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Chapter Trans 127

SCHOOI BUS TRIP PERMIT

Trans 127.01 Purpose smd scope Trans 127.04 Fee
Trans 127.02 Definitions . Trans 12706 Certification:
Trans 127.03 Application form Trans 127.06 Special provisions

Trans 127,01 Purpose and scope. {1) As authorized by ss. 110.06,
227.014 and 341.26 (7) (a}, Stats., the purpose of this chapter is to es-
tablish the department’s administrative interpretation of s, 341.26 {7)
(a}, Stats., relating to 72 hour trip permits for school buses transportmg
persons who are not pupils.

{2} This chapter apphes to privately owned and operated school

‘buses when used for non- -pupil, charter transportation.

(3} The following school buses owned and operated for non-pupil
iransportation are exempted from this chapter:

{a) School buses owned and operated by a school district and regis-
tered as provided in s, 341,26 (2) (d), Stats. The school board may use
or allow the use of school buses owned and operated by the school dis-
trict as authorized under s. 120, 13 (27}, Stats.

(b) Privately owned and operated school buses engaged in passenger-
carrying operations other than as a school bus and registered as pro-
vided in 5. 341.26 (7} (b}, Stats.

History: Cr. 'Register, April, 1982, No. 316, eff. 5-1-82.
Trans 127,02 Definitions. As used in this chapter:

© 1) “Department means the Wisconsin department of 'trénsporta-
tion. .

{2) “Permit” means the 72 hour charter bus trip permit authorized in
s, 341.26 (7) {a), Stats,

History: Cr, Register, April, 1982, No. 3186, off, 5-1-82,

Trans 127.03 Application form. Each appiication for a permit shall
contain the following information:

(1} The name and bUSiuess address of the applicant,

{2} The signature of the applicant or person authorized by the appli-
cant, and

(3) The number of permlts requested.
Note: Creates form MVD 2449,
History: Cr. Register, April, 1982, No. 316, off. 5-1.82.
Trans 127,04 Fee, (1) The permit issuance fee of $10.00 required by
5.-341.26 (7) (a), Stats., for each permit shall be paid at the time an
application is filed with the departiment. If the remittance is by check,

draft or money order, it shall be made payable to the Wisconsin depart-
ment of transportation.
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(2) Upon receipt of the proper remittance and verification that a cer-
tificate of insurance for the applicant is on file with the department, the
number of permits requested shall be immediately forwarded to the ap-
plicant,

History: Cr. Register, April, 1982, N, 316, eff. 5-1-82.
Trans 127.05 Certification. (1} T'o certify the permit for operation

the Following information shall be typewritten upon the face of the per-
mit:

(a) The name and address of the school bus owner and, it the school
hus is leased, the name and address of the lessee,

{(b) The school bus year, make, identification number, current school
bus license plate number and fleet number,

(c) The specific date and time expressed in month day and year and
in time of day indicating a.m. or p.m. for which the permit is certified for
operation, and

" (d) The signature and title of the person autharized by the applicant
to sign the permit.

(2) Upun certification of the permit, part 1 of the permit shall be car-
ried in the school bus driver compartment and shall be displayed io law
enforcement officers upoen request, part 2 shall be retained by the user,
and part 3 shall be mailed immediately to the department.

" Note: Creates form MVD 2450, '
History: Cr. Register, April, 1882, No, 318, eff b-1-82,

Trans 127.06 Special provisions, (I) The permlt shall be used-only
for school buses reglstered by the department

(2) A certificate of insurance shall be on file with the department in
compliance with s. 184,41, Stats,, and ¢h. Trans 176, Wis, Adm. Code,
before a vehicle may be operated on Wisconsin highways with a permit.

{3) The permit is not transferable and shall be used only by the apph-
cant to whom the permit is issued.

(4) ‘The permit is vahd for 72 hours from the date and time of certifi-
cation.

{5) "T'he permit is not valid if handwritteh, crossed out or erased.
(8) The permit. is valid for Wisconsin intrastate operations only,

{7} Unused permits which are intact may be returned to the depart-
ment along with a written statement from the applicant requesting a
refund of the $10.00 permit issuance fee paid to the department at the
time of permitl acquisition.

History: Cr, Register, April, 1982, No, 316, off. 5-1-82,
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transportation. The 30-day notice period may be waived by the division
[department] if an acceptable replacement undertaking is filed in ac-
cordance with this chapter,

History: Cr. Register, November, 1977, Na. 263, eff. 12-1-77; renum. from MVD 2,04,
Register, February, 1881, No, 302, ff. 3.1-81,

Trans 176.05 Evidence of self-insurance. (1) In accordance with s,
194.42, Stats., the department of transportation may, by order, exempt
any common motor carrier of property or of passengers, or other carrier
of passengers by motor bus, or contract motor carrier from the liability
security requirements imposed under s, 194,41, Stats., and ss. Trans
176,01 to 176.04 if the carrier:

({]a) 1. Complies with the requirements set forth in s. 194.42, Stats,,
an

2. Files an application to qualify as a self-insurer with the department
of transportation; or

(b} Complies with the requirements under sub. (2).

{2} Any motor carrier engaged in interstate commerce only or jointly
in interstate and intrastate commerce on Wisconsin highways who is
qualified as a self-insurer under the rules and regulations of the inter-
state commerce commission, may qualify as a self-insurer under this sec-
tion by filing with the department of transportation a certified copy of a
currently effective interstate commerce commission order authorizing
isuch motor carrier to self-insure under applicable federal law and regu-
ations.

(3) Applications td qualify as a self-insurer shall be made on forms
provided by the department of transportation. (Appendix VI).

History: Cr. Register, November, 1877, MNo. 263, eff. 12-1-77; renum. from MVD 2.05 and
am. (1) (intro.), Register, February, 1981, No. 302, eff. 3-1-81.

Trans 176.06 Minimum limits of liability security, (1) The mini-
mum limits of Hability security for hodily injury and property damage
liability required under this chapter are: .

{a) For property carriers other than taxicabs subject to par. {(¢)—for
injury to or death of any one person, $100,000; for any one accident,
$300,000; and for injury to or destruction of property, $50,000. .

(b} For passenger vehicles:
PERSONAL INJURY

PASSENGER ONE ALL PROPERTY
CAPACITY PASSENGER PASSENGERS DAMAGE
T or less Co -$100,000 $300,000 T §50,000
8to 12 $100,000 $350,000 $50,000

13 to 20 $100,000 $400,000 $50,000

21 to 30 $100,000 $450,000 $50,000
31 and over $100,000 $500,000 $50,000

(¢) For taxicabs operating under certificates of authority issued
under ch, 194, Stats.—The same minimum limits of liability security for
bedily injury and property damage as are required by the local govern-
mental taxicab licensing or regulating ordinance applicable to the par-
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ticular taxicab operations filing under this chapter. No such local ordi-
nance may establish liability security levels lower than those specified in
8, 344,15, Stats, If no minimum liability insurance limits have been es-
tablished by local authorities with respect to any taxicab operation, the
minimum limits of liability security shall be the same as those specified
in s. 344.16, Stats.

(d) In accordance with s. 121.53 (1) (e), Stats., for school buses with
& seating capacity of 37 or more passengers, the minimum total limit of
bodily injury liability insurance coverage per accident is $1,000,000.
History: Cr. Regisier, November, 1877, No. 263, eff. 12-1-77; emerg. am. {1) (a) and er.
(1} €c), off. 2-23-79; am. (I) {a) and cr. (1} (c}, Register, May, 1973, No. 281, eff. 8-1-79;
renum, from MVD 176,08 and cr. {1) (d}, Register, February, 1981, No. 302, eff. 3-1-81; r.
and rect. (1) (d), Register, April, 1982, No. 316, eff, 5-1.82,

Trans 176,07 Completion of forms, (1) All forms required by this
chapter shall be completed in triplicate and the information requested
thereon shall be typewritten on the blank spaces provided.

(2) The forms shall be printed on rectangular cards measuring 5
inches in height and 8 inches in width.

(3) The forms shall be signed by an authorized representative of the
insurer or surety whose signature is on file with the department of trans-
portaticn. A letter of authorization, signed by a corporate officer of the
insurer or surety, together with a 3 x 5 signature card for each authorized
representative shall be kept on file hy the department of transportation,

(4} Certificates of insurance and surety bonds shall be issued in the
full and correct name of the individual, partnership or corporation to
whom the certificate, permit or license is or will be issued, In the case of
a partnership, all partners shall be named. Only one entity shall he
named as the insured on the certificate.

(6) If the insurer or surety does not require the third copy to be re-
turned as proof of the acceptance of such filing, the insurer or surety
need only provide the department of transportation with 2 copies of
each form required under this chapter. '

History: Cr. Register, November, 1077, No. 263, eff, 12-1-77; rehum. from MVD 2.07,
Regiater, Faebruary, 1981, No. 302, eff, 3-1.81.

Trans 176.08 Emergency filings, (1) Emergency filing may be made
by telephone, telegram, teletype or facsimile equipment providing the
following information: .

{a}) Name of insured.
{b) Name of insurance company and policy number.

(c) Type of filing being made. If it is a scheduled filing, a description
of the vehicle must be included.

{d) Statement “Certificate Will Follow”,
(e} Date of policy. .
{f) Name of authorizgd representative of the insurer.

(2) A filing made under this subsection shall be in force for 30 days
from the date it was received by the department.
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{3) An emergency filing received under this subsection shall impose
upon the insurer the same Hability as if the certificate had been filed
under normal procedures and any action taken by the department will
he the same as if a certificate was on file.

{4} No extensions of, or additional emergency filing by the same in-
surer, will be accepted for the same insured unless a certificate has been
received covering the previous emergency filing,

History: Cr. Register, February, 1981, No. 302, off. 3-1-81,
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FORM E

UNIFORM MOTOR CARRIER BODILY INJURY AND PROPERTY
DAMAGE LIABILITY CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE
(Exccuted in Triplicate)
Filed with (horeinafter called Commission)
(Name of Commission)

This is to certify, that the

(Name of Company)

{(hereinafter called Company) of

(Home Office Address of Company)

has jssued to of
(Name of Motor Carriex) (Address of Motor Carrier)}

8 policy or policies of insurance effective from 12:01 A M, atandard time ot the address of the insured stated in said policy or
policies and continuing until canceled as provided herein, which, by attachment of the UUniform Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and Proporty Damage
Lisbility Insurance Endorsoment, has or have been amended to provide automobile bodily injury and property damage liability insurance covering the
obligations imposed upon such motor carier by the provisions of the motor carrier law of the State in which the Commission has jurisdiction or
regulations promulgated in accordance therewith.

Whenever requested, the Company agrees to furnish the Commiasion a duplicate original of said policy or policies and all endorsementa thereon.

This certificate and the endorsement described herein may not be canceled without cancellation of the policy to which it is attached, Such cancella-’

tion may be effected by the Company or the insured giving thirty (30) days’ notice in writing to the State Commisgion, such thirty (30) days’ notice to
commence to run from the date notice iz actually received in the office of the Commission.

Countersigned at

(Street Addross) (City) (State) (Zip Code)
this day of 19,

Authorized Company Representative

Insurance Company File No.

{Policy Number)
MC1633 (Ed. 6-71) UNIFORM PRINTING & SUPFPLY DIV. IREB 35398

I x1puaddy
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