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AN ACT to repeal 165.77 (7) and 175.405; to amend 165.845 (title), 165.845 (1r) (a) (intro.), 165.845 (1r) (a) 1.

and 165.845 (1r) (b); and to create 165.775, 165.845 (1r) (e) and 895.537 of the statutes; relating to: storage and

processing of sexual assault kits and requiring the exercise of rule−making authority.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in

senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

SECTION 1.  165.77 (7) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 2.  165.775 of the statutes is created to read:

165.775  Sexual assault kits.  (1)  In this section:

(a)  “Department” means the department of justice.

(b)  “Health care professional” has the meaning given

in s. 154.01 (3).

(c)  “Sex offense” has the meaning given in s. 949.20

(7).

(d)  “Sexual assault forensic examination” means an

examination performed by a health care professional to

gather evidence regarding a sex offense.

(e)  “Sexual assault kit” means the evidence collected

from a sexual assault forensic examination.

(f)  “Wisconsin law enforcement agency” has the

meaning given in s. 165.77 (1) (c).

(2)  Whenever a health care professional conducts a

sexual assault forensic examination and collects a sexual

assault kit, the health care professional shall do one of the

following:

(a)  If the victim chooses to report the sexual assault

to a Wisconsin law enforcement agency, or if reporting is

required under s. 48.981 (2), notify a Wisconsin law

enforcement agency within 24 hours after collecting the

sexual assault kit.

(b)  If the victim chooses not to report the sexual

assault to a Wisconsin law enforcement agency, and

reporting is not required under s. 48.981 (2), send the sex-

ual assault kit to the state crime laboratories for storage

in accordance with the procedures specified in the rules

promulgated under sub. (6) within 72 hours after collect-

ing the sexual assault kit.

(3)  If a Wisconsin law enforcement agency receives

notification under sub. (2) (a), it shall do all of the follow-

ing:

(a)  Take possession of the sexual assault kit from the

health care professional within 72 hours after receiving

the notification.

(b)  Except as provided in par. (c), send the sexual

assault kit to the state crime laboratories for processing

in accordance with the procedures specified in the rules

promulgated under sub. (6) within 14 days after taking

possession of the sexual assault kit.

(c)  If the Wisconsin law enforcement agency, after

taking possession of the sexual assault kit under par. (a)

but before sending the sexual assault kit under par. (b),

receives notification from the victim that the victim does
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not want to proceed with the analysis of his or her sexual

assault kit, send the sexual assault kit to the state crime

laboratories for storage in accordance with the proce-

dures specified in the rules promulgated under sub. (6)

within 14 days after taking possession of the sexual

assault kit.

(4)  If the state crime laboratories takes possession of

a sexual assault kit, it shall do all of the following:

(a)  If the victim chooses not to report the sexual

assault to a Wisconsin law enforcement agency and thus

has not consented to the analysis of his or her sexual

assault kit, securely store the sexual assault kit for a

period of 10 years, during which time the sexual assault

victim may choose to report the assault to a Wisconsin

law enforcement agency.

(b)  If the victim chooses to report the sexual assault

to a Wisconsin law enforcement agency and thus has con-

sented to the analysis of his or her sexual assault kit,

process the kit in accordance with the procedures speci-

fied in the rules promulgated under sub. (6).

(5)  If a law enforcement agency takes possession of

a sexual assault kit after it has been processed by the state

crime laboratories, notwithstanding s. 968.205, it shall

securely store the sexual assault kit for a period of 50

years, or until the date of the expiration of the statute of

limitations, or until the end of the term of imprisonment

or probation of a person who was convicted in the sexual

assault case, whichever is longer.

(6)  The department shall promulgate rules to admin-

ister this section.

SECTION 3.  165.845 (title) of the statutes, as affected

by 2021 Wisconsin Act 50, is amended to read:

165.845  (title)  Collection and reporting of crime

and criminal justice data.

SECTION 4.  165.845 (1r) (a) (intro.) of the statutes, as

affected by 2021 Wisconsin Act 50, is amended to read:

165.845 (1r) (a) (intro.)  Collect information con-

cerning the number and nature of offenses known to have

been committed in this state, concerning sexual assault

kits, as defined in s. 165.775 (1) (e), collected in this state,

and concerning such other information as may be useful

in the study of crime and the administration of justice.

The department of justice may determine any other infor-

mation to be obtained regarding crime, evidence, and jus-

tice system data or statistics.  The information shall

include all of the following:

SECTION 4b.  165.845 (1r) (a) 1. of the statutes, as

affected by 2021 Wisconsin Act 50, is amended to read:

165.845 (1r) (a) 1.  Data requested by federal agen-

cies under the U.S. department of justice, including but

not limited to the federal bureau of investigation under its

system of uniform crime reports for the United States.

SECTION 5.  165.845 (1r) (b) of the statutes, as

affected by 2021 Wisconsin Act 50, is amended to read:

165.845 (1r) (b)  Furnish all reporting officials with

instructions that specify the nature of the information

required under par. (a), a simple format in which to sub-

mit the information, the time it is to be forwarded, the

process for submitting the information, the method of

classifying it, and any other matters that facilitate collec-

tion and compilation.  The format provided under this

paragraph shall, to the greatest extent feasible, minimize

the time required by each law enforcement officer to sub-

mit the required information.

SECTION 6.  165.845 (1r) (e) of the statutes is created

to read:

165.845 (1r) (e)  Publish data at least annually on law

enforcement agency compliance with the reporting

requirement under par. (a) relating to sexual assault kits.

SECTION 8.  175.405 of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 9.  895.537 of the statutes is created to read:

895.537  Liability exemption; sexual assault evi-

dence collection.  (1)  In this section:

(a)  “Health care professional” has the meaning given

in s. 154.01 (3).

(b)  “Sexual assault forensic examination” has the

meaning given in s. 165.775 (1) (d).

(2)  Any health care professional conducting a sexual

assault forensic examination pursuant to informed con-

sent or a court order is immune from any civil or criminal

liability for the act, except for civil liability for negli-

gence in the performance of the act.

(3)  Any employer of the person under sub. (2) or any

health care facility where the sexual assault forensic

examination is conducted by that person has the same

immunity from liability under sub (2).

SECTION 10.0Nonstatutory provisions.

(1)  Within 180 days of the effective date of this sub-

section, the department of justice shall promulgate emer-

gency rules under s. 227.24 to implement s. 165.775 for

the period before the effective date of the permanent rules

but not to exceed the period authorized under s. 227.24

(1) (c), subject to extension under s. 227.24 (2).  Notwith-

standing s. 227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and (3), the department

is not required to provide evidence that promulgating a

rule under this subsection as an emergency rule is neces-

sary for the preservation of the public peace, health,

safety, or welfare and is not required to provide a finding

of emergency for a rule promulgated under this subsec-

tion.

SECTION 11.0Effective dates.  This act takes effect on

the day after publication, except as follows:

(1)  The treatment of ss. 165.77 (7), 165.775 (1) to (5),

165.845 (title), (1r) (a) (intro.) and 1., (b), and (e),

175.405, and 895.537 takes effect on the first day of the

7th month beginning after publication.


