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1 ETHICS COMMISSION ETH 26.02

Chapter ETH 26

SETTLEMENT OFFER SCHEDULE

ETH 26.01 Definitions.
ETH 26.02 Settlement of campaign finance violations.

ETH 26.03 Settlement of lobbying violations.
ETH 26.04 Settlement of ethics violations.

ETH 26.01 Definitions.  In this chapter:
(1) X15 day reportY means the report referred to in s. 13.67, 

Stats.
(1m) XBusiness dayY means any day Monday to Friday, ex-

cluding Wisconsin legal holidays as defined in s. 995.20, Stats.
(2) XCommissionY means the Wisconsin Ethics Commission.
(3) XContinuing reportY includes the campaign finance re-

ports due in January and July referred to in ss. 11.0204 (2) (c), (3) 
(b), (4) (c) and (d), (5) (b) and (c), and (6) (a) and (b), 11.0304 (2) 
(c), (3) (b), (4) (c) and (d), and (5) (b) and (c), 11.0404 (2) (c) and 
(d) and (3) (b) and (c), 11.0504 (2) (c), (3) (b), (4) (c) and (d), and 
(5) (b) and (c), 11.0604 (2) (c), (3) (b), (4) (c) and (d), and (5) (b) 
and (c), 11.0704 (2), (3) (a), (4) (a) and (b), and (5) (a) and (b), 
11.0804 (2) (c), (3) (b), (4) (c) and (d), and (5) (b) and (c), and 
11.0904 (2) (c), (3) (b), (4) (c) and (d), and (5) (b) and (c), Stats.

(4) XContributionY has the meaning given in s. 11.0101 (8), 
Stats.

(5) XContributorY means a person or committee who makes a 
contribution.

(6) XContributor informationY includes the information re-
quired by ss. 11.0204 (1) (a) 1. and 3., 11.0304 (1) (a) 1. and 3., 
11.0404 (1) (a) 1.and 3., 11.0504 (1) (a) 1. and 3., 11.0604 (1) (a) 
1. and 3., 11.0704 (1) (b) 1. and 2., 11.0804 (1) (a) 1. and 2., and 
11.0904 (1) (a) 1. and 3., Stats.

(7) XDisbursementY has the meaning given in s. 11.0101 (10), 
Stats.

(8) XDisbursement informationY includes the information re-
quired by ss. 11.0204 (1) (a) 8., 11.0304 (1) (a) 8., 11.0404 (1) (a) 
8., 11.0504 (1) (a) 8., 11.0604 (1) (a) 8., 11.0804 (1) (a) 7., and 
11.0904 (1) (a) 8., Stats., regarding disbursements greater than 
$20.

(9) XExcess contributionY means a contribution that exceeds 
any of the limits set in ss. 11.1101, 11.1104, 11.1107, and 
11.1108, Stats.

(10) XFiling feeY means the fee required by s. 11.0102 (2), 
Stats.

(11) XLate contributionY means a contribution or contribu-
tions of $1,000 or more cumulatively from a single contributor 
made later than 15 days prior to a primary or election as de-
scribed in ss. 11.0204 (7), 11.0304 (7), and 11.0404 (4), Stats.

(12) XLate contribution reportY includes the campaign fi-
nance reports referred to in ss. 11.0204 (7), 11.0304 (7), and 
11.0404 (4), Stats., that are due no later than 72 hours after re-
ceiving a late contribution if the late contribution was not previ-
ously included in the registrant[s preprimary or preelection 
report.

(12m) XLobbying communicationY has the meaning given in 
s. 13.62 (10g), Stats.

(13) XLobbyistY has the meaning given in s. 13.62 (11), Stats.
(14) XPost-election campaign finance reportY includes the 

campaign finance reports referred to in ss. 11.0204 (3) (c) and (5) 
(d), 11.0304 (3) (c) and (5) (d), 11.0404 (3) (d), 11.0504 (3) (c) 
and (5) (d), 11.0604 (3) (c) and (5) (d), and 11.0704 (3) (b) and 
(5) (c), Stats., that are due no earlier than 23 days and no later 
than 45 days after a special election.

(15) XPreelection campaign finance reportY includes the 
campaign finance reports referred to in ss. 11.0204 (2) (b), (3) 
(a), (4) (b), and (5) (a), 11.0304 (2) (b), (3) (a), (4) (b), and (5) 
(a), 11.0404 (2) (b) and (3) (a), 11.0504 (2) (b), (3) (a), (4) (b), 
and (5) (a), 11.0604 (2) (b), (3) (a), (4) (b), and (5) (a), 11.0804 
(2) (b), (3) (a), (4) (b), and (5) (a), and 11.0904 (2) (b), (3) (a), (4) 
(b), and (5) (a), Stats., that are due no earlier than 14 days and no 
later than 8 days before an election.

(16) XPreprimary campaign finance reportY includes the 
campaign finance reports referred to in ss. 11.0204 (2) (a) and (4) 
(a), 11.0304 (2) (a) and (4) (a), 11.0404 (2) (a), 11.0504 (2) (a) 
and (4) (a), 11.0604 (2) (a) and (4) (a), 11.0804 (2) (a) and (4) (a), 
and 11.0904 (2) (a) and (4) (a), Stats., that are due no earlier than 
14 days and no later than 8 days before a primary.

(17) XPrincipalY has the meaning given in s. 13.62 (12), Stats.
(18) XPrior offenseY means a previous violation of the same 

provision within the past 3 years.
(19) XRegistrantY means an individual or organization regis-

tered with the ethics commission.
(20) XSeptember reportY includes the campaign finance re-

ports due in September referred to in ss. 11.0204 (4) (d), (5) (c), 
and (6) (b), 11.0304 (4) (d) and (5) (c), 11.0404 (2) (d) and (3) 
(c), 11.0504 (4) (d) and (5) (c), 11.0604 (4) (d) and (5) (c), 
11.0704 (4) (b) and (5) (b), 11.0804 (4) (d) and (5) (c), and 
11.0904 (4) (d) and (5) (c), Stats.

(21) XSpecific express advocacy reportY includes the cam-
paign finance reports referred to in ss. 11.0505, 11.0605, and 
11.1001, Stats., that are due no later 72 hours after making a dis-
bursement on express advocacy during the period beginning on 
the day that is 60 days prior to the day of the primary or election 
and ending on the day of the primary or election.

(22) XStatement of economic interestsY means a statement of 
economic interests that an individual is required to file under s. 
19.43, Stats.

(23) XStatement of lobbying activity and expendituresY 
means the statement referred to in s. 13.68, Stats.

History:  CR 17-035: cr., Register January 2018 No. 745 eff. 2-1-18; correction 
in (3), (6), (14), (15), (16), (20), made under s. 35.17, Stats., Register January 2018 
No. 745; CR 20-019: cr. (1m), (12m) Register June 2021 No. 786, eff. 7-1-21.

ETH 26.02 Settlement of campaign finance viola-
tions.  (1) FAILURE TO TIMELY FILE A CONTINUING REPORT OR 
SEPTEMBER REPORT.  (a)  If the commission receives a continuing 
or September report within 30 calendar days after the due date for 
that report, the commission may issue a written warning to the 
registrant.

(b)  If the commission receives a continuing or September re-
port within 31 to 60 calendar days after the due date for that re-
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port, the commission may extend a settlement offer to the regis-
trant as follows:

1.  If the registrant has committed no prior offenses, a settle-
ment offer of $100 may be extended.

2.  If the registrant has committed a prior offense, a settle-
ment offer of $200 may be extended.

(c)  If the commission receives a continuing or September re-
port within 61 to 90 calendar days after the due date for that re-
port, the commission may extend a settlement offer to the regis-
trant as follows:

1.  If the registrant has committed no prior offenses, a settle-
ment offer of $200 may be extended.

2.  If the registrant has committed a prior offense, a settle-
ment offer of $300 may be extended.

(d)  If the commission receives a continuing or September re-
port within 91 to 120 calendar days after the due date for that re-
port, the commission may extend a settlement offer to the regis-
trant as follows:

1.  If the registrant has committed no prior offenses, a settle-
ment offer of $300 may be extended.

2.  If the registrant has committed a prior offense, a settle-
ment offer of $400 may be extended.

(e)  If the commission receives a continuing or September re-
port more than 120 calendar days after the due date for that re-
port, the commission may extend a settlement offer of $500.

(2) FAILURE TO TIMELY FILE A PREPRIMARY, PREELECTION, 
OR POST-ELECTION REPORT.  (a)  If the commission receives a 
preprimary, preelection, or post-election report one calendar day 
after the due date for that report, the commission may extend a 
settlement offer of $100.

(b)  If the commission receives a preprimary, preelection, or 
post-election report 2 calendar days after the due date for that re-
port, the commission may extend a settlement offer of $150.

(c)  If the commission receives a preprimary, preelection, or 
post-election report 3 calendar days after the due date for that re-
port, the commission may extend a settlement offer of $200.

(d)  If the commission receives a preprimary, preelection, or 
post-election report 4 calendar days after the due date for that re-
port, the commission may extend a settlement offer of $250.

(e)  If the commission receives a preprimary, preelection, or 
post-election report 5 calendar days after the due date for that re-
port, the commission may extend a settlement offer of $300.

(f)  If the commission receives a preprimary, preelection, or 
post-election report 6 calendar days after the due date for that re-
port, the commission may extend a settlement offer of $350.

(g)  If the commission receives a preprimary, preelection, or 
post-election report 7 calendar days after the due date for that re-
port, the commission may extend a settlement offer of $400.

(h)  If the commission receives a preprimary, preelection, or 
post-election report 8 calendar days after the due date for that re-
port, the commission may extend a settlement offer of $450.

(i)  If the commission receives a preprimary, preelection, or 
post-election report 9 or more calendar days after the due date for 
that report, the commission may extend a settlement offer of 
$500.

(3) FAILURE TO TIMELY PAY A FILING FEE.  (a)  If the commis-
sion receives a filing fee within one to 15 calendar days after the 
due date, the commission may issue a written warning to the 
registrant.

(b)  If the commission receives a filing fee within 16 to 45 cal-
endar days after the due date, the commission may extend a set-
tlement offer of $300.

(c)  If the commission receives a filing fee within 46 to 90 cal-
endar days after the due date, the commission may extend a set-
tlement offer of $500.

(d)  If the commission receives a filing fee more than 90 calen-
dar days after the due date, the commission may extend a settle-
ment offer of $800.

(4) FAILURE TO TIMELY FILE A LATE CONTRIBUTION REPORT.  
If a registrant fails to timely file a late contribution report, the 
commission may extend a settlement offer of 5 percent of the to-
tal amount of the late contribution.

(5) FAILURE TO TIMELY FILE A SPECIFIC EXPRESS ADVOCACY 
REPORT.  If a person fails to timely file a specific express advo-
cacy report, the commission may extend a settlement offer of 5 
percent of the disbursement not timely reported.

(6) FAILURE TO PROVIDE CONTRIBUTOR INFORMATION.  (a)  If 
contributor information is not included on a campaign finance re-
port, but is received within 30 calendar days after notification 
from the commission, the commission may issue a written warn-
ing to the registrant.

(b)  If contributor information is not included on a campaign 
finance report, but is received more than 30 calendar days after 
notification from the commission, the commission may extend a 
settlement offer of $100 plus 10 percent of the total amount of 
contributions with incomplete contributor information.

(7) FAILURE TO PROVIDE DISBURSEMENT INFORMATION.  (a)  
If disbursement information is not included on a campaign fi-
nance report, but is received within 30 calendar days after notifi-
cation from the commission, the commission may issue a written 
warning to the registrant.

(b)  If disbursement information is not included on a campaign 
finance report, but is received more than 30 calendar days after 
notification from the commission, the commission may extend a 
settlement offer of $100 plus 10 percent of the total amount of 
disbursements with incomplete disbursement information.

(8) CASH BALANCE DISCREPANCIES.  If a registrant[s cash 
balance at the beginning of a reporting period does not match the 
registrant[s cash balance reported at the end of the prior reporting 
period; or the reported beginning balance of a report, plus all re-
ceipts, minus all expenditures, does not equal the reported ending 
balance of that report; and the cash balance is corrected:

(a)  Within 30 calendar days after notification from the com-
mission, the commission may issue a written warning to the 
registrant.

(b)  More than 30 calendar days after notification from the 
commission, the commission may extend a settlement offer of 
$100 plus 10 percent of the cash balance discrepancy.

(9) EXCEEDING CONTRIBUTION LIMITS.  If a registrant re-
ceives an excess contribution, the commission may extend a set-
tlement offer in the amount by which the contribution exceeded 
the applicable limit.

(10) PROHIBITED CORPORATE, UNION, ASSOCIATION, OR 
TRIBAL CONTRIBUTIONS.  (a)  If a registrant receives a contribu-
tion contrary to s. 11.1112, Stats., the commission may extend a 
settlement offer in the amount of 1.5 times the amount of the con-
tribution, up to a maximum of $500, plus surrendering the 
amount of the unlawful contribution.

(b)  If a person makes a contribution contrary to s. 11.1112, 
Stats., the commission may extend a settlement offer in the 
amount of 1.5 times the amount of the contribution.

(11) PROHIBITED LOBBYIST CONTRIBUTIONS.
(a)  If a candidate committee receives a contribution in viola-

tion of s. 13.625, Stats., the commission may extend a settlement 
offer requiring the return of the contribution to the lobbyist.
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(b)  If a lobbyist makes a contribution in violation of s. 13.625, 
Stats., the commission may extend a settlement offer in the 
amount of 1.5 times the amount of the contribution, up to a max-
imum of $1,000.

(12) AGGRAVATING OR MITIGATING CIRCUMSTANCES.  Not-
withstanding the settlement offer amounts specified in this sec-
tion, the commission may consider aggravating or mitigating cir-
cumstances in determining the terms of any settlement offer that 
may be extended.

History:  CR 17-035: cr., Register January 2018 No. 745 eff. 2-1-18; CR 20-019: 
am. (1) (a), (b) (intro.), (c) (intro.), (d) (intro.), (e), (2) (a) to (i), (3) (a) to (d), (6), (7), 
(8) (a), (b) Register June 2021 No. 786, eff. 7-1-21.

ETH 26.03 Settlement of lobbying violations.  (1) 
FAILURE TO TIMELY FILE A STATEMENT OF LOBBYING ACTIVITY 
AND EXPENDITURES.  (a)  If the commission receives a statement 
of lobbying activity and expenditures within 2 business days after 
the due date for that report:

1.  If the principal has committed no prior offenses, no 
penalty may be imposed.

2.  If the principal has committed a prior offense, the com-
mission may issue a written warning to the principal.

(b)  If the commission receives a statement of lobbying activ-
ity and expenditures within 3 to 5 business days after the due date 
for that report:

1.  If the principal has committed no prior offenses, the com-
mission may issue a written warning to the principal.

2.  If the principal has committed a prior offense, the com-
mission may extend a settlement offer of $50.

(c)  If the commission receives a statement of lobbying activity 
and expenditures within 6 to 15 business days after the due date 
for that report:

1.  If the principal has committed no prior offenses, the com-
mission may issue a written warning to the principal.

2.  If the principal has committed a prior offense, the com-
mission may extend a settlement offer of $100.

(d)  If the commission receives a statement of lobbying activ-
ity and expenditures within 16 to 29 business days after the due 
date for that report:

1.  If the principal has committed no prior offenses, the com-
mission may extend a settlement offer of $50.

2.  If the principal has committed a prior offense, the com-
mission may extend a settlement offer of $250.

(e)  If the commission receives a statement of lobbying activity 
and expenditures 30 business days or more after the due date for 
that report:

1.  If the principal has committed no prior offenses, the com-
mission may extend a settlement offer of $100.

2.  If the principal has committed a prior offense, the com-
mission may extend a settlement offer of $500.

(2) FAILURE TO TIMELY FILE A 15 DAY REPORT.  (a)  If the 
commission does not timely receive a 15 day report and the prin-
cipal has no prior offenses:

1.  If the unreported interest is less than 10 percent of the 
principal[s total effort, the commission may issue a written warn-
ing to the principal.

2.  If the unreported interest is 10 percent or more of the prin-
cipal[s total effort, the commission may extend a settlement offer 
of $25 per late reported interest.

(b)  If the commission does not timely receive a 15 day report 
and the principal has one prior offense:

1.  If the unreported interest is less than 10 percent of the 

principal[s total effort, the commission may extend a settlement 
offer of $50 per late reported interest.

2.  If the unreported interest is 10 percent or more of the prin-
cipal[s total effort, the commission may extend a settlement offer 
of $100 per late reported interest.

(c)  If the commission does not timely receive a 15 day report 
and the principal has 2 or more prior offenses, the commission 
may extend a settlement offer of $100 per late reported interest.

(3a) UNAUTHORIZED LOBBYING.  If a lobbyist makes a lobby-
ing communication on behalf of a lobbying principal prior to au-
thorization as required by s. 13.65, Stats.:

(a)  If the lobbyist has committed no prior offenses, the com-
mission may extend a settlement offer of $100 per unauthorized 
lobbying communication that occurred that reporting period on 
behalf of the principal, up to an aggregate total maximum of 
$1,000 per principal per session.

(b)  If the lobbyist has committed a prior offense, the commis-
sion may extend a settlement offer of $200 per unauthorized lob-
bying communication that occurred that reporting period on be-
half of the principal, up to an aggregate total maximum of $1,000 
per principal per session.

(c)  If the principal has committed no prior offenses, the com-
mission may extend a settlement offer of $200 per unauthorized 
lobbying communication that occurred that reporting period on 
behalf of the principal, up to an aggregate total maximum of 
$2,000 per lobbyist per session.

(d)  If the principal has committed a prior offense, the com-
mission may extend a settlement offer of $400 per unauthorized 
lobbying communication that occurred that reporting period on 
behalf of the principal, up to an aggregate total maximum of 
$2,000 per lobbyist per session.

(4) FAILURE TO TIMELY PAY LOBBYING FEES.  (a)  Lobbyist li-
cense fees.  1.  If the commission receives a lobbyist license fee 
within one to 30 calendar days after notification from the com-
mission that fees are outstanding, the commission may issue a 
written warning to the lobbyist.

2.  If the commission receives a lobbyist license fee within 31 
to 45 calendar days after notification from the commission that 
fees are outstanding, the commission may extend a settlement of-
fer of $100.

3.  If the commission receives a lobbyist license fee within 46 
to 60 calendar days after notification from the commission that 
fees are outstanding, the commission may extend a settlement of-
fer of $200.

4.  If the commission receives a lobbyist license fee more 
than 60 calendar days after notification from the commission that 
fees are outstanding, the commission may extend a settlement of-
fer of $300.

(b)  Lobbying principal registration fees or lobbying principal 
authorization fees.  1.  If the commission receives a lobbying 
principal registration fee or lobbying principal authorization fee 
within one to 30 calendar days after notification from the com-
mission that fees are outstanding, the commission may issue a 
written warning to the principal.

2.  If the commission receives a lobbying principal registra-
tion fee or lobbying principal authorization fee within 31 to 45 
calendar days after notification from the commission that fees are 
outstanding, the commission may extend a settlement offer of 
$200.

3.  If the commission receives a lobbying principal registra-
tion fee or lobbying principal authorization fee within 46 to 60 
calendar days after notification from the commission that fees are 
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outstanding, the commission may extend a settlement offer of 
$400.

4.  If the commission receives a lobbying principal registra-
tion fee or lobbying principal authorization fee more than 60 cal-
endar days after notification from the commission that fees are 
outstanding, the commission may extend a settlement offer of 
$600.

(5) AGGRAVATING OR MITIGATING CIRCUMSTANCES.  Not-
withstanding the settlement terms provided in this section, the 
commission may consider aggravating or mitigating circum-
stances in determining the terms of any settlement offer that may 
be extended.

History:  CR 17-035: cr., Register January 2018 No. 745 eff. 2-1-18; CR 20-019: 
am. (1) (b) (intro.), (c) (intro.), (d) (intro.), (e) (intro.), renum. (3) to (5), cr. (3a), (4) 
Register June 2021 No. 786, eff. 7-1-21.

ETH 26.04 Settlement of ethics violations.  (1) 

FAILURE TO TIMELY FILE A STATEMENT OF ECONOMIC INTER-
ESTS.  (a)  If the commission receives a statement of economic in-
terests within 15 calendar days after the due date for the state-
ment of economic interests, the commission may issue a written 
warning to the individual.

(b)  If the commission receives a statement of economic inter-
ests 16 or more calendar days after the due date for the statement 
of economic interests, the commission may extend a settlement 
offer of $100, plus $100 for every additional 15 calendar days af-
ter the 16th calendar day following the due date.

(2) AGGRAVATING OR MITIGATING CIRCUMSTANCES.  Not-
withstanding the settlement terms provided in this section, the 
commission may consider aggravating or mitigating circum-
stances in determining the terms of any settlement offer that may 
be extended.

History:  CR 17-035: cr., Register January 2018 No. 745 eff. 2-1-18; CR 20-019: 
am. (1) Register June 2021 No. 786, eff. 7-1-21.
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