

State of Wisconsin Governor Tony Evers

Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection Bradley M. Pfaff, Secretary

To: Ag-Lime Manufacturers/Distributors

Re: License and Labeling Requirements for Ag-Lime Manufacturers/Dealers

Dear Applicant:

Enclosed are the forms required for obtaining a license to sell or distribute liming materials in Wisconsin. Prior to selling or distributing a liming material, as defined in s. 94.66(1)(am), Wis. Stats., you must first obtain a license. All liming material shall be sold and guaranteed by the producer or distributor on the basis of the index zone of the material, unless the material is marl or paper mill refuse lime (Wis. Admin. Code, ATCP 41.02). With the license application, submit copies of all labels of **packaged** liming material or copies of invoices/bills of lading for **bulk** lime products to be sold in Wisconsin.

LICENSE: Unless selling or distributing liming materials produced by a license holder, engaging in the business of selling or distributing liming materials in Wisconsin requires that you first obtain a license from the department. When completing the license application, list all quarries and index zones which will be covered by the license. The liming materials license is an annual license, and expires on December 31 each year. Operating without a license is a violation of Wisconsin Law, and subjects you to enforcement action. Failure to file a correctly completed license application will delay the issuance of your license.

APPLICATION TO SELL LIMING MATERIALS BY VOLUME (Form ARM-ACM-311): If you distribute liming materials by volume rather than weight, when weighing facilities are not readily available, you must complete this form and submit it with the application. You will be notified by mail if your application to sell liming materials by volume is approved. If you sell liming materials by weight, please disregard this form.

TONNAGE: The liming materials tonnage report is submitted annually on all liming materials distributed in Wisconsin. It is for all liming material sales from January 1 through December 31, and is due on or before February 1 of the following year. The liming materials tonnage fee is one and one quarter cent (\$0.0125) per ton for liming materials distributed in the state. The minimum tonnage fee is \$1.00 for any sales up to 80 tons.

CONTACTS		
LICENSE ISSUANCE & TONNAGE	MYRANDA LUOMA	(608) 224-4537
	PROGRAM ASSOCIATE	
	Myranda2.Luoma@Wisconisn.gov	
TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE	DATCPFert@wisconsin.gov	
WEB ADDRESS	www.datcp.state.wi.us	
Liming Materials Law	https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/94/66	
Liming Materials Rule	http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/atcp/020/41	

Enclosures