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 NARRATIVE  

1. Finding/nature of the emergency (Emergency Rule only). 

N/A 

2. A description of the objective of the proposed rule. 

The objective of the proposed rule is to amend ch. PI 34 of the Wisconsin Administrative Code with respect to the department’ s Tier 

I, 3-year school district-sponsored license with stipulations. The revisions include but are not limited to the following clarifications: 

 

1. The written evidence required by the state superintendent for approval under s. PI 34.029 (2) (c) and (5) (a) and (b). 

2. The length of time after the expiration of the license within which an individual must submit written evidence for approval. 

3. The validity of the license if the applicant leaves the employment of the sponsoring district.  

4. The ability to issue another Tier I, 3-year school district-sponsored license with stipulations  to an applicant if requested by 

another school district. 

5. The use of national standards or content guidelines. 

6. Early completion of a Tier I, 3-year school district-sponsored license with stipulations  requirements and relationship to a Tier III 

license. 

7. Timelines for submission and the allowance for resubmission. 

8. The status of the license in the year of experience in the employing district, CESA, or residential school.  

9. The ability to receive a Tier I, 3-year school district-sponsored license with stipulations  to teach alternative education under s. PI 

34.077. 

 

3. A description of the existing policies and new policies included in the proposed rule and an analysis of policy alternatives . 

Chapter PI 34 of the Wisconsin Administrative Code contains the current rules governing the licensure of school personnel, 

including rules around receiving a Tier I, 3-year school district-sponsored license with stipulations . Section PI 34.029 authorizes a 

license holder to teach in a subject area or grade level other than the subject area or grade level covered by the license ho lder's valid 

Tier II, III, or IV license and only authorizes the license holder to teach in the school district, CESA, or resident ial school which 

requested the license. Under the rule, licensees are permitted to add additional licenses through work done with their employing 

school district and upon submission of evidence the applicant is proficient to the state superintendent or an approved educator 

preparation program. Since the rule was promulgated in August 2018, the Department has identified further points of clarification 

within the rule which are intended to create transparency for license applicants and to clarify licensing requirements, licensing 

processes, and application timelines . Without a rule change, the Department will be required to implement rules for educator 

licensure as they currently exist in PI 34 and applicants for educator licenses may face unclear guidance on license requirements as a 

result. 

 

4. The statutory authority for the proposed rule. 

The state superintendent is authorized under s. 115.28 (7) (a), Stats., to make rules establishing standards of attainment an d 

procedures for licensing of teachers in the state. 

 

115.28  General duties. The state superintendent shall: 

(7) Licensing of teachers.  

(a) License all teachers for the public schools of the state; make rules establishing standards of attainment and procedures for the 

examination and licensing of teachers within the limits prescribed in ss. 118.19 (2) and (3), 118.191, 118.1915, 118.192, 118.193, 

118.194, 118.195, and 118.197; prescribe by rule standards, requirements, and procedures for the approval of teacher preparat ory 

programs leading to licensure, including a requirement that, beginning on July 1, 2012, and annually thereafter, each teac her 

preparatory program located in this state shall submit to the department a list of individuals who have completed the program and 
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 NARRATIVE (cont’d)  
 

 

who have been recommended by the program for licensure under this subsection, together with each individual's date of prog ram 

completion, from each term or semester of the program's most recently completed academic year; file in the state superintende nt's 

office all papers relating to state teachers' licenses; and register each such license. 

 

5. An estimate of the amount of time agency employees will spend developing the proposed rule and of other resources needed to 

develop the rule. 

The amount of time needed for rule development by Department staff and the amount of other resources necessary are 

indeterminate. 

6. A description of all of the entities that will be affected by the proposed rule. 

This rule change could impact individuals with a teaching license or those seeking a teaching license under s. 115.28 (7) (a) , Stats. 

7. A summary and preliminary comparison of any existing or proposed federal regulation that addresses or is intended to address 

the activities to be regulated by the proposed rule. 

Federal law prohibits teachers who are not fully licensed from teaching special education students for more than thre e years. 

 


