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include the date, time of day, the number of hours and the location where 
the owner or employe completed the training. 

Note: A copy of the firearms training guide entitled "Demonstrate Care and Use of Fire­
arms" as approved by the Wisconsin Law Enforcement Standards Board is available for in­
spection at the Bureau of Direct Licensing and Real Estate, 1400 East Washington Avenue, 
Room 281, Madison, WI. 

(3) A certificate of proficiency shall be valid for one year. An owner or 
employe shall obtain a new certificate of proficiency by satisfying the 
requirements in subs. (1) and (2), except that the training course shall 
consist of a 6-hour refresher course which more briefly covers the re­
quired course contents described in s. RL 34.03. 

(4) An owner or employe who has not obtained a certificate of profi­
ciency under this section at any time during the 5 years preceding the 
issuance of a permit by the department pursuant to s. RL 34.015 shall 
obtain a new certificate by successfully completing the full 36-hour 
course, as required in s. RL 34.03. 

History: Cr. Register, October, 1988, No. 394, elf. 11-1-88; r. and recr. Register, December, 
1994, No. 468, elf. 1-1-95. 

RL 34.03 Training requirements for carrying a firearm. (1) GENERAL RE­
QUIREMENT. Except as provided in sub. (2), completion of a training pro­
gram of not less than 36 hours consisting of the following is required as a 
prerequisite for obtaining an initial certificate of proficiency to carry a 
firearm under s. RL 34.02. The training program shall consist of: 

(a) Instruction in the dangers relating to the use of the firearm, safety 
rules, care and cleaning of the firearm. 

(b) Training in the care, handling and use of the firearm, provided in 
accordance with the current firearms training guide which the Wisconsin 
law enforcement standards board has approved for training Wisconsin 
law enforcement officers. When the Wisconsin law enforcement stan­
dards board has approved a new edition of the training guide to replace 
an older edition, training which is received after the date of which a new 
edition is approved may be based on the older edition for a period not to 
exceed 12 months after approval of the new edition by the board. 

Note: A copy of the firearms training guide entitled "Demonstrate Care and Use of Fire­
arms" as approved by the Wisconsin Law Enforcement Standards Board is available for in­
spection at the Bureau of Direct Licensing and Real Estate, 1400 East Washington Avenue, 
Room 281, Madison, WI. 

( c) Instruction in the legal use of firearms under the provisions of the 
Wisconsin criminal code and relevant court decisions. 

(d) A presentation stressing the ethical and moral considerations 
which should be taken into account by any person who uses a firearm. 

(e) A review of the law regarding lawful detentions. 

(f) A review of the law on criminal and civil liability for intentional 
and negligent acts. 

(2) EQUIVALENT TRAINING. A person who had received at lea.st 30 
hours of training, as described in sub. (1), except that the training did 
not include the provisions of Wisconsin law, as in sub. (1) (b) and (c), 
shall complete the 6-hour refresher course under s. RL 34.02 (3) to satisfy 
sub. (1), provided the person was authorized by another licensing juris-
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diction or governmental agency to carry a firearm while on duty as a 
peace officer, a person who stands watch for security purposes or as a 
private detective at any time during the 5 years preceding application for 
a permit under s. RL 34.015. 

History: Cr. Register, October, 1988, No. 394, eff. 11-1-88; rand recr. Register, December, 
1994, No. 468, eff. 1-1-95. 

RL 34.04 Approval as a firearms proficiency certifier. ( 1) Before certifying 
the proficiency of an owner or employe to carry a firearm pursuant to s. 
RL 34.02, an individual shall obtain the approval of the department by 
submitting an application to the department on a form prepared by the 
department. 

(2) An applicant for approval as an approved firearms certifier shall at 
the time of application and at all times thereafter meet all of the follow­
ing qualifications: 

(a) The individual shall be currently approved as a firearms instructor 
by the training and standards bureau in the Wisconsin department of 
justice or certified as a firearms instructor by the national rifle 
association. 

(b) Notwithstanding ss.111.321, 111.322and 111.335, Stats., the indi­
vidual shall not have been convicted of a felony and is not prohibited 
from possessing a firearm under s. 941.29, Stats. 

(c) The individual has, subject toss. 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, 
Stats., not been charged with a crime or convicted of a misdemeanor. 

( 3) An individual whom the department had determined to be quali­
fied as a firearms proficiency certifier under this section and who was so 
qualified on the effective date of this subsection shall be granted an addi­
tional 6 months from this date to satisfy sub. (2) (a) and the individual 
shall satisfy sub. (2) (a) by the end of the 6 month period or the individ­
ual shall at the end of the 6 months no longer be qualified to be a firearms 
proficiency certifier. 

Note: The Application For Approval of Firearms Proficiency Certifier, Form #1912, may 
be obtained from the Department of Regulation and Licensing, Bureau of Direct Licensing 
and Real Estate, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 281, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wis­
consin 53708. 

History: Cr. Register, October, 1988, No. 394, eff. 11-1-88; r. and recr. Register, December, 
1994, No. 468, eff. 1-1-95. 

RL 34.05 Agency firearms policy and laws. (1) Each agency shall file with 
the department a copy of its firearms policy before any of its owners or 
employes may receive a permit from the department pursuant to s. RL 
34.015 and thereafter within 30 days after any substantial changes to it. 

(2) Each agency shall maintain a current copy of ss. 939.48 and 939.49, 
Stats., relating to the use of force, and shall make these accessible to its 
owners and employes. 

History: Cr. Register, October, 1988, No. 394, eff. 11-1-88; am. Register, December, 1994, 
No. 468, eff. 1-1-95. 

RL 34.06 Reporting the discharge of a firearm. If any owner or employe 
of an agency is responsible for the accidental or intentional discharge of 
any firearm other than in target practice, competition, or licensed hunt­
ing, or the accidental or intentional use of deadly force by any means, the 
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owner or employe shall immediately after the incident notify the local 
law enforcement agency where the incident took place and inform his or 
her supervisor of the incident. The supervisor or another person assigned 
by the agency shall investigate the incident as soon as possible, and shall 
make a signed, written report of the incident, identifying all persons in­
volved in the incident, the investigator, and the agency, and fully 
describing the circumstances of the incident. As soon as possible after the 
investigation is completed, a copy of the report shall be filed wth the 
department and with the local law enforcement agency. 

History: Cr. Register, October, 1988, No. 394, eff. 11-1-88; am. Register, December, 1994, 
No. 468, eff. 1-1-95. 

RL 34.07 Other dangerous weapons. An owner or employe of an agency 
may only be armed with a dangerous weapon other than a firearm, which 
he or she, based on training, is proficient in handling. The person shall 
understand the legal limits of force with the weapon, the dangers and 
misuse of the weapon and the safety rules relating to the weapon. The 
agency shall, upon request of the department, provide documentation of 
the training or experience which prepared the person to be proficient in 
the use of the weapon. 

History: Cr. Register, October, 1988, No. 394, eff. 11-1-88; am. Register, December, 1994, 
No. 468, eff. 1-1-95. 

RL 34.08 Replica of a firearm. No owner or employe of an agency may, 
at any time while he or she is on duty, carry on, about or near the person 
an object which looks like a firearm. 

History: Cr. Register, December, 1994, No. 468, eff. 1-1-95. 
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