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1983 Wisconsin Act 64

AN ACT {0 amend 57.06 (1); and to create 57.06 (1m) of the statutes, relating to parole
eligibility.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as
Sfollows:

SECTION 1. 57.06 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

57.06 (1) The Except as provided in sub. (1m), the department may parole an inmate
of the Wisconsin state prisons or any felon or any person serving at least one year or
more in the Milwaukee county house of correction or a county reforestation camp or-
gamzed under s. 56.07, when he or she has served ene-half 25% of the minimum-term

sentence imposed for the offense, or 6 months whichever is greater,

or when he or she has served 20 years of a life term less the deduction earned for good
conduct as provided in s. 53.11. The person serving the life term shall be given credit for
time served prior to sentencing under s. 973.155, including good time under s. 973.155
(4). The department shall not provide any convicted offender or other person sentenced
to its custody any parole eligibility or evaluation until the person has been confined at

least 60 days followmg sentencmg P&mle—ehgtb&tyushaﬂ—be—eempated-aeeefdmg-tet-hﬁ

dlstrlct attorney and Judge who tned the 1nmate shall be notlﬁed in wr1t1ng at least 10
days before the first application for parole is acted upon and if they so request be given
like notice of each subsequent application. Before a person is released on parole under
this subsection, the department shall so notify the municipal police department and the
county sheriff for the area where the person will be residing. The notification require-
ment does not apply if a municipal department or county sheriff submits to the depart-
ment a written statement waiving the right to be notified.

SECTION 2. 57.06 (1m) of the statutes is created to read:

57.06 (1m) The department may waive the 25% service of sentence requirement under
sub. (1) for an inmate upon the recommendation of the parole board. The parole board
may recommend a waiver of the requirement only if it determines that extraordinary
circumstances warrant an early release and the sentencing court has been notified and
permitted to comment upon the proposed recommendation.

SECTION 3. Initial applicability. This act first applies to crimes committed on the
effective date of this act.




