STATE OF WISCONSIN
CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINING BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING ) ORDER OF THE
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE ) CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINING

CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINING BOARD : BOARD
: ADOPTING RULES
(CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 22-066)

ORDER

An order of the Chiropractic Examining Board to create Chir 5.01 (1) (i) relating to
professional boundaries education requirements.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services.
ANALYSIS

Statutes interpreted: ss. 440.035 (2) and 446.028, Stats.

Statutory authority: ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 446.02 (2) (b), and 446.02 (3g) (b), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority:

Section 15.08 (5) (b), Stats., provides that examining boards, such as the Chiropractic
Examining Board, “[s]hall promulgate rules for its own guidance and for the guidance of
the trade or profession to which it pertains . ..”

Section 446.02 (2) (b), Stats., provides “the examining board shall promulgate rules
establishing educational requirements for obtaining a license under par (a).”

Section 446.02 (3g) (b), Stats., provides “the examining board shall promulgate rules
establishing additional requirements for obtaining a license under par. (a),...”

Related statute or rule: None.

Plain language analysis:

Wisconsin Administrative Code Chapters Chir 3 and 5 cover the education requirements
for licensure and renewal respectively. Neither of these chapters currently includes a
requirement of education on the topic of professional boundaries. Other jurisdictions in
the US require this topic as part of Chiropractor licensure, and the Board has determined
that requiring this education will help protect the health and safety of the public of
Wisconsin. The proposed rule adds a requirement that 2 of the 40 hours of continuing
education for each biennium for Chiropractors must be on the topic of professional
boundaries and ethics .

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: None.



Summary of public comments received on statement of scope and a description of
how and to what extent those comments and feedback were taken into account in
drafting the proposed rule: N/A

Comparison with rules in adjacent states:

Illinois: Rules of the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
regulate continuing medical education (CME) for chiropractic physicians practicing in
Illinois. The rules address CME hours requirements, acceptable CME programs and
activities, requirements for CME sponsors and formal CME programs, certification of
compliance with CME requirements, CME earned in other jurisdictions, and the waiver
of CME requirements. lllinois does not require a certain number of CME hours to be on
the topic of professional boundaries or ethics [68 Ill. Adm. Code 1285.110].

lowa: Rules of the lowa Board of Chiropractic regulate continuing education (CE) for
chiropractors practicing in lowa. The rules address required CE hours, standards for CE
activities, and exemptions from CE requirements. lowa requires 2 hours per biennium on
the topic of “professional boundaries regarding ethical issues related to professional
conduct that may include but are not limited to sexual harassment, sensitivity training,
and ethics” [645 IAC 44].

Michigan: Rules of the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
regulate continuing education (CE) for chiropractors practicing in Michigan. The rules
address required CE hours, acceptable CE programs and activities, and approval of CE
programs. Michigan requires at least one hour of CE on the topic of sexual boundaries
and one hour on ethics [Mich Admin Code, R 338.12037 to R 338.12042].

Minnesota: Rules of the Minnesota Board of Chiropractic Examiners regulate continuing
education (CE) for chiropractors practicing in Minnesota. The rules address required CE
hours, CE program approval and approval criteria, approval of CE sponsors, and the
waiver or deferment of CE requirements. Minnesota does not require a certain number of
CE hours to be on the topic of professional boundaries or ethics [Minnesota Rules, parts
2500.1200 to 2500.2000].

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:

The proposed rule was developed by reviewing the provisions of chapters Chir 3 and 5 to
determine where a requirement for professional boundaries education would be
appropriate to add for Chiropractors. The Board determined that adding a continuing
education requirement to Chir 5 is most appropriate at this time.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effecton small business or in
preparation of economic impact analysis:

The proposed rules were posted for a period of 14 days to solicit public comment on
economic impact, including how the proposed rules may affect businesses, local
government units, and individuals. No comments were received.

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis:
The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis is attached.



Effect on small business:

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in
s.227.114 (1), Stats. The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at Jennifer.Garrett@ wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 266-6795.

Agency contact person:

Sofia Anderson, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and
Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, 4822 Madison Yards Way, P.O.
Box 8366, Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone 608-261-4463; email at
DSPSAdminRules@ wisconsin.gov.

TEXT OF RULE

SECTION 1. Chir 5.01 (1) (i) is created to read:

Chir 5.01 (1) (i) The requirements in this paragraph first apply to the renewal period
beginning December 16, 2024. Of the 40 continuing education hours required in par. (a),
2 hours shall be on the topic of professional boundaries and ethics approved under s. Chir
5.02. Professional boundaries and ethics courses may include any of the following
subjects:

1. Sexual misconduct as defined in s. Chir 6.02 (7).

2. Ethics in billing or business management practices.

3. Risk management.

4. Professional boundaries in clinical practice settings.

5. Any other topic that the Board or the Board’s designee approves as being related

to the subject of professional boundaries and ethics.

SECTION 2 EFFECTIVE DATE. The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the
first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register,
pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats.

(END OF TEXT OF RULE)



