No. 602, S.]

[Published August 25, 1947.

CHAPTER 558.

AN ACT to amend 60.305 of the statutes, relating to sanitary district commissioners.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

60.305 of the statutes is amended to read:

60.305 When a town sanitary district shall have been established in territory lying within 2 or more towns, the town board of the town containing the largest assessed valuation of taxable property of the district therein, shall within 60 days after the effective date of this section appoint or provide for an election for the purpose of selecting 3 town sanitary district commissioners. Commissioners shall be appointed or elected for a term of 2 years and shall be reappointed by the town board or elected at the regular town election. If the commissioners have been appointed and a change to election of the commissioners be requested by a petition submitted to the town board of the town containing the largest assessed valuation of taxable property in the district, the petition to be signed by at least 10 per cent of the qualified electors of the district, the designated town board shall call a special election for the proposed election of commissioners within 60 days from the date of receipt of the petition. Any vacancy may be filled by appointment for the remainder of the unexpired term. The salary, if any, of the commissioners shall be fixed by the town board. Where all the territory of a town sanitary district lies within one town, the town board may by a two-thirds vote constitute itself as ex officio the commissioners of the town sanitary district. In the event the town board does not constitute itself as ex officio the commissioners of the town sanitary district, then such town shall at once provide for appointment or election of 3 sanitary commissioners as provided in this section. All sanitary district commissioners shall be property owners and residents of the sanitary district, except that where the sanitary district is composed primarily of summer resort property only one of the commissioners is required to be a resident of the district.

Approved August 18, 1947.