NOTICE OF PROPOSED GUIDANCE DOCUMENT

Child Passenger Safety DSP140

Pursuant to Wis. Stat. s. 227.112, the Wisconsin Department of Transportation is hereby seeking comment on Child Passenger Safety-Wisconsin Laws and Statutes DSP140, Wis. Stat. s. 347, a proposed guidance document.

PUBLIC COMMENTS AND DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSION

Comments may be submitted to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation for 21 days by:

1. Department's website:

https://appengine.egov.com/apps/wi/dot/guidance-docs?guidDocId=DSP140

2. Mailing written comments to:

Division of State Patrol Wisconsin Department of Transportation 9th Floor South 4822 Madison Yards Way Madison, WI 53705-9100

WEBSITE LOCATION OF FINAL GUIDANCE DOCUMENT

The final version of this guidance document will be posted at <u>wisconsindot.gov</u> to allow for ongoing comment.

AGENCY CONTACT

DOTDSPGuidanceDocs@DOT.WI.GOV

Child Passenger Safety -Wisconsin Laws and Statutes



Children and car seats		
Type of seat	Wisconsin law	Statute
1 Rear-facing Car Seat	Children must ride in a rear-facing car seat until they are 1 year old and weigh 20 pounds.	347.48(4)(as)1. Failure to provide/ properly use rear-facing child restraint system Charging Statute: 347.48(4)(am)
2 Forward-facing Car Seat	Children must ride in a forward-facing car seat with a harness until they are 4 years old and weigh 40 pounds.	347.48(4)(as)2. Failure to provide/ properly use forward- facing child restraint system Charging Statute: 347.48(4)(am)
3 Booster Seat	Children must ride in a booster seat until they are 8 years old or weigh 80 pounds or are 4 feet 9 inches tall (4'9").	347.48(4)(as)3. Failure to provide/ properly use an approved child restraint system Charging Statute: 347.48(4)(am)
4 Seat Belt	Children must be restrained in a seat belt when they outgrow the requirements of a booster seat.	347.48(2m)(c) Failure to provide/ properly use seat belt
Back Seat	Children required to ride in a rear-facing or forward-facing car seat must be restrained in the back seat.	347.48(4)(as)1. and 2. Failure to restrain a child in the back seat Charging Statute: 347.48(4)(am)

Children can remain in each of these stages longer provided that their height or weight do not exceed the limits shown on the car seat manufacturer's label.

Law enforcement look for:

- · Unrestrained children
- · Children in a car seat in the front seat of a vehicle
- Wrong size/inappropriate car seat
- Loose or unsecured car seat
- · Loose car seat harness

Go to safekidswi.org/carseats for resources

and information

Email: carseatwi@chw.org Phone: (855) 224-3692







Per Wis. Stat. ch. 227, content on this page falls under the definition of a Guidance Document and allows for public comment. Submit comments to: DOTDSPGuidanceDocs@dot.wi.gov and refer to DSP140.

CERTIFICATION

I have reviewed this guidance document or proposed guidance document and I certify that it complies with sections 227.10 and 227.11 of the Wisconsin Statutes. I further certify that the guidance document or proposed guidance document contains no standard, requirement, or threshold that is not explicitly required or explicitly permitted by a statute or a rule that has been lawfully promulgated. I further certify that the guidance document or proposed guidance document contains no standard, requirement, or threshold that is more restrictive than a standard, requirement, or threshold contained in the Wisconsin Statutes.

/s/ David Pabst

Title: Director

Office: Bureau of Transportation Safety