the city and county of Milwaukee, the superior court of Douglas county, and for all other courts of exclusive civil jurisdiction, except county courts, shall be drawn and obtained as prescribed in this and sections 255.04 to 255.07 by 3 commissioners appointed in each county by the circuit judge, except that in counties where there is more than one court within this section such commissioners shall be appointed by the joint action of all the judges of such courts. The persons so appointed shall be freeholders of the county and possess all of the qualifications required by section 255.01, and shall be known as jury commis-Their duties shall be as hereinafter prescribed. terms shall be 3 years; but the judge or judges shall, in the first instance, appoint one commissioner for one year, one for two, and one for three years; and thereafter shall appoint one for each year for three years from the first day of July. Vacancies shall be filled for the unexpired term. Each commissioner shall take and file an official oath. Two commissioners shall constitute a quorum.

Approved August 17, 1945.

No. 388, S.]

[Published August 20, 1945.

CHAPTER 541.

AN ACT to create 61.10 (3) and (4) of the statutes, relating to the power of villages.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

61.10 (3) and (4) of the statutes are created to read:

- 61.10 (3) VILLAGE POWERS. Every village incorporated under this chapter shall be a body corporate and politic, with the powers and privileges of a municipal corporation at common law and conferred by this chapter, these statutes and the constitution of the state of Wisconsin.
- (4) EXISTING ORDINANCES. Ordinances in force in the territory comprising the village or any part thereof, so far as not inconsistent with the provisions of chapter 61, shall continue in force until altered or repealed.

Approved August 17, 1945.