants.

DATCP will hold two public hearings at the times and
places shown below.  DATCP invites the public to attend the
hearings and comment on the proposed rule.  Following the
public hearings, the hearing record will remain open until
Friday, February 9, 2007 for additional written comments.
Comments may be sent to the Division of Agricultural
Resource Management at the address below, by email to
jeff.postle@datcp.state.wi.us or online at
https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home.

You may obtain a free copy of this rule by contacting the
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection, Division of Agricultural Resource Management,
2811 Agriculture Drive, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708.
You can also obtain a copy by calling (608) 224−4503 or
emailing jeff.postle@datcp.state.wi.us.  Copies will also be
available at the hearings.  To view the proposed rule online,
go to:

https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home

To provide comments or concerns relating to small
business, please contact DATCP’s small business regulatory
coordinator Keeley Moll at the address above, by emailing to
Keeley.Moll@datcp.state.wi.us or by telephone at (608)
224−5039.

Hearing impaired persons may request an interpreter for
these hearings.  Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by January 12, 2007, by writing to Jeff Postle,
Division of Agricultural Resource Management, P.O. Box
8911, Madison, WI 53708−8911, telephone (608) 224−4503.
Alternatively, you may contact the DATCP TDD at (608)
224−5058.  Handicap access is available at the hearings.

Hearing Dates and Locations

Tuesday, January 23, 2007
2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Wis. Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

2811 Agriculture Drive

Madison, WI  53718

Tuesday, January 30, 2007
3:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Elizabeth Inn

Highway 54 and 51

Stevens Point, WI  54481

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection

This rule regulates the use of soil fumigant pesticides
containing chloropicrin or metam sodium active ingredients.
This rule does all of the following:

Creates new rules to regulate the use of chloropicrin soil
fumigants.

Modifies current rules regulating the use of metam sodium
soil fumigants.  Among other things, this rule relaxes current
post−application monitoring requirements and current
setback requirements for “tarped” applications.
Statutory Authority

Statutory authority: ss. 93.07 (1), and 94.69 (1) (i), Stats.
Statutes interpreted: s. 94.69 (1) (i), Stats.
The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and

Consumer Protection (“DATCP”) has general authority to
adopt rules interpreting statutes under its jurisdiction (see s.
93.07 (1), Stats.).  DATCP is specifically authorized to adopt
rules under s. 94.69 (1) (i), Stats., to regulate the use of
pesticides.
Background

DATCP administers Wisconsin’s pesticide laws.
Chloropicrin and metam sodium are soil fumigant pesticides,
used mainly by potato growers to control nematodes.  Under
current DATCP rules, persons using metam sodium soil
fumigants must take certain steps to prevent human exposure
to volatilized fumigant (there are no equivalent rules for
chloropicrin applications).  Under current metam sodium
rules:

Applicators must be properly certified.
No agricultural application may be made within � mile of

a hospital, nursing home, jail or prison, or within � mile of a
school that will be in session during the application or within
48 hours after the application.

Agricultural application sites must be covered by a tarp or
other impermeable barrier, except when the soil fumigant is
injected into the soil or applied by specified chemigation
procedures.  Application by knife rig injection is prohibited
when soil temperatures are too high.

Applicators must pre−notify county public health
authorities, and neighbors within � mile, prior to any
“chemigation” application.  “Chemigation” applications must
comply with specific rule standards.

Applicators must monitor application sites after the
application, and must take appropriate steps to prevent
pesticide drift.  Applicators must notify Wisconsin
emergency management if it appears that pesticide drift may
contact residences or public buildings.

Applicators must keep specified records related to metam
sodium applications.
Rule Contents

This rule regulates chloropicrin applications in the same
way that current rules regulate metam sodium applications
(see above).  This rule also modifies current metam sodium
regulations as follows (the same regulations will apply to
chloropicrin):

For “tarped” agricultural applications, this rule reduces the
required minimum setback from schools, hospitals, nursing



Page 10 Mid−January 2007WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 613

homes, jails and prisons from 1/4 mile to 1/8 mile.   For
“untarped” agricultural applications, the required minimum
setback remains at 1/4 mile.

The setback requirements applicable to schools are also
made applicable to licensed daycare facilities.  An exception
is provided for an application to a plant nursery that was in
existence prior to the first date the daycare facility was
licensed if the nursery operator provides at least 24 hours prior
notice of the application to the daycare facility operator.

This rule relaxes current follow−up monitoring
requirements.  Under current rules, a certified applicator must
inspect the application site 4−6 hours after the application is
completed and again 9−12 hours after the application is
completed.  Under this rule, a certified applicator must only
conduct one follow−up inspection, within one hour of sunset
on the day of application.

This rule updates current emergency government
references, and makes other minor editorial changes.

Federal Regulations
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

regulates pesticides under the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide
and Rodenticide Act.  Pesticides must be registered with EPA.
EPA registers pesticides and pesticide labels for specific uses.
The pesticide manufacturer must provide safety,
environmental and other data to support the registration.
Pesticide labeling must conform to the EPA registration.
Federal and state law prohibit sale or use inconsistent with
label directions.  Wisconsin and other states work with EPA
to assure proper use and handling of pesticides.

States may regulate pesticide applications within their own
territory.  States may act on their own authority (independent
of EPA), and may establish use restrictions that go beyond
federal label restrictions.  Wisconsin currently has restrictions
on the use of metam sodium pesticides that go beyond federal
label restrictions.

Surrounding State Regulations
Other states, like Wisconsin, regulate pesticide

applications generally.  However, none of the states
surrounding Wisconsin has adopted specific requirements for
metam sodium or chloropicrin applications, beyond
requirements specified on the federally−approved pesticide
labels.

Business Impact

Businesses Affected
This rule regulates commercial pesticide applicators and

agricultural producers that apply or receive applications of
metam sodium and chloropicrin soil fumigants.  Many of the
regulated businesses are small businesses, but others are
large.  Most of the regulated farmers are potato growers.

This rule protects neighboring farms and businesses from
adverse effects of improper soil fumigant applications.  Many
of the protected businesses are small businesses.

Effects on Business
This rule imposes new regulations on the use of

chloropicrin soil fumigants (see above).  Approximately
71,000 acres of potatoes were planted in Wisconsin in 2004.
Chloropicrin is currently applied on approximately 2,000
acres of potatoes and 25 acres of state−owned seedling
nurseries in Wisconsin.  Chloropicrin applications are made
by commercial pesticide applicators that have the equipment
and expertise to handle and apply chloropicrin.
Chloropicrin−treated acreage is expected to increase due to
pest problems and the efficacy of chloropicrin products.

DATCP estimates that this rule will cost $8,000 to $12,000
per year for the industry as a whole, mainly for increased costs
of applying chloropicrin to approximately 2,000 acres of
potatoes.   Increased pesticide applicator costs will generally
be passed on to farmers.  Most of the farms that use
chloropicrin are small businesses, but the single largest user
(accounting for approximately 25% of the treated acreage) is
not a small business.

This rule relaxes some current requirements related to
metam sodium applications (post−application inspection
requirements and setbacks for “tarped” applications).
Farmers and pesticide application businesses that apply
metam sodium soil fumigants may experience a small
decrease in costs as a result of these changes.

By establishing clear application standards and
procedures, this rule protects neighboring farms, businesses
and individuals from improper applications.  It also helps
protect complying pesticide users from liability for offsite
movement.

This rule applies to large and small businesses alike.  An
exemption for small business would undermine the
effectiveness of the rule in preventing human exposure to
metam sodium and chloropicrin.  This rule will not have a
significant adverse economic impact on small business.
Therefore, it is not subject to the delayed small business
effective date provision in s. 227.22 (2) (e), Stats.

Fiscal Impact
This rule will not have a significant fiscal impact on

Wisconsin state or local government.  DATCP will incur some
costs for compliance monitoring.  However, DATCP expects
to absorb those costs.   The fiscal estimate is based on the
current use of chloropicrin in Wisconsin.

Environmental Impact
This rule regulates chloropicrin soil fumigant applications

to prevent potentially hazardous off−site movement of
volatilized chloropicrin.  This will help prevent harm to
human beings and sensitive animal species.

This rule will relax some current regulations related to
applications of metam sodium soil fumigant
(post−application inspection requirements and setbacks for
“tarped” applications).  However, this relaxation will not
significantly reduce current safety protection, and will not
have a significant adverse environmental impact.

Notice of Hearing
Dentistry Examining Board

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority
vested in the Dentistry Examining Board in ss. 15.08 (5) (b),
227.11 (2) and 447.02 (2) (b), Stats., and interpreting
s. 447.02 (2) (b), Stats., the Dentistry Examining Board will
hold a public hearing at the time and place indicated below on
emergency rules to amend the effective date of CR 04−095,
relating to the requirements for administering the office
facilities and equipment for safe and effective administration
and the applicable standards of care, and to provide for
reporting of adverse occurrences related to anesthesia
administration.

Hearing Date, Time and Location
Date: January 31, 2007
Time: 9:00 a.m.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue

Room 121C
Madison, Wisconsin
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Appearances at the Hearing
Interested persons are invited to present information at the

hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Administrative Rules, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708.  Written comments must be received by
January 31, 2007, to be included in the record of rule−making
proceedings.  Analysis prepared by the Department of
Regulation and Licensing.

Analysis
Statute interpreted:  Section 447.02 (2) (b), Stats.
Statutory authority:  Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and

447.02 (2) (b), Stats.
Explanation of agency authority:  The Dentistry

Examining Board has the authority under s. 447.02, Stats., to
establish the standards, conditions, and any educational
requirements that must be met by a dentist in order to induce
anesthesia in connection with the practice of dentistry.
Presently, those standards are set forth in Ch. DE 11.  The
adopted rules better identify the different levels of anesthesia,
including nitrous oxide, anxiolysis, conscious
sedation−enteral, conscious sedation−parenteral, deep
sedation, and general anesthesia, and the requirements for
each level.  The rule is intended to ensure that practitioners are
adequately trained before they induce anesthesia and that the
public is sufficiently protected.

Related statute or rule:  There are no related statutes or rules
other than those listed above.

Plain language analysis:  The purpose of this rule is to delay
the effective date of CR04−095, from January 1, 2007, to July
1, 2007.  That rule establishes and modifies the training,
certification and staffing requirements for administering
sedation and anesthesia at all levels performed in the course
of dental practice.  A system of permits issued by the
Department of Regulation and Licensing, which designates
by class the various levels of sedation and anesthesia practice,
was established.  Office facility and equipment prerequisites
for safe and effective administration are delineated, the
applicable standards of care are specified, and the procedure
necessary for reporting adverse occurrences related to
anesthesia administration is described.

These requirements emerged from recent efforts by state
licensing boards to regulate “oral conscious sedation.”  Oral
conscious sedation drugs are being marketed to dentists for
the purpose of managing patient anxiety surrounding dental
work in patients that remain conscious throughout the
procedure.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulation:

No proposed or existing federal regulation intended to
address oral conscious sedation currently exists.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states:
Illinois
The Illinois Dental Practice Act contains specific

provisions governing anesthesia.  Permits are required for the
administration of conscious sedation.  Dentists are required to
have specialized training and office facilities must contain
certain equipment  Adverse occurrences are also required to
be reported.  Permits must be renewed biennially.  Additional
information is available at the Illinois website:
http://www.ildpr.com/WHO/ARpropsd/WEBdentrules.pdf

Indiana

The Indiana State Board of Dentistry requires dentists to
obtain a permit prior to administering general anesthesia,
deep sedation, or light parenteral conscious sedation.
Education and training are required to obtain such permits.
Permits must be renewed biennially.  Five hours of continuing
education are required for permit renewal.  Certain
emergency equipment is also required.  Additional
information is available at Indiana’s website:
http://www.ai.org/legislative/iac/T08280/A00030.PDF

Iowa
The Iowa Board of Dental Examiners requires a permit for

the administration of deep sedation, general anesthesia, and
conscious sedation.  Dentists are required to have specialized
training and office facilities must contain certain equipment.
Adverse occurrences are also required to be reported  Six
hours of continuing education are required for permit
renewals.  Additional information is available at Iowa’s
website:
http://www.legis.state.ia.us/Rules/Current/iac/650iac/65029
/65029.pdf

Michigan
The Michigan Board of Dentistry has rules governing

general anesthesia and intravenous conscious sedation.  The
Michigan Board is currently contemplating a rules’ revision
to include specific rules for conscious sedation.  Additional
information is available at Michigan’s website:
http://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admincode.asp?AdminCode
=Single&Admin_Num=33811101&Dpt=CH&RngHigh

Minnesota
The Minnesota Board of Dentistry has rules governing

general anesthesia and conscious sedation.  Education and
training are required for both.  However, no special permit is
issued.  Additional information is available at Minnesota’s
website:
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/arule/3100/3600.html

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:
The Dentistry Examining Board gathered information

from various entities involved in promoting oral conscious
sedation and others experienced in regulating the practice.
Dr. Joseph Best, Clinical Assistant Professor at Marquette
University School of Dentistry, presented information to the
board in March, 2003.  Dr. Jason Goodchild, representing The
Dental Organization for Conscious Sedation, delivered a
presentation to the board in May, 2003.  Initially, the board
decided its focus in regulating oral conscious sedation should
be on how it is advertised, how it is titrated so that overdosing
is prevented, and how many hours of adequate training and
what level of clinical experience should be required to
administer it.  The subject was further discussed at the
American Association of Dental Examiners’ 2003 annual
meeting in San Francisco.  The board held open session
discussions as the rules process advanced, and legal counsel
reviewed the rules of other states.  Eventually the focus of the
board broadened, resulting in revision of the board’s
anesthesia rule with sedation levels identified and a system of
permits required for various levels of anesthesia.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector:
The Department of Regulation and Licensing has

determined that this rule has no significant fiscal effect on the
private sector.

Fiscal Estimate
See attached.
Effect on small business:
These proposed rules will have no significant economic

impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a),
Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator
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may be contacted by email at larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or
by calling (608) 266−8608.

Agency contact person
Pamela Haack, Department of Regulation and Licensing,

Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington Avenue,
Room 171, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708−8935.
Telephone: (608) 266−0495.  Email:
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for
submission:

Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack, Paralegal,
Department of Regulation and Licensing, Office of Legal
Counsel, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box
8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708−8935.  Email
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Comments must be received
on or before January 31, 2007, to be included in the record of
rule−making proceedings.

TEXT OF RULE
SECTION 1.  Rules adopted by the Dentistry Examining

Board under CR04−095 shall be effective July 1, 2007.
This emergency rule shall take effect on December 29,

2006.

Notice of Proposed Rule
Elections Board

[CR 06−137]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 5.05 (1)

(f), 5.93, and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., and interpreting ss. 5.02
(6m), (14), (17), 6.27, 6.29, 6.33, 6.34, 6.36, 6.40, 6.48, 6.50,
6.54, 6.55, and 6.56, Stats., and according to the procedure set
forth in s. 227.16 (2) (e), Stats., the State of Wisconsin
Elections Board will adopt the following rule as proposed in
this notice without public hearing unless within 30 days after
publication of this notice, on January 15, 2007, the Elections
Board is petitioned for a public hearing by 25 persons who
will be affected by the rule; by a municipality which will be
affected by the rule; or by an association which is
representative of a farm, labor, business, or professional
group which will be affected by the rule.

Analysis Prepared by State Elections Board
1. Statutory authority: ss. 5.05 (1) (f) and 227.11 (2) (a):
2. Statutes interpreted: ss.5.02 (6m), (14), (17), 6.27, 6.29,

6.33, 6.34, 6.36, 6.40, 6.48, 6.50, 6.54, 6.55, and 6.56, Stats.
3. Explanation of agency authority:  In 2002, Congress

enacted the Help America Vote Act to address problems and
issues that surfaced in the 2000 presidential election.  Section
303(a)(5)(A)(i) of the Act provided that “an application for
voter registration for an election for Federal office may not be
accepted or processed by a state unless the application
includes ? in the case of an applicant who has been issued a
current and valid driver’s license, the applicant’s driver’s
license number.”  To comply with federal law, but also to
avoid disenfranchising those Wisconsin election day
registrants who have been issued a current and valid
Wisconsin driver’s license but do not provide that number on
their registration form, the Board has adopted ElBd s.3.04,
providing for the issuance of a provisional ballot to those
registrants, pursuant to s. 6.97, Stats.  Under that statute, the
provisional ballot will be counted if the registrant casting a
provisional ballot provides his or her driver’s license number
to the clerk of the municipality in which the registrant has
voted, not later than 4:00 p.m., on the day following the
election.

Previously, the Board’s policy had been to process the
election day registration of those registrants who failed to list
their driver’s license number on their registration application,
if they had provided, on their registration form, a
Wisconsin−issued Identification Card Number or the last four
digits of their Social Security Number. Whether that policy
complied with federal law had been in issue. To assure that
Wisconsin’s practice complies with federal law, the Elections
Board proposes to promulgate the following rule providing
for the issuance of a provisional ballot to those Wisconsin
election day registrants who have been issued a current and
valid Wisconsin driver’s license but do not provide that
license number on their registration form.  This rule is
consistent with both federal and state law and has been
approved by the U. S. Department of Justice.

4. Related statute(s) or rule(s): Subchapter II of chapter 6,
Stats. and ElBd chapter 3, Wis. Adm. Code, Voter
Registration.

5. Plain language analysis: The proposed rule provides the
method by which persons who are not registered and who do
not provide their driver’s license number, for whatever
reason, may register and vote on election day.

6. Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulations: The rule is consistent with Section
303(a)(5)(A)(i) of the Help America Vote Act, which
provides that “an application for voter registration for an
election for Federal office may not be accepted or processed
by a state unless the application includes ? in the case of an
applicant who has been issued a current and valid driver’s
license, the applicant’s driver’s license number.”

7. Comparison with rules in adjacent states: The rule is
consistent with the  requirements in Illinois, Iowa, Michigan
and Minnesota, similar to those in federal law, that “an
application for voter registration for an election for Federal
office may not be accepted or processed by a state unless the
application includes ? in the case of an applicant who has been
issued a current and valid driver’s license, the applicant’s
driver’s license number.”

8. Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:
Adoption of the rule was predicated on federal and state
mandate rather than on any factual data or analytical
methodology.

9. Analysis and supporting documents used to determine
effect on small business or in preparation of economic impact
report: The rule will have no effect on small business nor any
economic impact.

10. Effect on small business: The creation of this rule does
not affect business.

11. Agency contact person (including e−mail and
telephone):  George A. Dunst, Legal Counsel, State Elections
Board, 17 West Main Street, P.O. Box 2973, Madison,
Wisconsin 53701−2973; Phone 266−0136;
(george.dunst@seb.state.wi.us)

12. Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline
for submission: State Elections Board, 17 West Main Street,
P.O. Box 2973, Madison, WI 53701−2973;
(elections.state.wi.us)

Pursuant to the authority vested in the State of Wisconsin
Elections Board by ss. 5.05 (1) (f) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.,
the Elections Board hereby creates Rule ElBd 3.04
interpreting ss. 5.02 (6m), (14), (17), 6.27, 6.29, 6.33, 6.34,
6.36, 6.40, 6.48, 6.50, 6.54, 6.55, and 6.56, Stats., as follows:

SECTION 1.  ElBd  3.04 is created to read:
ELBD 3.04  Requiring provision of certain information by

election−day voter registration applicants.  (1)  A qualified
elector registering to vote at a polling place on election day,
who has been issued a current and valid Wisconsin driver’s
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license, shall list his or her Wisconsin driver’s license number
on the voter registration application before the registration
may be accepted or processed and before the person is allowed
to vote at any election in Wisconsin.  A Wisconsin driver’s
license that has expired, or has been suspended or revoked, is
not a current and valid driver’s license.

(2) If a current and valid Wisconsin driver’s license has
been issued to the registration applicant, but the registration
applicant does not list the driver’s license number on the
registration application, the applicant will be allowed to vote
a provisional ballot under s. 6.97, Stats.  Individuals voting
provisional ballots shall be given the written information
required under s. 6.97 (1), Stats.  If the person voting a
provisional ballot provides his or her driver’s license number
to the municipal clerk, by any means feasible, including but
not limited to in person, email, facsimile or telephone, not
later than 4:00 p.m., on the day following the day of the
election, the person’s ballot will be counted.

(3) If a current and valid Wisconsin driver’s license has not
been issued to the applicant, the applicant shall list on the
registration application either the last four digits of the
applicant’s Social Security Number, or the Wisconsin
Department of Transportation identification card number if
one has been issued to the applicant.  If neither a driver’s
license nor a Social Security Number has been issued to the
applicant, the applicant shall check the appropriate box on the
application before the application may be accepted or
processed and the registrant is allowed to vote.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The creation of this rule does not affect business.

Fiscal Estimate
The creation of this rule has no fiscal effect.

Contact Person

George A. Dunst
Legal Counsel, State Elections Board
17 West Main Street, P.O. Box 2973
Madison, Wisconsin 53701−2973; Phone 266−0136

Notice of Hearing
Public Service Commission

[CR 06−139]
Hearing Date: Friday, January 26, 2007 − 1:30 p.m.
Hearing Location:  Public Service Commission, 610 North

Whitney Way, Madison, WI (Amnicon Falls Hearing Room
− 1st Floor)

This docket uses the Electronic Regulatory Filing system
(ERF)

Comments Due:  Friday, January 26, 2007 − 4:00 p.m.
FAX Due: Thursday, January 25, 2007 − 4:00 p.m.
Address Comments to: 
Sandra J. Paske, Secretary to the Commission
Public Service Commission
P.O. Box 7854
Madison, WI  53707−7854
FAX (608) 266−3957
The Public Service Commission of Wisconsin proposes an

order to create ch. PSC 137 relating to energy efficiency and
renewable resource programs.

Analysis Prepared by the Public Service Commission of
Wisconsin

Statutory authority:  ss. 196.02 (1) and (3), 196.374 (3) (f),
and 227.11, Stats.

Statute interpreted:  s. 196.374, Stats.
2005 Wisconsin Act 141 substantially revised Wisconsin

law regarding the energy efficiency programs and renewable
resource programs that public utilities offer to their customers
and retail electric cooperatives offer to their members.  This
act, whose general effective date is July 1, 2007, replaces the
programs that the Department of Administration had
previously been administering, which were commonly
known as the “Focus on Energy.”  The Department contracted
with third parties to implement these programs and the
customers of electric and gas utilities paid for the programs
either through public benefits fees or mandatory utility
contributions.

Act 141 provides that the investor−owned electric and gas
utilities must collectively establish and fund statewide energy
efficiency and renewable resource programs.  The energy
utilities must contract with one or more program
administrators to develop and run the programs, soliciting for
program administrators on a competitive basis.  The proposed
rules specify the application requirements and procedures for
conducting such a solicitation.  The rules prescribe the
procedures the energy utilities must use for contracting with
program administrators, identifying the criteria for evaluating
responses to their solicitation and discussing methods by
which the energy utilities may appeal decisions of the
Commission concerning their selection criteria and their
contracts with program administrators.

The proposed rules also set forth minimum requirements
for the portfolio of statewide programs.  These programs
must:  serve all customers (except those served by a
utility−administered program or by a large energy customer’s
self−directed program); deliver environmental benefits;
allocate at least 10 percent of the available funds for energy
efficiency programs that serve local government and
agricultural producers; establish performance goals, collect
appropriate data for tracking performance, and report on
performance results; include strategies to overcome market
barriers and support the effective delivery of statewide
programs; fund research and development projects; ensure
equal opportunities for eligible customers to participate; and
deliver programs that pass a portfolio test of net
cost−effectiveness.  The energy utilities must notify the
Commission of their intent to sign a collective contract for
statewide programs.  The proposed rules explain the
minimum requirements of such a contract and provide a
method by which the energy utilities can dispute Commission
decisions to modify or reject a proposed contract.

Under Act 141, municipal electric utilities and retail
electric cooperatives must charge monthly fees to continue
their “Commitment to Community” programs.  Act 141 also
permits these energy providers to contribute the fees to
statewide programs and substitute the statewide programs for
the Commitment to Community programs.  A municipal
utility or retail electric cooperative that does so makes a
3−year commitment to the statewide programs.  The proposed
rules explain the procedures for delivering these fees to a
fiscal agent and tracking the contributions of municipal
utilities and retail electric cooperatives.

Act 141 allows an energy utility, with the Commission’s
approval, to administer energy efficiency programs that it
provides to large commercial, industrial, institution, or
agricultural customers.  Act 141 provides that the funding
available for such a “utility−administered” program will
come from moneys that would otherwise be available for
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statewide programs.  The proposed rules state that funding for
a utility−administered program must equal the revenues
collected from the energy utility’s customers who are eligible
for the program, less any funds set aside for statewide
renewable resource programs.  Act 141 further provides that
an energy utility can voluntarily choose to administer or fund
additional energy efficiency or renewable resource programs,
above and beyond its legal requirements.  The law requires
that these programs also require the Commission’s approval.
The proposed rules set forth minimum criteria for the
utility−administered programs and for voluntary utility
programs, and explains how an energy utility can contest
Commission decisions to modify or deny an energy utility’s
request to initiate either of these programs.

Act 141 prescribes a method by which a “large energy
customer” can conduct its own energy efficiency program,
which is funded out of moneys the customer would otherwise
pay to finance the statewide programs.  By law, a large energy
customer is defined as a customer whose facility consumes at
least 1,000 kilowatts of electricity per month or at least 10,000
decatherms of natural gas per month and who is billed at least
$60,000 in a month for electric and gas services.  Under the
proposed rules the Commission will determine the annual
funding level for each large energy customer.  The law
requires the Commission’s prior approval of a large energy
customer program; the proposed rules establish the minimum
requirements for these programs and the method by which a
large energy customer can dispute Commission decisions to
modify or deny a request to implement such a program.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The rule will have no effect on small businesses.
TEXT OF PROPOSED RULE
The text of the proposed rule is set forth at psc.wi.gov.  Use

the docket number 1−AC−220 to find the proposed rule order
attached to notice of hearing.

Fiscal Estimate

the proposed rules will replace the existing statewide
Energy Efficiency and Renewables Program at DOA and
move the monitoring of the new Program to the PSC.  It is
expected there will be the same number of state staff, at about
the same costs, working on the programs as there are now at
DOA.  Therefore, the result of the creation of these rules do
not increase or decrease state expenditures.  WI Act 141
provides for certain expenditures by local governments,
however, the rules merely implement these requiremenets and
in and of themselves do not increase or decrease local costs.

There is also no financial impact on the private sector.

Notice of Hearing

NOTICE IS GIVEN that pursuant to s. 227.16 (2) (b),
Stats., the Commission will hold a public hearing on these
proposed rule changes on Friday, January 26, 2007, at 1:30
p.m. in the Amnicon Falls Hearing Room at the Public Service
Commission Building, 610 North Whitney Way, Madison,
Wisconsin, and continuing at times to be set by the presiding
Administrative Law Judge.  This building is accessible to
people in wheelchairs through the Whitney Way first floor
(lobby) entrance.  Parking for people with disabilities is
available on the south side of the building.  Any person with
a disability who needs additional accommodations should
contact the docket coordinator listed below.

Written Comments

Any person may submit written comments on these
proposed rules.  The hearing record will remain open for
written comments from the public until January 26, 2007.  All

written comments must include a reference on the filing to
docket 1−AC−220.  File by one mode only.

Industry:  File comments using the Electronic Regulatory
Filing system.  This can be accessed from the Commission’s
website psc.wi.gov.

Members of the Public:
If filing electronically:  Use the Public Comments system

or the Electronic Regulatory Filing system.  Both of these can
be accessed from the Commission’s website psc.wi.gov.

If filing by mail, courier, or hand delivery:  Address your
comments as shown in the box on page 1.

If filing by fax:  Send fax comments to (608) 266−3957.
Fax filing cover sheet must state “Official Filing”, the docket
number 1−AC−220, and the number of pages (limited to 25
pages for fax comments).

Contact Peron
Questions regarding this matter may be directed to docket

coordinator Carol A. Stemrich at (608) 266−8174.  Media
questions should be directed to Linda Barth, Director of
Governmental and Public Affairs at (608) 266−9600.  Hearing
or speech−impaired individuals may also use the
Commission’s TTY number, if calling from Wisconsin (800)
251−8345, if calling from outside Wisconsin (608) 267−1479.

The Commission does not discriminate on the basis of
disability in the provision of programs, services, or
employment.  Any person with a disability who needs
accommodations to participate in this proceeding or who
needs to get this document in a different format should contact
Carol Stemrich, as indicated in the previous paragraph, as
soon as possible.

Notice of Hearing
Workforce Development

(Labor Standards)

[CR 06−138]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to Section

105.115 (5), Stats., as created by 2005 Wisconsin Act 197, and
s. 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., the Department of Workforce
Development proposes to hold a public hearing to consider
rules relating to notice to home care consumers and workers
and affecting small businesses.

Hearing Information
Thursday, January 25, 2007 at 1:30 p.m.
G.E.F. 1 Building, B103
201 E. Washington Avenue
Madison
Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and

will be afforded the opportunity to make an oral presentation
of their positions. Persons making oral presentations are
requested to submit their facts, views, and suggested
rewording in writing.

Visitors to the GEF 1 building are requested to enter
through the left East Washington Avenue door and register
with the customer service desk. The entrance is accessible via
a ramp from the corner of Webster Street and East Washington
Avenue. If you have special needs or circumstances regarding
communication or accessibility at the hearing, please call
(608) 267−9403 at least 10 days prior to the hearing date.
Accommodations such as ASL interpreters, English
translators, or materials in audiotape format will be made
available on request to the fullest extent possible.
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Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce
Development

Statutory authority: Sections 105.115 (5), Stats., as created
by 2005 Wisconsin Act 197, and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.

Statutes interpreted: Section 105.115, Stats., as created by
2005 Wisconsin Act 197

Explanation of agency authority. Section 105.115, as
created by 2005 Wisconsin Act 197, requires a home care
placement agency that places a home care worker in the
residence of a home care consumer to provide the following
notices:

•  Notice to the home care consumer of the consumer’s
duties, responsibilities, and liabilities with respect to the home
care worker, unless the worker is temporarily substituting for
the consumer’s regular home care worker.

•  Notice to the home care worker stating the worker’s
employment status, specifically, whether the worker is an
employee of the home care placement agency, an employee of
the home care consumer, or an independent contractor.

Section 105.115, Stats., specifies additional information
that must be included in each of the notices and requires that
the notices be on forms prescribed by the Department.
Among other things, the notice to the home care consumer
must contain a statement acknowledging that the home care
consumer has received and understands the notice and a line
for the home care consumer’s signature located immediately
below that statement.  The home care placement agency must
give the home care consumer one copy of the notice signed by
the home care consumer and retain one copy in its files.
Among other things, the notice to the home care worker must
contain a statement acknowledging that the home care worker
has received and understands the notice and a line for the
home care worker’s signature located immediately below that
statement.  The home care placement agency must also give
the home care worker one copy of the notice signed by the
home care worker and retain one copy in its files.

Section 105.115 (4), Stats., allows a home care consumer
or worker who is not provided with a required notice to either
file a complaint with the Department or commence an action
in circuit court to recover specified incurred liabilities and
damages from the home care placement agency.  The
complaint must be filed with the Department or the action
commenced in circuit court no later than 3 years after the date
on which the home care placement agency was required to
provide the notice.

If the consumer or worker files a complaint with the
Department and the home care placement agency does not pay
the amount determined by the Department within 30 days
after demand by the Department, the Department may
commence an action in circuit court to recover that amount,
and the circuit court may order the home care placement
agency to pay to the consumer or worker that amount, plus an
additional amount equal to 50% of that amount, together with
costs and reasonable attorney fees.

Summary of the proposed rules.  The proposed rules
provide that the home care placement agency must have in its
files a copy of the required notice to the home care consumer
signed by the consumer and the required notice to the home
care worker signed by the worker before the agency refers a
home care worker to a home care consumer. “Refer” is
defined as to bring to the attention of a potential home care
consumer the qualifications of a potential home care worker.

Section 105.115 (2) (intro.), Stats., provides that the
agency is not required to provide the notice to the home care
consumer when placing a home care worker who is
temporarily substituting for the regular home care worker of
a home care consumer. The proposed rules define

“temporarily substituting” as no more than 2 weeks per
incident.

A home care placement agency shall retain the required
notices at least 4 years from the date that the home care agency
referred the home care worker to the consumer if the home
care worker and home care consumer enter into an
employment agreement or contract for services.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies.
The proposed rule requires that the home care placement
agency provide the required notices and have the signed
copies in its files before the placement agency refers the
worker to the consumer because the agency refers potential
workers to a potential home care consumer for an interview,
but is not generally involved further. The home care consumer
and home care worker would not likely have incentive to
return the signed notice to the agency after the referral has
occurred. The home care placement agency must retain copies
of the notices for 4 years to ensure proper record retention
until after the 3−year statute of limitations has passed.

Comparison with federal law. There is no comparable
federal law on the issues in the proposed rule.

Comparison with adjacent states. Illinois. Before January
1, 2008, the Illinois Department of Public Health must adopt
standards for the licensure and operation of home services
agencies operated in the state. “Home services agency” is
defined as an agency that provides services directly, or acts as
a placement agency, for the purpose of placing individuals as
workers providing home services for consumers in their
personal residences, except agencies licensed under specified
other laws or services provided through specified government
programs.

As one of the requirements for licensure, a home services
agency must provide notification, in a form and manner
established by the Department of Public Health by rule, to
home services workers and consumers as to the party or
parties responsible under state and federal laws for payment
of employment taxes, Social Security taxes, and workers’
compensation, liability, the day−to−day supervision of
workers, and the hiring, firing, and discipline of workers with
the placement arrangement for home services.

The department is not aware of comparable requirements
in other adjacent states.

Effect on small business. The proposed rule may affect
small businesses. The rule is designed to assist home care
placement agencies in fulfilling their statutory obligation to
have signed copies of the required notices in their files and to
retain the notices long enough that they are available as a
defense to a complaint or action in circuit court filed alleging
a violation of s. 105.115, Stats. The DWD Small Business
Regulatory Coordinator is Jennifer Jirschele, (608)
266−1023, jennifer.jirschele@dwd.state.wi.us.\

Fiscal Impact
The proposed rule will have no fiscal impact on state or

local government.
Agency contact person. Bob Anderson, Labor Standards

Bureau Director, Equal Rights Division, Dept. of Workforce
Development, bob.anderson@dwd.state.wi.us, (608)
266−3345.

Written comments. An electronic copy of the proposed
rules is available at:

http://www.dwd.state.wi.us/dwd/hearings.htm. A copy of
the proposed rules is also available at
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov. This site allows you to view
documents associated with this rule’s promulgation, register
to receive email notification whenever the Department posts
new information about this rulemaking order, and submit
comments and view comments by others during the public
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comment period. You may receive a paper copy of the rule or
fiscal estimate by contacting:

Elaine Pridgen
Office of Legal Counsel
Dept. of Workforce Development
P.O. Box 7946
Madison, WI 53707−7946

(608) 267−9403

elaine.pridgen@dwd.state.wi.us

Written comments on the proposed rules received at the
above address, email, or through the
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov web site no later than
January 25, 2007, will be given the same consideration as
testimony presented at the hearing.
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