No. 331, S.]

[Published May 20, 1953.

CHAPTER 162

AN ACT to amend 251.181 (1) of the statutes, relating to membership and terms of members of the judicial council.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 251.181 (1) of the statutes is amended to read: 251.181 (1) There is created a judicial council of * * * 16 members as follows: A supreme court justice designated by the supreme court; a circuit judge designated by the board of circuit judges; a county judge designated by the board of county judges; a judge of a municipal or inferior court other than a county court designated by the board of criminal court judges; the chairman of the senate judiciary committee or a member of the committee designated by him; the chairman of the assembly judiciary committee or a member of the committee designated by him; the attorney-general or one of his assistants designated by him; the revisor of statutes or an assistant designated by him; the deans of the law schools of the university of Wisconsin and Marquette university or a member of the respective law school faculties to be designated by said deans; the president-elect of the Wisconsin * * * bar association and 3 additional members thereof selected by the association * * *; and 2 citizens at large, appointed * * * by the governor. The last 5 members shall serve 3 year terms except for terms beginning in 1953. Terms of members selected by the Wisconsin bar association in 1953 shall expire in 1954, 1955 and 1956 respectively. Terms of citizens at large appointed by the governor in 1953 shall expire in 1955 and 1956 respectively. The names of the members shall be certified to the secretary of state by the executive secretary. Members shall hold office until their successors have been selected. The members of the council shall receive no compensation, but shall be reimbursed from the appropriation made by s. 20.625 for expenses necessarily incurred by them in attending meetings of the council outside the county of their residence.

Approved May 14, 1953.