No. 12, A.]

[Published February 25, 1905.

CHAPTER 5.

AN ACT relating to the election of circuit judges where there is more than one judge in the circuit.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

Second judicial circuit; branches numbered; elections. Sec-TION 1. For the purpose of convenience in the transaction of business and certainty in filling judicial positions the circuit court of the second judicial circuit is hereby divided into branches to be numbered from one upward, and hereafter the election and appointment of judges thereof, whether for a full term or to fill a vacancy, shall be for a certain numbered branch of such court. Notice of election shall plainly state the number of judges to be voted for, the name or names of judges whose successors are to be voted for, and the number of the branch of such court presided over by each. One ballot box shall be used and the official ballot shall contain the names of all candidates regularly nominated as now provided by law, designating such candidacy as, "for Circuit Judge (to succeed Branch No.''. Each elector may vote for one candidate for each branch of the court required to be filled at such election and the person receiving the highest number of votes for circuit judge for any particular branch shall be declared elected as the judge of such branch and the successor of the incumbent thereof, if any.

Judges to preside; how. Section 2. That branch of said court now presided over by Lawrence W. Halsey is hereby designated as branch No. 1; that presided over by Warren D. Tarrant as branch No. 2; that presided over by Orren T. Williams as branch No. 3; and that to be presided over by the judge to be elected on the first Tuesday of April, 1905, under and pursuant to the previsions of chapter 2 of the laws of 1903, to be designated as branch No. 4.

Validity of motions; orders; subpoenas. Section 3. Orders to show cause, motions and subpœnas if made returnable before a certain branch of said court by designating the number thereof, shall be as valid and effective as though made return-

able before a certain named judge of said court; and all acts and parts of acts contravening the provisions of this act are hereby repealed.

Section 4. This act shall be in effect from and after its passage and publication.

Approved February 24, 1905.

Sub. for No. 123, A.]

[Published March 11, 1905.

CHAPTER 6.

AN ACT to re-district the state of Wisconsin into judicial circuits and to provide in respect to the terms of court and the election of circuit judges therein.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

Judicial circuits how apportioned. Section 1. Section 2423 of the statutes of 1898 is hereby amended so as to read as follows: "Section 2423. The state is divided into eighteen judicial circuits, composed as follows:

The First shall comprise the counties of Racine, Kenosha and Walworth.

The Second-Milwaukee.

The Third—Calumet * * and Winnebago.

The Fourth—* * * Sheboygan, Manitowoc and Kewaunee.

The Fifth—Crawford, Grant, Iowa, La Fayette and Richland.

The Sixth—La Crosse, Monroe, Trempealeau, Vernon and Junea.

The Seventh—Adams, Portage, Waupaca, Waushara and Wood.

The Eighth—Buffalo, Dunn, Pepin, Pierce and St. Croix.

The Ninth—* * * Dane * * * and Sauk.

The Tenth—Florence, Forest, Langlade, Outagamie and Shawano.

The Eleventh—Barron, Burnett, Chippewa, Douglas, Polk and Washburn.

The Twelfth-Rock, Green and Jefferson.

The Thirteenth—Dodge, Ozaukee, Washington and Waukesha.