Sec. 2. This act shall take effect and be in force from and ast ter the first Tuesday of April next.

HARRISON C. HOBART, Speaker of the Assembly. MYRON B. WILLIAMS,

President of the Senate, pro tem.

Approved, March 6, 1849. NELSON DEWEY.

Chap 76. An act to amend the act entitled "an act to establish the times of holding circuit courts."

THE People of the State of Wisconsin, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as follows:

Second cir-

SECTION 1. The courts of the second judicial circuit, in the state of Wisconsin, shall be holden as follows:

In the county of Dane, on the first Monday in April and second. Monday in October of each year:

In the county of Jesserson, on the fourth Monday in April and fourth Monday in October of each year:

In the county of Waukesha, on the second Monday in March and second Monday in November of each year:

In the county of Milwaukee, on the first Monday in February, the first Monday in May, and the first Monday in September of each year.

Third circuit-

SEC. 2. The courts of the third judicial circuit, of the state of Wisconsin, shall be holden as follows:

In the county of Portage, on the second Monday in March and the last Monday in August of each year:

In the county of Sauk, on the fourth Monday in March and the

second Monday in September of each year:
In the county of Marquette, on the first Monday in April and

fourth Monday in September of each year:

In the county of Dodge, on the second Monday in April and the

first Monday in October of each year:

In the county of Washington, on the fourth Monday in April 2011 the fourth Monday in October of each year:

and the fourth Monday in October of each year:

In the county of Columbia, on the third Monday in May and

the first Monday in October of each year.

Fourth cir-

SEC. 3. The circuit courts for the county of Sheboygan, in the fourth judicial circuit, shall be holden on the second Monday in March and the third Monday in September of each year:

In the county of Manitouwoc, on the first Thursday after the third Monday in March and on the first Thursday after the fourth Monday in September of each year.

Process.

SEC. 4. All process returnable at the several terms of the second, third and fourth circuit courts, as appointed to be held by the act of which this is amendatory, excepting in the counties of Brown, Winnebago, and Fond du Lac, shall be returned at the several terms of the said courts, as fixed by this act.

Sec. 5. It shall be lawful for the judge of any circuit in this

state, to appoint not exceeding one extra jury term of court, to be Judge may holden in any county in said circuit, in case he shall deem such term. term necessary to complete the jury trials of such county during any year, and to cause lists of petit jurors to be drawn and writs of venire to issue as in other cases.

Sec. 6. Sections third and fourth, and so much of section fifth, as relates to the counties of Sheboyagan and Manitouwoc, of the act of which this is amendatory, are hereby repealed.

Sec. 7. This act shall take effect as soon as the same shall be published in conformity to the constitution of the state of Wiscon-

sin.

HARRISON C. HOBART, Speaker of the Assembly. FRED. W. HÖRN, President of the Senute, pro tem.

Approved, March 6, 1849. NELSON DEWEY. Published March 6, 1849. THOS. Mc'HUGH.

An act in relation to the boundaries of the counties of Columbia, Adams, Chap 77. Sauk, Chippewa, La Pointe, and St. Croix.

THE people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

Section 1. That all that portion of country contained in town- Columbia. ship numbered twelve and thirteen north, in ranges numbered six, seven, eight, and nine, lying and being north and east of the Wisconsin river, is hereby annexed to, and made a part of the county of Columbia.

Sec. 2. That all that portion of country contained in the north Adams: half of township numbered fifteen north, in ranges numbered two, three, four, five, six, and seven east, and township numbered sixteen, seventeen, eighteen, nineteen, and twenty north, in ranges numbered two, three, four, five, six, and seven east of the fourth principal meridian, shall constitute the county of Adams.

That all that portion of country contained in townships Sauk. numbered fourteen north, in ranges, two, three, four, five, and six east, and being on the west side of the Wisconsin river, is hereby

annexed to, and made a part of the county of Sauk.

SEC. 4. That all that portion of country lying and being Chippewa: between the northern boundary of Crawford county, the western boundary of Portage county, the southern boundary of La Pointe county, (as described in this act) the eastern boundary of St. Croix county, (as described in this act) and the western boundary of this state, extending between the counties of Crawford and St. Croix, shall constitute the county of Chippewa.

SEC. 5. That the boundaries of La Pointe county shall be as La Pointe: follows, to wit: commencing on the western boundary of this state, at the point where the northern boundary of St. Croix county strikes the same (as designated by this act), to the township line