An Act to organize the several Towns therein named-

Chap 19.

THE People of the State of Wisconsin, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. The town of Le Roy, in Dodge county, is hereby Le Roy. divided and organized into two towns, as follows: so much of said town as is contained in township number thirteen, north of range number sixteen east, shall constitute a separate town by the name of Le Roy, and the first town meeting shall be held at the house of Albert Lamberson; and so much as is contained in township number thirteen, north of range number seventeen east, shall constitute a separate town by the name of Juneau; and the Juneau. first town meeting shall be held at the house of H. N. Luce.

SEC. 2. The town of Eldorado, in Fond du Lac county, is Eldorado. hereby divided and organized into two towns, as follows: so much of said town as is contained in township number sixteen, north of range number sixteen east, shall constitute a separate town, by the name of Eldorado, and the first town meeting shall be held at the house of William C. Wolcott; and so much as is contained in township number sixteen, north of range number seventeen east, shall constitute a separate town by the name of Friendship, and the first town meeting shall be held at the house Friendship. of Lyman Walker.

The several town meetings mentioned in this act shall be held at the same time and in the same manner, as is prescribed by law for holding annual town meetings.

> HARRISON C. HOBART, Speaker of the Assembly. WM. M. DEŇNIS, President of the Senate, pro tem.

Approved, February, 1, 1849. NELSON DEWEY.

An Act to organize the Kilbourn Road Districts.

Chap 20.

THE People of the State of Wisconsin, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as follows:

Section 1. Those portions of the towns of Lake and Green- Division of field, Oak Creek and Franklin lying on each side of the town line districts. which separates Greenfield and Lake and Franklin, from Oak Creek, extending one hundred and sixty rods on each side of said line, from east to west and from north to south the whole length of said towns, as far as said Kilbourn road extends, is hereby established, constituted and divided into three road districts, to wit: one between the towns of Lake and Greenfield, and two between the towns of Franklin and Oak Creek.

SEC. 2. The district in the towns of Lake and Greenfield shall be called Kilbourn road district number one; the first Dist. No. 1. district in the towns of Oak Creek and Franklin, extending from the north line of said towns south three miles, shall be called Kilbourn road district number two; second district, extending from Dist. No. 2.

the south line of said towns of Franklin and Oak Creek north three miles, shall be called Kilbourn road district number three.

Sec. 3. The overseers of highways for said district number one shall be elected annually, according to law, by the voters of the town of Lake for the first year after the passage of this act, and by the voters of the town of Greenfield for the next year, and so thereafter by the voters of each town alternately; and the overseers of highways for said road districts number two and three, shall be elected by the voters of the town of Oak Creek and of Franklin alternately, as above prescribed in case of number one; the town of Oak Creek for district number two, and the town of Franklin for district number three, of the first year.

Sec. 4. The road tax levied on or upon the land in each of said districts respectively, shall be expended by its overseers of highways in repairing and keeping in good condition so much of said Kilbourn road so called, as is in the district for which said overseers of highways are elected, in common with other roads in

said districts.

HARRISON C. HOBART, Speaker of the Assembly. WM. M. DENNIS, President of the Senate, pro tem.

Approved, February 1, 1849.

NELSON DEWEY.

Chap 21.

An Act to change the name of John Meehan to John Smith.

THE People of the State of Wisconsin, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enaet as follows:

Name chang-

Section 1. That the name of John Meehan, of La Fayette county, Wisconsin, be and the same is hereby changed to that of John Smith, and that the said Meehan, from and after the passage of this act, shall be known and legally designated alone by the name of John Smith.

H. C. HOBART, Speaker of the Assembly. WM. M. DENNIS,

President of the Senate, pro tem.

Approved, February 1, 1849. NELSON DEWEY.

Chap 22.

An Act to appropriate money to persons therein named.

THE People of the State of Wisconsin, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as follows:

Stationery. •

Section 1. There is hereby appropriated, to be paid out of any money now in the state treasury upon the certificate of the secretary of state, certifying the several amounts herein appropri-