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STATE OF WISCONSIN 
FUNERAL DIRECTORS EXAMINING BOARD 

 

IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING :   ORDER OF THE 

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE : FUNERAL DIRECTORS 

FUNERAL DIRECTORS :  EXAMINING BOARD 
EXAMINING BOARD : ADOPTING RULES 

: (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 20-026) 
 

ORDER 
 

An order of the Funeral Directors Examining Board to repeal 1.056 (1) (i); and to amend 
FD 1.055, relating to certification courses for funeral director apprentices. 

 

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 
 

ANALYSIS 
 

Statutes interpreted: Section 445.03 (2), Stats. 
 

Statutory authority: Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) (a), and 445.03 (2), Stats. 
 

Explanation of agency authority: 

 

Section 15.08 (5) (b), Stats., “[e]ach examining board…Shall promulgate rules for its 

own guidance and for the guidance of the trade or profession to which it pertains, and 
define and enforce professional conduct and unethical practices not inconsistent with the 

law relating to the particular trade or profession.” 
 
Section 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., “[e]ach agency may promulgate rules interpreting the 

provisions of any statute enforced or administered by the agency, if the agency considers 
it necessary to effectuate the purpose of the statute..” 

 
Section 445.03 (2), Stats., “[t]he examining board may: (a) Make and enforce rules not 
inconsistent with this chapter establishing professional and business ethics for the 

profession of funeral directors and for the general conduct of the business of funeral 
directing, and for the examining and licensing of funeral directors and the registration of 

apprentices. 
(b) Grant licenses to funeral directors, certificates of registration to apprentices, and 
permits to operators of funeral establishments…” 

 
Related statute or rule: None. 

 
Plain language analysis: 
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FD 1.056 (1) (i) is repealed and FD 1.055, as will be amended by CR 19-163 upon its 
effective date, is amended to remove the requirement that the 16-hour certification course 

for certification as an apprentice be completed in-person. 
 

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: None. 
 
Summary of public comments received on statement of scope and a description of 

how and to what extent those comments and feedback were taken into account in 

drafting the proposed rule: N/A. 

 
Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

 

Illinois: 
 

Applicants for funeral director licensure must complete a 12 month internship within five 
years of applying for licensure (Ill. Admin. Code § 1250.135). A certification course 
does not appear to be required prior to beginning the internship, although internship 

candidates must have completed a course of study in mortuary science (Id. at § 125.120). 
 

Iowa: 
 
Iowa requires completion of a 12 month internship prior to licensure as a funeral director. 

There do not appear to be education or examination requirements prior to beginning an 
internship (IAC § 645—101.2 (1)). 

 
Michigan: 

 

Michigan requires applicants for funeral director licensure to complete a one year 
resident trainee program. Training may begin after completing the required professional 

education for licensure, but there does not appear to be a certification course that must be 
taken other than the required college credits (MCL § 339.1808). 

 

Minnesota: 

 

Funeral director internship applicants must first have completed a bachelors in mortuary 
science, a bachelor’s in science plus a course of study in mortuary science, or equivalent,  
and must pass both national competency and state specific statutes and rules 

examinations. There does not appear to be an internship certification course requirement 
other than the required college degree (MN Stats. § 149A.20 (6)). 

 
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

 

The Funeral Directors Examining Board seeks to pursue a rule change that would allow 
remote instruction for the 16-hour course required for certification as a funeral director 

apprentice. Given the nature of the Covid-19 epidemic, in-person instruction is not 
desirable or possible for many applicants and course providers. 
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The alternative of not implementing this rule would be to deprive funeral director 

apprentice applicants of certification due to not being able to meet the in-person 
instruction requirement of the 16-hour certification course. 

 
Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact analysis: 

 

The rule was posted for 14 days on the department website to solicit economic impact 

comments. No comments were received. 
 
Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis: 

 

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis are attached. 

 
Effect on small business: 

 

None. 
 

Agency contact person: 
 
Jon Derenne, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional 

Services, Division of Policy Development, 4822 Madison Yards Way, P.O. Box 8366, 
Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone (608) 266-0955; email at 

DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov. 
 
Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: 

The public comment period has closed. 

 

 

TEXT OF RULE 
 

SECTION 1. FD 1.055, as affected by CR 19-163, is amended to read: 

 
FD 1.055 Certification class requirement. In addition to s. FD 1.05, the applicant must 
provide evidence of completion of an in-person a 16−hour certification class approved by 

the board. 
 

SECTION 2. FD 1.056 (1) (i) is repealed. 
 
SECTION 3. EFFECTIVE DATES. The rules adopted in this order shall take effect as 

follows: 

mailto:DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov
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(1)  Section 1 of this rule takes effect on the effective date of CR19-163, or on the first 
day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register 

pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats., if CR 19-163 has taken effect prior to the 
publication of this rule. If CR 19-163 does not take effect, SECTION 1 of this rule is void. 

 
(2)  Section 2 of this rule takes effect on the first day of the month following publication 
in the Wisconsin Administrative Register, pursuant to 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats., unless 

CR 19-163 has taken effect prior to the publication of this rule, in which case SECTION 2 
of this rule is void. 

 
 

(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 
 

 

This Proposed Order of the Funeral Directors Examining Board is approved for 
submission to the Governor and Legislature. 

 

 

Dated April 26, 2021    

Chairperson 

Funeral Directors Examining Board 


