
NOTICE OF PROPOSED GUIDANCE DOCUMENT 

Municipal or County Vehicle Registration Fee (Wheel Tax) 
 
Pursuant to Wis. Stat. s. 227.112, the Wisconsin Department of Transportation is hereby 
seeking comment on Municipal or County Vehicle Registration Fee (Wheel Tax), ch. 341 
and Trans 126, a proposed guidance document. 
 
PUBLIC COMMENTS AND DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSION 

Comments may be submitted to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation for 21 
days by: 
1. Department’s website:  
https://appengine.egov.com/apps/wi/dot/guidance-docs?guidDocId=DMV469 
 

2. Mailing written comments to: 
Division of Motor Vehicles 
Wisconsin Department of Transportation 
4822 Madison Yards Way 
PO Box 7336 
Madison, WI  53707-7336 

 
WEBSITE LOCATION OF FINAL GUIDANCE DOCUMENT 
The final version of this guidance document will be posted at wisconsindot.gov to allow 
for ongoing comment. 
 
AGENCY CONTACT 

DOTDMVGuidanceDocs@DOT.WI.GOV 
 

https://appengine.egov.com/apps/wi/dot/guidance-docs?guidDocId=DMV469
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/home.aspx
mailto:DOTDMVGuidanceDocs@DOT.WI.GOV
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Wisconsin law allows a town, village, city or county to collect an annual municipal or county vehicle
registration fee (wheel tax) in addition to the regular annual registration fee paid for a vehicle. The
fee applies to vehicles kept ​ in the municipality or county with:

Automobile registration
Truck registration at 8,000 lbs. or less (except dual purpose farm) 

​This includes most special license plates with automobile or truck registration.* State law does not
specify the amount of the wheel tax. However, the municipality or county must use all revenue
from the wheel tax for transportation related purposes.

For information about the number of vehicles that may be subject to a wheel tax in a specifc
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municipality or county, refer to lists of vehicle information.

*These special plates​ are exempt from wheel tax: Antique, Collector​ (“Collector Special” plates are
not exempt), Ex-Prisoner of War (if issued without registration fee), Historic Military, Hobbyist
and Medal of Honor. All special plates issued to a farm truck, dual purpose farm truck or motor
home are also exempt from wheel tax.

Wheel tax collection

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) collects wheel tax fees for the municipality
or county, keeps an administrative fee of 17 cents per vehicle application and sends the rest to the
municipality or county. ​​​WisDOT collects the wheel tax at the time of frst registration and at each
registration renewal. Your certifcate of registration will indicate that a municipal and/or county fee
was paid.

​Plates issued – If your auto or light truck ​is customarily kept in a jurisdiction that has a wheel
tax, you must include the fee with the regular registration fee for the vehicle when you frst
apply for registration. See applying for title and registration. 
Plates renewed – WisDOT sends customers a renewal notice at least 30 days before their
license plate registration expires. The renewal notice shows the total fee due including any
wheel tax, based on the vehicle location listed on your vehicle registration record. 

Customer records

Verify the correct county and city, village or township where your vehicle is customarily kept when
you apply for registration and on your license plate renewal notice (see example​). If you recently
changed your address, WisDOT records for the vehicle location will update automatically in most
cases. Any person who gives a false or fctitious location where a vehicle is customarily kept may be
fned not more than $200 or imprisoned not more than six months or both (section 341.60, WI
stats.)

To correct this information:

If you mail your renewal notice or apply in person, indicate the correct information on the
notice and submit the appropriate fee, or
Visit Vehicle kept in information (individuals only; not available for businesses) to change the
location, or
Contact WisDOT at the email address or telephone information below. 

Current wheel tax jurisdictions

WisDOT currently collects a wheel tax for the following:

Municipalities ​
Appleton (city; $20) 
Arena (township; $20)
Beloit (city; ​​$20)
Bellevue (village; $20)
Eden (village; $20)
Evansville (city; $20)
Fort Atkinson (city; $20)​​ 
Gillett (city; $20)
Green Bay (city; $20)
Iron Ridge (village: $10)
Janesville (city; $20) ​

https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/about-wisdot/newsroom/statistics/veh-info.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/special-list.aspx
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https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/collector-plates.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/collecspec.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/xpow.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/histmilitary.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/hobbyist.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/moh.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/mv1-5.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/PublishingImages/dmv/shared/plates/online-renewal.gif
https://wisconsindot.gov/PublishingImages/dmv/shared/plates/online-renewal.gif
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/341/V/60
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/341/V/60
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/online-srvcs/other-servs/vki.aspx
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Kaukauna (city; $10) 
Lodi (city; $20)
Manitowoc (city; $20)
Milton (city; $30)
Milwaukee (city; $20)
Montello (city; $20)
New London (city; $20)
Platteville (city; $20)
Portage (city; $20)
Prairie du Sac (village; $20)​​
Rice Lake (city; $20)
Sheboygan​​ (city; $20) 
Tigerton​​​ (village; $10)
Waterloo (city; $15)

​Counties
Chippewa County ($10) 
Dane County ($28)
Eau Claire ($30)
Green County ($20)
Iowa County ($20) 
Lincoln County ($20)
Marathon County ($25)
Milwaukee County ($30)
Portage County ($25)
Richland County ($20 beginning for September 2019 registrations)
St. Croix County ($10)  ​

 

The full fee is always required to issue or renew registration. Contact WisDOT if you paid the wheel
tax in error. ​​

Related information:
Lists of vehicle information​​ (Vehicles eligible for wheel tax)
Trans 126 ​ - Municipal or County Vehicle Registration Fee ​​

​​
​Questions? 
Email Wisconsin DMV email service 
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