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WISCONSIN ETHICS COMMISSION 

Proposed Rule Making Order 
 

INTRODUCTORY CLAUSE 
 
The Wisconsin Ethics Commission proposes an order to create ch. ETH 26, related to settlement of 
campaign finance, lobbying, and ethics violations. 
 

RULE SUMMARY 
 
A.  Statutes interpreted: s. 19.49(2)(b)10., Stats. 
 
B.  Statutory authority: The Wisconsin Ethics Commission is specifically directed to promulgate this 
rule pursuant to s. 19.49(2)(b)10., Stats.   
 

10. The commission shall, by rule, prescribe categories of civil offenses which the commission 
will agree to compromise and settle without a formal investigation upon payment of specified 
amounts by the alleged offender. 

 
The Commission also has general authority for the promulgation of rules to carry out the 
requirements of Chapters 11, 13, and 19. 
 
s. 11.1304(17), Stats.: 
 

11.1304 Duties of the ethics commission. The commission shall: 
(17) Promulgate rules to administer this chapter. 

 
s. 19.48(1), Stats.: 
 

19.48 Duties of the ethics commission. The commission shall: 
(1) Promulgate rules necessary to carry out ch. 11, subch. III of ch. 13, and this subchapter.  

 
s. 227.11(2)(a), Stats.: 
 

227.11  Extent to which chapter confers rule -making authority. 
(2) Rule-making authority is expressly conferred on an agency as follows: 
(a) Each agency may promulgate rules interpreting the provisions of any statute enforced or 
administered by the agency, if the agency considers it necessary to effectuate the purpose of the 
statute, but a rule is not valid if the rule exceeds the bounds of correct interpretation.  
 

C.  Explanation of agency authority: The Ethics Commission is required to prescribe, by rule, 
categories of civil offenses which the Commission will agree to compromise and settle without a formal 
investigation upon payment of specified amounts by the alleged offender. The Commission may only 
settle alleged offenses, which in the opinion of the Commission, constitute a minor violation, a violation 
caused by excusable neglect, or which for other good cause shown is not in the public interest to 
prosecute. 
 
D.  Related statute(s) or rule(s): ss. 11.1400, 13.69, and 19.579, Stats. 
 



E.  Plain language analysis : The rule sets forth categories of civil offenses and specifies the amounts for 
which the Commission will agree to settle various violations of Chapter 11, subchapter III of Chapter 13, 
and subchapter III of Chapter 19. 
 
F.  Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulations: There is no existing 
or proposed federal regulation that is intended to address the activities to be regulated by the proposed 
rule. 
 
G.  Comparison with similar rules in adjacent states: 

 
Illinois: Permits settlement of similar campaign finance violations subject to approval by the state 
board of elections. The board of elections publishes the factors they will consider in offering a 
settlement. State law prescribes standard late fees for various reports and administrative code further 
details the penalties to be assessed for late reports based on the total amount of receipts, expenditures, 
and the committee’s balance at the end of the report. ILL. ADMIN. CODE tit. 26 § 125.425. These civil 
penalties range from the lowest category of $25 per business day for the first violation, $50 per 
business day for the second violation, and $75 per business day for the third and each subsequent 
violation; to the highest category of $50 per business day for the first violation, $100 per business day 
for the second violation, and $200 per business day for the third and each subsequent violation. Id. 
 
Iowa: Permits settlement of similar violations subject to approval by the Ethics and Campaign 
Finance Disclosure Board, but does not publish a schedule of potential settlement terms for 
violations. The Board is authorized to administratively resolve late reports by assessment of 
automatic civil penalties as established by the Board. IOWA ADMIN. CODE r. 351—9.4(5). 
 
Michigan: Permits settlement of similar violations subject to approval by the Secretary of State. The 
Secretary of State publishes information related to good cause waivers of late filing fees, but does not 
have a full settlement schedule for all violations. State law provides a standard $10 per business day 
late fee for campaign registration statements. MICH. COMP. LAWS § 169.224. State law also provides 
an escalating penalty for late campaign finance reports of $25 for each business day the report 
remains unfiled, an additional $25 for each business day after the first three business days the report 
remains unfiled, and an additional $50 for each business day after the first ten business days the 
report remains unfiled. MICH. COMP. LAWS § 169.232. 
 
Minnesota: Permits settlement of similar campaign finance, lobbying, and ethics violations with the 
approval of the Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board. The manuals published by this 
Board state various amounts as late fees for different reports. Additionally, the Office of 
Administrative Hearings uses a penalty matrix designed by the Secretary of State’s office to provide 
guidance for most campaign finance violations. 
 

H.  Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: N/A 
 

I.  Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine effect on small businesses: N/A 

 

J.  Effect on small business: N/A 

 

K.  Agency contact person: 
 

David P. Buerger 
David.Buerger@wisconsin.gov 
(608) 267-0951 



 

L.  Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: 

 
Written comments on the proposed rule will be accepted and receive consideration if they are 
received by June 6, 2017. Written comments should be addressed by mail to: David Buerger, P.O. 
Box 7984, Madison, WI 53707-7984; or by email to: eth.rulecomments@wi.gov. 

 
Fiscal Estimate: The creation of this rule does not affect business. 
 
Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis: The creation of this rule has no fiscal effect. 
 
 

TEXT OF RULE 
 
SECTION 1. Chapter ETH 26 is created to read: 

 
CHAPTER ETH 26  

SETTLEMENT OFFER SCHEDULE 

 
ETH 26.01 Definitions. In this chapter: 
 
(1)  “15 day report” means the report referred to in s. 13.67, Stats. 
 
(2)  “Commission” means the Wisconsin Ethics Commission. 
 
(3)  “Continuing report” includes the campaign finance reports due in January and July referred to in ss. 
11.0204 (2) (c), (3) (b), (4) (c) and (d), (5) (b) and (c), and (6) (a) and (b); 11.0304 (2) (c), (3) (b), (4) (c) 
and (d), and (5) (b) and (c); 11.0404 (2) (c) and (d) and (3) (b) and (c); 11.0504 (2) (c), (3) (b), (4) (c) and 
(d), and (5) (b) and (c); 11.0604 (2) (c), (3) (b), (4) (c) and (d) and (5) (b) and (c); 11.0704 (2), (3) (a), (4) 
(a) and (b), and (5) (a) and (b); 11.0804 (2) (c), (3) (b), (4) (c) and (d), and (5) (b) and (c); and 11.0904 (2) 
(c), (3) (b), (4) (c) and (d), and (5) (b) and (c), Stats. 
 
(4)  “Contribution” has the meaning given in s. 11.0101 (8), Stats. 
 
(5)  “Contributor” means a person or committee who makes a contribution. 
 
(6)  “Contributor information” includes the information required by ss. 11.0204 (1) (a) 1. and 3.; 11.0304 
(1) (a) 1. and 3.; 11.0404 (1) (a) 1.and 3.; 11.0504 (1) (a) 1. and 3.; 11.0604 (1) (a) 1. and 3.; 11.0704 (1) 
(b) 1. and 2.; 11.0804 (1) (a) 1.and 2.; and 11.0904 (1) (a) 1. and 3., Stats. 
 
(7)  “Disbursement” has the meaning given in s.11.0101 (10), Stats. 
 
(8)  “Disbursement information” includes the information required by ss. 11.0204 (1) (a) 8., 11.0304 (1) 
(a) 8., 11.0404 (1) (a) 8., 11.0504 (1) (a) 8., 11.0604 (1) (a) 8., 11.0804 (1) (a) 7., and 11.0904 (1) (a) 8., 
Stats., regarding disbursements greater than $20. 
 
(9)  “Excess contribution” means a contribution that exceeds any of the limits set in ss. 11.1101, 11.1104, 
11.1107, and 11.1108, Stats. 
 
(10)  “Filing fee” means the fee required by s. 11.0102 (2), Stats. 
 



(11)  “Late contribution” means a contribution or contributions of $1,000 or more cumulatively from a 
single contributor made later than 15 days prior to a primary or election as described in ss. 11.0204 (7), 
11.0304 (7), and 11.0404 (4), Stats. 
 
(12)  “Late contribution report” includes the campaign finance reports referred to in ss. 11.0204 (7), 
11.0304 (7), and 11.0404 (4), Stats., that are due no later than 72 hours after receiving a late contribution 
if the late contribution was not previously included in the registrant’s preprimary or preelection report.  
 
(13)  “Lobbyist” has the meaning given in s. 13.62 (11), Stats. 
 
(14)  “Post-election campaign finance report” includes the campaign finance reports referred to in ss. 
11.0204 (3) (c) and (5) (d); 11.0304 (3) (c) and (5) (d); 11.0404 (3) (d); 11.0504 (3) (c) and (5) (d); 
11.0604 (3) (c) and (5) (d); and 11.0704 (3) (b) and (5) (c), Stats., that are due no earlier than 23 days and 
no later than 45 days after a special election. 
 
(15)  “Preelection campaign finance report” includes the campaign finance reports referred to in ss. 
11.0204 (2) (b), (3) (a), (4) (b), and (5) (a); 11.0304 (2) (b), (3) (a), (4) (b), and (5) (a); 11.0404 (2) (b) 
and (3) (a); 11.0504 (2) (b), (3) (a), (4) (b), and (5) (a); 11.0604 (2) (b), (3) (a), (4) (b), and (5) (a); 
11.0804 (2) (b), (3) (a), (4) (b), and (5) (a); and 11.0904 (2) (b), (3) (a), (4) (b), and (5) (a), Stats., that are 
due no earlier than 14 days and no later than 8 days before an election. 
 
(16)  “Preprimary campaign finance report” includes the campaign finance reports referred to in ss. 
11.0204 (2) (a) and (4) (a); 11.0304 (2) (a) and (4) (a); 11.0404 (2) (a); 11.0504 (2) (a) and (4) (a); 
11.0604 (2) (a) and (4) (a); 11.0804 (2) (a) and (4) (a); and 11.0904 (2) (a) and (4) (a), Stats., that are due 
no earlier than 14 days and no later than 8 days before a primary. 
 
(17)  “Principal” has the meaning given in s. 13.62 (12), Stats. 
 
(18)  “Prior offense” means a previous violation of the same provision within the past 3 years. 
 
(19)  “Registrant” means an individual or organization registered with the ethics commission. 
  
(20)  “September report” includes the campaign finance reports due in September referred to in ss. 
11.0204 (4) (d), (5) (c), and (6) (b); 11.0304 (4) (d) and (5) (c); 11.0404 (2) (d) and (3) (c); 11.0504 (4) 
(d) and (5) (c); 11.0604 (4) (d) and (5) (c); 11.0704 (4) (b) and (5) (b); 11.0804 (4) (d) and (5) (c); and 
11.0904 (4) (d) and (5) (c), Stats. 
 
(21)  “Specific express advocacy report” includes the campaign finance reports referred to in ss. 11.0505, 
11.0605, and 11.1001, Stats., that are due no later 72 hours after making a disbursement on express 
advocacy during the period beginning on the day that is 60 days prior to the day of the primary or election 
and ending on the day of the primary or election. 
 
(22)  “Statement of economic interests” means a statement of economic interests that an individual is 
required to file under s. 19.43, Stats. 
 
(23)  “Statement of lobbying activity and expenditures” means the statement referred to in s. 13.68, Stats. 
 

ETH 26.02 Settlement of campaign finance violations. 
 
(1)  Failure to timely file a continuing report or September report. 
 



(a)  If the commission receives a continuing or September report within 30 days after the due date for 
that report, the commission may issue a written warning to the registrant. 
 
(b)  If the commission receives a continuing or September report within 31 to 60 days after the due 
date for that report, the commission may extend a settlement offer to the registrant as follows: 

 
1.  If the registrant has committed no prior offenses, a settlement offer of $100 may be extended. 
 
2.  If the registrant has committed a prior offense, a settlement offer of $200 may be extended. 

 
(c)  If the commission receives a continuing or September report within 61 to 90 days after the due 
date for that report, the commission may extend a settlement offer to the registrant as follows: 
 

1.  If the registrant has committed no prior offenses, a settlement offer of $200 may be extended. 
 
2.  If the registrant has committed a prior offense, a settlement offer of $300 may be extended. 

 
(d)  If the commission receives a continuing or September report within 91 to 120 days after the due 
date for that report, the commission may extend a settlement offer to the registrant as follows: 
 

1.  If the registrant has committed no prior offenses, a settlement offer of $300 may be extended. 
 
2.  If the registrant has committed a prior offense, a settlement offer of $400 may be extended. 

 
(e)  If the commission receives a continuing or September report more than 120 days after the due 
date for that report, the commission may extend a settlement offer of $500. 

 
(2)  FAILURE TO TIMELY FILE A PREPRIMARY, PREELECTION, OR POST-ELECTION REPORT.   
 

(a)  If the commission receives a preprimary, preelection, or post-election report one day after the due 
date for that report, the commission may extend a settlement offer of $100. 
 
(b)  If the commission receives a preprimary, preelection, or post-election report 2 days after the due 
date for that report, the commission may extend a settlement offer of $150. 
 
(c)  If the commission receives a preprimary, preelection, or post-election report 3 days after the due 
date for that report, the commission may extend a settlement offer of $200. 
 
(d)  If the commission receives a preprimary, preelection, or post-election report 4 days after the due 
date for that report, the commission may extend a settlement offer of $250. 
 
(e)  If the commission receives a preprimary, preelection, or post-election report 5 days after the due 
date for that report, the commission may extend a settlement offer of $300. 
 
(f)  If the commission receives a preprimary, preelection, or post-election report 6 days after the due 
date for that report, the commission may extend a settlement offer of $350. 
 
(g)  If the commission receives a preprimary, preelection, or post-election report 7 days after the due 
date for that report, the commission may extend a settlement offer of $400. 
 



(h)  If the commission receives a preprimary, preelection, or post-election report 8 days after the due 
date for that report, the commission may extend a settlement offer of $450. 
 
(i)  If the commission receives a preprimary, preelection, or post-election report 9 or more days after 
the due date for that report, the commission may extend a settlement offer of $500. 

 
(3)  FAILURE TO TIMELY PAY A FILING FEE.   
 

(a)  If the commission receives a filing fee within one to 15 days after the due date, the commission 
may issue a written warning to the registrant. 
 
(b)  If the commission receives a filing fee within 16 to 45 days after the due date, the commission 
may extend a settlement offer of $300. 
 
(c)  If the commission receives a filing fee within 46 to 90 days after the due date, the commission 
may extend a settlement offer of $500. 
 
(d)  If the commission receives a filing fee more than 90 days after the due date, the commission may 
extend a settlement offer of $800. 

 
(4)  FAILURE TO TIMELY FILE A LATE CONTRIBUTION REPORT. If a registrant fails to timely file a late 
contribution report, the commission may extend a settlement offer of 5 percent of the total amount of the 
late contribution. 
 
(5)  FAILURE TO TIMELY FILE A SPECIFIC EXPRESS ADVOCACY REPORT. If a person fails to timely file a 
specific express advocacy report, the commission may extend a settlement offer of 5 percent of the 
disbursement not timely reported. 
 
(6)  FAILURE TO PROVIDE CONTRIBUTOR INFORMATION.   
 

(a)  If contributor information is not included on a campaign finance report, but is received within 30 
days after notification from the commission, the commission may issue a written warning to the 
registrant. 
 
(b)  If contributor information is not included on a campaign finance report, but is received more than 
30 days after notification from the commission, the commission may extend a settlement offer of 
$100 plus 10 percent of the total amount of contributions with incomplete contributor information. 

 
(7)  FAILURE TO PROVIDE DISBURSEMENT INFORMATION.   
 

(a)  If disbursement information is not included on a campaign finance report, but is received within 
30 days after notification from the commission, the commission may issue a written warning to the 
registrant. 
 
(b)  If disbursement information is not included on a campaign finance report, but is received more 
than 30 days after notification from the commission, the commission may extend a settlement offer of 
$100 plus 10 percent of the total amount of disbursements with incomplete disbursement information. 

 
(8)  CASH BALANCE DISCREPANCIES. If a registrant’s cash balance at the beginning of a reporting period 
does not match the registrant’s cash balance reported at the end of the prior reporting period; or the 



reported beginning balance of a report, plus all receipts, minus all expenditures, does not equal the 
reported ending balance of that report; and the cash balance is corrected: 
 

(a)  Within 30 days after notification from the commission, the commission may issue a written 
warning to the registrant. 
 
(b)  More than 30 days after notification from the commission, the commission may extend a 
settlement offer of $100 plus 10 percent of the cash balance discrepancy. 

 
(9)  EXCEEDING CONTRIBUTION LIMITS.  If a registrant receives an excess contribution, the commission 
may extend a settlement offer in the amount by which the contribution exceeded the applicable limit. 

 
(10)  PROHIBITED CORPORATE, UNION, ASSOCIATION, OR TRIBAL CONTRIBUTIONS.   
 

(a)  If a registrant receives a contribution contrary to s. 11.1112, Stats., the commission may extend a 
settlement offer in the amount of 1.5 times the amount of the contribution, up to a maximum of $500, 
plus surrendering the amount of the unlawful contribution. 
 
(b)  If a person makes a contribution contrary to s. 11.1112, Stats., the commission may extend a 
settlement offer in the amount of 1.5 times the amount of the contribution. 

 
(11)  PROHIBITED LOBBYIST CONTRIBUTIONS.   
 

(a)  If a candidate committee receives a contribution in violation of s. 13.625, Stats., the commission 
may extend a settlement offer requiring the return of the contribution to the lobbyist. 
 
(b)  If a lobbyist makes a contribution in violation of s. 13.625, Stats., the commission may extend a 
settlement offer in the amount of 1.5 times the amount of the contribution, up to a maximum of 
$1,000. 
 

(12)  AGGRAVATING OR MITIGATING CIRCUMSTANCES. Notwithstanding the settlement offer amounts 
specified in this section, the commission may consider aggravating or mitigating circumstances in 
determining the terms of any settlement offer that may be extended. 
 
ETH 26.03 Settlement of lobbying violations.   

 
(1)  FAILURE TO TIMELY FILE A STATEMENT OF LOBBYING ACTIVITY AND EXPENDITURES.   

 
(a)  If the commission receives a statement of lobbying activity and expenditures within 2 business 
days after the due date for that report: 
  

1.  If the principal has committed no prior offenses, no penalty may be imposed. 
 
2.  If the principal has committed a prior offense, the commission may issue a written warning to 
the principal. 

 
(b)  If the commission receives a statement of lobbying activity and expenditures within 3 to 5 days 
after the due date for that report: 
 

1.  If the principal has committed no prior offenses, the commission may issue a written warning 
to the principal. 



 
2.  If the principal has committed a prior offense, the commission may extend a settlement offer 
of $50. 

 
(c)  If the commission receives a statement of lobbying activity and expenditures within 6 to 15 days 
after the due date for that report: 
 

1.  If the principal has committed no prior offenses, the commission may issue a written warning 
to the principal. 
 
2.  If the principal has committed a prior offense, the commission may extend a settlement offer 
of $100. 

 
(d)  If the commission receives a statement of lobbying activity and expenditures within 16 to 29 days 
after the due date for that report: 
 

1.  If the principal has committed no prior offenses, the commission may extend a settlement offer 
of $50. 
 
2.  If the principal has committed a prior offense, the commission may extend a settlement offer 
of $250. 

 
(e)  If the commission receives a statement of lobbying activity and expenditures 30 days or more 
after the due date for that report: 
 

1.  If the principal has committed no prior offenses, the commission may extend a settlement offer 
of $100. 
 
2.  If the principal has committed a prior offense, the commission may extend a settlement offer 
of $500. 

 
(2)  FAILURE TO TIMELY FILE A 15 DAY REPORT.   

(a)  If the commission does not timely receive a 15 day report and the principal has no prior offenses: 
  

1.  If the unreported interest is less than 10 percent of the principal’s total effort, the commission 
may issue a written warning to the principal. 
 
2.  If the unreported interest is 10 percent or more of the principal’s total effort, the commission 
may extend a settlement offer of $25 per late reported interest. 

 
(b)  If the commission does not timely receive a 15 day report and the principal has one prior offense: 
 

1.  If the unreported interest is less than 10 percent of the principal’s total effort, the commission 
may extend a settlement offer of $50 per late reported interest. 
 
2.  If the unreported interest is 10 percent or more of the principal’s total effort, the commission 
may extend a settlement offer of $100 per late reported interest. 

 
(c)  If the commission does not timely receive a 15 day report and the principal has 2 or more prior 
offenses, the commission may extend a settlement offer of $100 per late reported interest. 
 



(3)  AGGRAVATING OR MITIGATING CIRCUMSTANCES. Notwithstanding the settlement terms provided in 
this section, the commission may consider aggravating or mitigating circumstances in determining the 
terms of any settlement offer that may be extended. 

 
ETH 26.04 Settlement of ethics violations.   

 
(1)  FAILURE TO TIMELY FILE A STATEMENT OF ECONOMIC INTERESTS.   
 

(a)  If the commission receives a statement of economic interests within 15 days after the due date 
for the statement of economic interests, the commission may issue a written warning to the 
individual. 
 
(b)  If the commission receives a statement of economic interests 16 or more days after the due date 
for the statement of economic interests, the commission may extend a settlement offer of $100, plus 
$100 for every additional 15 days after the 16th day following the due date. 

 
(2)  AGGRAVATING OR MITIGATING CIRCUMSTANCES. Notwithstanding the settlement terms provided in 
this section, the commission may consider aggravating or mitigating circumstances in determining the 
terms of any settlement offer that may be extended. 
 
SECTION 2. EFFECTIVE DATE. 
 
This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin 
administrative register as provided in s. 227.22 (2), Stats. 


