

Vehicle Tank Meter and LPG Meter Test Requirements

BUREAU OF WEIGHTS & MEASURES

PO Box 8911 Madison, WI 53708 608-224-4942 datcp.wi.gov

RESOURCES

More information on applicable Wisconsin laws can be found at these links:

Wis. Admin. Code ATCP 92 https://docs.legis.wisconsin.go v/code/admin_code/atcp/090/ 92

Vehicle Tank Meter (VTM) and LPG Meter Test Requirements

- Operators need to have a Wisconsin licensed Weights and Measures Service Company test meters at least annually (within 12 months of the previous test). For example, if you had your meter tested in June last year, you need to have it tested by the last day of June this year.
- Wisconsin licensed Weights and Measures Service Companies are listed on our website:
 http://datcp.wi.gov/Consumer/Weights and Measures/Service Company Information/index.aspx
- Operators, or the service company on your behalf, need to send all meter test reports to the department within 30 days of the actual test date. If you test a meter multiple times in a year for any reason (such as when a meter is repaired and re-tested), all test reports must be sent to the department within 30 days of each test. We use the postmark or e-mail date to determine the 30 days.
- If a test finds a meter inaccurate, the meter may not be used until a licensed service company corrects the problem, retests the meter, and delivers a written report to the meter owner/operator verifying the meter is accurate.
- For new meters, an initial test report verifying the meter is accurate must be submitted to the department with the license application before a license can be issued for a new meter.

VTM and LPG Test Surcharges

- Overdue annual test surcharge: An operator who fails to conduct an annual test on a meter within 12 months of the previous test must pay a \$200 surcharge.
- Late test report surcharge: An operator must send all Wisconsin licensed Weights and Measures service company meter test reports to the department within 30 days of the test date. Operators that send a test report more than 30 days after the test is completed must pay a \$200 surcharge.
- The department will not issue or renew your license if the surcharge is not paid.
- Additional civil forfeiture penalties may also apply.

If you have questions, please contact us at (608) 224-4942 or datcpweightsandmeasures@wisconsin.gov.