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1973 Assembly Bill 432 Date published:
February 28, 1973

CHAPTER 3, Laws of 1973

AN ACT to repeal 214.01 to 214.07, 214.13 1o 214.27, 422.418 (5) and 424.102 (2,
to renumber 214.08 to 214.12, 422,403 (2) and (3) and 422.404 (2); to renumber
and amend 422.305 (35) and 424.102 (1); to amend 15.551 (intro.), 15.553 (2),
15.731, 201.04 (4a), 204.321 (4) (b), 206.60 (2) (a) and (d), 206.63 (2) (a) and
(5), 217.09 (1) (intro.), 217.13, 217.18 (2), as renumbered, 217.19 (2), as
renumbered, 218.02 (6) (intro.) and (9), 218.04 (&), 220.02 (2) 220.037 (2),
220.285 (1) and (2), 409.203 (3), 421.301 (38) (c¢), 422.202 (1) (b) (intro.) and
{¢) and (2) (b) (intro.), 422.204 (5) and (6), 422.303 (5), 422.403 (3), as
renumbered, 422.407 (2) (intro.) and (3), 422.409 (2), 422.411 (2) (intro.},
422.417 (3) (a), subchapter 1 (title) of chapter 423, 423.202 (1) and (2), 423,203
(1) (intro.), 423.205 (1) and (2), 424.201 (1), 424.203 (4), 424.208 (1) (intro.),
424301 (1) (a), 424.401, 425.103 (2) (a), 425.106 (1) (a) 2 and 425.209 (5); to0
repeal and recreate 206.41 (5) (c¢), 423.203 (1) (¢) and 424.209; and to create
217.21 (3), 218.02 (9) (b) and (c), 422.305 (5), 422.403 (2), (4) and (4m),
422.404 (2), 422.407 (2m), 422.420, 423.202 (2m), 423.203 (3m), 424.103,
424.303 (3) and 625.03 (7) of the statutes, relating to making various changes in
the Wisconsin consumer act and related laws and granting rule-making authority.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact
as follows.

SECTION 1. 15.551 (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

15.551 Same; program responsibilities. (intro.) The office of the commissioner of
banking shall have the program responsibilities specified for the office under chs. 244,
216, 217, 220, 221, 222 and ss. 34.03, 34.04, 34.05 (1) and (4), 34.08, 34.09, 34.10,
35.86, 43.62 (3), 138.09, 218.01, 218.02, 218.04, 218.05, 223.02, 223.03 (10), 223.12,
224,06 and 224.10. In addition:

SECTION 2. 15.555(2) of the statutes is amended to read:

15.555 (2) CONSUMER CREDIT REVIEW BOARD. There is created in the office of the
commissioner of banking a consumer credit review board consisting of 5 persons,
appointed for staggered 5-year terms. One member each shall be an individual holding
a llcensemmmq(mw—e{»pm issued under ehb—-+t38—ch—2i4-and s.

218.01 and 2 members shall be individuals holding a license under s. 138.09 and with 3
years’ practical experience in that field or as executive of a similarly qualified

corporation. The commissioner of banking may call special meetings of the review
board.

SECTION 3. 15,731 of the statutes is amended to read:
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15.731 Same; program responsibilitics. The office of the commissioner of
insurance shall have the program responsibilities specified for the office under chs.
199 to 212 and 600 to 649, subch. Il of ch. 41 and ss. 41.17, 66412, 72.28 (1) {¢) 1.
b, 148.03, 182.032, 185.983, 185.992, 345.61, 424.209, 424 401, 447.13, 450,13, 551.27
(13) and 879.65.

SECTION 4, 201.04 (4a) of the statutes is amended to read:

201.04 (4a) Credit Accident and Sickness Insurance.--Against loss of time of
debtors resulting from accident or sickness. One debtor only may be covered in
connection with any one indebtedness; the total indemnity shall pot exceed the initial
amount of such indebtedness or $10,000, whichever is less; and coveruge shall not
extend beyond the term of indebtedness or 48 60 months, whichever is less.

SECTION 5. 204.321 (4) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

204.321 (4) (b) Group credit accident and sickness policies shall also be subject to

the requirements of s, 2043433 424,209,

SECTION 6. 206.41 (5) (¢) (including subdivision 4, effective March 1, 1973) of
the statutes is repealed and recreated to read:

206.41 (5) (¢) Limited credit insurance license. The commissioner may issue
licenses permitting the sale of only credit life insurance as defined in ss. 201.04 (3¢)
and 206.63, and credit accident and sickness insurance as defined in s. 201.04 (4a).

SECTION 7. 206.60 (2) (a) and (d) of the statutes are amended to read:

206.60 (2) (a) The debtors eligible for insurance under the policy shall be all of
the debtors of the creditor whose indebtedness is repayuable either 4= in instalments or
& except for a consumer credit transaction primarily for an agricultural purpose (s.
421.301 (4)), in one sum at the end of a period not in excess of 18 months from the
initial date of the debt, or all of any class or classes thereof determined by conditions
pertaining to the indebtedness or to the purchase giving rise to the indebtedness. The
policy may provide that the term “‘debtors” shall include the debtors of one or more
subsidiary corporations, and the debtors of one or more affiliated corporations,
proprietors or partnerships if the business of the policyholder and of such affiliated
corporations, proprietors or partnerships i1s under common control through stock
ownership, contract or otherwise. Mo debtor shal-be is cligible unless the indebtedness
constitutes an irrevocable obligation to repay which is binding upon him during his
lifetime, at and from the date the insurance becomes effective upon his life.

{d} The amount of insurance on the life of any debtor shall at no time exceed the
amount owed by him which s repayable in instalments to the creditor. or $10,000,
whichever is less, MWhere Except for a consumer credit transaction primarily for an
agricultural purpose (s. 421.301 (4)), where the indebtedness is repayable in one sum
to the creditor, the insurance on the life of any debtor shall in no instance be in effect
for a period 1n excess of 18 months except that such insurance may be continued for an
additional period not exceeding 6 months in the case of default, extension or recasting
of the loan. The amount of the insurance on the life of any debtor shall at no time
exceed the amount of the unpaid indebtedness, or $10,000, whichever is less.

SECTION 8. 206.63 (2) (a) and (5) of the statutes are amended to read:



Underscored, stricken, and vetoed text may not be searchable.
If you do not see text of the Act, SCROLL DOWN.
CHAPTER 3 6

206.63 (2) (a) The amount of insurance on the life of any debtor shall at no time
exceed the amount owed by him which is repayable in instalments to the creditor, or
$10,000, whichever is less. Where Except for a consumer credit transaction primarily
for an agricultural purpose (s. 421.301 (4)), where the indebtedness is repayable in one
sum to the creditor, the insurance on the life of any debtor shall in no instance be in
effect for a period in excess of 18 months except that such insurance may be continued
for an additional period not exceeding 6 months in the case of default, extension or
recasting of the loan. The amount of the insurance on the life of any debtor shall at no
time exceed the amount of the unpaid indebtedness, or $10,000, whichever is less.

(5) In addition to all other requirements applicable to the filing of life insurance

policy forms and rates. the-provisions-ols—204.3{33Lgy 5. 424.209 shall apply to all

policies of credit life insurance.
SECTION 9. 214.01 to 214.07 of the statutes are repealed.
SECTION 10. 214.08 of the statutes is renumbered 217.17.

SECTION 11. 214.09 of the statutes is renumbered 217.18, and 217.18 (2), as
renumbered, is amended to read:

217.18 {2) The office or any official, employe; or agent authorized by it may, for
purposes within the office’s powers, have access during business hours to the offices
and places of business, books, accounts, papers, records, liles, safes and vaults of
persons engaged in the-small-doans business as a seller of checks, whether licensees or
not.

SECTION 12, 214.10 of the statutes is renumbered 217.19, and 217.19 {2), as
renumbered, is amended to read:

217.19 (2) The office, prior to the issuance of any special order naders-234-06-01
21407, shall serve a complaint, prepared in the name of the office, upon the person
against whom the complaint is made and shall accompany such complaint by notice of
a public hearing to be held in the matter not sooner than 10 days after such service.
The person against whom the complaint is made shall be entitled to be heard in person,
or by agent or attorney, and shall have the benefit of subpoena process to compel the
attendance of witnesses,

SECTION 13. 214.11 and 214.12 of the statutes are renumbered 217.20 and
217.21

SECTION 14, 214,13 to 214.27 (including s. 214.14 (5) amended effective
March 1, 1973) of the statutes are repealed.

SECTION 15, 217.09 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

217.09 (1) (intro.) The office shall, after complaint, notice and hearing, following
the procedure in s. 2440 217.19 so far as applicable, revoke any license in the
following cases:

SECTION 16, 217.13 of the statutes is amended to read:

217.13 Other statutes appluable &ee&ea&M@S«m—Q—M—i—%—&ﬂé Scctxon 3’0 037
Shd“ aopl‘v 1o this chapter e

~

SECTION 17, 217.21 (3) of the statutes is created to read:
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217.21 (3) Reports and records referred to in this section shall be maintained for
not less than 6 years by each licensee.

SECTION 18. 218.02 (6) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

218.02 (6) (intro.}) REVOCATION; SUSPENSION; REINSTATEMENT AND TERM OF
LICENSES, jt—shall-be-the-duty—oef-the The commissioner %ﬁe-—sh&l—l——h%—p%
iy, after complaint, notice and hearings as provided in sectien

2%4—-}8 5. 217.19, te shall revoke any license in the following cases:

SECTION 19, 218.02 (9) of the statutes is amended to read:

218.02 (9) ({utle} RULES AND REPORTS, FEES; ENFORCEMENT. (a) The
commissioner may make such rules and require such reports as he deems necessary for
the enforcement of this section. Sections 24408241409 214.42-214.26 217.17
217.18 and 244:27 217.21 (1) and (2) apply to and are available for the purposes of
this section. Orders of the commissioner under this section are subject to review by the
consumer credit review board under s. 220.037.

SECTION 20. 218.02 (9) (b) and (¢) of the statutes are created to read:

218.02 (9) (b) All fees and moneys received by the commissioner under authority
of this chapter shall be paid by him into the state treasury within one week after the
receipt thereof.

{¢) The commissioner shall investigate, ascertain and determine whether this
chapter or the lawful orders issued hereunder are being violated and for such purposes
he shall have all of the powers conferred by ss. 217.17 and 217.18. The commissioner
shall report all violations to the district attorney of the proper county for prosecution.

SECTION 21. 218.04 (8) of the statutes 1s amended to read;

218.04 (8) HEARINGS AND ORDERS. The commissioner shall have the same power
to conduct hearings, take testimony and secure evidence as is provided in seetions
2440824400 and 24410 55. 217,17, 217.18 and 217.19.

SECTION 22, 220.02 (2) of the statutes (as amended effective March 1, 1973) is
amended to read:

220.02 (2) The commissioner of banking shall enforce all Jaws re}ating to banks

and banking in this state, including those relating to state banks in chs. 220 and 221,

mumal savings banks in ch 2”2 and trust _company banks tn ch. 223; and all laws

~other-taws relating to the lending of

money in ss.———r-ké&%aﬁd S. 138 09 or those rel: ating to finance companies, motor

vehicle dealers, adjustment service companies, community currency exchanges and

collection agencies in ch. 218; and those relating to sellers of checks in ¢h. 217; and

he shall enforce and cause to be enforced everv law relating to the supervision or
control thereof.

SECTION 23. 220.037 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

220.037 (2) The consumer credit review board shall counsel, advise with and
review the acts and decisions of the commissioner of banking under ¢h- chs, 138, 244
217 and 218. In performing such review functions, the board shall have all the powers
granted to the banking review board under 5. 220.035 (1) and its final orders and
determinations shall be subject to judicial review under ch. 227. The board may
establish rules of procedure in accordance with ch. 227.

SECTION 24. 220.285 (1) and (2) of the statutes {as amended effective March
, 1973} are amended to read:
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220.285 {1) Any state bank, mutual savings bank, trust company bank, licensees
under ss. 138:07-£33; 138.09; and 218.01 and-¢h—214 or credit union may cause any or
all records kept by such bank, licensees under ss. 43807433 138.09; and 218.01 and
eh—2H4 or credit union to be recorded, copied or reproduced by any photostatic,
photographic or miniature photographic process which correctly, accurately and
permanently copies, reproduces or forms a medium for copying or reproducing the
original record on a film or other durable material, and such bank, licensees under ss.
138074639, 138.09; and 218.01 and-eh—244 or credit union may therealter dispose of
the original record after first obtaining the written consent of the commissioner of
banking. This section, excepting that part of it which requires written consent of the
commissioner of banking, is applicable to national banking associations insofar as it
does not contravene federal law.

(2) Any photographic, photostatic or miniature photographic copy or reproduction
or copy reproduced from a film record made from a bank record, record of a licensee
under ss. $38:07-£3); 138.09; and 218.01 and-ch—214 or credit union record is deemed
to be an original record for all purposes and shall be treated as an original record in all
courts or administrative agencies for the purpose of its admissibility in evidence. A
facsimile, exemplification or certified copy of any such photographic copy or
reproduction or copy reproduced from a film record shall, for all purposes, be deemed
a facsimile, exemplification or certified copy of the original record.

SECTION 23, 409.203 (3) of the statutes (as amended effective March 1, 1973)
1s amended to read:

409.203 (3) A transaction, although subject to this chapter, is also subject to chs.
138, 2445 421 to 427, 5. 182,023, or any other similar statute which may be applicable
to the particular transaction, and in the case of conflict between the—prowisions-of this
chapter and any such statute, the-provisions-of such statute sentrel controls. Failure to
comply with any applicable statute has only the effect which is specified therein.

SECTION 26. 421.301 (38) (¢) of the statutes is amended to read:

421.301 (38) (¢) A deposit balance or investment which was in existence at-least-6
menths prior to the extension of credit and which is offered by the customer as security
for that extension of credit; and

SECTION 27. 422.202 (1) (b) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

422.202 (1) (b) (intro.) Charges or premiums for credit life; insurance. as defined
in S8, 701 04 (3@) dnd “06 63 or credxt dCClant 9{1—1%34{-}4 and sickness msurance
> as defined in s. 201.04 (4a),

SECTION 28. 422.202 (1) (¢) of the statutes is amended to read:

422,202 (1) (¢) Charges or premiums for life insurance, written-in-connectionwith
MWMMW other than credit life insurance. and accident and
sickness insurance other than credit accident and sickness insurance. il the amount of
such insurance does not exceed the amount of the outstanding indebtedness and the
term of such insurance does not exceed the term of the indebtedness. and for insurance
against loss of or damage to property or against liability arising out of the ownership
or use of property, if a clear, conspicuous and specific statement in writing is furnished
by the creditor to the customer setting forth the cost of the insurance if obtained from
or through the merchant and stating that the customer may choose the person through
which the insurance is to be obtained; and

SECTION 29. 422.202 (2) {(b) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:
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422.202 (2) (b) (intro.} If the security interest in the real property creates a first
lien or eguivalent security interest on the property and or the credit extended is for the
purpose of acquisition ef, refinancing an obligation secured by an existing first
mortgage or ecquivalent security interest or substantial improvement of the real
property by the customer:

SECTION 30. 422.204 (5) and (6) of the statutes are amended to read:

422 204 (5) No mstdlment on which a dehnqucncv charg& has been collectedor
: shall be deferred or ncluded
in the computation of the dcfcrra unle%q such delinquency charge or-partial-payment is
refunded to the customer or credited to the deferral charge.

(6) In addition to the deferral charge, the merchant may make appropriate
additional charges as provided in s. 422.202. The amount of such charges which is not
paid in cash may be added to the amount deferred for the purpose of calculating the
deferral.

SECTION 31. 422.303 (5) of the statutes 1s amended to read:

422.303 (5) The creditor shall retain a copy of such writing evidencing a consumer
credit transaction, other than one pursuant to an open-end credit plan, and of any
proposal for a consumer credit transaction which the merchant has required or
requested the customer to sign and which the customer has signed during contract
negotiations, for a period of one year after the last payment scheduled under the
transaction, or one year after the transaction has been repaid in full, whichever is
sooner. The creditor shall supply the customer with copies of such documents upon
any demand of the customer made within such period; one copy shall be furnished at
no charge; and subsequent copies shall be furnished on the condition that the customer
pay the creditor’s reasonable costs of preparing and forwarding the copy. Copies
supplied under this subsection are in addition to those copies required by s. 422,302,

SECTION 32. 422.305 (3) of the statutes is renumbered 422,305 (6) and
amended to read:

422.305 (6) Taking or arranging for a eustemer person to sign an instrument in
violation of this section is a violation subject to s. 425.304.

" SECTION 33. 422.305 (5) of the statutes is created to read:

422.305 (5) The notice required by this section shall not act to increase or
decrease the Liability of the cosigner.

SECTION 34, 422,403 (2) and (3) of the statutes arc renumbered 422.403 (3)
and (3), respectively, and 422.403 (3), as renumbered, is amended to read:

422.403 (3) The peried periods specified in swb—4b) subs. (1) and (2) shall
commence with the date of first payment or when the finance charge begins to accrue,
whichever is earlier,

SECTION 35, 422.403 (2) of the statutes is created to read;

422,403 (2) With respect to a consumer credit transaction other than one
pursuant to an open-end credit plan or one pursuant to s. 138.09, which is for the
purpose of an improvement to real property and in which the annual percentage rate
disclosed under subch. 111 is 15% or less, no merchant may initially schedule payments
to be paid in full:

{a) Over a period of more than 25 months if the total of payments is $300 or less;



Underscored, stricken, and vetoed text may not be searchable.
If you do not see text of the Act, SCROLL DOWN.

CHAPTER 3 10

{b) Over a period of more than 48 months if the total of payments is more than
$300, but does not exceed $1,000; or

{c) Over a period of more than 60 months if the total of payments is more than
$1,000, but does not exceed $2,000.

SECTION 36, 422.403 (4) of the statutes is created to read:

422,403 {4) This section shall not apply 10 loans made, guaranteed or funded by
federal or state agencies and loans made, guaranteed or funded by nonprofit
educational institutions or foundations gqualifying under section 501 (¢) (3) of the
internal revenue code, for purposes of post-high school education.

SECTION 36m. 422.403 (4m) of the statutes is created to read:

422.403 (4m} This section shall not apply to loans made by the department of
veterans affairs under ch, 45,

SECTION 37. 422.404 (2) of the statutes is renumbered 422.404 (3).
SECTION 38, 422.404 (2} of the statutes is created to read:

422.404 (2) A revocable assignment of earnings made as payment or as security
for payment of an obligation arising out of a consumer credit transaction, which would
otherwise expire under s. 241.09, shall be deemed to be renewed for a term not to
exceed 6 months if:

{a) The original authorization contained a conspicuous notice of the customer’s
right to revoke,

{(b) Prior to expiration, the merchant mails a notice to the customer which
conspicuously states that the assignment of earnings is revocable, and that it shall
continue 1o run for not more than 6 additional months, unless the merchant receives
notice of revocation; and

(¢} The customer does not revoke the assignment.
SECTION 39. 422,407 (2) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

422.407 (2) (intro.) An agreement by the customer not to asserl against an
assignee a claim or defense arising from a consumer credit transaction is enforceable
only by an assignee not related to the assignor who acquires the customer’s contract in
good faith and for value, who gives the customer notice of the assignment as provided
ins. 422.409 and who, within 12 months after the mailing of the notice of assignment,
has not received notice of the customer’s claim or defense. In the event that such
assignee further assigns the customer’s obligation to another party not related to the
original assignor, in_good faith and for value, such party may enforce an agreement by
the customer not to assert claims or defenses, only to the extent that the—esiginal
assignee NS assignor could do so under this section, and any notice by the customer to
the original assigres or subsequent assignees is effective as to such party. Such good
{aith assignee’s Hability under this section is limited to:

SECTION 40. 422.407 (2m) of the statutes is created to read:

422.407 (2m) (a) In the event that an assignee, who is related to the assignor or
who takes the assignment not in good faith or not for value, further assigns the
customer’s obligation to a subsequent assignee not related 10 any prior assignor and
who takes the assignment in good faith and for value, such subsequent assignee’s
liability is himited to that provided for in sub. (2) if his assignor at the time of the
assignment to him gives the notice required in s. 422.409 (2), subject 1o par. (b).
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{b) The notice given under s, 422,409 (2) need not name the subsequent assignee.
In such cases it shall state that payments may be made to the assignor, and shall
otherwise comply with the requirements of s. 422.409 (2).

SECTION 41, 422.407 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

422.407 (3) Any assignee does not acquire a customer’s contract in good faith
within the meaning of swh. subs, (2) and (2m) if the assignee has knowledge,
including knowledge from his course of dealing with other customers of the assignor or
from the assignor or the assignee’s records, or writien notice of violations of the act, of
conduct of the kind described in 5. 426.108, or of substantial complaints by such other
customers that such assignor fails or refuses to perform his contracts with such
customers and (ails to remedy sueh their complaints.

SECTION 42, 422.409 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

422.409 (2) The notification of assignment shall be in writing and addressed to
the customer at his address as stated in the contract, shall be accompanted by a copy
of the contract or shall identify the contract, describe the goods or services, statc the
names of the assignor and the customer, the name and address of the assignee, the
number, amount and due dates or periods of payments scheduled to repay the
indebtedness and, except in the case of a transaction secured by a first lien mortgage
or equivalent security interest for the purpose of the acquisition of a dwelling, the total
of payments. A provision in the assigned contract that the customer waives or will not
assert claims or defenses against the assignee purswant-to under s. 422.407 (2) shall
not be effective unless the notification of assignment also contains a clear and
conspicuous statement that the customer has 12 months within which to notify the
assignee in writing of any complaints, claims or defenses he may have against the
dqsig,nor and that if the customer does not give such notice, thp assignee or_subsequent

assignees will have the right to enforce the contract free of such claims or defenses
subject to the-Wisconsin-consumerast chs. 421 to 427,

SECTION 43, 422411 (2) (intro.) of the statutes 1s amended to read:

422,411 (2) (intro.} With respect to a consumer transaction in which credit is
extended for the purpose of acquiring or_refinancing the acqguisition of residential real
property, which is secured by a first lien or purchase money mortgage or equivalent
security interest on such property, and on which the annual percentage rate disclosed
pursuant to subch. Il is 12% or less, the creditor may contract for the customer’s
payment of reasonable attorney’s fees actually incurred by the creditor, but the
customer shall be liable for such fees only to the extent:

SECTION 44. 422.417 (3) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

422,417 (3) (a) Clothing of the customer and his dependents and the following, if
they are not fixtures: dining table and chairs, refrigerator, heating stove, cooking stove,
radio, beds and bedding, couch and chairs, cooking utensils and kitchenware: or

SECTION 45, 422.418 (5) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 46. 422.420 of the statutes 1s created o read:

422.420 Cosigner charges. No term of a writing signed by a cosigner and made
pursuant to a consumer credit transaction may:

(1) Provide for payment by the cosigner of any fees or charges which could not be
imposed upon the customer as part of the transaction; or
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(2)  Operate to remove from the cosigner any rights or protections given the
customer under chs, 421 to 427.

SECTION 47. Subchapter 1 (iitle) of chapter 423 is amended to read:
SUBCHAPTER 11
RIGHT TO CANCEL
SECTION 48, 423.202 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

423.202 (1) Except as provided in sub. (4), in addition to any right otherwise to
revoke an offer, to rescind the transaction or to exercise any remedy for the merchant’s
breach, a customer has the right to cancel a consumer approval transaction until
midnight of the 3rd business day after the merchant has given the notice to the
customer in accordance with s, 423.203.

SECTION 49. 423.202 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

423.202 (2) MNetiee Except as provided in sub. (2m), notice of cancellation shall be
by mail addressed to the merchant and shall be considered given at the time mailed.

SECTION 50. 423.202 (2m) of the statutes is created to read:

423.202 (2m} If the property which is the subject of the transaction must be
custom made in the ordinary course of business, and is unique to that transaction, the
merchant may require that the notice of cancellation, if given, be made by certified or
registered mail.

SECTION 51. 423.203 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

423.203 (1) (intro.) Whenever a customer has the right to cancel a consumer
approval transaction, the merchant shall give 2 copies of a separate typed or printed
notice of that fact to the customer. The notice must:

SECTION 52. 423.203 (1) (¢) of the statutes is repcaled and recreated to read:

423.203 {1) (c) Read as follows: You may cancel this agreement by mailing a
written notice to (Insert name and mailing address of seller) befare midnight of the
third business day after you signed this agreement. If you wish, you may use this page
as that notice by writing “I hereby cancel” and adding your name and address. A
duplicate of this page is provided by the seller for your records.

SECTION 53, 423.203 (3m) of the statutes is created to read:

423.203 (3m) Compliance with requirements of federal statutes, rules or
regulations governing form of notice of right of cancellation, in consumer approval
transactions otherwise subject to this chapter, shall be deemed to satisfy the notice
requirements of this chapter.

SECTION 54. 423.205 (1) and (2) of the statutes are amended to read:

423.205 (1) The customer has the duty to take reasonable care of the geeds
delivered property in his possession before—cancellation—and—for from the time of

delivery until the expiration of a reasonable time after tender, not to exceed 20 days.

(2) Upon the performance of the merchant’s obligations under s. 423.204, the

customer shall tcndcr 1he propcrtx to thc meruhdmr&eéﬁ—&hwﬁ—the%wm—m

et St &) 2 t)
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SECTION 55. 424,102 (1) of the statutes is renumbered 424.102 and amended
to read:

424.102 Except-as—provided—in-sub—{2)—this This chapter applies to agreements
between a creditor and a debtor under which insurance is provided or is to be provided
in relation to consumer credit transactions.

SECTION 56. 424.102 (2) of the statutes is repealed.
SECTION 57, 424.103 of the statutes is created to read:

424.103 Application of general definitions. The definitions in s. 421.301 shall
apply to ch. 424,

SECTION 58. 424.201 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

424.201 (1) Insurance provided in relation to a consumer credit transaction in
which a payment is scheduled more than +8-years 60 months after the extension of
credit;

SECTION 59, 424.203 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

424,203 (4) Within 10 days from the date the indebtedness is incurred, the
customer shall be permitted to return the policy, certificate of insurance or the notice
of proposed insurance to the creditor and to receive a refund of any premium paid for
the insurance if he is not satisfied with the insurance for any reason. Such insurance
shall then be void and the parties will be in the same position as il no certificate, policy
or notice of proposed insurance had been issued. Conspicuous notice of the right to
return the policy. certificate of insurance or notice of proposed insurance shall be
furnished with or in the policy, certificate or notice of proposed insurance.

SECTION 60. 424.208 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

424.208 (1) (intro.) The initial amount of credit life insurance shall not exceed the
watat total amount repavable under the contract of indebtedness however the
indebtedness may be repayable, but:

SECTION 61. 424.209 of the statutes is repealed and recreated to read:

424.209 Kiling and approval of rates and forms. (1) No individual or group
policy, certificate of insurance, notice of proposed insurance, application for insurance,
endorsement or rider relating to credit life insurance or credit accident and sickness
insurance delivered or issued for delivery in this state, or the schedule of premium rates
or charges pertaining thereto, may be issued, delivered or used in this state until a copy
of the form thereof has been filed with the commissioner of insurance, nor until the
expiration of 30 days after it has been so filed unless the commissioner shall sooner
give his written approval thereto. The commissioner, within 30 days after the filing of
any such form, may disapprove such form or rate schedule if the benefits provided are
unreasonable in relation to the premiums to be charged, or if the form contains a
provision which is unjust, unfair, inequitable, misleading, deceptive or encourages
misrepresentation of the policy, or is contrary to the insurance laws of this state or any
rule adopted thereunder. The benefits provided by any such policy shall be presumed
reasonable in relation to the premium to be charged if the ratio of losses incurred to
premiums earned is, or may reasonably be expected to be, 50% for credit life insurance
and for credit accident and sickness insurance 60% or such lower loss ratio as
designated by the commissioner to afford reasonable allowance for expenses for a
particular plan of coverage. If the ratio of losses incurred to premiums earned is less
than or can reasonably be expected to be less than the prescribed standards, the
benefits provided shall be presumed unreasonable in relation to the premiums charged.
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Determination of the reasonable relation of benefits to premiums shall be made by the
commissioner ofr each policy form filed for such approval. Premium rate standards
for other benefit plans shall be actuarially consistent with the prescribed rate
standards. The commissioner may limit the use of any such form for those creditors or
customers whose experience was the basis for approval and such other creditors or
customers likely to experience similar mortality or morbidity.

(2) Not later than 6 months after the effective date of this section (1973), the
commissioner of insurance, by rule, shall adopt premium rates for credit life and credit
accident and sickness insurance based upon the loss ratio standards set forth in sub.
(1), which rates shall be acceptable without further justification. No charge may be
made for credit life or credit accident and sickness insurance which exceeds such
premium rates except as provided in this subsection. The commissioner of insurance
from time to time shall raise or lower the acceptable premium charges permitted for
such insurance for any particular creditor, class of creditor or class of transaction
whenever he determines that the actual loss experience for that particular creditor,
class of creditor or class of transactions produces a ratio of losses to premiums which
differs substantially, based on credible data for a relevant period of time, from the loss
ratio standards established by sub. (1).

(3) No individual policy of credit accident and sickness insurance or group policy
of credit accident and sickness insurance may be delivered or issued for delivery in this
state if the benefits are payable after a waiting period of less than 14 days, regardless
of whether the payment of benefits is retroactive to the first day of disability.

(4) If a group credit life insurance policy or group credit accident and sickness
insurance policy is delivered to a policyholder which is not a Wisconsin corporation or
other resident and does not have its principal office in Wisconsin, the forms to be filed
by the insurer with the commissioner of insurance are the group certificates and
notices of proposed insurance. He shall approve them if:

{a) They provide the information that would be required if the group policy were
delivered in this state;

{(b) The applicable premium rates or charges do not exceed those established by
chs. 421 to 427 or by rules adopted thereunder; and

(¢) They do not contain provisions which are unjust, unfair, inequitable or
deceptive, or encourage misrepresentation of the coverages, or are contrary to the
insurance laws of this state, or of any rule adopted thereunder.

SECTION 62. 424.301 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

424.301 (1) (a) The insurance covers a substantial risk of loss or damage to

property—other—than—household{furnishings; which is allowable collateral under s

422.417 for the credit transaction;
SECTION 63. 424.303 (3) of the statutes is created to read:

424.303 (3) This section shall not apply to a centract issued by an insurance
premium finance company licensed under s. 138,12,

SECTION 64, 424.401 of the statutes is amended to read:

424.401 Cooperation between administrator and commissioner of insurance. The
administrator and the commissioner of insurance are-authorized-and-dirested-to shall
consult and assist one another in maintaining compliance with this chapter. They may
jointly or severally pursue investigations, prosecute suits and take other official action,
as$ may seem to them appropriate, if either of them 1s otherwise empowered 1o take the
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action. 1If the administrator is informed of a violation or suspected vielation by an
insurer of this chapter, or of the insurance laws, rules and regulations of this state, he
shall advise the commissioner of insurance of the circumstances, and the commissioner
of insurance may act under the laws of this state.

SECTION 635, 425.103 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

425.103 (2) (a) With respect to a transaction other than one pursuant to an open-
end plan, 1) if the interval between scheduled payments is 2 months or less, to have
outstanding 2 or more scheduled payments which have remained unpaid for more than
10 days after their original or deferred due dates, or the failure to pay the first
payment or the last payment, or in the case of a transaction for an agriculiural
purpose, the failure to pay any instalment within 40 days of its original or deferred due
date, ez 2) if the interval between scheduled payments is more than 2 months, to have
outstanding one scheduled payment which has remained unpaid for more than 60 days
after its original or deferred due date, or 3) if the transaction is scheduled to be repaid
in_g single instalment, to have the instalment unpaid for more than 40 days after its
scheduled or deferred due date;

SECTION 66. 425.106 (1) (a) 2 of the statutes is amended to read:

425106 (1) (a) 2. Fifteen dollars per dependent per week, other than the
customer, as claimed by the customer for federal income tax withholding purposes,
plus 40 times the federal minimum hourly wage prescribed by the fair labor standards
act, 29 U.S.C. s. 206 (a) (1), as amended, at the time the earnings are payable.

SECTION 67. 425.209 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:

425,209 (5) The customer may be liable in damages to the merchant if the
customer has wrongfully damaged the collateral or if, alter defoult-und-demand,
iwdgment for the creditor has been entered in a proceeding for recoverv of collateral
under s. 425.205, the customer has wrongfully failed to make the collateral available to
the merchant.

SECTION 68. 625.03 (7} of the statutes is created to read:

625.03 (7) To the extent that ch. 424 is inconsistent with this chapter, ¢h, 424
shall apply.

SECTION 69. Terms. Wherever the terms “credit accident or health insurance”
or “credit accident and health insurance” appear in chapters 421 to 427 of the statutes,
the term “credit accident and sickness insurance” is substituted.

SECTION 70, Transitional provision. All transactions entered into by a licensee
under chapter 214 of the statutes, which are outstanding on the effective date of this
act, shall be completed under that chapter. All licenses issued under section 214.03 of
the statutes prior to the effective date of this act, shall continue in force until
expiration. The office of the commissioner of banking is authorized to enforce chapter
214, 1971 Stats,, from the effective date of this act until such time as all licenses
issued under chapter 214 have expired and all proceedings against licensees under
chapter 214 are terminated.
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SECTION 71. Effective date. This act shall take effect March 1, 1973, or the
day after publication, whichever is later.




