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The issuance of a policy shall not be made contingent on the acceptance 
by the applicant of unwanted or excessively br9ad coverages. 

(c) Single interest coverage may be issued only when double interest 
coverage is not obtainable. The applicant must be given the opportunity 
to procure his own insurance, and if he can procure same within 25 days 
there shall be no charge for the single interest coverage. 

( 6) POLICY FORMS. The purchaser must be furnished with a complete 
policy form clearly setting forth the nature and extent of all coverages 
and premiums charged therefor. 

(7) RATING STATEMENT. No policy written on the basis of a sub-stan­
dard risk rate schedule shall be issued unless it contains a statement 
printed in bold-faced type, preferably in a contrasting color, reading sub­
stantially as follows: This policy has been rated in accordance with a 
special rating schedule filed with the commissioner of insurance provid­
ing for higher premium charges than those generally applicable for aver­
age risks. If the coverage or premium is not satisfactory, you may secure 
your own insurance. 

History: Cr. Register, March, 1960, No. 51, elf. 4-1-60; emerg. am. (1), elf. 6-22-76; am. (1), 
Register, September, 1976, No. 249, elf. 10-1-76. 

Ins 3.23 Franchise accident and sickness insurance. (1) FRANCHISE 
GROUP HEADQUARTERS. A franchise group described in s. 600.03 (34m) 
( d), Stats., need not have its headquarters or other executive offices dom­
iciled in Wisconsin. 

(2) ACCOUNTING. All premiums paid in connecti@n with franchise acci­
dent and sickness insurance on Wisconsin residents shall be reported for 
annual statement purposes as Wisconsin business and shall be subject to 
the applicable Wisconsin premium tax. 

History: Cr. Register, May, 1964, No. 101, elf. 6-1-64; emerg. am. (1) elf. 6-22-76; am. (1), 
Register, September, 1976, No. 249, elf. 10-1-76. 

• 
Ins 3.25 Credit life insurance and credit accident and sickness insurance. 

(1) PURPOSE. The purpose of this rule is to assist in the maintenance of a 
fair and equitable credit insurance market and to protect the interest of 
debtors and the public in this state by providing a system of rate, policy 
form, and operating standards for the transaction of credit life insurance 
and credit accident and sickness insurance. This rule interprets and im­
plements, including but not limited to the following Wisconsin Statutes: 
ss. 623.06, 601.01 (3) (b) and (c), 601.42, 625.11, 625.12, 625.34, 631.20, 
632.44 (3) and 632.60. 

(2) SCOPE. (a) This rule shall apply to the transaction of credit life 
insurance defined ins. Ins 6.75 (1) (a) 1. and 632.44, Stats., and to the 
transaction of credit accident and sickn€ss insurance as defined in s. Ins 
6.75 (1) (c) 1. or (2) (c) 1. 

( b) This rule shall be the basis for review of all policy forms, certifi­
cates of insurance, notices of proposed insurance, applications for insur­
ance, endorsements and riders and the schedules of premium rates per­
taining thereto submitted for filing after the effective date of this rule. 

( c) This rule shall not apply to an individual or group life insurance 
policy or an individual or g~oup accident and sickness insurance policy 
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which insures only debtors whose indebtedness to a creditor is for a term 
in excess of 5 years. 

(3) FORMS OF CREDIT LIFE INSURANCE AND CREDIT ACCIDENT AND SICK­
NESS INSURANCE. Credit life insurance and credit accident and sickness 
insurance shall be issued only in the following forms: 

(a) Individual policies of life insurance issued to debtors on the nonre­
newable, nonconvertible term plan; 

(b) Individual policies of accident and sickness insurance issued to 
debtors on a term plan or disability benefit provisions in individual poli­
cies of credit life insurance; 

( c) Group policies of life insurance issued to creditors providing insur­
ance upon the lives of debtors on the term plan; 

( d) Group policies of accident and sickness insurance issued to credi­
tors on a term plan insuring debtors or disability benefit provisions in 
group credit life insurance policies to provide such coverage. 

(4) (a) The amount of credit life insurance on the life of any debtor 
shall at no time exceed the amount owed by him which is repayable in 
installments to the creditor. The amount of insurance on the life of any 
debtor shall at no time exceed the amount of the unpaid indebtedness. 

(b) The total amount of periodic indemnity payable by credit accident 
and sickness insurance in the event of disability, as defined in the policy, 
shall not exceed the aggregate of the periodic schedule of unpaid install­
ments of indebtedness, and the amount of each periodic indemnity shall 
not exceed the original total amount of periodic indemnity divided by 
the number of periodic installments. 

(5) TERM OF CREDIT LIFE INSURANCE AND CREDIT ACCIDENT AND SICK­
NESS INSURANCE. The term of any credit life insurance or credit accident 
and sickness insurance shall, subject to acceptance by the insurer, com­
mence on the date when the debtor becomes obligated to the creditor, 
except that, where a group policy provides coverage with respect to ex­
isting obligations, the insurance on a debtor with respect to such indebt­
edness shall commence on the effective date of the policy. Where evi­
dence of insurability is required and such evidence is furnished more than 
30 days after the date when the debtor becomes obligated to the creditor, 
the term of the insurance may commence on the date on which the insur­
ance company determines the evidence to be satisfactory, and in such 
event there shall be an appropriate refund or adjustment of any charge 
to the debtor for insurance. The term of such insurance shall not extend 
more than 15 days beyond the scheduled maturity date of indebtedness 
except when extended without additional cost to the debtor or as an inci­
dent to a deferral, refinancing or consolidation agreement. If the indebt­
edness is discharged due to renewal or refinancing prior to the scheduled 
maturity date, the insurance in force shall be terminated before any new 
insurance may be issued in connection with the renewed or refinanced 
indebtedness. In any renewal or refinancing of the indebtedness the effec­
tive date of the coverage as respects any policy provision shall be deemed 
to be the first date on which the debtor became insured under the policy 
covering the indebtedness which was renewed or refinanced, but this does 
not apply to an amount of indebtedness, exclusive of refinancing charges, 
in excess of the original indebtedness outstanding at the time of refinanc­
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ing. In all cases of termination prior to scheduled maturity, a refund shall 
be paid or credited as provided in sub. (8). 

(6) PROVISIONS OF POLICIES AND CERTIFICATES OF INSURANCE; DISCLO­
SURE TO DEBTORS. (a) All credit life insurance and credit accident and 
sickness insurance shall be evidenced by an individual policy, or in the 
case of group insurance by a certificate of insurance, which individual 
policy or group certificate of insurance shall be delivered to the debtor. 

(b) Each individual policy or group certificate of credit life insurance 
and/or credit accident and sickness insurance shall, in addition to other 
requirements of law set forth: 

1. The name and home office.address of the insurer, 

2. The name or names of the debtor or in the case of a certificate under 
a group policy, the identity by name or otherwise of the debtor, 

3. The premium or amount of payment, if any, by the debtor sepa­
rately for credit life insurance and credit accident and sickness insurance, 

4. A description of the coverage including the amount and term 
thereof, and any exceptions, limitations and restrictions, 

5. A provision that the benefits shall be paid to the creditor to reduce 
or extinguish the unpaid indebtedness and, wherever the amount of in­
surance may exceed the unpaid indebtedness, that any such excess shall 
be payable to a beneficiary, other than the creditor, named by the debtor 
or to his estate, and 

6. A provision that the insurance on any debtor will be cancelled and 
refund made if his indebtedness is terminated through prepayment or 
otherwise. 

( c) The individual policy or group certificate of insurance shall be de­
livered to the insured debtor at the time the indebtedness is incurred 
except as hereinafter provided. 

( d) If the individual policy or group certificate of insurance is not de­
livered to the debtor at the time the indebtedness is incurred, a copy of 
the application for such policy or a notice of proposed insurance shall; 

1. Be delivered to the debtor at the time such indebtedness is incurred, 

2. Be signed by the debtor, 

3. Set forth the name and home office address of the insurer, 

4. Set forth the name or names of the debtor, 

5. Set forth the premium or amount of payment by the debtor, if any, 
separately for credit life insurance and credit accident and sickness insur­
ance, and 

6. Set forth the amount, term and a brief description of the coverage 
provided including all exclusions and exceptions. 

(dm) The copy of the application for, or notice of proposed insurance, 
shall also refer exclusively to insurance coverage, and shall be separate 
and apart from the loan, sale or other credit statement of account, instru­
ment or agreement, unless the information required by this subsection is 
prominently set forth therein. Upon acceptance of the insurance by the 
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insurer and within 30 days of the date upon which the indebtedness is 
incurred, the insurer shall cause the individual policy or group certifi­
cates of insurance to be delivered to the debtor. The application or notice 
of proposed insurance shall state that upon acceptance by the insurer, 
the insurance shall become effective as provided in sub. (5). 

( e) If the named insurer does not accept the risk, then and in such 
event the debtor shall receive a policy or certificate of insurance setting 
forth the name and home office address of the substituted insurer, if any, 
and the information required by par. (b), and if the amount of premium 
is less than that set forth in the notice of proposed insurance an appropri­
ate refund shall be made. 

(f) If a contract of insurance provides for a limitation of the amount of 
coverage related to insurance provided by other contracts in force on the 
debtor, such limitation shall be explained to the debtor at the time the 
indebtedness is incurred and shall be acknowledged in writing by him in 
an instrument separate from the individual policy or group certificate. 
Alternatively, the individual policy or group certificate shall include a 
brief description or separate statement referring to the limitation of 
amount of coverage. The brief description or separate statement, if used 
to meet the foregoing requirement, shall be printed on the first page of 
the individual policy or group certificate in type more prominent than 
that used in the text of the policy or certificate and shall clearly indicate 
the limitation. 

(g) If a contract of insurance provides for a limitation of coverage re­
lated to the age of the debtor, such limitation shall be explained to the 
debtor at the time the indebtedness is incurred and shall be acknowl­
edged in writing by him in an instrument separate from the individual 
policy or group certificate. Alternatively, the individual policy or group 
certificate shall include a brief description or separate statement refer­
ring to the age limitation. The brief description or separate statement, if 
used to meet the foregoing requirement, shall be printed on the first page 
of the individual policy or group certificate in type more prominent than 
that used.in the text of the policy or certificate and shall clearly indicate 
the limitation. 

(h) Conspicuous notice of the debtor's right to return the policy, certif­
icate of insurance or notice of proposed insurance within 10 days of incur­
ring the indebtedness and to receive a refund of any premium paid if he is 
not satisfied with the insurance for any reason, as required bys. 424.203 
( 4), Stats., shall be furnished with or in the policy, certificate or notice of 
proposed insurance. 

(i) Charges or premiums for credit life insurance or credit accident and 
sickness insurance may only be collected from debtors if the disclosure 
and authorization requirements of s. 422.202 ( 1) (b ), Stats., are met. If 2 
debtors are to be insured for credit life insurance each must receive the 
disclosure information and each must request credit life insurance cover­
age. 

(7) FILING OF POLICY FORMS. (a) All policy forms, certificates of insur­
ance, notices of proposed insurance, applications for insurance, endorse­
ments and riders to be delivered or issued for delivery in this state and 
the schedules of premium rates pertaining thereto shall be filed with the 
commissioner. In the case of credit transactions covered under a group 
policy issued in another state or jurisdiction, the insurer shall file for ap-
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proval only the group certificate and notice of proposed insurance to be 
used in this state, and the premium rates to be used in connection with 
such certificate and notice. 

(b) The commissioner shall within 30 days after tlie filing of any such 
policy, certificate of insurance, notice of proposed insurance, application 
for insurance, endorsement or rider, disapprove any such form if the ben­
efits provided therein are not reasonable in relation to the premium 
charge, or if it contains provisions which are unjust, unfair, inequitable, 
misleading, deceptive or encourage misrepresentation of the coverage, or 
are contrary to any law or of any administrative rule. 

( c) If the commissioner notifies the insurer that the form is disap­
proved, it may not issue or use. such form. Such notice shall specify the 
reason for the disapproval and state that a hearing will be granted within 
20 days after request in writing by the insurer. No such policy, certificate 
of insurance, notice of proposed insurance, nor any application, endorse­
ment or rider, shall be issued or used until the expiration of 30 days after 
it has been so filed, unless the commissioner shall give his prior written 
approval thereto. 

(d) The commissioner may, at any time after a hearing held not less 
than 20 days after written notice to the insurer, withdraw his approval of 
any such form on any ground set forth in par. (b). The written notice of 
such hearing shall state the reason for the proposed withdrawal. 

( e) The insurer may not issue such forms or use them after the effective 
dated such withdrawal. 

(8) PREMIUMS AND REFUNDS. (a) Any insurer may revise its schedules 
of premium rates from time to time, and shall file such revised schedules 
with the commissioner. No insurer shall issue any credit life insurance 
policy or credit accident and sickness insurance policy for which the pre­
mium rate differs from that determined by the schedules of such insurer 
as then on file. 

(b) The amount charged to a debtor for any credit life or credit acci­
dent and sickness insurance shall not exceed the premiums charged by 
the insurer, as computed at the time the charge to the debtor is deter­
mined. 

(c) If a creditor requires a debtor to make any payment for credit life 
insurance or credit accident and sickness insurance and an individual 
policy or group certificate of insurance is not issued, the creditor shall 
immediately give written notice to such debtor and shall promptly make 
an appropriate credit to the account. 

(d) A creditor may not remit and an insurer may not collect on a 
monthly outstanding balance basis if the insurance charge or premium is 
included as part of the outstanding indebtedness. This means that where 
the creditor adds identifiable insurance charges or premiums for credit 
insurance to the total amount of indebtedness, and any direct or indirect 
finance, carrying, credit or service charge is made to the debtor in con­
nection with such insurance charge, the creditor must remit and the in­
surer shall collect on a single premium basis only. 

( e) Dividends on participating individual policies of credit insurance 
shall be payable to the individual insureds. Payment of such dividends 
may be deferred until such time as the policy is terminated. 
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(f) Each individual policy, or group certificate shall provide that in the 
event of termination of the insurance prior to the scheduled maturity 
date of the indebtedness, any refund of an amount paid by the debtor for 
insurance shall be paid or credited promptly to the person entitled 
thereto; provided, however, that the premium schedule may prescribe a 
minimum refund of $1 and no refund of a lesser amount need be made . 
The sum of the refunds due on all credit life insurance or credit accident 
and sickness insurance policies being terminated in connection with the 
indebtedness and all other credits due to the customer under chs. 421 to 
428, Stats., shall be used to determine if a refund is due. 

(g) Schedules for computing refunds in event of cancellation of credit 
insurance prior to the scheduled maturity date of the indebtedness must 
meet the following minimum r.equirements: 

1. The refund of premium, in the case of credit insurance for which 
premiums are payable other than by a single premium, and in the case of 
level term credit life insurance, shall be equal to the pro-rata unearned 
gross premium. In the case of credit insurance paid by a single premium 
the refund shall be equal to the amount computed by the "sum of digits" 
formula commonly known as the "Rule of 78". 

2. The refund of the amount charged the debtor for insurance, in the 
case of credit insurance for which said amount is charged other than in 
single sum, and in the case of level term credit life insurance, shall be 
equal to the pro-rata unearned gross amount charged or to be charged. In 
the case of credit insurance for which the whole amount is charged in a 
single sum the refund shall be equal to the amount computed by the 
"sum of digits" formula commonly known as the "Rule of 78". 

3. Refunds shall be based upon the number of full months prepaid from 
the maturity date of the policy, counting a fractional month of 16 days or 
more as a full month. 

4. Upon termination of indebtedness repayable in a single sum prior to 
the scheduled maturity date, the refund shall be computed from the date 
of termination to the maturity date. If less than 15 days of a loan month 
has been earned, no charge may be made for that loan month, but if 15 
days or more, a full month may be charged. 

(h) If an insured indebtedness is transferred to another creditor any 
group credit life insurance or group credit accident and sickness insur­
ance issued on that indebtedness may be continued, but the creditor poli­
cyholder must advise the insurer of each transfer within 30 days of its 
effective date. 

(9) CLAIMS AND AUDIT PROCEDURES. (a) All claims shall be promptly 
reported to the insurer or its designated claim representative, and the 
insurer shall maintain adequate claim files. All claims shall be settled as 
soon as possible and in accordance with the terms of the insurance con­
tract. 

(b) All claims shall be paid either by draft drawn upon the insurer or 
by check of the insurer to the order of the claimant to whom payment of 
the claim is due pursuant to the policy provisions, or upon direction of 
such claimant to one specified. 

( c) No plan or arrangement shall be used whereby any person, firm or 
corporation other than the insurer or its designated claim representative 
Register, December, 1984, No. 348 
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shall be authorized to settle or adjust claims. The creditor shall not be 
designated as claim representative for the insurer in adjusting claims; 
provided, that a group policyholder may, by arrangement with the group 
insurer, draw drafts or checks in payment of claims due to the group 
policyholder subject to audit and review by the insurer. However, noth­
ing herein shall be construed to relieve the insurer of the responsibility 
for proper settlement, adjustment and payment of all claims in accord­
ance with the terms of the insurance contract and this ruling. 

( d) The insurer must make a good faith examination of each credit 
insurance account in the first year of the account and annually there­
after. The examination shall be made to assure that the creditor is con­
ducting the insurance program in compliance with the credit insurance 
policy provisions, the insurer's administrative instructions furnished the 
creditor to implement the insurance program, and with the applicable 
credit insurance law and regulation of Wisconsin. The examination must 
include verification of the accuracy of the computation of premium pay­
ments, insurance charges made to debtors, and claim payments reported 
to the insurer by the creditor. The insurer will maintain records of exami­
nations for 2 years, and such records will be subject to call and review by 
the commissioner. 

(10) CHOICE OF INSURER. When credit life insurance or credit accident 
and sickness insurance is required as additional security for any indebt­
edness, the debtor shall, upon request to the creditor, have the option of 
furnishing the required amount of insurance through existing policies of 
insurance owned or controlled by him or of procuring and furnishing the 
required coverage through any insurer authorized to transact an insur­
ance business within this state. 

(11) CREDIT INSURANCE PREMIUM RATE FILINGS. (a) Every credit in­
surer shall file with the commissioner every premium rate schedule appli­
cable to credit insurance in this state, together with the premium, loss, 
and expense experience on which the insurer bases the proposed premium 
rate, at least 30 days before the proposed effective date. 

(b) In the absence of credible mortality or morbidity experience, the 
benefits provided under a credit insurance form shall be deemed not to be 
unreasonable in relation to the premium rate charged if the premium 
rates filed do not exceed the prima facie premium rate standards set forth 
in subs. (12) and (13) and if the forms provide benefits which are no more 
restrictive than the coverage standards enumerated. · 

( c) Nothing herein shall preclude an insurer from requesting approval 
of the commissioner for premium rates higher or lower than the prima 
facie rate standards on the basis of the mortality or morbidity rate actu-
ally experienced or anticipated. · 

( d) If an insurer proposes to provide coverage which is different from 
coverage described in subs. (12) and (13), the insurer must demonstrate 
to the commissioner's satisfaction that the premium rate schedule appli­
cable for the coverage will produce loss ratios at least as great as those 
contemplated in the premium rate standards set forth or can reasonably 
be expected to produce such loss ratios. · 

( e) Where no debtor is paying an identifiable charge for any part of the . 
premium for credit insurance the rates shall be such reasonable rates as 
are approved b.Y the commissioner. 
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(12) PRIMA FACIE CREDIT LIFE INSURANCE PREMIUM RATE STANDARDS. 
(a) The basic permissible loss ratio for credit life insurance shall be not 
less than 50%. 

(b) The rate standard for premiums payable on the basis of monthly 
outstanding balance is $0.616 per $1,000 of insurance. The rates applica­
ble to other methods of payment shall be actuarially equivalent. 

( c) The rate standard for premiums payable on single premium de­
creasing term credit life insurance shall be computed according to the 
following formula: 

Pn = .\.!!l_Q .40 
12 

Where Pn = Single premium rate per $100 of initial insured indebt­
edness repayable in n equal monthly instalments 

n = Original repayment period, in months 

(d) The rate standard for premiums payable on single premium level 
term credit life insurance shall be computed according to the following 
formula: 

Pn = t~) 0.616 

Where Pn = Single premium rate per $100 of level insured indebted­
ness repayable in n months 

n = Original term of level indebtedness in months 

( e) The rate standards for credit life insurance providing coverage on 2 
lives with respect to a single indebtedness shall be 150% of the rate stan­
dard provided in pars. (b), (c), and (d), above. 

(f) As an alternative to pars. (b), (c), or (d) above, where age data 
applicable to the insured debtors is available, rate standards may be 
based on such data, under a plan approved by the commissioner. 

(g) The rate standards set forth herein shall be applicable for a plan of 
death benefits with or without requirements for evidence of insurability 
which contains: 

1. No exclusions other than suicide within one year of the incurral of 
the indebtedness, and 

2. No age restrictions, or only age restrictions making ineligible for 
coverage: 

a. Debtors less than age 18 at the time the indebtedness is incurred, or 

b. Debtors age 65 or over at the time the indebtedness is incurred, or 

c. Debtors who will have attained age 66 or over on the maturity date 
of the indebtedness. 

(h) The rate standards set forth in this subsection shall not be applica­
ble for a plan of death benefits wherein the amount of credit life insurance 
on the life of any debtor at any time exceeds $10,000, or for which the 
term of the inde.btedness insured exceeds 5 years. 
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(13) PRIMA FACIE MAXIMUM CREDIT ACCIDENT AND SICKNESS INSUR­
ANCE PREMIUM RATE STANDARDS. (a) If premiums are payable in one sum 
(single premium) for coverage for the entire duration of indebtedness, 
the premium rate standards for $100 of initial amount of insured indebt­
edness repayable in equal monthly instalments are shown below. Pre­
mium rate standards for other benefit plans and for indebtedness repay­
able in instalments other than as shown shall be actuarially consistent 
with the indicated rate standards, but no individual policy of credit acci­
dent and sickness insurance or group policy of credit accident and sick­
ness insurance shall be delivered or issued for delivery if the benefits are 
payable after a waiting period of less than 14 days, regardless of whether 
the payment of benefits are retroactive to the first day of disability. 

Original Number 
of Equal Monthly 

Instalments 

.6 
12 
18 
24 
30 
36 
42 
48 
54 
60 

Basic permissable loss 
ratio 

Original Number 
of Equal Monthly 

Instalments 

·6 
12 
18 
24 
30 
36 
42 
48 
54 
60 

Basic permissible loss 
ratio 

14 days 
Non-Retroactive Elimination Period 

$1.39 
1.95 
2.27 
2.52 
2.74 
2.93 
3.10 
3.26 
3.41 
3.55 
59% 

14 Days 
Retroactive Waiting Period 

$1.74 
2.23 
2.56 
2.81 
3.02 
3.21 
3.39 
3.55 
3.70 
3.84 
60% 

30 Days 

$ .69 
1.18 
1.50 
1.69 
1.82 
1.93 
2.03 
2.12 
2.21 
2.29 
52% 

30 Days 

$1.19 
1.68 
1.89 
2.04 
2.17 
2.29 
2.39 
2.48 
2.57 
2.65 
57% 

(b) The rate standards applicable for premiums payable on the basis of 
monthly outstanding balances shall be computed under the formula de­
scribed in subd. 1 except as provided in subd. 2: 

1. For credit accident and sickness insurance benefit plans issued on an 
individual or a group basis the premiums payable shall be computed as 
follows: 

Where n 

pn 

pn= 20 Pn 
n + 1 

Original repayment period, in months 

The Monthly Outstanding Balance Premium Rate per 
$1,000 for an indebtedness repayable in equal monthly 
instalments with an original repayment period of n 
months 
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Pn The Single Premium Rate per $100 initial insured 
indebtedness with an original repayment period of n 
months, from par. (a). 

The outstanding balance premium rate for an indebtedness with a 
given original repayment period is applicable to the outstanding balance 
of this indebtedness at each month during the period, regardless of the 
remaining repayment period. 

2. For credit accident and sickness insurance benefit plans issued on a 
group basis, a composite monthly outstanding balance premium rate 
schedule may be used in lieu of the rate procedure described in subd. 1 for 
each benefit plan, to apply to all outstanding balances each month under 
such plan, irrespective of the type or duration of loan making up such 
outstanding balances. Such composite monthly outstanding balance pre­
mium rate schedule will be approved for use only if the actuarial consis­
tency of such composite rate with the prima facie maximum credit acci­
dent and sickness insurance premium rate standards and basic 
permissible loss ratios in par. (a) is established, and the reasons for this 
use in lieu of the rate standard in subd. 1 are documented. 

3. The rate deviation procedure outlined in sub. (14) shall be applied 
separately to any business written under subd. 2 above, and the insurer 
shall maintain all pertinent data on such business separately. 

( c) The rate standards set forth herein shall be applicable for a plan of 
benefits which contains: 

1. No provision excluding or denying a claim for disability resulting 
from pre-existing conditions except for those conditions which mani­
fested themselves to the insured debtor by requiring medical diagnosis or 
treatment or would have caused a reasonably prudent person to have 
sought the medical diagnosis or treatment, within 6 months preceding 
the effective date of the debtor's coverage and which caused loss within 
the 6 months following the effective date of coverage; provided, however, 
that disability commencing thereafter resulting from such condition 
shall be covered. 

2. No other provision which excludes or restricts liability in the event 
of disability caused in a certain specified manner except that it may con­
tain provisions excluding or restricting coverage in the event of preg­
nancy, intentionally self-inflicted injuries, foreign travel or residence, 
flight in non-scheduled aircraft, war or military service. 

3. No age restrictions, or only age restrictions making ineligible for 
coverage: 

a. Debtors less than age 18 at the time the indebtedness is incurred, or 

b. Debtors age 65 or over at the time the indebtedness is incurred, or 

c. Debtors who will have attained age 66 or over on the maturity date 
of the indebtedness. 

4. Provision for a daily benefit equal in amount to the initial indebted­
ness divided by the number of days in the period during which the in­
debtedness is scheduled to be repaid in equal monthly instalments. 

5. Provides for benefits to be payable in the event of disability result­
ing from bodily injury or sickness, which disability commences while the 
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debtor is insured hereunder and prevents the insured debtor from engag­
ing in any gainful occupation for which he is reasonably qualified by rea­
son of education, training or experience, except that during the initial 12 
months of disability the inability of the insured to engage in his own 
occupation shall be the only test. 

Note: This is not intended to preclude calculation of the daily benefit based on a 30 day 
month. 

( d) The rate standards set forth in this subsection shall not apply for a 
plan of benefits wherein the aggregate of the periodic schedule of unpaid 
installments of indebtedness payable by credit accident and sickness in­
surance exceeds $10,000 or for which the term of the indebtedness in­
sured, exceeds 5 years. 

(14) DEVIATION PROCEDURE AND CASE RATE DETERMINATION. (a) For 
cases of less than $50,000 earned premiums (prima facie basis) the case 
rates shall be the prima facie rates. For cases of $50,000 or greater earned 
premiums (prima facie basis) the actual case ratio shall be calculated as 
(actual ratio of claims incurred to premiums earned) divided by the basic 
permissible loss ratio shown in sub. (12) or (13). If the actual case ratio is 
within the acceptance range shown in the following credibility table, the 
case rates will be the prima facie rates. If the actual case ratio is outside 
the acceptance range, the adjusted case ratio will be calculated by ad­
justing the actual case ratio toward 100% by addition or subtraction of 
the "adjustment constant'', also shown in the credibility table. 

CREDIBILITY TABLE 
Earned Premium (Prima Facie Basis) 

Size Small Loans or 
Group Credit Unions 

CREDIT LIFE 

Banks or 
Sales Finance 

I 50,000-125,000 50,000- 200,000 
II 125,000-300,000 200,000- 500,000 

III 300,000-650,000 500,000-l,OOO,OOO 
IV 650,000 or over 1,000,000 or over 

CREDIT ACCIDENT AND SICKNESS 
I 50,000- 75,000 50,000- 100,000 

II 75,000-125,000 100,000- 175,000 
III 125,000-250,000 175,000- 350,000 
IV 250,000 or over 350,000 or over 

Acceptance Adjustment 
Range Constant 

0.80-1.20 0.15 
0.85-1.15 0.10 
0.85-1.15 0.05 
0.90-1.10 0.00 

0.80-1.20 0.15 
0.85-1.15 0.10 
0.85-1.15 0.05 
0.90-1.10 0.00 

(b) If the adjusted case ratio exceeds 1.00, the case rate is the product 
of deviation factor f, and the prima facie rate shown in sub. (12) or (13), 
where 

f= [(Adjusted case ratio---1) x 1.25 x Basic Permissible Loss Ratio] 
+ 1 

( c) If the adjusted case ratio for credit accident and sickness insurance 
is less than 1.00, but greater than the limits specified in the following 
table, the case rates are the product of the deviation factor g, and the 
prima facie rates in sub. (13), where 

g= 1- [(1-adjusted case ratio) x 1.25 x Basic Permissible Loss Ratio] 
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Plan of Benefit Limit 
14 days Retroactive Elimination Period --------------------------- .55 
14 days Non-Retroactive Elimination Period----------------------- .59 
30 days Retroactive Elimination Period --------------------------- .67 
30 days Non-Retroactive Elimination Period--------------------- .89 

Limit = .5 (1-1.25 x Basic Permissible Loss Ratio) ,A 
Basic Permissible Loss Ratio (1-.5 x 1.25) W 

(Rounded down) 

( d) If the adjusted case ratio for credit accident and sickness insurance 
is less than 1.00, and less than or equal to the limit specified in the above 
table, the case rates are the product of the deviation factor h, and the 
prima facie rate in sub. (13) where · 

h =(Adjusted Case Ratio x Basic Permissible Loss Ratio x 2) 

(e) If the adjusted case ratio for credit life insurance is less than 1.00, 
the case rate is the product of the deviation factor h and the prima facie 
rate in subsection (12) where 

h= (Adjusted Case Ratio) 

(f) If the case rate determined by the above procedures is within 5¢ of 
the existing single premium rate per $100 per year, the existing rate will 
be the case rate. 

(g) The case rate as determined shall continue for a period equal to the 
experience period on which it was based. Where the case rate applies to a 
group of accounts, the rate will contiune to apply to every account which 
was grouped for determination of the rate and to only those accounts. 
The insurer shall annually determine and submit for filing under sub. (8) 
(a) the applicable case rate calculated as prescribed herein. 

(h) As used in this rule the following words mean: 

1. Account-The aggregate credit life or credit accident and sickness 
coverage for a single plan of benefits and class of business written 
through a single creditor by the insurer, whether coverage is written on a 
group or individual policy basis. 

2. Class of business-Means any of the following: 

a. Credit unions 

b. Commercial and savings banks 

c. Other cash loans (small loans, industrial bank loans, etc.) 

d. Other sales finance (discount transactions, etc.) 

3. Experience year-A 12-month period ending on the policy anniver­
sary or renewal date or on a calendar year-end. Experience for a given 
account or permitted combinations of accounts shall be reported consis­
tently from year to year. 

4. Case-a. An account, if the earned premium for the account based 
upon the prima facie premium rates promulgated in sub. (12) or (13) 
during the most recent 3 experience years has been $50,000 or more. If 
the rates applicable to the account are not at the prima facie level or at a 
uniform percentage of the prima facie rates, the amount of premium 
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which would have been earned at the prima facie rates shall be approxi­
mated by a reasonable method filed with the experience report. 

b. A combination of all the insurer's accounts of the same plan of bene­
fits and class of business, excluding all accounts which meet the criterion 
for inclusion under a. immediately preceding. 

5. Experience period-The last 3 experience years unless a lower 
number of full years produces an earned premium in size group IV as 
shown in the credibility table. 

(j) In determining the case ratios in this subsection for application of 
the deviation formula, the following rules shall be applied: 

1. If the coverage for a single creditor which qualifies for separate con­
sideration under case definition a. above has been in force with the in­
surer for less than the experience period, the claim experience of the cred­
itor while covered by any prior insurer shall be included to the extent 
necessary in determining the appropriate case ratios. 

2. The case ratios shall be based wholly or partially on the experience 
of the insurer on the case whithin the state, or a group of states or on the 
total United States experience, so long as the insurer reports and files 
consistently for that case thereafter. An account which qualifies for sepa­
rate treatment as a case but which provides coverage on a multi-state 
basis, may be considered in its entirety if the insurer so chooses excluding 
experience used for deviation purposes in any state, states or group of 
states. 

(15) ACCOUNTING AND UNDERWRITING EXPERIENCE. Each insurer shall 
maintain records of premiums, losses and expenses of Wisconsin business 
separately for credit life insurance and credit accident and sickness insur­
ance on a calendar year basis or on a policy year basis. Such underwriting 
experience shall be maintained for each form of policy, creditor, and class 
of creditor. This information shall be subject to call annually by the com­
missioner. 

(16) FINANCIAL STATEMENT MINIMUM RESERVES. (a) Each insurer shall 
show, as a liability in any financial statement or report required under s. 
601.42, Stats., its policy or unearned premium reserve in an amount not 
less than as computed in pars. (b), (c) and (d). If a credit insurance pol­
icy provides any combination of life insurance benefits, disability bene­
fits and accident and sickness insurance benefits, a reserve must be es­
tablished separately for the life insurance benefits, for the disability 
benefits and for the accident and sickness insurance benefits. 

(b) The reserve for individual credit life insurance policies shall be not 
less than 130% of the Commissioner's 1958 Standard Ordinary Mortal­
ity Table at 3%% annual interest. 

(c) The reserve for group credit life insurance policies shall be not less 
than 130% of the Commissioner's 1960 Standard Group Mortality Table 
at 3%% annual interest. 

( d) The reserve for credit accident and sickness insurance policies and 
for disability benefits in credit life insurance policies shall be not less than 
the greater of 130% of the Commissioner's 1964 Disability Table at 
3%% annual interest or the pro rata unearned premium reserve. 
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( 17) SUBMISSION OF POLICY FORMS AND RATE SCHEDULES IN USE. Each 
insurer subject to this rule shall file with the commissioner on or before 
October l, 1972, a listing of all policy forms, certificates of insurance, 
notices of proposed insurance, applications for insurance, endorsements 
and riders and the schedules of premium rates pertaining thereto which 
have been heretofore approved and which the insurer intends to issue or 
use in Wisconsin after the effective date of this rule. · 

(18) PENALTY. Violations of this rule shall subject the insurer or agent 
to s. 601.64, Stats. 

Note: It is the intent of this rule that it shall apply prospectively to the review for approval 
of policy and other forms of credit life and credit accident and sickness insurance and to the 
rates applicable to such forms that are submitted for filing after the effective date. Individual 
hearings will be held to consider whether credit life and credit accident and sickness insurance 
contract forms and rate levels presently in use provide benefits that are reasonable in relation 
to premium charges. 

History: Cr. Register, August, 1972, No. 200, eff. 9-1-72; er. (2) (c), (6) (h) and (8) (h); am. 
(4) (b), (5), (8) (f), (12), (13) (a), (14) (e), and r. (17) (a), Register, February, 1973, No. 206, 
eff. 3-1-73; am. (4), (5), (6) (a) 6, (6) (h), (8) (f), (12) (g) 2, (13) (c) 3, (14) (c) and (d) and er. 
(6) (i) and (13) (c) 5, Register, April, 1975, No. 232, eff. 5-1-75; am. (13) (b), Register, June, 
1975, No. 234, eff. 7-1-75; emerg. am. (1) and (2), eff. 6-22-76; am. (1) and (2), Register, Sep­
tember, 1976, No. 249, eff. 10-1-76; am. (4) and (11) (d), er. (12) (h) and (13) (d), Register, 
March, 1977, No. 255, eff. 4-1-77; am. (1), (2) and (14) (c), Register, March, 1979, No. 279, 
eff. 4-1-79; am. (12) (b) to (e), Register, September, 1981, No. 309, eff.10-1-81; r. (19) under s. 
13.93 (2m) (b) 16, Stats., Register, December, 1984, No. 348; reprinted to correct printing 
errors in (13) (b), (14) (c) and (f), Register, June, 1986, No. 366. 

Ins 3.26 Unfair trade practices in credit life and credit accident and sick­
ness insurance. (1) PURPOSE. The purpose of this rule is to assist in the 
maintenance of a fair and equitable credit life insurance and credit acci­
dent and sickness insurance market. This rule interprets, including but 
not limited to, the following Wisconsin Statutes: 601.04; 601.01 (3) (a), 
(b), (c), (g) and (h); 601.41 (1), (2) and (3) and ch. 628. 

(2) SCOPE. This rule shall apply to the transaction of credit life insur­
ance as defined in s. Ins 6.75 (1) (a) 1. and 632.44 (3), Stats., and the 
transaction of credit accident and sickness insurance as defined in s. Ins 
6.75 (1) (c) 1. or (2) (c) 1. 

(3) UNFAIR TRADE PRACTICES DEFINED. The following acts, whether 
done directly or indirectly, in consideration of or in connection with a 
policy issued or proposed to be issued are defined to be prohibited unfair 
trade practices in the transaction of insurance described in sub. (2) 
above: 

(a) The offer or grant by an insurer of any special favor or advantage, 
or any valuable consideration or inducement not set out in the insurance 
contract. The payment of agents' commissions, reported annually in 
Schedule 24S, shall not be a violation of this paragraph but the acts cited 
in pars. (b), (c), (d), (e) and (f) may not in any way be construed as 
agents' commissions. 

(b) The offer to deposit or the deposit with a bank or other financial 
institution, money or securities of the insurer or of any affiliate of the 
insurer with the design or intent that the deposit offset or take the place 
of a deposit of money or securities which otherwise would be required of 
the creditor by such bank or financial institution as a compensating bal­
ance or offsetting deposit for a loan or other advancement. 

( c) The deposit with a bank or other :financial institution of money or 
securities without interest or at a lesser rate of interest than is currently 
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