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Emergency Rules Now in Effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection (2)

1. Rules adopted creating ch. ATCP 112, relating to credit
report security freezes.

Finding of Emergency
(1)  The Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and

consumer protection (“DATCP”) will administer s. 100.54,
Stats. as of January 1, 2007.  DATCP is required under s.
100.54 (12), Stats. to adopt rules related to identification
required of consumers requesting credit report security
freezes.

(2)  As of January 1, 2007, s. 100.54, Stats. will be in effect,
however without an emergency rule the statute will be unclear
regarding what constitutes proper identification for purposes
of creating a security freeze, temporarily releasing a security
freeze or permanently removing a security freeze from a
consumer credit report.

(3)  DATCP is adopting this emergency rule for the sole
purpose of allowing consumers to clearly place a security
freeze on their consumer credit report while the permanent
rulemaking process is completed.

Publication Date: January 19, 2007
Effective Date: January 19, 2007
Expiration Date: June 18, 2007
Hearing Date: February 12, 2007

2. Rules adopted creating s. ATCP 21.20, relating to
voluntary certification of firewood dealers.

Finding of Emergency
(1)  The Wisconsin department of natural resources

(“DNR”) has adopted rules, under s. NR 45.04 (1) (g), to
restrict the movement of firewood into Wisconsin state parks.
The DNR rules are designed to prevent the spread of exotic
pests, such as Emerald Ash Borer, that may inhabit firewood.
The DNR rules prohibit the possession of firewood in a state
park unless the firewood comes from within 50 miles from the
park, or from a more distant source approved by the
Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
(“DATCP”).

(2)  The DNR rules effectively prohibit a firewood dealer
located more than 50 miles from a state park from supplying
firewood to that state park, except as authorized by DATCP.
That prohibition may work a substantial hardship on firewood
dealers who normally supply significant quantities of
firewood to parks located more than 50 miles away.

(3)  This rule creates a voluntary certification program for
firewood dealers who obtain their wood from Wisconsin and
agree to treat the wood for potential pests such as Emerald Ash
Borer.  Certified firewood dealers may supply firewood to
Wisconsin state parks, even though they are located more than
50 miles from those parks.

(4)  DATCP is adopting this rule as a temporary emergency
rule, pending completion of “permanent” rulemaking
proceedings.  DATCP cannot complete permanent rules in
time for the 2007 camping season.  Without this emergency
rule, certain firewood dealers may experience unnecessary
financial hardship during the 2007 camping season, because
they will be precluded from supplying firewood to state parks
more than 50 miles away.  This emergency rule allows those
firewood dealers to continue supplying firewood to more
distant state parks, subject to sourcing and treatment
requirements that are reasonably designed to prevent the
spread of serious exotic pests.

Publication Date: May 22, 2007
Effective Date: May 22, 2007
Expiration Date: September 19, 2007
Hearing Date: June 26, 2007

Commerce
(Licenses, Certifications, etc., Ch. Comm 5)

Rules adopted revising ch. Comm 5, relating to licensing
of elevator contractors and installers.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Under the nonstatutory provisions of 2005 Wis. Act 456,

the Department of Commerce was directed to issue
emergency rules that implement provisions of the Act.  The
Act specifically states:  “Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1)
(a) and (3) of the statutes, the department of commerce is not
required to provide evidence that promulgating rules under
this subsection as emergency rules is necessary for the
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare and
is not required to provide a finding of emergency for the rules
promulgated under this subsection.”

The Act mandates the licensing of elevator contractors and
installers.  Under the Act no person may engage in the
business of installing or servicing conveyances or working on
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a conveyance unless licensed as of June 1, 2007.  These
emergency rules are being adopted in order to provide the
elevator industry the ability to comply with licensing aspects
of the Act and continue working until permanent rules are
implemented.

Publication Date: June 1, 2007
Effective Date: June1, 2007
Expiration Date: October 29, 2007
Hearing Date: June 27, 2007

Commerce
(Financial Resources for Businesses and

Communities, Chs. Comm 104−131)

Rules adopted creating ch. Comm 135, relating to tax
credits and exemptions for internet equipment used in the
broadband market.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
These rules establish the criteria for administering a

program that will (1) certify businesses as temporarily
eligible for tax credits and exemptions for Internet equipment
used in the broadband market, and (2) allocate up to
$7,500,000 to these businesses for these tax credits and
exemptions.

Pursuant to section 227.24 of the statutes, this rule is
adopted as an emergency rule to take effect upon publication
in the official state newspaper.  In accordance with section 17
(1) (d) of 2005 Wisconsin Act 479, this rule will remain in
effect until January 1, 2008, or until the Department reports
its certifications and determinations under this rule to the
Department of Revenue, whichever is sooner.

The rules specify who is eligible for the income and
franchise tax credits and the sales and use tax exemptions in
this program, for Internet equipment used in the broadband
market.  Eligible equipment is also specified, along with how
to apply for the certifications and allocations.  Parameters for
allocating the authorized total of  $7,500,000 are likewise
specified.  These parameters emphasize (1) efficiently
initiating broadband Internet service in areas of Wisconsin
that otherwise are not expected to soon receive this service,
and (2) encouraging economic or community development.
The rule chapter also describes the time−specific legislative
oversight that is established in 2005 Act 479 for these
allocations, and describes the follow−up reports that the Act
requires from every person who receives a sales or use tax
exemption under this chapter.

Publication Date: February 20, 2007
Effective Date: February 20, 2007
Expiration Date: See section 17 (1) (d) 2005

   Wis. Act 479
Hearing Date: March 26, 2007

Elections Board

Rules adopted creating s. ElBd 3.50, relating to pricing of
voter information available from the Statewide Voter
Registration System.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The Elections Board finds that under Section 180 of the

non−statutory provisions of 2005 Wisconsin Act 451, in

subsection (4), the Elections Board may promulgate
emergency rules under s. 227.24, Stats., implementing s. 6.36
(6), Stats., as created by Wisconsin Act 451. Notwithstanding
s. 227.24 (1) (c) and (2), Stats., emergency rules promulgated
under subsection (4) remain in effect until the date on which
permanent rules take effect. Notwithstanding s. 227.24 (1) (a)
and (3), Stats., the Elections Board is not required to provide
evidence that promulgating a rule under subsection (4) as an
emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of public
peace, health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under
subsection (4).

This amended rule interprets ss. 5.02 (14) and (17), 6.27,
6.275, 6.29, 6.33, 6.34, 6.35, 6.36, 6.40, 6.45, 6.46, 6.48, 6.50,
6.54, 6.55, 6.56, and 6.57, Stats.  The rule requires that
persons who request copies of information from the Statewide
Voter registration System must pay, for each such copy, a
charge calculated under the provisions of the rule.

At the present time, the Elections Board is limited, in the
fee that it can charge for information provided by the
Statewide Voter registration System, to the fee set by s. 19.35
(3), Stats.: “the actual, necessary, and direct cost of
reproduction and transcription of the record.”  In order to
recover both the cost of reproduction and the cost of
maintaining the list at the state and local level, rather than
having its charge be limited to the amount currently provided
under the public records law, the Board needs an immediate
rule reflecting both cost components required by the new
statute.

Publication Date: May 12, 2007
Effective Date: May 12, 2007
Expiration Date: See section 180 (4), 2005 

Wis. Act 451
Hearing Date: June 11, 2007

Health and Family Services
(Community Services, Chs. HFS 30—)

Rules adopted revising ch. HFS 51, relating to the adoption
of children to include preadoption training requirements that
will apply to private adoptions, international adoption, and
adoptions of children with special needs and affecting small
businesses.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Health and Family Services finds that

an emergency exists and that rules are necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

On April 10, 2006, the Wisconsin State Legislature enacted
2005 Wisconsin Act 293, which amended s. 48.84, Stats., to
require first−time adoptive parents to receive preadoption
training before a child may be placed for adoption by a court
pursuant to s. 48.833, Stats., or before a prospective adoptive
parent may petition for placement of a child for adoption
under s. 48.837, Stats., or before a proposed adoptive parent
may bring a child into Wisconsin for an international adoption
under s. 48.839, Stats.  The Act further requires the
Department to promulgate rules that establish the number of
hours and topics covered in the training of first−time adoptive
parents.  The training must cover issues that may confront
adoptive parents in general and that may confront adoptive
parents of special needs or international children.

The Act requires the rules to be effective April 1, 2007.
Because the rules apply not only to the Department which
administers the special needs adoption program with the
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assistance of private agencies under contract with the
Department, and with the cooperation of county human and
social service agencies, but also to private agencies that
handle domestic adoptions and international adoptions, the
Department has invested a significant amount of time
gathering information from agencies regarding what training
is currently provided to preadoptive parents.  The Department
conducted written and follow−up telephone surveys with
private agencies to determine what content was currently
being taught, and the format used for training.  The
Department’s Adoption Services Committee met over several
months to determine the curriculum for special needs
adoption, the competencies that would be required for all
training programs, the number of hours and the
documentation that would be required in the training.  In
addition, the Department reviewed the proposed Hague
Convention (federal) training requirements for proposed
adoptive parents of international children to assure that
Wisconsin’s training requirements for first−time
pre−adoptive parents would meet or exceed those
requirements.

As a result of this extensive collaboration with
stakeholders, development of the proposed training
requirements has been unusually long and now requires the
training requirements to be implemented as an emergency
rule in order to meet the legislated date of April 1, 2007, the
date adoptive parents must begin receiving preadoptive
training.

This emergency rules are substantially similar to the
proposed permanent rules except in the hours of training
required.  Under the emergency order, adoption agencies are
required to provide adoptive parents with 2 hours of
orientation and 10 hours of training.  The proposed permanent
rule requires adoption agencies to provide 2 hours of
orientation and 16 hours of training.  Stakeholder agencies
have indicated that the additional 5 months under the
emergency rule will allow them to prepare all proposed
adoptive parents to meet the orientation and training
requirements under the proposed permanent rules.

Publication Date: March 31, 2007

Effective Date: April 1, 2007

Expiration Date: August 29, 2007
Hearing Date: April 27, 2007

Health and Family Services
(Medical Assistance, Chs. HFS 100—)

Rules adopted revising ch. HFS 107, relating to benefits
covered by the Wisconsin Medical Assistance program, and
affecting small businesses.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Health and Family Services finds that

an emergency exists and that the adoption of an emergency
rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public,
health, safety and welfare.  The facts constituting the
emergency are as follows:

A recent revision to s. HFS 107.07 (2), the prior
authorization subsection of the dental services section of the
Medicaid Administrative Code, caused a result which was not
intended by the Department. To correct this error, the
Department is promulgating rules to clarify that the
Department’s intent is to require prior authorization for
orthodontia and other services provided under early and
periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment (EPSDT)

services. The medical necessity of these services is
determined by the Department based on information
submitted by the provider. Thus, it is necessary to require
prior authorization to determine the appropriateness of
providing these services to an individual recipient.

In the previous rulemaking (Clearinghouse Rule 05−033)
the prior authorization requirement was removed for most
procedures that had high rates of approval (greater than 75%).
The change was intended to reduce the staff time required for
dental offices to process prior authorization requests. The
Department did not intend to remove the requirement for prior
authorization for orthodontia and other services. The
Department specifically stated, in Clearinghouse Rule
05−033, that ”Procedures where appropriate pricing requires
a high degree of clinical knowledge (e.g., orthodontics and
TMJ surgery), and procedures with strict time limitations
(e.g., dentures) are also proposed to retain prior
authorization.”

The language that was adopted, however, has been
interpreted by at least one dentist to mean that prior
authorization is no longer required to provide orthodontia to
recipients. This interpretation was upheld by an
administrative law judge in an administrative hearing. The
Department believes that the interpretation of the
administrative law judge could open up the Department to
being required to pay for procedures that are purely cosmetic.
Because the intent of the Department and the language
adopted, as recently interpreted, had opposite effects, the
Department is promulgating rules to revise section s. HFS
107.07 to clarify the intent of the rule.

A basic concept of the Medicaid program is that services
must be medically necessary to be reimbursable.  Allowing
the existing rule language to remain in its present form could
require reimbursement for orthodontia that is not medically
justified.

Publication Date: April 30, 2007
Effective Date: April 30, 2007
Expiration Date: September 27, 2007

Natural Resources  (5)
(Fish and Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—)

1. Rules adopted amending s. NR 1.21 and creating s. NR
1.26, relating to contracting for timber sale establishment
services on state land.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
As provided in section 13 of 2005 Wis. Act 166,

“Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1) (a) and (3) of the
statutes, the department is not required to provide a finding of
emergency for a rule promulgated under this subsection.”

Section 1 of the proposed rule distinguishes between
timber sales related tasks that can be contracted and functions
that Department staff must perform to protect the resource and
assure compliance with regulations and property master
plans. The purpose is to divide technical activities that are
appropriate for contracting from administration of finance,
policy and compliance issues. The rule defines bidding and
payment procedures for the contracted services, including
prequalification of bidders based on experience with timber
sales and related forest inventory work. Section 2 makes
technical corrections in the definition of educational
requirements for cooperating foresters. The change would
make educational requirements for cooperating foresters and
department foresters identical, including the allowance of
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training equivalent to that obtained at a college accredited by
the Society of American Foresters.

Publication Date: February 6, 2007

Effective Date: February 6, 2007

Expiration Date: July 6, 2007
Hearing Date: March 21, 2007

2. Rules adopted creating s. NR 45.075, relating to declaring
natural emergencies on forested lands owned by the state
and under the jurisdiction of the department.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
As provided in section 13 of 2005 Wis. Act 166,

notwithstanding s. 227.24, Stats., the Department is not
required to provide a finding of emergency for this rule and
the emergency rule will remain in effect until a permanent rule
is promulgated.

Rule FR−11−07(E) specifies those emergencies on
forested land under the jurisdiction of the department over
which the chief state forester shall have management
authority.  This rule describes causes of unforeseen damage or
threat of damage to trees that could lead the chief state forester
to declare an emergency and assume management authority.
Included in the list of damaging agents that could lead to the
declaration of an emergency are those required by the
legislature: invasive species, pest infestation, disease, and
damage to timber from fire, snow, hail, ice, or wind.  The rule
states that when declaring and responding to an emergency,
the chief state forester shall consider the purpose of and
management plan for the affected property in his or her
decisions.  This rule, however, would allow the chief state
forester to take actions not described in the management plan
for a property if that were the most appropriate response to the
emergency.  Finally, this rule describes the processes by which
the declaration of the state of emergency shall be made
effective, canceled or modified.

Publication Date: February 6, 2007

Effective Date: February 6, 2007

Expiration Date: July 6, 2007
Hearing Date: March 21, 2007

3. Rules adopted revising chs. NR 19 and 20, relating to the
control of fish diseases and invasive species.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Natural Resources finds that an

emergency exists and rules are necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A
statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The World Health Organization for Animal Health (OIE)
lists viral hemorrhagic septicemia (VHS)  as a ”notifiable”
disease, meaning that outbreaks must be reported
immediately.  VHS has been discovered in the Great Lakes,
and is moving from the lower lakes (Ontario and Erie), where
it has already caused large−scale fish kills, via Huron, where
it has been present since 2005, to the upper lakes (Michigan
and Superior).  Lake Michigan is connected to the Mississippi
River by the Chicago Sanitary and Ship Canal and Illinois
River, allowing fish and fish diseases to reach the Mississippi
drainage.  Twenty−seven species of Wisconsin fish have been
identified as susceptible by the OIE or USDA APHIS,
including most of our most important recreational and
commercial species.  The VHS virus can be transported from
affected areas to areas where it is not yet present via live fish,
fish eggs, refrigerated or frozen dead fish, or water where

infected fish have been present.  The presence of VHS virus
in the Great Lakes is therefore a threat to the public health or
safety or to the environment.

Publication Date: April 8, 2007
Effective Date: April 8, 2007
Expiration Date: September 5, 2007
Hearing Date: May 3, 10 and 17, 2007

4. Rules adopted revising chs. NR 19 and 20, relating to the
control of fish diseases and invasive species.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Natural Resources finds that an

emergency exists and the foregoing rules are necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The World Health Organization for Animal Health (OIE)
lists viral hemorrhagic septicemia (VHS)  as a ”notifiable”
disease, meaning that outbreaks must be reported
immediately.  VHS has been discovered in the Great Lakes,
and is moving from the lower lakes (Ontario and Erie), where
it has already caused large−scale fish kills, via Huron, where
it has been present since 2005, to the upper lakes (Michigan
and Superior).  Lake Michigan is connected to the Mississippi
River by the Chicago Sanitary and Ship Canal and Illinois
River, allowing fish and fish diseases to reach the Mississippi
drainage.  Twenty−seven species of Wisconsin fish have been
identified as susceptible by the OIE or USDA APHIS,
including most of our most important recreational and
commercial species.  The VHS virus can be transported from
affected areas to areas where it is not yet present via live fish,
fish eggs, refrigerated or frozen dead fish, or water where
infected fish have been present.  The presence of VHS virus
in the Great Lakes is therefore a threat to the public health or
safety or to the environment.

This emergency rule clarifies and expands the emergency
rules put into effect on April 8, 2007.

Publication Date: May 2, 2007
Effective Date: May 2, 2007
Expiration Date: September 5, 2007
Hearing Date: June 11, 2007

5. Rules adopted revising emergency rules affecting chs. NR
19 and 20 relating to control of fish diseases and invasive
species.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Natural Resources finds that an

emergency exists and the rules are necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The World Health Organization for Animal Health (OIE)
lists viral hemorrhagic septicemia (VHS) as a “notifiable”
disease, meaning that outbreaks must be reported
immediately. On May 11, the Department received notice that
freshwater drum collected from Little Lake Butte des Morts
were infected with the VHS virus. Earlier VHS had been
discovered in the Great Lakes, and was known to be moving
from the lower lakes (Ontario and Erie), where it has already
caused large−scale fish kills, via Huron, where it has been
present since 2005, to the upper lakes (Michigan and
Superior). Lake Michigan is connected to the Mississippi
River by the Chicago Sanitary and Ship Canal and Illinois
River, allowing fish and fish disease to reach the Mississippi
drainage basin. Twenty−seven species of Wisconsin fish have
been identified as susceptible by the OIE or USDAAPHIS,
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including most of our most important recreational and
commercial species. The VHS virus can be transported from
infected areas to areas where it is not yet present via live fish,
fish eggs, refrigerated or frozen dead fish, or water where
infected fish have been present. The presence of VHS virus in
Wisconsin is therefore a threat to the public health or safety
or to the environment.

Publication Date: May 27, 2007

Effective Date: May 27, 2007

Expiration Date: September 5, 2007
Hearing Date: July 11, 2007

[See Notice this Register]

Natural Resources
(Environmental Protection − Water

Regulation, Chs. NR 300−)

Rules adopted revising ch. NR 345, relating to general
permits for dredging in Great Lakes navigable waterways.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public health, safety and welfare. The Wisconsin
Legislature enacted 2003 Wisconsin Act 118 to streamline the
regulatory process for activities in public trust waters.  The
state has an affirmative duty to administer the law in a manner
consistent with the public trust responsibilities of the State of
Wisconsin under Article IX, Section I of the Wisconsin
Constitution.

Act 118 identifies certain activities that may be undertaken
under a general permit.  There are no statutory general permits
for dredging, including operation of a motor vehicle, on the
beds of the Great Lakes to remove algae, mussels, dead fish
and similar large plant and animal nuisance deposits.  Without
emergency rules to create general permits, all dredging,
including operation of a motor vehicle, on the beds of the
Great Lakes to remove plant and animal nuisance deposits
require an individual permit with an automatic 30−day public
notice.  The required 30−day comment period will
unnecessarily delay projects that otherwise could go ahead
with prescribed conditions established in a general permit. To
carry out the intention of Act 118 to speed decision−making
but not diminish the public trust in state waters, these
emergency rules are required to establish general permits to
be in effect for the 2007 summer season, with specific
standards for operation of a motor vehicle, on the beds of the
Great Lakes to remove plant and animal nuisance deposits.

Publication Date: June 10, 2007
Effective Date: June 10, 2007
Expiration Date: November 7, 2007
Hearing Date: July 10, 2007

[See Notice this Register]

Workforce Development (2)
(Workforce Solutions, Chs. DWD 11 to 59)

1. Rules adopted revising s. DWD 56.06, relating to child
care rates and affecting small businesses.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The child care subsidy budget estimates that the child care
subsidy program will have a tight budget by the end of fiscal
year 06−07.  This is due to flat federal funding, rising
caseload, and increased provider costs.  To begin to address
the tight budget, the Department will not increase the child
care subsidy maximum rates for 2007.  This emergency rule
will maintain the maximum rates at 2006 levels.

Publication Date: January 22, 2007
Effective Date: January 22, 2007
Expiration Date: June 21, 2007
Hearing Date: May 7, 2007

2. Rules adopted revising ch. DWD 56, relating to child care
enrollment underutilization.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare.  A
statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The child care subsidy budget is expected to have a
substantial deficit by the end of state fiscal year 2006−07.
While many factors will have an impact on the program’s final
fiscal balance, current spending patterns at current rates
suggest that the program will exceed its 06−07 budget
authorization by approximately $46 million.  This rule will
provide for more efficient use of the program’s limited
funding.

Publication Date: April 1, 2007
Effective Date: April 1, 2007
Expiration Date: August 29, 2007
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Scope Statements

Commerce

Subject
Relating to grants for rehabilitation and recycling of

manufactured housing.
Description of the objective of the rule.

These rules would establish a grant program for
rehabilitation and recycling of manufactured housing, as
directed by SECTION 75 of 2005 Wisconsin Act 45.
Description of existing policies relevant to the rule and
of new policies proposed to be included in the rule and
an analysis of policy alternatives.

The Department does not have any existing policies for
grants for rehabilitation and recycling of manufactured
housing.

These rules are expected to address (1) contracting with
one or more entities which are exempt from taxation under
section 501 (a) of the Internal Revenue Code and which
employ individuals with technical expertise concerning
manufactured housing, for the administration of the grant
program; (2) awarding grants to persons engaged in the
disposal of abandoned manufactured homes and to
municipalities, for the purpose of supporting environmentally
sound disposal practices; (3) awarding grants to individuals
who reside in manufactured homes that are in need of critical
repairs, and who are otherwise unable to finance the critical
repairs; (4) coordinating this grant program with the state
housing strategy plan under section 560.9802 of the Statutes;
and (5) any other administrative features that are needed to
effectively implement and manage the grant program.

The only policy alternative would be to not promulgate the
rules, which would conflict with the directive in 2005 Act 45.
Statutory authority for the rule.

Section 560.285 (3), as created by 2005 Wisconsin Act 45,
and section 227.11 (2) (a).
Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

The staff time needed to develop the rules is expected to
range from 100 to 300 hours, depending upon the associated
complexity.  This includes research, rule drafting, and
processing the rules through public hearings, legislative
review, and adoption.  There are no other resources necessary
to promulgate the rules.
Description of all of the entities that will be affected by
the rule.

These rules may affect entities that desire financial
assistance for rehabilitation or recycling of manufactured
housing, and entities that may be interested in administering
this grant program.
Summary and preliminary comparison of any existing
or proposed federal regulation that is intended to
address the activities to be regulated by the rule.

An Internet−based search for “grants for manufactured
housing” in the Code of Federal Regulations revealed
regulations for rental rehabilitation grants in 24 CFR 511.
These grants can be used for rehabilitation of manufactured

rental housing units that are on a permanent foundation, have
permanent utility hook−ups, are designed for use as a
permanent residence, and meet the Section 8 housing quality
standards for manufactured homes in 24 CFR 882.109 (o).  No
other existing federal regulations for grant programs for
rehabilitation or recycling of manufactured housing were
revealed.

An Internet−based search for “grants for manufactured
housing” in the 2006 and 2007 volumes of the Federal
Register did not identify any proposed federal regulation that
addresses rehabilitation or recycling of manufactured
housing.

Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional
Counseling and Social Work Examining Board

Subject
This rule amendment affects the internship requirements as

provided in Wis. Admin. Code s. MPSW 3.13 (3) (a).  It also
affects the application requirements for  clinical social work
licensure specifically related to obtaining 3,000 hours of
supervised clinical social work practice as provided in s.
MPSW 3.09 (3).

Policy Issues

Objective of the Rule
Proposed amendment to s. MPSW 3.13:
Section MPSW 3.13 (3) (a) specifies that a person

preparing to qualify for degree equivalency in social work
with an internship must either submit an internship which was
part of his or her degree program or one that was completed
while holding the training certificate.  Currently, this
provision does not require that the internship be affiliated with
a college or university.  This amendment would clarify that the
human services internship was either completed as a part of
a person’s degree program or will be completed through an
educational institution.  In order to provide a meaningful
internship, the Social Worker Section believes that
educational institutions will appropriately place and
supervise students to ensure that they undergo a legitimate
social work training in preparation for obtaining their
credential.

Proposed amendment to s. MPSW 3.09:
Section MPSW 3.09 (3) specifies that a person applying for

clinical social work licensure must submit evidence of 3,000
hours of supervised clinical social work practice completed
after receiving certification as an advanced practice social
worker or independent social worker.  Because the rules
require that applicants must have achieved their 3,000 hours
of supervised practice while holding a Wisconsin credential,
the Section may not consider the supervised hours of those
applicants who obtained them out−of−state and without a
Wisconsin credential.  The Section has determined that due to
increased mobility, the rules should be amended to give the
Section increased flexibility in considering clinical hours
gained out−of−state if those hours are substantially equivalent
to the clinical social work practice hours gained in state.
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Statutory Authority
Sections  15.08 (5) (b) & (6), 227.11 (2) and 457.03 (3),

Stats.
Existing or Proposed Federal Legislation

None.
Entities Affected by the Rule

Those applicants applying for certification through social
worker degree equivalency.  Applicants who have gained
their supervised clinical social work experience out−of−state
who apply for Wisconsin clinical social work licensure
through examination.
Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

120 hours

Natural Resources

Subject
Relating to Revisions to the National Emission Standards

for Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAP) for Halogenated
Solvent Cleaning Operations and Revisions to the NESHAP
General Provisions
Objective of the Proposed Rule

This action will amend chs. NR 460 and 469 to incorporate
federal amendments to the national emission standards for
hazardous air pollutants (NESHAP) for halogenated solvent
cleaning operations and the NESHAP general provisions into
the Wisconsin Administrative Code.  Other chapters may be
amended, if germane and appropriate, to accomplish the
actions described above.
Relevant Existing and New Policies and Analysis of
Policy Alternatives

The USEPA published amendments to the NESHAP
general provisions on April 20, 2006 (71 FR 20446) and on
May 16, 2007 (72 FR 27437) and amendments to the
NESHAP for halogenated solvent cleaning operations on
May 3, 2007 (72 FR 25138).  The proposed rules will
incorporate all of these federal amendments into the
Wisconsin Administrative Code.  Since the amended
regulations are already in effect at the national level, there are
no policy issues to be resolved.

Section 285.27 (2), Stats., requires the Department to
promulgate NESHAP by rule.
Statutory Authority

Sections 285.11(1), 285.27(2), and 227.11(2)(a), Stats.
Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

About 200 hours of Department staff time will be needed
to amend these rules.
Description of All Entities Affected by the Rule

The amendments to the halogenated solvent cleaning rule
(NR 469) could affect up to 42 facilities in Wisconsin.  The
amendments to the general provisions (NR 460) could affect
hundreds of facilities statewide which are major sources of
hazardous air pollutants.  Both sets of amendments are
designed to make compliance easier for affected facilities.
Summary and Preliminary Comparison With Existing
or Proposed Federal Regulations

The federal amendments have already been incorporated
into the federal rules.  This action will incorporate the federal
amendments into the state rules, which will make the state
rules identical to the federal rules except for minor changes to

the federal language to accommodate state administrative rule
language requirements and to improve clarity.
Contact Person

Eric Mosher
Department of Natural Resources
Bureau of Air Management
PO Box 7921
Madison, WI 53707
Phone: 608−266−3010
E−mail:  Eric.Mosher@wisconsin.gov

Natural Resources

Subject
Relating to chs. NR 809 and 811 and creating ch. NR 810

Federal groundwater rule affecting public drinking water
systems.
Subject/Objective of the Proposed Rule

On November 8, 2006 the Environmental Protection
Agency (EPA) published the Groundwater Rule (GWR);
these changes impact all public drinking water systems
(PWS) using groundwater as their water source.  The rule
addresses risks associated with viruses in drinking water
systems that are supplied by groundwater.  The rule’s
approach relies on four major components:

1.  Sanitary surveys (inspections) of ground water systems
that include the evaluation of eight required elements and the
identification of significant deficiencies.

2.  Source water monitoring to test for the presence of a
fecal contamination indicator in the sample. There are two
monitoring provisions:

� Triggered monitoring for water systems that have a total
coliform−positive routine distribution system sample under
Total Coliform Rule sampling and do not have treatment that
provides at least 99.99 percent (4−log) inactivation or
removal of viruses.

� Assessment monitoring − States have the option to
require water systems, at any time, to conduct source water
assessment monitoring to help identify high risk water
systems.

3.  Corrective actions for any water system with a
significant deficiency or source water fecal contamination
indicator. The water system must implement one or more of
the following actions:

� correct all significant deficiencies,
� eliminate the source of contamination,
� provide an alternate source of water, or
� provide treatment which reliably achieves 99.99 percent

(4−log) inactivation or removal of viruses.
4.  Compliance monitoring to ensure that any treatment

technology installed to treat drinking water reliably achieves
at least 99.99 percent (4−log) inactivation or removal of
viruses.

The GWR will require the addition of water treatment
design, construction, and operation to ch. NR 811−
Requirements for the Operation and Design of Community
Water.  These updates will include the standards needed to
approve treatment system design and construction for
community water systems to provide 4−log inactivation or
removal of viruses for public water systems using
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groundwater as their water source.   The applicability of
treatment and operational requirements under the GWR is
required of all public water systems, including
non−community public water systems; requiring that either
an additional administrative code be written to deal with the
operational and treatment monitoring requirements for
non−community systems or that operation and monitoring of
all treatment systems be split out in to a separate
administrative code and cover all PWS.

Description of Policy Issues/Analysis of Policy
Alternatives

To maintain primacy, Wisconsin must adopt all federal
requirements under the Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA) or
have requirements that are equal to or more stringent then the
SDWA.   The EPA has provided the states with a choice of
which fecal indicator can be used for compliance monitoring
under the GWR (chosen from the following:  E. coli,
enterococci, or coliphage).  The GWR provides the states with
the option of requiring additional source water monitoring or
targeting high risk systems for additional source water
monitoring.  Additionally, the treatment criteria for providing
4 log inactivation/removal of viruses are to be established by
the states, with help provided by EPA in the form of guidance
manuals.

In order to encompass operation and monitoring of
treatment processes required under the GWR, for all public
water systems, the Department proposes to restructure chs.
NR 809 and NR 811 and create ch. NR 810.

� Ch. NR 809 − would be restructured to include only
compliance monitoring requirements of the SDWA.

� Ch. NR 811− would be restructured to include only
design and construction requirements for community water
systems.

� Ch. NR 810 would be created to include the
requirements for the operation and maintenance of all public
water systems including the daily operation of water
production, treatment and distribution.

Restructuring of the administrative codes will also allow
corrections and updates that need to be added to ch. NR 811.
By creating separate administrative codes for
design/construction of community water systems and
operation/maintenance of all public water systems the
requirements will be less cumbersome and more
straightforward to use.

The Department proposes to conduct a meeting for
stakeholders to discuss the various options available for both
the GWR and administrative code restructuring.  Small work
groups will be formed on issues identified at the stakeholder
meeting as needing input.

Statutory Authority
Sections 280.11 and 281.17(8) Stats and the Department’s

primacy agreement with EPA require the Department to adopt
rules at least as stringent as the federal regulations.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
2000 hours

Summary and Comparison With Existing or Proposed
Federal Regulations

This rule change will allow the Department regulations to
remain as stringent as the EPA regulations so that the
Department will maintain primacy (“primary enforcement
authority”) for the affected regulation. States with primacy
are eligible for federal funding from EPA. Failure to adopt
these federal drinking water regulations into state regulation

could result in a decrease or withdrawal of federal funding to
Wisconsin’s Drinking Water State Revolving Loan Fund.
There are no comparable federal standards on the design,
construction, operation and maintenance of public water
systems.
Contact Person

Lee H. Boushon, Bureau of Drinking Water and
Groundwater, P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707; (608)
266−0857; Lee.Boushon@Wisconsin.gov

Regulation and Licensing

Subject
Revisions to administrative rules relating to the regulation

of licensed and certified real estate appraisers (chs. RL
80−87).

Policy Issues
Objective of the Rule

To clarify and update the administrative rules relating to
the regulation of licensed and certified real estate appraisers.
Recommended changes relate to:

Revisions to the application, examination, experience,
qualifying education, continuing education and renewal
requirements for licensed and certified real estate appraisers
to reflect changes made to the Real Property Appraiser
Qualification Criteria and Interpretations of the Criteria
adopted by the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) of the
Appraisal Foundation.

Revisions to the experience audit requirements for licensed
and certified real estate appraisers to reflect the changes to
Statement 10 of the Policy Statements Regarding State
Certification and Licensing of Real Estate Appraisers
proposed by the Appraisal Subcommittee of the Federal
Financial Institutions Examination Council.

Revisions relating to unprofessional conduct.
Clarity, grammar, punctuation, and use of plain language.

Existing Policies Relevant to the Rules, New Policies
Proposed and Analysis of Policy Alternatives

Existing policies are contained in Chapters RL 80−87 and
Appendix I, Wis. Admin. Code.  The proposal would revise:

Definitions; application, examination, experience,
qualifying education, continuing education and renewal
requirements; rules of unprofessional conduct; and minor,
technical and grammatical changes.
Statutory Authority

Sections 227.11 (2), 458.03 (1) (b), 458.06, 458.08 and
458.085, Stats.
Existing or Proposed Federal Legislation

(A)  Federal Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and
Enforcement Act of 1989 (“FIRREA”)

(1)  In General
The Federal Institutions Reform, Recovery, and

Enforcement Act (“FIRREA”), 12 U.S.C. 3331 et seq., (Title
XI) was enacted in 1989.  Under FIRREA, insured financial
institutions and insured credit unions are required to obtain
the services of a state certified or licensed appraiser for
appraisals conducted in connection with “federally related
transactions.”

Under FIRREA, the Appraisal Subcommittee of the
Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council is
required to monitor state appraiser certifying and licensing
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agencies for the purpose of determining whether a state
agency’s policies, practices, and procedures are consistent
with the federal law.  The Appraisal Subcommittee may not
recognize appraiser certifications and licenses from states
whose appraisal policies, practices, or procedures are found
to be inconsistent with FIRREA.  Before refusing to recognize
a state’s appraiser certifications or licenses, the Appraisal
Subcommittee must provide that state’s certifying and
licensing agency with a written notice of its intention not to
recognize the state’s certified or licensed appraisers and
ample opportunity to provide rebuttal information or to
correct the conditions causing the refusal.  A decision of the
Subcommittee to refuse to recognize a state’s appraiser
certifications or licenses is subject to judicial review.  12
U.S.C. 3331 et seq.

In 1997,  the Appraisal Subcommittee adopted the Policy
Statements Regarding State Certification and Licensing of
Real Estate Appraisers, which all states must comply with
[The Appraisal Subcommittee’s Policy Statements are
available at http://www.asc.gov.]

(2)  Appraiser Qualifications
Under FRREA, the state criteria for the qualifications of

certified real estate appraisers must meet the minimum
qualifications criteria for certification established by the
Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) of the Appraisal
Foundation. The minimum qualifications criteria established
by the AQB are set forth in the Real Property Appraiser
Qualification Criteria and Interpretations of the Criteria
(“Criteria”). The AQB Criteria includes the minimum
experience, examination, qualifying education and
continuing education requirements that must be satisfied by
an individual in order to obtain and maintain a certified
appraiser credential. [The AQB Criteria is available on the
Internet at:  http://www.appraisalfoundation.org.]

Under FIRREA, the states may establish their own
qualifications and requirements for licensed appraiser
credentials.  The states are not obligated to adopt the
minimum experience, examination, education and continuing
education requirements recommended by the AQB for the
licensure of real estate appraisers.  However, the Appraisal
Subcommittee recommends that all states adopt the AQB
Criteria established for the licensure of real estate appraisers.

Entities Affected by the Rule
Licensed and certified real estate appraisers, lenders, and

owners of real estate.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
300 hours

Regulation and Licensing

Subject
Revisions to administrative rules relating to the regulation

of licensed and certified appraisers (ch. RL 87, Appendix I).

Policy Issues
Objective of the Rule

The proposed rule will repeal and recreate ch. RL 87,
Appendix I, to incorporate by reference the revisions to the
2006 edition of the Uniform Standards of Professional
Appraisal Practice (USPAP) that is published by the
Appraisal Standards Board (ASB) of the Appraisal
Foundation.
Existing Policies Relevant to the Rules, New Policies
Proposed and Analysis of Policy Alternatives

Under s. RL 86.01 (2), all appraisals performed by licensed
and certified appraisers must conform to the Uniform
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice that is in effect
at the time the appraisals are prepared.  These rules will
incorporate, by reference, the most up−to−date version of
USPAP.
Statutory Authority

The Department of Regulation and Licensing has the
statutory authority under ss. 227.11 (2) and 458.24, Stats., to
promulgate rules to reflect revisions to the Uniform Standards
of Professional Appraisal Practice.
Existing or Proposed Federal Legislation

The Federal Institutions Reform, Recovery, and
Enforcement Act (“FIRREA”), 12 U.S.C. 3331 et seq., (Title
XI) was enacted in 1989.  Under FIRREA, insured financial
institutions and insured credit unions are required to obtain
the services of a state certified or licensed appraiser for
appraisals conducted in connection with “federally related
transactions.”

The Appraisal Subcommittee of the Federal Financial
Institutions Examination Council is authorized under
FIRREA to monitor the requirements established by states for
the certification and licensing of individuals who are qualified
to perform appraisals in connection with federally related
transactions.  12 USC 3333; Appraisal Subcommittee – Policy
Statements Regarding State Certification and Licensing of
Appraisers.

Under FIRREA, real estate appraisals performed in
connection with federally related transaction are required to
be performed in accordance with generally accepted appraisal
standards as evidenced by the appraisal standards
promulgated by the Appraisal Standards Board (ASB) of the
Appraisal Foundation.  21 USC 3339; Appraisal
Subcommittee – Policy Statements Regarding State
Certification and Licensing of Appraisers, Statement 3.

The appraisal standards promulgated by the ASB are
contained in the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal
Practice (USPAP) and is available on the Appraisal
Foundation’s website at: http//www.appraisalfoundation.org.
Entities Affected by the Rule

Licensed and certified appraisers, lenders, and owners of
real estate.
Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

100 hours
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Submittal of Rules to Legislative Council Clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection

On June 12, 2007 the Wisconsin Department of
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection submitted a
proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed rule amends chs. ATCP 10 and 12, relating
to animal health fees.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
The department will hold public hearings on this rule

after the Rules Clearinghouse completes it review.  The
department’s Agricultural Resource Management
Division is primarily responsible for this rule.

Contact Information
Anna Oehler
(608) 224−4875

Commerce

On June 15, 2007 the Department of Commerce
submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed rule affects ch. Comm 133, relating to film
production accreditation program.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
The Business Development Division is responsible for

promulgation of the rule.  A public hearing is required.

Contact Information
Sam Rockweiler
Code Development Consultant
(608) 266−0797
srockweiler@commerce.state.wi.us

Employee Trust Funds

On June 14, 2007 the Department of Employee Trust
Funds submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council
Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed rule repeals ss. ETF 20.14, 20.15, 20.16
and 20.18, amends ss. ETF 10.01 (7), 20.19 (2) (a), (b) (d),
and (dm), 20.35 (3) (d) 2. and 50.50 (2) (b), repeals and
recreates s. ETF 29.19 (2) (c) and creates s. ETF 20.17
regarding the purchase of retirement credit for service.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing is required and will be held on July 12,

2007, at 9:00 AM in the downstairs Conference Room GB

at the offices of the Department of Employee Trust Funds,
801 West Badger Road, Madison, Wisconsin.

The Department’s Chief Council is primarily
responsible for the promulgation of this rule, with
assistance from the Division of Retirement Services and
Division of Trust Finances and Employer Services.
Contact Information

Robert Weber, Chief Counsel
(608) 266−5804

Health and Family Services

On June 12, 2007 the Wisconsin Department of Health
and Family Services submitted a proposed rule to the
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The proposed rule amends ch. HFS 133, relating to
Home Health Agencies.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required; however, a public hearing
has not yet been scheduled for this proposed rule.
Contact Information

For substantive questions on rules, contact:
Pat Benesh
Division of Quality Assurance
1 West Wilson St., Room 1150
Madison, WI 53701
Phone: (608) 264−9896
Fax: (608) 267−7119
benespa@dhfs.state.wi.us

 For small business considerations, contact:
Rosie Greer
(608) 266−1279
greerrj@dhfs.state.wi.us
 

For rules processing information, contact:
Rosie Greer
(608) 266−1279
greerrj@dhfs.state.wi.us

Natural Resources

On May 31, 2007, the Wisconsin Department of Natural
Resources submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The proposed rules affects ch. NR 8, relating to Wildlife
Violators Compact.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing has been scheduled for July 26, 2007.
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Contact Information
Tom Van Haren
Bureau of Law Enforcement
(608) 266−3244

Natural Resources

On May 31, 2007 the Wisconsin Department of Natural
Resources submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The proposed rule amends ch. NR 10, relating to the
2007 Migratory game bird season.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

Public hearings have been scheduled for August 6, 7, 8
and 9, 2007.
Contact Information

Kim Benton
Bureau of Wildlife Management
(608) 261−6458

Public Instruction

On June 4, 2007, the Wisconsin Department of Public
Instruction submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The proposed rule amends s. PI 8.01 (2) (t)2., relating to
the identification of gifted and talented pupils.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
Public hearings will be scheduled. The Division of

Academic Excellence is primarily responsible for
promulgation of this rule.

Contact Information
Chrystyna Mursky
Gifted and Talented Coordinator
(608) 267−9273

Public Instruction

On June 4, 2007, the Wisconsin Department of Public
Instruction submitted a proposed rule to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed rule amends s. PI 11.36, relating to
identification of children with specific learning disabilities
and significant developmental delays.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

Public hearings will be scheduled. The Division for
Learning Support:  Equity and Advocacy is primarily
responsible for promulgation of this rule.

Contact Information
Stephanie Petska, Director
Special Education
(608) 266−1781
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Rule−Making Notices

Notice of Hearing
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

(Reprinted from June 15, 2007 Wisconsin
Administrative Register)

The State of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade
and Consumer Protection (DATCP) announces that it will
hold a public hearing on its emergency rule, s. ATCP 21.20,
Wis. Adm. Code, relating to voluntary certification of
firewood dealers.

DATCP will hold one public hearing at the time and place
shown below.  DATCP invites the public to attend the hearing
and comment on the emergency rule.  Following the public
hearing, the hearing record will remain open until Tuesday,
July 9, 2007 for additional written comments.  Comments
may be sent to the Division of Agricultural Resource
Management at the address below, to Robert.dahl@datcp.
state.wi.us or at https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/
public/home.

You may obtain a free copy of this emergency rule by
contacting the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade
and Consumer Protection, Division of Agricultural Resource
Management, 2811 Agriculture Drive, P.O. Box 8911,
Madison, WI 53708.  You can also obtain a copy by calling
(608) 224−4573 or emailing robert.dahl@datcp.state.wi.us.
Copies will also be available at the hearing.  To view the
emergency rule online, go to:

https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home.

To provide comments or concerns relating to small
business, please contact DATCP’s small business regulatory
coordinator, Keeley Moll, at the address above, by emailing
to Keeley.Moll@datcp.state.wi.us or by telephone at (608)
224−5039.

Hearing impaired persons may request an interpreter for
this hearing.  Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by June 25, 2007, by writing to Deb Bollig,
Division of Agricultural Resource Management, P.O. Box
8911, Madison, WI 53708−8911, telephone (608) 224−4584.
Alternatively, you may contact the DATCP TDD at (608)
224−5058.  The hearing facility is handicap accessible.

Hearing Date and Location

Tuesday, June 26, 2007
1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
2811 Agriculture Drive, Board Room (CR−106)
Madison, Wisconsin, 53718−6777

Analysis Prepared by Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and
Consumer Protection

This emergency rule creates a voluntary certification
program for firewood dealers.  Under this rule, the
Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
(“DATCP”) may certify firewood dealers who agree to treat
firewood according to rule standards to eliminate potential
infestations of Emerald Ash Borer and other pests.  A
firewood dealer is not required to be certified under this rule
in order to sell firewood in this state.

DATCP is adopting this temporary emergency rule
pending the adoption of “permanent” rules on the same
subject.  This emergency rule will take effect immediately
upon publication in the official state newspaper, and will
remain in effect for 150 days.  The Legislature’s Joint
Committee for Review of Administrative Rules may extend
the emergency rule for up to 120 additional days.

Statutory Authority: ss. 93.06 (1p), 93.07 (1), 93.07 (12)
and 94.01 Stats.

Statutes Interpreted: ss. 93.06 (1p), 93.07(12) and 94.01,
Stats.

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and
Consumer Protection (“DATCP”) has broad general
authority, under s. 93.07(1), Stats., to interpret laws under its
jurisdiction.  DATCP has broad general authority, under ss.
93.06(1p), 93.07(12) and 94.01, Stats., to adopt regulations to
prevent and control plant pest infestations.  The voluntary
certification program created by this rule is part of an overall
state strategy to prevent and control plant pest infestations,
including Emerald Ash Borer infestations.

Background.  Emerald Ash Borer and other major pests are
carried by firewood.  The Wisconsin Department of Natural
Resources (DNR) has adopted rules, under NR 45, to restrict
the entry of firewood into Wisconsin state parks.  The DNR
rules prohibit, in state parks, firewood originating from
outside this state.  The DNR rules also prohibit firewood
originating more than 50 miles from the state park unless the
firewood originates from a firewood dealer who is certified by
DATCP.

This rule creates a DATCP program for certification of
firewood dealers.  Firewood dealers certified under this rule
could supply firewood to Wisconsin state parks.  The
certification program would be open to all firewood dealers
in the state, regardless of whether they supply firewood to
Wisconsin state parks.  Certified firewood dealers must
comply with this rule.  A firewood dealer is not required to be
certified under this rule in order to sell firewood in this state.

Emergency Rule. Under this emergency rule, DATCP may
annually certify a firewood dealer.  An annual certification
expires on December 31 of each year.  A firewood dealer is not
required to be certified in order to sell or distribute firewood
in this state.  There is no charge for certification.  Certification
permits a firewood dealer to supply firewood to Wisconsin
state parks, pursuant to NR 45.04 (1) (g).

DATCP may certify a firewood dealer if all of the following
apply:

� The firewood dealer submits a complete application that
complies with this rule.

� DATCP inspects all of the business premises identified
in the certification application and determines, based on that
inspection, that the firewood dealer is equipped to fulfill all of
the representations included in the certification application.

A certification application must include all of the
following:

� The correct legal name of the firewood dealer, and any
trade names under which the firewood dealer sells or
distributes firewood in this state.

The address of the firewood dealer’s business
headquarters.
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The address of every business location from which the
firewood dealer sells or distributes firewood in this state.

The approximate annual volume of firewood that the
firewood dealer sells or distributes in this state, including the
approximate annual volume sold or distributed from each
business location.

The sources from which the firewood dealer obtains
firewood for sale or distribution in this state.  The application
shall include the name and address of each person, if any, from
whom the firewood dealer procures cut firewood.

A certification application must also include the following
statement (the firewood dealer must notify DATCP if, at any
time before or after the firewood dealer is certified, the
statement is no longer accurate):

“All firewood that the applicant sells or distributes in
this state is from trees grown and cut in this state.  All of
the firewood is treated in at least one of the following ways
prior to sale or distribution in this state:

1.   Each piece of firewood is heated to a temperature
at least 160� F. (71.1� C.) at the center of the piece, and is
maintained at that temperature for at least 75 minutes.

2.   All bark, and additional wood to a depth of at least
� inch beneath the bark, is removed from each piece of
firewood.

3.  The firewood is stored on the firewood dealer’s
premises for at least 2 years before it is sold or distributed
in this state.

4.  The firewood is fumigated with a registered
fumigant pesticide, according to the pesticide label, to kill
all insect pests that may inhabit the firewood.

5.  The firewood is treated in a manner approved, in
writing, by the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection, to kill all insect pests
that may inhabit the firewood.”

DATCP must grant or deny a certification application
within 60 business days after DATCP receives a complete
application.  DATCP may withdraw a certification if the
applicant materially misrepresents any information in the
application, or fails to honor any of the commitments made in
the application.  A certification does not constitute a warranty,
by the department, that firewood is free of pests.

Fiscal Impact

The state fiscal impact of this rule depends on the number
of firewood dealers who apply for certification.  There are
thousands of firewood dealers in Wisconsin, but few of them
will have a strong incentive to be certified under this rule.
DATCP assumes that, at least initially, certification will be
attractive mainly for large firewood dealers who can afford to
implement the firewood treatment regimen required for
certification.

Certification may be especially attractive for large
firewood dealers who wish to supply firewood to Wisconsin
state parks.  DNR rules prohibit a firewood dealer from
supplying firewood to a state park located more than 50 miles
away, unless the firewood dealer is certified under this rule.

DATCP projects approximately one day of staff time to
process each certification application and to inspect the
firewood dealer’s business premises.  DATCP will incur
inspector travel costs, but will attempt to minimize those costs
by integrating inspections with other inspections.  DATCP
does not plan to do routine follow−up inspections, but may
conduct occasional random inspections of certified firewood
dealers.

DATCP assumes that approximately 30 firewood dealers
will apply for certification under this emergency rule, for
calendar year 2007.  If that assumption is correct, DATCP will
be able to absorb the projected workload and costs within
DATCP’s current budget and with current staff.  However, if
many more firewood dealers apply for certification, DATCP
will need additional budget and staff to process applications
and conduct required inspections.

Business Impact
This rule will not have a significant impact on firewood

dealers in this state.  This rule does not require firewood
dealers to be certified, nor does it restrict the sale or
distribution of firewood by uncertified dealers.  This rule
creates a voluntary certification program, which may benefit
some firewood dealers in this state.

DNR rules prohibit a firewood dealer from supplying
firewood to a state park located more than 50 miles away,
unless the firewood dealer is certified by DATCP.  This rule
will allow certified firewood dealers to supply firewood to
state parks throughout the state, regardless of the firewood
dealer’s distance from the park.  This rule will primarily
benefit large firewood dealers who can afford to implement
the firewood treatment regimen required for certification.

This rule does not authorize or prohibit imports of firewood
from outside this state.  Current DATCP rules under ATCP
21.17 prohibit imports of firewood from areas which the U.S.
department of agriculture has formally designated as being
infested with certain wood pests, such as Emerald Ash Borer.
DNR rules under NR 45.04(1)(g) prohibit imports of
firewood to Wisconsin state parks from any location outside
this state.  This rule does not create an exemption to any of
these existing rules.  Certification under this rule is available
only to firewood dealers who obtain all of their firewood from
trees grown and cut in this state.

Environmental Impact
This rule will not have a significant impact on the

environment.  This rule does not restrict the sale or movement
of firewood in this state.  This rule will allow some firewood
in state parks that would otherwise be prohibited by DNR
rules, but only if the wood comes from a certified dealer who
agrees to treat the wood to destroy plant pests such as Emerald
Ash Borer.  DATCP will inspect at least annually to verify that
the firewood dealer has the necessary facilities and equipment
to honor the agreement.

Federal Programs
Under the federal Plant Protection Act, the Animal and

Plant Health Inspection Service of the United States
Department of Agriculture (USDA−APHIS) has
responsibility for excluding, eradicating and controlling
serious plant pests, including the Emerald Ash Borer.
USDA−APHIS has instituted statewide quarantines on the
movement of ash wood for Illinois, Indiana and Ohio, in
addition to the Lower Peninsula of Michigan.  These
quarantines include restrictions on the interstate movement of
any hardwood (non−coniferous) firewood, and are in addition
to the regulations adopted by each state related to the
movement of firewood.  Firewood cannot be moved from a
quarantined area unless it is accompanied by an APHIS
certificate that shows the firewood to be free of infested wood.

Surrounding State Programs
Surrounding states where EAB has been identified

(Illinois, Indiana, Ohio and Michigan) have state and federal
quarantines that prohibit the movement of regulated articles,
including all hardwood firewood, out of quarantined areas.
Firewood can only move out of quarantined areas after it is
certified by USDA.  Other surrounding states, such as
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Minnesota and Iowa, are conducting information and
education campaigns about the danger of moving firewood
and are considering regulatory options for dealing with
firewood movement.

Notice of Hearing

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

[CR 07−061]

The State of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade
and Consumer Protection (DATCP) announces that it will
hold public hearings on a proposed rule affecting chs. ATCP
10 and 12, that increases some current animal health fees, and
creates some new fees.  Among other things, this rule affects
license fees, voluntary herd certification fees, fees for
veterinary certification forms, and fees for voluntary
certification of animal health professionals.  Some of the fee
increases (veterinary certification forms, livestock market
licenses, etc.) may affect several sectors of the livestock
industry, while others are limited to specific livestock sectors.

DATCP will hold three public hearings at the times and
places shown below.  DATCP invites the public to attend the
hearings and comment on the proposed rule   Following the
public hearings, the hearing record will remain open until July
31, 2007, for additional written comments.  Comments may
be sent to the Division of Animal Health at the address below
or by email to hearingcommentsAH@wisconsin.gov.

You may obtain a free copy of this rule by contacting the
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection, Division of Animal Health, 2811 Agriculture
Drive, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708−8911.  You can
also obtain a copy by calling (608) 224−5132 or emailing
linda.merrimanhitchman@wisconsin.gov.  Copies will also
be available at the hearings.  To view the proposed rule online,
go to: https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home

To provide comments or concerns relating to small
business, please contact DATCP’s small business regulatory
coordinator Keeley Moll at the address above, by emailing to
keeley.moll@wisconsin.gov or by telephone at (608)
224−5039.

Hearing−impaired persons may request an interpreter for
these hearings.  Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by July 2, 2007, by writing Anna Oehler, Division
of Animal Health, P.O. Box  8911, Madison, WI 53708−8911,
telephone 608−224−4875.  Alternatively, you may contact the
DATCP TDD at 608−224−5058.  Handicap access is available
at the hearings.

Hearing Dates and Locations
Thursday, July 12, 2007
7:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Fox Valley Technical College
1825 N. Bluemound Drive, Room C140
Appleton, WI 54912

Monday, July 16, 2007
7:00 pm to 9:00 pm
Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
2811 Agriculture Drive
First Floor – Room 106 (Boardroom)
Madison, Wisconsin  53718

Tuesday, July 17, 2007
7:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Dept. of Natural Resources West Central Region Hdqrs.
1300 W. Clairemont Avenue – Room 158
Eau Claire, WI 54701

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection

The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection (“DATCP”) administers Wisconsin’s animal
health and disease control program.  The program is funded,
in significant part, by animal health fees.  This rule increases
animal health fees in order to remedy a serious deficit in the
animal health fee revenue account.

Statutory authority:  93.07 (1), 95.55 (3), 95.57 (2), 95.60
(5), 95.68 (4) and (8), 95.69 (4) and (8), 95.71 (5) and (8), and
95.715 (2) (d).

Statutes interpreted:  93.06 (1d), (1g), (1m), (1p), (1q),
95.55, 95.57 (2), 95.60 (5), 95.68 (4) and (8), 95.69 (4) and
(8), 95.71 (5) and (8), and 95.715 (2) (d).

DATCP has broad authority, under s. 93.07 (1), Stats., to
adopt rules needed to implement laws under its jurisdiction.
DATCP also has authority, under the provisions cited above,
to charge certain animal health fees and determine the amount
of those fees.

Rule Content.
Fee changes.  This rule increases some current animal

health fees, and creates some new fees.  Among other things,
this rule affects license fees, voluntary herd certification fees,
fees for veterinary certification forms, and fees for voluntary
certification of animal health professionals.  Some of the fee
increases (veterinary certification forms, livestock market
licenses, etc.) may affect several sectors of the livestock
industry, while others are limited to specific livestock sectors.

Fee For: Current Fee: Proposed Fee:

Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (blank
form used by private veterinarians)

$3 per form 
(interstate or intrastate)

$5.60 per form (interstate)

$0.60 per form (intrastate)

Cattle; Brucellosis−Free Herd Certification
(Voluntary certification facilitates animal
sale and movement)

No fee. $50 annual certification

Cattle and Other Bovines; TB−Free Herd
Certification (Voluntary certification facili-
tates sale and movement)

No fee $50 annual certification

Johne’s Disease Veterinarian; Certification
(Voluntary 3−year certification)

No fee. $50 per 3−year certification
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Fee For: Proposed Fee:Current Fee:

Cattle and Other Bovines:

Approved Import Feedlot Permit (Voluntary
permit facilitates certain imports)

$75 annual permit $140 annual permit

Swine; Qualified Pseudorabies Negative
Herd, Qualified Pseudo−Rabies Negative
Grow−out Herd, or Feeder Swine Pseudora-
bies Monitored Herd (Voluntary certifica-
tion facilitates sale and movement)

No fee $50 annual certification

Swine; Validated Brucellosis−Free Herd Cer-
tification (Voluntary  certification facilitates
swine sale and movement)

No fee $50 annual certification

Equine Imports; Quarantine Station Permit
(station may receive certain horse imports)

No fee $100 annual permit and $100 per-
mit per quarantined animal

Poultry Tester; Training No fee $25 training fee.

National Poultry Improvement Plan; Annual
Flock Enrollment

Annual fee ranges from $40 to
$200 based on flock type and
size.

Annual fee ranges from $80 to
$400 based on flock type and
size.

Farm−raised Deer; Annual Herd 
Registration

Annual fee based on herd size:
$50 if < 15 deer
$100 if > 15 deer

$150 minimum one−time inspec-
tion fee for 2nd herd at same site
(not  required for renewal).

$100 surcharge if  found operating
without  registration

Annual fee based on herd size:
$162.50 if < 15 deer
$325 if > 15 deer

$200 minimum one−time inspec-
tion fee for 2nd herd at same site
(not  required for renewal).

$250 surcharge if found operating
without registration

Farm−raised Deer; 
Hunting Preserve Certificate

$150 for 10−year certificate $500 for 10−year certificate

Farm−raised Deer; TB−Free Herd Certifica-
tion (Voluntary certification facilitates deer
sales and movement)

No fee. $50 per year of certification

Farm−raised Deer; Brucellosis−Free Herd 
Certification (Voluntary certification facili-
tates deer sales and movement)

No fee. $50 per year of certification

Fish Farm (Type 1); Annual Registration $25 annual fee covers any number
of Type 1 fish farms

$37.50 annual fee covers one Type
1 fish farm; $50 annual fee cov-
ers any number of Type 1 fish
farms

Fish Farm (Type 2); Annual Registration $50 annual fee covers any number
of Type 2 fish farms

$125 annual fee covers 1−5 Type 2
fish farms;

$150 annual fee covers 6−10 Type
2 fish farms;

$200 annual fee covers 11−20
Type 2 fish farms;

$300 annual fee covers 20 or more
Type 2 fish farms.

Fish Import Permit (may cover multiple
import shipments for up to one year)

$50 $90

Sheep; Brucella−Ovis Free Flock Certifica-
tion (Voluntary certification facilitates ani-
mal sale and movement)

No fee $50 per year of certification

Goats; Brucellosis−Free Flock Certification
(Voluntary certification facilitates animal
sale and movement)

No fee $50 per year of certification
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Fee For: Proposed Fee:Current Fee:

Goats; Tuberculosis Free Flock Certification
(Voluntary certification facilitates animal
sale and movement)

No fee $50 annual certification

Animal Market; Annual License $225 annual fee for Class A
license

$115 annual fee for Class B
license

$150 annual fee for Class C
license

$420 annual fee for Class A
license

$220 annual fee for Class B
license

$280 annual fee for Class C
license

Animal Dealer; Annual License $115 annual fee $220 annual fee

Animal Trucker; Annual License $30 annual fee $60 annual fee

Animal Transport Vehicle; 
Annual Registration Sticker

$10 annual fee per vehicle $20 annual fee per  vehicle

Other Rule Changes. This rule eliminates current fish farm
registration fee exemptions for research institutions and
government agencies.  Those entities will now have to pay the
same registration fees as other fish farm operators.

Rule Effective Date.  This rule will not take effect until
calendar year 2008.  There are different annual license cycles
for different types of licensed entities, and license fee
increases will not be implemented until the first annual license
cycle beginning after the rule effective date.

Fiscal Estimate

State Fiscal Effect. Animal Health program operations are
funded by a combination of general state tax dollars (79%),
animal health fee revenues (19%) and federal funds (2%).
This does not include federal funds that are passed through to
program beneficiaries in the form of grants or other
assistance.

Recent state budgets have done the following:

� Reduced annual GPR funding (general tax dollars) for
animal health by nearly $300,000.

� Lapsed approximately $130,000 in animal health fee
revenue (one−time lapse) to the state general fund.

� Assigned more staff to be paid from animal health fee
revenues.

Program costs have gone up this year, as DATCP has filled
critical animal health positions that had been held vacant.
DATCP has only about 37 authorized permanent positions
(field and office positions) for its entire animal health and
disease control program, so it is important that key positions
be filled.

As a result of these combined factors, the positive cash
balance in the animal health fee revenue account is declining
rapidly.  DATCP collects about $300,000 in animal health fees
each year, and projects fee revenue expenditures approaching
$600,000 each year.  DATCP projects a negative cash balance
of $131,500 in the animal health fee revenue account
beginning in FY 2008.  If nothing is done, the negative cash
balance will go to $371,400 in FY 2009, $633,300 in FY 2010
and $924,500 in FY 2011.  DATCP is proposing a fee increase
to remedy this funding deficit and maintain critical disease
control programs.

This rule will increase animal health fee revenues by
approximately $375,150 per year when it is fully
implemented beginning in FY 2008−09.  DATCP projects that
this fee increase will stabilize animal health program staffing
and funding for the foreseeable future, without further fee
increases.

Without this fee increase or other funding support, DATCP
will need to reduce animal health staffing at a time when
bio−security and disease threats have grown.  DATCP has
only about 37 permanent staff for all of its animal health and
disease control programs (does not count temporary,
federally−funded positions).   Staff reductions will increase
risks to Wisconsin’s major livestock industries, which rely on
effective animal health and disease control programs.  Staff
reductions will also increase disease risks to humans and
wildlife.

Local Fiscal Effect.  This rule will have no fiscal impact on
local units of government.

Business Impact.  This rule affects animal markets, animal
dealers, animal truckers, livestock farmers, deer farmers, fish
farmers and veterinarians.  Many of these businesses are
“small businesses” as defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats.

This rule increases some current animal health fees, and
creates some new fees.  Some fee increases may affect several
sectors of the livestock industry, while others are limited to
specific livestock sectors.

This rule will increase overall industry costs by a combined
total of approximately $375,150 per year, once the rule is fully
implemented.  Fee increases for individual businesses are
generally modest, and will depend on business size and type.
Smaller businesses generally pay lower fees than large
businesses.  Fees are based, in part, on animal health costs
related to each affected industry.

This rule does not change other animal health regulations.
This rule requires no additional recordkeeping, and no added
professional services to comply.   For small businesses, the
effective date of this rule is automatically delayed by 2
months, pursuant to s. 227.22(2)(e), Stats.  The delayed
effective date is not expected to have a significant impact on
the timing or amount of fee collections under this rule.

Federal Regulation
DATCP administers animal disease control programs in

cooperation with the United States Department of
Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
(“the federal bureau”).

Federal grants pay for about 2% of Wisconsin’s animal
health program operations.  This does not include federal
funds that are passed through to program beneficiaries in the
form of grants or other assistance.

The federal bureau has well−established control programs
for historically important diseases such as tuberculosis and
brucellosis.  The federal bureau has less well−developed
programs for new or localized diseases, or emerging
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animal−based industries.  In those areas, states often play a
leadership role.  For example, Wisconsin is a recognized
national leader in the regulation of farm−raised deer (chronic
wasting disease) and aquaculture.

States have independent authority to regulate animal health
and movement, including imports from other states.
However, states strive for reasonable consistency, based on
standards spelled out in federal regulations.  States typically
incorporate federal standards where they exist, and play a key
role in implementing federal standards.

The federal bureau does not license animal businesses, or
regulate state fees.  This fee rule does not duplicate or conflict
with any federal fees or standards.

Surrounding State Programs

Surrounding state animal health programs are broadly
comparable to those in Wisconsin, but differ in a number of
ways.  State programs reflect differences in animal
populations, animal−based industries, and disease threats.
Programs for historically important diseases, such as
tuberculosis and brucellosis, tend to be fairly similar between
states and are based on well−established federal standards.
Programs for newer diseases or newer forms of agriculture,
such as farm−raised deer and aquaculture, tend to be more
variable.

Animal health fees fund about 19% of Wisconsin’s animal
health program operations.  In the surrounding states, by
contrast, animal health program operations are funded almost
entirely by state general fund appropriations.  Some states
charge almost no license fees.  Other states charge fees but
deposit them to the state general fund (so they do not have a
direct impact on program appropriations).

Minnesota
The state−funded portion of Minnesota’s animal health

program is funded 98% by state general fund appropriations
and 2% by industry fees.  The farm−raised deer (chronic
wasting disease control) program is the only program that
charges fees.  That fee is $10 per farm−raised deer, up to
maximum of $100 per herd.

Iowa
The state−funded portion of Iowa’s animal health program

is funded 100% by state general fund appropriations.  Iowa
charges nominal industry fees that are deposited to the state
general fund.  The cost to collect the fees (which are set by
statute) exceeds the amount of revenue produced.  Fees
include the following:

� $50 for an annual animal market license, plus $10 for
each market agent.

� $25 for an annual animal dealer license, plus $10 for
each dealer agent.

� $5 for an annual pig dealer license, plus $3 for each
dealer agent.

� $3 for an annual poultry buyer license.

� $10 for an annual hatchery license.

� $25 to register a livestock brand for 5 years.
� $10 for an annual sheep dealer license.

� $10 for an annual bull breeder license.
Michigan
The state−funded portion of Michigan’s animal health

program is funded 95% by state general fund appropriations,
2% by segregated fees from racing, and 3% by animal
industry fees.  Michigan fees include the following:

� $400 for an annual livestock market (auction) license.

� $250 for an annual livestock collection point (buy
station) license.

� $150 for an annual horse market (auction) license.
$50 for an annual livestock dealer license.
� $100 for an annual fish farm license ($75 for a renewal).
Illinois
The state−funded portion of Illinois’ animal health

program is funded 100% by state general fund appropriations,
except that part of its poultry program (eggs) is funded by
industry fees.  The state also charges some lab testing fees for
non−traditional diseases.  Illinois charges nominal license
fees that are deposited to the state general fund.  The cost to
collect the fees (which are set by statute) exceeds the amount
of revenue produced.  Fees include the following:

� $200 for an annual livestock market (auction) license.
� $25 for an annual livestock dealer license ($10 for a

renewal license), plus $10 for each additional business
location and $5 for each dealer agent.

� $25 for an annual feeder swine dealer license ($10 for a
renewal license), plus $5 for each dealer agent.

Notice of Hearing
Commerce

(Financial Assistance for Businesses and
Communities)
[CR 07−063]

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to s. 560.206,
Stats., the Department of Commerce will hold a public
hearing on proposed rules in ch. Comm 133, Wis. Adm. Code,
relating to implementing a film production accreditation
program.

The public hearing will be held as follows:

Date and Time: Location:

July 17, 2007 
(Tuesday)
Commencing 
  at 9:00 a.m.

Thompson Commerce Center
Third Floor, Room 3B
201 West Washington Ave.
Madison, Wisconsin

Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and
present comments on the proposed rules.  Persons making oral
presentations are requested to submit their comments in
writing, via e−mail.  Persons submitting comments will not
receive individual responses.  The hearing record on this
proposed rulemaking will remain open until July 20, 2007, to
permit submittal of written comments from persons who are
unable to attend the hearing or who wish to supplement
testimony offered at the hearing.  All written comments
should be submitted by e−mail to
srockweiler@commerce.state.wi.us.  If e−mail submittal is
not possible, written comments may be mailed to Sam
Rockweiler, Department of Commerce, Division of
Environmental and Regulatory Services, P.O. Box 14427,
Madison, WI 53708−0427.

This hearing will be held in an accessible facility.  If you
have special needs or circumstances that may make
communication or accessibility difficult at the hearing, please
call Sam Rockweiler at (608) 266−0797 or (608) 264−8777
(TTY) at least 10 days prior to the hearing date.
Accommodations such as interpreters, English translators, or
materials in audio tape format will, to the fullest extent
possible, be made available upon a request from a person with
a disability.
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1.  Statutes Interpreted.  Sections 71.07 (5f) and (5h), 71.28
(5f) and (5h), 71.47 (5f) and (5h), and 560.206

2.  Statutory Authority.  Sections 227.11 (2) (a) and
560.206 (1) and (4).

3.  Explanation of Agency Authority.  Sections 560.206 (1)
and (4) of the Statutes require the Department to promulgate
rules for implementing and administering a program to
accredit film productions for the purposes of sections 71.07
(5f) and (5h), 71.28 (5f) and (5h), and 71.47 (5f) and (5h) of
the Statutes.  Section 227.11 (2) (a) of the Statutes authorizes
the Department to promulgate rules interpreting the
provisions of any Statute administered by the Department.

4.  Related Statute or Rule.  The Department has rules for
several other programs associated with tax credits, but none
of those programs relate to accrediting film productions or
establishing film production companies.

5.  Plain Language Analysis.  The proposed rules specify
(1) the eligibility requirements for film productions to
become accredited; (2) the documentation that must be
submitted to receive accreditation and to receive acceptance
of incurred expenses that are related to tax credits for
producing a film production in Wisconsin; (3) the
documentation that must be submitted to receive acceptance
of incurred expenses that are related to tax credits for
establishing a film production company in Wisconsin; (4) the
Department’s response to the submitted documentation; and
(5) use of the Department’s response when filing claims with
the Department of Revenue for the corresponding tax credits.

6.  Summary of, and Comparison With, Existing or
Proposed Federal Regulations.   A federal tax incentive
program for film and television productions is available under
Section 181 of the Internal Revenue Code.  Under the
program, investors in qualifying film and television
productions may elect to immediately deduct the cost of
qualifying film expenditures in the year the expenditures
occur.  The program is in effect for qualifying productions
commencing before January 1, 2009.  The federal deduction
applies to qualifying productions up to $15 million, or up to
$20 million if the production occurs in a qualifying distressed
area.  The incentive can be used in conjunction with any state
film incentive.  The Web site reference for the section in the
Code is http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/html/uscode26/
usc_sec_26_00000181−−−−000−.html.

7.  Comparison With Rules in Adjacent States.

Michigan.  In Michigan, rebates range from 12 to 20
percent, depending on the amount of the production spending
in the state.  According to the Director of the Michigan Film
Office, there are no administrative rules for the program, but
guidelines are available through the Office’s Web site at
http://www.michigan.gov/hal/0,1607,7−160−17445_19275_
37781−−−,00.html.

Minnesota.  Minnesota offers exemptions from sales and
lodging taxes, and a rebate of 15 percent for eligible
production costs incurred in the state.  An Internet based
search did not reveal any administrative rules for the program,
but guidelines are available through the following Web site:
http://www.mnfilmtv.org.

Iowa.  Iowa enacted legislation on May 17, 2007, that (1)
offers producers a transferable income tax credit of 25 percent
of qualified in−state expenditures, (2) offers investors the
same credit, and (3) offers Iowa−based companies or Iowa
residents a 100−percent income exclusion for monies earned
from certified projects.  No administrative rules have been
developed yet for this program.  Further information is
available through the following Web site:
http://www.traveliowa.com/film/incentives.html.

Illinois.  In Illinois, rules for the Illinois Film Production
Services Tax Credit Program are contained in Title 14,
Chapter I, Part 528 of the Illinois Administrative Code, and
can be viewed through the following Web site:
http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/014/0140
0528sections.html

Section 528.20 of the rules defines “Illinois resident” as
“an individual who is domiciled in this State during the
accredited production.  Except in a case where the applicant
has actual knowledge, as shown in its books and records, that
an individual is not an Illinois resident, the possession by an
individual of an driver’s license or other identification issued
by this State prior to the commencement of the accredited
production shall be sufficient proof that the individual is an
Illinois resident and the address on the license or
identification shall be deemed correct.”  The proposed
Wisconsin rules do not include a definition of resident, but
require residents to meet Department of Revenue residency
criteria.

Under section 528.30, an applicant must file a written
statement or other documentation showing that receiving the
tax credits was essential to the decision to locate the
accredited production in Illinois.  According to the rules, “The
documentation must show that the applicant has multi−state
or international location options and could reasonably locate
outside the State, or can demonstrate that at least one other
state or nation is being considered for the accredited
production, or other documentation showing that the receipt
of the credit is a major factor in the applicant’s decision to
locate the accredited production in Illinois.”  The proposed
Wisconsin rules require that in order for a production to
become accredited, the production would not occur in
Wisconsin without the tax benefits.

Under section 528.40, an application must be submitted at
least 24 hours prior to the start of principal filming or taping.
The proposed Wisconsin rules do not specify a submittal
deadline prior to filming or taping.  Section 528.40 also
clarifies whether one or more applications can be filed for
television shows with two or more episodes.  The proposed
Wisconsin rules do not differentiate for television shows with
multiple episodes.

Section 528.50 gives an applicant 30 days to correct any
deficiencies in the application, and provides 30 days to amend
and re−submit an application after a denial.  There are no
similar timing deadlines in the proposed Wisconsin rules.
Also in Section 528.50, Illinois will consider, in its evaluation
of the application, whether awarding the credit will result in
an overall positive impact to Illinois.  Under the general
eligibility criteria in the proposed Wisconsin rules, an
accredited production must enhance economic development
in Wisconsin.

Section 528.62 requires an applicant to quarterly submit
economic impact data on jobs created and retained, and
production costs.  There is no such reporting requirement in
the proposed Wisconsin rules, other than the information and
documentation that must be submitted following completion
of the accredited production, for the Department’s
verification and release of the tax credits.

Section 528.65 describes issuance of an “accredited
production certificate” upon approval of an application.
Section 528.70 details the procedures for the applicant to
request a “tax credit certificate,” certifying the actual amount
of the credit awarded to the applicant at any time following the
completion of the accredited production, but in no event later
than two years following the completion of the production.
This process is similar to what is described in the proposed
Wisconsin rules, other than the two−year restriction.  The
Illinois rules also require attestation by a certified public



Page 23June 30, 2007 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 618

accountant supporting the expenditures incurred by the
applicant, which is not required in the Wisconsin rules.

Section 528.75 specifies the amount and duration of the tax
credits.  The amounts consist of (1) for productions
commencing before May 1, 2006, a credit of 25 percent of the
approved Illinois labor expenditures, plus an additional 10
percent for employees who earn more than $1,000 on the
production and who live in geographic areas of high poverty
or high unemployment; and (2) for productions commencing
on or after May 1, 2006, a credit of 20 percent of the approved
Illinois labor expenditures, plus an additional 15 percent for
employees who earn more than $1,000 on the production and
who live in geographic areas of high poverty or high
unemployment.  For tax years ending prior to July 11, 2005,
the credit cannot be carried forward or back.  For tax years
ending on or after July 11, 2005, any excess credits may be
carried forward for five years.  The Wisconsin amounts differ
by including (1) a credit of 25 percent of the salary or wages
for all employees of the claimant – but capped at $25,000 per
employee, and not including the two highest paid employees;
(2) a credit of 25 percent of the production expenditures; and
(3) a credit of 100 percent of the sales or use taxes paid for
tangible personal property and taxable services that are used
directly in producing an accredited production.  The
Wisconsin duration differs by (1) not allowing any credits to
be carried forward, but (2) allowing unlimited refund of any
unused credits for production expenditures.

Section 528.85 provides details for the transfer of the tax
credits.  The Wisconsin rules and legislation do not allow any
transfer of credits.

The Illinois rules do not include any requirement that is
similar to the proposed Wisconsin requirement that the
production must not conflict with a desired brand image of
Wisconsin.

8. Summary of Factual Data and Analytical
Methodologies.  The data and methodology for developing
these rules were derived from and consisted of (1)
incorporating the criteria in 2005 Wisconsin Act 483; (2)
incorporating applicable best practices the Department has
developed in administering similar programs for economic
development, business development, and tax−credit
verification; (3) soliciting and utilizing input from the
Department of Revenue, and from representatives of the
stakeholders who are expected to participate in this program;
and (4) reviewing Internet−based sources of related federal,
state, and private−sector information.  Particular attention
was focused on input from producers of advertisement
commercials that they need very quick responses to submitted
estimates of expenses.

9.  Analysis and Supporting Documents Used to Determine
Effect on Small Business or in Preparation of an Economic
Impact Report.   The primary document that was used to
determine the effect of the proposed rules on small business
was 2005 Wisconsin Act 483.  This Act requires the
Department to implement a program to accredit film
productions for the purposes of sections 71.07 (5f) and (5h),
71.28 (5f) and (5h), and 71.47 (5f) and (5h) of the Statutes, and
requires the Department to promulgate rules for
administering the program.  This Act applies its
private−sector requirements only to film productions and to
film production companies, for which a corresponding tax
credit is desired.

10.  Effect on Small Business.  The proposed rules are not
expected to impose significant costs or other impacts on small
businesses because the rules address submittal of
documentation only by businesses that choose to pursue tax

credits for producing film productions or for establishing film
production companies.

Agency Contact Person
Steven Sabatke, Wisconsin Department of Commerce,

Bureau of Business Development, P.O. Box 7970, Madison,
WI, 53707−7970; telephone (608) 267−0762; e−mail
ssabatke@commerce.state.wi.us.

Place Where Comments Are to Be Submitted, and
Deadline for Submission.

Comments on the proposed rules may be submitted by
e−mail to srockweiler@commerce.state.wi.us, no later than
July 20, 2007.  If e−mail submittal is not possible, written
comments may be mailed, by the same date, to Sam
Rockweiler, Department of Commerce, Division of
Environmental and Regulatory Services, P.O. Box 14427,
Madison, WI 53708−0427.

Copy of Rule
 The proposed rules and an analysis of the rules are

available on the internet, by entering “Comm 133” in the
search engine at the following web site:
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov. Paper copies may be
obtained without cost from Steven Sabatke at the Department
of Commerce, Bureau of Business Development, P.O. Box
7970, Madison, WI, 53707−7970; or at telephone (608)
267−0762 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY); or at
ssabatke@commerce.state.wi.us.  Copies will also be
available at the public hearing.

Environmental Assessment
Notice is hereby given that the Department has considered

the environmental impact of the proposed rules.  In
accordance with chapter Comm 1, the proposed rules are a
Type III action.  A Type III action normally does not have the
potential to cause significant environmental effects and
normally does not involve unresolved conflicts in the use of
available resources.  The Department has reviewed these rules
and finds no reason to believe that any unusual conditions
exist.  At this time, the Department has issued this notice to
serve as a finding of no significant impact.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
1. Types of small businesses that will be affected by the

rules.
Any entity which chooses to apply for the tax credits

established by 2005 Wisconsin Act 483 – and which either (1)
produces films, videos, electronic games, broadcast
advertisement, or television productions; or (2) establishes a
film production company in Wisconsin.

2. Reporting, bookkeeping and other procedures required
for compliance with the rules.

Applicants for tax credits relating to producing a
Department−accredited production in Wisconsin must submit
an application for accreditation that includes documentation
of estimated, qualifying expenses – and must subsequently
submit proof of incurring those expenses.

Applicants for tax credits relating to establishing a film
production company in Wisconsin must submit
documentation of estimated, qualifying expenses – and must
subsequently submit proof of incurring those expenses.

3. Types of professional skills necessary for compliance
with the rules.   None.

4. Will the rules have a significant economic impact on
small businesses?   No.

The small business regulatory coordinator for the
Department of Commerce is Carol Dunn, who may be
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contacted at telephone (608) 267−0297, or by e−mail at
cdunn@commerce.state.wi.us.

Fiscal Estimate

   Although the proposed rules would newly result in review
and approval of documentation relating to tax credits for
producing film productions or for establishing film
production companies, the number of these reviews and
approvals is expected to be too small to result in significant
changes in the Department’s costs for administering its
business development programs.  Therefore, the proposed
rules are not expected to have any significant fiscal effect on
the Department.

   The overall revenue impact on the state is uncertain and
could be significant.  The actual revenue impact will depend
on the effectiveness of the tax credits in inducing new activity,
the extent to which benefits accrue primarily to film
productions and to film production companies that would not
occur in Wisconsin without the credits, and the magnitude
and nature of the expenditures associated with the new film
productions.

The proposed rules are not expected to impose any
significant costs on the private sector, because the rules
address only voluntary submittal of documentation relating to
tax credits for producing film productions or for establishing
film production companies.

 The long−range fiscal implications are not known at this
time, because there is too much uncertainty about whether the
tax benefits will actually accrue only to film productions and
to film production companies that would not occur in
Wisconsin without the benefits.

Notice of Hearing
Dentistry Examining Board

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority
vested in the Dentistry Examining Board in ss. 15.08 (5) (b),
227.11 (2) and 447.02 (2) (b), Stats., and interpreting
s. 447.02 (2) (b), Stats., the Dentistry Examining Board will
hold a public hearing at the time and place indicated below on
emergency rules to amend the effective date of CR 04−095,
relating to the requirements for administering the office
facilities and equipment for safe and effective administration
and the applicable standards of care, and to provide for
reporting of adverse occurrences related to anesthesia
administration.

Hearing Date, Time and Location

Date: July 11, 2007
Time: 9:00 a.m.

Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue
Room 121C
Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing

Interested persons are invited to present information at the
hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Administrative Rules, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708.  Written comments must be received by
July 12, 2007, to be included in the record of rule−making
proceedings.  Analysis prepared by the Department of
Regulation and Licensing.

Analysis
Statute interpreted:  Section 447.02 (2) (b), Stats.
Statutory authority:  Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and

447.02 (2) (b), Stats.
Explanation of agency authority:  The Dentistry

Examining Board has the authority under s. 447.02, Stats., to
establish the standards, conditions, and any educational
requirements that must be met by a dentist in order to induce
anesthesia in connection with the practice of dentistry.
Presently, those standards are set forth in Ch. DE 11.  The
adopted rules better identify the different levels of anesthesia,
including nitrous oxide, anxiolysis, conscious
sedation−enteral, conscious sedation−parenteral, deep
sedation, and general anesthesia, and the requirements for
each level.  The rule is intended to ensure that practitioners are
adequately trained before they induce anesthesia and that the
public is sufficiently protected.

Related statute or rule:  There are no related statutes or rules
other than those listed above.

Plain language analysis:   The purpose of this rule is to
delay the effective date of CR04−095, from July 1, 2007 to
November 1, 2007, by amending the emergency rule that
moved the effective date of CR04−095 from January 1, 2007,
to July 1, 2007.  CR04−095 rule establishes and modifies the
training, certification and staffing requirements for
administering sedation and anesthesia at all levels performed
in the course of dental practice.  A system of permits issued
by the Department of Regulation and Licensing, which
designates by class the various levels of sedation and
anesthesia practice, was established.  Office facility and
equipment prerequisites for safe and effective administration
are delineated, the applicable standards of care are specified,
and the procedure necessary for reporting adverse
occurrences related to anesthesia administration is described.

These requirements emerged from recent efforts by state
licensing boards to regulate “oral conscious sedation.”  Oral
conscious sedation drugs are being marketed to dentists for
the purpose of managing patient anxiety surrounding dental
work in patients that remain conscious throughout the
procedure.
Federal Regulations

No proposed or existing federal regulation intended to
address oral conscious sedation currently exists.
Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States

Illinois
The Illinois Dental Practice Act contains specific

provisions governing anesthesia.  Permits are required for the
administration of conscious sedation.  Dentists are required to
have specialized training and office facilities must contain
certain equipment  Adverse occurrences are also required to
be reported.  Permits must be renewed biennially.  Additional
information is available at the Illinois website:
http://www.ildpr.com/WHO/ARpropsd/WEBdentrules.pdf

Indiana
The Indiana State Board of Dentistry requires dentists to

obtain a permit prior to administering general anesthesia,
deep sedation, or light parenteral conscious sedation.
Education and training are required to obtain such permits.
Permits must be renewed biennially.  Five hours of continuing
education are required for permit renewal.  Certain
emergency equipment is also required.  Additional
information is available at Indiana’s website:
http://www.ai.org/legislative/iac/T08280/A00030.PDF

Iowa
The Iowa Board of Dental Examiners requires a permit for

the administration of deep sedation, general anesthesia, and
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conscious sedation.  Dentists are required to have specialized
training and office facilities must contain certain equipment.
Adverse occurrences are also required to be reported  Six
hours of continuing education are required for permit
renewals.  Additional information is available at Iowa’s
website:
http://www.legis.state.ia.us/Rules/Current/iac/650iac/65029
/65029.pdfhttp://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admincode.asp?A
dminCode=Single&Admin_Num=33811101&Dpt=CH&Rn
gHigh

Michigan
The Michigan Board of Dentistry has rules governing

general anesthesia and intravenous conscious sedation.  The
Michigan Board is currently contemplating a rules’ revision
to include specific rules for conscious sedation.  Additional
information is available at Michigan’s website:

Minnesota
The Minnesota Board of Dentistry has rules governing

general anesthesia and conscious sedation.  Education and
training are required for both.  However, no special permit is
issued.  Additional information is available at Minnesota’s
website:
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/arule/3100/3600.html

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

The Dentistry Examining Board gathered information
from various entities involved in promoting oral conscious
sedation and others experienced in regulating the practice.
Dr. Joseph Best, Clinical Assistant Professor at Marquette
University School of Dentistry, presented information to the
board in March, 2003.  Dr. Jason Goodchild, representing The
Dental Organization for Conscious Sedation, delivered a
presentation to the board in May, 2003.  Initially, the board
decided its focus in regulating oral conscious sedation should
be on how it is advertised, how it is titrated so that overdosing
is prevented, and how many hours of adequate training and
what level of clinical experience should be required to
administer it.  The subject was further discussed at the
American Association of Dental Examiners’ 2003 annual
meeting in San Francisco.  The board held open session
discussions as the rules process advanced, and legal counsel
reviewed the rules of other states.  Eventually the focus of the
board broadened, resulting in revision of the board’s
anesthesia rule with sedation levels identified and a system of
permits required for various levels of anesthesia.

Anticipated Costs incurred by Private Sector

The Department of Regulation and Licensing has
determined that this rule has no significant fiscal effect on the
private sector.

Fiscal Estimate

Implementing the provisions of these rule changes will cost
the Department of Regulation and Licensing the value of
salary and fringe for one time of $18,611 and on−going
annually $10,100.

Develop Course List for Specialty Code
Forms development −− 60 hours PA  Time @
17 hr including fringe

1,020

Database Update −− 50 hrs (1 hr/wk) 850
Intake, correspondence −− 600 hrs (1 hr per
course)

10,200

Calls@10 min ea, 2/crse −− 200 hrs 3,400
Office of Legal Council – Rules development

10 hr. paralegal @ 29 hr including fringe 290
5 hr. attorney @ 59 hr including fringe 295

Changes to IT systems for new permit
2 hours programmer @ $48 per hour includ-
ing overhead

96

Credentialing−−develop forms and applica-
tions

20 Credentialing program manger @ 36 hr
including fringe

720

40 hours PA 3 @ $17 including fringe 680
20 hours legal counsel @ $53 including fringe 1,060

Total One Time 18,611
On−going Costs:

Increased Complaint Costs approx 10 additional
 complaints per year

All staff hourly amounts include fringe
2 complaints to full
hearing

Screen 4 hrs prog asst @ 17 hr
X 2

136

1hr leg couns @ 53 X 2 106

Investigate 6 hrs invest @ 26 X 2 312

Formal action 32 hrs pros @ 53 X 2 3,392
40 rs alj @ 51 X 2 4,080

Close  1 hr pa3 @  17 hr X 2 34

8 other through invest
Screen 4 hrs prog asst @ 17 hr

X 8
544

1hr leg couns @ 53 X 8 424

Investigate 6 hrs invest @ 26 X 8 1,248

Close  1 hr pa3 @  17 hr X 8 136

Total On−going 10,100

Effect on Small Business
These proposed rules will have no significant economic

impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a),
Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator
may be contacted by email at larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or
by calling (608) 266−8608.
Agency contact person:

Pamela Haack, Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington Avenue,
Room 171, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708−8935.
Telephone: (608) 266−0495.  Email:  pamela.haack@
drl.state. wi.us.
Text of Rule

SECTION 1.  This emergency rule amends the effective
date of CR04−095 by amending the emergency rule currently
in effect which amended the effective date of CR04−095 from
January 1, 2007 to July 1, 2007.   This emergency rule changes
the effective date of CR04−095 from July 1, 2007, to
November 1, 2007.
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Notice of Proposed Rule
State Elections Board

[CR 07−059]

The Wisconsin Elections Board proposes an order to repeal
and recreate ElBd 3.02 and to create ElBd 3.01, 3.03, 3.10 to
3.13, and 3.20, relating to voter registration.

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to ss. 5.05 (1) (f) and
227.11 (2) (a), Stats., and interpreting subchapter II of ch. 6,
Stats., ss. 6.26 to 6.57, Stats., and according to the procedure
set forth in s. 227.16 (2) (e), Stats., the State of Wisconsin
Elections Board proposes an order to repeal and recreate s.
ElBd 3.02 and to create ss. ElBd 3.01, 3.03, 3.10 to 3.13, and
3.20, relating to voter registration, as proposed in this notice
without public hearing unless, within 30 days after
publication of this notice, on July 1, 2007, the Elections
Board is petitioned for a public hearing by 25 persons who
will be affected by the rule; by a municipality which will be
affected by the rule; or by an association which is
representative of a farm, labor, business, or professional
group which will be affected by the rule.

Analysis Prepared By State Elections Board

Statute(s) interpreted:  subch. II of ch. 6,  ss. 6.26 to 6.57,
     Stats.

Statutory authority: ss. 5.05(1)(f), 6.26(3), and 
     227.11(2)(a), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority: This new rule interprets
and implements subchapter II of ch.6 of the Wisconsin
Statutes, ss. 6.26 – 6.57, Stats.  Subsection (3) of s. 6.26, Stats.,
provides that the Elections Board “shall, by rule, prescribe
procedures for appointment of special registration deputies,
for revocation of appointments of special registration
deputies, and for training of special registration deputies by
municipal clerks and boards of election commissioners.”  The
rule implements that statute and also sets forth the procedures
for voter registration and for the conduct of voter registration
drives to implement the legislature’s directive in s. 6.26,
Stats., that the board shall, by rule, prescribe procedures “to
promote increased registration of electors consistent with the
needs of municipal clerks and boards of election
commissioners to efficiently administer the registration
process.”

Related statute(s) or rule(s): s. 19.35, Stats.

Plain language analysis. The rule provides the methods
by which voter registration is conducted in Wisconsin,
including registration through the appointment of special
registration deputies and the conduct of voter registration
drives.  The rule also provides the contents of the voter
registration application.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulations: The federal government does not have a
voter registration system, but to implement the requirements
of the Help America Vote Act and the plan adopted by the
State Elections Board to implement the Help America Vote
Act, Wisconsin is required to establish a system of statewide
voter registration.  This rule facilitates and clarifies the
implementation of that system.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: Illinois, Iowa,
Michigan and Minnesota all have statewide voter registration
systems to bring them into compliance with the Help America
Vote Act.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:
The Elections Board did not employ any factual data or
analytical methodologies in the development of the rule.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine
effect on small business or in preparation of economic impact
report: The rule will have no effect on small business or
economic impact.

Effect on Small Business
The rule has no effect on business.

Agency Contact Person
George A. Dunst

Legal Counsel, State Elections Board
17 West Main Street, P.O. Box 2973
Madison, Wisconsin 53701−2973

Phone 266−0136
(george.dunst@seb.state.wi.us)

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for
submission:

State Elections Board
17 West Main Street

P.O. Box 2973
Madison, Wisconsin 53701−2973

Phone 266−0136
(elections.state.wi.us)

 Deadline for submission: June 4, 2007

Text of Rule
Pursuant to the authority vested in the State of Wisconsin

Elections Board by ss. 5.05(1)(f) and 227.(11)(2)(a), Stats.,
the Elections Board hereby repeals and recreates ElBd 3.02
and creates ElBd 3.01, 3.03, 3.10 to 3.13, and 3.20, relating to
voter registration, and interpreting subchapter II of ch.6 and
ss. 6.26 to 6.57, Stats.:

SECTION 1.  Chapter ElBd  3 is created to read:
3.01 Voter registration.  (1) In this chapter:
(a) “Applicant” has the meaning given in s. 6.02 (2)(a),

Stats.
(b) “Appointing authority” means the state elections board,

a municipal clerk or board
of election commissioners.
(c) “Board” means the state elections board.
(d) “By mail” means the completing and signing of a voter

registration application form other than in the presence of a
special registration deputy, county clerk, deputy clerk or
municipal clerk.

(e) “Close of registration” has the meaning given in s. 6.28
(1), Stats.

(f) “Election cycle” means the period beginning on January
1 of an odd−numbered year and continuing through
December 31 of an even−numbered year. 

(g) “In person” means the completing and signing of a voter
registration application form in the presence of a special
registration deputy, county clerk, deputy clerk or municipal
clerk.

(h) “Municipal clerk” has the meaning given in s. 5.02(10),
Stats., and includes the

Milwaukee city board of election commissioners.
(i) “Provider” means a municipality or county that provides

election administration services in conjunction with the
Statewide Voter Registration System for a relier
municipality.

(j) “Qualified elector” has the meaning given in s. 6.02,
Stats.

(k) “Registration” means registration to vote under
subchapter II of ch.6, Stats.
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(l) “Registration period” means the time period occurring
between the date of a special registration deputy’s
appointment and the close of registration for the election
immediately following the appointment.  For purposes of this
subsection, the term “election” includes any primary that
precedes the election.

(m) “Relier” means a municipality that enters into an
agreement with another

municipality or county to provide election administration
services in conjunction with  the Statewide Voter Registration
System.

      (n) “Self−provider” means a municipality that provides
its own election administration

services in conjunction with the Statewide Voter
Registration System.

      (o) “Special registration deputy” has the meaning given
in s. 6.26 (2) (a), Stats.

(p) “Statewide Voter Registration System” is the election
administration software

application provided by the board to enable local election
officials to register voters, track absentee voting and
administer elections.

(q) “Voter registration application form” means the
board−prescribed form (EB−131) on which voter registration
information is recorded before entry in the Statewide Voter
Registration System.

3.02 Content of the voter registration form. (1) An
elector shall provide the following information on the voter
registration application form:

     (a) The elector’s full name, including first and last name;

     (b) The elector’s complete address, including street,
number and municipality;

     (c) The elector’s date of birth;

(d) The elector’s driver’s license number; or, if the elector
has not been issued a valid and current driver’s license but has
a department of transportation issued identification card, the
transportation identification card number or the last four
digits of the elector’s social security number.  If the elector has
not been issued a valid and current driver’s license and does
not have a social security number, the elector shall indicate
that the elector has neither of those documents.

(e) An indication of the elector’s age;

(f) An indication of the elector’s citizenship;

(g) An indication that the elector is not disqualified from
voting because the elector has not completed the terms of a
sentence resulting from a felony conviction;

(h) If the elector was registered at a different location, the
complete address including   street, number and municipality
of the previous address;

(i)  If the elector was registered under a different name; the
elector’s former name, including first and last name;

     (j)  The signature of the elector certifying that the elector
is qualified to vote in Wisconsin.

3.03 Treatment of voter registration applications.  (1)
If an applicant for voter registration fails to check either or
both of the boxes indicating that the elector is a U.S. citizen
and that the elector is at least 18 years old, the municipal clerk
may process the voter registration application if the elector
has signed the certification on the application form indicating
that the voter meets the applicable requirements to vote in
Wisconsin.

(2) If information is missing from a voter registration
application form, the municipal clerk shall contact the
applicant by any means feasible, including: in person, email,
facsimile or telephone, to obtain the missing information.

3.10 Special registration deputies.  (1)  A qualified
elector of the State of Wisconsin may apply to any municipal
clerk or board of election commissioners to be appointed a
special registration deputy, under s. 6.26, Stats., for the
purpose of registering electors of that municipality before the
close of registration.

(2)  A qualified elector of this state may apply to the board
to be appointed a special registration deputy for the purpose
of registering electors of any municipality before the close of
registration.

(3)  Application to be appointed a special registration
deputy shall be made by completion of the application form
prescribed by the board and submission of the form to the
appointing authority.

(4)  Appointment shall be consummated by issuance of the
special registration deputy’s oath of office, on a form
prescribed by the board.

(5) The term of an appointment under this chapter
continues through the registration periods remaining in the
election cycle at the time of application, and expires at the end
of the election cycle.

3.11 Special registration deputy application form.  (1)
An application to be appointed a special registration deputy
shall require the applicant to provide the applicant’s name,
address, and contact information.

(2) The application shall contain a certification that the
applicant is a qualified elector of the state who is not
disqualified from voting.

(3) The applicant shall agree to follow the procedures
established by the board and the municipal clerk.

(4) The applicant shall attend a training session conducted
by the appointing authority before being appointed a special
registration deputy.

(5) The applicant shall be issued, by the appointing
authority, a unique number that the applicant shall list on all
voter registration forms collected by the applicant.

3.12 Special registration deputy training.
(1)  The content and curriculum of the training session

required of each special registration deputy shall be
prescribed by the board.

(2)  The training shall include the following elements:

(a) A discussion of Wisconsin voter eligibility
requirements;

(b) Directions on the completion of the voter registration
application form, including a direction that the special
registration deputy shall affix to the form his or her printed
name, signature and identification number, and a direction
that the information on the form shall be legible;

(c) Review of the applicable statutory deadlines for
submitting an application to register to vote;

(d) Directions on the treatment of confidential voter
information and on the handling of proof of residence
documents received from an applicant;

(e) Review of the deadlines and procedures for delivering
the completed voter registration form to the appointing
authority;

(f) Information on the consequences of failing to follow the
prescribed procedures for registering voters;
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(g) Information on the provisions of s. 12.13 (3) (ze), Stats.,
prohibiting compensation of special registration deputies
according to the number of registration forms collected;

(h) Information on the criminal sanctions applicable to the
misuse of appointment of special registration deputies;

(i) Any other information prescribed by the board.
3.13 Revocation of special registration deputy

appointment.  (1)  Under s. 6.26 (2) (b), Stats., an appointing
authority may, for cause, decline to appoint an applicant as a
special registration deputy, or may revoke the appointment of
an existing special registration deputy.

(2) Cause to deny or to revoke an appointment means that
one or more of the following circumstances applies to the
applicant or special registration deputy:

(a) The applicant or special registration deputy lacks the
qualifications of an election official as set forth in s. 7.30 (2),
Stats.;

(b) The applicant or special registration deputy fails to
attend training sessions scheduled by the appointing
authority;

(c) The applicant or special registration deputy has
previously had an appointment revoked for cause;

(d) The applicant or special registration deputy fails to
adhere to procedures established by the appointing authority,
including submission of completed voter registration
application forms in the time and manner prescribed by the
appointing authority;

(e) The applicant or special registration deputy falsifies,
fails to submit, or wrongfully suppresses, a voter registration
application form or otherwise commits official misconduct.

3.20 Voter registration drives. (1) Individuals or
organizations conducting voter registration drives shall use
the voter registration application form (EB−131) prescribed
by the board.

(2) Individuals or organizations conducting voter
registration drives may not retain the following voter
registration information: the date of birth, driver’s license
number, department of transportation identification number,
or last four digits of the social security number of an
individual completing a voter registration application form.

(3) Individuals or organizations conducting voter
registration drives may utilize special registration deputies to
assist in the collection of voter registration application forms.

(4) Individuals or organizations conducting voter
registration drives that do not utilize special registration
deputies to assist in the collection of voter registration
application forms shall collect a copy of the required forms of
proof of residence for first−time voters and submit the copy
to the appointing authority with the completed voter
registration application form.

(5) Individuals or organizations conducting voter
registration drives may not retain a copy of any form of proof
of residence collected from an individual.

(6) Individuals or organizations conducting voter
registration drives may not pay any individual collecting
voter registration application forms compensation based on
the number of registration forms collected as proscribed in s.
12.13 (3)(ze), Stats.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The creation of this rule does not affect business.

Fiscal Estimate

The creation of this rule has no fiscal effect.

Contact Person
George A. Dunst

Legal Counsel, State Elections Board
17 West Main Street

P.O. Box 2973
Madison, Wisconsin 53701−2973

Phone 266−0136

Notice of Hearing
Employee Trust Funds

[CR 07−062]
A public hearing on this proposed rule will be held on July

12, 2007, at 9:00 AM in Conference Room GB at the offices
of the Department of Employee Trust Funds, 801 West
Badger Road, Madison, Wisconsin.  Attendees should come
to the reception desk up the stairs (or the elevator) from the
main building entrance for escort to the conference room.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Employee
Trust Funds

1. Statute interpreted:  Section 40.285, Stats.
2. Statutory authority:   Sections 40.03 (2) (i),  40.285 (2)

(a) 3., and (b) 1. d. and 5., (4) (c) and (5) (c), and 227.11 (2)
(a), Stats.

3. Explanation of agency authority:  By statute, the DETF
Secretary is expressly authorized, with Board approval, to
promulgate rules required for the efficient administration of
any benefit plan established in ch. 40 of the Wisconsin
Statutes.  Each state agency may promulgate rules
interpreting the provisions of any statute enforced or
administered by the agency, if the agency considers it
necessary to effectuate the purpose of the statute.  The
Legislature has expressly required the Department to specify,
by rule, how the purchase of service credit for previously
forfeited service will be prorated when more than one
category of employment is involved and credit for less that all
the previously forfeited service is purchased.  In addition, the
Legislature has mandated that the Department shall establish
by rule different rates for different categories of participants
who purchase credit for other governmental service, based
upon factors recommended by the actuary.

4. Related statute or rule:  Section 40.285, Stats.
5. Plain language analysis:

Introduction.
This rule−making supplements and interprets the

re−codification of the statutes governing the purchase of
creditable service under the Wisconsin Retirement System
(WRS).  The law governing the WRS allows participating
employees to purchase credit under the WRS for six different
kinds of service:  previously forfeited service, other
governmental service, previous executive service not credited
because of over−62 age restrictions, a 6−month uncredited
qualifying period, teacher improvement leave and uncredited
junior teaching service.  Existing Administrative Code
provisions apply to service purchases generally (WIS. ADMIN.
CODE § ETF 20.14), the purchase of forfeited service (§ ETF
20.15), qualifying service (§ ETF 20.16) and other
governmental service (§ ETF 20.18).  All of these existing
administrative rules are repealed by this rule−making.

In July 2003, 2003 Wis. Act 33 created a new S. 40.285,
Stats., that revised and combined all the former statutes
concerning the purchase of service credits.  In the process, the
former ss. 40.02 (17) (b), (e), (i), and (k) and 40.25 (5) and (6),
Stats., were eliminated, either by renumbering or repeal.
Subsequently, in April 2006, 2005 Wis. Act 154 amended
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WIS. STAT. § 40.285 (4) (d) regarding the role of funds
received for the purchase of other governmental service in
calculating WRS death benefits and money purchase
retirement benefits.

Wis. ADMIN. CODE § ETF 20.14 was created effective
January 1, 1997, and § ETF 20.18 was created effective July
1, 1995.  Neither has been amended by the Department since
then.  WIS. ADMIN. CODE § ETF 20.15 and 20.16 were both
created during 1982 and were most recently amended
effective January 1, 1997.

This rulemaking deletes language and policies
incorporated in these rules that have been superseded by
subsequent legislation or which have otherwise become
obsolete due to changes in the applicable law. In their place,
the rule−making creates a new WIS. ADMIN. CODE § ETF
20.17 uniting the rules covering all purchases of creditable
service into one code provision.

Service Credit Purchases; Generally.

Under WIS. STAT. § 40.285, a participating employee may
purchase credit in the WRS for six different kinds of service.
Such service credit purchases both increase the creditable
service used to calculate a formula annuity and also increase
the account balance in the employee’s required contribution
account.  Except for amounts received to purchase other
governmental service, these additional funds increase the
value of the participating employee’s money purchase
pension benefit.

(a) Defining terms.

In § ETF 20.17 (2), the proposed rule defines key terms. All
definitions are based on the present WIS. ADMIN. CODE § ETF
20.18 (2) (a), (b), (c), (d) and (e). The phrases “At the time of
application” and “date of application” are defined consistent
with § ETF 10.82 (1), to which reference is added.  The
definitions of the remaining terms, “current earnings,”
“military service,” “money purchase balance,” and “other
governmental service,” are substantially similar to the current
definitions, except for necessary cross−reference corrections
and some minor clarifications.

The rule−making also makes technical amendments to the
existing definition of the term “three continuous years of
creditable service” in WIS. ADMIN. CODE § ETF 10.01 (7). This
is a statutory pre−requisite to eligibility for purchasing credit
for either forfeited service or other governmental service.

(b) Estimates, applications and final calculations.

As provided by this rule, the Department will upon request
prepare a combination estimate and application form to be
used to make the purchase.  After the completed application
and actual payment is received, the DETF will audit the
transaction and, if necessary, recalculate the amount due.
Such adjustments may be necessary, for example, if an
estimate was prepared during one year and the employee
submits the application later, after a change in the employee’s
compensation has occurred.  \

This rule−making eliminates the limits on how much may
be paid into the retirement system found in the current WIS.
ADMIN. CODE § ETF 20.14 (1) and (2) (a) 1.  The limits were
based on now obsolete provisions of § 415(c) of the Internal
Revenue Code.  The sources of permissible funds to use to
make the service credit purchase are also expanded from
current rules, in accord with the latest federal tax laws.

(c) Deadline for applying.

Because only a “participating employee” may buy credit
for service under WIS. STAT. § 40.285, the completed
application must be received at the DETF before the

employee terminates participating employment. A special
provision establishes the deadline for a retired employee who
holds a second participating position as a part−time elected
official and “opts out” of WRS coverage with respect to that
part−time position as permitted under WIS. STAT. § 40.23 (1)
(am) 2.  The treatment under the rule is consistent with that
statute and establishing when the person ceases to be a
participating employee.

(d) Rejection of ineligible, unpaid and incomplete
applications.

An application for service credits the applicant is not
entitled to buy must be rejected.  Late applications must be
rejected.  Generally, applications not accompanied by
payment−in−full must also be rejected.  However, there are
some exceptions.  The applicant may use voluntary additional
contributions already in the participant’s WRS account,
including §403(b) funds, as part of the payment.
Alternatively, the applicant may pay a required 10%
down−payment and arrange to transfer the remainder from
another qualifying benefit plan, as permitted by federal tax
laws, within 90 days.  An application that remains incomplete
for more than 90 days may be rejected, at the Department’s
discretion.  If the Department underestimated the actual final
cost of the service purchase, the applicant may cancel the
transaction, or pay the balance due.  The Department allows
participants in this situation who have already begun to
receive their WRS pensions to pay the balance due out of one
of the next monthly annuity payments.  At present, that option
exists only for purchases of credit for forfeited or other
governmental service.  This rule will expand that option to all
types of service purchase and also allow the balance to be
deducted from a lump sum paid in lieu of a retirement annuity.

(e) Effects of buying service credit.
This rule−making clarifies the long−standing DETF policy

that buying credit for service simply adds the amount of
service credit purchased to the person’s total creditable
service, going forward, for the sole purpose of calculating a
formula annuity benefit under WIS. STAT. § 40.23 (2) (b) or
(2m) (e), or making other formula annuity calculations in that
manner such as for disability annuity benefits or special death
benefits under WIS. STAT. § 40.63 (8) or 40.73 (1) (c),
respectively. Buying creditable service has no retroactive
effect and therefore does not do any of the following:

� Undo any effects of the requirement of WIS. STAT.
§ 40.25 (3) that a person who takes a separation benefit must
thereafter be treated as a new employee for all ch. 40 purposes
upon subsequent employment by a participating employer.

� Establish an earlier date of participation or restore an
account as though it had never been closed.

� Restore or entitle the purchaser to any benefits or rights
associated with being a participant in the WRS or a member
of any predecessor retirement system, at the time the services
for which credit is being purchased were actually performed.

� Establish any creditable service in, or for, any particular
year.

� Circumvent the statutory limit of 1.0 years of creditable
service for any annual earnings period.

Under S. 40.23 (2m) (e) 1. to 4., Stats., higher multipliers
are used to calculate formula annuity benefits based on
pre−2000 creditable service. In s. ETF 20.17 (1) (j), this
rule−making cross−references the treatment of purchased
service credits for that purpose, as provided by WIS. ADMIN.
CODE § ETF 20.19 (2).  In addition, WIS. STAT. § 40.23 (2m)
(em) 1. a. provides that any service forfeited by taking a
separation benefit prior to January 1, 2000, will be treated as
pre−2000 service if a service credit is purchased under WIS.
STAT. § 40.285 (2) (a).  This rule−making amends the existing
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WIS. ADMIN. CODE § ETF 20.19 (2) (c) to clarify this treatment
and expands the existing rule that covers situations in which
a participant purchases service credit for forfeited service,
forfeits that and other creditable service by taking a separation
benefit, then again purchases credit for the forfeited service.

For added clarity and to remove unnecessary
cross−references to the former WIS. STAT. § 40.25 (6), which
was repealed by 2003 Wis. Act 33, this rule−making also
amends WIS. ADMIN. CODE § ETF  20.19 (2) (a) through (d),
concerning the pre−2000 or post−1999 treatment of
purchased service credits for forfeited service.  The existing
protection of the employee by applying partial payments to
pre−2000 service credit first is retained and expressly
cross−referenced in the new § ETF 20.17 (3) (d).

A new s. ETF 20.19 (2) (dm) is created to provide that the
purchased service credit for other governmental service will
be treated as post−1999 or pre−2000 service for formula
benefit purposes, depending on when the services were
actually rendered to the non−WRS governmental entity. This
is in accord with the provision of WIS. STAT. § 40.23 (2m) (em)
1. b. that purchased service credit for other governmental
service will be treated as pre−2000 service for calculating a
formula annuity benefit under WIS. STAT. § 40.23 (2m) (e), if
the purchase was based on services considered to have been
performed before January 1, 2000.

Wis. Admin. Code § ETF 20.19 (2) (e), (h), (i) and (f)
already provide that purchased service credit for a qualifying
period, teacher improvement leave, and previously
uncredited service as a junior teacher or executive
participating employee will be treated as pre−2000 service in
calculating formula benefits under Wis. Stat. § 40.23 (2m)
(e).  This rule−making does not affect those provisions.

(f) Treatment of payments.

Amounts received for the purchase of service credit will be
effectively deposited into the participant’s required
contribution account, described in WIS. STAT. § 40.04 (4) (a)
1.  However, as provided in § ETF 20.17 (4) (f), funds received
for the purchase of other governmental service will also be
accounted for so that they are not matched by funds from
employer required contributions when calculating a money
purchase or a death benefit, as provided by WIS. STAT.
§§ 40.23 (3) and 40.73 (1) (am) and (c).

Generally, the purchase amount will be treated as amounts
received during the year in which the DETF actually receives
the payment, meaning the funds will not be credited with
interest for that calendar year.  Generally, if the participant
participates in the variable retirement investment trust, the
amounts received will be divided between the core and
variable retirement investment trusts just like the participant’s
current contributions.

There are exceptions to those general rules, however.  An
employee may use accumulated after−tax additional
contributions, including those under WIS. STAT. § 40.05 (1) (a)
5., which are already in the Public Employee Trust Fund to
make the service purchase.  In order to protect the employee
from losing year−end  interest crediting on such funds, the rule
creates an exception in § ETF 20.17 (1) (g) 3. that treats such
funds as being in the Trust Fund throughout the year, as they
were in fact.  For similar reasons, the same exception also
preserves the source of such funds in the core retirement
investment trust and variable retirement investment trust.

(g) Refunds.

Wis. Stat. § 40.285 (7) prohibits any refund of $25 or less.
Above that threshold, § ETF 20.17 (1) (f) in this rule provides
that excess amounts received shall be refunded to the
participant.  An exception exists if the source of the purchase

funds was a plan−to−plan transfer from another qualifying
benefit plan. In those cases, in order to avoid tax liabilities for
the employee, the refund must be paid back to the appropriate
plan, as determined by the DETF.

Regarding the payment of interest on a refund, this
rule−making cross−references the applicable statute.  WIS.
STAT. § 40.08 (6) (e) prohibits the payment of interest on a
refund.

(h) Payment shortfalls.
By statute, the DETF will not undertake collection actions

against the applicant if the payment shortfall is under $25.  In
ETF § 20.17 (1) (h), the rule anticipates that payment
shortfalls might occur in different ways, separately or in
combination.  The applicant might include the full estimated
amount with the application, but the subsequent audit and
final calculation determines that the actual amount due is
higher.  Or, the applicant arranges for a plan−to−plan transfer
to partly fund the service purchase, and the amount
transferred from the other plan is insufficient, perhaps
because the anticipated value of the account dropped in the
interim.

When a plan−to−plan transfer is involved, the employee
will be given 30 days to pay the shortfall.  If not timely paid
in full, the DETF will prorate the amount of service credit
purchased to match the amount received in conformity with
WIS. STAT. § 40.285 (5) (c).  This is the only circumstance in
which a person may purchase less than all of the available
credit for a qualifying period, teacher improvement leave, and
previously uncredited service as a junior teacher or executive
participating employee.

If the shortfall is the result of a low estimate by the
Department, and a plan−to−plan transfer was involved, the
DETF will proceed in the same manner as for an insufficient
transfer.  Otherwise, the employee will be given 30 days to pay
the difference due or withdraw the application.  If the balance
due is not timely received or the employee withdraws the
application, the amounts received will be refunded.  This is
the only circumstance under which an applicant may
withdraw or cancel an application to purchase service after
any payment has been received by the DETF.

This rulemaking creates one other alternative payment
option.  It applies only  when the estimate was too low, and the
applicant has a WRS retirement benefit payable.  In this case,
the applicant may ask that the Department deduct the balance
due from a subsequent monthly annuity payment or from a
lump sum payable in lieu of an annuity.  The current WIS.
ADMIN. CODE §§ ETF 20.15 (2) (em) and 20.16 (4m), allow
such a deduction in connection with shortfalls in payments for
the purchase of credit for forfeited service and qualifying
service, respectively. This rule−making will expand the
option to all service purchases.

A shortfall might occur if the applicant deliberately pays
less than the full amount due.  This is permissible only for a
purchase connected with forfeited service or other
governmental service.  In those cases, the applicant will be
given notice of the shortfall and an opportunity to pay the
difference.  If the difference is not received within 30 days
after notice is sent to the participant, the department shall
complete the purchase, reducing the amount of service credit
purchased to the prorated credit equaling the payment
actually received.  This permits the applicant to decide to buy
less then the full amount of service credit available, but only
for service credit purchases under WIS. STAT. § 40.285 (2) (a)
and (b), and accords with long−standing Department practice
and policy.

(i) Effect of Qualified Domestic Relations Orders.
This rule−making clarifies the treatment of purchased

credit for service when a court orders a division of a WRS
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account by a qualified domestic relations order (QDRO).  By
amending the existing §ETF 20.25 (3) (d) 2., this rule−making
provides that credit for service purchased under WIS. STAT.
§ 40.285 will be divided by a qualified domestic relations like
all other creditable service in the participant’s account,
provided the application for the purchase was actually
received by the department prior to the first day of the month
in which the marriage was terminated. This date is defined by
WIS. STAT. § 40.02 (18f) as the “decree date” and is the
effective date of a QDRO.   If the application to purchase
credit for service is received after the decree date, then any
service purchased under the application will not be affected
by the QDRO, regardless of the source of the funds for the
purchase or when the services in question were actually
rendered.  The amendment also provides that the Department
will send any bill for payment shortfalls and any refund due
in connection with the application to purchase service only to
the participant, regardless of whether there is a QDRO or
when the application was received.  Nothing in this
rule−making will prevent the parties to a divorce, or the court,
from making arrangements between the parties for the
participant to share refunds with the ex−spouse or for the
ex−spouse to contribute, through the participant, to the
payment of a shortfall.  But the Department will not be
required to split bills or refunds or deal with the ex−spouse
concerning the participant’s application to purchase service
credits.

(j) Number of service credit purchases per year.

Wis. Stat. § 40.285 (2) (a) 3. and (b) 5. allow the
Department the option to allow, by rule, more than two service
credit purchases of forfeited service or two purchases of other
governmental service per year.  This proposed rule−making
does not expand the default limit of two such service
purchases per year and applies that limit across the board to
all service credit purchases.  This is necessary because of a
payment option created by Wis. Stat. § 40.285 (5).

The purchase of the service for the qualifying period,
teacher improvement leave, and previously uncredited
service as a junior teacher or executive participating
employee are all intended to be one−time purchases of the
entire available credit with payment−in−full accompanying
the application.  Applications without full payment would
generally be rejected.  However, under WIS. STAT. § 40.285
(5), a plan−to−plan transfer is an available payment option for
all forms of creditable service purchase.  The possibility exists
that there will be a payment shortfall resulting in prorating the
service purchased as provided by WIS. STAT. § 40.285 (5) (c).
To address that possibility, this rule−making permits an
additional creditable service purchase of the same type during
the same calendar year, provided the participating employee
remains otherwise eligible.  So, § ETF 20.17 (1) (e) limits all
types of creditable service purchase to two per year,
maximum.

Rule−making for particular kinds of 
service purchase.

(a) Rules specific to purchase of credit for forfeited service.

This rule−making provides that the Department will
prepare an estimate for purchase of forfeited service based
upon all the years and fractions of a year of forfeited service
for which credit may then be purchased, unless the employee
specifies a lesser amount.  Purchases of credit for forfeited
service are limited by the accumulated creditable service of
the employee at the time of the purchase, no matter how much
previous service was actually forfeited.

Unlike purchases of credit for service during a qualifying
period, teacher improvement leave, and previously
uncredited service as a junior teacher or executive

participating employee, these rules allow an employee to
decide (after receiving the estimate and application form) to
buy credit for less than the full amount of service credit
available for forfeited service.

The rule−making also codifies in § ETF 20.17 (3) (f) the
Department’s long−standing and actuarially sound policy that
credit for service forfeited by taking a separation benefit or
otherwise withdrawing funds is not available for purchase as
forfeited service if the individual was paid both the
contributions required from an employee, including those
“picked up” by the employer, and the deposits or
contributions required from the state or the employer.

Wis. Stat. § 40.285 (4) (c) and (5) (c) require the
Department to specify, by rule, how a purchase of forfeited
service, by a participant who forfeited service under more
than one category of employment, will be prorated in the
event of different kinds of payment shortfalls. In this
rule−making, §ETF 20.17 (3) (d) provides that, unless the
applicant specifies otherwise, the amount received will be
applied until exhausted to buy all the available creditable
service under each of the employee’s different employment
categories listed in the order of the highest to lowest
multipliers in Wis. Stat. § 40.23 (2m) (e) 1. through 4.  In
addition, credit for service as a protective occupation
participant with Social Security coverage is listed ahead of
service as an elected official or executive participating
employee, and service as a teacher credited separately and
ahead of other service in the general category under Wis. Stat.
§ 40.23 (2m) (e) 1.   In the event that the treatment of Wis. Stat.
§§ 40.02 (17) (intro.) and (33), 40.22 (2) (a), (2m) (intro.), (a)
and (3) (b) by 2007 Senate Bill 40, sections 750, 758, 772,
773, 774, 775 and 9314, becomes law, then service as an
educational support personnel employee would be listed just
ahead of service as a teacher.

(b) Rules specific to purchase of credit for other
governmental service.

This rule−making requires that the actuary review and
update the method for calculating the cost of other
governmental service in accord with the actuary’s general
investigation of assumptions and experience.  The actuary
may also revise the calculation at any time if there are changes
in the benefit structure changes, valuation assumptions or
other factors the actuary finds significant.

This rule−making describes in § ETF 20.17 (4) (b) 3. and
(c) the proof necessary to establish that service for which
credit is sought was performed and meets the definition of
“other governmental service.”  The specified proof is carried
over from the existing § ETF 20.18 (4) with minimal changes
for clarity.

A new rule requirement, based upon WIS. STAT. § 40.285
(2) (b) 4., is for a certification that the other governmental
service is not being used to establish entitlement to or the
amount of other pension, retirement or similar federal, state
or local government benefits, except for Social Security,
disability or benefits for service in the national guard or
reserves.  The new rule clarifies that the statutory prohibition
bars buying credit only to service being used for other pension
and retirement benefits from federal, state or local
governmental plans.

A provision of the existing § ETF 20.18 (4) (c) states that
the department’s determination as to the sufficiency of the
evidence is conclusive.  This is not carried over to the new
rule. Rather than being conclusive, this rule−making specifies
that the determination, like virtually all determinations made
by the Department, is subject to timely appeal to the Board.

The provision of the current § ETF 20.18 (6) (a) limiting
the amount of credit for other governmental service that may
be purchased is carried over to this new rule−making, in part.
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The participating employee may not purchase more credit
than he or she has already earned under the WRS.  However,
the present absolute cap on purchasing more than 10 years of
other governmental service is removed.

The current § ETF 20.18 (3) (b) allowing a participant to
submit an application 90 days after terminating all
participating employment is not carried over.  Instead, the
application must submit an application while still a
participating employee, but then has up to 90 days to submit
the supporting documentation.

The current provision in § ETF 20.18 (7) (f) allowing the
Department to reject an application for the purchase of other
governmental service that is incomplete after 6 months is not
carried over.  Rather, any application for purchasing any type
of service credit may be rejected by the Department if still
incomplete after 90 days.

These rules allow an employee to decide (after receiving
the estimate and application form) to buy credit for less than
the full amount of service credit available for other
governmental service.  This treatment is unlike purchases of
credit for service during a qualifying period, teacher
improvement leave, and previously uncredited service as a
junior teacher or executive participating employee,

As is currently provided in § ETF 20.18 (6), the amount of
service credit will be determined by applying the 1,904 hour
test applicable to full−time employment for non−teachers,
regardless of the nature of the services rendered for the other
government.  Also, service credit purchased for other
governmental service may not be applied for purposes of
satisfying any of the following:

� The vesting requirement of former WIS. STAT. § 40.23
(1) (a) 3., 1995 Stats.

� The minimum recent service criteria for disability
benefits

� The service requirements to be eligible to continue
insurance after termination.

Neither may the service credit purchased for other
governmental service be considered as part of the
participant’s accumulated creditable service for determining
the maximum amount of service credit that may be purchased
for forfeited service or other governmental service.

One kind of other governmental service for which credit
may be purchased is employment by an employer that joined
the WRS after the services in question were rendered, and did
not recognize 100% of the employee’s prior service for WRS
purposes.  Since WIS. STAT. § 40.21 (6) (b) allows a WRS
participating n employer to later recognize such prior service,
this rule contains in § ETF 20.17 (4) (e) 5. f. a protection for
the employee who already bought service credits for prior
service, which is later recognized by the employer.  The
purchase payment and associated interest will be transferred
to the employee’s voluntary additional contribution account
and the service credit will be recognized as ordinary service,
not subject to the restrictions noted above for other
governmental service credits.

Wis. Stat. § 40.285 (2) (b) 1. d. provides that an applicant
to buy creditable service under the WRS for so−called other
governmental service must pay the cost of the purchase in a
lump sum equal to the present value of the creditable service.
The actuary is to determine rates that will be actuarially
sufficient to fund the costs of the increased benefit resulting
from the purchase of this service.  The department is required
to establish, by rule, different rates for different categories of
participants, based on factors recommended by the actuary.
At present the rule meeting this requirement is Wis. Admin.
Code § ETF 20.18 (5), the language of which is incorporated

into this rulemaking with only minor editorial changes and
clarifications.

The part of current § ETF 20.18 (5) (c) requiring
Department pre−approval of the actuary’s calculation for
setting the cost of purchasing credit for other governmental
service is not carried over.  Neither is the portion of § ETF
20.18 (5) (d) that allows the Department to prescribe when the
actuary’s revised calculation method will be applied.  The rule
requires that the actuary’s new method of calculation be
applied as of the effective date recommended by the actuary.
However, the new calculation method will not be applied to
applications received before the actuary’s effective date.

Factors to be considered by the actuary in setting the rate
for purchasing other governmental service currently stated in
§ ETF 20.18 (5) (b) are carried over into the new rulemaking,
except for an obsolete reference to differing interest crediting
on participant accounts in WIS. ADMIN. CODE § ETF 20.18 (5)
(b) 2. c.  The actuarial assumptions described in the current §
ETF 20.18 (5) (b) 2. f. and g. appear in combined and revised
form in the new rule.  A new factor has been added so that the
actuary will assume that any participating employee who has
reached eligibility for an unreduced formula annuity benefit
will retire after completing the transaction.

(c) Rules specific to purchase of credit for qualifying
period.

A pre−requisite for purchasing credit for a qualifying
period is to first purchase service credit for any subsequently
forfeited service.  This rule carries over into § ETF 20.17 (5)
(c) this requirement, which is currently found in WIS. ADMIN.
CODE § ETF 20.16 (1).  The applicant to purchase service
credit for a qualifying period must first purchase all service
credit the applicant is currently eligible to buy for forfeited
service.

An applicant must purchase all available qualifying period
service credit, up to the 6−month statutory maximum.  The
sole exception is that prorating may occur due to a shortfall in
a plan−to−plan transfer to pay for the benefit, as required
under WIS. STAT. § 40.285 (5) (c).

The cost of the service credit is based on the employee’s
highest earnings in a single annual earnings period.  For an
application received, for example, in March, the annual
earnings for the current period are unknown.  The Department
will look back to the highest completed annual earnings
period in its records.  If the applicant was part−time during
that annual earnings period, then the earnings will be
extrapolated upwards to reflect a full−time amount to be used
in calculating the purchase price for the service credit.

The service credit purchased for qualifying service will be
in the category of employment in which it would have been
granted if the services had been creditable at the time they
were performed.

(d) Rules specific to purchase of credit for teacher
improvement leave.

The only service credit available for teacher improvement
leave under WIS. STAT. § 40.285 (2) (e) is for a leave occurring
between January 1, 1964 and August 21, 1967.  The rule
provides that an employee wishing to purchase service credit
for such leave must first obtain the certification from the
University of Wisconsin Board of Regents that is required by
the statute.  The Department will then provide an estimate and
application form based on the period of leave certified.

An applicant must purchase all available teacher
improvement leave service credit.  The sole exception is that
a prorating may occur due to a shortfall in a plan−to−plan
transfer to pay for the benefit, as required under WIS. STAT.
§ 40.285 (5) (c).
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(e) Rules specific to purchase of credit for uncredited junior
teaching service.

This rule clarifies that to be eligible to purchase service
credit for “junior teacher” service, the applicant must have
been employed as a teacher in the public schools covered by
the former State Teacher Retirement System.  This excludes
City of Milwaukee teachers.  In addition, the teaching service
in question must have occurred prior to the 1957−58 school
year, and during a school year when the teacher had not
attained age by the July 1 before the start of the school year.
The eligibility criteria in § ETF 20.17 (7) (b) is based on the
statutory definition of “junior teacher” in former WIS. STAT.
§ 42.20 (6).  Junior teachers were effectively excluded from
coverage under the State Teachers Retirement System until
former WIS. STAT. § 40.40, 1955 Stats., was amended by
Chapter 12, § 10, Laws of 1957, effective July 1, 1957.

An applicant must purchase all available junior teacher
service credit.  The sole exception is that prorating may occur
due to a shortfall in a plan−to−plan transfer to pay for the
benefit, as required under WIS. STAT. § 40.285 (5) (c).

(f) Rules specific to purchase of credit for uncredited
service as an executive official.

In § ETF 20.17 (8) this rule−making describes the
eligibility criteria for purchasing credit under WIS. STAT.
§ 40.285 (2) (c) which are not readily apparent from the
statutory references to uncredited service due to age
restrictions. It is not impossible that participating employees
eligible for this benefit remain, but it is not likely.  The rule
clarifies that a participating employee who, on or after May
3, 1988, held a position as an executive participating
employee.  In addition, the person must have held a position
between July 1, 1974 and May 3, 1988, while the position was
listed in one of the executive salary groups under WIS. STAT.
§ 20.923 (4), or certain specified deputy and executive
assistant positions under WIS. STAT. § 20.923 (8) or (9),
respectively.  The applicable restrictions on age concerned
barring creditable service after a person reached age 62.  The
effective date of this bar was not the 62nd birthday.  From
mid−1974 through 1981, the effective date of the bar was the
end of the calendar quarter in which the person reached age
62.  From 1982 until the bar was eliminated in May 1988, the
effective date was the first day of the fourth month that began
after the individual reached 62.  No person born after January
31, 1926 would have been affected by these age restrictions,
so an eligible participating employee would be at least 81
years old today.

The rule also interprets the statutory language of WIS. STAT.
§ 40.285 (2) (c), based on the history of that language, to mean
that:

� All participating employees purchasing service under
that paragraph, will pay the same rate for such service
regardless of whether the participating employee is a present
or former elected official or an appointee of such an official;

� No one who purchased service under former WIS. STAT.
§ 40.02 (17) (e), which was in effect from May 3, 1988
through August 14, 1991, is entitled to buy credit under WIS.
STAT. § 40.285 (2) (c); and,

� No present or former elected official, or an appointee of
such an official, who purchased service under that former
WIS. STAT. § 40.02 (17) (e) is entitled to any refund or
additional benefit based upon the amendment of that statute
by 1991 Wisconsin Act 39 or by the renumbering and
subsequent amendment of that statute by 2003 Wisconsin Act
33.

In the event that a person does qualify to purchase credit
under WIS. STAT. § 40.285 (2) (c), then all such credit available

must be purchased, unless a plan−to−plan transfer method of
payment is used, and there is a shortfall.

Other rule−making.  Eligibility for long−term
disability insurance benefits.

This rule amends WIS. ADMIN. CODE § ETF 50.50 (2)
concerning the minimum recent service requirement to
qualify for long−term disability insurance benefits.  An
applicant for benefits must have at least one−third of a year of
creditable service in at least 5 years out of the 7 years
preceding the application and the year of the application itself.

At present, “repurchased service” may be counted towards
this requirement only if the service itself was rendered during
the calendar year in which the application was received or one
of the 7 preceding years.  This rulemaking clarifies that in this
context, the only purchased service credits which may
potentially be counted are those under WIS. STAT. § 40.286 (2)
(a) pertaining to purchased credit for forfeited service.

Non−substantive, technical rule−making.
A technical, non−substantive, clarification is also added to

WIS. ADMIN. CODE § ETF 50.50 (2) by this rulemaking to
identify another type of service that counts towards the
minimum service requirement.  Veterans who left WRS
covered employment to go into the armed forces, then
returned to their previous employment afterwards, may
qualify for “creditable military service” under WIS. STAT.
§ 40.02 (15) (a).   Similarly, returning members of the
uniformed services may also qualify for WRS creditable
service under the federal Uniformed Services Employment
and Reemployment Rights Act which supercedes state law.
This rule−making clarifies that such creditable service will be
counted towards satisfying the minimum prior service
requirement for long−term disability insurance eligibility, in
accord with federal requirements.  The rulemaking preserves
the present exclusion of creditable military service under WIS.
STAT. § 40.15 (c), which is awarded to employees based on
longevity.

The rule amends WIS. ADMIN. CODE § ETF 10.01 (7) to make
the cross−reference changes necessary because of the repeal
of WIS. STAT. § 40.25 (6) and (7) by 2003 Wis. Act 33,
effective July 26, 2003.

This rule reflects the terminology changes resulting from
changing the name of the “fixed” retirement investment trust
to the “core” retirement investment trust in 2005 Wis. Act
153, effective April 5, 2006.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
Federal regulations do not require that a governmental

retirement plan allow the purchase of permissive service
credit.  However, 26 U.S.C. §415(n), a provision of the tax
code, provides special rules relating to the purchase of
permissive service credits, if allowed by a pension plan.  Also,
26 U.S.C. §457(e)(17) concerns trustee−to−trustee transfers
from governmental deferred compensation plans to purchase
permissive service credit and 26 C.F.R. § 1.457−10 (b)
provides U.S. Treasury regulations pertaining to such
plan−to−plan transfers.   An exclusion from gross income for
plan−to−plan transfer to purchase permissive service credits
using another tax sheltered annuity funds is found in 26
U.S.C. § 403(b)(13)(A).  The proposed rule is in accord with
the federal tax code and regulations in order to preserve both
the qualified status of the Wisconsin Retirement System and
the tax benefits for employees as required by WIS. STAT.
§ 40.015.

Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States
Although there are a number of governmental retirement

plans in Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota and Michigan, their
administrative rules are not directly relevant to interpreting
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the Wisconsin statutes governing the Wisconsin Retirement
System because the governmental retirement plans in the
different states are designed differently. All of the following
are plan design issues reflected in the differing laws
governing the different plans:

� Whether the plan is a defined benefit plan in which
creditable service affects the calculation of benefits.

� If so, whether the plan allows any purchase of service
credits.

� If so, exactly what service credits may be purchased and
how the cost of the purchase is determined.

Also, governmental plans differ in the degree to which the
terms of the plan are established by enabling legislation or left
to subsequent administrative rulemaking.  Consequently, the
administrative rules, if any, for purchasing service credit will
necessarily vary between each retirement plan, making a
meaningful comparison difficult or impossible.

Illinois.  The eligibility to purchase service under the
Illinois State Employees’ Retirement System is discussed in
80 Illinois Administrative Code § 1540.50 a) 1).  As in the
Wisconsin Retirement System, purchasing service does not
change the effective date of coverage under the plan. See 80
IL ADC § 1540.210 a).  After−tax and payroll deduction
methods to pay for forfeited service and purchases of
permissive service credits are covered in 80 IL ADC §
1540.255.  The ISERS defines “permissive service” in 80 IL
ADC § 1540.350 a) 8) as including credit purchased by the
member for military service, leaves of absence, early
retirement incentives, contractual service, federal or
out−of−state service, visually handicapped service,
legislative staff intern service and unused sick and vacation
time.

Under 80 IL ADC § 1600.50, participants in the Illinois
State Universities Retirement System may pay contributions
for periods of employment predating their being certified as
a plan participant.  Estimated annuity payments from SURS
do not, pursuant to 80 IL ADC § 1600.140 c), include
additional service credits purchased after the retirement
annuity application was received.

For the Teachers Retirement System of the State of Illinois,
80 IL ADC § 1650.310 c) pertains to calculating cost of
buying credit for military service and private school teaching.
Eligibility for purchase of credit for leaves of absence is
established in 80 IL ADC 1650.3 h).  The minimum payment
amount for purchase of optional service is covered by 80 IL
ADC § 1650.3.  Refunds for purchasing duplicate service or
for service in excess of what was needed to reach the
maximum formula pension benefit are provided for by 80 IL
ADC § 1650.410.  Amount rolled−over into the TRS may be
used to buy service credits, as authorized by 80 IL ADC
1650.480.  The rule 80 IL ADC § 1650.1202 d) concerns
extending payroll deduction agreements to complete a
purchase of service. By 80 IL ADC § 1650.1205, a limit of
payment per year is set on employer payments towards an
employee’s purchase of optional service.

The State of Illinois Employees’ Deferred Compensation
Plan allows transfers from the plan to a defined benefit plan
for the purpose of purchasing permissive service credits. See
80 IL ADC 2700.750.

Iowa.  The Iowa Public Employee Retirement System
describes the service that may be purchased in § 495−8.1 of
the Iowa Administrative Code, including the purchase of
“prior service” associated with having taken a refund of
contributions, credit for other public employment, credit for
active service in the U.S. armed forces, service in the state
legislature, post−7/1/19898 leaves of absence, credit for

employment where coverage under the retirement system
could have been elected, but was not, credit for employment
for which optional coverage under the retirement system was
not available, such as substitute teaching or temporary
employment, credit for federal Peace Corps service, and
purchase of credit for employment by certain Canadian
governmental entities.  Revocations of service purchase
applications and refunds are covered by IA−ADC § 495.8.2.
Issues of service purchase and compliance with Internal
Revenue Code §415(c) and (n) limitations on defined
contributions are addressed in IA−ADC § 495−8.3.  A
requirement for four calendar quarters of wages as a
pre−requisite to make service purchases is waived for
seasonal or limited term employees by IA−ADC § 495−8.4.
The information required in order to quote a cost for a service
purchase is listed in IA−ADC § 495−8.5.  Limitations on
service credit purchases are found in IA−ADC § 495−8.5(3).
Terminated employees who take a refund and are later
reinstated as the remedy for an employment dispute may buy
back their service credit under IA−ADC § 495−9.5.  Under
IA−ADC 495−11.7(4), a member of the retirement system
who takes a refund, but violates the required severance period,
and who fails to pay back the refund within 30 days, may buy
service credit for the period covered by the refund, but only
at its actuarial cost.  Service purchases completed after the
first month of retirement benefit entitlement do not count
towards determining a pre−7/1/1990 retiree’s minimum
benefit under IA−ADC § 495−12.3(2).  The waiver of rules
concerning service purchase costs is prohibited by IA−ADC
§495−33.10.

An active member of the Iowa Peace Officer’s Retirement,
Accident and Disability System may, under IA−ADC
§661−402.300, for a one year period ending July 2, 2007,
make contributions to purchase up to the maximum amount
of permissive service credit to be counted towards eligible
qualified service. See also IA−ADC § 661−402.301(2) on
permissive service credit and adopting §415(n) of the Internal
Revenue Code as well as IA−ADC § 661−402.302 on
determining the cost to the member and providing a cost
quote.  The application process is covered in IA−ADC §
661−402.303.  An exception allowing refunds of service
credit purchase amounts in order to comply with the Internal
Revenue Code is authorized by IA−ADC § 661−402.304.
Provision for review and appeal of a rejected service purchase
application is found in IA−ADC § 661−402.305(2).  Finally,
IA−ADC § 661−402.306(1) contains a reporting requirement
intended to prevent a member from receiving credit under
more than one retirement plan for the same period of service.

Michigan.  The State Employee Retirement System does
not yet have administrative rules.

Michigan Administrative Code R. 38.112 gives the Public
School Employees’ Retirement Board authority to set the rate
of interest to be applied to repay a refund, purchase
out−of−system educational service and other creditable
service.   Eligibility criteria and application procedures for
purchasing out−of−system educational service are found in
MN−ADC R. 38.1120 and 38.1122.

Minnesota. The Minnesota Teachers Retirement
Association has no formal administrative rules.

Under MN−ADC § 7905.2560, the deferred compensation
plan of the Minnesota State Retirement System allows
amounts to be transferred to purchase service credits in an
eligible plan, in accord with §457 of the Internal Revenue
Code.
Summary of Data and Analytical Methodologies

The proposed rule is based on logical analysis of the
situations that can arise under the plan−to−plan transfers
newly permitted by WIS. STAT. § 40.285 as well as many years
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of experience in administering purchases of service credits.
The rule generally carries over the policies and practices
codified in prior administrative rules on the subject of
purchasing credit for a qualifying period or other
governmental service, except when those policies or practices
have become obsolete due to applicable changes in state or
federal law.  With respect to establishing the cost for
purchasing credit for other governmental service the
Department has weighted the practical limitations on the
information known to the Department at the time of the
purchase and specified relevant factors identified by the
actuary in order to approximate, insofar as reasonably
possible, the actuarial cost of the increased benefit resulting
from the purchase, which the employee must pay.  In regard
to prorating service, when the employee is able to purchase
credit for more than one category of employment, the rule
provides that payment will first be applied to purchase credit
for the category of employment which is of the most benefit
to the employee in calculating a formula annuity, and within
each category, pre−2000 service will be credited ahead of
post−1999 service for the same reason.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine
effect on small business or in preparation of economic
impact report

The rule cannot affect small businesses because it pertains
to the purchase of service credit under the Wisconsin
Retirement System created by WIS. STAT. § 40.20. The WRS
is a governmental pension plan open only to state agencies,
counties, cities, towns, school districts, and other
governmental units and their qualifying employees.  See WIS.
STAT. §§ 40.02 (28), 40.21 and 40.22.  No small businesses
participate in the Wisconsin Retirement System.  Indeed, any
participation by any private, non−governmental employer
would potentially jeopardize the qualified plan status of the
WRS, in violation of WIS. STAT. § 40.015 (1).

There are no costs anticipated for the private sector.

Agency Contact Person

Please direct any questions about the proposed rule to
Robert Weber, Chief Counsel, Department of Employee Trust
Funds, P.O. Box 7931, Madison WI 53707.  Telephone: (608)
266−5804. E−mail address: rob.weber@etf.state.wi.us.

Place where Comments are to be Submitted and
Deadline for Submission

Written comments on the proposed rule may be submitted
to Robert Weber, Department of Employee Trust Funds, 801
W. Badger Road, P.O. Box 7931, Madison, WI 53707−7931.
Written comments must be received at the Department of
Employee Trust Funds no later than 4:30 PM on Friday, July
13, 2007.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis:

The proposed rule has no effect on small businesses.

Fiscal Estimate

The rule has no fiscal effect upon the fiscal liabilities or
revenues of any county, city, village, town, school district,
technical college district or sewerage district, with one
possible exception.  Certain school districts and educational
institutions may incur minor additional administrative costs
to authorize the transfer of funds that are part of their § 403(b)
plans.  Although these funds, to be used for the employee’s
purchase of service credits under the Wisconsin Retirement
System, are already deposited in the Public Employee Trust
Fund, the transfer must nevertheless be authorized by the
employer operating the §403(b) plan.  See § ETF 20.17 (1) (c)
3. a. of the proposed rule.  The Department of Employee Trust

Funds does not itself operate a plan under § 403(b) of the
Internal Revenue Code, but accepts deposits from qualifying
school districts or other educational institutions that operate
such plans as additional contributions under WIS. STAT.
§ 40.05 (1) (a) 5.

Copies of Proposed Rule
Copies of the proposed rule are available without cost from

the Office of the Secretary, Department of Employee Trust
Funds, P.O. Box 7931, Madison WI 53707−7931, telephone
(608) 266−1071.

Notice of Hearings
Health and Family Services

[CR 07−060]
Notice is hereby given that pursuant to Sections 50.49 (2)

(a) and (b) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., and interpreting Section
50.49, Stats., the Wisconsin Department of Health and Family
Services proposes to renumber HFS 133.02 (1); to amend
HFS 133.02 (4) and (11), 133.03 (3) (Note), (5), and (8)
(Note), 133.03 (4) (b) 3., 133.05 (2) (b) 1., 133.06 (4) (d) 1.
and 3., 133.08 (2) (a), 133.09 (1), (3) (a) 1.  2. and 3. b. and
c., and (b), 133.13, 133.14 (2) (c) and (g), 133.15 (1), 133.16,
133.17 (1) and (3), 133.20 (title), (1), (3), and (4) and (title),
133.21 (5) (d), (e), (h) and (i); to repeal and recreate HFS
133.06 (4) (d) 2., 133.08 (2) (intro.), 133.09 (2), 133.18; and
to create HFS 133.02 (1), (1e), (1s), and (10m), 133.03 (3) (i),
133.06 (4) (d) Note, (g) and (5), 133.08 (2) (i) and (j), rules
relating to home health care agencies and affecting small
businesses.

Hearing Information
July 18, 2007 Western Regional Office

     11:00 am. to 610 Gibson St., Rm. 123
        1:00 p.m. Eau Claire, WI 54701−3687

July 19, 2007 Waukesha State Office Bldg.
     10:00 a.m. to 141 N.W. Barstow St., Rm 325
        12:00 p.m. Waukesha, WI 53188

The hearing site is fully accessible to people with
disabilities.  If you are hearing impaired, do not speak English
or have circumstances that might make communication at a
hearing difficult; you require an interpreter or a non−English
large print or taped version of the proposed rules, contact the
person at the address or telephone number given below at least
10 days before the hearing.  With less than 10 days notice, an
interpreter may not be available.

Place Where Written Comments May be Submitted
Written comments may be submitted at the public hearing

or submitted to the contact person listed below.  Comments
may also be made using the Wisconsin Administrative Rule
Website at http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.

Deadline for Comment Submission
The deadline for submitting comments to the Department

is 4:30 p.m. on July 26, 2007.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Health and
Family Services

The Department regulates home health agencies under ch.
HFS 133, s. 50.49, Stats., and 42 CFR 484 to enforce
standards for the care, treatment, health, safety, welfare and
comfort of patients by home health agencies and for the
maintenance and operation of home health agencies.  Through
this rulemaking initiative, the Department proposes to amend
ch. HFS 133 by eliminating or modifying rules that are overly
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prescriptive or inconsistent with federal certification
regulations under 42 CFR 484.  The Department proposes to
update ch. HFS 133 by doing the following:

1. Clarifying provisions under s. HFS 133.08 (2) relating
to patient rights and charges for services.

2. Requiring registered nurse (RN) supervisory visits to the
homes of patients who receive skilled nursing care to be made
every 2 weeks instead of every 2 months.  The existing
requirement relating to supervisory visits to patients who do
not receive skilled nursing care or skilled services is
unchanged.

3. Stating the criteria that the Department will use when
determining, under s. 50.49 (6) (a), Stats., whether an
applicant or home health agency licensee is fit and qualified
to hold a home health agency license.

4. Codifying, in rule, the home health agency’s
responsibilities under s. 50.065, Stats., and ch. HFS 13
relating to caregiver background checks and abuse reporting
and investigation.

5. Requiring home health agencies to provide staff training
and proper equipment to minimize the risk of infection and to
monitor for compliance.

6. Making the time to complete a discharge summary under
s. HFS 133.21 (5) (i) consistent with the time to complete a
discharge summary under s. HFS 133.09 (3) (b).  Currently s.
HFS 133.09 (3) (b) requires agencies to complete a discharge
summary within  30 days after a patient is discharged and s.
HFS 133.21 (5) (i), requires agencies to complete a discharge
summary within 15 days after a patient is discharged.

7. Increasing the time within which home health agencies
are required to obtain a physician’s signature (or under
proposed rules an advanced nurse prescriber’s signature) on
an order for treatment or drugs from 20 calendar days to 20
working days.

8. Recognizing advanced nurse prescribers’ authority
under s. 50.49 (1) (b), Stats., to admit and discharge patients,
develop and review plans of care and to order drugs or
treatment for patients.

9. Creating and updating definitions to reflect currently
used terminology.

10. Making minor, technical changes to rule provisions.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Home health agencies, both publicly and privately owned,
are regulated by the Department under ch. HFS 133 and ch.
50, Stats.  These agencies are commonly referred to as
state−only licensed home health agencies.  If a home health
agency participates as a provider in the Medicaid and
Medicare programs, the home health agency is also regulated
by the Department under 42 CFR 484 and commonly referred
to as a state licensed and federally certified home health
agency.   Of the 172 licensed home health agencies operating
in Wisconsin as of April 2007, approximately 162 agencies
are state licensed and federally certified and 10 hold
state−only licensure.   At least 75% of all licensed agencies
may be considered small businesses with estimated average
gross annual revenues of $1.8 million per agency.

Home health agencies primarily provide services and care
to patients in the homes of their patients.  These services
include skilled nursing services, therapy services, medical
social services and home health aide services.  Through this
rulemaking, the Department proposes to amend ch. HFS 133
to repeal or revise provisions that may be overly prescriptive,
and inconsistent with federal regulations governing home
health agencies.  Home health care providers, particularly

those who are both state licensed and federally certified have
expressed concern about the ambiguity between the state and
federal regulations.  The Department anticipates that revising
the rules as specified in the “Plain Language Analysis”
section of this rulemaking order will make the rules more
consistent with federal regulations.

Most of the proposed changes are non−substantive and
technical in nature.  The proposed rules, however, makes two
substantive revisions that may affect costs of home health
agencies.

The first such revision requires agencies to provide staff
training and proper supplies to minimize the risk of infection
and monitor for compliance.  This requirement is expected to
affect a minimal number of agencies because most agencies
already meet this standard.  Any agency that does not have a
training program may establish one using the Centers for
Disease Control guidelines that are downloadable from the
Internet or accessed through the mails.  Costs for sundry
supplies (e.g., gloves, masks, etc.) are also expected to be
minimal as it is likely that most agencies also already have
such supplies.

The second substantive revision would require agencies to
decrease the intervals within which a registered nurse (RN)
makes supervisory visits to patients who receive skilled care
from every 2 months to every 2 weeks. This proposed
requirement is consistent with the provisions under 45 CFR
484.36 (d) (2), the RN supervisory requirements under which
federally certified agencies operate, and would only affect the
10 state−only licensed agencies (and any newly licensed
agency that chooses state−only licensure).  Requiring all
agencies to conduct RN supervisory visits under the same
standards is expected to create continuity and consistency
among state−only licensed, and state and federally licensed
agencies.  In addition, the increased visits will help to ensure
the health, safety, and welfare of patients who increasingly
need skilled care for conditions such as open wounds or skin
lesions, chronic pain, cognitive or behavioral disabilities, or
terminal care.

The costs that the proposed increase in RN supervisory
visits would have on state−only licensed facilities are difficult
to estimate because of the multiple variables that would need
to be considered.  These variables include the number of
patients in an agency receiving skilled care; the span of time
over which each patient receives skilled care; the actual
number of visits per patient conducted previous to the
proposed rules; the number of visits that would need to
increase over those currently being conducted; and the actual
schedule each agency uses to conduct the visits.
Consequently, the costs for this requirement will continually
fluctuate due to these variables. Therefore, we can assume
that an agency may see no change in costs or that at any given
time an agency may see an increase or decrease in costs.

Because detailed data for the state−only licensed agencies
is not yet available, the Department used the 2005 annual
survey data for the four state−only licensed agencies that
responded to the survey and would have been impacted by
proposed increase in RN supervisory visits.  Using this data,
the Department was able to estimate costs on a per patient
basis.  Assuming a rate of $26.46 per RN supervisory visit,
and accounting for variables previously noted, the
Department estimates the proposed increase in RN visits
would be $91 per skilled nursing patient for a total of $5,849
per year (or $1,462 per year, per agency) for the four sample
agencies.  It is likely that any increased costs relating to this
requirement would be passed from the agency to the patient
or private insurance for subsequent reimbursement.

The 10 state−only agencies affected by the increase in the
RN supervisory visits would represent only about 5.8% of all
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agencies licensed in Wisconsin and if we accept that the
estimated $1,462 cost increase for the 2005 state−only sample
agencies would be representative of the cost increases for the
10 state−only agencies, such increase would be 0.001 percent
of the average, annual gross revenue of $1.8 million for home
health agencies.

Despite the possible fluctuations in costs, the Department
believes that the proposed requirement would not increase
annual costs above the 2006 CPI rate of 3.2% or decrease
revenues more than that rate. Consequently, the proposed RN
supervisory requirement would not have a significant
economic impact on home health agencies.

Overall, the proposed revisions are expected to lower costs
for home health agencies in Wisconsin.

Small Business Regulatory Coordinator

Rosie Greer
Greerri@dhfs.state.wi.us

(608) 266−1279

Fiscal Estimate
Home health agencies (HHAs) provide services and care to

patients in their homes.  Services include skilled nursing care,
home health aide services, therapies, personal care and other
supportive services.  At a minimum, HHAs are licensed by the
State of Wisconsin, Department of Health and Family
Services, under ch. HFS 133 and s. 50.49, Stats.  These
agencies are referred to as state−only licensed HHA
providers.  In addition, many HHAs participate as providers
in the Medicare and Medicaid programs.  Therefore, they
must operate under federal regulations 42 CFR 484 governing
the operations of HHAs.  These providers are known as
federally certified HHA providers.  As of April 2007, there are
172 licensed HHAs in Wisconsin.  This total includes both
in−state and out−of−state providers who operate in
Wisconsin.

The Department proposes to amend ch. HFS 133 to repeal
or revise provisions that may be overly prescriptive, and
inconsistent with the federal regulations governing HHAs.
Most of the proposed rule changes are non−substantive and
technical in nature. The proposed rule, however, makes two
substantive revisions that may affect the costs of HHAs:

Minimize Risk of Infection
The first substantive revision requires agencies to provide

staff training and proper supplies to minimize the risk of
infection and to monitor for compliance.  This requirement is
expected to result in minimal costs to agencies because most
of the 172 HHAs operating in Wisconsin already provide staff
training and monitoring to meet current standards of practice
and Centers for Disease Control (CDC) guidelines.  Any
agency that does not meet this standard is able to access
information from CDC’s web site to train their staff and start
their monitoring program.  Additional costs for sundry
supplies (e.g., gloves, masks, etc.) is expected to be minimal.

Two Week RN Supervisory Visits
The second substantive revision to ch. HFS 133 would

require state only licensed HHAs to decrease the minimum
interval for a registered nurse (RN) to make a supervisory visit
to a patient who receives skilled nursing care from once every
two months (i.e. every eight weeks) to once every two weeks.
This time period is consistent with the requirements of 42
CFR 484.36 (d) (2) and will help to ensure the health, safety,
and welfare of patients who need skilled nursing care.

State Fiscal Effect

Most HHAs in Wisconsin are both state−licensed and
federally certified.  Those with the latter designation already
operate under the two week interval for a RN supervisory visit
as a condition of being a provider for the Medicaid and or
Medicare programs.  For federally certified HHAs, there
would be no increased costs to these providers or the Medicaid
or Medicare programs resulting from this proposed revision
to ch. HFS 133.

Local Government Fiscal Effect

All of the HHAs operated by local government are
state−certified and federally licensed and are presumed to
follow the two week interval proscribed in 42 CFR 484.36 (d)
(2).  There would be no increased costs to HHAs operated by
local governments.

Effect on the Private Sector (small businesses only)

Of the 172 HHAs currently operating in Wisconsin, the
majority may be considered small businesses as that term is
defined in s. 227.114 Stats.  All would be affected by the
proposed rules.  The Department has determined, however,
that the provisions relating to the RN supervisory visits will
affect only about 10 state−only licensed HHAs.  Costs for
these HHAs would fluctuate depending on a number of
variables which could result in no change in costs or, at any
given time, costs may increase or decrease.   Because detailed
data for the state−only licensed agencies is not yet available,
the Department used the 2005 annual survey data for the four
state−only licensed agencies that responded to the survey and
would have been impacted by proposed increase in RN
supervisory visits.  Using this data, the Department was able
to estimate costs on a per patient basis.  Assuming a rate of
$26.46 per RN supervisory visit, and accounting for variables
previously noted, the Department estimates the proposed
increase in RN visits would be $91 per skilled nursing patient
for a total of $5,849 per year (or $1,462 per year, per agency)
for the four sample agencies.  It is likely that any increased
costs relating to this requirement would be passed from the
agency to the patient or private insurance for subsequent
reimbursement.

 The 10 state−only agencies affected by the increase in the
RN supervisory visits would represent only about 5.8% of all
agencies licensed in Wisconsin and if we accept that the
estimated $1,462 cost increase for the 2005 state−only sample
agencies would be representative of the cost increases for the
10 state−only agencies, such increase would be 0.001 percent
of the average, annual gross revenue of $1.8 million for home
health agencies.

Despite the possible fluctuations in costs, the Department
believes that the proposed requirement would not increase
annual costs above the 2006 CPI rate of 3.2% or decrease
revenues more than that rate. Consequently, the proposed RN
supervisory requirement would not have a significant
economic impact on home health agencies.

Overall, the proposed revisions are expected to lower costs
for home health agencies in Wisconsin.

Obtaining Copies of Rules and Fiscal Estimate

A copy of the full text of the rules and the fiscal estimate
can be obtained at no charge from the Wisconsin
Administrative Rules Website at http://adminrules.
wisconsin.gov or by contacting the person listed below.
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Contact Person

Pat Benesh
Department of Health and Family Services

Division of Quality Assurance
1 West Wilson St., Rm. 1150
Madison, WI 53701−7185

Phone (608) 264−9896
Fax (608) 267−0352

e−mail Benespa@dhfs.state.wi.us

Notice of Hearing
Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional

Counseling and Social Work 
Examining Board

[CR 07−048]

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to authority vested in
the Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional Counseling
and Social Work Examining Board in ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11
(2) and 457.03, Stats., and interpreting s. 457.13, Stats., the
Professional Counselor Section of the Marriage and Family
Therapy, Professional Counseling and Social Work
Examining Board will hold a public hearing at the time and
place indicated below to consider an order to repeal MPSW
10.01 (2) and (3); and to repeal and recreate MPSW 11.015,
relating to training licenses for professional counselors.

Hearing Date, Time and Location

July 31, 2007
1:15 p.m.

1400 East Washington Ave.
(Enter at 55 N. Dickinson St.)

Room 121A
Madison, WI

Appearances at the Hearing

Interested persons are invited to present information at the
hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Legal Counsel, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708.  Written comments must be received by August 1,
2007, to be included in the record of rule−making
proceedings.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing.

Statutes interpreted:  s. 457.13, Stats.

Statutory authority:  ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and
 457.03, Stats.

Explanation of Agency Authority

Section 457.13, Stats., was recently amended by 2005
Wisconsin Act 422.  This section previously required a 24
month training certificate, which was non−renewable and
also required that the certificate holder be employed full−time
or have an offer of full−time employment.  The new law
changed the requirement for a training certificate to a training
license and increased the duration of the license to 48 months,
with the possibility for an extension.  It also eliminated the
requirement for employment and instead requires that an
individual have a position on or an offer for a position as a
professional counselor.

Related Statute or Rule
There are no other related statutes or rules other than those

identified above.

Plain language analysis
Training certificates are required in order to obtain 3000

hours of supervised professional counseling practice before
being eligible to receive a professional counselor license.
Section MPSW 11.015 sets forth the current requirements for
obtaining a training certificate, including a provision that an
applicant have an offer of full−time employment.  The present
certificates are issued for 24 months and are non−renewable.
With the enactment of 2005 Wisconsin Act 422, the term
“training certificate” is changed to “training license.”
Additionally, the employment requirement has been
eliminated and the amount of time for the credential
expanded.  Under the proposed new rule, training licenses will
be issued for 48 months, with the possibility for an extension.
Supervised hours may also be accumulated in an unpaid
position.

SECTION 1 repeals the definitions of “employed
full−time” and “offer of full−time employment.”

SECTION 2 requires applicants to submit a signed
application and to pay the required fee.  Applicants must also
submit evidence that they have a position or an offer for a
position in a supervised clinical professional counseling
practice or its approved equivalent.  In addition, the training
license is valid for 48 months and may be renewed at the
discretion of the professional counselor section.

Summary of, and Comparison with, Existing or
Proposed Federal Regulation

There is no existing or pending federal regulation relating
to training licenses for professional counselors.

Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States
Illinois:
Illinois does not appear to require a training certificate;

rather, the applicant must have received counseling
experience under a licensed professional counselor prior to
licensure.

Michigan:
Michigan does not offer a training license; rather, appears

to offer limited professional counselor licenses under the
supervision of a full licensed professional counselor to get the
requisite practice experience.

Minnesota:
Minnesota does not appear to offer a training certificate for

professional counseling; rather, as per their statutes, 148B.53
Requirements for licensure, licensed professional counselors
must get supervision affidavits after receiving their full
licensure.

Iowa:
Iowa does not offer a training certificate/level license for

professional counseling.

Summary of Factual Data and Analytical
Methodologies

The primary methodology for the development of the
proposed changes is based upon the requirements set forth in
2005 Wisconsin Act 422.  Previously, licensing law
governing the professional counselor training certificate
required a full−time position to obtain, the certificate lasted a
maximum of 24 months, and was non−renewable.  2005
Wisconsin Act 422 changed the training certificate to a
training license, removed the requirement for full−time
employment and increased the maximum duration of the
license to 48 months with the possibility for an extension.
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Analysis and Supporting Documents used to Determine
Effect on Small Business or in Preparation of Economic
Impact Report:

The proposed rules do not increase restrictions or barriers
to licensure, affect practice within clinics, or have any
provisions related to costs (no additional fees, educational or
operational costs are imposed.)  The rules primarily
eliminates several provisions within the licensing law which
applicants and training certificate holders found to be unduly
burdensome or difficult to comply with.  This proposed rule
change should have no negative effect on small business, and
in effect may have a positive effect by increasing the
availability of qualified training license holders available for
employment.

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.

Anticipated Costs Incurred by Private Sector

The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal
effect on the private sector.

Fiscal Estimate

The department estimates that the proposed rule will have
no significant fiscal impact.

Effect on Small Business

These proposed rules will have no significant economic
impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.
The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or by
calling (608) 266−8608.

Agency Contact Person

Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and
Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708−8935.  Telephone: (608) 266−0495.  Email:
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.

Place where Comments are to be Submitted and
Deadline for Submission

Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack, Paralegal,
Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708−8935, or by email at
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Comments must be received
on or before August 1, 2007 to be included in the record of
rule−making proceedings.

Text of Rule

SECTION 1.  MPSW 10.01 (2) and (3) are repealed.

SECTION 2.  MPSW 11.015 is repealed and recreated to
read:

MPSW 11.015 Application for a professional counselor
training license. (1)  The professional counselor section shall
grant a professional counselor training license to any
individual who does all of the following:

(a)  Submits a completed, signed application form.

(b)  Pays the fee specified in s. 440.05 (6), Stats.

(c)  Satisfies the requirements in s. 457.12 (2), Stats.

(d)  Submits evidence satisfactory to the professional
counselor section of one of the following:

1.  The applicant is in a position or has an offer for a position
as a professional counselor in a supervised clinical
professional counseling practice.

2.  The applicant is in a position or has an offer for a position
in which the applicant will, in the opinion of the professional
counselor section, receive training and supervision equivalent
to the training and supervision received in a supervised
clinical professional counseling practice.

(2)  A professional counselor training license is valid for 48
months and may be renewed at the discretion of the
professional counselor section.

Notice of Hearing
Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional

Counseling and Social Work 
Examining Board

[CR 07−047]
Notice is hereby given that pursuant to authority vested in

the Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional Counseling
and Social Work Examining Board in ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11
(2), 440.035 (1) and 457.11, Stats., and interpreting s. 457.11
(1) and (2), Stats., the Marriage and Family Therapist Section
of the Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional Counseling
and Social Work Examining Board will hold a public hearing
at the time and place indicated below to consider an order to
renumber and amend MPSW 17.03 (1) (d); to amend MPSW
17.03 (title), (1) (intro.) and (2); to repeal and recreate MPSW
17.03 (1) (c); and to create MPSW 17.03 (1) (d) 1. and 2.,
relating to training licenses for marriage and family
therapists.

Hearing Date, Time and Location
July 30, 2007
9:15 a.m.

1400 East Washington Avenue
(Enter at 55 N. Dickinson St.)

Room 121A
Madison, WI

Appearances at the Hearing
Interested persons are invited to present information at the

hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Legal Counsel, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708.  Written comments must be received by August 1,
2007, to be included in the record of rule−making
proceedings.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing.

Statutes interpreted:  s. 457.11 (1), (2), Stats.
Statutory authority:  ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 440.035

    (1) and 457.11, Stats.

Explanation of agency authority:
The Marriage and Family Therapist Section has the

authority under s. 457.11, Stats., to grant training licenses.

Related Statute or Rule
There are no other rules or statutes than listed above.

Plain Language Analysis
Training certificates are required in order to obtain 3,000

hours of supervised marriage and family practice before being
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eligible to receive a marriage and family therapist license.
Section MPSW 17.03 sets forth the current requirements for
obtaining a training certificate, including a provision that an
applicant have an offer of full−time employment.  The present
certificates are issued for 24 months and are non−renewable.
With the enactment of 2005 Wisconsin Act 422, the term
“training certificate” is changed to “training license.”
Additionally, the employment requirement has been
eliminated and the amount of time for the credential
expanded.  Under the proposed new rule, a training license
would allow applicants to complete their supervised training
hours within 48 months, with the possibility for an extension,
and would also permit them to complete those hours in an
unpaid position.  The new rule would also allow applicants
who have a master’s degree in a related field and who are
enrolled in a COAMFTE accredited or a marriage and family
therapist section approved master’s or post−degree marriage
and family therapy program, for example, to also be eligible
for a training license.

SECTION 1 amends the title and introduction to reflect the
change from a training license to a training certificate.

SECTION 2 identifies the information that must be
submitted with the training license application.  Applicants
must either submit evidence that they have completed an
appropriate master’s or doctoral degree, or are or will be
enrolled in an approved post−graduate training program.

SECTION 3 eliminates the requirement of either having to
be employed or having an offer of employment in order to
obtain a training certificate, both of which were stricken under
the new legislation.

SECTION 4 creates two provisions that permit marriage
and family therapist training license holders to submit
evidence that they have positions in which they may acquire
their supervised hours of training, rather than having to be
employed in a position, which was previously required.

SECTION 5 extends the validity of the training license
from 24 to 48 months, with the possibility for a renewal.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulation:

There is no existing or pending federal regulation relating
to training licenses for marriage and family therapists.

Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States

Illinois:

Illinois requires an associate marriage and family therapy
license to accumulate hours for licensure as a licensed
marriage and family therapist.

Michigan:

Michigan does not offer a training license, rather appears
to offer limited marriage and family therapist licenses under
the supervision of a full licensed marriage and family
therapist to get the requisite practice experience.

Minnesota:

5300.0175 LICENSURE PROCESS FOR LICENSED
ASSOCIATE MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPISTS.

Licensed associate marriage and family therapists must
practice under the supervision of a board qualified supervisor
as specified in parts 5300.0160 and 5300.0170.  Licensed
associate marriage and family therapists must observe the
same laws and rules that govern the practice of licensed
marriage and family therapists.  Licensed associate marriage
and family therapist status shall be granted for one year upon
completion of the board’s application form and payment of
the required fee.  Licensed associate marriage and family

therapist status may be renewed on a yearly basis for up to four
additional years.

Iowa:
Iowa does not offer a training certificate/level license for

marriage and family therapists.

Summary of Factual Data and Analytical
Methodologies

The primary methodology for the development of the
proposed changes is based upon the requirements set forth in
2005 Wisconsin Act 22.  Previously, licensing law governing
the marriage and family therapist training certificate required
a full−time position to obtain, the certificate lasted a
maximum of 24 months, and was non−renewable.  2005
Wisconsin Act 22 changed the training certificate to a training
license, removed the requirement for full−time employment,
and increased the maximum duration of the license to 48
months with the possibility for an extension.

The methodology for determination to expand which
educational programs qualify for the training license to
include those programs accredited by the Commission on
Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education
(COAMFTE) or master’s or post−degree marriage and family
therapy programs approved by the Marriage and Family
Therapist Section, was primarily determined through the
deliberative process, judgment and decision of the Marriage
and Family Therapist Section.

Analysis and Supporting Documents used to Determine
Effect on Small Business or in Preparation of Economic
Impact Report

The proposed rules do not increase restrictions or barriers
to licensure, affect practice within clinics or have any
provisions related to costs (no additional fees, educational or
operational costs are imposed).  The rules primarily eliminate
several provisions within the licensing law which applicants
and training certificate holders found to be unduly
burdensome or difficult to comply with.  This proposed rule
change should have no negative effect on small business, and
in effect may have a positive effect by increasing the
availability of qualified training license holders available for
employment.

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.

Anticipated Costs Incurred by Private Sector

The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal
effect on the private sector.

Fiscal Estimate
The department finds that the proposed rule will have no

significant fiscal impact.

Effect on Small Business
These proposed rules will have no significant economic

impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.
The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or by
calling (608) 266−8608.

Agency Contact Person
Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and

Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708−8935.  Telephone: (608) 266−0495.  Email:
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.
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Place Where Comments are to be Submitted and
Deadline for Submission

Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack, Paralegal,
Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708−8935, or by email at
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Comments must be received
on or before August 1, 2007 to be included in the record of
rule−making proceedings.

Text of Rule

SECTION 1.  MPSW 17.03 (title) and (1) (intro.) are
amended to read:

MPSW 17.03 (title) Training certificate Application for
a marriage and family therapist training license. (1)
(intro.)  The marriage and family therapist section shall grant
a marriage and family therapist training certificate license to
any individual who does all of the following:

SECTION 2.  MPSW 17.03 (1) (c) is repealed and
recreated to read:

MPSW 17.03 (1) (c)  Submits evidence satisfactory to the
marriage and family therapist section that he or she has done
one of the following:

1.  Satisfies the requirements in s. 457.10 (2), Stats.

2.  Is enrolled or will be enrolled in an institute for marriage
and family therapy that is approved by the commission on
accreditation for marriage and family therapy education of the
American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy or
by the marriage and family therapist section.

3.  Holds a graduate degree in a mental health field
approved by the marriage and family therapist section and is
enrolled or will be enrolled in a master’s or doctoral degree
program in marriage and family therapy accredited by the
commission on accreditation for marriage and family therapy
education or approved  by the marriage and family therapist
section.

SECTION 3.  MPSW 17.03 (1) (d) is renumbered MPSW
17.03 (1) (d) (intro.) and is amended to read:

MPSW 17.03 (1) (d) (intro.)  Submits evidence satisfactory
to the marriage and family therapist section that he or she is
employed full−time, or has an offer of full−time employment,
as a marriage and family therapist in a supervised marriage
and family therapist practice or in a position in which the
applicant will, in the opinion of the marriage and family
therapist section, received training and supervision
equivalent to the training and supervision received in a
full−time supervised marriage and family therapist practice.
of one of the following:

SECTION 4.  MPSW 17.03 (1) (d) 1. and 2. are created to
read:

MPSW 17.03 (1) (d) 1.  The applicant is in a position or has
an offer for a position as a marriage and family therapist in a
supervised marriage and family therapist practice.

2.  The applicant is in a position or has an offer for a position
in which the applicant will, in the opinion of the marriage and
family therapist section, receive training and supervision
equivalent to the training and supervision received in a
supervised marriage and family therapist practice.

SECTION 5.  MPSW 17.03 (2) is amended to read:

MPSW 17.03 (2)  A marriage and family therapist training
certificate license is valid for 24 48 months or until the date
on which the holder of the certificate ceases to be employed
in a position specified in sub. (1) (d), whichever occurs first,
and may not be renewed by at the discretion of the marriage

and family therapist section.  A marriage and family therapist
training certificate authorizes the holder to use any title
specified in s. 457.04 (5), Stats., and to practice marriage and
family therapy within the scope of his or her training or
supervision during the period in which the certificate is valid.

Notice of Hearing
Natural Resources

(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1−)
[CR 07−056]

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to ss. 29.03 and
29.972, Stats., interpreting ss. 29.03 and 29.972, Stats., the
Department of Natural Resources will hold a public hearing
on the creation of NR 8, subch. II, Wis. Adm. Code, relating
to implementation of the Wildlife Violators Compact.  2005
Wisconsin Act 282 authorized the Department to enter into a
Wildlife Violator Compact with other states.  Under the
compact, convictions of wildlife law and revocation of license
privileges and approvals that authorize the pursuing, taking or
possession of wildlife that occur in any member state are
treated as if they occurred in all member states.  Before the
Department can formally become a member state, rules need
to be promulgated which establish procedures to:

1.  Assure all violators receive notification when their
license privileges and approvals have been revoked by this
state or any other member state.

2.  Assure the exchange of information between the
department, the district attorney and the clerk of courts.

3.  Provide an administrative appeal process by which the
department can establish if sufficient grounds exist to deny a
person’s application for an approval or the revocation of their
existing approvals.

The proposed rules require the department to revoke all
issued hunting, fishing or trapping license privileges and
approvals or deny new applications for approvals, for any
person who fails to respond to a summons or warrant, fails to
appear on their court date without having made a deposit, or
fails to appear before the court and is subject to a bench
warrant.  These rules are also required to ensure that due
process is accorded to individuals subject to revocation in this
state or who are revoked in another member state.  These rules
are also necessary to assure records and information on
revocations is shared with the clerks of court in the counties
where the violation occurs.

Once the new rules and procedures are in place, the
department will apply to become a member state.
Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Notice is hereby further given that pursuant to s. 227.114,
Stats., it is not anticipated that the proposed rule will have an
economic impact on small businesses. The Department’s
Small Business Regulatory Coordinator may be contacted at
SmallBusiness@dnr.state.wi.us or by calling (608)
266−1959.
Environmental Analysis

Notice is hereby further given that the Department has
made a preliminary determination that this action does not
involve significant adverse environmental effects and does
not need an environmental analysis under ch. NR 150, Wis.
Adm. Code.  However, based on the comments received, the
Department may prepare an environmental analysis before
proceeding with the proposal.  This environmental review
document would summarize the Department’s consideration
of the impacts of the proposal and reasonable alternatives.
Hearing Information

Notice is hereby further given that the hearing will be held
on:
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July 26, 2007
Thursday

at 2:00 p.m.
Room 405, GEF #2

101 S. Webster Street
Madison, WI

Notice is hereby further given that pursuant to the
Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of informational
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request.  Please
call Thomas Van Haren at (608) 266−3244 with specific
information on your request at least 10 days before the date of
the scheduled hearing.

The proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be reviewed and
comments electronically submitted at the following Internet
site:  http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  Written comments on
the proposed rule may be submitted via U.S. mail to Mr.
Thomas Van Haren, Bureau of Law Enforcement, P.O. Box
7921, Madison, WI 53707.  Comments may be submitted
until July 27, 2007.  Written comments whether submitted
electronically or by U.S. mail will have the same weight and
effect as oral statements presented at the public hearings.  A
personal copy of the proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be
obtained from Mr. Van Haren.

Notice of Hearings
Natural Resources

(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1−)
[CR 07−055]

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to ss. 29.014, 29.041,
29.197, 29.885 and 227.11(2)(a), Stats., interpreting ss.
29.014, 29.041 and 29.885, Stats., the Department of Natural
Resources will hold public hearings on revisions to ch. NR 10,
Wis. Adm. Code, relating to the 2007 migratory game bird
seasons.  Season dates and bag limits will be set for ducks and
Canada geese.  The daily bag limit is expected to be 6 ducks,
including no more than 4 mallards, of which only one may be
a hen, one black duck, one pintail, 2 wood ducks, 2 redheads
and 3 scaup.  The season lengths for Canada geese are
expected to be:  Collins Zone – 62 days; Horicon Zone – 62
days; Exterior Zone – 85 days; and Mississippi River Subzone
– 70 days.

The Department is also proposing to:

 Require the use of non−toxic shot for rail, snipe and
moorhen statewide.

 Require the use of non−toxic shot for mourning doves on
department−managed lands only beginning in 2008.

 Allow the placement of decoys and shooting at birds that
are within a 75−yard area around the boundary of the Horizon
National Wildlife Refuge as long as the hunter is more than 75
yards from the boundary.

 Relax Canada goose nuisance control requirements for
airports.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Notice is hereby further given that pursuant to s. 227.114,
Stats., is it not anticipated that the proposed rule will have an
economic impact on small businesses.  The Department’s
Small Business Regulatory Coordinator may be contacted at
SmallBusiness@dnr.state.wi.us or by calling (608)
266−1959.

Environmental Analysis
Notice is hereby further given that the Department has

made a preliminary determination that this action does not
involve significant adverse environmental effects and does
not need an environmental analysis under ch. NR 150, Wis.
Adm. Code.  However, based on the comments received, the
Department may prepare an environmental analysis before
proceeding with the proposal.  This environmental review
document would summarize the Department’s consideration
of the impacts of the proposal and reasonable alternatives.

Fiscal Impact
The proposed changes will not result in any significant

changes in spending or revenue. There are no government
costs anticipated due to the provisions of this rule.

Hearing Information
Notice is hereby further given that the hearings will be held

on:
August 6, 2007 Rooms B−19 and B−20

    Monday State Office Bldg.
    at 7:00 p.m. 3550 Mormon Coulee Road

La Crosse

August 7, 2007 Room R228
    Tuesday Meggers Hall
    at 7:00 p.m. UW−Barron County

1800 College Drive
Rice Lake

August 8, 2007 Main Conference Room
    Wednesday Agricultural  Services Center
     at 7:00 p.m. 3369 W. Brewster St.

Appleton

August 9, 2007 Main Conference Room
    Thursday State Office Bldg.
    at 7:00 p.m. 141 N.W. Barstow Street

Waukesha
Notice is hereby further given that pursuant to the

Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of informational
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request.  Please
call Ms. Kim Benton at (608) 261−6458 with specific
information on your request at least 10 days before the date of
the scheduled hearing.

Written Comments
The proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be reviewed and

comments electronically submitted at the following Internet
site:  http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  Written comments on
the proposed rule may be submitted via U.S. mail to Ms. Kim
Benton, Bureau of Wildlife Management, P.O. Box 7921,
Madison, WI 53707.  Comments may be submitted until
August 9, 2007.  Written comments whether submitted
electronically or by U.S. mail will have the same weight and
effect as oral statements presented at the public hearings.  A
personal copy of the proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be
obtained from Ms. Benton.

Notice of Hearing
Natural Resources

(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1−)
Notice is hereby given that pursuant to ss. 23.09 (2) (intro.),

23.091, 23.11 (1), 23.22 (2) (a) and (b) 6., 27.01 (2) (j),
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29.041, 227.11 (2) (a) and 227.24 (1) (a), Stats., interpreting
ss. 23.09 (2) (intro.), 23.22 (2) (a), 29.014 (1), 29.041 and
227.11 (2) (a), Stats., the Department of Natural Resources
will hold public hearings on Natural Resources Board
Emergency Order No. FH−28−07(E) which revises chs. NR
19 and 20, Wis. Adm. Code, pertaining to control of fish
diseases and invasive species.  This emergency order was
published on May 27, 2007 and revised Natural Resources
Board Emergency Order FH−22−07(E) which took effect on
April 7, 2007 and Natural Resources Board Emergency Order
No. FH−25−07(E).  This rule will aid the Department in
controlling the spread of viral hemorrhagic septicemia virus
(VHS) in the following ways:  Natural Resources Board
Emergency Order FH−28−07(E) extends the restrictions on
the movement and use of fish, fish parts and water taken from
the Great Lakes and Mississippi River drainages to the Lake
Winnebago system and the Fox River from Lake Winnebago
to Green Bay and allows extensions to other waters in the
event that the VHS virus is discovered in those waters.

Hearing Information

Notice is hereby further given that the hearing will be held
on:

July 11, 2007 Room 413
    Wednesday  GEF #2, 101 South Webster Street
     at 10:00 a.m. Madison

Notice is hereby further given that pursuant to the
Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of informational
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request.  Please
call Bill Horns at (608) 266−8782 with specific information
on your request at least 10 days before the date of the
scheduled hearing.

Fiscal Impact

The fiscal impact that this rule package will have on state
and local government−namely the increased costs associated
with addressing or containing the VHS problem−is difficult to
estimate given the short amount of time that has elapsed since
the discovery of the virus. Consequently, the Department is
characterizing the state and local fiscal impact as
“indeterminate” until more detailed cost information
becomes available.

Written Comments

The emergency rule and fiscal estimate may be reviewed
and comments electronically submitted at the following
Internet site:  http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  Written
comments on the proposed rule may be submitted via U.S.
mail to Mr. Bill Horns, Bureau of Fisheries Management and
Habitat Protection, P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707.
Comments may be submitted until July 13, 2007.  Written
comments whether submitted electronically or by U.S. mail
will have the same weight and effect as oral statements
presented at the public hearing.  A personal copy of the
emergency rule and fiscal estimate may be obtained from Mr.
Horns.

Notice of Hearings
Natural Resources

(Environmental Protection − General, 
Chs. NR 100—)

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to ss. 59.692,
227.11(2)(a) and 281.31, Stats., interpreting ss. 59.69,

59.692, 59.694 and 281.31, Stats., the Department of Natural
Resources will hold public hearings on revisions to ch. NR
115, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to minimum standards for
county shoreland zoning ordinances.  Major provisions of the
proposed rule include changes to vegetation management in
the primary shoreland buffer and changes to regulation of
nonconforming structures.  New requirements include
minimum lot size and density requirements for multi−unit
residential development, mobile home parks and
campgrounds; two formulas to calculate reduced shoreland
setbacks; an impervious surface standard; and mitigation
standards.  The proposals include:

Land Division Review – NR 115.09

1.  The requirement for land division review is changed
from the creation of “3 or more lots” to the creation of “one
or more lots” to ensure that all new lots created meet minimum
lot size requirements.

2.  If new lots are created that are divided by a stream or
river, one side of the lot shall have a compliant building
location.

Lot Size and Development Density – NR 115.11
1.  Minimum lot size and density standards have changed

eliminating a distinction between sewered and unsewered
areas.  The new minimum lot size for all lots created after the
effective date of the rule is 20,000 square feet and 100 feet of
width at the building setback and ordinary high water mark.
Counties may allow development on a substandard lot.

2.  Counties are required to develop minimum area or lot
size requirements for multi−family residential structures,
mobile home parks and campgrounds.

3.  Counties may request the approval of standards for
alternative forms of development with reduced lot sizes for
planned unit developments, cluster developments,
conservation subdivisions and other similar alternative forms
of development if they include larger shoreland buffers, larger
lot sizes or larger setbacks on those lots adjacent to the water.

Shoreland Setback – NR 115.13

1.  Language is added to address structures exempted by
other state or federal laws from the shoreland setback
standards.

2.  Provisions are added to allow counties to exempt
structures from the shoreland setback if they meet certain
requirements outlined in s. NR 115.13(4).

3.  The construction of new dry boathouses is still
exempted; however, a size limit of 250 square feet has been
added to the rule.

4.  Standards are established to qualify a lot for a reduced
setback if there is not a compliant building location.

Height Requirements – NR 115.15

1.  A new section on structure height was added to protect
and preserve the natural scenic beauty of lake and riverine
environments.

Shoreland Vegetation and Buffers – NR 115.17

1.  Language governing management of shoreland
vegetation in the primary shoreland buffer is improved,
resulting in a more functional buffer protecting habitat and
water quality.

2.  Tree and shrubbery pruning is allowed.  Removal of
trees and shrubs may be allowed if they are exotic or invasive
species, diseased or damaged, or if an imminent safety hazard,
but removed trees and shrubbery must be replaced.

3.  Provisions are added to allow counties to exempt 7 types
of activities from the shoreland vegetation provisions.
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4.  A formula for the width of access corridors is provided,
replacing the “30 feet in any 100 feet” provision, which was
confusing if a lot had less than 100 feet of frontage.  A second
formula for lots with greater than 200 feet of frontage was also
added to address larger developments adjacent to the water.

Impervious Surfaces – NR 115.19

1.  Development is regulated through the use of percentages
of total impervious surface rather than through the use of a
nonconforming structure provision.  The impervious surface
percentages of 10% for new principal structures or 15% for
existing development may be exceeded up to a maximum of
20% total impervious surface within 300 feet of the ordinary
high water mark if mitigation measures are implemented and
maintained.

2.  Provisions are also included for shared impervious
surfaces, expansion, enclosing existing impervious surfaces,
replacements and relocation.

Mitigation Provisions – NR 115.21

1.  Provisions are now a performance measure to protect,
preserve and enhance water quality and wildlife habitat while
achieving natural scenic beauty.

2.  There is a water quality standard and a wildlife standard
that the counties will have to flesh out in their individual
ordinances.  The water quality standard will require
infiltration of runoff.

3.  A provision on proportionality has been added to ensure the
mitigation measures required will not outweigh the impacts of
the proposed project.

Land Disturbing Construction Activities – NR 115.23

1.  A county permit is required for land disturbing
construction activities in the shoreland zone to minimize
erosion and sedimentation.

2.  Counties shall exempt from the permit requirement
activities that have already received permits from other
identified permitting authorities.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Notice is hereby further given that pursuant to s. 227.114,
Stats., it is not anticipated that the proposed rule will have an
economic impact on small businesses.

Environmental Analysis

Notice is hereby further given that the Department has made
a preliminary determination that this action does not involve
significant adverse environmental effects and does not need
an environmental analysis under ch. NR 150, Wis. Adm.
Code.  However, based on the comments received, the
Department may prepare an environmental analysis before
proceeding with the proposal.  This environmental review
document would summarize the Department’s consideration
of the impacts of the proposal and reasonable alternatives.

Hearing Information

Notice is hereby further given that the Department will
hold an open house from 4:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. prior to each
hearing.  Department staff will be available to answer
questions regarding the proposed rules.

Notice is hereby further given that the hearings will be held
on:

July 24, 2007 Auditorium
    Tuesday Health & Science Bldg.
    at 5:45 p.m. North Central Tech College

1000 W. Campus Dr.
Wausau

July 25, 2007 Auditorium
    Wednesday Rhinelander High School
     at 5:45 p.m. 665 Coolidge Avenue

Rhinelander
July 26, 2007 Blue Hills Masonic Center

   Thursday 225 West South Street
    at 5:45 p.m. Rice Lake

July 31, 2007 Community Room
    Tuesday Farmers & Merchants Bank
    at 5:45 p.m. 1001 Superior Avenue,

Tomah
August 1, 2007 Neville Museum Theater

    Wednesday 210 Museum Place
     at 5:45 p.m. Green Bay

August 7, 2007 Lower Level
    Tuesday Pewaukee City Hall
     at 5:45 p.m. W240 N3065 Pewaukee Road

Pewaukee
August 8, 2007 Opera House

    Wednesday 381 E. Main Street
     at 5:45 p.m . Stoughton

Notice is hereby further given that pursuant to the
Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of informational
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request.  Please
call Toni Herkert at (608) 266−0161 with specific information
on your request at least 10 days before the date of the
scheduled hearing.
Fiscal Estimate

State Fiscal Impact.  The department has an existing
oversight capacity in the implementation, administration and
enforcement of the current NR 115 program.  In some cases,
enforcement costs for the Department may actually decrease
due to the decline in variance requests that will be realized
with the increased level of flexibility offered to property
owners and counties in the new rule.  In other cases, the
Department may incur additional costs related to the policy
legal review and approval of new shoreland zoning
ordinances required to implement the revised statewide
minimum standards.

The Department expects that the net result will be that state
costs will not substantially change as a result of the proposed
NR 115 rule revisions.

Local Fiscal Impact.  Counties and cities or villages that
have annexed land since 1982 or incorporated since 1994
currently administer and enforce local shoreland zoning
ordinances which meet or exceed the statewide minimum
standards found in NR 115.  Towns may also adopt a
shoreland zoning ordinance, but it must be at least as
restrictive as the applicable county’s.

Counties and annexed or incorporated areas will incur
one−time expenditures to revise shoreland zoning ordinances
to reflect the new statewide minimum standards.  However,
after this initial increased workload and expense, the
Department expects that the administrative burden of the
zoning provisions will be less time−consuming than the
current standards.  Some counties have indicated that the new
impervious surface standards are going to require additional
staff.  The Department contends that the same staff that
worked on the issue of nonconformity can deal with
impervious surfaces since nonconforming provisions are no
longer part of the statewide standards.   In addition, counties
have 2 years before they have to have a shoreland ordinance
in place.  This delayed effective date was to allow the county
to develop an ordinance which meets the new statewide
minimum standards.
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The exact annualized local costs including, increased and
decreased costs, increased revenues (based on local
permitting fees including new permitting systems and
subsequent fees that may be developed) and decreased
revenues (based on a reduction in the number of variances
requested) are extremely difficult to estimate and will vary
considerably on a county by county basis.  Consequently, the
Department has characterized the overall impact on local
government costs as “indeterminate”.

Long−range fiscal implications. The revised rule will
provide increased predictability for investment decisions for
local government, businesses, residents and new property
owners, thereby decreasing operational costs, increasing
property tax revenues, and generating economic growth from
a more predictable zoning environment.

Written Comments

The proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be reviewed and
comments electronically submitted at either of the following
Internet sites:  http://dnr.wi.gov/org/water/wm/dsfm/shore/
news.htm or  http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  Written
comments on the proposed rule may be submitted via U.S.
mail to Toni Herkert, Bureau of Watershed Management, P.O.
Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707.  Comments may be submitted
until September 7, 2007.  Written comments whether
submitted electronically or by U.S. mail will have the same
weight and effect as oral statements presented at the public
hearings.  A personal copy of the proposed rule and fiscal
estimate may be obtained from Ms. Herkert.

Notice of Hearings
Natural Resources

(Environmental Protection−Water Regulation,
Chs. NR 300—)

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to ss. 30.12 (1) and (3)
(br), 30.2035, 30.206, 227.11 (2) (a) and 227.24, Stats.,
interpreting ss. 30.12 (1), (3) and (3m) and 30.206, Stats., the
Department of Natural Resources will hold a public hearing
on Natural Resources Board Emergency Order No.
WT−26−07(E) pertaining to general permits for dredging in
Great Lakes navigable waterways.  The emergency rule
revises ch. NR 345, Wis. Adm. Code, to establish a new
general permit with appropriate conditions.  The rule
establishes standards for projects to be eligible for a general
permit for dredging, including operation of a motor vehicle,
on the beds of the Great lakes to remove algae, mussels, dead
fish and similar large plant and animal nuisance deposits.

The emergency rule establishes a general permit for an
activity that would otherwise require an individual permit.
The general permit will permit lakefront property owners to
remove plant and animal nuisance deposits on the beds of
outlying waters more efficiently while complying with
general permit conditions created to protect the public interest

in the lakebed.  The general permit has a $50 application fee
and is processed within 30 days.

Hearing Information

Notice is hereby further given that the hearing will be held
on:

July 10, 2007 Lake Michigan Room
    Tuesday Green Bay Service Center
     at 3:00 p.m. 2984 Shawano Ave.

Green Bay
Notice is hereby further given that pursuant to the

Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of informational
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request.  Please
call Roberta Lund at (608) 266−2220 with specific
information on your request at least 10 days before the date of
the scheduled hearing.

Written Comments

The emergency rule may be reviewed and comments
electronically submitted at the following Internet site:
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  Written comments on the
proposed rule may be submitted via U.S. mail to Mr. Martye
Griffin, Bureau of Watershed Management, P.O. Box 7921,
Madison, WI 53707.  Comments may be submitted until July
20, 2007.  Written comments whether submitted
electronically or by U.S. mail will have the same weight and
effect as oral statements presented at the public hearings.  A
personal copy of the emergency rule may be obtained from
Ms. Lund.

Fiscal Estimate

Department staff that work in the areas that would be
affected by the new general permit report that approximately
20 requests are made annually for permission to dredge on
Great Lakes beds. Under current law, approximately 2 of
these requests actually result in an application for an
individual permit at a cost of $500 each, for an estimated total
annual revenue of $1,000 (2 permit applications x $500).

Based on knowledge of beach conditions, Department staff
estimate that the implementation of a general permit, as well
as the streamlined permit process that goes with it, will double
the number of requests for permission to dredge on Great
Lakes beds from 20 to 40 annually, and that all 40 requests will
result in actual permit applications.

The Department estimates that under the proposed rule,
approximately 2 dredging requests per year will continue to
require a $500 individual permit, for a total of $1,000 in
individual permit revenue. It is estimated that the remaining
30 requests will require general permits, for a total of $1,900
in general permit revenue (30 general permits x $50/each).
Therefore total revenue for individual and general permits is
estimated to be $2,900, which represents a $1,900 increase
over revenue generated under current law.

The rule change will have no impact on local government
costs.
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Submittal of Proposed Rules to the Legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Commerce
(CR 06−120)

Chs. Comm 14, 60 to 66, relating to Fire Prevention Code
and Wisconsin Commercial Building Code.

Elections Board
(CR 07−043)

Ch. ElBd 3, relating to pricing of voter registration data.

Natural Resources
(CR 07−015)

Chs. NR 10, 11, 16 and 19, relating to hunting and
trapping regulations.
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Rule Orders Filed with the Revisor of Statutes Bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Revisor of Statutes Bureau and are in the process of being
published.   The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.  It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.   Contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at gary.poulson@legis.wisconsin.gov or (608) 266−7275 for updated information
on the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection
(CR 06−036)

An order affecting ch. ATCP 30, relating to soil fumigant
pesticides.

Effective 8−1−07.

Natural Resources
(CR 06−110)

An order affecting ch. NR 484 and creating Chs. NR 460
Appendix EEEEE and NR 463 Subch. III, relating to
national emission standards for hazardous air pollutants
for iron and steel foundries.

Effective 8−1−07

Natural Resources
(CR 06−131)

An order affecting ch. NR 10, relating to deer hunting
season and permit issuance regulation changes.

Effective 8−1−07.

Natural Resources
(CR 07−016)

An order affecting Chs. NR 428 and 484,  relating to
implementation of Reasonably Available Control
Technology (RACT) NOx emission limitations
applicable to major sources in the 8−hour ozone
non−attainment area in southeastern Wisconsin.

Effective 8−1−07.

Public Service Commission
(CR 06−139)

An order creating ch. PSC 137, relating to rules regarding
energy efficiency and renewable resource programs.

Effective 8−1−07.

Veterans Affairs
(CR 07−022)

An order repealing ss. VA 8.01 and 8.03 (1), relating to
the county veterans service officer grant program.

Effective 8−1−07.
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Rules Published with this Register and Final Regulatory
Flexibility Analyses

The following administrative rule orders have been adopted and published in the June 30, 2007, Wisconsin Administrative
Register.  Copies of these rules are sent to subscribers of the complete Wisconsin Administrative Code and also to the subscribers of
the specific affected Code.

For subscription information, contact Document Sales at (608) 266−3358.

Elections Board 
(CR 05−093)

An order creating ch. ElBd 11, relating to the training and
certification of election inspectors.  Effective 7−1−07.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The creation of this rule does not affect small business.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments or modification requests were received by
the Department.

Health and Family Services
(CR 05−052)

An order affecting ch. HFS 107, relating to private duty
nursing and respiratory care service benefits covered by the
Wisconsin medical assistance program.  Effective 7−1−07.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rules will not have a significant economic

impact on small businesses.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Insurance
(CR 06−117)

An order affecting ch. Ins 6, relating to underinsured
(“UM”) and uninsured motorist coverage (“UIM”) in
personal umbrella, personal excess, commercial automobile
liability and commercial liability policies and affecting small
businesses. Effective 7−1−07.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The Office of the Commissioner of Insurance has

determined that this rule will not have a significant economic
impact on a substantial number of small businesses and
therefore a final regulatory flexibility analysis is not required.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The legislative standing committees had no comments on
this rule.

Insurance 
(CR 07−001)

An order affecting ch. Ins 17, relating to peer review
surcharge rates for the injured patients and families
compensation fund and for the Wisconsin health care liability
insurance plan. Effective 7−1−07.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The Office of the Commissioner of Insurance has

determined that this rule will not have a significant economic
impact on a substantial number of small businesses and
therefore a final regulatory flexibility analysis is not required.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The legislative standing committees had no comments on
this rule.

Insurance
(CR 07−002)

An order affecting ch. Ins 17, relating to annual patients
compensation fund and mediation fund fees. Effective
7−1−07.
Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The Office of the Commissioner of Insurance has
determined that this rule will not have a significant economic
impact an a substantial number of small businesses and
therefore a final regulatory flexibility analysis is not required.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The legislative standing committees had no comments on
this rule.

Natural Resources
(CR 03−118)

An order affecting Chs. NR 405, 408 and 484, relating to
incorporation of federal changes to the air permitting
program.  Effective 7−1−07.
Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

It is unlikely that small businesses will be impacted by
these rule revisions. These rule revisions primarily will affect
large, major sources of air emissions, most of which are not
small businesses. The Department held several public
meetings in regard to these rule changes that were attended by
external stakeholders, including representatives of the
Department of Commerce’s Small Business Assistance
Program. Any concerns raised by small businesses
representatives were similar to those of larger entities and
addressed to the best of the Department’s ability.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The proposed rule was reviewed by the 2005−2006
Assembly Committee on Natural Resources and the
2005−2006 Senate Committee on Natural Resources and
Transportation. On March 29, 2006, the Assembly
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Committee on Natural Resources held a public hearing. There
were no comments or recommendations received as a result
of this hearing. The Department has delayed the publication
of these rules until the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
approved the Department’s State Implementation Plan
change. This approach prevented a potential problem for
conflicting air permit requirements.

Natural Resources
(CR 05−104)

An order affecting Chs. NR 12, 16 & 17, relating to hound
dog training and trialing on captive wild animals. Effective
7−1−07.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
Small businesses, which operate large acreage training

enclosures in this state, must obtain a hound dog training
enclosure permit in addition to a hound dog training, dog club
or dog trialing license in order to operate. There is no fee for
issuance of a hound dog training enclosure permit. All hound
dog training enclosures shall provide the necessary natural or
artificial habitat and met the food, water and cover
requirements of a coyote, fox or rabbit. Such conditions are
subject to approval by the department. Any wild coyote or fox
present in any new enclosure shall be removed. Small
businesses cannot be exempted from the requirements of this
rule since the purpose of this rule is to ensure that hound
training enclosures used for dog training on captive wild
animals adhere to the standards of humane care, treatment and
health of the animals used within these enclosures. Also, the
risks associated the disease and parasite introduction are too
significant to require any less stringent requirements than
those already incorporated into this rule.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The rules were reviewed by the Senate Committee on
Environment and Natural Resources and the Assembly
Committee on natural Resources. On March 28, 2007, the
Assembly Committee on Natural Resources held a public
hearing. The Department did not receive any comments or a
request for modifications as a result of this hearing.

Natural Resources
(CR 06−019)

An order affecting chs. NR 406 and 410, relating to
linkage of the state air permitting programs with federal
changes to the air permitting program and affecting small
businesses.  Effective 7−1−07.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
Since these rules affect the permitting of major sources

of air pollution, it is unlikely that many small businesses will
be impacted by them. Although a small percentage of major
sources are small businesses, these rules provide for the
ability to implement federal permitting changes that are
intended to streamline the state’s construction and operation
permit process. As a result, any effect on small businesses
would be to their benefit.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The proposed rule was reviewed by the 2005−2006
Assembly Committee on Natural Resources and the

2005−2006 Senate Committee on Natural Resources and
Transportation. On March 29, 2006, the Assembly
Committee on Natural Resources held a public hearing. There
were no comments or recommendations received as a result
of this hearing. The Department has delayed the publication
these rules until the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
approved the Department’s State Implementation Plan
change. This approach prevented a potential problem for
conflicting air permit requirements.

Natural Resources
(CR 06−037)

An order affecting chs. NR 10 and 45, relating to
correcting management unit boundaries, clarifying trapping
requirements, correcting cross−references, and update rules
on the identification of tree stands on state lands. Effective
7−1−07.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
These proposed rules regulate individual hunters and

trappers and impose no compliance or reporting requirements
for small businesses. Therefore, a final regulatory flexibility
analysis is not required.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The proposed rules were reviewed by the Senate
Committee on Environment and Natural Resources and the
Assembly Committee on Natural Resources. On February 28,
2007, the Assembly Committee on Natural Resources held a
public hearing. No comments or modification requests were
received by the Department.

Natural Resources
(CR 06−111)

An order affecting ch. NR 25, relating to commercial
fishing open seasons in Lake Michigan for chubs. Effective
7−1−07.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
No additional compliance or reporting requirements will

be imposed as a result of these rule changes. The rule that has
been in effect since 2002 will remain in effect.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The rule was reviewed by the Senate Committee on
Environment and Natural Resources and the Assembly
Committee on Natural Resources. On February 28, 2007, the
Assembly committee on Natural Resources held a public
hearing. No comments were received by the Department.

Public Service Commission
(CR 06−106)

An order affecting ch. PSC 135, relating to incorporating
recent changes to the federal pipeline safety regulations.
Effective 7−1−07.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rules will have no significant economic

impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.
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Transportation
(CR 06−099)

An order affecting ch. Trans 112, relating to medical
standards for driver licensing and general standards for school
bus endorsements. Effective 7−1−07.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rule may affect small businesses indirectly,

but will not have a significant economic impact on a
substantial number os small businesses. The rule may have a
favorable effect on some small businesses by enlarging the
categories of persons eligible to submit medical reports to the
Department.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Transportation
(CR 06−129)

An order affecting ch. Trans 276, relating to allowing the
operation of certain 2−vehicle combinations on certain
highways without a permit. Effective 7−1−07.
Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The proposed rule expands freight access for small
businesses by allowing delivery with 53−foot trailers when
located within 15 miles of a designated route. The expanded
freight opportunities are expected to benefit small businesses.
There is no expectation that enforcement of the rule
provisions will change.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Workforce Development
(CR 07−003)

An order affecting ch. DWD 290, relating to adjustment
of thresholds for application of prevailing wage rates.
Effective 7−1−07.
Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The proposed rule does not affect small businesses as
defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Workforce Development
(CR 07−009)

An order affecting chs. DWD 100 to 150, relating to
unemployment insurance technical corrections. Effective
7−1−07.
Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The rule does not affect small businesses as defined in s.
227.114 (1), Stats.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Workforce Development
(CR 07−010)

An order affecting ch. DWD 295, relating to enforcement
of indenture agreements. Effective 7−1−07.
Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The rule affects small businesses as defined in s. 227.114
(1), Stats., but does not have a significant economic impact on
a substantial number of small businesses.
Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.
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Sections Affected by Rule Revisions and Corrections

The following administrative rule revisions and corrections have taken place in June 2007, and will be effective as indicated in
the history note for each particular section.  For additional information, contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at (608) 266−7275.

Revisions

Elections Board
Ch. ElBd 11
Entire Chapter

Health and Family Services
Ch. HFS 107
S. HFS 107.113 (5) (d) and (g)
S. HFS 107.12 (2) (b), (3) (d), (4) (f) and (g)

Insurance
Ch. Ins 6
S. Ins 6.77 (1), (2), (3) (ac), (ag), (am) and (bm), (4) (a),

(b) and (d) and (6)
Ch. Ins 17
S. Ins 17.01 (3)
S. Ins 17.25 (12m)
S. Ins 17.28 (6) and (6s)

Natural Resources
Ch. NR 10
S. NR 10.13 (1) (b)
S. NR 10.145 (4) (a)
S. NR 10.29
S. NR 10.30
Ch. NR 12
S. NR 12.10 (1) (a) and (b)
Ch. NR 16
S. NR 16.30 (1)
Ch. NR 17
S. NR 17.001 (1), (1e), (1m), (1s), (5m), (5s), (7m) and

(8m)
S. NR 17.02 (1) and (3)
S. NR 17.03 (1), (2) (a) and (d)
S. NR 17.045
S. NR 17.047
S. NR 17.07 (1) and (3)
S. NR 17.11 (1) to (4)
Ch. NR 25
S. NR 25.05 (1) (d)
Ch. NR 45
S. NR 45.09 (2)
Ch. NR 405
S. NR 405.01 (1) and (2)

S. NR 405.02 (1) (a) to (d), (2m), (8), (11), (11c), (11e),
(11j), (12), (20m), (21), (24), (24j), (24m), (25b),
(25d), (25e), (25f), (25i), (27) (a) and (27m)

S. NR 405.025
S. NR 405.16 (3) and (4)
S. NR 405.18
Ch. NR 406
S. NR 406.035
S. NR 406.04 (1f) and (1k)
S. NR 406.07 (3)
S. NR 406.11 (1m)
Ch. NR 408
S. NR 408.02 (1), (2m), (4), (5), (11), (11e), (11m),

(11s), (13), (13m), (20), (21) (a), (23), (24m), (25s),
(27), (28e), (28j), (28m), (28s), (29m) and (32m)

S. NR 408.025
S. NR 408.06 (10)
S. NR 408.10 (5) and (6)
S. NR 408.11
Ch. NR 410
S. NR 410.03 (intro.), (1) (a) and (b)
Ch. NR 484
S. NR 484.04 (21) and (27m)

Public Service Commission
Ch. PSC 135
S. PSC 135.019 (1)

Transportation
Ch. Trans 112
S. Trans 112.02 (1) and (1g)
S. Trans 112.03 (6)
S. Trans 112.04 (1) (e) to (g)
S. Trans 112.045 (1) and (2)
S. Trans 112.05 (2) (a) and (3) (c)
S. Trans 112.06 (3) (b) and (c)
S. Trans 112.07 (3) (b) and (c)
S. Trans 112.08 (3) (b)
S. Trans 112.10 (3) (b) and (c)
S. Trans 112.12 (3) (b) and (c)
S. Trans 112.13 (3) (b) and (c)
S. Trans 112.15 (5) (a) and (b)
S. Trans 112.16 (1) (a) and (4)
S. Trans 112.17
S. Trans 112.18 (1) and (2)
Ch. Trans 276
S. Trans 276.01 (1)
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S. Trans 276.02 (1), (2) (a), (ar), (cm), (fg), (fm) and
(hm)

S. Trans 276.04
S. Trans 276.06
S. Trans 276.065
S. Trans 276.07 (3), (10), (20)
S. Trans 276.075
S. Trans 276.077

Workforce Development
Ch. DWD 105
S. DWD 105.03 (2) (intro.) and (3)
S. DWD 105.04 (2) (intro.) and (3)

Ch. DWD 107
S. DWD 107.03
S. DWD 107.04 (2) (intro.), (3) and (4)
S. DWD 107.05 (2) (intro.) and (3)
Ch. DWD 120
S. DWD 120.02
Ch. DWD 145 (Entire chapter)
Ch. DWD 290
S. DWD 290.155 (1)
Ch. DWD 295
S. DWD 295.001 (3)
S. DWD 295.08
S. DWD 295.20 (1), (2), (3), (4) (a), (b), (c) and (d), (5)

(a), (b) and (f) and (6)

Editorial corrections
Corrections to code sections under the authority of s. 13.93 (2m) (b), Stats., are indicated in the following listing.

Natural Resources
Ch. NR 16
S. NR 16.30 (1)
Ch. NR 17
S. NR 17.046 (5) (b)
S. NR 17.047 (4)
Ch. NR 408
S NR 408.11 (9) (e)

Public Service Commission
Ch. PSC 135
S. PSC 135.163 (2)

Workforce Development
Ch. DWD 40
S. DWD 40.01
S. DWD 40.02 (11) & (13) (b)
S. DWD 40.03 (6) to (8), (11) (a) and (b)
Ch. DWD 129
S. DWD 129.01 (2) (b)
Ch. DWD 140
S. DWD 140.01 (2) (a)
S. DWD 140.21 (1)
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Executive  Orders

The following are recent Executive Orders issued by the Governor.

Executive Order 198.  Relating to a Proclamation that the Flag of the United States and the Flag of the State of
Wisconsin be Flown at Half−Staff as a Mark of Respect for Private First  Class Nicholas Riehl of the United States Army
Who Lost His Life During Operation Iraqi Freedom.

Executive Order 199.  Relating to a Proclamation that the Flag of the United States and the Flag of the State of
Wisconsin be Flown at Half−Staff as a Mark of Respect for Peace Officers Who Have Given Their Lives in the Line of Duty.

Executive Order 200.  Relating to Issuance of General Obligation Bonds for the Veterans Home Loan Program and
Appointment  of Hearing Officer.

Executive Order 201.  Relating to a Proclamation that the Flag of the United States and the Flag of the State of
Wisconsin be Flown at half−Staff  as a Mark of Respect for the Late Deputy Frank Fabiano, Jr. of the Kenosha County
Sheriff’s Department.

Executive Order 202.  Relating to a Proclamation that the Flag of the United States and the Flag of the State of
Wisconsin be Flown at Half−Staff as a Mark of Respect for Sergeant First Class Jesse Albrecht of the United States Army
Who Lost His Life During Operation Iraqi Freedom.

Executive Order 203.  Relating to a Proclamation that the Flag of the United States and the Flag of the State of
Wisconsin be Flown at Half−Staff on Memorial Day.

Executive Order 204.  Relating to a Proclamation that the Flag of the United States and the Flag of the State of
Wisconsin be Flown at Half−Staff as a mark of Respect for Sergeant First Class Scott Brown of the United States Army
Who Lost His Life During Operation Iraqi Freedom.

Executive Order 205.  Relating to a Proclamation that the Flag of the United States and the Flag of the State of
Wisconsin be Flown at Half−Staff as a Mark of Respect for Sergeant Tyler Kritz of the United  States Army Who Lost
His Life During Operation Iraqi Freedom.
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Public Notices

Public Notice
Health and Family Services

(Medicaid Reimbursement for Non−Institutional Providers of Services:
State of Wisconsin Medicaid Payment Plan for FY 2007−2008 and 2008−2009)

The State of Wisconsin reimburses providers for non−institutional services provided to medical assistance
recipients under the authority of Title XIX of the Social Security Act and ss. 49.43 to 49.497, Wisconsin Statutes.
This program, administered by the State’s Department of Health and Family Services, is called Medicaid.

Under current law, non−institutional Medicaid providers are paid the lesser of: (a) their usual and customary
charges; or (b) maximum fees established by the Department for each procedure.  The Department modifies the
maximum fee schedules to implement Medicaid rate changes authorized by the Legislature.

The Wisconsin Legislature is in the process of completing work on the 2007 to 2009 State Budget. The new State
Budget is expected to increase rates for non−institutional providers.

Pending final legislative action, the Department is proposing an increase in the rates for reimbursement for
these non−institutional providers of services under Medicaid. The amount of the increase will be 1% in state fiscal
year (SFY) 2007−08 and an additional 2% in 2008−09 (for a total of 3%), compared to current rates, with certain

exceptions. Federally Qualified Health Centers and Rural Health Centers will receive no rate increase, since
Medicaid currently pays their costs of serving Medicaid recipients. The rate increase will not be applied to

common carrier transportation allocations to counties. Effective July 1, 2007, Medicaid fee−for−service pharmacy
claims will no longer be reduced by 50 cents per claim, as they have been since July 2005. This change does not
apply to SeniorCare.  Rates for psychotherapy and evaluation services provided by psychiatrists will be increase
by 20%, beginning in SFY 2008.  In addition, funding will be provided to increase capitation rates for managed

care organizations so that these providers can increase rates to non−institutional providers with which they
contract. The Department’s proposals involve no change in the definition of those eligible to receive benefits

under Medicaid, and the benefits available to eligible recipients remain the same.

It is estimated that this change will increase annual aggregate Medicaid expenditures by $14,130,700 all funds in
SFY 2007−08 ($5,814,200 state GPR and $8,316,500 federal) and $44,063,700 all funds in SFY 2008−09
($17,240,700 state GPR and $26,823,000 federal).
Proposed Change

The proposed change is to modify the rate for reimbursement for these non−institutional providers of services by
an increase of 1% beginning July 1, 2007 and an additional 2% beginning July 1, 2008, increase rates for
psychotherapy and evaluation services provided by psychiatrists by 20%, beginning July 1, 2007, and increase
reimbursement to pharmacies for Medicaid by $0.50 beginning July 1, 2007.
Copies of the Proposed Change

A copy of the proposed change may be obtained free of charge by calling or writing as follows:

Regular Mail
Division of Health Care Financing

P.O. Box 309
Madison,  53701−0309

Phone
James Vavra 

Director, Bureau of Fee−for−Service Health Care Benefits
(608) 261−7838

Fax
(608) 266−1096

Attention:  James Vavra
E−Mail

vavrajj@@dhfs.state.wi.us

A copy of the proposed change is available for review at the main office of any county department of social services
or human services.
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Written Comments
Written comments are welcome. Written comments on the proposed change may be sent by FAX, e−mail, or regular

mail to the Division of Health Care Financing at the address given above. The FAX number is (608) 266−1096. The
e−mail address is vavrajj@dhfs.state.wi.us. Regular mail can be sent to the above address. All written comments will
be reviewed and considered.

All written comments received will be available for public review between the hours of 7:45 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.
daily in Room 350 of the State Office Building, 1 West Wilson Street, Madison, Wisconsin.  Revisions may be made
in the proposed changed methodology based on comments received.

Public Notice
Health and Family Services

(Medicaid Reimbursement for Inpatient Hospital Services:
Acute Care and Children’s Hospitals Major Border Status Hospitals

Non State Public and Private Psychiatric Hospitals State of Wisconsin Medicaid 
Payment Plan for FY 2007−2008 and 2008−2009)

The State of Wisconsin reimburses hospitals for inpatient hospital services provided to Medical Assistance
recipients under the authority of Title XIX of the Social Security Act and Chapter 49 of Wisconsin Statutes.  This
program, administered by the State’s Department of Health and Family Services, is called Medicaid or Medical
Assistance.

Under current law, Wisconsin hospitals are paid on a reimbursement system based on Diagnosis Related Groupings
(DRGs).  The DRG system covers Acute Care Hospitals, Children’s Hospitals, Non State Public and Private
Psychiatric Hospitals, and Major Border Status Hospitals.  Each hospital is assigned a unique hospital specific DRG
base rate.  This rate includes adjustments for differences in wage levels, includes an amount for capital expenditures,
and payment enhancements for qualifying Disproportionate Share Hospitals and facilities with Graduate Medical
Education programs.  In addition, a cost outlier payment is made when the cost of providing services exceeds a
pre−determined trimpoint.  The Department intends to modify the inpatient rate setting methodology to implement
Medicaid rate changes authorized by the Legislature.

The Department is proposing to implement a rate setting methodology change for inpatient hospital services for
those facilities previously subject to the DRG reimbursement system. This change will impact inpatient hospital
services provided by three classes of inpatient hospital providers:  1) Acute Care and Children’s Hospitals; 2) Major
Border Status Hospitals; and 3) Non State Public and Private Psychiatric Hospitals.  The effective date for these
proposed changes will be July 1, 2007.
Acute Care and Children’s Hospitals

Under the proposed changes, the Department will develop a provider specific, cost based DRG payment system
adjusted by case mix with additional payments made to eligible disproportionate share hospitals and outlier payments
for high−cost cases.  Payment rates will be derived using the most recently available audited Medicare cost reports
at the time of rate calculation.  The provider specific, cost based DRG rates for providers will be adjusted as necessary
to ensure budget compliance.

The Wisconsin Legislature is in the process of completing work on the 2007 to 2009 State Budget. The new State
Budget may increase Medicaid inpatient rates for Acute and Children’s Hospital providers located within the State
of Wisconsin.  The amount of the increase is estimated to be $122 million in state fiscal year (SFY) 2007−08 and $131
million in SFY 2008−09.  In addition, funding will be provided to increase capitation rates for managed care
organizations for the purpose of these health maintenance organizations increasing rates to inpatient hospitals with
which they contract.
Major Border Status Hospitals

Under the proposed changes, the Department will develop a provider specific, cost based DRG payment system
adjusted by case mix with additional payments made to eligible disproportionate share hospitals and outlier payments
for high−cost cases.  Payment rates will be derived using the most recently available audited Medicare cost reports
at the time of rate calculation.  The provider specific cost based DRG rates for providers will be adjusted as necessary
to ensure budget compliance.

The Wisconsin Legislature is in the process of completing work on the 2007 to 2009 State Budget. The new State
Budget does not provide an increase in rates for inpatient services provided by hospitals located outside the State of
Wisconsin that qualify as Major Border Status Hospitals.  It is estimated that this change will have no impact on annual
aggregate Medicaid expenditures in state fiscal year (SFY) 2007−08 and SFY 2008−09.
Non State Public and Private Psychiatric Hospitals

Under the proposed changes, the Department will implement a rate setting methodology change for inpatient
hospital services for Non State Public and Private Psychiatric Hospitals. The Department will develop a provider
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specific, cost based per diem payment rate.  Payment rates will be derived using the most recently available audited
Medicare cost reports at the time of rate calculation.  Provider specific cost based per diem payment rates will be
adjusted as necessary to ensure budget compliance.

The Wisconsin Legislature is in the process of completing work on the 2007 to 2009 State Budget. The new State
Budget does not provide an increase in rates for inpatient services provided by Non State Public and Private
Psychiatric Hospitals.  It is estimated that this change will have no impact on annual aggregate Medicaid expenditures
in state fiscal year (SFY) 2007−08 and SFY 2008−09.
Proposed Change

The proposed change is to modify the inpatient rates for Acute and Children’s Hospitals under the MA program
by an increase of $122 million beginning July 1, 2007 and $131 million beginning July 1, 2008, compared to current
rates.  The proposed changes to payment rates for Major Border Status Hospitals, Non State Public and Private
Psychiatric Hospitals are not expected to impact annual aggregate Medicaid expenditures.  The Department intends
to update the inpatient hospital rate setting methodology to implement Medicaid rate changes authorized by the
Legislature.

This proposal involves no change in the definition of those eligible to receive benefits under Medicaid, and the
benefits available to eligible recipients remains the same.  The effective date for these proposed changes will be July
1, 2007.
Copies of the Proposed Change

A copy of the proposed change may be obtained free of charge at your local county agency or by calling or writing
as follows:

Regular Mail
Division of Health Care Financing

P.O. Box 309
Madison, WI 53701−0309

Phone
James Vavra, Director

Bureau of Fee−for−Service Health Care Benefits
(608) 261−7838

Fax
(608) 266−1096

Attention James Vavra
E−Mail

vavrajj@dhfs.state.wi.us

A copy of the proposed change is available for review at the main office of any county department of social services
or human services.
Written Comments

Written comments are welcome.  Written comments on the proposed change may be sent by FAX, e−mail, or regular
mail to the Division of Health Care Financing.  The FAX number is (608) 266−1096. The e−mail address is
vavrajj@dhfs.state.wi.us.  Regular mail can be sent to the above address.  All written comments will be reviewed and
considered.

All written comments received will be available for public review between the hours of 7:45 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.
daily in Room 350 of the State Office Building, 1 West Wilson Street, Madison, Wisconsin.  Revisions may be made
in the proposed changed methodology based on comments received.

Public Notice
Health and Family Services

(Medicaid Reimbursement for Outpatient Hospital Services
Hospitals within the State of Wisconsin

State of Wisconsin Medicaid Payment Plan for FY 2007−2008 and 2008−2009)
The State of Wisconsin reimburses hospitals for outpatient hospital services provided to Medical Assistance

recipients under the authority of Title XIX of the Social Security Act and Chapter 49 of Wisconsin Statutes.  This
program, administered by the State’s Department of Health and Family Services, is called Medicaid or Medical
Assistance.

Under current law, Wisconsin hospitals outpatient payment rates are hospital−specific, cost−based and annually
adjusted to recognize that hospitals vary significantly in the types of medical services they provide.  Hospitals located
in the State of Wisconsin are reimbursed for outpatient services at an interim rate per visit with a final cost settlement.
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However, reimbursed costs under the retrospective settlement are limited to a prospectively established ceiling
amount. The ceiling amount is a prospective, hospital−specific rate per outpatient visit that is based on a hospital’s
historical cost and adjusted to stay within the State’s available funding for outpatient hospital services. Critical access
hospitals are exempt from the ceiling rate. The Department intends to update the outpatient rate setting methodology
to implement Medicaid rate changes authorized by the Legislature.

The Department is proposing to update MA outpatient hospital payment rates for hospitals within the State of
Wisconsin using the most recently available audited Medicare cost reports at the time of rate calculation.  The
Department will review and adjust the established hospital ceiling amount to stay within the State’s available funding
for outpatient hospital services.  The provider specific cost based rates and ceiling amount will be adjusted as
necessary to ensure budget compliance.

The Wisconsin Legislature is in the process of completing work on the 2007 to 2009 State Budget. The new State
Budget is expected to increase Medicaid outpatient rates for hospitals located within the State of Wisconsin.  The
amount of the increase is estimated to be $13.2 million in state fiscal year (SFY) 2007−08 and $14.2 million in SFY
2008−09.  In addition, funding will be provided to increase capitation rates for managed care organizations for the
purpose of these health maintenance organizations increasing outpatient rates to hospitals with which they contract.
Proposed Change

The proposed change is to modify the outpatient rates and related ceiling amount for hospitals located within the
State of Wisconsin under the MA program.  The proposed changes will increase of MA payments to hospitals in the
State of Wisconsin by $13,200,000 beginning July 1, 2007 and $14,100,000 beginning July 1, 2008, compared to
current rates. The Department intends to update the outpatient hospital rate setting methodology to implement
Medicaid rate changes authorized by the Legislature.

This proposal involves no change in the definition of those eligible to receive benefits under Medicaid, and the
benefits available to eligible recipients remains the same. The effective date for these proposed changes will be July
1, 2007.
Copies of the Proposed Change

A copy of the proposed change may be obtained free of charge at your local county agency or by calling or writing
as follows:

Regular Mail
Division of Health Care Financing

P.O. Box 309
Madison, WI 53701−0309

Phone
James Vavra, Director

Bureau of Fee−for−Service Health Care Benefits
(608) 261−7838

Fax
(608) 266−1096

Attention:  James Vavra
E−Mail

vavrajj@dhfs.state.wi.us
A copy of the proposed change is available for review at the main office of any county department of social services

or human services.
Written Comments

Written comments are welcome. Written comments on the proposed change may be sent by FAX, e−mail, or regular
mail to the Division of Health Care Financing. The FAX number is (608) 266−1096. The e−mail address is
vavrajj@dhfs.state.wi.us. Regular mail can be sent to the above address. All written comments will be reviewed and
considered.

All written comments received will be available for public review between the hours of 7:45 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.
daily in Room 350 of the State Office Building, 1 West Wilson Street, Madison, Wisconsin.  Revisions may be made
in the proposed changed methodology based on comments received.
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