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Trans 129.01 Purpose and scope. As authorized by ss,
85.16 (1), 227.11, 343.06 (1) (¢), 343.07 (4) (b}, and 343.16 (1)
(a), Stats,, the purpose of this chapter is to establish the depart-
ment’s administrative interpretation of s. 343,16 (2) (cm), Stats.,
relating to the watver of the motoreycle skills test, and ss. 343.06
(1) (), 343.07 (4) (b) and 343.16 (1) (a), Stats,, relating to required
attendance of motorcycle rider courses and motorcycle instruc-
tion permit issuance.

History: . Cr, Register, May, 1992 No. 437, eff. 6-1-82; am. Register, March,
1994 No 459 eff 4-1-94,

Trans 129,02 Deflmtions. (‘F) The words and phrascs de-
fined in ss. 340.01 and 343.01, Stats,, have the same meaning in
this chapter unless a different deﬁmtwn is speelfically provided.

(2) In this chapter;

(2) “Basic rider course” means a beginning course in motor-
cycle safety meeting the requirements of s. Trans 129.035 (1) that
is conducted in the state of Wisconsin or within 50 miles of the
state boundaries and that has been approved by the department.

(b) “Experienced rider course” means an advanced course in
motorcycle safety meeting the requirements of s. Trans 129.035
{2} that is conducted in the state of Wisconsin or within 50 miles
of the state boundaries and that has been approved by the depart-
nient,

{c) “Skills test” means a driving test ofa person 5 ablllty o op-
erate class “M” vehicles.

History: Cr. Register, May, 1992 No. 437, eff. 6-1- 92 renumtobe(l), cr. (2),
Reg1stcr, March 1994, No 459, eff 4-1-94.

Trans 129.03 Requlrements for certiflcatlon. (1)
SKILLS TEST WAIVER. A school or organization seeking authoriza-
tion to participate in the waiver of skills test program shall com-
plete and file an application with the department. To be authorized
to certify students for a motorcycle skills test wawer, a sehool or
organization shall: i

(a): Offer a basic rider course. -

(b) Require students to be present for all sessions of the course.

(c) File an activity report at least annually, no later than De-
cember 31 of each year. The report shall include the names of all

students registered for courses during the Teport penod and con-_

tain all of the following:

'1.” Each student’s full name, _

.2, Bach student’s sociat security number unless ‘the student
certlﬁes his or her seriously-held religious conviction as a basis

for not providing a social security number.

Note: Form MY 3415, Request for Religious Conviction Exemption may be ob-
1ained from any mofor vehicle service center.

3. Couirse completion date.
4, The reason why any student did not complete the course.
5. Each student’s skills test waiver number,

(2) DEMERIT POINT REDUCTION. A school or organization seek-
ing authorization to participate in the demerit point reduction pro-
gram shall complete and file an application with the department.
To be authorized to certify students for a motorcycle dement point
reduction, a school or organization shall: ;

(a) Offer a basic rider course or expeneneed rider course, or
both.
(b) Require students to be present for all sessions of the course.
(c) File an activity report for the p'receding year, no later than
January 31 of each year. The report shall include the names of all
students registered for courses durmg the report period and con-
tain alt of the following: o
1. Each student’s full name _
2. Fach student’s social security number unless the student
certifies his or her seriously-held religious conviction as a basis

for not providing a social security number.

Note: Form MV 34135, Request for Religious Cenviction Exemption may be ob-
lamed from any motor vehicle service center, o

3. Course completion date, . . . :
4. The reason why any student did not complete the course,
(3) The authorization assigned by the department shall be val-
id for a period of 3 years from date of issuance unless cancelled.
The department will provide applications for renewal of autho-
rization 60 days prior to expiration of authorization.
History: Cr.Register, May, 1992, No. 437, eff. 6-1-92; r. {E}, renum. {intro.}, (2)

to (4) to be (13, (1) (b), (c) and (3) and am. (1) {intro.) and (c) 2, cr. (1) (a) and (2,
Register, March, 1994, No. 459, eff. 4-1-94,

Trans 129.035 Rider course requirements. (1) Basic
RIDER COURSE REQUIREMENTS. A basic rider course shiall meet all
of the following criteria:
(2) The course shall consist of at least 15 hours of instruction
which includes both classfoom and range insiruciion. At least
50% of the total hours of instruction shall consist of range mstruc-
tion,
(b) The course shall be conducted on at least 3 separate days.
(c)" All 15 hours of instruction shall be completed w1thm a
60—day time period. .
{d) No more than 8 hours of instruction in a smgle day
(e} Ata minimum, instruction shall be prov;ded in 6 maneu-
vers, including the following: . S
1. Straight line riding.

. Turning.

. Shifting, e

. Straight line braking,

. Braking in a curve.
6. Evasive maneuvers,

()] Class size may not exceed 30 students in the classroom or
15 students on the range. The department may make approval of
a course contingent on range class sizes of less than 15 students
if the physical layout of the range could not safely accommodate
# 15 student ¢lass or if the physical layout of the range would not
be conducive to the education of a group as large as 135 students.

(g) A written test and a skills test, which shall be given prior
approval by the depariment, shall be conducted at the end of the
course.

* (2) EXPERIENCED RIDER COURSE REQUIREMENTS. An experi-
enced rider course shall meet all of the following criteria:

th BN
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(a) The course shall consist of at least 8 hours of instruction
which includes both classroom and range instruction, At least
40% of the total hours of instruction shall consist of range mstruc-
tion.

(b) All 8 hours of instruction shall be compIeted within a
30-day time period.

(c) No more than 9 hours of instruction in a single day.

(d) Ata minimum, instruction shall be provrded in all of the
following maneuvers:

1. Straight line braking.
2. Braking on a curve.
3. Cornering.

4. Swerving techniques. .

(¢) Class size may not exceed 24 students in the classroom or
12 students on the range. The departmcnt may make approval of
a course contingent on range class sizes of legs than 12 students
if the physical layout of the range could not safely accommodate
a 12 student class or if the physical layout of the range would not
be conducive to the education of a group as large as 12 students,

{f) A written test and a skills test, which shall be given prior
approval by the deparlment, shall be conducted at the end of the
course.

History: Cr. Register, March, 1994, No. 459, off, 4-1-94.

Trans 129.04 Requirements for instructors. . {1)
Instructors seeking authorization to participate in the waiver of
skills test program shatl complete an application.

(2) To be authorized to instruct students i in courses for motor-
cycle skills test waiver, the insiructor shall: k

(a) Have complelcd a department-approved instructor prepa-
ration course in this state or a substantially srmllar course ap-
proved by another jurisdiction,

(b) Be approved by the department.

(¢} Teach a minimum of 3 courses within each 3ﬁyear autho-
rization period.

(d) Attenda mlmmum of one depattment mstructorm—servrce
program within each 3—year authorization period.

(3) To be authorized to instruct students in basic rider educa-
tion courses for the motorcycle skills test waiver, the instructor
shall maintain a satisfactory driving record, A person’s driving re-
cord shall not be considered satisfactory in this subsection if that
person:

(a) Has accumulated more than 6 demerrt pcmts under s.
343.32 (2), Stals., during a one—year period, as specified in this
paragraph and sub {4). The one-year period under this paragraph
shall commence from the date of the first violation which contrib-
uted to the accumulation of more than 6 demerit points.

(b) Has been involved in 2 or more accidents in a one—year pe-
riod where the accident report indicates that such person may have
been causally negligent.

(c) Has had his or her operator’s license revoked suspended
or cancelled for a traffic violation other than a parkmg violation,
at any time during the past 4 vears.

(4} (b) If the instructor authorized under this section accumu-
lates more than 6 demerit points in a one—year period as provided
under sub. (3) (a), the department shall cancel the instnictor’s au-
thorization for a period of one year. The period of cancellation
shall commence on the date that t.he'departmem receives notice of
the most recent conviction that resuited in the person’s accumula-
tion of more than 6 demerit points.

(c) An applicant for authorization under this section, or an
instructor currently authorized under this section, may utilize de-
merif point reduction pursuant to's. Trans 101,07, If sufficient
point reduction to bring the demerit point total below 7 points is
thereby achieved, the applicant or mstructor may reapply for au-
thorization immediately. -
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{(5) Instructors authorized to participate in the waiver of skills
test program shall be assigned an authorization number by the de-
partment.

(6) The authorrzatron assigned by the department shalf be val-
id for a period of 3 years from date of issuance unless cancelled.

{7} The department shall provide applications for the renewal

of authorization 60 days prior to the expiration of authonzauon
Historyt Cr. Register, May, 1992, No. 437, eff. 6—1 92,

Trans 129.05 Course evaluation. Evaluatron of basicrid-
er education courses shall be completed by the department and
shall include one or more of the following:

{1) Atleast biennially, an on-site inspection by a chief instruc-
tor authorized by the department of all aspects of every basic rider
education course.

(2) At least annually, hnuted momtonng of every basic nder
education course by authorized department personnel to deter- .
mnine compliance with s, Trans 129,06 (1) (a}, (b) and (g).

{(3) A review of the pass/fail ratio, including reasons for stu-
dent noncompletion of the course, : C

History: Cr. Register, May, 1992, No, 437, eff. 6-1-92.

Trans 129,06 Cancellation of department approval.
{1} Authorization of schools or instructors to certify students for
motorcycle skill fest waiver shall be cancelled for any of the fol-
lowing reasons: . D :

(a) False or misleading advertasmg

(b) Fraud.

- {¢) .Failure to meet standards set in this chapter
{d) Failure to follow departmentkappmved cumculum
() Unsafe training facility, - o

{f} Unsafe motorcycles.

(g) Guaranteeing the i issuance ofa Ircense upon completmn of
the course.

(2) A school or mstructor may be reauthorized after cancella-
tion when all the following conditions have been met:

(a) Any period of cancellatron as sat by the department has
been completed.

(b) A school or instructor submits an applrcatron for reautho-
rization.

{c) The department is satisfied that the conditions whrch ledto
the cancellation have been corrected or no longer exist.

(3) ‘A person adversely affected by a cancellation made under
sub. (1) tnay request a hearing before the department to review the
canceliation. A request for hearing shall be made in writing and
shall be filed with the department within 30 days after receiving
a notice of cancellation. If the department receives a request for
hearing which satisfies the requirements of this subsection, the de-
partment shall conduct a prompt informal hearing within 15 days
after receiving the request. If the matter is notresolved after an in-
formal hearing is completed, the person adversely affected by the
cancellation may request a full evidentiary hearing before the de-
partment, pursuant to ch, 227, Stats. A request for hearing shall be
in writing and shall be filed with the department within 30 days
after the completion of the informal hearing. A request for an in-
formal or a full evidentiary hcarmg does not stay the effect of a
cancellation, unless a canceliatton is expressly stayed in 'writing
by the department.

History: Cr. Register, May, 1992, No. 437, eff. 6-1-92,

Trans 129.07 Waiver authorization form. (1) Waiver
authorization shall be on a form provided by the department The
form shall contain all of the following:

(a) Student’s full name.

(b) Student’s date of birth,

(¢) Student’s social security number.

{d) Student’s operator’s license number.
(e) A physical description of the student.
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(f) Date of completion of course.

{g) Student’s skills test waiver number.

(h) Instructor’s waiver authorization number,

(i) Instructor’s signature.

(2) A waiver form shall be completed by the authorized
instructor upon successful completion of a basic rider education
course.

(3) A waiver authorization expires one year from the date of

completion of the basic rider education course.

Histery: Cr, Register, May, 1992, No. 437, eff, 6-1-92; am. (2), Register, March,
1994, No. 459, eff, 4-1-94,

Trans 129.08 Student requirements. (1} As arequire-
ment of participating in a basic rider education course, a student
shall hold one of the following:

(a) A valid operator’s license.

{b) A valid instruction permit.

(2) As arequirement for a waiver of skills test, an applicant
shali have held a motoreycle instruction permit for at least 7 days
immediately preceding application for waiver.

(3) A person who attempts the motorcycle skills test after com-
pleting a basic rider education course shall not be eligible for the

motorcycle skills test waiver.
History: Cr. Register, May, 1992, No. 437, eff. 6-1-92.

Trans 129.09 Persons less than 18 years old. A person
less than 18 years old who has not failed 2 or more skills tests is
not required to complete a basic rider course prior to obtaining an
operator ’s license authorizing the operation of class “M"” vehicles,
other than an instruction permit, if the person meets any of the fol-
lowing criteria:

Trans 129.11

{1} The person holds a valid license from another jurisdiction
that authorizes the operation of class “M" vehicles.

{2) The person does not reside within 50 miles of a basic rider
course sile.

{3) The person was born on or before December 31, 1977.

History: Cr. Register, May, 1992, No. 437, eff. 6-1-92; r, and recr. Register,
March, 1994, No. 459, cff, 4-1-94.

Trans 129.10 Motorcycle instruction permits. The de-
partment may issue an instruction permit authorizing the opera-
tion of class “M™ vehicles to a person who is required to complete
a basic rider course by s. 343,06 (1) (¢}, 343.07 (4) (b) or 343.16
(1) (a), Stats., if the person meets all of the following criteria:

(1) The person has passed all examinations required under s.
Trans 104.03.

(2) The person is enrolled in a basic rider course or is exempt
from the requirement of attending a basic rider course under s.
Trans 129.09,

History: Cr. Register, March, 1994, No, 459, eff. 4-1-94,

Trans 129.11 Interim provisions on counting instruc-
tion permits and skills tests. (1) From January 1, 1994 to

- December 31, 1994, the department may issue instruction permits

authorizing the operation of class “M” vehicles regardtess of the
number of permits the person has previously held.

{2) For purposes of counting prior skills tests under s. 343.16
(13 (a), Stats., from January 1, 1994 to December 31, 1994, the de-
partment shall consider only skills tests administered on or after
January 1, 1994,

History: Cr. Reglster, March, 1994, No., 459, eff, 4-1-94,
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