- (8) Change in residency status. (a) A licensed nonresident agent, after becoming a Wisconsin resident, may retain authority under the nonresident agent license for a maximum of 60 days, at which time all authority granted under the nonresident license shall cease.
- (b) A licensed resident agent, after becoming a resident of another state, may retain authority under the resident agent license for a maximum of 60 days, at which time all authority granted under the resident license shall cease.
- (c) If an agent changes residency status and becomes licensed under the new status, all authority granted by the license issued under the former status shall terminate on the date the new license is issued.
- (d) Criteria used by the insurance commissioner to establish residency shall include, but not be limited to:
 - 1. Jurisdiction for payment of state taxes.
- 2. Jurisdiction for automobile driver's license and motor vehicle registration.
 - 3. Location of voter registration.
- 4. Location of principal residence, such as owned or rented dwelling, condominium or apartment.

History: Cr. Register, March, 1977, No. 255, eff. 4-1-77; am. (8), Register, June, 1978, No. 270, eff. 7-1-78; cr. (10), Register, September, 1978, No. 273, eff. 10-1-78; am. (3) and (7), Register, February, 1980, No. 290, eff. 3-1-80; r. (6) and (9), renum. (7), (8) and (10) to be (6), (7) and (8), Register, August, 1980, No. 296, eff. 91-80; r. and recr. Register, September, 1981, No. 309, eff. 10-1-81; am. (4), cr. (8), Register, December, 1984, No. 348, eff. 1-1-85.

- Ins 6.61 Intermediary records. (1) Each intermediary shall maintain or have maintained, for a 3 year period, unless a specific period is provided elsewhere, records of the intermediary's policyholder financial transactions and records of transactions with brokerage clientele which occur in the regular course of business or are prescribed by rule, in accordance with accepted accounting principles. Such records shall include an accounting of such billings to and receipts from purchasers of insurance and payments to insurers or others for coverage provided, as have passed through the hands of the intermediary, or comparable records on an agency or partnership-wide basis. An insurer may by written agreement assume the responsibility to maintain these records for an individual intermediary-agent if the records can be made immediately available to the commissioner of insurance on demand.
- (2) Each individual intermediary-agent shall maintain records for a 3 year period giving the effective date of the coverage on all newly issued contracts and indicating that the necessary suitability inquiry and replacement procedures required by Ins 2.07, 2.14 (5) (f), 3.27 (7), and 3.29 were followed for each individually-issued life and accident and health contract written and/or replaced.
- (3) Records required by subs. (1) and (2) are to be maintained at the business address of the intermediary or the insurer recorded with the commissioner of insurance, or at another location only if notice has been provided the commissioner of insurance of such alternate location.
- (4) Each agent intermediary shall, within 30 days, notify the commissioner of insurance in writing of any change in the intermediary's busi-

Ins 6

ness or residence address or any change of address of location of the intermediary's records.

(5) Each Wisconsin licensed agent must notify the commissioner within 30 days of any felony conviction or any formal disciplinary action against the agent taken by any state's insurance regulatory agency, commission or board, excepting action taken by the Wisconsin office of the commissioner of insurance. Formal disciplinary action means consent decrees, cease and desist orders, stipulations, suspensions, revocations, license denials, fines, forfeitures or actions limiting the agent's method of conducting an insurance business. The notification must be in writing and give a description of the conviction or disciplinary action.

Note: Individual intermediary-agent records which are to be maintained and subject to examination by the commissioner of insurance, are limited to transactions where the individual intermediary-agent serves in a fiduciary capacity (i.e., collects or handles premiums from clients and remits that amount of the premium due the carrier providing the coverage). This record maintenance requirement is not intended to apply to individual intermediary-agent office expense accounts, general office management records, income tax returns, or any other individual intermediary-agent financial transactions other than financial and other records directly pertaining to the individual intermediary-agent insurance transactions between clients and providers of coverage. Amendments to the rule comprehend the records of account and disclosure set forth in Ins 6.64 which are to be maintained by intermediary-brokers and do not alter the previous requirements for intermediary-agents. Some intermediary-broker records are required to be maintained for 5 years as opposed to 3 years for intermediary-agent.

History: Cr. Register, March, 1977, No. 255, eff. 4-1-77; am., Register, March, 1979, No. 279, eff. 4-1-79; cr. (5), Register, September, 1981, No. 309, eff. 10-1-81.

Ins 6.63 Regulation charge. (1) The regulation amount to be paid biennially, by each licensed individual intermediary-agent is established to be as follows:

Resident agent \$ 10.00

Non-resident agent \$ 30.00

- (2) The commissioner shall mail notification on form OCI 11-51 of the biennial regulation charge due and payable to each agent to the resident address on file with the office of the commissioner of insurance.
- (3) Biennially on or before January 1 of each even numbered year the regulation fee is billed, and shall be paid within 30 days after the mailing by the office of the commissioner of insurance of a notification that the charge is due.

Note: A copy of form OCI 11-51 can be obtained from the Office of the Commissioner of Insurance, P.O. Box 7872, Madison, WI 53707.

- (4) If payment of the biennial regulation fee is not made within 30 days after the date of billing, the license will be suspended. If payment is made during the suspension, the license will be reinstated.
- (5) The license will be revoked if payment is not made within 60 days after suspension.
- (6) Any individual intermediary-agent whose license has been revoked shall, in order to be relicensed, satisfy the examination and licensing requirements established by Ins 6.59.

History: Cr. Register, December, 1977, No. 264, eff. 1-1-78; am. (1) to (3), Register, September, 1981, No. 309, eff. 1-1-82; r. and recr. (4) to (6), Register, October, 1981, No. 310, eff. 11-1-81.