Underscored, stricken, and vetoed text may not be searchable. If you do not see text of the Act, SCROLL DOWN.

1977 Assembly Bill 262

j.

Date published: April 6, 1978

CHAPTER 210, Laws of 1977

- AN ACT to amend 60.19 (1) (b); and to create 60.18 (10m) of the statutes, relating to optional office of town constable.
- The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 60.18 (10m) of the statutes is created to read:

60.18 (10m) CONSTABLE. To abolish the office of town constable and recreate the office. The abolition of such office shall be effective at the end of the term of the existing town constable.

SECTION 2. 60.19 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

60.19 (1) (b) In the town in any county containing one town only, in place of 3 members a town board of not more than 7 members shall be elected, consisting of one or more members chosen from the town at large and one member chosen from each town board ward, of which there shall be not less than 2 nor more than 5. A majority of such members shall constitute a quorum. The number and boundaries of the town board wards and the number of members to be elected from the town at large shall be designated by the legislature when the town is first established, but thereafter such wards shall be subject to reapportionment and increase or decrease in number and the number of members at large shall be subject to increase or decrease by majority vote of the town board in order to provide that all inhabitants will be adequately represented, each ward will have substantially the same number of inhabitants, the ward, insofar as is practicable, will consist of contiguous territory and will be in compact form. The total number of town board members shall may not be changed from the number initially fixed by the legislature. The member elected from the town at large who has the highest number of votes shall become the town chairman. Such members and a town clerk, a treasurer, an assessor and one or more constables, shall be elected by ballot biennially in the oddnumbered years on the first Tuesday in April, and shall hold office for 2 years except as provided in s. 60.60 (3), but no assessor shall be elected or appointed after such town comes within the jurisdiction of a county assessor under s. 70.99. This paragraph shall not apply to the office of constable if the office has been abolished and has not been recreated by an annual town meeting under s. 60.18 (10m).