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PROPOSED ORDER 
 
An order of the Athletic Trainers Affiliated Credentialing Board to create AT 2.06, relating to 
requirements for license renewal and reinstatement. 
 
Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

ANALYSIS 

Statutes interpreted: 

Sections 440.08 (3) (b) and 448.955, Stats. 

Statutory authority: 

Sections 15.085 (5) (b) and 440.08 (3) (b), Stats. 

Explanation of agency authority: 

Section 15.085 (5) (b), Stats., provides an affiliated credentialing board “[s]hall promulgate rules for its 

own guidance and for the guidance of the trade or profession to which it pertains. . .” 

Section 440.08 (3) (b), Stats., provides authority for the Athletic Trainers Affiliated Credentialing Board 
to promulgate rules requiring the holder of a credential who fails to renew the credential within 5 years 
after its renewal date to complete requirements to restore the credential, in addition to the applicable 
requirements for renewal established under chs. 440 to 480, Stats., that the Board determines are 
necessary to protect the public health, safety, or welfare. The rules may not require the holder to complete 
educational requirements or pass examinations that are more extensive than the educational or 
examination requirements that must be completed to obtain an initial credential from the Board. 

Related statute or rule: 

Section 448.9545, Stats., and ch. AT 3 provide the continuing education requirements for renewal of an 
athletic trainer license. 
 
Plain language analysis: 

The proposed rules specify requirements for late renewal of an athletic trainer license and the 
requirements for reinstatement of a license that has not been renewed within 5 years when the licensee 
has unmet disciplinary requirements, or the license has been revoked or surrendered.  

 

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: 

None. 
 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 



Illinois: 

Rules of the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation establish requirements for late 

renewal and restoration of an athletic trainer license (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1160.40 and 1160.50).  

The holder of a license may renew the license during the month preceding the expiration date by paying 

the required fee and completing the continuing education requirements under 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1160.65. 

A person seeking restoration of a license after it has expired or has been placed on inactive status for less 
than 5 years must file an application with the required fee and proof of completion of 40 hours of 
continuing education in accordance with 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1160.65 in the 2 years immediately preceding 

the restoration application. 

A person seeking restoration of a license after it has expired or has been placed on inactive status for 5 
years or more must file an application with the required fee, proof of completion of 40 hours of 
continuing education in accordance with 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1160.65 in the 2 years immediately preceding 
the restoration application, and one of the following: 

- Sworn evidence of active practice in another jurisdiction. 

- An affidavit attesting to military service (any person seeking restoration of a license within 2 years after 

discharge from military service must pay the current renewal fee, but is not required to submit proof of 

meeting the continuing education requirements). 

 -Evidence of continued active participation in athletic training during the 2 years prior to the restoration 

application, and proof of completion of an additional 20 hours of continuing education in accordance with 

68 Ill. Adm. Code 1160.65.   

Iowa:  

Rules of the Iowa Board of Athletic Training establish requirements for late renewal, reactivation, and 

reinstatement of an athletic trainer license (645 IAC 351.9, 351.15, and 351.16).  

A licensee seeking renewal must submit a completed renewal application and renewal fee before the 
license expiration date, meet the continuing education requirements under 645 IAC 352.2, and certify 
completion of all training in child and dependent adult abuse identification and reporting required under 

645 IAC 351.9(4). 

To apply for reactivation of an inactive license, a licensee must submit all of the following: 

- A completed reactivation application and reactivation fee  

- Verification of completing 50 hours of continuing education within 2 years of application  

- Verification of the status of the license from every jurisdiction in which the applicant practiced athletic 

training during the time the Iowa license has been inactive.  

- If the license has been on inactive status for more than 5 years, verification of current certification from 

the Board of Certification, Inc. 

A licensee whose license has been revoked, suspended, or voluntarily surrendered must apply for and 
receive reactivation of the license as provided above and apply for and receive reinstatement of the 
license. The application for reinstatement must, as required under 645 IAC 11.31, be filed in accordance 
with any applicable terms and conditions of the order of revocation or suspension. If the order of 



revocation or suspension does not establish terms and conditions upon which reinstatement might occur, 
or if the license was voluntarily surrendered, the application may not be filed until one year from the date 
of the order or the date of voluntary surrender. The application must allege facts which, if established, 

will be sufficient to enable the Board to reinstate the license. 

Michigan: 

Rules of the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs establish requirements for late 
renewal of a license and relicensure to practice athletic training in Michigan (Mich Admin Code, R 
338.1345 and R 338.1349).  

An applicant for license renewal must currently hold and have held at all times during the 3-year period 
immediately preceding the expiration date of the license certification in emergency cardiac care, 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and first aid. The applicant must also have completed 75 hours of 
continuing education in activities approved by the Board in the 3 years preceding the application for 
renewal. Submission of an application for renewal constitutes the applicant’s certification of compliance 

with these requirements. 

An applicant whose license has lapsed for less than 3 years preceding the date of application may be 
relicensed if the applicant submits a completed application and required fee, establishes good moral 
character, and submits evidence of both current emergency cardiac care certification and completion of at 
least 75 hours of Board-approved continuing education during the 3 years immediately preceding 

application. 

An applicant whose license has lapsed for 3 years or more preceding the date of application may be 
relicensed if the applicant submits a completed application and required fee, establishes good moral 
character, and submits fingerprints and evidence of both current emergency cardiac care certification and 
completion of at least 75 hours of Board-approved continuing education during the 3 years immediately 
preceding application. In addition, the applicant must meet one of the following requirements:  

- Successful completion of the Athletic Trainer Credentialing Examination of the Board of Certification, 

Inc. 

- Licensure, registration, or certification as an athletic trainer in another state within the 3 years 

preceding application. 

- Current certification from the Board of Certification, Inc.  

Minnesota: 

The Minnesota Statutes, section 148.7809, establish requirements for late renewal and lapse of a 
registration as an athletic trainer.  

An applicant whose license has lapsed may, within 2 annual renewal cycles, renew a license by 
submitting the required renewal and late fees and a completed application that includes all of the 
following: 

- The athletic trainer's name, Minnesota athletic trainer registration number, home address and telephone 

number, business address and telephone number, and business setting. 

- Work history for the past year, including the average number of hours worked per week. 

- A report of any change in status since initial registration or previous registration renewal. 



- Satisfactory evidence of having met the continuing education requirements under Minnesota Statutes, 

section 148.7812. 

- The athletic trainer's signature on a statement that a current copy of a protocol form is on file at the 

athletic trainer's primary employment site. 

In addition, the applicant must submit satisfactory evidence from a licensed medical physician verifying 
employment in athletic training for eight weeks every three years during the time of the lapse in 
registration. 

A registration that has lapsed and has not been renewed within two annual renewal cycles may not be 
renewed, reissued, reinstated, or restored. An athletic trainer whose registration is canceled for 
nonrenewal must obtain a new registration by applying for registration and fulfilling all requirements for 
initial registration in effect at the time of application.   

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

The proposed rules were developed by reviewing ss. 440.08, 448.9545, and 448.955, Stats., which 
provide requirements for renewal of a license as an athletic trainer, and the administrative rules 
concerning late renewal and reinstatement of a license that are administered by other credentialing boards 

affiliated with the Medical Examining Board.  

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in preparation of 

economic impact analysis: 

The proposed rules were posted for a period of 14 days to solicit public comment on economic impact, 
including how the proposed rules may affect businesses, local government units, and individuals. No 
comments were received. 
 

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis: 

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis document is attached. 
 
Effect on small business: 

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), 
Stats. The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by email at 
Daniel.Hereth@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 267-2435. 
 
Agency contact person: 

Dale Kleven, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional Services, 
Division of Policy Development, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, Wisconsin 53708-8366; telephone 608-261-
4472; email at DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov. 
 
Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: 

Comments may be submitted to Dale Kleven, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety 
and Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, WI 53708-8366, or 
by email to DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov. Comments must be received at or before the public 
hearing to be held at 9:00 a.m. on September 25, 2019, to be included in the record of rule-making 
proceedings. 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

TEXT OF RULE 
 



SECTION  1. AT 2.06 is created to read: 

 AT 2.06 Late renewal and reinstatement of a license. Failure to renew a license as required 
under s. 448.955, Stats., shall cause the license to expire. A licensee who allows a license to expire may 
apply to the board for late renewal or reinstatement of the license by completing one of the following:  

 (1) LATE RENEWAL WITHIN 5 YEARS. If a licensee applies for renewal of a license within 5 years 
after the renewal date, the license shall be renewed upon submission of the renewal fee and evidence 
required under s. 448.955 (2), Stats., and the late fee under s. 440.08 (3) (a), Stats. 

 (2) LATE RENEWAL AFTER 5 YEARS. If a licensee applies for renewal more than 5 years after the 
renewal date, the board shall make such inquiry as it finds necessary to determine whether the applicant is 
competent to practice under the license in this state. Subject to s. 440.08 (3) (b), Stats., the board shall 
impose any reasonable conditions on the renewal of the license as the board deems appropriate. Except as 
provided under sub. (3) (a), this subsection does not apply to licensees who have unmet disciplinary 
requirements or whose licenses have been denied at renewal, surrendered, or revoked. 

 (3) REINSTATEMENT. A licensee who has unmet disciplinary requirements and failed to renew 
within 5 years of the renewal date or whose license has been denied at renewal, surrendered, or revoked, 
may apply to have the license reinstated. An application for reinstatement shall include all of the 
following:  

 (a) Evidence of completion of the requirements under sub. (2). 

 (b) Evidence of completion of disciplinary requirements, if applicable. 

 (c) Evidence of rehabilitation or change in circumstances warranting reinstatement of the license. 

 Note: An application for renewal or reinstatement may be obtained from the department of safety 
and professional services at (608) 261-2112 or from the department’s website at http://dsps.wi.gov. 

SECTION  2. EFFECTIVE DATE.  The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first day of the 
month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register, pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), 
Stats. 
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 


