1971 Senate Bill 558

Date published: November 19, 1971

CHAPTER 133, Laws of 1971

AN ACT to repeal 3.11; to repeal and recreate 3.02 to 3.10; and to amend 3.01 of the statutes, relating to redistricting this state pursuant to the congressional apportionment based on the 1970 census of population.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 3.01 of the statutes is amended to read:

3.01 (title) NINE CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS. Until otherwise provided by law Based on the results of the 1970 census of population and the allocation thereunder of congressional representation to this state, the state is divided into 10-9 congressional districts , each of which as nearly equal in population as practicable. Each such district shall be entitled to elect one representative in the congress of the United States as follows:

SECTION 2. 3.02 to 3.10 of the statutes are repealed and recreated to read:

- 3.02 FIRST DISTRICT. The following territory shall constitute the first congressional district:
- (1) WHOLE COUNTIES. The counties of Kenosha, Racine, Rock and Walworth.
- (2) PARTIAL COUNTIES. (a) <u>Green county</u>. That part of the county of Green consisting of the towns of Albany and Spring Grove; the village of Albany; and the city of Brodhead.
- (b) <u>Jefferson county</u>. That part of Jefferson county constituting a part of the city of Whitewater.
- 3.03 SECOND DISTRICT. The following territory shall constitute the 2nd congressional district:
- (1) WHOLE COUNTIES. The counties of Columbia, Dane, Iowa, Lafayette and Sauk.

- (2) PARTIAL COUNTIES. (a) <u>Dodge</u> <u>county</u>. That part of the county of <u>Dodge</u> consisting of the towns of Beaver Dam, Burnett, Calamus, Chester, Clyman, Elba, Fox Lake, Herman, Hubbard, Hustisford, Leroy, Lomira, Lowell, Oak Grove, Portland, Shields, Theresa, Trenton, Westford and Williamstown; the villages of Brownsville, Clyman, Hustisford, Iron Ridge, Kekoskee, Lomira, Lowell, Reeseville and Theresa; that part of the village of Randolph in the county; the cities of Beaver Dam, Fox Lake, Horicon, Juneau and Mayville; and that part of the city of Waupun in the county.
- (b) Fond du Lac county. That part of the county of Fond du Lac consisting of the town of Waupun; and that part of the city of Waupun in the county.
- (c) <u>Green county.</u> The entire county of Green except the towns of Albany and Spring Grove, the village of Albany and the city of Brodhead.
- 3.04 THIRD DISTRICT. The following territory shall constitute the 3rd congressional district:
- (1) WHOLE COUNTIES. The counties of Barron, Buffalo, Crawford, Dunn, Eau Claire, Grant, Jackson, La Crosse, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Richland, St. Croix, Trempealeau and Vernon.
- (2) MONROE COUNTY. That part of the county of Monroe consisting of the towns of Adrian, Angelo, Grant, Greenfield, Jefferson, Lafayette, La Grange, Leon, Lincoln, Little Falls, New Lyme, Portland, Ridgeville, Sheldon, Sparta, Tomah, Wells and Wilton; the villages of Cashton, Melvina, Norwalk and Wilton; and the cities of Sparta and Tomah.
- 3.05 FOURTH DISTRICT. The following territory shall constitute the 4th congressional district:
- (1) WHOLE MUNICIPALITIES. The villages of Greendale, Hales Corners and West Milwaukee; and the cities of Cudahy, Franklin, Greenfield, Oak Creek, St. Francis, South Milwaukee, Wauwatosa and West Allis.
- (2) CITY OF MILWAUKEE. That part of the city of Milwaukee lying south of the 5th district as described in s. 3.06.
- 3.06 FIFTH DISTRICT. That part of the city of Milwaukee in Milwaukee county lying north of a line commencing where E. St. Paul avenue extended reaches Lake Michigan; thence west on E. St. Paul avenue extended, E. St. Paul avenue and W. St. Paul avenue, south on N. 32nd street, westerly along the centerline of the East-West freeway (I-94); south on S. 39th street extended to the northeast corner of the village of West Milwaukee; thence along the limits of said city clockwise bearing westerly, northerly, easterly and southerly in irregular fashion to the point of commencement.
- 3.07 SIXTH DISTRICT. The following territory shall constitute the 6th congressional district:
- (1) WHOLE COUNTIES. The counties of Adams, Calumet, Green Lake, Juneau, Manitowoc, Marquette, Sheboygan, Waushara and Winnebago.
- (2) PARTIAL COUNTIES. (a) <u>Brown county</u>. That part of the county of Brown consisting of the town of Morrison.
- (b) Fond du Lac county. The entire county of Fond du Lac except the town of Waupun and that part of the city of Waupun in the county.

- (c) <u>Monroe county.</u> That part of the county of Monroe consisting of the towns of Byron, Clifton, Glendale, Oakdale, Scott and Wellington; and the villages of Kendall and Wyeville.
- **3.08 SEVENTH DISTRICT.** The following territory shall constitute the 7th congressional district:
- (1) WHOLE COUNTIES. The counties of Ashland, Bayfield, Burnett, Chippewa, Clark, Douglas, Iron, Lincoln, Marathon, Portage, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, Taylor, Washburn and Wood.
- (2) ONEIDA COUNTY. The entire county of Oneida except the town of Enterprise.
- 3.09 EIGHTH DISTRICT. The following territory shall constitute the 8th congressional district:
- (1) WHOLE COUNTIES. The counties of Door, Florence, Forest, Kewaunee, Langlade, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Outagamie, Shawano, Vilas and Waupaca.
- (2) PARTIAL COUNTIES. (a) <u>Brown county</u>. The entire county of Brown except the town of Morrison.
- (b) Oneida county. That part of the county of Oneida consisting of the town of Enterprise.
- 3.10 NINTH DISTRICT. The following territory shall constitute the 9th congressional district:
- (1) WHOLE COUNTIES. The counties of Ozaukee, Washington and Waukesha.
- (2) PARTIAL COUNTIES. (a) <u>Dodge county</u>. That part of the county of <u>Dodge consisting</u> of the towns of <u>Ashippun</u>, Emmet, Lebanon and Rubicon; the village of Neosho; and that part of the city of Watertown in the county.
- (b) <u>Jefferson county</u>. The entire county of Jefferson except that part of the city of Whitewater in the county.
- (c) <u>Milwaukee</u> <u>county</u>. That part of the county of Milwaukee consisting of the villages of Bayside, Brown Deer, Fox Point, River Hills, Shorewood and Whitefish Bay; and the city of Glendale.

SECTION 3. 3.11 of the statutes is repealed.