

Are you digging it?

If so, you probably need a nursery license.

Whether you're a landscaper, arborist, tree spader, contractor, or installer, if you sell more than \$250 worth of nursery stock per year, you are considered a nursery dealer.

What is "nursery stock"?

Nursery stock refers to plants and plant parts that can be propagated or grown, including bulbs, shrubs, trees, and perennials. In simple terms, any plant that can overwinter in Wisconsin is considered nursery stock. Seeds, sod, cranberry cuttings, annuals and evergreens grown for eventual harvest and sale as Christmas trees are not considered nursery stock.

Who is a nursery dealer?

Anybody who buys nursery stock from a wholesaler or distributor, and resells the nursery stock is considered a nursery dealer. This includes someone who purchases, re-sells, and installs nursery stock.

Why does this matter?

Wisconsin's nursery law (Wis. Stat. § 94.10) requires you to hold a current Nursery Dealer License if you purchase, for re-sale, more than \$250 per year of nursery stock. If you do not get the proper licenses and continue to operate as a nursery, you could face civil or criminal charges with financial penalties of \$200-\$5,000 per offense.

Why require a license?

Licensing allows us to keep track of where plants are being propagated and sold, and efficiently manage and monitor harmful plant pests and diseases.

What's in it for me?

Our goal is to be grower friendly. Licensees benefit from:

- Consulting services our nursery inspectors serve as on-call consultants that can help you prevent and manage pests and diseases and keep your business healthy
- Information updates licensees are kept up to date on vital information related to plant health, such as changes in pest quarantine boundaries, additions to the Wisconsin invasive plant list, or symptoms of new plant diseases
- Lab diagnostics our nursery inspectors can submit samples to our Plant Industry Laboratory, where plant pathologists use state-of-the-art tests to diagnose diseases



How much does a license cost?

Nursery Dealer License Fees -

(gross annual purchases of nursery stock for resale)

Purchases	Fee
\$0 to \$250	No license issued
\$251 to \$5,000	\$30
\$5,001 to \$20,000	\$50
\$20,001 to \$100,000	\$100
\$100,001 to \$200,000	\$150
\$200,001 to \$500,000	\$200
\$500,001 to \$2,000,000	\$300
\$2,000,001 to \$3,000,000	\$400
> \$3,000,000	.0005 x annual purchases

How do I apply?

Choose any of the following options:

Download a copy of the application form at datcp.wi.gov, keyword: nursery license

Email: DATCPnursery@wi.gov

@ Call: 608-224-4574



Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection Bureau of Plant Industry

2811 Agriculture Drive, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708-8911

datcp.wi.gov

ARM Pub 288.indd 01/18