File inserted into Admin. Code 12-1-2024. May not be current beginning 1 month after insert date. For current adm. code see: http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code

1

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

Trans 127.06

Chapter Trans 127

SCHOOL BUS TRIP PERMIT

Trans 127.01	Purpose and scope.
Trans 127.02	Definitions.
Trans 127.03	Application form.

Trans 127.04Fee.Trans 127.05Certification.Trans 127.06Special provisions.

Trans 127.01 Purpose and scope. (1) As authorized by ss. 110.06, 227.11 and 341.26 (7) (a), Stats., the purpose of this chapter is to establish the department's administrative interpretation of s. 341.26 (7) (a), Stats., relating to 72 hour trip permits for school buses transporting persons who are not pupils.

(2) This chapter applies to privately owned and operated school buses when used for non-pupil, charter transportation.

(3) The following school buses owned and operated for nonpupil transportation are exempted from this chapter:

(a) School buses owned and operated by a school district and registered as provided in s. 341.26(2)(d), Stats. The school board may use or allow the use of school buses owned and operated by the school district as authorized under s. 120.13(27), Stats.

(b) Privately owned and operated school buses engaged in passenger-carrying operations other than as a school bus and registered as provided in s. 341.26 (7) (b), Stats.

History: Cr. Register, April, 1982, No. 316, eff. 5-1-82; correction in (1) made under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats., Register, December, 1987, No. 384.

Trans 127.02 Definitions. As used in this chapter:

(1) "Department" means the Wisconsin department of transportation.

(2) "Permit" means the 72 hour charter bus trip permit authorized in s. 341.26 (7) (a), Stats.

History: Cr. Register, April, 1982, No. 316, eff. 5-1-82.

Trans 127.03 Application form. Each application for a permit shall contain the following information:

(1) The name and business address of the applicant,

(2) The signature of the applicant or person authorized by the applicant, and

(3) The number of permits requested. Note: Creates form MVD 2449. History: Cr. Register, April, 1982, No. 316, eff. 5-1-82.

Trans 127.04 Fee. (1) The permit issuance fee of \$10.00 required by s. 341.26 (7) (a), Stats., for each permit shall be paid at the time an application is filed with the department. If the remittance is by check, draft or money order, it shall be made payable to the Wisconsin department of transportation.

(2) Upon receipt of the proper remittance and verification that a certificate of insurance for the applicant is on file with the

department, the number of permits requested shall be immediately forwarded to the applicant.

History: Cr. Register, April, 1982, No. 316, eff. 5-1-82.

Trans 127.05 Certification. (1) To certify the permit for operation the following information shall be typewritten upon the face of the permit:

(a) The name and address of the school bus owner and, if the school bus is leased, the name and address of the lessee,

(b) The school bus year, make, identification number, current school bus license plate number and fleet number,

(c) The specific date and time expressed in month, day and year and in time of day indicating a.m. or p.m. for which the permit is certified for operation, and

(d) The signature and title of the person authorized by the applicant to sign the permit.

(2) Upon certification of the permit, part 1 of the permit shall be carried in the school bus driver compartment and shall be displayed to law enforcement officers upon request, part 2 shall be retained by the user, and part 3 shall be mailed immediately to the department.

Note: Creates form MVD 2450.

History: Cr. Register, April, 1982, No. 316, eff. 5-1-82.

Trans 127.06 Special provisions. (1) The permit shall be used only for school buses registered by the department.

(2) A certificate of insurance shall be on file with the department in compliance with s. 194.41, Stats., and ch. Trans 176, before a vehicle may be operated on Wisconsin highways with a permit.

(3) The permit is not transferable and shall be used only by the applicant to whom the permit is issued.

(4) The permit is valid for 72 hours from the date and time of certification.

(5) The permit is not valid if handwritten, crossed out or erased.

(6) The permit is valid for Wisconsin intrastate operations only.

(7) Unused permits which are intact may be returned to the department along with a written statement from the applicant requesting a refund of the \$10.00 permit issuance fee paid to the department at the time of permit acquisition.

History: Cr. Register, April, 1982, No. 316, eff. 5-1-82.