C 2.04 Enrollment and records. (1) In all schools other than those operating on a semester system, the students may be enrolled and begin attendance at the school on the third Monday of each month. In schools operating on a semester system, the beginning attendance date shall be established on a date consistent with the opening of other classes in the schools and consistent with meeting the course requirements. All applications for student permits shall be completed and on file in the board office located at 1400 East Washington Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin, no later than 10 days prior to the beginning attendance date. A student permit may not be issued until the board has received proof of qualifications as provided in s. 458.02 (8), Stats. Students may not begin training until a permit has been issued. The permit fee and original documents submitted shall be returned and all other documents disposed of if a student permit is not issued.

(2) A complete record of the date a student enters school, daily attendance at classes and a student's grades and quota reports shall be maintained. This report shall be signed by a school representative and the student. Copies of this report shall be provided to the student and the board upon the student's graduation or termination from the school program.

History: Cr. Register, May, 1977, No. 257, eff. 6-1-77; am. (1), Register, March, 1982, No. 315, eff. 4-1-82; am. Register, March, 1986, No. 363, eff. 4-1-86.

C 2.05 Refund policy. (1) Schools shall have a definite and written policy relating to the refund of tuition and fees when students discontinue training.

(a) No tuition need be refunded after the student has attended the first 2 months of the course.

(b) Fees for supplies or equipment, service charges, student activity fees, rentals and other miscellaneous charges, need not be considered in refund computations provided charges are itemized separately in the enrollment agreements and students so informed by a statement in the enrollment agreements furnished to students.

(2) Collection procedures shall be in accordance with Wisconsin statutes.

(3) Complete records of all payments by students shall be maintained.

History: Cr. Register, May, 1977, No. 257, eff. 6-1-77.

C 2.06 Limitations of instructors. Instructors in a school of cosmetology may practice cosmetology on patrons only to the extent necessary to demonstrate the techniques to students and to carry out the student supervision required under this chapter. When an instructor is demonstrating techniques to students or checking patron services, the student receiving training must be physically present and participating in the teaching/learning situation.

History: Cr. Register, May, 1977, No. 257, eff. 6-1-77.

C 2.07 Ratio of instructors to students. (1) For the purpose of this rule "licensed instructor" means a person holding a license or temporary permit as an instructor granted by the cosmetology examining board.

(2) For the purpose of this rule "other qualified instructor" means a person who meets the qualifications of s. 458.08 (10), Stats., and who is Register, March, 1986, No. 363

employed by a cosmetology school to teach the subjects of hygiene, histology, anatomy, elementary chemistry or general science.

(3) There shall be at least one licensed instructor or other qualified instructor present at the school on each day that the school is open for instruction.

(4) There shall be sufficient licensed instructors present to maintain in each area of practical training a ratio of at least one licensed instructor to each 20 students or fraction thereof, except that this ratio may be as high as one to 24 in the freshman class of a licensed manager who acts as a teaching assistant.

(5) A licensed manager may be employed to act as a teaching assistant for no longer than 18 months, which time shall count toward meeting the instructor examination experience requirement. Licensed managers acting as a teaching assistant shall post their manager's license in the school.

(6) In order to facilitate the proper administration of this rule, an attendance report for each instructor of each school of cosmetology must be received by the board no later than the tenth working day after the end of each month the school is open for instruction. The instructor attendance report, which shall be signed by the instructor and the school of cosmetology operator or their designated representative, shall be submitted to the board on forms furnished by the board. Changes in instructors and teaching assistants shall be reported to the board within 5 working days.

History: Cr. Register, May, 1977, No. 257, eff. 6-1-77; r. (1) and (2), renum. (3) to be (6), cr. (1) to (5), Register, June, 1979, No. 282, eff. 7-1-79; correction in (2) made under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7, Stats., Register, March, 1986, No. 363.

C 2.08 Supervision of patron services. All phases of practical work must be performed under the supervision of an instructor and each service shall be graded. Complete work shall be inspected by the instructor, at the student's work station, before the patron is dismissed. An explanation shall be given the student for the grade received. All students shall receive their share of the practical work.

History: Cr. Register, May, 1977, No. 257, eff. 6-1-77.

C 2.09 Training periods. (1) The students shall be classed as freshmen for at least the first 320 hours, as juniors for at least the next 480 hours, and as seniors for the remainder of the course.

(2) Students shall not practice on patrons during their freshmen period.

(3) A badge or insignia bearing the name of the student must be provided by the school and worn by each student in colors as follows: freshmen, yellow; juniors and seniors, blue.

History: Cr. Register, May, 1977, No. 257, eff. 6-1-77.

C 2.10 Theory and practice. (1) The theoretical instruction shall include instruction in the following subjects as they relate to the practice of cosmetology: disinfecting and sanitation, personal hygiene, shampooing, scalp treatments, permanent waving and straightening, facial massage and cosmetic use, manicuring, hair tints, bleaches and color rinses, hair styling, hair shaping, fingerwaving, anatomy and physiology, skin, scalp and hair disorders, electricity, cosmetic chemistry, cosmetology law and Register, March, 1986, No. 363

C 2

rules, hair pressing and thermal curling, hair pieces and wigs, and basic business principles as provided in the syllabus.

(2) Practical instruction in the classroom shall consist of demonstrations, class work, and individual instruction under the direct supervision of an instructor in all phases of the cosmetology services but shall be limited to actual practice by students on other students, manikins, models, transformations, or other devices for the purpose of acquiring the fundamentals and the techniques of such services.

(3) Students shall receive instruction and practice in the usual cosmetology services which shall include but not necessarily be limited to: scalp treatment, hair cutting and shaping, shampooing, permanent waving and straightening, pressing and thermal curling, hair pieces and wigs, fingerwaving, hair styling including dressing and finishing, hair tinting, bleaches and rinses, facial massage, cosmetic use and arching, manicuring, and sanitary practices. The financial renuneration by schools in any manner to students for these services is prohibited. Action by any school to encourage tipping to students is prohibited.

History: Cr. Register, May, 1977, No. 257, eff. 6-1-77.

C 2.11 Examinations. (1) At the completion of each freshman and junior period of training, a written and practical examination shall be given, and grades received reported to the board. The questions and answers shall be retained by the schools for at least 1 year after graduation. Such examinations shall be available to the board and its representatives.

(2) A school must give a final examination in practical work and theory to every student before certification of eligibility for state board.

History: Cr. Register, May, 1977, No. 257, eff. 6-1-77.

C 2.12 Instructional hours. (1) Schools of cosmetology shall require as a prerequisite to graduation a course of instruction of not less than the number of hours required in s. 458.02 (3), Stats.

(2) Students, with the exception of those taking the manicurist course or those transferring from out of state or from a related program, shall take the complete course unless they hold operators' or managers' licenses.

(3) The course of instruction shall be divided to include 185 hours of theoretical classroom instruction and the minimum number of practical classroom hours of instruction and acceptable patron assignments as follows;

C 2

Register, March, 1986, No. 363

Subjects	Minimum number of hours in practical class		able patron assignments to be completed during the Clinical period of training s	
	instru		Number assignments	Maximum*** time per assignments
Hair pieces and wig care s	tyling	10	5	1 hour
Scalp treatments	0	25	35	1/2 hour
Hair cutting and shaping scissor	.	25	100*	1/2 hour
razor	, d	20		
Shampooing		20	200	1/4 hour
Permanent waving & straightening	÷	75*	40*	1-1/4 hour
Fingerwaving Hair styling (includes dre &	ssing	40	40	1/3 hour
finishing)		100	200	3/4 hour
Hair coloring Bleaching		40 20	20*	1-1/4 hour
		35	**	1 hour
Complete facial		30	30	3/4 hour
Manicuring Sanitary practices				assignment every

*The student shall demonstrate proficiency in both. **Sufficient number to demonstrate proficiency.

***Junior students who exceed the maximum time listed will receive credit for the service. The time as listed is the time in which a senior student must be accomplishing the service.

History: Cr. Register, May, 1977, No. 257, eff. 6-1-77; r. (2), renum. (3) and (4) to be (2) and (3), Register, June, 1979, No. 282, eff. 7-1-79; am. (1), Register, March, 1982, No. 315, eff. 4-1-82.

C 2.13 Theory syllabus. The syllabus outlined below constitutes the theoretical instruction which shall be taught for credit and will constitute a basis for the written examination for licensure:

(1) DISINFECTION AND SANITATION

(a) Definition

(b) Importance

(c) Types

1. Heat

2, Chemical

(d) Methods of disinfecting

Combs and brushes
Shampoo bowls and trays
Towels

4. Electrical appliances

Register, March, 1986, No. 363

C 2

Minimum number of acceptble patron assignments to