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Emergency rules now in effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection

Rules adopted creating ch. ATCP 112, relating to credit
report security freezes.

Finding of Emergency
(1)  The Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and

consumer protection (“DATCP”) will administer s. 100.54,
Stats. as of January 1, 2007.  DATCP is required under s.
100.54 (12), Stats. to adopt rules related to identification
required of consumers requesting credit report security
freezes.

(2)  As of January 1, 2007, s. 100.54, Stats. will be in effect,
however without an emergency rule the statute will be unclear
regarding what constitutes proper identification for purposes
of creating a security freeze, temporarily releasing a security
freeze or permanently removing a security freeze from a
consumer credit report.

(3)  DATCP is adopting this emergency rule for the sole
purpose of allowing consumers to clearly place a security
freeze on their consumer credit report while the permanent
rulemaking process is completed.

Publication Date: January 19, 2007

Effective Date: January 19, 2007

Expiration Date: June 18, 2007
Hearing Date: February 12, 2007

Commerce
(Financial Resources for Businesses and

Communities, Chs. Comm 104−131)

Rules adopted creating ch. Comm 135, relating to tax
credits and exemptions for internet equipment used in the
broadband market.
Exemption From Finding of Emergency

These rules establish the criteria for administering a
program that will (1) certify businesses as temporarily
eligible for tax credits and exemptions for Internet equipment
used in the broadband market, and (2) allocate up to
$7,500,000 to these businesses for these tax credits and
exemptions.

Pursuant to section 227.24 of the statutes, this rule is
adopted as an emergency rule to take effect upon publication
in the official state newspaper.  In accordance with section 17
(1) (d) of 2005 Wisconsin Act 479, this rule will remain in
effect until January 1, 2008, or until the Department reports
its certifications and determinations under this rule to the
Department of Revenue, whichever is sooner.

The rules specify who is eligible for the income and
franchise tax credits and the sales and use tax exemptions in
this program, for Internet equipment used in the broadband
market.  Eligible equipment is also specified, along with how
to apply for the certifications and allocations.  Parameters for
allocating the authorized total of  $7,500,000 are likewise
specified.  These parameters emphasize (1) efficiently
initiating broadband Internet service in areas of Wisconsin
that otherwise are not expected to soon receive this service,
and (2) encouraging economic or community development.
The rule chapter also describes the time−specific legislative
oversight that is established in 2005 Act 479 for these
allocations, and describes the follow−up reports that the Act
requires from every person who receives a sales or use tax
exemption under this chapter.

Publication Date: February 20, 2007
Effective Date: February 20, 2007
Expiration Date: See section 17 (1) (d) 2005

   Wis. Act 479
Hearing Date: March 26, 2007

Dentistry Examining Board

Rules were adopted amending ch. DE 11, relating to better
identifying the different levels of anesthesia, including
nitrous oxide, anxiolysis, conscious sedation−enteral,
conscious sedation−parenteral, deep sedation, and general
anesthesia, and the requirements for each level.
Finding of Emergency

The board finds that failure to delay the effective date of
CR04−095, from January 1, 2007, to July 1, 2007, will create
a danger to the public health, safety and welfare.  The extra six
months are needed to allow the implementation of the rule to
occur and to ensure the continued use of conscious sedation
for dental patients.
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Publication Date: December 21, 2006

Effective Date: December 29, 2006

Expiration Date: May 28, 2007
Hearing Date: January 31, 2007

Health and Family Services
(Community Services, Chs. HFS 30—)

Rules adopted revising ch. HFS 51, relating to the adoption
of children to include preadoption training requirements that
will apply to private adoptions, international adoption, and
adoptions of children with special needs and affecting small
businesses.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Health and Family Services finds that

an emergency exists and that rules are necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

On April 10, 2006, the Wisconsin State Legislature enacted
2005 Wisconsin Act 293, which amended s. 48.84, Stats., to
require first−time adoptive parents to receive preadoption
training before a child may be placed for adoption by a court
pursuant to s. 48.833, Stats., or before a prospective adoptive
parent may petition for placement of a child for adoption
under s. 48.837, Stats., or before a proposed adoptive parent
may bring a child into Wisconsin for an international adoption
under s. 48.839, Stats.  The Act further requires the
Department to promulgate rules that establish the number of
hours and topics covered in the training of first−time adoptive
parents.  The training must cover issues that may confront
adoptive parents in general and that may confront adoptive
parents of special needs or international children.

The Act requires the rules to be effective April 1, 2007.
Because the rules apply not only to the Department which
administers the special needs adoption program with the
assistance of private agencies under contract with the
Department, and with the cooperation of county human and
social service agencies, but also to private agencies that
handle domestic adoptions and international adoptions, the
Department has invested a significant amount of time
gathering information from agencies regarding what training
is currently provided to preadoptive parents.  The Department
conducted written and follow−up telephone surveys with
private agencies to determine what content was currently
being taught, and the format used for training.  The
Department’s Adoption Services Committee met over several
months to determine the curriculum for special needs
adoption, the competencies that would be required for all
training programs, the number of hours and the
documentation that would be required in the training.  In
addition, the Department reviewed the proposed Hague
Convention (federal) training requirements for proposed
adoptive parents of international children to assure that
Wisconsin’s training requirements for first−time
pre−adoptive parents would meet or exceed those
requirements.

As a result of this extensive collaboration with
stakeholders, development of the proposed training
requirements has been unusually long and now requires the
training requirements to be implemented as an emergency
rule in order to meet the legislated date of April 1, 2007, the
date adoptive parents must begin receiving preadoptive
training.

This emergency rules are substantially similar to the
proposed permanent rules except in the hours of training
required.  Under the emergency order, adoption agencies are
required to provide adoptive parents with 2 hours of
orientation and 10 hours of training.  The proposed permanent
rule requires adoption agencies to provide 2 hours of
orientation and 16 hours of training.  Stakeholder agencies
have indicated that the additional 5 months under the
emergency rule will allow them to prepare all proposed
adoptive parents to meet the orientation and training
requirements under the proposed permanent rules.

Publication Date: March 31, 2007
Effective Date: April 1, 2007
Expiration Date: August 29, 2007
Hearing Date: April 27, 2007

Insurance

Rules adopted revising s. Ins 6.77, relating to underinsured
and uninsured motorist coverage in umbrella and commercial
policies.

Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare.
Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

These changes will modify the rule in light of the recent
Supreme Court decisions, Rebernick v American Family
Mutual Ins Company, 2006 WI 27 and Rocker v USAA
Casualty Ins Company, 2006 WI 26. In Rebernick, the court
held that s. 632.32 (4m), Stats, applies to personal umbrella
policies. In Rocker, the court held that s. 632.32 (6) (a), Stats,
applies to commercial general liability policies and
commercial umbrella policies. These interpretations are
inconsistent with current insurer practices and OCI’s
expectation of what would be covered in these types of
policies.

Compliance with this interpretation would create
significant, if not impossible compliance problems for
insurers. Many insurers who write umbrella coverage do not
write and are not even licensed to write automobile coverage.
A second, difficult issue is that the limits for umbrella
coverages are generally very high, $1,000,000. It is unclear
how an umbrella policy would reconcile these limits with the
underlying auto policy and underinsured motorist coverage.
For this reason, OCI had previously by rule exempted
umbrella policies from the similar requirements of the
uninsured motorist coverages in s. 632.32, Stats. For similar
reasons, the same revision is being made for commercial
liability policies.

Publication Date: September 29, 2006
Effective Date: September 29, 2006
Expiration Date: February 26, 2007
Hearing Date: December 11, 2006

Natural Resources  (3)
(Fish and Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—)

1. Rules adopted amending s. NR 1.21 and creating s. NR
1.26, relating to contracting for timber sale establishment
services on state land.
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Exemption from finding of emergency
As provided in section 13 of 2005 Wis. Act 166,

“Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1) (a) and (3) of the
statutes, the department is not required to provide a finding of
emergency for a rule promulgated under this subsection.”

Section 1 of the proposed rule distinguishes between
timber sales related tasks that can be contracted and functions
that Department staff must perform to protect the resource and
assure compliance with regulations and property master
plans. The purpose is to divide technical activities that are
appropriate for contracting from administration of finance,
policy and compliance issues. The rule defines bidding and
payment procedures for the contracted services, including
prequalification of bidders based on experience with timber
sales and related forest inventory work. Section 2 makes
technical corrections in the definition of educational
requirements for cooperating foresters. The change would
make educational requirements for cooperating foresters and
department foresters identical, including the allowance of
training equivalent to that obtained at a college accredited by
the Society of American Foresters.

Publication Date: February 6, 2007
Effective Date: February 6, 2007
Expiration Date: July 6, 2007
Hearing Date: March 21, 2007

2. Rules adopted creating s. NR 45.075, relating to declaring
natural emergencies on forested lands owned by the state
and under the jurisdiction of the department.

Exemption from finding of emergency
As provided in section 13 of 2005 Wis. Act 166,

notwithstanding s. 227.24, Stats., the Department is not
required to provide a finding of emergency for this rule and
the emergency rule will remain in effect until a permanent rule
is promulgated.

Rule FR−11−07(E) specifies those emergencies on
forested land under the jurisdiction of the department over
which the chief state forester shall have management
authority.  This rule describes causes of unforeseen damage or
threat of damage to trees that could lead the chief state forester
to declare an emergency and assume management authority.
Included in the list of damaging agents that could lead to the
declaration of an emergency are those required by the
legislature: invasive species, pest infestation, disease, and
damage to timber from fire, snow, hail, ice, or wind.  The rule
states that when declaring and responding to an emergency,
the chief state forester shall consider the purpose of and
management plan for the affected property in his or her
decisions.  This rule, however, would allow the chief state
forester to take actions not described in the management plan
for a property if that were the most appropriate response to the
emergency.  Finally, this rule describes the processes by which
the declaration of the state of emergency shall be made
effective, canceled or modified.

Publication Date: February 6, 2007
Effective Date: February 6, 2007
Expiration Date: July 6, 2007
Hearing Date: March 21, 2007

3. Rules adopted revising chs. NR 19 and 20, relating to the
control of fish diseases and invasive species.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Natural Resources finds that an

emergency exists and rules are necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A
statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The World Health Organization for Animal Health (OIE)
lists viral hemorrhagic septicemia (VHS)  as a ”notifiable”
disease, meaning that outbreaks must be reported
immediately.  VHS has been discovered in the Great Lakes,
and is moving from the lower lakes (Ontario and Erie), where
it has already caused large−scale fish kills, via Huron, where
it has been present since 2005, to the upper lakes (Michigan
and Superior).  Lake Michigan is connected to the Mississippi
River by the Chicago Sanitary and Ship Canal and Illinois
River, allowing fish and fish diseases to reach the Mississippi
drainage.  Twenty−seven species of Wisconsin fish have been
identified as susceptible by the OIE or USDA APHIS,
including most of our most important recreational and
commercial species.  The VHS virus can be transported from
affected areas to areas where it is not yet present via live fish,
fish eggs, refrigerated or frozen dead fish, or water where
infected fish have been present.  The presence of VHS virus
in the Great Lakes is therefore a threat to the public health or
safety or to the environment.

Publication Date: April 8, 2007
Effective Date: April 8, 2007
Expiration Date: September 5, 2007
Hearing Date: May 3, 10 and 17, 2007

[See Notice this Register]

Optometry Examining Board

A rule was adopted creating ch. Opt 8, relating to
continuing education.

Exemption from finding of emergency
2005 Wisconsin Act 297 section 58 states in part:
“(3) Continuing education rules.  (b) …Notwithstanding

section 227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and (3) of the statutes, the
optometry examining board is not required to provide
evidence that promulgating a rule under this paragraph as an
emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of the public
peace, health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under this
paragraph.”
Plain language analysis

Chapter Opt 8 is being created to incorporate the
continuing education requirements that optometrists must
complete in order to renew their registrations.  As a result of
the changes made to ch. 449, Stats., by 2005 Wisconsin Act
297, all optometrist will now be required to complete 30 hours
of continuing education.  Previously, only optometrists who
were certified to use diagnostic pharmaceutical agents (DPA)
and therapeutic pharmaceutical agents (TPA) were required
to complete continuing education course work.

Publication Date: November 8, 2006
Effective Date: November 8, 2006
Expiration Date: April 7, 2007
Hearing Date: December 7, 2006
Extension Through: June 5, 2007
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Regulation and Licensing

Rules adopted creating chs. RL 160 to 168, relating to
substance abuse professionals.

Exemption from finding of emergency
Section 9140 (1q) of 2005 Wisconsin Act 25 states in part:

“Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and (3) of the
statutes, the department is not required to provide evidence
that promulgating a rule under this subsection as an
emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of the public
peace, health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under this
subsection.”

Plain language analysis
2005 Wisconsin Act 25 created Subchapter VII of chapter

440, Stats., Substance Abuse Counselors, Clinical
Supervisors, and Prevention Specialists.  This Act transferred
the certification and regulation of Alcohol and other Drug
Abuse (AODA) counselors from the Department of Health
and Family Services to the Department of Regulation and
Licensing, effective 2006.  This proposed rule−making order
creates rules relating to definitions, requirements for
certification, supervised practice, scope of practice, education
approval and professional liability insurance for substance
abuse professionals.

Publication Date: November 27, 2006

Effective Date: December 1, 2006

Expiration Date: April 30, 2007
Hearing Date: February 13, 2007

Transportation

Rules adopted revising ch. Trans 276, relating to allowing
the operation of certain 2−vehicle combinations on certain
highways without a permit.

Exemption from finding of emergency
The Legislature, by Section 7 of 2005 Wis. Act 363,

provides an exemption from a finding of emergency for the
adoption of the rule.

Plain language analysis
Section 348.07 (1), Stats., historically has limited vehicle

lengths on Wisconsin highways to 65 feet.  Section 348.07(2),
Stats., allowed vehicles meeting the specifications of that
subsection to operate without permits despite exceeding the
65−foot limit of subsection (1).

2005 Wis. Act 363 amended s. 348.07, Stats., and
essentially made 75 feet the default permitted length on the
state trunk highway system.  Wisconsin’s old default 65−foot
overall length limit still applies on all local roads but only
applies to state trunk highways that are designated as 65−foot
restricted routes by the Department.  This emergency rule
making establishes a preliminary list of such “65−foot
restricted routes.”

Prior to Act 363, s. 348.07 (4), Stats., permitted the
Department to designate “long truck routes” upon which no
overall length limits apply.  The Department designates the
state’s long truck routes in s. Trans 276.07.  This rule making
does not affect those longstanding designations.

The new “default” 75−foot overall length limit applies on
state highways that are neither designated as 65−foot

restricted routes under this rule making nor long truck routes
under s. Trans 276.07.

Definitions have been added to the rule to make it easier to
identify the nature of designations made by the Department in
Ch. Trans 276.

In drafting this rule the Department noticed several items
that it believes may be of special interest to the legislature and
which, in the Department’s view, deserve special legislative
attention.  First, Act 363 did not grant any authority for
75−foot vehicles using the new 75−foot routes to leave those
routes to reach fuel, food, maintenance, repair, rest, staging,
terminal or vehicle assembly facilities or points of loading or
unloading.  The Department does not believe this oversight
was intentional and, on an emergency basis, has designated
the intersection of each 75−foot route and any other highway
as a long truck route under its authority in s. 348.07 (4), Stats.
This will permit trucks to exceed the 65−foot default length
limit on local roads to access such facilities and make
deliveries.  The Department encourages the legislature to
consider statutorily establishing access rights for vehicles
using 75−foot restricted routes.

The second consequence of Act 363 the Department has
discovered in drafting this emergency rule is that one statute
that formerly restricted double−bottom tractor−trailer
combinations to the state’s long−truck network was repealed
by the deletion of the reference to s. 348.07 (2) (gm), Stats.,
by the Act’s amendment of s. 348.07 (4), Stats.  Under the
amended statute, as revised by Act 363, it might appear to a
reader that double bottom trucks of unlimited length may
operate upon any highway in the state, including local roads
and streets, without permits.  Section 348.08 (1) (e), Stats.,
however, continues to provide that double−bottom trucks be
restricted to highways designated by the department under s.
348.07 (4).  WisDOT believes this provision continues to limit
double−bottom operation to long truck routes designated by
the Department under s. 348.07 (4), Stats.  WisDOT would
suggest the deleted reference to (2) (gm) in 348.07 (4), Stats.,
be re−inserted into the statute to avoid confusion.

Finally, the Department notes that s. 348.07, Stats., is
becoming difficult to decipher from a legal standpoint
because of the many amendments that have been made to it
over the years.  It may be that recodifying the statute for the
purpose of clarification of the length limitations of Wisconsin
law would be helpful to truck and long vehicle operators in
this state.

Publication Date: September 15, 2006
Effective Date: September 15, 2006
Expiration Date: See section 7 (2) of 2005 Wis.

  Act 363
Hearing Date: October 4, 2006

Workforce Development (2)
(Workforce Solutions, Chs. DWD 11 to 59)

1. Rules adopted revising s. DWD 56.06, relating to child
care rates and affecting small businesses.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The child care subsidy budget estimates that the child care
subsidy program will have a tight budget by the end of fiscal
year 06−07.  This is due to flat federal funding, rising
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caseload, and increased provider costs.  To begin to address
the tight budget, the Department will not increase the child
care subsidy maximum rates for 2007.  This emergency rule
will maintain the maximum rates at 2006 levels.

Publication Date: January 22, 2007
Effective Date: January 22, 2007
Expiration Date: June 21, 2007
Hearing Date: May 7, 2007

2. Rules adopted revising ch. DWD 56, relating to child care
enrollment underutilization.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare.  A
statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The child care subsidy budget is expected to have a
substantial deficit by the end of state fiscal year 2006−07.
While many factors will have an impact on the program’s final
fiscal balance, current spending patterns at current rates
suggest that the program will exceed its 06−07 budget
authorization by approximately $46 million.  This rule will
provide for more efficient use of the program’s limited
funding.

Publication Date: April 1, 2007
Effective Date: April 1, 2007
Expiration Date: August 29, 2007

Workforce Development
(Public Works Compensation, Chs. DWD

290−294)
Rules adopted amending s. DWD 290.155 (1), relating to

the adjustment of thresholds for application of prevailing
wage rates.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

Adjusting the thresholds for application of the prevailing
wage rate requirements by emergency rule ensures that the
adjustments are effective on a date certain that is prior to the
time of year that project requests are generally submitted to
the Department and applicability of the prevailing wage law
is determined. The adjustment avoids imposing an additional
administrative burden on local governments and state
agencies caused by an effective decrease of the thresholds due
solely to inflation in the construction industry. If these new
thresholds are not put into effect by emergency rule, the old
thresholds will remain effective for approximately six to
seven months, until the conclusion of the permanent
rule−making process. The thresholds are based on national
construction cost statistics and are unlikely to be changed by
the permanent rule−making process.

Publication Date: December 28, 2006
Effective Date: January 1, 2007
Expiration Date: May 31, 2007
Hearing Date: February 19, 2007
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Scope statements

Employee Trust Funds

Subject

The Department of Employee Trust Funds proposes to
amend s.  ETF 40.01, relating to continued group health
insurance coverage of an insured dependent after the death of
the insured employee or annuitant.
Policy Analysis

Under s. 40.51, Stats., the Group Insurance Board provides
group health insurance programs for eligible state employees
and the eligible employees of local units of government in
Wisconsin that elect to participate. Eligible Wisconsin
Retirement System annuitants may also elect to be covered.
The group health insurance plans are required to include
provisions for continuation of coverage that, at a minimum,
comply with s. 632.897, Stats.

Section 632.897 (2) (b) 3., Stats., requires that if a member
dies while covered by group health insurance, then the spouse
or dependent who was also covered through the member must
be permitted to continue coverage under the group policy (or
convert to individual coverage).   Under s. 632.897 (2) (d),
Stats., the plan sponsor or group policyholder must give
written notice to the insured surviving dependents of their
right to continuation coverage within 5 days after learning of
the death of the insured employee or annuitant. The notice
must include the amount of the payment required and the
manner, place and time for making payments.  As provided by
s. 632.897 (3) (a), Stats., each surviving insured dependent, or
the parent in the case of a minor, then has 30 days from the date
of the notice to apply for continuation coverage and make the
initial required payment. If this application is timely received,
then the coverage continues without interruption.
Continuation coverage may be terminated if the surviving
dependent established residence outside Wisconsin, fails to
make timely payment of a required premium or becomes
eligible for similar coverage under another group policy.  If no
such events intervene, then a minimum of 18 months of
continuation coverage must be allowed. After that, the insurer
may compel the survivor to convert to an individual policy in
order to continue coverage.

Under the current s. ETF 40.01 (1), Wis. Adm. Code, an
application for health care coverage just be received from the
surviving dependent within 90 days after the death of the
insured employee (or annuitant) in order for the surviving
dependent to continue his or her group health insurance
coverage that was in effect prior to the death.   Although
exceptions to this deadline are not codified, the DETF has
been granting continuation coverage without interruption
when the surviving dependent shows good reason for not
meeting the current 90−day deadline.

Another uncodified exception to the 90−day deadline
allows the surviving dependent at least 30 days to apply after
the Department sends out the standard packet of materials
relating to death benefits. This exception conforms to the
intent of s. 632.897 (3) (a), Stats.  The death benefit packet
contains the “Survivor Eligibility to Continue Health
Insurance” form (ET−6203) giving notice of the right, if any,
to continue group coverage, the deadline for applying and

premium payment options.  A form ET−4701 schedule of
premium rates, the Group Health Insurance brochure
(ET−4112) and “Health Insurance Application,” form
(ET−2301) are all also included in the packet.  The 30−day
grace period assures that a delay in preparing and mailing out
a death benefit packet will not deprive the surviving insured
dependent of the opportunity to continue coverage.

The Department automatically continues covering
surviving insured dependents after the death of the employee
or annuitant, at least until the previously received premium
payments are exhausted.  Employees typically pay two
months in advance for group health insurance coverage.
Annuitants may pay one month in advance through a
deduction from their sick leave conversion credits or (if there
are no remaining credits) from their annuity.  If a monthly
annuity is insufficient to support premium deductions, an
annuitant makes direct payments of premiums to the insurer.
Direct payments schedules vary and premiums may up paid
up to several months in advance.

In an effort to avoid unintended termination of health
insurance coverage, Department staff will often write and
telephone surviving dependents to remind them of the need to
apply for the coverage within the 90−day deadline.  If the
90−day deadline passes and all previously received premiums
have been exhausted, the surviving dependents’ health
insurance coverage is terminated.

Terminated surviving dependents often call or write
Department staff to explain why they failed to timely apply
and to attempt to obtain coverage.  Sometimes contact is
initiated by health care providers, such a pharmacies, being
asked to fill prescriptions after the coverage has ended.  The
Department generally finds reason to restore insurance
coverage.  The Department staff estimate (anecdotally) that
roughly 98% of surviving insured dependents wish to
continue the health insurance coverage.  The main reason for
not wishing to continue coverage is likely to be that the
surviving dependent is already covered under other health
coverage, which the surviving dependent has reason to prefer.
This can occur, for example, when two spouses both work and
each has family health insurance benefits through their
separate employers.

The proposed rule−making is intended to address both
customer service and Department work−load issues.  The first
goal is to reduce or eliminate interruptions in coverage for
surviving dependents who wish to continue health coverage.
Secondly, the Department would like to reduce staff time
spent soliciting applications, reminding surviving dependents
of the application deadline and handling telephone calls and
correspondence with health care providers and surviving
dependents concerning health coverage that was involuntarily
terminated due to inaction by the surviving dependent.

The Department is therefore considering different options
as part of this rule−making, including automatic enrollment of
surviving insured dependents, extending periods for
providing necessary documents and signatures, and revising
Department forms to encourage and obtain necessary
responses from surviving dependents.  Most of the problems
observed by Department staff stem from the death of an
insured annuitant, so different procedures may be codified
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with respect to the surviving insured dependents of annuitants
compared to the survivors of deceased employees.
Statutory Authority

Under s. 40.03 (2) (ig), Stats., the DETF Secretary, with the
approval of the Group Insurance Board, may promulgate rules
required for the administration of the group health insurance
plan.  As provided by s. 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., each agency may
promulgate rules interpreting the provisions of any statute
enforced or administered by it, if the agency considers it
necessary to effectuate the purpose of the statute.
Staff Time Required To Develop The Proposed Rule

The Department estimates that state employees will spend
200 hours to develop this rule.
Entities That May Be Affected By The Proposed Rules

The proposed rule will directly affect the surviving insured
dependents of insured employees and annuitants with family
health insurance coverage, when the date of the employee’s or
annuitant’s death occurs after the effective date of the rule. \

The rule−making will also affect the administration of
coverage under the group health insurance programs by
Department of Employee Trust Funds staff, the third−party
administrative contractor and the private Health Maintenance
Organizations and similar insurers who agree to participate in
the group health insurance program.
Comparison With Federal Regulations

The Group Insurance Board’s group health plans are
required by s. 40.51 (3), (4) and (5), Stats., to include
provisions for continuation of coverage that, at a minimum,
comply with s. 632.897, Stats., a statute based on federal
requirements for so−called “COBRA continuation coverage.”
The requirement for group health plans to offer continuation
coverage to certain individuals whose coverage might
otherwise end originally comes from the federal Consolidated
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985 (COBRA).
COBRA amended the federal tax code, the Employee
Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA) and the Public
Health Service Act to require continuation coverage.
COBRA expressly included the group health plans of state
and local governments.  However, “governmental plans” are
exempt from ERISA and the regulations of the U.S.
Department of Labor regulations based on that Act.  See 29
U.S.C. §1003(b)(1). The U. S. Treasury regulations on
COBRA continuation coverage expressly except state and
local group health plans from the regulations. See 26 CFR 26
C.F.R. § 54.4980B−2 A−4(b)(3).

However, as the IRS expressly noted in 26 CFR 26 C.F.R.
§ 54.4980B−2 A−4(d), group health plans maintained by state
or local governments are generally subject to parallel
continuation coverage requirements that COBRA added to
the Public Health Services Act.  These COBRA continuation
provisions apply to states that receive funds under the Public
Health Service Act, as well as to their political subdivisions
and to agencies or instrumentalities of such states and their
political subdivisions. See the Notice published by the U.S.
Department of Health and Human Services, 52 FR 604
(January 7, 1987).

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services has
not issued regulations concerning COBRA continuation
coverage for the group health plans of state and local
governments. If regulations are issued on continuation
coverage requirements for state and local governments, then
the H&HS regulations must conform to the similar
regulations issued by the Treasury and the Department of
Labor.  See the final rules notice published by the Department

of Labor, 69 FR 30084 (May 26, 2004), footnote 4, citing
House Conference Report No. 99−453 at 563 (1985).  The
Department of Labor COBRA continuation regulations begin
at 29 CFR §2590.606−1 and the related Treasury regulations
begin at 26 CFR § 54.4980B−1.

Meanwhile, the COBRA continuation provisions of the
Public Health Services Act are codified beginning at 42
U.S.C. §300bb−1.  Under 42 USC § 300bb−3(1), the death of
a covered employee is a “qualifying event” giving rise to
continuation rights for the surviving spouse and dependent
children insured under the employee’s coverage.  The term
“covered employee,” as defined by 42 USC § 300bb−8 (2),
includes retired employees.  Within 30 days, the employer is
required to notify the plan administrator of the employee’s
death and within 14 days after notification, the plan
administrator must send notice of COBRA continuation
rights to the affected surviving spouses or dependent children
who were covered under the plan. See 42 U.S.C.A. §
300bb−6(2) and (4)(A).

During the “election period” the surviving spouse or
dependent child who would otherwise lose coverage under the
plan because of the employee’s death, is entitled to elect
continuation coverage. For this purpose, the “election period”
is defined by 42 USC §300bb−5 to be a period of 60 days,
beginning on the later of (a) the date of the notice provided to
the surviving spouse (or dependent child), or (b) the date
coverage would end as a result of the employee’s death.

Health and Family Services

Subject
Foster parents.

Policy Analysis
The Department of Health and Family Services proposes

to amend ch. HFS 56, Foster Home Care for Children, rules
relating to creating an exception to the maximum placement
standards for sibling placements, providing a foster parent
handbook to foster homes and treatment foster homes where
children are placed under s. 48.833, Stats., through the child
welfare system, requirements for fingerprinting prospective
foster and adoptive parents and checking child abuse and
neglect registries for prospective foster and adoptive parents
and adults in their homes, and revising requirements
regarding the use of child safety seats.

Section 48.67, Stats., requires the Department to
promulgate rules establishing minimum requirements for the
issuance of licenses to and the operation of foster homes and
treatment foster homes among other entities.  The rules must
be designed to promote the health, safety and welfare of the
children placed in the care of the foster home or treatment
foster home.  The Department intends to amend the rule to
require agencies to provide specified foster parents and
treatment foster parents with a handbook that contains
specific identified information.  The agencies will have the
option of using a handbook developed for the Department or
their own handbook that contains all the required information.
In addition, current rules provide directives on the use of child
safety seats for foster children.  2005 Wisconsin Act 106
recently changed child safety seat requirements for all
children in Wisconsin.  The Department intends to amend the
rules to conform to the new requirements.

Section 48.62 (4), Stats., directs the Department to
promulgate rules that address supplemental foster care
payments for special needs, exceptional circumstances, care
in a treatment foster home and initial clothing allowances.
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Research and experience in the area of child welfare
demonstrates that generally children who are removed from
their homes and placed in out of home care, will adjust more
successfully if they are placed with their siblings in the same
out of home placement.  Current rules prevent the placement
in a foster home of more than four children or more than six
children in order to keep siblings together.  The Department
intends to establish rules that would create an exception, with
specific standards, that would allow more than six children to
be placed in a foster home if the children are siblings.

In addition, under the federal Adam Walsh Child
Protection and Safety Act, P.L. 109−248, the state is required
to have procedures in place to assure that all prospective foster
and adoptive parents have their fingerprints submitted to the
Federal Bureau of Investigations criminal information
database.  In addition, all prospective foster and adoptive
parents and adults in their households who have resided
outside of Wisconsin in the five years prior to their application
for licensure, must be checked against the other state(s) child
abuse and neglect registry if one exists, and finally all
prospective foster and adoptive parents and adults in their
household who have resided in Wisconsin must be checked
against a Wisconsin child abuse and neglect registry if one
exists.  The Department is seeking legislation to mandate
compliance with these new requirements and  intends to
establish rules that provide guidance and procedures for
complying with these requirements.
Statutory Authority

The Department’s authority to promulgate these changes to
the rules is found at  ss. 48.62 (4), 48.64 (4), 48.67,  48.675 (2),
and 227.11 (2), Stats.
Staff Time Required To Develop The Proposed Rule

It is anticipated that approximately 80 hours of staff time
will be required for the development, drafting, review and
editing of the proposed rule.  The Department will work with
the Out−of−Home Care / Adoption Committee to develop the
rule.  Committee participants include representatives from the
Bureau of Milwaukee Child Welfare, Bureau of Regulation
and Licensing, county human services and social services
agencies, and private child placing agencies.
Entities That May Be Affected By The Proposed Rules

The amendments to the rule will have a direct impact on the
Department, including the Bureau of Milwaukee Child
Welfare (BMCW), county human and social services
agencies, licensed child placing agencies, and prospective
and current foster parents and treatment foster parents,
including those individuals who are seeking licensure as a
foster parent for the purposes of adopting a child.
Comparison With Federal Regulations

There appear to be no existing or proposed federal
regulations that address the activities to be regulated by the
proposed rule.

Health and Family Services

Subject
The Department of Health and Family Services is repealing

ch. HFS 119, rules relating to operation of the Health
Insurance Risk Sharing Plan (HIRSP).
Policy Analysis

Pursuant to ch. 149, Stats., the department operates the
Health Insurance Risk−Sharing Plan (HIRSP) which provides
health insurance coverage for Wisconsin residents who: (a)

have been refused coverage, or coverage at an affordable
price, in the private health insurance market because of their
health condition; (b) are covered under Medicare because
they are disabled or have tested positive for human
immunodeficiency virus; or (c) do not have health insurance
but, under certain circumstances, were covered under certain
types of creditable coverage in the past.

Effective July 1, 2006, 2005 Act 74 transfers the
department’s authority to operate HIRSP to the Health
Insurance Risk−Sharing Plan Authority that was created by
Act 74.  This transfer of authority means that effective July 1,
2006, the department is not statutorily authorized to operate
HIRSP or to promulgate or implement ch. HFS 119 rules
relating to the operation of HIRSP.  Because the department
will no longer be statutorily authorized to promulgate or
implement ch. HFS 119, the department is hereby giving
notice that ch. HFS 119 will be repealed by the department.
Statutory Authority For Proposed Rule

s. 227.11 (2), Stats., and 2005 Act 74.
Staff Time Required To Develop The Proposed Rule

10 hours.
Entities That May Be Affected By The Proposed Rules

N/A
Comparison With Federal Regulations

N/A

Natural Resources

Subject
The Department is requesting authorization to pursue a

modification to NR 50 (snowmobile program) Wis. Admin
code, regarding specifications for bridge design and the
length of easements relating to bridge abutments and a
corresponding modification to NR 64 (all−terrain vehicle
program) regarding the bridge design specifications.
Policy Analysis

The issues involved in the proposed rule change relate to
the change in design load concept involved in the design
specifications for bridges constructed under the snowmobile
and all−terrain vehicle grant programs.  The Department has
long published a set of guidelines for the design of bridge
structures used in both the snowmobile and all−terrain vehicle
grant programs.  With the continued growth of the weight of
snow grooming power units and drags, the infrastructure
committee of the Snowmobile Recreation Council undertook
a review of the specifications in conjunction with Sanjay
Olson of the Department’s Engineering and Construction
section of the Facilities and Land Bureau.  As part of the
review process, the manner in which the design process is
viewed was modified from point loading concept to a train
loading concept.  As a result of this modification, the
suggestion was to increase the design load from its current
12,000 pounds to 14,000 pounds.  NR 50 contains references
to the design load that need to be changed to meet the newer
design concept.  NR 64, the administrative rules for the
all−terrain vehicle program, is currently silent on the bridge
design load and should be updated to reflect the newer
concept.

In addition, the Snowmobile Recreation Council has
indicated an interest in having the Department develop a
sliding scale of easement lengths for lands that serve as bridge
abutments that correspond to the total estimated cost of a
bridge structure, i.e. longer easements required for more
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expensive, larger bridge structures.  The council feels that the
current minimum of 3 years is not sufficient for bridge
structures costing in excess of $50,000.
Statutory Authority

The statutory authority to pursue the rule modifications is
contained in s. 350.12 (4) and 23.33 (8) (a) and (9), Stats.
Staff Time Required

The time necessary to draft the changes should not exceed
40 hours.

The proposed design concept changes are consistent with
standards established by American Association of State
Highway Traffic Officials (AASHTO) for pedestrian bridges.
Entities Affected by the Rule

The eligible program sponsors (snowmobile – county ;
all−terrain vehicle – municipalities) would be the parties
immediately impacted by the design concept changes.
Sponsors are the entities responsible for bridge design and
construction bidding.  The proposed development of a sliding
scale of easements versus bridge costs for the snowmobile
program would impact both the sponsor and cooperating
snowmobile club who is generally involved in securing the
easements necessary to place the bridge.
Comparison with Federal Regulations

The proposed rules do not interface with existing or
proposed federal regulations.

The name of the individual responsible for rule drafting is
Larry Freidig, 266−5897 or larry.freidig@wi.gov

Natural Resources

Subject
Objective of the rule.  Under the federal Clean Air Act, the

US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has
responsibility for promulgating National Ambient Air
Quality Standards (NAAQS) which are designed to protect
public health (primary standards) and public welfare
(secondary standards).  Under state law, if EPA promulgates
a NAAQS, the department is required to promulgate a similar,
but no more restrictive standard.  The EPA has recently
promulgated NAAQS for ozone and particulate matter (PM).
In order to both reflect current air quality health science and
to maintain consistency with EPA−promulgated NAAQS, the
department is proposing the following administrative rule
actions:

a)  Repeal the ambient air quality standards for total
suspended particulates (TSP), annual PM10 particulate
matter and 1−hour ozone from ch. NR 404, Wis. Adm. Code,
as well as corresponding sections from ch. NR 484, Wis.
Adm. Code.

b)  Adopt the EPA−promulgated NAAQS for fine
particulate matter (PM2.5) into ch. NR 404, Wis. Adm. Code,
and incorporate the corresponding federal PM2.5 monitoring
requirements into ch. NR 484, Wis. Adm. Code.
Policy Analysis

The EPA repealed the TSP NAAQS in 1987 and replaced
it with more restrictive particulate NAAQS for PM10 (1987),
followed by PM2.5 (1997) to more directly address the
increasing scientific awareness of serious public health
impacts from fine−scaled particulate matter.  Although
Wisconsin has retained the secondary TSP ambient air
standard to address nuisance conditions, the department is
now proposing to repeal the TSP ambient air standard in order

to focus resources on particulate emissions which more
directly affect public health.

The EPA repealed the 1−hour ozone NAAQS in 2005 after
it promulgated the 8−hour ozone NAAQS, based on its
conclusion that the more restrictive 8−hour ozone standard
provides greater protection of public health.

By repealing the TSP ambient air standard and adopting the
federal PM2.5 ambient air standards, Wisconsin’s air quality
standards will be consistent with EPA’s NAAQS.
Additionally, Wisconsin’s air program will be more focused
on emission sources of fine particulates and their precursors,
which have greater impacts on public health than emissions
of TSP.

As required by s. 285.21 (1) (a), Stats., Wisconsin must
promulgate ambient air quality standards similar to the
NAAQS for the protection of public health and welfare.
Consequently, there are no apparent policy alternatives to this
proposed action.
Statutory Authority

Authorizing Wis. statutes: ss. 285.11 (1) and (6) and 285.21
(1) (a), Stats.
Staff Time Required

Approximately 250 hours of agency staff time is being
budgeted to this proposed rule action.
Entities That May Be Affected By The Proposed Rules

Stationary source facilities that are seeking air permits may
potentially be affected by focusing on modeled PM10 impacts
because concurrent TSP impacts will no longer be modeled.
Comparison With Federal Regulations

A major purpose of this proposed rules package is to amend
Wisconsin’s ambient air quality standards in order to be
consistent with the NAAQS, which are contained in Title 40,
Part 50 of the Code of Federal Regulations  (40 CFR part 50).
This consistency is required under s. 285.21 (1) (a), Stats.
Agency Contact

Bill Adamski
Bureau of Air Management
Wisconsin Dept. of Natural Resources
P.O. Box 7921
Madison, WI 53704
608−266−2660
william.adamski@wisconsin.gov

Occupational Therapists Affiliated 
Credentialing Board

Subject
Occupational therapist supervision of occupational

therapy assistants.
Policy Analysis

Objective of the rule.  The proposed rule would clarify
definitions and ambiguous provisions of Chapter OT 4 and
recognize supervisory models that vary by practice setting,
client needs, and the professional judgment of occupational
therapists in supervision standards.
Existing Policies Relevant to the Rule, New Policies
Proposed and Analysis of Policy Alternatives

The purpose of revising the supervision rules is to ensure
safe, effective, competent service is delivered to patients.  The
occupational therapist is accountable for the safety and
effectiveness of the delivered occupational therapy services.
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Occupational therapy assistants must receive supervision in
partnership with the occupational therapist such that the two
people will achieve the same or equivalent results irrespective
of the method of service delivery.  Some of the current
provisions relating to “close” and “general” supervision are
viewed as too restrictive, and others are viewed as too
expansive.
Statutory Authority

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 440.035 (1) and 448.965
(1) (b).
Existing or Proposed Federal Legislation

None.
Entities Affected by the Rule

Occupational Therapists, Occupational Therapy
Assistants and facilities that employ OTs and OTAs.
Staff Time Required

150 hours.

Pharmacy Examining Board

Subject
Prescription drug labels.
Objective of the rule.  To conform pharmacy practice rules

to 2005 Wisconsin Act 195.  In instances when a drug product
equivalent is dispensed, the act permits inclusion on the label
of both the generic name and the brand name of the drug
product equivalent specified in the prescription order.  The
brand name must be omitted from the label if the prescribing
practitioner requests that it be omitted.
Policy Analysis

Inclusion of both names recognizes both the drug product
equivalent and brand name designation.  The prescribing
practitioner may decide if inclusion of the brand name on the
label is in the best interests of the patient.

Entities That May Be Affected By The Proposed Rules
Physicians, pharmacists and pharmacies licensed in

Wisconsin, and patients prescribed a drug product equivalent.
Comparison With Federal Regulations

There is no existing or proposed federal regulation for
summary and comparison.
Statutory Authority

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 450.02 (3) (d) and
(e), Stats.
Staff Time Required To Develop The Proposed Rule

Estimate the amount of state employee time and any other
resources will be necessary to develop the rule.

100 hours.

Workforce Development

Subject
Wisconsin Works.

Policy Analysis
The proposed rules will make changes to the Wisconsin

Works (W−2) program affecting (1) job access loans; and (2)
temporary absence of the child from the home due to child
welfare issues.

Job access loans. Section 49.147 (6), Stats., provides that
an individual is eligible to receive a job access loan if, in
addition to meeting W−2 eligibility requirements, all of the
following conditions are met: 1) the individual needs the loan
to address an immediate and discrete financial crisis; 2) the
individual needs the loan to obtain or continue employment,
including a loan needed to repair or purchase a vehicle that is
needed to obtain or continue employment; 3) the individual is
not in default on any previous job access loan or repayment
of any W−2 overpayments; and 4) the individual is not a
migrant worker.

The current rules on job access loans provides that W−2
agencies shall issue a job access loan to an eligible individual
in an amount not less than $25 and not more than $1600 in any
12−month period. The maximum allowable amount for all
loans and the maximum outstanding balance for each
individual receiving a job access loan is $1600.

The proposed rules will increase the maximum allowable
job access loan amount in any 12−month period and the
maximum outstanding balance for each individual receiving
a job access loan to $2500 if the loan will be used to purchase
a vehicle that is needed to obtain or continue employment.
The maximum loan amount and outstanding balance will
remain at $1600 in all other cases.

Temporary absence of the child due to child welfare issues.
Section 49.145 (2), Stats., provides that an individual is
eligible for a W−2 employment position and a job access loan
in a month only if all nonfinancial eligibility requirements are
met, including that the individual is a custodial parent.  Under
the current s. DWD 12.10, a dependent child may be absent
from the custodial parent’s home but still be considered under
the care of the custodial parent if: (a) The dependent child will
not be or has not been continuously absent for more than 3
months and the child is expected to return to the custodial
parent’s home; (b) The absence is not the result of removal of
a child under a dispositional order issued under s. 48.355,
Stats., which places custody of a child outside the home for an
indefinite period or a period of 3 months or more; and (c) The
custodial parent continues to exercise responsibility for the
care and control of the child.

The proposed rules will allow a case by case exception to
the 3−month limit on temporary absence of a child when the
absence is due to child welfare issues. This change will
support service integration between W−2 and child welfare
and help stabilize and support families for reunification with
their children.
Statutory Authority

Sections 49.147 (6) (b) and 227.11 (2), Stats.
Entities That May Be Affected By The Proposed Rules

W−2 agencies, job access loan recipients, W−2 families
with child welfare issues.
Comparison With Federal Regulations

42 USC 608 (10) requires denial of assistance for a minor
child who has been, or is expected by a parent to be absent
from the home for a period of 45 consecutive days, or at the
option of the State., such period of not less than 30 and not
more than 180 consecutive days as the State may provide for
the State plan. The State may establish good cause exceptions
to this provision as it considers appropriate.

There are no comparable federal requirements relating to
job access loans.
Staff Time Required To Develop The Proposed Rule

100 hours.
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Submittal of rules to legislative council clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

On April 13, 2007 the Department of Agriculture, Trade
and Consumer Protection submitted proposed rules to the
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The rules affect chs. ATCP 60, 69, 70, 71, 75, 77, 80, 81,
82 and 85, relating to food and dairy license and
reinspection fees.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

The department will hold public hearings on this rule
after the Rules Clearinghouse completes its review.  The
department’s Division of Food Safety is primarily
responsible for this rule.
Contact Person

If you have questions, you may contact Tom Leitzke at
608−224−4711.

Commerce

On April 6, 2007 the Department of Commerce
submitted proposed rules to the Wisconsin Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The rules affect ch. Comm 47, relating to usual and
customary cost schedule for Petroleum Environmental
cleanup Fund awards.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

The Environmental and Regulatory Services Division is
responsible for the promulgation of rules.  A public hearing
is not required.
Contact Person

Sam Rockweiler, Code Development Consultant
(608) 266−0797
srockweiler@commerce.state.wi.us

Natural Resources

On April 12, 2007, the Department of Natural Resources
submitted proposed rules to the Wisconsin Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The proposed rule affects chs. NR 10, 12 and 16, relating
to hunting, nuisance wild animal removal and captive
wildlife.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing on the proposed rule is scheduled for
May 15, 2007.

The Bureau of Wildlife Management is primarily
responsible for the promulgation of the proposed rule.

Contact Person
If you have questions, please contact:
Scott Loomans
Bureau of Wildlife Management
Telephone (608) 267−2452

Natural Resources

On April 12, 2007, the Department of Natural Resources
submitted proposed rules to the Wisconsin Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The proposed rule affects ch. NR 140, relating to
groundwater quality standards for Alachlor−ESA.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearings on the proposed rule is scheduled for
May 11, 2007.

The Bureau of Drinking Water and Groundwater is
primarily responsible for the promulgation of the proposed
rule.
Contact Person

If you have questions, please contact:
William Phelps
Bureau of Drinking Water and Groundwater
Telephone (608) 267−7619

Natural Resources

On April 12, 2007, the Department of Natural Resources
submitted proposed rules to the Wisconsin Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The proposed rule affects chs. NR 440 and 446, relating
to adoption of federal emission standards for mercury and
additional mercury emission reductions.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

Public hearings on the proposed rule are scheduled for
May 15, 17, 22 and 23, 2007.

The Bureau of Air Management is primarily responsible
for the promulgation of the proposed rule.
Contact Person

If you have questions, please contact:
Jon Heinrich
Bureau of air Management
Telephone (608) 267−7547

Regulation and Licensing

On April 4, 2007, the Department of Regulation and
Licensing submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.
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Analysis
Statutory Authority:  s. 227.11 (2), Stats., and

subchapter VI of ch. 440, Stats., as created by 2005
Wisconsin Act 25, renumbered by 2005 Wisconsin Act
254, and amended by 2005 Wisconsin Act 407.

The proposed rule−making order relates to substance
abuse professionals.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held sometime
in late May, 2007.
Contact Person

Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Office of Legal Counsel,
(608) 266−0495.

Pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us

Revenue

On April 11, 2007, the Wisconsin Department of
Revenue submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The proposed rule amends s. Tax 8.24, relating to
reciprocal interstate shipments of wine.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing on the proposed rule will be scheduled.
The Office of the Secretary is primarily responsible for

the promulgation of the proposed rule.
Contact Person

If you have questions, please contact:
Dale Kleven
Income, Sales and Excise Tax Division
Telephone (608) 266−8253
E−mail  dkleven@dor.state.wi.us

Workforce Development
Rule Submittal Date

On April 16, 2007, the Department of Workforce

Development submitted proposed rules to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

Statutory authority: Sections 108.02 (26), 108.14 (2),
108.015, and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.

The proposed rules affect Chapter DWD 123, relating to
unemployment insurance benefit reports filed by
employers.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on May 30,
2007. The organizational unit responsible for the
promulgation of the proposed rules is the DWD
Unemployment Insurance Division.
Contact Information

Elaine Pridgen
Telephone: (608) 267−9403
Email: elaine.pridgen@dwd.state.wi.us

Workforce Development
Rule Submittal Date

On April 16, 2007, the Department of Workforce
Development submitted proposed rules to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

Statutory authority: Sections 108.02 (26), 108.14 (2),
108.015, and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.

The proposed rules affect Chapter DWD 130, relating to
wages for unemployment insurance benefit purposes.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on May 30,
2007. The organizational unit responsible for the
promulgation of the proposed rules is the DWD
Unemployment Insurance Division.
Contact Information

Elaine Pridgen
Telephone: (608) 267−9403
Email: elaine.pridgen@dwd.state.wi.us
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Rule−making notices

Notice of Hearings
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

[CR 07−037]
The state of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade

and Consumer Protection (DATCP) announces that it will
hold public hearings on proposed amendments to chapters
ATCP 60, 69, 70, 71, 75, 77, 80, 81, 82 and 85, Wis. Adm.
Code, relating to food and dairy license and reinspection fees.

DATCP will hold three public hearings at the times and
places shown below.  DATCP invites the public to attend the
hearings and comment on the proposed rule.  Following the
public hearings, the hearing record will remain open until
Monday, June 11, 2007, for additional written comments.
Comments may be sent to the Division of Food Safety at the
address below, by email to
debbie.mazanec@datcp.state.wi.us, or online by using the
State of Wisconsin’s Administrative Rules website at:
https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home.

You may obtain a free copy of this rule by contacting the
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection, Division of Food Safety, 2811 Agriculture Drive,
P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708.  You can also obtain a
copy by calling (608) 224−4712 or emailing
debbie.mazanec@datcp.state.wi.us.  Copies will also be
available at the hearings.  To view the proposed rule online,
go to the State of Wisconsin’s Administrative Rules website
at:

https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home.
To provide comments or concerns relating to small

business, please contact DATCP’s small business regulatory
coordinator Keeley Moll at the address above, by emailing to
Keeley.Moll@datcp.state.wi.us or by telephone at (608)
224−5039.

Hearing impaired persons may request an interpreter for
these hearings.  Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by May 9, 2007, by writing to Deb Mazanec,
Division of Food Safety, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI
53708−8911, telephone (608) 224−4712.  Alternatively, you
may contact the DATCP TDD at (608) 224−5058.  Handicap
access is available at the hearings.

Hearing Dates and Locations:

Tuesday, May 15, 2007

10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

State of Wisconsin Office Building, Room 105

718 W. Clairemont Avenue
Eau Claire, WI 54701

Wednesday, May 16, 2007
10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Appleton Public Library, Room C

225 N. Oneida Street
Appleton, WI 54911

Tuesday, May 22, 2007
10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection

2811 Agriculture Drive, Board Room (CR−106)

Madison, Wisconsin, 53718−6777

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection

The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection (“DATCP”) administers Wisconsin’s dairy and
food safety program.  The program is funded, in major part,
by dairy and food license fees.  This rule increases current
license fees in order to address an imminent deficit in the food
safety program revenue account.

Statutory Authority

Statutory authority:  93.07 (1), 93.09 (10), 93.12 (7), 97.17
(4), 97.175 (2), 97.20 (2c) (b), (2g) (b), (2n) (b), (2w) and (4),
97.21 (4m) and (6), 97.22 (2) (b), (4) (am) and (8), 97.27 (3m)
and (5), 97.29 (3) (am), (cm) and (5), 97.30 (3m) and (5), and
98.146 (4), Stats.

Statutes interpreted:  93.09, 93.12, 97.17, 97.175, 97.20,
97.21, 97.22, 97.27, 97.29, 97.30 and 98.146 (4), Stats.

DATCP has broad authority, under s. 93.07(1), Stats., to
adopt rules needed to implement laws under its jurisdiction.
DATCP also has specific authority, under the provisions cited
above, to establish dairy and food license and reinspection
fees.

Rule Content
This rule increases current license and reinspection fees for dairy and food businesses, as shown below.  DATCP plans to adopt

and publish this rule before May 1, 2008, but fee increases will first apply to fees that are due on July 1, 2008.
Entity Current Fee(s) Proposed Fee(s)
Dairy Farm $24 annual license fee (paid $32 

  by dairy plant operator)
$24 or $48 reinspection fee $32 or $64
  (paid by dairy plant operator
  if reinspection is required)

Dairy Plant Annual license fee (calculations include an increase in the basic license fee from $96 to $129):
$699 or $879 for grade A $937 or $1,178
  processing plant (based on size)
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$397 for grade A receiving station $532

$96 for grade A transfer station $129

$96 to $421 for grade B processing $129 or $565

  plant (based on size)

$96 for grade B receiving station $129

  or transfer station

Grade A milk procurement fee:

  0.96 cent per 100 lbs. 1.081 cent per 100 lbs. (for payments due beginning July 1, 2008)

Grade B milk procurement fee:

  0.2 cent per 100 lbs. No change

Reinspection fee:

$203 or $246 for grade A $336 or $394

  processing plant

$221 for grade B processing plant $360

$122 for grade A receiving station $229

$48 for grade B receiving station $64

  or transfer station

Butter and cheese grading fee:

1.09 cents per 100 lbs. 1.5 cents per 100 lbs.

  of product   of product

Food Processing Plant $78−$685 annual license fee $105 − $918

(based on size and type)

$261 canning surcharge for canning $350

  plants with annual production of

   25,000 or more

$49−$431 reinspection fee $66 − $578

  (based on size and type)

Food Warehouse $65−$261 annual license fee $87−$350

  (based on size and type)
$92−$246 reinspection fee $123 − $330

  (based on size and type)

Milk Distributor $60 annual license fee $80

  per facility

$25 reinspection fee $34

  per facility

Retail Food Store $37−$562 annual license fee $50−$753

  based on size and type)

$74−$369 reinspection fee $99 − $494

  (based on size and type)

Dairy, Food or Water

Testing Lab $336 annual lab certification fee $450

  for each dairy or food test (other

  than milk drug residue screening)

$276 annual lab certification fee for $370

  each water test

$25 annual certification fee for each $34

  dairy or food analyst (other than milk

  drug residue screening analyst)

$50−$500 initial fee and $25−$50 $67−$670 initial fee

  annual renewal fee for lab
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  performing milk   $34−$67 annual renewal fee

  drug residue screening

$25 initial evaluation fee for milk drug   $34

  residue screening analysts

  (if more than 3 per lab)

Bulk Milk $36 annual bulk milk tanker license fee  $48

Tanker $36 bulk milk tanker reinspection fee   $48

$48 bulk milk weigher & sampler license $64

  fee (2−year license)

$48 bulk milk weigher and sampler   $64

  reinspection fee

Buttermaker or $60 license fee (2−year license)   $80

Cheesemaker

Butter or Cheese $60 license fee (2−year license)   $80

Grader
This rule does not affect any of the following:

� Fees that DATCP charges for certain services, such as
review of food processing equipment plans, or the testing,
timing and sealing of pasteurizers.  DATCP is authorized to
charge fees for such services in order to cover its cost of
providing the services.  DATCP may adjust these service fees
by written notice, in order to keep fees consistent with service
costs.

� License fees for milk and cream testers.  DATCP is not
authorized to adjust these fees by rule.  Milk and cream testers
currently pay a license fee of $50 (for a 2−year license) and a
reinspection fee of $25.

� License fees for meat establishments.  Meat inspection
programs are funded by a combination of federal dollars and
matching state GPR dollars.  Under federal law, states must
match federal dollars with state GPR dollars, not license fees.

Fiscal Estimate

State Fiscal Effect
This rule will increase food safety program revenues by

approximately $994,000 per year, beginning in FY 2008.  The
increase is needed to offset a projected deficit in DATCP’s
food safety program revenue account beginning in FY 2007.
A complete fiscal estimate is attached.

Wisconsin’s food safety program is funded by a
combination of general tax dollars (GPR) and program
revenue from license fees (PR).  In 1991, license fees funded
about 40% of program costs.  The 1995−97 biennial budget
act reduced the GPR funding share, so that PR funded about
50% of program costs.  Subsequent state budgets further
reduced the GPR funding share, so that PR now funds about
60% of the food safety budget.

Recent state budgets have lapsed a substantial amount of
food safety license fee revenue to the state general fund (to
help remedy state budget deficits).  At the same time, DATCP
has experienced a modest increase in operating costs.  DATCP
proposed a license fee increase in 2005, but was forced to
withdraw a large share of that fee increase proposal.  As a
result, DATCP projects a substantial food safety budget
deficit beginning in FY 2007.

DATCP is working to deliver effective food safety
protection as efficiently as possible.  For example:

DATCP has reduced its food and dairy staff by
approximately 17% since 1990 (from 118 to 98 staff).
Staffing trends fairly reflect changes in the food and dairy

industry, including a reduction in dairy farm numbers and
increased delegation of retail food regulation to cooperating
local governments.  While food safety staffing needs have
declined in some traditional areas, they are growing in other
areas.

DATCP works with local governments to license and
inspect retail food establishments.  Thirty−four local entities
license and inspect on behalf of DATCP, compared to 15 in
1997 (local participation is voluntary).  Local entities now
license and inspect 4,600 retail food establishments.  DATCP
licenses and inspects the remaining 4,200 establishments.

DATCP is working to reform national dairy regulations,
which impose rigid Grade A inspection frequency
requirements.  DATCP is pursuing a more flexible, risk−based
inspection system that could reduce inspection costs.  In the
meantime, Wisconsin must comply with current inspection
mandates in order to ship milk and fluid milk products in
interstate commerce.

� DATCP and the Wisconsin Department of Health and
Family Services (DHFS) have eliminated duplicate licensing
and inspection of grocery stores, restaurants, and combination
grocery−restaurants.  DATCP and DHFS have adopted
uniform rules for grocery stores and restaurants, based on the
federal Model Food Code.

Local Fiscal Effect

DATCP currently provides administrative support to local
governments that license and inspect retail food
establishments as agents of DATCP.  Local governments
establish their own license fees, and reimburse DATCP for
administrative services costs.  The reimbursement amount
equals 10% of the license fees that DATCP would charge local
license holders, if DATCP licensed them directly.  An increase
in DATCP license fees therefore increases local
reimbursement payments (current payments do not fully
compensate DATCP for its costs).

In FY 2006, local governments made a total of $58,000 in
reimbursement payments.  If DATCP adopts the fee increases
proposed in this rule, the reimbursement rate will remain at
10%, but the total reimbursement amount will increase to
approximately $76,500.  This rule thus increases local costs
by approximately $18,500 (statewide total).  Local
governments can (and likely will) pass this increased cost on
to retail food businesses.  Local governments can set license
fees to recover up to 100% of their reasonable operating costs.

Business Impact
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This rule affects all milk producers, dairy plants, food
processing plants, food warehouses, milk distributors, retail
food stores, dairy and food testing laboratories, milk haulers,
buttermakers, cheesemakers, and butter and cheese graders
licensed by the department.  Many of these businesses are
“small businesses” as defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats.

This rule increases annual license fees, reinspection fees
and milk procurement fees, beginning with fees that are due
in July, 2008.  This will increase overall dairy and food
industry costs by a combined total of approximately $994,000
per year.  Costs for individual businesses will depend on
business size and type.  Because of competitive market
conditions, it may be difficult for affected businesses to
increase prices to recover these costs.

The proposed fee increases will have a significant but not
dramatic impact on affected businesses.  In the multi−billion
dollar dairy and food industries, license fees comprise a
relatively small overall share of industry costs.  DATCP has
worked to maintain a fair and equitable license fee schedule.

Fees are based on actual food safety costs related to each
license sector.  Fees are also based on business size, food
product type, and type of food handling operations.  Smaller
businesses generally pay lower fees than large businesses, and
lower−risk businesses generally pay lower fees than
higher−risk businesses.

This rule increases food safety license fees, but does not
change other license requirements.  This rule requires no

additional recordkeeping, and no added professional services
to comply.   A Business Impact Analysis is attached.

DATCP has not incorporated a small business enforcement
policy in this rule, but has adopted a separate rule on that
subject (see subch. VII of ch. ATCP 1).  DATCP will seek
voluntary compliance.  However, food and dairy businesses
must pay required license fees in order to obtain a license from
DATCP.

Federal Regulation
There are no existing or proposed federal regulations

related to license fees for food and dairy businesses operating
in Wisconsin.  However, national regulations such as the
Interstate Pasteurized Milk Ordinance (“PMO”) have a
significant impact on state program costs.  The PMO includes
rigid inspection frequency requirements for grade A dairy
farms and other grade A dairy operations.  Wisconsin must
comply with the PMO in order to ship milk and fluid milk
products in interstate commerce.

Surrounding State Programs
All of the surrounding states charge license fees to food and

dairy businesses.  License structure and fees vary between
states.  Differences in license fees are partly related to
differences in general tax dollar support for food and dairy
programs in different states.

Minnesota
Minnesota has a license and fee structure that is similar to,

but not identical to, Wisconsin’s structure:

Dairy Fees – Minnesota
Grade A pasteurizing plant $500
Grade A farm $50
Grade A farm reinspection fee $45
Manufacturing plant $140 per pasteurizer unit
Manufactured farm $25
Manufactured farm reinspection fee $45
Processor assessment $.07 per cwt for fluid milk products sold for retail

sale in Minnesota
Farm bulk milk pick−up tanker $25
Milk procurement fee $.0071 per cwt of raw milk purchased

Food Fees – Minnesota
Retail food handler $50−$2,001 based on sales volume
Wholesale food handler $57−$1,502 based on sales volume
Food broker $150
Wholesale food processor or manufacturer $169−$2,571 based on sales volume

Michigan
Michigan has a license and fee structure that is similar to, but not identical to, Wisconsin’s structure:

Dairy fees – Michigan
Milk plant $175
Farms sending milk to plant $5−$10
Receiving or transfer station $50
Milk tank truck cleaning facility $50
Milk transportation company $20
Milk tank truck $10
Grade A milk distributor $50
Single service container and closure plant $50
Bulk milk hauler/sampler $40 for 2 years

Food Fees – Michigan
Retail food establishment $70
Limited wholesale food processor $70
Food warehouse $70
Extended retail food establishment $175
Wholesale food processor $175
Mobile food establishment $175
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Temporary food establishment $28
Bottled water manufacturer $25 for each product registered and $25 for each

water dispensing machine
Iowa
Iowa has a license and fee structure that is similar to, but not identical to, Wisconsin’s structure:

Dairy Fees – Iowa
Milk plant $2,000 for 2 years
Transfer station $400 for 2 years
Receiving station $400 for 2 years
Milk hauler $20 for 2 years
Milk grader $20 for 2 years
Bulk milk tanker permit $50 for 2 years
Reinspection fee $40
Resealing pasteurizer fee $100 per reseal
Purchaser of milk fee − Grade A $.015 per cwt of raw milk purchased
Purchaser of milk fee − Grade B $.005 per cwt of raw milk purchased

Food Fees – Iowa
Mobile food unit or pushcart $20
Temporary food establishment $25
Food establishment $30−$225 based on sales volume*
Food service establishment $50−$225 based on sales volume*
Food processing plant $50−$250 based on sales volume
Egg handler $15−$250 based on cases sold

*If one establishment must hold both a food establishment and a food service establishment license, each license fee is 75% of the established fee.

Illinois

Illinois has a license and fee structure that is substantially different from the Wisconsin structure:

Dairy Fees – Illinois
Milk plant permit $100
Receiving or transfer station $50
Cleaning and sanitizing facility $50
Milk hauler−sampler $25
Milk tank truck $25
Certified pasteurizer sealer $100

Illinois does not license or charge fees to non−dairy food establishments, except that Illinois charges the following fees to the
following establishments:

Food Fees
Salvage Operator $100 plus inspection fee based on size
Bottled water manufacturer or distributor $150
Egg handlers, distributors and breakers $15−$200 plus inspection fee per case of eggs sold

Notice of Hearings

Natural Resources

(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—)

[CR 07−035]

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN THAT pursuant to ss.
29.014 and 227.11, Stats., interpreting s. 29.014, Stats., the
Department of Natural Resources will hold a public hearing
on revisions to chs. NR 10, 12 and 16, Wis. Adm. Code,
relating to hunting, nuisance wild animal removal and captive
wildlife.  Annually the department updates administrative
code language to correct inconsistencies, update outdated
language and provide clarification where appropriate.  This
year, the department is proposing the following changes
related to hunting, nuisance wild animal removal and captive
wild animals:

Clarify that a disabled person is a person who holds a Class
A, B or C disabled permit.

Establish that the rabbit hunting season closes on the last
day in February rather than February 28

Correct a cross reference in the firearm deer hunting season
Update the fisher zone map which is based on the recently

updated Deer Management Zone Map
Relax bear carcass registration so that bear may be

registered at stations that are adjacent to highways that form
the boundary of the bear management zone in which it was
killed

Correct drafting errors in the rule that establishes small
game hunting in state parks

Clarify that landowners who are removing certain nuisance
wild animals are not subject to hunting or trapping seasons

Update cross references and terminology so that
Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection’s
animal diseases and movement rules and DNR’s captive
wildlife rules are consistent.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
s. 227.114, Stats., it is not anticipated that the proposed rule
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will have an economic impact on small businesses.  The
Department’s Small Business Regulatory Coordinator may be
contacted at SmallBusiness@dnr.state.wi.us or by calling
(608) 266−1959.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
Department has made a preliminary determination that this
action does not involve significant adverse environmental
effects and does not need an environmental analysis under ch.
NR 150, Wis. Adm. Code.  However, based on the comments
received, the Department may prepare an environmental
analysis before proceeding with the proposal.  This
environmental review document would summarize the
Department’s consideration of the impacts of the proposal and
reasonable alternatives.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the hearing
will be held on:

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 1:00 p.m.

Room 608, GEF #2 Office Building

101 S. Webster Street, Madison, WI

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
the Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of informational
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request.  Please
call Scott Loomans at (608) 267−2452 with specific
information on your request at least 10 days before the date of
the scheduled hearing.

Fiscal Estimate

There is no fiscal impact.

The proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be reviewed and
comments electronically submitted at the following Internet
site:  http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  Written comments on
the proposed rule may be submitted via U.S. mail to Mr. Scott
Loomans,  Bureau of Wildlife Management, P.O. Box 7921,
Madison, WI 53707.  Comments may be submitted until May
17, 2007.  Written comments whether submitted
electronically or by U.S. mail will have the same weight and
effect as oral statements presented at the public hearings.  A
personal copy of the proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be
obtained from Mr. Loomans.

Notice of Hearings
Natural Resources

(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—)

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN THAT pursuant to ss. 23.09
(2) (intro.), 23.091, 23.11 (1), 23.22 (2) (a) and (b) 6., 27.01
(2) (j), 29.041, 227.11 (2) (a) and 227.24 (1) (a), Stats.,
interpreting ss. 23.09 (2) (intro.), 23.22 (2) (a), 29.014 (1),
29.041 and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., the Department of Natural
Resources will hold public hearings on Natural Resources
Board Emergency Order No. FH−22−07(E) which revises
chs. NR 19 and 20, Wis. Adm. Code, pertaining to control of
fish diseases and invasive species.  This emergency order took
effect on April 7, 2007.  Viral hemorrhagic septicemia (VHS)
virus is present in the Great Lakes, but not yet in inland waters
of Wisconsin.  This rule will aid the Department in controlling
the spread of VHS virus in the following ways:

1.  It prohibits the possession on the water and use of live
fish, fish eggs, crayfish or frogs from outside Wisconsin,
except minnows imported in compliance with U.S.

Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health
Inspection Service (USDA APHIS) and Wisconsin
Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
(DATCP) import and health requirements.

2.  It prohibits the possession on the water and use of dead
bait, except used on Lake Michigan or on the water the bait
originated from, or when preserved in a way that would kill
VHS virus.

3.  It prohibits the transportation of live fish or fish eggs
from waters of the Great Lakes or the Mississippi River
drainage, except 1) fish being exported in compliance with
USDA APHIS regulations and orders; b) fish or fish eggs
tested and found to be free of VHS virus; and c) fish or fish
eggs transported with the prior written approval of the
Department.

4.  It requires all boaters to drain water from bilges, ballast,
buckets and live wells immediately after leaving waters of the
Great Lakes or of the Mississippi River drainage, unless
exempted in writing by the Department.

5.  It allows the Department to deny permits for the use of
non−standard minnow gear to prevent the spread of invasive
species or diseases.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
hearings will be held on:

Thursday, May 3, 2007 at 5:00 p.m.

Lower Level Auditorium, La Crosse Public Library

800 Main Street

La Crosse

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 5:00 p.m.

Council Chambers, Ashland City Hall

601 Main Street West

Ashland

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 5:00 p.m.

Rooms 140 and 141, DNR Southeast Region Hdqrs.

2300 N. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Dr.

Milwaukee

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
the Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of informational
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request.  Please
call Bill Horns at (608) 266−8782 with specific information
on your request at least 10 days before the date of the
scheduled hearing.

The emergency rule and fiscal estimate may be reviewed
and comments electronically submitted at the following
Internet site:  http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  Written
comments on the proposed rule may be submitted via U.S.
mail to Mr. Bill Horns, Bureau of Fisheries Management and
Habitat Protection, P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707.
Comments may be submitted until May 28, 2007.  Written
comments whether submitted electronically or by U.S. mail
will have the same weight and effect as oral statements
presented at the public hearings.  A personal copy of the
emergency rule and fiscal estimate may be obtained from Mr.
Horns.
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Notice of Hearing
Natural Resources

(Environmental Protection−General, Chs. NR
100—)

[CR 07−034]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ch. 160 and

ss. 281.12 (1), 281.15 and 281.19 (1), Stats., interpreting ch.
160 and ss. 281.12 (1), 281.15, 281.19 (1) and 299.11, Stats.,
the Department of Natural Resources will hold a public
hearing on the amendment of s. NR 140.10 Table 1, Wis.
Adm. Code, relating groundwater quality standards for
Alachlor−ESA.  Alachlor−ESA (Alachlor ethane sulfonic
acid) is a degradation product of the herbicide Alachlor that
has been found extensively in Wisconsin groundwater.  In
accordance with ch. 160, Stats., the Department is required to
propose rules establishing the recommendations from the
Department of Health and Family Services as groundwater
quality standards in ch. NR 140.  The Department of Health
and Family Services has recommended an enforcement
standard of 20 mg/L for Alachlor−ESA.  A concentration of
20 mg/L has been used as in interim health advisory level for
Alachlor−ESA in Wisconsin since 1993.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
s. 227.114, Stats., it is not anticipated that the proposed rule
will have an economic impact on small businesses.  The
Department’s Small Business Regulatory Coordinator may be
contacted at SmallBusiness@dnr.state.wi.us or by calling
(608) 266−1959.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
Department has made a preliminary determination that this
action does not involve significant adverse environmental
effects and does not need an environmental analysis under ch.
NR 150, Wis. Adm. Code.  However, based on the comments
received, the Department may prepare an environmental
analysis before proceeding with the proposal.  This
environmental review document would summarize the
Department’s consideration of the impacts of the proposal and
reasonable alternatives.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the hearing
will be held on:

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 11:00 a.m.

Room 511, GEF #2 Office Building

101 S. Webster Street

Madison, WI

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
the Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of informational
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request.  Please
call William Phelps at (608) 267−7619 with specific
information on your request at least 10 days before the date of
the scheduled hearing.

Fiscal Impact

Although additional monitoring costs may be imposed
upon the state or local government entities that are within the
regulated community, the extent of such monitoring and any
costs associated with it−−while too speculative to quantify at
this time−−are not expected to be significant.   Thus, the
Department believes it is unlikely that there will be additional

costs to state and local governments resulting from adopting
these groundwater standards.

The proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be reviewed and
comments electronically submitted at the following Internet
site:  http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  Written comments on
the proposed rule may be submitted via U.S. mail to Mr.
William Phelps, Bureau of Drinking Water and Groundwater,
P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707.  Comments may be
submitted until May 18, 2007.  Written comments whether
submitted electronically or by U.S. mail will have the same
weight and effect as oral statements presented at the public
hearings.  A personal copy of the proposed rule and fiscal
estimate may be obtained from Mr. Phelps.

Notice of Hearings
Natural Resources

(Environmental Protection − Air Pollution
Control − Chs. NR 400—)

[CR 07−036]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 227.11

(2) (a), 227.14 (1m) and 285.11 (1) and (6), Stats., interpreting
ss. 285.11 (6), Stats., the Department of Natural Resources
will hold public hearings on revisions to chs. NR 440 and 446,
Wis. Adm. Code, relating to the establishment of provisions
for major electric generating units in Wisconsin to comply
with the Clean Air Mercury Rule promulgated by the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).  The State
Implementation Plan developed under s. 285.11 (6), Stats., is
also being revised.

Proposed revisions to ch. NR 440 adopt the federal New
Source Performance Standards (NSPS) for mercury emission
controls at coal−fired electric utility steam generating units
that are constructed or reconstructed after January 30, 2004.
Proposed revisions to ch. NR 446 repeal certain existing
provisions and create new provisions to require each utility
with coal−fired electrical generating units affected by the
federal Clean Air Mercury Rule to meet an annual mercury
emission cap.  There are currently 48 such units in Wisconsin,
operated by eight utilities.

The Clean Air Mercury Rule is a federal regulation
promulgated by the EPA to reduce mercury emissions from
new and existing coal−fired electrical generating units
through a declining cap on mercury emissions in two phases.
An initial reduction phase begins in 2010 and a second phase
starts in 2018.  The mercury caps were established by EPA and
are expressed as annual state emission budgets that will not
increase even if there are new coal−fired electrical generating
units put into operation in the state.  Wisconsin’s budget
during the first phase (2010 to 2017) is 1,780 pounds of
mercury per year that declines to 702 pounds of mercury per
year in the second phase (2018 and thereafter).  The rule
revisions being proposed do not include provisions allowing
participation in EPA’s national mercury emission trading
program developed as an option for states to meet their
emission budgets.

In these revisions, mercury emission caps are established
for each electric utility in Wisconsin that owns or operates a
coal−fired electrical generating unit affected by the federal
rule.  Beginning January 1, 2010, and every year thereafter,
owners and operators of affected units must hold enough
mercury emission allowances to equal or exceed calendar
mercury emissions from their affected units.  Owners and
operators will be required to maintain annual records of the
mercury emissions and held mercury allowances.  A
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compliance report for the previous year is required to be
submitted to the Department annually by March 1st.

Mercury emission caps are established for each electric
utility system by summing unit specific mercury allowance
allocations from a main allocation pool (for existing affected
units) and a new unit set−aside (for new affected units). For
the purpose of allowance allocation, a unit is considered new
if it commenced operation after January 1, 2001.  From 2010
to 2017, 95% of the state phase 1 emission budget of 1,780
pounds would be allocated to existing units in ounces of
mercury (27,056 ounces).  After 2018, 95% of the 702 pound
per hour state phase 2 emission budgets would be allocated to
affected units (10,670 ounces).  The portion of the state
emission budget remaining would be placed in a new unit
set−aside accessible by owners and operators by request.  For
2010 through 2017 the new unit set−aside is 1,424 ounces (89
pounds) and beginning in 2018 and thereafter 562 ounces (35
pounds).  The new unit set−aside is 5% of the total state
emission budget.

Within 60 days of the effective date of this rule the
Department will notify owners and operators of the annual
mercury allowance allocation from the main allocation pool
for each of their affected units for 2010, 2011 and 2012.
Beginning in 2009 and thereafter written notifications by
October 31st would be provided of the Department’s
determination of mercury allowance allocations from the
main allocation pool for the year four years in the future.  The
new unit set−aside allocations are available upon request.
Annually, written notifications of new unit set−aside
allocations will be provided by June 30th for those requests
received by May 1st.  Any mercury allowances remaining in
the new unit set−aside that are not allocated in a given year
would be retired.  Within 45 days of providing written
notifications for allocations from the main allocation poll or
new unit set−aside the Department would issue administrative
orders to owners and operators receiving allocations.

These proposed revisions also include a provision that
requires the Department to adopt rules by June 30, 2010, that
would require all coal−fired electrical steam generating units
affected by the CAMR to reduce their mercury emissions by
90% by January 1, 2020.

The above proposed provisions are hereinafter referred to
as “Option 1.”  Option 1 is the Department’s primary proposal
and is the only alternative that has been fully developed with
specific rule language.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
Department is also seeking comment on three alternative
approaches (hereinafter referred to as “Option 2,”  “Option 3,”
and “Option 4”)  for reducing mercury emissions from
coal−fired electrical steam generating units. Additional
information on these options is available at
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  (Search this Web site using
the Natural Resources Board Order Number AM−32−05.)
The first alternative approach (“Option 2”) would require all
coal burning electrical generating units to achieve a 90 to 95%
reduction in mercury emissions by January 1, 2012.  This
alternative was proposed to the Department in a Citizen
Petition received on January 22, 2007, and requires more
mercury emission reductions from coal−fired electrical steam
generating units to be achieved sooner than proposed in
AM−32−05.  Another alternative approach (“Option 3”)
would allow the mercury emission reductions outlined in
AM−32−05 to be achieved through EPA’s national mercury
emission trading program.  Under this compliance approach,
Wisconsin electric utilities could obtain or sell mercury
allowances nationwide.  A final alternative approach (Option
4”) would allow participation in EPA’s national mercury

emission trading as in Option 3, however participation would
sunset January 1, 2015.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
s. 227.114, Stats., it is not anticipated that the proposed rule
will have a direct economic impact on small businesses.  The
Clean Air Mercury Rule imposes no reporting, compliance or
performance standards on small businesses.  The Clean Air
Mercury Rule may increase the cost of electricity and
therefore may have an indirect impact on small businesses
through higher electricity costs.  The Department’s Small
Business Regulatory Coordinator may be contacted at
Small.Business@wi.gov or by calling (608) 266−1959.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
Department has made a preliminary determination that this
action does not involve significant adverse environmental
effects and does not need an environmental analysis under ch.
NR 150, Wis. Adm. Code.  However, based on the comments
received, the Department may prepare an environmental
analysis before proceeding with the proposal.  This
environmental review document would summarize the
Department’s consideration of the impacts of the proposal and
reasonable alternatives.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the public
hearings will be held on:

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 1:30 p.m.
Green Bay State Office Building, Room 152−A
200 N. Jefferson St.
Green Bay, WI

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 1:30 p.m.
Portage County Annex Building, Conference Room 2
1462 Strongs Avenue
Stevens Point, WI

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 1:30 p.m.
DNR Office Building, Front Conference Room
1300 W. Clairemont Ave.
Eau Claire, WI

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 1:30 p.m.
Room 041 (DPI’s room in GEF III), 125 S. Webster St.
Madison, WI

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 1:30 p.m.
DNR SER HQ, Room 141
2300 N. Martin Luther King Jr. Dr.
Milwaukee, WI

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
the Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of informational
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request.  Please
contact Robert Eckdale at (608) 266−2856 or by e−mail at
Robert.Eckdale@Wisconsin.gov with specific information
on your request at least 10 days before the date of the
scheduled hearing.The proposed rule and supporting
documents, including the fiscal estimate, may be viewed and
downloaded and comments electronically submitted at the
following Internet site:  http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.
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(Search this Web site using the Natural Resources Board
Order Number AM−32−05.)  If you do not have Internet
access, a personal copy of proposed rule and supporting
documents, including the fiscal estimate may be obtained
from Robert Eckdale by calling (608) 266−2856 or by writing
him at Bureau of Air Management, P.O. Box 7921, Madison,
WI 53707.

Written comments on the proposed rule may also be
submitted to Robert Eckdale, Bureau of Air Management,
P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707 or by e−mail to
Robert.Eckdale@Wisconsin.gov no later than June 11, 2007.
Written comments will have the same weight and effect as
oral statements presented at the public hearings.

Notice of Hearing
Regulation and Licensing

[CR 07−031]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority

vested in the Department of Regulation and Licensing in s.
227.11 (2), Stats., and subchapter VII of ch. 440, Stats., as
created by 2005 Wisconsin Act 25, renumbered by 2005
Wisconsin Act 254, and amended by 2005 Wisconsin Act 407,
and interpreting s. 440.88, Stats., the Department of
Regulation and Licensing will hold a public hearing at the
time and place indicated below to consider an order to create
chs. RL 164, 161, 162, 163, 166, 167 and 168, relating to
substance abuse professionals.

Hearing Date, Time and Location

Date: May 22, 2007

Time: 9:15 A.M.

Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue

(Enter at 55 North Dickinson Street)

Room 121A

Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing

Interested persons are invited to present information at the
hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Legal Counsel, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708.  Written comments must be received by June 1, 2007,
to be included in the record of rule−making proceedings.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing

Statutes interpreted:  Section 440.88, Stats.

Statutory authority:  Section 227.11 (2), Stats., and
Subchapter VII of ch. 440, Stats., as created by 2005
Wisconsin Act 25, renumbered by 2005 Wisconsin Act 254,
and amended by 2005 Wisconsin Act 407.

Explanation of agency authority:  Subchapter VII of ch
440, Stats., was enacted on July 25, 2005.  It was amended by
Act 407 which was enacted on May 10, 2006.  Under subch.
VII of ch. 440, Stats., the Department of Regulation and
Licensing is required to promulgate rules relating to the
issuance and renewal of credentials, requirements for
certification, supervised practice, scope of practice, education
approval, grounds for discipline and professional liability
insurance.

Related statute or rule:  Wisconsin Administrative Code s.
MPSW 1.09 which relates to certification of social workers,
professional counselors and marriage and family therapists to
treat substance use disorder patients as a specialty.

Wisconsin Administrative Code ch. HFS 75 which relates
to the certification of substance use disorder treatment clinics
and programs.

Plain language analysis:  2005 Wisconsin Act 25 created
Subchapter VII of chapter 440, Stats., Substance Abuse
Counselors, Clinical Supervisors, and Prevention Specialists.
This Act transferred the certification and regulation of
Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse (AODA) counselors from the
Department of Health and Family Services to the Department
of Regulation and Licensing, effective 2006.  This proposed
rule−making order creates rules relating to definitions,
requirements for certification, supervised practice, scope of
practice, education approval, and professional liability
insurance for substance abuse professionals.

Chapter RL 160 is being created to include definitions of
terms that are used in subch. VII of ch. 440, Stats., and in chs.
RL 160 to 167.  The proposed rules include definitions for
“accredited,” “assessment,” “behavioral science field,”
“CEH,” “clinical substance abuse counselor,” “clinical
supervision,” “clinical supervisor,.” “clinical
supervisor−in−training,” “comprehensive program,” “core
functions,” “credential,” “department,” “DSM,” “hour,”
“independent clinical supervisor,” “intermediate clinical
supervisor,” “patient,” “practice dimensions,” “prevention,”
“prevention domains,” “prevention specialist,” “prevention
specialist−in−training,” “substance,” “substance abuse
counselor,” “substance abuse counselor−in−training,”
“substance use disorder” and “transdisciplinary foundations.”

Chapter RL 161 is being created to identify the
requirements and procedures for submitting applications for
licenses.

Chapter RL 162 is being created to identify the restrictions
and minimum requirements for supervision of counselors by
clinical supervisors.

Chapter 163 is being created to identify the scope and
restrictions on the practice of the credential holders.

Chapter RL 166 is being created to identify the approval
process and educational requirements for educational
coursework and continuing education opportunities.

Chapter RL 167 is being created to require credential
holders to have liability insurance in effect.

Chapter RL 168 is being created to identify the
requirements for continuing education.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulation:

There is no existing or proposed federal regulation that is
intended to address the activities to be regulated by this rule.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states:
Illinois:  § 20 ILCS 301/15−5.  Applicability. (a)  It is

unlawful for any person to provide treatment for alcoholism
and other drug abuse or dependency or to provide services as
specified in subsections (c), (d), (e), and (f) of Section 15−10
of this Act [20 ILCS 301/15−10] unless the person is licensed
to do so by the Department.  The performance of these
activities by any person in violation of this Act is declared to
be inimical to the public health and welfare, and to be a public
nuisance.  The Department may undertake such inspections
and investigations as it deems appropriate to determine
whether licensable activities are being conducted without the
requisite license.

(b)  Nothing in this Act shall be construed to require any
hospital, as defined by the Hospital Licensing Act [210 ILCS
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85/1 et seq.], required to have a license from the Department
of Public Health pursuant to the Hospital Licensing Act [210
ILCS 85/1 et seq.] to obtain any license under this Act for any
alcoholism and other drug dependency treatment services
operated on the licensed premises of the hospital, and
operated by the hospital or its designated agent, provided that
such services are covered within the scope of the Hospital
Licensing Act [210 ILCS 85/1 et seq.].  No person or facility
required to be licensed under this Act shall be required to
obtain a license pursuant to the Hospital Licensing Act [210
ILCS 85/1 et seq.] or the Child Care Act of 1969 [225 ILCS
10/1 et seq.].

(c)  Nothing in this Act shall be construed to require an
individual employee of a licensed program to be licensed
under this Act.

(d)  Nothing in this Act shall be construed to require any
private professional practice, whether by an individual
practitioner, by a partnership, or by a duly incorporated
professional service corporation, that provides outpatient
treatment for alcoholism and other drug abuse to be licensed
under this Act, provided that the treatment is rendered
personally by the professional in his own name and the
professional is authorized by individual professional
licensure or registration from the Department of Professional
Regulation to do such treatment unsupervised.  This
exemption shall not apply to such private professional
practice which specializes primarily or exclusively in the
treatment of alcoholism and other drug abuse.  This
exemption shall also not apply to intervention services,
research, or residential treatment services as defined in this
Act or by rule.  Notwithstanding any other provisions of this
subsection to the contrary, persons licensed to practice
medicine in all of its branches in Illinois shall not require
licensure under this Act unless their private professional
practice specializes exclusively in the treatment of alcoholism
and other drug abuse.

(e)  Nothing in this Act shall be construed to require any
employee assistance program operated by an employer or any
intervener program operated by a professional association to
obtain any license pursuant to this Act to perform services that
do not constitute licensable treatment or intervention as
defined in this Act

(f)  Before any violation of this Act is reported by the
Department or any of its agents to any State’s Attorney for the
institution of a criminal proceeding, the person against whom
such proceeding is contemplated shall be given appropriate
notice and an opportunity to present his views before the
Department or its designated agent, either orally or in writing,
in person or by an attorney, with regard to such contemplated
proceeding.  Nothing in this Act shall be construed as
requiring the Department to report minor violations of this
Act whenever the Department believes that the public interest
would be adequately served by a suitable written notice or
warning.

77 Ill. Adm. Code 2060.201 Types of Licenses.  Substance
abuse treatment and intervention services as specified in
Section 2060.101 of this Part shall be licensed by the
Department.  An organization may apply for an intervention
and a treatment license at the same facility and all services
authorized by both an intervention and a treatment license
shall be authorized by a single license issued to that facility.
Consistent with rules herein, services may be provided to
adults as well as adolescents.  The license certificate for the
facility shall specify all levels of care and a designation of
adult and/or adolescent services.  Individuals who are 16 and
17 may be admitted as adults and individuals who are 18, 19
and 20 may be admitted as adolescents provided that the

assessment of such individuals includes justification based on
the person’s behavior and life experience.

a)  Treatment.  A treatment license issued by the
Department may authorize substance abuse services as
established in the ASAM Patient Placement Criteria.  The
level of care and category (adolescent/adult) shall be specified
on the license application or, after licensure, on any
application to add an additional level of care and/or category
(adolescent/adult).

b)  Intervention.  An intervention license issued by the
Department may authorize the following services:

1)  DUI Evaluation.  Substance abuse evaluation services
for persons who are charged with driving under the influence
(DUI) offenses pursuant to the Illinois Vehicle Code [625
ILCS 5/11−501] or similar local ordinances that determine the
offender’s risk to public safety and make a subsequent
corresponding recommendation for intervention to the
Illinois courts or the Office of the Secretary of State.

2)  DUI Risk Education.  Substance abuse risk education
services for persons who are charged with driving under the
influence (DUI) offenses pursuant to the Illinois Vehicle Code
[625 ILCS 5/11−501] or similar local ordinances.

3)  Designated Program.  A program designated by the
Department to provide screening, assessment, referral and
tracking services pursuant to Article 40 of the Act.

4)  Recovery Homes.  Alcohol and drug free housing with
rules, peer−led groups, staff activities and/or other structured
operations which are directed toward maintenance of sobriety
for persons in early recovery from substance abuse or persons
who have completed substance abuse treatment services or
who may still be receiving such treatment at another licensed
facility.

77 Ill. Adm. Code 2060.205 Unlicensed Practice.  (a)
Whenever the Department determines that an unlicensed
organization or person is engaging in activities that require
licensure, pursuant to the specifications in Section 2060.101
of this Part, it shall issue an order to that organization or
person to cease and desist from engaging in the activity.  The
order shall specify the particular services that require
licensure, and shall include citation of relevant Sections of the
Act and this Part.

(b)  The Department’s order shall be accompanied by a
notice that instructs the recipient that written documentation
may be submitted to the Department within 10 calendar days
to support a claim that licensure is not required, or that the
recipient is properly authorized to conduct the services.

(c)  After the expiration of the 10 day period, if the
Department believes that the organization or unlicensed
person is continuing to provide services that require licensure,
the matter shall be referred to the appropriate State’s Attorney
or to the Office of the Attorney General for prosecution.

77 Ill. Adm. Code s. 2060.221 Change of
Ownership/Management.  a)  Each license issued by the
Department shall be valid only for the premises and persons
named in the application.  Licensure is not transferable.  A
license shall become null and void when:

1)  a change in ownership involving more than 25% of the
aggregate ownership interest within a one year period or a
significant change in management; or

2)  a change of 50% or more in the board of directors of a
not−for−profit corporation within a one year period.

b)  In order to obtain a new license reflective of the change
in ownership the licensee shall submit to the Department:

1)  written notification at least ten calendar days prior to
any of the above referenced changes in ownership; and
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2)  an application for initial licensure and the license
application fee of $200 per license.

c)  Failure to notify the Department within ten calendar
days relative to the above referenced changes in ownership
will result in the imposition of a license fee of $1000 for each
affected license.

77 Ill. Adm. Code § 2060.309 Professional Staff
Qualifications.  (a)  All professional staff providing clinical
services (except as set forth in subsection (b)(2)), as defined
in this Part, shall:

1)  hold clinical certification as a Certified Alcohol and
Drug Counselor from the Illinois Alcoholism and Other Drug
Abuse Professional Certification Association (IAODAPCA),
1305 Wabash Avenue, Suite L, Springfield, Illinois 62704; or

2)  be a licensed professional counselor or licensed clinical
professional counselor pursuant to the Professional
Counselor and Clinical Professional Counselor Licensing Act
[225 ILCS 107]; or

3)  be a physician licensed to practice medicine in all its
branches pursuant to the Medical Practice Act of 1987; or

4)  be licensed as a psychologist pursuant to the Clinical
Psychology Practice Act [225 ILCS 15]; or

5)  be licensed as a social worker or licensed clinical social
worker pursuant to the Clinical Social Work and Social Work
Practice Act [225 ILCS 20].

b)  All professional staff providing only clinical
assessments, DUI evaluations or designated program
intervention services, as defined in this Part, shall:

1)  meet one of the qualifications specified in subsection (a)
above; or

2)  hold assessor certification as a Certified Assessment and
Referral Specialist (CARS) from IAODAPCA.

c)  In any medically managed or monitored detoxification
service at least one staff, 24 hours a day, shall:

1)  be a registered nurse pursuant to Section 3(k) of the
Illinois Nursing and Advanced Practice Nursing Act of 1987
[225 ILCS 65/3(k)];

2)  be a licensed practical nurse pursuant to Section 3(i) of
the Illinois Nursing and Advanced Practice Nursing Act of
1987 [225 ILCS 65/3(i)] who has completed at least 40 clock
hours of formal training in the field of alcoholism or other
substance abuse; or

3)  be a certified emergency medical technician pursuant to
Section 4.12 of the Emergency Medical Services (EMS)
Systems Act [210 ILCS 50/4.12] who has completed at least
40 clock hours of formal training in the field of alcoholism or
other substance abuse.

d)  Any other staff who provide direct patient care that is
not defined as a clinical service shall be supervised by an
individual who meets the requirements for professional staff
as defined in subsection (a), (b) or (c)(1) and (2) as applicable
to detoxification.

e)  any new professional staff, including interns, who will
provide clinical services in a treatment or designated program
service and who do not meet the requirements of subsection
(a) or (b) when hired shall:

1)  meet the requirements specified in subsection (a) or (b)
within two years after the date of employment; and

2)  not work in any supervisory capacity until such
requirements are met; and

3)  work under the direct, verifiable supervision of an
individual who has staff supervisory responsibility at the

facility and who meets the requirements for professional staff
specified in subsection (a); and

4)  sign, and adhere to, a professional code of ethics
developed by the organization.

f)  The above referenced supervision shall last until the
employee meets at least one of the requirements for
professional staff designation specified in subsection (a) or
(b) or until the two year period has elapsed.  Such supervision
is verifiable, at a minimum, by:

1)  signature of the supervisor and the affected employee
on the treatment plan and all reviews of or any change to the
patient’s treatment plan; and

2)  documentation of face−to−face supervision meetings, at
least once monthly.  This supervision can occur in a group or
individual setting and shall be a distinct activity separate from
regularly scheduled patient staffings.

g)  Any employee providing clinical services under
supervision at one or more organizations who does not meet
at least one of the requirements specified in subsection (a) or
(b) within the relevant two year period shall not provide any
direct clinical services at the end of the two years until such
requirement is met.

h)  All staff providing DUI risk education services shall:
1)  meet one of the qualifications specified in subsection

(a); or
2)  hold Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse (AODA)

certification from IAODAPCA.
i)  It is the responsibility of each organization to ensure that

all professional staff meet the requirements outlined in this
Section.

j)  The Department will consider granting an exception to
the requirements specified in subsection (e) of this Section
based upon timing of certification or licensure examinations
and part−time employment.  In such cases, the exception will
be time limited and based upon the minimum extension of
time necessary to achieve full compliance.  All exceptions
shall be granted in accordance with Section 2060.303 of this
Part.

77 Ill. Adm. Code § 2060.311 Staff Training
Requirements.  a)  All organizations shall provide an initial
employee orientation to all staff within the first seven days
after employment that shall include, at a minimum, the
following information:

1)  An overview of all organization operations, including
the specific duties assigned to the employee; emergencies and
disaster drills; familiarization with existing staff backup and
support; and all required training.

2)  An overview of this Part for all staff.
3)  Information on bloodborne pathogens and universal

precautions (as those terms are defined in the regulations set
forth in Section 2060.413 of this Part) and the importance of
tuberculosis control and personal hygiene, the responsibilities
of all staff with regard to infection control and an overview of
the fundamentals of HIV, AIDS and tuberculosis control.

4)  Information on HIV and AIDS relative to the etiology
and transmission of HIV infection and associated risk
behaviors, the symptomatology and clinical progression of
HIV infection and AIDS and their relationship to substance
abuse behavior, the purposes, uses and meaning of available
testing and test results, relapse prevention and sensitivity to
the issues of an HIV infected patient.

5)  An overview of the principles of patient confidentiality,
all related federal and state statutes and all record keeping
requirements regarding confidential information.
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b)  Within the first six months after employment, any and
all staff providing a DUI evaluation service shall attend one
complete DUI Orientation training session offered or
approved by the Department.

c)  Within the first 12 months after employment, any and
all staff providing a DUI risk education intervention service
shall attend the first day of a DUI Orientation training session
offered or approved by the Department.

d)  In addition to mandatory training specified in
subsections (b) and (c) of this Section, each DUI evaluator or
Risk Education instructor shall obtain additional hours of
substance abuse training annually consistent with the
requirements of their professional staff credential.

77 Ill. Adm. Code § 2060.313 Personnel Requirements and
Procedures.  a)  All professional staff:

1)  shall be at least 18 years of age; and

2)  cannot have been convicted of any felony or had any
subsequent incarceration for at least two years prior to the date
of employment.

b)  Verification of the requirements specified in subsection
a) above shall be documented on the Department’s Schedule
L at the time of employment and this form shall be maintained
in the employee’s personnel file.  Prior to employment a copy
of the Schedule L, along with a letter requesting an exception
for employment, shall be sent to the Department relative to
any person that indicates a felony conviction within the time
period specified above.

c)  In addition, any staff providing DUI evaluation or risk
education services shall not have a suspension or revocation
of driving privileges for an alcohol or drug related driving
offense for at least two years prior to the date of employment.

d)  Any staff providing clinical services to or any other
supportive services for a child or adolescent who is receiving
treatment at a facility, or is receiving child care at a facility, or
is residing at a facility with a parent who is in treatment shall
consent to a background check to determine whether they
have been indicated as a perpetrator of child abuse or neglect
in the Child Abuse and Neglect Tracking System (CANTS),
maintained by the Department of Children and Family
Services as authorized by the Abused and Neglected Child
Reporting Act [325 ILCS 5/11.1(15)].  The organization shall
have a procedure that precludes hiring of indicated
perpetrators based on the reasons set forth in 89 Ill. Adm Code
385.30(a) and procedures wherein exceptions will be made
consistent with 89 Ill. Adm. Code 385.30(e) and procedures
for record keeping consistent with 89 Ill. Adm. Code 385.60.

e)  The organization shall ensure that treatment services for
special populations (gender, youth, criminal justice, HIV,
etc.) are delivered by appropriate professional staff as clinical
needs indicate.

f)  The organization shall have written personnel
procedures approved by the management or, if applicable, the
board of directors.  Such procedures shall apply to all full and
part−time employees and shall include the process for:

1)  recruiting, selecting, promoting and terminating staff;

2)  verifying applicant or employee information:

3)  protecting the privacy of personnel records;

4)  performance appraisals, and review and update of job
descriptions, for all positions in the organization;

5)  disciplinary action, including suspension and
termination;

6)  employee grievances;

7)  employment related accident or injury;

8)  handing instances of suspected or confirmed
patient/client abuse and/or neglect by staff, whether paid or
volunteer;

9)  handling instances of suspected or confirmed alcohol
and other drug abuse by staff; and

10)  documentation that the personnel procedures, and any
changes in procedures, have been distributed to employees
and are available on request.

g)  The organization shall provide documentation that all
personnel procedures have been reviewed and approved at
least annually by the Authorized Organization Representative
or, if applicable, the board of directors.

h)  A personnel file shall be maintained for each employee
that contains:

1)  the employee’s name, address, telephone number, social
security number, emergency contact and telephone number;

2)  resume and evidence of qualifications;

3)  documentation of the Schedule L and any relevant
background checks and/or exception request;

4)  unless otherwise kept in a training file, documentation
of required training and continuing education received while
employed by the organization (as indicated by a certificate of
completion or the title, date and location of the training and
the signature of the staff member who attended the training);

5)  a copy of any professional certification, current license
and/or registration, and date of employment and/or
termination from the organization;

6)  a copy of the signed applicable professional code of
ethics as referenced in Part 2060.309(e)(4) of this Part; and

7)  documentation of annual review of the organization’s
policy and procedures manual by all staff during their first
year of employment and, annually thereafter, any updated
sections that pertain to each staff member.

i)  Each personnel file shall be maintained for a period of
five years from the date of employee termination.

77 Ill. Adm. Code § 2060.401 Levels of Care.  Substance
abuse treatment shall be offered in varying degrees of
intensity based on the level of care in which the patient is
placed and the subsequent treatment plan developed for that
patient.  The level of care provided shall be in accordance with
that specified in the ASAM Patient Placement Criteria and
with the following:

a)  Level 0.5:  Early Intervention.  An organized service,
delivered in a wide variety of settings, for individuals (adult
or adolescent) who, for a known reason, are at risk of
developing substance−related problems.  Early intervention
services are considered sub−clinical or pre−treatment and are
designed to explore and address problems or risk factors that
appear to be related to substance use and to assist the
individual in recognizing the harmful consequences of
inappropriate substance use.  The length of such service varies
according to the individual’s ability to comprehend the
information provided and to use that information to make
behavior changes to avoid problems related to substance use
or the appearance of new problems that require treatment at
another level of care.  Early intervention services are for
individuals whose problems and risk factors appear to be
related to substance use but do not appear to meet any
diagnostic criteria for substance related disorders.  Examples
of individuals who might receive early intervention are
at−risk individuals (i.e., family members of an individual who
is in treatment or in need of treatment) or DUI offenders
classified at a moderate risk level.



Page 29April 30, 2007 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 616

b)  Level I:  Outpatient.  Non−residential substance abuse
treatment consisting of face−to−face clinical services for
adults or adolescents.  The frequency and intensity of such
treatment shall depend on patient need but shall be a planned
regimen of regularly scheduled sessions that average less than
nine hours per week.

c)  Level II:  Intensive Outpatient/Partial Hospitalization.
Non−residential substance abuse treatment consisting of
face−to−face clinical services for adults or adolescents.  The
frequency and intensity of such treatment shall depend on
patient need but shall be a planned regimen of scheduled
sessions for a minimum of nine hours per week.

d)  Level III:  Inpatient Subacute/Residential.  Residential
substance abuse treatment consisting of clinical services for
adults or adolescents.  The frequency and intensity of such
treatment shall depend on patient need but shall, except in
residential extended care as defined in this Part, include a
planned regimen of clinical services for a minimum of 25
hours per week.  Inpatient care, with the exception of
residential extended care as defined in this Part, shall require
staff that are on duty and awake, 24 hours a day, seven days
per week.  During any work period, if professional staff as
defined in Section 2060.309(a) of this Part are not on duty,
such staff shall be available on call for consultation relative to
any aspect of patient care.  Residential extended care shall
require staff on duty 24 hours a day, seven days per week and
that low intensity treatment services be offered at least five
hours per week.  Any staff providing clinical services shall
meet the requirements for professional staff as defined in
Section 2060.309(a) of this part.  Individuals who have been
in residence for at least three months without relapse may be
used to fulfill any remaining staff requirements.

e)  Level IV:  Medically Managed Intensive Inpatient.
Inpatient subacute residential substance abuse treatment for
patients whose acute bio/medical/emotional/behavioral
problems are severe enough to require medical and nursing
care services.  Such services are for adults or adolescents and
require 24 hours medically directed evaluation, care and
treatment and that a physician see the patient daily.

Michigan:  MICH. ADMIN. CODE R 325.14201
Establishment or maintenance and operation of program
without license prohibited.

Rule 201.  A person shall not establish or maintain and
operate a substance abuse program unless licensed by the
office in accordance with the act and these rules.

MCLS §. 330.3101

B  Department of Public Health

1.  All the authority, powers, duties, functions and
responsibilities of the Licensing of Substance Abuse
Programs and the Certification of Substance Abuse Workers
in the Division of Program Standards, Evaluation and Data
Services of the Center for Substance Abuse Services,
including the authority, powers, duties, functions and
responsibilities set forth in the relevant parts of Act No. 368
of the Public Acts of 1978, as amended, being Section
333.6231 to 333.6251 of the Michigan Compiled Laws, are
hereby transferred from the Department of Public Health to
the Director of the Department of Commerce by a Type U
transfer, as defined by Section 3 of Act No. 380 of the Public
Acts of 1965, as amended, being Section 16.103 of the
Michigan Compiled Laws.

MCLS § 333.6231 Rules.

(1)  With the assistance of the department, and after
consultation with the commission and the committee, the
office shall promulgate rules for the administration of this
article and the licensing of substance abuse service programs.

The rules shall include reasonable criteria for the protection
and well−being of individuals receiving services and the
rights of recipients of services and shall define financial
information.  Rules governing recipient rights shall be
promulgated not later than 1 year after the effective date of
this section.

(2)  The rules shall apply to a public or private firm,
association, organization, or group offering or purporting to
offer specific substance abuse treatment and rehabilitation
services or prevention services, and which receives or
requests public funds, patient fees, third party payments, or
funds through public subscription for the treatment,
rehabilitation, or prevention of substance abuse.

(3)  The rules shall not apply to an individual currently
licensed by this state to provide medical, psychological, or
social services.  The licensee may voluntarily apply for a
license to provide substance abuse treatment and
rehabilitation services or prevention services.  To receive state
or federal funds for substance abuse treatment and
rehabilitation services or prevention services, a person shall
obtain a license under this part.

Minnesota:  Minn. Stat. § 62J.52 Establishment of uniform
billing forms.

(c)  Services to be billed using the uniform billing form
HCFA 1500 include physician services and supplies, durable
medical equipment, noninstitutional ambulance services,
independent ancillary services including occupational
therapy, physical therapy, speech therapy and audiology,
home infusion therapy, podiatry services, optometry services,
mental health licensed professional services, substance abuse
licensed professional services, nursing practitioner
professional services, certified registered nurse anesthetists,
chiropractors, physician assistants, laboratories, medical
suppliers, and other health care providers such as day activity
centers and freestanding ambulatory surgical centers.

Iowa:  “Counselor” means an individual who, by virtue of
education, training or experience, provides treatment, which
includes advice, opinion, or instruction to an individual or in
a group setting to allow an opportunity for a person to explore
the person’s problems related directly or indirectly to
substance abuse or dependence.

641 IAC 155.1(125)
“Iowa board of substance abuse certification” means the

professional certification board that certifies substance abuse
counselors and prevention specialists in the state of Iowa.

641 IAC 155.1(125)
“Sole practitioner” means an individual incorporated

under the laws of the state of Iowa, or an individual in private
practice who is providing substance abuse treatment services
independent from a program that is required to be licensed in
accordance with Iowa Code section 125.13(1).

641 IAC 155.1(125)
i.  Personnel providing screening, evaluations, assessments

or treatment shall be certified through the Iowa board of
substance abuse certification, or certified by an international
certification and reciprocity consortium member board in the
states of Illinois, Minnesota, Nebraska, Missouri, South
Dakota, and Wisconsin; or be eligible for certification or have
education, training, and experience in the substance abuse
field.

641 IAC 155.21(8)(a)(15)(i.)
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:
The professions had previously been under the authority of

the Department of Health and Family Services (under ch.
HFS 75), who contracted the regulation and certification
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of substance abuse professionals to the Wisconsin
Certification Board.  The Legislative Audit Bureau
performed a limited review of the Wisconsin Certification
Board and issued a report on May 11, 2005.

The rules proposed represent a re−codification of existing
standards for certification developed by the Wisconsin
Certification Board.  The legislature, under 2005 Wisconsin
Act 25 and later amended by 2005 Wisconsin Act 407, set the
statutory requirements for the new levels of licensure and
mandated that the Department of Regulation and Licensing
draft language for certification and regulation of substance
abuse professionals.

To assist in promulgation of the rules, the department has
held regular meetings with the Substance Abuse Counselors
Advisory Committee for recommendations and development
of the draft rules.  Subsequently, the department promulgated
emergency rules effective December 15, 2006 which includes
chs. RL 160 to 163 and chs. RL 166 to 168 (the department had
promulgated chs. RL 164 and 165 as permanent rules on
January 1, 2007).  As the emergency rules were promulgated
in December of 2006, the final permanent rules (below) are
essentially a redraft of the emergency rules, with changes
made for errors in the initial drafting, changes in timelines for
effective dates of applicability and minor policy changes
where prudent − again at the recommendation of the advisory
committee.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine
effect on small business or in preparation of economic impact
report:  The Department of Regulation and Licensing, based
upon the advice of the advisory committee is proposing
changes to the existing standards of certification and
regulation of substance abuse professionals.  The department,
to minimize impact on the profession, and preserve the
experiential pathway into the profession, has attempted to
minimize drastic changes, and make changes only where the
advice of the committee and the protection of the public are
preserved.

These proposed rules will affect the existing 4,631
credential holders regulated by the department (Database
count of in state active and inactive substance abuse
credential holders, as of February 2007).  These credential
holders may operate at state departmental locations (e.g.
Department of Corrections) as well as state certified AODA
treatment clinics under ch. HFS 75 (DHFS).  An unknown
number of certificate holders are likely to be operating in
public, not−for−profit private treatment centers and for−profit
treatment centers.

There were significant “grandparenting” provisions within
the statutes that will ensure that existing (active and renewal)
certificate holders will not lose their certification upon
transfer if they do not meet the requirements for the new
certificate (e.g. higher educational requirements).  The
grandparenting provisions do not apply for new applicants
after December 15, 2006.  Those who applied (new
applicants) after December 15, 2006 were under the
jurisdiction of the department, and as such were to meet the
requirements specified in our rules.  Additionally, the
department has instituted substantial grace periods for 12
month grace periods for supervision of substance abuse
counselors which would allow clinics one year’s time for the
supervisors to attain appropriate credentials required for
supervision in their clinics.

The department is proposing changes as follows:
Educational Standards:
 The proposed rules require a minimum of an associate’s

degree in a behavior science to qualify for the clinical level
counselor, and by requirement, qualification for supervisory

certification.  This is an increase in educational requirements;
however, an underlying degree is often a standard for
professional requirements.  This may prevent existing
non−clinical substance abuse counselors from accessing
higher levels of credentials until they achieve the underlying
degree; however, the advisory committee has recommended
that for protection of the public, a minimum of an associate’s
degree in a related behavioral science should be instituted.

 The proposed rules reduce the required level of continuing
education from 48 hours in the biennium to 40 for both
substance abuse counselors and clinical substance abuse
counselors.  This is a reduction for applicable credential
holders.

 * The proposed rules eliminate the existing system of
pre−certification education and training from multiple and
separate sources, including Wisconsin Certification Board
accredited programs, endorsed trainings, seminars and home
study (etc.), and require that the core training for the effective
treatment of substance use disorder treatment be obtained
from comprehensive and cohesive programs.

Note* The changes to the educational structure may be the
primary area effecting the practice of small business.  As per
above, companies that self reportedly operate as a small
business do sell home study programs and trainings to the
Wisconsin substance abuse professional education market.
One such business, Laban’s Trainings of Pennsylvania
(http://www.last−homestudy.com 3 employees, unknown
earnings), sells home study programs to the AODA counselor
community nationwide.  They were an endorsed trainer of the
WCB, prior to the transference of AODA regulation from the
WCB to the DRL, and home study programs such as theirs
could be counted for over 200 hours of the 360 hours of
training required.  The remainder was required to come from
association sponsored workshops, seminars and
school−based coursework.  Under the new rules, program
providers like Laban’s still have access to the certificate
holders through the offering of continuing education
programs required for recertification.  For substance abuse
counselors, that means 40 hours of continuing education is
required in the biennium (a reduction from 48 hours to 40).
In addition, Laban’s and other home study providers may still
access the market held by ”comprehensive program
providers” because the rules are written to restrict individuals
from assembling their own education from untracked or
uncoordinated sources, however, the rules allow those
program providers to assemble the comprehensive program
of 360 hours that they provide to their students.  This may
include a local provider which could source a 3rd party such
as Laban’s to supplement the coursework requirement.

Practice Restrictions.  The proposed rules contain scope of
practice and restrictions which include:

 Restrictions on the practice of substance abuse
counselors−in−training:  This credential does not assure
competency; therefore, a clinical supervisor will be required
to authorize the in−training counselor to provide functions
when adequately trained.

 The supervision of in−training counselors may not be done
by clinical supervisors−in−training.

 Clinical supervisors will be legally and ethically
responsible for the practice of their supervisees, shall have the
authority and responsibility to provide emergency
consultation, interrupt/stop unsafe practice and to terminate
the supervised relationship if necessary.

 New definitions of who may provide supervision or
qualify as a clinical supervisor:  Supervision may only be
provided by those with exemptions under the statutes
(psychologists, psychiatrists, clinical substance abuse
supervisors, or ch. 457, Stats., credential holders who have
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obtained a clinical supervision certification via their specialty
AODA certification under s. MPSW 1.09).

These changes may affect small business; however, where
standards were increased, the department is proposing grace
periods for these requirements.  Additionally, these changes
were seen as necessary to achieve the minimal competency
required for safe practice and protection of the public.

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector:

The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal
effect on the private sector.

Fiscal Estimate

The Department estimates that this rule will require staff
time in the Divisions of Management Services, Professional
Credentialing, Office of Legal Counsel and Office of
Examinations.  The one−time salary and fringe costs in the
Division of Professional Credentialing, Office of Legal
Counsel and Office of Examinations are estimates at $22,900.
The on−going salary, fringe, supplies and services costs in the
Division of Professional Credentialing, Division of Board
Services and the Office of Examinations are estimated at
$77,300.

Effect on Small Business

These proposed rules will have no significant economic
impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.
The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or by
calling (608) 266−8608.

Agency Contact Person

Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and
Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708−8935.  Telephone: (608) 266−0495.  Email:
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline
for submission

Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack, Paralegal,
Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708−8935, or by email at
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Comments must be received
on or before June 1, 2007 to be included in the record of
rule−making proceedings.

Notice of Hearing
Workforce Development

(Unemployment Insurance, Chs. DWD
100−150)

[CR 07−038]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss.108.04

(13), 108.09 (1), 108.14 (2), and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., the
Department of Workforce Development proposes to hold a
public hearing to consider rules relating to unemployment
insurance benefit reports filed by employers and affecting
small businesses.

Hearing Information
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 1:30 p.m.
G.E.F. 1 Building, H306
201 E. Washington Avenue
Madison, WI
Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and

will be afforded the opportunity to make an oral presentation
of their positions. Persons making oral presentations are
requested to submit their facts, views, and suggested
rewording in writing.

Visitors to the GEF 1 building are requested to enter
through the left East Washington Avenue door and register
with the customer service desk. The entrance is accessible via
a ramp from the corner of Webster Street and East Washington
Avenue. If you have special needs or circumstances regarding
communication or accessibility at the hearing, please call
(608) 267−9403 at least 10 days prior to the hearing date.
Accommodations such as ASL interpreters, English
translators, or materials in audiotape format will be made
available on request to the fullest extent possible.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce
Development

Statutory authority: Note:  Complaint forms are available
from the Department of Regulation and Licensing, Division
of Enforcement, 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box
8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s
website at:  http://drl.wi.gov

Statutes interpreted: Sections 108.04 (13), 108.09 (1), and
108.14 (2), Stats.

Related statute or rule: NA
Explanation of agency authority. Section 108.09 (1), Stats.,

provides that each employer that is notified of a benefit claim
shall promptly inform the department in writing as to any
eligibility question in objection to the claim together with the
reasons for the objection.

Section 108.04 (13) (c), Stats., provides that if an
employer, after notice of a benefit claim, fails to file an
objection to the claim under s. 108.09 (1), any benefits
allowable under any resulting benefit computation shall,
unless the department applies a provision of this chapter to
disqualify the claimant, be promptly paid.

Section 108.04 (13) (f), Stats., provides that if benefits are
erroneously paid because the employer fails to file a report
required by this chapter, fails to provide correct and complete
information on the report, fails to object to the benefit claim
under s. 108.09 (1), Stats., or aids and abets the claimant in an
act of concealment, the employer is at fault.

Section 108.14 (2), Stats., provides that the department
may require from any employing unit which employs one or
more individuals to perform work in this state any reports on
employment, wages, hours and related matters which it deems
necessary to carry out Chapter 108, Stats. The department
may also adopt and enforce all rules which it finds necessary
or suitable to carry out the chapter.

Summary of the proposed rule. Chapter DWD 123 requires
certain reports to be filed by an employer to assist the
department in determining a claimant’s benefit claim. The
current rule contains information that is obsolete and
confusing. The proposed rule will update and clarify Chapter
DWD 123 to include descriptions and filing procedures for
the following benefit reports used by the department:

Separation Notice. The department sends a separation
notice to an employer when a new benefit claim is initiated
and the employer is identified as having employed the
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claimant in the base or lag period of the claim, or when a
benefit claim is resumed and the employer is identified as
having employed the claimant after the last claimed week.
The employer must complete and return the separation notice
to the department if any information on the notice is incorrect;
there is vacation, dismissal, or holiday pay assigned to any
period beyond the claimant’s last day of work; there is an
eligibility issue that applies to the claimant that is not
identified on the separation notice; or the claimant did not
work for the employer.

Wage Verification/Eligibility Report.  The department
sends the wage verification/eligibility report to an employer
while a benefit claim is in progress to verify partial wages
earned from the employer as reported by the claimant on
weekly claim certifications and to verify the claimant’s
continuing eligibility for benefits.  The employer must
complete and return the wage verification/eligibility report to
the department if information on the form report is missing or
incorrect; an eligibility issue applies to the claim; or the
claimant did not work for the employer.

Urgent Request For Wages.  The department sends the
urgent request for wages to an employer when the claimant
reports having been paid wages by the employer during the
base period or an alternate base period, and the department has
no record of such wages.  The employer must complete and
return the urgent request for wages to the department.

The filing requirements for the benefit reports in the
proposed rule provide that a report is considered to be filed
when it is completed and returned to the department within the
time limit and with the department location specified on the
report. Returning an incomplete report, even if it is received
within the time limit, constitutes a failure to file the required
report. Failure to file the required report is considered an
admission by the employer that no eligibility question exists
regarding that claimant. Eligibility issues raised after the due
date of a required report will be resolved pursuant to ss.
108.09 (2) (b) and 108.04 (13), Stats.

The proposed rule will repeal information on the following
obsolete reports:

Work Record Report (form UC−203).  This form was used
to collect wage data on a claim−by−claim basis before the
implementation of quarterly wage reporting.

Final Work Record Report.  This form was used when an
employer ceased to have employees, had gone out of business,
or terminated coverage under the unemployment insurance
program without providing the department with satisfactory
assurance that the employer would promptly file a Work
Record Report (UC−203) if the department requested it.

The proposed rule will also repeal a provision on the
Urgent Request for Wages in Chapter 111, regarding quarterly
wage reports, and create a new provision in Chapter DWD
123, regarding benefit reports. The requirement that a
employer pay a $15 fee for tardy filing of the Urgent Request
for Wages will be repealed. The department has not enforced
this provision recently due to the administrative inefficiency
of collecting the fee.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies.
The department has changed the type of benefit reports
required from employers with the implementation of the
quarterly wage reporting and other procedural changes. The
proposed rule updates and clarifies Chapter DWD 123 to
reflect these changes.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states. Iowa, Michigan,
and Illinois have unemployment insurance benefit rules
similar to Wisconsin regarding reports that notify employers
of the filing of a claim, request wage and separation

information, and allow employers to notify the states of
possible ineligibility of claimants. Minnesota does not have
unemployment insurance benefit rules.

Effect on small businesses. The proposed rule affects small
businesses but does not have a significant economic impact on
a substantial number of small businesses. The DWD Small
Business Regulatory Coordinator is Jennifer Jirschele, (608)
266−1023, jennifer.jirschele@dwd.state.wi.us.

Analysis used to determine effect on small business.  The
reports provide information on claimants’ employment
separations, dates of work, wages and other payments, and
other issues that may be disqualifying. Most of the
information is required by Chapter 108, Stats.

Fiscal Impact
The proposed rule will have no fiscal impact on state or

local government.

Agency Contact Person
Carla Breber, UI Disputed Benefits Claims, (608)

266−7564, carla.breber@dwd.state.wi.us.

Written Comments
An electronic copy of the proposed rule is available at

http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov. This site allows you to view
documents associated with this rule’s promulgation, register
to receive email notification whenever the Department posts
new information about this rulemaking order, and submit
comments and view comments by others during the public
comment period. You may receive a paper copy of the rule or
fiscal estimate by contacting:

Elaine Pridgen
Office of Legal Counsel
Dept. of Workforce Development
P.O. Box 7946
Madison, WI 53707−7946
(608) 267−9403
elaine.pridgen@dwd.state.wi.us
Written comments on the proposed rules received at the

above address, email, or through the
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov web site no later than May
31, 2007, will be given the same consideration as testimony
presented at the hearing.

Notice of Hearing
Workforce Development

(Unemployment Insurance, Chs. DWD
100−150)

[CR 07−039]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 108.02

(26), 108.14 (2), 108.015, and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., the
Department of Workforce Development proposes to hold a
public hearing to consider rules relating to wages for
unemployment insurance benefit purposes.

Hearing Information

May 30, 2007 Madison
Wednesday G.E.F. 1 Building,

H306
1:30 p.m. 201 E. Washington

Avenue
Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and

will be afforded the opportunity to make an oral presentation
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of their positions. Persons making oral presentations are
requested to submit their facts, views, and suggested
rewording in writing.

Visitors to the GEF 1 building are requested to enter
through the left East Washington Avenue door and register
with the customer service desk. The entrance is accessible via
a ramp from the corner of Webster Street and East Washington
Avenue. If you have special needs or circumstances regarding
communication or accessibility at the hearing, please call
(608) 267−9403 at least 10 days prior to the hearing date.
Accommodations such as ASL interpreters, English
translators, or materials in audiotape format will be made
available on request to the fullest extent possible.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce
Development

Statutory authority: Sections 108.02 (26), 108.14 (2),
108.015, and 227.11.

Statutes interpreted: Section 108.02 (26) Stats.
Related statute or rule: 26 USC 3306 (b); Section 108.05

(3), Stats.; Chapter DWD 101
Explanation of agency authority. Section 108.02 (26),

Stats., defines what is and what is not included as “wages” for
purposes of unemployment insurance, unless the department
otherwise specifies by rule.

Section 108.015, Stats., provides that unless the
department otherwise provides by rule, s. 108.02 (26), Stats.,
shall be interpreted consistently with 26 USC 3306 (b).  26
USC 3306 (b) is the federal definition of “wages” for purposes
of unemployment insurance.

Section 108.14 (2), Stats., provides that the department
may adopt and enforce all rules which it finds necessary or
suitable to carry out Chapter 108, Stats., regarding
unemployment insurance.

Summary of the proposed rule. Chapter DWD 130 clarifies
how the department applies the definition of wages at s.
108.02 (26), Stats., for benefit purposes.  The current Chapter
DWD 130 has not been updated since Wisconsin adopted the
federal definition of wages at s. 108.02 (26), Stats.

The proposed rule will repeal s. DWD 130.03, relating to
the treatment of tips. This section contains obsolete terms and
cross−references and inaccurately states that there is a
different treatment of tips for contribution purposes and
benefit purposes based on an obsolete statutory provision.
The current treatment of tips is governed solely by s. 108.02
(26) (b) 3., Stats., which provides that “wages” includes the
value of tips that are received while performing services
which constitute employment, and that are included in a
written statement furnished to an employer under 26 USC
6053 (a).

The proposed rule will also repeal s. DWD 130.07, which
contains obsolete information on supplemental
unemployment benefit plans.  Under s. 108.02 (26) (c) 16.,
Stats., any contribution made by an employer into or payment
made from a supplemental unemployment benefit plan for
employees is not considered wages if the contribution or
payment is not considered wages under 26 USC 3306 (b),
regardless of whether the plan is part of an employer
profit−sharing plan.

The proposed rule creates a new section that provides that
when s. 108.02 (26), Stats., or the Federal Unemployment Tax

Act, 26 USC 3301 to 3311, require that a payment meet the
requirements of a particular section of the internal revenue
code to not be considered wages, the employer shall
demonstrate to the satisfaction of the department that the
payment meets such requirements. This standard will apply to
the determination of whether supplemental unemployment
benefit plans are considered wages, as well as other issues
raised under s. 108.02 (26), Stats., or FUTA.

The proposed rule also corrects an obsolete
cross−reference and clarifies language in the section on the
value of room or meals.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies.
The provision on tips is repealed because the information on
the treatment of tips for contribution purposes is obsolete and
the information on the treatment of tips for benefit purposes
duplicates the statute. The provision on supplemental
unemployment benefit plans is repealed because it does not
add to the information in the statute.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states. The department
did not find rules on the specific issues in the proposed rules
in the adjacent states.

Effect on small business. The proposed rule does not affect
small businesses.  The DWD Small Business Regulatory
Coordinator is Jennifer Jirschele, (608) 266−1023,
jennifer.jirschele@dwd.state.wi.us.

Analysis used to determine effect on small business. The
proposed rule repeals obsolete provisions and brings the rule
into conformity with current statutory provisions. There are
no significant substantive changes.

Fiscal Impact

The proposed rule will have no fiscal impact on state or
local government.

Agency Contact Person

Carla Breber, UI Disputed Benefits Claims, (608)
266−7564, carla.breber@dwd.state.wi.us.

Written Comments

An electronic copy of the proposed rules is available at
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov. This site allows you to view
documents associated with this rule’s promulgation, register
to receive email notification whenever the Department posts
new information about this rulemaking order, and submit
comments and view comments by others during the public
comment period. You may receive a paper copy of the rule or
fiscal estimate by contacting:

Elaine Pridgen

Office of Legal Counsel

Dept. of Workforce Development

P.O. Box 7946

Madison, WI 53707−7946

(608) 267−9403

elaine.pridgen@dwd.state.wi.us

Written comments on the proposed rules received at the
above address, email, or through the
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov web site no later than May
31, 2007, will be given the same consideration as testimony
presented at the hearing.
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Submittal of proposed rules to the legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
(CR 06−130)

Ch. ATCP 112, relating to credit report security freezes.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
(CR 06−136)

Ch. ATCP 30, relating to soil fumigant pesticides.

Natural Resources
(CR 06−121)

Ch. NR 820, relating to the annual reporting of
groundwater pumping information from high capacity
wells, designation of groundwater management areas,
environmental review of high capacity well applications
for impacts on groundwater protection areas and springs
and evaluation of wells with greater than 95% water loss.

Natural Resources
(CR 06−132)

Ch. NR 5, relating to mandatory boating education
program, temporary certifications and course fees.

Natural Resources
(CR 06−133)

Ch. NR 5, relating to registration of boats used
exclusively to make advertisements and creating
definitions.

Natural Resources
(CR 06−134)

Ch. NR 19, relating to establishing specialized fees for
Internet based ATV and snowmobile safety certification
programs.

Public Service Commission
(CR 06−139)

Ch. PSC 137, relating to the energy efficiency programs
and renewable resource programs that public utilities
offer to their customers and retail electric cooperatives
offer their members.

Transportation
(CR 06−099)

Ch. Trans 112, relating to medical standards for driver
licensing and general standards for school bus
endorsements.
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Rule orders filed with the revisor of statutes bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Revisor of Statutes Bureau and are in the process of being
published.   The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.  It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.   Contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at gary.poulson@legis.state.wi.us or (608) 266−7275 for updated information on
the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
(CR 05−013)

An order affecting ch. ATCP 50, relating to agricultural
nutrient management.

Effective 6−1−07 and 8−1−07.

Commerce
(CR 06−113)

An order affecting ch. Comm 104, relating to
Woman−Owned Business Certification Program.

Effective 6−1−07.

Public Instruction
(CR 06−094)

An order affecting ch. PI 40, relating to the youth options
program.

Effective 6−1−07.

Public Instruction
(CR 06−098)

An order affecting ch. PI 30, relating to grants for high
cost special education.

Effective 6−1−07.

Public Service Commission
(CR 06−112)

An order affecting ch. PSC 118, relating to a renewable
resource credit tracking program.

Effective 6−1−07.

University of Wisconsin System
(CR 06−078)

An order affecting chs. UWS 2, 4, 7 and 11, relating to
procedures for dismissal of academic staff in special
cases.

Effective 6−1−07.
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Rules published with this register and final regulatory
flexibility analyses

The following administrative rule orders have been adopted and published in the April 30, 2007, Wisconsin Administrative
Register.  Copies of these rules are sent to subscribers of the complete Wisconsin Administrative Code and also to the subscribers of
the specific affected Code.

For subscription information, contact Document Sales at (608) 266−3358.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection 
(CR 06−085)

An order affecting ch. ATCP 156, relating to seed potato
certification and grading.  Effective 5−1−07.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
This rule modifies existing rules related to seed potato

certification and grading.  This rule applies to seed potato
growers who wish to produce and sell certified seed potatoes
(participation is voluntary, and there is nothing to prohibit the
sale or use of uncertified seed potatoes).  It also applies to
laboratories and greenhouses that provide propagative
material used to grow certified seed potatoes.  Many of these
businesses may qualify as “small businesses.”

This rule creates a clearer, more up−to−date framework
for the seed potato certification program administered by the
college.  This rule modernizes Wisconsin’s certified seed
potato rule to address changing industry practices and
standards.  Among other things, this rule:

• Clarifies and updates certification standards and
procedures.  This rule reflects current national and
international standards.  The college may grant limited
written variances in some cases, if special conditions warrant.

• Modernizes the system for classifying certified seed
potatoes.

•  Expands the number of sources from which growers
may obtain propagative material for certified seed potatoes,
while minimizing disease risk.

• Clarifies approval of laboratories and greenhouses that
provide propagative material used to produce certified seed
potatoes.

• Recognizes new laboratory testing capabilities.

• Clarifies responses to findings of bacterial ring rot.

• Provides for certification reciprocity between states,
provided that other states apply equivalent standards.  Seed
potatoes certified in another state must be labeled
accordingly.

• Modernizes requirements for certified seed potato
labeling, shipping and handling, based on current industry
needs.

• Provides a mechanism by which a seed potato grower
may obtain informal and formal review of an adverse
certification decision by the college.

• Prohibits fraudulent sales of uncertified seed as
certified seed.

• Provides greater consistency between Wisconsin and
other states, while maintaining high Wisconsin standards.

This rule does not substantially alter current standards or
procedures for DATCP quality inspection of seed potatoes.
However, it clarifies the respective roles of DATCP and the
college, and spells out grading standards and procedures with
greater clarity.

This rule will assist the Wisconsin potato industry,
including seed potato growers.  This rule is not expected to
have a significant adverse impact on seed potato growers or
other sectors of the Wisconsin potato industry.  Participation
is voluntary.

This rule will harmonize Wisconsin certified seed potato
rules with rules in other states, so that Wisconsin seed potato
growers can continue to export certified seed potatoes.  This
rule will also make it easier for Wisconsin seed potato growers
to acquire propagative material from reliable sources outside
this state.

This rule makes minor changes related to certification
application, certification procedure, recordkeeping, and
certified seed potato handling and labeling.  However, none
of these changes will have a significant adverse impact on
seed potato growers.

This rule generally provides more workable certification
standards for seed potato growers.  In a very small number of
cases, this rule may prevent certification of seed potato lots
that are currently eligible for certification.  However, the new
standards are designed to prevent the introduction and spread
of potato diseases.  Effective disease control is important for
the entire potato industry.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

On January 3, 2007, DATCP transmitted the above rule
for legislative review.  The rule was assigned to the Senate
Committee on Agriculture and Higher Education and the
Assembly Committee on Agriculture.  Both committees’
review periods expired without any action.

Controlled Substances Board
(CR 06−058)

An order affecting ch. CSB 2, relating to the scheduling
of two schedule I controlled substances.  Effective 5−1−07.
Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

These proposed rules will have no significant economic
impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), stats.
The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or by
calling (608) 266−8608.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.
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Controlled Substances Board
(CR 06−059)

An order affecting ch. CSB 2, relating to the scheduling
of two schedule I controlled substances.  Effective 5−1−07.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
These proposed rules will have no significant economic

impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), stats.
The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or by
calling (608) 266−8608.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Insurance
(CR 06−118)

An order affecting ch. Ins 9, relating to preferred provider
plan applicability dates.  Effective 5−1−07.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The Office of the Commissioner of Insurance has

determined that this rule will not have a significant economic
impact on a substantial number of small businesses and
therefore a final regulatory flexibility analysis is not required.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Medical Examining Board
(CR 06−114)

An order affecting ch. Med 1, relating to the requirements
for completion of the 3−step sequence of the United States
Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE).  Effective
5−1−07.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
These proposed rules will have not significant economic

impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), stats.
The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or by
calling (608) 266−8608.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Natural Resources
(CR 06−097)

An order affecting ch. NR 1, relating to the definition of
“generally accepted forestry management practices”. 
Effective 5−1−07.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
Small businesses affected by this rule include forest

landowners, foresters, resource manager, loggers and
equipment operators.  There are no compliance, reporting,
bookkeeping or other procedures imposed on small
businesses as part of this rule.  Small businesses will not have
a significant economic impact as a result of this rule.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The proposed rule was reviewed by the Assembly
Committee on Forestry and the Senate Committee on
environment and Natural Resources.  There were no
comments on the proposed rule.

Natural Resources
(CR 05−075)

An order affecting ch. NR 243, relating to animal feeding
operations.  Effective 7−1−07.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
It is expected that most confined animal feeding

operations (CAFO) currently meet the definition of a small
business.  It is not expected that the proposed rule will have
a significant economic impact on a substantial number of
small businesses.  While the economic impact might be
significant for some small businesses, the number of small
businesses affected is small.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The proposed rule was reviewed by the Assembly
Committee on Agriculture and the 2005 Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Insurance.  Both committees held public
hearings.  On August 3, 2006, the Senate Committee
requested the Department to make modifications.  At its
meeting on January 24, 2007, the Natural Resources Board
adopted modifications that were then submitted to the
Assembly Committee on Agriculture and the 2007 Senate
Committee on Agriculture and Higher Education.  The
Department did not receive any comments on the
modifications.

Podiatrists Affiliated Credentialing Board
(CR 06−056)

An order affecting chs. Pod 1 and 3, relating to waiver of
continuing podiatric medical education.  Effective 5−1−07.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
These proposed rules will have not significant economic

impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), stats.
The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or by
calling (608) 266−8608.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Public Service Commission
(CR 06−017)

An order repealing ch. PSC 98, relating to rules adopted
to meet all requirements in s. 300.304 of the regulations of the
Federal Price Commission.  Effective 5−1−07.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The rules being repealed are not expected to affect small

business as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.
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Public Service Commission
(CR 06−046)

An order affecting chs. PSC 7 and 172, relating to
assessments attributable to acid deposition studies and
monitoring activities, the regulation of certain wireless
telecommunications providers, radio common carriers, the
repeal of obsolete language and the updating of rule language
to be in conformity with current drafting conventions.
Effective 5−1−07.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The rules being repealed are not expected to affect small

business as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Revenue
(CR 06−107)

An order affecting ch. Tax 9, relating to cigarette and
tobacco products tax bad debt deductions.  Effective 5−1−07.
Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The proposed rule order doesn’t have a significant
economic impact on a substantial number of small businesses.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Transportation
(CR 06−101)

An order affecting ch. Trans 156, relating to the
Automated Processing Partnership System Program; and to
create ch. Trans 141, relating to requiring motor vehicle
dealers to process vehicle titles and registrations
electronically.  Effective 5−1−07.
Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

This proposed rule implements a law that applies to all
licensed motor vehicle dealers, some of which are small

businesses.  Effect on small business is that which results from
the law.  All licensed motor vehicle dealers are required to
process title and registration applications, unless exempted by
DOT.  This rule exempts small dealers, which sell fewer than
4 vehicles a month or 48 vehicles per year, as DOT finds that
these dealers likely do not have the computer hardware
capability to engage in electronic processing.  DOT has
successfully operated a voluntary APPS program, in which
small businesses (dealerships) participate in significant
numbers.  DOT has largely replicated that level of
requirement in this mandatory program, as DOT has found
this level is not onerous for small businesses.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Transportation
(CR 06−128)

An order affecting ch. Trans 102, relating to proof of
identity.  Effective 5−1−07.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
This rule making will have no effect on small businesses.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Workforce Development
(CR 06−138)

An order affecting ch. DWD 277, relating to notice to
home care consumers and workers.  Effective 5−1−07.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The rule affects small businesses as defined in s. 227.114

(1), Stats., but does not have a significant economic impact on
a substantial number of small businesses.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.
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Sections affected by rule revisions and corrections

The following administrative rule revisions and corrections have taken place in April 2007, and will be effective as indicated in
the history note for each particular section.  For additional information, contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at (608) 266−7275.

Revisions

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
Ch. ATCP 156 (Entire chapter)

Controlled Substances Board
Ch. CSB 2
Ss. CSB 2.31 to 2.34

Insurance
Ch. Ins 9
S. Ins 9.25 (8)
S. Ins 9.27 (4)

Medical Examining Board
Ch. Med 1
S. Med 1.06 (3) (b)

Natural Resources
Ch. NR 1
S. NR 1.25
Ch. NR 243 (Entire chapter)

Podiatrists Affiliated Credentialing Board
Ch. Pod 1
S. Pod 1.02 (2)
S. Pod 1.09 (4)
Ch. Pod 3
S. Pod 3.01 (1) and (2)
S. Pod 3.02 (1)

Public Service Commission
Ch. PSC 7 (Entire chapter)
Ch. PSC 8
S. PSC 8.07 (8) to (10) and (12)
Ch. PSC 98 (Entire chapter)
Ch. PSC 104
S. PSC 104.01 (1)
S. PSC 104.04 (4)
Ch. PSC 113
S. PSC 113.0301 (10) (c)
Ch. PSC 115
S. PSC 115.02

Ch. PSC 133
S. PSC 133.01 (1)
Ch. PSC 134
S. PSC 134.13 (1)
Ch. PSC 136
S. PSC 136.01
S. PSC 136.04 (1)
Ch. PSC 164
S. PSC 164.01
Ch. PSC 165
S. PSC 165.01 (1)
S. PSC 165.081 (6) (c)
Ch. PSC 166
S. PSC 166.015
S. PSC 166.03
S. PSC 166.07
S. PSC 166.11
Ch. PSC 168
S. PSC 168.08
Ch. PSC 170 (Entire chapter)
Ch. PSC 171
S. PSC 171.03
S. PSC 171.05
Ch. PSC 172 (Entire chapter)

Revenue
Ch. Tax 9
S. Tax 9.70

Transportation
Ch. Trans 102
S. Trans 102.14 (3)
S. Trans 102.15 (3) (a), (4), (4m) (a), (e), (f) and (8)

Ch. Trans 141 (Entire chapter)
Ch. Trans 156
S. Trans 156.01 (2) and (3)
S. Trans 156.03 (1) (a)
S. Trans 156.04 (1) (c), (2) (a) to (d) and (f)
S. Trans 156.05 (1) (a), (b) and (2) to (4)

Workforce Development
Ch. DWD 277
S. DWD 277.19
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Editorial corrections
Corrections to code sections under the authority of s. 13.93 (2m) (b), Stats., are indicated in the following listing.

Podiatrists Affiliated Credentialing Board
Ch. Pod 1
S. Pod 1.02 (2)
S. Pod 1.09 (4)
Ch. Pod 3
S. Pod 3.01 (1)
S. Pod 3.02 (1) (intro.)

Public Service Commission
Ch. PSC 5
S. PSC 5.04 (1) and (4)
S. PSC 5.05 (2)
Ch. PSC 6
S. PSC 6.03 (13)
Ch. PSC 98
S. PSC 98.04 (2), (4), (5), (6) and (8)
Ch. PSC 104
S. PSC 104.02 (1) (b) and (3)
Ch. PSC 108
S. PSC 108.01 (intro.)
Ch. PSC 130
S. PSC 130.08
Ch. PSC 132
S. PSC 132.06 (5)
Ch. PSC 133
S. PSC 133.05 (2)
S. PSC 133.06
Ch. PSC 134
S. PSC 134.01 (2)
S. PSC 134.0622 (2) (g)
Ch. PSC 135
S. PSC 135.163 (2)
Ch. PSC 136
S. PSC 136.04 (5)
Ch. PSC 160
S. PSC 160.02 (8) (e)
S. PSC 160.05 (2) and (4)

Ch. PSC 161
S. PSC 161.01 (1)
S. PSC 161.02 (5) and (7)
S. PSC 161.04 (1)
S. PSC 161.05 (3)
S. PSC 161.07 (3)
S. PSC 161.08
Ch. PSC 162
S. PSC 162.04 (2)
Ch. PSC 164
S. PSC 164.04 (1) (f)
Ch. PSC 165
S. PSC 165.01 (2)
S. PSC 165.066 (intro.)
S. PSC 165.10 (4)
Ch. PSC 168
S. PSC 168.09 (3)
Ch. PSC 169
S. PSC 169.04 (2)
Ch. PSC 171
S. PSC 171.02 (1)
S. PSC 171.06 (2)
Ch. PSC 179
S. PSC 179.03 (intro.)
Ch. PSC 183
S. PSC 183.01
S. PSC 183.02
S. PSC 183.04 (1) (b) and (c)
Ch. PSC 184
S. PSC 184.01
Ch. PSC 185
S. PSC 185.17 (3)
Ch. PSC 187
S. PSC 187.01
S. PSC 187.02 (3)
S. PSC 187.03
S. PSC 187.05 (1)



Page 41April 30, 2007 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 616

Executive  orders

The following are recent Executive Orders issued by the Governor.

Executive Order 189.  Relating to the creation of the Commission on Reducing Racial Disparities in the Wisconsin
Justice System.

Executive Order 190.  Relating to a proclamation that the flag of the United States and the flag of the State of Wisconsin
be flown at half−staff as a mark of respect for Lance Corporal Harry Timberman of the United States Marine Corps who lost
his life during Operation Iraqi Freedom.

Executive Order 191.  Relating to the creation of the Governor’s Task Force on Global Warming.

Executive Order 192.  Relating to the creation of the Office of Energy Independence.
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