- (11) He is authorized in an emergency to use his judgment in any matters not specifically covered by any order, regulation or policy of the board, reporting the matter and his action immediately to the director.
- (12) He is authorized to represent the department in all official transactions between the home, other departments of state government and the veterans administration, except in matters which the board or an appropriate committee may have under consideration.

(13) He shall attend all regular meetings of the board, and such special meetings as are called, to act on matters relating to the Home and shall at each meeting be prepared to make an oral report of activities, progress and problems of the Home.

(14) He shall submit such other reports as the board or the direc-

tor may require. The Registra James 1957 17-1-57 VA 7.02 Admission and readmission of members. (1) No person shall be admitted until he or she shall have submitted a formal application on approved printed forms furnished by the home. Each question must be fully and accurately answered and the completed application properly and correctly executed.

(2) An application of a veteran must be accompanied by a dis-

charge certificate, or other satisfactory proof of service.

(3) A wife of a veteran must furnish, with the application, a certified copy of her marriage certificate and a certified copy of the veteran's certificate of honorable discharge or suitable evidence of honorable service.

- (4) A widow of a veteran must furnish, with the application, a certified copy of her marriage certificate, a certified copy of the veteran's certificate of honorable discharge or suitable evidence of honorable service and a certified copy of the death certificate of her husband.
- (5) A widowed mother of a veteran must furnish, with the application, a certified copy of her marriage certificate and a certified copy of the certificate of honorable discharge or suitable evidence of honorable service of the veteran through whom eligibility is claimed. She must also furnish a verified copy of the public record of birth of the veteran through whom eligibility is claimed, together with a certified copy of the death certificate of her husband.

(6) A complete and accurate financial statement of the applicant, physician report of physical examination and two affidavits attesting Wisconsin residence will be filed with each application.

(7) All applications must be filed with the commandant of the home. Any application in which questionable eligibility is involved will be presented to the board before the applicant is admitted.

(8) The commandant is authorized in an emergency to temporarily domicile an applicant whose eligibility has not been fully determined. Payment of money due the state according to law shall begin as of the first day of temporary domicile.

(9) All members receiving pensions, compensation, social security or other benefits from any source are required to deposit evidence thereof with the commandant for safekeeping and information.

(10) All members, including those admitted temporarily, will pay to the state of Wisconsin from their income, such sum of money as is required by law, at such time and in such amounts as the board shall provide.

- (11) Any member, who fails to pay within 10 days money due the state, may be suspended by the commandant until the obligation is paid. If an obligation is not paid within 30 days, a member may be given an undesirable discharge.
- (12) Any member who marries without consent of the commandant will be given an undesirable discharge.
- (13) No former member may be readmitted until a regularly executed application for readmission has been submitted and approved, by the commandant in case the discharge had been honorable, or by the board of veterans affairs in case the discharge had been other than honorable. A veteran discharged to enter a veterans administration facility for treatment may be readmitted if administratively determined by the commandant that eligibility requirements are fulfilled.
- (14) Children of members will not be quartered or maintained at the home.
- (15) Each member is required to file annually with the commandant a true and accurate financial statement.
- VA 7.03 Personal conduct and hygiene. (1) All employes and members must be courteous and considerate and shall conduct themselves at all times in such a manner that there will be no reflection on the home or its management. They shall discharge such duties as may be required of them by the commandant or by his order.
- (2) In case of alleged neglect or ill-treatment of a member by an employe other than the commandant, complaint shall be made in writing to the commandant; if against the commandant, the complaint shall be made in writing and forwarded to the board through the commandant and director.
- (3) At a scheduled hour, reveille, all ambulatory members shall rise, wash and dress themselves neatly. Admission to a dining room for meals shall be refused to anyone who is not neat and clean, or who is not in proper dress. No one shall enter a dining hall for meals until the proper signal has been sounded.
- (4) Cleanliness of person and dress is required at all times. All members must bathe at least once each week.
- (5) Haircuts may be obtained by all members once each month without charge by applying at the commissary for the necessary permit. Those members unable to shave due to their physical condition, will be furnished this service without charge.
- (6) Profane, foul, or vulgar language by members, employes, or other persons is strictly forbidden.
- (7) Any member found in an intoxicated condition shall be punished as provided for in section VA 7.07 below.
- (8) Any employe, found in an intoxicated condition while on duty, or on the home grounds while off duty, shall be subject to discipline by the commandant in accordance with established law, rules and procedure of the bureau of personnel. He may be subject to immediate suspension or discharge from employment.
- (9) Any other person found in an intoxicated condition on the home grounds shall be subject to arrest and prosecution.
- (10) Smoking in bed by members and employes is forbidden, except that bed-ridden patients in the hospital may smoke under conditions prescribed by a home physician.

- (11) Taps shall be at 10:00 p.m. and all lights not needed must be extinguished. No unnecessary noise will be allowed between the hours of taps and reveille.
- (12) Members, employes, or other persons, shall not enter the garages, sheds, kitchens, laundry, work rooms, pump house, bakery, power house, hospital dining room, or any other buildings, except in line of duty or by permission of the commandant.
- (13) Marking on walls, defacing buildings, trees, fences, grass or grounds is strictly forbidden. An offender will be held responsible for any pecuniary damages, and may be subject to dismissal from the Home, or to arrest and prosecution. The possession or discharge of firearms within the limits of the Home without permission from the commandant is strictly forbidden.
- (14) Neither furniture nor food may be taken from a dining room or kitchen without a written order from the commandant. Cooking is forbidden in any cottage or building, except by permission of the commandant. No electrical appliances may be used, or laundry work be done in any cottage or building except by permission of the commandant.
- (15) Water, sweepings, or refuse shall not be thrown upon the grounds, but shall be disposed of as the commandant directs. The commandant will make such additional rules regarding cleanliness and care of rooms or buildings as he may deem necessary.
- VA 7.04 Maintenance. (1) Complete maintenance will be furnished all members in accordance with their individual needs. Maintenance for male members include a suit of clothes, shoes, hat or cap, mackinaw or similar outer garment, rubbers, socks, underwear, shirt, tie, handkerchiefs, toilet supplies, stationery, shoe and clothing repair, dry cleaning of issue clothes, medical and dental service and such other service as may be determined and deemed necessary by the commandant.
- (2) Maintenance for female members shall include dresses, winter coat, hat, gloves, shoes, rubbers or overshoes, corset or girdle, underwear, slip, toilet supplies, stationery, dry cleaning of issue garments, medical and dental service and such other service as may be determined and deemed necessary by the commandant.
- (3) All clothing issued remains the property of the state of Wisconsin and under state control. Issue of clothing will be on the basis of need. Sale or disposal of issue clothing will subject a member to immediate dishonorable discharge.
- (4) One pound of tobacco and members' comforts will be issued once each month in accordance with a schedule established by the commandant. Any member detected in disposing of all or any such allowance will be subject to trial and punishment.
 - (5) Articles of clothing will be replaced only when necessary.
- VA 7.05 Inspections. (1) Informal inspections will be made at frequent periods. Reports of any existing unfavorable conditions will be made to the commandant in writing. When formal inspections are scheduled, all members must remain in their quarters until the inspection is concluded. No member will be excused from this inspection, except by the commandant, or in case of sickness, upon recommendation of a home physician.

24 WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS

- (2) Clothing, beds, quarters, dormitories and cottages must always present a neat and clean appearance.
- (3) Cottages and rooms in the different buildings must be kept open for inspection by officers of the home between the hours of 8 o'clock a.m. and 8 o'clock p.m.
- (4) An inspection of fire apparatus once each week and a fire drill once each month shall be held under the direction of the commandant.
- VA 7.06 Discharges and furloughs. (1) A member may receive an honorable discharge upon application, provided such member is not in arrears for money due to the state, has accounted for all property, and is not under sentence or charges of any kind.
- (2) Demanding a discharge while under charges or sentence may be cause for an undesirable or dishonorable discharge.
- (3) Furloughs may be granted by the commandant for a period of not to exceed 60 days during a calendar year but may be extended if circumstances warrant. Payment to the state, as required by section VA 2.02 (10) above, shall continue during period of such furlough. On return, the furlough card will be forwarded to headquarters. There shall be no absence without proper authority, except as provided for in section VA 7.07 (6), below. Neither the state nor the home will be responsible for any expense incurred by members while absent from the home. Quarters will not be reserved during any absence unless authorized by the commandant.
- (4) The baggage of any member, employe or other person leaving the home may be examined by the person in charge of any building or any other person directed to do so by the commandant.
- VA 7.07 Discipline and control. (1) The commandant shall maintain a complete record of every offense, showing the name of the offender, date and place of the offense, and the charge and findings. Each offender shall be furnished with a copy of the charge or charges placed against him, and the findings.
- (2) No member shall be discharged, suspended, or disciplined in any way without a hearing at a time and place to be fixed by the commandant. A brief statement of evidence furnished by witnesses must be recorded in each case.
- (3) All matters involving violations of the civil law may be turned over to the proper authorities.
- (4) The commandant shall have power to discharge a member for habitual intoxication, willful disobedience of proper orders, the use of insulting, violent or abusive language or scandalizing the Home in any manner.
- (5) For the violation of any rule, the commandant shall notify the offender to appear for a hearing. Upon finding of guilt, the commandant is hereby authorized to impose such sentence as he may deem just and proper, subject however, to an appeal to the board. Any member desiring to appeal from such sentence, may make a written appeal through the commandant to the board of veterans affairs.
- (6) Members not under charges or sentence may leave the grounds and return at will between meals, providing they do not create a disturbance. Any absence from meals must be reported in advance to the dining hall.

1.000