File inserted into Admin. Code 1–1–2016. May not be current beginning 1 month after insert date. For current adm. code see: http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILIES

171

Chapter DCF 82

INTAKE WORKER TRAINING

	Authority and purpose.	DCF 82.05	Monitoring of compliance with the training requirement.
	Applicability.	DCF 82.06	Review and approval of training proposals.
DCF 82.03	Definitions.	DCF 82.07	Examination.
DCF 82.04	Intake training.	DCF 82.08	Participant evaluation of training.

Note: Chapter DOC 399 was renumbered chapter DCF 82 under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 1., Stats., Register December 2015 No. 720.

DCF 82.01 Authority and purpose. This chapter is promulgated under the authority of s. 938.06 (1) (am) and (2) (b), Stats., and 2015 Wisconsin Act 55, section 9108 (1) (h), to ensure that all intake workers receive basic training appropriate to their functions and responsibilities.

History: Cr. Register, June, 2000, No. 534, eff. 7-1-00; correction made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 7., Stats., Register December 2015 No. 720.

DCF 82.02 Applicability. This chapter applies to the department, intake workers who began employment after July 1, 1989, county sheriff's department employees who provide intake services and began employment after July 1, 1989 and to juvenile courts and county departments that provide intake services under ss. 48.06 and 938.06, Stats.

History: Cr. Register, June, 2000, No. 534, eff. 7-1-00.

DCF 82.03 Definitions. In this chapter:

(1) "Administrator" means the administrator of the department's division of safety and permanence or that person's designee.

(2) "Basic intake training" means 30 hours of department approved training required under s. 938.06 (1) (am) and (2) (b), Stats., which includes 90 minutes for a test at the conclusion of the instruction and may include up to 4 hours of child abuse and neglect training approved by the department.

(3) "County department" has the meaning given in s. 938.02 (2g), Stats.

(4) "Department" means the department of children and families.

(5) "Employing agency" means a juvenile court, a county department or a county sheriff's department that employs one or more intake workers.

(6) "Juvenile court" means the court assigned to exercise jurisdiction under ch. 938, Stats.

(7) "Intake worker" means an employee of a juvenile court, a county department or the sheriff's department who performs juvenile court intake functions as specified in s. 938.067, Stats.

(8) "Successfully completed" means was present for 30 hours of basic intake training and gave correct answers to 70% or more of the test questions.

History: Cr. Register, June, 2000, No. 534, eff. 7–1–00; correction in (1) made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 7. and correction in (4) made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 6., Stats., Register December 2015 No. 720.

DCF 82.04 Intake training. (1) REQUIREMENT. Except as provided in sub. (2), every intake worker hired on or after July 1, 1989 shall successfully complete 30 hours of department approved basic intake training within the first 6 months after beginning work as an intake worker.

(2) EXEMPTION. A person hired on or after July 1, 1989 to perform intake service responsibilities shall be exempt from the training requirement under sub. (1) if either of the following apply:

(a) The person successfully completed basic intake training while employed by another agency as an intake worker.

(b) The person was employed as an intake worker in Wisconsin prior to May 15, 1980.

History: Cr. Register, June, 2000, No. 534, eff. 7-1-00.

DCF 82.05 Monitoring of compliance with the training requirement. (1) NOTIFICATION OF APPOINTMENT OR ASSIGNMENT. Within 20 working days after the appointment of an intake worker or the assignment of intake responsibilities to an employee, the employing agency shall notify the department in writing of the appointment or assignment. The notification shall include all of the following:

(a) The name of the new employee or newly assigned employee.

(b) The starting date of the new employee or newly assigned employee.

(2) NOTIFICATION OF NON-COMPLIANCE. If an intake worker does not successfully complete the required basic intake training within the first 6 months after the person begins work, the department shall advise the following persons, as appropriate, in writing of the failure to complete:

(a) The chief juvenile court judge of the county where the intake worker is employed.

(b) The director of the county department, if the intake worker is an employee of that department.

(c) The district attorney or corporation counsel, as appropriate.

(d) The sheriff of the county or the head of the agency which administers the county's juvenile detention facility.

(e) The intake worker's supervisor or the chief intake worker. History: Cr. Register, June, 2000, No. 534, eff. 7-1-00.

DCF 82.06 Review and approval of training proposals. (1) SUBMISSION OF TRAINING PROPOSAL. Any individual, agency or organization intending to provide basic intake training to intake workers shall submit a proposal to the department for all 30 hours of training, including a 90 minute test, at least 60 days before the training is to begin. The proposal shall include all of the following:

(a) A description of the organization and content of the training and a statement describing the educational objectives of the training. The content of the training shall include training regarding statutes specified by the department.

(b) A list of trainers, including documentation of their knowledge of the subject and ability to teach it.

(c) An agreement to have the test administered as required under s. DCF 82.07.

(d) A description of procedures to be used to verify attendance at the training sessions.

(e) Identification of any tuition or other fees to be charged to participants.

(f) The maximum number of participants that can be accommodated.

(g) The specific location or locations at which the training will take place.

(h) A list of dates on which the training will be given.

File inserted into Admin. Code 1–1–2016. May not be current beginning 1 month after insert date. For current adm. code see:

DCF 82.06

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

172

(2) EVALUATION AND APPROVAL OF TRAINING PROPOSAL. (a) 1. The department shall evaluate the training proposal for completeness, timeliness and adequacy under sub. (1).

2. The department shall notify the applicant in writing of approval or denial within 20 days after receipt of the proposal. If the proposal is not approved, the department shall include in the notice the reason for not approving the proposal.

(b) A county employee may not provide basic intake training for employees of that county.

(3) APPEAL OF AN ADVERSE DECISION. (a) An applicant whose training proposal is denied may appeal the decision to the administrator. An appeal shall be submitted in writing to the administrator within 10 working days after receipt of the notice of denial and shall include information that responds to the reasons given by the department to deny the proposed training.

(b) The administrator shall either affirm or overturn the decision to deny approval of the proposal within 10 working days after receiving the appeal. The administrator's decision shall be final.

(4) DURATION OF APPROVAL. A decision to approve a proposal includes approval of all training dates included in the proposal. The effective period for the approval is 12 months from the date of notification of approval. The approved training shall be conducted during the 12-month period unless a change is made to the training proposal which is approved by the department. If the department approves a change, the period of approval shall extend to 12 months from the date that the department notifies the applicant that the amended proposal is approved.

History: Cr. Register, June, 2000, No. 534, eff. 7–1–00; correction in (1) (c) made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 7., Stats., Register December 2015 No. 720.

DCF 82.07 Examination. (1) TEST QUESTIONS. The department shall develop a pool of questions related to the content of the basic intake training, including questions designed to measure knowledge of relevant statutes. The department shall select questions from the pool of questions in creating a test that intake workers shall take at the conclusion of the training.

(2) ADMINISTRATION OF THE TEST. An employee of the department shall administer a test at the end of the training using all of the following procedures:

(a) The test may not be distributed to training participants until the time for testing at the end of the training.

(b) Ninety minutes shall be allowed to complete the test and the 90 minutes shall be included as part of the 30 hours of required training.

(c) Training participants may use statutes and other resources to complete the test, but training participants shall individually complete the test.

(3) EVALUATION AND SCORING OF TESTS. Staff of the department designated by the administrator shall evaluate the responses

to the test questions and shall determine the percentage of questions that each training participant has answered correctly. The department shall notify each training participant and his or her supervisor of that percentage within 20 working days after the training is completed. A training participant who has answered 70% or more of the questions correctly has passed the test. A training participant who has answered fewer than 70% of the questions correctly has failed the test.

(4) OPPORTUNITY TO SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETE THE TEST. If a training participant fails the test, he or she shall be given an opportunity to respond again to the questions for which erroneous responses were given on the original test. The questions that a training participant failed to answer correctly shall be included with the notice of the score on the original test. The training participant shall have 5 working days to complete answers to the questions and return the answers to the department. If all of the answers are correct, the department shall notify the training participant that he or she has passed the test.

(5) FAILURE TO SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETE THE EXAMINATION. If a training participant fails to complete the supplemental test in sub. (4), notification shall be sent in accordance with s. DCF 82.05 (2). A participant who has failed to successfully complete the supplemental test in sub. (4) may achieve certification only by retaking the 30 hours of department approved basic intake training and achieving a passing score of 70% or better on the examination.

History: Cr. Register, June, 2000, No. 534, eff. 7–1–00; correction in (5) made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 7., Stats., Register December 2015 No. 720.

DCF 82.08 Participant evaluation of training. (1) EVALUATION. Participants in the training shall be given an opportunity to evaluate the training experience, including the trainer's knowledge and ability, the curriculum, the content, the examination, and the format of the training. The department shall supply the trainer with evaluation forms to be completed by the participants. The trainer shall return all the completed evaluation forms to the department after administration of the test.

(2) EVALUATION RESULTS. The department shall notify the trainer of the results of the evaluations under sub. (1). The trainer shall meet with department representatives at the request of the department if evaluations indicate dissatisfaction with the training experience.

(3) CANCELLATION OF APPROVAL. If the department determines that the training was inadequate or inappropriate, the department may cancel the training approval by sending written notice to the trainer of the cancellation and the reasons for the cancellation. The trainer may appeal a decision to cancel an approval as provided in s. DCF 82.06 (3).

History: Cr. Register, June, 2000, No. 534, eff. 7–1–00; correction in (3) made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 7., Stats., Register December 2015 No. 720.