No. 645, S.]

## [Published November 29, 1955.

## CHAPTER 665

AN ACT to amend 4.01 (paragraphs specifying Brown county, Dane county 5th district, Dodge county 1st district, Eau Claire county, Marathon county 2d district, Milwaukee county 19th, 20th, 21st, 22d, 23d and 24th districts, Racine county and Waukesha county 2d district) and 4.02 (paragraphs specifying Milwaukee county 3d to 9th and 11th) of the statutes, relating to assembly and senate districts, for the purpose of reconciling the statutes with the supreme court decision in State ex rel. Smith v. Zimmerman, 266 W 307, and making corrections due to recent incorporations of villages and cities, annexations, changing of wards, and similar facts.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. The paragraphs of 4.01 of the statutes specifying Brown county, the 5th district of Dane county, the 1st district of Dodge county, Eau Claire county, the 2d district of Marathon county, the 19th, 21st, 22d, 23d and 24th districts of Milwaukee county, Racine county and the 2d district of Waukesha county, are amended to read:

4.01 BROWN COUNTY.—The \* \* \* third, \* \* \* sixth, \* \* \* thirteenth, fourteenth, fifteenth, sixteenth, seventeenth, eighteenth, nineteenth, twentieth, twenty-first, twenty-second, twenty-third and twenty-fourth wards of the city of Green Bay \* \* \* shall constitute the first assembly district.

The town of Allouez; the city of Preble and the \* \* \* first, second, fourth, fifth, seventh, eighth, ninth, tenth, eleventh and twelfth wards of the city of Green Bay \* \* \* shall constitute the second assembly district.

\* \* \* All the towns \* \* \*, villages and cities in the county, except the \* \* \* town of Allouez and the cities of Green Bay and Preble, shall constitute the third district.

(DANE COUNTY) (5th district) The towns of Black Earth, Berry, Blue Mounds, Cross Plains, Dane, Fitchburg, Madison, Mazomanie, Middleton, Montrose, Oregon, Perry, Primrose, Roxbury, Springdale, Springfield, Vermont, Verona, Vienna and Westport; and the villages of \* \* \* Black Earth, Blue Mounds, that part of the \* \* \* villages of Belleville and Brooklyn in Dane county, and the villages of Cross Plains, Dane, Maple Bluff, Mazomanie, Middleton, Mt. Horeb, Oregon, Shorewood Hills, Verona and Waunakee shall constitute the fifth district.

(DODGE COUNTY) (1st district) The towns of Ashippun, Clyman, Emmet, Herman, Hubbard, Hustisford, Lebanon, Leroy, Lomira, Rubicon, Shields, Theresa and Williamstown; the villages of *Brownsville*, Clyman, Hustisford, Lomira, Neosho, Iron Ridge and Theresa; and the cities of Horicon and Mayville, and the fifth, sixth, thirteenth and fourteenth wards of the city of Watertown shall constitute the first district.

EAU CLAIRE COUNTY.—The first, second, third, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, *ninth*, tenth \* \* \* and \* \* \* thirteenth wards of the city of Eau Claire shall constitute the first district.

All the towns \* \* \* and villages \* \* \* of the county \* \* \*; and the cities of Altoona and Augusta and the fourth, \* \* \* eleventh, twelfth, fourteenth and fifteenth wards of the city of Eau Claire shall constitute the second district.

(MARATHON COUNTY) (2d district) The towns of Maine, Ringle, Texas, Wausau and Weston; the villages of Brokaw \* \* \* and Rothschild, and \* \* \* the cities of Schofield and Wausau shall constitute the second district.

(MILWAUKEE COUNTY) (19th district) The town of \* \* \* Granville; the villages of Bayside, Brown Deer, Fox Point, River Hills, Shorewood and Whitefish Bay \* \* \*; and the city of Glendale shall constitute the nineteenth district.

(20th district) The first, second, third, fourth \* \* \*, fifth and sixth wards of the city of Wauwatosa shall constitute the twentieth district.

(21st district) The \* \* \* town of Wauwatosa \* \* \*, the \* \* \* seventh and eighth wards of the city of Wauwatosa and the third ward of the city of West Allis shall constitute the twenty-first district.

(22d district) \* \* \* The village of West Milwaukee; and the first, second and fourth wards of the city of West Allis shall constitute the twenty-second district.

(23d district) The towns of \* \* \* Franklin \* \* \*, Greenfield and Oak Creek; the villages of Greendale and Hales Corners; and the fifth ward of the city of West Allis shall constitute the twenty-third district.

(24th district) The \* \* \* nineteenth ward of the city of Milwaukee and the cities of Cudahy, St. Francis and South Milwaukee shall constitute the twenty-fourth district.

RACINE COUNTY.—The first, second, third, fourth, \* \* \* sixth, tenth \* \* \* and eleventh \* \* \* wards and the second precinct of the fourteenth ward of the city of Racine shall constitute the first district.

The *fifth*, seventh, eighth, ninth, twelfth, *thirteenth* and fifteenth wards and the *first precinct of the fourteenth ward* of the city of Racine shall constitute the second district.

The towns of Burlington, Caledonia, Dover, Mt. Pleasant, Norway, Raymond, Rochester, Waterford and Yorkville; the villages of *North Bay*, Rochester, Sturtevant, Union Grove \* \* \*, Waterford *and Wind Point*; and the city of Burlington shall constitute the third district.

(WAUKESHA COUNTY) (2d district) The towns of Brookfield, Delafield, Lisbon, Menomonee, Merton, Oconomowoc, Pewaukee and Summit; the villages of Butler, Chenequa, *Elm Grove*, Hartland, Lannon, Lac La Belle, Menomonee Falls, Merton, *Pewaukee and* Sussex \* \* \*; and the \* \* \* cities of Brookfield and Oconomowoc shall constitute the second district.

SECTION 2. The paragraphs of 4.02 of the statutes specifying the 3d to the 9th and the 11th senatorial districts are amended to read:

4.02 (3d district) The eleventh, twelfth and fourteenth \* \* \* wards of the city of Milwaukee shall constitute the third district.

(4th district) The towns of Granville and Milwaukee; the villages of Bayside, Brown Deer, Fox Point, River Hills, Shorewood and Whitefish Bay; the city of Glendale and the first \* \* \* and eighteenth \* \* \* wards of the city of Milwaukee shall constitute the fourth district.

(5th district) The fifth, ninth and fifteenth \* \* \* wards of the city of Milwaukee shall constitute the fifth district.

(6th district) The seventh, tenth and thirteenth \* \* \* wards of the city of Milwaukee shall constitute the sixth district.

(7th district) The towns of Franklin, Greenfield and Oak Creek; the villages of Greendale and Hales Corners; the cities of Cudahy, St. Francis and South Milwaukee, the seventeenth \* \* \* and nineteenth wards of the city of Milwaukee and the fifth ward of the city of West Allis shall constitute the seventh district.

(8th district) The \* \* \* town of Wauwatosa; the village of West Milwaukee; the city of Wauwatosa and the first, second, third and fourth wards of the city of West Allis shall constitute the eighth district.

(9th district) The second, third and sixth \* \* \* wards of the city of Milwaukee shall constitute the ninth district.

(11th district) The fourth, eighth and sixteenth \* \* \* wards of the city of Milwaukee shall constitute the eleventh district.

Approved November 18, 1955.