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STATE OF WISCONSIN 
ATHLETIC TRAINERS AFFILATED CREDENTIAING BOARD 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING : ORDER OF THE 

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  : ATHLETIC TRAINERS AFFILIATED 
ATHLETIC TRAINERS AFFILAITED : CREDENTIALING BOARD 
CREDENTIALING BOARD   : ADOPTING RULES 

      :       (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 22-030) 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

ORDER 
An order of the Athletic Trainers Affiliated Credentialing Board to amend AT 2.01 and 
2.02 (intro.); and create AT 2.03, relating to reciprocal credentials for service members, 

former service members, and their spouses. 
 

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

ANALYSIS 

 
Statutes interpreted: Section 440.09, Stats. 

Statutory authority: Sections 15.085 (5) (b) and 440.09 (5), Stats. 

Explanation of agency authority: 

Section 15.085 (5) (b), Stats., provides an affiliated credentialing board “[s]hall 
promulgate rules for its own guidance and for the guidance of the trade or profession to 

which it pertains. . .” 
Section 440.09 (5), Stats., provides that “[t]he department or credentialing board, as 

appropriate, may promulgate rules necessary to implement this section.” 

Related statute or rule: 

Section 440.09, Stats., specifies the requirements for issuing reciprocal credentials to 

service members, former service members, and the spouses of service members and 
former service members. 

 
Plain language analysis: 

The proposed rule creates a provision to implement s. 440.09, Stats., as amended by 2019 

Wisconsin Act 143. Section 440.09, Stats., specifies the requirements for issuing 
reciprocal credentials to service members, former service members, and the spouses of 

service members and former service members. 
 
Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: None. 

 
Summary of public comments received on statement of scope and a description of 

how and to what extent those comments and feedback were taken into account in 

drafting the proposed rule: N/A 
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Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 
Illinois: The Illinois Statutes provide for the expedited licensure of service members and 

their spouses (20 ILCS 5/5-715). “Service member” includes a person whose active duty 
service concluded within the 2 years preceding application for licensure. A license issued 

to a service member or the spouse of a service member may be renewed.   

Iowa: Rules of the Professional Licensure Division of the Iowa Department of Public 
Health provide for the expedited reciprocal licensure of a veteran or a spouse of an active 

duty service member (645 IAC 645.20.3). A reciprocal license issued to a veteran or a 
spouse of an active duty service member may be renewed. 

Michigan: The Michigan Statutes provide for temporary licensure of the spouse of an 
active duty service member (MCL 339.213). A temporary license is valid for 6 months 
and may be renewed for one additional 6-month term if it is determined the licensee 

continues to meet the requirements for temporary licensure and needs additional time to 
fulfill the requirements for initial licensure. 

Minnesota: The Minnesota Statutes provide for temporary licensure of an individual 
who is an active duty military member, the spouse of an active duty military member, or 
a veteran who has left service in the 2 years preceding the date of license application 

(2020 Minnesota Statutes, Section 197.4552). A temporary license allows a qualified 
individual to perform regulated professional services for a limited length of time as 

determined by the applicable licensing board. During the temporary license period, the 
individual must complete the full application procedure as required by applicable law.  

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

The proposed rules were developed by reviewing the provisions of s. 440.09, Stats., as 
amended by 2019 Wisconsin Act 143, and obtaining input and feedback from the Athletic 

Trainers Affiliated Credentialing Board. 

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact report: 

The proposed rules were posted for a period of 14 days to solicit public comment on 
economic impact, including how the proposed rules may affect businesses, local 

government units, and individuals. No comments were received. 
 
Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis: 

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis is attached. 
 

Effect on small business: 
These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in 
s. 227.114 (1), Stats. The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be 

contacted by email at Jennifer.Garrett@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 266-6795. 
 

Agency contact person: 
Nilajah Hardin, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and 
Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, 

Wisconsin 53708-8366; telephone 608-267-7139; email at 
DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov. 
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------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
TEXT OF RULE 

 
SECTION  1. AT 2.01 is amended to read: 

 AT 2.01 Applications. An applicant for a license shall file an application and 
must pay the fee specified in s. 440.05 (1), Stats. An applicant for a license who does not 
comply with a request for information related to the application within one year from the 

date of the request shall file a new application and pay the fee specified in s. 440.05 (1), 
Stats. 

SECTION  2. AT 2.02 (intro.) is amended to read: 

 AT 2.02 (intro.)  In addition to satisfying the requirement of s. 448.953, Stats., 
Except as provided under s. AT 2.03, an application for licensure shall satisfy the 

requirements of s. 448.953, Stats., and include all of the following: 

SECTION  3. AT 2.03 is created to read: 

 AT 2.03  Reciprocal credentials for service members, former service 

members, and their spouses. A reciprocal athletic trainer license shall be granted to a 
service member, former service member, or the spouse of a service member or former 

service member who the board determines meets all of the requirements under s. 440.09 
(2), Stats. Subject to s. 440.09 (2m), Stats., the board may request verification necessary 

to make a determination under this section. 

  Note: Applications for reciprocal licensure may be obtained from the department 
of safety and professional services at (608) 266-2112 or from the department’s website at 

http://dsps.wi.gov. 

SECTION  4. EFFECTIVE DATE.  The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the 

first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register, 
pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats. 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

 
 
Dated _________________  Agency __________________________________ 

       Chairperson 
           Athletic Trainers Affiliated Credentialing Board 

 


