NOTICE OF PROPOSED GUIDANCE DOCUMENT

OWIProsecutorsPresentation

Pursuant to Wis. Stat. s. 227.112, the Wisconsin Department of Transportation is hereby

seeking comment on OWIProsecutorsPresentation, a proposed guidance document.

PUBLIC COMMENTS AND DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSION
Comments may be submitted to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation for 21

days by:

1. Department’s website:
https://trust.dot.state.wi.us/act369/?21d=DM V993 &uri=file:O WIProsecutorsPresentation&divi
sion=DMV &tags=CWS

2. Mailing written comments to:
Division of Motor Vehicles
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4822 Madison Yards Way
PO Box 7336
Madison, WI 53707-7336

WEBSITE LOCATION OF FINAL GUIDANCE DOCUMENT

The final version of this guidance document will be posted at wisconsindot.gov to allow

for ongoing comment.

AGENCY CONTACT
DOTDMVGuidanceDocs@DOT.WI.GOV



https://trust.dot.state.wi.us/act369/?id=DMV993&uri=file:OWIProsecutorsPresentation&division=DMV&tags=CWS
https://trust.dot.state.wi.us/act369/?id=DMV993&uri=file:OWIProsecutorsPresentation&division=DMV&tags=CWS
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/home.aspx
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Life of an OWI

Mark Conroy - DMV Program Supervisor

Rebecca Sauer - DMV Team Leader



BAC (Administrative) Suspension

» Notice of Intent to Suspend (MV3519) (Wis. St. 343.305)
» Issued by law enforcement agency and filed with DOT

» Request an Administrative Suspension review with DOT

» Suspension upheld or released based on Administrative Suspensions criteria
» BAC Suspension occurs (30 days after the Notice)
» Judicial Review and Stay Order Received(Wis. St. 343.305(8)(c)(1-3)
» SUS is stayed until Judicial review is held
» SUS is either rescinded or upheld

» SUS released if judicial review not held within 60 days




Administrative Suspensions for Blood Alcohol Content
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OWI/PAC Conviction Received by DMV

» Conviction received by DMV
» Court orders REV, DMV has no authority add the REV if it’s not on the court’s
Conviction Status Report

» Only exception - administrative authority for REV through Lifetime Revocations |
(LR1/LR2), Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO), and SUS for too many points (DR) or |
Safety Responsibility (SR) "‘

» These revocations/suspensions can not be ordered by the court
» Jail Time - st. 343.30 (1r)

» If the court orders the customer any jail time, this jail time is added to the REV
period. “...shall extend the revocation period by the number of days to which the
court sentences the person to imprisonment in a jail or prison for an offense
related to the revocation”

» If the customer gets out for good behavior, the revocation period does not
change

» Example: Court orders 3 year revocation with 3 years jail time. Customer is
revoked for 6 years. Customer gets out of jail after 60 days. Revocation
remains six years because that was the total revocation and jail time
ordered




OWI Statistics

%
Convictions
to Repeat
County st 2nd  3rd dth 5th th Tth  8th Oth  10th  11th  12h  13th  1dth  15th | Total  Offenders
TOTAL 14389 4478 1827 905 Ik 178 1] i 16 4 4 1 1 1 2| M 3.4%
%oftotll | 645% 201% 82% 41% 17%  08% 04% 01% 01% 00% 00% 00% 00% 00% 00% | 1000% -

Note: This table counts instances where a driver was convicted of having a prohibited alcohol content, oparating while intoxicated, causing great bodily harm while intoxicated, or commiting homicide, while

Intoxicated. These are convictions, not drivers, though drivers may have gamered more than one OWI conviction during the past year. Convictions that drivers gamered in other states and convictions where
the county was unknown o if the drivers age or gender was unknown are not included in this table. The violation may have occurred in a prior year. These convictions were adjudicated in 2018 and entered
Into the driver record file by July 1st 2019,




MV3632 - Court Order for Assessment

«%  COURT ORDER FOR IDP RELATED OFFENSE DRIVER ASSESSMENT
I\ AND DRIVER SAFETY PLAN

oF Wisconsin Department of Transportation

MV3632  T7/2016  s5.343.30(1g) or 343.305(10) Wis. Stats.

Print

INDIVIDUAL

Name (Last, First, MI) Birth Date Sex | Driver License Number Siate

Address, City, State, ZIP Code County of Residence (Area Code) Telephone Number
COURT

Convicting Court Name Convicting Court Address, Street, City, ZIP Code

Judge Court (Area Code) Telephone Number

Citation Number Court Case Number Non-UTC Number Conviction Date (m/d/yyyy)
ARREST INFORMATION

Arrest Date(s) BAC Level or CS




Assessment after an OWI Conviction |
» OWI Assessment with an approved agency (Wis. Stat. 343.30( 1q))._

» In person Assessment must be scheduled within 72 hours of conviction, see MV3632
» Education or treatment is based on dependency findings
» The higher the dependency the more that is required

» Driver safety plan consists of: (DHS 62.07)
» In Patient Treatment
» Group Dynamics
» Alcohol Education
» Victim’s Impact Panel
» Out Patient Treatment

» Non-compliance
» Not appearing for interview
» Not paying assessment/treatment/education fees
» Not completing driver safety plan within 1 year
» An additional arrest while already in a plan




Occupational Licensing - Wait Times

» Provisional license for drivers to uphold/maintain their livelihood: household and
work related - no extracurricular!

» Wait Times
» BAC - no wait
» 15t Offense OWI - immediately eligible (if bodily harm, 60 day wait)
» 2" and subsequent OWI - wait time (45 days, depends on violation)

» Refusals - 30 days for 15t, 90 days for 2" offense, 120 days for 3™ or
subsequent




Occupational Licensing - IID

» 1ID

» If ordered by court, DMV must have install documentation from IID
install company in order to issue license

» No license with restriction?
» NO IID TIMER START!

» Even if the judge orders the IID immediately, the timer does not
start for the customer until we issue the Occupational or
reinstate the Regular license, per st. 343.301(2m) “...beginning on
the date the department issues any license granted under this
chapter”




Occupational Licensing - SR22/Denials

» SR22 insurance

» Required for a minimum of the life of the occupational.

» Revocations on record will determine if the customer needs the SR22
for a longer period

» 15t offense OWI REV do not count, but any REV on record will
require SR22 insurance for 3 years from the date of eligibility for
reinstatement

» Denials of Occupational licensing - st. 343.10(2)(a)(1)
» Two cases in one year - customer not eligible of occupational licensing
» Customer may appeal to court/attorneys to intervene

» Even if court approves, DOT can not issue Occupational



Reinstatement

» Barring no other convictions with a withdrawal and no other issues (like non-
compliance)

» Customer is eligible for reinstatement at the end of revocation period
» $200 reinstatement fee

» $10 card issuance fee - st. 343.21(n)

» $50 regular fee - st. 343.21(1)(jr)

» $140 alcohol related fee - st. 343.21(1)(jr)

» If IID time hasn’t been met, new license is printed with end date for
customer




Questions?
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