No. 21, S.]

[Published February 4, 1961.

CHAPTER 1

AN ACT to amend 253.02 (1) of the statutes, as created by chapter 315, laws of 1959, relating to additional branches and judges for the county courts of Dodge, La Crosse, Outagamie and Racine counties.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 253.02 (1) of the statutes, as created by chapter 315, laws of 1959, and as amended by chapters 621 and 633, laws of 1959, is amended to read:

253.02 BRANCHES OF COUNTY COURT. (1) The county courts of Brown, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Jefferson, La Crosse, Manitowoc, Marathon, * * * Ozaukee, * * * Shawano-Menominee, Sheboygan, Walworth, Washington, Waukesha, Winnebago and Wood have 2 branches. The county courts of * * * Douglas, Kenosha, Outagamie and Rock have 3 branches. The county courts of Dane and Racine have 4 branches. The county court of Milwaukee has * * * 12 branches.

SECTION 2. A judge for each of the additional branches provided herein for the Dodge, Outagamie and Racine county courts shall be elected at the spring, 1961, election. Their terms shall be for 6 years and shall begin on the first Monday in January, 1962. Notwithstanding the provisions of section 5.23 of the statutes, the date for filing nomination papers for these offices shall be not later than 5 p.m. on February 10, 1961.

SECTION 2a. A judge for the additional branch provided herein for the La Crosse county court shall be elected at the spring, 1962 election. His term shall be for 6 years and shall begin on the first Monday in May, 1962.

SECTION 3. Except for elections for which prior dates are herein specified, this act shall take effect on the first Monday in January, 1962.

SECTION 4. This bill is declared to be an emergency appropriation bill in accordance with section 16.47 (2) of the statutes.

Approved February 3, 1961.