SECTION 2. 220.25 (5) (e) of the statutes is renumbered 220.25 (6) and is amended to read:

220.25 (6) Any person or banking institution which shall violate any of the provisions of this section shall forfeit to the state the sum of \$100 for every day that such violation continues.

Approved April 21, 1945.

No. 107, A.]

[Published April 24, 1945.

CHAPTER 71.

AN ACT to amend 20.60 (6) (b) of the statutes, relating to the appropriation for the state fair.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

20.60 (6) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

20.60 (6) (b) All receipts received for or on account of the operation of the state fair, the concessions or the rent or lease of the state fair park, or buildings thereon, except as provided by paragraph (g) * * *, shall be deposited immediately in the general fund and reappropriated therefrom to the state department of agriculture for operation and maintenance of the state fair, the state fair park and exhibits and fairs thereon, and for permanent property and improvements at the state fair park, * * *provided that in* the purchase of land *the department shall comply with section 20.84*.

Approved April 21, 1945.

No. 179, A.]

[Published April 24, 1945. [Republished April 27, 1945.

CHAPTER 72.

- AN ACT to create 41.13 (5) of the statutes, relating to the destruction of obsolete records by the state board of vocational and adult education.
- The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

41.13 (5) of the statutes is created to read:

41.13 (5) Whenever necessary to gain needed vault space, the board may turn over to the director of purchases for destruction, obsolete records in its possession, as follows:

LAWS OF WISCONSIN-CH. 73

(a) Correspondence after 5 years.

(b) Closed case files on physically handicapped persons when such cases have been closed for a period of 10 years.

(c) Monthly and quarterly reports received from local communities.

Approved April 21, 1945.

No. 60, S.]

[Published April 25, 1945.

CHAPTER 73.

AN ACT to amend 343.69 of the statutes, relating to the penalty for unlawful sale of mortgaged personal property.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

343.69 of the statutes is amended to read :

343.69 (a) Any mortgagor of personal property or any vendee under a conditional sales contract of personal property, who during the existence of the lien or title created by such chattel mortgage, or conditional sales contract shall sell, transfer, conceal, remove or carry or drive away said personal property or any part thereof, without the written consent of the mortgagee or his assigns or of the conditional sale vendor or his assigns, as the case may be, and with the intent to defraud, shall be punished by imprisonment in the county jail not more than 1 year or in the state prison not less than 1 nor more than 5 years or by fine not exceeding \$1,000.

(b) Any mortgagor of personal property or any vendee under a conditional sales contract of personal property, who during the existence of the lien or title created by such chattel mortgage or conditional sales contract shall sell, transfer, conceal, remove or carry or drive away said personal property, or any part thereof, without the written consent of the mortgagee or his assigns or the conditional sales contract vendor or his assigns, as the case may be, and shall thereby hinder or delay such mortgagee, vendor or assigns from repossessing any of said personal property for a period of 72 hours after service of a written demand for the return of said personal property on such mortgagor or vendee shall be punished by imprisonment in the

148