Chapter REB 16

EDUCATION

REB	16.005	Authorization	REB	16.055	Requirements for approval of
REB	16.01	Definitions			and certification of attend-
REB	16.02	Educational requirements of			ance at credit courses
		applicant for an original real estate broker's license	REB	16.06	Approval of non-credit educa- tional programs
REB	16.03	Educational requirements of applicant for an original or re-	REB	16.07	Evidence of attendance for non-credit programs
		newal real estate salesperson's license	REB	16.075	Attendance requirements for non-credit courses
REB	16.04	Educational requirements of	REB	16.076	Correspondence courses
		broker applicant who is a li-	REB	16.08	Investigation and review
		censed real estate salesperson	REB	16.09	Advertising of real estate non-
		and who has completed the 30-			credit programs offered by
		hour requirement in REB			licensees
		16.03.	REB	16.10	Forms
REB	16.05	Continuing education require-			
		ments for brokers and sales-			
		norgone #			

Note: Chapter REB 16 as it existed on October 31, 1979, was repealed and a new Chapter REB 16 was created effective November 1, 1979.

REB 16.005 Authorization. The following rules are adopted pursuant to ss.452.04 (lm), and (2m), and 452.08 (5) (c), Stats.

History: Cr. Register, October 1979, No. 286, eff. 11-1-79

REB 16.01 Definitions. As used in this chapter, unless the context otherwise specifically requires:

- (1) "Board" means the Wisconsin real estate examining board.
- (2) "Hour" means a period of 50 minutes of actual classroom instruction and shall not include time spent in writing tests or examinations given by the school.
- (3) "Credit course" means a course which can be applied toward an associate degree or higher degree at an accredited institution of higher education.
- (4) "Non-credit program" means an educational program or training session which does not satisfy requirements for an associate degree or higher degree at the school offering the educational program or training session.
- (5) "Accredited institution of higher education" means a law school accredited by the American bar association or other schools accredited by one of the regional institutional accrediting commissions or associations which have been recognized by the U.S. commissioner of education.
- (6) "Evidence of attendance" means an official transcript, student grade report, or board-approved certificate showing satisfactory completion of educational programs or training sessions.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff. 11-1-79

REB 16.02 Educational requirements of applicant for an original real estate broker's license. (1) Each applicant for an original real estate broker's license shall present evidence of attendance at 60 hours of an educational program approved by the board in accordance with this chapter.

- (2) Minimum educational requirements shall not apply to:
- (a) An applicant producing evidence that applicant has received 20 semester hour credits in real estate or law at an accredited institution of higher education. A quarter hour credit shall equal 2/3 of a semester hour credit.
- (b) Attorneys at law admitted to the practice in the state of Wisconsin.
- (3) The 60 hours of educational programs for applicants for an original real estate broker's license shall include:
- (a) Real property law (a total of 30 hours which shall include a substantial amount of time on each of the following 17 topics)
 - 1. Real estate licensing and the licensing law
 - 2. Legal environment, law of agency and civil rights and securities
 - 3. Contractual aspects of listings
 - 4. Law of contracts as they relate to selling
 - Offer, acceptance, and closing
 - 6. Descriptions of real estate
 - 7. The land contract and options
 - 8. Deeds
 - 9. Mortgages
 - 10. Analysis of seller's property rights
 - 11. Leases, and landlord-tenant law
 - 12. Real estate trust funds
 - 13. The law against discrimination in housing
 - 14. Legal aspects of financing
 - 15. Consumer protection
 - 16. Code of ethics
 - 17. Recent changes in real property law
- (b) Real estate appraising and financing (a total of 15 hours which shall include a substantial amount of time on each of the following 5 topics)
 - 1. Land use principles
 - 2. Construction

Register, June, 1982, No. 318

- 3. Estimating a listing price
- 4. Practical aspects of mortgage financing
- 5. Real property management
- (c) Marketing real estate (a total of 15 hours which shall include a substantial amount of time on each of the following 7 topics)
 - 1. Real estate office procedures
 - 2. Listing procedures
 - 3. Advertising property for sale
 - 4. Service and responsibility to clients
 - 5. Providing property information and disclosure
 - 6. Applied aspects of listing contract
 - 7. Applied aspects of offer to purchase
 - (4) Subject to the approval of the board, sub. (3) may be satisfied if:
- (a) Within the 12-month period prior to filing an application for an original real estate broker's license, the applicant held a valid real estate license in another state; and
- (b) The applicant submits evidence of attendance at educational programs offered in another state which are substantially in compliance with requirements in sub. (3).

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff. 11-1-79; cr. (4), Register, April, 1981, No. 304, eff. 5-1-81; am. (1), (4) (intro.) and (b), Register, June, 1982, No. 318, eff. 7-1-82.

- REB 16.03 Educational requirements of applicant for an original or renewal real estate salesperson's license. (1) There are no educational requirements to write the salesperson's examination.
- (2) Within the 24-month period commencing with the last day of December following the granting of applicant's original real estate salesperson's license, each licensed real estate salesperson shall submit to the board evidence of attendance at 30 hours of educational programs set forth in s. REB 16.02 (3) (b) and (c) and approved by the board in accordance with this chapter.
- (a) The board may give credit toward the completion of this requirement for an approved educational program attended by the licensee up to 3 years before the commencement of the 24-month period.
- (b) This requirement may be satisfied as provided in s. REB 16.02 (4), except that the educational programs shall be substantially in compliance with requirements in s. REB 16.02 (3) (b) or (c).
- (c) None of the 30 hours taken to satisfy the requirements of this subsection shall satisfy the continuing educational requirement in REB 16.05.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff. 11-1-79; am. (2) (intro.) and r. and recr. (2) (b), Register, April, 1981, No. 304, eff. 5-1-81; am. (2) (b), Register, June, 1982, No. 318, eff. 7-1-82.

REB 16.04 Educational requirements of broker applicant who is a licensed real estate salesperson and who has completed the 30hour requirement in REB 16.03. (1) An applicant for a broker's license who has been a licensed real estate salesperson and who has completed the 30-hour educational requirement for renewal of the salesperson's license shall be permitted to apply those 30 hours toward the 60hour requirement.

(2) The applicant shall submit to the board evidence of attendance at the additional 30 hours needed to meet the 60-hour requirement. These 30 hours shall consist of the educational programs as set forth in REB 16.02(3)(a).

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff. 11-1-79.

- REB 16.05 Continuing education requirements for brokers and salespersons. (1) To establish an applicant's satisfactory completion of the continuing education requirement, every licensee shall submit to the board a record or evidence of attendance at a minimum of 10 hours of approved credit courses or non-credit educational programs every 2 years. To qualify under this section, non-credit educational programs and training sessions shall be approved before they are conducted.
- (2) A licensee who is also licensed to practice law in the state of Wisconsin shall be granted credit for attendance at continuing legal education programs which the board determines to be related to real estate matters.
- (3) A licensee shall submit evidence of completion of this continuing education requirement when applying for renewal of license, or the board shall withhold issuance of the renewal license until such evidence is submitted.
- (4) (a) The board shall grant credit to a non-resident licensee for attendance at non-credit educational programs approved by the licensing agency in the licensee's state of residence to satisfy that state's mandatory real estate continuing education requirements.
- (b) The board may, after reviewing supporting documents submitted by the licensee, grant credit to a non-resident licensee for attendance at non-credit educational programs offered outside the state of Wisconsin which comply with the requirements in s. REB 16.06 (2), but have not been approved in accordance with s. REB 16.06 (1).
 - (5) The 10 hours of continuing education shall be selected from:
 - (a) Real property law.
 - (b) Real estate appraising
 - (c) Real estate financing
 - (d) Real property management
 - (e) Real estate counseling
 - (f) Real estate marketing
- (g) The laws against discrimination in housing Register, June, 1982, No. 318

- (h) Other real estate-related subjects which are consistent with sub. (6).
- (6) The contents of continuing education programs shall consist of the real estate knowledges and practices that are broad-based and essential to the role of a real estate general practitioner as he or she acts in the best interests of the consumer. These contents shall directly relate to real estate principles and practices such as described in the Wisconsin Real Estate Law Manual and any overview text on real estate principles and practices, or to new developments in the field for which licensees have a demonstrated need. The board shall not approve offerings in mechanical office and business skills such as typing, speed-reading, memory development, personal motivation, salesmanship, sales psychology, nor sales promotions or other meetings held in conjunction with the general business of a salesperson's broker.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff. 11-1-79; am. (1) and (4), Register, April, 1981, No. 304, eff. 5-1-81; am. (1), r. (4) (intro.), Register, June, 1982, No. 318, eff. 7-1-82.

- REB 16.055 Requirements for approval of and certification of attendance at credit courses. (1) APPROVAL. (a) 60-hour and 30-hour requirement. 1. A school seeking initial approval of credit courses in real estate shall submit its application on the form provided by the board. The board may require the following information and materials:
 - a. The department in the school which is offering the courses.
 - b. The method of instruction for each course.
 - c. The course numbers and titles.
- d. Detailed outlines of each course with specific allocations of class-room hours to each topic.
 - e. A current school bulletin
- 2. Course approvals shall expire on September 30 following the date of initial approval and every September 30 thereafter. A school shall submit an application for reapproval to the board sufficiently early for the board to review it and approve the courses no later than the date of the board meeting in September each year.
- (b) Continuing education requirement. The board shall automatically approve and accept credit courses in real estate or real estate-related law commencing on or after May 20, 1978. Schools shall not be required to follow the requirements in par. (a) nor in REB 16.06, except that schools may not discriminate against anyone on the basis of sex, race, religion, age, physical disability, or national origin in their educational programs.
- (2) EVIDENCE OF ATTENDANCE. The board shall accept only an official transcript or student grade report as evidence of satisfactory completion of credit courses.
- (3) ATTENDANCE REQUIREMENTS. Students shall satisfy board attendance requirements by successfully completing credit courses in accordance with the attendance requirements of the school. The board shall not accept attendance at credit courses on an audit basis to satisfy the requirements of this chapter.

- REB 16.06 Approval of non-credit educational programs. (1) A school seeking initial approval from the board of real estate non-credit programs shall submit its application on the forms provided by the board. Approval of non-credit programs shall expire on September 30 following the date of initial approval and every September 30 thereafter. A school shall submit applications for reapproval to the board sufficiently early for the board to review them and approve the non-credit programs no later than the date of the board meeting in September each year.
- (a) Qualifications of instructors. 1. Education and experience. Instructors of non-credit programs shall be approved by the board. Instructors shall be experienced in the subject which they are teaching; the board may limit its approval to specific content areas set forth in REB 16.02(3) and 16.05(5). Instructors shall possess at least one of the following minimum qualifications:
- a. An instructor of real estate courses who is or has been engaged in the practice of teaching at an accredited institution of higher education.
- b. Properly licensed or certified person who is engaged in the real estate aspects of appraising, financing, marketing, real property management, real estate counseling, real property law, or other related real estate subjects and has been for at least the past 5 years continuously engaged in such practice.
- c. Member of the state bar of Wisconsin who is engaged in the field of real estate-related law.
- d. A person, who, in the judgment of the board, is qualified by experience or education, or both, to supervise a course of study within the legislative intent of this section.
- (b) Information required. 1. The board may require a school seeking initial approval and reapproval of non-credit programs to describe or furnish its organizational structure, registration policies, fee schedules, promotional materials, detailed outlines of each non-credit program with specific allocations of classroom hours to each topic, student records system, the names and qualifications of instructors, its method for evaluating instructors and a summary of evaluations conducted, and the time, date and location of each non-credit program.
- a. The board may allow a school to apply for initial approval of noncredit programs without specific information concerning dates, times, locations, and instructors, but the school shall provide this information no later than the beginning of the approved program.
- 2. A school shall inform the board of any changes in the information required in subd. 1 within 10 days following the date of the change.
 - (2) Additional criteria for approval of non-credit programs follow:
- (a) Applicants for approval of non-credit programs shall not discriminate against anyone on the basis of sex, race, religion, age, physical disability, or national origin in their educational programs.
- (b) The entity applying for approval of non-credit programs shall have education as a primary function.

- (c) A school shall not limit attendance at an approved program to members of a particular organization or to employees of a particular company.
- (d) A program designated to satisfy the 60-hour or 30-hour requirement shall not satisfy the continuing education requirement for any licensee.
- (e) The board shall not approve a non-credit continuing education program designed for less than 2 hours.
- (f) The board shall approve a non-credit continuing education program only in its entirety. Licensees shall attend substantially the complete program in order to receive a certificate of attendance.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff. 11-1-79

- **REB 16.07 Evidence for non-credit programs.** (1) Schools shall provide an individual certificate of attendance to all students upon satisfactory completion of non-credit programs.
- (a) Certificates of attendance shall contain minimum wording prescribed by the board.
- (b) Certificates of attendance shall be signed by authorized persons whose signatures are on file with the board.
- (c) The date of issuance on certificates of attendance shall be that of the last class attended by the student.
- (d) Certificates of attendance at continuing education programs shall be on blue paper only.
- (e) Only current licensees shall be eligible to receive a board-approved certificate of attendance for completion of a continuing education program.
- (2) A school shall submit to the board a notarized list of those persons satisfactorily completing non-credit continuing education programs also certifying that the named students personally attended the minimum required statutory classroom instruction. The notarized list shall be furnished within 10 days following the date of completion of non-credit continuing education program(s)
- (3) A school shall maintain for 5 years records sufficient to establish the attendance record submitted for non-credit 60-hour and 30-hour programs and continuing education programs.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff. 11-1-79

- REB 16.075 Attendance requirements for non-credit courses. (1) 60 and 30-hour requirement. Students shall attend all of the required hours and receive substantially all the required contents, before a certificate of attendance may be granted for satisfying any of the requirements in REB 16.02(3). Schools may make arrangements for make-up classes to enable students to meet the attendance requirements.
- (2) Continuing education requirement. Licensees shall register for the complete educational program or training session, attend the whole program, and receive a certificate for the hours for which the program or session was approved, except that a licensee who is forced by an emer-

gency to leave a program may be given a certificate for the hours actually attended, but not for less than 2 hours.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff. 11-1-79

REB 16.076 Correspondence courses. Correspondence courses do not satisfy educational requirements in this chapter except to satisfy requirements in s. REB 16.02 (2) (a).

History: Cr. Register, June, 1982, No. 318, eff. 7-1-82.

- REB 16.08 Investigation and review. (1) Periodic review. The board, or its duly authorized representative, shall investigate and review all approved educational programs, courses, and instructors. The method of review shall be determined by the board in each case and will generally consist of the following:
- (a) Consideration of information available from federal, state, or local agencies, private organizations or agencies, or interested persons.
- (b) Conferences with officials or representatives of the school involved or with former students of the school.
- (c) Public hearing respecting the educational program, course, or instructor involved, with adequate written notice to the school and/or instructor.
 - (d) Investigation by visitation to the school.
- (2) Upon complaint. In addition to investigation upon its own initiation, the board may investigate any school or instructor upon receipt of a complaint from an interested person.
- (3) Denial or withdrawal of approval. If, after investigation, the board denies or deems it proper to withdraw its approval of any educational program, course, or instructor, written notification must be given with reasons for such action. The school or instructor may request a hearing before the board.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff. 11-1-79

REB 16.09 Advertising of real estate non-credit programs offered by licensees. Licensees who advertise the availability of noncredit real estate programs from their real estate firm shall state that these programs are not approved by the board if, in fact, they have not been approved in accordance with REB 16.06.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff. 11-1-79

REB 16.10 Forms.

- (1) Applications for approval of non-credit programs.
- (a) Application for approval of instructors for 60-hour and 30-hour programs.
- (b) Application for approval of instructors for 60-hour and 30-hour programs.
 - (c) Application for approval of continuing education programs.
- (d) Application for reapproval of 60-hour, 30-hour, and continuing education programs.

Register, June, 1982, No. 318

- (2) Certificates of approval of non-credit programs.
- (a) Approval of programs and instructors.
- (b) Approval of additional instructors
- (3) Certificates of attendance at non-credit programs.
- (a) Certificate for 60 hours in REB 16.02(3).
- (b) Certificate for 30 hours in REB 16.02(3) (b) & (c).
- (c) Certificate for 30 hours in REB 16.02(3) (a).
- (d) Certificate for 15 hours in REB 16.02(3)(b).
- (e) Certificate for 15 hours in REB 16.02(3)(c).
- (f) Certificate for continuing education.
- (4) Application for approval of credit courses.
- (5) Miscellaneous.
- (a) Notarized list form for non-credit continuing education programs.
- (b) Report for review of approved programs.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff. 11-1-79.