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Emergency Rules Now in Effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register.  This notice
will  contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Beginning with rules filed with the Legislative Reference
Bureau in 2008, the Legislative Reference Bureau will assign
a number to each emergency rule filed, for the purpose of
internal tracking and reference.  The number will be in the
following form: EmR0801.  The first 2 digits indicate the year
of filing and the last 2 digits indicate the chronological order
of filing during the year.

Administration

EmR1309 — The Department of Administration hereby
adopts an order to create Chapter Adm 93, relating to the
community development block grant program.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 041−13, was
approved by the Governor on April 15, 2013, and published
in Register No. 688 on April 30, 2013, and approved by the
Department of Administration Secretary, Mike Huebsch,
effective May 13, 2013.  This emergency rule was approved
by the Governor on June 19, 2013.

Finding of Emergency
Each year the federal government makes funding available

to the several states for economic and housing development
through a program known as the Community Development
Block Grant Program (CDBG).  The CDBG is governed
under 42 USC 5301 to 5319 and 24 CFR Part 570, and is
administered by the US Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD).  Since the dissolution of the Wisconsin
Department of Commerce, the Wisconsin Department of
Administration (DOA) has received CDBG grants from
HUD, and entered into agreements with the Wisconsin
Economic Development Corporation (WEDC) for the

administration of those funds.  Under this arrangement, state
administrative code Chapter Commerce 108 was unneeded,
as WEDC operated under substantially similar internal
policies.  Recently, DOA and WEDC have mutually
determined that the expertise of DOA is better suited to
administration of CDBG funds, while the expertise of WEDC
is best suited to consultation with localities and businesses
seeking to access CDBG funds.  The parties intend to
formalize the transfer of administrative responsibility of
CDBG funds to DOA shortly.  Consequently, it is imperative
for the welfare of the State of Wisconsin that administrative
code provisions concerning the CDBG program be made.

Filed with LRB: June 28, 2013

Publication Date: July 1, 2013
Effective Dates: July 1, 2013 through 

November 27, 2013

Agriculture,  Trade and Consumer Protection (3)

1. EmR1311 — The state of Wisconsin Department of
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection hereby adopts
the following emergency rule to amend section ATCP 21.17
(1) (b) and to create section ATCP 21.17 (1) (c), relating to
the quarantine of Jefferson County for emerald ash borer.

This emergency rule was approved by the Governor on July
15, 2013.

The blanket statement of scope for this rule, SS 0088−12,
was approved by the Governor on November 8, 2012,
published in Register No. 683, on November 30, 2012, and
approved by the Board of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection as required by s. 227.135 (2), Stats., on December
18, 2012.

Finding of Emergency
On June 25, 2013, the Wisconsin Department of Natural

Resources positively identified Emerald Ash Borer (EAB) in
Walworth County at the University of Wisconsin Whitewater
Campus, about 750 meters from the Jefferson County line.
EAB is an exotic, invasive pest that poses a dire risk to the ash
forest.  When APHIS declares quarantine, DATCP has
regulatory authority for import controls and quarantine for
EAB under s. ATCP 21.17.  It is anticipated that APHIS will
declare a quarantine for Jefferson County but that it will take
six to eight weeks for APHIS to act.  A six week delay until
enactment of the federal quarantines leaves too much time for
businesses or individuals to move potentially EAB infested
material out of these counties to areas of Wisconsin or other
states that are not infested with EAB.

DATCP is adopting this rule as a temporary emergency
rule, pending completion of federal quarantine regulations.
DATCP does not anticipate completing a permanent rule.

Filed with LRB: July 24, 2013

Publication Date: July 24, 2013
Effective Dates: July 24, 2013 through

December 20, 2013

2. EmR1312 — The state of Wisconsin Department of
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection hereby adopts
the following emergency rule to  to amend section ATCP
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21.17 (1) (b) and to create section ATCP 21.17 (1) (d),
relating to the quarantine of Sauk County for emerald ash
borer.

The blanket statement of scope for this rule, SS 08−12, was
approved by the Governor on November 8, 2012, published
in Register No. 683, on November 30, 2012, and approved by
the Board of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (as
required by s. 227.135 (2), Stats.) on December 18, 2012.

This emergency rule was approved by the Governor on
August 1, 2013.

Finding of Emergency
On July 11, 2013, the United States Department of

Agriculture — Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
(“APHIS”)  positively identified Emerald Ash Borer (“EAB”)
in Sauk County at Mirror Lake State Park.  EAB is an exotic,
invasive pest that poses a dire risk to the ash forest.  When
APHIS declares quarantine, DATCP has regulatory authority
for import controls and quarantine for EAB under s. ATCP
21.17.  It is anticipated that APHIS will declare a quarantine
for Sauk County but that it will take six to eight weeks for
APHIS to act.  A six week delay until enactment of the federal
quarantines leaves too much time for businesses or
individuals to move potentially EAB infested material out of
these counties to areas of Wisconsin or other states that are not
infested with EAB.

DATCP is adopting this rule as a temporary emergency
rule, pending completion of federal quarantine regulations.
DATCP does not anticipate completing a permanent rule.

Filed with LRB: August 13, 2013

Publication Date: August 14, 2013

Effective Dates: August 14, 2013 through
January 10, 2014

3. EmR1315 — The state of Wisconsin department of
agriculture, trade and consumer protection hereby adopts the
following emergency rule to amend section ATCP 21.17 (1)
(b) and to create section ATCP 21.17 (1) (e), relating to the
quarantines of Dodge, Douglas, and Winnebago counties for
emerald ash borer.

This emergency rule was approved by the Governor on
August 29, 2013.

The blanket statement of scope for this rule, SS 0088−12,
was approved by the Governor on November 8, 2012,
published in Register No. 683, on November 30, 2012, and
approved by the Board of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer
Protection (as required by s. 227.135 (2), Stats.) on December
18, 2012.

Finding of Emergency
The United States Department of Agriculture — Animal

and Plant Health Inspection Service (“APHIS”) positively
identified Emerald Ash Borer (“EAB”) in Watertown, Dodge
County on August 1, 2013; in Black Wolf township,
Winnebago County on August 6, 2013; and subsequently in
Superior, Douglas County on August 13, 2013.  EAB is an
exotic, invasive pest that poses a dire risk to the ash forest.
When APHIS declares quarantine, DATCP has regulatory
authority for import controls and quarantine for EAB under s.
ATCP 21.17. It is anticipated that APHIS will declare a
quarantine for Dodge, Douglas, and Winnebago counties but
that it will take six to eight weeks for APHIS to act. A six week
delay until enactment of the federal quarantines leaves too
much time for businesses or individuals to move potentially
EAB infested material out of these counties to areas of
Wisconsin or other states that are not infested with EAB.

DATCP is adopting this rule as a temporary emergency
rule, pending completion of federal quarantine regulations.
DATCP does not anticipate completing a permanent rule.

Filed with LRB: September 11, 2013

Publication Date: September 11, 2013
Effective Dates: September 11, 2013 through

February 7, 2014
Hearing Date: October 11, 2013 (See the

 Notice in this Register.)

Employment Relations Commission

EmR1310 — The Wisconsin Employment Relations
Commission hereby creates Chapters ERC 70, 71, and 80,
relating to annual certification elections.

This emergency rule was approved by the Governor July 3,
2013.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 045−13, was
approved by the Governor on April 19, 2013, published in
Register 689, on May 14, 2013, and approved by the
Wisconsin Employment Relations Commission on June 3,
2013.

Finding of Emergency
An emergency exists because the public peace, health,

safety and welfare necessitate putting these rules into effect so
that the Wisconsin Employment Relations Commission can
meet its obligation to conduct annual certification elections as
required by ss. 111.70 (4) (d) 3. b. and 111.83 (3) (b), Stats.

Filed with LRB: July 15 2013

Publication Date: July 13, 2013
Effective Dates: July 13, 2013 through

December 9, 2013

Insurance (2)

1. EmR1306 — The Commissioner of Insurance adopts an
order to amend sections Ins 17.01 (3) and 17.28 (3) (c) and to
repeal and recreate section Ins 17.28 (6), Wis. Admin. Code,
relating to Injured Patients and Families Compensation Fund
Annual Fund and Mediation Panel Fees, and ISO code
amendments for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2013, and
affecting small business.

This emergency rule was approved by the Governor on
June 4, 2013.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 042−13, was
approved by the Governor on April 16, 2013, published in
Register No. 688, on April 30, 2013, and approved by the
Commissioner on May 10, 2013.

Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that the attached rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare.
Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

These changes must be in place with an effective date prior
to July 1, 2013, in order for the new fiscal year assessments
to be issued in accordance with s. 655.27 (3), Wis. Stats.  The
permanent rule−making process cannot be completed prior to
the effective date of the new fee schedule.  The fiscal year fund
fees were established by the Board of Governors at the
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meeting held on December 19, 2012, and the mediation panel
fees were established by the Board of Governors at the
meeting held on March 20, 2013.

Filed with LRB: June 10, 2013

Publication Date: June 12, 2013

Effective Dates: June 12, 2013 through
November 8, 2013

Hearing Date: July 23, 2013

2. EmR1314 — The Commissioner of Insurance proposes
an order to create Chapter Ins 6 subch. II, subch. II (title),
and sections Ins 6.91 to 6.98, relating to navigators,
nonnavigator assisters, and related entities and affecting small
business.

The statement of scope for this rule SS 078−13, was
approved by the Governor on July 1, 2013, published in
Register No. 691, on July 15, 2013, and approved by the
Commissioner on July 26, 2013.  This emergency rule was
approved by the Governor on August 30, 2013.

Finding of Emergency
In accordance with s. 623.98, Stats., the commissioner may

promulgate rules under ss. 227.24 (1) (a) and (3), Stats.,
without providing evidence that promulgating a rule is
necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health,
safety, or welfare and without a finding of emergency.  The
commissioner intends to publish the proposed rule
sufficiently in advance of October 1, 2013 to permit proper
licensing, certification, and training of navigators and
nonnavigator assisters and to permit proper registration of
navigator and nonnavigator assister entities.  The
commissioner intends to promulgate permanent rules close in
time to the emergency rules so not to create a gap in
requirements.

Filed with LRB: September 5, 2013

Publication Date: September 10, 2013

Effective Dates: September 10, 2013 through
February 6, 2014

Hearing Date: September 27, 2013

Natural  Resources (4)
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—

1. EmR1210 (DNR # WM−09−12(E)) — The Wisconsin
Natural Resources Board proposes an order to amend sections
NR 10.001 (25c), 10.02 (1), 10.06 (5) and (8) (intro.), 10.07
(2) (b) 2., 10.07 (2m) (intro.) and (e) (intro.), 10.07 (2m) (f)
(intro.),  10.09 (1), 10.13 (1) (b) 9., 10.13 (1) (b) 15., 10.13 (1)
(b) 16., 10.145 (intro), 10.145 (3) to (8), 12.10 (intro.), 12.10
(1) (a) 4., 12.10 (1) (b) 2., 12.15 (13) and 19.25 and to create
sections NR 10.001 (22q), 10.001 (23a), 10.001 (23am),
10.001 (23b), 10.001 (26g), 10.001 (33), 10.01 (3) (j), 10.07
(1) (m), 10.07 (2m) (em), 10.07 (2m) (g) 3., NR 10.07 (4),
10.13 (1) (b) 15m., 10.13 (1) (b) 18., 10.145 (1m), (1u) and
Note, sections NR 10.16 (5), 10.295, 12.15 (11) (e), 12.60 to
12.63, 12.64 (1) (a) and (b) (intro.) 1., 12.64 (1) (b) 2. and 3.,
12.64 (1) (b) 4. and 5., 12.64 (2) (a) to (c), 12.64 (2) (d), 12.64
(3) and 12.65, relating to the wolf hunting and trapping
season and regulations and a depredation program.

This emergency rule was approved by the Governor on
August 10, 2010.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 023−12, was
approved by the Governor on April 12, 2012, published in
Register No. 676, on April 30, 2012, and approved by the
Natural Resources Board on May 23, 2012.

Finding of Emergency
A non−statutory provision, SECTION 21, of 2011 ACT 169

requires the department to submit rules necessary for
implementation or interpretation and establishes that the
department is not required to make a finding of emergency.

Filed with LRB: August 15, 2012

Publication Date: August 18, 2012

Effective Dates: August 18, 2012 through the 
date on which the permanent rules take effect, as provided
in 2011 Wisconsin Act 169, section 21.

2. EmR1215 (DNR # WM−16−12(E)) — The Wisconsin
Natural Resources Board proposes an order to repeal and
recreate section NR 10.01 (3) (h) 1., relating to the coyote
hunting season.

This emergency rule was approved by the Governor on
August 30, 2012.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 038−12, was
approved by the Governor on May 29, 2012, published in
Register No. 678, on June 14, 2012, and approved by the
Natural Resources Board on June 27, 2012.

Finding of Emergency
A non−statutory provision, Section 21, of 2011 ACT 169

requires the department to submit rules necessary for
implementation or interpretation and establishes that the
department is not required to make a finding of emergency.

Filed with LRB: September 14, 2012

Publication Date: October 1, 2012

Effective Dates: October 1, 2012 through the
date on which the permanent rules take effect, as provided
in 2011 Wisconsin Act 169, section 21.

3. EmR1304 (DNR # FH−23−12(E)) — The Wisconsin
Natural Resources Board proposes an order to amend sections
NR 20.20 (73) (n) 4., 25.06 (1) (a), and 25.09 (1) (am) 3. e.,
relating to lake trout harvest limits in Lake Superior.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 097−12, was
approved by the Governor on December 14, 2012, published
in Register No. 684 on December 31, 2012, and approved by
the Natural Resources Board on January 23, 2013.

Finding of Emergency
Pursuant to s. 227.24, Stats., the department finds that an

emergency exists and that this rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare.  The welfare of state−licensed commercial fishers,
tribal commercial fishers, recreational anglers, and associated
businesses is threatened by a decline in the lake trout
population in the Apostle Islands vicinity of Lake Superior.
The continued, persistent decline in lake trout population
abundances and predicted further declines necessitate the
current reductions in order to ensure a sustainable lake trout
fishery over the long−term.  Lake trout harvest limits were
negotiated in October 2012 among the Department of Natural
Resources and the Red Cliff and Bad River Bands of Lake
Superior Chippewa and those changes must be ordered
through administrative code.  This emergency rule is needed
to preserve the public welfare.

Filed with LRB: Mar ch 9, 2013
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Publication Date: Mar ch 27, 2013
Effective Dates: Mar ch 27, 2013 through

August 23, 2013
Hearing Date: April 11, 2013
Extension Through: October 22, 2013

4. EmR1313 (DNR # WMH−07−13(E)) — The Wisconsin
Natural Resources Board proposes an order to repeal section
NR 10.06 (9) (b); to amend section NR 10.01 (1) (v); to repeal
and recreate sections NR 10.01 (1) (b) to (u) and 10.12 (3)
(c); and to create section NR 10.12 (3) (e), relating to
migratory bird hunting regulations.

This emergency rule was approved by the Governor on
August 30, 2103.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 018−13, was
approved by the Governor on February 18, 2013, published in
Register No. 687, on March 14, 2013, and approved by the
Natural Resources Board on April 24, 2013.

Statutory Authority
The chapter on wild animals and plants, in s. 29.014, Stats.,

“rule making for this chapter”, establishes that the department
shall maintain open and closed seasons for fish and game and
any limits, rest days, and conditions for taking fish and game.
This grant of rule−making authority allows the department to
promulgate rules related to migratory game bird hunting.
Additional statutory authority is found in ss. 23.11, 29.192
and 29.041, Stats.  The emergency rule making process is
established in s. 227.24, Stats.

Filed with LRB: September 4, 2013

Publication Date: September 6, 2013
Effective Dates: September 6, 2013 through

February 2, 2014

Safety and Professional Services (3)
Professional Services, Chs. SPS 1—299

1. EmR1302 — The Wisconsin Department of Safety and
Professional Services hereby adopts an order to amend
sections SPS 60.01; SPS 61.02 (1) (a), (2) (a), (3) (a), and (4)
(a); 62.10 (title) and 62.10; 65.01; 65.02 (1); 65.07; and
65.12 (1) (h) and (i) 6.; and to create chapter SPS 205
relating to barbers and to barbering and cosmetology schools
and instructors, and affecting small business.

This emergency rule was approved by the Governor on
February 5, 2013.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 063–12, was
approved by the Governor on August 10, 2012, published in
Register 680, on August 31, 2012, and approved by Secretary
Dave Ross on October 15, 2012.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Safety and Professional Services finds

that an emergency exists within the state of Wisconsin and that
adoption of an emergency rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public health, safety and welfare.  A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is as
follows.

On July 1, 2012, 2011 Wisconsin Act 190 transferred
regulatory authority over barbers from the Barbering and
Cosmetology Examining Board to the Department of Safety
and Professional Services.  Act 190 also changed the
educational requirements for initial licensure of barbers, and

the continuing−education requirements for renewal of barber
licenses.  Due to the transfer of authority and the changes in
education requirements, immediate rulemaking by the
Department is needed to implement corresponding rule
changes prior to April 1, 2013, which is the renewal date
mandated by section 440.08 (2) (a) of the Statutes for all
barbering licenses.

Filed with LRB: February 14, 2013

Publication Date: February 14, 2013
Effective Dates: February 14, 2013 through

July 13, 2013
Hearing Date: April 30, 2013
Extension Through: November 9, 2013

2. EmR1307 — The Wisconsin Department of Safety and
Professional Services adopts an order to repeal section SPS
81.04 (1) (c) 3. and 4., and to amend section SPS 81.04 (2),
relating to reciprocity.

This emergency rule was approved by the Governor on
May 20, 2013.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 012−13, was
approved by the Governor on January 28, 2013, published in
Register No. 686 on February 14, 2013, and approved by the
Department of Safety and Professional Services on February
28, 2013.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Safety and Professional Services finds

that an emergency exists and that this rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare.  A statement of facts constituting the emergency is as
follows:

Title XI of the Federal Financial Institutions Reform and
Recovery Enforcement Act of 1989, as amended by the
Dodd−Frank Act of 2010, dictates reciprocity requirements
for real estate appraisers in each state.  The federal body that
oversees reciprocity requirements is the Appraisal
Subcommittee (ASC).  Currently, Wis. Admin. Code s. SPS
81.04 is not in compliance with the federal legislation.  The
Code must be brought into compliance by July 1, 2013.  At
that time, the ASC will conduct an audit to determine which
states are in compliance.  If Wisconsin is designated “out of
compliance,” then federally regulated financial institutions
may not engage a Wisconsin certified or licensed appraiser to
perform an appraisal of property for a federally related
transaction and other states will not be required to recognize
Wisconsin credentialed appraisers seeking reciprocity.  In
order to implement the federally mandated reciprocity
requirements before July 1, 2013, an emergency rule is
needed.

Filed with LRB: June 12, 2013

Publication Date: June 18, 2013
Effective Dates: June 18, 2013 through

November 14, 2013

3. EmR1308 — The Wisconsin Department of Safety and
Professional Services adopts an order to create section SPS
34.04 (2) (a) 4., relating to training of firearms instructors for
private security personnel, private detectives, and private
investigators or special investigators, and affecting small
business.

This emergency rule was approved by the Governor on
May 29, 2013.

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 080−12, was
approved by the Governor on October 2, 2012, published in
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Register No. 682 on October 31, 2012, and approved by the
Department of Safety and Professional Services on December
4, 2012.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Safety and Professional Services

(DSPS) finds that an emergency exists and that this rule is
necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace,
health, safety, or welfare.  A statement of facts constituting the
emergency is as follows.

Under section SPS 34.02 (1), private security personnel,
private detectives, and private investigators or special
investigators, who are seeking a firearms permit from the
Department must obtain a certificate of firearms proficiency.
Section SPS 34.02 (2) mandates that the certification be
received from a Department−approved firearms−proficiency
certifier pursuant to section SPS 34.04.

Section SPS 34.04 currently accepts only those certifier
applicants who have received training as a police or security
firearms instructor and who have either (1) current approval
as a firearms instructor by the Wisconsin Law Enforcement
Standards Board (LESB); (2) current certification as a law
enforcement firearms instructor by the National Rifle
Association, Inc., (NRA) or; (3) approval on or after January
1, 1995, as a firearms instructor by the LESB or NRA and

have completed a refresher course presented by a regional
training school approved by the LESB or the NRA.

Due to enactment of 2011 Wisconsin Act 35 (commonly
referred to as the concealed carry law), which became
effective on November 1, 2011, there is a greater need for
additional entities who can provide training and approve
applicants as firearms proficiency certifiers.  Section 175.60
(4) of the Statutes currently allows technical colleges,
colleges, and universities to provide this training for
concealed−carry purposes.  No such provision is made as it
relates to private security personnel, private detectives, and
private investigators or special investigators, for carrying a
weapon openly.  Moreover, the training needed for DSPS
firearms certifiers differs significantly from that needed and
provided by the LESB curriculum and under 2011 Act 35.  To
that end, a new standard needs to be developed and
implemented, separate and distinct from the LESB standards.
Because the need to approve applicants for firearm
proficiency certifiers is immediate and pressing, emergency
rules are warranted.

Filed with LRB: June 13, 2013

Publication Date: June 13, 2013
Effective Dates: June 13, 2013 through

November 9, 2013
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Scope Statements

Public Instruction

SS 118−13

Per the Dane County Circuit Court order issued in Coyne,
et al. v. Walker, et al., Case No. 11−CV−4573, the Department
of Public Instruction is not required to obtain the Governor’s
approval for this statement of scope.

Rule No.
Revises Chapter PI 13.

Relating to
Limited English proficient pupils.

Rule Type
Permanent.

1.  Finding/Nature of the Emergency (Emergency Rule
Only).

N/A.

2.  Detailed Description of the Objective of the Proposed
Rule

1991 Wisconsin Act 269 required the State Superintendent
to establish rules that provided criteria for school boards to
use when determining whether: to not administer an
examination to a limited English−speaking pupil; to permit
the pupil to be examined in his or her native language; or to
modify the format and administration of an examination for
such pupils.  Since then, there have been many changes to the
underlying statute, s. 118.30 (2) (b) 2., Stats.  The proposed
rule change will align ch. PI 13 with s. 118.30 (2) (b) 2., Stats.
Under s. 118.30 (2) (b) 2., Stats.,  the governing body of a
private school participating in the Milwaukee Parental Choice
Program, the Racine Parental Choice Program, or the
Wisconsin Parental Choice Program, along with a school
board or an operator of an independent charter school, may:
determine to not administer an examination to a limited
English−speaking pupil; permit the pupil to be examined in
his or her native language; or modify the format and
administration of an examination for such pupils.  Chapter PI
13 was last modified on December 1, 2002.  Chapter PI 13 will
be updated to reflect the current statute.

3.  Description of the Existing Policies Relevant to the
Rule, New Policies Proposed to be Included in the Rule,
and an Analysis of Policy Alternatives

This proposed rule change would modify ch. PI 13 to
reflect current statutes and current agency practice.

4.  Detailed Explanation of Statutory Authority for the
Rule (Including the Statutory Citation and Language)

118.30  Pupil assessment.
180.30 (2) (b) 2.
According to criteria established by the state

superintendent by rule, the school board, operator of the
charter school under s. 118.40 (2r), governing body of the

private school participating in the program under s. 118.60, or
governing body of the private school participating in the
program under s. 119.23 may determine not to administer an
examination under this section to a limited−English speaking
pupil, as defined under s. 115.955 (7), may permit the pupil to
be examined in his or her native language, or may modify the
format and administration of an examination for such pupils.

5.  Estimate of Amount of Time that State Employees
will Spend Developing the Rule and of Other Resources
Necessary to Develop the Rule

The amount of time needed for rule development by
department staff and the amount of other resources necessary
are indeterminate.

6.  List with Description of all Entities that may be
Affected by the Proposed Rule

This rule change will affect school boards, operators of
118.40 (2r) charter schools, and the governing bodies of
private schools participating in the Milwaukee Parental
Choice Program, the Racine Parental Choice Program, or the
Wisconsin Parental Choice Program.

7.  Summary and Preliminary Comparison with any
Existing or Proposed Federal Regulation that is
Intended to Address the Activities to be Regulated by
the Proposed Rule

N/A.

8.  Anticipated Economic Impact of Implementing the
Rule (Note if the Rule is Likely to Have a Significant
Economic Impact on Small Businesses)

The proposed rules will have no significant economic
impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.

9.  Agency Contact
Policy and Budget Team
Katie Schumacher
(608) 267−9127
katie.schumacher@dpi.wi.gov.

Public Instruction

SS 119−13

Per the Dane County Circuit Court order issued in Coyne,
et al. v. Walker, et al., Case No. 11−CV−4573, the Department
of Public Instruction is not required to obtain the Governor’s
approval for this statement of scope.

Rule No.
Revises Chapter PI 34.

Relating to
Charter school teaching license.

Rule Type
Permanent.
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1.  Finding/Nature of the Emergency (Emergency Rule
Only)

N/A.

2.  Detailed Description of the Objective of the Proposed
Rule

2013 Wisconsin Act 20 created s. 115.28 (7) (g), Stats.,
which requires the Department of Public Instruction (DPI) to
grant a charter school teaching license to any person who has
a bachelor’s degree and demonstrates, based on criteria
established by the DPI, that the person is proficient in the
subject or subjects he or she intends to teach. Chapter PI 34
will  be modified to include the criteria that a person must meet
to demonstrate that the person is proficient in the subject or
subjects he or she intends to teach.

3.  Description of the Existing Policies Relevant to the
Rule, New Policies Proposed to be Included in the Rule,
and an Analysis of Policy Alternatives

This proposed rule change will include the proficiency
criteria established by DPI that a person must meet in order to
be granted a charter school teaching license.  The Department
is required to establish criteria by 2013 Wisconsin Act 20.

4.  Detailed Explanation of Statutory Authority for the
Rule (Including the Statutory Citation and Language)

115.28  General duties.  The state superintendent shall:
(7) LICENSING OF TEACHERS.

(a) License all teachers for the public schools of the state;
make rules establishing standards of attainment and
procedures for the examination and licensing of teachers
within the limits prescribed in ss. 118.19 (2) and (3), 118.192,
and 118.195; prescribe by rule standards, requirements, and
procedures for the approval of teacher preparatory programs
leading to licensure, including a requirement that, beginning
on July 1, 2012, and annually thereafter, each teacher
preparatory program located in this state shall submit to the
department a list of individuals who have completed the
program and who have been recommended by the program for
licensure under this subsection, together with each
individual’s date of program completion, from each term or
semester of the program’s most recently completed academic
year; file in the state superintendent’s office all papers relating
to state teachers’ licenses; and register each such license.

5.  Estimate of Amount of Time that State Employees
will Spend Developing the Rule and of Other Resources
Necessary to Develop the Rule

The amount of time needed for rule development by
department staff and the amount of other resources necessary
are indeterminate.

6.  List with Description of all Entities that may be
Affected by the Proposed Rule

This rule change could impact public schools, including
charter schools and educator preparation programs.

7.  Summary and Preliminary Comparison with any
Existing or Proposed Federal Regulation that is
Intended to Address the Activities to be Regulated by
the Proposed Rule

N/A.

8.  Anticipated Economic Impact of Implementing the
Rule (Note if the Rule is Likely to Have a Significant
Economic Impact on Small Businesses)

The proposed rules will have no significant economic
impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.

9.  Agency Contact
Policy and Budget Team
Katie Schumacher
(608) 267−9127
katie.schumacher@dpi.wi.gov.

Public Instruction

SS 120−13

Per the Dane County Circuit Court order issued in Coyne,
et al. v. Walker, et al., Case No. 11−CV−4573, the Department
of Public Instruction is not required to obtain the Governor’s
approval for this statement of scope.

Rule No.
Revises Chapter PI 34.

Relating to
Technical changes needed as a result of 2013−15 budget.

Rule Type
Permanent.

1.  Finding/Nature of the Emergency (Emergency Rule
Only)

N/A.

2.  Detailed Description of the Objective of the Proposed
Rule

The proposed rule change will make any necessary
changes to ch. PI 34 as a result of the 2013−15 budget, 2013
Wisconsin Act 20.  First, 2013 Wisconsin Act 2013 created s.
115.28 (7) (h), Stats., which provides that the Department of
Public Instruction (DPI) must promulgate a rule requiring an
applicant for a license to provide his or her home address.
Second, 2013 Wisconsin Act 20 created s. 118.19 (16), Stats.,
which states that the DPI must ensure that teaching experience
gained on an emergency permit issued by the DPI counts
toward fulfillment of the teaching experience requirement for
a license based on experience or for a license in a school
administrator category.  Third, 2013 Wisconsin Act 20
eliminated the requirement that any person that teaches an
online class in a public school, including a charter school,
must have completed at least 30 hours of professional
development designed to prepare a teacher for online
teaching.  Chapter PI 34 will be modified to reflect these
statutory changes as needed.

3.  Description of the Existing Policies Relevant to the
Rule, New Policies Proposed to be Included in the Rule,
and an Analysis of Policy Alternatives

This proposed rule change is needed to align ch. PI 34 with
the statutory changes in the 2013−15 budget.

4.  Detailed Explanation of Statutory Authority for the
Rule (Including the Statutory Citation and Language)

115.28  General duties.  The state superintendent shall:
(7) LICENSING OF TEACHERS.
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(a) License all teachers for the public schools of the state;
make rules establishing standards of attainment and
procedures for the examination and licensing of teachers
within the limits prescribed in ss. 118.19 (2) and (3), 118.192,
and 118.195; prescribe by rule standards, requirements, and
procedures for the approval of teacher preparatory programs
leading to licensure, including a requirement that, beginning
on July 1, 2012, and annually thereafter, each teacher
preparatory program located in this state shall submit to the
department a list of individuals who have completed the
program and who have been recommended by the program for
licensure under this subsection, together with each
individual’s date of program completion, from each term or
semester of the program’s most recently completed academic
year; file in the state superintendent’s office all papers relating
to state teachers’ licenses; and register each such license.

5.  Estimate of Amount of Time that State Employees
will Spend Developing the Rule and of Other Resources
Necessary to Develop the Rule

The amount of time needed for rule development by
department staff and the amount of other resources necessary
are indeterminate.

6.  List with Description of all Entities that may be
Affected by the Proposed Rule

This rule change could impact public schools, including
charter schools and educator preparation programs.

7.  Summary and Preliminary Comparison with any
Existing or Proposed Federal Regulation that is
Intended to Address the Activities to be Regulated by
the Proposed Rule

N/A.

8.  Anticipated Economic Impact of Implementing the
Rule (Note if the Rule is Likely to Have a Significant
Economic Impact on Small Businesses)

The proposed rules will have no significant economic
impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.

9.  Agency Contact
Policy and Budget Team
Katie Schumacher
(608) 267−9127
katie.schumacher@dpi.wi.gov.

Public Instruction

SS 121−13

Per the Dane County Circuit Court order issued in Coyne,
et al. v. Walker, et al., Case No. 11−CV−4573, the Department
of Public Instruction is not required to obtain the Governor’s
approval for this statement of scope.

Rule No.

Revises Chapter PI 37.

Relating to

2013−15 budget changes to grants for master educators and
nationally board certified educators.

Rule Type
Permanent.

1.  Finding/Nature of the Emergency (Emergency Rule
Only)

N/A.

2.  Detailed Description of the Objective of the Proposed
Rule

The proposed rule change will modify ch. PI 37 as a result
of the 2013−15 budget, 2013 Wisconsin Act 20.  2013
Wisconsin Act 20 created s. 115.42 (1) (a) 5., Stats., which
provides an additional requirement, that an applicant must
have a rating of “effective” or “highly effective” in the
applicable educator effectiveness system, in order to receive
a grant for national teacher certification or master educator
licensure.  2013 Wisconsin Act also created s. 115.42 (2) (d),
Stats., which states that in any of the 9 years following receipt
of a grant, if the grant recipient fails to maintain a rating of
“effective” or “highly effective” in the applicable educator
effectiveness system, as determined by the department, he or
she is not eligible for a grant in that school year.

3.  Description of the Existing Policies Relevant to the
Rule, New Policies Proposed to be Included in the Rule,
and an Analysis of Policy Alternatives

This proposed rule change is needed to align ch. PI 37 with
the statutory changes in the 2013−15 budget.

4.  Detailed Explanation of Statutory Authority for the
Rule (Including the Statutory Citation and Language)

115.42  Grants for national teacher certification or
master educator licensure.

(4)  The department shall promulgate rules to implement
and administer this section, including rules relating to all of
the following:

(a)  The application process, including necessary
documentation.

(b)  The selection process for grant recipients.
(c)  The number of times that a teacher may be exempt from

continuing professional education requirements under sub.
(3).

5.  Estimate of Amount of Time that State Employees
will Spend Developing the Rule and of Other Resources
Necessary to Develop the Rule

The amount of time needed for rule development by
department staff and the amount of other resources necessary
are indeterminate.

6.  List with Description of all Entities that may be
Affected by the Proposed Rule

This rule change could impact public schools, including
charter schools.

7.  Summary and Preliminary Comparison with any
Existing or Proposed Federal Regulation that is
Intended to Address the Activities to be Regulated by
the Proposed Rule

N/A.

8.  Anticipated Economic Impact of Implementing the
Rule (Note if the Rule is Likely to Have a Significant
Economic Impact on Small Businesses)

The proposed rules will have no significant economic
impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.
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9.  Agency Contact
Policy and Budget Team
Katie Schumacher
(608) 267−9127
katie.schumacher@dpi.wi.gov.

Revenue

SS 116−13

This scope statement was approved by the governor on
August 21, 2013.

Rule No.
Amends section Tax 12.50 and repeals sections Tax 20.01

to 20.03.

Relating to
Property tax administration.

1.  Finding/Nature of the Emergency (Emergency Rule
Only)

N/A.

2.  Detailed Description of the Objective of the Proposed
Rule

The proposed rule will amend s. Tax 12.50 to reflect
changes made to Wis. Stat. s. 70.111 (18) in 2013 Wisconsin
Act 20.

The proposed rule will repeal ss. Tax 20.01 to 20.03
because 2013 Wisconsin Act 20 repealed the department’s
rule−making authority under Wis. Stat. s. 73.03 (66).

3.  Description of Existing Policies Relevant to the Rule,
New Policies Proposed to be Included in the Rule, and
an Analysis of Policy Alternatives

Changes to s. Tax 12.50 will reflect the legislature’s policy
decision to include biogas and synthetic gas energy systems
under the renewable energy system property tax exemption.

The alternative is to leave the rule out of sync with the
statute.

2013 Wisconsin Act 20 repealed the appropriation found in
Wis. Stat. s. 20.835 (3) (qb) and the associated rule−making
authority in Wis. Stat. s. 73.03 (66).  The legislature has
clearly identified a policy that the department should no
longer appropriate lottery funds to the school levy tax credit.
Repealing the rule associated with this legislative change is
the only alternative, particularly in light of the legislature’s
repeal of the department’s rule−making authority in Wis. Stat.
s. 73.03 (66).

4.  Detailed Explanation of Statutory Authority for the
Rule (Including the Statutory Citation and Language)

Section 227.11 (2) (a), Stats. reads:
Each agency may promulgate rules interpreting the
provisions of any statute enforced or administered by
the agency, if the agency considers it necessary to
effectuate the purpose of the statute . . .

Section 73.03 (1), Stats. reads:
[It  shall be the duty of the department of revenue, and
it shall have power and authority:] To have and
exercise general supervision over the administration
of the assessment and tax laws of the state, over

assessors, boards of review, supervisors of
equalization, and assessors of incomes, and over the
county boards in the performance of their duties in
making the taxation district assessment, to the end that
all assessments of property be made relatively just and
equal at full value and that all assessments of income
may be legally and accurately made in substantial
compliance with law.

Section 70.111 (18), Stats., as amended by 2013 Wisconsin
Act 20, reads:

ENERGY SYSTEMS.  Biogas or synthetic gas energy
systems, solar energy systems, and wind energy
systems. In this subsection, “biogas or synthetic gas
energy system” means equipment which directly
converts biomass, as defined under section 45K (c) (3)
of the Internal Revenue Code, as interpreted by the
Internal Revenue Service, into biogas or synthetic gas,
equipment which generates electricity, heat, or
compressed natural gas exclusively from biogas or
synthetic gas, equipment which is used exclusively for
the direct transfer or storage of biomass, biogas, or
synthetic gas, and any structure used exclusively to
shelter or operate such equipment, or the portion of
any structure used in part to shelter or operate such
equipment that is allocable to such use, if all such
equipment, and any such structure, is located at the
same site, and includes manure, substrate, and other
feedstock collection and delivery systems, pumping
and processing equipment, gasifiers and digester
tanks, biogas and synthetic gas cleaning and
compression equipment, fiber separation and drying
equipment, and heat recovery equipment, but does not
include equipment or components that are present as
part of a conventional energy system. In this
subsection, “synthetic gas” is a gas that qualifies as a
renewable resource under s. 196.378 (1) (h) 1. h. In
this subsection, “solar energy system” means
equipment which directly converts and then transfers
or stores solar energy into usable forms of thermal or
electrical energy, but does not include equipment or
components that would be present as part of a
conventional energy system or a system that operates
without mechanical means.  In this subsection, “wind
energy system” means equipment which converts and
then transfers or stores energy from the wind into
usable forms of energy, but does not include
equipment or components that would be present as
part of a conventional energy system.

The department is clearly tasked with administering the tax
laws of the state, including personal property tax exemptions
in Wis. Stat. s. 70.111 (18).  The department finds that chapter
Tax 12.50 is necessary to effectuate the purpose of Wis. Stat.
s. 70.111 (18).

Section 73.03 (66), Stats. read:
[It  shall be the duty of the department of revenue, and
it shall have power and authority:] To promulgate rules
to ensure that the payments under s. 79.10 (4) made
from the appropriation account under s. 20.835 (3)
(qb) are used exclusively for school levy tax credits
granted to state residents.

2013 Wisconsin Act 20 repealed s. 73.03 (66), Stats.
Therefore, the department no longer has the statutory
authority for ss. Tax 20.01 to 20.03.
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5.  Estimate of Amount of Time that State Employees
Will Spend Developing the Rule and of Other Resources
Necessary to Develop the Rule

The department estimates it will take approximately
50 hours to develop the rule.

6.  List with Description of all Entities that may be
Affected by the Proposed Rule

Property owners, owners of biogas or synthetic gas energy
systems.

7.  Summary and Preliminary Comparison of any
Existing or Proposed Federal Regulation that is
Intended to Address the Activities to be Regulated by
the Proposed Rule

Wis. Stat. s. 70.111 (18), as amended by 2013 Wisconsin
Act 20, relies on the federal definition of biomass found in
section 45K (c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code, which
reads:

The term “biomass” means any organic material other
than—

(A) oil and natural gas (or any product thereof), and
(B) coal (including lignite) or any product thereof.

26 USC § 45K provides a federal income tax credit for
producing fuel from a nonconventional source, including gas
produced from biomass.  Additionally, H.R. 860, Biogas
Investment Tax Credit Act of 2013, was introduced by U.S.
Rep. Kind this year.  This bill would include biogas property
for an energy credit towards federal taxes for any taxable year
equal to ten percent of the amount of investment in each
energy property placed in service during such taxable year.

Biogas and synthetic gas digesters are also regulated by
federal air, solid waste, and water regulations, but these
federal regulations have little impact on the department’s
application of state tax laws.

There are no federal regulations addressing the school levy
tax credit or the activities for which the credit is available.

8.  Anticipated Economic Impact of Implementing the
Rule (Note if the Rule is Likely to Have a Significant
Economic Impact on Small Businesses)

The proposed rule will have minimal or no economic
impact.

The rule will have no economic impact on small business.

9.  Contact Person
Nate Ristow, (608) 266−6466 or Dale Kleven, (608)

266−8253.

Revenue

SS 117−13

This statement of scope was approved by the governor on
August 21, 2013.

Rule No.
Amends sections Tax 61.02 (10) and 61.04 (1) (e) and

creates section Tax 62.30.

Relating to
Lottery provisions.

1.  Finding/Nature of the Emergency (Emergency Rule
Only)

N/A.

2.  Detailed Description of the Objective of the Proposed
Rule

The proposed rule will amend ss. Tax 61.02 (10) and 61.04
(1) (e) to reflect changes made to Wis. Stat. s. 15.05 (3) (a) in
2013 Wisconsin Act 20.

The proposed rule will create s. Tax 62.30 to establish
procedures under Wis. Stat. s. 565.30 (1) (d), as created by
2013 Wisconsin Act 20.

3.  Description of Existing Policies Relevant to the Rule,
New Policies Proposed to be Included in the Rule, and
an Analysis of Policy Alternatives

Currently, ss. Tax 61.02 (10) and 61.04 (1) (e) refer to the
“Executive Assistant” of the Department of Revenue.  These
references were made obsolete by 2013 Wisconsin Act 20 and
will  be replaced with the appropriate title pursuant to Wis.
Stat. s. 15.05 (3) (a), as recreated by 2013 Wisconsin Act 20.
The proposed rule will simply reflect legislative policy
decisions.

The alternative is to leave the rules with an outdated
reference.

2013 Wisconsin Act 20 amended Wis. Stat. s. 565.30 (1),
creating the option for a deceased prize winner’s estate to
receive a lump sum payment of the prize winnings in lieu of
continuing annuity payments.  The statute directs the lottery
administrator to establish procedures for persons to submit
petitions to receive the lump sum payment.  The proposed rule
will  create s. Tax 62.30 to establish clear procedures for estate
representatives and beneficiaries seeking to convert lottery
prize annuity payments to a lump sum.  The proposed rule will
not establish new policy, but merely facilitate the legislative
policy decision to allow a prize winner’s estate the option of
converting annuity payments to a lump sum payment.

The policy alternatives are to provide a detailed
explanation of the petition procedure, to provide a simple
directive to a form provided by the administrator, or not to
promulgate a rule, which is an alternative that may not adhere
to Wis. Stat. s. 227.10 (1).

4.  Detailed Explanation of Statutory Authority for the
Rule (Including the Statutory Citation and Language)

Section 565.02 (4), Stats. reads:
The department may promulgate all of the following

rules:
(a)  Implementing the provisions of this chapter.

Section 565.05 (1), Stats., as revised by 2013 Wisconsin
Act 20, reads:

No employee in the lottery division of the department
or the secretary, deputy secretary, or assistant deputy
secretary of revenue may do any of the following:

(a) Have a direct or indirect interest in, or be
employed by, any vendor while serving as an employee
in the lottery division of the department or as secretary,
deputy secretary, or assistant deputy secretary of
revenue or for 2 years following the person’s
termination of service.

(b) Have a direct or indirect interest in or be employed
by a business which has entered into a retailer contract
under s. 565.10.

(d) Accept or agree to accept money or any other
thing of value from any vendor, retailer or person who
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has submitted a bid, proposal or application to be a
vendor or retailer.

Section 15.05 (3) (a), Stats., as revised by 2013 Wisconsin
Act 20, reads:

Each secretary may appoint an assistant deputy
secretary to serve at his or her pleasure outside the
classified service.  The assistant deputy secretary shall
perform duties as the secretary prescribes.

Tax 61.02 (10) and 61.04 (1) (e) implement the
provisions of ch. 565, Stats.  2013 Wisconsin Act 20
changes to the titles in Wis. Stat. ss. 565.05 (1) and 15.05
(3) (a) need to be reflected in the department’s rules.

Section 565.30 (1) (d), as created by 2013 Wisconsin Act
20, reads:

The administrator shall establish a procedure for
submitting petitions under pars. (b) and (c).

Section 227.10 (1) reads:
Each agency shall promulgate as a rule each statement

of general policy and each interpretation of a statute which
it specifically adopts to govern its enforcement or
administration of that statute.

The procedures to be established in s. Tax 62.30, pursuant
to 565.30 (1) (d), Stats., will be generally applicable and are,
therefore, properly promulgated as a rule under 227.10 (1),
Stats.  Additional statutory authority may be found in Wis.
Stat. s. 565.02 (4), as the procedures will implement
provisions of ch. 565, Stats.

5.  Estimate of Amount of Time that State Employees
Will Spend Developing the Rule and of Other Resources
Necessary to Develop the Rule

The department estimates it will take approximately
50 hours to develop the rule.

6.  List with Description of all Entities that may be
Affected by the Proposed Rule

Personal representatives and beneficiaries of prize
winners’ estates.

7.  Summary and Preliminary Comparison of any
Existing or Proposed Federal Regulation that is
Intended to Address the Activities to be Regulated by
the Proposed Rule

The department is not aware of any federal statutes or
regulations that address the activities regulated by these rules.

8.  Anticipated Economic Impact of Implementing the
Rule (Note if the Rule is Likely to Have a Significant
Economic Impact on Small Businesses)

The proposed rule will have minimal or no economic
impact.

The rule will have no economic impact on small business.

9. Contact Person
Nate Ristow, (608) 266−6466 or Dale Kleven, (608)

266−8253.
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Submittal of Proposed Rules to Legislative
 Council Clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings — Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Public Service Commission
CR 13−068

(PSC Docket # 1−AC−236)

Pursuant to s. 227.14 (4m), Stats., on September 16, 2013,
the Public Service Commission of Wisconsin submitted a
proposed rule to the Joint Legislative Council Staff (Rules
Clearinghouse) for review.

This rule is not subject to s. 227.135 (2), Stats., as affected
by 2011 Wisconsin Act 21.  The scope statement for this rule,
published in Wisconsin Administrative Register No. 665 on
June 1, 2011, was sent to the Legislative Reference Bureau
prior to June 8, 2011.
Analysis

The proposed rule revises Chapter PSC 160, relating to

universal service support funding and programs.
This rulemaking is authorized under ss. 196.02 (1) and (3),

196.218 (5) (b) and (5m), and 227.11(2), Stats.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing will be held on Tuesday, October 22,
2013, at 10:00 a.m., at the Public Service Commission
building at 610 North Whitney Way, Madison, Wisconsin.

Contact Person
The Telecommunications Division of the Commission is

the organizational unit responsible for the promulgation of the
rule.  The contact person is Jeff Richter, USF Director,
(608) 267−9624 or jeff.richter@wisconsin.gov.
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Rule−Making Notices

Notice of Hearing

Agricultur e, Trade and Consumer Protection
EmR1315

The state of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade
and Consumer Protection (DATCP) announces that it will
hold a public hearing on its emergency rule, section ATCP
21.17, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to the quarantine of Dodge,
Douglas, and Winnebago Counties for the emerald ash borer
beetle.

DATCP will hold a public hearing at the time and place
shown below.

Hearing Information

Date: Friday, October 11, 2013
Time: 1:00 p.m.
Location: Department of Agriculture, Trade and

Consumer Protection 
Conference Room 266 (2nd Floor)
2811 Agriculture Drive
Madison, WI 53718

Hearing impaired persons may request an interpreter for
this hearing.  Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by October 7, 2013, by writing to Barbara Stalker,
Division of Agricultural Resource Management, P.O. Box
8911, Madison, WI 53708−8911, telephone (608) 224−4660.
Alternatively, you may contact the DATCP TDD at (608)
224−5058.  The hearing facility is accessible to disabled users.

Appearances at the Hearing, Copies of Proposed Rule,
and Submittal of Written Comments

DATCP invites the public to attend the hearing and
comment on the emergency rule.  Following the public
hearing, the hearing record will remain open until Friday,
October 18, 2013, for additional written comments.
Comments may be sent to the Division of Agricultural
Resource Management at the address below to
christopher.deegan@wisconsin.gov or at http://adminrules.
wisconsin.gov.

You may obtain a free copy of this emergency rule by
contacting the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade
and Consumer Protection, Division of Agricultural Resource
Management, 2811 Agriculture Drive, P.O. Box 8911,
Madison, WI 53708.  You can also obtain a copy by calling
(608) 224−4573 or emailing christopher.deegan@
wisconsin.gov.  Copies will also be available at the hearing.
To view the emergency rule online, please go to:
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov

To provide comments or concerns relating to small
business, please contact DATCP’s small business regulatory
coordinator, Keeley Moll, at the address above, by emailing
to keeley.moll@wisconsin.gov or by telephone at (608)
224−5039.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection

This emergency rule creates quarantines for Dodge,
Douglas, and Winnebago counties for the emerald ash borer
(“EAB”).   Under this rule, the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection (“DATCP”) quarantines
Dodge, Douglas, and Winnebago counties to mitigate the
movement of emerald ash borer to other areas of Wisconsin
and other states.

DATCP is adopting this temporary emergency rule
pending the adoption of a federal regulation to quarantine
Dodge, Douglas, and Winnebago counties.  This emergency
rule will take effect immediately upon publication in the
official state newspaper, and will remain in effect for 150
days.  The Legislature’s Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules may extend the emergency rule for up
to 120 additional days.

Statutes interpreted
Sections 93.07 (12) and 94.01, Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 93.07 (1), 93.07 (12), 94.01 and 227.24, Stats.

Explanation of statutory authority
DATCP has broad general authority, under s. 93.07 (1),

Stats., to adopt regulations to enforce laws under its
jurisdiction.  DATCP also has broad general authority under
ss. 93.07 (12) and 94.01, Stats., to adopt regulations to prevent
and control plant pest infestations.  Emerald ash borer
quarantines created by this rule are part of an overall state
strategy to prevent and control plant pest infestations,
including EAB infestations.  DATCP is adopting this
temporary emergency rule under authority of s. 227.24, Stats.,
pending the adoption of federal regulations on the same
subject.

Background
The United States Department of Agriculture – Animal and

Plant Health Inspection Service (“APHIS”) positively
identified EAB in Dodge County at Riverside Park in
Watertown on August 1, 2013, and from an ash tree at a private
residence in Black Wolf township in Winnebago County on
August 6, 2013.  On August 13, 2013, APHIS confirmed the
presence of EAB in a street tree from the City of Superior in
Douglas County.  This emergency rule creates a DATCP
quarantine for Dodge, Douglas, and Winnebago counties.  A
Federal quarantine will be enacted approximately six to eight
weeks after a formal submission by the state plant regulatory
official.  EAB is carried and spread by untreated ash wood
products.  A six week delay until enactment of the federal
quarantine leaves too much time for businesses or individuals
to move potentially EAB infested material out of the county
to areas of Wisconsin or other states that are not infested with
EAB.

EAB is an injurious exotic pest that now endangers
Wisconsin’s 750 million ash trees and ash resources.  This
insect has the potential to destroy entire stands of ash, and any
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incursion of EAB can result in substantial losses both to forest
ecosystems and to urban trees, as well as the state’s vital
tourism and timber industries.  The emerald ash borer has
killed over fifty million trees in the Midwest and has cost
several hundred million dollars in losses to the woodlot,
nursery, landscape industries and municipalities.  APHIS
predicts the national urban impact alone from this pest may
exceed $370 billion.

DATCP has plant inspection and pest control authority
under s. 94.01, Stats., to adopt rules establishing quarantines
or other restrictions on the importation into, or movement of,
plants or other materials within this state, if these measures are
necessary to prevent or control the spread of injurious plant
pests.  A quarantine order may prohibit the movement of any
pest, or any plant, pest host or pest−harboring material, which
may transmit or harbor a pest.

Emergency rule content

Under this emergency rule, movement of all hardwood
(non−coniferous) firewood of any type, plus movement of any
ash wood out of Dodge, Douglas, and Winnebago counties, is
prohibited with certain exceptions.  The emergency rule will
do the following:

� Create quarantines for EAB for Dodge, Douglas, and
Winnebago counties that prohibit the movement of all
hardwood species of firewood, nursery stock, green
lumber, and other material living, dead, cut, or fallen,
including logs, stumps, roots, branches, and
composted and uncomposted chips of the genus
Fraxinus (Ash wood), out of these counties or any
contiguous EAB quarantined counties.

� Provide an exemption for items that have been
inspected and certified by a pest control official and
are accompanied by a written certificate issued by the
pest control official (some products, such as nursery
stock, cannot be given an exemption).

� Provide an exemption for businesses that enter into a
state or federal compliance agreement. The
compliance agreement describes in detail what a
company can and cannot do with regulated articles.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

Data for this analysis was obtained from DATCP nursery
license records, local business directories and field surveys of
the wood products industry (e.g. timber, lumber, firewood) in
the area.  This analysis was based on the regulatory language
of s. ATCP 21.17 and 7 CFR 301.53, on the observations of
DATCP nursery inspectors, and on conversations with
stakeholders in the nursery and other timber−related
industries.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

DATCP searched its nursery license database to obtain
current records for licensed nursery growers operating in
Dodge, Douglas, and Winnebago counties.  Based on
previous and ongoing work with Wisconsin’s Gypsy Moth
and firewood certification programs, DATCP staff also
identified known saw mills, wood products companies and
firewood industry concerns.  Finally, online Yellow Pages
business listings were also searched to find related tree
nursery, timber, firewood and tree service companies.

Business Impact
This emergency rule may have an impact on persons or

companies that deal in any hardwood firewood or ash
materials in Dodge, Douglas, and Winnebago counties.  The
affected businesses are all small businesses.  This emergency
rule restricts the sale or distribution of ash trees, ash wood
products, and any hardwood firewood from Dodge, Douglas,
and Winnebago counties to locations outside of these counties
or any contiguously quarantined counties, and to neighboring
states.

The business impact of this emergency rule depends on the
number of 1) nurseries that sell or distribute ash nursery stock
outside these counties, 2) firewood producers/dealers that sell
or distribute outside these counties, 3) sawmills that move
untreated ash stock (green lumber) outside these counties, and
4) untreated wood waste (e.g. ash brush, chips, or mulch) that
is moved outside these counties.

Dodge, Douglas and Winnebago counties have a total of 22
licensed nursery growers that could possibly be growing ash
nursery stock.  Those growers will not be able to move or sell
ash nursery stock outside of the quarantine area, though
discussions with the Wisconsin Nursery Association indicate
that few, if any, nurseries continue to sell ash trees.  There are
also 31 known firewood producers or dealers in Dodge,
Douglas, and Winnebago counties.  Firewood dealers would
need to be certified under s. ATCP 21.20 to sell or move
firewood outside of the quarantine area.  To obtain
certification a firewood dealer pays a $50 annual certification
fee to DATCP and treats the firewood in a manner that ensures
it is free of EAB.  There are seven lumber mills in Dodge,
Douglas, and Winnebago counties and an estimated 20 other
tree service/wood processing facilities that may also deal with
ash.  To transport ash wood products outside of the quarantine
area they will have to enter into a compliance agreement with
DATCP or APHIS that authorizes movement of ash products
outside of the quarantine only when there is assurance that the
movement will not spread EAB to non−quarantined locations.
Certification and compliance agreements will require some
additional recordkeeping on the part of those businesses.

Envir onmental Impact
This emergency rule will not have a significant impact on

the environment.

Federal and Surrounding State Programs

Federal programs
Under the federal Plant Protection Act, APHIS has

responsibility for excluding, eradicating and controlling
serious plant pests, including EAB.  APHIS has instituted
statewide quarantines on the movement of all ash wood for
Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West
Virginia, in addition to portions of Connecticut, Iowa, Kansas,
Kentucky, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota,
Missouri, New Hampshire, New York, North Carolina, and
Tennessee.  APHIS has also enacted quarantines for Brown,
Kenosha, Racine, Walworth, Rock, Milwaukee, Waukesha,
Jefferson, Ozaukee, Washington, Sheboygan, Fond du Lac,
Trempealeau, La Crosse, Vernon, Sauk, and Crawford
Counties in Wisconsin.  The quarantines include restrictions
on the movement of any hardwood (non−coniferous)
firewood.
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Surrounding state programs
Surrounding states where EAB has been identified

(Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Minnesota, and Michigan) have state
and federal quarantines that prohibit the movement of
regulated articles out of quarantined areas.  A regulated article
can only move out of quarantined areas after it is certified by
USDA or state officials.

DATCP Contact
Questions and comments (including hearing comments)

related to this rule may be directed to:
Brian Kuhn or Christopher Deegan
Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer

Protection
P.O. Box 8911
Madison, WI 53708−8911
Telephone (608) 224−4590 or (608) 224−4573
E−Mail:  brian.kuhn@wisconsin.gov or

christopher.deegan@wisconsin.gov

FISCAL ESTIMATE
 DOA−2048  (R 10/94)          X  ORIGINAL                � UPDATED
                                                    � CORRECTED        �   SUPPLEMENTAL

LRB or Bill No. / Adm. Rule
No.
     Ch. ATCP 21
Amendment No.  (If Appli-
cable)
 

Subject:

Emergency Rule for Quarantine of Dodge, Douglas and Winnebago counties for Emerald Ash Borer

Fiscal Effect

State:   X No State Fiscal Effect
 
Check below only if bill  makes a direct appropriation or affects a sum sufficient
appropriation.

� Increase Existing Appropriation     � Increase Existing Revenues
� Decrease Existing Appropriation    � Decrease Existing Revenues
� Create New Appropriation

� Increase Costs –

May be possible to absorb within agency’s
budget?     � Yes   � No

� Decrease Costs

Local:
    X  No local government costs

5. Types of Local Gov. Unit Affected:
� Towns       � Villages
� Counties   � Cities
� Other:  County Drainage Boards
� School Districts
� WTCS Districts

1. �  Increase Costs
    � Permissive    � Mandatory
2. �  Decrease Costs
    �  Permissive   �  Mandatory

3. � Increase Revenues
    � Permissive  � Mandatory
4. � Decrease Revenues
    � Permissive  � Mandatory

Fund Source Affected:

        � GPR   � FED   � PRO   � PRS   � SEG   � SEG−S

Affected Ch. 20 Appropriations:
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Assumptions Used in Arriving at Fiscal Estimate

The United States Department of Agriculture — Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) positively identified
Emerald Ash Borer (EAB) in Dodge County at Riverside Park in Watertown on August 1, 2013, and from an ash tree at a pri-
vate residence in Black Wolf township in Winnebago County on August 6, 2013.  On August 13, 2013, APHIS confirmed the
presence of EAB in a street tree from the City of Superior in Douglas County.  This emergency rule creates a Wisconsin
Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) quarantine for Dodge, Douglas and Winnebago counties.
A federal quarantine will be enacted approximately six to eight weeks after a formal submission by the state plant regulatory
official.  EAB is carried and spread by untreated ash wood products.  A six week delay until enactment of the federal quaran-
tines leaves too much time for businesses or individuals to move potentially emerald ash borer infested material out of these
counties to areas of Wisconsin or other states that are not infested with EAB.

EAB is an injurious exotic pest that now endangers Wisconsin’s 750 million ash trees and ash resources. This insect has the
potential to destroy entire stands of ash, and any incursion of EAB can result in substantial losses both to forest ecosystems and
to urban trees, as well as the state’s vital tourism and timber industries. The emerald ash borer has killed over fifty million trees
in the Midwest and has cost several hundred million dollars in losses to the woodlot, nursery, landscape industries and munici-
palities. APHIS predicts the national urban impact alone from this pest may exceed $370 billion.

DATCP has plant inspection and pest control authority under s. 94.01, Stats., to adopt rules establishing quarantines or other
restrictions on the importation into or movement of plants or other materials within this state, if these measures are necessary
to prevent or control the spread of injurious plant pests.  A quarantine order may prohibit the movement of any pest, or any
plant, pest host or pest−harboring material which may transmit or harbor a pest.

The proposed rule will do the following:

� Create quarantines for  EAB for Dodge, Douglas and Winnebago counties that prohibit the movement of all hardwood
species of firewood, nursery stock, green lumber, and other material living, dead, cut or fallen, including logs, stumps, roots,
branches and composted and uncomposted chips of the genus Fraxinus (Ash wood), out of these counties or any contiguous
EAB quarantined counties.

� Provide an exemption for items that have been inspected and certified by a pest control official and are accompanied by a
written certificate issued by the pest control official.

� Provide an exemption for businesses that enter into a state or federal compliance agreement.  The compliance agreement
describes in detail what a company can and cannot do with regulated articles.

This rule will be administered by DATCP.  DATCP will have additional workload related to enforcing the quarantine but it will
be able to absorb the projected workload and costs within DATCP’s current budget and with current staff.  The presence of
EAB may produce additional workload for local governments in Dodge, Douglas and Winnebago counties, but the quarantine
itself will not produce any local fiscal impact.

Long − Range Fiscal Implications

If  multiple infestations are found in this state, DATCP may experience substantial costs and personnel demands for providing
regulatory oversight and working with affected industries.  Costs may vary, depending on the nature and scope of the infesta-
tions, and cannot be accurately predicted at this time.

Agency Prepared by (Name & Phone No.):

DATCP / Christopher Deegan
(608−224−4573)

Authorized Signature: Date:

August 19, 2013

Notice of Hearing
Natural Resources

Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—
There is no clearinghouse or emergency rule number

for this rule as neither the emergency rule nor the
permanent rule have been filed.

(DNR # WM−11−13 and WM−24−13(E))
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to sections

29.014, 29.041, and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., interpreting

sections 29.014, 29.041, and 29.192, Stats., the Department of
Natural Resources will hold public meetings on revisions to
Chapters NR 1, 10, 13, and 45, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to
deer management, hunting, and implementation of the 2012
White−tailed Deer Trustee Report.

The hearings will be held October 22 through October 31
at each of the following locations at the following times:
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October 22

Eagle River Northland Pines HS Auditorium 1800 Pleasure Island Rd. 6 to 8 p.m.

Eau Claire DNR Service Center Conf. Rm 1300 W. Clairemont Ave. 7 to 9 p.m.

Park Falls Park Falls High School Auditorium 400 9th Street North 6 to 8 p.m.

Prairie du Chien Prairie du Chien City Hall 214 East Blackhawk Ave. 7 to 9 p.m.

Richland Center Richland County Courthouse Board Room 181 West Seminary St. 6 to 8 p.m.

Schofield D.C. Everest Middle School Auditorium 9302 Schofield Ave. 7 to 9 p.m.

Superior Superior Public Library 1530 Tower Ave. 6 to 8 p.m.

October 23

Black River Falls BRF Middle School/Lunda Auditorium 1202 Pierce St. 7 to 9 p.m.

Burlington Veterans Terrace — Stars and Stripes Room589 Milwaukee Ave. 6 to 8 p.m.

Horicon Horicon Marsh Education and Visitor Center N7725 Hwy 28 6 to 8 p.m.

Plymouth Plymouth High School 125 Highland Ave. 7 to 9 p.m.

Rhinelander James Williams Middle School, Auditorium 915 Acacia Lane 6 to 8 p.m.

October 24

Green Bay NWTC Room SC 132 2740 W. Mason St. 7 to 9 p.m.

Wautoma Wautoma High School Cafeteria 514 S. Cambridge St. 7 to 9 p.m.

Hayward Hayward High School, Auditorium 10320 Greenwood Ln. 6 to 8 p.m.

Portage Law Enforcement Center 711 East Cook St. 6 to 8 p.m.

La Crosse DNR Service Center Room B−19 3550 Mormon Coulee Rd. 7 to 9 p.m.

Mauston Mauston High School Auditorium 800 Grayside Ave. 7 to 9 p.m.

October 29

Ashland Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center 29270 County Hwy G 6 to 8 p.m.

Baldwin DNR Service Center, Conference Room 890 Spruce St. 7 to 9 p.m.

Clintonville Clintonville High School 64 West Green Tree Rd. 7 to 9 p.m.

Fitchburg DNR Service Center − Gathering Waters CR 3911 Fish Hatchery Rd. 6 to 8 p.m.

Florence Natural Resources Center Conference Room55631 Forestry Dr. 7 to 9 p.m.

Grantsburg Crex Meadows Wildlife Education & 
Visitors Center

102 E. Crex Avenue 7 to 9 p.m.

Janesville DNR Service Center — Janesville 2514 Morse St. 6 to 8 p.m.

Medford Medford High School Red − White Theater 1015 W. Broadway Ave. 6 to 8 p.m.

Pewaukee Wildwood Lodge — Hudson Bay Room N14 W24121 Tower Place 6 to 8 p.m.

October 30

Antigo Antigo High School Auditorium 1900 10th Ave. 7 to 9 p.m.

Barron Barron Cnty Government Cntr, Room 110 355 East Monroe Ave. 7 to 9 p.m.

Crivitz Crivitz High School 400 South Ave. 7 to 9 p.m.

Dodgeville DNR Service Center 1500 N. Johns St. 6 to 8 p.m.

Fountain City Cochrane/Fountain City HS Auditorium S2770 STH 35 7 to 9 p.m.

Oshkosh Webster Stanley Middle School 915 Hazel St. 7 to 9 p.m.
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October 31

Ladysmith Ladysmith High School Auditorium 1700 E. Edgewood Ave. 6 to 8 p.m.

Darlington Darlington Elementary School Auditorium 11630 Center Hill Rd. 6 to 8 p.m.

Appearances at Hearing
Pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act,

reasonable accommodations, including the provision of
informational material in an alternative format, will be
provided for qualified individuals with disabilities upon
request.  Please call Scott Loomans at (608) 267−2452 with
specific information on your request at least 10 days before
the date of the scheduled hearing.

Copies of Rule and Written Comments
The proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be reviewed and

comments electronically submitted at the following Internet
site:  http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov or by searching the
keywords “administrative rules” on the department’s website.
Written comments on the proposed rule may be submitted via
U.S. mail to Mr. Scott Loomans, Bureau of Wildlife
Management, P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707 or by email
to scott.loomans@wisconsin.gov.  Comments may be
submitted until October 31.  Written comments, whether
submitted electronically or by U.S. mail, will have the same
weight and effect as oral statements presented at the public
hearings.  A personal copy of the proposed rule and fiscal
estimate may be obtained from Mr. Loomans.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Natural
Resources

Plain language analysis
There has been dissatisfaction with various issues related

to white−tailed deer management and hunting in Wisconsin.
Gubernatorial candidate Scott Walker made a promise to
appoint a “Deer Trustee” to review programs.  In October of
2011 Dr. James C. Kroll, officially known as Wisconsin’s
white−tailed deer trustee, entered into a contract with the State
of Wisconsin to conduct an independent, objective and

scientifically−based review of Wisconsin’s deer management
practices.  The White−tailed Deer Trustee’s report was
released to the public in July, 2012.

The objective of these proposed rules is to work with
sportsmen and sportswomen and other stakeholders in order
to implement ideas and solutions from the Deer Trustee’s
report to forge a new age for deer management.

Sections 1 to 6 update Natural Resources Board policy so
that the term “population objective” and “goal” are used
consistently and for concise wording.

Section 7 creates introductory material that organizes the
current ch. NR 10 as Subchapter 1 and prepares for the
creation of another subchapter.

Sections 8, 28, and 29 establish that CWD management
zones will be identified as CWD−affected areas and are based
on counties and not the previous configuration of deer
management units and portions of units.  These sections also
establish that the population density objective in
CWD−affected areas or portions of counties in
CWD−affected areas is to decrease the deer herd.

Section 9 creates a definition of “afield” for the purpose of
establishing that a deer cannot be accompanied by someone
other than the person who tagged it if the person who tagged
the deer is not also present while afield, similar to current
rules.

Section 10 updates cross references and makes a
cross−reference to the law which establishes the archer
license more general so that it will continue to be accurate if
new statutes related to hunting with crossbows are enacted.

Sections 11 to 17 of this proposal establish the deer hunting
season dates for gun, archery, muzzleloader, and deer hunting
by youth hunters.  The standard deer hunting season
framework established in these sections is:

Bow & Arrow/Archery Saturday nearest September 15 and continuing through
the Sunday nearest January 6.

Youth Two consecutive days beginning on the Saturday near-
est October 8

October antlerless−only firearm (occurs only in those
units where CWD or other disease has been found, and
only after promulgation of emergency rules pursuant to
s. 29.016(2), Stats.)

Four consecutive days beginning on a Thursday and
ending on the Saturday nearest, but not later than Octo-
ber 15th.

Traditional firearm deer season Saturday before Thanksgiving Day Holiday and contin-
uing for 9 days.

Muzzleloader only Beginning on the day after the traditional November
firearm deer season and continuing for 14 days.

Holiday firearm deer season (South of State HWY 64)Beginning on December 24 and continuing through the
Sunday nearest January 6.

Noteworthy changes to current rule are that there is no
longer a 4−day December antlerless−only, any−firearm−type
deer season.  These 4 days are instead added to the
muzzleloader only season, extending that season from 10 to
14 days.  This section establishes that a season commonly
referred to as the December holiday hunt, beginning on
December 24 and continuing through the Sunday nearest

January 6, is an either sex season south of State Highway 64
rather than open only in the CWD management zone.  For
consistency with statewide firearm hunting regulations, these
sections repeal the extended firearm deer season that had been
established for Metropolitan deer hunting units.  Metropolitan
units would continue to have a longer archer season which
continues through the end of January.  This section eliminates
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references to state park hunting seasons which are no longer
needed because state statute has established that deer hunting
is generally allowed in state parks.  This section retains
language which establishes the seasons for certain state parks
when it is still needed because the existing seasons are
different than the general statewide seasons.  Finally, this
section eliminates state park deer management unit
designations and limited entry state park deer hunts.

These sections establish a bag limit of one buck during
firearm deer seasons and one buck during bow & arrow
seasons, plus additional antlerless deer where permits are
available.

Finally, these sections make a number of remedial changes
for consistency with state statute related to the elimination of
earn−a−buck regulations for the first buck harvested.

Sections 18, 19, and 22 update cross references related to
sharp−tailed grouse, fisher, and bear management zones or
subzones so that the deer management unit map in effect in
2013 continues to be the one cross referenced.

Section 20 restores the protected status of white deer in a
CWD management area.

Section 21 repeals a cross−reference related to blaze
orange requirements during deer seasons in CWD zones
which is not necessary because blaze orange requirements are
already established in statute.

Section 23 revises population goals so that they will be
expressed as management objectives to increase, maintain, or
decrease the deer population density in a management unit.
This section also establishes antlerless permits and their
allowable uses and methods of distribution.  This section
establishes a $12.00 fee for bonus permits which are issued for
a CWD−affected area and a $6.00 fee for bonus permits issued
under the Deer Management Assistance Program.  Finally,
this section establishes that one bonus buck may be harvested
in units with an objective to decrease the deer population
instead of just in a CWD management zone.  The harvest of
two antlerless deer is required first and there is a limit of one
bonus buck per year.

Section 24 modifies the tagging procedures so that a deer
possessed in the field must be accompanied by the person who
tagged it, even if the deer has already been registered.  Deer
which have been registered may be transported on roadways
or possessed at home by someone other than the person who
tagged it, consistent with current rules.

Section 25 establishes that a harvest registration number
must be printed on the carcass tag to show proof that a deer has
been registered with the department.

Section 26 modifies deer registration procedures to allow
telephone or electronic recording of harvest.  The ability to
require in person registration in a CWD area is retained if the
department determines that is necessary at times.  Deer and
bear harvest must be registered with the department by 5:00
p.m. of the day after the deer is taken into possession.
Registration requirements will be the same statewide for both
firearm and archer harvested deer.

Section 27 establishes deer management units, including
metropolitan units.  The note in this Section also maintains the
deer management unit map that was in effect in 2013 because
those boundaries continue to be used for other purposes such
as the basis for the fisher management zone map.  [For
purposes of rules hearings in October 2013, the department
will  be evaluating a map based on the consolidation of

existing deer management units and an alternative proposal to
use counties as deer management units]

Section 30 establishes the Deer Management Assistance
Program to assist with specialized management of deer in
localized areas and for specific purposes.  This section
establishes fees and other conditions for participation in the
program.

Section 31 updates a cross−reference related to
establishing the harvest quota for tribal members in the ceded
territories.

Section 32 repeals the requirement to obtain a special
permit before hunting deer in a state park in the CWD
management zone.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulations

These state rules and statutes do not relieve individuals
from the restrictions, requirements and conditions of federal
statutes and regulations.  Regulating the hunting and trapping
of native species has been delegated to state fish and wildlife
agencies

Comparison with rules in adjacent states
All  of Wisconsin’s surrounding states use hunting seasons

to provide hunting opportunities and to manage white−tailed
deer herds.  All of the surrounding states utilize a range of
hunting seasons and allow the use of archery equipment,
firearms and muzzleloading firearms at certain times.  The
seasons proposed in this rule order do not vary significantly
from the hunting opportunities that are available in other
states.

Illinois:  The Illinois archery season runs from October 1,
2013 − January 19, 2014 except that it is closed during the
firearm deer season in those portions of the state that hold a
firearm deer season.  Illinois has two periods for firearm deer
hunting, a muzzleloader season, and special CWD and
antlerless−only seasons.  The first firearm season in 2013 is
November 22 − 24 and the second season is December 5 to 8.
The muzzleloader season is Dec. 13 − 15.  The special CWD
and antlerless−only seasons occur on December 26 − 29 and
January 17 − 19, 2014.  A youth firearm deer hunt is open on
October 12 − 14.  All firearm hunting permits are distributed
first through a tiered drawing system where residents have a
higher chance of being selected for a permit than
non−residents, then through a random daily drawing, and
finally they are offered over−the−counter on a first−come
first−served basis until the unit’s quota is reached.  Hunters
who are eligible to purchase a hunting permit receive an
either−sex permit and one bonus antlerless−only permit.
There is no limit on the number of resident archery licenses
that will be issued, and each resident archery license includes
an antlerless−only and an either sex permit.  Non−resident
archery licenses also include an either sex permit and an
antlerless−only permit, but are allocated through a lottery
system.

Iowa: In Iowa, there are two archery seasons, two
muzzleloader season, and two shotgun seasons.  There is also
an antlerless−only season, a youth hunt for residents, and a
holiday season for nonresidents.  The archery season runs
from October 1 − December 6 and December 23 − January 10,
2014.  The muzzleloader seasons run from October 12 – 20
(residents only) and December 23 − January 10, 2014.  The
shotgun seasons run from December 7 − 11 and December 14
− 22.  The antlerless−only season runs from January 11 – 19,
2014, the youth hunt runs from September 21− October 6, and
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the holiday season runs from December 24 − January 2, 2014.
When a hunter purchases an ‘Any Deer License’, they are
entitled to harvesting either a buck or an antlerless deer
statewide.  Hunters also have the option to purchase an
‘Antlerless−only License’ which is valid for a specific zone
in the state.  The number of antlerless licenses available in any
particular zone is determined by a quota system, and hunters
are able to purchase these licenses on a first−come
first−served basis until the quota is reached.

Michigan:  Michigan has one firearm season, two archery
seasons, and one muzzleloader season, as well as two
antlerless−only seasons and a youth hunt.  The firearm season
run November 15 – 30.  The archery seasons runs October 1
– November 14 and December 1 – January 1, 2014.
Michigan’s muzzleloader−only season is split into three zones
with each zone’s season occurring in December and lasting
for either 10 or 17 days.  The antlerless−only seasons run from
September 21−22 and December 23 – January 1, 2014 and the
youth hunt occurs on Sept 21−22.  Hunters interested in
harvesting an antlerless deer must purchase an antlerless
license that is valid within a specific DMU for use on either
public land or private land.  In some DMUs, these licenses
may only be purchased over the counter, whereas in others
there is an application process and drawing.

Minnesota:  Minnesota has one archery season, one firearm
season that is divided into four separate zones, and one
muzzleloader season.  There is also a special archery season
on Camp Ripley (a military base) and a youth season.  The
archery season runs from September 14 – December 31. The
firearm season runs November 9 – 17, November 9 – 24, or
November 23 – December 1 depending on the zone.  The
muzzleloader season runs November 30 – December 15.  The
special archery hunt on Camp Ripley occurs on October 26 –
27 and November 2−3.  The youth hunt runs from October 17
– 20.  Antlerless permits are distributed through a license
lottery in “lottery” areas of the state.  In “Hunter Choice”,
“Managed”, or “Intensive” areas licenses are either−sex.
Bonus permits for antlerless deer are available over the
counter for use in managed and intensive areas.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
Implementation of the Deer Trustee’s report will result in

establishing a number of new policies for deer management
and hunting management compared to current rules.  The
primary policy alternatives evaluated in development of these
rules are ones recommended in the report.  Throughout this
rulemaking process, the department and its partners did
evaluate other policy alternatives as they were identified.

The full report is located on the Wisconsin Department of
Administration’s website at: http://www.doa.state.wi.us/
section.asp?linkid=239&locid=0

Revisions to Ch. NR 1 are minor and consist of an update
to Natural Resources Board policy so that the term
“population objective” and “goal” are used consistently
throughout the board order and for concise wording.  This rule
order favors the term “objective” to describe the deer
population level that management activities are designed to
achieve.  The terms “objective” and “goal” are very similar
and “objective” is favored in this rulemaking because it was
a recommendation of the trustee’s report.

Chapter NR 10 establishes most of the deer population
management policy and practices and hunting regulations that
are in place today.  Currently, Ch. NR 10 establishes the
Sex−Age−Kill model for estimating deer populations, deer

population goals, and deer management units.  These rules
repeal that specific population model from the chapter.
However, these rules do not prohibit the department from
continuing to analyze deer populations using the
Sex−Age−Kill model or others as methods of developing
population information.  These rules will replace the current
population goals by eliminating numeric goals and replacing
them with a simplified statement of objectives to “increase,
stabilize, or decrease the deer population.”  These rules
establish a set of metrics to monitor progress towards the
objective.  These rules significantly reduce the number of deer
management units.  These rules do not change the
department’s current requirement to evaluate deer
management unit boundaries and population goals or
objectives on a recurring three year basis.

Under these rules, the department will be able to modify
antlerless harvest quotas, and permit levels on an annual basis.
These rules recommend that the department consult with
groups or representatives for certain deer related interests in
establishing quotas each year.  Historical demand for
antlerless permits has not been a factor that the department
was required to consider in quota setting in the past but would
be a mandatory consideration under these rules.  Under this
proposal, hunters in most of the state will continue to receive
an antlerless deer tag with the purchase of a firearm or archery
license.  This tag will be comparable to the current “herd
control unit” tag which is issued in units that are 20% or more
over the established population goal.  Under the proposal,
these tags will be valid in any farmland unit.  The department
currently issues additional herd control tags for the cost of a
$2.00 issuance fee but those tags will be discontinued by this
rule.  Under this proposal, the standard fee of $12.00, also the
current fee for a bonus permit, will apply for all antlerless
permits which are in addition to the one that was issued with
hunting licenses.  These rules also establish a $12.00 fee for
additional antlerless tags which allow harvest of deer in the
CWD−affected area.  Under statute, $5.00 of the fee for these
permits will be credited to an account for management and
testing of chronic wasting disease.  Finally, through the Deer
Management Assistance Program, these rules allow
establishing unique antlerless deer permits that are specific
for use on properties enrolled in the Deer Management
Assistance Program.  A recommendation resulting from the
public involvement process that preceded development of
these rules was that the fee for bonus permits should be
$10.00.  That is not proposed in these rules because the bonus
permit fee is already established by statute and the department
does not have rulemaking authority to change it.  Other
permits, the fee for which the department does have
rulemaking authority, are generally also $12.00 for
consistency with bonus permits.

A variety of related hunting regulations changes are
proposed in these rules.  Many of them are simplifications to
current rules.  Changes include the names for permits and the
allowable use of various deer permits.  Deer carcass tags,
tagging, and transportation requirements are modified where
possible in order to simplify regulations or as opportunities
will  arise during development of new automated licensing
systems.  The current requirement to register deer is replaced
in these rules with a more customer−friendly harvest
reporting procedure using telephone or internet.  Black bear
are another species for which in−person registration of
harvested animals is required.  These rules will modify bear
harvest recording requirements because deer and bear
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registration occur at the same locations and through the same
process under current rules.  These rules will eliminate
deadlines to register deer and bear that currently vary by
season, harvest method, and location.  Instead, a simple
statewide requirement to register deer and bear harvest before
midnight of the date of harvest is established.  This allows
fewer hours to register an animal than under current law but
electronic registration will be significantly more convenient.
Faster registration of deer will provide the department and
others who are interested with very timely harvest
information.  The shorter deadline may also help with
enforcing bag limit restrictions.  The option to require
in−person registration of deer carcasses is preserved in areas
that are part of a CWD affected area or where necessary for
deer population and herd health monitoring purposes.  The
department could take advantage of this authority in order to
collect tissue specimens for sampling for a wide variety of
diseases or biometrics associated with deer populations.
Finally, in order to assure hunter accountability and
compliance with group bagging restrictions, these rules
establish that a deer carcass possessed in the field must be
accompanied by the person who tagged it.  For practical
purposes, this requirement is the same as current rules because
in−the−field registration of harvested deer was not possible
previously.  However, now that deer could be registered while
in the field, rules will continue to require that the person who
tagged the carcass accompany it during dragging or other field
transport.  Deer that have been registered could be transported
by other people on public roads or possessed at home.

Season date modifications will have the impact of opening
a number of refuges, which are established in Chs. NR 11 and
15, to additional deer hunting during the late firearm season
that begins on December 24.  These refuges are located
primarily on department managed lands and most of them
were established to provide undisturbed resting areas for
migrating waterfowl.  This deer hunt will occur very late in
fall migration and will normally be after all waterfowl seasons
are closed.

The department is recommending deer hunting season date
modifications as a result of this rulemaking.  While the report
generally recommended that, “keeping seasons and bag limits
consistent for longer periods of time would allow better
assessment of management progress”, it is challenging to
discuss management system changes of this scale without
considering season dates.  These rules will maintain the
current season for hunting deer by archery methods.  This
proposal maintains the traditional Wisconsin firearm deer
season opener on the Saturday before Thanksgiving and 9 day
structure.  The current 10 day muzzleloader season is
extended by four days under this proposal and this extended
muzzleloader−only season will replace what had previously
been a statewide four day any−firearm season for antlerless
deer only.  This proposal establishes an additional firearm
deer hunting opportunity in the portion of the state South of
HWY 64 beginning on December 24 and continuing to the
Sunday nearest January 6.  This holiday deer hunt occurs
under current rules in the CWD management zone.  It has been
a low−pressure event but, for some, a greatly appreciated
opportunity for additional deer hunting at a time when
families are together and around which some new deer
hunting traditions are developing.  The late firearm season, or
holiday hunt, is similar to seasons offered in other adjacent
states and will occur during a time of the year when more
residents are traditionally taking vacation or home for the

holidays as in the case of veterans.  Finally, only in areas that
are part of the CWD season under current rules, archery deer
hunting has been allowed on the day before the traditional
9−day firearm season opens.  Under this proposal, the archery
deer season will be open statewide on the day before the
traditional 9−day firearm season for consistency with the rest
of the state.

Under current rule, numerous state parks are listed in the
table that establishes deer seasons because the DNR was
required to establish hunting seasons in state parks by
administrative rule.  Under 2011 ACT 168, hunting is allowed
at state parks except where, or at times when, the Natural
Resources Board has prohibited the activity in order to protect
public safety or a unique plant or animal community.  Because
the old presumption that state parks are closed unless opened
by rule has been replaced by a presumption that state parks are
open unless board action has been taken to close them, most
state park names have been removed from the table.  Those
parks will be open to deer hunting under normal statewide
regulations at times when hunting has not been prohibited for
safety related purposes.  A number of parks, which had deer
hunting seasons or regulations which are not the same as the
ones that apply statewide are still found in the season table in
order to preserve those unique seasons or regulations.  All
state park deer management unit number designations have
been repealed and state parks are simply referred to by their
name.  Finally, current rules require that deer hunters in state
parks in the CWD management zone obtain a free access
permit to a park.  The number of access permits is not
restricted.  This rule repeals that requirement because it is no
longer needed considering that access to other parks will not
be monitored to this extent.

The trustee’s report generally recommends a more passive
approach than current department policy to the management
of Chronic Wasting Disease.  This approach is reflected by the
establishment of deer seasons in CWD affected areas that are
the same as in other areas of the state.  Management of CWD
in the state’s deer herd is still important under these rules.
These rules retain the firearm deer season occurring over the
Christmas holiday, the option to issue landowner permits for
sampling or for additional harvest opportunities, and provide
advice on when an October firearm season will be held if
necessary in a CWD areas.  While the promulgation of
emergency rules is required under s. 29.016, Stats., before an
October firearm season can be held, establishing by
permanent rule when that season would occur is intended to
simplify development of an emergency rule if that authority
is utilized.  These rules modify the current CWD zone
management system by designating it as the CWD−affected
area using county boundaries to describe the zone instead of
the previous DMU configuration based on roads and natural
features such as rivers.  A process for efficiently adding new
counties as CWD−affected areas when the disease is
discovered in new areas is created.  The department currently
establishes numeric population goals for deer units that are in
a CWD zone.  Those goals are modified by these rules so that
they are consistent with the objectives for other units to
increase, maintain, or decrease the density of the deer herd.

This rulemaking establishes a Deer Management
Assistance Program that will allow landowners and hunters to
work together with the department to manage deer on a
site−specific basis.  The program will actively involve
members of the public in the collection, analysis, and
reporting of deer harvest information and improve
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management of the deer herd at the local level.  The rule
establishes enrollment fees for participation in the program
and statute has established that revenue will be credited back
to implementation of the program.  This proposal establishes
a separate half−price fee of $6.00 for antlerless deer hunting
permits obtained through participation in the program.  The
lower fee is intended to be an incentive for participation.  The
program is a central recommendation of the report which
recommended that the department establish:  a) applicability
to private and public lands, b) initial areas eligible to
participate, c) administration of DMAP, d) funding, e)
personnel and training, f) minimum property size to
participate, g) fees, h) participation requirements, i) data
collection requirements, j) registration of deer harvested on
DMAP properties, k) data analysis and reporting, and l)
assessment of DMAP effectiveness.

Chapter NR 13 is intended to regulate off−reservation
treaty rights of treaty rights participants recognized by Lac
Courte Oreilles Band v. Voigt, 700 F. 2d 341 (7th Cir. 1983).
Modifications to ch. NR 13 updates a cross reference with ch.
NR 10.  Other out−of−date cross−references exist in this
chapter but are not revised here as that might be more
appropriate as a stand−alone, more thorough review.  The
report did not recommend changes to this chapter of
administrative code.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business or in preparation of economic impact
report

These rules, and the legislation which grants the
department rule making authority, do not have a significant
fiscal effect on the private sector or small businesses.
Additionally, no significant costs are associated with
compliance to these rules.

Effects on Small Businesses
The department estimates that the economic impact of

these rules will be none or minimal and, pursuant to 2011
Executive Order 50, will facilitate a 14 day period for
comment on a draft economic impact analysis.  The comment
period will begin in September, 2013.

This proposal modifies rules that establish the
department’s habitat and deer harvest management strategies.
Examples of the new management efforts include: increased
emphasis of habitat management on private land through the
Deer Management Assistance Program, eliminating the
requirement to use a specific method of measuring and
estimating deer populations even though that model may still
be used and considered, and new ways to describe desired
deer population levels.  These rules will result in moderate
revisions to regulations that apply to individual deer hunters.
Examples of the types of changes proposed include
adjustments to deer management unit boundaries, simplified
harvest registration procedures, different deer hunting
regulations on private versus public lands, and different uses
and changes in the availability of antlerless deer harvest
permits.

Deer population, harvest, and habitat management affect
many entities in this state.  A broad description of affected
industries includes agriculture, forestry, tourism, and retail.
Governments may be impacted by these rules because many
do have programs to manage nuisance deer locally.  Many
non−profit groups are focused on natural resource
conservation, wildlife resources, or deer in particular, and
may be affected by these rules.

The department anticipates there may be none or a minimal
effect on the financial health of industries, governments, and
groups.  The department anticipates there will be no economic
effects of these regulations for individual hunters and
landowners.

Affected entities are likely to base their evaluations of
economic impact on their opinions of whether−or−not the
rules will result in deer population increases, stabilization, or
decreases.  For instance, agriculture and forest−products
interests may benefit from low deer populations and resulting
low levels of crop and tree damage.  The tourism and retail
industries may benefit from high deer populations that result
in greater enthusiasm and participation in deer hunting.  This
rule package will be designed to balance competing interests
with a different approach than current rules.

It may be important to note that the department is
statutorily prohibited from managing deer populations with
regulations that require a hunter to first harvest an antlerless
deer before harvesting a buck.  The department also lacks
rulemaking authority for certain deer hunting season
frameworks.  These changes to the department’s regulatory
authority result from recently enacted statutes and they will
not be considered as part of an economic analysis prepared for
these rules.  While deer may have significant positive or
negative impacts to different entities, removal of these harvest
regulations likely moderates the economic impact of this rule
package.

The department anticipates that there will be no or very few
implementation and compliance costs for the affected entities.
These rules will not establish reporting or compliance
requirements or other regulations for small business.  A
possible outcome of these rules is the elimination of deer
registration stations at local businesses throughout the state.
The department has summarized the value of registration fees
paid by the department to businesses, and related impacts of
this voluntary program, in the economic impact analysis.

This is not a complete estimate of economic impacts but,
rather, a summary which indicates that these rules could have
none or minimal economic effects.  The final economic
analysis for these rules includes a description of the specific
impacts of deer and deer hunting in this state based on surveys
and research done by the department and other state and
federal agencies.  However, even though significant research
exists, the impact of wild deer on the environment and to
people under various conditions cannot be anticipated with
exact precision.  The final analysis includes significant
narrative descriptions of anticipated economic impacts.

Pursuant to s. 227.114, Stats., it is not anticipated that the
proposed rule will have an economic impact on small
businesses.  The Department’s Small Business Regulatory
Coordinator may be contacted at
SmallBusiness@dnr.state.wi.us or by calling (608)
266−1959.

Environmental Impact
The Department has made a preliminary determination that

this action does not involve significant adverse environmental
effects and does not need an environmental analysis under ch.
NR 150, Wis. Adm. Code.  However, based on the comments
received, the Department may prepare an environmental
analysis before proceeding with rulemaking.  This
environmental review document would summarize the
Department’s consideration of the impacts of the proposal and
reasonable alternatives.
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Agency Contact
Mr. Scott Loomans, Bureau of Wildlife Management, P.O.

Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707 or by email to
scott.loomans@wisconsin.gov.
STATE OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION
DOA−2049 (R03/2012)

DIVISION OF EXECUTIVE BUDGET AND FINANCE
101 EAST WILSON STREET, 10TH FLOOR

P.O. BOX 7864
MADISON, WI  53707−7864

FAX: (608) 267−0372

ADMINISTRATIVE  RULES
Fiscal Estimate & Economic Impact Analysis

1. Type of Estimate and Analysis

X Original � Updated � Corrected

2. Administrative Rule Chapter, Title and Number

Ch. NR 1 Natural Resources Board Policies, NR 8 License and Permit Procedures, NR 10 Game and Hunting, NR 11 Closed Areas,
NR 15 Game Refuges,  NR 12 Wildlife Damage and Nuisance Control, NR 13 Chippewa Treaty Rights Participants, NR 19 Miscel-
laneous Fur, Fish, Game and Outdoor Recreation, and NR 45 Use of Department Properties.

3. Subject

Deer management, hunting, and implementation of the 2012 White−tailed Deer Trustee’s Report, Board Orders WM−11−13 and
WM−24−13 (E).

4. Fund Sources Affected 5. Chapter 20, Stats. Appropriations Affected

X GPR � FED � PRO  �PRS � SEG � SEG−S

6. Fiscal Effect of Implementing the Rule

� No Fiscal Effect
X Indeterminate

� Increase Existing Revenues
� Decrease Existing Revenues

� Increase Costs
X Could Absorb Within Agency’s Budget
� Decrease Cost

7. The Rule Will Impact the Following (Check All That Apply)

� State’s Economy
� Local Government Units

� Specific Businesses/Sectors
� Public Utility Rate Payers
� Small Businesses (if checked, complete Attachment A)

8. Would Implementation and Compliance Costs Be Greater Than $20 million?

� Yes X No

9. Policy Problem Addressed by the Rule

There was dissatisfaction with various aspects of white−tailed deer management and hunting in Wisconsin following the 2009 sea-
son.  Gubernatorial candidate Scott Walker made a promise to appoint a “Deer Trustee” to review programs.  In October of 2011 Dr.
James C. Kroll entered into a contract with the State of Wisconsin to conduct an independent, objective and scientifically−based
review of Wisconsin’s deer management practices.  The White−tailed Deer Trustee’s report was released to the public in July, 2012.

The objective of the process that resulted in these rules is to integrate the work of the Deer Trustees and the publicly driven action
teams into the policies and procedures to enhance deer research, management and hunting in Wisconsin.
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10. Summary of the  businesses, business sectors, associations representing business, local governmental units, and individuals that may be
affected by the proposed rule that were contacted for comments.

Deer population, harvest, and habitat management affect many entities in this state.  A broad description of affected industries
includes agriculture, forestry, tourism, and retail.  Governments may be impacted by these rules because many have programs to
manage nuisance deer locally.  Many non−profit groups are focused on natural resource conservation, wildlife resources, or deer in
particular, and may be affected by these rules.  During a comment period beginning in September, the department will contact repre-
sentatives of all of these groups.

Affected entities are likely to base their evaluations of economic impact on their opinions of whether−or−not the rules will result in
deer population increases, stabilization, or decreases.  For instance, agriculture and forest−products interests may benefit from low
deer populations and resulting low levels of crop and tree damage.  The tourism and retail industries may benefit from high deer pop-
ulations that result in greater enthusiasm and participation in deer hunting.  This rule package is designed to balance competing inter-
ests with a different approach than current rules.

It is important to note that the department is statutorily prohibited from utilizing management tools or regulations that had previously
been implemented at times when deer populations were 20% or more above established overwinter population goals and not likely to
be reduced to goal under standard season frameworks and regulations.  Notably, this includes regulations that require a hunter to first
harvest an antlerless deer before harvesting a buck.  The department also lacks rulemaking authority for certain deer hunting early
season frameworks except when a finding of emergency is made under s. 227.24 Stats.  These changes to the department’s regulatory
authority are a result of 2011 ACT 50 and they are not considered as part of an economic analysis prepared for these rules.  While
deer may have significant positive or negative impacts to different entities, removal of these harvest regulations likely changes the
department’s ability to manage deer populations in farmland regions.  A result is that any economic impact of rule changes the
department currently has statutory authority to establish is minimized in farmland regions.

Prior to drafting rule language the department anticipated, in its scope statements for permanent and emergency rules, that the pro-
posal could have a moderate level of economic impact, as described in 2011 Executive Order 50.  Upon completion of the public
involvement and rule drafting process, the department has revised its estimate and anticipates that these rules will have none or a
minimal economic impact locally or statewide.

11. Identify the local governmental units that participated in the development of this EIA.

During a comment period beginning in September the department will solicit comments from local governments using an email dis-
tribution list, posting on a website, and by contacting groups who represent associations of local governments.
 
12. Summary of Rule’s Economic and Fiscal Impact on Specific Businesses, Business Sectors, Public Utility Rate Payers, Local Governmental

Units and the State’s Economy as a Whole (Include Implementation and Compliance Costs Expected to be Incurred)

 − Economic Impacts −

The department anticipates that there will be no implementation and compliance costs for the affected entities.  These rules will not
establish reporting or compliance requirements or other regulations for small business.

The state’s economy as a whole will continue to benefit from the presence of a well managed deer herd.  The   management tools
established in these rules will ensure that continued opportunities for good hunting and wildlife−based recreation are available well
into the future.  Like previous rules, a significant purpose for establishing deer population management objectives, managing antler-
less deer harvest levels, and focus hunting activities through programs such as the Deer Management Assistance Program, landowner
permits in CWD zones, and the Agricultural Damage Abatement and Assistance program is to maintain a deer herd that is in balance
with the needs of industries such as agriculture, forestry, and others.  In certain urban and agricultural regions the department esti-
mates that deer herds are already increasing under current rules.  While increasing deer herds may have negative impacts on indus-
tries such as agriculture, the impacts are currently occurring and are in part a result of a lack of hunting access in certain areas and
less authority under statutes to implement certain harvest regulations.  Increasing deer herds in certain areas following implementa-
tion of these rules should not be attributed to these rules.
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CWD was first detected in Wisconsin on February 28, 2002. The department’s goal has been to minimize the negative impact of
CWD on deer and elk populations and the state’s economy, hunters, landowners and others.  The available evidence indicates that
CWD has the potential for significant, negative impacts on the future of deer hunting and the related economic benefits of white−
tailed deer in Wisconsin.  The proposals contained in these rules are not likely to result in a reduction in the rate of infection in deer
or geographic location of infected animals.  However, the department continues to have the ability to implement strategies recom-
mended in its CWD management plan which could result in reduced deer numbers in affected areas and could help control disease
spread.  Those include additional firearm hunting opportunities following the traditional 9−day firearm season, landowner permits
allowing deer harvest by landowners and their agents following the end of regular seasons, and population objectives to decrease the
density of the deer herd.  Under the proposal, the department will continue to provide a free antlerless deer permit which can be used
in a CWD−affected area.  While additional harvest permits will need to be purchased for a fee, part of that fee is earmarked for CWD
testing of hunter harvested deer.  Continuing to provide low cost CWD testing for hunters may be an important feature to keep hunt-
ers interested in harvesting and utilizing their deer.  With the implementation of 2011 ACT 51 some people would say that Wisconsin
has taken a more passive approach to managing CWD − a recommendation of the Deer Trustee’s Report − but that approach is not a
result of these rules.  Considering these factors, the department estimates that these rules are unlikely to have a significant impact on
the management of CWD.  These rules are also unlikely to have an economic impact that would result from CWD management
efforts.

Conflict has occurred between farmers (traditional crop farmers, Christmas tree farmers, orchard growers, cranberry growers, and
many other agriculturalists) who are trying to protect their crops and a public who wants abundant deer for viewing and hunting.
With the population above state management objectives in certain areas under current rules, deer will likely continue to create agri-
cultural problems.  Deer damage complaints outnumber the other three program eligible species combined.  Corn, soybeans, sweet
corn and hay account for the majority of acreage damaged by deer.  The creation of a Deer Management Assistance Program pro-
vides another opportunity for management of deer in specific areas which may assist in reducing agricultural damage.  Overall, how-
ever, the department does not anticipate significant impacts to agriculture specifically from these rule proposals.  Additional analysis
of the Agricultural Damage and Nuisance Abatement program is found below under the section on fiscal impacts to the department.

White−tailed deer range throughout the state, adapting to every habitat type in Wisconsin. Their ability to live in close proximity to
people has allowed deer to flourish in environments with significant human development, thus the agriculture damage they cause is
no longer restricted to traditional rural areas.  Additionally, damage is not restricted to agricultural products.  Again, the department
does not anticipate significant impacts from these proposals.  Where hunting access is available in proximity to urban areas, the Deer
Management Assistance Program may provide additional opportunities for hunters to act as deer managers.

Forest landowners may be economically impacted by white−tailed deer, depending upon their goals and objectives for the land.  Eco-
nomic impacts of deer on forest vegetation focus primarily on the foraging of plants, although antler rubbing on high value forest
crops such as Christmas trees can have significant economic impacts as well.  There is evidence found in research documenting site
specific examples of deer impacts on forest vegetation.  The effects of deer on desirable forest vegetation for a specific site can be
detrimental and can create economic losses.  However, a cumulative approach to assessing the impact of deer on forest landowners
and desirable vegetation has not been done.  Research to increase our understanding of forest habitat and white−tailed deer, in
response to a recommendation of the Deer Trustee’s report, is ongoing.  The department’s estimate that these rules will have none or
a minimal effect on the forest products industry is based on estimates that these rules will not result in significant increases of deer
population density.  These rules maintain existing methods of controlling deer populations including a flexible system for the
issuance of antlerless deer harvest permits and an Agricultural Damage Claims and Abatement Program for which certain forest
products producers are eligible.  Additionally, owners of industrial forest may benefit from the services that will be available through
the Deer Management Assistance Program.

Vehicle deer collisions are a factor in determining how many deer the public will accept and are a cause of millions of dollars of
property damage and personal injury in this state.  The total number of deer salvaged after traffic accidents or removed from road-
ways by contractors was 26,114 in 2011.  The actual number of collisions is estimated to be greater.  Significant increases in deer
numbers may be expected to result in higher numbers of vehicle deer collisions, particularly considering that traffic volume is not
likely to decline.  A goal of these rule proposals, however, is to continue managing deer herds to be in balance with ecological and
social tolerances.  The department’s estimate that these rules will have none or a minimal effect on the economy as a result of vehicle
deer collisions is based on estimates that these rules will not result in a significant increase in deer population density.

Deer impacts on the ecological composition and function of Wisconsin’s ecosystems may be occurring and may have resulting
impacts on tourism, gathering wild plants, species other than deer which have economic significance, and other effects.  Land use by
agriculture, development, silviculture, cessation of fire, and invasive species may be having more wide−sweeping impacts compared
to deer.
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An outcome of these rules would be the elimination of 626 deer registration stations, most at local businesses such as convenience
and sporting goods stores throughout the state.  These rules will relieve businesses of implementation costs they may have voluntar-
ily incurred as registration stations.  While these rules will not have any implementation or compliance costs for former registration
stations, there may be an economic impact to the businesses whose customers may not come to stores to register deer and spend
money on other transactions which are incidental to registering deer.

Department payments and distribution of materials to registration stations totalled approximately $182,000 in 2012, a value of
approximately $290 on average to an individual registration station.  Many stations employ extra help to register deer meaning that
direct payments for services may cover costs to register deer but may not have a direct financial benefit.  The value of incidental pur-
chases made by deer hunters are likely the primary reason stations volunteer to register deer.  Even without registration stations, the
economic benefits of deer hunting for convenience stores and other businesses will continue to be significant.  This can be seen by
the heavy traffic at convenience stores as early as 4:30 a.m., before the season has opened, and the need some stores have to employ
extra staff.  A likely benefit to convenience stores in general is that spending activity may be distributed more equally between
stores, as certain ones will not have the unique selling point of being a registration station.  Department staff have heard both positive
and negative comments from registration stations about an electronic registration system.  At this time, we anticipate the impacts will
be minimal under the criteria established in 2011 Executive Order 50.

 − Fiscal Impacts on the Department −

Mandatory, in−person registration for deer began in Wisconsin in 1953.  A subset of the 626 stations (~110) collect age− and sex−
structure data from 20−30,000 deer annually during the traditional 9−day gun season. In−person registration provides accurate counts
of annual harvest, recruitment, adult buck mortality rates and sex ratios, deer health assessments, buck antler characteristics, and
allows for the collection of biological samples that are used to determine the age structure of the population and for CWD monitor-
ing.

Eliminating or reducing in−person registration of deer will result in savings of approximately $180,000 in supplies and services for
maintaining registration stations each year for the department.  The department’s expenditure authority will not change, allowing a
shift of financial resources and staff time to other purposes such as implementation of the Deer Trustee Report recommendation to
establish a Deer Management Assistance Program.  Based upon a budget analysis for FY13 (through 6/11/13) on all expenditures
department wide for the activity codes WMAP (Registration of Deer, Bear, and Turkey) and WMUB (Deer Registration/CWD Sam-
pling), in−person registration costs totaled $674,042.30. Electronic registration costs may be half the amount of in−person during the
initial year, and less than $50,000 in future years.  This total includes the following expenditures (estimates of potential savings do
not include CWD zone expenditures because the department will continue to place an emphasis on contacting hunters and collecting
samples in CWD areas):

� Permanent labor & fringe − ($125,158)
� Permanent labor allocables − ($21,353)
� LTE labor & fringe − ($22,767)
� LTE labor allocables − ($327)
� Total supplies & services − Mileage, Station Materials, Station Payments, Aging Materials, and stipends ($182,056)

� CWD registration and sampling expense – ($322,381)
� CWD permanent labor & fringe*
� CWD LTE labor & fringe*
� Total supplies & services* − CWD carcass tags, bonus buck tags, rent, mileage, electric bills, cell phone bills, CWD samples,
and stipends

The department evaluated the following benefits and drawbacks to eliminating in person registration of deer.  The benefit of
increased convenience to deer hunters was seen as a significant improvement.

Pros:
� Significant reduction in staff time and costs
� Increase in customer convenience
� Immediate collection and tabulation of harvest data

Cons:
� Alternative methods (potentially less accurate) of collecting age data would have to be considered
� CWD samples would become difficult to collect
� Economic impact to registration stations (loss of revenue from payments and business)
� The face−to−face interaction between DNR staff and hunters and the social aspect of hunting would be lost
� Potential enforcement issues
� Potential loss in public trust of population estimates
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The department currently administers an Agricultural Damage and Nuisance Abatement program which reimburses participating
farmers for damage caused by certain wildlife species, including deer.  These rules do not impact the organization of the program or
rules for participation.  The program is currently funded in part from the sales of bonus antlerless deer permits.  It is likely that bonus
antlerless deer permit sales will increase under this proposal, resulting in an increase in available funding to reimburse farmers for
damage and for the costs of abatement measures.  Under the proposal, the department will charge a fee of $12.00 for antlerless per-
mits issued in a CWD management zone which are free under current rule.  While $5.00 of the cost of those permits is now statuto-
rily earmarked for CWD management, the remaining $7.00 is earmarked for the damage program.  Another possible opportunity for
increased funding exists in units which are designated herd control under current rules, antlerless deer permits are free except for a
$2.00 issuance fee.  Under the proposal, one free antlerless deer permit for farmland units would still be included with the purchase
of a deer hunting license, but additional permits would cost $12.00 and the revenue is earmarked for the damage and abatement pro-
gram.  Charging a fee for additional antlerless permits may result in hunters obtaining fewer antlerless permits and harvesting fewer
deer overall, potentially offsetting economic benefits to farmers of increased damage program funding.  However, decreased antler-
less harvest is not an assured outcome.  Hunters may be more motivated to utilize permits they have spent money on versus free per-
mits.  When statutes were changed to allow the sales of additional turkey hunting permits for $10.00 each to residents, versus issuing
them for free, demand for extra turkey hunting permits remained very high.  Under these proposed rules, the department anticipates
continuing to generate enough revenue to reimburse farmers for the full amount of damage allowed under the program.  The depart-
ment anticipates that it will not need to prorate the amount paid for claims at current or a slightly increased level of agricultural dam-
age claims.

In the past, changes in the issuance of hunting licenses and permits have resulted in fiscal impacts from the expenses of revising
automated license system programming.  However, the department’s current contract already contains many options for the issuance
of $12.00 bonus permits and free permits with the issuance of archery and firearm deer licenses.  Implementation of these rules will
require name changes and updates to descriptions of the allowable use of tags, but may not require extensive or expensive program-
ming to create new license types.  Additionally, these rule revisions may occur concurrently with a new contract for administration of
an automated licensing system and can be included in the initial construction of a new system without additional expense.

The fiscal impact to the department of these proposed rules is expected to be an effect that can be absorbed under the department’s
current budget.  These rules will result in savings of staff time with reduced duties to set up registration stations, keep them supplied
through the season, collect registration stubs, and enter data.  These savings in staff time will be offset by new emphasis on consult-
ing with owners of private and public land through the newly established Deer Management Assistance Program.  The level of offset
will be a result of the level of landowner and manager interest and will vary as the program becomes established and cannot be antic-
ipated at this time.  The department’s Bureau of Law Enforcement has established a flexible system of conservation and environmen-
tal law enforcement and already places a significant emphasis on the most popular activities like deer hunting.  Deer hunting and
deer herd management has historically been a significant source of segregated funds for department management, licensing, and
enforcement activities and will continue to be a significant expenditure under these proposed rules.

13. Benefits of Implementing the Rule and Alternative(s) to Implementing the Rule

These proposed rules establish additional methods of managing deer harvest at the statewide and local level.  Under s. 29.016 Stats.,
the department is prohibited from requiring hunters to harvest an antlerless deer before harvesting their first buck and the ability to
establish firearm seasons early in the fall season is reduced.  The department is proposing more consistent seasons frameworks in
these rules that are more likely to be accepted by hunters but which will still result in increases in deer hunting opportunities and
provide deer herd management opportunities.

Not implementing these rules will result in maintaining the current deer season frameworks.  Maintaining the current deer season
framework will not address dissatisfaction that some members of the public have expressed to the department, legislators, and gover-
nor.  The establishment of a Deer Management Assistance Program is statutorily required.

14. Long Range Implications of Implementing the Rule

White−tailed deer will still be a prominent feature of Wisconsin’s landscape whose presence generates economic activity from the
related activities of hunters and other wildlife enthusiasts.  Deer have historically impacted small and large businesses, and will con-
tinue to do so.  However, the negative economic impacts of deer abundance on agriculture, forestry, and other industries is not
expected to increase as a result of these rules.

15. Compare With Approaches Being Used by Federal Government

Federal regulations allow states to manage the wildlife resources located within their boundaries provided they do not conflict with
regulations established in the Federal Register. None of these rule changes violate or conflict with the provisions established in the
Federal Code of Regulations and the federal government is not involved in any large scale way with deer herd management in Wis-
consin.
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16. Compare With Approaches Being Used by Neighboring States (Illinois, Iowa, Michigan and Minnesota)

All  of Wisconsin’s surrounding states use hunting seasons to provide hunting opportunities and allow or encourage antlerless deer
harvest and other strategies to manage white−tailed deer herds.  All of the surrounding states utilize a range of hunting seasons and
allow the use of archery equipment, firearms and muzzleloading firearms at certain times.  The seasons proposed in this rule order do
not vary in any significant way from the hunting opportunities that are available in other states.

Illinois
The Illinois archery season runs from October 1, 2013 − January 19, 2014 except that it is closed during the firearm deer season in
those portions of the state that hold a firearm deer season.  Illinois has two periods for firearm deer hunting, a muzzleloader season,
and special CWD and antlerless−only seasons.  The first firearm season in 2013 is November 22 − 24 and the second season is
December 5 − 8.  The muzzleloader season is Dec. 13 − 15.  The special CWD and antlerless−only seasons occur on December 26 −
29 and January 17 − 19, 2014.  A youth firearm deer hunt is open on October 12 − 14.  All firearm hunting permits are distributed
first through a tiered drawing system where residents have a higher chance of being selected for a permit than non−residents, then
through a random daily drawing, and finally they are offered over−the−counter on a first−come first−served basis until the unit’s
quota is reached.  Hunters who are eligible to purchase a hunting permit receive an either−sex permit and one bonus antlerless−only
permit.  There is no limit on the number of resident archery licenses that will be issued, and each resident archery license includes an
antlerless−only and an either sex permit.  Non−resident archery licenses also include an either sex permit and an antlerless−only per-
mit, but are allocated through a lottery system.

Iowa
In Iowa, there are two archery seasons, two muzzleloader season, and two shotgun seasons.  There is also an antlerless−only season,
a youth hunt for residents, and a holiday season for non−residents.  The archery season runs from October 1 – December 6 and
December 23 – January 10, 2014.  The muzzleloader seasons run from October 12 – 20 (residents only) and December 23 – January
10, 2014.  The shotgun seasons run from December 7 – 11 and December 14 – 22.  The antlerless−only season runs from January 11
– 19, 2014, the youth hunt runs from September 21 – October 6, and the holiday season runs from December 24 – January 2, 2014.
When a hunter purchases an ‘Any Deer License’, they are entitled to harvesting either a buck or an antlerless deer statewide.  Hunt-
ers also have the option to purchase an ‘Antlerless−only License’ which is valid for a specific zone in the state.  The number of
antlerless licenses available in any particular zone is determined by a quota system, and hunters are able to purchase these licenses
on a first−come first−served basis until the quota is reached.

Michigan
Michigan has one firearm season, two archery seasons, and one muzzleloader season, as well as two antlerless−only seasons and a
youth hunt.  The firearm season runs November 15 – 30.  The archery seasons run October 1 – November 14 and December 1 – Jan-
uary 1, 2014.  Michigan’s muzzleloader−only season season is split into three zones with each zone’s season occurring in December
and lasting for either 10 or 17 days.  The antlerless−only seasons run from September 21−22 and December 23 – January 1, 2014 and
the youth hunt occurs on Sept 21−22.  Hunters interested in harvesting an antlerless deer must purchase an antlerless license that is
valid within a specific DMU for use on either public land or private land.  In some DMUs, these licenses may only be purchased
over the counter, whereas in other DMU’s there is an application process and drawing.

Minnesota
Minnesota has one archery season, one firearm season that is divided into four separate zones, and one muzzleloader season.  There
is also a special archery season on Camp Ripley (a military base) and a youth season.  The archery season runs from September 14 –
December 31. The firearm season runs November 9 – 17, November 9 – 24, or November 23 – December 1 depending on the zone.
The muzzleloader season runs November 30 – December 15.  The special archery hunt on Camp Ripley occurs on October 26 – 27
and November 2−3.  The youth hunt runs from October 17 – 20.  Antlerless permits are distributed through a license lottery in “lot-
tery” areas of the state.  In “Hunter Choice”, “Managed”, or “Intensive” areas licenses are either−sex.  Bonus permits for antlerless
deer are available over the counter for use in managed and intensive areas.

17. Contact Name 18. Contact Phone Number
Scott Loomans (608) 267−2452

This document can be made available in alternate formats to individuals with disabilities upon request.
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ATTACHMENT  A

1.  Summary of Rule’s Economic and Fiscal Impact on Small Businesses (Separately for each Small Business Sector, Include Implementation and
Compliance Costs Expected to be Incurred)

Wisconsin’s deer hunting opportunities are enthusiastically enjoyed by more than 600,000 participants each year, resulting in signifi-
cant economic and fiscal benefits for small business.  Additionally, high deer populations impact the agriculture, forestry, and other
industries in ways that may not be positive.  The department anticipates that this will continue to be true after implementation of
these rules.  The department will continue to manage the deer herd with a goal to obtain a balance between the positive and negative
impacts of white−tailed deer.  Some management strategies which may have been viewed as aggressive are no longer available to the
department.  New management strategies proposed in this rule will be viewed by some as a more cooperative effort to manage deer
herds and may improve management success over current rules.  Improved cooperation between hunters, landowners, other stake-
holders, and the department will have a beneficial impact for everyone who is affected by white−tailed deer, although the specific
economic impact cannot be measured.  Over all, the department anticipates none or a minimal impact on small businesses.

A minimal impact to certain small businesses could be a loss of incidental sales at convenience stores or sporting good shops who
currently volunteer to register deer for the department.  A corresponding increase in sales for other area stores as that type of shop-
ping effort is dispersed among stores that do not register deer, will negate any overall impact to small businesses.

2. Summary of the data sources used to measure the Rule’s impact on Small Businesses

Deer Population Goals and Harvest Management Environmental Assessment, 1995.

Information related to registration of deer at private businesses such as convenience and sporting goods stores is from an analysis of
department’s own budget information for FY 2013.

Wisconsin’s Chronic Wasting Disease Management Plan: 2010 − 2025

The 2011 Wisconsin Deer Hunting Summary records that firearm deer hunter numbers exceeded 600,000 for the first time in 1977
and have remained above that number since then.  This information provides a basis for the estimate that deer hunting and related
economic and fiscal benefits for small business will continue to exist after implementation of these rules.

USDA−APHIS−Wildlife Services Wisconsin Wildlife Damage Abatement and Claims Program − 2012 Summary Report.

Project Summary − Evaluating the interdependency between white−tailed deer and northern hardwood habitat; increasing our under-
standing of forest management and white−tailed deer health.

Reported Vehicle Killed Deer Removed from Wisconsin Roadways − FY 2011

DNR Spring Turkey Harvest Report − 2011.  This document contains information on sales of leftover turkey permits.

3. Did the agency consider the following methods to reduce the impact of the Rule on Small Businesses?

� Less Stringent Compliance or Reporting Requirements
� Less Stringent Schedules or Deadlines for Compliance or Reporting
� Consolidation or Simplification of Reporting Requirements
� Establishment of performance standards in lieu of Design or Operational Standards
� Exemption of Small Businesses from some or all requirements
� Other, describe:

These rules are applicable to individual deer hunters and impose no compliance or reporting requirements for small businesses.

4. Describe the methods incorporated into the Rule that will reduce its impact on Small Businesses

These rules are applicable to individual sportspersons and impose no compliance or reporting requirements for small businesses, and
no design or operational standards are contained in the rule.  Because this rule does not add any regulatory requirements for small
businesses, the proposed rules will not have a significant economic impact on a substantial number of small businesses under
227.114(6) or 227.14(2g).
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5. Describe the Rule’s Enforcement Provisions

These rules do not establish any new enforcement provisions.  The department has determined that existing enforcement efforts and
penalties will continue to be effective at assuring a level of compliance with hunting regulations which results in a fair distribution of
resources among hunters and other deer enthusiasts, safe hunting seasons, and effective deer herd management.

6. Did the Agency prepare a Cost Benefit Analysis (if Yes, attach to form)

� Yes     X No

Notice of Hearing

Public Service Commission
CR 13−068

(PSC Docket # 1−AC−236)

The Public Service Commission of Wisconsin proposes an
order to repeal sections PSC 160.02 (4g ) and (4m ), 160.031,
160.035, 160.04 (5), 160.05 (1) (h) to (j) and (L), 160.05 (1)
(o) and (r) and (4), 160.062 (1), (2), (5) and (6), 160.071 (1)
(d), (2) and (3), 160.073, 160.09 (3) (intro.), (a) and (b) and
(8), 160.091, 160.092 (4), 160.10, 160.11, 160.14, 160.15,
and 161.05 (4); to renumber sections PSC 160.02 (1g), (1m),
(3), (5) and (9) to (12), 160.05 (1) (s), 160.071 (1) (b) 2., 3.,
4. to 6. and (c), and 160.115 (6) (c); to renumber and amend
sections PSC 160.01 (5), 160.02 (2), (6) to (8), (12) and (13),
160.03 (1), 160.04 (1), 160.06 (1) (intro.), (a) to (c), (4) (a) and
(5), 160.062 (3), 160.07 (title), (1) and (2), 160.071 (1) (title),
(a), (b) 1., 4. to 6., (c), (e) to (n), (6) (a) and (b), 160.09 (1) and
(3) (c), Figure 160.09 (3) (c), 160.092 (1), 160.125 (2) (c) 1.,
and 160.18 (9) (b); to amend 160.01 (1), (2) (b) and (4),
160.04 (2) to (4), 160.05 (intro.), (1) (a), (c), (d), (n), (p), (2)
and (3), 160.06 (2) and (3), 160.062 (4) and (7), 160.063 (1)
to (4), 160.071 (title), (4) and (5), 160.08, 160.09 (2), (3) (a)
and (b), (4) (intro.), (b) to (g), (5) to (7) and (9), 160.092 (2)
and (3), 160.115 (1) (a), (b) 1. and 2., (2) (intro.), (b), (c), (3),
(4) (a), (5) (intro.), (b), (c) and (g), (6) (a) (intro.), 4., (b) and
(6), 160.125 (1) (title), (a), (b), (e), (2) (a) and (b), (c) 1. to 3.,
5. and (d) to (f), 160.16 (1) and (2), 160.17 (1) (c), (2) and (4),
160.18 (4), (6), (9) (a) and (b) 2. and 3., 160.181, 160.19 (1),
(2) and (4) (b), and 171.06 (1); to repeal and recreate sections
PSC 160.03 (2), 160.04 (title), 160.061, 160.13, and 160.18
(10); and to create ss. PSC 160.01 (5) (a) to (c), 160.02 (2) to
(6), (9), (11) to (16), (18), (22), (25), (26), (28), and (31),
160.03 (1), 160.04 (1) (a) 1. to 5. and (b), 160.05 (1) (s) and
(6) to (9), 160.06 (1) (b), (c), (4) (a) and (5), 160.062 (1) to
(2r), (3) (title) and (b), (4m), (5), (6), (7) (title) and (8),
160.063 (3m), 160.071 (1m), 2. and 3., (6m) (b) and (c) and
(7), 160.09 (1), (1r), (2) (c), and (3) (a) and (b), 160.092 (1)
(b) and (c), 160.115 (6) (c) and 160.125 (2) (c) 1., regarding
the provisions and administration of the universal service
fund.

Pursuant to s. 227.16 (2) (b), Stats., DATCP will hold a
public hearing at the time and place shown below:

Hearing Information
Date: Tuesday, October 22, 2013
Time: 10:00 a.m.
Location: Amnicon Falls Hearing Room — 1st Floor

Public Service Commission
610 North Whitney Way
Madison, Wisconsin

This building is accessible to people in wheelchairs
through the Whitney Way (lobby) entrance.  Handicapped
parking is available on the south side of the building.

Appearances at the Hearings
The commission does not discriminate on the basis of

disability in the provision of programs, services, or
employment.  Any person with a disability who needs
accommodations to participate in this proceeding, or who
needs to get this document in a different format, should
contact Jeff Richter, USF Director, at (608) 267−9624 or
jeff.richter@wisconsin.gov as soon as possible.

Written Comments
Any person may submit written comments on these

proposed rules.  The record will be open for written comments
from the public, effective immediately, and until Tuesday,
November 19, 2013, at noon.  All written comments must
include a reference on the filing to docket 1−AC−236.  File by
one mode only.

Industry:
File comments using the Electronic Regulatory Filing

system.  This may be accessed from the commission’s web
site (psc.wi.gov).

Members of the Public:
Please submit your comments in one of the following

ways:
� Electronic Comment.  Go to the commission’s web

site at http://psc.wi.gov, and click on the “ERF −
Electronic Regulatory Filing” graphic on the side
menu bar.  On the next page, click on “Need Help?” in
the side menu bar for instructions on how to upload a
document.

� Web Comment.  Go to the commission’s web site at
http://psc.wi.gov, click on the “Public Comments”
button on the side menu bar.  On the next page select
the “File a comment” link that appears for docket
number 1−AC−236.

� Mail Comment.  All comments submitted by U.S. mail
must include the phrase “Docket 1−AC−236
Comments” in the heading, and shall be addressed to:

Sandra J. Paske, Secretary to the Commission
Public Service Commission
P.O. Box 7854
Madison, WI  53707−7854

The commission does not accept comments submitted via
e−mail or facsimile (fax).  Any material submitted to the
commission is a public record and may appear on the
commission’s web site.  The commission may reject a
comment that does not comply with the requirements
described in this notice.
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Analysis prepared by the Public Service Commission of
Wisconsin

Statutory authority and explanation of authority

This rulemaking is authorized under ss. 196.02 (1) and (3),
196.218 (5) (b) and (5m), and 227.11(2), Stats.

Section 227.11 authorizes agencies to promulgate
administrative rules.  Section 196.02 (1) authorizes the
commission to do all things necessary and convenient to its
jurisdiction.  Section 196.02 (3) grants the commission
specific authority to promulgate rules.  Sections 196.218 (5)
(b) and (5m) authorize the commission’s creation and revision
of these specific rules.

Statute interpreted

This rule interprets s. 196.218, Stats.

Related statutes or rules

None.

Brief summary of rule

The objective of this rulemaking is to revise the existing ch.
PSC 160, Universal Service Support Funding and Programs.
These rules were originally created in 1996, and then revised
in 2000.  Minor changes are also made to chs. PSC 161 and
171.  In the proposed rule, the commission revises existing
Universal Service programs that provide access to
telecommunications service to all Wisconsin customers
regardless of geographic location, income or disability.  In this
same chapter are revisions to the mechanism for funding those
programs and for administering the Universal Service Fund
(USF).

Any changes made as a result of this rulemaking are
intended to continue and enhance support for these general
purposes stated in the statutes.

A prior USF rulemaking was withdrawn by act of law on
December 31, 2010.  That draft of the rules included several
issues that were contentious, and time for promulgation ran
out.  This rulemaking is primarily intended to promulgate
those portions of the previously proposed rule that are less
contentious, such as program−specific updates. While these
proposed rules were being drafted, changes occurred on both
the state and federal levels that required additional revisions
to these rules. For example, 2011 Wisconsin Act 22 changed
the statutory definition of “essential telecommunications
services.”  Additionally, the federal Lifeline and Link−up
programs were changed dramatically.  As a result, these
proposed rules were also crafted to make changes necessitated
by state and federal law changes.

PSC 160.02 (2), (3) and (4)
These are definitions of call blocking, call control and call

limitation.  The changes provide consistency with applicable
federal language and usage.

PSC 160.02 (9), (12), (14) and (22)
The commission now recognizes three different types of

eligible telecommunications carrier (ETC). A definition of
each type has been added.

PSC 160.03
This section on essential telecommunications services has

been extensively rewritten to reflect changes made by 2011
Wisconsin Act 22.  The prior requirements for and definition
of essential services have been replaced with those that
federal law had in place as of January 2010, as required by
2011 Wisconsin Act 22.

PSC 160.031
Pursuant to 2011 Wisconsin Act 22, references to data

transmission have been deleted.
PSC 160.035
Pursuant to 2011 Wisconsin Act 22, references to advanced

service capability have been deleted.
PSC 160.04
The section on call limitation (formerly toll blocking) has

been rewritten to bring it more into line with current federal
rules and definitions.

PSC 160.05
This section lists programs that can be funded through the

Universal Service Fund (USF).  The programs themselves are
described elsewhere in the rules.  Likewise, a description and
explanation of changes appear in the program−specific parts
of this analysis.

PSC 160.06
This section addresses eligibility requirements for

low−income USF programs.  Language is added throughout
s. PSC 160.06 to address the different types of Eligible
Telecommunications Carriers (ETCs) now recognized by the
commission.  Subsection (1) requires all subject providers to
use the state verification databases, as required under federal
rules.  Subsection (1) (c) addresses situations in which the
state databases cannot be used for verification.  Subsection
PSC 160.06 (2) requires providers to re−verify the eligibility
of all lifeline recipients annually.  This requirement has
existed in state rules for years and has now been adopted by
the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) as well.

PSC 160.061
The FCC has eliminated the federal link−up program (that

waives certain service connection charges for low−income
customers) for all but tribal lands.  This rule change eliminates
the existing statewide link−up program.  More limited
programs targeted at specific customer groups, including
those on tribal lands, who show a clear need for support may
be authorized under s. PSC 160.125

PSC 160.062 (1)
Customers are eligible for only one lifeline credit at a time

under federal law. The commission and FCC have both
needed to take action to prevent lifeline fraud in this area.  The
draft rule specifically states that a customer may not request
more than one lifeline credit, and requires the providers to
take steps to prevent customers from receiving multiple
lifeline credits.

PSC 160.062 (1r)
ETCs apply the lifeline adjustment to an eligible

customer’s bill, regardless of whether that customer is
purchasing service on a standalone basis or as part of a bundle.
The adjustment is made to whatever service or bundle the
customer purchases.

PSC 160.062 (2), (2g) and (2r)
The lifeline base rate is defined as the rate for essential

services, when offered on a standalone basis, or a fixed $25,
when essential service is only offered as part of a service
bundle.  The lifeline discount is tied to these rates, and is either
$10 or an amount necessary to reduce the lifeline base rate to
$15 (subject to a maximum contribution from the state of
$9.25).  Another provision allows for automatic adjustment of
lifeline benefits, provided they do not put the state universal
service fund at risk.  Where federal changes could require
additional state payments, the commission would have to
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consider the impact of those changes before authorizing the
resultant state USF expenditures.  The draft rules also include
a section addressing prepaid wireless service, which offers
free minutes of use in lieu of a discount to monthly rates, since
prepaid service has no monthly rates.  Subsection (2r)
contains language for lifeline on tribal lands to keep that
portion consistent with the federal program.

PSC 160.062 (4m)
This lifeline provision clarifies the process for a provider

to follow if it determines that an existing customer is no longer
eligible for lifeline discounts.

PSC 160.062 (5m)
This section requires providers to file requests for

compensation for lifeline credits in a timely manner.  The
provision strikes a balance: allowing providers sufficient time
to file requests for compensation while not requiring the USF
to budget for potential reimbursement claims filed years after
occurrence.

PSC 160.063
The changes to this section clarify application procedures

and provide flexibility for low−income outreach programs.
PSC 160.07
The provisions on special needs certification are moved

into s. PSC 160.071.
PSC 160.071
This section addresses service and equipment for

individuals with special needs and includes the
Telecommunications Equipment Purchase Program (TEPP).
Changes in the amount of reimbursement reflect changes to
the costs and technologies used to provide the equipment
necessary to allow customers with disabilities to use
telecommunications services.  Subsection (1m) (c) clarifies
coverage of TEPP co−payments for low−income customers.
Subsection (1m) (j) allows the commission to suspend
vendors for cause and stops payments to suspended vendors.
Subsection (1m) (L) 2. allows the program to cover the cost
of computing equipment, if that is both required and the most
cost−effective means of providing the assistance necessary
for the customer to utilize telecommunications services.
Sections (4), (5) and (6) continue to require providers to waive
fees for operator service, directory assistance and custom
calling services, when required by an individual with special
needs.  Providers may receive payment for such waivers.  The
section which provided for discounted long distance service
is obsolete and has been removed.  The draft also creates a
filing deadline in sub. (7) to prevent providers from claiming
reimbursement years after the fact.

PSC 160.073
The commission has ceased funding this public interest

payphone program, so the language is being removed.
PSC 160.09
This section addresses high rate assistance credits, a

program that reduces what customers are charged for essential
services, when those charges exceed a threshold tied to
median household income.  The majority of the changes to
this section clarify the sources of data used to calculate the
credits, the various changes to what is considered part of
essential service, and program procedures.  Subsection
160.09 (1r) states when providers must recalculate those
credits, and allows providers to avoid the expenses involved
in such changes when those changes would be insignificant.
The changes also set forth the procedure for providers to show

what portion of a bundled rate covers essential service.  The
draft also creates a filing deadline in sub. (5) to prevent
providers from claiming reimbursement years after the fact.

PSC 160.091
This section on qualifications for high rate assistance

credits is eliminated and those requirements have been
incorporated into ss. PSC 160.09 and PSC 160.13.

PSC 160.092
This section allows the commission to create alternative

universal service protection plans on an experimental,
temporary basis.  The changes clarify the procedure to create
such plans and specify what such plans could address.
Subsection (4) is eliminated, as the program to which it refers
is also being eliminated.

PSC 160.10
Rate Shock Mitigation applied only in cases where

commission−ordered retail rate increases would negatively
impact customers.  Since the commission no longer has
authority to order rate changes, the rate shock mitigation
program is being eliminated.

PSC 160.11
The TEACH Program made this program for institutional

assistance obsolete, so the language is being deleted.
PSC 160.125
The changes in this section promoting access to

telecommunications services provide clarity, codify the
procedures the commission is currently following and remove
advanced services from the list of supportable services as
required by 2011 Wisconsin  Act 22.

PSC 160.13
This section on ETCs has been extensively revised to

codify current practice and to incorporate changes in both
federal rules and state statutes.  Changes in this section also
reflect the fact that the commission authorizes three different
types of ETCs.  Full ETCs are eligible for all state and federal
funds, including high cost funding.  Low−income−only ETCs
are only eligible for lifeline support.  Federal−only ETCs are
wireless ETCs authorized under s. 196.218(4) (b), Stats.  A
provider may be both low−income and federal only, in which
case the provider would only be eligible for federal lifeline
support.

PSC 160.13(3)
This subsection lists the information and certifications

providers must file as part of their initial applications for ETC
status.  The section incorporates federal filing requirements.
The section requires a list of wire centers in which the
provider seeks designation, a showing that the provider is
certified to do business in Wisconsin, and the provision of
contact information and so forth.

PSC 160.13(5)
This subsection covers periodic reporting requirements for

ETCs.   The state requirements generally mirror federal
requirements and allow ETCs to meet most state requirements
by filing copies of their federal filings with the commission.

PSC 160.13(9)
Both federal rules and statutes define the smallest area for

which a provider can request ETC designation, but the FCC
has granted waivers and forbearance of theses requirement in
certain situations.   The general rule states that the smallest
allowable area for areas served by rural incumbent local
exchange companies (ILECs) is, with certain exceptions, the
entire ILEC service territory.   The smallest allowable area for
non−rural areas is the wire center.
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PSC 160.13(10)
This subsection has been modified to conform with FCC

directives that call for states to make a public interest finding
in designating ETCs in both rural and non−rural areas,
although the finding for non−rural areas requires a less
detailed analysis.

PSC 160.13 (12)
This provision covers the procedures for ETCs to

relinquish ETC status.  The changes to this section are
primarily grammatical, and to address the existence of
low−income ETCs.   Paragraph (c) incorporates the processes
that were referred to in another section which is being
eliminated in this rewrite, so that those references appear here.
Paragraph (e) addresses the situation of a federal−only ETC
which wishes to remain an ETC, but, because of technological
change or for other reasons, no longer meets the requirements
for federal−only status.

PSC 160.14
This section, which ensured customers had access to at

least one long distance provider, is being repealed.  With the
market moving to all−distance pricing, specific protections
targeted exclusively at long distance service are no longer
necessary.

PSC 160.18 (9) (b)
This section clarifies timelines and procedures for

providers that wish to object to universal service fund
assessments.

PSC 160.18 (10)
This section prevents providers from making adjustments

to current rates for over or under USF collections from periods
long past.

PSC 160.19 (2)
The modifications to the composition of the universal

service fund council reflect the changes to the industry which
have occurred since this provision was last drafted.  Long
distance is no longer a separate nor an affected market
segment, while wireless has clearly become significant.

Comparison with existing or proposed federal legislation

There is both a state USF and a federal USF.  The state and
federal funds and programs are complementary rather than
duplicative.

“Eligible Telecommunications Carriers” (ETCs) are
designated by the commission and are, thereafter, eligible for
funding from the federal USF and for certain funding from the
state USF.  ETC status was created by the FCC, and codified
in 47 U.S.C. § 214(e)(2).  Under FCC rules, state commissions
are responsible for designating eligible providers as ETCs. 47
U.S.C. §. 214(e)(2), 47 C.F.R. § 54.201(b).

Designation as an ETC is required if a provider is to receive
federal USF funding.  ETC designation is also required to
receive funding from some, but not all, state universal service
programs.  The FCC established a set of minimum criteria that
all ETCs must meet.  These are codified in the federal rules.
(47 U.S.C. § 214(e)(1), 47 C.F.R. § 54.101(a).)  The 1996
Telecommunications Act states that, “A State may adopt
regulations not inconsistent with the commission’s rules to
preserve and advance universal service.” 47 U.S.C. § 254(f).
A court upheld the states’ right to impose additional
conditions on ETCs in Texas Office of Public Utility Counsel
v. FCC, 183 F.3d 393, 418 (5th Cir. 1999).  Therefore, while
states must examine the federal requirements, they are

allowed to create additional requirements.  Wisconsin has
done so.

The federal USF provides funding to ETCs that are found
to serve high−cost areas.  That funding is to be used to help
cover the costs of expanding infrastructure into those areas.
Doing so should help ensure that rates in those areas stay
lower since rates need not provide the funds for that
expansion.  The Wisconsin USF provides reimbursement to
providers that offer credits to customers when rates are higher
than as designated in s. PSC 160.09.

The federal USF also includes lifeline and link−up
programs (on tribal lands only) to assist low−income
customers.  The Wisconsin lifeline program is structured to
complement the federal program and to take advantage of the
available federal lifeline funds.

The FCC is currently conducting trials around the country
where the lifeline credit may apply to Internet access service.
In these rules the Wisconsin lifeline program is adapted to
address the needs of disabled individuals whose principal
means of communication is not adequately supported by
traditional voice telephony.  It allows the lifeline credit to
apply to Internet access where a certified disabled customer
requires it as a substitute for regular essential
telecommunications service.

The federal USF assessment applies to all carriers,
including wireless carriers, and is assessed based on interstate
revenues.  The state USF assessment applies to all providers,
including wireless providers, and is assessed based on
intrastate revenues.  Wisconsin exempts certain providers
from assessment, such as those with under $200,000 in
intrastate revenues.

There are parts of the federal USF (e.g., the E−Rate
program for schools) that do not have a counterpart in the state
USF rules.  Likewise, some of the state USF rules (e.g., the
program to assist persons with disabilities — s. PSC 160.071)
address matters not included in the federal USF law or rules.

Comparison with similar rules in surrounding states
The following discussion focuses on areas where

significant changes are being made to the USF rules.
Many state USF programs, both in Wisconsin and in other

states, are intertwined with federal universal service
programs.  As a result, there is a certain amount of similarity
among state programs.  For example, each of the surrounding
states has lifeline type programs.  (Lifeline helps pay the
monthly cost of telephone service.  Link−up helps pay the cost
of service installation.)  As required under federal law, each
has income−based eligibility criteria although the specifics
vary somewhat.  The level of credits to customers and the
resulting reimbursements to providers are similar, due in part
to the federal matching dollars attached to
credit/reimbursement levels.    A difference in lifeline
programs is that the four other states only have a set figure for
the lifeline credit/reimbursement amount (although in
Michigan that amount may vary depending on which
company is involved).  Wisconsin has a standard lifeline
credit if the base rate is $25 or below, although, it has a
variable component.  (The “base rate” is the monthly
residential rate including applicable in−state fees, touch−tone
service, 911 charges on the telephone bill, the federal
subscriber line charge, access recovery charge and 120 local
calls.)  If the base rate is $25 or above, the
reimbursement/credit is the lesser of:

1.  Whatever is necessary to bring that rate down to $15.



Page 38 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 693 September 30, 2013

2.  The amount available under the federal USF plus
$9.25.

In this way, low−income customers in higher cost
(generally rural) areas receive a credit sufficient to bring the
base rate to a reasonably affordable level and providers are on
a fairly “level playing field.”

The provision in these rules that allows the lifeline credit
to apply to Internet access where a certified disabled customer
requires it as a substitute for regular essential
telecommunications service is unique within the region.

Wisconsin also has a program (TEPP) that helps provide
access to telecommunications service for persons with
hearing, speech and/or mobility disabilities.  TEPP provides
vouchers to help persons with disabilities that impair their
ability to use standard telecommunications equipment for
accessing telecommunications service to obtain equipment
that will assist them in doing so.  Iowa, Illinois, and Minnesota
each have similar programs although the specifics vary.  For
example, Illinois’ program is limited to those with hearing or
speech disabilities, and in Minnesota the equipment belongs
to the state and must be returned if the customer leaves the
state or loses his/her telephone line.

Wisconsin also has a program to help lower the monthly
cost of telephone service in areas of the state where rates are
high.  In determining whether assistance under this “high rate
assistance” program is required, the program looks both at the
rate for basic service and what percentage of a county’s
median household income that rate entails.  Although its
commission must vote to activate it, Michigan statutes
provide for a similar program that would provide a subsidy to
customers of the difference between an affordable rate and the
company’s forward looking economic cost of providing
service (should the latter be higher than the former).  Illinois
has a high−cost program that provides support to small
telecommunications providers if the economic costs of
providing certain services exceed the affordable rate set for
those services.

Surrounding states have taken a variety of approaches to
certification and reporting requirements for ETCs including:
adoption of formal rules, orders applicable to either new or all
ETCs, and case−by−case determinations.

The Minnesota Public Utilities Commission (docket
P999/M−05−741) adopted the FCC’s exact language for
annual certification requirements, with a couple of
modifications.  The two main modifications are (1) filing
2−year service quality improvement plans instead of the
federal five year requirement, and (2) filing information on a
service−area basis instead of a wire−center basis.  The new
requirements are applied to both new and existing ETCs, and
to both landline and wireless providers.

The Michigan Public Service Commission basically
adopted the exact language of the FCC’s rules unchanged,
including the 5−year quality improvement plans.  Michigan
has service quality and financial reporting rules for wireline
companies that do not apply to wireless ETCs, but all ETCs,
both existing and new, are required to meet all of the standards
and obligations contained in the FCC’s ETC rules, FCC
05−46 and 47 U.S.C. § 214.  The one exception to this is ETCs
receiving only low−income support; they have lesser
reporting requirements.  There are no standards for what types
of reporting on quality of service issues meet the adopted FCC
requirements.

The Illinois Commerce Commission has not officially
adopted the FCC rules, but uses them as a base for its ETC
decisions, which so far have been on a case−by−case basis.
The requirements are not applied to existing ETCs.  There
have been requests for ETC status where the Illinois
Commerce Commission has required wireless ETCs to do
more than is spelled out by the FCC, holding that the FCC’s
requirements are “the minimum requirements.”  The primary
areas where wireless ETCs have been subjected to more
scrutiny involve consumer protection, service quality
standards, and the public interest analysis.  As to telephone
directories, wireless providers have been required to provide
written disclosure to customers that directories will not be
provided and numbers will not be published.  The FCC’s
5−year plan is retained.

The Iowa Utility Board’s (IUB) ETC rules incorporate the
FCC rules with some modifications.  Similar to these
proposed rules, IUB requires maps of signal coverage
depicting signal strength (although IUB ILECs may refer to
maps already on file with the commission.) IUB adopted
service quality standards for ETCs although, again like these
proposed rules, they differ for landline and wireless.  Rolling
one year network improvement and maintenance plans are
required.  The rules are applied to both new and existing
ETCs.

The Indiana Regulatory Commission (case
41052−ETC−47) adopted the FCC’s exact language in a
proceeding involving an individual ETC applicant, but made
that decision applicable to all ETCs, both landline and
wireless.

Effect on Small Business
Existing USF rules may have an effect on small

telecommunications utilities, which are small businesses
under s. 196.216, Stats., for the purposes of s. 227.114, Stats.
These small telecommunications utilities, like other
telecommunications providers (both large and small), may
have obligations under the USF, including an obligation for
payments to the USF, which is required under statute.  Other
requirements in the rule only apply to wireless providers who
voluntarily choose to become designated as eligible
telecommunications carriers.  Since the Commission does not
regulate wireless providers, it does not have records
indicating how many of them are small businesses.

These proposed rules should have no particular impact on
small businesses.  The commission already has established, in
s. PSC 160.18 (1), an exemption from fund assessments to
protect entry by and continued operation of small
telecommunications providers as directed by statutory
objectives.  In s. PSC 160.01 (2) (b), the existing rules allow
the commission to give individual consideration to unusual
situations and to adopt different requirements for particular
telecommunications providers.  Small businesses can request
that the commission provide an exception to a rule
requirement.  There are no new reporting or bookkeeping
requirements created under these proposed rules. Also, most
of the requirements in the proposed rules only apply to
providers who voluntarily choose to be designated as ETCs.

The agency has considered the methods in s. 227.114 (2),
Stats., for reducing the impact of the rules on small
businesses.  Accordingly, the agency has included provisions
for exemption from assessments for small providers, and
allowing requests for consideration of unusual circumstances,
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as noted above.  Further application of these methods is not
consistent with statutory objectives.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Existing Universal Service Fund (USF) rules may have an
effect on small telecommunications utilities, which are small
businesses under s. 196.216, Stats., for the purposes of s.
227.114, Stats.  These small telecommunications utilities, like
other telecommunications providers (both large and small),
may have obligations under the USF, including an obligation
for payments to the USF.

These rules should have no significant impact on small
businesses.  The commission already has established, in s.
PSC 160.18(1), an exemption from fund assessments to
protect entry by and continued operation of small
telecommunications providers as directed by statutory
objectives.  In s. PSC 160.01 (2) (b), the existing rules allow
the commission to give individual consideration to unusual
situations and to adopt different requirements for particular
telecommunications providers.  Small businesses can request
that the commission provide an exception to a rule
requirement.  Finally, Eligible Telecommunications Carrier
status, which is the trigger for most USF obligations, is
voluntary.

Fiscal Estimate

These rule changes have no fiscal impact.  An Economic
Impact Analysis is attached.

Contact Person

Questions regarding this matter should be directed to Jeff
Richter, USF Director, at (608) 267−9624 or
Jeff.Richter@wisconsin.gov.  Small business questions may
be directed to Gary Evenson at (608) 266−6744 or
gary.evenson@wisconsin.gov.  Media questions should be
directed to Nathan Conrad, Communications Director, at
(608) 266−9600.  Hearing− or speech−impaired individuals
may also use the commission’s TTY number:  if calling from
Wisconsin, (800) 251−8345; if calling from outside
Wisconsin, (608) 267−1479.

Text Of The Rules

SECTION 1. PSC 160.01 (1), (2) (b) and (4) are amended
to read:

PSC 160.01 Scope and purpose.  (1) PURPOSE.  Chapter
PSC 160 is designed to effectuate and implement s. 196.218,
Stats., 47 USC 254, 47 CFR 54 and parts of other sections of
the Wisconsin and federal statutes, authorizing the
commission to establish and operate a universal service fund
and programs to further the goal of providing a basic set of
essential telecommunications services and access to
advanced service capabilities to all customers of in the state.

(2) (b)  Nothing in this chapter shall preclude the
commission from giving special and individual consideration
being given to exceptional or unusual situations and, upon due
investigation of the facts and circumstances involved, the
adoption of from adopting requirements as to individual
providers or services programs that may be lesser, greater,
other or different than those provided in this chapter.

(4) ENFORCEMENT.  The manner of enforcing ch. PSC 160
is prescribed in ss. 196.218, 196.499 (17) and 196.66, Stats.,
and includes such any other means as provided in statutory
sections administered by the commission.

SECTION 2. PSC 160.01 (5) is renumbered 160.01 (5)
(intro.), and amended to read:

PSC 160.01 (5) (intro.) ORDERS.  The commission may
issue orders it deems considers necessary to assist in the
implementation or interpretation of this chapter.  Except for
declaratory rulings under s. 227.41, Stats., which require the
opportunity for a hearing, and commission determinations not
subject to judicial review under ss. 227.52 and 227.53, Stats.,
orders shall be issued The commission shall issue orders only
after notice and an opportunity for comment by interested
parties including the universal service fund council., except in
the following circumstances:

SECTION 3. PSC 160.01 (5) (a) to (c) are created to read:
PSC 160.01 (5) (a) The commission issues a determination

not subject to judicial review under ss. 227.52 and 227.53,
Stats.

(b) The commission receives a request for a declaratory
ruling under s. 227.41, Stats., which requires the opportunity
for a hearing.

(c) As otherwise provided in this chapter.
SECTION 4. PSC 160.02 (1g) and (1m) are renumbered

160.02 (1) and (7).
SECTION 5. PSC 160.02 (2) is renumbered 160.02 (8),

and amended to read:
PSC 160.02 (8) “Disability” means a physical, cognitive,

or sensory impairment that limits or curtails an individual’s
access to or usage of ability to use telecommunications
services or equipment, or both.  “Disability” includes a
speech, vision, or hearing impairment and motion
impairments that limit an individual’s ability to handle
telecommunications equipment.

SECTION 6.  PSC 160.02 (2) is created to read:
PSC 160.02 (2) “Call blocking” means a service that lets

customers elect not to allow the completion of any of the calls
specified under s. PSC 160.04 (1) on the customer’s account.

SECTION 7.  PSC 160.02 (3) is renumbered 160.02 (10).
SECTION 8.  PSC 160.02 (3) and (4) are created to read:
PSC 160.02 (3) “ Call control’’ means a service that lets a

customer specify a certain amount of the calls specified under
s. PSC 160.04 (1) that may be completed per month on the
customer’s account.

(4) “Call limitation” means either call blocking or call
control for providers that are incapable of providing both
services and, for providers that are capable of providing both
services, it means both call blocking and call control.

SECTION 9.  PSC 160.02 (4g) and (4m) are repealed.
SECTION 10.  PSC 160.02 (5) is renumbered 160.02 (17).
SECTION 11.  PSC 160.02 (5) is created to read:
PSC 160.02 (5) “Cognitive impairment” means a condition

that limits every day practical skills and involves significant
difficulty  with memory, information processing and
executive functions.

SECTION 12.  PSC 160.02 (6) is renumbered 160.02 (19),
and amended to read:

PSC 160.02 (19) “Link−up” means the a program that
waives some or all service connection charges for
low−income customers.

SECTION 13.  PSC 160.02 (6) is created to read:
PSC 160.02 (6) “Commission” means the public service

commission.
SECTION 14. PSC 160.02 (7) is renumbered 160.02 (20),

and amended to read:
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PSC 160.02 (20) “Local exchange service provider” means
any commercial mobile radio service wireless provider that
has been designated as an eligible telecommunications carrier
under s. PSC 160.13, or a telecommunications utility or any
other provider of basic local exchange service or standard
business lines and usage.

SECTION 15. PSC 160.02 (8) is renumbered 160.02 (21),
and amended to read:

PSC 160.02 (21) “Low−income” means a household that
receives benefits from one or more of the following programs:

(a)  Wisconsin works under ss. 49.141 to 49.161 49.162,
Stats.

Note: This includes all programs, including financial and
employment assistance, child care subsidy, etc.

(b)  Medical assistance under 42 USC 1395 1396 et seq.
(c)  Supplemental security income under 42 USC 1381 to

1385c 1383.
(d)  Food stamps under 7 USC 2011 to 2029.
(e)  The low income household energy assistance program

under s. 16.27, Stats.
(f)  The Wisconsin homestead tax credit under ss. 71.51 to

71.55, Stats.
(g)  Badger care BadgerCare Plus programs under s. 49.665

49.471, Stats., consistent with the income limits in par. (h).
(gm)  SeniorCare 1 and 2a under s. 49.688, Stats.
(h)  As approved by the commission, other state or

federally administered programs for households with income
levels equal to or less than less than or equal to 200% of the
poverty line as defined in 42 USC 9902 (2).

Note: See subs. 160.06 (1) (c) concerning other households that
may be considered low−income.

SECTION 16. PSC 160.02 (9) is renumbered 160.02 (23).
SECTION 17. PSC 160.02 (9) is created to read:
PSC 160.02 (9) “Eligible telecommunications carrier” or

“ETC” means a telecommunications provider that the
commission has so designated  and includes federal−only
ETCs, full ETCs and low−income ETCs.

SECTION 18. PSC 160.02 (10) and (11) are renumbered
160.02 (24) and (27).

SECTION 19. PSC 160. 02 (11) is created to read:
PSC 160.02(11) “Extended community calling” means a

telecommunications service by which a customer in one
exchange may call a customer in another exchange or
combination of exchanges under an expanded local calling
plan based on usage.

SECTION 20. PSC 160.02 (12) is renumbered 160.02
(29), and amended to read:

PSC 160.02 (29) “Two line voice carryover” means the
technique of using 3−way calling and 2 telephone lines, one
for voice and one for TTY or similar equipment text, to
connect a caller who is deaf or hard of hearing but can speak,
with another caller via the telecommunications relay service.

SECTION 21. PSC 160.02 (12) is created to read:
PSC 160.02 (12) “Federal – only eligible

telecommunications carrier” or “federal−only ETC” means a
telecommunications provider that the commission has so
designated under s. 196.218 (4) (b), Stats., or so designated
before June 9, 2011.

SECTION 22. PSC 160.02 (13) is renumbered 160.02
(30), and amended to read:

PSC 160.02 (30) “Universal service” means a statewide
rapid, efficient, communications network with adequate,
economically placed facilities to assure ensure that a basic set
of essential telecommunications services is available to all
persons in this state within a reasonable time and at affordable
prices and that the advanced service capabilities of a modern
telecommunications infrastructure are affordable and
accessible to all areas of the state within a reasonable time.

SECTION 23. PSC 160.02 (13) to (16) are created to read:
PSC 160.02 (13) “Federal subscriber line charge” means a

monthly per line federal charge that is assessed directly on a
local exchange telephone service customer as allowed by the
federal communications commission.  

Note: This is also known federally as the end−user
common line charge.  See 47 CFR 69.104.

(14) “Full eligible telecommunications carrier” or “full
ETC” means a telecommunications provider that the
commission has so designated under s. PSC 160.13 for
participation in all universal service programs.

(15) “Household” has the meaning given in 47 CFR 54.400
(h).

Note: As of April 2013, 47 CFR 54.400 (h) read as follows: A
“household” is any individual or group of individuals who are living
together at the same address as one economic unit. A household may
include related and unrelated persons. An “economic unit” consists
of all adult individuals contributing to and sharing in the income and
expenses of a household. An adult is any person 18 years or older.
If  an adult has no or minimal income, and lives with someone who
provides financial support to him/her, both people shall be
considered part of the same household. Children under the age of 18
living with their parents or guardians are considered to be part of the
same household as their parents or guardians.

(16) “Incumbent local exchange carrier” means a
telecommunications provider, and its successors and assigns,
authorized under law or by the commission before September
1, 1994, to place facilities and provide basic local service in
a particular geographic area.

SECTION 24. PSC 160.02 (18) is created to read:
PSC 160.02 (18) “Line” means an access line or service to

an activated wireless handset.
SECTION 25. PSC 160.02 (22) is created to read:
PSC 160.02 (22) “Low−income eligible

telecommunications carrier” or “low−income ETC” means a
telecommunications provider that the commission has so
designated under s. PSC 160.13 for participation only in the
lifeline or link−up program, or both.

SECTION 26. PSC 160.02 (25) and (26) are created to
read:

PSC 160.02 (25) “Pay−per−call service” has the meaning
given in s. 196.208 (1) (a), Stats.

(26)  “Provider” or “telecommunications provider” has the
meaning given in s. 196.01 (8p), Stats.

SECTION 27. PSC 160.02 (28) is created to read:
PSC 160.02 (28) “Two line hearing carryover” means the

technique of using 3−way calling and 2 telephone lines, one
for hearing and one for text, to connect a hearing caller who
is speech impaired with another caller via the
telecommunications relay service.

SECTION 28. PSC 160.02 (31) is created to read:
PSC 160.02 (31) “Wireless provider” means a commercial

mobile radio service provider as defined in s. 196.01 (2g).
SECTION 29. PSC 160.03 (1) is renumbered 160.03 (1m),

and amended to read:
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PSC 160.03 (1m) Each local exchange service provider
eligible telecommunications carrier shall make all essential
telecommunications services available to all of its customers
at affordable prices.

SECTION 30. PSC 160.03 (1) is created to read:
PSC 160.03 Essential telecommunications services.  (1)

For purposes of this subsection:
(a) “911” means a service that permits a

telecommunications user to use the three−digit code ‘911,’ to
access emergency services through a public safety answering
point operated by a local government.

(b) “Directory assistance’’ means a service that includes
making available to customers, upon request, information
contained in directory listings, such as customer address and
telephone number.

(c) “Dual tone multi−frequency” means a method of
signaling that facilitates the transportation of signaling
through the network, shortening call set−up time.

Note: This is commonly known as touch tone.

(d) “Emergency services” includes services, such as 911
and enhanced 911, provided by local governments or other
public safety organizations.

(e) “Enhanced 911” means 911 service that includes the
ability to provide automatic numbering information, which
enables the public safety answering point to call back if the
call is disconnected, and automatic location information,
which permits emergency service providers to identify the
geographic location of the calling party.

(f) “Interexchange service’’ means the use of the loop, as
well as that portion of the switch that is paid for by the end
user, or the functional equivalent of these network elements
in the case of a wireless provider, necessary to access an
interexchange provider’ s network.

(g) “Local usage” means an amount of exchange service,
prescribed by the commission, provided free of charge to end
users.

(h) “Operator services” means any automatic or live
assistance to a customer to arrange for billing or completion,
or both, of a telephone call.

(i) “Single−party service” means telecommunications
service that permits users to have exclusive use of a landline
subscriber loop or access line for each call placed, or, in the
case of wireless providers, which use spectrum shared among
users to provide service, a dedicated message path for the
length of a user’s particular transmission.

(j) “Voice grade access’’ means a functionality that enables
a user of telecommunications services to transmit voice
communications, including signaling the network that the
caller wishes to place a call, and to receive voice
communications, including receiving a signal indicating there
is an incoming call.

SECTION 31. PSC 160.03 (1) is renumbered 160.03 (1m),
and amended to read:

PSC 160.03 (1m) Each local exchange service provider
eligible telecommunications carrier shall make all essential
telecommunications services available to all of its customers
at affordable prices all essential telecommunications services.

SECTION 32. PSC 160.03 (1) is created to read:
PSC 160.03 (1) For purposes of this subsection:
(a) “911” means a service that permits a

telecommunications user to use the three−digit code ‘911,’ to

access emergency services through a public safety answering
point operated by a local government.

(b) “Directory assistance’’ means a service that includes
making available to customers, upon request, information
contained in directory listings, such as customer address and
telephone number.

(c) “Dual tone multi−frequency” means a method of
signaling that facilitates the transportation of signaling
through the network, shortening call set−up time.

Note: This is commonly known as touch tone.
(d) “Emergency services”’ includes services, such as 911

and enhanced 911, provided by local governments or other
public safety organizations.

(e) “Enhanced 911” means 911 service that includes the
ability to provide automatic numbering information, which
enables the public safety answering point to call back if the
call is disconnected, and automatic location information,
which permits emergency service providers to identify the
geographic location of the calling party.

(f) “Interexchange service’’ means the use of the loop, as
well as that portion of the switch that is paid for by the end
user, or the functional equivalent of these network elements
in the case of a wireless provider, necessary to access an
interexchange provider’ s network.

(g) “Local usage” means an amount of exchange service,
prescribed by the commission, provided free of charge to end
users.

(h) “Operator services” means any automatic or live
assistance to a customer to arrange for billing or completion,
or both, of a telephone call.

(i) “Single−party service” means telecommunications
service that permits users to have exclusive use of a landline
subscriber loop or access line for each call placed, or, in the
case of wireless providers, which use spectrum shared among
users to provide service, a dedicated message path for the
length of a user’s particular transmission.

(j) “Voice grade access’’ means a functionality that enables
a user of telecommunications services to transmit voice
communications, including signaling the network that the
caller wishes to place a call, and to receive voice
communications, including receiving a signal indicating there
is an incoming call.

SECTION 33. PSC 160.03 (2) is repealed and re−created
to read:

PSC 160.03 (2) “Essential telecommunications services”
means all of the following:

(a) Voice grade access to the public switched network with
a minimum bandwidth of 300 to 3,000 hertz.

(b) Single−party service or its functional equivalent.
(c) Local usage.
(d) Dual tone multi−frequency signaling or its functional

equivalent.
(e) Access to emergency services.
(f) Access to operator services.
(g) Access to interexchange service.
(h) Access to directory assistance.
(i) Call limitation for low−income customers.
SECTION 34. PSC 160.031 and 160.035 are repealed.
SECTION 35. PSC 160.04 (title) is repealed and

re−created to read:
PSC 160.04 (title) Call limitation.
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SECTION 36. PSC 160.04 (1) is renumbered 160.04 (1)
(a) (intro.), and amended to read:

PSC 160.04 (1) (a) (intro.) BLOCKING CALL  LIMITATION

OBLIGATIONS. Every local exchange service provider eligible
telecommunications carrier in the state shall offer the call
limitation capability to block all long distance calls and,
separately, the capability to block 900 and 976 number calls
and the capability to block extended community calling
unless a timely waiver has been granted to the local exchange
service provider by the commission. for each of the following:

SECTION 37. PSC 160.04 (1) (a) 1. to 5. and (b) are
created to read:

PSC 160−04 (1) (a) 1. Long distance toll calls.
2. Pay−per−call service.

3. Collect toll calls.
4. Toll calls charged to a telephone credit card associated

with the telephone number for which call limitation has been
requested.

5. Toll calls charged to a third telephone number for which
call limitation has been requested.

(b) Notwithstanding par. (a) and s. 160.03 (1m),
federal−only eligible telecommunications carriers are not
required to offer call limitation capabilities to customers who
are not low income.

SECTION 38. PSC 160 04 (2) to (4) are amended to read:
PSC 160.04 (2)  CHARGES.  Blocking shall be without An

eligible telecommunications carrier may not impose a
monthly or nonrecurring charge to on a low−income
customers customer for call limitation. and at no charge other
than An ETC, other than a federal−only ETC, may only
impose a nonrecurring charge, and not a monthly charge, for
a second and or subsequent service activation orders order for
other residential and standard business line customers.

(3) EMERGENCY SERVICE. Blocking shall A local exchange
service provider may not prevent the impose a call limitation
that prevents a customer from reaching the emergency service
numbers appropriate for the customer’s location.

(4) PUBLIC NOTIFICATION AND EDUCATION.  A local exchange
service provider An eligible telecommunications carrier shall
make all reasonable efforts to inform its customers within its
service areas of the availability of, and where charge−free,
eligibility  requirements for, cost−free toll blocking call
limitation services, 900 and 976 number blocking services
and extended community calling blocking services.  The local
exchange service provider  An eligible telecommunications
carrier shall also make reasonable efforts to instruct eligible
customers requesting the service in the use of the equipment
or service.

SECTION 39. PSC 160.04 (5) is repealed.
SECTION 40. PSC 160.05 (intro.) is amended to read:

PSC 160.05 (intro.) Universal service fund programs.
Universal service fund monies may be used for fund
administration; for the purpose of informing the public
regarding of the universal service fund, its existence, purpose,
intent and areas of use uses of the universal service fund; and
for the following purposes:

SECTION 41. PSC 160.05 (1) (a), (c) and (d) are amended
to read:

PSC 160.05 (1) (a)  Link−up America assistance, as
specified in s. PSC 160.061.

(c)  Voice mail Telephone access service for the homeless,
as specified in s. PSC 160.125 (1).

(d)  Telecommunications equipment purchase program
(TEPP) vouchers, as specified in s. PSC 160.071 (1) (1m).

SECTION 42. PSC 160.05 (1) (h) to (j) and (L) are
repealed.

SECTION 43. PSC 160.05 (1) (n) is amended to read:
PSC 160.05 (1) (n)  Eligible telecommunications carriers

designated by a process under s. PSC 160.13 (5) (8) (c).
SECTION 44. PSC 160.05 (1) (o) is repealed.
SECTION 45. PSC 160.05 (1) (p) is amended to read:
PSC 160.05 (1) (p)  Second line for 2 line voice or hearing

carryover, as specified in s. PSC 160.071 (6) (b) (6m).
SECTION 46. PSC 160.05 (1) (r) is repealed.
SECTION 47. PSC 160.05 (1) (s) is renumbered 160.05

(1) (t).
SECTION 48. PSC 160.05 (1) (s) is created to read:
PSC 160.05 (1) (s) Directory assistance, operator

assistance and custom calling service payments under s. PSC
160.071 (4) to (6).

SECTION 49. PSC 160.05 (2) and (3) are amended to
read:

PSC 160.05 (2) For payments by the technology for
educational achievement in Wisconsin board department of
administration for educational telecommunications access
support, as specified in s. 196.218 (5) (a) 5., Stats., under the
appropriation in s. 20.505(4) (s), (t), (tm), and (tu) and (tw),
Stats., and for payments under the appropriation in s. 20.865
(4) (u), Stats.

(3) For payments to the department of administration for
telecommunications services provided to the campuses of the
university of Wisconsin system at River Falls, Stout, Superior
and Whitewater, as specified in s. 196.218 (5) (a) 6., Stats.,
under the appropriation in s. 20.285 (1) (q), Stats.

SECTION 50. PSC 160.05 (4) is repealed.
SECTION 51. PSC 160.05 (6) to (9) are created to read:

PSC 160.05  (6) For payments by the department of public
instruction for newsline for the blind, under the appropriation
in s. 20.255 (3) (q), Stats.

(7) For payments by the department of public instruction
for supplemental aid to public library systems as specified in
s. 43.24, Stats., under the appropriation in s. 20.255 (3) (qm),
Stats.

(8) For payments by the department of public instruction
for library service contracts as specified in s. 43.03 (6) and (7),
Stats., under the appropriation in s. 20.255 (3) (r), Stats.

(9) For other payments authorized by statute.
SECTION 52. PSC 160.06 (1) (intro.) is renumbered

160.06 (1) (a) (intro.), and amended to read:
PSC 160.06 Eligibility  for low−income programs.  (1)

LOW−INCOME ASSISTANCE ELIGIBILITY.   (a) (intro.) Local
exchange service providers All ETCs shall verify an
applicant’s eligibility for low−income assistance programs by
making timely queries of the applicable databases of the
Wisconsin department of workforce development health
services, the Wisconsin department of revenue, or other state
government agencies designated by the commission.
Applicant An ETC shall verify an applicant’s eligibility shall
be verified by finding the applicant to be any of the following:

SECTION 53. PSC 160.06 (1) (a) to (c) are renumbered
160.06 (1) (a) 1. to 3., and amended to read:
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PSC 160.06 (1) (a)  1. An active client of at least one of the
programs listed in s. PSC 160.02 (8) (21).

2. A member of the active client’s household whose low
income qualifies the client for benefits under at least one of the
programs listed in s. PSC 160.02 (8) (21).

3. A Unless the provider is a federal−only ETC, a recipient
of the Wisconsin homestead tax credit for the most recently
completed tax year.  If the applicant’s tax filing for the most
recently completed tax year has not been posted to the records
of the Wisconsin department of revenue and if application for
low−income assistance is made on or before June 30th, then
the tax year prior to the most recently completed tax year may
be used to determine eligibility.

SECTION 54. PSC 160.06 (1) (b) and (c) are created to
read:

PSC 160.06 (1) (b) Notwithstanding par. (a), an eligible
telecommunications carrier shall verify an applicant as
eligible for low−income assistance programs if the applicant
qualifies for federal universal service fund support for eligible
residents of tribal lands under 47 CFR 54.400 et seq.

(c) If an eligible telecommunications carrier cannot verify
an applicant’s eligibility under par. (a) or (b), and the eligible
telecommunications carrier files with the commission proof
that it has filed with the federal communications commission
an acceptable plan for eligibility verification and annual
reverification, in addition to the households considered
low−income under the definition in s. PSC 160.02 (21), the
ETC shall consider a household that meets one of the
following criteria to be low−income:

1. Receives benefits from federal public housing assistance
(section 8).

2. Receives benefits from the national school lunch
program’s free lunch program.

3. Customer’s income, as defined in 47 CFR 54.400 (f), is
at or below 135% of the federal poverty guidelines.

4. Temporary assistance for needy families, other than
Wisconsin works under ss. 49.141 to 49.161, Stats.

5. Any other federal low−income eligibility criteria.
SECTION 55. PSC 160.06 (2) and (3) are amended to

read:
PSC 160.06 (2) ELIGIBILITY  RECONFIRMATION

REVERIFICATION.  Eligibility shall be reconfirmed An eligible
telecommunications carrier shall reverify eligibility on at
least an annual basis for all customers receiving lifeline
assistance. The eligible telecommunications carrier shall first
attempt to reverify eligibility by making timely queries of the
applicable databases of the Wisconsin department of health
services, the Wisconsin department of revenue, or other
government agencies designated by the commission.

(3) ELIGIBILITY  INQUIRY. Local exchange service providers
Eligible telecommunications carriers other than federal−only
ETCs shall inquire of the each customer regarding eligibility
of that customer for low−income programs on each order for
initial or moved residential service and, orally or in writing,
in the first contact with a customer during a year concerning
disconnection or payment arrangements.

SECTION 56. PSC 160.06 (4) (a) is renumbered 160.06
(4) (b), and amended to read:

PSC 160.06 (4) (b) Local exchange service providers
Eligible telecommunications carriers shall obtain whatever
comply with client customer authorization requirements of is
required by the Wisconsin department of workforce

development health services, the Wisconsin department of
revenue, or other state government agencies for the database
queries necessary for eligibility verification.  Customers shall
complete and remit any reasonably required query
authorization forms or forfeit eligibility. The commission
may revoke the eligible telecommunications carrier
designation and order the forfeiture of reimbursements if it
accesses a customer’s database information without that
customer’s authorization. The commission may also refer the
eligible telecommunications carrier to the Wisconsin
department of justice or other state agency for appropriate
action.

SECTION 57. PSC 160.06 (4) (a) is created to read:
PSC 160.06 (4) (a) Customers shall complete and remit any

reasonably required query authorization forms or forfeit
eligibility.

SECTION 58. PSC 160.06 (5) is renumbered 160.06 (6),
and amended to read:

PSC 160.06 (6) EXCEPTIONS. Lifeline and Link−Up
programs are The lifeline program is not available to
customers who are dependents for federal income tax
purposes as defined in 26 USC 152 (1986), unless the
customer is more than 60 years of age.

SECTION 59. PSC 160.06 (5) is created to read:
PSC 160.06 (5) APPLICANT REQUIREMENTS.

Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, an
applicant is only eligible for low−income assistance programs
under this chapter if the applicant provides all of the
information required under state and federal law.

SECTION 60. PSC 160.061 is repealed and recreated to
read:

PSC 160.061 Link−up program.  The commission may
fund programs to identify and provide monetary assistance to
low−income persons who are unlikely to be able to obtain
telecommunications service without such assistance.  Such
programs may include customers who qualify for federal
universal service fund support for eligible residents of tribal
lands under 47 CFR 54.400 et seq.

SECTION 61. PSC 160.062 (1) and (2) are repealed.
SECTION 62. PSC 160.062 (1) to (2r) are created to read:
PSC 160.062  Lifeline program. (1) APPLICABILITY.  For

purposes of subs. (2) to (7), “eligible telecommunications
carrier” or “ETC” means only full and low – income ETCs,
and does not include federal−only ETCs.

(1g)  LIFELINE MONTHLY RATE. For purposes of this section,
“lifeline monthly rate” means the lifeline base rate under sub.
(2) minus the lifeline adjustment under sub. (2g) or (2r).

(1r) ELIGIBILITY . (a) All eligible telecommunications
carriers shall offer to all qualified low−income customers a
lifeline adjustment to the customer’s rate for either of the
following:

1. Essential telecommunications service whether
stand−alone or as part of a service package.

2. Internet access, if the customer demonstrates that,
because of his or her disability certified under s. PSC 160.071
(1), the customer requires internet access that is adequate to
support service that is substitutable for and comparable to
essential telecommunications service.

Note:  An example under subd. 2. is video relay service.
Note:  Subd. 2. does not require a provider to offer internet access

service.  If provider offers a service needed under subd. 2, the
provider applies the lifeline adjustment to the price of that service.
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(b) An ETC taking an application for the lifeline program
shall do the following:

1. Ask the applicant if he or she is currently receiving a
lifeline adjustment on any other line.

2. Require the applicant to certify that he or she is not
currently receiving a lifeline adjustment on any other line or
from any other provider.

3. Only offer and apply the lifeline adjustment on one line.
4.  Ensure that any federal requirements about lifeline are

met.
Note: For example, see 47 CFR 54.410 regarding use of state

databases for eligibility verification.

(c) A customer may not request a lifeline adjustment on
more than one line.  An ETC shall not apply the lifeline
adjustment unless the customer has certified under par. (b)
that the customer is not receiving a lifeline adjustment on
another line or from any other provider.

(d) If an ETC becomes aware that a customer is receiving
a lifeline adjustment on more than one line or from more than
one provider, the ETC shall provide notice and take action
under sub. (4m) to ensure that the customer receives a lifeline
adjustment on only one line.

(2) Lifeline Base Rate. The lifeline base rate is one of the
following:

(a) For an eligible telecommunications carrier offering
local service on a stand−alone basis, the sum of:

1. The in−state charges and fees for stand−alone
single−party residential service with touch−tone, including,
as applicable, all of the following:

a. Police and fire protection fee.
b. State universal service fund assessment.
c. Remainder assessment.
d. Telecommunications utility trade practices assessment.
2. Any 911charges billed on the telephone bill.
3. The federal subscriber line charge.
4. The access recovery charge.
5. The charge for 120 local calls, excluding extended

community calling calls.
6. Other charges as approved by the commission.
(b) $25, if the eligible telecommunications carrier does not

offer local service on a stand−alone basis, and only offers it as
part of a service package.

(c) The commission may authorize a different lifeline base
rate based on the particular facts and circumstances
concerning an eligible telecommunications carrier’s local
service or internet access charges.

(2g) LIFELINE ADJUSTMENT. (a) Except as provided in par.
(b) and sub. (2r):

1.  If the lifeline base rate is $25 or less, the lifeline
adjustment shall be $10.

2. If the lifeline base rate is greater than $25, the lifeline
adjustment shall be the lesser of the following:

a. The amount necessary to reduce the lifeline monthly rate
to $15.

b. The maximum reimbursement available under 47 CFR
54.403, plus $9.25.

Note: Subsection (2g)(a)2.b. caps the adjustment at, essentially,
double the maximum amount available from the federal USF at the
time the rules went into effect.  In the future, the amount available
from the federal USF may increase, but the state portion is frozen at

$9.25 so that if, for example, the federal subscriber line charge is
raised and paid for through the federal USF, the state does not
automatically increase its reimbursement portion. This step was
taken to protect the state fund by blocking any automatic increase
in state reimbursement due to federal action.

(b) If the ETC offers prepaid wireless service, the lifeline
adjustment for that service shall be the greater of the
following:

1. The number of minutes that, when calculated using the
lowest per minute rate the ETC offers to its prepaid wireless
customers, equals or exceeds the value of the adjustment
under par. (a) that would otherwise apply.

2. The number of minutes recognized by the federal
communications commission as an acceptable compliance
plan provision for that provider.

(c)  The adjustment under par. (a) 1. shall be increased
automatically if both of the following occur:

1. A federal communications commission order or a
change in federal law causes an increase in a customer’s
lifeline base rate.

2. The state reimbursement amount after the increased
lifeline adjustment is not greater than it was before the federal
communications commission order or change in federal law.

Note: A provider may petition the commission under s. PSC
160.01(2)(b) for an increased lifeline adjustment if the increased
adjustment would increase the state reimbursement amount.

(d) Notwithstanding subs. (2g) and (2r), the lifeline
adjustment for partial months of service shall follow the
policy set by the federal universal service administration
corporation or its successors.

(2r) ADJUSTMENTS FOR RESIDENTS OF TRIBAL  LANDS. (a) 
When a customer qualifies for federal universal service fund
support for eligible residents of tribal lands under 47 CFR
54.400 et seq.:

1. If the lifeline base rate under sub. (2) is $25 or less, the
lifeline adjustment shall be $10, plus whatever federal
universal service fund support the customer qualifies for as an
eligible resident of tribal lands.

2. If the lifeline base rate under sub. (2) is greater than $25,
the lifeline adjustment shall be the amount necessary to
reduce the lifeline monthly rate to the level at which the
adjustment results in a state reimbursement amount that is
equal to what it would be under sub. (2g) (a) 2., plus whatever
federal universal service fund support the customer qualifies
for as an eligible resident of tribal lands.

(b)  The adjustment under par. (a)1. shall be increased
automatically if both of the following occur:

1. A federal communications commission order or a
change in federal law causes an increase in a customer’s
lifeline base rate.

2. The state reimbursement amount after the increased
adjustment is not greater than it was before the federal
communications commission order or change in federal law.

Note: A provider may petition the commission under s. PSC
160.01(2) (b) for an increased lifeline adjustment if the increased
adjustment would increase the state reimbursement amount.

SECTION 63. PSC 160.062 (3) (title) is created to read:
PSC 160.062(3) (title) SHOWING THE ADJUSTMENT.

SECTION 64. PSC 160.062 (3) is renumbered 160.062 (3)
(a), and amended to read:

PSC 160.062 (3) (a) The Except as provided in par. (b), the
eligible telecommunications carrier shall show the lifeline
monthly rate may appear adjustment as a credit against either
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an adjustment to the full standard tariffed or standard rate on
a customer’s bill or as a special rate designation. Whenever
possible, the eligible telecommunications carrier shall begin
showing the lifeline adjustment or rate shall begin to appear
on an eligible customer’s bill on the next bill date following
the date of application for lifeline assistance.  If the ETC does
not apply the lifeline adjustment or rate does not begin to
appear on the next bill date, when it the ETC does appear back
apply the credit will it shall be given applied back to the date
of application.  In cases where a customer’s eligibility date as
found in the records of the Wisconsin department of
workforce development, the Wisconsin department of
revenue, or other state agencies precedes the last bill date prior
to application, credit shall also be given for one month’s prior
bill.

SECTION 65. PSC 160.062 (3) (b) is created to read:
PSC 160.062 (3) (b) If an eligible telecommunications

carrier offers prepaid service and does not render a bill for that
service, as long as it maintains a statement of account for a
customer the provisions of par. (a) apply to the statement of
account.

SECTION 66. PSC 160.062 (4) is amended to read:
PSC 160.062 (4) PERIOD OF ELIGIBILITY.  (a)  Eligibility

Except as provided in pars. (b) and (c) and sub. (4m),
eligibility  for lifeline assistance continues until the next bill
date following a failure to meet eligibility requirements.

(b)  When the low income household energy assistance
program is one of the customer’s qualifying income
assistance programs, the eligibility for lifeline assistance shall
continue until the bill date in the next December following the
close of the heating season.  At that time, the customer’s lack
of eligibility shall be verified by the local exchange service
provider before removing the lifeline assistance from the
customer’s bill. 

(c)  When the homestead tax credit is one of the customer’s
qualifying income assistance programs, the eligibility for
lifeline assistance continues until the bill date in the next June
following the end of the tax year.  At that time, lack of
eligibility  shall be reverified by the local exchange service
provider before removing the lifeline assistance from the
customer’s bill.

Note:  See sub. (4m) for notice requirements when removing a
customer from the lifeline program.

SECTION 67. PSC 160.062 (4m) is created to read:
PSC 160.062 (4m) NOTICE OF IMPENDING TERMINATION. (a)

If  an eligible telecommunications carrier has a reasonable
basis to believe that a customer no longer meets the lifeline
eligibility  requirements, it shall query the state database used
to verify the customer’s eligibility in order to obtain
information about whether the customer is still eligible
according to that database. If that database indicates that the
customer is no longer eligible, the ETC shall furnish the
customer a written notice of impending termination of lifeline
assistance at least 30 days before the termination date.  The
ETC shall send the notice separately from the customer’s
regular monthly bill, shall state the termination date on the
notice, and shall provide information on the notice about how
to demonstrate continued eligibility.

(b) The ETC shall terminate lifeline assistance on the
termination date unless the customer demonstrates continued
eligibility.

(c) Notwithstanding par. (b), an ETC may postpone
termination of lifeline assistance without issuance of

additional notice if additional time is required to review
customer claims of continued eligibility, or due to special
circumstances.

SECTION 68. PSC 160.062 (5) and (6) are repealed.
SECTION 69. PSC 160.062 (5) to (6) are created to read:
PSC 160.062 (5) PROVIDER REIMBURSEMENT. (a) Only

low−income and full eligible telecommunications carriers
may receive reimbursement from the state universal service
fund.

(b) An ETC may only receive reimbursement if it complies
with all federal lifeline requirements, including the
requirement to stop requesting federal universal service fund
reimbursement for a prepaid wireless telephone that has not
been used in 60 days and the requirement to use the
appropriate state database where possible to verify lifeline
eligibility.

(c)  The commission may withhold or suspend
reimbursement while investigating compliance with state or
federal lifeline requirements.

(d) If an ETC is eligible to receive lifeline reimbursement
under the federal lifeline program, it may receive
reimbursement from the state universal service fund for the
difference between what it is eligible to receive in federal
reimbursement and what its reimbursement would otherwise
be under sub. (2g).

(e) Notwithstanding par. (c), the provider reimbursement
for partial months of service shall follow the policy set by the
federal universal service administration corporation or its
successors.

(5m) DEADLINE FOR FILING. An eligible
telecommunications carrier shall file its reimbursement
request with the fund administrator before April 1 of the year
following the year during which the customer was charged the
lifeline monthly rate for which reimbursement is sought.  A
provider may obtain an extension from commission staff for
good cause, if the extension request is received before the
April  1 deadline.

(6) LIMITATIONS ON CHARGES. (a) An eligible
telecommunications carrier may not do any of the following
to a lifeline customer:

1. Charge a deposit for service if the customer voluntarily
accepts call limitation.

2. Request that the customer pay in advance for more than
one month’s local service bill.

3.Disconnect the customer from local service for
nonpayment of toll charges.

(b) An ETC may counsel a customer that otherwise would
be subject to disconnection to accept call limitation.

SECTION 70. PSC 160.062 (7) (title) is created to read:
PSC 160.062 (7) CALL  LIMITATION  UNDER SPECIAL

PROGRAMS.

SECTION 71. PSC 160.062 (7) is amended to read:
PSC 160.062 (7) A local exchange service provider An

eligible telecommunications carrier acting under the limited
conditions specified in its commission approved
telecommunications customer assistance program under s.
PSC 160.08 may impose toll blocking or restriction call
limitation on lifeline customers.

SECTION 72. PSC 160.062 (8) is created to read:
PSC 160.062 (8) FEDERAL−ONLY ETCS. Federal−only

eligible telecommunications carriers shall comply with all
federal lifeline requirements, including the requirement to
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stop requesting federal universal service fund reimbursement
for a prepaid wireless telephone that has not been used in 60
days and the requirement to use the appropriate state database
where possible to verify lifeline eligibility.

SECTION 73. PSC 160.063 (1) to (3) are amended to read:
PSC 160.063 Outreach for low−income assistance

programs.  (1) Funding shall may be available to fund
collaborative partnerships between community−based
organizations and telecommunications providers projects to
increase participation of the eligible populations in the
universal service fund low−income support programs.

(2) Funding from the universal service fund for these
collaborative efforts projects under sub. (1) shall may not
exceed $250,000 in one year.  Funding shall be limited to not
more than 6 projects with at least one project focused
statewide and one project focused on the Milwaukee area, if
feasible.

(3) The commission shall annually may periodically
review applications and grant funding, when funding is
available, based on complete responses to a request for
proposals applications.  Funding shall be limited to not more
than 6 projects with at least one project focused statewide and
one project focused on the Milwaukee area, if feasible.  An
application may involve disbursement of support during
multiple state fiscal years.  All applications become public
documents upon filing.

SECTION 74. PSC 160.063 (3m) is created to read:
PSC 160.063 (3m) An application for funding under sub.

(1) shall include all of the following:
(a) A description of the proposed project.
(b) The name and a description of any project partners and

the role of each partner.
(c) A description of the proposed activities and an

explanation of how those activities may increase participation
of eligible populations in the universal service fund
low−income support programs.

(d) A budget showing a breakdown of costs and how a grant
under this section would be used.

(e) Any other information that the commission considers
necessary.

SECTION 75. PSC 160.063 (4) is amended to read:
PSC 160.063 (4) The commission shall may authorize

funding to conduct or contract for an evaluation of the
effectiveness of this program in promoting enrollment in
low−income programs and subscribership to telephone
telecommunications service to.  This evaluation shall be
completed within 2 years of May 1, 2000 the date on which
the commission grants the project funding.  The cost of this
evaluation shall not exceed $25,000.  This $25,000 shall be
included as part of the $250,000 maximum total funding
available under this section during the year in which the
evaluation occurs.

SECTION 76. PSC 160.07 (title), (1) and (2) are
renumbered 160.071 (1) (title), (a) and (b), and amended to
read:

PSC 160.071 (1) SPECIAL TELECOMMUNICATIONS NEEDS

CERTIFICATION.  (a) A person with a disability may determine
whether that disability presents a barrier to use of
telecommunications services, or equipment, or both.  That
person shall determine what accommodations are needed to
ensure effective telecommunications access.

(b) When a local exchange service provider or, the fund
administrator, a vendor, or the commission has sound reason
to question the self−certification of a customer under sub. (1)
par. (a), additional verification of disability, such as an
appropriate doctor’s written medical professional’s written
diagnosis and description of physical limitations and special
needs resulting from that diagnosis, may be required for
certification of special telecommunications needs.

SECTION 77. PSC 160.071 (title) is amended to read:
PSC 160.071 Service and equipment pricing for

individuals with special telecommunications needs.
SECTION 78. PSC 160.071 (1) (title) and (a) are

renumbered 160.071 (1m) (title) and (a), and amended to
read:

PSC 160.071 (1m) TELECOMMUNICATIONS
EQUIPMENT PURCHASE PROGRAM. (TEPP)

(a)  Vouchers shall be The universal service fund
administrator shall make vouchers available to assist
customers with a disability who have special
telecommunications needs certification under s. PSC 160.071
(1) in the purchase of equipment needed to personally access
and use essential services of the telecommunications network.
Vouchers may not be used A customer may not use a voucher
to purchase equipment which will be used exclusively for
commercial purposes.

SECTION 79. PSC 160.071 (1) (b) is renumbered PSC
160.071 (1m) (b).

SECTION 80. PSC 160.071 (1) (b) 1. is renumbered PSC
160.071 (1m) (b) 1., and amended to read:

PSC 160.071 (1m) (b) 1.  $200 100 for hard of hearing.
SECTION 81. PSC 160.071(1) (b) 2. and 3. are

renumbered PSC 160.071 (1m) (b) 2. and 3.
SECTION 82. PSC 160.071 (1) (b) 4. to 6. and (c) are

renumbered PSC 160.071 (1m) (b) 4. to 6. and (c), and
amended to read:

PSC 160.071 (1) (b) 4.  $1,600 for mobility or motion
impaired.

5.  $2,500 for severely hard of hearing − low vision or deaf
− low vision.

6.  $7,200 for severely hard of hearing − blind or deaf −
blind.

(c) A voucher recipient under par. (b) 1. is not required to
make a co−payment. All other voucher recipients are required
to make a co−payment of $100 at the time when the equipment
is purchased.  Pursuant to Under par. (f), for certain low
income customers the co−payment may be supplied by
funding through the telecommunications assistance program
(TAP) administered by the Wisconsin department of health
services under s. 46.297, Stats., and ch. DHS 78. For certain
low−income customers in the categories under pars. (b) 3. and
4. the co−payment may be supplied by the universal service
fund if the customer provides a medical professional’s
statement confirming the need for telecommunications
equipment available under this section and if the customer
certifies that he or she would meet the income requirements
of the telecommunications assistance program.

SECTION 83. PSC 160.071 (1) (d) is repealed.
SECTION 84. PSC 160.071 (1) (e) to (k) are renumbered

PSC 160.071 (1m) (e) to (k), and amended to read:
PSC 160.071 (1) (e)  Customers with disabilities may

obtain voucher application forms from the fund administrator,
their local exchange service provider, or other sources. 
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Completed An applicant shall submit a completed,
commission−approved voucher application forms shall be
submitted form to the universal service fund administrator.

Note: Customers with disabilities may obtain
commission−approved voucher application forms from the fund
administrator, the commission, or other sources, including the
commission’s website psc.wi.gov.

(f)  Applicants for vouchers under this section shall be
Wisconsin residents.  An applicant may not receive a voucher
for equipment for the same disability more than once every 3
years.  An applicant may receive a voucher for equipment
even if another person in the same household has also received
a voucher.  Applications The fund administrator shall refer
applications filed by low−income deaf and hard of hearing
individuals in the categories under par. (b) 2., 5., and 6., shall
be referred to the Wisconsin department of health services for
telecommunications assistance program (TAP) funding to
provide any customer co−payment required under par. (c).  If
the applicant is found eligible, the fund administrator may
issue an alternative voucher may be issued to include that
program’s funding.  If found ineligible, the fund administrator
shall process a voucher application shall be processed in
priority according to its original date of receipt by the fund
administrator.

(g)  Applications shall be granted The fund administrator
shall grant applications on a first−come, first−served basis;
except, no single disability classification described in par. (b)
may be issued vouchers totalling totaling more than 75% of
the total annual budget within the first 3 quarters of the budget
year.

(h)  A The fund administrator shall establish a waiting list
shall be established for applications held pending available
funding or pursuant to under par. (g).

(i)  The commission may establish new disability
categories and voucher maximums if it identifies a need is
identified.

(j)  Vendors may redeem vouchers, submitted with an
invoice, from the universal service fund administrator.
Reimbursement A vendor may not exceed receive
reimbursement that exceeds the total purchase price of the
equipment with tax less, where applicable, a customer
co−payment of $100.  The commission may, for good cause,
suspend a vendor’s eligibility to redeem vouchers under this
program.  Suspended vendors may not receive reimbursement
for vouchers submitted for purchases or customer orders
made after the date of suspension.

(k)  The commission Commission staff may impose
reasonable limits on the types and quantities of devices that
may be purchased with one voucher.

SECTION 85. PSC 160.071 (1) (L) is renumbered
160.071 (1m) (L) 1., and amended to read:

PSC 160.071 (1) (L) 1. The fund administrator shall
maintain lists, and make accessible, a list of the types and
quantities of equipment eligible for purchase with a single
voucher in each category under par. (b).  Revisions to the list
shall be done periodically by the fund administrator in
consultation with the commission staff and representatives
selected by the universal service fund council. Input The fund
administrator and commission may solicit input regarding
revisions may be solicited from vendors, representatives of
interested groups serving the disabled and others, as
appropriate.

Note:  The equipment list will be posted on the commission’s
website (psc.wi.gov).  A vendor may submit an e−mail address to the
commission and request e−mail notification of whenever a revised
list is posted.

SECTION 86. PSC 160.071 (1m) 2. and 3. are created to
read:

PSC 160.071 (1m) 2. The commission staff and fund
administrator may include equipment that can be used to
access the internet for telecommunications service on the list
of equipment available to individuals in the categories under
pars. (b) 3.to 6.  Internet access equipment includes a personal
computing device and necessary software, but does not
include customer premises wiring, telephone or cable access
lines, or telecommunications services.

3. Individuals requesting equipment under subd. 2. shall
provide a medical professional’s statement to the fund
administrator stating that the equipment is necessary to meet
the telecommunications needs of that individual.

SECTION 87. PSC 160.071 (1) (m) and (n) are
renumbered 160.071 (1m) (m) and (n), and amended to read:

PSC 160.071 (1) (m)  Equipment purchases involving
individual exceptions to the eligible equipment lists under par.
(L) may be granted by the fund administrator only following
consultation with commission staff.  Commission staff, the
fund administrator, or both, may solicit input regarding such
exceptions from vendors, representatives of interested groups
serving the disabled and others, as appropriate.

(n)  Objections to items included on or excluded from the
eligible equipment lists and determinations regarding
individual exceptions shall be handled as informal complaints
submitted to the commission in writing.  The commission
staff shall review the objection and issue a letter addressing it.
Such Commission staff decisions may be appealed to the
commission.

SECTION 88. PSC 160.071 (2) and (3) are repealed.
SECTION 89. PSC 160.071 (4) and (5) are amended to

read:
PSC 160.071 (4) DIRECTORY ASSISTANCE

CHARGES.  Customers An eligible telecommunications
carrier other than a federal−only ETC may not charge
customers with certified disabilities certified under s. PSC
160.071 (1) that prevent them from using the telephone
directory shall not be charged for a reasonable number of
directory assistance calls in a month. The ETC may receive
payment from the universal service fund for these calls.

(5) OPERATOR ASSISTANCE CHARGES. Customers
An eligible telecommunications carrier other than a
federal−only ETC may not charge customers with certified
disabilities certified under s. PSC 160.071 (1) that prevent
them from directly dialing or keying calls shall not be charged
for operator assistance to place calls. The ETC may receive
payment from the universal service fund for these calls.

SECTION 90. PSC 160.071 (6) (a) and (b) are renumbered
160.071 (6) and (6m) (a), and amended to read:

PSC 160.071 (6) CUSTOM CALLING SERVICE
CHARGES. Customers An eligible telecommunications
carrier other than a federal−only ETC may not charge
customers with certified disabilities who deem certified under
s. PSC 160.071 (1) one or more for custom calling services
that the customer believes are essential in order to receive
service that is useful and comparable to the essential service
provided to other customers shall receive those services
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without charge. The ETC may receive payment from the
universal service fund for these services.

(6m)  SECOND LINE CHARGES. (a) Hearing An eligible
telecommunications carrier other than a federal−only ETC
may not charge hearing impaired customers who are able and
choose to use 2 line voice carryover and speech impaired
customers who are able and choose to use 2 line hearing
carryover, shall not be charged any intrastate nonrecurring
charge or monthly rate for the second line.

SECTION 91. PSC 160.071 (6m) (b) and (c), and (7) are
created to read:

PSC 160.071 (6m) (b) If a customer requests a service that
is equivalent to those listed in par. (a), the ETC shall waive the
same amount it would waive under par. (a).

(c) The ETC may receive reimbursement from the
universal service fund for the amount waived.

(7) FILING DEADLINE. A provider may not receive
reimbursement under sub. (4) to (6m) unless it files its
reimbursement request with the fund administrator no later
than April 1 of the year following the year during which the
provider would have billed the charge.  The provider may
obtain an extension from commission staff for good cause.

SECTION 92. PSC 160.073 is repealed.
SECTION 93. PSC 160.08 is amended to read:
PSC 160.08 Telecommunications customer assistance

program.  The commission may authorize individual
telecommunications providers to establish
telecommunications customer assistance programs that meet
authorized goals and objectives for increasing or stabilizing
subscription levels for non−optional, essential telephone
telecommunications service within its service territory or to
address avoidance of disconnection or limitation of service to
low−income households with payment problems.  Such The
customer assistance programs may allow a provider to not
make available certain essential services, as defined in s. PSC
160.03 (2), in order to preserve keep at least minimal
telephone telecommunications service to certain low−income
households with payment problems.  The commission shall
determine on a case−by−case basis whether or not a
telecommunications customer assistance program may
receive universal service fund monies.

SECTION 94. PSC 160.09 (1) is renumbered 160.09 (1g),
and amended to read:

PSC 160.09 (1g) A local exchange service provider that is
an eligible telecommunications carrier under s. PSC 160.13
full  ETC shall provide high rate assistance credits to
residential customers when the price of service exceeds levels
set in this section.

SECTION 95. PSC 160.09 (1) is created to read:
PSC 160.09 High rate assistance credits.  (1) In this

section, “median household income” means the estimated
median household income per county published annually by
the U.S. census bureau’s small area income and poverty
estimate program.

Note: This may be found at
www.census.gov/did/ww/saipe/data/statecounty/data

SECTION 96. PSC 160.09 (1r) is created to read:
PSC 160.09 (1r) A full ETC shall recalculate credits under

this section whenever the fixed monthly charge for essential
telecommunications service, as defined in s. PSC 160.03(2),

is changed, or when ordered to do so by the commission.  If
the recalculation results in a de minimis change, the ETC may
request that the administrator of the telecommunications
division stay the requirement to increase or decrease the
credit.

SECTION 97. PSC 160.09 (2) is amended to read:
PSC 160.09 one Credits shall be applied to the price of

service Full eligible telecommunications carriers shall
calculate credits as specified in sub. (34), except that if a local
exchange service provider charges a single rate covering basic
local exchange service and other telecommunications or
related services, the commission may determine, by order and
after opportunity for hearing, the portion of such bundled
rates to which rate assistance credits apply. For purposes of
calculating credits:

SECTION 98. PSC 160.09 (2) (c) is created to read:
PSC 160.09 (2) (c) For purposes of Figure 160.09 (2) (b)

8., the commission shall periodically calculate the average
price for one minute of intrastate toll service.  As an
alternative, the commission may approve a full eligible
telecommunications carrier’s request to use an average price
for one minute of intrastate toll service that it has calculated
using data specific to that full ETC.

Note: As of February 2013, the commission calculated average
price of intrastate toll service is 10 cents per minute.

SECTION 99. PSC 160.09 (3) (intro.), (a) and (b) are
repealed.

SECTION 100. PSC 160.09 (3) (a) and (b) are created to
read:

PSC 160.09 (3) (a) For full ETCs that only offer essential
services bundled with other services, the price of service shall
be established, after opportunity for comment or hearing,
using one or more methods approved by the commission for
determining the portion of a bundled rate that shall be
considered the price of service.

(b) For full ETCs that offer essential services individually,
the price of service shall include all of the following

1. The in−state charges and fees for stand−alone
single−party residential service with touch−tone, including,
as applicable, all of the following:

a. Police and fire protection fee.
b. State universal service fund assessment.
c. Remainder assessment.
d. Telecommunications utility trade practices assessment.
2. Any 911 charges billed on the telephone bill.
3. The federal subscriber line charge.
4. The access recovery charge.
5. The charge for 120 local calls, excluding extended

community calling calls.
6.  The federal communications commission authorized

charge for implementation of local number portability.
7. Other charges as approved by the commission.
SECTION 101. PSC 160.09 (3) (c) and Figure 160.09 (3)

(c) are renumbered 160.09 (2) (b) 8. and Figure 160.09 (2) (b)
8., and amended to read:

PSC 160.09 (2) (b) 8.  Usage charges, if any, based on the
size of the local calling area excluding extended community
calling territory, as follows: [See Figure 160.09 (3) (c) (2) (b)
8. following]
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Figure 160.09 (3) (c)
(2) (b) 8.:
Exchange’s local calling area
size, excluding extended com-
munity calling territory, as mea-
sured by number of access lines

Exchange’s combined local
calling and extended commu-
nity calling area size as mea-
sured by number of access lines

Usage charges includable in the s. PSC 160.09
(3) (c) (2) calculation of the price of service

At least 50,000 (Not applicable) Per minute or calculated charges for 480 min-
utes of local calling.

Less than 50,000 but at least
5,000

At least 50,000 Per minute or calculated charges for 360 min-
utes of local calling,
plus
Price of 1 one minute of extended community
calling times 120 minutes.

Less than 50,000 but at least
5,000

Less than 50,000 Per minute or calculated charges for 360 min-
utes of local calling,
plus
Price of 1 one minute of extended community
calling times 90 minutes,
plus
The average price of 1 one minute of intrastate
toll service, as periodically calculated by the
commission, times 30 minutes. If a provider
does not have extended community calling in
the exchange, the above 360 minutes of local
calling should shall be changed to 450 minutes.

Less than 5,000 At least 50,000 Per minute or calculated charges for 240 min-
utes of local calling,
plus
Price of 1 one minute of extended community
calling times 240 minutes.

Less than 5,000 Less than 50,000 Per minute or calculated charges for 240 min-
utes of local calling,
plus
Price of 1 one minute of extended community
calling times 120 minutes,
plus
The average price of 1 one minute of intrastate
toll service, as periodically calculated by the
commission, times 120 minutes. If a provider
does not have extended community calling in
the exchange, the above 240 minutes of local
calling should shall be changed to 360 minutes.

SECTION 102. PSC 160.09 (4) (intro.), (b) to (g), and (5)
to (7) are amended to read:

PSC 160.09 (4) (intro.) Local exchange service providers
Full eligible telecommunications carriers shall issue high rate
assistance credits according to the following criteria:

(b)  For the portion of the price of service equal to or above
1.5% but below 2.0% of median household income, per
month, for the area in which the rate applies, the local
exchange service provider shall issue a credit equal to 50% of
that amount.

(c)  For the portion of the price of service equal to or above
2.0% but below 2.5% of median household income, per
month, for the area in which the rate applies, the local
exchange service provider shall issue a credit equal to 75% of
that amount.

(d)  For the portion of the price of service equal to or above
2.5% but below  3.0% of median household income, per
month, for the area in which the rate applies, the local

exchange service provider shall issue a credit equal to 85% of
that amount.

(e)  For the portion of the price of service equal to or above
3% of median household income, per month, for the area in
which the rate applies, the local exchange service provider
shall issue a credit equal to 95% of that amount.

(f)  When a rate applies in only one county, the median
household income, as published by the Wisconsin department
of workforce development, used to calculate the credit shall
be that of that county in which the rate applies.  When a rate
applies in more than one county, the median household
income used to compute the credit shall be the average of the
median household incomes in each county in which the rate
applies, weighted by the number of customers paying that rate
in each county.

(g)  If the amount of money required to reimburse local
exchange service providers full  ETCs for credits under this
section exceeds the amount budgeted for this program under
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s. PSC 160.17, the commission may modify the formula for
high rate assistance credits.  Such modification may be done
by commission order, after notice and an opportunity for
hearing.

(5) Except as provided in sub. (9), each local exchange
service provider shall full ETC may be reimbursed by the
universal service fund for the value of the credits it issues,
provided that it qualifies under s. PSC 160.091 if it files its
reimbursement claims with the fund administrator by April 1
of the year following the year during which it issued the credit.
The full ETC may obtain an extension of the filing deadline
from commission staff for good cause.

(6) When a local exchange service provide full ETC
charges a pro−rated portion of the normal monthly charge for
service because the customer has had service for only a
portion of the month, the rate assistance credit for that
customer shall be pro−rated by the same percentage.

(7) High A full ETC shall show and identify the high rate
assistance credits shall be shown and identified on bills issued
to customers.

SECTION 103. PSC 160.09 (8) is repealed.
SECTION 104. PSC 160.09 (9) is amended to read:
PSC 160.09 (9) Local exchange service providers shall

Full ETCs may not be reimbursed by the universal service
fund for the value of credits issued to customers receiving
essential telecommunications service under a contract if the
contract has a duration of greater than one year.  The
commission may grant waivers of this subsection by order.
This subsection does not apply to rural line extension
contracts entered into before January 1, 1996.

SECTION 105. PSC 160.091 is repealed.
SECTION 106. PSC 160.092 (1) is renumbered 160.092

(1) (a), and amended to read:
PSC 160.092 (a) As an An alternative to the high rate

assistance credit mechanism in s. PSC 160.09, the
commission may, by order, after notice and an opportunity for
hearing, implement other plans under this section.

SECTION 107. PSC 160.092 (1) is created to read:
PSC 160.092 Alternative universal service protection

plans.  (1) After notice and opportunity for hearing the
commission may, by order, implement one or more of the
following plans:

SECTION 108. PSC 160.092 (1) (b) and (c) are created to
read:

PSC 160.092 (1) (b) A measure to ensure provision of
intralata and interlata essential services.

(c) A measure approved by the commission as necessary to
protect universal service and ensure provision of services.

SECTION 109. PSC 160.092 (2) and (3) are amended to
read:

PSC 160.092 (2) Alternative plans under sub. (1) this
section shall be implemented on an experimental basis.  These
experiments plans shall be reviewed within 3 years of
inception and shall terminate within 5 years of inception,
unless made permanent by commission order after notice and
an opportunity for hearing.

(3) Alternative high cost support plans under this section
may make use of cost studies, bidding, auctions, defined
service territories or other mechanisms to protect universal
service.  The commission may, by order, authorize payment
of universal service fund monies as part of an alternative plan.

SECTION 110. PSC 160.092 (4), 160.10 and 160.11 are
repealed.

SECTION 111. PSC 160.115 (1) (a) and (b) 1. and 2. are
amended to read:

PSC 160.115 (1) (a)  “Initial application” means an the first
application for universal service fund support under this
section that is the first such application filed by the an
applicant during files in a state fiscal year.   

(b)  “Non−profit medical clinic” includes any clinic or
hospital that meets all of the following:

1.  Is a non−profit organization governed by a board of
directors,.

2.  Serves federally designated health professional shortage
areas as defined in 42 USC 254e (a) (1), medically
underserved areas, or medically underserved populations,
and.

SECTION 112. PSC 160.115 (2) (intro.), (b), (c), (3),(4)
(a), (5) (intro.), (b), (c) and (g), (6) (a) (intro.) and 4. and (b),
and (6) are amended to read:

PSC 160.115 (2) (intro.) Funding may be available The
commission may grant funding to non−profit medical clinics
and public health agencies for the purchase of
telecommunications equipment for any of the following
purposes:

(b)  To directly or indirectly enhance access to medical care
in rural or underserved areas of the state, or both.

(c)  To directly or indirectly enhance access to medical care
by underserved populations or persons with disabilities in the
state, or both.

(3) A The commission may grant a maximum of $500,000
in universal service fund support may be dispersed granted
under this section per state fiscal year, or $1,000,000 per state
biennium.

(4) (a)  An application applicant for universal service fund
support under this section may not, in its application, involve
dispersement request disbursement of support during
multiple state fiscal years for a time period longer than that
specified in the solicitation for grant applications.

(5) Applications An applicant for funding shall include all
of the following in its application:

 (b)  An explanation of how the applicant’s purchase of such
the telecommunications equipment will support the purposes
identified in sub. (2).

(c)  Identification of the vendor that will may supply the
telecommunications equipment.

(g)  Any other information that the commission deems
considers necessary.

(6) (a)  The commission shall evaluate all applications
submitted under this section.  Provided that funds remain for
this purpose, the The commission may approve all or part of
an application if it includes the information required under
sub. (5) and if the commission determines the following:

1.  The applicant is a non−profit medical clinic or public
health agency located in Wisconsin.

2.  The applicant’s purchase of telecommunications
equipment will support the purposes identified in sub. (2).

3.  The applicant will be able to pay for the portion of the
cost of the equipment not funded under this section.

4.  The medical clinic or public health agency applicant has
taken steps to secure the equipment at reasonable prices.

(b)  Public health agencies and non−profit organizations
that operate more than one location may receive universal
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service fund support for telecommunications equipment at
more than one location, but before approving an application
involving an additional location, the commission shall
consider how much total universal service fund support has
been received by such the agency or organization during the
state fiscal year time period specified in the solicitation for
grant applications and the total amount remaining available to
be dispersed granted under this section during the fiscal year
that time period. Preference may be given to initial
applications filed by a public health agency or non−profit
medical clinic.

SECTION 113. PSC 160.115 (6) (c) is renumbered
160.115 (6) (d).

SECTION 114. PSC 160.115 (6) (c) is created to read:

PSC 160.115 (6) (c) The commission may give preference
to initial applications filed by a public health agency or
non−profit medical clinic.

SECTION 115. PSC 160.125 (1) (title), (a) and (b) are
amended to read:

PSC 160.125 (1) (title) VOICE−MAIL TELEPHONE ACCESS

SERVICE FOR THE HOMELESS.

(a) Any The commission may compensate any voice mail
provider may be compensated for providing, on request, to a
social services agency, a job service agency or other homeless
shelter authority, voice−mail service without charge to be
used by that agency or authority for the benefit of its homeless
clients or residents.

(b)  A voice−mail provider that is providing voice−mail
boxes to a qualifying agency or authority at no charge may
request and receive reimbursement only for its incremental
usage and administrative costs of providing this service using
available capacity.  As an alternative, a provider may request
and receive reimbursement may be requested and
receivedfrom the fund at a standard rate set by the commission
to cover expected incremental costs of providing this service
using available capacity.

SECTION 116. PSC 160.125 (1) (e) and (2) (a) and (b) are
amended to read:

PSC 160.125 (1) (e)  A social services agency, job service
agency and homeless shelter authority participating in this
program shall maintain a list of all individuals receiving voice
mail under this section shall be maintained by the social
services agencies, job service agencies or homeless shelter
authorities participating in this program.

(2) ACCESS PROGRAMS OR PROJECTS BY NON−PROFIT GROUPS.

(a)  Partial The commission shall grant partial funding may be
available to non−profit groups for the facilitation of
affordable access to telecommunications and information
services through programs or projects, or both, not supported
elsewhere in this chapter, but that are consistent with the
purposes identified in s. 196.218 (5) (a) 1. and 2., Stats.

Note: As of November 1999 February 2013, s. 196.218 (5) (a) 1.
and 2., Stats., reads in pertinent part:

(5) USES OF THE FUND.  (a)  The commission shall use the moneys
in the universal service fund only for any of the following purposes:

1.  To assist customers located in areas of this state that have
relatively high costs of telecommunications services, low−income
customers and disabled customers in obtaining affordable access to
a basic set of essential telecommunications services.

2.  To assist in the deployment of advanced service capabilities
of a modern telecommunications infrastructure throughout this
state.

(b)  Any non−profit group may apply for universal service
funding to fund any portion of a program or project or both.
Funding shall be provided granted on a state fiscal year basis,
but funding for more than one fiscal year may be approved at
one time.  Applications for funding in the following fiscal year
shall be submitted by November 15th.  The commission shall
issue a list of approved programs or projects, or both, by April
15th, with funding for those programs or projects, or both, to
begin that July 1st when grants are awarded.  All applications
shall become public documents upon filing.

SECTION 117. PSC 160.125 (2) (c) 1. is renumbered
160.125(2) (c) 1m., and amended to read:

PSC160.125 (2) (c) 1m.  A description of a public need
which is not being met at present;.

SECTION 118. PSC 160.125 (2) (c) 1. is created to read:
PSC 160.125 (2) (c) 1.  A statement that the applicant is a

non−profit group, as defined in s. PSC 160.02 and (23).
SECTION 119. PSC 160.125 (2) (c) 2. 3., 5., and (d) to (f)

are amended to read:
PSC 160.125 (2) (c) 2.  A description of how the program

or project is consistent with the purposes purpose identified
in s. 196.218 (5) (a) 1. and 2., Stats.

3.  A description of the program or project proposed,
including a description of how the public need described in
subd. 1 1m. may be met through affordable access to
telecommunications or information services;.

5.  Identification of the providers of each portion of the
telecommunications services or equipment and a specific
description of the following components of the program or
project including all of the following:

a.  The costs of telecommunications services and
telecommunications equipment used by the program or
project;.

b.  The cost of training for those who are served by the
program or project so that they can utilize use the services;.

c.  The administrative costs directly attributable to the
program or project;.

d.  The cost of technical expertise required to complete the
program or project; and.

e.  Revenue from services or training described in subd. 5.
b.

(d)  The commission shall evaluate all complete and timely
applications submitted. In evaluating the applications the
commission shall consider information including, but not
limited to, all of the following:

1.  The basis of the public need to be met;.
2.  The extent to which other programs or projects, either

funded under this section or otherwise under this chapter,
meet that need; and.

3.  The overall cost of the proposed program or project.
(e)  The universal service fund shall reimburse applicants

for up to 50% 75% of the cost of reimbursable portions of the
program or project, or both.  The reimbursable costs include
those listed in par. (c) 5. a. to d.  The applicant may include
in−kind goods or services, or both, as resources to be used for
the remainder of the costs of the program or project, or both.

(f)  The commission shall determine the programs or
projects, or both, to be funded and the amount of
reimbursement for each program or project shall be
determined by the commission.  The commission shall seek
comments on the programs or projects to be funded, but shall
not hold a hearing.  A The commission may grant a maximum
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of $500,000 in funding may be dispersed under this
subsection per state fiscal year, or $1,000,000 per state
biennium.

SECTION 120. PSC 160.13 is repealed and recreated to
read:

PSC 160.13 (1) GENERAL. (a) The commission may
designate a telecommunications provider as an eligible
telecommunications carrier. This designation is not
transferable.

(b) The commission may suspend or revoke an ETC
designation if the designee violates the requirements in this
section.

(2) Requirements for ETC designation. (a) A full or
low−income ETC, but not a federal−only ETC, is eligible to
receive universal service funding for an area, under both
applicable federal and state universal service programs, if it
meets all of the following requirements:

1.  Holds itself ready to offer all elements of essential
telecommunications service, as defined in s. PSC 160.03 (2),
to all customers in the area for which it is requesting ETC
status.

2.  Regularly advertises its service in the area for which it
is requesting ETC status, with the advertisements meeting all
of the following requirements:

a.  Are disseminated in media of general distribution in the
area, at least 2 times per year.

b.  Describe the services offered.
c.  Describe the discounts available to low income

customers.
3. Offers lifeline service, as defined in s. PSC 160.062,

wherever service is offered in the area for which it is
requesting ETC status, and publicizes the availability of those
offerings in a manner reasonably designed to reach those
likely to qualify for them.

4.   Meets all of the applicable federal eligibility
requirements in 47 CFR 54.201 and 54.202 (a).

(b) An applicant for federal−only ETC designation under
s. 196.218 (4) (b), Stats., is required to meet all of the
applicable federal eligibility requirements in 47 CFR 54.201
and 54.202, and any state requirements or processes that
federal law requires ETCs to follow.

Note:  For example, federal ETC regulations require all providers
to follow some provisions of state law, such as use of state lifeline
eligibility  verification databases.

(3) Application for new or expanded ETC status. An
applicant for new or expanded eligible telecommunications
carrier status shall demonstrate its ability to meet the
requirements under sub. (2) by including all of the following
information in its application:

(a) Certification that it will meet the requirements in sub.
(2) (a) or (b).

(b) A demonstration of how the applicant meets the
requirement of 47 USC 214 (e) (1) (A).  This shall be
demonstrated in one of the following ways:

1. An explanation of how the applicant will use its own
facilities to provide voice telecommunications service to a
Wisconsin customer.

2. An electronic link to or copy of the federal
communications commission order approving the applicant’s
compliance plan, and an electronic link to the approved
compliance plan.

Note: A provider may apply for ETC designation before its
compliance plan is approved by the Federal Communications
Commission, but the commission will not act on the application until
the plan is approved.

(c)  One of the following:
1. A copy of the applicant’s 5 year plan, and associated

documentation, as required by 47 CFR 54.202 (a) (1) ii.,
including certification that it will use any federal high cost
support monies for the purposes allowed under 47 USC 254
(e), 47 CFR 54.313 (a) and 54.314 (a).

2. A certified statement that the applicant will not seek high
cost assistance funding from the federal universal service
fund or high rate assistance funding from the state universal
service fund.

(d) A copy of any certifications, information and
demonstrations required under 47 CFR 54.201 and 54.202.

(e) A list of all of the exchanges or wire centers, or both, for
which ETC status is sought and identification of any wire
center for which status is sought for only a portion of the wire
center.

(f) The applicant’s name, any other name under which the
applicant does business, the applicant’s commission utility
identification number and proof of registration with the
department of financial institutions.

(g) The applicant’s contact information for each of the
following:

1. Commission inquiries about financial or assessment
issues.

2. Commission inquiries about customer issues.
3. Customers to use to contact the applicant directly about

customer issues.
4. Potential customers to use to obtain service from the

applicant.
(h) A statement that the applicant will timely update the

information in pars. (f) and (g).
(i) A statement that the applicant will provide the

information necessary to populate the state broadband map or
its successor.

(j) Any other information the commission considers
necessary.

(4) ETC REPORTING. All eligible telecommunications
carriers shall submit to the commission, within 14 days of the
associated federal filing date, all of the following:

(a) For full ETCs that are eligible for high cost assistance,
all of the following:

1. All of the information required under 47 CFR 54.313.
2. Any information necessary for the commission to certify

that the ETC has this year, and will next year, use its high cost
assistance monies for the purposes allowed under 47 USC 254
(e), and 47 CFR 54.313 (a) and 54.314 (a).

3. Any other information that federal regulations require
such ETCs to provide to state commissions.

(b) For all full and low−income ETCs, all of the following:
1. The information required under 47 CFR 54.422.
2. Any other information that federal regulations require

such ETCs to provide to state commissions.
(c) For all ETCs, all of the following within 14 days of the

occurrence:
1. Updates to all of the information in subs. (3) (g) and (h).
2. Any other information that federal regulations require

ETCs to provide to state commissions.
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Note: Some of the information required under this section can be
provided to the commission by submitting copies of filings with the
FCC.

(5) AREA COVERED BY ETC DESIGNATION. (a) The area in
which a provider shall be designated as an eligible
telecommunications carrier shall be one of the following:

1.  If requesting ETC designation for an area that is served
by an incumbent local exchange provider that is not a rural
telephone company, one of the following:

a. For a full ETC applicant, one or more of the incumbent
local exchange service provider’s wire centers.

b. For a low−income ETC applicant, the area designated by
the applicant and approved by the commission.

2. If requesting ETC designation for an area that is served
by an incumbent local exchange service provider that is a rural
telephone company, one of the following:

a.  Except as provided in sub. 2. b., the incumbent local
exchange service provider’s entire service territory.

b. If the federal communications commission has granted
a provider forbearance from the requirement that its
designated area match the boundaries of a rural incumbent
local exchange carrier’s service territory, the area designated
by the applicant and approved by the commission.

(b) Notwithstanding any other provision in this subsection,
unless approved by the commission and, if necessary, the
federal communications commission, no ETC designation
area may include only a portion of a wire center.

(6) DESIGNATION OF MULTIPLE ETCS IN AN AREA .  (a) The
commission may only designate an additional eligible
telecommunications carrier in an area where one has already
been designated after finding that doing so is in the public
interest.  For an area served by an incumbent local exchange
service provider that is not a rural telephone company, the
commission may perform a less detailed public interest
analysis than if the area is served by an incumbent local
exchange service provider that is a rural telephone company.

(b) In its public interest analysis under par. (a) the
commission shall include consideration of all of the
following:

1. The factors in s. 196.03 (6), Stats.
2. The potential for cream−skimming.
(7) LIST OF ETCS. The commission shall maintain a list of

the eligible telecommunications carriers for all areas of the
state.

(8) RELINQUISHING ETC DESIGNATION. (a)  An eligible
telecommunications carrier may relinquish that designation
for an area by notifying the commission and the
administrators of both the state and federal universal service
funds, in writing, of its intention.

(b)  If at least one other ETC is designated for that area, the
relinquishing ETC shall be relieved of ETC status for that
area, without commission action, on the later of 14 days after
commission receipt of the notification or the effective date
proposed by the provider.

(c)  If no other ETC is designated for that area, the
relinquishing ETC shall remain as the ETC for that area until
the commission designates an alternative ETC.  In that case,
the commission shall notify the relinquishing, ETC and the
administrators of the state and federal funds, that ETC status
is still in effect.  The commission may use an auction or other
reasonable process to designate a new ETC for an area for
which the only existing ETC is seeking to relinquish that

status.  The commission may authorize compensation from
the universal service fund as part of this process.

(d)  A provider may continue to provide services in an area
for which it has relinquished ETC status. If a provider seeks
to abandon facilities or discontinue any service, it shall notify
affected customers and follow any abandonment or
discontinuance procedures required by the commission,
Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and consumer
protection or the federal communications commission.

(e) A federal−only eligible telecommunications carrier that
is no longer eligible for that designation because it is no longer
a wireless provider or because it wants to access state USF
support may apply for a new ETC designation. The ETC’s
federal−only ETC status remains in effect while the
commission investigates and acts on the ETC’s new
application.

SECTION 121. PSC 160.14 and 160.15 are repealed.
SECTION 122. PSC 160.16 (1) and (2) are amended to

read:
PSC 160.16  Fund administrator. (1) The commission

shall designate the fund administrator and provide for an
annual independent audit of the fund. The commission shall
establish guidelines for administration and assignment of
liabilities.

(2) The fund administrator may propose changes a change
or modification to the mechanisms of administration of the
fund.  The commission may approve such requests the request
without hearing.

SECTION 123. PSC 160.17 (1) (c), (2) and (4) are
amended to read:

PSC 160.17 (1) (c)  Deferring support payments payment
decisions to a later period.

(2) At least annually, the commission, in consultation with
the technology for educational achievement in Wisconsin
board and department of administration the appropriate
agencies, shall determine the amounts necessary for funding
the payments specified in s. PSC 160.05 (2), (3) and (4) (5) to
(8).

(4) The commission shall provide notice of the proposed
budget under sub. (1) and any proposed changes to the budget
to the universal service fund council and other interested
parties persons with an opportunity for comment prior to
commission action.

SECTION 124. PSC 160.18 (4), (6) and (9) (a) are
amended to read:

PSC 160.18 (4) Each telecommunications provider shall
submit information, on a schedule and in a format to be set by
the commission, on the telecommunications provider’s gross
intrastate telecommunications revenues during the preceding
calendar year.

(6) The amount to be assessed to a A given
telecommunications provider is shall be assessed the
percentage liability of that provider under sub. (5) multiplied
by the total annual amount to be collected. For monthly
billings, the annual assessment amount shall be divided into
12 equal parts. For quarterly billings the annual amount shall
be divided into four equal parts.

(9) (a)  Assessments shall be paid The commission may bill
telecommunications providers for the assessments as
calculated in sub. (6) on a monthly, quarterly or annual basis.
A telecommunications provider shall pay its monthly,
quarterly or annually billed portion of its calculated
assessment within 30 ‘ days after the bill is mailed.  A
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telecommunications provider that has not paid within 30 days
after the bill is mailed shall be deemed considered to have not
paid under s. 196.218 (8), Stats.  Assessments not paid within
30 days after the bill is mailed shall be collected, and the
commission may collect the bill using the process described
in s. 196.85 (3), Stats.

SECTION 125. PSC 160.18 (9) (b) is renumbered160.18
(9) (b) 1., and amended to read:

PSC 160.18 (9) (b)1.  Objection to an assessment amount
shall be made A telecommunications provider that disagrees
with a new assessment amount as calculated under sub. (6)
shall object within 30 days after the bill using the new
assessment amount is mailed.  The making of the objection
and commission action regarding that objection shall follow
the process described in s. 196.85 (4), Stats. The commission
shall consider an objection to an assessment amount made
more than 30 days after the first bill using the new assessment
amount is mailed as an objection to the assessment amount
beginning with the most recent assessment bill.

Note: For example, if a new assessment amount is billed on
October 1 and an objection is filed on October 15, the objection will
be to the amount on all bills from October 1 on.  If an objection is
filed on November 15, the objection will be to the amount on all bills
from November 1 on.

SECTION 126. PSC 160.18 (9) (b) 2. and 3. are amended
to read:

PSC 160.18 (9) (b) 2. The making of an objection and
commission action regarding that objection shall follow the
process described in s. 196.85 (4), Stats.

3. Notwithstanding subd. (b) 1., if the objection is due to a
mistake in calculating or reporting data, and the mistake
results in a provider overpaying, then the commission shall
reimburse the provider the amount overpaid even if the
objection is made more than 30 days after the first bill using
a new assessment amount.

SECTION 127. PSC 160.18 (10) is repealed and recreated
to read:

PSC 160.18 (10) A telecommunications provider’s
adjustments of local exchange rates or surcharges to correct
overcollection or undercollection of amounts charged for the
purpose of recovering contributions to the universal service
fund shall be limited to adjustments for the prior year or for
the period beginning with the effective date of the
commission’s last assessment determination. A

telecommunications provider shall file notice of such an
adjustment with the commission, in a format acceptable to the
commission, within 180 days after the date on which a new
assessment rate amount goes into effect.

SECTION 128. PSC 160.181 is amended to read:
PSC 160.181  Use audit. Recipients of universal service

fund monies may be audited by the commission to ensure that
the funding was applied for requested and used appropriately.

SECTION 129. PSC 160.19 (1), (2) and (4) (b) are
amended to read:

PSC 160.19 Universal service fund council.  (1) The
commission shall appoint a universal service fund council to
advise the commission concerning the administration of s.
196.218, Stats., the content of administrative rules adopted
pursuant to under s. 196.218, Stats., and any other matters
assigned to the universal service fund council by the
commission.

(2) The universal service fund council shall consist of
telecommunications providers and of consumers of
telecommunications services.  The commission shall appoint
a diverse membership to the universal service council
including representatives of the local exchange
telecommunications industry; the interexchange
telecommunications industry, including facilities−based
carriers and resellers; the cable television industry; the
wireless industry; other telecommunications providers and
consumers of telecommunications services including
residential, business, governmental, institutional, and public
special interest group users of telecommunications services.

(4) (b)  The commission may appoint a replacement
member when necessary to serve the remaining term of a
member withdrawing from the universal service fund council.

SECTION 130. PSC 161.05 (4) is repealed.
SECTION 131. PSC 171.06 (1) is amended to read:
PSC 171.06(1) All qualified cable television

telecommunications service providers shall be subject to the
following sections of ch. 196, Stats.: ss.196.02, 196.08,
196.12, 196.203, 196.218, 196.25, 196.39, 196.395, 196.40,
196.41, 196.43, 196.44, 196.65 and 196.66, Stats.

SECTION 132. Effective date. This rule shall take effect
on the first day of the month following publication in the
Wisconsin Administrative Register as provided in s. 227.22
(2) (intro.), Stats.

STATE OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION
DOA−2049 (R03/2012)

DIVISION OF EXECUTIVE BUDGET AND FINANCE
101 EAST WILSON STREET, 10TH FLOOR

P.O. BOX 7864
MADISON, WI  53707−7864

FAX: (608) 267−0372

ADMINISTRATIVE  RULES
Fiscal Estimate & Economic Impact Analysis

1. Type of Estimate and Analysis

X Original � Updated � Corrected
2. Administrative Rule Chapter, Title and Number

PSC 160 Universal Service Support Funding and Programs

3. Subject

Updating the Universal Service Fund rules
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4. Fund Sources Affected 5. Chapter 20, Stats. Appropriations Affected

� GPR� FED � PRO� PRS  �SEG � SEG−S

6. Fiscal Effect of Implementing the Rule

X No Fiscal Effect
� Indeterminate

� Increase Existing Revenues
� Decrease Existing Revenues

� Increase Costs
� Could Absorb Within Agency’s Budget
� Decrease Cost

7. The Rule Will Impact the Following (Check All That Apply)

� State’s Economy
� Local Government Units

� Specific Businesses/Sectors
� Public Utility Rate Payers
� Small Businesses (if checked, complete Attachment A)

8. Would Implementation and Compliance Costs Be Greater Than $20 million?

� Yes X No

9. Policy Problem Addressed by the Rule

Outdated rules that are no longer in compliance with state and federal law. Elimination of outdated or ineffective provisions.
Curtail fraud and abuse potential for federal and state USF programs.

10. Summary of the  businesses, business sectors, associations representing business, local governmental units, and individuals that may
be affected by the proposed rule that were contacted for comments.

Wisconsin Federation of Independent Business; League of Wisconsin Municipalities, Wisconsin Towns Association,. Wis-
consin Alliance of Cities, Citizens’ Utility Board, Wisconsin State Telecommunications Association, National Federation of
Independent Businesses, Universal Service Fund Council, and all telecommunications providers.

11. Identify the local governmental units that participated in the development of this EIA.

League of Wisconsin Municipalities, Wisconsin Towns Association and Wisconsin Alliance of Cities.

12. Summary of Rule’s Economic and Fiscal Impact on Specific Businesses, Business Sectors, Public Utility Rate Payers, Local Govern-
mental Units and the State’s Economy as a Whole (Include Implementation and Compliance Costs Expected to be Incurred)

The changes made in this rulemaking have minimal, if any, economic impacts

Comments on the economic impact of the rulemaking were more about the substance of the rules. No economic figures were
provided. One commenter raised two issues about which the commission has no jurisdiction. Another commenter made a
number of comments about te existing rule language rather than changes made as a part of this rulemaking. Some concern
was raised about the potential for the size of the fund to increase, but the size of the fund is controlled by the legislature. One
economic change was made by deleting a proposed provision about when assessments must be paid.

13. Benefits of Implementing the Rule and Alternative(s) to Implementing the Rule

Updating and revising outdated rules. Added efficiency. The updates will bring these rules into compliance with recent
changes to state and federal laws.

14. Long Range Implications of Implementing the Rule

Added efficiency and compliance with recent changes to state and federal laws.
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15. Compare With Approaches Being Used by Federal Government

The state and federal universal service funds and programs are complementary rather than duplicative.

“Eligible Telecommunications Carriers” (ETCs) are designated by the commission and are, thereafter, eligible for funding
from the federal USF and for certain funding from the state USF.  ETC status was created by the FCC, and codified in 47
U.S.C. § 214(e)(2).  Under FCC rules, state commissions are responsible for designating eligible providers as ETCs.1

Designation as an ETC is required if a provider is to receive federal USF funding.  ETC designation is also required to
receive funding from some, but not all, state universal service programs.  The FCC established a set of minimum criteria that
all ETCs must meet.  These are codified in the federal rules.2  The 1996 Telecommunications Act states that, “A State may
adopt regulations not inconsistent with the Commission’s rules to preserve and advance universal service.”3  A court upheld
the states’ right to impose additional conditions on ETCs in Texas Office of Public Utility Counsel v. FCC, 183 F.3d 393, 418
(5th Cir. 1999).  Therefore, while states must examine the federal requirements, they are allowed to create additional require-
ments.  Wisconsin has done so.

The federal USF provides funding to ETCs that are found to serve high−cost areas.  That funding is to be used to help cover
the costs of expanding infrastructure into those areas.  Doing so should help ensure that rates in those areas stay lower since
rates need not provide the funds for that expansion.  The Wisconsin USF provides reimbursement to providers that offer
credits to customers when rates are higher than as designated in s. PSC 160.09.

The federal USF also includes Lifeline and Link−Up programs to assist low−income customers.  The Wisconsin Lifeline and
Link−Up programs are structured to complement the federal program and to take advantage of the available federal Lifeline
and Link−Up funds.

The federal USF assessment applies to all carriers, including wireless carriers, and is assessed based on interstate revenues.
The state USF assessment applies to all providers, including wireless providers, and is assessed based on intrastate revenues.
Wisconsin exempts certain providers from assessment, such as those with under $200,000 in intrastate revenues.

There are parts of the federal USF (e.g., the E−Rate program for schools) that do not have a counterpart in the state USF
rules.  Likewise, some of the state USF rules (e.g., the program to assist persons with disabilities — s. PSC 160.071) address
matters not included in the federal USF law or rules.

1 47 U.S.C. § 214(e)(2), 47 C.F.R. § 54.201(b)
2 47 U.S.C. § 214(e)(a), 47 C.F.R. § 54.101(a)
3 47 U.S.C. § 254(f)

16. Compare With Approaches Being Used by Neighboring States (Illinois, Iowa, Michigan and Minnesota)

Many state USF programs, both in Wisconsin and in other states, are intertwined with federal universal service programs.
As a result, there is a certain amount of similarity among state programs.  For example, each of the surrounding states has
Lifeline type programs.4  As required under federal law, each has income−based eligibility criteria although the specifics
vary somewhat.  The level of credits to customers and the resulting reimbursements to providers are similar, due in part to
the federal matching dollars attached to credit/reimbursement levels.    A difference in Lifeline programs is that the four
other states only have a set figure for the Lifeline credit/reimbursement amount (although in Michigan that amount may vary
depending on which company is involved).  Wisconsin also has a standard Lifeline credit if the base rate5 is $25 or below,
although, it has a variable component.  If the base rate is $25 or above, the reimbursement/credit is the lesser of:

1. Whatever is necessary to bring that rate down to $15.

2. The amount available under the federal USF plus $9.25.

In this way, low−income customers in higher cost (generally rural) areas receive a credit sufficient to bring the base rate to a
reasonably affordable level and providers are on a fairly “level playing field.”

The provision in these rules that allows the Lifeline credit to apply to Internet access where a certified disabled customer
requires it as a substitute for regular essential telecommunications service is unique within the region.
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Wisconsin also has a program (TEPP) that helps provide access to telecommunications service for persons with hearing,
speech and/or mobility disabilities.  TEPP provides vouchers to help persons with disabilities that impair their ability to use
standard telecommunications equipment for accessing telecommunications service to obtain equipment that will assist them
in doing so.  Iowa, Illinois, and Minnesota each have similar programs although the specifics vary.  For example, Illinois’
program is limited to those with hearing or speech disabilities, and in Minnesota the equipment belongs to the state and must
be returned if the customer leaves the state or loses his/her telephone line.

Wisconsin also has a program to help lower the monthly cost of telephone service in areas of the state where rates are high.
In determining whether assistance under this “high rate assistance” program is required, the program looks both at the rate
for basic service and what percentage of a county’s median household income that rate entails.  Although its commission
must vote to activate it, Michigan statutes provide for a similar program that would provide a subsidy to customers of the
difference between an affordable rate and the company’s forward looking economic cost of providing service (should the
latter be higher than the former).  Illinois has a high−cost program that provides support to small telecommunications provid-
ers if the economic costs of providing certain services exceed the affordable rate set for those services.

Surrounding states have taken a variety of approaches to certification and reporting requirements for ETCs including: adop-
tion of formal rules, orders applicable to either new or all ETCs, and case−by−case determinations.

The Minnesota Public Utilities Commission (docket P999/M−05−741) adopted the FCC’s exact language for annual certifi-
cation requirements, with a couple of modifications.  The two main modifications are (1) like these proposed rules, filing
2−year service quality improvement plans, and (2) filing information on a service−area basis instead of a wire−center basis.
The new requirements are applied to both new and existing ETCs, and to both landline and wireless providers.

The Michigan Public Service Commission basically adopted the exact language of the FCC’s rules unchanged, including the
5−year quality improvement plans.  Michigan has service quality and financial reporting rules for wireline companies that do
not apply to wireless ETCs, but all ETCs, both existing and new, are required to meet all of the standards and obligations
contained in the FCC’s ETC rules, FCC 05−46 and 47 USC 214.  The one exception to this is ETCs receiving only low−in-
come support; they have lesser reporting requirements.  There are no standards for what types of reporting on quality of ser-
vice issues meet the adopted FCC requirements.

The Illinois Commerce Commission has not officially adopted the FCC rules, but uses them as a base for its ETC decisions,
which so far have been on a case−by−case basis.  The requirements are not applied to existing ETCs.  There have been
requests for ETC status where the Illinois Commerce Commission has required wireless ETCs to do more than is spelled out
by the FCC, holding that the FCC’s requirements are “the minimum requirements.”  The primary areas where wireless ETCs
have been subjected to more scrutiny involve consumer protection, service quality standards, and the public interest analysis.
As to telephone directories, wireless providers have been required to provide written disclosure to customers that directories
will not be provided and numbers will not be published.  The FCC’s 5−year plan is retained.

The Iowa Utility Board’s (IUB) ETC rules incorporate the FCC rules with some modifications.  Similar to these proposed
rules, IUB requires maps of signal coverage depicting signal strength (although IUB ILECs may refer to maps already on file
with the commission.) IUB adopted service quality standards for ETCs although, again like these proposed rules, they differ
for landline and wireless.  Rolling one year network improvement and maintenance plans are required.  The rules are applied
to both new and existing ETCs.

The Indiana Regulatory Commission (case 41052−ETC−47) adopted the FCC’s exact language in a proceeding involving an
individual ETC applicant, but made that decision applicable to all ETCs, both landline and wireless.

4 Lifeline helps pay the monthly cost of telephone service
5  The “base rate” is the monthly residential rate including applicable in−state fees, touch−tone service, 911 charges on the telephone bill, the federal sub-
scriber line charge, access recovery charge and 120 local calls.

17. Contact Name 18. Contact Phone Number

Lisa Farrell 608−267−9086
This document can be made available in alternate formats to individuals with disabilities upon request.
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ATTACHMENT  A

Summary of Rule’s Economic and Fiscal Impact on Small Businesses (Separately for each Small Business Sector, Include Implementation and
Compliance Costs Expected to be Incurred

Existing USF rules may have an effect on small telecommunications utilities, which are small businesses under s. 196.216, Stats., for
the purposes of s. 227.114, Stats.  These small telecommunications utilities, like other telecommunications providers (both large and
small), may have obligations under the USF, including an obligation for payments to the USF.  Other requirements in the rule only
apply to CMRS providers who voluntarily choose to become designated as eligible telecommunications carriers.  Since the Commis-
sion does not regulate CMRS providers, it does not have records indicating how many of them are small businesses.

These proposed rules should have no particular impact on small businesses.  The Commission already has established, in s. PSC
160.18(1), an exemption from fund assessments to protect entry by and continued operation of small telecommunications providers
as directed by statutory objectives.  In s. PSC 160.01(2)(b), the existing rules allow the Commission to give individual consideration
to unusual situations and to adopt different requirements for particular telecommunications providers.  Small businesses can request
that the Commission provide an exception to a rule requirement.  There are no new reporting or bookkeeping requirements created
under these proposed rules. Also, most of the requirements in the proposed rules only apply to providers who voluntarily choose to
be designated as “eligible telecommunications carriers.”

The agency has considered the methods in s. 227.114(2), Stats., for reducing the impact of the rules on small businesses.  Accord-
ingly, the agency has included provisions for exemption from assessments for small providers, and allowing requests for consider-
ation of unusual circumstances, as noted above.  Further application of these methods is not consistent with statutory objectives.

2. Summary of the data sources used to measure the Rule’s impact on Small Businesses

Knowledge of the programs, input from industry.

3. Did the agency consider the following methods to reduce the impact of the Rule on Small Businesses?

X Less Stringent Compliance or Reporting Requirements
X Less Stringent Schedules or Deadlines for Compliance or Reporting
X Consolidation or Simplification of Reporting Requirements
X Establishment of performance standards in lieu of Design or Operational Standards
X Exemption of Small Businesses from some or all requirements
� Other, describe:

4. Describe the methods incorporated into the Rule that will reduce its impact on Small Businesses

No requirement to pay assessments if revenues are less than $200,000. Ability to request waiver. Applicability of most requirements
is based on a voluntary election.

5. Describe the Rule’s Enforcement Provisions
,
160.01 (4) ENFORCEMENT. The manner of enforcing ch. PSC 160 is prescribed in ss. 196.218, 196.499 (17), and 196.66, Stats., and
includes such other means as provided in statutory sections administered by the commission.

6. Did the Agency prepare a Cost Benefit Analysis (if Yes, attach to form)

� Yes     X No

Notice of Hearing

Safety and Professional Services
Professional Services, Chs. SPS 1 — 299

CR 13−056

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority
vested in the Department of Safety and Professional Services
in sections15.405 (3) and 480.08 (6), Wis. Stats., and
interpreting sections 480.04 (1) and (2), and 480.08 (6), Wis.
Stats., the Department will hold a public hearing at the time
and place indicated below to consider an order to amend
section SPS 128.04 (6) (a) and to create section SPS 128.04
(6) (d), relating to course instructors for auctioneers.

Hearing Information

Date: Tuesday, October 15, 2013
Time: 10:00 a.m.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue

Room 121A
Madison, WI 53718

Interested persons are invited to present information at the
hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Safety and Professional
Services, Division of Policy Development, P.O. Box 8935,
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Madison, Wisconsin 53708.  Written comments must be
received at or before the public hearing to be included in the
record of rule−making proceedings.

Place Where Comments are to be Submitted and
Deadline for Submission

Comments may be submitted to Shawn Leatherwood,
Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional
Services, Division of Policy Development, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Room 151, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, WI
53708−8935, or by email to shancethea.leatherwood@
wisconsin.gov.  Comments must be received at or before the
public hearing to be held on or by October 15, 2013 to be
included in the record of rule−making proceedings.

Copies of Rule
Copies of this proposed rule are available upon request to

Shawn Leatherwood, Rules Coordinator, Department of
Safety and Professional Services, Division of Policy
Development, 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935,
Madison, Wisconsin 53708, by email at
shancethea.leatherwood@wisconsin.gov or on our website at
http://dsps.wi.gov/Default.aspx?Page=44e541e8−abdd−49d
a−8fde−046713617e9e.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and
Professional Services

Statutes interpreted
Sections 480.04 (1) and (2) and 480.08 (6), Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 15.405 (3) and 480.08 (6), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
Pursuant to s. 15.405 (3), Stats., the Department of Safety

and Professional Services has oversight of the Auctioneer
Board as an attached board of the Department. In accordance
with s. 480.04 (2), Stats., the Auctioneer Board does not have
rule−making authority.  However, under  s. 480.04 (1), Stats.,
the Auctioneer Board may advise the Department on matters
relating to auctioneers.  Per s. 480.08 (6), Stats., states that the
department may promulgate rules, on behalf of the
Auctioneer Board, governing the requirements and
procedures for auctioneers obtaining continuing education.
The topic of these proposed rules is the requirements
concerning instructors administering continuing education
courses.  Therefore, the Department is authorized both
generally and specifically to promulgate these proposed rules.

Related statute or rule
Section SPS 128.04.

Plain language analysis
Currently, per Wis. Admin. Code s. SPS 128.04 (6), course

instructors offering continuing education for auctioneers in
Wisconsin must be either an auctioneer registered in this state,
actively practicing auctioneering for the past five years; or an
attorney that practices in the area of auctioneering, or an
appraiser approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board
(AQB).  The Auctioneer Board reviewed s. SPS 128.04 (6)
and determined that the rule limited the number of eligible
course instructors by excluding instructors from other
disciplines that may be knowledgeable about auctioneering.
By promulgating these proposed rules, the Department and

the Auctioneer Board seek to enlarge the pool of eligible
instructors to those who are experts in their field, have the
required years of experience, and have a course approved by
the Department.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulation

None.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states
Illinois:  In Illinois auctioneers are regulated by the

Department of Financial and Professional Regulation,
Division of Professional Regulation. Continuing education
courses must be approved by the Division.  Illinois further
requires that continuing education must be, “developed and
presented by persons with education and/or experience in
subject matter of the CE course”. 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1440.310
(b) (8) (c).

Iowa: Iowa does not regulate continuing education
requirements for auctioneers.

Michigan: Michigan does not regulate continuing
education requirements for auctioneers.

Minnesota: Minnesota does not regulate the continuing
education requirements for auctioneers.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
The Auctioneer Board reviewed Wis. Admin. Code s. SPS

128.04 and determined a revision to the rule was necessary
because the rule limited the type of course instructors that may
conduct continuing education in Wisconsin.  The pool of
eligible instructors is currently restricted to auctioneers
registered in Wisconsin, attorneys who are engaged in the
field of auctioneering law, and an appraisers approved by the
AQB.  The Board sought to enlarge the pool of course
instructors by drafting this proposed rule.  No other factual
data or analytical methodologies were used.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business or in preparation of economic impact
analysis

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on
small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The
Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at greg.gasper@wisconsin.gov, or by
calling (608) 266−8608.

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis
The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis are

attached.

Initial  Regulatory Flexibility Analysis or Summary
None.

Envir onmental Assessment/Statement
None.

Agency Contact Person
Shawn Leatherwood, Rules Coordinator, Department of

Safety and Professional Services, Division of Policy
Development, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 151,
P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone
608−261−4438; email at shancethea.leatherwood@
wisconsin.gov.



Page 60 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 693 September 30, 2013

STATE OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION
DOA−2049 (R03/2012)

DIVISION OF EXECUTIVE BUDGET AND FINANCE
101 EAST WILSON STREET, 10TH FLOOR

P.O. BOX 7864
MADISON, WI  53707−7864

FAX: (608) 267−0372

ADMINISTRATIVE  RULES
Fiscal Estimate & Economic Impact Analysis

1. Type of Estimate and Analysis

X Original � Updated � Corrected

2. Administrative Rule Chapter, Title and Number

SPS 128.04 (6)

3. Subject

Course Instructors

4. Fund Sources Affected 5. Chapter 20, Stats. Appropriations Affected

� GPR� FED � PRO� PRS � SEG � SEG−S

6. Fiscal Effect of Implementing the Rule

� No Fiscal Effect
� Indeterminate

� Increase Existing Revenues
� Decrease Existing Revenues

� Increase Costs
X Could Absorb Within Agency’s Budget
� Decrease Cost

7. The Rule Will Impact the Following (Check All That Apply)

� State’s Economy
� Local Government Units

 � Specific Businesses/Sectors
� Public Utility Rate Payers
� Small Businesses (if checked, complete Attachment A)

8. Would Implementation and Compliance Costs Be Greater Than $20 million?

� Yes X No

9. Policy Problem Addressed by the Rule

The proposed rule seeks to expand  the pool of course instructs eligible to provide continuing education courses to auctioneers in
Wisconsin.  Enlarging the types of course instructors that can provide continuing education will alleviate the problem of unnecessar-
ily excluding qualified instructors from providing their expertise in various fields to auctioneers in this state.

10. Summary of the  businesses, business sectors, associations representing business, local governmental units, and individuals that may be
affected by the proposed rule that were contacted for comments.

This proposed rule will primarily affect auctioneers and various professionals from a variety of disciplines.  The rule was posted on
the Department of Safety and Professional Services website for 14 days in order to solicit comments from the public regarding the
rule. No comments were received from the public regarding the rule.

11. Identify the local governmental units that participated in the development of this EIA.

No local governmental units participated in the development of this EIA

12. Summary of Rule’s Economic and Fiscal Impact on Specific Businesses, Business Sectors, Public Utility Rate Payers, Local Governmental
Units and the State’s Economy as a Whole (Include Implementation and Compliance Costs Expected to be Incurred)

This rule will have no economic or fiscal impact on specific businesses, business sectors, public utility rate payers, local governmen-
tal units or the state’s economy as a whole.



Page 61WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 693September 30, 2013

13. Benefits of Implementing the Rule and Alternative(s) to Implementing the Rule

The proposed rule would benefit auctioneers and the public by allowing experts in their respective fields to teach auctioneers about
various topics related to auctioneering.  By receiving this  training, auctioneers will augment their skills and be better prepared to
conduct auctions.

14. Long Range Implications of Implementing the Rule

Broadening the knowledge base of Wisconsin auctioneers in various fields related to auctioneering.

15. Compare With Approaches Being Used by Federal Government

None.

16. Compare With Approaches Being Used by Neighboring States (Illinois, Iowa, Michigan and Minnesota)

Illinois:  In Illinois auctioneers are regulated by the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, Division of Professional
Regulation. Continuing education courses must be approved by the Division. Illinois further requires that continuing education must
be, “developed and presented by persons with education and/or experience in subject matter of the CE course”. 68 Ill. Adm. Code
1440.310 (b) (8) (c).

Iowa: Iowa does not regulate continuing education requirements for auctioneers.

Michigan:  Michigan does not regulate continuing education requirements for auctioneers.

Minnesota: Minnesota does not regulate the continuing education requirements for auctioneers.

17. Contact Name 18. Contact Phone Number
Shawn Leatherwood 608−261−4438

This document can be made available in alternate formats to individuals with disabilities upon request.
Notice of Hearing

Safety and Professional Services — 
Dentistry Examining Board

CR 13−060

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority
vested in the Dentistry Examining Board in sections 15.08 (5)
(b), 227.11 (2), and 447.03 (3) (f) 1., Stats., and interpreting
section 447.03 (3) (f) 1., Stats., the Dentistry Examining
Board will hold a public hearing at the time and place
indicated below to consider an order repeal and recreate
section DE 9.01; amend section DE 9.02 (intro.), (1), (2), and
(4); and create section DE 9.015, relating to lab work
authorizations.

Hearing Information

Date: Wednesday, November 6, 2013
Time: 9:30 a.m.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue (enter at

55 North Dickenson Street)
Room 121A
Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing

Interested persons are invited to present information at the
hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Safety and Professional
Services, Division of Policy Development, P.O. Box 8935,
Madison, Wisconsin 53708.  Written comments must be

received at or before the public hearing to be included in the
record of rule−making proceedings.

Place where Comments are to be Submitted and
Deadline for Submission

Comments may be submitted to Jean MacCubbin, Program
Manager, Department of Safety and Professional Services,
Division of Policy Development, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 151, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, WI
53708−8935, or by email to Jean.MacCubbin@
wisconsin.gov.  Comments must be received before the public
hearing to be held on November 6, 2013 to be included in the
record of rule−making proceedings.

Copies of rule
Copies of this proposed rule are available upon request to

Jean MacCubbin, Department of Safety and Professional
Services, Division of Policy Development, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708−8935, by email at Jean.MacCubbin@wisconsin.gov
or on our website at http://dsps.wi.gov/
Default.aspx?Page=44e541e8−abdd−49da−8fde−04671361
7e9e.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Safety and
Professional Services
Statutes interpreted

Section 447.03 (3) (f) 1., Stats.
Statutory authority

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), and 447.03 (3) (f) 1.,
Stats.
Explanation of agency authority

Section 15.08 (5) (b), Stats., requires that examining
boards shall promulgate rules for their own guidance and for
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the guidance of the professions over which they have
jurisdiction, which reads:

Section 227.11 (2), Stats., permits an agency to promulgate
rules interpreting the provisions of any statute enforced or
administered by the agency, which reads:

Section 447.03 (3) (f) 1., Stats., provides exceptions to
licensees regarding practices, such as lab work
authorizations, which reads:

“ (3) �����
���	� No license or certificate under this
chapter is required for any of the following: … (f)  A
dental laboratory or dental laboratory technician to
construct appliances or restorations for dentists if all of
the following apply: 1. The appliances or restorations
are constructed upon receipt from a dentist of
impressions or measurements, directions, and a written
work authorization on a form approved by the
examining board.”

Related statute or rule
There are no other related statutes or rules beyond those

indicated above.

Plain language analysis
The objective of the proposed rule is to eliminate the

requirement that a written authorization for dental laboratory
work shall be on a form approved by the board.  The proposed
rule will also allow for the continued use of current
technologies, such as the request may be made electronically
and work orders detailed digitally.

SECTIONS 1. and 2.  These sections are proposed to
separate the subjects of authority and definitions from the
current section, s. DE 9.01 whereby creating two renumbered
sections, ss. DE 9.01 and 9.015.  The definitions for both
dental laboratory and work authorization now clearly remove
any reference to a written request or the use of a
board−approved form.

SECTION 3.  This section deals primarily with the changes
to no longer requiring written lab work authorizations, in so
far as amending s. DE 9.02 (intro.), (1), (2), and (4) to remove
references to out−dated methods of work order requests.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulation

No rules or laws were found in an Internet−based search of
the U.S. Code or the Code of Federal Register (CFR) for
dental lab work authorizations, written or electronic, made by
dentists.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states
An Internet−based searched resulted in the following

findings:
Illinois:   The Illinois statutes and codes were researched

via the Internet and no specifications were found for dental
work authorizations, either written or electronic.  [PART 1220
ILLINOIS DENTAL PRACTICE ACT]

Iowa:  In searching Iowa codes, ch. 153, Dentistry, no
specifications were found for dental work authorizations,
either written or electronic.
[http://www.state.ia.us/dentalboard/board/rules−policy/docs
/IowaCode153_2013.pdf]

Michigan:   Board of Dentistry 2012−111 LR, No
specifications were found for dental work authorizations,
either written or electronic.

[http://www7.dleg.state.mi.us/orr/Files/AdminCode/1118
_2012−111LR_AdminCode.pdf]

Minnesota: Minnesota board of dentistry rules for
dentists, hygienists, and assistants are contained in ch. 3100
[https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=3100]. No
specifications were found for dental work authorizations,
either written or electronic.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
The Board, in reviewing their rules in response to

Executive Order 61, recognized these out−dated methods for
making lab work order requests and authorizations.  These
methods are costly and time consuming to small business.

The proposed provisions are expected to make such
requests more efficient, more accurate and less costly for
small business.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business or in preparation of economic impact
analysis

The Dentistry Examining Board in reviewing their rules in
response to Executive Order 61 found that the industry has
replaced an outdated process with technological advances.

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis
The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis is

attached.

Effect on Small Business
These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on

small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The
Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at Greg.Gasper@wisconsin.gov, or by
calling (608) 266−8608.

Envir onmental Assessment/Statement [if required]
A copy of the preliminary assessment/statement is

available upon request and will be available at the public
hearing.

Agency Contact Person
Jean MacCubbin, Program Manager, Department of Safety

and Professional Services, Division of Policy Development,
1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 151, P.O. Box 8935,
Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone 608−266−0955 or
telecommunications relay services via 711; email at
Jean.MacCubbin@wisconsin.gov.
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STATE OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION
DOA−2049 (R03/2012)

DIVISION OF EXECUTIVE BUDGET AND FINANCE
101 EAST WILSON STREET, 10TH FLOOR

P.O. BOX 7864
MADISON, WI  53707−7864

FAX: (608) 267−0372

ADMINISTRATIVE  RULES
Fiscal Estimate & Economic Impact Analysis

1. Type of Estimate and Analysis

X Original � Updated � Corrected

2. Administrative Rule Chapter, Title and Number

DE 9 Laboratories and Work Authorizations

3. Subject

Lab Work Authorizations

4. Fund Sources Affected 5. Chapter 20, Stats. Appropriations Affected

� GPR� FED X PRO � PRS � SEG � SEG−S 20.165 (1) (g)

6. Fiscal Effect of Implementing the Rule

X No Fiscal Effect
� Indeterminate

� Increase Existing Revenues
� Decrease Existing Revenues

� Increase Costs
� Could Absorb Within Agency’s Budget
� Decrease Cost

7. The Rule Will Impact the Following (Check All That Apply)

� State’s Economy
� Local Government Units

� Specific Businesses/Sectors
� Public Utility Rate Payers
� Small Businesses (if checked, complete Attachment A)

8. Would Implementation and Compliance Costs Be Greater Than $20 million?

� Yes X No

9. Policy Problem Addressed by the Rule

The current rule relies on out−dated methods to request dental lab work; modern technology is used in the industry.

10. Summary of the  businesses, business sectors, associations representing business, local governmental units, and individuals that may be
affected by the proposed rule that were contacted for comments.

Licensees and commercial dental laboratories

11. Identify the local governmental units that participated in the development of this EIA.

None

12. Summary of Rule’s Economic and Fiscal Impact on Specific Businesses, Business Sectors, Public Utility Rate Payers, Local Governmental
Units and the State’s Economy as a Whole (Include Implementation and Compliance Costs Expected to be Incurred)

The proposed provisions are expected to make such requests more efficient, more accurate and less costly for small business.

13. Benefits of Implementing the Rule and Alternative(s) to Implementing the Rule

The proposed provisions are expected to make such lab requests more efficient, more accurate and less costly for small business. To
do nothing relies on an outdated and possibly cumbersome process.
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14. Long Range Implications of Implementing the Rule

The proposed provisions are expected to make such lab requests more efficient, more accurate and less costly for small business.

15. Compare With Approaches Being Used by Federal Government

None

16. Compare With Approaches Being Used by Neighboring States (Illinois, Iowa, Michigan and Minnesota)

For the four neighboring states, no specifications were found for dental work authorizations, either written or electronic.

17. Contact Name 18. Contact Phone Number
Jean MacCubbin 608.266.0955

This document can be made available in alternate formats to individuals with disabilities upon request.

Notice of Hearing

Safety and Professional Services — 
Dentistry Examining Board

CR 13−061

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority
vested in the Dentistry Examining Board in sections 15.08 (5)
(b) and 447.02 (2) (b), Stats., and interpreting section 447.02
(2) (b), Stats., the Dentistry Examining Board will hold a
public hearing at the time and place indicated below to
consider an order to amend sections DE 11.05 (1), 11.06 (1),
and 11.07 (1) and create section DE 11.02 (9m), relating to
sedation permits and classes of permits.

Hearing Information
Date: Wednesday, November 6, 2013
Time: 9:30 a.m.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue (enter at

55 North Dickenson Street)
Room 121A
Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing
Interested persons are invited to present information at the

hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Safety and Professional
Services, Division of Policy Development, P.O. Box 8935,
Madison, Wisconsin 53708−8935.  Written comments must
be received at or before the public hearing to be included in
the record of rule−making proceedings.

Place Where Comments are to be Submitted and
Deadline for Submission

Comments may be submitted to Jean MacCubbin, Program
Manager, Department of Safety and Professional Services,
Division of Policy Development, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 151, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, WI
53708−8935, or by email to Jean.MacCubbin@
wisconsin.gov.  Comments must be received before the public
hearing to be held on November 6, 2013, to be included in the
record of rule−making proceedings.

Copies of rule
Copies of this proposed rule are available upon request to

Jean MacCubbin, Department of Safety and Professional

Services, Division of Policy Development, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708−8935, by email at Jean.MacCubbin@wisconsin.gov
or on our website at http://dsps.wi.gov/
Default.aspx?Page=44e541e8−abdd−49da−8fde−04671361
7e9e.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Safety and
Professional Services

Statutes interpreted
Section 447.02 (2) (b), Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 15.08 (5) (b) and 447.02 (2) (b), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
Section 15.08 (5) (b), Stats.  The examining board shall

promulgate rules for the guidance of the profession to which
it pertains and define and enforce professional conduct and
unethical practices not inconsistent with the law relating to the
particular trade or profession.

Section 447.02 (2) (b), Stats.  The examining board shall
promulgate rules specifying the “…standards, conditions and
any educational requirements that are in addition to the
requirements specified in s. 447.04 (1), Stats., that must be
met by a dentist to be permitted to induce general anesthesia
or conscious sedation in connection with the practice of
dentistry.”

Related statute or rule
Section 447.01 (8) (d), Stats.

Plain language analysis
The intent of the rule is to allow the Dentistry Examining

Board discretion in approving sedation permits for licensees
who have received discipline action against their permit(s) or
are currently under investigation regarding their permit(s).
Therefore, the granting of permits shall be permissive.  In
addition, the definitions of classes of sedation permits are
added as no such reference occurs in the rule or the rule series,
chs. DE 1 to 13.

SECTION 1 provides a definition of sedation permit
classes which correspond to the permit application process.

SECTIONS 2 to 4 modify the current text making the
approval of permits permissive and update the permit classes
as now defined in s. DE 11.02 (9m).

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulation

No existing or proposed rules or laws were found in an
Internet−based search of the U.S. Code or the Code of Federal
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Register (CFR) regarding classes of sedation, sedation
permits for licensed dentists or how discipline may affect
dentists applying for or maintaining such permits.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Illinois:   The State of Illinois has an application process for
dental sedation permits, which includes conscious sedation −
Permit A and deep sedation and general anesthesia — Permit
B.  A permit application includes a request for information on
fines, reprimands, probations, censures, revocations,
suspensions, license surrenders, restrictions or limitations,
but does not specifically list a prohibition of permit approval
as a consequence of any discipline.  [Title 68, subch. VIIb, sec.
1220.510]

Iowa: Iowa rules, IAC 650—Chapter 29, much like
Illinois, have permits for sedation and their application forms
request the following information: “…have your clinical
activities ever been limited, suspended, revoked, not
renewed, voluntarily relinquished, or subject to other
disciplinary or probationary conditions?” In order to obtain a
permit for deep sedation/general anesthesia, a dentist must
hold current certification in Advanced Cardiac Life Support
(ACLS) 650 IAC 29.3(4) — procedures by a dentist with a
permit for deep sedation/general anesthesia can only be done
with the assistance of at least two auxiliary personnel that
have current basic life support certification [IAC 29.3(5)].  In
this search, no rule or law was found to specifically prohibit
applying for or maintaining such a permit while a licensee has
been disciplined.

Michigan:   In a search of ch. 33 Michigan health code, no
provisions for application for sedation classes or permits were
found.

Minnesota:  In Minnesota, dentists must obtain a
certificate from the Board to administer general anesthesia or
conscious sedation per Ch. 3100.3600 Subp 9. Requirements
for both general anesthesia and conscious sedation stipulate
for the dentist to have current ACLS certification (Subp 2, 3).

Dentists, dental hygienists and registered dental assistants
may administer nitrous oxide inhalation analgesia with

current CPR certification (Subp 4D).  The required continuing
education includes both advanced cardiac life support
(ACLS) and pediatric advanced life support (PALS).  There
is no mention of the ability to apply for or termination of such
certification based on discipline or a licensee.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
No factual data and analytical methodologies were used to

draft these rules.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business or in preparation of economic impact
analysis

The information comparing the states listed in this analysis
was obtained directly from an Internet−based search and a
review of the applicable regulations and rules, when found.

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis
The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis is

attached.

Effect on Small Business
These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on

small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The
Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at Greg.Gasper@wisconsin.gov, or by
calling (608) 266−8608.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis or Summary
This rule change will not have an effect on small business.

Environmental Assessment/Statement  [if required]
N/A

Agency Contact Person
Jean MacCubbin, Program Manager, Department of Safety

and Professional Services, Division of Policy Development,
1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 151, P.O. Box 8935,
Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone 608−266−0955 or
telecommunications relay services via 711; email at
Jean.MacCubbin@wisconsin.gov.

STATE OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION
DOA−2049 (R03/2012)

DIVISION OF EXECUTIVE BUDGET AND FINANCE
101 EAST WILSON STREET, 10TH FLOOR

P.O. BOX 7864
MADISON, WI  53707−7864

FAX: (608) 267−0372

ADMINISTRATIVE  RULES
Fiscal Estimate & Economic Impact Analysis

1. Type of Estimate and Analysis

X Original � Updated � Corrected

2. Administrative Rule Chapter, Title and Number

Ch. DE 11 Anesthesia

3. Subject

Sedation Permits

4. Fund Sources Affected 5. Chapter 20, Stats. Appropriations Affected

� GPR� FED X PRO � PRS � SEG � SEG−S 20.165 (1) (g)
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6. Fiscal Effect of Implementing the Rule

X No Fiscal Effect
� Indeterminate

� Increase Existing Revenues
� Decrease Existing Revenues

� Increase Costs
� Could Absorb Within Agency’s Budget
� Decrease Cost

7. The Rule Will Impact the Following (Check All That Apply)

� State’s Economy
� Local Government Units

� Specific Businesses/Sectors
� Public Utility Rate Payers
� Small Businesses (if checked, complete Attachment A)

8. Would Implementation and Compliance Costs Be Greater Than $20 million?

� Yes X No

9. Policy Problem Addressed by the Rule

The objective of the proposed rule is to allow the Board to use discretion in granting sedation permits to a dentist who is currently
being investigated or has had disciplinary action relating to general anesthesia or conscious sedation.

10. Summary of the businesses, business sectors, associations representing business, local governmental units, and individuals that may be
affected by the proposed rule that were contacted for comments.

Licensees

11. Identify the local governmental units that participated in the development of this EIA.

None

12. Summary of Rule’s Economic and Fiscal Impact on Specific Businesses, Business Sectors, Public Utility Rate Payers, Local Governmental
Units and the State’s Economy as a Whole (Include Implementation and Compliance Costs Expected to be Incurred)

None.

13. Benefits of Implementing the Rule and Alternative(s) to Implementing the Rule

Providing the Board to use discretion in granting sedation permits based on investigation or disciplinary actions of licensees.

14. Long Range Implications of Implementing the Rule

None known.

15. Compare With Approaches Being Used by Federal Government

None found.

16. Compare With Approaches Being Used by Neighboring States (Illinois, Iowa, Michigan and Minnesota)

Illinois and Iowa request information pertaining to arrests, convictions, etc. Neither Minnesota or Michigan appears to request such
information at time of permit application.

17. Contact Name 18. Contact Phone Number

Jean MacCubbin 608.266.0955

This document can be made available in alternate formats to individuals with disabilities upon request.
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Submittal of Proposed Rules to Legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings — Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Natural  Resources
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—

CR 13−019

(DNR # FH−18−12)
On September 4, 2013, the Department of Natural

Resources submitted final draft rules to the presiding officer
of each house of the Legislature pursuant to s. 227.19, Stats.
The rule revises Chapters NR 20 and 23, relating to sport
fishing regulations on inland, outlying, and boundary waters
of Wisconsin.

The Governor approved the rule on August 29, 2013.

Natural  Resources
Environmental Protection — Wis. Pollution Discharge

Elimination System, Chs.  NR 200—
CR 13−006

(DNR # WT−28−10)
On September 5, 2013, the Department of Natural

Resources submitted final draft rules to the presiding officer
of each house of the legislature pursuant to s. 227.19, Stats.
The rule revises Chapter NR 211, relating to pre−treatment
wastewater standards and requirements.

This rule is not subject to s. 227.185.  The statement of
scope for this rule, published in Register 652, on May 1, 2010,
was sent to LRB prior to the effective date of 2011 Wis. Act
21.

Public Defender Board
CR 13−049

Pursuant to s. 227.19, Stats., on September 12, 2013, the
State Public Defender submitted a proposed rule−making
order to the presiding officer of each house of the legislature.
The rule amends sections PD 3.02(1), 6.01, and  6.02 (1),
relating to the cost of retained counsel, payment for legal
representation, and discount option.

The Governor approved the rule on September 4, 2013.
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Rule Orders Filed with the Legislative Reference Bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Legislative Reference Bureau and are in the process of being
published.  The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.  It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.  Contact the Legislative Reference Bureau at bruce.hoesly@legis.wisconsin.gov or (608) 266−7590 for updated
information on the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Employee Trust Funds
CR 12−054

The Wisconsin Department of Employee Trust Funds
proposes order to amend sections ETF 10.01 (3i), ETF 10.63
(1) (a) to (f), 10.63 (2), and (3), and 40.10 (1) (2) and (3) (e); to
repeal and recreate section ETF 20.015 (1) and (2); and to
create section ETF 10.86, relating to technical and minor
substantive changes in existing ETF administrative rules.
Effective 11−1−13.

Natural  Resources
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—

CR 12−021

(DNR # WM−01−13)

The Wisconsin Natural Resources Board proposes an order
to repeal sections 10.001 (23v) and (24), 10.01 (2) (c) 3. to 7.,
10.09 (1) (c) 3., and 11.011; to amend sections NR 10.01 (3)
(e), (et) 1., and (ev), 10.101 (2) (b) and (c) (Note), 10.145 (8)
(a), 10.15 (2), 10.24 (5), 17.04 (3) (c) (intro.) and (Note),
17.08 (2) (c) and (3) (c) (intro.) and (Note), 45.04 (1) (a) 1.,
45.09 (2), and 45.12 (4) (f) 2. a.; to repeal and recreate sections
NR 10.01 (4) (a) and (e); and to create sections NR 10.08 (6),
10.13 (3) (c) 4., 10.24 (10), 17.04 (3) (c) 3., and 17.08 (3) (c)

3., relating to hunting, trapping, closed areas, dog training,
and the use of department lands.
Effective 11−1−13.

Safety and Professional Services
Professional Services, chs. SPS 1—299

CR 13−026

The Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional
Services proposes an order to create Chapter SPS 50 and to
amend sections SPS 60.01, 61.02 (1) (a), (2) (a), (3) (a) and (4)
(a), 62.10, 65.01, 65.02 (1), 65.07, and 65.12 (1) (e), (h) and (i)
6., relating to barbers and to barbering and cosmetology
schools and instructors, and affecting small business.
Effective 11−1−13.

Safety and Professional Services —
Pharmacy Examining Board

CR 13−018

The pharmacy Examining Board proposes an order to
amend section Phar 7.01 (1) (e), relating to delivery of
prescription drugs.
Effective 11−1−13.
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Rules Published with this Register and Final Regulatory
Flexibility Analyses

The following administrative rule orders have been adopted and published in this edition of the Wisconsin Administrative
Register.  Copies of these rules are sent to subscribers of the complete Wisconsin Administrative Code and also to the subscribers of
the specific affected Code.

For subscription information, contact Document Sales at (608) 266−3358.

Safety and Professional Services
General Part I, Chs. SPS 301—319
General Part II, Chs. SPS 326—360

CR 13−014

The Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional
Services adopts an order revising Chapters  SPS 305 and 345,
relating to credentials for HVAC contractors, refrigerant
handling technicians, master plumbers, and elevator
mechanics.

Effect on Small Business
Pursuant to Executive Order 50, the proposed rules were

posted on both the state’s and department’s administrative
rule websites for 14 days to solicit comments regarding
potential economic impacts on businesses, business sectors,
professional associations, local governmental units, or
interested parties.  No comments were received as a result of
the solicitations.

The proposed rules implement the direction of 2011
Wisconsin Act 146 regarding the credentialing of refrigerant
handling technicians, HVAC contractors, plumbers and
elevator mechanics.  The Act and the proposed rules eliminate
the state mandate for credentials relating to ozone−depleting
refrigerants.  The current credential fees are:  refrigerant
handling technician $20 for a 4−year certification, and HVAC
contractor $160 for a 4−year registration.

The department does not believe that the proposed rules
will  create an impact on small businesses any differently than
the mandates of the Act.

Legislative Comments
No comments were reported.

Safety and Professional Services —
Medical Examining Board

CR 13−008

The Wisconsin Medical Examining Board proposes an
order to renumber section  Med 10.01; to amend section Med
10.01 (1) (title); to repeal and recreate section Med 10.02; and
to create sections Med 10.01 (2) and 10.03, relating to
unprofessional conduct.

Effect on Small Business
The department finds that this rule will have no effect on

small business as small business is defined in s. 227.114 (1),
Stats.
Legislative Comments

No comments were reported.

Safety and Professional Services —
Veterinary Examining Board

CR 12−051

The Veterinary Examining Board proposes an order to
repeal section VE 1.02 (8) and to amend section VE 1.02 (7),
relating to the definitions of patient and prescription legend
animal drugs.
Effect on Small Business

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on
small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The
Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at Greg.Gasper@wisconsin.gov, or by
calling (608) 266−8608.
Legislative Comments

No comments were reported.

Safety and Professional Services —
Veterinary Examining Board

CR 12−052

The Veterinary Examining Board proposes an order to
repeal sections VE 7.06 (22) (c), (d), (e), and (Note), 9.05 (12)
(c), (d), (e), and (Note), 10.02 (1) (a) 1 and 2., 10.02 (2) (a) 1.
and 2., and 10.04; and to amend sections VE 7.06 (22) (intro.),
9.05 (12) (intro.), 10.02 (1) (a), and 10.02 (2) (a), relating to
continuing education and training in the use of pesticides by
veterinarians and certified veterinary technicians.
Effect on Small Business

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on
small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The
Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at Greg.Gasper@wisconsin.gov, or by
calling (608) 266−8608.
Legislative Comments

No comments were reported.
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Sections Affected by Rule Revisions and Corrections

The following administrative code sections had rule revisions and corrections take place in September 2013, and will be
effective as indicated in the history note for each particular section.  For additional information, contact the Legislative Reference
Bureau at (608) 266−7590.

Revisions

Medical Examining Board
Ch. Med 10
Entire Chapter

Natural  Resources
Ch. NR 169
NR 169.05 (12m), (Note), (16g), (16r), (Note), (29e),

(Notes), (29m), (Notes), (29s), (Note)
NR 169.11 (1) (c) 9., (Note)
NR 169.13 (2) (f) 3., (Notes), (3) (a) 6.
NR 169.15 (1), (Note), (2)
NR 169.19 (4) (c)
NR 169.23 (9) (b) 1, (Note)

Technical College System
Ch. TCS 2
TCS 2.02 (1), (3), (5), (5m)
TCS 2.04 (3) (a) 4., 4m., 6., (c) to (e)

Psychology Examining Board
Ch. Psy 2
Psy 2.09 (4)
Psy 2.12 (2)

Safety and Professional Services
Ch. SPS 305
SPS 305.003 (15), (62)
SPS 305.02 Table line 50
SPS 305.06 Table line 45
SPS 305.325 (4) (Note)
SPS 305.70 (1), (Note)
SPS 305.72
SPS 305.91 (3) (a)
SPS 305.92 (3)
SPS 305.992 (1) (c)
SPS 305.993 (1) (c)
Ch. SPS 345
SPS 345.10 (2) (Note)
SPS 345.70 (1) to (5)

Veterinary Examining Board
Ch. VE 1
VE 1.02 (7), (8)
Ch. VE 7
VE 7.06 (22) (intro.), (c) to (e), (Note)
Ch. VE 9
VE 9.05 (12) (intro.) (c) to (e), (Note)
Ch. VE 10
VE 10.02 (1) (a) 1., (2) (a) 1.

Editorial  Corrections
Corrections to code sections under the authority of s. 13.92 (4) (b), Stats., are indicated in the following listing.

Financial Institutions — Division of Banking
Ch. DFI−Bkg 60
Entire Chapter

Justice Assistance
Entire Code (Removed under 13.92 (4) (b) 15.)

Safety and Professional Services
Ch. SPS 3
Appendix I
Ch. SPS 5
Entire Chapter
Ch. SPS 303
SPS 303.03 (2) (Note [2])

SPS 303.04 (2) (Note)
SPS 303.05 (2) (b) (Note)
SPS 303.06 (2) (c) (Note)
SPS 303.10
SPS 303.12 (1), (3)
SPS 303.13 (3) (Note)
Ch. SPS 304
SPS 304.11 (2) (a) (Note)
Ch. SPS 305
SPS 305.07 (2) (b) 1. (Note)
SPS 305.10 (1) (d) 1. (Note)
SPS 305.125 (3) 1. (Note), (6) (a) 2., (Note)
SPS 305.30 (Note)
SPS 305.40 (Note)
SPS 305.405 (Note)
SPS 305.41 (1) (a) (Note), (b) (Notes)
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SPS 305.993 (4) (b) 2.
Ch. SPS 307
SPS 307.31 (2) (Note)
Ch. SPS 308
SPS 308.05 (Note [2])
SPS 308.10 (Note [2])
SPS 308.12 (2) (Note)
Ch. SPS 314
SPS 314.01 (4) (Note [1]), (5) (Note), (13) (b) 8.

(Note), (14) (c) 1. (Note), (f) 1. (Note), 2. (Note)
SPS 314.10 (3) (Note), (12) (Note)
SPS 314.50 (3) (Note)
Appendix
Ch. SPS 316
SPS 316.005 (Note [2])
Ch. SPS 318
SPS 318.1008 (Notes)
SPS 318.1010 (Note [2])
SPS 318.1013 (3) (b) (Note [3])
SPS 318.1015 (4) (Note)
Ch. SPS 321
SPS 321.125 (1) (Note)
SPS 321.40 (1) (Note [1])
Ch. SPS 323
SPS 323.08 (10) (d) (Note)
SPS 323.14 (2) (a) (Note)
Ch. SPS 324
SPS 324.01 (Note)
Ch. SPS 326
SPS 326.08 (1) (Note [1])
SPS 326.09 (2) (b)
Ch. SPS 330
SPS 330.011 (3) (Note)
SPS 330.23 (Note)
Ch. SPS 332
SPS 332.05 (3) (Note)
SPS 332.10 (Note)
SPS 332.35 (1) (Note [2])
Ch. SPS 333
SPS 333.05 (Note [2])
SPS 333.10 (1) (a) (Note)
SPS 333.14 (Note)
SPS 333.15 (Note)
Ch. SPS 334
SPS 334.04 (2) (Note)
SPS 334.05 (4) (a) (Note)
SPS 334.11 (Note [2])
SPS 334.41 (Note [1])
Ch. SPS 340
SPS 340.30 (4) (Note)
SPS 340.31 (Note)
SPS 340.39 (Notes [1, 3])
Ch. SPS 341
SPS 341.05 (Note [2])
SPS 341.16 (1) (e) (Note), (2) (d) (Note), (e) (Note)
SPS 341.23 (1) (b) (Note)
SPS 341.38 (1) (Note [1]), (4) (Note)
SPS 341.41 (1) (a) (Note), (2) (a) (Note), (4) (b) (Note)
SPS 341.55 (4) (Note [2])

SPS 341.92 (1) (Note)
Ch. SPS 343
SPS 343.10 (5) (Note)
Ch. SPS 345
SPS 345.10 (intro.)
SPS 345.30 (2) (Note)
SPS 345.31 (2) (b) 2. (Note), (d) (Notes [1, 5])
SPS 345.32 (6) (Note)
SPS 345.33 (Note [1])
SPS 345.37 Entire section, (Note [3])
Ch. SPS 360
SPS 360.12 (1) (a) (Note), (c) (Note)
SPS 360.20 (1) (Note)
Ch. SPS 361
SPS 361.03 (15) (Note [2])
SPS 361.20 (2) (b) (Note)
SPS 361.22 (Note)
SPS 361.31 (3) (a) (Note [1])
SPS 361.40 (4) (Note)
SPS 360.60 (7) (Note)
Ch. SPS 362
SPS 362.1107 (3) (a) (Note)
Ch. SPS 366
Appendix A
Ch. SPS 367
SPS 367.02 (2) (h) (Note)
SPS 367.06 (1) (b) (Note)
Ch. SPS 371
SPS 371.05 (1) (Note)
Ch. SPS 372
SPS 372.03 (Note)
Ch. SPS 382
SPS 382.20 (1) (intro.) (Note), (11) (a) (Note [2]), (b)

(Note), (13) (a) (Note)
SPS 382.40 (3) (d) 4. (Note)
Appendix
Ch. SPS 383
SPS 383.21 (2) (a) (Note)
SPS 383.22 (2) (b) 1. a. (Note)
Ch. SPS 385
SPS 385.40 (2) (a) (Note)
SPS 385.60 (3) (j) (Note), (4) (c) 5. (Note), (d) 3.

(Note)
Ch. SPS 386
SPS 386.03 (Note)
Ch. SPS 387
SPS 387.05 (1) (Note)
Ch. SPS 390
SPS 390.02 (4) (Note)
SPS 390.03 (26) (Note)
SPS 390.04 (1) (a) (Note), (4) (f) (Note)
SPS 390.05 (2) (b) (Note)
SPS 390.11 (3) (a) (Note), (8) (b) (Note), (10) (Note)
SPS 390.12 (3) (b) 9. (Note)
SPS 390.13 (2) (g) (Note)
SPS 390.14 (1) (Note), (13) (b) 3. (Note), 8. (Note), (c)

1. a. (Note)
SPS 390.16 (4) (c) (Note), (5) (Note)
SPS 390.19 Table 390.19
SPS 390.20 (3) (Note)
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SPS 390.21 (5) (a) (Note)
SPS 390.31 (3) (a) (Note)
Appendix
Ch. SPS 431
Entire Chapter
Appendix
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Executive Orders

The following are recent Executive Orders issued by the Governor.

Executive Order 110.Relating to a Proclamation Declaring a State of Emergency in Response to Widespread
Flooding.  (July 31, 2013)

Executive Order 111. Relating to a Special Election for the Sixty−Ninth Assembly District.  (September 4,
2013)

Executive Order  112.Relating to a Proclamation that the Flag of the United States and the Flag of the State of
Wisconsin be Flown at Half−Staff to Honor the Victims of the September 11, 2001 Terrorist Attacks and the Members
of the Armed Forces Who Answered the Subsequent Call to Defend Our Freedoms Overseas. (September 6, 2013)

Executive Order  113.Relating to a Special Election for the Twenty−First Assembly District. (September 17,
2013)
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Public Notices

Health Services

(Medicaid Benchmark Plan Termination)
The State of Wisconsin reimburses providers for services provided to Medical Assistance recipients under the

authority of Title XIX of the Social Security Act and ss. 49.43 to 49.47, Wisconsin Statutes. This program, administered
by the State’s Department of Health Services (the Department), is called Medical Assistance (MA) or Medicaid. In
addition, Wisconsin has expanded this program to create the BadgerCare and BadgerCare Plus programs under the
authority of Title XIX and Title XXI of the Social Security Act and ss. 49.471, 49.665, and 49.67 of the Wisconsin
Statutes. Federal statutes and regulations require that a state plan be developed that provides the methods and standards
for reimbursement of covered services. A plan that describes the reimbursement system for the services (methods and
standards for reimbursement) is now in effect.

Change in Payment Methods

At present some recipients of coverage under BadgerCare Plus receive coverage through a benchmark plan under the
authority of section 1937 of the Social Security Act. Section 1937 provides authority for States to provide for medical
assistance to one or more groups of Medicaid−eligible individuals, specified by the State in an approved state plan
amendment, through enrollment in coverage that provides benchmark or benchmark−equivalent health care benefit
coverage. Wisconsin first established a benchmark plan effective February 1, 2008.

The populations who are subject to mandatory alternative coverage are (1) Pregnant women and infants with incomes
between 200 and 300% of the federal poverty line (FPL), and (2) newborns who are deemed eligible under s. 1902 (e)(4)
of the Social Security Act and were born to women with family incomes of 200 to 300% of the FPL, whose eligibility
was determined under s. 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii) or s. 1902(a)(10)(C) of the Social Security Act. With this change, individuals
who meet those descriptions wil l instead receive coverage under the Medicaid standard plan, which offers a more
generous package of benefits.

Wisconsin is currently working to implement the new federal health care law, the Patient Protection and Affordable
Care Act (PPACA). As part of that implementation, the benchmark plan described above wil l be terminated.

Proposed Change

The proposed change is to terminate the benchmark plan described above through which certain individuals receive
benefits through the Wisconsin Medicaid program.

The change wil l be effective January 1, 2014, and wil l apply to claims with dates of service on or after that date. The
change is projected to result in an annual cost of $10.8 millio n all funds, composed of $4.3 millio n general purpose
revenue (GPR) and $6.5 millio n federal match (FED).

Copies of Changes

Copies of documents relating to the proposed change may be obtained free of charge by calling or writing as follows:
Regular Mail:

Al Matano
Bureau of Fiscal Management

Division of Health Care Access and Accountability
P.O. Box 309

Madison, WI  53701−0309
Fax:

(608) 266−1096
Attention: Al Matano

Telephone:
Al Matano

Bureau of Fiscal Management
(608) 267−7939

E−Mail:
alfred.matano@dhs.wisconsin.gov
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Copies of the state plan change wil l be made available for review at the main office of any county department of social
services or human services.

Written  Comments

Written comments are welcome.  Written comments on the proposed changes may be sent by FAX, e−mail, or regular
mail to the Division of Health Care Access and Accountability.  The FAX number is (608) 266−1096.  The e−mail address
is alfred.matano@dhs.wisconsin.gov.  Regular mail can be sent to the above address.  All written comments wil l be
reviewed and considered.

The written comments wil l be available for public review between the hours of 7:45 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. daily in Room
350 of the State Office Building, 1 West Wilson Street, Madison, Wisconsin. Revisions may be made in the proposed
changed methodology based on comments received.
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